Staff Favorites - Mike Barber

Mike Barber


2012 Hewitson "Miss Harry" GSM Barossa Valley South Australia
Review Date: 11-06-2014
One of the best deals in the store, and one of the must buys of our Australian selections this year. Hewitson always offers an incredible wine for a great value in their miss harry release. The fact that this one comes from a perfect vintage is even better! Loads of nuanced spice and lush strawberry are evened out by bright acidity and a hint of menthol. There is a little tannic backbone to lend structure and complete this well crafted surprise.
Top Value!

2012 Do Ferreiro Albariño Rias Baixas
Review Date: 05-15-2014
A crisp and gorgeous Albarino, the Ferreiro shows bright apricot and peach fruits with a big finish of wet stone and granite.
Drink from 2014 to 2014
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

Lot 40 Single Single Copper Pot Still Canadian Rye Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 01-20-2014
Now that's some good drinkin'! This rye is rich and delicious, with vanilla and chocolate notes over classic rye leather and cracked pepper--perfect on its own or for all your Manhattan needs. Not as sweet as some of the LDI stuff coming out of Indiana, not as dry as some of 100% rye Rittenhouse styled whiskeys in our store--it's just right.
Drink from 2013 to 2013
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
WE 97

Ragnaud Sabourin K&L Exclusive Fontevieille #35 Cognac (750ml)
Review Date: 08-02-2013
This is an outstanding addition to our brandy portfolio- with powerful flavors of coffee, caramel, and honey over a lightly sweet but long lasting finish. Perfect, dense, rich, and wonderful!
Drink from 2013 to 2013
Price: $169.99 Add To Cart

Chateau de Pellehaut "K&L Exclusive - L'Age de Glace" Ténarèze Armagnac (750ml)
Review Date: 08-02-2013
This bottle is way too delicious for this price- rich and easy but still showing that true armagnac spice with flavors of toasted almonds, oak, and honey. This price is ridiculous-buy this now!
Top Value!
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart

Fleury Blanc de Noirs Brut Champagne
Review Date: 07-25-2013
Consistently one of my favorite direct import producers in our champagne section- Fleury makes complex sparkling wine from 100% pinot noir vines. The result is a rich and decadent sparkler that doesn't sacrifice minerality or brightness for its lush texture.
Top Value!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
VN 91

Glenmorangie 18 year old Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 03-07-2013
Great price for a great whiskey! Glenmorangie cuts their heads and tails (look it up) more than probably any other distillery in the world- leaving and very pure and light distillate behind. This intense and long barrel age has left that pure spirit a rich and malty backbone with incredible vibrancy. A scotch this good at a price this good does not last long!
Drink from 2013 to 2013
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart

Aberlour 16 Year Old Speyside Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 02-20-2013
What would you expect from this great distillery who's popularity keeps growing and growing? Classic speyside- the 16 year is especially rich and malty, with salted caramel flavors and a long, pure finish. Decadent and delicious!
Drink from 2013 to 2013

ArteNOM "Seleccion 1146" Anejo Tequila (750ml)
Review Date: 12-24-2011
It is tough in the tequila world to find small production, unique expressions of terroir and artful distillation, but that is exactly what the arte nom line of tequilas is all about. They each come from a single plantation of agave and a single distillery. They are all wonderful, but I'm an anejo guy, and this beauty is rich and lush with wonderful oaky notes over pure citrus flavors. If you're a real tequila fan- you have to try this.
Drink from 2011 to 2011
Price: $54.99 Add To Cart

Franck Bonville Grand Cru Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 05-31-2011
Always one of our best direct import champagne producers! Clean, crisp, bright - and the price is amazing!
Top Value!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Bulleit "95 Rye" Straight Rye Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 03-11-2011
A great rye for a great price! Bulleit has done it again. This release is soft on the pallate, with a trademark Bulleit sweetness backed by a present rye spiciness. Very drinkable- and not as heavy handed as a lot of other ryes on the market.
Top Value!
Price: $22.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

High West Rendezvous Rye Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 01-13-2010
A great rye whiskey with plenty of spice and backbone. Its oak aging and bourbon percentage give a lush, rich core, but this is a whiskey for the serious rye enthusiasts from one of Utah's first distilleries!
Drink from 2009 to 2009
Price: $54.99 Add To Cart
WE 96 WA 95

Los Danzantes "Los Nahuales" Reposado Mezcal (750ml) [Cannot ship]
Review Date: 10-14-2009
This Mezcal is rich, dark and delicious! Smoky and dense - I love when agave is treated with this much dedication and respect!
Drink from 2010 to 2010
Price: $62.99 Add To Cart

Jean-Louis Denois "Tradition" Extra Brut Reserve
Review Date: 10-14-2009
Easily our best sparkling wine under $20, this is as close one gets to real Champagne without paying $30. Denois is a brilliant producer, and it shows in the Tradition: a crisp, focused, slightly yeasty, entirely beautiful Southern French sparkler.
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

Marie Duffau Hors D'Age Bas Armagnac (750ml)
Review Date: 08-07-2009
This brandy is never out of my house - it's a delicious spirit at a great price. Duffau Armagnacs are almost rich enough to pass for Cognacs, with a lush, round texture and less spice than many Armagnacs. The age on the Hors d'Age shows well through its rich flavors, which are delicate but delicious.
Top Value!
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

Aberlour "A'Bunadh" Cask Strength Speyside Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 06-05-2009
The best that Aberlour has to offer, in my opinion. Dark, rich, smooth and toasty, this is a deep and soothing malt with plenty of complexity and flavors. There is a very slight peat spice hiding behind a silk curtain of malty deliciousness. Very nice.
Drink from 2009 to 2009