Staff Favorites - Adam Winkel

Adam Winkel

Reviews

  
2005 Three Dog Vineyard Santa Cruz Mountains Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 05-15-2017
I'm down to one bottle in my case of 2002 Three Dog Cab, so I'm pretty stoked that we got this. Comparatively, the 2005 is a little bit more plush and fresh than the 2002 which was shaded more with dried fruit tones and sharper acidity. Still, "plush" is a relative term when you're talking about Santa Cruz Mountains, as this is still quite an elegant and savory wine with a lot of structure. I love the depth, purity, and classically proportioned profile here. In France there's a term called "buveurs d’etiquettes", which translates to "label drinkers". It refers to those who are only interested in the prestige printed on the outside of their bottle rather than what is inside of it. With a familiar label, the buveurs d’etiquettes would line up to pay a king's ransom for this bottle.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2011 Fonseca Late Bottled Vintage Port
Review Date: 05-15-2017
This is really a ridiculous value. A rich and generous wine by any standard, it's a good bottle to have in the rack for an impetuous opening. The best part is that it will develop and keep for some days or even a week after you open it, so you're going to get some mileage here even if it doesn't get poured around a big group. Like with my Riesling collection, I need some satisfying and pleasurable "interference wines" to keep me away from the expensive stuff.

2012 Niepoort Late Bottled Vintage Port
Review Date: 05-15-2017
LBV Port as a category is an amazing value, and this is a very distinctive example. Red currant and blackberry fruit with cocoa powder and floral tones fill out a profile that is bright and deep and even somehow refreshing. This needs some aeration when you open it, and it ideally drinks best after being open for a day or more. I followed this over five days as it continued to improve, and it would have easily gone longer because of the firm acidic spine that places this above some similar bottles. An open bottle from a few days ago feels like a gift from yourself, as it might show its best just for you.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
RP 92

Michel Arnould Verzenay "Reserve" Brut Champagne (1.5L)
Review Date: 05-15-2017
This non-vintage Champagne shows excellent equilibrium between minerality, toastiness, and citric fruit with no single characteristic outshining the rest. Certainly a fine bead and excellent texture from a magnum. Complete and very pleasurable.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

2009 Saint-Paul, Haut-Medoc
Review Date: 05-15-2017
Quite a serious Haut-Medoc with good ripeness and a lot of structure. This showed nicely with a lot of chew after a couple of hours in the decanter, and was what was left was still going strong the next day. According to the chateau, the property borders the Saint Estèphe appellation as well as Sociando Mallet and the 2009 vintage was their first vintage with noteworthy winemaking consultant Stéphane Derenoncourt.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2014 S.C. Pannell "Old McDonald Vineyard" Grenache McLaren Vale South Australia
Review Date: 07-27-2016
The incredible purity and intensity of this wine is what sets it very much apart from so many ho-hum, excuse-me examples of Grenache. The nose shows pure wild strawberry and brambly raspberry, a kiss of new leather wraps around the fruit. Following is a palate filled with perfectly ripened fruit, crystal clear raspberries, garnet colored cherries, with length and drive that gives the wine a very serious tone you would expect from 75 year old vines.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
JH 96 JS 96

Chartreuse "V.E.P." Green (1L)
Review Date: 12-01-2014
The most extraordinary digestif ever made. The most extraordinary anything ever made. My desert island one-and-only.
Price: $149.99 Add To Cart
WE 98

Graham's 10 Year Old Tawny Port
Review Date: 01-27-2014
This is a good port to serve with a non-chocolate dessert course. The bombastically nutty and spicy profile complements your dessert course beautifully, when a more delicate style of Tawny would get crushed. Try it with creme brulee or pumpkin pie! An open bottle in the fridge will change very slowly, so pour it when called for... it will last for weeks or even months.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
WE 91 WS 90

Graham's 20 Year Old Tawny Port
Review Date: 01-27-2014
Like Graham's 10 Year Tawny, the 20 Year is a wine that is great to pair with a dessert course. Excellent with pastry or custards, this big boy does amazing things alongside something as down-home as pumpkin pie or even carrot cake with walnuts and cream cheese frosting. The Graham's 20 also has enough richness to pair with caramel-based desserts. An open bottle will keep in the fridge for weeks or even months, so no rush to finish it.
Price: $54.99 Add To Cart
JS 94 WS 93

Ferreira "Duque de Braganca" 20 Year Old Tawny Port
Review Date: 11-29-2012
This shows amazing nuance and freshness, and the nuttiness comes in late to create a great overarching, transitory complexity. This would prove versatile with custards or nutty desserts, but it's certainly also one to savor on its own.