Staff Favorites - Ryan Woodhouse

Ryan Woodhouse

Reviews

  
Page: 1 2 3 4 next
2010 Hopes Grove "Silver Lining" Syrah Hawke's Bay
Review Date: 08-22-2015
I love it when things work out...several years ago I sought out Pieter Koopman (owner/winemaker) at Hopes Grove after stumbling across his tiny little property researching online. I tasted the wines, including this specific bottle, and visited his tiny parcel of vines perched on limestone hillside in Hawke's Bay. I knew he had something special. We kept in touch as his plans to send some wines to the USA developed. Now, here were are, many months down the line and I am super excited to be offering this wonderful Syrah that has since been showered in praise by the world's top wine critics. The wine has an explosive nose of deep, wild berry fruits, black and red fruit all intermingle, exotic spices, perfumed floral tones and cracked black pepper corns. The palate has a lovely combination of soft, ripe supple fruit, vibrant acidity and fine tannins. Medium plus bodied, silky and flowing. All the flavors described above are perfectly delineated on the palate and linger long on the finish. Really beautiful wine that highlights Hawke's Bay potential for this incredible yet often over looked varietal. Syrah lovers should not miss this wine. 70 yes 7-0...total cases made of this reserve level bottling.
Drink from 2015 to 2015

2000 Arran 15 Year Old K&L Exclusive Single Sherry Cask Single Malt Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 08-10-2015
We are super lucky here at K&L...we get to taste / drink a ton of great booze. We sip Port Ellen 30, single casks of Glenfarclas from the '60s and Johnnie's George V...but if I'm completely honest with you, several of the most impressive bottles I have tasted in my time at K&L have come from Arran. I don't know what it is about these whiskies but they just resonates with me. They seem to have such great concentration of flavor, richness, texture and length. The malts have freshness, spicy, honeyed yellow fruits, toasted grains, lovely sherry derived cake spices and rancio tones. It's rich, supple and satisfying but also refined and graceful. Pretty magic stuff at any price point, and at this price...crazy good. If you've skipped over Arran before for its more famous Islay neighbors, you should really give this a try.
Price: $129.99 Add To Waiting List

2004 Malescasse, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 08-05-2015
I must admit that property can sometimes be a little too "rustic" for my tastes...but this 2004 is showing beautifully right now. Very traditional, elegant, supple, creamy fruit texture, nice development, silky tannins and well-integrated acidity. A excellent value given the wine's age, and lovely secondary qualities. Clyde picked a sleeper here.
Top Value!
Price: $18.99 Add To Waiting List

2010 D'Archambeau, Graves
Review Date: 08-05-2015
Lovely value in 2010 Bordeaux. Ripe red fruits, sweet leather, spice. Generous and approachable with good acidity and 5+ year potential.
Top Value!
Price: $12.99 Add To Waiting List

2009 Reserve de la Comtesse Lalande, Pauillac
Review Date: 08-05-2015
A classic rendition of Pauillac in a great vintage. Blue/black fruit, cedary oak, pencil shavings, cigar box. Lovely weight without too much extraction, pure, vibrant acidity, firm but fine tannins. Accessible now (hasn't tightened up like many 2009s), but certainly has 15+ years ahead. Really classic stuff super affordable thanks to the exchange rate really working for us!
Drink from 2020 to 2020
Price: $49.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 91 WS 91

2014 Reynon Sauvignon Blanc, Bordeaux
Review Date: 08-05-2015
Snappy, racy, bone dry white Bordeaux. This one is all about pithy citrus fruit, stony minerals and white florals. Crisp and refreshing, a great summer aperitif or shellfish wine. Excellent value for money.
Price: $12.99 Add To Waiting List
AG 88 - 90

2012 Trébiac, Graves
Review Date: 08-05-2015
Exceptional value. Juicy, easy drinking, tank raised style. Fresh, blue / black fruits, easy, soft and elegant.
Top Value!
Price: $10.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 John Duval "Eligo" Shiraz Barossa Valley South Australia
Review Date: 08-04-2015
One of Barossa's most iconic wines. This is the best-of-the-best Shiraz, from one of the best winemakers in Australian history, from some of the best vineyards in the Barossa and Eden Valleys, in the best vintage for many many years. That's a lot of BESTS! A wine of immense power, richness and concentration but also grace, purity and balance. Accessible now but also built for longevity. The BEST of both worlds!
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $79.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 97 JS 93

2013 Felton Road "Calvert" Pinot Noir Central Otago (Biodynamic)
Review Date: 08-04-2015
Always the most compact, dense and brooding of Felton's single vineyards bottlings. Tightly wound, powerful, structured and built for the long haul. Having said this, the 2013 is one of the more accessible young "Calvert" bottlings I have had to date and it showed that way even when tasting from barrel in 2014. The wine really shows the purity and pedigree of what has been described at NZ first Pinot Noir Grand Cru site.
Drink from 2015 to 2015

2013 Felton Road "Bannockburn" Pinot Noir Central Otago (Biodynamic)
Review Date: 08-04-2015
Very interesting that multiple critics scored this bottling from Felton Rd higher than the single vineyard wines it is composed from. This is a true reflection of what Mike and Blair mean when they say..."we don't do anything different in making the single vineyards than the Bannockburn" and also a great example of the fact that sometimes the whole is greater than the sum of its parts. I personally love the single vineyards for their unique and consistent expression of the vineyard sites and representation of meso climates even within a sub-region, however I can see how the Bannockburn bottle is more immediately accessible and gratifying. The 2013 is quite forward, deep, dusty, dark red fruits, wild thyme, warm earth, toasted exotic spices. Great palate weight and ripe tannins. As with many of the Felton wines, and probably representative of their terroir, I love the supple mouth feel from the heavy silts and clays of Bannockburn, underpinned by the more compact layered finish of the underlying schist, a great combination of accessibility and softness combined with focus and drive on the back. Since we do great business with Felton Road every year, we have seriously competitive pricing on this wine.
Drink from 2015 to 2015

2011 Sons of Eden "Kennedy" GSM Barossa Valley
Review Date: 08-04-2015
The answer to many critics and even some winemakers who have written off the 2011 vintage in South Australia. The vintage was one of the coldest and wettest on record with weather more like Seattle than Adelaide! However Simon and Corey have crafted a wine that is a shinning representation their grape growing / wine making skills and the ability of Barossa to produce incredibly delicious wines that are fresh, vibrant and a million miles away stylistically from the jammy, sweet fruit bombs that people often associate with the region. Never ones to make over-the-top wines anyway, the cards that mother nature dealt Simon and Cory in 2011 made them focus on purity and balance over bulk and brawn. This wine has fantastic purity of fruit and lovely ripe berry flavors, bramble fruit, loganberry. It also has sweet spice, black pepper and hint of bloody steak. The wine is so supple and silky on the palate with super fine tannins and bright but soft acidity. The old vine (50+ yrs) origins of this wine show up on the finish with a lovely rocky, soil driven complexity adding yet another element to this complex wine. This has all the purity of fruit I want from Barossa with the layers and complexity I seek in Châteauneuf-du-Pape. A really great bottle I implore you to try. Phenomenal value at $19.99!
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List
JH 93 WS 91

2007 Contino "Viña del Olivo" Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 07-25-2015
Sure it ain't cheap but it sure is good! A big brooding wine with lots of contraction and structure. All the elements are in perfect balance, deep, dusty blue fruits, toasted spices a lovely earthy element of loamy clay. Everything is very pure and polished, a super classy wine. Long persistence on the palate and a long life ahead of it in the cellar.

2013 Lora Tempranillo Syrah Vino de la Tierra de Castilla
Review Date: 07-25-2015
A dark, chewy, rich Tempranillo. Flavors of ripe plum, deep red currants, warm earth and some chocolate notes. Saturated, juicy palate weight with lots of sweet fruit and ripe tannins. This is sure to keep a lot of people happy at a seriously good price...$10!?
Top Value!
Price: $9.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Lagar de Costa "Doelas" Albariño Rias Baixas
Review Date: 07-25-2015
Wow...awesome wine. So many dimensions and layers. Floral nose, citrus notes, blistered padron pepper with sea salt and wet granite. On the palate the wine is richer and more round than the nose suggests with flavors of ripe citrus, even passion fruit. Floral notes return after swallowing, and the lees contact and mineral notes sail long into the finish. Very complex, detailed wine, I'm a fan.
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Carballal "Sete Cepas" Albariño Rias Baixas
Review Date: 07-25-2015
Exceptional value in Albarino. This same wine 6 months ago was good...but now it's really special. Some of the primary fruit has backed off and the intense mineral core is shining through. Lovely savory lees notes and exquisite focus and persistence for such an inexpensive bottle. I'm super impressed by how this has developed.
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 Domaine Michel & Stéphane Ogier Syrah "d'Ogier" Collines Rhodaniennes
Review Date: 07-25-2015
Fantastic Syrah. Even though this is the entry level wine for Ogier it shows its pedigree. Amazing purity, elegance and expression of place. Violets, dark spices, purple fruit, meat and cracked peppercorns. Very supple and fluid on the palate. Fantastic value for money...who said you couldn't find serious values in the Northern Rhone.
Top Value!
Price: $17.99 Add To Waiting List
AG 90

2014 Domaine Dupuy de Lôme Bandol Rosé
Review Date: 07-25-2015
Serious Rose. Light and elegant in extract, but powerful in presence and flavor concentration. Spiced orange peel, crunchy red berries, clove, flinty minerals, chalky feel adds length on back palate. Balanced, dry classy Rose.
Price: $23.99 Add To Waiting List

2014 Craggy Range "Te Muna Road" Sauvignon Blanc Martinborough
Review Date: 07-24-2015
A very delicate, fragrant, mineral driven style from Craggy Range. Powdery white blossom, gentle lime, wet stones, fresh picked cilantro. The wine's elegantly perfumed nose is complemented by its bright, juicy texture. Very energetic on the palate, not heavy in any way, perfectly ripe fruit and zingy acidity. This is a fantastic shellfish wine. It is one of my go-tos with oysters and scallops. Great value for money.
Top Value!
Price: $17.99 Add To Waiting List
WS 92

2014 Mas de Cadenet Côtes de Provence Sainte Victoire Rosé
Review Date: 07-24-2015
Great rosé. Pure, mineral driven, flinty, dry and fresh. Crunchy berries, struck flint, strawberry leaf and dusty spices. One of my favorite Provence bottles this summer. Drink from 10am - winter.
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 91

2012 Chateau St. Jean Alexander Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 07-22-2015
Pleasantly surprised by the quality of this Cabernet. Quite serious, with real Cabernet character. Plum, dark fruit, lifted spice, a touch of sweet leather and tobacco. Dry, good firm tannins but not aggressive or extracted. Really solid little Cabernet for the money.
Price: $23.99 Add To Waiting List
AG 92 WS 91

2013 Wines Of Substance Columbia Valley Sauvignon Blanc
Review Date: 07-22-2015
One of the best domestic Sauv Blancs I have run across in years. Very flinty, stony and mineral driven; even Sancerre-esque. Some smoky lees qualities combine with juicy citrus, lemongrass, kaffir lime and struck flint. Great persistence on the palate; complex wine worthy of your attention.
Price: $23.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 91

2012 Ladera Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 07-22-2015
Undeniably one of the best Napa Cabs out there in any price point...yes ANY price point. I was so impressed with this 2012 release at a recent tasting, it reminded me of why Ladera is one of my favorite properties in all of Napa. It combines the power, richness and concentration of fruit you want in a Napa Cab, with beautiful structure, refinement, lift and elegance lacking in so many of it's kin. This is a full-bodied Howell Mountain-based wine...but it is poised, focused and in perfect balance. So good for the money it's kinda stupid.
Top Value!
Price: $34.99 Add To Waiting List

2014 Sanglier "Sun Tusque" Sonoma County Rosé
Review Date: 07-22-2015
A dry but juicy Grenache-based rosé from Kick Ranch fruit. Picked early to keep some nice crunchy acidity and raciness, this little rosé packs a refreshing punch. Tart red berry fruits, spice, mineral, bramble leaf and citrus peel. Really solid wine, great value.
Top Value!
Price: $15.99 Add To Waiting List

2011 Holloran "Stafford Hill" Willamette Valley Riesling
Review Date: 07-22-2015
Super quaffable, everyday Riesling. Made in an off-dry style, juicy mandarin, preserved lemon, kumquat and citrus pith on the brisk, racy finish. Juicy, drinkable and refreshing. A great value at this K&L special price.
Top Value!
Price: $11.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 Stolpman Ballard Canyon Grenache
Review Date: 07-22-2015
A ripe, but balanced style. Lots of aromatic, spiced red fruits, rose petal, Chinese five spice and warm earth. The palate is mid-weight with good mouth-coating texture. There is a fluidity and suppleness that I like; the extraction is nicely moderated. Those lifted aromas and rose petal and Turkish delight return on the finish with ripe red fruits and licorice. I think this will keep a lot of people happy and it's a solid value.
Price: $24.99 Add To Waiting List
ST 92 WE 91

2014 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough
Review Date: 07-22-2015
Despite 2013 being hailed as possibly the "Best vintage ever" in much of New Zealand...I think TWR's 2014 Savvy might just be their best rendition of this wine I have tasted. It has all the concentration, fruit, purity, texture and complexity that I have come to expect from Jason and Anna's wines, and then just a little extra edge of verve and energy. There is a real dynamic feel to the wine that is quite hard to put into words. I have seen this energy across all of TWR's 2014 whites. The flavors here are "classic" Marlborough (if there is such a thing these days) snappy citrus peel moving to riper juicy citrus and fleshy yellow tree fruits. Subtle tomato leaf, white blossom, and plenty of stoney minerals. Great texture and mouthfeel from the ultra-low yields off Jason and Anna's "5182" home block plus a small percentage that spends time in neutral French oak Demi-muids (600L barrels). There is little wonder why this has become our number one selling NZ Sauvignon Blanc...it's stunning! My "quintessential" Marlborough Sauv Blanc that I proudly recommend to anyone and everyone.
Top Value!
Price: $18.99 Add To Waiting List
RC 94 DC 93

2014 Giesen Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough
Review Date: 07-21-2015
Really classic Marlborough Sauv Blanc at an exceptional value. Grown across Giesen's extensive vineyard holdings in the Wairau Valley. Classic green tinged citrus, crushed herbs, ripe grapefruit, stoney minerals. Good texture, concentration and admirable length on the palate for such a inexpensive wine. This really offers exceptional, if not unbeatable value in NZ Sauvignon Blanc.
Top Value!
Price: $10.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 Waterkloof "Circle Of Life" White Blend Stellenbosch South Africa
Review Date: 07-21-2015
Complex and layered wine from Waterkloof. The Circle of Life White basically encapsulates everything that Waterkloof Estate holds dear. The concept of the wines is that it represents the purest expression of the site and season and transcends varietal specificity. This white blend represents the best Biodynamically grown fruit from the vineyard in 2012. It is fermented using only native yeasts and not manipulated in anyway. The wine is a combination of summer blossom, fresh yellow tree fruits, satsuma, golden raisins and lovely granitic minerality. The palate is soft and expansive, has pristine focus and lovely length. Lovely wine at a great value.
Top Value!
Price: $16.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 Momo (Seresin) Pinot Noir Marlborough
Review Date: 07-21-2015
Always a contender for best value Pinot in the store. Made by Seresin Estate from all estate grown, organic, biodynamic fruit. Fermented with wild yeast, unfined, unfiltered...a pure natural expression of Pinot Noir. This is certainly more in the Burgundian vein, dusty red fruits, plum, earth, subtle spices and leaf litter. Bright acidity and nice savory notes linger on the finish. Very food orientated and elegant. Exceptional quality and pedigree for this price point.
Top Value!
Price: $17.99 Add To Waiting List

2010 Sons of Eden "Remus" Eden Valley Shiraz
Review Date: 07-21-2015
Not sure how to really explain this wine's quality...perhaps I should just start off by saying that, for me, these two bottlings (Romulus and Remus) are two of the greatest young bottles of wine I have tasted in many years. They are quintessential Barossa wines combining power, purity, balance and authenticity. The concept of doing these two bottlings shows exactly how well The Sons of Eden understand their craft, respect their history and are pushing on with pride into a new era of compelling Australian wines. The Remus is more high-toned than the Romulus on the blue and black fruit spectrum. Think Blackcurrant and cassis, add crushed mint, purple flowers and a lovely pencil shaving and cedar note from the French oak and you have a really lovely wine. The perfect contrast in expression to its more muscular, but equally impressive brother. There is no lack of concentration here, the wine still mouthcoatingly rich, however all the intensity is just more linear and focused. A really lovely wine that shows the special qualities of Eden Valley. I suspect this wine will outlive the Romulus and might well see its 20th birthday still in fine form.
Drink from 2014 to 2014

2013 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Pinot Noir Marlborough
Review Date: 07-21-2015
Pure, elegant, focused, silky, layered and exotic. The descriptors could go on and on but all you need to do is buy a bottle (or case) and see for yourself. Next level quality from TWR; one of the best NZ Pinots I have tasted, period.
Top Value!

Michel Arnould Verzenay "Reserve" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 07-18-2015
A super pretty, floral, pure and elegant Champagne. Aromas of spiced red berries, baked bread, and rose petal. On the palate it has lovely soft red fruit from the wines 75% Pinot Noir composition. Great drive and freshness on the palate. A lovely expression of this special village (Verzenay). Clean, crisp and quaffable. Great party Champagne. A serious value at just over $30. Crushes most of the "big house" guys on quality at a considerably lower price point.
Top Value!
Price: $32.99 Add To Waiting List

2006 Baron Fuente "Grand Millésimé" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 07-18-2015
What a value in vintage Champagne! A lovely wine, very vinous and pure. Citrus, baked orchard fruit, chalk and richer notes of buttered toast. This wine shows the richness and texture of the warm 2006 vintage (warm is a relative term in Champagne remember!) but is perfectly balanced by Ignace Baron's very deft use of a lower dosage on this bottling of around 8g/l. A crowd pleasing wine and one that means we can all drink vintage Champagne on a Tuesday night wine budget! Nice work Gary Westby!
Top Value!
Price: $29.99 Add To Waiting List
WS 91

Bollinger "Special Cuvée" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 07-18-2015
Beyond the fact that this is 007 prefered glass of fizz...I must admit I love Bollinger. It is unashamedly a rich style, barrel fermented, round, toasty, packed full of Pinot Noirs red fruited richness. The wine contains 40% older reserve wines and it shows in the wines depth and persistence on the palate. 3-4 years on the lees gives a lovely autolytic presence to the wine along with a lick of oak barrel spice that lingers long in the finish. I can see why Mr. Bond is partial to this...it's powerful and sophisticated.

Baron Fuente "Galipettes" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 07-18-2015
My personal favorite of the Baron Fuente offerings at a recent Champagne tasting. Sourced from the estates organically farmed vineyards. I found this to be the most mineral intensive of the bottlings. A crisper, more chalky wine almost like it was more Chardonnay dominant (though I believe it is equal parts Chard, Pinot Noir and Meunier). Aromas and flavors of crunchy orchard fruit, dry bread, cracked wheat, chalk and flint. A nice savory, nutty component too. Dry and mouthwatering. Great value for Champagne of this quality.
Top Value!
Price: $34.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 Dog Point Pinot Noir Marlborough
Review Date: 07-18-2015
Seriously good Marlborough Pinot Noir. This is sourced from Dog Points BioGro organically certified vineyards in the Southern Valleys sub-region of Marlborough where the dense clay soils and north facing aspects make for some fine Pinot Noirs. The long, cool season in 2012 allowed great hang time and flavor development. The wine shows dark forrest berries, rose petal, spiced plum, leaf litter and clove. The wine is medium bodied, with supple, ripe tannins and vibrant acidity. The finish is nicely lifted by French oak spice and more red fruited accents. Delicious Pinot that shows why this sub-region is separating itself from the pack in terms of high(ish) end Marlborough Pinot Noir.
Drink from 2015 to 2015

2013 Elephant Hill "Le Phant Rouge" Gimblett Gravels Hawke's Bay
Review Date: 07-18-2015
Great everyday drinking for lovers of Bordeaux with a slightly more modern edge. Lovely juicy, bright, blue/black fruits, hints of leafy tobacco, pencil shavings, dark chocolate-coated blueberries and hint of French oak spice. Great fruit weight and generosity. Easy drinking enough to take on solo...but also great accompanying grilled meats, burgers etc etc. Awesome value thanks to our Direct Import. I think Elephant Hill are one of the great up and coming producers in all of New Zealand.
Top Value!

2014 TWR (Te Whare Ra) "Toru" White Blend Marlborough
Review Date: 07-18-2015
THE SUMMER SIPPER! This is probably gonna be my number one wine this summer. It's just so darn refreshing and delicious. A beautifully aromatic, fresh, bright white from Te Whare Ra. I fell in love with this wine the first time I ever tasted it with the 2010 vintage. I have been wanting to import it for K&L ever since but this year finally got the courage to give it a go. It's a true field blend of aromatic Alsatian varietals Gewurztraminer, Pinot Gris and Riesling. All the fruit is from TWR's BioGro Organic vineyard, co-fermented and kept almost entirely in stainless steel to preserve the wines fragrant aromatics and delicacy. The nose is all white flowers, jasmine, ripe peach, apricot and lovely stoney minerals. The palate mimics these descriptors and is soft, lush and silky in texture with great palate weight and feel. The wine is pretty much dry with just the most subtle hint of fruit sweetness balanced perfectly by the juicy, citrusy acidity. It finishes long, clean and refreshing. Perfect for salads, seafood, any Asian / Mexican foods that have some gentle spice...but seriously this doesn't necessarily need food...it's so quaffable on its own. Awesome stuff!
Top Value!
Price: $18.99 Add To Waiting List
RC 93

2014 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Riesling "D" Marlborough
Review Date: 07-18-2015
Another beautiful rendition of this classic dry Riesling from TWR. Pure, focused and laced with complex minerality. Aromas / flavors of delicious, ripe citrus fruits, white blossom, talcy notes, wet river stone and crushed kaffir lime leaf. Dry, snappy and mouthwatering, but not austere like some dry Rieslings can be. There is a fine, delicacy here that is an ongoing feature of all Jason and Anna's wines. Not to be missed by Riesling lovers (and to be honest anyone who enjoys dry white wine).
Top Value!

2012 John Duval "Plexus" SGM Barossa Valley South Australia
Review Date: 07-18-2015
Duval's wines are not only some of the best from all of Barossa, but I truly believe they are some of the best value wines in the world. For decades John Duval crafted Australia's most expensive, collected and coveted wine, Penfolds Grange. When he started his own namesake label one might have expected the wines to be priced astronomically high. Given John's obvious talent, experience and past, this would have been totally understandable...however, here we are selling his "Plexus" Shiraz, Grenache, Mourvedre for $29.99! Now, granted we have excellent pricing on the Duval wines, but still, there are many without the pedigree of Duval trying to sell their wines for 2,3,4 times the price! The Plexus is packed full of briary, spicy, bramble fruits. Sweet Raspberry, blackberry compote, lifted Asian spices, warm earth, and subtle mocha tones. The texture is fantastic, soft, silky, ripe tannins, succulent med-full bodied fruit. Mouth-filling and ripe but with ample acidity and freshness. This is how Barossa wines are supposed to taste, rich, ripe, fruit driven, but not over-ripe or over-extracted.
Top Value!

2014 MAN Vintners "Free-run Steen" Chenin Blanc
Review Date: 07-18-2015
Wow...this wine has to be one of the best values in the store. Picked from 25 year old, dry farmed vines and make utilizing only the purest, "free run" juice. The wine is ripe, juicy, flavorful and very well balanced. The flavors are of yellow tree fruits, nectarine, apricot with some riper citrus tones. It has a lovely soft texture and finishes bright and clean. Some gentle toasted grain lees notes and granite minerality add complexity to this super inexpensive little sleeper wine! I can't believe how tasty this is for $7.99...seriously.
Top Value!
Price: $7.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 90

2012 John Duval "Entity" Shiraz Barossa Valley South Australia
Review Date: 07-18-2015
Power, precision and persistence sum up this wine perfectly. I love how Duval's wines capture the richness that I love in Barossa Shiraz but always remain refined, elegant and fine boned. Exceptional purity of fruit, silky tannin structure and some complex earthy, savory undertones. A subtle kiss of oak frames everything perfectly. Forget about trying to cellar this one...it's way too good right now to leave alone! Juicy dark fruit, blackcurrant, plum, cassis, sweet spices and dash of vanillin oak and scorched earth. Full bodied and rich but balanced and vibrant.
Top Value!

2010 Terre da Vino "Essenze" Barolo
Review Date: 07-15-2015
Sorry...Barolo...$19.99...for real? Yep, Terre Da Vino delivering again. Sure if you had a child in 2010 and want something for them to drink on their 21st you might want to spend a few more bucks...but if you like classic Nebbiolo / Barolo flavors and want to be able to enjoy them more frequently, this is your ticket. Classic dark berries, rose petal and bitumen, warm earth, Black Forest gâteau (very British, sorry) and the customary Nebbiolo tannin structure. A bargain for sure.
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 91

2014 Dog Point Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough
Review Date: 07-15-2015
A crazy good new release from Dog Point. This wine now has a seriously loyal following and I can see why. It's one of the most intense and distinctive Marlborough Sauvignon Blancs I know. Building on their experience and expertise from Cloudy Bay days Ivan and James have continued to take NZ savvy to the next level. This fruit is sourced from their BioGro Organic estate vineyards in the Wairau Valley. It shows quintessential flavors of gooseberry, yellow tree fruit, ripe citrus, crushed herbs and stony minerals. The acidity bursts across the palate with dynamic energy and freshness. That classic Dog Point "flintiness" is still present but dialed back a little from previous vintages, probably to the wines benefit, especially for the masses. I love how this wine is totally recognizable as a classic rendition of Marlborough Sauv Blanc and yet retains it's own distinctive telltale qualities that are undeniable. A classic not to be missed, especially at this price!
Top Value!

2013 Quarter Acre Merlot-Malbec (Bordeaux Blend) Hawke's Bay
Review Date: 07-15-2015
Focused, powerful and pure. This is a great expression of a classic Right Bank Bordeaux style. Fresh red to blue fruits, lift, spice, mint, a dash of cassis and cigar box. Great tension and brightness, fine but persistent tannins. Exceptional value for the quality and refinement in the bottle. Sourced from a single, organic, hillside vineyard in Havelock Hills, Hawke's Bay. Expertly made by award-winning winemaker Rod McDonald.
Top Value!

2010 La Mannella Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 07-14-2015
Lifted hard ground spice, crushed flowers and sandalwood on the nose. Quite unusual for Brunello that I always think to be more soil driven...but I like this. Crunchy, spicy red fruits, cherry skin, red currant. Medium bodied with flashy oak nuances. Quite an interesting wine and a new producer for me.

2010 Val di Suga Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 07-14-2015
Big, bold, brassy red fruits, scorched earth, lots of toasted spice and subtle licorice. A bold, rich, Brunello that is sure to be a crowd pleaser for years to come.
Price: $37.89 Add To Waiting List
RP 93 JS 92

2010 Innocenti Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 07-14-2015
Old school, earthy Brunello. Aromas of scorched earth, leather and briary, deep red fruits. This wine has a fantastically soft, supple, silky palate. Very elegant and flowing. Fans of more savory styles will love this.
Price: $36.99 Add To Waiting List
JS 94 SJ 1

2014 Quarter Acre Syrah Rosé Hawke's Bay
Review Date: 07-14-2015
A more serious Rose than most. Quite dark in color due to Syrah's naturally high pigment, but dry and fresh. This shows real Syrah varietal qualities, forest berries, dark spices, crushed rose petal and a wild herbs note. Great texture, finishes dry and with a little dash of tannin that makes this so good with a range of foods...this can stand up to game and pork dishes, charcuterie and tomato based pasta dishes. Perfect all-around summer BBQ wine.
Top Value!
Price: $16.99 Add To Waiting List
SK 90

Page: 1 2 3 4 next