Staff Favorites - David Driscoll

David Driscoll
David Driscoll  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service
David Driscoll likes to drink alcohol when he is not working at K&L. His main interests include wine, beer, and distilled spirits. Before he worked here he went to college at a decent school, got a masters degree from an OK school, worked as a waiter and taught elementary school in Chinatown. He decided to get into the wine business after reading a few books about wine and realizing that one cannot seriously learn about wine solely through reading. His career goals include: trying to convince K&L customers that he does know something despite his youthful appearance, and learning everything about everything about every single wine ever made.


Reviews

  
Page: 1 2 3 4 next
2013 Sequillo (Eben Sadie) White Blend Swartland
Review Date: 05-21-2015
Sometimes hyperbole isn't enough to get your point across. "This is the BEST, ever, ever, ever, ever!" wouldn't really even do this wine justice. The quality of Eben Sadie's wines speaks for itself, but usually you'll have to pony up about $40-$60 a bottle to test out that quality for yourself. Somehow, someway, our wine buyer Ryan Woodhouse worked out a deal to bring in Sadie's Sequillo wines direct: for $19 freakin' 99!!! That's just unreal. The Sequillo white is like elegance in a bottle. It's soft and seamless, yet never lacking in acidity or minerality. I took a bottle of his T'Voetpad white (the single vineyard version of this wine) to my anniversary dinner with my wife this year. She fawned over that bottle like a school girl at a New Kids on the Block concert in 1989. Get a bottle of this wine. Get two cases. Get in while it's here. ASAP. You won't be sorry.
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 Sequillo (Eben Sadie) Red Blend Swartland
Review Date: 05-21-2015
Sometimes hyperbole isn't enough to get your point across. "This is the BEST, ever, ever, ever, ever!" wouldn't really even do this wine justice. The quality of Eben Sadie's wines speaks for itself, but usually you'll have to pony up about $40-$60 a bottle to test out that quality for yourself. Somehow, someway, our wine buyer Ryan Woodhouse worked out a deal to bring in Sadie's Sequillo wines direct: for $19 freakin' 99!!! That's just unreal. The Sequillo red blend is soft, juicy, incredibly balanced, and elegant in its profile. It's a testament to quality winemaking and dedicated vineyard practices that manifests itself clearly in the bottle. You won't wonder one bit why Even Sadie is a superstar after tasting this bottle. You'll be wondering why you didn't buy another ten cases for your cellar.
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List

Daniel Bouju K&L Exclusive Cognac Fines Saveurs 750ml
Review Date: 05-19-2015
No caramel, no additives, just fresh, vibrant Grand Champagne brandy at a hot price. Nothing more to be said!
Price: $39.99 Add To Waiting List

Germain-Robin Coast Road Reserve Brandy 750ml
Review Date: 05-19-2015
One of my favorites from the GR portfolio, the Coast Road utilizes heavy doses of pinot noir brandies to create a supple and silky smooth spirit of supreme quality. A sure fire winner if you're looking to branch out from Cognac and into something new and exciting.
Price: $64.99 Add To Waiting List

Chokaisan Junmai Daiginjo Sake (720ml)
Review Date: 05-14-2015
This is one of the best sakes we carry at K&L - period. I would bring this bottle to a dinner party and just drink it like a bottle of white wine or rose. We need to get out of the habit where we only drink sake when we eat Japanese food. This is the bottle that should prove to serious wine drinkers that sake can easily hang with a great Sancerre or an Alsatian pinot gris. Crisp, vibrant fruit on the entry with hints of pear on the finish. Made with a unique yeast derived from flowers, the sake is one of the most aromatic and delicious we carry, as well as one of the most special.
Price: $49.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 Relyea-Wood "Estate" Santa Cruz Mountains Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 05-13-2015
Good God, what a deal! This is real Santa Cruz Mountain fruit balanced with a judicious amount of oak and plenty of acidity. This should be at least $35 considering the price of the grapes and the quality of that fruit, but for some reason it's only $21.99. I don't get it, but I'm not complaining.
Price: $21.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 Edmunds St. John "Fenaughty Vineyard" El Dorado County Syrah
Review Date: 05-13-2015
Not your normal dark, extracted, overly-inky California Syrah. This wine from E St J is full of soft red fruits, with a tinge of tartness and a much lither, lower-in-alcohol profile that makes it much more food-friendly and easy to drink. I wish more CA producers would go back to making wine this way. I'd drink a lot more of them if that was the case!
Price: $27.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 Kismet "Papa's All Blacks" North Coast Red Blend
Review Date: 05-13-2015
It's wines like this that make me excited to be from California and fill me with pride for our local offerings. The Kismet is deliciously juicy, but soft textured and restrained, with real acidity and structure underneath that initial blast of fruit. It's a pretty wine; a pure and straightforward expression of California ripeness, but made in a style that never pushes that ripeness too far. It's as much an example of good winemaking as it the quality of our grapes. Bravo!
Price: $26.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Textbook Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 05-13-2015
This wine is classic in its dark-fruited, restrained character. There's no jammy sweetness or extravagant oak here. Just good old Cabernet from California, the old fashioned style, and a great price tag to go along with it.
Price: $24.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Kalinda "Rawiri Vineyard" Pinot Noir Marlborough
Review Date: 05-08-2015
WOW. The best Kalinda wine to date. Your quality-to-price ratio is off the charts here. New Zealand Pinot Noir flavor can often clock in somewhere between California and Burgundy and our new Kalinda expression does just that. You get the ripe drinkability of California fruit, but with the complex, foresty, and spice-driven character of great Burgundy. Crunchy red fruits, baking spices, hints of earth and forest floor. Sign me up. This is a hot deal.
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List

Glenlivet 15 year old French Oak Reserve Single Malt Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 04-28-2015
One of the last great deals in age-statement whiskies. At a time when maturity labels are dropping like flies, Glenlivet still has the 15 year French oak reserve for $40. That's something to hang your hat on!
Price: $39.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 91
Limit of 3 per customer

Four Roses K&L Exclusive OESK (9 Years Old, 7 Months) Single Barrel Cask Strength Bourbon 750ml
Review Date: 04-28-2015
A great little kicker of a cask; 9 years and 7 months of raw power. A good grab for your liquor cabinet.
Price: $66.99 Add To Waiting List

Glenlivet 12 Year Old Single Malt Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 04-28-2015
Glenlivet is removing the 12 year old from many major markets in favor of the new "Founder's Reserve", which has no age statement and a higher price. Get your Glenlivet 12 before it goes the way of the Dodo.
Price: $27.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 90
Limit of 3 per customer

Ketel One Vodka 750ml
Review Date: 04-28-2015
$20 is a hot price for the biggest brand name in all of vodka. Get it while the gettin's good.
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List

Westland American Single Malt Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 04-24-2015
The great American single malt has finally arrived and it's being made in Seattle, Washington. Don't believe me? Get a bottle and see for yourselves. This is made on real Forsyth pot stills just like in Scotland, aged in bourbon and sherry casks, and brimming with Macallan-like flavor. It's still a bit young, but man is it going to get better.
Price: $69.99 Add To Waiting List

El Dorado 12 year old Demerara Guyana Rum (ships as 1.5L) 750ml
Review Date: 04-23-2015
A must-try-before-you-die spirit. One of the all-time greatest deals in all of spirits in general.
Price: $29.99 Add To Waiting List

El Dorado 15 year old Demerara Guyana Rum 750ml (ships in a 1.5 box)
Review Date: 04-23-2015
The best rum on the planet for under $50. It's made mostly from DDL's old wooden pot still with more of that funky molasses note through the mid-palate. Love it. All day, every day.
Price: $39.99 Add To Waiting List

El Dorado 21 year old Demerara Guyana Rum 750ml
Review Date: 04-23-2015
Made from older stocks of DDL rums before the big transition into one consolidated Guyanese distillery, this is the ultimate aged rum. Rich oak, pure cane flavor, a bit of funky molasses, and a spicy, robust finish. I can't believe it's still $99.99
Price: $99.99 Add To Waiting List

El Dorado 3 year Old Demerara Rum 750ml
Review Date: 04-23-2015
In lieu of Havana Club 3 year, the El Dorado 3 year is just as good and made the same way: three years in wood, then filtered to be a white rum. It's round and easy-drinking with pure rum flavor. Why use anything else for Daiquiris?
Price: $17.99 Add To Waiting List

Mezcalero Release #10 Sierra Negra Mezcal 750ml
Review Date: 04-20-2015
A rare combination of power and suave in the mezcal category. Big spice, lots of spice, but a mouthfeel that is creamy and smooth in texture. A wonderful and very limited batch of agave spirit from the people at Danzantes and Germain-Robin.
Price: $74.99 Add To Waiting List

Casa Dragones Sipping Tequila 750ml (Ships as a 1.5L due to bottles shape)
Review Date: 04-20-2015
One of the truly great luxury products out there--and there aren't that many of them. Casa Dragones is worth the extra money if you want pristine beauty and are willing to pay for it. Clean, fresh, elegant, and smooth on the finish. A true masterpiece.
Price: $249.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 96

Bulleit Bourbon Frontier Whiskey 750ml
Review Date: 04-20-2015
Four Roses makes this lovely little number for the boys at Bulleit. It's still a great bargain for a light, easy drinking, mixing bourbon.
Price: $22.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 95

Glenmorangie 12 year old Lasanta Extra Matured Range Sherry Cask 750ml
Review Date: 04-20-2015
This is the original 10 and 2 whisky--10 years in bourbon casks, with 2 years finishing in sweet sherry wood. Glendronach, Balvenie, and Aberlour all do it down, but Glenmorangie did it first and they're still the best at it. Lovely spice cake and dark toffee notes round out the finish.
Price: $47.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 93

Basil Hayden's Bourbon 750ml
Review Date: 04-20-2015
The best and the most classic of the Beam bourbon portfolio. Big oak flavor, smooth and rich on the palate, and a finish that brings baking spices and vanilla goodness. YUM!
Price: $36.99 Add To Waiting List

Guillon Painturaud VSOP Cognac 750ml
Review Date: 04-20-2015
This is still my go-to VSOP Cognac. In fact, it might be the best Cognac we carry for the money. Textural, oily, and round on the palate with a viscous mouthfeel and rich vanilla flavors. All estate-grown fruit, all estate-distilled brandy, and nothing added on the back end. No caramel, no boise, all natural. What's not to love here?
Price: $59.99 Add To Waiting List

1995 Domaine d'Esperance 17 Year Old Bas Armagnac 750ml
Review Date: 04-20-2015
Big bourbon-like flavor from this 17 year old brandy. Esperance is putting their Armagnac into new wood, so the oak is powerful and the spices bright and lively on the finish.
Price: $89.99 Add To Waiting List

Bulleit 10 Year Old Bourbon Whiskey 750ml
Review Date: 04-20-2015
Bulleit 10 offers big spice and rounded oak flavors to bourbon fans looking for polished and balanced nuance rather than power and high proof. Good stuff.
Price: $44.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 91

Faultline Straight Bourbon Whiskey 750ml
Review Date: 04-20-2015
Every batch of Faultline Bourbon that John Little blends for us here at K&L gets better and better each time. The more we do this, the better we get at doing it. We're putting out some of the softest, richest, most delicious bourbon on the market and it's only for K&L customers at a fantastic price. If you haven't bought a bottle yet, you're really missing out.
Price: $39.99 Add To Waiting List

Forty Creek Confederation Oak Reserve Canadian Whisky 750ml (ships as 1.5L due to bottle shape)
Review Date: 04-20-2015
Forty Creek boss John Hall planted an entire forest just to make sure he had enough wood for the special Canadian oak barrels he planned on aging his whisky in. Just that fact alone makes me want to get a bottle.
Price: $54.99 Add To Waiting List

Bulleit Rye Whiskey 750ml
Review Date: 04-20-2015
Of all the LDI-distilled bargain ryes on the market, the Bulleit has reigned supreme due to its low price and high quality of flavor. It's hard to justify buying more Templeton when Bulleit is the same stuff for almost 10 dollars less.
Price: $22.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 90

Midleton Very Rare Irish Whiskey 2014 Release 750ml
Review Date: 04-20-2015
The tete de cuvee from Jameson: an elegant, refined, and classic version of Irish whiskey from Midleton Distillery. If you like Redbreast, Green Spot, or just plain old Jameson Irish Whiskey, this is the king of them all.
Price: $139.99 Add To Waiting List

Paul Giraud VSOP Cognac 750ml
Review Date: 04-19-2015
The great deal in Cognac at the moment. We managed to work out a deal for this grower/producer brandy straight from the source, making this unmanipulated and elegant spirit one HOT deal. It's a lighter, cleaner, less sweet, and more fruit-forward Cognac from the finest of all terroirs in the region. Don't miss this deal.
Price: $39.99 Add To Waiting List

Auchentoshan 18 Year Old Lowland Single Malt Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 04-19-2015
I LOVE this whisky. This is my new Glenmorangie 18. A classic sweet barley and vanilla flavor, but with extra viscosity and more weight on the palate. It's thick and chewy. You can almost bite into it. The Glasgow distillery is becoming relevant once again. Watch out other distilleries!
Price: $109.99 Add To Waiting List

Springbank 15 year old, Distillery Bottling Single Malt Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 04-19-2015
All the great richness and weight of the 10 with more sherry and more spice cake. A true classic.
Price: $99.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 96 - 100

Germain-Robin XO Brandy 750ml
Review Date: 04-19-2015
The king of California spirits. There's nothing else out there this good and this old with this type of heritage and history. A must try before you die type of bottle.
Price: $99.99 Add To Waiting List

Springbank 10 Year Old Campbeltown Single Malt Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 04-19-2015
Does it get any better than Springbank 10? I don't know. It's still my favorite whisky all these years later. There's nothing out there that combines the peat, richness, and oily nature of the Springbank spirits. There's also no other distillery that still does every step of the process from scratch.
Price: $54.99 Add To Waiting List

Ardbeg 10 Year Old Islay Single Malt Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 04-19-2015
Still the best deal for 10 year old whisky. Still the best deal for peated whisky. Still the best deal in whisky--period. I'm never without a bottle on my bar. A true classic of the single genre. You're never too cool, too rich, too knowledgeable, or too refined for Ardbeg 10.
Price: $42.99 Add To Waiting List
WA 93 WE 91

Carpano Antica Formula Sweet Vermouth 1L
Review Date: 04-19-2015
The classic sweet vermouth. THE one. End all. Be all. Period.
Price: $28.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 95

Laphroaig 10 year old Original Cask Strength Islay Single Malt Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 04-19-2015
All the classic flavor of Laphroaig 10 but with the punch dialed up to max volume. Gotta love it!
Price: $69.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 90 - 95

Caol Ila 12 year old Islay Single Malt Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 04-19-2015
The most classic and most reliable of the Diageo "classic" malts. God bless Caol Ila and its peaty goodness with a rich, round, fruity core of flavor to balance it all out. I'm never without a bottle.
Price: $59.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 90 - 95

Laphroaig "Quarter Cask" Islay Single Malt Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 04-19-2015
All the peat and power of Laphroaig, put into smaller barriques for extra richness and vanilla flavor.
Price: $54.99 Add To Waiting List
WA 91

Paul Beau VS Cognac 750ml
Review Date: 04-19-2015
Simply put, the best deal we currently have in Cognac. Soft on the palate, round in the mouth, and long on the finish. All made from estate-grown fruit and no coloring added. The total package.
Price: $35.99 Add To Waiting List

Anchor "Genevieve" Genever-Style Gin 750ml
Review Date: 04-19-2015
A gin in the style of Belgium and Holland; more like white whiskey than the herbacious and flavorful London dry gin we're mostly familiar with. The Anchor version is quite malty and beer-like in flavor. For those who love the real Genever, not for those looking to make a classic martini.
Price: $44.99 Add To Waiting List

Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva Rum 750ml
Review Date: 04-19-2015
A classic darker rum that offers richness and bold vanilla flavor, but without the sweetness and added caramel that many big brands offer. A true insider's rum if there ever was one.
Price: $34.99 Add To Waiting List

Guillon Painturaud Hors d' Age Cognac 750ml
Review Date: 04-19-2015
This is just a stunning bottle of booze. It's a bottle that makes you stop, analyze where you are, and take note of the moment. Dark burnt sugar, rich rancio flavors, and a finish that goes on for an hour. If you're going to splurge for a bottle of Cognac, this is the one.
Price: $169.99 Add To Waiting List

Glendronach 15 year old "Revival" Distillery Bottling Single Malt Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 04-19-2015
Big rich sherry flavor for those who like their single malt dark like coffee.
Price: $79.99 Add To Waiting List

Paul Beau Hors d' Age Cognac 750ml
Review Date: 04-19-2015
An outstanding Cognac of the highest quality; regardless of the price. The estate of Paul Beau distills all its own brandy from its own ugni blanc vineyards, then ages in the finest oak barrels for a soft and rich flavor; deep vanilla, concentrated fruit, and a bit of creme brulee on the finish.
Price: $129.99 Add To Waiting List

1998 Domaine d'Esperance 14 Year Old Bas Armagnac 750ml
Review Date: 04-19-2015
Dark fruited and full of rich oak and spice. This is serious brandy from one Armagnac's most hands-on producers.
Price: $79.99 Add To Waiting List

Domaine d'Esperance XO Bas Armagnac 750ml
Review Date: 04-19-2015
A beautiful, full-bodied, rich and spicy Armagnac from the small Esperance domaine in France's Gascony region. A great starter bottle for those looking for something classic in flavor, but unique from the standard pack.
Price: $54.99 Add To Waiting List

Nikka 15 Year "Yoichi" Old Japanese Single Malt Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 04-19-2015
Nikka's northern distillery on the island of Hokkaido makes a slightly peated style of whisky; more along the line of Talisker, however, rather than Lagavulin. It's rounded and supple on the palate as well, making it one creamy, and slightly smokey delight.
Price: $109.99 Add To Waiting List

Page: 1 2 3 4 next