Staff Favorites - Joe Manekin

Joe Manekin
Joe Manekin  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service
Joe arrived at our doors in February 2007 from far away, Washington, DC to be exact. Just so no one gets the wrong idea, though, he was merely earning a living in DC; Joe’s cultural identity, as well as his professional sports allegiances and, when he has a few drinks in him, his accent, are all Baltimore through and through. After working on the wholesale side of the business for nearly 4 years, Joe decided that he wanted to work wine retail with the best, so he emailed Cindy Westby at K&L and the rest is history. While Joe is well versed in a number of wine regions, he most enjoys the wines of Europe, though he is growing increasingly interested in the great wines of the Santa Cruz mountains. When he is not at K&L, Joe enjoys cooking, traveling, catching up on The Wire, doing occasional PR, booking and recording work for reggae band JohnStone (www.johnstonemusic.com), and writing for his wine, food and music blog, Old world Old School (www.oldworldoldschool.blogspot.com)


Reviews

  
Page: 1 2 3 next
2014 Errazuriz Chardonnay Aconcagua Costa
Review Date: 11-30-2016
We have had some terrific finds of late for serious value Chardonnay in Chile's Aconcagua Costa DO. Here, in addition to the coastal influence, you have interesting and complex soil types, loaded with schist, which appear to give the wines a certain drive and freshness. This 2014 from Errazuriz is no exception. A nose of Yellow Delicious apples gives way to a palate full of crunchy, appley, lemony fruit, with an overall linear and lean quality that almost seem to suggest Burgundy more so than New World. In fact, I tasted this an hour ago next to Paul Pernot Bourgogne (yes, Paul Pernot of Puligny-Montrachet fame) and it more than held its own. If you love Chardonnay, this ought to be in your glass.

2012 Bodegas Castaño "Hécula" Monastrell Yecla
Review Date: 11-30-2016
This perennial best buy is on its "A" game in 2012, a vintage that was especially successful in southeastern Spain for its climatically even nature, not quite as hot as usual. After nearly a year in bottle, I'm coming back to this Monastrell and still finding licorice and black pepper aromas, with fruits that are more red than dark, in particular think cranberry or pomegranate. On the palate the slightly toasty elements are integrating nicely, and there is still a clear underpinning of calcareous driven minerality. Still a terrific value at under $10. and one to buy in quantity.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart
RP 91

2013 Bodegas Colomé "Estate" Malbec Valle Calchaquí Salta
Review Date: 11-30-2016
This is another very strong showing from the kings of Salta Malbec at Colomé. Bolstered by a small amount of tannat blended in, Colomé's 2013 is loaded with dark fruited, mineral and tannin driven structure. There is a lot of material in this wine. Normally a very good deal at $25, at under $20 this is a must have for any fan of Malbec, and for that matter anyone who appreciates full-bodied, richer Cabernet made from mountain fruit.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JS 93 RP 90

2013 Quinta Vale do Meao "Meandro" Douro
Review Date: 11-30-2016
This is hands down the most supple, lively, engaging bottle of Douro wine I have enjoyed in quite a long time. While it's older brother bottling has famously topped Wine Spectator's Top 100 in years past, this juicier, less oaky bottling (primarily 2nd and 3rd use barrels) is really where it's at, particularly given it's sub $20 price tag. High toned, with blue and red fruits intermingling with candied violets and fresh granite driven minerality (thanks to the Quinta's situation further up river, where fresher table wines are often produced). So much flavor nuance and such an elegant wine for under $20 - grab some bottles and you will not be disappointed!

2009 Bodegas Muga "Prado Enea" Gran Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 11-30-2016
Now I love Prado Enea in most any vintage (of course they do not make it every year, only in the best years), but even given that context, the 2009 is truly fantastic. A wonderful year in Rioja Alta, you can truly appreciate the intensity, fruit purity, precision and outright deliciousness in this wine. Spicy/sweet aromas of blue fruits and wild mixed berry compote, a touch of cassis as well, lead to a palate of perfectly ripe fruit that also gains in freshness and minerality as it sits in the glass and you take another sip. Great wines as balanced as Prado Enea, particularly in perfectly ripe years, are really tempting and enjoyable to drink young, but certainly will repay mid to long term cellaring, so ideally you can enjoy a bottle or two now and stash away many more. Muga's Prado Enea is one of the most consistent, cellar worthy values remaining amongst the word's great wines.

Marietta "Old Vine Red-Lot #64" California Red Blend
Review Date: 11-29-2016
Lot 64 picks up with where the 63 left off, providing more delicious wild berry fruit, but not at the expense of a balanced palate, with surprising structure, complexity and a nicely dry finish. As carefully as we select all of our wines, it is often the sub $12 bottles we scrutinize the most. And in a line-up of our favorite value reds, I'd be surprised if the Marietta Old Vine were not picked as a favorite amongst many of us here; this wine is that good and a fantastic value.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

2013 Love & Squalor Willamette Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 11-29-2016
My kind of Pinot Noir, Love & Squalor opens on the nose with delicately floral, fragrant red fruits. The palate has such a lovely light touch, with lifted aromatics and a complete lack of imposed fruitiness, overt oak flavors or heavy tannins. Pinot Noir for Pinot Noir drinkers! Provided that you like 'em light and pretty, I'm quite confident you will love this beautiful Williamette Valley Pinot Noir.
Price: $25.99 Add To Cart
WE 93

2014 Kaiken "Ultra" Cabernet Sauvignon Sauvignon Mendoza
Review Date: 11-16-2016
Serious! Dark fruits and discreet roasted coffee bean aromas are subtle and balanced. Flavors of currants combine with some lightly savory, pungent Cabernet notes in the background, and feature a combination of mid-palate weight/intensity and a mineral driven freshness as well. Moderate tannins on the finish frame the wine quite nicely. This would be serious, structured Cabernet at under $20, but for under $15 it's definitely one of the Cab bargains of the year for me.

Cossart Gordon 5 Year Old Bual Madeira
Review Date: 11-09-2016
Cossart Gordon, founded in 1759, is a Bual specialist, only bottling Madeiras from this noble grape variety known for producing slightly spicy and medium sweet styles of Madeira. This example shows lovely candied fruits and a rich buttery toffee quality, with refreshing acidity and even some saline notes as well. Great value.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart

2013 Honorío Rubio "Macerado" Blanco Rioja
Review Date: 11-09-2016
Orange wine from Rioja? We quickly went from none to now two, and this one is macerated on its skins for a full year! Like Honorio's other white wines, this is clearly not for everyone but I suspect it will have some seriously loyal fans who quickly gobble up the few bottles we bring in. for such a careful, small scaled production of a style of wine which usually goes for at least $50 a bottle, this is a great deal for the adventurous wine drinker.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
RP 91

2012 Honorío Rubio "Lías Finas" Blanco Rioja
Review Date: 11-09-2016
I love this traditional tasting, tasty white Rioja from Honorio Rubio. Given the incredible terroir in his old vine yards, as well as the wine's careful elaboration, you are not going to find a more soulful, traditional white Rioja than this. High toned citrus fruits combine with a creamy, lees driven roundness and gentle oak notes on this classic, stylish white.
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart

Honorío Rubio "Añadas" Blanco Rioja
Review Date: 11-09-2016
This is the big boy, the solera aged Viura which in style and spirit is amongst the most reminiscent of LdH Tondonia Blanco of any white Riojas I have ever tasted. This wine is fantastic, cutting a broad swath across the palate with intense yellow skinned fruit flavors, fresh acidity, and an old time, traditional flavor profile. Like Honorio's other white wines, this is clearly not for everyone but I suspect it will have some seriously loyal fans who quickly gobble up the few bottles we bring in.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
RP 93

2014 Laventura Malvasia Rioja
Review Date: 11-09-2016
As juicy, clean and delicious an "orange" wine (so called for its extended maceration of the skins) as I've tasted in a while, Laventura's Malvasia manages to combined the fresh stone fruit of Malvasia with lovely, discreet floral aromatics in this original Rioja white. Delicious and versatile at table, this is absolutely worth a try.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2014 Laventura Rioja
Review Date: 11-09-2016
A blend of Tempranillo with 5% Mazuelo and Garnacha, this is a red Rioja unlike any other I have tried. Grippy cherry fruit flavors are precise, taut, and linear. Winemaker Bryan MacDonald likes to play with stem inclusion, which shows on the structure of this wine. There is not an ounce of fat here, no spicy oak notes (the winemaker prefers thicker stave, larger wooden barrels which are more subtle) and low alcohol (under 13% ABV). A refreshing, original Rioja that is a terrific value and should cellar well in the mid-term. A must try both for Rioja collectors and fans of old world wines.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
RP 90

2013 Laventura Viura Rioja
Review Date: 11-09-2016
Laventura, our newest Spanish direct import, makes some incredible wines. This Viura is my favorite. It has lovely rich fruit on the mid-palate, loads of texture, and a high beam like intensity acid structure to drive the wine and create some real ageing potential. For those who love white Burgundy, I refer to this wine as "Roulot Riojano." It's that good.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
RP 92

2012 Miguel Merino "Viñas Jovenes" Crianza Rioja
Review Date: 11-09-2016
I'm very excited to have Viñas Jovenes back in stock! Miguel does not make much of this Crianza, and it always sells out quickly, particularly in Logroño where it seemed as though all of my favorite, higher end tapas spots were pouring it by the glass! Dark fruits combine with structured, ripe tannins, and lovely minerality to create this under $15 value. For those who appreciate a bit more weight and richness in their Riojas, I don't think you will find better value than this.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2009 Miguel Merino "Vitola" Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 11-09-2016
This is a great, young Vitola! 2009 was a fantastic vintage in Rioja Alta, and it shows with this wine's rich fruits, full volume in the mouth, and elegant balance of density and freshness. For fans of Napa reds, there is a lot to like here and this would make for a great intro to Rioja. That said, Given the quality of Miguel's vineyards and winemaking, Rioja fans should also jump on this wine. Hint: it will age very well....
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2012 Au Bon Climat "Historic Vineyards Collection-Bien Nacido Vineyard" Santa Maria Valley Chardonnay
Review Date: 11-09-2016
Plain and simple, this is California Chardonnay done right! For fans of oak, you do have some satisfyingly toasty, buttered popcorn qualities combining with the fruit on the nose. On the palate, though, is where the wine really delivers, with rich flavors of lemon curd and delicious, tangy apricot, framed perfectly by the oak. Along with Qupe, when an Au Bon Climat Chardonnay is on its 'A' game it is quite a serious white wine, with powerful flavors and mouth watering acidity. Delicious and highly recommended.

1994 York Creek Spring Mountain District Meritage
Review Date: 11-09-2016
This wine is great, undoubtedly WOTY (wine of the year) for fans of classic, nicely mature Cabernet based blends. Savory black fruits, a subtle hint of the mintiness present in York Creek's wines, and most impressively, incredible initial attack and volume on the palate for a 20 year old Cab blend. For $30 red wine to serve with pride for guests, or to enjoy with friends and family, I don't think anyone here could suggest a better bottle than this one.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
ST 90

2015 Amalaya Torrontes Riesling Salta
Review Date: 11-04-2016
This is a delicious blend of two highly complementary aromatic grape varieties. The Torrontes gives you all the exotic, floral aromatics as well as mid-palate weight, while the Riesling adds loads of freshness and zip. Served chilled, this would be an ideal white to have on hand while cooking, and should tackle ceviche, Thai takeout, or miso-glazed salmon equally well. Refreshing stuff!
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart
DC 95

2013 Clos de los Siete Red Blend Mendoza
Review Date: 11-02-2016
A blend of Malbec, Merlot, Cabernet Sauvignon, Syrah and Petit Verdot, this is a very friendly style of red from one of the masters of blending, Michel Rolland, along with his Bordelaise chateaux owner partners. The wine's rich, intense mixed berry fruit speaks to the vineyard location in the Valle de Uco, while its finesse, supple tannins and red fruits suggest the skill of blending and a modern, Bordelaise approach to winemaking. Enjoy with any of your favorite foods--even though the wine is from Argentina, drinking it with a grilled steak is not compulsory!
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
JS 92 VN 90

2007 Contino Gran Reserva Rioja (1.5L)
Review Date: 10-31-2016
In 1973, Contino was founded and became the first of first of the new wave of single-vineyard Rioja estates. Today, winemaker Jesús Madrazo makes some of Rioja's finest wines, polished and comparably modern, but with a sense of balance and restraint that gives them amazing elegance and great longevity. Simply put, this is modern Rioja executed perfectly. Contino's Rioja also boasts a healthy 10% dollop of older vine Graciano, which enhances the wine's color, freshness and ageability.

2010 Vivanco Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 10-14-2016
A great Rioja from the excellent 2010 harvest, Vivanco is an example of a winery making carefully crafted Rioja which combines the richer, more succulent fruit of a modernly styled wine, with the experience and know-how of an estate that has been at it for quite some time. A hefty chunk of Graciano (10%) seems to contribute to the darker fruit profile and overall sense of fruit purity and balance. For someone whose experience with wine is largely based on California wines and is looking to branch out into Rioja, this would be a terrific place to start. In addition to Dinastia Vivanco's winery, there is a HUGE museum of wine on the premises; you could easily spend a few hours admiring the collection of wine related exhibits, explanation of production methods, and amazing collection of pieces which the Vivanco family has acquired. The Vivanco property is located in the town of Briones, just a stone's throw away from our own direct-import producer, Miguel Merino.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
RP 92 WS 92

2015 Kingston Family Vineyards "Alazan" Pinot Noir Casablanca Valley
Review Date: 10-07-2016
This Chilean-by-way-of-Portola Valley, California family winery continues to make some of our favorite vinos Chilenos. According to Courtney Kingston, her wines show a "gout de Casablanca," a distinctly smoky and mineral tinged quality which she believes mark her red wines. We tend to agree with that description. "Alazan" is their more serious Pinot Noir, one that relies upon some whole cluster inclusion and a good amount of massale selection Valdivieso vines for its balanced, slightly savory and complex profile. If you're looking for Chilean Pinot with a wonderful balance between fruit, mineral and floral flavors, then look no further.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
JS 95

2015 Montsecano Pinot Noir Casablanca Valley
Review Date: 09-08-2016
After several years of hard work and lots of progress, we can see the incredible results in Montsecano's 2015 Pinot Noir. It has all the effusive, bright, energetic notes of coastal Pinot Noir, with the added density and richness of texture which many believe is inferred by such "neutral" vessels as concrete eggs. It also has the unmistakable, subtle, coastal range-influenced herbal savor of Casablanca Valley in the background as well. All of this adds up to a delicious expression of top notch Pinot Noir. Highly recommended.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
JS 96

2015 Trivento Malbec Reserve Mendoza
Review Date: 09-06-2016
Another dee-lish Malbec, the Trivento shows lovely red plum, juicy bing cherry and subtly sweet touches from brief barrel aging. At under $10 this will most definitely do the trick. As always with wines we like which are both inexpensive and highly rated, this one is not likely to last..
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart
DC 95

2014 Zorzal "Terroir Unico" Pinot Noir Tupungato Valley
Review Date: 08-31-2016
Zorzal continues to offer the goods for fans of balanced, delicious wines showing great typicity and terroir. Take their most recent Pinot Noir, for example: a wine that shows fresh, lively fruit with a subtle underpinning of structure that comes from stem inclusion as well as picking grapes just at the point of ripeness. For the price, I don't think we have any PN better than (or even close to as good as) this!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
RP 90

2013 Tapiz "Alta Collection" Malbec Mendoza
Review Date: 08-30-2016
The Tapiz hits the spot for a juicy, fruit forward Malbec that still does not lack for structure and overall balance. Most importantly, though, with its red and dark fruits and hints of spice and licorice, it is a delicous, easy to drink red for a budget friendly price.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart
JS 95

2012 Joan d'Anguera "Finca L'Argata" Montsant
Review Date: 08-30-2016
Joan and Joseph d'Anguera have been making some serious changes at their family-owned winery over the past decade or so. Starting with a focus on organic farming, the brothers soon reaped the rewards of healthier vineyards and fruit, but felt that they were still looking for brighter, lighter, fresher wines. To achieve this they began picking a bit earlier and including some whole clusters in the fermentation, going for what Joseph calls more an "infusion" rather than extraction, of color and flavor. This 2012 consists primarily of Garnacha, with 15% Syrah added in. This is an intense wine, but also a taut one, rather linear, with fresh aromas and flavors of wild berries and fennel. Serious, but very drinkable wine.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
VN 91 WE 90

2007 La Rioja Alta "Viña Ardanza" Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 08-23-2016
The 2007 Viña Ardanza is showing very well right now. While not necessarily a departure from the house style (if you've liked it in the past, I suspect you will continue to with this vintage), I will say that it shows a bit more development than normal, perhaps with a more dark fruited and savory profile. It seems like the Rioja Alta Tempranillo is more dominant in the 07. Vintage characteristics aside, Viña Ardanza is one of the true bargains in the wine world, a wine which spends three years in barrel, another three in bottle, and is produced from fruit which hails from time tested vineyard sources (many owned by the winery). When it comes to Rioja, this is the one that, perhaps more than any other, I can depend upon to be delicious in California, satisfying in Spain, wonderful now or fantastic after aging. A must-have for me.

2004 Lopez de Heredia "Viña Tondonia" Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 08-23-2016
This is a fantastic Tondonia, one of my favorites at this relatively early stage. What I love about the 04 is it tension, it's taut fruit and acid forward personality. Starting from the top with the aromatics, there are some interesting notes of tar, bitter licorice and a slight suggestion of cumin as well. On the palate is where things become really interesting, as the fruit is fresh, incredibly so for having spent so long in barrel. Keep in mind these are used barrels, and not merely 2nd, 3rd or 4th year, but perhaps 16th or 20th year. This is the sort of wine I invariably want to drink, and cellar, in quantity. Don't miss it.

2009 Can Mayol Loxarel "MM" Blanc de Noir Gran Reserva Brut Nature Penedes
Review Date: 08-11-2016
Whoa - Loxarel has stepped up their game with this Pinot Noir driven Blanc des Noirs. A beautiful deeper golden hue, the MM shows its Gran Reserva authority both in elegance of texture and intensity of chalk. Speaking of chalk, the Pinot Noir here grows at some of the highest elevations of the property in very calcareous soil. Arguably Spain's finest producer of methode champenoise sparklers, Loxarel definitely continues to come correct with their delicious bubblies. 5+ years on the lees, and loads of class for just $25!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2013 Can Mayol Loxarel "Refugi" Reserva Brut Nature Penedes
Review Date: 08-11-2016
This 2013 vintage, freshly disgorged bottling of Refugi is showing spectacularly well. Bright, salty mineral laced citrus flavors show a rare combination of traits for under $20 bubbly: bone dry yet super drinkable, elegant bead and texture, and the intrigue that keeps you coming back for another (large) sip. New bottle and package for this crisp and linear number from staff favorite DI Can Mayol Loxarel. Think of it as their blanc des blancs: racy, clean and mineral driven.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2012 Oakridge Estate "Whitsend Vineyard" Cabernet Sauvignon Yarra Valley
Review Date: 07-28-2016
GREAT CAB. This satisfying Cabernet is for: -People who like Ridge or Mount Eden Cab -Those who enjoy Cabernet with fresh fruit and a balanced hit of leafy or green notes in the background -Anyone who is seeking out top quality stuff for under $20! This is easily one of my favorite and more noteworthy Cabs I've tasted this year.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JH 96

2013 Felsina Chianti Classico
Review Date: 07-13-2016
Felsina Chianti Classico is, well, a classic! The spicy, slightly woodsy, tangy fruit of this wine always places it amongst my favorite Tuscan wines. I don't think there is a better introduction to Chianti than Felsina.

2015 Zudugarai "Amats" Getariako Txakolina
Review Date: 07-13-2016
There is no better warm weather refresher than good Txakoli. And Amats is very good Txakoli! Incredibly crisp, with bright fruit and racy acidity, as well as the trademark fizziness, Zudugarai does Txakoli every bit as well as anyone else out there. And instead of the $40-50 you may pay at your favorite tapas spot in the city, Amats is priced to guzzle down in the comfort of your own home! Enjoy this well chilled, with jamón, grilled or smoked fish, and definitely, without a doubt, with oysters. Speaking from experience, there are few things better than spending time with family or friends, slurping oysters and washing them down with Txakoli - do it!
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2013 Green & Red "Tip Top Vineyard" Napa Valley Zinfandel
Review Date: 07-08-2016
Serious Zinfandel, the 2013 Green & Red Tip Top shows all the spicy, brambly berry and dark cherry fruit I like in Zinfandel, with the added tannin structure and brighter acidity provided by mature vines on a higher elevation site. In other words, this is spectacular and likely to be my favorite Zinfandel of the year. Great stuff from a legendary Zin producer.
Price: Hidden View Price
W&S 94

2012 Condado de Haza Ribera del Duero
Review Date: 06-29-2016
Does it get any more Spanish than the 100% Tempranillo from Condado de Haza? To answer my own rhetorical question, I would have to say that, nope, it probably doesn't! Structured dark fruit, nicely ripe, with hints of macerated blackberries, baking spices and leather are all nicely integrated and framed by impressive tannins. I'm glad I returned to this wine on day two, at which point the fruit fleshed out even more and the wine had become more expansive on the palate, all without sacrificing its leathery and mineral driven notes. This is a textbook mid-term cellar (7-8 years) proposition, tasty now and bound to improve in the bottle. A tried and true classic for the Spanish portion of your collection.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
WS 93

2013 Garcia & Schwaderer "Vigno" Carignane Maule Valley
Review Date: 06-28-2016
Imagine a top quality Priorat, only with more acidity. A lot more. Then, maybe think of a great Pinot Noir but with juicier, rounder fruit. Last, and most important, lower the price of either example by about $25-40. Now that you've got the picture, I'd like to introduce you to a most intriguing wine from Chile, indeed one of the more interesting red wines we've had all year: the Garcia & Schwaderer Vigno. The fruit here is expressive, irresistibly tangy, high-toned and lively wild berry fruit flavors. Though it is not a wine that has been made for long and therefore does not have a track record of improving in bottle, I'd be surprised if it doesn't continue to gain complexity over the next 7-8 years. It's spectacular now, however. What a delicious, original bottle of red wine! This has my strongest recommendation, though we do not have too many bottles - best to act quickly if you're interested!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
RP 95 JS 92

2013 Nin Ortiz "Planetes" Garnatxes i Carinyenes em Amfora Priorat
Review Date: 06-24-2016
Based in the Priorat village of Porrera, Ester Nin and Carles Ortiz have steadily plied their craft over the past 12 or so years, and these days are making some of the most delicious and exciting wines in Priorat. They are as deep into organic viticulture, carefully made compost, and plowing by mules as they are into expressing the fruit of their labor carefully in the cellar. This has lead to a preference for larger foudres and occasionally amphorae, as is the case for this bottling. It is tough to find Priorat as carefully made, from the vineyard to the bottle, as it is here. And it absolutely shows in the quality of the wine.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
JR 91 RP 91

Kavalan Solist Ex-Bourbon Cask #75 K&L Exclusive Cask Strength Single Barrel Taiwanese Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 06-22-2016
This is a delicious cask of whiskey! It's got incredible richness and sweetness: think vanilla cream frosting and cake batter. Adding a bit of water helps to bring out more layered aromas and balance this intense whiskey. This has my highest recommendation for anyone who loves full flavored Scotch not that is not lacking in decadent richness or sweetness.
Price: $149.99 Add To Cart

2014 FRAM Chenin Blanc Citrusdal Mountain
Review Date: 06-22-2016
Good South African Chenin has a combination of fruit purity, textural richness, mouth watering acidity and deliciousness only matched by top quality Loire valley Chenin. And this is top quality South African Chenin, so if you enjoy the grape variety or are simply looking to explore, you are in for a treat. Juicy tangerine fruit flavors are both bright and richly textured at the same time - a great combination.
Price: $22.99 Add To Cart

2012 Giesen Single Vineyard Selection "Clayvin" Pinot Noir Marlborough
Review Date: 06-22-2016
This formed part of a recent Clayvin vineyard three producer vertical we tasted with resident NZ expert and buyer Ryan Wood house. Giesen now owns Clayvin. Their bottling may have been the most delicious right now, with lovely cherry fruited purity and even some cherry pit/almond notes adding further complexity. This is so drinkable now but will undoubtedly improve in bottle for at least another 6-8 years.

2015 Domaine Bousquet Cabernet Sauvignon Tupungato Valley
Review Date: 06-15-2016
This is a bright, clean, red fruited Cabernet Sauvignon, with wonderful fruit purity and terrific cut. Given its medium body and bright fruit, this is a wine that should work as nicely with grilled chicken, vegetables or pasta as it would with hamburgers or other grilled meats. It's also worth mentioning that the wine is made from 100% organically grown grapes. I would be hard pressed to think of a value Cab in our inventory that is as easy to drink and as versatile with food than the Domaine Bousquet Cabernet Sauvignon.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart
W&S 91

2013 Jacques Bavard Auxey-Duresses Rouge
Review Date: 06-10-2016
In the past it has always been Jacques Bavard's whites in particular that have drawn my attention. While that continues to be the case (his 2014 whites are predictably fantastic) I was quite impressed with this slightly foresty, floral, dark-fruited, rather tense and linear Pinot Noir - lots of intrigue and charm, especially for under $20!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2014 Jacques Bavard Auxey-Duresses "Les Clous" Blanc
Review Date: 06-10-2016
I consider Jacques Bavard's wines not only amongst the best Burgundies in our store, but amongst the very best Burgundies in, well, in Burgundy! Roumier, Fourrier, Dujac, De Montille...all great names, but when it comes to that rarest of rare treasures, the $30 and under bottle of Burgundy that keeps you coming back for more, no one can touch Jacques Bavard. The 2014 Auxey Duresses Les Clous is incredible Chardonnay: brightly fruited, energetic and mineral laden, but with such a lovely texture to match. This shows the greatness of 2014 for white Burgundies, as well as the deft touch Mr. Bavard always shows with Chardonnay. A must have wine.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2013 Joan d'Anguera "Finca L'Argata" Montsant
Review Date: 06-07-2016
Joan and Joseph d'Anguera have been making some serious changes at their family-owned winery over the past decade or so. Starting with a focus on organic farming, the brothers soon reaped the rewards of healthier vineyards and fruit, but felt that they were still looking for brighter, lighter, fresher wines. To achieve this they began picking a bit earlier and including some whole clusters in the fermentation, going for what Joseph calls more an "infusion" rather than extraction, of color and flavor. This 2013 consists primarily of Garnacha. This is an intense wine, but also a taut one, rather linear, with fresh aromas and flavors of wild berries and fennel. Serious, but very drinkable wine.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2008 Viña Real Gran Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 05-24-2016
A classic. No doubt about it, this Viña Real is a real charmer, a wine that is just beginning to show its beauty now (decant for at least 30 minutes) but that will easily improve another 12+ years. A wonderfully fragrant, complete nose marked by mixed berries, cherries in liqueur and delicate floral notes leads to a lively, pure, energetic palate. I love Viña Real when it is on its game, and rest assured that the 2008 vintage is absolutely that. At under $35 this is one of my current favorites in our inventory.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
RP 94 VN 92

2010 Miguel Merino "Unnum" Rioja
Review Date: 05-24-2016
What a beautiful expression from our friend Miguel Merino! Unnum's pure fruit shows the intensity, fruit purity and elegant tannin structure of old vine material. The two tiny vineyards used for this cuvee were planted in 1931 and 1940. Aromas of blue fruits and candied licorice lead to a fresh, balanced palate, with fresh flavors of blueberries and ripe currants. This wine is delicious now, but built to age.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2011 Viña Quebrada "Domus Aurea" Cabernet Sauvignon Maipo Valley
Review Date: 05-12-2016
If Maipo is to Chile as Napa is to California, then the Viña Quebrada could be compared to Heitz Martha's Vineyard. It's an historic vineyard, with many a mature vine. As does Martha's Vineyard, the Domus Aurea has a lovely combination of Cabernet's bright red currant intensity, a tell tale snappy green, eucalyptus vineyard stamp and very fine grained tannins. Classic Cabernet. It should age well for quite a while, so if you are a Cabernet drinker or collector, you should absolutely grab some Domus Aurea.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart
W&S 96 RP 94

Page: 1 2 3 next