Staff Favorites - Mellyn Craig

Mellyn Craig

Reviews

  
2013 Foxen Santa Maria Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 05-08-2015
This Santa Maria Pinot Noir from Foxen is delicious AND the price is right! Aromas are bursting out of the glass of bright red fruit and baking spice. The fruit continues to the palate with crunchy strawberries and cherries, with great acidity and white pepper to create a lively balance. Great for barbeques, weddings and other parties as this Pinot will please many palates- as well as mine!
Price: $29.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 94 ST 90

2012 Frog's Leap Rutherford Estate Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 09-25-2014
Dark currant, rose petal, black olive, anise, cedar and dusty, earthy flavors are already showing in this young Cabernet. This wine is structured for the long haul, but is so clean and balanced you will love drinking it at any age.
Price: $49.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 Pisa Range Estate "Black Poplar Block" Pinot Noir Central Otago
Review Date: 08-21-2014
This Pinot Noir from Pisa Range is so delicious! This wine is very complex with floral notes such as rose petal and violet, dark cherry and raspberry fruit, baking spices, and minerals. The palate is both elegant with refined tannins, and zesty with medium plus acidity. The tannins are well integrated, which allows for this wine to drink well now, but the lively acidity will help this wine age beautifully.

2009 Kerrigan + Berry Cabernet Sauvignon Western Australia
Review Date: 08-21-2014
This is one sexy wine! Your experience begins with an amazing nose of bright fruit and floral notes. Black fruit and cranberry, lavender, apricot, spice, mint and a hint of smoke envelope your palate. The silky smooth tannins with a long finish complete this very decadent wine. This wine is so well balanced and elegant, it is one of my favorite Cabernet Sauvignons I have tasted in a long time!
Price: Hidden View Price
JH 96 RP 91

2013 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Pinot Noir Marlborough
Review Date: 07-14-2014
I am already a fan of the TWR wines, but this 2013 Pinot Noir elevated their quality to another level with the same great price! The 2013 was an amazing vintage for New Zealand, but I think what really made a difference this year is the addition of a second vineyard in this wine. The new addition is a vineyard from a steep, north facing slope (which is the sunny side in the Southern Hemisphere) with clay soils. The clay soil brings a silky mouth feel that I love! This wine has a great balance of red and dark currant, with a lot of spice, flint and earth. The complexity far exceeds the price. Enjoy!

2012 Bodegas Castaño "Solanera Viñas Viejas" Yecla
Review Date: 07-10-2014
This wine is a little too easy to drink! The 2012 Bodegas Castano Solenera Vinas Viejas Yecla is bursting with ripe blue and black fruits, balanced out with spice, herbs, anise and flowers. The tannins are well-integrated and have a light dusty quality that brings a hint of cocoa powder to the wine. If you bring this wine to your next BBQ party, you will be very popular!
Price: $13.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 94

Monkey 47 Schwarzwald Gin 375ml
Review Date: 05-02-2014
This gin is so amazing and complex that it is hard to put it all into words! It is so smooth and clean, yet the most complex gin I have ever had. Juniper, spice, berries, citrus peel, herbs are all there and so balanced. This gin is so gorgeous, that drinking it neat is the best way to enjoy this gin. Buy this now! It is selling fast with both customers and staff!
Price: $44.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Cep (Peay Vineyards) "Hopkins Ranch" Russian River Valley Sauvignon Blanc
Review Date: 04-18-2014
I have been a fan of the Cep (Peay Vineyards) wines for a few years and this Sauvignon Blanc reaffirms my allegiance! There is so much to love about this wine as it is bursting with lots of acid, green apple, citrus, stone fruit and white flowers. There is a chalky mouthfeel that is a pleasant surprise coming from the Russian River Valley. This will be a good one to stock up on for summer!
Price: $22.99 Add To Waiting List

Launois "Quartz" Blanc de Blancs Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-05-2014
Wow this is a fun Champagne! If you love Launois Champagnes like I do, please note that the “Quartz” is different than their traditional richer style, but equally well made. Zesty acidity with a touch of citrus and white peach livens up your taste buds. This Champagne is light and crisp, yet elegant with notes of soft creamy mousse to balance everything out.
Price: $39.99 Add To Waiting List

Bruno Michel "Les Roses" Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 10-17-2013
The Bruno Michel Les Roses will speak to red wine lovers. The characteristics are so similar to a Pinot Noir such as ripe cherry, orange peel, earth and spice. This has the stuffing to pair with many foods. While this is not a Champagne for every palate, it is a special treat for some of us!
Price: $49.99 Add To Waiting List

2010 Cantemerle, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 09-20-2013
For as young as this wine is, it is already showing its great potential. This wine is already displaying elegant floral aromas and blue fruit, with integrated juicy tannins. I look forward to laying down the 2010 Cantemerle for a minimum of 5 years, and enjoying it for many years following!