Staff Favorites - Patrick Cu

Patrick Cu

Reviews

  
2010 McClean X "Simone" Paso Robles Zinfandel
Review Date: 03-22-2015
McClean X Vineyards has done a tremendous job with this Zin based red blend. It has an expressive nose with notes of mocha, coffee bean, toffee, and blackberry fruit. The mouthfeel is velvety plush. Rich flavors of juicy dark fruit, blueberries, and chocolate make this so easy to enjoy.The wine has hit a really nice point in its life and is ready to drink now. For $20, it's a keeper.
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 93

2013 Napa Cellars Napa Valley Chardonnay
Review Date: 03-14-2015
This is a tremendous value for the classic California style of Chardonnay. For those seeking a richer, buttery Chardonnay at an affordable price, this will do the trick. Notes of pineapple, oak, citrus, and vanilla help complement the richness. The 2013 has a little more acidity than the previous vintage as well. All in all, consider this for casual nights at home or even buying in bulk for parties.
Price: $13.99 Add To Waiting List

2009 Peyrabon, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 03-14-2015
I'm always happy to see Peyrabon in the store. The 2009 was fantastic, as many other 2009 Bordeaux reds were. Soft blackberry fruit, mellow tannins, minerality, and notes of cedar are all present. Another delightful bottling from this consistent producer.
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List

Faultline Blended Scotch Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 02-28-2015
If someone is looking for our best value in Scotch whisky, there'll be no hesitation on my part in recommending this. There are flavors of vanilla, malty grains, and a gentle touch of peat in the background. This is easy drinking, versatile whisky. How the hell is it $25 while being so good and 50% ABV? I have no idea, but enjoy it while it lasts.
Price: $24.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Sharp Zombie Rioja
Review Date: 02-27-2015
It's hard to beat the value that this wine brings for under $10. Succulent red fruits, peppery spice, and light floral notes are all present on the palate. This'll ease up those dreary weekday nights in a snap. Fun to have while watching the Walking Dead, Shaun of the Dead, or any of the plethora of zombie shows out there.
Price: $8.99 Add To Waiting List

2006 Fourcas Dupré, Listrac
Review Date: 02-17-2015
I love the coffee note that usually comes from the wines from this Chateau. This is an excellent, aged Bordeaux for $20. One that is ready to drink and better to have sooner than later! Great to have with a burger.
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 Lyeth Sonoma County Meritage
Review Date: 02-16-2015
Lyeth has been making wines since the early 1980s. The 2012 Sonoma County Meritage continues their streak of success in offering low-priced, good values. The Merlot is dominant in this year's blend, giving more blueberry and plum notes. On the palate are flavors of blackberry fruit, cedar, and chocolate. It's medium to full bodied and quite the treat for $15.
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Ermacora Pinot Grigio Colli Orientali del Friuli
Review Date: 02-06-2015
No fruit bomb here. This is a dry, crisp, refreshing Pinot Grigio with racy acidity. Notes of pears, lemon citrus, and a light grassiness grace the palate with finesse and cohesion. Ermacora does fantastic work with this bottling year in, year out. I'm glad it's back.
Price: $15.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Rutherford Ranch Napa Valley Chardonnay
Review Date: 10-21-2014
What a fun, fresh, and easy-going Chardonnay. Notes of peach, nectarine, orange citrus, and Fuji apple come out beautifully. Light acidity keeps things refreshing. This is great for those in need of a delicious value from California Chardonnay.
Price: $12.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 90

2008 Caraccioli Cellars Santa Lucia Highlands Brut
Review Date: 09-11-2014
The 2008 Brut had a nice richness to it, with brioche, nectarine, peach and ripe stone fruit notes. It was a little more yeasty than the older bottlings, and a little drier than the 2007.
Price: $47.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 Melville "Estate" Sta. Rita Hills Pinot Noir
Review Date: 07-29-2014
Winemaker Greg Brewer has presented us with another great vintage for the Melville Estate Sta. Rita Hills Pinot Noir. Melville is consistently good from year to year, but the 2012 is incredibly impressive and exceptional. Aromas and flavors of wild strawberry, raspberry, light cinnamon spice, lavender, and floral notes make this a compelling wine. Melville fans should not miss this very enjoyable bottling.
Price: $29.99 Add To Waiting List
AG 94 ST 92

2009 Ferrero Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 07-15-2014
If you were to ask me for one Brunello to try in the store right now, I would point you to this. The 2009 vintage for Brunello is very soft and approachable in its youth. This Ferrero follows the trend, and for the price is an absolutely amazing deal. It's big, expressive, and generous with darker fruit. I'm taking this home for myself!
Price: $29.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Margerum "K&L Blend" Happy Canyon Sauvignon Blanc
Review Date: 05-26-2014
This lovely Sauvignon Blanc from Margerum has arrived just in time for the warm weather. Pretty scents of lemon cream, grapefruit, and white flowers fill the glass. Refreshing citrus zest greets on the palate, followed by flavors of lemon meringue and white peach. The acidity is crisp and mouth watering. A big thanks to Margerum for letting us blend this wine from their precious stocks!
Price: $18.99 Add To Waiting List

Wine Club

$14.99

2011 Domaine Lafage "Tessellae Old Vines" Côtes du Roussillon
Review Date: 05-06-2014
Here's the type of wine you buy by the case. The low price and high quality really demand attention. I can see this being versatile with food or just enjoyable on its own. The soft mouth feel and abundance of raspberry and strawberry notes make this approachable on any given casual night home. A lovely deal from Domaine Lafage!
Price: $12.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 93