Staff Favorites - Joe Manekin

Joe Manekin
Joe Manekin  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service
Joe arrived at our doors in February 2007 from far away, Washington, DC to be exact. Just so no one gets the wrong idea, though, he was merely earning a living in DC; Joe’s cultural identity, as well as his professional sports allegiances and, when he has a few drinks in him, his accent, are all Baltimore through and through. After working on the wholesale side of the business for nearly 4 years, Joe decided that he wanted to work wine retail with the best, so he emailed Cindy Westby at K&L and the rest is history. While Joe is well versed in a number of wine regions, he most enjoys the wines of Europe, though he is growing increasingly interested in the great wines of the Santa Cruz mountains. When he is not at K&L, Joe enjoys cooking, traveling, catching up on The Wire, doing occasional PR, booking and recording work for reggae band JohnStone (www.johnstonemusic.com), and writing for his wine, food and music blog, Old world Old School (www.oldworldoldschool.blogspot.com)


Reviews

  
Page: 1 2 3 next
2012 Guímaro Ribeira Sacra
Review Date: 04-22-2016
Produced in the Amandi sub-zone of Ribeira Sacra, famous for its steeply sloped vineyards and magnificent views of the Sil River, Guimaro's entry level wine is a benchmark for tank raised Mencía: all fresh red fruits, with a linear quality on the palate, and firm tannins that stay contained on the front portion of the tongue. It reminds me a bit of St. Joseph in its fruit profile and beautifully precise, pinpoint tannins. Pedro Rodríguez Perez works (very hard!) in this beautiful, intensely rural and agricultural area; on any given day he may be painstakingly maintaining his vineyard terraces, working his vineyards by hand or in the cellar checking on the progress of his wines. While we typically have his Finca Mexieman (also very highly recommended!) on our shelves, it's great to have this great value back in stock!
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2013 Mas Que Vinos "Ercavio" Tempranillo Roble Tierra de Castilla
Review Date: 04-21-2016
There was a time when we used to habitually stock this little Tempranillo from La Mancha. It's been off our radar of late, but when I tasted the 2013 I know we had to bring it back. Especially since it's never been better and it's still under $10! Rich and fruit forward aromas also show a hint of lightly toasty oak. On the palate, the wine has the authority, and nearly the tannin structure, of a young Ribera del Duero. A delicious red that outperforms the price.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart
VN 90

2011 Produttori del Barbaresco Barbaresco
Review Date: 04-19-2016
Produttori del Barbaresco for under $30 is likely one of the most solid buy recommendations I will make this year. This Italian benchmark is simply delicious year in, year out. In 2011, the bright cherry and wild strawberry fruit takes on a more accessible, richer personality. That said, this is a great intro to classic Barbaresco! While the earthy and floral traits are still present, if you tend to prefer these and the requisite firmer structure that this classic often shows, don't worry. Simply buy these and hold on to them as I suspect the wine will shed its opulent fruit and evolve nicely for a long time. Como si dice...you should probably have this in your cellar!

2014 Mas Doix "Les Crestes" Priorat
Review Date: 04-15-2016
A cool, fresh vintage combined with vineyards located in one of the cooler villages, and some higher elevation vineyards in Poboleda, makes for this beautiful, purple-fruited wine. Scrumptious, delicious fruit! Snatch these up before a likely big review causes this to quickly sell out.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
VN 92

2011 Finca El Encinal Crianza Ribera del Duero
Review Date: 04-13-2016
I'm stoked to have this wine back in. The 2010 bottling was one of our best selling Spanish wines a few years ago, and the 2011 picks up where that wine left off. Dark fruits showcase the Ribera del Duero region's serious tannin structure and complexity, but combine also with a dry, savory balance and a deft touch with both the modest level of extraction and oak, particularly given their competition in this region of big, spicy, full-bodied, oaky wines. Finca el Encinal Crianza - dang, that's delicious!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2013 Zorzal "Gran Terroir" Malbec Valle de Uco
Review Date: 04-13-2016
Zorzal's Gran Terroir Malbec is absolutey that: a "gran" display of terroir in Argentina's Uco Valley. Unlike most others around them, Zorzal's Michelini brothers favor a regimen of early harvesting and vinifying/ageing in concrete and well used oak barrels. The results are stunning: crisp, focused dark fruit aromas, in this case showing lovely green and black olive savory qualities, lead to a remarkably dry palate (are we tasting Crozes-Hermitage or Mendoza Malbec??) I love this wine's balance of fruit and savory notes, the utter and complete absence of toasty oak, and the sheer drinkability this represents. It offers a glimpse into the future of Argentinean Malbec, shows strong mid-term cellar potential and is a true joy to drink now. At under $20 I strongly recommend you buy some for now and some bottles to cellar as well.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
RP 93

2014 Gen del Alma "Otra Piel" Red Blend Gulatallary
Review Date: 04-04-2016
Gen del Alma (G d'A as it is appears on the label) is a project of Gerardo Michelini and his wife Andrea Mufatto. Their goal is to showcase the unique, calcareous terroir of Gualtallary (within the Tupungato sub-zone of the Uco Valley) and to make very fresh, acid focused, mineral wines. To do so they experiment with concrete eggs (designed by their engineer father and fabricated locally), older barrels and in this case, a very large clay amphora which they made themselves. Otra Piel is a blend of Cabernet Franc, Cabernet Sauvignon, and Pinot Noir, all grown on a single vineyard in Tupungato. The wine is aged in amphora and then in bottle prior to release. It shows a combination of intense mixed berry fruit and some brawn and heft while retaining its lively, engaging acidity. A rare peek into a serious Cab Franc blend that never sees the inside of a new or used barrel. Delicious.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
RP 93

2014 D. Ventura "Viña do Burato" Ribeira Sacra
Review Date: 04-04-2016
A project of Ramon Losada, with some guidance early on from the great Gerardo Mendes (of Do Ferreiro fame), these Mencía-based reds grown in the steeper Ribera Sacra D.O. are truly expressive, terroir-driven wines. Bright red fruits show a crisp minerality, as well as wonderful fruit purity. 2014 is the best vintage of this wine that I can recall; it's all crunchy red fruit - a super quaffable red and a real winner.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart
VN 91

2011 Haras de Pirque "Hussonet" Cabernet Sauvignon Gran Reserva Maipo Valley
Review Date: 04-01-2016
This is a deceptively priced bottle of Cabernet. A 100% Maipo Valley Cab, it opens with straightforward mixed fruit aromas punctuated by green herbaceous notes. I encourage you to approach this one with a skeptical eye. At first glance, a straight ahead Chilean Cab, the aromatics open to reveal charred poblano, freshly ground black pepper, licorice and black currant confit. A similar opening occurs on the palate, which shows deeply pitched black fruits, some scruffy savory notes, and a length and supple tannin quality which suggests a more serious (and seriously priced) Cabernet! For under $10 this is an absolute steal.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart
JS 95

2012 Joseph Swan "Trenton Estate" Russian River Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 03-29-2016
I was reviewing my notes on this wine from exactly one year ago. As excited as I was then, I'm even more bullish now after tasting the wine with another year in bottle. This is a very good vintage of a truly awesome wine. It absolutely oozes old school Russian River Valley charm in its scrumptious, layered, berry fruit. And yet there is a freshness, a clarity and purity of fruit that brings to mind a delicious bottle of young Burgundy (without the rough edges of tough tannin or fierce acidity). This wine is delicious now and should age very well for quite a while. It has my highest recommendation for Pinot Noir for drinking and/or cellaring.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart
WE 95 ST 92

2012 Zerran Montsant
Review Date: 03-24-2016
Zerran is juicy, spicy and opulent. It brings to mind the Montsant wines which originally brought so much attention to this Catalan D.O. a decade or so ago. With its rich, slightly smoky-sweet blue fruit flavors, any fan of finding values amongst Syrahs, Rhone and Zinfandel blends ought to be buying this Montsant in quantity.

2012 Calcu Cabernet Sauvignon Colchagua Valley
Review Date: 03-23-2016
Big aromas of plum confit and dark cherries lead to a genuinely structured palate. Fruit and tannins are well balanced and present themselves in a way that results in a deliciously dry expression of Cabernet. With a bit of pleasant grit showing in the texture of the wine, this is wonderfully honest, pitch perfect Cab that tastes a whole lot more expensive than its price.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
DC 92

2015 Viu Manent Chardonnay Gran Reserva
Review Date: 03-07-2016
Though they are based in the heart of the Colchagua Valley, near Santa Cruz, Viu Manent sources their Chardonnay from cooler, coastal vineyards in the Casablanca Valley. This shows a lovely balance between ripe orchard fruits and citrus, with crisp definition and a fresh finish.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart
DC 95

2014 Do Ferreiro Albariño Rias Baixas
Review Date: 03-02-2016
Do Ferreiro is a benchmark Albariño. Every year, it delivers the goods, showing a degree of aromatic complexity, nervy minerality, and pure intensity of flavor that always makes it stand out from the rest. Delicious upon release, it is also one of the few Albariños to improve in bottle for up to a decade (maybe longer?) beyond the vintage year. There is bright fruit intermingling with the classic Do Ferreiro salty/smoky mineral bite. Enjoy this wine on its own or with all types of seafood. This would even be terrific with a hearty bean soup.
Price: $25.99 Add To Cart
VN 91 JS 90

2005 La Rioja Alta "904" Gran Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 02-17-2016
This is a great 904! I prefer it to the 2004, and for those who opt to drink these "young" at 10 years of age, I think it's even better than the landmark 2001 vintage. To encounter a wine this subtle, layered, harmonious and ageworthy for under $100 these days, let alone for under $50, is a rarity to be sure. I would take advantage and let only your budget and space constraints guide you. And if you enjoy great Rioja, you will want to own as many of these as you can get.

2009 Louise Brison Vintage Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-11-2016
While the 2008 Louise Brison (a few of you I think may have purchased a bottle or two!) is sadly sold out, I would not hesitate to recommend this 2009. It's a bright, yellow stonefruit-driven effort, with plenty of drive and a nearly unmatched drinkability and value for money for vintage Champagne. At the risk of re-stating the obvious I think it does bear repeating: this is VINTAGE Champagne (good quality vintage Champagne, at that) from an RM (grower/producer) for under $30! Stock up and drink the good stuff.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2012 Achaval Ferrer Cabernet Sauvignon Mendoza
Review Date: 01-30-2016
Achával Ferrer's Cabernet Sauvignon is, like the rest of their range of wines, impeccably made, tasty, and very well balanced. Red currant and raspberry leaf flavors show just a hint of a developed savory side, while the particularly smooth mid-palate and round, polished tannins, a consistent trait in most of their wines, show themselves as well. Solid Cab for under $30, and an absolute steal for under $15!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
JS 90

2010 Viña Quebrada "Domus Aurea" Cabernet Sauvignon Maipo Valley
Review Date: 01-30-2016
Whoa, the review does not lie...this is serious Cab! It's a very Maipo style, from nicely mature vines, which means that in its intense, almost pungent, slightly smoky and savory style there are echos of Heitz Martha's, Leeuwin Art Series, and other collectible, age-worthy Cabs of similarly strong personality. There is a comparable level of concentration and intensity, as well as fine tannin structure and length. This is downright impressive Cabernet for the Cab fan, a whole lot of wine for the money and a prime candidate to wow your wine drinking friends.

2012 Clos Mogador Priorat
Review Date: 01-21-2016
Renee Barbier is one of the key figures in the rise of the Priorat DOQ region. Their wines are uniformly regarded as tops in the area, with Renee still at the helm and his son, Renee, Jr. in charge of the winemaking. 2012 was a very good year in Priorat, and a vintage where, amongst the best producers, you can really begin to see the evolving style of the region: all the intensity and minerality of the past, but with less noticeable wood and forced extraction. This is a stellar example of the new Priorat from one of its longtime benchmark producers.

2014 Ponzi "Tavola" Willamette Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 01-16-2016
I've always respected Ponzi for their clean, brightly fruited Pinot Noir bottlings. Tavola is typically a solid value, but with this 2014 vintage I feel like it's truly an overachieving effort, especially for under $20! Loads of crisp, red plum and mixed berry fruit flavors are easy to enjoy for those who like their fruit, but precise and just edgy enough for those who (like me) tend to value dry flavors above ebullience in their Oregon Pinot Noir. Great balance and Williamette typicity in this wine. Bright, juicy, smashable and well priced, I can't recommend this highly enough.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
W&S 92 WE 91

2012 Freemark Abbey Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 01-16-2016
Freemark Abbey is on a roll. The pitch-perfect Cabernet hits keep coming at this venerable northern Napa Valley winery. Inviting aromas are classic Cab: somewhere between kirsch and cassis, but with an underlying green, savory, brush quality. I love the juicy, yet ultimately balanced, pure fruit on the palate, which makes it a delicious young Cab for drinking now. That said, given the tannins, flavor intensity and overall structure, I would not hesitate to lay some of these down for mid-term (5-10 years) cellaring. Want to go longer? Go for it, I suspect these will age wonderfully.
Price: $32.99 Add To Cart
RP 93 JS 92

2012 Bodegas Palacios Remondo "La Montesa" Crianza Rioja
Review Date: 12-29-2015
The 2012 vintage of this single vineyard Rioja has two immediately apparent stylistic stamps. First is the lush red fruit of Garnacha Riojana (Garnacho Riojano if we want to be old-timey and use the masculine spelling). Second is the bright, pure fruit expression and elegant tannins of a wine selected by Spanish legend Alvaro Palacios (of 100 point Priorat fame, yes, that Alvaro Palacios!) Drink this delicious fruit forward with a hearty winter stew of your choice. This will likely be one of our finest values in Grenache this winter - take advantage.

2005 Bodegas Franco Españolas "Rioja Bordón" Gran Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 12-22-2015
Bodegas Franco Españolas (the "franco" references their French and Spanish foundational roots) is a traditional Rioja bodega, one of the more established and historic wineries in the region. Their 2005 Gran Reserva is elegant, with the ripe and balanced fruit this vintage is known for, and the poise, balance and persistence that is the hallmark of good traditional Rioja. Feel free to enjoy this now and up to 2020 or so, though I suspect it will drink well past that date.

2013 Susana Balbo "Signature" Cabernet Sauvignon Mendoza
Review Date: 12-21-2015
A serious and stylish Cabernet Sauvignon, this is one of the best under $20 Cabs to hit our stock this year. The combination of darkest of dark fruits, medium roast coffee bean, elegant tannins and gravelly minerality bring the Medoc to mind, quite honestly. It's exciting to see a Cabernet that is truly looking towards the Left Bank as its model. If you're a fan of great Cabernet Sauvignon, and are looking for a deal on a bottle you can either drink now or cellar in the mid-term, this is a wine to purchase in some quantity.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JS 93 RP 92

2013 Finca Villacreces "Pruno" Ribera del Duero
Review Date: 12-15-2015
This is my favorite Pruno to date. We have sold tons of earlier vintages, but it is always gratifying when the latest truly is the greatest and we can confidently opine as much! Given the relatively cooler growing season, the 2013 Pruno has lovely aromatics, savory dark fruits with a spicy, almost leathery quality, as well as some balanced oak notes such as roast espresso and grilled bread. This is not as soft and fruit forward as the 2012; instead it has a bit more acidity, more tone. Structured and serious but very tasty to drink right now if you so choose. Lovely, expressive, and true to Ribera del Duero, this is one Pruno that you will want to drink!
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
JS 92 RP 92

2014 Framingham Pinot Noir Marlborough
Review Date: 12-03-2015
Though Framingham is well known for their phenomenal Rieslings, this Pinot Noir is juicy, fresh, purely red fruited, effortlessly balanced and delightful. That is not to say that it's simple, just that it's a complete, well made wine that also happens to be quite "smashable" (kiwi for something you want to drink quickly, in copious quantities!) Under $20, smashable Pinot this good is a no brainer.

2014 Pascual Toso Malbec Maipú
Review Date: 12-02-2015
Our perennial best selling Malbec is back! 2014 was a cooler vintage, though as usual the Pascual Toso shows lovely, juicy fruit and fine overall balance. Round, supple and easy to drink.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

2013 Bodegas El Nido "Clio" Jumilla
Review Date: 12-02-2015
Steakhouses love it and purists denounce it! That said, there is no disputing the fact that lots of people love a full-bodied, slightly toasty, dark fruited wine that could be made in a number of places, but in this case happens to be made in southeastern Spain. For those folks, and perhaps for you, we are pleased to announce another new release of Clio. Salud!
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart

2009 Remelluri Gran Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 12-02-2015
A fine young Remelluri, the 2009 shows deeply pitched dark fruits and macerated black cherries, dried coconut and dark chocolate flavors. While some may love it now for its power, its best days clearly lie some years ahead.
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart
JS 95 RP 93

2014 Fefiñanes Albariño Rias Baixas
Review Date: 12-02-2015
The benchmark Albariño for a reason, Fefiñanes relies upon 60 growers, the vast majority of whom are in and around Cambados, the classic coastal area for growing Albariño. Mouthwateringly succulent fruit combines with a saline quality in this always delicious Albariño.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2012 Quinta do Crasto "Old Vines" Reserva Douro
Review Date: 12-02-2015
One of the original "Douro Boys" producers, Quinta do Crasto continues to make our most popular Douro reds. Their 2012 Reserva shows plenty of rich dark fruit, with great intensity and refined, elegant tannins. One to enjoy now or age for a bit.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
WS 94 RP 93

2007 Cune "Imperial" Gran Reserva Rioja (1.5L)
Review Date: 12-02-2015
About the only thing better than a classic Rioja from a classic vintage would be a classic Rioja from a classic vintage out of magnum! Imperial is a legendarily capable ager, and a magnum would make a great addition to the cellar of any Spanish wine conocedor.
Price: $149.99 Add To Cart

2011 Bodegas Muga Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 12-02-2015
There are few better, more consistent introductions to affordable, everyday Rioja, than Bodegas Muga Reserva. Dark fruit flavors show lovely balance and typical Rioja supple tannins/ease of drinkability.
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart
JS 92 RP 91

2007 Lopez de Heredia "Viña Cubillo" Crianza Rioja
Review Date: 12-02-2015
Ah, Viña Cubillo in a cooler, Atlantic vintage is a wonderful thing! Sweet and savory aromas are CLASSIC Rioja, with scrumptious, spicy red fruit flavors showing development while they retain freshness as well. This is a Rioja we confidently recommend time and time again.
Price: $25.99 Add To Cart
JS 93 RP 91

2011 Pago de los Capellanes Reserva Ribera del Duero
Review Date: 12-02-2015
2011 was a torrid year in Ribera del Duero, so it is all the more impressive that Pago de Los Capellanes managed to make such an expressive, purely fruited, delicious Reserva. Darker fruit aromas and flavors show purity as well as the stony minerality often shown in wines from the village of Pedrosa de Duero. Elegant and ripe tannins. Lots of length and layered flavors.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

2003 Lopez de Heredia "Viña Tondonia" Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 12-02-2015
A lovely, mouth-wateringly delicious Tondonia, this wine still manages to epitomize the traditional, grand old Rioja style, even in a vintage with the drought and heat stress of 2003. Great, mature vines are the secret, as well as skillfully fermenting and ageing in a time honored tradition (hint: very well seasoned American oak vats and barrels are involved). Another instant classic from LdH.

2012 Casa Castillo "Las Gravas" Jumilla
Review Date: 12-01-2015
Like the El Molar we recently emailed, Casa Castillo's Las Gravas is both rich and multi-layered, ripe and impressively fresh as well. The high wire balance is likely a function of a vision and winemaking team that seems to be really coming into its own, and impressive vineyard sites in a D.O. that has some serious, high quality calcareous vineyards. Red fruit flavors are intense and rich, nearly a confit type of ripeness—until the finish, that is, where the lift, elegance, minerality and citrus rind flavors contribute to the overall balance. This is intriguing stuff to drink now or cellar over the next several years.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
RP 94

2014 Morgadío Albariño Rias Baixas
Review Date: 12-01-2015
Morgadio makes a wonderful Albariño, always delicious, full of crunchy fruit flavors, lip smacking acidity and lovely minerality. 2014 is another fine vintage, and fortunately for all of us, at a very friendly price due to the strong dollar. A fine choice for Dungeness crab and oysters!
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

2005 Bodegas Casa Juan Señor de Lesmos Reserva Especial Rioja
Review Date: 12-01-2015
This may be my favorite Lesmos yet. Here we have a rare bottling from Bodegas Casa Juan, a special selection that always has a very healthy (50%) portion of Mazuelo and sees a bit more new barrel than the regular Reserva. Great fruit, with a bit more of a subtle toasty quality than normal for the winery, this is a wine that should age particularly well.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2014 Bodegas Puelles Blanco Rioja
Review Date: 12-01-2015
Produced from purchased Viura, most of which comes from Abalos' fine chalky clay soils, this is a brisk, clean, yellow skinned and citrus fruited white. A terrific value dry white, I like to think of this as Muscadet Riojano. Another delicious white from Chus Puelles!
Top Value!
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2011 Bodegas Puelles Crianza Rioja
Review Date: 12-01-2015
A wonderful introduction to Puelles' range, there is a surprising amount of wine in the bottle for under $13. The warmth of 2011 brought some extra richness and body to this year's Crianza, as well as some riper dark fruits intermingling with the typical red ones. This is a Rioja for parties, casual suppers, or for sipping while prepping dinner. An easy one to drink.
Top Value!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2007 Bodegas Puelles Rioja Reserva
Review Date: 12-01-2015
The Reserva comes from all estate fruit, with some older vines coming into play. Aromatically, the wine is more complex, with savory dark fruits and a hint of earth. There is a lovely initial hit of fruit on the palate, but with very good presence and consistent length, as well as the juicy purity of Puelles' fruit, a stylistic purity which makes these wines so crowd and food friendly. For under $20 it's hard to find Rioja with more succulent and delicious fruit than Puelles.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
RP 90

2004 Bodegas Puelles Gran Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 12-01-2015
A new release of Gran Reserva, from the producer of one of our most popular $20 wines in the history of K&L! For those of you who love the 1999, this 2004 is a better wine, but also more youthful. Beautiful fruit, framed by balanced tannin and crisp acidity, this 11 year-old is just beginning to show its stuff. Delicious now for its fruit purity and balance, it should continue to age gracefully and slowly head in a more savory direction beginning in five or so years from now.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2006 Miguel Merino Gran Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 12-01-2015
This is a terrific vintage of Merino Gran Reserva, full of brawny, purple and mixed berry fruit, punctuated by savory spice. It's drinking great now and will continue to age nicely over the course of the next decade.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2007 Miguel Merino Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 12-01-2015
A big, hefty Reserva, this 2007! Cherry confit flavors combine with sweet oak and baking spices, over a juicy, supple, well-balanced frame. While you could wait a bit for the oak to further integrate, I suspect that many folks will find a lot to like in this year's Reserva. It's a great example of Merino's style, and why he has won over so many California wine drinkers with his tasty wines - packed to the brim with spice and fruit and yet still representing Rioja quite well.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2011 Quinta da Aveleda "Grand Follies" Bairrada
Review Date: 11-29-2015
Bairrada is the original Portuguese red made for long-term ageing. It's muscular, tannic, stern and unyielding when young, but matures into something special. Quinta da Aveleda may be best known for their easy to enjoy Vinho Verdes, but this Bairrada is a serious expression of the clay and limestone terroir famous in the Atlantic influenced Portuguese D.O. Touriga Franca, Tinta cao and Baga combine to produce this serious, dark fruited, savory and ageworthy wine.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
WE 93

2007 Vega Sicilia "Unico" Ribera del Duero
Review Date: 11-24-2015
Vega Sicilia is Spain's original, collectible red wine. There is an old joke in Spain: If you are buying a bottle of Vega Sicilia, it is either because you are wealthy or you are gifting it to your doctor for having saved your life! 2007 was a good vintage, not one that received the type of critical attention in the way that 2004 did, or 2009 and 2010 surely will, but it is a fine young Unico and needs some time in the cellar. It will surely make very old bones.
Price: $329.99 Add To Cart
WS 94

1965 Taylor Fladgate "Very Old Single Harvest" Tawny Port
Review Date: 11-24-2015
Taylor's version of a colheita, their very old single harvest Tawny Ports are sublime: rich, nutty, spicy and powerful, with enough sweetness to add balance. One hallmark of these older wines is balance of alcohol; even at 20% ABV these are never hot. A fine treat and terrific gift option for those born in '65!

1964 Taylor Fladgate "Very Old Single Harvest" Tawny Port
Review Date: 11-24-2015
Taylor's version of a colheita, their very old single harvest Tawny Ports are sublime: rich, nutty, spicy and powerful, with enough sweetness to add balance. One hallmark of these older wines is balance of alcohol; even at 20% ABV these are never hot. A terrific treat and fine gift option for those born in '64. For those lucky enough to be enjoying other great '64s (Rioja, Bordeaux) there is no better way to finish out a meal than with this old tawny from Taylor Fladgate!

1985 Longmorn 29 Year Old Hunter Laing's "Old & Rare" Single Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 11-19-2015
A fantastic, very old, classic expression, this Longmorn has it all and is a more than worthy splurge. A nose of dried grains and cream also has nuances of well worn leather. Indeed simply nosing this whiskey brings to mind a distinguished study or library, fine woolen plaid products, and any other number of quintessentially Scottish objects. Beautifully balanced and distinguished on the palate, fully dry, no Sherry or candied sweetness but more of a confident, soft, understated caress on the palate. I shall buy a bottle of this Hunter Laing bottled Longmorn and fully savour it. If you love Scotch whisky then you may want to follow suit.
Price: $349.99 Add To Cart

Page: 1 2 3 next