Staff Favorites - David Driscoll

David Driscoll
David Driscoll  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service
David Driscoll likes to drink alcohol when he is not working at K&L. His main interests include wine, beer, and distilled spirits. Before he worked here he went to college at a decent school, got a masters degree from an OK school, worked as a waiter and taught elementary school in Chinatown. He decided to get into the wine business after reading a few books about wine and realizing that one cannot seriously learn about wine solely through reading. His career goals include: trying to convince K&L customers that he does know something despite his youthful appearance, and learning everything about everything about every single wine ever made.


Reviews

  
Page: 1 2 3 4 5 next
2014 Domaine Aurelien Verdet Nuits St Georges Ier Cru "Les Damodes"
Review Date: 06-23-2017
Wooooooooooooooooooooow...........good God. This the most legit Burgundy close out we've ever offered. This is rich, lush, complex, mouth-filling, delicious, mind-boggling good red Burgundy and when you look at what most producers charge for fruit from "Les Damodes," you'll begin to understand the scope of this deal. This is like getting an apartment in North Beach for $500K. And you can drink it now!
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart
WS 94

2014 Domaine Aurélien Verdet Gevrey-Chambertin
Review Date: 06-23-2017
Utterly charming wine in the truest sense of the word. Each sip of this Gevrey makes me smile with amazingly supple fruit and spice considering the vintage. De-stemming was a great idea for 2014 and you can see why with just how approachable this wine is already. For the price, you'll want this in your arsenal. It's the black fruited counterpart to all those cherry-laden Burgundies you've likely been snatching up.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WS 93

2014 Domaine Aurélien Verdet Nuits-St-Georges 1er Cru "Aux Boudots"
Review Date: 06-23-2017
While I was very impressed with the village level Vosne Romanee from Verdet, the 1er cru Aux Boudots takes it up another notch (as a premier cru should!!). There's much, much more spice, nuance, notes of forest floor and cranberry, with more gusto on the finish. This is $100+ Burgundy, pure and simple. It's just going to cost you $59.99.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart
WS 94

2014 Domaine Aurélien Verdet Vosne-Romanée Vieilles Vignes
Review Date: 06-23-2017
I don't know what else to add here other than: buy everything you can afford. That's what I did. That's what my colleague Gary Westby did. This is top quality, old vine Vosne Romanee for the price of a standard Sonoma pinot. It's incredibly lush for 2014 and the fruit is dark, concentrated, and just waiting to be unlocked over the next decade in your wine locker. Wow, wow, wow.....
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WS 93

2015 Château de la Charrière Santenay Blanc 1er Cru "Beauregard"
Review Date: 06-22-2017
This is once of the better white wines I've ever tasted from Cherriere, one that is richer and rounder than any of their Chassagne Montrachet wines I've had in the past, despite the fact it's from Santenay. There's a gorgeous bouquet of stonefruit and plenty of ripeness on the palate, but the acidity is balanced and lip-smacking on the finish. This is top notch chardonnay, folks!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2015 Château de la Charrière Bourgogne Hautes Cotes de Beaune
Review Date: 06-22-2017
Since 2011, when the new generation took over at Charriere, the wines at the chateau have become cleaner, fresher, and more concentrated with ripe fruit flavor. They're de-stemming more of the fruit, which is lessening the funkier, earthier notes, and enhancing more of the juiciness of their fantastic pinot noir grapes. 2015 in particular is a benchmark year for Charriere, and it's one that will truly highlight just how good of a deal our import program is providing. The Hautes Cotes de Beaune expression is made from 60-70 year old vines, has gobs of red cherry flavor, and is absolutely delicious from front to back. You're getting true Burgundian character from a great vintage for less than twenty bucks. With the 2016 frost vintage looming around the corner, I'd recommend loading up big here.
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart

2014 Knez Winery Anderson Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 06-21-2017
I love having Anderson Valley wines like this on hand to show customers how diverse of a pinot country California truly is. While you get the ripeness of the 2014 vintage here, it doesn't come without a bit of zip on the finish. There's a lovely hint of baking spice and bit of crushed herbs late on the palate. Fans of the winery will want to load up on this one as I think--of the three--this will evolve beautifully over the next five years.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
VN 93

2014 Knez Winery "Cerise Vineyard" Anderson Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 06-21-2017
This wine is absolutely gorgeous and lives up to its "cherry" moniker from the Cerise Vineyard name. Lush flavors of sweet red fruit are balanced by great acidity, to the extent that your taste buds light up immediately from the combination. The wine is silky and soft on the finish, but it never sacrifices structure. This is a total beauty.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
VN 95

2015 Domaine Bart Chambertin-Clos de Beze Grand Cru
Review Date: 06-17-2017
Simply put: this wine is other worldly. It's a mind-bendingly complex and concentrated symphony of earth, spice, and dark fruit that continues to unlock itself in layer upon layer of nuance. I was blown away when we tasted this at the property this past Spring. Now I'm wondering how many I can afford.
Price: $149.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Bart "Hervelets" Fixin 1er Cru
Review Date: 06-17-2017
Of the Fixin releases from Bart, the 2015 "Hervelets" is the purest and more concentrated, making it for me the must-buy of the bunch. There's more finesse in the Fixin expressions than in Bart's Marsannay wines and that complexity should unlock itself even more over time. Buy these for the cellar while you drink all the ridiculous and incredible Bart Marsannay values!
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Bart "Les Ouzeloy" Marsannay Rouge
Review Date: 06-17-2017
The "Ouzeloy" is the plumpest and roundest of the 2015 Bart releases and has plums, cassis, and a velvet texture that puts this almost into Sonoma territory. It's hard to lay off this one. It's so soft and juicy!
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Bart Marsannay Rouge
Review Date: 06-17-2017
The village Marsannay rouge from Bart is the same price as the Bourgogne rouge and has the same level of quality in my mind, but there's more lushness and sweetness of fruit here. If you're looking for classic Burgundy with a bit of grit, do the Bourgogne. If you want to experience the silky and softer flavors of 2015, do the Marsannay. You're in good company either way!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Bart "Les Echezots" Marsannay Rouge
Review Date: 06-17-2017
The most classic of the 2015 Bart reds is the "Echezots," a wine that year after year represents one of our best values in the category. The 2015 expression is loaded with raspberry and cherry, with accents of violets and cassis on the nose. There's more fruit and less forest this year, but that will provide a long drinking window to enjoy the evolution of that fantastic ripeness.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Bart Bourgogne Rouge
Review Date: 06-17-2017
Ever since I've worked at K&L, Domaine Bart has been the most anticipated arrival each year from our Burgundian direct imports. The wines are classic in style, dependable in quality, well priced, and easy to love. These 2015s are the best Barts I've tasted since 2005, and they're going to be a huge success. The standard Bougogne Rouge is much more powerful than previous vintages with loads of ripe cherry fruit. Plan on buying a case of this if you can.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Pernot-Belicard Meursault Ier Cru "Perrieres"
Review Date: 06-17-2017
While the standard Belicard Meursault is fantastic, the premier cru Perrieres expression dials it up a notch. This has all the richness and balance of the standard village release, but with more fruit, more nuance, more delicacy of acidity and fineness of flavor. It's a more polished version of an already great wine. This is for special occasions because man does it taste fancy.
Price: $74.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Pernot-Belicard Meursault "Vieilles Vignes"
Review Date: 06-17-2017
This is textbook Meursault, but with restraint and balance. For those looking to understand the white wine appellations of Burgundy, grab this bottle for a lesson on the richness and weight of a great Meursault. Nutty almond flavors coat the palate on the first sip, but that richness is never cloying or sweet. It's balanced by acidity and an elegance of fruit the holds back the heft. Simply lovely!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Pernot-Belicard Bourgogne Chardonnay
Review Date: 06-17-2017
The freshness of the 15 Burgundy whites is the most surprising part of the ripe vintage. Exhibit A is this lovely Bourgogne blanc from Pernot Belicard, brimming with fresh stonefruits on the nose, and a soft acidity that accents the medium bodied weight and fleshiness. Give this to someone who loves central coast wines from California and watch their eyes light up!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Jean-Michel Giboulot Pommard "En Brescul"
Review Date: 06-17-2017
This is the darkest and the most brooding of the 2015 red Giboulot portfolio. Blackberries galore on the palate with subtle spice and a rather full body for what I typically expect from Burgundy. You could pour this at a California pinot tasting and fool everyone into thinking it was from Sonoma. This is a richer and fatter Pommard that drinks beautifully already in its youth.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Jean-Michel Giboulot Beaune 1er Cru "Aux Clos du Roi"
Review Date: 06-17-2017
This wine has gobs of black cherry notes on the nose and more of that fruit on the palate, but with more restraint than some of the juicier 2015s from Giboulot. The finish has loads of spice and just a hint of earth to counterbalance some of that fruit. This should age nicely.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Jean-Michel Giboulot Savigny-lès-Beaune 1er Cru "Aux Gravains"
Review Date: 06-17-2017
Ding, ding, ding! We have a winner! One whiff of this wine, one little sip as well, is all it will take for you to get back in your car, drive over to K&L, and buy a solid case of this wine. This is one of the most exciting mid-range red Burgundies to hit our store in years. The nose is a flurry of baking spices and ripe black cherry, while the palate carries those flavors further with a lushness and silkiness that you only get in riper years like 2015. Load up. Back up the truck. Do whatever you need to do to find a few extra bucks.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Jean-Michel Giboulot Savigny-lès-Beaune
Review Date: 06-17-2017
The standard Savigny les Beaune from Giboulot is the most traditional of the 2015 bunch, with grittier tannins and more meaty flavors of earth and licorice. The ripeness of the vintage is still there, but it's much more restrained which allows the secondary flavors to shine through. Great for a simple dinner or roasted chicken.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Jean-Michel Giboulot Hautes Cotes de Beaune
Review Date: 06-17-2017
This wine has a haunting nose of cassis and violets, with a brooding core of dark berry fruit with richness that comes purely from the ripeness of the 2015 vintage. Just a hint of oak rounds out the finish. YUM!
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Jean-Michel Giboulot Bourgogne Pinot Noir
Review Date: 06-17-2017
All of the wines from Giboulot's 2015 crop have a juiciness and a concentrated core of dark ripe fruit, beginning with the simple Bourgogne rouge - a wine that combines supple notes of blackberry and cassis with tangy acidity and fine tannins. This is one of the best entry level wines we've carried from Burgundy in years.
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart

2012 Domaine Philippe Colin Chassagne-Montrachet 1er Cru "Les Chaumées"
Review Date: 06-13-2017
Not only is this mouthwatering, rich and unctuous, perfectly developed Chassagne-Montrachet from a great producer, it's all of those things for a price that puts premier cru back into reach of normal guys like me! I had this bottle last Friday night while watching the Warriors blow it in Cleveland, but man did this bottle ease the pain. The weight and texture is all Chassagne with creamy fruit and plenty of nutty richness, but there's still so much acidity holding the wine together. It's a top notch bottle from front to back, the kind I might buy a case of if we start getting too low in inventory. Don't let the discounted price fool you. Chalk this one up to the growing prowess of our Burgundy department!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2016 Domaine de Rimauresq Côtes de Provence Cru Classé Rosé
Review Date: 06-13-2017
Classic Provencal rose with the soft red berry fruit, crisp and clean acidity, and juicy, mouthwatering finish we're all looking for in our summertime daily drinkers. The Rimauresq dials it up a notch, however, it terms of quality. There's a bit more finesse, depth, and concentrated complexity here than in the standard $10-$15 fare. It's definitely worth the extra few bucks. I could drink this all month long and never get tired of it.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart
DC 97

Copper & Kings American Dry Gin (750ml)
Review Date: 06-13-2017
One thing to know about the C&K American dry gin is that it's made on the smallest pot still in the facility, which according to Joe only yields about 120 bottles worth of gin per batch—exactly the amount we ordered in our initial ten case purchase. Smelling my first glass of the newly arrived hooch, I can already sense the differences from the bottle I originally brought back from the distillery this past Spring. There's a bit more apple must on the nose and the finish is creamier and tangier in profile. My point in mentioning that is: this is real small batch gin, in that it will taste a little bit different each time we order it. Joe is making it especially for us each time, so while the recipe will remain the same, the subtle nuances of the apple brandy base will vary from batch to batch. Other than the wildcard of a base material, the C&K American dry gin drinks much like a classic London dry style. Bright juniper notes, lifted by the coriander, with a fresh and spicy finish. In a gin and tonic, it's absolute heaven. It's also my new favorite gin in the store. I highly, highly recommend getting one.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2016 Fabien Collonge Beaujolais Rose
Review Date: 06-09-2017
When the weather warms up, there are few things better than a cold bottle of rosé and a few snacks on the picnic table. Tasting this wine in Beaujolais this past spring, Fabien Collonge's Rosé de Gamay was a thirst-quenching, mouthwatering, berry-bursting blast of fresh acidity, clean fruit, and pure pleasure that immediately caught our attention. What made this particular rosé so memorable was seeing where it came from and talking with Fabien about the care he puts into it. Typically wines in the $8-$12 range don't have much of a story. In California, they're generally the result of bulk fruit or large batches of parcels, but in the case of the Collonge rosé, it's all select berries from his estate parcels. The charm and snap of the wine was what really caught my attention. Obviously, we're going to offer a great deal on any wine we import directly, but $10.99 was a total steal. I'd compare it with the fantastic Mount Edward rosé from New Zealand, albeit for six bucks less a bottle.
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart

1991 Villa Zarri 24 Year Old "K&L Exclusive" Single Barrel Cask Strength Italian Brandy (750ml)
Review Date: 06-09-2017
This most recent batch of Villa Zarri represents the remnant of our previous cask, of which we only bottled a portion. Rather than change the label, however, we left it at "24 years" even though it's older than 25 at this point. Why should you buy this brandy? Simple: rarely has a grape distillate ever come this close in my mind to mimicking the best parts of Scotch, Bourbon, and Cognac all in one tidy, cask strength, single barrel package. You get the richness of of the Brandy on the nose; oodles of caramel and creme brulee. You get the power and oak dominance of a Bourbon on the entry, with big spice and bold strength. You get the nuance and complexity of a Scotch on the finish with candied fruit, hints of earth, and rancio notes for minutes after swallowing. There's a reason we went crazy for this bottle last time around. It's the same reason we're crazy about it this time: it's a dynamic, delicious, and dangerously drinkable spirit.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart

Highland Park "Valkyrie" Isle of Orkney Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 06-09-2017
Highland Park's new Valkyrie edition, much like its previous releases, is long on viking mythology and short on specifics, but that doesn't mean it doesn't taste good. I did a side by side comparison with the 12 and 18 year this week and felt that—as a middle ground between the two—the whisky holds up quite well for the $70 price. More importantly, it tastes like the best parts of both. While the 12 year is light and fruity, the classic 18 year is remarkedly more sherried. With the Valkyrie, you get the malty, lightly-peated texture of the 12 with some of the rancio, cakebread, and richness of the 18. From what I understand, about half of the barley used in the Valkyrie was peated, which is higher than what's used in the 12 and 18. That extra kick helps to mask any rawness from the whisky's younger components and was clearly a good move. What I appreciate most here is that the Valkyrie delivers its finest work on the nose and the finish, rather than on the mid-palate. These are two elements of whisky appreciation I appreciate more as I get older: how it teases my nostrils and how it comes together as a unit on the back end. There's a robust sherry aroma right out of the bottle, and sweet, concentrated hit of Oloroso richness on the finish that dries out a bit with the smoke, but clearly makes itself known. While Highland Park went heavier on Orkney's viking heritage this time around, they didn't do so at the expense of the whisky.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

2015 Lambuena Roble Ribera del Duero
Review Date: 05-31-2017
Hot damn, what a wine for ten bucks! Juicy and dusty with a fruit friendly profile, but a clear rusticity from the thicker-skinned Ribera del Duero tempranillo grapes that provide a heavier skin-to-juice ratio. There are few red wines in the store at ten dollars in this quality bracket. This is for people who wish zinfandel was lower in alcohol, or who want Beaujolais without the crunchy red fruits. This is a wine that delivers typicity and character for a true bargain.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2014 Laventura Viura Rioja
Review Date: 05-31-2017
I'm not sure how to express this sentiment without seeming hyperbolic, but here goes. Simply put, this is among the best K&L direct import white wines I've ever tasted in my ten year career with the company. Not only does this viura wine (viura is the white varietal in Rioja) deliver textural richness, minerality, complexity, and fineness of flavor, it does it all for a price that I can't seem to wrap my head around. Pound for pound, I would put this wine up with some of the $40 St. Aubin chardonnay wines we see from Burgundy and some of the leesier Chablis wines from Grand Cru sites. It's a shocking wine, one that tastes at least double the price, if not triple. There is a simple grace to the Laventura, one that finishes with layers of soft stone fruit, mineral notes, and the absolute perfect balance of acidity. It's the kind of wine I would buy cases of cases of, while continuing to sell cases and cases to my best customers. Ultimately, I'm someone who get's more excited about a great deal than a great wine. In this case, you're getting both. Dollar for dollar, I'm not sure we've ever carried a better white wine for the price. My highest possible recommendation.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
RP 90

2005 Bodegas Puelles Gran Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 05-31-2017
I must have sold over 300 bottles of the 1999 Puelles Gran Reserva Rioja myself, back in the day. At twenty bucks, that was one of the best crossover "mature" red wines we've ever carried as a company. The flavors had evolved into a rich and earthy character I usually associate with the finest Bordeaux wines, so I made sure to send all of my best Bordeaux drinkers in that direction. Enter the 2005 Puelles: the same wine from a more recent vintage, at the same price, that I think might even be BETTER than that legendary 1999. Tasting this with Joe Manekin, our Spanish buyer, I was practically jumping up and down. The wine pours over the palate with a soft and silky core of fruit, but not the ripe and juicy red berry fruit you see in a young Rioja. After 12 years in the bottle, there's a rancio character and a fineness to the tannins that one can only experience with older wine. The problem with recommending old wine to the general populace is that it's usually expensive! Not in this case, however. Here with this 2005 Puelles you're getting serious, serious quality and a fine look at how great red wine matures for a price that's almost too good to be true. Load up. Load up big.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
RP 90

2013 Trinity Hill "The Gimblett" Bordeaux Blend Hawke's Bay (Black Label)
Review Date: 05-27-2017
The term "Bordeaux blend" is entirely apropos here because the new Trinity Hill "Gimblett" is very much like a restrained and elegant Pessac-Leognan, but for a smashing price of $19.99. There's a deepness and richness of black fruit from the Cabernet, a faint mineral note from the stony soils (a la the Graves), and a plushness from the Merlot that rounds out the finish. It's a finely balanced blend, and one that showcases the potential of Hawke's Bay as a serious destination for claret. Try this on your next steak night and see what you think.

2013 Borell-Diehl Pinot Noir Pfalz
Review Date: 05-26-2017
I've long been a fan of the German pinot noirs, but I've long been in the minority as well. The light-in-body, ethereal style of Spatburgunder isn't for everyone, especially those who like weight and supple textures in their red wine. That being said, global warming is bringing more ripeness to Deutschland and more weight to its pinot noirs. This Borell-Diehl was almost too good to believe for fifteen bucks. It's more like Chorey-les-Beaune or Marsannay than classic German pinot, in my mind. Try one, because for the price it's a no risk situation. I'm pretty certain a lot of folks will find this to be a complete under-the-radar steal.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2015 Vollenweider Wolfer Goldgrube Riesling Kabinett Mosel
Review Date: 05-26-2017
This is the first wine from Vollenweider Wolfer I've ever tasted, but after this bottle I'm scouring the internet to find out more about this Mosel producer. This wine absolutely rocked my world. I was making faces and doing a little dance after tasting it with my colleague Ryan Woodhouse in the tasting bar. It's packed to capacity with mineral notes, wet slate, and a tangy, almost leesy, acidity that rips through your taste buds on the finish. The wine comes from the Vom Boden import portfolio, one that I'm very intrigued in tasting more from at this point. Buy this wine if you even remotely like riesling.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
VN 90

2015 Maximin Grunhaus Riesling Trocken Mosel
Review Date: 05-26-2017
Maxim Grunhaus is one of the most storied estates in the Mosel and until the end of the 18th century it was cared for by the Abbey of St. Maximin. As most of us in the booze business know, the monks have always had the good stuff. Whether in Burgundy, or along the hills of the Mosel River, you can always count on the old church-run properties to have the goods. This dry (or "trocken") entry level riesling is absolutely divine. It still has all the characteristic cocktail fruit of a textbook Mosel sweet riesling, just without the sugar. It's fresh and snappy on the finish and it almost beckons you to pour a second and then third glass.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JS 90

2015 Reichsrat von Buhl "Bone Dry" Riesling Pfalz
Review Date: 05-26-2017
While I'm fine with sweet riesling, I'm well aware that we're living in the new age of bone dry everything. Sugar is the enemy to a lot of modern drinkers, so why not see what real German riesling tastes like when it's "bone dry"? This is a total winner of a wine from front to back. The first sip lights up the taste buds with tingly and tangy acidity and the finish is a laser beam of fresh acidity and more tangy fruit, accented with spice and zip. I could drink this all day long (and I plan to at some point this weekend).
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2013 Viña Herminia Crianza Rioja
Review Date: 05-26-2017
You can always count on Rioja to give you the most bang for your buck in the sub-$15 category, and this 2013 Vina Herminia is further proof. Juicy, lip-smacking fruit balanced by savory notes of dried herbs and earth make this bottle not only a delicious option for your Wednesday night meatloaf leftovers, but also a serious cellar addition for the back of your closet. You don't have to spend lots of money with Spanish Rioja to drink well. I think that's ultimately a big part of why we love Spanish wine so much here at K&L.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
DC 95

2015 Jax Vineyard "Y3" Napa Valley Chardonnay
Review Date: 05-17-2017
Jax is our local winemaker of choice here at K&L with the owners living nearby our Redwood City store and the tasting bar just down the street from our SF store. The wines have always represented top quality for the money, and the Y3 Chardonnay is another example of how Jax is sourcing serious fruit, making serious wine, and turning up the heat on other California producers in this price point with knock-out expressions. The 2015 is a perfect balance between classic CA richness and the fresher, cleaner style foodies tend to look for today. There's a ripeness of fruit, but a clean and refreshing finish. I'm so happy to see these guys taking off because no one deserves it more.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
WE 93

2014 Le St-Estephe de Montrose, St-Estèphe
Review Date: 05-16-2017
Since the "Dame" is the official second label of Montrose, I guess that makes "Le St. Estephe" the the third wine, but pound for pound I think it's right there with the great lady. Considering most properties generally use their youngest vines for their second and third label expressions, you can really see just how much effort Montrose put into revitalizing their vineyards with this release. The "Le St. Estephe" is a gorgeous and precise claret, one that seamlessly weaves delicate fruit, dry earth, and soft tannins into a medium-bodied, old school style. Far from a fruit bomb, the wine never lacks ripeness or roundness, but it's beautifully integrated into the other elements here. 2014 is not only a great vintage for the grand vin, it's a great vintage to demonstrate just how deep the quality runs at Montrose today since the new owners took over in 2006.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart

1997 Benrinnes 19 Year Old "Old Malt Cask" Single Barrel Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 05-15-2017
I'd say not only is Benrinnes my favorite Highland distillery in Scotland, I'd say it's also one of the most consistently wonderful. Not only is the malt deliciously sweet, so are the people who work there. Because Benrinnes isn't sold as a single malt brand, the distillery isn't open to the public, but when we popped by a few years ago to visit they were so welcoming to us and gave us the full tour. The whisky is used almost entirely for Johnnie Walker, but we've been lucky to sneak a few casks over the years. The tall pot stills allow for a round and rich spirit that stands completely on its own, without the need for sherry maturation or peat. This is a supple, round, and dangerously drinkable whisky that we will buy every single time we get the chance. This new OMC expression drinks very much like our 20 year Signatory selection from Benrinnes, but for about 30% less the price.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

2005 Larmande, St-Emilion
Review Date: 05-11-2017
When we can go back to the sweet-drinking wells of 2005 and 2009 and pull out deals like this, it's always a wonderful thing! Chateau Larmande is an overlooked property in St. Emilion, despite being one of the oldest producers in the region. In fact, some of their vines are more than 100 years old, giving the chateau some of the oldest and deepest roots on the Right Bank. After more than a decade in the bottle, this wine is in a beautiful spot and if you're looking for a great dinner wine that will show well straight out of the bottle, this is your guy. If you're headed to the steakhouse, and you need a slam dunk Bordeaux for $50 or less, this is what I'm putting in your hand. The Merlot fruit is still soft and supple despite the wine's age, and there's an integrated silkiness that glides over the palate with subtle secondary notes like earth and tobacco.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
WS 92

Suntory 12 Year Old "Hakushu" Japanese Peated Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 05-08-2017
Personally, I’ve always been surprised how much more popular the Yamazaki 12 is compared to its sibling the Hakushu 12. To me, the Yamazaki has always been a fine whiskey, but the more dynamic malt is easily the Hakushu, which as pretty much the same delicate and light-drinking flavor profile as the Yamazaki, but with just the faintest touch of smoke. It's so ethereal straight out of the glass, but I feel like it tastes even better with ice (I know that's tough for some people to handle). The subtle peat is like a ghost that moves slowly around every part of my palate, brushing it with hints of earth and phenolic goodness after coating it with sweet grains. With our new pricing, this is a can't miss deal. It's nice to have some real quantity again!
Price: $68.99 Add To Cart

Suntory Toki Japanese Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 05-08-2017
When the Suntory Toki first launched at $45, it was a bit of a stretch because of how hot the market was for Japanese whisky. I'm much more comfortable selling this in the mid-thirties, however, and with our new pricing we can do that. While you sip on your bottle of Yamazaki or Hakushu, you pour this one on the rocks, add some soda water, and make yourself a real mizuwari--the great whisky soda that dominates Japan's drinking culture. The fruitiness on the nose really blossoms with the addition of bubbles, so don't be shy here. Do Japanese whisky right and drink it how it's intended!
Price: $36.99 Add To Cart

2014 HdV "Hyde de Villaine" Hyde Vineyard Carneros Chardonnay
Review Date: 05-08-2017
We have a high demand for high end California chardonnay. I get asked for recommendations all the time for bottles in the $60-$100 range, for which I'm of course grateful! Yet, the problem for me is that there are few CA chards that I feel fit the bill at that price point. Burgundy? No problem. I've got dozens of favorites, but in California it's tough for me to justify spending above $50. When I do taste something truly great in that elevated range I make a serious note of it, and that's what happened with the 2014 Hyde de Villaine. The DRC connection has put together a seriously stunning chardonnay, mainly because of the vibrant acidity this baby displays. It's like a laser beam of acid running directly through subtle notes of oak, pear, and orchard fruit. It's definitely a middle of the road style, meant to cater to both sides of the white wine spectrum, and in my case I got pulled right into that appeal. This is a slam dunk bottle of California white wine that easily justifies its price point.
Price: $64.99 Add To Cart
JS 98

Casa Dragones Blanco Tequila (750ml)
Review Date: 05-01-2017
While the Casa Dragones sipping tequila has long represented the ultimate in smooth and supple, what I love about the much more affordable blanco is that it maintains that same characteristic softness and purity while adding in more traditional tequila flavors of pepper, spice, and even a savory herbaceousness. The result is a refined and elegant style of blanco tequila that should please modernists and traditionalists alike. The beautiful blue box only seals the deal!
Price: $58.99 Add To Cart

2014 Jacques Bavard Monthelie Blanc
Review Date: 04-27-2017
We call this "baby Montrachet" at K&L because it has both the richness and the elegance you might expect from a fine $40-$60 white from the Cote d'Beaune, but for much less. While we get a number of different commune whites from Bavard each year, the Monthelie is the gold standard. It's equal parts crisp, mineral-driven, racy acidity and ripe, round, subtly-oaked richness. 2014 is the best I've tasted from this wine since I've worked here, so add that an incredible vintage into the mix.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2014 Jacques Bavard Bourgogne Blanc
Review Date: 04-27-2017
This is the great twenty dollar bottle of white Burgundy in the store and for a standard Bourgogne blanc we're talking about much smaller quantities. Whereas other producers may make ten thousand cases of bulk wine from fruit sourced from wherever it can be found throughout the region, Bavard uses his relationships to secure small parcels of high quality chardonnay near Puligny for this expression. It's one of the best Burgundy values we carry and it's of a quality beyond what $20 usually nets you in this genre.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2015 Jean-Michel Dupre "1935" Morgon
Review Date: 04-27-2017
Of all the Beaujolais wines we tasted from the fantastic 2015 vintage, the Dupre 1935 was the best, boldest, and most delicious. It's like magic in a bottle for a price that makes volume purchasing an attractive option. The deep and concentrated fruit flavors come from the ancient vines, upon which only small quantities of gamay grapes continue to grow. The juiciness and pureness of that red and blackberry fruit explodes on the palate and the wine is balanced by buoyant acidity. If you've never had real "cru level" Beaujolais before, make this your first and see what the fuss was about. If you're already a fan of the style, then go deep on this. This is as good as Beaujolais gets, in my opinion.

2015 Pierre-Yves Colin-Morey St. Aubin "Le Banc"
Review Date: 04-23-2017
A wine that showcases the talents of perhaps the region's most popular winemaker (the descendent of the aforementioned Marc Colin). Pierre-Yves has become renowned for his snappy and focused flavors, choosing not to stir up the lees for added richness so as to let the terroir's true character shine through. The "Le Banc" has a bit more oak, but it's still carrying that limey and lemony acidity right to the finish; there's almost a mineral residue on your palate minutes later. Again, you'll pay double for Colin's Montrachet expressions, but you won't necessarily get more out of them. Considering Pierre-Yves's hipster street cred, I'm surprised the wine wasn't more expensive.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart

Page: 1 2 3 4 5 next