Staff Favorites - Adam Winkel

Adam Winkel

Reviews

  
2014 Neyers "Sage Canyon" Rhône Blend
Review Date: 01-06-2016
A generous and food-friendly Rhone blend from a series of very good individual terroirs. Finds a very welcome space between fun and serious. Crushes it for $20.
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

1985 Quinta Do Noval Vintage Port
Review Date: 04-20-2015
Really ready to drink, spicy and earthy, sweet but not too much. Great value. 1985 Quinta do Noval Vintage Port. As prices escalate for old and rare wines it becomes difficult for a wine merchant to present customers with mature bottles that offer true value. This begins to explain our excitement over the recent acquisition of this 1985 Quinta do Noval vintage port. So many 85's were able to hide their firm tannins behind what seems like orchards of ripe, heady fruit notes. The wines seemed to drink well in their youth despite being a bit simple. But now, at 22 years of age the richness and over the top sweetness has been honed to an understated complexity, and promises good drinking for many years to come. Enjoy.
Price: Hidden View Price

Chartreuse "V.E.P." Green 1L
Review Date: 12-01-2014
The most extraordinary digestif ever made. The most extraordinary anything ever made. My desert island one-and-only.
Price: $149.99 Add To Cart
WE 96 - 100

Ariston Aspasie "Brut Prestige" Champagne (1.5L)
Review Date: 11-24-2014
Fine, steady beads. Toasty profile with a lot of bass. I see it as perhaps a more affordable version of NV Krug. I suspect that the color of the label is a subtle nod to this. Try with some grilled crostinis or other toasty or rich appetizers.
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart

1999 Whitehall Lane "Reserve" Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 03-20-2014
(Popped and poured 03/2014 from magnum) An underrated wine that still delivers a fine value. A savory palate with dusty Napa terroir harmonizes with the tannins that at this stage seem polished and sweet. The overall profile would please someone who likes their Napa Cabs in a classic style, yet the wine is plenty generous. Excellent structure. A 750ml should be right in its drinking window while the large formats could go much longer.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

Graham's 10 Year Old Tawny Port
Review Date: 01-27-2014
This is a good port to serve with a non-chocolate dessert course. The bombastically nutty and spicy profile complements your dessert course beautifully, when a more delicate style of Tawny would get crushed. Try it with creme brulee or pumpkin pie! An open bottle in the fridge will change very slowly, so pour it when called for... it will last for weeks or even months.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
WE 91 WS 90

Graham's 20 Year Old Tawny Port
Review Date: 01-27-2014
Like Graham's 10 Year Tawny, the 20 Year is a wine that is great to pair with a dessert course. Excellent with pastry or custards, this big boy does amazing things alongside something as down-home as pumpkin pie or even carrot cake with walnuts and cream cheese frosting. The Graham's 20 also has enough richness to pair with caramel-based desserts. An open bottle will keep in the fridge for weeks or even months, so no rush to finish it.
Price: $54.99 Add To Cart
WS 93 WE 90

Ferreira "Duque de Braganca" 20 Year Old Tawny Port
Review Date: 11-29-2012
This shows amazing nuance and freshness, and the nuttiness comes in late to create a great overarching, transitory complexity. This would prove versatile with custards or nutty desserts, but it's certainly also one to savor on its own.
Price: $54.99 Add To Cart
WE 93 WS 92