Staff Favorites - Adam Winkel

Adam Winkel

Reviews

  
2012 Condado de Haza Ribera del Duero
Review Date: 08-10-2016
I love that this is 20 bucks and proud to be built like a brick house. I've slowly followed a half case of the 2005 vintage, and looking at my personal notes I really patted myself on the back for buying them at the eight year mark. Those 2005s are still fresh and improving. The 2012 is a great vintage for the estate and there is plenty of promise to glimpse in this firm and concentrated wine. Enjoy a chewy drink now and see where it goes. But pat yourself on the back in a few years for buying this underrated gem. There's a lot of substance, purity, and terroir here. A serious and even elegant wine that will drink far above its price level.
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
WS 93

2014 S.C. Pannell "Old McDonald Vineyard" Grenache McLaren Vale South Australia
Review Date: 07-27-2016
The incredible purity and intensity of this wine is what sets it very much apart from so many ho-hum, excuse-me examples of Grenache. The nose shows pure wild strawberry and brambly raspberry, a kiss of new leather wraps around the fruit. Following is a palate filled with perfectly ripened fruit, crystal clear raspberries, garnet colored cherries, with length and drive that gives the wine a very serious tone you would expect from 75 year old vines.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
JH 96 JS 96

2014 Neyers "Sage Canyon" Rhône Blend
Review Date: 04-21-2016
A generous and food-friendly Rhone blend from a series of very good individual terroirs. Finds a very welcome space between fun and serious. Crushes it for $20. I paid more than double that off of a restaurant list and was perfectly fine with that.
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

1985 Quinta do Noval Vintage Port
Review Date: 04-20-2015
Really ready to drink, spicy and earthy, sweet but not too much. Great value. 1985 Quinta do Noval Vintage Port. As prices escalate for old and rare wines it becomes difficult for a wine merchant to present customers with mature bottles that offer true value. This begins to explain our excitement over the recent acquisition of this 1985 Quinta do Noval vintage port. So many 85's were able to hide their firm tannins behind what seems like orchards of ripe, heady fruit notes. The wines seemed to drink well in their youth despite being a bit simple. But now, at 22 years of age the richness and over the top sweetness has been honed to an understated complexity, and promises good drinking for many years to come. Enjoy.
Price: Hidden View Price

Chartreuse "V.E.P." Green 1L
Review Date: 12-01-2014
The most extraordinary digestif ever made. The most extraordinary anything ever made. My desert island one-and-only.
Price: $149.99 Add To Cart
WE 96 - 100

Graham's 10 Year Old Tawny Port
Review Date: 01-27-2014
This is a good port to serve with a non-chocolate dessert course. The bombastically nutty and spicy profile complements your dessert course beautifully, when a more delicate style of Tawny would get crushed. Try it with creme brulee or pumpkin pie! An open bottle in the fridge will change very slowly, so pour it when called for... it will last for weeks or even months.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
WE 91 WS 90

Graham's 20 Year Old Tawny Port
Review Date: 01-27-2014
Like Graham's 10 Year Tawny, the 20 Year is a wine that is great to pair with a dessert course. Excellent with pastry or custards, this big boy does amazing things alongside something as down-home as pumpkin pie or even carrot cake with walnuts and cream cheese frosting. The Graham's 20 also has enough richness to pair with caramel-based desserts. An open bottle will keep in the fridge for weeks or even months, so no rush to finish it.
Price: $54.99 Add To Cart
JS 94 WS 93

Ferreira "Duque de Braganca" 20 Year Old Tawny Port
Review Date: 11-29-2012
This shows amazing nuance and freshness, and the nuttiness comes in late to create a great overarching, transitory complexity. This would prove versatile with custards or nutty desserts, but it's certainly also one to savor on its own.
Price: $54.99 Add To Cart
WE 93 WS 92