Staff Favorites - John Downing

John Downing

Reviews

  
Page: 1 2 next
2015 Erik Banti Morellino di Scansano
Review Date: 12-06-2016
While the Carato draws the most attention of the Banti wines, the 2015 Morellino should not be overlooked. Thanks to the ideal weather in 2015, this wine is fuller and richer than previous releases and it's one of our everyday go-to reds. Banti's Morellino is a blend of mostly Sangiovese with lesser amounts of Alicante and Merlot and if you're thinking of cooking up meat or Italian fare on a week night, there's plenty of stuffing in this impressive value red.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

2012 Erik Banti "Carato" Toscana
Review Date: 12-05-2016
Banti's "Carato" is definitely one of our best buy Italian reds and the 2012 is a winner! There's a bit more Syrah in this blend which adds an additional layer of spiciness to an already outstanding wine. At $8.99 it's a steal.
Price: $8.99 Add To Cart

2010 Ruffino "Greppone Mazzi" Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 12-05-2016
I have to second my colleague Greg's notes on this wine as it was the best I've had from this estate and was a pleasant surprise at our recent staff tasting. This classic Brunello is traditional in style with ample concentration and depth and rolls across the palate with plenty of fruit on the finish along with a nice touch of acidity. Earthy and savory qualities add an extra dimension to this wonderful Brunello.

2014 Baricci Rosso di Montalcino
Review Date: 11-28-2016
Although the price of Rosso di Montalcino has risen the past several years, we're pleased to offer a number of excellent ones at phenomenal price points via our direct import program. Baricci is always at the top of my list as it's such a pure expression of Sangiovese that offers immediate drinking. Their 2014 is a definite triumph in a difficult vintage as it's brimming with vibrant fruit, ripe tannins and just the right touch of acidity. It's already flying out the door so be sure and purchase a few bottles before it's gone.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2011 Castiglion del Bosco Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 11-28-2016
This Brunello never seems to spend much time on our sales floor as it has been a long-time favorite of our customers. The 2011 shows why some have called this the drinking vintage as the wines tend to be softer and much more ready to open as is the case with Castiglion del Bosco. Not that this one won't hold in the cellar for a couple of years, but we like it so much now and think you'll agree.

2011 La Fortuna Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 11-28-2016
La Fortuna produced an outstanding value Brunello in 2011 that's perfect to drink now. It's immediately inviting and bursting with aromas of plum, cherry, cedar and a hint of oak spicing. Spiced red fruits abound on the palate and make this delicious from start to finish.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
JS 90 RP 90

2011 Baricci Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 11-14-2016
When I arrived at Baricci during my travels this past Spring, I put the notebook aside. This estate is known for their consistency and excellence and the wines did not disappoint. I was especially taken with this outstanding Brunello. Although faced with the challenge of a short yet unexpected heat wave in mid-August, Baricci managed to produce an impressive 2011. It's brimming with spiced cherry and berry fruit with earthy nuances and solid acidity to boot. There's plenty of stuffing and though it may live in the shadow of the 2010 vintage, it drinks beautifully now and won't require extended cellaring like the aforementioned. Don't miss out on this annual favorite.

2015 Giuliano "Terre di Chieti" Pecorino
Review Date: 11-14-2016
Although I'm rarely a fan of Pecorino, there are a few exceptions and Giuliano is among them. I love the expressive scents of lemon, lime skin and jasmine flowers as well as the textured and full-flavored palate that this wine offers. And, a nice core of acidity provides a crisp and refreshing finish. If you haven't tried Pecorino, now's the time!
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2015 Torti Pinot Nero Bianco Oltrepo Pavese
Review Date: 11-14-2016
When I first put my nose to the glass I thought this was surely a red wine but to my surprise it was a white Pinot Noir. While the nose is pure red fruit the palate offers a delicious, medium-bodied combo of cherry, honey and hazelnut. I'm looking forward to sharing this wine with my family on Thanksgiving day.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2015 Silvano Follador Prosecco Brut Nature
Review Date: 11-14-2016
There's Prosecco and then there's Follador. Silvano Follador is a perfectionist in the best sense and his wine certainly reflects his unflinching commitment to crafting the best possible wine from his Glera vineyards. I share my colleague's sentiments that his Prosecco is simply the finest made and his 2015 is vibrant and bright with surprising complexity and depth. Whether poured as an aperitif or featured at the dinner table, this wonderful sparkler is sure to impress.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2012 Fratelli Barale "Serraboella" Barbaresco
Review Date: 11-08-2016
All of the Barale wines showed exceptionally well during our tasting at the winery but the 2012 Barbaresco was definitely one of the highlights for me. Expressive aromas of spiced red fruits, minerals and dried florals open to a flavorful, medium-bodied palate with a fine layer of ripe tannins and a lingering finish. This is without doubt a phenomenal value Barbaresco that drinks nicely now and will continue to develop over the next 5-7 years.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
WE 92

2014 Fratelli Barale Langhe Nebbiolo
Review Date: 11-07-2016
When our first shipment of Barale Nebbiolo arrived in California earlier this year, it sold out quickly. Since the demand for affordable Nebbiolo has risen exponentially, we're pleased to make this wine available and in good supply. Barale's 2014 is immediately appealing with bright, primary red fruit flavors, moderate acidity and drinking perfectly now. Open this with meats, stews, pastas and cheeses.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2015 Fratelli Barale Langhe Chardonnay
Review Date: 11-07-2016
Barale produces two separate Chardonnay bottlings from their Monforte property and while their slightly pricier Sergio Barale Chardonnay is aged in Tonneaux, this one rests entirely in stainless steel tanks. This has always been among my favorite Langhe Chardonnays not only because of its price point but also for its impressive fruit quality and overall freshness. The 2015 offers scents of both apple and pear with just a hint of tropical fruit on the palate and solid acidity provides just the right amount of zip. This wonderful wine packs enough flavor to entice a California Chardonnay fan looking to branch out yet will satisfy one who craves unoaked whites.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2012 Fratelli Barale Barolo
Review Date: 11-07-2016
As an ever increasing number of our customers are asking for and discovering Nebbiolo, we're happy to be answering with the Barale Barolo. Due to the rainy weather in 2012, this Barolo is more elegant and approachable in its youth and is an ideal option for someone wishing to try well made Nebbiolo for the first time or for Barolo fans in search of tremendous value. It's juicy and finely textured with sweet red fruits and ripe tannins across the palate. Outstanding value.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
VN 91

2015 Fratelli Barale "Castle" Barbera d'Alba
Review Date: 11-07-2016
Barale's 2015 Barbera is certainly more opulent than most vintages with rich, concentrated fruit and plenty of acidity to back it up. Waves of delicious berry fruit will keep you coming back for more and make this surprisingly good wine an irresistible daily table red. Barbera is one of the more versatile food wines so we urge you to pick up a bottle or two of this wonderful new arrival.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2013 Sportoletti Assisi Rosso
Review Date: 11-06-2016
When we first tasted this we thought it was a much pricier wine as it certainly over delivers. Made from fifty percent Sangiovese along with Merlot and Cabernet, the Sportoletti Rosso showcases fragrant red berry fruits along with hints of earth and leather reminiscent of Bordeaux. It drinks perfectly now and we're picking up some for our own cellars. Whether you're an Italian wine fan or searching for exceptional values from the old world, this outstanding red is certain to please.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

2015 Antinori San Giovanni Orvieto
Review Date: 11-06-2016
While traveling through Umbria this past May we tasted a surprising number of good wines but this one certainly made a lasting impression upon us. By combining Pinot Bianco and Viognier with traditional Orvieto grapes, the Antinori family has crafted a very special wine. Pleasant aromas of lemon oil, minerals and honey are followed by a medium-bodied palate of rich honied fruit. There's a touch of sweetness as well which makes this perfect as an aperitif. However, the wine is also delicious with shrimp, scallops, white fishes, vegetable dishes and lighter fare.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2012 Villa Antinori Chianti Classico Riserva
Review Date: 11-06-2016
After a long absence from our sales floors, the Villa Antinori Chianti Riserva is back in stock. This iconic label remains one of the benchmark wines for Antinori and we love the 2012. Made from ninety percent Sangiovese and ten percent Cabernet, it boasts a seamless palate of red and black fruit flavors with ample underlying acidity and plenty of length. It's a bit shy when first opened but fleshes out perfectly with proper aeration and there's nothing out of place. Simply delicious.

2013 Leone de Castris Salice Salentino Riserva
Review Date: 11-06-2016
When it comes to outstanding red wines from Puglia with excellent value/price ratio, Leone de Castris Salice Salentino Riserva remains at the top of our list. Their 2013 (50th Anniversary bottling) has just landed and it's as good as ever. Wonderful aromas of blackberry, black cherry, dark plum and dried spices are complemented by a seamless and richly fruited palate. Additionally, the winery manages to avoid the overripe, baked fruit qualities found in so many of the wines from Puglia making this especially great. A wonderful table red that shines with meats and cheeses.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
RP 90

2012 Felsina Chianti Classico Riserva
Review Date: 10-30-2016
After tasting Felsina's 2012 Chianti Riserva, I was immediately reminded why this winery remains one of the jewels of Tuscany as their latest release definitely outclasses so many from the more challenging 2012 vintage. Although it's a bit restrained at the moment, there's plenty of fruit richness and overall stuffing for the wine to be enjoyed today with a bit of aeration or allowed to develop in the cellar. Terrific Chianti!

2015 Château de Montfaucon "Comtesse Madeleine" Lirac Blanc
Review Date: 10-25-2016
I find this wine distinctive in every vintage, and as good as this 2015 is now, I expect it will only improve with a bit more time in the bottle. It's not only aromatic but also complex and textural on the palate, with a lively citrus finish. Although I'm not the biggest fan of Southern Rhone white wines, this remains a reference point for me.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart
WS 90

2014 Château de Montfaucon Clairette "Vin de Mme la Comtesse" Côtes du Rhône Vieilles Vignes Blanc
Review Date: 10-25-2016
This regal white offers an unexpected level of refinement and complexity that we expect from pricier wines of the region. It boasts a wonderful combination of citrus and stone fruit with an overall intensity that lends itself to a variety of foods. Open this with fish, white meats, egg and vegetable dishes.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
WS 91

2014 Château de Montfaucon Lirac
Review Date: 10-25-2016
The Lirac is spicier and earthier than the Cotes du Rhone, with a core of peppery raspberry fruit that's a bit weightier and denser, as well. This is simply a steal at $14.99, and we expect it to sell quickly.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2015 Fratelli Barale "Le Rose" Dolcetto d'Alba
Review Date: 10-24-2016
During our memorable visit with the Barale family this past May, we made an extra effort to secure as much of their outstanding Dolcetto as possible. It's not just that we love it so much but also that we couldn't keep the previous vintage in stock. Their 2015 is exceptional with its combination of rich, opulent berry fruit and overall freshness and length at an unbeatable price. It's sure to go quickly so don't wait on this one.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2012 Murgo Brut Rosé Spumante Sicily
Review Date: 10-24-2016
While I've long enjoyed the Murgo Rose, I think this is without doubt their best to date. Made with one hundred percent Nerello Mascalese grapes harvested from their high altitude vineyards on Mt Etna, it offers a base of mineral and volcanic rock notes in combination with delicious spiced cherry fruit and a hint of orange citrus on the finish. It's bright, creamy and persistent and the price makes it irresistible. Rosé lovers will especially enjoy this.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
VN 92 W&S 90

2013 Torti Pinot Noir IGP Pavia
Review Date: 10-24-2016
I met the charming Patrizia Torti years ago, so it was a pleasant surprise when her wines arrived at our cellar door this past week. Thanks to our Italian guru, Greg St. Clair, we have a trio of goodness from Torti, beginning with this terrific Pinot Noir. It's round and possesses ideal weight, texture and balance without being jammy or overripe. The spiced cherry fruit alone will keep you coming back for more. This is one of the best Pinot Noir values going, and we couldn't believe it was from Italy.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2014 Caravaglio "Nero du Munti" Corinto Nero Sicily
Review Date: 10-24-2016
This one caught me off guard, as I wasn't anticipating tasting such an impressive red from the island of Lipari, located off the coast of Sicily. Over 80 percent of Caravaglio's Corinto vines are at least 150 years old, as the volcanic soils prevent vine disease and the maritime winds keep the vines healthy. This rich and deeply flavored red boasts waves of plum and dark berry fruit, exotic spices and mild ripe tannins that round it out. It's a lot of wine for the price and a rare treat from one of the world's unspoiled isles.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
VN 90

2015 Mustilli Piedirosso Sannio
Review Date: 10-24-2016
While Aglianico garners most of the attention when it comes to the red wines of Campania, Piedirosso definitely takes a back seat. Mustilli, however, produces one of the best and we are pleased to offer this wine. Aromas of black fruit, lavender and volcanic soil flow from the glass followed by a delicious mix of red plum and blackberry fruit. A fine acidic spine at the core keeps this wine lively from start to finish. This is an intriguing red from Campania that's definitely worth seeking out. All of the Mustilli wines are organic and fermented with indigenous yeasts so those looking for organic wines will definitely want to pick up a bottle or two.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
VN 90

2015 Treves Petite Arvine Val d'Aosta
Review Date: 10-14-2016
Valle d'Aosta is one of lesser known Italian regions here in the US so we're always excited to offer exceptional wines from this zone. Bordering both France and Switzerland in the Northwest corner of Italy, this narrow Alpine valley is lined with vineyards. The Treves Family has just released this impressive and very aromatic white wine that highlights distinctive alpine minerals, ripe pear and lemon on both nose and palate. Texturally it's smooth, elegant and mouth-filling with a long, lemon fruit finish. A very fine Italian white wine.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart
JS 93

2013 Marangona Lugana 'Tre Campane'
Review Date: 09-27-2016
In my opinion, Marangona offers one of the truest expressions of Lugana and I couldn't be more pleased that we are able to offer it as one of our Italian selections. Winemaker and owner Alessandro Cutolo employs modern techniques while striving for a classic and memorable wine. His "Tre Campane" is made with grapes picked from 30 year old vines on three different sections of his vineyards. The clay and limestone soils yield grapes rich in both flavor and mineral and the result is this wonderful white. It's pleasantly aromatic with notes of florals, apples, citrus and almond and while it's initially round and concentrated, Tre Campane finishes with lots of crisp, mineral-driven fruit. Since we're not often in the Lake Garda area where this wine is produced, we'll have to settle for this world-class wine!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
WE 92

2014 Ferrero Rosso di Montalcino
Review Date: 09-27-2016
This is always one of our best selling Rosso di Montalcinos and it is one of the few available at this outstanding price point. We received a good number of negative generalizations about the 2014 vintage prior to our Italian travels in May yet our tastings told a different story. The majority were terrific as was the case with this one. Ferrero's 2014 Rosso offers up a fragrant bouquet of plum and cherry with pleasant notes of flint and smoke along with a smooth, fleshy palate of high toned berry fruit. Open this one with food and enjoy.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2013 Ferrero Rosso di Toscana
Review Date: 09-27-2016
Ferrero's wines continue to improve with each successive vintage and their 2013 Rosso IGT certainly caught our attention when we visited their estate this past May. It's not only impressive for its concentration and freshness, but also for its unexpected depth of flavor for a Super Tuscan under $20. For those ready to venture from the new world to the old world, this is a great place to start.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2013 Pietracupa Greco di Tufo
Review Date: 09-26-2016
Greco di Tufo is one of Campania's best known and most important white grapes and Sabino Loffredo of Pietracupa produces one of its greatest expressions. His Greco is structured and long-lived and although he prefers it with several years of age, it is certainly wonderful to drink upon release. An expressive and defined nose of pear, citrus and mineral are complemented by a crisp palate of mineral-driven fruit that pairs especially well with seafood, chicken, vegetables and lighter pastas. For those who love white wine and who've not yet tried Greco di Tufo, prepare to be impressed.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart
RP 90 VN 90

2012 Cantina Terlan "Porphyr" Lagrein Riserva
Review Date: 09-13-2016
Porphyr refers to the type of bedrock the vines are planted upon near the town of Bolzano in Italy's Alto Adige region and it is also the name of one of the finer Lagreins produced. The fruit is harvested from vines nearly 100 years old and vinified and aged in French barriques. Porphyr is a concentrated wine with distinct aromas of morello cherries, dark berries, coffee, licorice and tea and mouth-filling flavors of chocolaty dark berries with rounded tannins and great length. This very special wine is ideal with beef, game and meat based dishes.
Price: $46.99 Add To Cart
VN 94 WS 90

2015 Bisson "U Pastine" Bianchetta Genovese Golfo del Tigullio
Review Date: 09-13-2016
Pierluigi Lugano has toiled for decades to cultivate the native grapes of Liguria as well as preserve the winegrowing traditions of the region. In addition to producing outstanding Vermentino and Pigato, he is leading the way to prove the viability of the lesser know Bianchetta Genovese, grown only in Liguria. This intriguing white wine highlights subtle citrus and vibrant minerality and contrasts itself from the better known wines of the zones. This is a perennial favorite that is especially good with lighter seafood and vegetable dishes.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2011 Gulfi "Nerojbleo" Sicilia
Review Date: 09-13-2016
I once asked the owner of Gulfi why his Nero d'Avola "Nerojbleo" is so much richer, darker and fuller bodied than most I've tried and he explained that their inland Chiaramonte vineyards yield wines of this style as opposed to the more typical brighter, lighter red fruited Neros. It's the reason our customers love this so much and continue to buy it year after year. Due to the warm weather in 2011, this wine is a bit bigger shouldered than usual with loads of concentrated dark plum, black and red berry fruit flavors accented by notes of spice and earth. This is an impressive Sicilian red that will stand up to heartier dishes.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
VN 90

2012 Domaine Le Colombier "Cuvée G" Vacqueyras
Review Date: 09-12-2016
Had I not known this was Vacqueras, I would have thought it was a well made Chateauneuf-du-Pape. In contrast to the more classically framed 2011, the fruit here is more immediate and exuberant. This full-bodied Rhone offers tremendous concentrated black and red fruit with subtle notes of pepper, deli meat spicing and licorice and a very long finish. This is a lot of wine at $25 and Rhone red fans will certainly want to pick up a bottle or two before it sells out.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
RP 93

2015 Cicada by Chante Cigale Méditerranée
Review Date: 09-12-2016
Cicada has been a big hit with our Hollywood customers for the past few years but the 2015 is definitely their best to-date. It over delivers at the price with loads of spicy Grenache goodness and a smaller percentage of Carignan that only adds to its surprising richness. Try this versatile red with a wine variety of meats, pastas, stews, red sauced dishes and cheeses.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2013 Cantele Salice Salentino Riserva
Review Date: 09-12-2016
Although Puglia has been one of Italy's largest zones for the cultivation of grapes, it's only recently become known for quality wine production. Cantele has been at the forefront of this movement and when we recently tasted their 2013 Salice Salentino Riserva, it was met with a unanimous thumbs up from our staff! This red is brimming with fragrant dark plum, raspberry, dried herbs, tea and spice while offering delicious fruit, mild tannins and overall freshness throughout. This is the ideal Italian table red and the $10 price tag makes it irresistible.
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart
RP 90

2009 Domaine de la Jaufrette Gigondas
Review Date: 08-29-2016
Like their Cotes du Rhone, this is a classic Southern Rhone that we highly recommend. The Gigondas showcases a complex array of raspberry, cherry, leather, tea and a hint of licorice on both nose and palate with Grenache taking center stage. It's juicy and flavorful with pleasant grippy tannins on a long finish. This truly lights up with richer dishes. Outstanding!
Price: Hidden View Price

2010 Domaine de la Jaufrette Côtes-du-Rhone
Review Date: 08-29-2016
Cotes du Rhone reds of this style are few these days as many emphasize riper fruit characteristics and elevated alcohol levels. That's not to say they aren't wonderful (we love them) but we miss the availability of wines like this one from Jaufrette. Their 2010 is more old guard with complex scents of black fruit, black olive, pepper, earth, deli meat spicing and garrigue and a compact palate with moderate tannins and plenty of concentrated black fruit. Give this one plenty of time to aerate and pair with lamb, stews, cheeses and heartier fare.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2014 Clos de la Bonnette "Roches d'Arbuel" Condrieu
Review Date: 08-29-2016
My colleague Keith Mabry discovered a hidden gem during his most recent sojourn in the Northern Rhone as I can attest after having tasted this stunning Condrieu. I'm rarely convinced by most Condrieu but this one is a head turner. A round and creamy palate of subtle orchard fruits envelops a core of minerality and acidity that together make this an ethereal experience. There's an overall combination of freshness, vibrancy and complexity that make this an especially compelling wine.
Price: $54.99 Add To Cart

2014 Villa Sparina Gavi
Review Date: 08-29-2016
Villa Sparina Gavi remains one of the sleeper picks within our Italian white selections and we are pleased to be able to offer it at this tremendous value price. It's a round, delicate and creamy style Gavi with just the right touch of acidity and a wonderful citrus finish that make it ideal with seafood, light pastas, white meats and vegetable dishes. Take advantage of this outstanding wine while it lasts.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart
JS 91

2015 Cantina Terlano "Terlaner Classico" White Blend Alto Adige
Review Date: 08-29-2016
We've been smitten with the wines of Cantina Terlano since their entrance into California in 1999, and are once again reminded why with the arrival of their sensational 2015 "Terlaner" Bianco. This is one of their finest in years offering signature aromas of elderflower, gooseberry, citrus and mineral and a medium-bodied palate of exceptional fruit and incredible acidity that carries it to a very long, mineral-driven finish. In my opinion, Terlano consistently makes some of Italy's finest white wines and this one exceeds expectations.
Price: $21.95 Add To Cart
VN 91 RP 90

2014 Benanti Etna Rosso
Review Date: 08-16-2016
Benanti's Rosso is the perfect introduction to Etna reds. While it's vibrant, juicy and immediately drinkable, there's a deceptive complexity for a wine at this price. Wonderful flavors of cherry, red plum and spice are enhanced by fine grippy tannins, smoky mineral notes from the volcanic soils and just the right amount of acidity. Here's a versatile and intriguing red from Sicily that's definitely worth seeking out.
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart
WE 94

2011 Bersano "Nirvasco" Barolo
Review Date: 08-16-2016
Although Bersano is located in the heart of the Asti zone where Barbera is famous, they also have vineyards in Barolo. Their 2011 Nirvasco has just arrived and it's a wonderful value Barolo for sure. It's made in a more traditional fashion (as it's aged entirely in large casks) and offers classic aromas of red cherries, licorice and minerals while fresh, medium-bodied and elegant on the palate. Enjoy this with cheeses, pastas and meats.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
WE 92

2015 Tormaresca "Calafuria" Salento Rosato
Review Date: 08-15-2016
Antinori has been on a roll lately with the release of some terrific wines. They appear to have stepped up their game as we've been continually impressed with the increased level of quality of their wines across the board. Considering the overwhelming success of the "Neprica," we aren't surprised with how good this Rose is and we're pleased to offer it as part of our summer rosé campaign. It combines delicious red fruit and crisp acidity with a medium-bodied palate and it's a wonderful alternative to the always great French rosés on our sales floor.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2012 Cantine di Ora "Amicone" Rosso Veneto
Review Date: 08-15-2016
"Amicone" is made from 100% Corvina, the primary grape of Valpolicella and Amarone. This value priced powerhouse is bursting with fragrant aromas of violets, spiced plums and blueberries and a rich mouthful of lush dark plum fruit and moderate acidity. Although it's quite good on its own, it's a terrific table red that will accompany a wide variety of foods.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2014 Neyers "Left Bank Red" Napa Valley Red Blend
Review Date: 07-27-2016
Neyers has really knocked it out of the park with the release of this outstanding red. It is without doubt one of the best Napa blends I've tasted in this price range for some time. "Left Bank" is lush and dense with loads of mouth-coating black currant fruit, fine ripe tannins and an overall complexity that satisfies from start to finish. Take this one to the next dinner party and pick up a couple of bottles for yourself as well.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
WS 92

2011 Bava "Pianoalto" Barbera d'Asti Nizza Superiore
Review Date: 07-27-2016
Although I generally prefer Barbera aged in steel tanks or used wood barrels or casks, Roberto Bava convinced me otherwise during our recent visit to his estate in Piemonte. He was kind enough to open a bottle of Pianalto 1998 and we did a double-take. It's still fruit-rich with vibrant acidity and deftly integrated oak from new barrels used in the aging process. We not only had a snapshot of just how good this latest Pianalto will age but also how fantastic it is today after re-tasting it. World class Barbera.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
DC 90

Page: 1 2 next