Staff Favorites - Mellyn Craig

Mellyn Craig

Reviews

  
San Venanzio Prosecco Valdobbiadene Demi-Long Superiore Brut
Review Date: 02-03-2016
My fellow bubbly drinkers take note! This dry Prosecco is so delicious and a bargain to boot. The bouquet is filled with dried white flowers. The floral qualities carry through onto the palate and as well as peach, apple and lemon pith. The fruits are balanced out with a steely minerality and zesty acid. This pretty bubbly is so tasty that it is almost too easy to drink. I recommend stocking up. I will be!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
WE 92 JS 90

2013 Mt. Hector Pinot Noir Wairarapa
Review Date: 01-12-2016
Extra! Extra! This is the hottest Pinot Noir deal around! Every time I taste this wine, I can’t believe the price point this is selling for. The 2013 Mt Hector Pinot has layers of complexity and a long finish. The aromas are full of cracked black pepper and dried purple flowers. Flavors of flinty minerality, with an earthy underbrush note, and baking spices add wonderful layers that are not common with Pinots at this price. The palate has mouth watering acidity with juicy black cherries and plum carries on through the finish. Pinot Noirs at this price are usually lacking complexity or not palatable. This is the BEST exception I have ever tasted. I highly recommend buying this by the case before it is gone!
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart
BC 92

2013 Foxen Santa Maria Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 05-08-2015
This Santa Maria Pinot Noir from Foxen is delicious AND the price is right! Aromas are bursting out of the glass of bright red fruit and baking spice. The fruit continues to the palate with crunchy strawberries and cherries, with great acidity and white pepper to create a lively balance. Great for barbeques, weddings and other parties as this Pinot will please many palates- as well as mine!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
WE 94 ST 90

2012 Frog's Leap "Estate" Rutherford Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 09-25-2014
Dark currant, rose petal, black olive, anise, cedar and dusty, earthy flavors are already showing in this young Cabernet. This wine is structured for the long haul, but is so clean and balanced you will love drinking it at any age.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart
VN 93 W&S 93

2013 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Pinot Noir Marlborough
Review Date: 07-14-2014
I am already a fan of the TWR wines, but this 2013 Pinot Noir elevated their quality to another level with the same great price! The 2013 was an amazing vintage for New Zealand, but I think what really made a difference this year is the addition of a second vineyard in this wine. The new addition is a vineyard from a steep, north facing slope (which is the sunny side in the Southern Hemisphere) with clay soils. The clay soil brings a silky mouth feel that I love! This wine has a great balance of red and dark currant, with a lot of spice, flint and earth. The complexity far exceeds the price. Enjoy!

Monkey 47 Schwarzwald Gin 375ml
Review Date: 05-02-2014
This gin is so amazing and complex that it is hard to put it all into words! It is so smooth and clean, yet the most complex gin I have ever had. Juniper, spice, berries, citrus peel, herbs are all there and so balanced. This gin is so gorgeous, that drinking it neat is the best way to enjoy this gin. Buy this now! It is selling fast with both customers and staff!
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart

Bruno Michel "Rebelle" Extra Brut Champagne
Review Date: 04-18-2014
The Bruno Michel “Rebelle” offers much more richness than most Extra Brut Champagnes, and with the lovely acidity and minerality characteristics, this makes for a great sushi pairing! The Rebelle will delight your palate with the crisp acidity and luscious apple type fruits. If you like sushi, I highly recommend pairing the two! It goes great with yellow tail, salmon, spicy tuna and many other types of seafood, but it is the wasabi and soy sauce that really makes the pairing special. Don’t hesitate -- treat yourself to sushi and this Champagne tonight!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Bruno Michel "Les Roses" Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 10-17-2013
The Bruno Michel Les Roses will speak to red wine lovers. The characteristics are so similar to a Pinot Noir such as ripe cherry, orange peel, earth and spice. This has the stuffing to pair with many foods. While this is not a Champagne for every palate, it is a special treat for some of us!
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

Fleury Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 06-13-2013
If you love Brut Rose Champagnes as much as I do, then you HAVE to try this one from Fleury! With notes of elegant strawberry, vanilla and spice, all wrapped up with balanced acidity. To sweeten the deal, Fleury is a direct import, so this elegant Champagne is a great value!
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart