Staff Favorites - Joe Manekin

Joe Manekin
Joe Manekin  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service
Joe arrived at our doors in February 2007 from far away, Washington, DC to be exact. Just so no one gets the wrong idea, though, he was merely earning a living in DC; Joe’s cultural identity, as well as his professional sports allegiances and, when he has a few drinks in him, his accent, are all Baltimore through and through. After working on the wholesale side of the business for nearly 4 years, Joe decided that he wanted to work wine retail with the best, so he emailed Cindy Westby at K&L and the rest is history. While Joe is well versed in a number of wine regions, he most enjoys the wines of Europe, though he is growing increasingly interested in the great wines of the Santa Cruz mountains. When he is not at K&L, Joe enjoys cooking, traveling, catching up on The Wire, doing occasional PR, booking and recording work for reggae band JohnStone (www.johnstonemusic.com), and writing for his wine, food and music blog, Old world Old School (www.oldworldoldschool.blogspot.com)


Reviews

  
Page: 1 2 3 next
2013 Bodegas Caro "Caro" Malbec-Cabernet Sauvignon Mendoza
Review Date: 07-15-2016
Recently I told my boss he needed to taste this wine. According to our intrepid Bordeaux buyer Clyde Beffa, "Wow, this smells like Bordeaux!" I would agree. The one thing that impresses me most about this latest bottling of Caro is it balance. While I was on the lookout for obvious new oak and heavy extraction, neither was anywhere to be found. Instead, there are beautiful black currant aromas and flavors, with Malbec adding some mid-palate volume without detracting from the freshness. Oak is extremely well integrated. While this wine's best years lie ahead, decant it now and enjoy with a grilled ribeye if you would like to get a peak at what lies ahead. Impressive stuff!
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart
JS 96

2013 Le Battistelle "Battistelle" Soave Classico
Review Date: 07-13-2016
Delicious, mouthfilling, stone fruits show generosity, a decidedly savory, volcanic soil marked savor, and loads of freshness. Balance, refreshment, acidity and richness of texture rarely come together in a white wine so inexpensive. Please do not let the price fool you, whether or not you frequently enjoy Italian whites, this deserves a place in your regular rotation!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2014 Einaudi Dogliani (Dolcetto)
Review Date: 07-13-2016
A serious Dolcetto, Einaudi's bottling shows beautiful, penetrating dark and red plum fruits that are inviting and delicious, but structured, serious and nicely dry. Greg mentioned Chinon, I was thinking a weightier cru Beaujolais - either way, this Piemontese delight does seem to have something of a French accent. Once again, I do like what Einaudi does with Dolcetto.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2013 Felsina Chianti Classico
Review Date: 07-13-2016
Felsina Chianti Classico is, well, a classic! The spicy, slightly woodsy, tangy fruit of this wine always places it amongst my favorite Tuscan wines. I don't think there is a better introduction to Chianti than Felsina.

2015 Zudugarai "Amats" Rosé Getariako Txakolina
Review Date: 07-13-2016
Txakoli rosé! Composed of 100% Hondarribi Beltza, this delicious, tangy, lighter bodied (just 10.5% ABV) rosé is fantastic. It is tailor made for food. The same sorts of foods (oysters, jamón, cured fish) that work with the regular txakoli are also wonderful with this rosé, though one of my favorite combinations is the famous "Gilda," an olive and anchovy skewer named for the character in a Rita Hayworth film. Amats rosé is one of our favorites and always limited, so case up while you can!
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2015 Zudugarai "Amats" Getariako Txakolina
Review Date: 07-13-2016
There is no better warm weather refresher than good Txakoli. And Amats is very good Txakoli! Incredibly crisp, with bright fruit and racy acidity, as well as the trademark fizziness, Zudugarai does Txakoli every bit as well as anyone else out there. And instead of the $40-50 you may pay at your favorite tapas spot in the city, Amats is priced to guzzle down in the comfort of your own home! Enjoy this well chilled, with jamón, grilled or smoked fish, and definitely, without a doubt, with oysters. Speaking from experience, there are few things better than spending time with family or friends, slurping oysters and washing them down with Txakoli - do it!
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2013 Garcia & Schwaderer "Vigno" Carignane Maule Valley
Review Date: 06-28-2016
Imagine a top quality Priorat, only with more acidity. A lot more. Then, maybe think of a great Pinot Noir but with juicier, rounder fruit. Last, and most important, lower the price of either example by about $25-40. Now that you've got the picture, I'd like to introduce you to a most intriguing wine from Chile, indeed one of the more interesting red wines we've had all year: the Garcia & Schwaderer Vigno. The fruit here is expressive, irresistibly tangy, high-toned and lively wild berry fruit flavors. Though it is not a wine that has been made for long and therefore does not have a track record of improving in bottle, I'd be surprised if it doesn't continue to gain complexity over the next 7-8 years. It's spectacular now, however. What a delicious, original bottle of red wine! This has my strongest recommendation, though we do not have too many bottles - best to act quickly if you're interested!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
RP 95 JS 92

2013 Nin Ortiz "Planetes" Garnatxes i Carinyenes em Amfora Priorat
Review Date: 06-24-2016
Based in the Priorat village of Porrera, Ester Nin and Carles Ortiz have steadily plied their craft over the past 12 or so years, and these days are making some of the most delicious and exciting wines in Priorat. They are as deep into organic viticulture, carefully made compost, and plowing by mules as they are into expressing the fruit of their labor carefully in the cellar. This has lead to a preference for larger foudres and occasionally amphorae, as is the case for this bottling. It is tough to find Priorat as carefully made, from the vineyard to the bottle, as it is here. And it absolutely shows in the quality of the wine.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
JR 91 RP 91

Kavalan Solist Ex-Bourbon Cask #75 K&L Exclusive Cask Strength Single Barrel Taiwanese Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 06-22-2016
This is a delicious cask of whiskey! It's got incredible richness and sweetness: think vanilla cream frosting and cake batter. Adding a bit of water helps to bring out more layered aromas and balance this intense whiskey. This has my highest recommendation for anyone who loves full flavored Scotch not that is not lacking in decadent richness or sweetness.
Price: $149.99 Add To Cart

2014 Moss Wood Sauvignon Blanc-Sémillon Margaret River Western Australia
Review Date: 06-22-2016
Serious "Sem-Savvy" blend here, folks! A pretty, Pessac like white with rich yellow stone fruited elegance and impeccable balance. This was one of my favorites, white or red, in a recent NZ-Australia-South Africa line-up put together by buyer Ryan Woodhouse.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
JH 94 VN 91

2014 FRAM Chenin Blanc Citrusdal Mountain
Review Date: 06-22-2016
Good South African Chenin has a combination of fruit purity, textural richness, mouth watering acidity and deliciousness only matched by top quality Loire valley Chenin. And this is top quality South African Chenin, so if you enjoy the grape variety or are simply looking to explore, you are in for a treat. Juicy tangerine fruit flavors are both bright and richly textured at the same time - a great combination.
Price: $22.99 Add To Cart

2014 Fromm "Clayvin Vineyard" Pinot Noir Marlborough
Review Date: 06-22-2016
Part of our recent Clayvin Vineyard vertical, this bottling is the most vertical, the most tense and serious. Cherry fruited, quite dry and palate staining, this wine is for ageing (or drinking now with a nice decant and lamb rib and loin chops!)

2012 Giesen Single Vineyard Selection "Clayvin" Pinot Noir Marlborough
Review Date: 06-22-2016
This formed part of a recent Clayvin vineyard three producer vertical we tasted with resident NZ expert and buyer Ryan Wood house. Giesen now owns Clayvin. Their bottling may have been the most delicious right now, with lovely cherry fruited purity and even some cherry pit/almond notes adding further complexity. This is so drinkable now but will undoubtedly improve in bottle for at least another 6-8 years.

2013 Reyneke Sauvignon Blanc Stellenbosch (Biodynamic)
Review Date: 06-22-2016
This is a fantastic Sauvignon Blanc. The depth of flavor and complexity do suggest a wine closer to $20, instead of something that at under $11 you might expect to be tasty but much more simple. Ripe stone fruit flavors show balanced acidity, a lovely texture as well as the multi-vitamin like nuances I sometimes get from higher quality, carefully made, terroir driven Sauvignon Blanc. It's rare to find SB this good, for this cheap, so if you enjoy the grape I would load up..
Price: Hidden View Price
RP 90 WS 90

2012 Cune Crianza Rioja
Review Date: 06-21-2016
Few sub $15 brands as well established and distributed offer as much tastiness, regional typicity and value as does Cune. Red and mixed berry fruits are ripe and tasty, yet balanced by a core of acidity and freshness. This is the quintessential weeknight red, ready to handle any food you throw its way or simply delicious on its own as you throw together a quick snack before dinner. Consider a case - this is a wine that wants to be consumed!

Antipodes Sparkling Water New Zealand (1L - Glass Bottle)
Review Date: 06-16-2016
This is a fine vintage of Antipodes, the king of sparkling waters and the sparkling water of kings! In all seriousness, while we have had fun at New Zealand wine (and water) buyer Ryan Woodhouse's expense, I have to admit that this is great stuff. Pure, balanced, soft carbonation and well balanced water - I can't stop drinking the stuff. Added bonus: Antipodes is a certified carbon neutral business.
Price: $3.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Bousquet Cabernet Sauvignon Tupungato Uco Valley
Review Date: 06-15-2016
This is a bright, clean, red fruited Cabernet Sauvignon, with wonderful fruit purity and terrific cut. Given its medium body and bright fruit, this is a wine that should work as nicely with grilled chicken, vegetables or pasta as it would with hamburgers or other grilled meats. It's also worth mentioning that the wine is made from 100% organically grown grapes. I would be hard pressed to think of a value Cab in our inventory that is as easy to drink and as versatile with food than the Domaine Bousquet Cabernet Sauvignon.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2005 York Creek "Madrone" Spring Mountain District Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 06-15-2016
The 05 York Creek Madrone Cabernet Sauvignon seems to be just beginning to hit its stride. Dark fruits with hints of green notes opens up to a palate with great poise, freshness, and tight currant fruit. While it is still perhaps just a hint on the early side for my taste, it still tastes great and shows promise for further bottle ageing. This definitely ranks right up there with my favorite York Creek bottlings of the past year.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2013 Jacques Bavard Auxey-Duresses Rouge
Review Date: 06-10-2016
In the past it has always been Jacques Bavard's whites in particular that have drawn my attention. While that continues to be the case (his 2014 whites are predictably fantastic) I was quite impressed with this slightly foresty, floral, dark-fruited, rather tense and linear Pinot Noir - lots of intrigue and charm, especially for under $20!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2014 Jacques Bavard Auxey-Duresses "Les Clous" Blanc
Review Date: 06-10-2016
I consider Jacques Bavard's wines not only amongst the best Burgundies in our store, but amongst the very best Burgundies in, well, in Burgundy! Roumier, Fourrier, Dujac, De Montille...all great names, but when it comes to that rarest of rare treasures, the $30 and under bottle of Burgundy that keeps you coming back for more, no one can touch Jacques Bavard. The 2014 Auxey Duresses Les Clous is incredible Chardonnay: brightly fruited, energetic and mineral laden, but with such a lovely texture to match. This shows the greatness of 2014 for white Burgundies, as well as the deft touch Mr. Bavard always shows with Chardonnay. A must have wine.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2013 Joan d'Anguera "Finca L'Argata" Montsant
Review Date: 06-07-2016
Joan and Joseph d'Anguera have been making some serious changes at their family-owned winery over the past decade or so. Starting with a focus on organic farming, the brothers soon reaped the rewards of healthier vineyards and fruit, but felt that they were still looking for brighter, lighter, fresher wines. To achieve this they began picking a bit earlier and including some whole clusters in the fermentation, going for what Joseph calls more an "infusion" rather than extraction, of color and flavor. This 2013 consists primarily of Garnacha. This is an intense wine, but also a taut one, rather linear, with fresh aromas and flavors of wild berries and fennel. Serious, but very drinkable wine.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2008 Viña Real Gran Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 05-24-2016
A classic. No doubt about it, this Viña Real is a real charmer, a wine that is just beginning to show its beauty now (decant for at least 30 minutes) but that will easily improve another 12+ years. A wonderfully fragrant, complete nose marked by mixed berries, cherries in liqueur and delicate floral notes leads to a lively, pure, energetic palate. I love Viña Real when it is on its game, and rest assured that the 2008 vintage is absolutely that. At under $35 this is one of my current favorites in our inventory.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
RP 94 VN 92

2010 Miguel Merino "Unnum" Rioja
Review Date: 05-24-2016
What a beautiful expression from our friend Miguel Merino! Unnum's pure fruit shows the intensity, fruit purity and elegant tannin structure of old vine material. The two tiny vineyards used for this cuvee were planted in 1931 and 1940. Aromas of blue fruits and candied licorice lead to a fresh, balanced palate, with fresh flavors of blueberries and ripe currants. This wine is delicious now, but built to age.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2011 Viña Quebrada "Domus Aurea" Cabernet Sauvignon Maipo Valley
Review Date: 05-12-2016
If Maipo is to Chile as Napa is to California, then the Viña Quebrada could be compared to Heitz Martha's Vineyard. It's an historic vineyard, with many a mature vine. As does Martha's Vineyard, the Domus Aurea has a lovely combination of Cabernet's bright red currant intensity, a tell tale snappy green, eucalyptus vineyard stamp and very fine grained tannins. Classic Cabernet. It should age well for quite a while, so if you are a Cabernet drinker or collector, you should absolutely grab some Domus Aurea.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart
W&S 96 RP 94

2013 Mas Que Vinos "Ercavio" Tempranillo Roble Tierra de Castilla
Review Date: 04-21-2016
There was a time when we used to habitually stock this little Tempranillo from La Mancha. It's been off our radar of late, but when I tasted the 2013 I know we had to bring it back. Especially since it's never been better and it's still under $10! Rich and fruit forward aromas also show a hint of lightly toasty oak. On the palate, the wine has the authority, and nearly the tannin structure, of a young Ribera del Duero. A delicious red that outperforms the price.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart
VN 90

2014 Mas Doix "Les Crestes" Priorat
Review Date: 04-15-2016
A cool, fresh vintage combined with vineyards located in one of the cooler villages, and some higher elevation vineyards in Poboleda, makes for this beautiful, purple-fruited wine. Scrumptious, delicious fruit! Snatch these up before a likely big review causes this to quickly sell out.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
VN 92

2011 Finca El Encinal Crianza Ribera del Duero
Review Date: 04-13-2016
I'm stoked to have this wine back in. The 2010 bottling was one of our best selling Spanish wines a few years ago, and the 2011 picks up where that wine left off. Dark fruits showcase the Ribera del Duero region's serious tannin structure and complexity, but combine also with a dry, savory balance and a deft touch with both the modest level of extraction and oak, particularly given their competition in this region of big, spicy, full-bodied, oaky wines. Finca el Encinal Crianza - dang, that's delicious!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
WS 92

2013 Zorzal "Gran Terroir" Malbec Valle de Uco
Review Date: 04-13-2016
Zorzal's Gran Terroir Malbec is absolutey that: a "gran" display of terroir in Argentina's Uco Valley. Unlike most others around them, Zorzal's Michelini brothers favor a regimen of early harvesting and vinifying/ageing in concrete and well used oak barrels. The results are stunning: crisp, focused dark fruit aromas, in this case showing lovely green and black olive savory qualities, lead to a remarkably dry palate (are we tasting Crozes-Hermitage or Mendoza Malbec??) I love this wine's balance of fruit and savory notes, the utter and complete absence of toasty oak, and the sheer drinkability this represents. It offers a glimpse into the future of Argentinean Malbec, shows strong mid-term cellar potential and is a true joy to drink now. At under $20 I strongly recommend you buy some for now and some bottles to cellar as well.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
RP 93

2014 Domaine Les Pins "Les Rochettes" Bourgueil
Review Date: 04-13-2016
If you are looking for a crisp, textbook Cabernet Franc, a dry wine that is on the light side of medium-bodied, with bracingly fresh fruit, lovely floral notes and effortless balance, a wine to gulp down with roasted chicken and pan fried, herb studded yukon potatoes, the Les Pins is your wine! Year in, year out, I love to get re-acquainted with this beauty. I'd be happy if this cost nearly $20, but at under $12, this is one of our most delicious and best value direct imports.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart
WE 92

2014 Gen del Alma "Otra Piel" Red Blend Gulatallary
Review Date: 04-04-2016
Gen del Alma (G d'A as it is appears on the label) is a project of Gerardo Michelini and his wife Andrea Mufatto. Their goal is to showcase the unique, calcareous terroir of Gualtallary (within the Tupungato sub-zone of the Uco Valley) and to make very fresh, acid focused, mineral wines. To do so they experiment with concrete eggs (designed by their engineer father and fabricated locally), older barrels and in this case, a very large clay amphora which they made themselves. Otra Piel is a blend of Cabernet Franc, Cabernet Sauvignon, and Pinot Noir, all grown on a single vineyard in Tupungato. The wine is aged in amphora and then in bottle prior to release. It shows a combination of intense mixed berry fruit and some brawn and heft while retaining its lively, engaging acidity. A rare peek into a serious Cab Franc blend that never sees the inside of a new or used barrel. Delicious.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
RP 93

2014 D. Ventura "Viña do Burato" Ribeira Sacra
Review Date: 04-04-2016
A project of Ramon Losada, with some guidance early on from the great Gerardo Mendes (of Do Ferreiro fame), these Mencía-based reds grown in the steeper Ribera Sacra D.O. are truly expressive, terroir-driven wines. Bright red fruits show a crisp minerality, as well as wonderful fruit purity. 2014 is the best vintage of this wine that I can recall; it's all crunchy red fruit - a super quaffable red and a real winner.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart
VN 91

2011 Haras de Pirque "Hussonet" Cabernet Sauvignon Gran Reserva Maipo Valley
Review Date: 04-01-2016
This is a deceptively priced bottle of Cabernet. A 100% Maipo Valley Cab, it opens with straightforward mixed fruit aromas punctuated by green herbaceous notes. I encourage you to approach this one with a skeptical eye. At first glance, a straight ahead Chilean Cab, the aromatics open to reveal charred poblano, freshly ground black pepper, licorice and black currant confit. A similar opening occurs on the palate, which shows deeply pitched black fruits, some scruffy savory notes, and a length and supple tannin quality which suggests a more serious (and seriously priced) Cabernet! For under $10 this is an absolute steal.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart
JS 95

2012 Joseph Swan "Trenton Estate" Russian River Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 03-29-2016
I was reviewing my notes on this wine from exactly one year ago. As excited as I was then, I'm even more bullish now after tasting the wine with another year in bottle. This is a very good vintage of a truly awesome wine. It absolutely oozes old school Russian River Valley charm in its scrumptious, layered, berry fruit. And yet there is a freshness, a clarity and purity of fruit that brings to mind a delicious bottle of young Burgundy (without the rough edges of tough tannin or fierce acidity). This wine is delicious now and should age very well for quite a while. It has my highest recommendation for Pinot Noir for drinking and/or cellaring.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart
WE 95 ST 92

2012 Calcu Cabernet Sauvignon Colchagua Valley
Review Date: 03-23-2016
Big aromas of plum confit and dark cherries lead to a genuinely structured palate. Fruit and tannins are well balanced and present themselves in a way that results in a deliciously dry expression of Cabernet. With a bit of pleasant grit showing in the texture of the wine, this is wonderfully honest, pitch perfect Cab that tastes a whole lot more expensive than its price.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
DC 92

2014 Do Ferreiro Albariño Rias Baixas
Review Date: 03-02-2016
Do Ferreiro is a benchmark Albariño. Every year, it delivers the goods, showing a degree of aromatic complexity, nervy minerality, and pure intensity of flavor that always makes it stand out from the rest. Delicious upon release, it is also one of the few Albariños to improve in bottle for up to a decade (maybe longer?) beyond the vintage year. There is bright fruit intermingling with the classic Do Ferreiro salty/smoky mineral bite. Enjoy this wine on its own or with all types of seafood. This would even be terrific with a hearty bean soup.
Price: $25.99 Add To Cart
VN 91 JS 90

2005 La Rioja Alta "904" Gran Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 02-17-2016
This is a great 904! I prefer it to the 2004, and for those who opt to drink these "young" at 10 years of age, I think it's even better than the landmark 2001 vintage. To encounter a wine this subtle, layered, harmonious and ageworthy for under $100 these days, let alone for under $50, is a rarity to be sure. I would take advantage and let only your budget and space constraints guide you. And if you enjoy great Rioja, you will want to own as many of these as you can get.

2009 Louise Brison Vintage Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-11-2016
While the 2008 Louise Brison (a few of you I think may have purchased a bottle or two!) is sadly sold out, I would not hesitate to recommend this 2009. It's a bright, yellow stonefruit-driven effort, with plenty of drive and a nearly unmatched drinkability and value for money for vintage Champagne. At the risk of re-stating the obvious I think it does bear repeating: this is VINTAGE Champagne (good quality vintage Champagne, at that) from an RM (grower/producer) for under $30! Stock up and drink the good stuff.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2012 Achaval-Ferrer Cabernet Sauvignon Mendoza
Review Date: 01-30-2016
Achával Ferrer's Cabernet Sauvignon is, like the rest of their range of wines, impeccably made, tasty, and very well balanced. Red currant and raspberry leaf flavors show just a hint of a developed savory side, while the particularly smooth mid-palate and round, polished tannins, a consistent trait in most of their wines, show themselves as well. Solid Cab for under $30, and an absolute steal for under $15!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
JS 90

2014 Ponzi "Tavola" Willamette Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 01-16-2016
I've always respected Ponzi for their clean, brightly fruited Pinot Noir bottlings. Tavola is typically a solid value, but with this 2014 vintage I feel like it's truly an overachieving effort, especially for under $20! Loads of crisp, red plum and mixed berry fruit flavors are easy to enjoy for those who like their fruit, but precise and just edgy enough for those who (like me) tend to value dry flavors above ebullience in their Oregon Pinot Noir. Great balance and Williamette typicity in this wine. Bright, juicy, smashable and well priced, I can't recommend this highly enough.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
W&S 92 WE 91

2012 Freemark Abbey Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 01-16-2016
Freemark Abbey is on a roll. The pitch-perfect Cabernet hits keep coming at this venerable northern Napa Valley winery. Inviting aromas are classic Cab: somewhere between kirsch and cassis, but with an underlying green, savory, brush quality. I love the juicy, yet ultimately balanced, pure fruit on the palate, which makes it a delicious young Cab for drinking now. That said, given the tannins, flavor intensity and overall structure, I would not hesitate to lay some of these down for mid-term (5-10 years) cellaring. Want to go longer? Go for it, I suspect these will age wonderfully.

2012 Bodegas Palacios Remondo "La Montesa" Crianza Rioja
Review Date: 12-29-2015
The 2012 vintage of this single vineyard Rioja has two immediately apparent stylistic stamps. First is the lush red fruit of Garnacha Riojana (Garnacho Riojano if we want to be old-timey and use the masculine spelling). Second is the bright, pure fruit expression and elegant tannins of a wine selected by Spanish legend Alvaro Palacios (of 100 point Priorat fame, yes, that Alvaro Palacios!) Drink this delicious fruit forward with a hearty winter stew of your choice. This will likely be one of our finest values in Grenache this winter - take advantage.

2013 Susana Balbo "Signature" Cabernet Sauvignon Mendoza
Review Date: 12-21-2015
A serious and stylish Cabernet Sauvignon, this is one of the best under $20 Cabs to hit our stock this year. The combination of darkest of dark fruits, medium roast coffee bean, elegant tannins and gravelly minerality bring the Medoc to mind, quite honestly. It's exciting to see a Cabernet that is truly looking towards the Left Bank as its model. If you're a fan of great Cabernet Sauvignon, and are looking for a deal on a bottle you can either drink now or cellar in the mid-term, this is a wine to purchase in some quantity.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JS 93 RP 92

2013 Finca Villacreces "Pruno" Ribera del Duero
Review Date: 12-15-2015
This is my favorite Pruno to date. We have sold tons of earlier vintages, but it is always gratifying when the latest truly is the greatest and we can confidently opine as much! Given the relatively cooler growing season, the 2013 Pruno has lovely aromatics, savory dark fruits with a spicy, almost leathery quality, as well as some balanced oak notes such as roast espresso and grilled bread. This is not as soft and fruit forward as the 2012; instead it has a bit more acidity, more tone. Structured and serious but very tasty to drink right now if you so choose. Lovely, expressive, and true to Ribera del Duero, this is one Pruno that you will want to drink!
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
RP 93 JS 92

2014 Framingham Pinot Noir Marlborough
Review Date: 12-03-2015
Though Framingham is well known for their phenomenal Rieslings, this Pinot Noir is juicy, fresh, purely red fruited, effortlessly balanced and delightful. That is not to say that it's simple, just that it's a complete, well made wine that also happens to be quite "smashable" (kiwi for something you want to drink quickly, in copious quantities!) Under $20, smashable Pinot this good is a no brainer.

2014 Pascual Toso Malbec Maipú
Review Date: 12-02-2015
Our perennial best selling Malbec is back! 2014 was a cooler vintage, though as usual the Pascual Toso shows lovely, juicy fruit and fine overall balance. Round, supple and easy to drink.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

2009 Remelluri Gran Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 12-02-2015
A fine young Remelluri, the 2009 shows deeply pitched dark fruits and macerated black cherries, dried coconut and dark chocolate flavors. While some may love it now for its power, its best days clearly lie some years ahead.
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart
JS 95 RP 93

2014 Fefiñanes Albariño Rias Baixas
Review Date: 12-02-2015
The benchmark Albariño for a reason, Fefiñanes relies upon 60 growers, the vast majority of whom are in and around Cambados, the classic coastal area for growing Albariño. Mouthwateringly succulent fruit combines with a saline quality in this always delicious Albariño.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2007 Cune "Imperial" Gran Reserva Rioja (1.5L)
Review Date: 12-02-2015
About the only thing better than a classic Rioja from a classic vintage would be a classic Rioja from a classic vintage out of magnum! Imperial is a legendarily capable ager, and a magnum would make a great addition to the cellar of any Spanish wine conocedor.
Price: $149.99 Add To Cart

2011 Bodegas Muga Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 12-02-2015
There are few better, more consistent introductions to affordable, everyday Rioja, than Bodegas Muga Reserva. Dark fruit flavors show lovely balance and typical Rioja supple tannins/ease of drinkability.
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart
JS 92 RP 91

2007 Lopez de Heredia "Viña Cubillo" Crianza Rioja
Review Date: 12-02-2015
Ah, Viña Cubillo in a cooler, Atlantic vintage is a wonderful thing! Sweet and savory aromas are CLASSIC Rioja, with scrumptious, spicy red fruit flavors showing development while they retain freshness as well. This is a Rioja we confidently recommend time and time again.
Price: $25.99 Add To Cart
JS 93 RP 91

Page: 1 2 3 next