Staff Favorites - David Driscoll

David Driscoll
David Driscoll  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service
David Driscoll likes to drink alcohol when he is not working at K&L. His main interests include wine, beer, and distilled spirits. Before he worked here he went to college at a decent school, got a masters degree from an OK school, worked as a waiter and taught elementary school in Chinatown. He decided to get into the wine business after reading a few books about wine and realizing that one cannot seriously learn about wine solely through reading. His career goals include: trying to convince K&L customers that he does know something despite his youthful appearance, and learning everything about everything about every single wine ever made.


Reviews

  
Page: 1 2 3 4 next
Le Brun de Neuville "Authentique Assemblage" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-23-2017
This a fantastic new entry to our DI Champagne program that offers fresh and clean flavors balanced and buoyed by riper apple notes. It's both refreshing as an aperitif and satisfyingly full on the palate like I would expect from a fine cuvee. What's most important to note, however, is that the Neuville "Authentique" stands out from the pack of K&L selections I've grown accustomed to drinking over the years. It's snappier than the Aspasie Carte Blanche, fruitier than the Bonville Blanc de Blanc, and more complex than the Baron Fuente Grand Reserve; generally my three go-to bottles. I'm now adding the Neuville into that line-up as the fourth horseman as it's just so versatile. Also intriguing is the wine's origin from Sezanne; a part of Champagne I know nothing about, so it scratches an intellectual itch as well. A great find by Gary.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WE 90 WS 90

1987 Glenturret 28 Year Old "Old Particular" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 02-22-2017
Man, this cask of Glenturret is just delicious in an old fashioned Scotchy way. It's nothing more than sweet grains, sweet vanilla, sweet malt, and sweet oak from front to back and the creaminess from the 28 years spent in cask is apparent every step of the way. We sold out of our first Glenturret 28 year cask in about forty-five minutes last year. I'm hoping those of you who missed out that time can get a bottle this time around. It's one of the better values I've ever come across in my ten year career.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart

1988 Strathclyde 28 Year Old "Old Particular" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Grain Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 02-22-2017
Strathclyde is one of the Chivas grain whisky components and as we're discovering here with this single cask release, it shines pretty well on its own as well. Grain whisky isn't just delicious and easy to love, it reminds me of why I like to drink in the first place. To be able to purchase 29 year old cask strength Scotch for seventy-nine bucks is fun! It takes the pressure out of savoring each drop, which is definitely what I would want to do if I were to have paid $200 or more. We've got more grains in store as the year goes on, but few that are this old and this well priced.
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart

2013 Edgebaston Pinot Noir Western Cape
Review Date: 02-03-2017
I'm not sure if the wines of South Africa are getting better over the years, or if it's just the fact that our buyer Ryan Woodhouse is finding us the wines that truly deserve our attention. Over the last week I've tasted about ten wines from the region that have honestly blown my mind. This was one of those ten: a stunning little Pinot Noir value that offers dusty, savory, robust red berry fruit in a style that I've really been enjoying as of late. Dry, tangy, but still juicy and aromatic. Keep it coming Woodhouse! I can't believe we can ship this stuff half way around the world and drink it for this price!
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart
JS 93

2013 Fuenteseca Huerta Singular "El Maguey" Blanco Tequila (750ml)
Review Date: 02-03-2017
I'm not sure what I'll need to do to communicate the importance of this tequila in my staff review. SHOULD I WRITE IN ALL CAPS? Should I gush in a never ending river of superlatives and praise? There's never been a tequila like this before at K&L. Never has one producer made dozens of different distillates from various agave fields on various properties, in search of the ultimate single-site (or huerta) blue tequila expression, but that's what this blanco edition of Fuenteseca represents. Enrique Fonseca's quest to find singularity and terroir in tequila, but for the purpose of heightened quality, not some silly modern marketing gimmick to capitalize on locavore fashion. It's what the monks did a thousand years ago in Burgundy. It's what Champagne growers and Cognac distillers have done for centuries. For all this time, producers of fine wine and spirits in Europe have located their top sites and made individual expressions to showcase the heightened quality of those particular parcels. Why is it that no one in Jalisco has thought of doing this? You'll see single vintage tequila, or single estate tequila every now and again, but the reality is that these producers aren't actually choosing between agave fields. They only have one field at their disposal, so there's nothing really special about it. But Enrique Fonseca is the largest single landowner of agave in all of Jalisco! He has more agave fields than any other tequila producer in the business, so it means all the more coming from his vast holdings. The result is nothing short of spectacular. It ranks among the best tequilas I've ever tasted, and it's probably the best blanco expression I've ever had. This is the future of tequila, folks. It's not about extra anejo, or cask strength, or various types of cooperage. This isn't whisky. Enrique has clearly shown here that a tequila's quality can be heightened simply by carefully selecting special harvests of agave. This 2013 edition of Fuenteseca is all the proof you need (and it's proofed at a higher than normal 45.7%, which adds lift). It's been resting in stainless steel for years, waiting for the right moment to unleash its beauty. Now it's finally here and you simply, positively, absolutely must buy a bottle.
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart

Old Forester "1920 Prohibition Style" Kentucky Bourbon Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 02-03-2017
This was my favorite single Bourbon release of 2016 and I'm thrilled we were able to get another large allocation of it. Regardless of whether you want to get wrapped up in the story about how this was based on the Prohibition era recipe, there's no doubt about it: this is a delicious bottle of American whiskey and it easily stands out from the crowd of currently available options. There's a weight and a richness that coats the palate and the 115 proof brings plenty of punch with a flurry of baking spices. I love the graham crackery goodness as well. I don't taste a lot of Bourbons these days that really have a deeply concentrated flavor of dark grains. This has it in spades. Add this to your short list of new and exciting Bourbons right now.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart
WE 91

2010 Tronquoy de St-Anne, St-Estèphe
Review Date: 02-02-2017
After introducing hundreds of in-store customers to the 2009 Tronquoy de St. Anne (a wine I personally bought more than a case of), it's time to introduce you to the next vintage: the beefier, sturdier, more powerful younger brother from 2010. While both vintages were critically-acclaimed, there's a huge difference between them. 2009 had all kinds of soft, silky fruit with fine tannins that did their job, but from the background. 2010 is like the reverse: the tannins are front and center and need time to get out of the way. But therein lies the beauty of the 2010 Tronquoy de St. Anne: you can decant it and drink it now, or you can sit on it for a few years and watch it get better. It's the best of both worlds, especially considering the provenance of this fruit. Owned by Chateau Montrose, it's a property that offers value far beyond the price. When's the last time you bought a sub-$20 St. Estephe from a classic vintage that could last a decade or more in the cellar?
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2014 Henri de Villamont Meursault "Clos du Cromin"
Review Date: 02-02-2017
Typically when I think of Meursault I picture creamy, rounded waves of riper fruit and toastier oak than what I might find in Chassagne and Puligny, but that's not the case at all with the 2014 Villamont "Clos du Cromin." If I had tasted this blind I might have said Montrachet, mostly because of the focused and laser-like acidity that keeps this wine moving from front to back. The fruit is much more delicate than I was expecting, almost citric in nature, and the nuance of the underlying flavors (toasted almonds and tropical fruits) are accented by a tasteful amount of oak. It's a lovely white Burgundy that moves with lithe elegance over the palate.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart
DC 96

2010 Domaine A "petit a" Cabernet Sauvignon Tasmania
Review Date: 02-02-2017
This is Tazmanian cabernet, but--I promise you--submit this into a Bordeaux line-up and you'll have people guessing Phelan Segur or Pontet Canet. Bring it to a California tasting and they'll say Katheryn Kennedy. This is a serious, serious wine with dark and brooding mountain fruit flavors, a slight earthy and herbaceous underbelly, and plenty of guts for the long haul. I was stunned, to be honest. I went back it again and again, but the result was always the same. For the price, this is a steal. It's a lot cheaper than it should be.

2014 David & Nadia "Aristargos" White Blend Swartland
Review Date: 02-02-2017
For fans of the Sadie wines (like myself), consider this blend of white varietals a similar pleasure at a very reasonable price. The textural richness from the South African chenin blanc is on full display here with flinty, rocky, and stony flavors permeating that core from the terroir of the heavy granite soils. There's still plenty of lift from the acidity on the finish, which is simply wonderful. White wine enthusiasts like myself need to be drinking more white blends from South Africa--period. This wine is exhibit A.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
VN 91

2014 Pencarrow Pinot Noir (Palliser) Martinborough
Review Date: 02-02-2017
As pinot noir continues to cut into cabernet's red wine market dominance, the competition is getting fierce and the result is a larger selection of value-priced options with real pinot noir character. I can remember ten years ago when any pinot noir under twenty bucks likely tasted more like fruit juice than fresh cherries and forest floor. Today, however, you can get serious pinot noir for fifteen dollars and the best possible example of this new reality is the Pencarrow, a direct import gem discovered by our buyer Ryan Woodhouse. It's packed with juicy black cherry flavors and a lush mouthfeel with foresty and earthy elements that remind me more of Beaune or Marsannay than California. Those looking for easy drinking Bourgogne Rouge might want to look here. Those looking for value will definitely want to load up.

2015 Pencarrow Sauvignon Blanc (Palliser) Martinborough
Review Date: 02-02-2017
When I first started working at K&L, the Patient Cottat was the great $10 sauvignon blanc; a Sancerre-like bargain bottle from the Loire. While I still think it's a great deal, it's no match for the Pencarrow. At $10.99, this lovely little find by our buyer Ryan Woodhouse has firmly cemented itself as the clean, crisp, and overachieving white wine bargain of the future. While it's from New Zealand, the fruit is from a stony flood plain in Marlborough and the result is a Sancerre-like minerality in the wine (even more so than the Patient Cottat). For those who like zippy, fresh, and lip-smacking sauvignon blanc, this is your new bottle. All hail the new king of Tuesday night: Pencarrow.

1990 Montrose, St-Estèphe
Review Date: 02-01-2017
The 1990 Montrose isn't just a 100 point wine, it's a 100 point wine from an era when Bordeaux was still in its old school phase. There was less pressure back then to make a modern and consumable product, one with ripe fruit and silky tannins that that masses could easily embrace. When you drink the 1990 Montrose, you get a level of secondary depth and complexity that I rarely taste in modern era Bordeaux. There are delicate herbal nuances, hints of violets, and an essence of cassis so pure and fragile that it almost dances across the palate. We had a bottle at dinner after the UGC tasting this past January, and even having tasted a number of great Bordeaux that afternoon, the 1990 Montrose still stood head and shoulders above the rest. It's a supreme wine from a supreme vintage, and it's a wine that truly merits both the price and the reputation. More importantly, it's a wine with a long, long future ahead of it. That's what any 100 point wine should offer.
Price: $499.99 Add To Cart
RP 100

2014 Jax "Estate" Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 01-31-2017
If I had to pick my number one California winery to watch in 2017, it would be Jax. Kimberly Jackson-Wickam's work ethic and commitment to both quality and drinkability is unmatched right now in the local game. She's running circles around other people with her ground game. She and her family have worked tirelessly to create a modern iteration of Napa that speaks to the quality and integrity of the last four decades while keeping prices reasonable and offering something a little more flashy to today's younger generation. The Jax Napa Estate Cab is the ultimate crossover wine, made in an almost post-modern style (which I would call modernity with restraint). I left a bottle at my parents' house one time and they called me back later in the week asking me if I could get more. Around the same time, I brought my wife's 23 year old cousin to their winery and he thought the cabernet was the most delicious thing he had ever tasted. It doesn't matter who you pour this wine for, the result is always the same: people love it. It's structured, but smooth. It's powerful, yet there's finesse. It's fleshy and dark fruited, but there's more than just fruit underneath. It's everything Napa has to be if it wants to continue connecting with a new generation of California wine drinkers. Most importantly, it's accessible. Bravo!
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart
RP 93 WE 90

1997 Glen Spey 18 Year Old "Old Particular" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 01-25-2017
I have to almost ask the question here: can you afford NOT to buy the Glen Spey? When's the last time you saw cask strength, single barrel, Highland single malt whisky for under seventy bucks? Much like we've become the kings of off-vintage Bordeaux value here at K&L, I feel like we're beginning to become the kings of non-branded Scottish distilleries. Glen Spey is another Johnnie Walker distillery that provides the backbone to J&B, but here in this single cask edition it's pure fruit flavor and lithe vanilla core are allowed a solo number. There's nothing out of the ordinary here. It's just classic Scotch flavor for a damn good price. At cask strength, no less.
Price: $64.99 Add To Cart

2014 Clos Bellane Côtes du Rhône-Villages Valréas
Review Date: 01-22-2017
Both of the Clos Bellane wines we have right now drink well beyond their standard "Cotes du Rhone" classification. The Valreas in particular tastes much more like a Crozes-Hermitage or Chateauneuf du Pape with concentrated dark fruit flavors, plenty of spice, leather, and pepper from the syrah. Personally, I've been at the point where the standard 90 point CdR have all started blurring together. In a sea of quaffable value wines the Bellane stands out big time. It offers depth and pureness of flavor of a kind we rarely see for less than twenty bucks.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart
RP 90 - 92

2013 John Duval "Plexus" SGM Barossa Valley South Australia
Review Date: 01-20-2017
This is not the jammy Shiraz from Barossa you had from that bottle of Yellowtail back in 2002. Far from it. This is a dark, brooding, dense, and intriguing expression from John Duval that showcases the intensity and the vigor of what the best parcels in the Barossa Valley can bring to a wine, but without any of the sweetness or the overpowering alcohol. The black and blue fruits are pronounced, yet restrained. There's a meatiness there, but it's merely an undercurrent. The finish is ripe, but simultaneously earthy with soft tannins. I love it when we offer wines that break from the mass market expectations. This is Barossa like you've never tasted it. It's a wine that makes you stand up and take notice.

2015 D'Arce, Côtes de Castillon
Review Date: 01-20-2017
I love this wine from the Garcin family, the folks behind Barde-Haut and L'Eglise on Bordeaux's Right Bank. It's a perfect expression of everything I enjoy about the 2015 vintage in Bordeaux. The flavors are delicate and fruit-driven, but they're pretty rather than punchy. The red fruits are pure, accented with mineral notes and a core of clean acidity, and the tannins are elegantly structured. We tasted this with Helene Garcin at the property this past Spring and I loved it then, but the wine is really showing its splendor right now. Not only is it delicious, it's also versatile. It's rich enough to pair with beef, but juicy enough for chicken and pork as well. It's a wine I could drink everyday for the price, yet also one that tastes serious enough to bring to a dinner party. It's the type of Bordeaux I never want to be without and it's a fantastic preview of what's to come from 2015. For those of you who want to get your feet wet in the genre, this is a classically-styled wine that delivers serious bang for the buck.

2013 Carpe Diem Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 01-11-2017
We taste a lot of Cabernet here at K&L, simply because we're living in California where Cabernet is king. Given the fact that I may taste 30-40 different Cabs every week, it takes something special to stand out from that voluminous line-up. The Carpe Diem isn't only a stand out, it's a value to boot. Twenty dollar Cabernet never gets old, but when it's as soft, nuanced, and graceful as the 2013 Carpe Diem it's worth casing up. This isn't big, oaky, or in-your-face Cabernet. It's elegant, polished, and restrained in character and it drinks like a $30-$40 bottle. That all makes sense when you learn it comes from the Dominus team, but it's still striking to taste. If you were to put this in a blind tasting with 100 other Cabernets between $15 and $25, I think the Carpe Diem wins unanimously.
Price: $22.99 Add To Cart
WE 92

2014 Domaine Aubaï Mema "Albion" Gard Blanc
Review Date: 01-11-2017
As a fan of everyday white wine (because I drink white wine everyday), I love it when I can switch things up a bit and get outside my normal comfort zone, yet still maintain many of the qualities I enjoy. I like clean and fresh white wines. I don't mind extra richness or texture, but there must be balance. This blend of Chardonnay and Viognier from Aubai Mema has a suppleness that coats your mouth, but it's still refreshing. It's full of tropical notes, a floral flutter, and stone fruit, but it never becomes too hedonistic. It's a delicious bottle of wine that brings serious bang for the buck. It's also organic and a direct import! Lots to love here.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2015 Clos Bellane "Petite Bellane" Côtes du Rhône-Villages
Review Date: 01-11-2017
This wine is absolutely delicious and seems to capture much more of the Syrah than you typically find in a Cotes du Rhone. It's bursting with black pepper, dark savory fruit, and a meatiness that's practically begging for BBQ. But that's not to say it's heavy handed or tannic. There's loads of dark fruit underneath all that spice, making this more like a St-Joseph than your standard Grenache-based CdR. It's a serious deal, especially if--like I do--you find this scratches more of a Northern Rhone itch.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2013 Domaine Aubaï Mema "Liverna" Gard Rouge
Review Date: 01-11-2017
If you're a person who loves bargain Rhone wines or classic bistro style reds, this is a new K&L direct import that brings that same character, but with more depth and panache. There's a round, juicy, and fleshy mouthfeel to "Liverna" that pops in all the right places. It's seductive and easy on the palate with concentrated berries from the grenache and structure from the cabernet. In a sea of nondescript French reds, all of which more or less consist of grenache and something else, this is the one that stands out, grabs your attention, and demands a second pour. Don't miss it.
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart

2013 Bodegas Palacios Remondo "La Montesa" Crianza Rioja
Review Date: 01-10-2017
This is the most complex and enticing sub-$20 red wine that I've tasted in years. But the more our buyer Joe Manekin told me about the winemaker Alvaro Palacios, the more I understood the dynamism of the "La Montesa." Do a Google search for Alvaro and you'll find nothing but praise, respect, and gratitude for his work on behalf of Spanish wine over the last three decades. He's a heralded leader for the genre, especially in Rioja where he's returned home to enhance his family's Bodegas Palacios Remondo property. The 2013 La Montesa is an absolute revelation in the glass. The nose is full of berries, brush, earth, and even a bit of black truffle. On the palate, there's a savory element mixed with fine tannins, linear minerality, and a lithe freshness on the finish. This is more than just a "smart buy" or an everyday red. This is a serious bottle of wine made by a master. The only reason it's $14.99 is because Rioja hasn't quite yet established itself with Bordeaux and Burgundy at this point. But Alvaro is working to change that. With more wines like this, he might just have a chance.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
WS 91

2014 Olivier Leflaive Bourgogne Blanc "Oncle Vincent"
Review Date: 01-06-2017
This is the great twenty dollar bottle of white Burgundy. It's everything I love about the region's Chardonnay wines all wrapped up into one easy, well-priced bottle. I could probably drink this every single day and never get tired of it. The acidity is like a laser beam of citrus with subtle notes of stonefruit for just enough weight. The influence of the oak is minor, but it's there and it holds the wine together beautifully. It's clean, racy, and mouthwatering. This is your workhorse French Chardonnay. It's the bottle you go to night in and night out. Dependable, delicious, and always satisfying.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
WE 90 WS 90

2000 Domaine d'Ognoas 16 Year Old Bas-Armagnac (750ml)
Review Date: 12-23-2016
If you're a Bourbon drinker, Ognoas is like the Wild Turkey or Four Roses of Armagnac. It's lighter, rounder, and less spicy than most of the other selections we carry that have a heavier dose of both wood and spice. This 16-year-old 2000 vintage edition of Ognoas is a beautifully balanced brandy that operates at equal levels of oak, fruit, and richness. It's a mellow, yet intricate and layered Armagnac with plenty of supple and resinous fruit at its core. Cognac drinkers with also appreciate its grace and refined character. It's an elegant Armagnac, through and through.
Price: $64.99 Add To Cart

1998 Faultline 17 Year Old "K&L Exclusive" Caribbean Rum (750ml)
Review Date: 12-23-2016
Now that relations with America have recently warmed, thawing the remnants of our Cold War stand-off, we're finally bringing real "Caribbean" rum back to our thirsty rum drinkers. This unsweetened 100 proof edition brings richness from 17 years in oak, but it's still a dry and ester-driven rum with loads of fruit and a little bit of funk to balance it out. Those picturing Havana Club need to imagine a bit less sugar and bit more tropical fruit with an earthy cane finish. Without a doubt, however, this is one of the best rums we've ever carried and if you've got a hankering for cigars, this "Caribbean" edition makes for a fine pairing.
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart

Domaine de Maouhum Armagnac (750ml)
Review Date: 12-23-2016
This is essentially a Baco grape-based version of our Age de Glace Armagnac, but this one's made by Christelle Lasseignou over at Domaine de Maouhum. At only five years of age, this is a young little overachiever that has a striking amount of richness and bold Baco character for such a short amount of time in wood. There's a woody and earthy note, followed by a bit of that vinous grappa profile that you sometimes get in grape-based spirits. There's a lot going on here for thirty-five bucks. I tried making a Manhattan with this last night and it absolutely slayed. I'm going back for Sidecars and Old Fashioneds tonight!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Domaine d'Ognoas Reserve Armagnac (750ml)
Review Date: 12-20-2016
For those of you who enjoyed our Ognoas XO editions of the past, this is pretty much the same Armagnac. A gorgeous, round, and elegant sipping Armagnac with plenty of fruit and soft richness for a great price. This batch is based on the 2006 vintage, so it's a minimum of 10 years of age. I've drunk two bottles already and we just got this in last week :)
Price: $54.99 Add To Cart

Jacques Esteve Petit Champagne Hors d'Age Cognac (750ml)
Review Date: 12-20-2016
We're previously focused on Esteve's 25 year and older Cognacs (to great success!), but this time around we wanted to find something more reasonable and accessible for everyday drinking. This Hors d'Age edition has the clean and lean character of our other caramel-free Cognacs, but with a bit more oak spice and richness on the finish. It's the picture of grace with its lithe flavor profile of stonefruit and subtle vanilla notes. I think we'll have people coming back for this again and again.
Price: $54.99 Add To Cart

2010 La Rioja Alta "Viña Alberdi" Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 12-15-2016
The most important fact to know about the 2010 Alberdi is that it needs to breath. The difference between this wine thirty seconds after opening the bottle and thirty minutes is night and day. I decanted this beauty and was absolutely spellbound once the initial intensity blew off and the fruit opened up underneath. This is classic Spanish food wine, full of dark berries and chewy tannins. It's not a big juicy garnacha by any means, but rather an old school Rioja with finesse and style. It has restraint and on the finish there are lingering notes of wood and dark berries. Cook up a steak or a rack of lamb and dump a bottle of this in the decanter for some mighty fine living!
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
JS 95 RP 91

1997 Auchentoshan 19 Year Old "Hepburn's Choice - K&L Exclusive" Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 12-15-2016
If I have to single-handedly keep advocating for triple-distilled Lowland Scotch whisky, I'll do so. While my friends are destroying their palates with uber-peaty Islay malts, 16% cabernets, and 14% super-duper, nuclear-level IPAs, I'll happily sit back with a glass of mellow, intricate, and utterly-satisfying Auchentoshan. The pride of Glasgow is well alive in this edition. Nothing more than you'd expect: vanilla, biscuits, sweet grains, and subtle citrus. We've got the standard 18 year on the shelf for $120, so why not take the extra digit and the higher proof and save yourself forty bucks?
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart

2012 Damilano "Lecinquevigne" Barolo
Review Date: 12-15-2016
This is the classically-styled, yet accessible and mainstream-oriented Barolo I've been waiting for all year. The old world nebbiolo I can drink now during the holidays without waiting until I'm 75 for it to soften up. This wine is absolutely gorgeous, but it needs air and a big hearty meal. Nebbiolo can be as aromatic and delicate as a fine pinot noir, but as tannic as a cold-vintage Bordeaux, so it's a complex animal. That being said, it always plays second fiddle to Brunello and other sangiovese-based wines here at K&L because it remains a misunderstood varietal. If you've been looking to understand or ascertain the intricacies of Italy's "other" great wine, this is the bottle for you. The nose is a haunting bouquet of berries, brush, and spice. The palate is structured and solid, but under all that power is a symphony of violets, raspberries, and earth. This is a rare treat for us Barolo lovers.

2014 Errazuriz Chardonnay Aconcagua Costa
Review Date: 12-09-2016
This wine is just flat out delicious. It quenches my white wine thirst like a glass of cold lemonade does on a hot day, and it's likely one of the best whites I've ever tasted from South America. Picture the mineral drive of a great Chablis, but with the acidity and juiciness New Zealand style citrus, and that's pretty much the Errazuriz in a nutshell. Clean, focused, and expressive lemon flavors with stone fruit roundness on the finish, plenty of zest on the finish. I don't care what kind of white wine you like to drink, be it Sauvignon Blanc, Pinot Grigio, Chardonnay, or even dry Riesling, this is one of those "don't miss out" kind of wines; a wine that you've never heard of that comes out of nowhere and shocks the heck out of you.

2014 Borsao "Tres Picos" Garnacha Campo de Borja
Review Date: 12-09-2016
Yuuuuuuum! That's what I say to myself every time I drink Spanish Garnacha; something I don't do nearly enough these days. The Tres Picos is a juicy, palate-pleasing burst of red fruits that offers far more than just boozy drinkability. Unlike some of the sweet or cloying American bargain wines I run into, the Spanish seem to understand restraint and balance as it pertains to table red. There's both acidity and minerality acting as ballasts against the fruit. This is a big hit with our customers in just about every vintage. The 2014 will be just a popular.

2015 Bernabeleva "Camino de Navaherreros" Garnacha Vinos de Madrid
Review Date: 12-09-2016
I've been hand-selling this wine in the store for years now, but I guess some secrets are simply too good to keep to yourself. Since we're doing a bit of email and letting the cat out of the bag, I guess I'd better do some of the same gushing here. This is quintessential Spanish red wine, the kind that opens your eyes, electrifies your taste buds, and has you asking: "Are the other wines from Spain this good and this affordable?" I feel that way about most of the Garnacha wines we carry, but this is the best Garnacha I've ever had. It's plump, concentrated, and simply bursting with red fruit, but it's not monolithic or one-noted by any means. There are earthy undertones; brooding waves of darker berries and savory herbs. It's a complex wine, one that morphs over the palate into a number of incarnations. Bernabeleva has been my go-to sub-$20 red since 2012 and I've probably put over 500 bottles of it into the hands of Redwood City customers over the years. Now the secret's out. Please don't drink all of it!
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart

2006 Worthy Park 10 Year Old "Golden Devil" Single Barrel Jamaican Rum (750ml)
Review Date: 12-07-2016
I could just nose this rum all day long and never get tired of it. The aromas are so enticing, full of flat cola, tropical fruits, vanilla bean, and pineapple. Then you get the bitter ester notes like earth, petrol, and polish on the palate, but they're balanced by just enough sweetness from the barrel. You can do so many different things with this Worthy Park: sip it on the rocks, make a cocktail, or even pour yourself a shot after a long day. It's utterly complex, intriguing, and I discover new flavors each time I taste it. That being said, if you're used to Zaya or Zacapa, this might cause your head to explode.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

2007 Monymusk 9 Year Old "Golden Devil" Single Barrel Jamaican Rum (750ml)
Review Date: 12-07-2016
If you're looking for a Jamaican mixing rum, this is the best we've ever carried in the store. The high-ester funk in this Monymusk is balanced and there's only a slight bit of sweetness from the wood. What you have is a wonderfully dry component to make daiquiris with, but it also makes the best rum and Coke I've ever tasted. So much of mass market rum's character is stripped out and then replaced with caramel (much like our processed foods), so if you've never tasted "real" rum, this is a great place to start.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

2012 Villa Antinori Chianti Classico Riserva
Review Date: 12-06-2016
It's been a while since I've tasted Chianti that balanced the softness of the wild cherry with the savory, meatier flavors this well. Everything about the Antinori Riserva's profile is harmonious and fluid in its flavor. It's equal parts old school and new school, equal parts fruit and leather, equal parts structure and suppleness. It's a complex Chianti, one that expands beyond the simple table wine elements we adore so much and blooms into a more expansive experience. I could drink this with pasta, with a steak, with pork tacos, or just on its own after a long day at work. You can cellar it, or you can decant it and enjoy it now. This is a can-do Chianti.

2012 Michel Gassier "Lou Coucardié" Costières de Nîmes Rouge
Review Date: 11-30-2016
This is not at all the ripe or decadent wine that I read about before tasting. This is a wonderful surprise! Instead of over-extracted blue fruits I got real acidity, plush dark fruit, and the meatiness of the Mouvedre. Fans of Cote du Rhone will get far more than their money's worth here, and Southern Rhone drinkers will rejoice in tasting a wine that has more to offer than just richness and texture. There is real nuance here in this bottle and it's dialed back enough to where you can pair it with a number of meals.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart
RP 93 VN 92

2015 Domaine Paul Pernot Puligny-Montrachet
Review Date: 11-30-2016
While we have a number of other premier cru selections from Paul Pernot right now, I was most impressed with the standard village grade Puligny Montrachet at our recent tasting. At the moment, it's easily the most drinkable and the most attractive of the bunch, so if you're not the cellaring type this is clearly the one for you. It tastes expensive. It's remarkably clean, vibrant, and balanced in terms of acidity, fruit, and richness. There's a seamless transition from lemon citrus to stonefruit on the palate and the wine finishes with both textural richness and length. If I were looking for a nice bottle to bring to a special dinner that I knew would cater to a number of different tastes and preferences, this would be high on my list.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

2014 de Landiras Rouge, Graves
Review Date: 11-29-2016
I think what's most shocking about the Landiras is its incredibly restrained and balanced flavor profile. When we get bargain Bordeaux in the $10-$15 range it's usually a juicier,,Merlot-driven style that caters to the fleshier and fruitier new world rather than the subdued style of the old. This is not a modern wine, however. It's of that time-honored Bordeaux style many of us food-friendly wine lovers continue to covet. The fruit is soft and elegant, the flavors are traditional and reserved, and the wine finishes with finesse. It's not a one note, one-trick pony by any means. This is a wine I could drink every day. Heck, it's a wine I would be happy to drink every day! Embedded in the Landiras core is that classic Gravsian dichotomy of dark fruit and minerality, and it persists for at least five minutes on the finish. I don't ever expect that level of depth from a $12,99 bottle of Bordeaux, but I'm not going to look a gift horse in the mouth either. Load up. If you're a fan of Chantgrives or Chevalier, this is like a baby version you can afford to drink regularly.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
DC 95

2014 Columbia Crest "Grand Estates" Columbia Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 11-28-2016
I think the price and the points are what held your attention long enough to even bother reading these staff reviews. The question now is: does the wine deliver as advertised? I think the Wine Enthusiast notes are pretty much dead on. I took a sip and I immediately tasted sweet cherry, dark cocoa, and milk chocolate. It's pretty straightforward stuff--deliciously straightforward. There's a good amount of oak here, but it's not sweet vanilla oak or extracted wood chips like you might expect in the sub-$10 cab region. It's a nice little dollop of toast that adds complexity to the ripeness of the fruit. What you get is a classic, value-priced Washington wine that harkens back to the days when Columbia Crest was banging out winners right and left. If you like silky reds with plenty of body, yet with a certain level of finesse, this is a real gem.
Price: $8.99 Add To Cart
WS 91 WE 90

Taittinger "La Francaise" Brut Champagne Jeroboam (3L)
Review Date: 11-27-2016
I was quite taken aback by the quality of wine in this major brand-labeled bottle. The Taittinger "La Francaise" is a wonderful combination of leesy richness with firm acidity, that glides effortlessly over the palate, hitting all the right notes. The finish is full of citrus and rich, bready flavors. It tastes like it should cost twice as much. It tastes way better than 2003 Dom, which does cost twice as much. (9/2013)
Price: $229.00 Add To Cart
RP 90 WS 90

Taittinger "La Francaise" Brut Champagne Methuselah (6L)
Review Date: 11-27-2016
I was quite taken aback by the quality of wine in this major brand-labeled bottle. The Taittinger "La Francaise" is a wonderful combination of leesy richness with firm acidity, that glides effortlessly over the palate, hitting all the right notes. The finish is full of citrus and rich, bready flavors. It tastes like it should cost twice as much. It tastes way better than 2003 Dom, which does cost twice as much. (9/2013)
Price: $499.00 Add To Cart
RP 90 WS 90

2012 Marquis de Terme, Margaux
Review Date: 11-22-2016
Yet another gorgeous wine from the 2012 vintage that really puts into perspective just how under-priced these wines are compared to years like 2009 and 2010. This wine is dark and fleshy with loads of cassis fruit and lightly gritty tannins that provide just enough structure for a quick five year cellar run. It's a pretty wine, one that expands for minutes on the finish. To drink Margaux in any vintage for forty bucks is nice. To drink one this good from a beautiful vintage like 2012 is wonderful. This is Bordeaux you can afford and one that delivers on every level.

Siembra Valles "Ancestral" Blanco Tequila (750ml)
Review Date: 11-22-2016
For serious agave nuts, this is as close as Tequila will ever get to mezcal in that David Suro's team used many Oaxacan production methods to make this spectacular expression. In fact, in order to help consult on the project Suro brought up a number of Oaxacan distillers to help explain the process to the Tequileros. He said to me, "It brought a tear to my eye; seeing mezcaleros and Tequileros working side by side." This is a historic Tequila, but it's also an unbelievably delicious one. Huge notes of roasted agave, citrus, and spice coat the palate. At 50.1% there's a little kick on the finish as well. This isn't for people who want smooth. It's for people who want maximum flavors at all costs. In this case, David Suro paid the costs for that flavor. He spared no expense.
Price: $119.99 Add To Cart

1995 Glenburgie 21 Year Old K&L Exclusive "Signatory" Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 11-11-2016
This 21 year old Glenburgie achieves exactly what its predecessor did (that 20 year old cask we bought last year): it provides high quality, no frills Scotch whisky goodness with maturity and punch for a hot price. There's nothing out of the ordinary here, just rich vanilla, oak, malted grains, stone fruits, and a nice smooth finish. Chalk up another win for no-name single malt whisky and those who trust in it.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart

1997 Linkwood 19 Year Old K&L Exclusive "Signatory" Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 11-11-2016
Linkwood is such a great whisky and it's so dependable. I've never really had a bad version of it, be it from Gordon & MacPhail or elsewhere. What's paramount, however, is that you give the whisky its due. Linkwood is incredibly delicate, nuanced, and precise. You almost need to sip it in the absence of any other sensory distractions. Doing that will allow you to hone in on the brilliance of the spirit itself. There's citrus, cereal grains, shortbread, and ginger spice lying in wait for those who make the effort to coax all the beauty out of the glass. This is yet another fantastic example of the elegant Scotch whisky.
Price: $89.99 Add To Cart

1997 Dufftown 18 Year Old K&L Exclusive "Signatory" Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 11-11-2016
I'm all about bringing in new distilleries for our customers to try, mainly because David OG and I try so many interesting whiskies that never make it back across the Atlantic with us. Dufftown is a working man's whisky from the Speyside town of the same name, normally an ingredient in the Johnnie Walker blends, but in this case bottled on its own. There's a robust spiciness and intense oaky richness on the first sip that slowly dissipates into sweet barley and classic Highland Scotch flavor. This is the first time we've ever bought a cask of Dufftown and, because of the fact it's not a household name, the price is a right.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

2015 Saint Cosme Côtes du Rhône
Review Date: 11-11-2016
Cosme has always been the Rhone for people who wanted something more than just juicy bistro wine. This is the Cotes du Rhone with depth, and dark fruits, and leather, and spice, and hints of black pepper. It's almost like a Northern Rhone wine and a southern Rhone wine combined into one. The syrah really comes through in this baby and it's a wonderful thing.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
WS 91

Page: 1 2 3 4 next