Staff Favorites - Patrick Cu

Patrick Cu


2006 Launois "Spécial Club" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne (ships as 1.5L)
Review Date: 03-27-2015
Pour me a glass of Launois Champagne any day, and I'll be happy. The 2006 Special Club is a richer, fuller style with plenty for all to enjoy. Save this one for a special occasion.
Price: $59.99 Add To Waiting List

2009 Peyrabon, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 03-14-2015
I'm always happy to see Peyrabon in the store. The 2009 was fantastic, as many other 2009 Bordeaux reds were. Soft blackberry fruit, mellow tannins, minerality, and notes of cedar are all present. Another delightful bottling from this consistent producer.
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List

Faultline Blended Scotch Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 02-28-2015
If someone is looking for our best value in Scotch whisky, there'll be no hesitation on my part in recommending this. There are flavors of vanilla, malty grains, and a gentle touch of peat in the background. This is easy drinking, versatile whisky. How the hell is it $25 while being so good and 50% ABV? I have no idea, but enjoy it while it lasts.
Price: $24.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Sharp Zombie Rioja
Review Date: 02-27-2015
It's hard to beat the value that this wine brings for under $10. Succulent red fruits, peppery spice, and light floral notes are all present on the palate. This'll ease up those dreary weekday nights in a snap. Fun to have while watching the Walking Dead, Shaun of the Dead, or any of the plethora of zombie shows out there.
Price: Hidden View Price

2010 Zaca Mesa Santa Ynez Valley Syrah
Review Date: 02-19-2015
No idea how we got the price this low, but the 2010 Zaca Mesa Syrah was well worth the $20 that it used to go for. Now it's an incredible deal. Dusty, savory spice is present, along with blackberry and plum fruit notes. It's rich, full-bodied, and probably at its peak right now. Definitely one of our best deals at the moment.
Price: $13.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 92

2012 Lyeth Sonoma County Meritage
Review Date: 02-16-2015
Lyeth has been making wines since the early 1980s. The 2012 Sonoma County Meritage continues their streak of success in offering low-priced, good values. The Merlot is dominant in this year's blend, giving more blueberry and plum notes. On the palate are flavors of blackberry fruit, cedar, and chocolate. It's medium to full bodied and quite the treat for $15.
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Rutherford Ranch Napa Valley Chardonnay
Review Date: 10-21-2014
What a fun, fresh, and easy-going Chardonnay. Notes of peach, nectarine, orange citrus, and Fuji apple come out beautifully. Light acidity keeps things refreshing. This is great for those in need of a delicious value from California Chardonnay.
Price: $12.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 90

2009 Ferrero Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 07-15-2014
If you were to ask me for one Brunello to try in the store right now, I would point you to this. The 2009 vintage for Brunello is very soft and approachable in its youth. This Ferrero follows the trend, and for the price is an absolutely amazing deal. It's big, expressive, and generous with darker fruit. I'm taking this home for myself!
Price: $29.99 Add To Waiting List