Staff Favorites - Leah Greenstein

Leah Greenstein
Leah Greenstein  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service
3 parts nerd. 1 part wordsmith. 1 part wine geek. A pinch of east coast sarcasm. Stir it up in a bright orange Mario Batali-branded bowl and you have K&L's other writer and editor, Leah Greenstein. A graduate of California's Sonoma State University, Leah skipped more than a few Friday nights at Red's Recovery Room in favor of Saturdays listening to Led Zeppelin and drinking gewürztraminer in the Kunde tasting room. After undergrad Leah continued her education in Oregon, making cabernet and merlot in her friend's garage while working on her master's in journalism. Over the years she's written on a variety of subjects—from snowboarding and rock climbing to politics and the arts—managing restaurants, juggling publishing jobs and learning about wine all the while. She joined K&L in June 2007 after working harvest at Pax Wine Cellars in Sonoma County and managing Mario Batali and Nancy Silverton's new Los Angeles hot spot, Pizzeria Mozza. These days she spends her time crafting tasting notes for K&L's website and working on the K&L newsletter and trying as many different wines as she can. Already a fan of Rhône reds and all things Italian Leah's been drinking her way through the German, Austrian and Loire Valley sections of K&L Hollywood. She spends most of her spare time cooking, pairing wine with her meals and writing about it for her blog, SpicySaltySweet.com. She also likes to hike, bike and watch Red Sox games.


Reviews

  
2013 Franck Millet "Insolite" Sancerre
Review Date: 08-27-2014
All of the Millet Sancerres are fabulous, but the Insolite really tops them all. Its flinty qualities are subtler than the Vieilles Vignes and regular Sancerre, with stony, peach, honey and orange qualities. Rich and long and utterly delicious.
Price: $23.99 Add To Waiting List

2010 des Annereaux, Lalande-de-Pomerol
Review Date: 08-13-2014
Fresh, affordable Bordeaux that's made from organically grown grapes to boot? Sign me up! We tasted some pretty high-class wine today, but this $20 gem was one of my favorites. Its Cabernet Franc component shines through on the nose, which also displays incredibly pretty strawberry and raspberry fruit, chocolate and tobacco notes, which carry over to the palate and grow darker. Good acidity, well-integrated tannins. Really delightful.
Price: $18.99 Add To Waiting List

Bigallet Viriana China China Amer 750ml
Review Date: 07-14-2014
This is a cane-based French bitter macerated with bitter oranges and distilled three times. The floral orange aromas are complemented by flavors of clove and anise, with added bitterness from China bark. Quite viscous and mouthwatering. Use in place of Aperol in a spritz!
Price: $37.99 Add To Waiting List

Nonino Quintessentia Amaro 750ml
Review Date: 07-14-2014
There's a reason this grape distillate-based Amaro from Friuli is one of our biggest sellers, it's the easiest-drinking Amaro I've every tried! Cocoa-dusted orange, cream, butterscotch, roasted nuts, lemon pitch and rosewater notes. Don't waste this in a cocktail, it sips smoothly on its own.
Price: $44.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 96

Amaro Montenegro Di Bologna 750ml
Review Date: 07-14-2014
This is one of the most popular Amari in Italy. Packed with notes of nutmeg and bitter orange, it's very pretty and soft on the palate. It has a creamy, not-too-bitter creamsicle character. Medium-sweet.
Price: $26.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 97

Lucano Amaro 750ml
Review Date: 07-14-2014
The last time I ordered an Averna at the end of a meal, I sat considering its medicinal, bitter qualities, and lamenting its syrupy sweetness. The Lucano has the best of Averna's herbaceousness, with earthy, bitter citrus flavors and a light, balanced texture.
Price: $24.99 Add To Waiting List

2010 Cantemerle, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 09-18-2013
This was one of my favorite wines in our staff Bordeaux tasting in Hollywood, with black fruit, spice and coffee peeking through, with just the faintest hint of eucalyptus. The fruit, acid and tannins were all completely in balance. This is going to be a showstopper in a decade, and for the price it's a no-brainer.

Caves Messias Santola "Crab Wine" Vinho Verde
Review Date: 09-11-2013
This is my favorite Vinho Verde in the store right now. It has plenty of zesty minerality and lemon-lime freshness. Its dry and racy and, while I'm sure it's fabulous with crab, as the name implies, I think it would pair well with most white-fleshed fish or garlicky pork kabobs hot off the grill.
Price: $8.99 Add To Waiting List

1999 Fugue de Nenin, Pomerol
Review Date: 01-14-2013
If you're looking for a properly aged Bordeaux to drink right now that's not priced astronomically, this is it. Balanced, with dark fruit, subtle herb notes and freshly roasted coffee. Lovely.
Price: Hidden View Price

2007 Mount Eden "Estate" Santa Cruz Mountains Chardonnay
Review Date: 09-07-2011
Mount Eden's full bodied Estate Chardonnay displays fine underlying acidity and a long finish. Hints of cardamom, anise and hazelnut add interest to the core lemon, mineral flavors. Of all Mount Eden’s estate-grown wines, the Chardonnay is most in need of further bottle aging at release, requiring an additional two to four years to fully reveal its true character. Many vintages are still fresh and enjoyable after fifteen years, explaining why Mount Eden Estate Chardonnay is considered one of California’s longest-lived white wines.

2006 Cantemerle, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 02-25-2009
If you're in the market for Bordeaux, you shouldn't miss the '06 Cantemerle. If someone was willing to subsidize my wine collection, I would by multiple cases of this gem. Remarkably affordable, this may very well be THE wine of the vintage. I love it's barnyard-y nose and melange of plum, cherry and coffee flavors on the palate, kissed by a healthy, but not overwhelming, dose of oak spice and vanilla. Amazing, long finish.
Price: $39.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 90 ST 89

Franck Bonville "Belles Voyes" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 08-14-2008
Franck Bonville's exceptional cuvees come from the villages of Avize, Cremant and Oger and this, the Les Belles Voyes, is based entirely on the 2002 vintage. The nose on this wine was like a perfectly aged Corton Charlemagne, with hazelnut richness and a soft, balanced palate. Like a waltz for your senses: elegant and refined!