Staff Favorites - David Driscoll

David Driscoll
David Driscoll  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service
David Driscoll likes to drink alcohol when he is not working at K&L. His main interests include wine, beer, and distilled spirits. Before he worked here he went to college at a decent school, got a masters degree from an OK school, worked as a waiter and taught elementary school in Chinatown. He decided to get into the wine business after reading a few books about wine and realizing that one cannot seriously learn about wine solely through reading. His career goals include: trying to convince K&L customers that he does know something despite his youthful appearance, and learning everything about everything about every single wine ever made.


Reviews

  
Page: 1 2 3 4 5 next >>
1995 Fettercairn 21 Year Old "Old Particular" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 07-25-2017
For those who remember the old Gordon & MacPhail bottling of Glenlivet 21 (the one with the old-timey label), this Fettercairn is a dead ringer for that whisky, just at at full proof and for a much better price. I adored that malt when we had it because it was such a throwback, both the bottle and the whisky itself. It was a no-frills Highland expression with pure flavors of barley, vanilla, fruit and biscuit. The Fettercairn has all of that, but with more body and a longer finish from the higher ABV. This whisky isn't going to change your life, but it's going to taste damn good on a later summer's evening when you've finished a long day of laying around the house. Again, our Brexit pricing continues to dominate the market. Few whiskies can match this quality at this price.
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart

2015 Moulin de la Gardette "Tradition" Gigondas
Review Date: 07-20-2017
Everything about the 2015 Moulin de la Gardette is fabulous, from the gorgeously embossed bottle, to the classy front label, to the enticing aromas of blueberries and violets, to the delicate and intricate flavors on the palate, to the lithe and elegant finish. In summary, this is the perfect bottle of French red wine and it speaks to the beauty of Gigondas and Rhone wines on the whole when they're made with restraint and balance. It's the kind of bottle you bring to a dinner party that impresses the hell out of everyone, but for a price that makes complete sense.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
RP 90 - 92

2009 La Rioja Alta "Viña Arana" Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 07-18-2017
The Vina Arana is the type of wine that launches a lifetime of interest in Spanish wine, mainly because it's so damn good and so splendidly affordable at the same time. I fell into Rioja in my mid-twenties because it was the only category it seemed where the top wines were in reach of my elementary school teacher salary. The 2009 Vina Arana from La Rioja Alta is like a flashback to that time in my life: you get the benefit of some bottle age that has softened the wine over the last eight years, creating a silky and soft fruited palate that glides over the tongue. There is fruit, but there is also just a bit of sandlewood and savory notes--enough to entice you even further. In short, it's a wine of simple deliciousness and yet utter complexity. Best of all, you get both of those qualities for less than thirty bucks. You can feel like you're splurging here for a very modest price.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
JS 96

2007 La Rioja Alta "904" Gran Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 07-18-2017
La Rioja Alta is where you start if you want to get serious about Spanish wine. However, it's also a great starting point for anyone who wants to understand the merits of aged reds of any kind. Getting the chance to taste serious wines like the 2007 904 Gran Reserva, a wine with ten years of bottle age at this point, were what catapulted me into this industry and lit the fire under my feet as a budding wino. Simply put: there are few wines that offer such a seamless transition between the soft and supple fruit of youth and the rustic complexity that comes with time, and it's that quality that shines in this wine. The red fruits are plush on the palate, but they're subdued rather than juicy. About halfway through they begin to slowly morph into hints of oak, earth, and leather with a bit of a roasted note towards the finish. Those are the secondary flavors of maturation coming through, but they're incredibly nuanced and graceful. Beware that polished profile, newcomers to La Rioja Alta; they're a gateway drug. And once you're addicted to the beauty of old Rioja, there's no going back.

2014 de Landiras Rouge, Graves
Review Date: 07-17-2017
I think what's most shocking about the Landiras is its incredibly restrained and balanced flavor profile. When we get bargain Bordeaux in the $10-$15 range it's usually a juicier, Merlot-driven style that caters to the fleshier and fruitier new world rather than the subdued style of the old. This is not a modern wine, however. It's of that time-honored Bordeaux style many of us food-friendly wine lovers continue to covet. The fruit is soft and elegant, the flavors are traditional and reserved, and the wine finishes with finesse. It's not a one note, one-trick pony by any means. This is a wine I could drink every day. Heck, it's a wine I would be happy to drink every day! Embedded in the Landiras core is that classic Gravsian dichotomy of dark fruit and minerality, and it persists for at least five minutes on the finish. I don't ever expect that level of depth from a $12,99 bottle of Bordeaux, but I'm not going to look a gift horse in the mouth either. Load up. If you're a fan of Chantgrives or Chevalier, this is like a baby version you can afford to drink regularly.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
DC 95

2015 Chateau de la Charriere Beaune 1er Cru "Clos des Vignes Franches"
Review Date: 07-16-2017
When we visited Chateau de la Charriere this past Spring to taste the 2015 vintage, we said to ourselves: "This could be the most exciting tasting of the trip." We thought that because the Charriere wines have always been well-made, but old school in style. We hoped the extra ripeness from the warmer harvest might do wonders for these bargain bottles and to our immense happiness, it did! The 2015 1er cru "Clos des Vignes Franches" is the best wine I've ever tasted from the property and now that they're destemming entirely, the fruit shines well beyond the structure. This is a dark, unctuous, and robust with gobs of blackberry and black cherry flushing out the palate. The tannins and acidity still provide a foundation, but whereas former vintages were a bit tough up front, this one is incredibly inviting. Make no mistake: the Charriere wines are the biggest Burgundy secrets in the store right now. The 2015 editions are tremendous values, offering old school rusticity with modern ripeness. Bravo!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Paranubes Oaxacan Agricole Rum (1L)
Review Date: 07-14-2017
The Paranubes Oaxacan aguardiente de caña is one of, if not the, best agricole rhums I've ever tasted and it beautifully balances a smooth and fruity character with the grassiness and the intense cane flavor of something like Neisson. What it removes is the funk, the earth, and the sometimes bitter notes that send some people running for the hills. The aromatics are absolutely stunning—there is a pure and unflinching note of raw cane that absolutely explodes from the bottle. At 54%, the rum is no slouch. But it's clearly distilled with a master hand because it's incredibly polished despite all that intensity. I could drink this straight out of the bottle, neat in a glass, on the rocks, in a cocktail, or simply with soda. I can't get enough of it—it's that good.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2015 Rustenberg Chardonnay Stellenbosch South Africa
Review Date: 07-13-2017
There are two wines from South Africa that I swear by, both for myself and for all customer recommendations. One is the Rustenberg John X Merriman cabernet. one of the best thirty dollar wines in the world, and the other is the Rustenberg Stellenbosch chardonnay, which tastes like high-end, balanced, and well-made California chardonnay or white Burgundy for a fraction of the price. In the 2015, you get the whole package: ample fruit, subtle vanilla from the oak, and plenty of acidity to balance out the two aforementioned elements. Not only is this chardonnay absolutely mouthwatering, it's versatile. You can drink it now, put it away until next year, or cellar it for an additional five. It's got the stuffing for the long haul, but it's approachable now. All that for less than twenty bucks. If you only drink one South African wine this year, the Rustenberg chardonnay is a great pick and its indicative of the great quality we've come to expect from the region as a whole.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
DC 95 VN 91

2001 Bel Orme Tronquoy de Lalande, Haut Medoc (1.5L)
Review Date: 07-07-2017
Do yourself a favor: get yourself a few steaks, invite over some of your closest friends, and pop this magnum open after paying the ridiculous price of $34.99. They'll think you spent at least $70 on this cannon of beautifully aged 2001 Bordeaux from one of the region's lesser-known chateaux: Bel Orme Tronquoy de Lalande. There's plenty of soft fruit still present in the wine, and the sheer deliciousness of the wine's age along with the lush texture it has from more than fifteen years of integration are simply enticing--even more so from the gigantic bottle! I miss deals like this. They're getting harder to track down in Bordeaux, so it's best to grab a few while they're here.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2001 Beaumont, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 07-07-2017
Man is this wine in a great spot! There's still a lovely softness of fruit despite the wine's current status on the evolutionary trail towards more savory notes. If you're interested in trying perfectly aged Bordeaux that still has many of the more supple elements of a younger red wine, this is the perfect crossover bottle (and it won't cost you an arm and a leg). I had thought all the great 2001 deals were all snatched up, but Clyde found another stack of cases somehow someway!
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart

2014 Domaine Aurelien Verdet Morey-St-Denis
Review Date: 07-07-2017
Yet another great close-out red from this too-good-to-be-true Verdet deal. The Morey St. Denis is the richest, ripest, and roundest from this latest bunch and it has quite a lush level of red fruit on the finish, despite the more reserved character of the 2014 vintage. Those looking for a great bottle to drink tonight should find plenty to love here and that gentle and haunting profile only opens up further with more air. Great stuff.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2014 Domaine Aurelien Verdet Hautes Côtes de Nuits "Les Prieure" Rouge
Review Date: 07-07-2017
As I said to my colleague Alex, when was the last time you saw a great bottle of Burgundy under twenty bucks that DIDN'T say "Bourgogne Rouge" on the label? I honestly can't remember. Burgundy isn't where I send people for great values. It's where I send customers in search of the sublime, but always with the expectation that they're going to pay for that luxury. In the case of this Verdet Cotes de Nuits, there's a whole lotta bang for your buck here. The wine has depth, layered complexity, and typicity for the appellation, all for under twenty bucks. I can't remember that last time I saw that in our Burgundy department and I certainly don't expect to see it again anytime soon.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

1988 North British 28 Year Old "Old Particular" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Grain Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 06-30-2017
This is decadence in a bottle; a non-stop movement of your favorite sweets from the first sip to the incredible finish. Chocolate, maple syrup, sugary cereal on Saturday morning, and an incredible malted milk note on the finish that makes me think I just drank a latte from Starbucks. This is dynamic Scotch whisky that absolutely wows considering the price. I'd suggest bourbon drinkers jump all over this as it carries a lot of similarities to some of the older and harder-to-find mature expressions.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

2013 Kenwood "Jack London Vineyard" Sonoma Mountain Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 06-30-2017
I've read White Fang and The Call of the Wild, and I've hung out in Oakland's Jack London Square, but I never knew that Jack London once lived on a Sonoma vineyard estate until I began tasting the Kenwood wines. While he never made wine himself, apparently London was a big wine drinker who prized a glass of California's finest with a nice roasted duck. It was Kenwood founder Marty Lee's affinity for London that led him to negotiate for the estate's fruit back in the late seventies. Those looking for real California history today (both literary and wine-related) need look no further than this 2013 Kenwood Cabernet from Jack London Vineyard, a textbook expression of everything we do well out west. Concentrated and brimming with the ripeness of 2013, one of the best vintages in years, this is a richly textured and fruit-forward Cabernet that showcases texture and a supple mouthfeel, but still allows for classic Cabernet characteristics like leather, mint and other wild herbaceous notes that speak to the nature of the varietal. Personally, I'm a fan of wines that are true to regional style, and I look for typicity in the bottles I buy. This wine has vintage California Cabernet written all over it. It is unabashedly California, big and bold, rich and lush, wild and unbridled, much like the writings of London himself. There's a savage note on the finish that keeps me coming back for more after the fruit begins to fade. A call of the Sauvignon? Perhaps.
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart
DC 92

2008 Le Brun de Neuville "Grand Vintage" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 06-30-2017
This is absolutely DELICIOUS Champagne, a stunning specimen of the 2008 vintage. It's the total package. A vibrant nose of honeyed fruit and rich brioche, backed up by more richness on the palate, with a firm mineral note ballasted by a backbone of zippy acidity all the way through. The bubbles are fine and graceful across the palate with oxidized nuttiness on the finish. This is one helluva deal. Buy it for a special occasion and wow your friends. It tastes much more expensive than it is.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Kuchan Barrel Aged Peach Brandy (375ml)
Review Date: 06-30-2017
I'm not sure most folks really appreciate what it takes to make this SPECTACULAR brandy, so let me break it down for you. Davorin Kuchan has to drive up to the Sierra mountains and get truck loads of peaches and drive them to his distillery in Belmont. Then he has to de-pit the tons and tons peaches by hand (he's not a peach farmer or canner, so he doesn't have that equipment). Then he has to press them, ferment them, and distill them which is an incredibly sticky and messy process. Then he has to barrel-age the teeny, tiny little bit of brandy that he gets from that distillation. The result is this incredibly affordable peach brandy that is the only LEGIT "peach whiskey" on the American market - as in NOT flavored with peaches, but actually distilled from nothing but peaches and put into a barrel. This is a piece of American history!
Price: $35.99 Add To Cart

2001 Auchroisk 15 Year Old "Old Particular" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 06-30-2017
Wow is this a fresh and fruity whisky! I had to rinse my glass out after tasting this one, thinking that maybe some of the residue from the peach brandy I'd been drinking before had unfairly influenced this crackin' edition of Auchroisk, but it was not the case! Smell the bottle after you open it; it's oozing with aromas of summer stonefruit and peach pie. The light and surprisingly sweet palate continues from there, lithe and lean, but never dull or lacking in any way. This is a rare breed of whisky in today's market. It reminds me of some of the better Bladnoch bottles of the past with a vivacity and pure fruitedness that gets lost in blended editions.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

2001 Bowmore 15 Year Old "Old Particular" K&L Exclusive Single Bourbon Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 06-30-2017
There's a reason Bowmore = LEGEND in the Scotch whisky industry. When the whisky is on, it's unbeatable. The very best single malt whiskies I've tasted in my career have all been from Bowmore. The best distillery visit I've ever had was at Bowmore. My favorite distillery to send customers to is Bowmore. It's etched in my memory for eternity as some of my most formative moments as a whisky buyer happened inside that heralded facility. This 15 year old single Bourbon cask edition is another legend. It's going to go down as one of the best casks of 2017, and it's going to be remembered as one of the most impressive Bowmore editions we've ever offered. Unbelievably rich and round on the palate, the smoke and phenolic elements weave seamlessly into that foundation, creating something essentially Islay. This is nostalgia in a bottle for me. It's a reminder of how unbeatable Bowmore can be when you get the right barrel or batch.
Price: $89.99 Add To Cart

1984 Caol Ila 33 Year Old "Old Particular" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 06-30-2017
Every time I'm able to track down an old barrel of Islay single malt, I wonder to myself: "Is this the last one?" I remember in the case of Port Ellen, perhaps the most famous of Islay rarities, we were able to do one last cask at $500 a bottle. But when the prices jumped up over $1000, I said "forget it." For some reason, perhaps because of the availability or the lack of general awareness concerning the distillery's greatness, I've been able to dig out an ultra-mature barrel of Caol Ila about once every two years and negotiate a price that makes sense. This particular Caol Ila whisky, a 33 year old distilled in 1984, is one of the better expressions I've found in some time. It's still fresh, lively, and brimming with Islay character. Supple on the palate and lifted on the finish, it's everything an peated whisky lover could ever ask for. It's luxurious, complex, and utterly beautiful from start to finish. Given the current market forces at play, it's also quite reasonable in price. I wouldn't have bought it otherwise. The older I get, the pickier I get about my purchases (ironically in a market where one can't afford to be picky). This is as good of a single malt as we'll sell this year. Trust me - there's nothing on the Scotland schedule for the rest of 2017 as awesome as this 33 year Caol Ila.
Price: $349.99 Add To Cart

2014 La Chablisienne Chablis "Vaillons" 1er Cru
Review Date: 06-30-2017
The 1er cru offerings from La Chablisienne is where we begin to move from simple purity and deliciousness into the realms of serious complexity. The 2014 Vaillons offers the full gambit of textbook Chablis flavor from front to back: flint, lemon, oyster shell, crushed rocks, salt, and a bit of flowers on the finish. Buckle up because it's quite the ride!

2014 La Chablisienne Chablis "La Sereine"
Review Date: 06-30-2017
Our trip to La Chablisienne this past Spring was one of the most eye-opening visits I've ever spent at a winery. We spent an absolutely spectacular morning with Fabrice Roelandt, during which we tasted more than a dozen chardonnays, each from a different vineyard location, and each with its own unique flavor profile. I was honestly overwhelmed by the variety and the depth on display. When we commented about a wine's richness, he had an answer: "This vineyard is on the right bank of the river where there is more sun, therefore it's riper." When we remarked about a wine's clean acidity and freshness, he would say: "This vineyard is located in an valley inlet where it's cooler, that's why the acidity is higher." His simple and supportive approach to Chablis eduction was as refreshing as the wines themselves; it also spoke volumes about the philosophy at the facility. "La Chablisienne doesn't have a house style," he mentioned to us as we discussed the production methods; "We do simple winemaking that reflects the character of the vineyard, nothing more." You get all that purity right away in this mineral-driven, clean, and focused La Sereine expression from 2014. It embodies everything I love about the Chablisienne wines: fresh, true-to-style, complex, drinkable now, and affordable! With the incredible quality of the vintage, and our direct pricing, you can't afford NOT to buy this.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2013 Yalumba "Triangle Block" Shiraz-Viognier Eden Valley South Australia
Review Date: 06-26-2017
Yum! All the juicy flavor of real syrah/shiraz with none of the cloying, overly-sweet, ridiculous ripeness that made most of the genre impossible for me to drink for nearly a decade. This is balanced, savory, perfectly-finessed Northern Rhone style wine with smoked meat aromas and a peppery finish, all for a price that allows daily drinking. I'd recommend anyone with a bias against Aussie shiraz to try a bottle and free their mind. The secret is Eden Valley's higher elevation and cooler climate versus the hotbox that is Barossa. Go deep on this one if you like value and true Rhone style syrah.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
W&S 93

2014 Dog Point Pinot Noir Marlborough
Review Date: 06-26-2017
I would have guessed Cote de Beaune had I tasted this blind: lots of baking spice, hints of dried herbs and black tea, with dusty tannins and dark black cherry on the finish. The more and more we get access to great pinot noir from New Zealand, the more I think the aromatics and flavors continue to blur the border between Marlborough and Burgundy. In the case of this Dog Point, it's everything I generally head to France for, just more lifted, vibrant, and ready to drink in its youth. All the complexity with none of the wait - but it will still evolve nicely!

2014 d'Hanteillan Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 06-26-2017
First off: you've gotta give this wine an hour in the decanter. The difference is night and day, even though we're talking about a bargain-priced Haut Medoc and not a heralded classified growth. Secondly, have this with a burger, or a steak, or something substantial. You do those two things and you're going to feel like you scored a heckuva deal with this 2014 Hanteillan, a sub-$15 score from a completely underrated vintage that continues to turn up deal, after deal, after deal. The shocking thing about the wine it's about 60% cabernet from prime property near St. Estephe. Most of the time you get merlot in the bargain priced Bordeaux realm, but in this case you're getting the big boy fruit. When's the last time you found a highly-scored $13.99 cabernet from Bordeaux?
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart
RP 91

2014 Domaine Aurélien Verdet Nuits-St-Georges 1er Cru "Aux Boudots"
Review Date: 06-26-2017
Wooooooooooooooooooooow...........good God. This the most legit Burgundy close out we've ever offered. This is rich, lush, complex, mouth-filling, delicious, mind-boggling good red Burgundy and when you look at what most producers charge for fruit from "Les Damodes," you'll begin to understand the scope of this deal. This is like getting an apartment in North Beach for $500K. And you can drink it now!
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart
WS 94

2015 Chateau de la Charriere Santenay Blanc 1er Cru "Beauregard"
Review Date: 06-22-2017
This is once of the better white wines I've ever tasted from Cherriere, one that is richer and rounder than any of their Chassagne Montrachet wines I've had in the past, despite the fact it's from Santenay. There's a gorgeous bouquet of stonefruit and plenty of ripeness on the palate, but the acidity is balanced and lip-smacking on the finish. This is top notch chardonnay, folks!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2015 Chateau de la Charriere Bourgogne Hautes Cotes de Beaune
Review Date: 06-22-2017
Since 2011, when the new generation took over at Charriere, the wines at the chateau have become cleaner, fresher, and more concentrated with ripe fruit flavor. They're de-stemming more of the fruit, which is lessening the funkier, earthier notes, and enhancing more of the juiciness of their fantastic pinot noir grapes. 2015 in particular is a benchmark year for Charriere, and it's one that will truly highlight just how good of a deal our import program is providing. The Hautes Cotes de Beaune expression is made from 60-70 year old vines, has gobs of red cherry flavor, and is absolutely delicious from front to back. You're getting true Burgundian character from a great vintage for less than twenty bucks. With the 2016 frost vintage looming around the corner, I'd recommend loading up big here.
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart

2014 Knez Anderson Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 06-21-2017
I love having Anderson Valley wines like this on hand to show customers how diverse of a pinot country California truly is. While you get the ripeness of the 2014 vintage here, it doesn't come without a bit of zip on the finish. There's a lovely hint of baking spice and bit of crushed herbs late on the palate. Fans of the winery will want to load up on this one as I think--of the three--this will evolve beautifully over the next five years.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
VN 93

2014 Knez "Cerise Vineyard" Anderson Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 06-21-2017
This wine is absolutely gorgeous and lives up to its "cherry" moniker from the Cerise Vineyard name. Lush flavors of sweet red fruit are balanced by great acidity, to the extent that your taste buds light up immediately from the combination. The wine is silky and soft on the finish, but it never sacrifices structure. This is a total beauty.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
VN 95

2015 Domaine Bart "Hervelets" Fixin 1er Cru
Review Date: 06-17-2017
Of the Fixin releases from Bart, the 2015 "Hervelets" is the purest and more concentrated, making it for me the must-buy of the bunch. There's more finesse in the Fixin expressions than in Bart's Marsannay wines and that complexity should unlock itself even more over time. Buy these for the cellar while you drink all the ridiculous and incredible Bart Marsannay values!
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Bart "Les Ouzeloy" Marsannay Rouge
Review Date: 06-17-2017
The "Ouzeloy" is the plumpest and roundest of the 2015 Bart releases and has plums, cassis, and a velvet texture that puts this almost into Sonoma territory. It's hard to lay off this one. It's so soft and juicy!
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Bart Marsannay Rouge
Review Date: 06-17-2017
The village Marsannay rouge from Bart is the same price as the Bourgogne rouge and has the same level of quality in my mind, but there's more lushness and sweetness of fruit here. If you're looking for classic Burgundy with a bit of grit, do the Bourgogne. If you want to experience the silky and softer flavors of 2015, do the Marsannay. You're in good company either way!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Bart "Les Echezots" Marsannay Rouge
Review Date: 06-17-2017
The most classic of the 2015 Bart reds is the "Echezots," a wine that year after year represents one of our best values in the category. The 2015 expression is loaded with raspberry and cherry, with accents of violets and cassis on the nose. There's more fruit and less forest this year, but that will provide a long drinking window to enjoy the evolution of that fantastic ripeness.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Bart Bourgogne Rouge
Review Date: 06-17-2017
Ever since I've worked at K&L, Domaine Bart has been the most anticipated arrival each year from our Burgundian direct imports. The wines are classic in style, dependable in quality, well priced, and easy to love. These 2015s are the best Barts I've tasted since 2005, and they're going to be a huge success. The standard Bougogne Rouge is much more powerful than previous vintages with loads of ripe cherry fruit. Plan on buying a case of this if you can.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Pernot-Belicard Meursault Ier Cru "Perrieres"
Review Date: 06-17-2017
While the standard Belicard Meursault is fantastic, the premier cru Perrieres expression dials it up a notch. This has all the richness and balance of the standard village release, but with more fruit, more nuance, more delicacy of acidity and fineness of flavor. It's a more polished version of an already great wine. This is for special occasions because man does it taste fancy.
Price: $74.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Pernot-Belicard Meursault "Vieilles Vignes"
Review Date: 06-17-2017
This is textbook Meursault, but with restraint and balance. For those looking to understand the white wine appellations of Burgundy, grab this bottle for a lesson on the richness and weight of a great Meursault. Nutty almond flavors coat the palate on the first sip, but that richness is never cloying or sweet. It's balanced by acidity and an elegance of fruit the holds back the heft. Simply lovely!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Pernot-Belicard Bourgogne Chardonnay
Review Date: 06-17-2017
The freshness of the 15 Burgundy whites is the most surprising part of the ripe vintage. Exhibit A is this lovely Bourgogne blanc from Pernot Belicard, brimming with fresh stonefruits on the nose, and a soft acidity that accents the medium bodied weight and fleshiness. Give this to someone who loves central coast wines from California and watch their eyes light up!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Jean-Michel Giboulot Pommard "En Brescul"
Review Date: 06-17-2017
This is the darkest and the most brooding of the 2015 red Giboulot portfolio. Blackberries galore on the palate with subtle spice and a rather full body for what I typically expect from Burgundy. You could pour this at a California pinot tasting and fool everyone into thinking it was from Sonoma. This is a richer and fatter Pommard that drinks beautifully already in its youth.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Jean-Michel Giboulot Beaune 1er Cru "Aux Clos du Roi"
Review Date: 06-17-2017
This wine has gobs of black cherry notes on the nose and more of that fruit on the palate, but with more restraint than some of the juicier 2015s from Giboulot. The finish has loads of spice and just a hint of earth to counterbalance some of that fruit. This should age nicely.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Jean-Michel Giboulot Savigny-lès-Beaune 1er Cru "Aux Gravains"
Review Date: 06-17-2017
Ding, ding, ding! We have a winner! One whiff of this wine, one little sip as well, is all it will take for you to get back in your car, drive over to K&L, and buy a solid case of this wine. This is one of the most exciting mid-range red Burgundies to hit our store in years. The nose is a flurry of baking spices and ripe black cherry, while the palate carries those flavors further with a lushness and silkiness that you only get in riper years like 2015. Load up. Back up the truck. Do whatever you need to do to find a few extra bucks.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Jean-Michel Giboulot Savigny-lès-Beaune
Review Date: 06-17-2017
The standard Savigny les Beaune from Giboulot is the most traditional of the 2015 bunch, with grittier tannins and more meaty flavors of earth and licorice. The ripeness of the vintage is still there, but it's much more restrained which allows the secondary flavors to shine through. Great for a simple dinner or roasted chicken.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Jean-Michel Giboulot Hautes Cotes de Beaune
Review Date: 06-17-2017
This wine has a haunting nose of cassis and violets, with a brooding core of dark berry fruit with richness that comes purely from the ripeness of the 2015 vintage. Just a hint of oak rounds out the finish. YUM!
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Jean-Michel Giboulot Bourgogne Pinot Noir
Review Date: 06-17-2017
All of the wines from Giboulot's 2015 crop have a juiciness and a concentrated core of dark ripe fruit, beginning with the simple Bourgogne rouge - a wine that combines supple notes of blackberry and cassis with tangy acidity and fine tannins. This is one of the best entry level wines we've carried from Burgundy in years.
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart

2012 Domaine Philippe Colin Chassagne-Montrachet 1er Cru "Les Chaumées"
Review Date: 06-13-2017
Not only is this mouthwatering, rich and unctuous, perfectly developed Chassagne-Montrachet from a great producer, it's all of those things for a price that puts premier cru back into reach of normal guys like me! I had this bottle last Friday night while watching the Warriors blow it in Cleveland, but man did this bottle ease the pain. The weight and texture is all Chassagne with creamy fruit and plenty of nutty richness, but there's still so much acidity holding the wine together. It's a top notch bottle from front to back, the kind I might buy a case of if we start getting too low in inventory. Don't let the discounted price fool you. Chalk this one up to the growing prowess of our Burgundy department!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2016 Domaine de Rimauresq Côtes de Provence Cru Classé Rosé
Review Date: 06-13-2017
Classic Provencal rose with the soft red berry fruit, crisp and clean acidity, and juicy, mouthwatering finish we're all looking for in our summertime daily drinkers. The Rimauresq dials it up a notch, however, it terms of quality. There's a bit more finesse, depth, and concentrated complexity here than in the standard $10-$15 fare. It's definitely worth the extra few bucks. I could drink this all month long and never get tired of it.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart
DC 97

Copper & Kings American Dry Gin (750ml)
Review Date: 06-13-2017
One thing to know about the C&K American dry gin is that it's made on the smallest pot still in the facility, which according to Joe only yields about 120 bottles worth of gin per batch—exactly the amount we ordered in our initial ten case purchase. Smelling my first glass of the newly arrived hooch, I can already sense the differences from the bottle I originally brought back from the distillery this past Spring. There's a bit more apple must on the nose and the finish is creamier and tangier in profile. My point in mentioning that is: this is real small batch gin, in that it will taste a little bit different each time we order it. Joe is making it especially for us each time, so while the recipe will remain the same, the subtle nuances of the apple brandy base will vary from batch to batch. Other than the wildcard of a base material, the C&K American dry gin drinks much like a classic London dry style. Bright juniper notes, lifted by the coriander, with a fresh and spicy finish. In a gin and tonic, it's absolute heaven. It's also my new favorite gin in the store. I highly, highly recommend getting one.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2016 Fabien Collonge Beaujolais Rose
Review Date: 06-09-2017
When the weather warms up, there are few things better than a cold bottle of rosé and a few snacks on the picnic table. Tasting this wine in Beaujolais this past spring, Fabien Collonge's Rosé de Gamay was a thirst-quenching, mouthwatering, berry-bursting blast of fresh acidity, clean fruit, and pure pleasure that immediately caught our attention. What made this particular rosé so memorable was seeing where it came from and talking with Fabien about the care he puts into it. Typically wines in the $8-$12 range don't have much of a story. In California, they're generally the result of bulk fruit or large batches of parcels, but in the case of the Collonge rosé, it's all select berries from his estate parcels. The charm and snap of the wine was what really caught my attention. Obviously, we're going to offer a great deal on any wine we import directly, but $10.99 was a total steal. I'd compare it with the fantastic Mount Edward rosé from New Zealand, albeit for six bucks less a bottle.
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart

1991 Villa Zarri 24 Year Old "K&L Exclusive" Single Barrel Cask Strength Italian Brandy (750ml)
Review Date: 06-09-2017
This most recent batch of Villa Zarri represents the remnant of our previous cask, of which we only bottled a portion. Rather than change the label, however, we left it at "24 years" even though it's older than 25 at this point. Why should you buy this brandy? Simple: rarely has a grape distillate ever come this close in my mind to mimicking the best parts of Scotch, Bourbon, and Cognac all in one tidy, cask strength, single barrel package. You get the richness of of the Brandy on the nose; oodles of caramel and creme brulee. You get the power and oak dominance of a Bourbon on the entry, with big spice and bold strength. You get the nuance and complexity of a Scotch on the finish with candied fruit, hints of earth, and rancio notes for minutes after swallowing. There's a reason we went crazy for this bottle last time around. It's the same reason we're crazy about it this time: it's a dynamic, delicious, and dangerously drinkable spirit.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart

Highland Park "Valkyrie" Isle of Orkney Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 06-09-2017
Highland Park's new Valkyrie edition, much like its previous releases, is long on viking mythology and short on specifics, but that doesn't mean it doesn't taste good. I did a side by side comparison with the 12 and 18 year this week and felt that—as a middle ground between the two—the whisky holds up quite well for the $70 price. More importantly, it tastes like the best parts of both. While the 12 year is light and fruity, the classic 18 year is remarkedly more sherried. With the Valkyrie, you get the malty, lightly-peated texture of the 12 with some of the rancio, cakebread, and richness of the 18. From what I understand, about half of the barley used in the Valkyrie was peated, which is higher than what's used in the 12 and 18. That extra kick helps to mask any rawness from the whisky's younger components and was clearly a good move. What I appreciate most here is that the Valkyrie delivers its finest work on the nose and the finish, rather than on the mid-palate. These are two elements of whisky appreciation I appreciate more as I get older: how it teases my nostrils and how it comes together as a unit on the back end. There's a robust sherry aroma right out of the bottle, and sweet, concentrated hit of Oloroso richness on the finish that dries out a bit with the smoke, but clearly makes itself known. While Highland Park went heavier on Orkney's viking heritage this time around, they didn't do so at the expense of the whisky.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

2015 Lambuena Roble Ribera del Duero
Review Date: 05-31-2017
Hot damn, what a wine for ten bucks! Juicy and dusty with a fruit friendly profile, but a clear rusticity from the thicker-skinned Ribera del Duero tempranillo grapes that provide a heavier skin-to-juice ratio. There are few red wines in the store at ten dollars in this quality bracket. This is for people who wish zinfandel was lower in alcohol, or who want Beaujolais without the crunchy red fruits. This is a wine that delivers typicity and character for a true bargain.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

Page: 1 2 3 4 5 next >>