Staff Favorites - Patrick Cu

Patrick Cu

Reviews

  
2006 Launois "Spécial Club" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne (ships as 1.5L)
Review Date: 03-27-2015
Pour me a glass of Launois Champagne any day, and I'll be happy. The 2006 Special Club is a richer, fuller style with plenty for all to enjoy. Save this one for a special occasion.
Price: $59.99 Add To Waiting List

2010 McClean X "Simone" Paso Robles Zinfandel
Review Date: 03-22-2015
McClean X Vineyards has done a tremendous job with this Zin based red blend. It has an expressive nose with notes of mocha, coffee bean, toffee, and blackberry fruit. The mouthfeel is velvety plush. Rich flavors of juicy dark fruit, blueberries, and chocolate make this so easy to enjoy.The wine has hit a really nice point in its life and is ready to drink now. For $20, it's a keeper.
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 93

2013 Napa Cellars Napa Valley Chardonnay
Review Date: 03-14-2015
This is a tremendous value for the classic California style of Chardonnay. For those seeking a richer, buttery Chardonnay at an affordable price, this will do the trick. Notes of pineapple, oak, citrus, and vanilla help complement the richness. The 2013 has a little more acidity than the previous vintage as well. All in all, consider this for casual nights at home or even buying in bulk for parties.
Price: $13.99 Add To Waiting List

2009 Peyrabon, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 03-14-2015
I'm always happy to see Peyrabon in the store. The 2009 was fantastic, as many other 2009 Bordeaux reds were. Soft blackberry fruit, mellow tannins, minerality, and notes of cedar are all present. Another delightful bottling from this consistent producer.
Price: $18.99 Add To Waiting List

Faultline Blended Scotch Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 02-28-2015
If someone is looking for our best value in Scotch whisky, there'll be no hesitation on my part in recommending this. There are flavors of vanilla, malty grains, and a gentle touch of peat in the background. This is easy drinking, versatile whisky. How the hell is it $25 while being so good and 50% ABV? I have no idea, but enjoy it while it lasts.
Price: $24.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Sharp Zombie Rioja
Review Date: 02-27-2015
It's hard to beat the value that this wine brings for under $10. Succulent red fruits, peppery spice, and light floral notes are all present on the palate. This'll ease up those dreary weekday nights in a snap. Fun to have while watching the Walking Dead, Shaun of the Dead, or any of the plethora of zombie shows out there.
Price: $8.99 Add To Waiting List

2010 Zaca Mesa Santa Ynez Valley Syrah
Review Date: 02-19-2015
No idea how we got the price this low, but the 2010 Zaca Mesa Syrah was well worth the $20 that it used to go for. Now it's an incredible deal. Dusty, savory spice is present, along with blackberry and plum fruit notes. It's rich, full-bodied, and probably at its peak right now. Definitely one of our best deals at the moment.
Price: Hidden View Price
WE 92

2006 Fourcas Dupré, Listrac
Review Date: 02-17-2015
I love the coffee note that usually comes from the wines from this Chateau. This is an excellent, aged Bordeaux for $20. One that is ready to drink and better to have sooner than later! Great to have with a burger.
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 Lyeth Sonoma County Meritage
Review Date: 02-16-2015
Lyeth has been making wines since the early 1980s. The 2012 Sonoma County Meritage continues their streak of success in offering low-priced, good values. The Merlot is dominant in this year's blend, giving more blueberry and plum notes. On the palate are flavors of blackberry fruit, cedar, and chocolate. It's medium to full bodied and quite the treat for $15.
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List

2009 Arnauton, Fronsac
Review Date: 02-06-2015
This Merlot heavy Bordeaux is quite the deal for being from 2009 and under $20. The chocolate and plum flavors are concentrated and very satisfying. After so much time in the bottle, the tannins have softened tremendously. It's made the mouthfeel very smooth and approachable.
Price: $18.99 Add To Waiting List
JS 91

2013 Ermacora Pinot Grigio Colli Orientali del Friuli
Review Date: 02-06-2015
No fruit bomb here. This is a dry, crisp, refreshing Pinot Grigio with racy acidity. Notes of pears, lemon citrus, and a light grassiness grace the palate with finesse and cohesion. Ermacora does fantastic work with this bottling year in, year out. I'm glad it's back.
Price: $15.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Rutherford Ranch Napa Valley Chardonnay
Review Date: 10-21-2014
What a fun, fresh, and easy-going Chardonnay. Notes of peach, nectarine, orange citrus, and Fuji apple come out beautifully. Light acidity keeps things refreshing. This is great for those in need of a delicious value from California Chardonnay.
Price: $12.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 90

2008 Caraccioli Cellars Santa Lucia Highlands Brut
Review Date: 09-11-2014
The 2008 Brut had a nice richness to it, with brioche, nectarine, peach and ripe stone fruit notes. It was a little more yeasty than the older bottlings, and a little drier than the 2007.
Price: $47.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 Melville "Estate" Sta. Rita Hills Pinot Noir
Review Date: 07-29-2014
Winemaker Greg Brewer has presented us with another great vintage for the Melville Estate Sta. Rita Hills Pinot Noir. Melville is consistently good from year to year, but the 2012 is incredibly impressive and exceptional. Aromas and flavors of wild strawberry, raspberry, light cinnamon spice, lavender, and floral notes make this a compelling wine. Melville fans should not miss this very enjoyable bottling.
Price: $29.99 Add To Waiting List
AG 94 ST 92

2012 Viña Robles "Estate" Paso Robles Sauvignon Blanc
Review Date: 07-22-2014
Here's a wine designed to beat the heat! Aromas and flavors of lemon meringue, pineapple cream, and lime citrus are present and generous. Accompanying them is a refreshing dose of acidity to keep things crisp and lively. This is just a flat-out good value for $10.99. And if it sells as well as the Vina Robles 2010 Cab Sauv did, we won't have it for long.
Price: $10.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 90

2009 Ferrero Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 07-15-2014
If you were to ask me for one Brunello to try in the store right now, I would point you to this. The 2009 vintage for Brunello is very soft and approachable in its youth. This Ferrero follows the trend, and for the price is an absolutely amazing deal. It's big, expressive, and generous with darker fruit. I'm taking this home for myself!
Price: $29.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Margerum "K&L Blend" Happy Canyon Sauvignon Blanc
Review Date: 05-26-2014
This lovely Sauvignon Blanc from Margerum has arrived just in time for the warm weather. Pretty scents of lemon cream, grapefruit, and white flowers fill the glass. Refreshing citrus zest greets on the palate, followed by flavors of lemon meringue and white peach. The acidity is crisp and mouth watering. A big thanks to Margerum for letting us blend this wine from their precious stocks!
Price: $18.99 Add To Waiting List

Wine Club

$14.99

Sean Thackrey "Pleiades XXIII" Old Vine Red Blend
Review Date: 11-10-2013
There is great news to be had for fans of Sean Thackrey. His new bottling of the Pleiades red blend is fantastic and picks up where the last edition left off. The savory, floral, and black cherry aromas are there. On the palate are raspberries, bing cherries, and a light peppery spice. This wine is still elegant, medium bodied, and well rounded. It’s a great value for twenty dollars, and should do well for Thanksgiving!
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List
ST 92

2011 Stolpman "Estate" Santa Ynez Valley Syrah
Review Date: 08-31-2013
This Syrah has gorgeous aromas of violets, herbs, spice, blackberries, and savory oak. The spice continues onto the palate with dense, dark fruit notes emerging, alongside light notes of raspberry jam and dark cherry cola. To boot, a very soft mouthfeel makes this wine incredibly easy to drink and enjoy. I can see this being a big hit with many fans of Central Coast Syrah!