Staff Favorites - Jeff Garneau

Jeff Garneau
Jeff Garneau  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service
Jeff has been a member of the sales staff in our Redwood City store for the past four years. His first introduction to wine was as a waiter in an upscale Italian restaurant in Hanover, NH more years ago than he likes to admit. He slowly made his way west to wine country, working his way across the US as a graduate student in geography, a public sector researcher in regional economic development, and briefly, in the wake of the Anderson-Enron scandal, a records management coordinator for one of the remaining Big Five accounting firms. Finally, surrendering to the inevitable, he accepted a position in the wine business here at K&L. His goals for the next four years include drinking more wines from Italy and France and trying to limit the number of open bottles on the dinner table on any given night to fewer than six.


Reviews

  
Page: 1 2 next
2009 Peyrabon, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 02-25-2017
Delighted to see that the 2009 Peyrabon, Haut-Médoc is now back in stock. Bordeaux veterans will recall this Haut-Médoc bargain is happily situated on the border with Pauillac near Château Bernadotte. The strength of the exceptional '09 vintage really shines through here. The wine is remarkably fresh, with textbook blackberry and cassis notes and fine tannins. While it may be difficult to resist drinking this wine immediately, it will only continue to improve over the next 3 to 5 years.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

Le Brun de Neuville "Authentique Assemblage" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-25-2017
La Maison Le Brun de Neuville is one of the top producers in the Côte de Sézanne. This lesser known region of Champagne is sometimes dismissed as merely a southward extension of the Côte des Blancs, but to do so is to ignore the unique character and exceptional quality of these wines. The Le Brun de Neuville Authentique Assemblage is aged under cork for five years, a practice that requires manual disgorgement using a centuries old technique. The result is Champagne that is rich in style with an ultra-fine bead, opulent yet focused, creamy in texture yet very fresh and lively. Rarely available in the US. Don’t miss your chance to sample the best of this remarkable region.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WE 90 WS 90

2014 Domaine des Niales Rhedon-Marin Vieilles Vignes Mâcon-Villages
Review Date: 02-25-2017
This spectacular 2014 Domaine Des Niales Rhedon Marin Vieilles Vignes Macon Villages is our eleventh vintage of this classic Maconnais white and certainly as good if not better than the 2010 and 2008. On point minerality with a hint of earth. Round in texture with notes of citrus and orchard fruit. Remarkable typicity overall. And our direct import pricing means this is a Chardonnay you can enjoy any night of the week.
Top Value!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2004 La Tempérance Prestige, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 02-24-2017
From the portfolio of Bernard Magrez, owner of Chateau Pape Clement in Pessac-Leognan. While it might be too much to suggest that there is a "Magrez" style, it is true that many of his wines adopt a "take no prisoners" approach, combining toasty oak with a certain generosity of fruit. This 2004 Ch. La Temperance, Haut Medoc is no exception. There is a hint of age beginning to emerge on the nose here, with savory truffle notes combining with hints of roasted coffee. Plenty of sweet, ripe red and black fruits on the palate but with good underlying structure. The bright acidity and firm tannins are evident. A typical if slightly modern style Bordeaux to enjoy with tonight's dinner. Decant and enjoy!
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2013 Trellis (Amelia Park) Cabernet Sauvignon-Merlot Margaret River
Review Date: 02-15-2017
If I had tasted the 2013 Trellis (Amelia Park) Cabernet Sauvignon-Merlot Margaret River blind, I would have assumed it was a much more expensive wine. However, since I was aware of the true retail price, my actual response at first sip was a calm, restrained, very professional “Holy &%$@!” I don’t know what to say about this wine that won’t be dismissed as mere hyperbole, but I can tell you honestly that it may very well be one of the top $10 reds we currently have available. This is classic Margaret River Cab (actually a blend of 85% Cabernet Sauvignon and 15% Merlot) for a mere song. The nose is lightly floral with a hint of mint. On the palate, notes of cherry and raspberry, generous red fruits, sweet and ripe. The wine is rich in texture but with near perfect balance. Bright and lively with ultra-fine tannins. An absolute delight to drink and an unbeatable value.
Top Value!
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart

2014 Henri de Villamont Meursault "Clos du Cromin"
Review Date: 02-02-2017
I can't say enough good things about this 2014 vintage for white Burgundy. What wonderful precision and focus the wines have. I have blown my wine budget over the past couple of months filling up the cellar. The trick though is to find great wines at affordable prices that you can drink tonight. This 2014 Henri De Villamont Meursault Clos Du Cromin is one such. Lightly floral on the nose with a hint of oak. Makes an immediate impression on the palate with lovely weight. The rich texture is balanced by bracing acidity that keeps the wine lively and fresh. Drink now or over the next one to three years. A terrific value in a villages Meursault.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart
DC 96

2014 Te Mata "Awatea" Bordeaux Blend Hawkes Bay
Review Date: 01-31-2017
Te Mata is the preeminent producer of Bordeaux blends in New Zealand. Their top bottling "Coleraine" is legendary. This second label “Awatea” is made in a slightly more approachable style at a more affordable price point. Otherwise you get the same classic blackcurrant leaf and savory “sous bois” character married to New World fruit that you find in the higher end bottling. A “can’t miss” wine for Bordeaux lovers.

1997 Glen Spey 18 Year Old "Old Particular" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 01-25-2017
A delicate, almost floral nose with loads of honeycomb and spice on the palate. Deft and subtle in style but with genuine presence and weight, drinking this 18 year old Glen Spey is like stopping into your favorite pub and unexpectedly running into one of your oldest and dearest friends. No matter how long it has been since your last meeting there is just an immediate sense of ease and comfort in one another's presence. It is as if no time has passed at all. A delight to drink and a terrific value.
Price: $64.99 Add To Cart

2015 D'Arce, Côtes de Castillon
Review Date: 01-20-2017
A very recent addition to the stable of Right Bank properties owned and managed by Helene Garcin-Leveque yet her influence is already felt in this charming 2015 Bordeaux blend from the Cotes de Castillon. Quality to rank among the best in the appellation. Sweet ripe fruit and a lush texture in a well-balanced, crowd-pleasing style that will make for superb near to medium term drinking. On y va!

Cappelletti "Sfumato Rabarbaro" Amaro (750ml)
Review Date: 01-06-2017
This wonderful Amaro from Cappelletti is smoky and earthy, sweet and classically bitter. Try it on its own as a digestivo to end a hearty meal or get creative with some of your favorite cocktails. Personally, I am a huge Negroni fan. I have been looking for some time for an Amaro I could pair with Mezcal. As soon as I tasted the Sfumato Rabarbaro Amaro I knew I had found the secret ingredient for my Negroni Sfumato (I thought “Smoke & Mirrors” would be a fun title as well). Try equal parts Sfumato Rabarbaro Amaro from Cappelletti, Cocchi Vermouth di Torino, and your favorite mezcal. I used the Mezcalero "Los Nahuales" Special Edition Sierrudo-Cuishe Mezcal from Los Danzantes. Amazing!
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart

Luxardo Bitter Bianco (750ml)
Review Date: 01-06-2017
Like many cocktail aficionados and lovers of all things Italian, our staff members here at K&L just can’t get enough of the amazing selection of Amaros that David Driscoll has been stocking our shelves with. One of the most exciting recent arrivals is this Bitter Bianco from Luxardo. This is the perfect Campari substitute for making a Negroni Bianco. We have been playing around with different recipes, but my current favorite is equal parts Luxardo Bitter Bianco, Bordiga White Vermouth, and Berry Bros & Rudd "No. 3" London Dry Gin. Shake with ice and serve up in a martini glass with a twist of orange.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2014 de France Rouge, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 12-31-2016
The 2014 Chateau de France, Pessac-Léognan $24.99 is a blend of 55% Cabernet-Sauvignon and 45% Merlot. Showing surprising ripeness for the vintage, the wine is rich in style with loads of dark fruit and a generous use of oak (50% new). Ripe, sweet red and black fruits are complemented by notes of mocha and vanilla. This is a crowd-pleasing effort that is surprisingly approachable now but has the structure to age if desired.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
JS 91

2014 de France Blanc, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 12-31-2016
The 2014 Chateau de France Blanc, Pessac-Léognan $24.99 is a blend of 80% Sauvignon Blanc and 20% Semillon. The wine is generous and rich in style, with barrel aging and regular batonnage adding both flavor and texture. It explodes with exotic, tropical fruit – guava and fresh pineapple. Brisk and bracing, a lively acidity keeps the wine from becoming ponderous.

2004 Nairac, Barsac
Review Date: 12-31-2016
Classified as deuxième cru in 1855, this is an overperforming and undervalued property. Like neighbor Chateau Climens, its wines are mostly Semillon. The house style is big and brash, but supported by meticulous and painstaking work in the vineyards and cellar. This strategy really paid off in 2004, producing one of the best wines – and best values – of the vintage. Honey and a marked botrytis character are evident here, merging on the palate with notes of orange marmalade and crème anglaise. Deliciously sweet, combining a rich texture with vibrant acidity.

2009 Priban, Haut-Medoc
Review Date: 12-31-2016
If you are looking for great values in Bordeaux there are certain vintages that offer exceptional quality at entry level prices. 2009 is one such vintage. Nearly perfect weather conditions yielded a large crop of very high quality fruit. The wines are universally lively and fresh with ripe, sweet fruit and fine, silky tannins. The 2009 Priban, Haut-Medoc is typical of the vintage, with perhaps even a bit more ripeness of fruit and richness of texture. A hedonistic pleasure and a great wine to enjoy over the near term.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2009 Cap de Faugeres, Côtes de Castillon
Review Date: 12-20-2016
You may have heard a great deal of talk about how good the 2009 vintage was in Bordeaux and wondered how much was mere hype. Happily, it’s all true. Here is one of the best values from the Right Bank – the 2009 Cap de Faugères, Côtes de Castillon. “Opulent” is the only word to describe it. Wonderfully ripe, sweet dark fruit with a rich texture, yet surprisingly fresh and lively with fine tannins. Typical of the best of the vintage and at a very attractive price. 85% Merlot, 15% Cabernet Franc.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
JS 91 RP 91

2012 Damilano "Lecinquevigne" Barolo
Review Date: 12-15-2016
There are so many reasons to enjoy Nebbiolo during the fall and winter – cooler weather, heartier dishes, etc. But how do you find a wine that is neither prohibitively expensive nor forbiddingly tannic? The 2012 Damilano "Lecinquevigne" Barolo is your answer. Whether you are new to Italian wines and eager to taste one of Piedmont’s great reds or a longtime Barolo fan, you will find much to like here. On the nose, intoxicating aromas of earth, spice, and flowers. On the palate the wine shows lovely texture and admirable ripeness while remaining lively and fresh. Finishes fine with just a hint of bitterness in classic Italian “amaro” fashion. This is a masterclass in Nebbiolo in a glass. Affordable. Drinkable. The perfect companion for a winter’s repast.

2001 Brane-Cantenac, Margaux
Review Date: 12-03-2016
As a lover of fine Bordeaux who is always looking for good values, I am increasingly turning to the 2001 vintage for well-priced wines of excellent quality. I recently enjoyed the 2001 Brane Cantenac, Margaux along with a Friday night dinner of steak frites. A remarkable wine for the vintage, combining better than average ripeness with the telltale acidity that is a hallmark of the '01's. Delightfully floral in typical Margaux fashion. Notes of wild blackberry jam and sweet black plum. Already showing some bottle age with a youthful, purple color shading to garnet and savory notes of leather and tobacco beginning to emerge on the nose and palate. A great price on a Deuxième Cru from Margaux, and a great choice to drink now or hold for a few years. 50% Merlot, 40% Cabernet Sauvignon, 10% Cabernet Franc.

2014 de Landiras Rouge, Graves
Review Date: 11-29-2016
Southern Graves value! Toasty oak and a hint of blackcurrant leaf on the nose. Surprising ripeness here with plenty of sweet black fruits, though the wine retains the freshness that I am coming to associate with this 2014 vintage. Classic Graves minerality. Finishes firm with fine tannins.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
DC 95

2015 Tablas Creek "Patelin de Tablas" Paso Robles Rhône Blanc
Review Date: 11-29-2016
Few producers in California have the depth of expertise that Tablas Creek does when it comes to Rhone grape varieties. Established over 20 years ago in partnership with the Perrin family of Chateau Beaucastel in Chateauneuf-du-Pape, Tablas Creek continues to champion Rhone inspired whites and reds to this day. The 2015 Tablas Creek "Patelin de Tablas" Paso Robles Rhône Blanc is an outstanding example and a terrific value – racy and mineral driven but with admirable texture and weight. For those who are unfamiliar with Rhone whites, this blend of Grenache Blanc, Viognier, Rousanne and Marsanne offers a delicious alternative to Chardonnay, and an excellent introduction to the distinctive Rhone style.

Siembra Valles "Ancestral" Blanco Tequila (750ml)
Review Date: 11-21-2016
Already got the final draft of your liquor "bucket list" completed? Well I hope you left room at the bottom because you are going to need to pencil in one more name - the new "Ancestral" Blanco Tequila from Siembra Valles. For true fans, this is not so much a tequila as a "proto-tequila", an honest and fearless exploration of the historical roots of the agave spirit. Painstakingly handcrafted, this is a unique and powerful expression offering bright citrus and savory spice notes interwoven with layers of earth and smoke. Truly one of a kind, with flavors so concentrated and pure that it's hard to go back from here. Once you've tasted this, where else can you go?
Price: $119.99 Add To Cart

Jean Josselin "Cuvée des Jean" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 11-12-2016
This refreshing Blanc de Noirs is made in a lean, precise style. This is a sleek greyhound of a wine full of restrained energy and intense focus. Crisp, clean, mineral driven, and very dry. Superb value here.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2015 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough
Review Date: 11-12-2016
A benchmark for New Zealand Sauvignon Blanc. It doesn't get any better than this. If you have never tried one before, make this 2015 vintage of Jason and Anna Flowerday's TWR Sauvignon Blanc your first. Conscientiously produced, meticulously crafted. Superb varietal and regional typicity. A perfect expression of terroir. This is a masterclass in NZ Sauvignon Blanc in a glass. Enroll today. Direct import pricing makes for very affordable tuition. And you can't possibly fail to be delighted!

2015 La Chablisienne "Dame Nature" Petit Chablis
Review Date: 11-12-2016
From the foremost cooperative in Chablis, responsible for more than a quarter of all production annually in the region. The 2015 Chablisienne Dame Nature Petit Chablis is a product of one of the best of the recent vintages in Burgundy, and the quality here for the price is stunning. Crisp. Clean. Intensely mineral in expression. Admirable weight and texture. Achieves perfect ripeness. Hints of stone fruit – peach & nectarine. This is classic Chablis at a price you can afford to drink every day. Ideal on its own or paired with local seafood. Dungeness crab, anyone?
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2015 Kalinda Willamette Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 11-05-2016
I have been working here at K&L for over 12 years now. The first bottle I ever purchased as an employee, on my very first day, was a 2001 Kalinda Cabernet Sauvignon from the Alexander Valley. Many of the top wineries in California have generously agreed to work with us over the years, and I have enjoyed many similar bottles since then. Most recently, however, I tasted the just-released 2015 Kalinda Willamette Valley Pinot Noir, and I honestly can’t remember the last time I was this excited about one of our private label bottlings. For this wine, we teamed up with Harry Peterson-Nedry of Chehalem Vineyards in the Willamette Valley of Oregon. 2015 marked their second warm, ripe vintage in a row, a virtual twin to the very successful 2014 vintage. The 2015 harvest yielded a large crop of high quality fruit – perfect conditions for producing a private bottling such as our Kalinda. Our blend combines fruit from four of Chehalem’s estate vineyards, the oldest of which were planted in the early 1980’s. The results are nothing short of extraordinary. This is Oregon Pinot Noir at its best, with loads of red and black berry fruit, reminiscent of the ripe, sweet blackberries and raspberries for which the Willamette Valley is equally famous. I urge you to try the wonderful range of Chehalem wines we carry. Their Ridgecrest bottling is a benchmark for great Oregon Pinot Noir, and helped to make the case for the establishment of the Ribbon Ridge AVA. For sheer value, however, you can’t beat this 2015 Kalinda offering. An incredible price, and a great introduction to the excellent work being done at this historic Oregon winery.
Top Value!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2014 Tongue in Groove "Cabal Vineyard" Pinot Noir Waipara Valley North Canterbury
Review Date: 11-05-2016
Further fruits of our direct import program in NZ/Australia. The 2014 Tongue in Groove Cabal Vineyard Pinot Noir offers extraordinary complexity at an almost unbelievable price. Without the overt ripeness of the 2013 vintage the more reserved 2014 nevertheless combines plenty of ripe red and black fruits with lively acidity and a rich, almost silky texture. Beguilingly floral. Intriguingly spicy. And the addition of 35% whole clusters contributes a savory quality that adds yet another layer of flavor. This is unquestionably one of the best values in the store for New World Pinot Noir under $30.

2013 Tongue In Groove "The Mound Vineyard" Riesling Waipara Valley
Review Date: 10-01-2016
Winemaker Lynnette Hudson pulls out all the stops in this monster of a Riesling that puts me in mind of the best of the Alsatian wines. Big and rich in style with just a hint of residual sugar and a deft touch of botrytis. Tons of Riesling goodness here, pure poetry, with no apologies and no regrets. Very well done.

2015 Tongue in Groove Chardonnay Waipara Valley North Canterbury
Review Date: 10-01-2016
The Chardonnays coming out of NZ these days are some of the most exciting whites in production there, and some of the best of the Chardonnay being produced in the New World. Generous in style with admirable richness of texture combined with remarkable restraint and truly breathtaking concentration and depth. California wine lovers take note. There is a new standard being established here. Don't miss out.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
DC 93

2007 Labegorce Zede, Margaux
Review Date: 10-01-2016
One of the last vintages bottled under a separate label prior to its historic reunification with neighbor Château Labégorce in 2009. The wine is still quite youthful in character, deeply colored and marked by primary fruit flavors and firm tannins. It shows a great deal of promise, however, with a lovely weight and lush texture that make an immediate impression.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

2007 Côte de Baleau, St-Emilion
Review Date: 10-01-2016
Purchased in 2013 by the Cuvelier family, owners of neighboring Clos Fourtet, along with Clos St-Martin and Les Grandes Murailles. This continues a centuries-old tradition of family ownership that dates back to the founding of the property in 1643. Toasty oak and a hint of violets on the nose. Merlot dominates the blend in this Right Bank value, with ripe, almost jammy plum notes. Finishes with fine tannins.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2014 Pike Road Willamette Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 09-08-2016
A new value priced label from the good folks at Elk Cove Vineyards. A mix of estate and purchased fruit with the idea of providing honest Willamette Valley Pinot Noir at an affordable price. 2014 was a perfect choice for an inaugural vintage, with near ideal growing conditions and a large crop of ripe fruit. A seamless integration of fruit and oak with plenty of bright red fruits, tart cherry, cranberry and raspberry. Lightly spicy with good balance and structure. Soft and round and forward in style. Just pop (or twist!) and pour.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

2015 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Pinot Noir Rosé Marlborough
Review Date: 08-31-2016
It goes without saying that we here at K&L are big fans of Anna and Jason Flowerday of Te Whare Ra (TWR). Their wines have brought us so much pleasure it seems unfair to ask more of them, yet here on our shores, just in time for summer we have the new 2015 TWR Rosé. Each year, I find that at least one of the several rosé wines that I keep on hand for the warmer months inevitably is a rosé of Pinot Noir. This year my choice was an easy one. Bright and crisp in style with singular focus and admirable length, this wine really over delivers.
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart

2015 Quinta da Aveleda Loureiro-Alvarinho Vinho Verde
Review Date: 08-31-2016
A blend of Loureiro and Alvarinho, this Portugese white is the perfect companion for long, lazy summer afternoons. Dry and crisp in style and low in alcohol, this light-bodied wine neither tires nor dulls the senses but rather enlivens and refreshes. Lightly floral with bright citrus notes, there is a slight effervescence here that only emphasizes the wine's youthful exuberance.

2010 Tronquoy de St-Anne, St-Estèphe
Review Date: 08-09-2016
Back to back successes in ’09 and ’10 at Chateau Tronquoy-Lalande with this second label, Tronquoy de Sainte-Anne. The 2010 is much like the 2009, but with more of everything...more fruit, more acidity and more tannin. A rich, full bodied effort with sweet, ripe red and black fruits wrapped around a substantial core of fine tannins. This is serious wine, deeply colored with real intensity and depth. Certainly the best value we can offer from Bordeaux at this price point. For best results decant for one hour and enjoy, and be sure to tuck a case away to have a few years from now.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2014 Oakridge Estate "Willowlake Vineyard" Pinot Noir Yarra Valley
Review Date: 07-29-2016
A terrific example of topnotch Aussie winemaking expertise inspired by French traditions. New World Pinot Noir in a Burgundian style. The 2014 Oakridge Estate Willowlake VIneyard Pinot Noir Yarra Valley offers crisp, slightly "crunchy" red fruits with notes both floral and spicy. Think Chambolle Musigny. Astonishing quality here at this price. "Bonjour, mate! Merci beaucoup!"
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JH 96

2015 Domaine des Côtes Blanches Sancerre Rosé
Review Date: 05-31-2016
Each year I look forward to the new crop of rose wines. Inevitably, one of my favorites is always a rose of Pinot Noir. This Sancerre rose looks like a top contender for this season. Plenty of fresh, ripe strawberry notes. Lightly floral. Mineral in character with a hint of earth. Bright and fresh and crisp in style. The perfect thing for a hot summer afternoon. Maybe to pair with grilled salmon? or perhaps just a fresh tomato salad.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine des Côtes Blanches Sancerre
Review Date: 05-31-2016
Prices for the many of the best known producers in the upper Loire Valley continue to increase year by year, with many Sancerres now selling in the $20 to $50 range. In order to continue to make available a selection of wines for less than $20, we have been expanding the portfolio of wines we import directly. Newly arrived from France is the 2015 Domaine des Côtes Blanches Sancerre, now the fourth vintage we have offered of this classic Sauvignon Blanc. There is a hint of something delicately floral on the nose at first blush, followed by more assertive notes of fresh herbs – tarragon and thyme. Intensely mineral in expression with notes of smoke and gunflint. The fruit is decidedly citrus in character with loads of fresh grapefruit. Bright and fresh, crisp and clean overall with perhaps a bit more weight than I expected – a product of the 2015 vintage? (Quite good by all accounts. Time will tell…) If you are a Sancerre fan this one is hitting on all cylinders. Don't miss out.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2000 Brane-Cantenac, Margaux
Review Date: 05-13-2016
2000. The millennial vintage. Cooler, wetter conditions earlier in the year eventually gave way to warm, sunny weather in August and September, allowing for good ripening of the grapes and a harvest under ideal conditions. Notwithstanding, at Brane Cantenac in order to produce the best possible wine for the vintage a much stricter selection than usual was made for the first wine (less than 30% of total production) and a higher proportion of Merlot was used (55%). A little more than 15 years later the results speak for themselves. The 2000 Brane Cantenac, Margaux is typical of the best wines of the vintage with generous ripe, sweet red and black fruits and admirable mid-palate weight. The wine offers a rich, sensuous texture with good underlying structure – lively acidity and firm, fine tannins. The wines from this 2000 vintage are beginning to diverge in terms of their development. Some are ripe and forward and ready to drink. Others can be enjoyed now but clearly have a long life ahead of them. Others still remain largely closed and will require additional cellaring before their full promise is revealed. Fortunately, the 2000 Brane Cantenac falls into the middle category. Though some signs of bottle age have begun to emerge, the wine is perhaps five to ten years away from the peak of maturity. Drink now or hold.

2010 Prieur de Meyney, St-Estèphe
Review Date: 05-12-2016
Chateau Meyney is one of the top cru bourgeois properties in St-Estephe. It sits on an outcropping of gravel soil on the banks of the Gironde River immediately north of Chateau Montrose. 51 hectares of vineyards surround the chateau in a single block, planted roughly 60% to Cabernet Sauvignon, 30% to Merlot, and 10% to Petit Verdot. Average vine age is 35 to 40 years old, with the fruit from the younger vines used to make the second wine. The second label, Prieur de Meyney, owes its name to the fact that the estate was the site of a convent back in the mid-17th century. Since its inaugural vintage in 1979, Prieur de Meyney has been made in a slightly more approachable style while preserving the essential character of the estate’s wines. The 2010 Prieur de Meyney, St-Estephe, from one of the best vintages in recent memory, is a truly outstanding value. Big and rich in style, it has all of the generous black fruits and sleek, silky texture I have come to associate with this chateau. Still very youthful at a mere six years of age with firm, fine tannins you can enjoy this now with a little time in the decanter or tuck it away in the cellar for a few more years. Ample proof that the finest wines of Bordeaux don’t have to carry a huge price tag.
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

Fukucho "Forgotten Fortune" Junmai Sake 720ml
Review Date: 04-01-2016
The re-establishment of the Hattan-so variety of sake rice is a personal project of master brewer Miho Imada. Fukucho Forgotten Fortune Junmai Sake is made entirely from Hattan-so rice milled to 75%. It is a bold, full-flavored junmai, supple and richly textured, very much in the style for which Hiroshima prefecture is famous. A superb value!
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart

2011 Fratelli Barale "Cannubi" Barolo
Review Date: 03-30-2016
Cannubi is the most prestigious of Barolo's many vineyards with a reputation for producing fine wines that precedes the creation of the DOC itself. Prices for "Cannubi" designated wines therefore are often higher than for other nearby "crus". Which explains in part why this 2011 Cannubi bottling from new direct import Sergio Barale is so compelling. Traditional in style. Lightly floral with some savory notes. Lovely weight and mouthfeel, rich and round. Bright and fresh with a firm finish. Classic appeal from one of Barolo's best vineyards at a very reasonable price.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart
JS 91

2014 Saint-Jean-des-Graves Blanc, Graves
Review Date: 01-29-2016
The 2014 Saint-Jean-des-Graves Blanc, Graves is the latest release of a wine K&L has sold vintage after vintage for nearly 20 years, and it remains a perennial staff and customer favorite. A 50/50 blend of Sauvignon Blanc and Semillon, it is bright and fresh, very crisp and clean and mineral driven with abundant notes of citrus and fresh herbs. A great value, conveniently priced for everyday drinking.
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart

Alexandre Le Brun "Tradition" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 12-31-2015
From one of our newest grower-producers. On the drier side, but with remarkable richness and weight. A light toast complemented by ripe pear and apple notes and a hint of cinnamon spice. A terrific introduction to the wines of this exciting young winemaker.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

San Venanzio Prosecco Valdobbiadene Superiore Brut
Review Date: 11-10-2015
While the classic Italian Prosecco is "Extra Dry", with just a touch of sweetness on the finish, this charming sparkling wine from San Venanzio is made in a "Brut" style more familiar to American palates. At a mere 11.5% alcohol and at the very attractive, direct import price of $12.99, it's easy on both your palate and your wallet. Crisp, bone dry, refreshing. Low in alchohol. Low in price. An ideal aperitif you can enjoy every day.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
WE 91

2014 Franck Millet Sancerre Blanc
Review Date: 08-28-2015
A perennial favorite of both customers and staff, available now at the lowest price in years due to favorable exchange rates. 100% Sauvignon Blanc. Classic Sancerre profile. Lovely minerality. Ripe, tangy gooseberry notes shading to slightly more tropical guava with this 2014 vintage. Hints of fresh herbs, tarragon and sorrel. Compared to the $20 to $30 average price for Sancerre generally this is a superb value priced for weeknight consumption.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart

2013 Von Strasser "Rudy" Paicines Pinot Noir
Review Date: 05-29-2015
Rudy Von Strasser, of Napa Cab fame, has ventured south to San Benito County to source fruit for this value-priced Pinot Noir. Round and richly textured, even opulent in style, the 2013 Von Strasser Rudy Paicines Pinot Noir offers plenty of ripe red fruits yet retains a very sensible 14.2% alcohol. A crowd pleaser, ideal for summer, and a terrific deal at under $20.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

Ariston Aspasie "Prestige Vieilles Vignes" Champagne
Review Date: 02-10-2015
The wines of Paul-Vincent Ariston were the first from Champagne to be imported directly by K&L some 15 years ago now, and the Ariston Aspasie Prestige Vielles Vignes is still one of the best values on our shelves. The current cuvee, though not vintage dated, is composed entirely of fruit from the exceptional 2008 vintage (certainly the best vintage in Champagne since 1996, and perhaps even surpassing that much-heralded year). A blend of all three principal varieties (Chardonnay, Pinot Noir, and Pinot Meunier) from 65 year old vines, the old vine character really shines through here, yielding a wine of surpassing concentration and depth. This is one to savor, or perhaps to cellar for a few years. You can congratulate yourself on your foresight in the years to come.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

1995 Poujeaux Moulis-en-Médoc
Review Date: 01-27-2015
Always one of the great Bordeaux values, and along with Chasse Spleen one of the two top properties in Moulis. This 20 year old '95 Poujeaux is a perfectly aged Bordeaux at the peak of its powers. Wonderfully aromatic. Lovely floral notes. An explosion of violets leapt from the bottle as soon as I withdrew the cork. Plenty of ripe black fruits, currant and blackberry. Very fresh and fine. Firm tannins. This is drinking beautifully now and should hold its own for a while yet though likely without improving substantially. Enjoy!
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart
WS 91

2000 La Gaffelière, St-Emilion
Review Date: 01-27-2015
I drink a lot of Bordeaux, but, I am ashamed to say, not nearly enough Right Bank wines. So, last Friday for our weekly "steak & claret" night I opted for the 2000 Chateau La Gaffeliere, St-Emilion. I have a few cases of Bordeaux from the 2000 vintage in my cellar, mostly wines from the Medoc that are too young to drink, but this Right Bank beauty was raring to go at 15 years of age. A classic 2000. Rich, ripe, and round with good acidity, admirable weight, and fine tannins framing the finish. The wine was beginning to show some age - the color has shifted towards a lovely garnet and the nose showed hints of truffle emerging - but while it's drinking beautifully now it easily has another decade or more ahead of it. A perfect St-Emilion and a superb value for the money.

Tozai "Typhoon" Futsu Sake 720ml
Review Date: 12-31-2014
Our best value futsu-shu. Soft, round and fruity. Delicious either chilled or gently warmed.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

Page: 1 2 next