Staff Favorites - Joe Manekin

Joe Manekin
Joe Manekin  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service
Joe arrived at our doors in February 2007 from far away, Washington, DC to be exact. Just so no one gets the wrong idea, though, he was merely earning a living in DC; Joe’s cultural identity, as well as his professional sports allegiances and, when he has a few drinks in him, his accent, are all Baltimore through and through. After working on the wholesale side of the business for nearly 4 years, Joe decided that he wanted to work wine retail with the best, so he emailed Cindy Westby at K&L and the rest is history. While Joe is well versed in a number of wine regions, he most enjoys the wines of Europe, though he is growing increasingly interested in the great wines of the Santa Cruz mountains. When he is not at K&L, Joe enjoys cooking, traveling, catching up on The Wire, doing occasional PR, booking and recording work for reggae band JohnStone (www.johnstonemusic.com), and writing for his wine, food and music blog, Old world Old School (www.oldworldoldschool.blogspot.com)


Reviews

  
Page: 1 2 3 4 next
2010 Marqués de Murrieta Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 08-30-2015
Marques de Murrieta was one of the two oldest, historical bodegas to put Rioja on the map in the mid-19th century (the other one was Marqués de Riscal). It is also an estate wine with fruit coming from various parcels on their property just outside of Logroño. A blend of Tempranillo, Garnacha, Mazuelo and Graciano, this is always one of the very good Reserva Riojas on the market.

2010 Hopes Grove "Silver Lining" Syrah Hawke's Bay
Review Date: 08-27-2015
"Hey Manekin, check this out," our resident Kiwi, Australian, South African and English wine buyer called out to me one Saturday, before the store turned into its usual loud, buzzing, frenetic weekend environment. Woodhouse pulled up a site near a limestone quarry on Google Maps and proclaimed, "I'm going to buy this vineyard one day." Turns out that this is very close to where Cypress Terraces planted their Syrah eight years ago. This is extremely high toned, blue and purple fruited Syrah, with terrific fruit purity, less tannic grip than the Syrah grown nearby on gravels, and without much of Syrah's peppery, smoky, animal side. Do not misconstrue that as a lack of complexity, however, since this is so detailed, fresh, and absolutely leaping from the glass. This is a Syrah you need to try.

2010 Bodegas Muga "Selección Especial" Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 08-22-2015
I did not think that Muga could top their 2009 Reserva Seleccion Especial, and I'm not sure that they have. However, I do know that they made a wine at least as good, that in time may well turn out to be its equal or even better. In contrast to the 2009, this wine has a bouquet of black cherries, crushed cherry pits - you know that beautiful, intense, sweet-ish almond aroma, and some fine oak, with savory counterpoints of soy glaze and dried, spiced beef. On the palate the blackberry and darker fruit flavors are concentrated yet pure, at the moment rather wound up due to the acidity and tannins. The same as your better 2010 Bordeaux and Brunellos, this will demand some patience, but what a wine will result from this ageing! For anyone who has some 2009, I strongly suggesting continuing the vertical. Anyone with room in their cellar for more red wine should load up on this one; you will be amply rewarded in time.

2013 Enderle & Moll "Liaison" Pinot Noir Baden
Review Date: 08-14-2015
While I am far from well versed on the topic, I must admit: I'm generally not a Spatburgunder guy. That said, something about this wine, with its pretty, delicate pale color, fresh and pungent yet delicate and discreet aromas and flavors...this wine has allure for fans of fragrance and finesse!
Price: $32.99 Add To Waiting List

2014 Pichard-Jourdan Chinon Rosé
Review Date: 08-12-2015
Very good Chinon rosé, this is bright and refreshing, yet snappy, slightly green and savory as well. Cab Franc, the pink version!
Price: $16.99 Add To Waiting List

2014 Heger Pinot Noir Rosé Baden
Review Date: 08-12-2015
This German rosé stood out to me recently, and amongst some tough competition from the Loire Valley! Sticky red fruited aromas are intense and immediately make you take notice. Great flavors and palate presence on this wine. Serious, but fun as well.
Price: $16.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Kingston Family Vineyards/K&L Pinot Noir Casablanca Valley
Review Date: 08-05-2015
Bright, juicy, crisply red fruited Pinot Noir such as this, without excessive oak or fruit sweetness to weigh it down, is a rarity at this price, but our friends at Kingston Family Vineyards managed to make it happen for us! The history of this wine is that I visited the winery outside Casablanca, stumbled across a lone, small stainless steel tank, which we were told contained press wine for the folks who work at Kingston. After tasting, I knew that we would have to offer this wine for sale. It's so expressive of Pinot Noir, fun and easy to drink, that I can see why the wine was set aside for employees only! Not to worry, though, I was told that there is a small back-up supply of wine for the workers there..
Price: $17.99 Add To Waiting List

Wine Club

$14.99

2009 Lambuena Reserva Ribera del Duero
Review Date: 08-05-2015
A great year for Ribera del Duero, 2009 vintage reds from this region should show rich, generous fruit and balanced acidity, as this Lambuena does. Only the best wines, though, also manage to convey their chalky soil origins and a sense of elegance in this warm, dry vintage. And this is where Lambuena succeeds, managing to be bold and structured, but confident enough to not over do it. This is a great wine for anyone who prefers full bodied reds on the young side, though it's best years are clearly still ahead.
Price: $29.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Campo Viejo Tempranillo Rioja
Review Date: 08-05-2015
With its plush darker cherry, plum and berry fruits, Campo Viejo retains a similar character in most vintage - it is remarkably consistent. Given this winery's size and reach, the consistency is almost as impressive as the Rioja typicity. For a winery this large, to deliver consistent quality, value and regional typicity is no mean feat. Very solid under $12 Rioja.
Price: $11.99 Add To Waiting List

Can Mayol Loxarel "999" Brut Nature Rosat Penedes
Review Date: 08-05-2015
Little by little, more folks are discovering this gem of a a producer of sparkling Penedes wine (they refuse to label it Cava, since cava can technically come from many places outside of the Penedes region where they are based). This is our go to household pink bubbly. It is unapologetically dry, yet so flavorful, explosive and authoritative on the palate, that it is hard to believe we are dealing with under $15 bubbles here. Tangy red fruits, perhaps a suggestion of hibiscus, combine with a nice bead and pleasing texture to make this such a great sparkling wine for the money. As this is a DI, I have been to the property, seen the care with which these vines are grown and the wine is made, and can only say that all of the Loxarel wines, including this one, have my highest recommendation.
Price: $12.99 Add To Waiting List
W&S 91

2012 Bodegas Castaño "Solanera Viñas Viejas" Yecla
Review Date: 08-05-2015
We have sold boatloads (literally) of this wine, and yet folks still can't get enough of it. I can see why as it's a lot of wine for the money. My review from when we first brougt this in: "I'm getting the sense that, the more I taste of 2012 vintage wines from the Mediterranean portion of Spain, the more there is to like: all the usual intensity in flavors, but with the added bonus of extra freshness and structure. Solanera, for example, is usually a well made wine, with generous dark fruit and a flavor profile that suggests a good value red. In 2012 it is that plus more transparent minerality, a chalky and saline character mark this wine as it would a Bandol, or a Faugeres. While you won't confuse this wine for a Pradeaux, Tempier, or Barral you will pay less than one-third the price, with the added bonus of being able to enjoy it young! Recommended."
Price: $13.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 94

2013 Bodegas Casa Juan Señor de Lesmos "Cuarteto" Rioja
Review Date: 08-05-2015
Cuarteto is a classic, Alavesa style "maceración carbonica" wine where the whole clusters of grapes are thrown into vats and the CO2 enables an intracellular fermentation. The difference between this wine and its peers (as well as many Beaujolais) is that the fermentation is entirely achieved with native yeasts and the aging occurs in concrete vats. As a result this wine has a fresh and subtly jammy nose, with hints of dried herbs, and a peppery, spicy, cherry fruited palate, with surprising structure. I have yet to taste an unoaked Rioja that even approaches the Cuarteto in quality; the wine is a joy to drink and represents real value.
Price: $9.99 Add To Waiting List

2014 Sharp Zombie Rioja
Review Date: 08-05-2015
Yes, I know, zombies are everywhere and I don't blame yoiu if you think that perhaps this is just a cutesy label taking advantage of a particularly strong zombie trend? That said, this zombie wine is actually very tasty! Composed of primarily Tempranillo grapes and made at Covila's facility, this is dark cherry fruited Tempranillo that is unoaked and delicious. The particularly cool conditions of the 2014 growing season produced fresh, crunchy, joven style Rioja this year. Enjoy this with a slight chill to highlight the freshness of the fruit.
Price: $8.99 Add To Waiting List

2010 Viña Real Crianza Rioja
Review Date: 08-04-2015
Viña Real Crianza for under $12? Si, porfa! This bright, red fruited crianza is a good example of vintage (a very good, fresh one in 2010), house style (fruit forward yet never excessively so) and region (a lot of the fruit still comes from Rioja Alavesa). If you're looking for an inexpensive, classically inspired Rioja to buy in quantity, Viña Real is your wine.
Price: $12.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 91

2001 La Rioja Alta "890" Gran Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 07-28-2015
This is one of the great traditional wines of Rioja. It's typically spicy, full of pipe tobacco and leathery notes, and seamlessly elegant as well. In the great 2001 vintage, it's safe to say that this is, as the old timers say, truly "un gran vino." To commemorate a special occasion (for yourself or others) this is still one of Spain's very best bottles.
Price: $129.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 95 WS 93

2013 Bodegas Puelles Blanco Rioja
Review Date: 07-28-2015
My favorite white wine value in the store, Chus Puelles' white wine is based primarily on Viura grapes, which give the wine a bright, citric and green apple character, as well as a clean, crisp chalky minerality. Most of the fruit in this wine is grown in the village of Abalos, one of the prime Rioja Alta villages. At under $10 it's tough to find a dry white that consistently hits the spot like this one.
Price: $9.99 Add To Waiting List

2011 Bodegas Zugober "Belezos" Rioja
Review Date: 07-24-2015
Produced by Bodegas Zugober, from vineyards in the Rioja Alavesa village of Lapuebla, this 100% Tempranillo-based Rioja is delicious, a great tasting, crisp, and generously fruited wine. Rich red and dark fruits display themselves on the palate, which has some textural heft that is held in check by fresh acidity. This is a red that would be great for parties, particularly amongst people who are more accustomed to California wines.
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Joan d'Anguera "Altaroses" Montsant
Review Date: 07-24-2015
Joan and Joseph d'Anguera have been making some serious changes at their family owned winery over the past decade or so. Starting with a focus on organic farming (they are now Biodynamic, Demeter certified), the brothers soon reaped the rewards of healthier vineyards and fruit, but felt that they were still looking for brighter, lighter, fresher wines. To achieve this they began picking a bit earlier and including some whole clusters in the fermentation, going for what Joseph calls more an "infusion" rather than extraction, of color and flavor. The result is in this 2013 vintage Garnacha, a beautiful wine with aromas of almonds, peaches, red fruits and rose hips, and such a pure, crisp and fresh palate profile. This is wonderful, honest, incredibly drinkable red from Montsant.
Price: $18.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Bodegas Chacra Pinot Noir "Cincuenta y Cinco" Rio Negro
Review Date: 07-24-2015
Named for the year in which this Patagonia vineyard was planted, 1955, this is a delicate, nuanced, exciting Pinot Noir. Juicy mixed berry fruits show freshness over a surprisingly light frame, with discreet oak notes adding subtle spice. Unlike most Pinot Noirs made in Chile and Argentina, whole clusters are carefully utilized to add textural nuance and complexity. Allowed some breathing time, this opens up to show even more poise and energy than it does upon first sip. This is undoubtedly one of the top three Pinot Noirs I have yet to taste from Argentina or Chile--a very tasty and convincing rendition of Pinot Noir.

2007 Bodegas Lan "Viña Lanciano" Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 07-24-2015
This single vineyard wine, produced by Bodegas Lan in the Rioja Alavesa village of Lanciego, is a phenomenal value. Composed of 80% Tempranillo and 20% Mazuelo, it shows the rich, spicy red fruit characteristics of Rioja as you start heading southeast from Rioja Alta towards the city of Logroño. Also, given the cool, Atlantic climate influenced 2007 vintage, this wine shows loads of freshness and poise. It's great to drink now and should continue to age beautifully for a while.
Price: $27.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Montsecano "Refugio" Pinot Noir Casablanca Valley
Review Date: 07-21-2015
If you found your way to this product description, let's say accidentally and you're not one of the people already hip to this project, here is some quick info: Andre Ostertag helps to make the wine. Vineyards are composed of granite. Professional photographer/proprietor Julio Donoso is putting some truly interesting cooler climate Pinot Noir out there and we strongly recommend you try it. It's unlike any other Pinot Noir I've tasted this year, from anywhere.
Price: $29.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 93

2008 Miguel Merino "Vitola" Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 07-11-2015
Vitola was well received last year, so much so that we decided to get serious this time around and buy some more. That said, this rich, crowd pleasing Rioja hits so many sweet spots and palate types that I don't see it lasting too long this year either! Spicy cherry confit and mixed berry aromas are 100% classic Rioja Alta chez Miguel Merino. On the palate the wine is similarly dark fruited, densely textured, and yet so fresh and mineral towards the finish, with some red fruits revealing themselves, as well as dried orange peel. This will likely work for you whether you are a Rioja aficionado, Bordeaux fan or California Cab drinker. Great stuff, and so versatile!
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List

2014 Ritual Pinot Noir Casablanca Valley
Review Date: 07-11-2015
Another very well made, crowd pleasing effort from Veramonte here with their 2014 Ritual Pinot Noir. Fruit forward on the nose, the palate shows straight ahead Bing cherry and red plum flavors, with very soft tannins and no discernible edges. For fans of some of the fruitier, fuller bodied stuff a la Belle Glos and other Santa Lucia Highlands wines, this bottle should be in your cart, and this wine in your glass!
Price: $17.99 Add To Waiting List
JS 93

2013 Lambuena Tinto Ribera del Duero
Review Date: 07-10-2015
2013 was a cooler vintage in Ribera del Duero, and it seems to really have played to Lambuena's favor, if this young, very briefly oaked (4 months) red is any indication. Classic brooding, dark fruit aromas lead to a seriously structured, black fruited wine, with an evident gravelly sense of minerality, hints of licorice and solid tannin structure. Compared to last year, it's more serious, with less ripeness and wood spice, more Tempranillo grit and goodness. Hard to believe that there is so much material here for an "introductory" Ribera del Duero wine!
Price: $12.99 Add To Waiting List
W&S 90

2014 Pedro Martinez Alesanco Rosado Rioja
Review Date: 07-10-2015
Mouthwateringly delicious rosé, Martinez Alesanco is an acknowledged master of the Riojan "clarete," style, whereby white wine is added to direct press Garnacha. Bright strawberry aromas lead to a crisp, red fruited palate, one with great attack, and flavors of strawberries, stone fruits and blood oranges. For under $10 this is one of my favorite rosés in the store.
Price: $9.99 Add To Waiting List

2014 Pedro Martinez Alesanco Blanco Rioja
Review Date: 07-10-2015
This is a delicious white Rioja, one that we're very excited to have begun importing last year. 100% Viura grapes, grown in iron rich clay in a particularly cool climate, leads to a white wine full of rich yellow fruit, clean minerality and poise. It's richer than last year, with lots of stuffing but still not an ounce of fat! An excellent unoaked white to have in your stable of fresh white wines.
Price: $9.99 Add To Waiting List

2014 Zudugarai "Amats" Rosé Getariako Txakolina
Review Date: 07-10-2015
We're stoked to have another bottling of rosé from our direct import Txakoli producer, Zudugarai! Produced from 100% Hondarribi Beltza grapes, in the cool, damp climes around Getaria, in Spanish Basque country, this is all bright red fruits, very dry, with a lovely faint herbal quality in the background. Delicious with oysters, grilled or cured fish (especially anchovies), and charcuterie. A delicious and very serious rosé for the money!
Price: $12.99 Add To Waiting List

2014 Zudugarai "Amats" Getariako Txakolina
Review Date: 07-10-2015
Yes, new vintage of Amats Txakoli! 2014 was a second consecutive cool and damp vintage (even by Basque coastal standards!) That said, this is delicious as always, so bright and energetic, a shot of fresh ripe citrus fruits with just a hint of sea salt. So good - especially with oysters!
Price: $12.99 Add To Waiting List

2014 Bodegas Colomé Torrontes Valle Calchaquí Salta
Review Date: 07-09-2015
This is such a textbook representation of Torrontes: kaffir lime rose water and jasmine on the nose lead to a delicious, incredibly dry palate, full of citrus and an appealingly mineral, salty kick. Best Torrontes ever produced at Colomé means this is one of the best Torrontes' produced anywhere. Very good stuff!
Price: $11.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Tongue In Groove "The Mound Vineyard" Riesling Waipara Valley
Review Date: 07-09-2015
Very interesting Riesling. While the nose seems to suggest something on the dry, maybe even austere side, the palate tells a different story. It's all stone fruit and peach pits, with a richness and lees driven quality that reminds me of some Rheingau Rieslings. Tongue in Groove continues to make some of the best Rieslings in this unique, expressive, German influenced style.

2014 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Riesling "M" Marlborough
Review Date: 07-09-2015
Very juicy and playful, with a mouthwatering blend of acidity, fruit, and subtle sweetness, this takes the cake for most balance and gulpable 2014 NZ Riesling. So tasty!
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List
RC 95 BC 92

2013 Te Mata "Awatea" Bordeaux Blend Hawkes Bay
Review Date: 07-09-2015
While Te Mata's Coleraine perhaps gets more attention (and no doubt about it, Coleraine is great wine) it's the Awatea BDX blend that impressed me most yesterday. Think very good quality Santa Cruz Mountain Cab blend, with all the rich blue fruit, then combine some gravelly gravitas a la Pauillac, and that is what Te Mata is bringing to the table. Great value for drinking young or ageing. In fact, I can't recall tasting a more serious, complete, young Cab Blend for under $30 in quite some time.

2014 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Chardonnay Marlborough
Review Date: 07-09-2015
Holy smokes, is this seriously good Chardonnay. Our buyer Ryan Woodhouse was saying that even winemaker Jason Flowerday could not contain his glee after tasting this with him recently. I can see why. A nose of minerals, bright yellow fleshed fruits and some very subtle, slightly chewy/toasty wood (we're talking 600l puncheons, I'm a bit more oak sensitive then most) leads to an incredibly poised, balanced mouthful of Chardonnay. Showing Great intensity and drive, as well as a nutty quality, I'm thinking Meursault as a comparison. Though, upon further consideration, to compare such a great, singular Chardonnay to a whole village with a wide variance in quality, is something of a disservice to Jason and Anna at TWR! I would feel very confident about buying this to drink now and to cellar for several years or more.
Price: $24.99 Add To Waiting List

2014 Alkoomi Estate "Old Vine - Black Label" Riesling Frankland River Western Australia
Review Date: 07-09-2015
A compact, slightly reticent, yet characteristic, dry Riesling nose of bright citric fruits and petrol leads to a very focused, linear palate, not lacking in acidity or dry extract. It's bone dry and so impressive for the price. Also, at its current youthful state it is bound to improve immensely, even if you drink a few bottles now and revisit this wine just several months from now. A great new find from the intrepid Ryan Woodwhouse....
Price: $16.99 Add To Waiting List
JH 97

2013 Vincent Paris "Granit 30" Cornas
Review Date: 07-07-2015
Vincent Paris Granit 30 Cornas for under $30?? Buy, buy buy! In all seriousness, this is one of the top tier producers in Cornas, someone with family ties to the great names (and vineyards) of the past, but with the intellect and interest in making great Syrah for the modern era as well. Which is not to say these wines are oaky or simple (far from it, in fact) but that the wines are great examples of a grape grown in its ideal locale. For my money there is no better Syrah in the store.

2012 Villa Symposia "Equilibre" Languedoc Rouge
Review Date: 07-07-2015
This Syrah heavy blend is a big, brawny, savory, beast of a wine. Dark fruited and meaty, it somehow maintains its balance with all the heft. Perhaps it's because the weight does not come in the form of heavy tannins, glycerine or extraction. In other words, this Languedoc red is full- bodied, but honest as well. A lot of wine for the money.
Price: $15.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 90 - 92

2013 Clos de l'Anhel "Lolo de l'Anhel" Corbieres
Review Date: 07-07-2015
Juicy raspberry and black raspberry fruit flavors are sturdy yet fresh, with lovely minerality and length as well. What an honest, interesting, expressive Corbieres, the likes of which are not too easy to find these days. Lolo! Check it out.
Price: $12.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Ermitage "Victor" Costieres de Nimes Rouge
Review Date: 07-07-2015
This is tasty, open-knitted red, with dark cherry and plum flavors, though it also has a serious side. The wine's tannic structure, weight and overall balance make it very food friendly and not merely a simple quaffer for the masses. Sneaky complexity, here!
Price: $9.99 Add To Waiting List

2014 Mas de Cadenet Côtes de Provence Sainte Victoire Rosé
Review Date: 07-07-2015
If you're looking for Provençal rosé style, but with the extra minerality and presence of fancier rosé, this will not disappoint! Red fruits, minerals and very good acidity keep this both serious and refreshing.
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 91

2013 Recuerdo Torrontes La Rioja
Review Date: 07-07-2015
Fun white wine! This is from a popular growing region in Argentina called La Rioja, north of Mendoza. It is well known for Torrontes, producing a style that is a touch less floral and exotic, slightly racier in character, than the Torrontes from Salta and the Cafayate Valley. Enjoy this crisp white solo as an aperitive; its crisp fruit should be sure to refresh after a hot day! For food pairings, try with ceviche or tuna poke.
Price: $7.99 Add To Waiting List
JS 90 RP 89

1971 Bodegas Muga Crianza
Review Date: 07-04-2015
Even though it's considered a good vintage, 1971 is not an easy Rioja vintage to source. We lucked out and received this "Crianza," which by today's Rioja consejo regulated standards would likely be a Reserva or even Gran Reserva, from Bodegas Muga. The wine shows great development, with aromatic notes of older spices, celery leaf, moist tobacco, hints of white asparagus and cocoa powder. Great bass tones on this nose! Tangy fruits on the palate still show surprising structure, particularly as it opens up and gains volume. Texturally, the wine is pure silk at this point. A lovely example of a fully mature Rioja, from a well regarded bodega, for under $100.
Price: $99.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 Chaman Malbec Reserva Mendoza
Review Date: 07-03-2015
This is a beautiful Malbec from a great vintage! Luis Reginato is one of the increasing number of very talented, engaged winemakers in Argentina, someone who understands wine from both the viticultural and oenological standpoint. Chaman has beautiful dark cherry and plum fruit flavors, with solid structure from both tannins and acidity. Excellent value!
Price: $11.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 91

2014 Touças Vinho Verde
Review Date: 06-28-2015
Yet another new Vinho Verde (yes, we cannot get enough of this stuff in the summertime!), the Touças is a very tasty, classic, dry style of Vinho Verde. It's crisp and tangy, with the requisite fizz we have come to expect from Viho Verde, but a subtle creaminess on the mid-palate that suggests this wine was not rushed to be bottled the minute after it finished fermenting. This tasty Vinho Verde is great on its own, but is also a terrific brunch white, a sitting on the patio munching on chips or corn nuts white, or a solid choice for grilled, cured, or raw seafood.
Price: $12.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Zorzal "Terroir Unico" Pinot Noir Uco Valley
Review Date: 06-24-2015
What a delicious Pinot Noir, and a real surprise given that it's Pinot Noir from Argentina! Read this carefully: this is not a rich, juicy, oaky style. However, if you're a Joseph Swann fan, if you enjoy Claiborne & Churchill, Hirsch...Zorzal is going for a similarly bright, crisp, style. Red and mixed berry fruit has a tangy, dried fruit quality in there, but ultimately lots of freshness and lovely floral lift as well Balance and drinkability are the words, here. Very impressive Pinot Noir!
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 91

1982 Bodegas Olarra "Cerro Añón" Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 06-24-2015
Quite simply, this is the most satisfying bottle of fully mature wine I have enjoyed this year (I should note for the record, that it has been a particularly good year for enjoying older wines, so this wine had quite a bit of competition!) Aromas of darker berry fruits and a slightly wild, gamey side distinguish this bottling from my past experience with Bodegas Olarra’s Cerro Añon. The darker berried fruit continues to the palate, which shows quite a bit of intensity and depth, lifted by brightly balanced acidity and the chalky minerality I expect in great, aged Rioja. My initial impressions were of a very good Nuits St George 1er, maybe with a suggestion of Hermitage, something familiar yet transposed to a sunnier, more Spanish place… For fans of perfectly aged, old school reds, I cannot recommend this wine highly enough.
Price: $99.99 Add To Waiting List

1982 Bodegas Olarra Añares Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 06-24-2015
This is spectacular, fully mature Rioja. Produced from a very famous year in 1982 (same of course as in Bordeaux), it is definitely not a particularly well known name to many people, except the few Rioja insiders who have been in the business for over three decades and know who has made wine, when, and where. In this case none other than the legendary Ezequiel "El Brujo" García made the wine. This is as elegant as they come, with dark cherry fruit offset by umami rich sweet soy sauce, spices, pipe tobacco. Great intensity, presence and structure, yet with the elegance you'd expect north of 30 years old. A great wine.
Price: $99.99 Add To Waiting List

2014 Quinta da Aveleda Loureiro Alvarinho Vinho Verde Regional Minho
Review Date: 06-23-2015
One of the larger producers in Portugal, and certainly in the Vinho Verde region, Quinta da Aveleda is also among the most consistent. This slightly fizzy white shows bright, lively flavors of ripe citrus and hints of stone fruit. It is fruity, yet dry, incredibly easy to drink, and basically spring/summertime in a bottle. If you are one of the few people not yet familiar with this value white, I suggest you take home a bottle, crack it open, enjoy in good company and perhaps observe how quickly the wine disappears!
Price: $8.99 Add To Waiting List

2005 Heras Cordon Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 06-23-2015
When our supplier mentioned that they recently received the winery's remaining stock, I decided to bring this one-time customer favorite back in. It's from a spectacular Rioja vintage in 2005, and at 10 years of age is truly hitting its stride. Showing a combination of sweetly earthy, savory flavor development with the slightly richer fruit of a modern Rioja, this wine should please fans of both styles.
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 92

2014 Mayu Pedro Ximenez Elqui Valley
Review Date: 06-18-2015
Produced from vineyards at 6,000 ft above sea level, just across the Andes from Argentina's famously high Salta region, this dry, racy PX is fresh and lively, with tangy citric and green fruit flavors, think slightly underripe kiwi. Racy and refreshing, this is something new for summer sipping, not to mention your year-round crispy white aperitive needs.
Price: $12.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Luna Beberide Mencía Bierzo
Review Date: 06-16-2015
This wine is so delicious, so full of bright, expressive, mineral driven, and yet intensely fruited, spicy, Mencía fruit, that if it happened to say "Syrah" on the label and come from California, I know this would have multiple high scores and sell for nearly twice the price. Fortunately for the value seekers out there, a lesser known grape variety means a great wine for a very friendly price. Load up!
Price: $13.99 Add To Waiting List
W&S 91 AG 90

Page: 1 2 3 4 next