Staff Favorites - John Downing

John Downing

Reviews

  
Page: 1 2 next
2011 Porta del Vento Perricone MaQue' IGT Sicily
Review Date: 07-25-2017
Porta del Vento is located at 2,000 feet above Palermo near Camporeale. Here the hillsides are steep and subjected to high winds, extreme temperature shifts and difficult terrain. Owner and winemaker Marco Sferlazzo farms biodynamically and is one of the few to work with the rare red varietal known as Perricone. His is one of the finest made and boasts complex aromas of plum, blue fruits, violets, herbs and minerals. Additionally it's structured yet balanced with a medium-bodied palate of dried blue fruits, fine tannins, juicy acidity and low alcohol as well. This is a rare wine that Italophiles will especially enjoy.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2015 Mas de Sainte Croix "Passion d'Une Terre" Côtes-du-Rhône Villages Valreas
Review Date: 07-24-2017
Since I'm a Rhone wine fan, I'm always on the lookout for new arrivals in our French section. Recently, I picked up a bottle of this latest arrival and opened it with dinner. Needless to say I was very impressed. For me it's somewhat of an atypical Cotes du Rhone in that it combines 25% Mourvedre with 75% Grenache without the addition of Syrah. The nose is a heady combination of dark berry and plum fruit with hints of licorice and mineral while the palate is full-flavored and concentrated with fruit that is certainly ripe yet maintains its freshness. As much as I love California Rhone blends, I'd have to spend far more to find one of this caliber.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
RP 90 - 92

2016 Gianni Doglia Moscato d'Asti
Review Date: 07-24-2017
While so many of the Moscato d'Astis in our market are made commercially in large quantites, the same cannot be said of this one. It's really quite special and, in our opinion, among the best made. Gianni and Paola Doglia own a small property near Castignole Lanze, Asti that producers a mere 3500 cases per year. Their Moscato offers an impressive aromatic array of white peach, melon, orange and honey as well as a zesty and refreshing palate of creamy goodness. It's pleasantly sweet yet very fresh making it especially good at the end of a meal or on a hot afternoon.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2014 Badala Etna Rosso
Review Date: 07-24-2017
Until this vintage, the wines of Badala were sold only in Italy. Their tiny estate is located just shy of 2000 feet on Sicily's Mt Etna and farmed 100% biodynamically. Although elegant, this intriguing red also offers a deceptive layer of grippy tannins embedded within its rich black fruited palate. It certainly adds another dimension to our Etna Rosso selections and is one that we highly recommend.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2016 Sergio Arcuri "Marinetto" Ciro Rosato Calabria
Review Date: 07-24-2017
This really took us by surprise. Maybe it's that since most of the great rose wines we're familiar with hail from Spain, France or California, we don't have the same expectation when it comes to Italy. Regardless, this impressive gem from Calabria delivers earthy bright red fruit aromas and flavors along with juicy acidity and fine tannins that make this ideal with meats and heartier fare. "Marinetto" is made from 100% Gaglioppo and certainly brings intriguing character of Calabria to the table.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2015 Sarno 1860 Fiano di Avellino
Review Date: 07-24-2017
Fiano is one of the noble white grapes of Southern Italy and Sarno is without doubt one the finest producers of it. Theirs combines richness and structure and the 2015 vintage takes the aromatics and palate to another level. Subtle scents of beeswax, pear and citrus precede a round and seamless palate with a core of vibrant acidity and a chalky mineral finish. This sensational white will age gracefully and will develop more complex notes of honey and hazelnuts as it matures.
Price: $25.99 Add To Cart

2010 Poggio dell'Otto Brunello di Montalcino Riserva
Review Date: 07-16-2017
Considering the demand for and quality of the 2008 Poggio dell'Otto Brunello, we've been anxiously awaiting the arrival of this outstanding Riserva. It definitely delivers the added dimension of savory fruit we've come to expect from the 2010s along with just the right balance of acidity. This classic really opens up with ample aeration but truly shines when decanted. An unexpected surprise at an unexpected price.
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart

2015 Edi Keber Collio Bianco
Review Date: 07-10-2017
The Keber family has resided in Italy's Collio region near the Slovenian border for generations. Today, Edi and his son organically farm the local white grape varietals Friulano, Malvasia Istriana and Ribolla Gialla and blend them together to make a single wine. Their 2015 Bianco is truly impressive. An aromatic array of gooseberry, citrus and herbs is nearly upstaged by a round, spicy and mouthwatering palate with delicious hints of anise and tarragon on the long finish. It's not only a tribute to their talented winemaking but also a shining example in a top vintage.
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart

2013 Sarno 1860 Fiano di Avellino
Review Date: 07-10-2017
Having just re-tasted the Sarno Fiano, I was immediately reminded why this is considered one of the finest made. Owner and wine producer Maura Sarno focuses entirely upon this ancient varietal and the result is nothing shy of stunning. Her 2015 Fiano delivers an additional measure of aromatics and depth of flavors thanks to the strength of the vintage. Aromas of white peach, beeswax, mineral and floral abound along with a fresh, rounded palate with a core of bright acidity and a pleasant hint of chalkiness on the finish. Fish, white meats, soups and vegetable dishes are ideal with this wonderful white.
Price: $25.99 Add To Cart
RP 92

2015 Porta del Vento Catarratto IGT Sicily
Review Date: 07-10-2017
Admittedly I like to drink white wines that have a fair amount of acidity and thus I've come across only a handful of Catarattos over the years that I've liked as most have lacked a level of freshness and vibrancy I prefer. That's not to say that many were not high quality, well made wines but rather that I've encountered only a few like Porta del Vento. This wonderful find offers intriguing scents of pear, flint and stone fruit along with great acidity on the palate. One of my colleagues mentioned it lands somewhere between a Chablis and an aged Vouvray Sec and I'd have to agree. A real find from Sicily.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart

2013 Antinori "Guado al Tasso" Bolgheri Superiore
Review Date: 06-20-2017
This was definitely one of my personal stand-outs during our trip to Italy in 2015, when we had the opportunity to taste a good number of Antinori's current releases. It's certainly one of the best Guado al Tassos to date and it took us by surprise. The tannins and acidity are buried under a very polished palate of concentrated, mouth-filling black fruit with accents of milk chocolate and earth. There's so much going on here and enticing as it is to open it now, it will only improve with time in the cellar.

2014 Tenuta San Guido "Guidalberto" Toscana
Review Date: 06-20-2017
I love this latest release from the makers of Sassicaia as it truly expresses the more elegant side of Cabernet and Merlot. Their 2014 is a testament to great winemaking in a more challenging vintage as it is not only aromatic and refined but also very expressive and persistent with juicy black currant fruit, a silky mouth-feel and a lengthy finish. Bordeaux fans will especially appreciate this modern take on a Claret.

2012 Talenti Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 06-20-2017
The better 2012 Brunelli offer both freshness and the ability to drink now and Talenti is one of our very best values and a favorite as well. This concentrated Sangiovese delivers flavorful waves of sweet dark berry and dark plum fruit anchored by solid tannins and fine acidity. Hats off to Talenti for capturing the best attributes of the 2012 vintage.
Price: $43.99 Add To Cart
JS 95 VN 91

2012 Fattoria dei Barbi Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 06-20-2017
Barbi has always been one of my favorite of the more classic style Brunello producers and I am especially impressed with their 2012. There's a freshness and vibrancy that shines through some very bright and savory red fruit in this medium-bodied gem. The tannins are ripe, the acidity is balanced and the wine is wonderful now and will drink nicely over the next few years.

2015 Argiano Rosso di Montalcino
Review Date: 06-20-2017
The historic Argiano estate has undergone a good amount of renovation of late as a result of a more recent change in ownership. The new caretakers have achieved an impressive level of refinement throughout their wines and the 2015 Rosso stands out. Warm and juicy red fruit, fully ripe tannins and a delicious lingering finish make it irresistible. This showcases Sangiovese and more specifically, the outstanding 2015 vintage.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2013 Einaudi "Terlo Vigna Costa Grimaldi" Barolo
Review Date: 06-16-2017
In addition to the "Terlo"' we're pleased to offer Einaudi's outstanding Barolo "Costa Grimaldi". It's produced from 40-55 year old vines and offers a bit more depth and longevity. An earthy nose of dark red fruits, minerals and a pleasant hint of smoke precede a full, round and flavorful palate with ample ripe tannins and acidity. There's plenty of weight and depth here and this truly wonderful Barolo deserves at least a couple of years in the cellar and will continue to reward the patient.

2013 Einaudi "Terlo" Barolo
Review Date: 06-16-2017
Matteo Sardagna is at the helm of his family's estate and has taken on greater responsibilities since the passing of his mother in 2010. The winery is definitely among those in the Langhe committed to the preservation of the zone and to a high level of quality throughout the winemaking process. The vines of Terlo range in age from 15-55 years and yield a juicy, generous and showy Barolo with expressive spiced red fruit and noticeable but fine tannins throughout. Although approachable now, it will only improve in the bottle if allowed to outgrow its youthful vigor.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
JS 94 VN 92

2009 Branas Grand Poujeaux, Moulis
Review Date: 05-30-2017
I love 2009 Bordeaux so it was a pleasure to taste this recently. Although it's big and rich, it has surprisingly fresh acidity and substantial tannins as well. What makes this especially enticing is the full-bodied palate of sweet black fruit and the long finish. It's certainly nice now with aeration but will only improve with a couple additional years in the cellar.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
RP 90 WS 90

2012 Felsina "Rancia" Chianti Classico Riserva
Review Date: 05-29-2017
Felsina's "Rancia" ranks among my favorite wines. It's a truly special Chianti Riserva that in most vintages can age for decades yet remains a relative bargain. It's uniqueness is in no small part due to the fact that the more recent vines planted are Massal selections (graftings from older vines within the Rancia vineyard as opposed to nursery selections). This adds a depth and complexity to an already great Sangiovese. The 2012 drinks beautifully today with rich fruit, wonderful palate density and finish. This is its 29th vintage and it's as outstanding as ever.

2011 Sportoletti "Villa Fidelia" Umbria Rosso
Review Date: 05-29-2017
Made from predominantly Merlot with lesser amounts of Cabernet and Cabernet Franc, the Sportoletti "Villa Fidelia" is a full-bodied mouthful of flavorful black fruit with intriguing notes of minerals, leather and licorice. It's not often we come across Bordeaux style blends this good at this price, so we took full advantage of the offer and hope you'll do the same. Simply outstanding.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JS 93 RP 92

2011 Proprietà Sperino Lessona
Review Date: 05-24-2017
The wines of Lessona normally express a more elegant and aromatic side of Nebbiolo yet possess the ability to age for decades in the best of vintages. 2011 was a departure from the norm as vegetation occurred far earlier than anticipated and the temperatures were unseasonably warm during the summer months. As a result, the Sperino Lessona is ripe and rich with slightly lower acidity than usual making it a bit atypical as it's approachable now. The fruit is flavor-packed and mouth-filling with nicely placed French oak that rounds it out. Although it's delicious now it will definitely cellar well.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart
WE 96

2015 L'Enclave Nord "La Souco" Côtes du Rhône-Villages Visan
Review Date: 05-09-2017
This is one of the most recent of our direct import Rhone values to hit the shelves and it's gone virtually unnoticed. That being said, it's no less impressive than our other Southern French picks and we wanted to get the word out. It's a concentrated and balanced blend of 50% Grenache, 40% Syrah and 10% Mourvedre with an additional small dose of tannins in the mix.I love red and black fruit flavors and subtle spicing and have enjoyed this wine on more than one occasion! Especially good with lamb, grilled meats and cheeses. Don't hesitate.
Price: Hidden View Price

2014 Le Battistelle "Roccolo del Durlo" Soave Classico
Review Date: 05-08-2017
"Roccolo del Durlo" is a picturesque vineyard comprised of very old vines planted on the hillside of an inactive volcano. The resultant wine is medium-bodied with a wonderful richness that surrounds a base of honey, apple, melon, salty minerals and solid acidity. It's a lot of wine considering its modest price and an impressive effort from a challenging vintage. Especially good with shrimp, scallops, mild fish and chicken dishes.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart

2014 Le Battistelle "Battistelle" Soave Classico
Review Date: 05-08-2017
"Le Battistelle" is the Dal Bosco's vineyard site that is composed of Volcanic soils. Although the Garganega grape is generally not very aromatic, the combination of the Basalt, long fermentation at lower temperature and frequent lees stirring gives the wine another dimension of complexity. The 2014 offers subtle yellow fruit, green melon and volcanic soil notes while round and creamy on the palate. Pair this intriguing white with light pastas and white fish.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2011 Poggiarellino Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 05-06-2017
The 2011 vintage is a gift in that so many of the Brunelli from this warmer year can be opened and enjoyed now. The Poggiarellino is bursting with bold fruit, ripe tannins and an overall freshness that make it simply irresistible. It's drinking beautifully at the moment and it remains among our best value Brunellos. Fire up the grill and open a bottle of this wonderful Sangiovese.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
JS 90

2016 Tenuta Roveglia "Limne" Lugana
Review Date: 05-01-2017
Tenuta Roveglia is the most recent addition to our Italian direct import portfolio and their wines are already turning heads. My colleague Greg St. Clair alerted me some time ago as to just how impressive Roveglia's Luganas were and he was right. Over the years I've found most Lugana to be either a bit lean or conversely more akin to oaky new world Chardonnay with few rising above. Neither is the case with Roveglia. Their "Limne" is a value priced Lugana that weds crisp acidity with flavorful honeyed fruit and is vibrant on the palate from start to finish. We were expecting this to retail closer to $20 and were astonished to find otherwise. This versatile white drinks nicely as an aperitif but will pair nicely with shellfish, white meats and lighter Asian style dishes. Impressive.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

2011 Sesta di Sopra Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 05-01-2017
When we visited the estate last year we were taken with this wine and it has only improved with time in the bottle. Considering the challenges of the 2011 vintage, the Spina Family has managed to produce a rich and robust Brunello with surprising depth and freshness while avoiding overipeness and baked fruit characteristics. And, although it will age nicely over the next several years, it's drinking wonderfully today. Sesta di Sopra is always in big demand so we encourage purchasing this one sooner than later.

2014 Falesco Vitiano Rosso
Review Date: 05-01-2017
The 2014 Vitiano garnered a well deserved thumbs-up from the Hollywood crew. It's a tremendous value red that offers more than is expected at the price. It's great as always with plenty of concentrated and juicy, ripe black fruit and plum flavors with great length on the finish. Worth stocking up on.
Price: $9.95 Add To Cart
JS 91

2015 Le Battistelle "Montesei" Soave Classico
Review Date: 04-25-2017
The "Montesei" is a real treat at such a nominal price! It begins with aromas of green apple skin and Crenshaw melon and reveals a bit of dried honey and florals as it opens. The palate is even richer with a creamy texture and a core of acidity that provides lift and length. There's a lot going on here at the price, so give this some time to open up.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2014 Villa Pillo "Borgoforte" Toscana
Review Date: 04-24-2017
The wines of Villa Pillo are always big sellers at K&L as the price/value ratio is stellar. The Borgoforte highlights Cabernet and Merlot blended with 50 percent Sangiovese and all three are apparent. The blackberry and black cherry flavors along with some surprising structure make this ideal with grilled and roasted meats. There's a lot going on at $12.99 and this is a serious Tuscan blend at the price.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
WS 91

2011 Baccinetti "La Saporoia" Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 04-24-2017
Due to the warmth of 2011, this wine is ready-to-go now (although it has enough structure to carry on for a couple more years). It's immediately inviting with loads of savory and spiced red fruit and just the right amount of acidity and ripe grippy tannins. After the first sip, I couldn't put it down! This is a terrific Brunello buy at $40 for those looking for one to open and enjoy. Classic.
Price: $24.99 Add To Waiting List
JS 91

2015 Ermacora Pinot Grigio Colli Orientali del Friuli
Review Date: 04-24-2017
Our pleasant visit with the Emacoras this past year confirmed just how good 2015 was for northern Italian white wines. Although we always enjoy Dario's Pinot Grigio, this one offers more of everything with inviting aromas of florals, pear and peach and a broad palate of delicious red fruit and minerals with plenty of fresh acidity as well. It's great on its own and ideal at the table.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$12.99

2012 Agostino Bosco "La Serra" Barolo
Review Date: 04-24-2017
If you are in the market for an outstanding Barolo that can be enjoyed now and also cellar well for the next few years, this one is ideal. The Agostino Bosco "La Serra" is flavorful and lively with loads of juicy cherry fruit and a fine spine of ripe tannins and solid acidity. It also boasts the classic Barolo aromas of tar, roses, dried florals and earth. Thanks to their thoughtful winemaking and aging, the oak takes a back seat allowing the fruit to truly shine. Don't miss out.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart
JS 94 VN 91

2015 Tornatore "Pietrarizzo" Etna Bianco
Review Date: 04-24-2017
This exciting new arrival has landed at just the right time as we've had a lot of requests for Mt Etna whites of late. A sleeper pick for sure, it opens with subtle aromas of citrus, peach and spices and a round and creamy palate with mild, fresh acidity and hints of saline and minerals on the finish. A perfect wine to pair with shellfish, seafood dishes and vegetables.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JS 93 WE 91

2014 Tornatore "Pietrarizzo" Etna Rosso
Review Date: 04-24-2017
We're more than convinced about Mt Etna and the increasing number of world class wines emerging from the region but have found it challenging to source quality reds at or below the $20 mark. Hence, our delight at being able to offer the Tornatore Rosso. Although it's light on its feet, it possesses no shortage of flavor-packed spiced red fruits lifted by just the right touch of acidity. Pleasant hints of volcanic minerals and dried herbs only enhance it. Open it with a slight chill and enjoy it at the dinner table.

2015 Tenuta Carretta Gavi
Review Date: 04-24-2017
Gavi is one of the more popular wines within our Italian section for its crispness and versatility. Carretta's is bright and refreshing with delicious green apple and lemon flavors and mouthwatering acidity. It's wonderful as an aperitif and ideal with light appetizers, fish and white meat dishes.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2013 Le Filigare "Lorenzo" Chianti Classico
Review Date: 04-22-2017
Le Filigare is definitely among the cream of the crop in Chianti and the 2013 "Lorenzo" reminds us why. It offers complexity, depth, rich fruit, balanced acidity, fine integrated tannins and freshness to boot. It's delicious from start to finish with just a hint of new oak that never intrudes. The "Lorenzo" is one of the best Chiantis I've tasted in some time.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
JS 93

2012 Castellare di Castellina "I Sodi di San Niccolò" Toscana
Review Date: 04-03-2017
"I Sodi" is one of the jewels of Tuscany and among the finest examples of Sangiovese in the region. In most vintages this wine requires some cellaring to allow it to soften and round out yet the 2012 is showing beautifully now. It's soft, supple and captures an elegant and nuanced side of Sangiovese with just the right balance of acidity. Winemaker Alessandro Cellai assured us we'd love it and he was right. We think you'll find it enchanting as well.

2014 Baccinetti "La Saporoia" Rosso di Montalcino
Review Date: 04-02-2017
Affordable, drinkable, well made Sangiovese is always in demand and this one hits the spot. It's both fragrant and flavorful with a juicy texture and mild acidity that make it ideal to drink now. Baccinetti adapts well to every vintage which is why the "Catzilla" Rosso remains a staff and customer favorite.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2015 Villa Pillo "Cingalino" Toscana Rosso
Review Date: 03-31-2017
"Cingalino" is a blend of 65 percent Merlot and 35 percent Cabernet Franc that represents Villa Pillo's effort to blend French varietals without compromising their unique Tuscan characters. It showcases pure and lively dark cherry and strawberry flavors and delivers wonderful weight, persistence and finish. It's a classic Tuscan at a phenomenal price.
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart
JS 91

2014 Rivella Langhe Nebbiolo
Review Date: 03-31-2017
Due to the continued increase in demand for Nebbiolo and to our own love of it, we've been anxiously awaiting the arrival of Guido Rivella's latest. His blend of 90 percent Nebbiolo and 10 percent Barbera hits just the right notes with its fragrant array of red cherries, florals and earth and a soft, bright palate. It's ready-to-drink now and delivers a taste of Barbaresco at an affordable price.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2014 Farnetella Chianti Colli Senesi
Review Date: 03-29-2017
With the tremendous demand for the previous vintage of this Chianti and the recent popularity of their "Lucilla" blend, many have been asking when this one would arrive. Well, it's back and it's delicious. The wine is soft, juicy and medium-bodied with flavorful cherry fruit and mild acidity. I find this wine to be both generous and inviting and perfect to drink now. It also reminds me of the great, inexpensive Chianti so many of our customers discover on their journeys through Tuscany but can't seem to find here.
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart
JS 90

2014 Antica Masseria di Sigillo Primitivo di Manduria
Review Date: 03-27-2017
We receive numerous requests for Primitivo but in our attempt to source excellent, value priced ones the options have been few. Thankfully the 2014 Antica Masseria not only delivers but offers a California style ripeness combined with rich baked fruit flavors. It's a concentrated blend of sun soaked black cherry and mulberry flavors with additional hints of mocha throughout. This one's for those who love big, mouth-filling Zins and riper style fruit-driven wines. Fire up the grill and bring on the BBQ.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart
WS 90

2014 Remo Farina Valpolicella Superiore Ripasso
Review Date: 03-27-2017
Claudio Farina's wines have always stressed elegance and purity and this latest release doesn't disappoint. Pure spiced cherry fruit and pleasant cedar aromas translate much the same on the palate where the wine delivers bold flavors with a hint of raisins on the finish. Considering the quality and price of this outstanding Ripasso, it certainly over-delivers.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2013 Vasse Felix Cabernet Sauvignon Margaret River Western Australia
Review Date: 03-20-2017
Vasse Felix has a long history in Margaret River and their Cabernet is consistently one of the better red wine values within the region. Under the direction of winemaker Virginia Willcock, the Cabernet is a tad more opulent and approachable in its youth yet manages to retain its depth, structure and longevity. It's a very solid pick for Cabernet lovers and a definite choice for anyone looking to try Australian Cabernet for the first time.

2015 Ronco Blanchis Sauvignon Blanc Collio
Review Date: 03-14-2017
Ronco Blanchis produces very fine Sauvignon Blanc and the 2015 is especially noteworthy. It's rich and round yet juxtaposed by crisp acidity and a vibrant finish. Subtle floral, citrus and minerals make this a more refined Sauvignon in contrast to the more aggressive styles showcasing gooseberry and green characters. We love this versatile white especially with appetizers, cured meats and seafood.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart
JS 91

2015 Ronco Blanchis Pinot Grigio Collio
Review Date: 03-14-2017
A wine of this quality and pedigree from Italy's Collio region is normally several dollars higher in price so we're doubly delighted to offer this top tier Pinot Grigio at $15. Because it's from Collio, you'll notice a bit more complexity, weight and texture than is normally found in most Pinot Grigios and it continues to impress our customers. Although it's wonderful as a starter wine, don't hesitate to pair it with fish, soups, poultry and egg dishes.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
JS 92

2011 Michele Chiarlo "Tortoniano" Barolo
Review Date: 03-13-2017
Chiarlo has remained among the more classic style producers and their 2011 Barolo really showcases Nebbiolo in its purest form. Scents of minerals, red fruits, cedar and florals spring from the glass and it's very expressive and drinkable now as well, thanks to the warmer temperatures in this vintage. Those looking for an excellent, well-priced Barolo that can be opened now or cellared for a few years will love this one.

2012 Pio Cesare Barolo
Review Date: 03-13-2017
Our wine producer friends throughout Piemonte are truly dedicated and hard working but few have toiled more than Pio Boffa of Pio Cesare and his 2012 Barolo is a testament to that. The vintage was a challenging one yet he managed to produce an impressive wine bursting with richness and personality. This is a Barolo that requires little cellaring and is wonderful to drink now. The fruit is concentrated, the tannins ripe and the acidity relatively mild and the wine is a delight.

2015 Cascina Val del Prete "Luèt" Arneis Roero
Review Date: 03-13-2017
Not only is this a top tier Arneis but also it's certified organic as well as biodynamic. It's one of the more complex Arneis' we've encountered thanks to some serious farming and extended lees contact in the winery. It offers a wonderful array of florals, subtle orchard fruits and saline and crisp acidity that carries it to a refreshing finish. There's a bit more texture and complexity to this wine than we expected and we think you'll agree. Pair with fish, chicken, eggs and vegetables.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

Page: 1 2 next