Staff Favorites - David Driscoll

David Driscoll
David Driscoll  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service
David Driscoll likes to drink alcohol when he is not working at K&L. His main interests include wine, beer, and distilled spirits. Before he worked here he went to college at a decent school, got a masters degree from an OK school, worked as a waiter and taught elementary school in Chinatown. He decided to get into the wine business after reading a few books about wine and realizing that one cannot seriously learn about wine solely through reading. His career goals include: trying to convince K&L customers that he does know something despite his youthful appearance, and learning everything about everything about every single wine ever made.


Reviews

  
Page: 1 2 3 4 next
Glenmorangie Túsail Limited Edition Single Malt Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 04-23-2015
I love that there are a few distilleries interested in playing around with different strains of barley. What they've shown us without a doubt so far is that it absolutely DOES make a difference (whether you care about it, or not is a different question). The Bruichladdich Bere Barley was the first example of a unique and wildly different style of malt, and the Tusail now is the next great presentation. It's spicy, gingery, mealy, and full of inherent flavor that obviously doesn't come from the wood. It's textural and exotic, malty and rich. It's a home run from the best whisky development team in Scotland.
Price: $99.99 Add To Waiting List

El Dorado 12 year old Demerara Guyana Rum (ships as 1.5L) 750ml
Review Date: 04-23-2015
A must-try-before-you-die spirit. One of the all-time greatest deals in all of spirits in general.
Price: $29.99 Add To Waiting List

El Dorado 15 year old Demerara Guyana Rum 750ml (ships in a 1.5 box)
Review Date: 04-23-2015
The best rum on the planet for under $50. It's made mostly from DDL's old wooden pot still with more of that funky molasses note through the mid-palate. Love it. All day, every day.
Price: $39.99 Add To Waiting List

El Dorado 21 year old Demerara Guyana Rum 750ml
Review Date: 04-23-2015
Made from older stocks of DDL rums before the big transition into one consolidated Guyanese distillery, this is the ultimate aged rum. Rich oak, pure cane flavor, a bit of funky molasses, and a spicy, robust finish. I can't believe it's still $99.99
Price: $99.99 Add To Waiting List

Westland American Single Malt Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 04-23-2015
The great American single malt has finally arrived and it's being made in Seattle, Washington. Don't believe me? Get a bottle and see for yourselves. This is made on real Forscyth pot stills just like in Scotland, aged in Bourbon and Sherry casks, and brimming with Macallan-like flavor. It's still a bit young, but man is it going to get better.
Price: $69.99 Add To Waiting List

Smooth Ambler Old Scout 7 Year Old K&L Exclusive Cask Strength Single Barrel #791 Straight Rye Whiskey 750ml (3 bottle limit)
Review Date: 04-23-2015
As long as Smooth Ambler keeps offering us amazing casks of full proof 7 year rye, we'll keep taking them! This is the EXACT same stuff Willett was bottling but for half the price.
Price: $54.99 Add To Waiting List
Limit of 3 per customer

El Dorado 3 year Old Demerara Rum 750ml
Review Date: 04-23-2015
In lieu of Havana Club 3 year, the El Dorado 3 year is just as good and made the same way: three years in wood, then filtered to be a white rum. It's round and easy-drinking with pure rum flavor. Why use anything else for Daiquiris?
Price: $17.99 Add To Waiting List

Mezcalero Release #10 Sierra Negra Mezcal 750ml
Review Date: 04-20-2015
A rare combination of power and suave in the mezcal category. Big spice, lots of spice, but a mouthfeel that is creamy and smooth in texture. A wonderful and very limited batch of agave spirit from the people at Danzantes and Germain-Robin.
Price: $74.99 Add To Waiting List

Casa Dragones Sipping Tequila 750ml (Ships as a 1.5L due to bottles shape)
Review Date: 04-20-2015
One of the truly great luxury products out there--and there aren't that many of them. Casa Dragones is worth the extra money if you want pristine beauty and are willing to pay for it. Clean, fresh, elegant, and smooth on the finish. A true masterpiece.
Price: $249.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 96

Bulleit Bourbon Frontier Whiskey 750ml
Review Date: 04-20-2015
Four Roses makes this lovely little number for the boys at Bulleit. It's still a great bargain for a light, easy drinking, mixing bourbon.
Price: $22.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 95

Glenmorangie 12 year old Lasanta Extra Matured Range Sherry Cask 750ml
Review Date: 04-20-2015
This is the original 10 and 2 whisky--10 years in bourbon casks, with 2 years finishing in sweet sherry wood. Glendronach, Balvenie, and Aberlour all do it down, but Glenmorangie did it first and they're still the best at it. Lovely spice cake and dark toffee notes round out the finish.
Price: $47.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 93

Basil Hayden's Bourbon 750ml
Review Date: 04-20-2015
The best and the most classic of the Beam bourbon portfolio. Big oak flavor, smooth and rich on the palate, and a finish that brings baking spices and vanilla goodness. YUM!
Price: $36.99 Add To Waiting List

Guillon Painturaud VSOP Cognac 750ml
Review Date: 04-20-2015
This is still my go-to VSOP Cognac. In fact, it might be the best Cognac we carry for the money. Textural, oily, and round on the palate with a viscous mouthfeel and rich vanilla flavors. All estate-grown fruit, all estate-distilled brandy, and nothing added on the back end. No caramel, no boise, all natural. What's not to love here?
Price: $59.99 Add To Waiting List

1995 Domaine d'Esperance 17 Year Old Bas Armagnac 750ml
Review Date: 04-20-2015
Big bourbon-like flavor from this 17 year old brandy. Esperance is putting their Armagnac into new wood, so the oak is powerful and the spices bright and lively on the finish.
Price: $89.99 Add To Waiting List

Bulleit 10 Year Old Bourbon Whiskey 750ml
Review Date: 04-20-2015
Bulleit 10 offers big spice and rounded oak flavors to bourbon fans looking for polished and balanced nuance rather than power and high proof. Good stuff.
Price: $44.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 91

Faultline Straight Bourbon Whiskey 750ml
Review Date: 04-20-2015
Every batch of Faultline Bourbon that John Little blends for us here at K&L gets better and better each time. The more we do this, the better we get at doing it. We're putting out some of the softest, richest, most delicious bourbon on the market and it's only for K&L customers at a fantastic price. If you haven't bought a bottle yet, you're really missing out.
Price: $39.99 Add To Waiting List

Forty Creek Confederation Oak Reserve Canadian Whisky 750ml (ships as 1.5L due to bottle shape)
Review Date: 04-20-2015
Forty Creek boss John Hall planted an entire forest just to make sure he had enough wood for the special Canadian oak barrels he planned on aging his whisky in. Just that fact alone makes me want to get a bottle.
Price: $54.99 Add To Waiting List

Bulleit Rye Whiskey 750ml
Review Date: 04-20-2015
Of all the LDI-distilled bargain ryes on the market, the Bulleit has reigned supreme due to its low price and high quality of flavor. It's hard to justify buying more Templeton when Bulleit is the same stuff for almost 10 dollars less.
Price: $22.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 90

Midleton Very Rare Irish Whiskey 2014 Release 750ml
Review Date: 04-20-2015
The tete de cuvee from Jameson: an elegant, refined, and classic version of Irish whiskey from Midleton Distillery. If you like Redbreast, Green Spot, or just plain old Jameson Irish Whiskey, this is the king of them all.
Price: $139.99 Add To Waiting List

Paul Giraud VSOP Cognac 750ml
Review Date: 04-19-2015
The great deal in Cognac at the moment. We managed to work out a deal for this grower/producer brandy straight from the source, making this unmanipulated and elegant spirit one HOT deal. It's a lighter, cleaner, less sweet, and more fruit-forward Cognac from the finest of all terroirs in the region. Don't miss this deal.
Price: $39.99 Add To Waiting List

Auchentoshan 18 Year Old Lowland Single Malt Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 04-19-2015
I LOVE this whisky. This is my new Glenmorangie 18. A classic sweet barley and vanilla flavor, but with extra viscosity and more weight on the palate. It's thick and chewy. You can almost bite into it. The Glasgow distillery is becoming relevant once again. Watch out other distilleries!
Price: $109.99 Add To Waiting List

Springbank 15 year old, Distillery Bottling Single Malt Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 04-19-2015
All the great richness and weight of the 10 with more sherry and more spice cake. A true classic.
Price: $99.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 96 - 100

Germain-Robin XO Brandy 750ml
Review Date: 04-19-2015
The king of California spirits. There's nothing else out there this good and this old with this type of heritage and history. A must try before you die type of bottle.
Price: $99.99 Add To Waiting List

Springbank 10 Year Old Campbeltown Single Malt Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 04-19-2015
Does it get any better than Springbank 10? I don't know. It's still my favorite whisky all these years later. There's nothing out there that combines the peat, richness, and oily nature of the Springbank spirits. There's also no other distillery that still does every step of the process from scratch.
Price: $54.99 Add To Waiting List

Ardbeg 10 Year Old Islay Single Malt Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 04-19-2015
Still the best deal for 10 year old whisky. Still the best deal for peated whisky. Still the best deal in whisky--period. I'm never without a bottle on my bar. A true classic of the single genre. You're never too cool, too rich, too knowledgeable, or too refined for Ardbeg 10.
Price: $42.99 Add To Waiting List
WA 93 WE 91

Carpano Antica Formula Sweet Vermouth 1L
Review Date: 04-19-2015
The classic sweet vermouth. THE one. End all. Be all. Period.
Price: $28.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 95

Laphroaig 10 year old Original Cask Strength Islay Single Malt Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 04-19-2015
All the classic flavor of Laphroaig 10 but with the punch dialed up to max volume. Gotta love it!
Price: $69.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 90 - 95

Caol Ila 12 year old Islay Single Malt Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 04-19-2015
The most classic and most reliable of the Diageo "classic" malts. God bless Caol Ila and its peaty goodness with a rich, round, fruity core of flavor to balance it all out. I'm never without a bottle.
Price: $59.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 90 - 95

Laphroaig "Quarter Cask" Islay Single Malt Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 04-19-2015
All the peat and power of Laphroaig, put into smaller barriques for extra richness and vanilla flavor.
Price: $54.99 Add To Waiting List
WA 91

Paul Beau VS Cognac 750ml
Review Date: 04-19-2015
Simply put, the best deal we currently have in Cognac. Soft on the palate, round in the mouth, and long on the finish. All made from estate-grown fruit and no coloring added. The total package.
Price: $35.99 Add To Waiting List

Anchor "Genevieve" Genever-Style Gin 750ml
Review Date: 04-19-2015
A gin in the style of Belgium and Holland; more like white whiskey than the herbacious and flavorful London dry gin we're mostly familiar with. The Anchor version is quite malty and beer-like in flavor. For those who love the real Genever, not for those looking to make a classic martini.
Price: $44.99 Add To Waiting List

Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva Rum 750ml
Review Date: 04-19-2015
A classic darker rum that offers richness and bold vanilla flavor, but without the sweetness and added caramel that many big brands offer. A true insider's rum if there ever was one.
Price: $35.99 Add To Waiting List

Guillon Painturaud Hors d' Age Cognac 750ml
Review Date: 04-19-2015
This is just a stunning bottle of booze. It's a bottle that makes you stop, analyze where you are, and take note of the moment. Dark burnt sugar, rich rancio flavors, and a finish that goes on for an hour. If you're going to splurge for a bottle of Cognac, this is the one.
Price: $169.99 Add To Waiting List

Glendronach 15 year old "Revival" Distillery Bottling Single Malt Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 04-19-2015
Big rich sherry flavor for those who like their single malt dark like coffee.
Price: $79.99 Add To Waiting List

Paul Beau Hors d' Age Cognac 750ml
Review Date: 04-19-2015
An outstanding Cognac of the highest quality; regardless of the price. The estate of Paul Beau distills all its own brandy from its own ugni blanc vineyards, then ages in the finest oak barrels for a soft and rich flavor; deep vanilla, concentrated fruit, and a bit of creme brulee on the finish.
Price: $129.99 Add To Waiting List

1998 Domaine d'Esperance 14 Year Old Bas Armagnac 750ml
Review Date: 04-19-2015
Dark fruited and full of rich oak and spice. This is serious brandy from one Armagnac's most hands-on producers.
Price: $79.99 Add To Waiting List

Domaine d'Esperance XO Bas Armagnac 750ml
Review Date: 04-19-2015
A beautiful, full-bodied, rich and spicy Armagnac from the small Esperance domaine in France's Gascony region. A great starter bottle for those looking for something classic in flavor, but unique from the standard pack.
Price: $54.99 Add To Waiting List

Nikka 15 Year "Yoichi" Old Japanese Single Malt Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 04-19-2015
Nikka's northern distillery on the island of Hokkaido makes a slightly peated style of whisky; more along the line of Talisker, however, rather than Lagavulin. It's rounded and supple on the palate as well, making it one creamy, and slightly smokey delight.
Price: $109.99 Add To Waiting List

Darroze Les Grand Assemblages "20 Year Old" Bas-Armagnac 750ml
Review Date: 04-19-2015
The great Armagnac we carry at the moment. A marriage of 20 year old brandies from various properties, distilled by Marc Darroze, and packaged at one hot price. Bourbon drinkers might want to take note. This smokes Pappy 20 any day of the week.
Price: $99.99 Add To Waiting List

Bank Note Blended Scotch Whisky 1L
Review Date: 04-19-2015
Still the best bang for you buck in the world of blended whisky. Still a ridiculous deal for $19.99
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List

Nikka 17 Year Old Taketsuru Pure Malt Japanese Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 04-19-2015
Nikka 17 is the lightest and least heavy of the small portfolio the Japanese distillery has sent stateside. It's still packed with flavor, albeit more nuanced and less obvious than some of their other expressions. It's a concentrated palate of toasted almonds, soft vanilla, creme brulee, and sweet barley. One of the great whiskies of the world, let alone Japan.
Price: $139.99 Add To Waiting List

Westland Peated Single Malt Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 04-02-2015
MAN, this is delicious. It's like an American version of Talisker or Springbank in terms of richness and oiliness, but it has its own fruity, malty character that helps it stand out from the pack. Soft stonefruit, creamy vanilla, earthy undertones, soft campfire smoke, rich malty sweetness on the finish. This stuff is already the total package. I can't wait to see what the future holds for Westland. By the end of 2015, they'll be the talk of the country.
Price: $69.99 Add To Waiting List

Westland Sherry Wood Single Malt Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 04-02-2015
A stunning sherry expression that really redefines my entire perception of American single malt. This is incredible stuff, on the level of some of the younger Glendronach and Aberlour single whiskies from Scotland. Westland is already on another level that all other American single malt distilleries. Based on this incredible whiskey, I have to think it's only a few more years before they're completely dominant. Buy in now, while the gettin's good. That's my advice.
Price: $69.99 Add To Waiting List

Bowmore 15 year old Darkest Sherry Casked Islay Single Malt Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 03-31-2015
I think the 15 year is probably the most iconic of the standard Bowmore selections because of the extra sherry maturation. The richness really drives home that combination of sweet and peat that makes Bowmore what it is. Campfire smoke, phenolic elements, but ultimately a softer, more rounder mouthfeel. Lovely stuff.
Price: $74.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 92 WA 90

Jefferson's K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Reserve Very Old Bourbon 750ml
Review Date: 03-17-2015
This is quite lush, a soft and savory palate of oak and herbaceous notes that, to me, tastes like it might come from Heaven Hill. It's not a whiskey that impresses you with power, but rather with restraint. I haven't had a bourbon in this style for quite some time. I rather miss it.
Price: $45.99 Add To Waiting List

Knappogue Castle K&L Exclusive 12 Year Old Single Barrel Single Malt Irish Whiskey 750ml
Review Date: 03-17-2015
In the vein of Glenmorangie or Clynelish, this is 100% single malt whiskey with a soft vanilla flavor and a lovely, rich smack of stone fruit on the finish. In classic Cooley fashion, there's a note of white wine, Sauvignon Blanc maybe, and a kiss of sweet barley on the finish. I wish wea had access to more stuff of this quality and this concentration, but the occasional cask will have to do!
Price: $49.99 Add To Waiting List

Nikka 21 Year Old Taketsuru Pure Malt Japanese Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 03-17-2015
A marriage of 21 year old whiskies from both the Yoichi and Miyagikyo distilleries, the Pure Malt 21 is a stunning display of incredible balance, sweetness of barley, richness of malt, and depth of flavor. One of Japan's true treasures.
Price: $169.99 Add To Waiting List

Glenmorangie 10 year old The Original Single Malt Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 03-17-2015
The best single malt deal there is--period.
Price: $29.99 Add To Waiting List
WA 93 WE 90

Faultline K&L Exclusive St. Lucia Rum 750ml
Review Date: 03-17-2015
Root beer, fruit tea, juicy fruit, oh my. Big, bold flavor like you've never tasted in a rum.
Price: $39.99 Add To Waiting List

Nikka 12 Year Old Miyagikyo Single Malt Japanese Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 03-17-2015
The price seems steep for a simple 12 year old single malt, but the quality is there and the flavors explode with malty richness and soft stonefruit. One of the two main Nikka distilleries, Miyagikyo is Japan's version of a Highland malt. Lovely.
Price: $99.99 Add To Waiting List

Page: 1 2 3 4 next