Staff Favorites - David Driscoll

David Driscoll
David Driscoll  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service
David Driscoll likes to drink alcohol when he is not working at K&L. His main interests include wine, beer, and distilled spirits. Before he worked here he went to college at a decent school, got a masters degree from an OK school, worked as a waiter and taught elementary school in Chinatown. He decided to get into the wine business after reading a few books about wine and realizing that one cannot seriously learn about wine solely through reading. His career goals include: trying to convince K&L customers that he does know something despite his youthful appearance, and learning everything about everything about every single wine ever made.


Reviews

  
Page: 1 2 3 4 next
Cut Spike Nebraska Single Malt Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 07-13-2015
When I first tasted the Cut Spike whiskey, I thought it was simply the best American single malt out there; a true revelation for the domestic category. However, as I'm now tasting the newest batch from the Nebraskan producer, I'm realizing that the whiskey is starting to morph into something very particular and unique to the brand. That classic creaminess is still very pervasive, but for the second time in a row there's a pronounced note of pine that soon mutates into ginger and Asian spices before quickly turning back into rich vanilla and oak on the finish; smoothly seeping its way into my taste buds as that last little sip goes down. What we're starting to witness here is the development of a house style--a flavor that defines this distillery. It's very exciting, and it's becoming infectious.
Price: $59.99 Add To Waiting List

2014 Dog Point Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough
Review Date: 07-08-2015
This is made by the guy who founded Cloudy Bay. It's basically a better version of Cloudy Bay for $10 less a bottle. Nuff said, right? Super crisp, lots of citrus, and all bio-organically farmed.

2013 Te Mata "Awatea" Bordeaux Blend Hawkes Bay
Review Date: 07-08-2015
Lush and soft, like it's already been matured for a few years, with dark-fruited goodness and textures of earth and spice on the mid-palate. If you're going out for steak and you need a well-priced bottle that drinks perfectly right off the bat (no decanting) then this is the guy for you.

2014 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Chardonnay Marlborough
Review Date: 07-08-2015
The TWR Sauvignon Blanc has been the best SB we've carried for the last year. Now the 2014 Chardonnay has arrived, and I think it might be the best Chard we now carry. Crisp, with minerality and a bit of richness from oak, it drinks like a fine white Burgundy. Absolutely stunning.
Price: $24.99 Add To Waiting List

2014 TWR (Te Whare Ra) "Toru" White Blend Marlborough
Review Date: 07-08-2015
Made from aromatic varietals (predominately Gewurztraminer) this little blend refreshing white will wash away all your troubles. Sauvignon Blanc and Gris round out the backend. We've been waiting for years to build up TWR enough before bringing this in. A staff favorite.
Price: $18.99 Add To Waiting List
RC 93

2014 Alkoomi Estate "Old Vine - Black Label" Riesling Frankland River Western Australia
Review Date: 07-08-2015
Unbelievably racy with tons of flinty, petrol notes. You would think this is classic German-style trocken, but it's not. It's a crazy deal from Western Australia, a region that lately has been making more good white wine than just about anywhere on the planet. Bone dry. So dry your teeth will hurt.
Price: $16.99 Add To Waiting List
JH 97

2013 Luna Beberide Mencía Bierzo
Review Date: 07-01-2015
This is a juicy, lovely little food wine that brings just enough ripe fruit flavor to help balance out the mineral undercurrents. Nowhere near as overpowering as a Cote du Rhone or jammy Zinfandel, think of this Mencia as a more restrained bistro wine, or California red before the new wave of big points/big power took over. A true throwback wine at a hot price.
Price: $13.99 Add To Waiting List
W&S 91 AG 90

2013 DePaula Monastrell Jumilla
Review Date: 07-01-2015
My new favorite Spanish wine for under $20. This is just a stunning wine with layers of complexity. Dark black fruits morph into savory and earthy notes, before mutating into bits of dried spice and leather. It's a whole lotta red wine for $14.99 and it should pair well with just about anything. Made by wine geeks for wine geeks.
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 91

2013 Ermitage "Victor" Costieres de Nimes Rouge
Review Date: 06-28-2015
This wine is going to be a serious competitor for our already beloved Montfaucon. This is Rhone wine with seamless flavors of dark berries and currant, and a juicy character that just hits the spot. Our French regional buyer Keith Mabry was in search of a new K&L exclusive bistro-style wine and he found it. For $10 this is your new party red. Find me someone who doesn't like this wine.
Price: $9.99 Add To Waiting List

2014 Cave de Tavel "Lauzeraies" Tavel
Review Date: 06-28-2015
A great deal for Tavel rosé with plenty of soft pink fruit, but plenty of crisp acidity to balance it all out. A bit rounder than your standard Provence fare, but just as clean and refreshing. I could drink this all day (and probably will at some point).
Price: $13.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Clos de l'Anhel "Lolo de l'Anhel" Corbieres
Review Date: 06-28-2015
Our French regional buyer Keith Mabry went to Corbieres in search of a simple, down-home, organic, hands-off table wine and he came back with this stunning little number. Not nearly as fruit-forward and juicy as most Carignan-based wines, the Anhel is a drier, more restrained expression of black currant and subtle earth. It's a great food wine to pair with roasted meat dishes and for the money it's a total steal.
Price: $12.99 Add To Waiting List

2014 Rosé de Haut-Bailly, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 06-18-2015
A slightly rounder, richer rosé that still brings crisp acidity and freshness. Drink it with grilled meats of any kind and revel in its layered red fruits with soft Cabernet juiciness on the finish. I'm in for a case.
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List

Macallan Rare Cask Single Malt Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 06-16-2015
I'm one of those guys who would rather drink the richer, more robust flavor of sherry on the palate rather than an age statement or a number. There's no 12 or 18 on the label of the Macallan Rare Cask because the distillery uses a variety of ages, from top quality sherry butts, to create the Rare Cask. If you can get past the uncertainty, you'll be rewarded with fudge, decadent cocoa, and spice cake. If you like Macallan, there's no way you'll be disappointed.
Price: $269.99 Add To Waiting List

2011 Ugo Lequio "Gallina" Barbaresco
Review Date: 06-11-2015
This is one of the more approachable and drinkable bottles of Barbaresco I've ever tasted. It has all the classic Nebbiolo flavor but with a softer, juicier center and delicate tannic structure. It's THE bottle for date night at your local Italian place because you can open it without decanting and still enjoy the flavor. That's a huge reason why I DON'T take more Nebbiolo wines out to dinner, but with the Gallina it's not an issue. Fantastic stuff that really delivers for the price.
Price: $44.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 95 RP 92

2012 Erik Banti "Carato" Toscana
Review Date: 06-10-2015
This just a whole lotta Sangiovese flavor for an incredibly reasonable price. The Carato really tastes like a baby Chianti and it's less than $10. Dark cherry, dusty earth. Seriously?
Price: $8.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Ferrero Rosso di Montalcino
Review Date: 06-10-2015
This is the most elegant and seamless vintage of Ferrero Rosso I've yet to taste. It's subdued with soft cherry fruit and a long, lithe finish that's hauntingly beautiful.
Price: $16.99 Add To Waiting List

San Venanzio Prosecco Valdobbiadene Superiore Brut
Review Date: 06-10-2015
This is stunning for the price. Light, airy, a touch of stone fruit with a hint of what seems like sweetness, but really is just ripeness. It's fresh and dry and lovely. And the price!
Price: $12.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 Isole e Olena Chianti Classico
Review Date: 06-10-2015
The most graceful Chianti in the store. It has all the red cherry fruit, dusty, earthy texture, but with the finesse of the finest red wines we carry. Wonderful stuff.

2011 Proprietà Sperino "Uvaggio" Costa della Sesia
Review Date: 06-10-2015
This is dynamite Nebbiolo, of the highest possible quality. It has such an perfectly balanced core of dark fruit, earth, minerality, and spice that you'll be back for second sips faster than you originally planned. That will make the bottle go that much quicker, so you might as well get two. It's worth it.
Price: $29.99 Add To Waiting List
AG 92 WE 90

2013 Sequillo (Eben Sadie) White Blend Swartland
Review Date: 05-21-2015
Sometimes hyperbole isn't enough to get your point across. "This is the BEST, ever, ever, ever, ever!" wouldn't really even do this wine justice. The quality of Eben Sadie's wines speaks for itself, but usually you'll have to pony up about $40-$60 a bottle to test out that quality for yourself. Somehow, someway, our wine buyer Ryan Woodhouse worked out a deal to bring in Sadie's Sequillo wines direct: for $19 freakin' 99!!! That's just unreal. The Sequillo white is like elegance in a bottle. It's soft and seamless, yet never lacking in acidity or minerality. I took a bottle of his T'Voetpad white (the single vineyard version of this wine) to my anniversary dinner with my wife this year. She fawned over that bottle like a school girl at a New Kids on the Block concert in 1989. Get a bottle of this wine. Get two cases. Get in while it's here. ASAP. You won't be sorry.
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 Sequillo (Eben Sadie) Red Blend Swartland
Review Date: 05-21-2015
Sometimes hyperbole isn't enough to get your point across. "This is the BEST, ever, ever, ever, ever!" wouldn't really even do this wine justice. The quality of Eben Sadie's wines speaks for itself, but usually you'll have to pony up about $40-$60 a bottle to test out that quality for yourself. Somehow, someway, our wine buyer Ryan Woodhouse worked out a deal to bring in Sadie's Sequillo wines direct: for $19 freakin' 99!!! That's just unreal. The Sequillo red blend is soft, juicy, incredibly balanced, and elegant in its profile. It's a testament to quality winemaking and dedicated vineyard practices that manifests itself clearly in the bottle. You won't wonder one bit why Even Sadie is a superstar after tasting this bottle. You'll be wondering why you didn't buy another ten cases for your cellar.
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List

Daniel Bouju K&L Exclusive Cognac Fines Saveurs 750ml
Review Date: 05-19-2015
No caramel, no additives, just fresh, vibrant Grand Champagne brandy at a hot price. Nothing more to be said!
Price: $39.99 Add To Waiting List

Chokaisan Junmai Daiginjo Sake (720ml)
Review Date: 05-14-2015
This is one of the best sakes we carry at K&L - period. I would bring this bottle to a dinner party and just drink it like a bottle of white wine or rose. We need to get out of the habit where we only drink sake when we eat Japanese food. This is the bottle that should prove to serious wine drinkers that sake can easily hang with a great Sancerre or an Alsatian pinot gris. Crisp, vibrant fruit on the entry with hints of pear on the finish. Made with a unique yeast derived from flowers, the sake is one of the most aromatic and delicious we carry, as well as one of the most special.
Price: $49.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 Relyea-Wood "Estate" Santa Cruz Mountains Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 05-13-2015
Good God, what a deal! This is real Santa Cruz Mountain fruit balanced with a judicious amount of oak and plenty of acidity. This should be at least $35 considering the price of the grapes and the quality of that fruit, but for some reason it's only $21.99. I don't get it, but I'm not complaining.
Price: $21.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 Edmunds St. John "Fenaughty Vineyard" El Dorado County Syrah
Review Date: 05-13-2015
Not your normal dark, extracted, overly-inky California Syrah. This wine from E St J is full of soft red fruits, with a tinge of tartness and a much lither, lower-in-alcohol profile that makes it much more food-friendly and easy to drink. I wish more CA producers would go back to making wine this way. I'd drink a lot more of them if that was the case!
Price: $27.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 Kismet "Papa's All Blacks" North Coast Red Blend
Review Date: 05-13-2015
It's wines like this that make me excited to be from California and fill me with pride for our local offerings. The Kismet is deliciously juicy, but soft textured and restrained, with real acidity and structure underneath that initial blast of fruit. It's a pretty wine; a pure and straightforward expression of California ripeness, but made in a style that never pushes that ripeness too far. It's as much an example of good winemaking as it the quality of our grapes. Bravo!
Price: $26.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Textbook Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 05-13-2015
This wine is classic in its dark-fruited, restrained character. There's no jammy sweetness or extravagant oak here. Just good old Cabernet from California, the old fashioned style, and a great price tag to go along with it.
Price: $24.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Kalinda "Rawiri Vineyard" Pinot Noir Marlborough
Review Date: 05-08-2015
WOW. The best Kalinda wine to date. Your quality-to-price ratio is off the charts here. New Zealand Pinot Noir flavor can often clock in somewhere between California and Burgundy and our new Kalinda expression does just that. You get the ripe drinkability of California fruit, but with the complex, foresty, and spice-driven character of great Burgundy. Crunchy red fruits, baking spices, hints of earth and forest floor. Sign me up. This is a hot deal.
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List

Glenlivet 12 Year Old Single Malt Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 04-28-2015
Glenlivet is removing the 12 year old from many major markets in favor of the new "Founder's Reserve", which has no age statement and a higher price. Get your Glenlivet 12 before it goes the way of the Dodo.
Price: $27.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 90
Limit of 3 per customer

Ketel One Vodka 750ml
Review Date: 04-28-2015
$20 is a hot price for the biggest brand name in all of vodka. Get it while the gettin's good.
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List

Westland American Single Malt Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 04-24-2015
The great American single malt has finally arrived and it's being made in Seattle, Washington. Don't believe me? Get a bottle and see for yourselves. This is made on real Forsyth pot stills just like in Scotland, aged in bourbon and sherry casks, and brimming with Macallan-like flavor. It's still a bit young, but man is it going to get better.
Price: $69.99 Add To Waiting List

Glenmorangie Túsail Limited Edition Single Malt Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 04-23-2015
I love that there are a few distilleries interested in playing around with different strains of barley. What they've shown us without a doubt so far is that it absolutely DOES make a difference (whether you care about it, or not is a different question). The Bruichladdich Bere Barley was the first example of a unique and wildly different style of malt, and the Tusail now is the next great presentation. It's spicy, gingery, mealy, and full of inherent flavor that obviously doesn't come from the wood. It's textural and exotic, malty and rich. It's a home run from the best whisky development team in Scotland.
Price: $99.99 Add To Waiting List

El Dorado 12 year old Demerara Guyana Rum (ships as 1.5L) 750ml
Review Date: 04-23-2015
A must-try-before-you-die spirit. One of the all-time greatest deals in all of spirits in general.
Price: $29.99 Add To Waiting List

El Dorado 15 year old Demerara Guyana Rum 750ml (ships in a 1.5 box)
Review Date: 04-23-2015
The best rum on the planet for under $50. It's made mostly from DDL's old wooden pot still with more of that funky molasses note through the mid-palate. Love it. All day, every day.
Price: $39.99 Add To Waiting List

El Dorado 21 year old Demerara Guyana Rum 750ml
Review Date: 04-23-2015
Made from older stocks of DDL rums before the big transition into one consolidated Guyanese distillery, this is the ultimate aged rum. Rich oak, pure cane flavor, a bit of funky molasses, and a spicy, robust finish. I can't believe it's still $99.99
Price: $99.99 Add To Waiting List

El Dorado 3 year Old Demerara Rum 750ml
Review Date: 04-23-2015
In lieu of Havana Club 3 year, the El Dorado 3 year is just as good and made the same way: three years in wood, then filtered to be a white rum. It's round and easy-drinking with pure rum flavor. Why use anything else for Daiquiris?
Price: $17.99 Add To Waiting List

Mezcalero Release #10 Sierra Negra Mezcal 750ml
Review Date: 04-20-2015
A rare combination of power and suave in the mezcal category. Big spice, lots of spice, but a mouthfeel that is creamy and smooth in texture. A wonderful and very limited batch of agave spirit from the people at Danzantes and Germain-Robin.
Price: $74.99 Add To Waiting List

Casa Dragones Sipping Tequila 750ml (Ships as a 1.5L due to bottles shape)
Review Date: 04-20-2015
One of the truly great luxury products out there--and there aren't that many of them. Casa Dragones is worth the extra money if you want pristine beauty and are willing to pay for it. Clean, fresh, elegant, and smooth on the finish. A true masterpiece.
Price: $249.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 96

Bulleit Bourbon Frontier Whiskey 750ml
Review Date: 04-20-2015
Four Roses makes this lovely little number for the boys at Bulleit. It's still a great bargain for a light, easy drinking, mixing bourbon.
Price: $22.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 95

Glenmorangie 12 year old Lasanta Extra Matured Range Sherry Cask 750ml
Review Date: 04-20-2015
This is the original 10 and 2 whisky--10 years in bourbon casks, with 2 years finishing in sweet sherry wood. Glendronach, Balvenie, and Aberlour all do it down, but Glenmorangie did it first and they're still the best at it. Lovely spice cake and dark toffee notes round out the finish.
Price: $47.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 93

Basil Hayden's Bourbon 750ml
Review Date: 04-20-2015
The best and the most classic of the Beam bourbon portfolio. Big oak flavor, smooth and rich on the palate, and a finish that brings baking spices and vanilla goodness. YUM!
Price: $36.99 Add To Waiting List

Guillon Painturaud VSOP Cognac 750ml
Review Date: 04-20-2015
This is still my go-to VSOP Cognac. In fact, it might be the best Cognac we carry for the money. Textural, oily, and round on the palate with a viscous mouthfeel and rich vanilla flavors. All estate-grown fruit, all estate-distilled brandy, and nothing added on the back end. No caramel, no boise, all natural. What's not to love here?
Price: $59.99 Add To Waiting List

1995 Domaine d'Esperance 17 Year Old Bas Armagnac 750ml
Review Date: 04-20-2015
Big bourbon-like flavor from this 17 year old brandy. Esperance is putting their Armagnac into new wood, so the oak is powerful and the spices bright and lively on the finish.
Price: $89.99 Add To Waiting List

Bulleit 10 Year Old Bourbon Whiskey 750ml
Review Date: 04-20-2015
Bulleit 10 offers big spice and rounded oak flavors to bourbon fans looking for polished and balanced nuance rather than power and high proof. Good stuff.
Price: $44.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 91

Faultline Straight Bourbon Whiskey 750ml
Review Date: 04-20-2015
Every batch of Faultline Bourbon that John Little blends for us here at K&L gets better and better each time. The more we do this, the better we get at doing it. We're putting out some of the softest, richest, most delicious bourbon on the market and it's only for K&L customers at a fantastic price. If you haven't bought a bottle yet, you're really missing out.
Price: $39.99 Add To Waiting List

Forty Creek Confederation Oak Reserve Canadian Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 04-20-2015
Forty Creek boss John Hall planted an entire forest just to make sure he had enough wood for the special Canadian oak barrels he planned on aging his whisky in. Just that fact alone makes me want to get a bottle.
Price: $54.99 Add To Waiting List

Bulleit Rye Whiskey 750ml
Review Date: 04-20-2015
Of all the LDI-distilled bargain ryes on the market, the Bulleit has reigned supreme due to its low price and high quality of flavor. It's hard to justify buying more Templeton when Bulleit is the same stuff for almost 10 dollars less.
Price: $22.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 90

Midleton Very Rare Irish Whiskey 2014 Release 750ml
Review Date: 04-20-2015
The tete de cuvee from Jameson: an elegant, refined, and classic version of Irish whiskey from Midleton Distillery. If you like Redbreast, Green Spot, or just plain old Jameson Irish Whiskey, this is the king of them all.
Price: $139.99 Add To Waiting List

Paul Giraud VSOP Cognac 750ml
Review Date: 04-19-2015
The great deal in Cognac at the moment. We managed to work out a deal for this grower/producer brandy straight from the source, making this unmanipulated and elegant spirit one HOT deal. It's a lighter, cleaner, less sweet, and more fruit-forward Cognac from the finest of all terroirs in the region. Don't miss this deal.
Price: $39.99 Add To Waiting List

Auchentoshan 18 Year Old Lowland Single Malt Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 04-19-2015
I LOVE this whisky. This is my new Glenmorangie 18. A classic sweet barley and vanilla flavor, but with extra viscosity and more weight on the palate. It's thick and chewy. You can almost bite into it. The Glasgow distillery is becoming relevant once again. Watch out other distilleries!
Price: $119.99 Add To Waiting List

Page: 1 2 3 4 next