Staff Favorites - Jeff Garneau

Jeff Garneau
Jeff Garneau  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service
Jeff has been a member of the sales staff in our Redwood City store for the past four years. His first introduction to wine was as a waiter in an upscale Italian restaurant in Hanover, NH more years ago than he likes to admit. He slowly made his way west to wine country, working his way across the US as a graduate student in geography, a public sector researcher in regional economic development, and briefly, in the wake of the Anderson-Enron scandal, a records management coordinator for one of the remaining Big Five accounting firms. Finally, surrendering to the inevitable, he accepted a position in the wine business here at K&L. His goals for the next four years include drinking more wines from Italy and France and trying to limit the number of open bottles on the dinner table on any given night to fewer than six.


Reviews

  
Page: 1 2 3 next
2014 Chateau Guiraud "G" Bordeaux White
Review Date: 07-11-2017
Some of the most exciting dry white wines from Bordeaux these days are made by chateaus in Sauternes and Barsac whose reputation is based on the production of sweet wines. Of course, the same grapes that yield those remarkably rich, unctuously sweet wines – Sémillon and Sauvignon Blanc – can also be put to use making dry, crisp, mineral-driven whites of astonishing complexity. 2014 was an exceptional vintage for dry whites in Bordeaux, quality that is readily apparent in this 2014 Chateau Guiraud "G" Bordeaux Bordeaux Blanc Sec. From one of the top producers in Sauternes, this blend of 70% Sauvignon Blanc and 30% Semillon is quite dry in style. Taut, mineral-driven, with admirable intensity, it nonetheless offers plenty of ripe stone fruits. Barrel aging adds a bit of texture. If you have enjoyed Sauvignon Blanc from New Zealand or from the Loire Valley, then you owe it to yourself to try a white Bordeaux.

2014 La Reserve de Malartic, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 07-11-2017
The second label of Cru Classé Chateau Malartic-Lagravières, Pessac-Léognan. Enormously appealing, the 2014 La Reserve de Malartic shows to full advantage the near perfect ripening conditions of the long Indian summer of September and October 2014. Made with a slightly higher proportion of Merlot in the blend than the Grand Vin, this is meant to be approachable at a younger age and drinkable over the near term. Ripe and round in style with generous, sweet red fruits and fine tannins. 60% Merlot, 35% Cabernet Sauvignon, 5% Cabernet Franc. Terrific value here. Drink now or hold.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2001 Bel Orme Tronquoy de Lalande, Haut Medoc (1.5L)
Review Date: 07-06-2017
In Saint-Seurin-de-Cadourne, north of Saint-Estephe. Since 1936, owned by the Quié family, owners also of 5th Growth Croizet-Bages in Pauillac and 2nd Growth Rauzan-Gassies in Margaux. 75 hectares of vineyards in three main parcels overlooking the Gironde River just north of neighbor Sociando-Mallet. 55% Merlot, 35% Cabernet Sauvignon, and 10% Cabernet Franc. The 2001 Bel Orme Tronquoy de Lalande has some lovely development (perhaps aging in magnum a bit more slowly than is typical of the vintage). Lightly savory with notes of warm spice. Ripe and round with bright, sweet fruit. The Merlot really makes its presence felt here; there is a bit more weight in the midpalate, the tannins a little softer on the finish. A terrific value in a larger format bottle for lovers of nicely aged, classic Bordeaux.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2001 Beaumont, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 07-06-2017
Chateau Beaumont is located in the commune of Cussac-Fort-Médoc, just south of St-Julien-Beychevelle. It is one of the larger Haut-Médoc properties, consisting of 103 hectares of vineyards in a single block on gravel soils close to the Gironde River. These are planted 53% to Cabernet Sauvignon, 42% to Merlot, and 5% to Petit Verdot. This 2001 Beaumont, Haut-Médoc is typical of the vintage, aging a bit precociously with a very savory, sous bois character, but retaining all the lively acidity for which the vintage is also known. There is a lovely sweetness of fruit here, with notes of red currant and sour cherry. Altogether a classic claret at a very attractive price. Decant and enjoy!
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart

2009 La Fleur, St-Emilion
Review Date: 07-06-2017
Chateau La Fleur is located on the northern plateau of Saint-Emilion, on soils of clay and sand. The estate consists of a mere 6.3 hectares of vineyards planted mostly to Merlot. Since 2002, it has been owned by Laurent Dassault of neighboring Chateau Dassault. The 2009 vintage is 92% Merlot and 8% Cabernet Franc. Aged 18 months in French oak barrels, two-thirds new. Deeply colored, almost inky purple, with hints of roasted coffee on the nose. Ripe, rich, and round in the mouth with loads of generous black fruits. Warm spice notes with hints of brandied cherries. Tannins are quite fine. Drink now or over the next few years.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
JS 94 RP 91

2009 Les Allées de Cantemerle, Haut-Médoc (1.5L)
Review Date: 07-06-2017
5 years past release and this is still one of the best values from Bordeaux at this price point. The second label of Fifth Growth Chateau Cantemerle, the 2009 Les Allées exhibits such obvious character and class the pedigree is self-evident. And, of course, it doesn’t hurt that 2009 is one of the top vintages of the decade. The quality and size of the crop was such that second labels offer even better than usual value. ’09 was also a big Cabernet vintage, and at nearly two thirds of the blend it really shines through here. Just a hint of violets on the nose, sweet, ripe blackberry and cassis notes on the palate, and ultra fine, silky smooth tannins to finish. This is already drinking beautifully, but can easily be cellared and enjoyed with continued pleasure over the next decade. Twice as good out of magnum!
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart
JS 90

2009 Les Allées de Cantemerle, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 07-06-2017
5 years past release and this is still one of the best values from Bordeaux at this price point. The second label of Fifth Growth Chateau Cantemerle, the 2009 Les Allées exhibits such obvious character and class the pedigree is self-evident. And, of course, it doesn’t hurt that 2009 is one of the top vintages of the decade. The quality and size of the crop was such that second labels offer even better than usual value. ’09 was also a big Cabernet vintage, and at nearly two thirds of the blend it really shines through here. Just a hint of violets on the nose, sweet, ripe blackberry and cassis notes on the palate, and ultra fine, silky smooth tannins to finish. This is already drinking beautifully, but can easily be cellared and enjoyed with continued pleasure over the next decade.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JS 90

2014 La Chablisienne Chablis "Mont de Milieu" 1er Cru
Review Date: 06-30-2017
The 2014 La Chablisienne Chablis "Mont de Milieu" 1er Cru is my personal favorite among a truly outstanding lineup of 2014 wines from the foremost cooperative in Chablis. While it retains the lively acidity and finely etched precision I have come to associate with this excellent 2014 vintage, it nonetheless offers a bit more richness, a bit more sweetness of fruit than most of the other premier cru bottlings from this producer. The Mont de Milieu vineyard has a favored southerly aspect, imparting a richness to its wines such that it is often mistaken for a Grand Cru. Wonderfully mineral in expression with an admirable persistence and length. Terrific value here.

2016 Les Roches Sauvignon Touraine
Review Date: 06-30-2017
The Touraine AOC is quite large with approximately 5500 hectares of vineyards on both banks of the Loire River between Saumur and Orleans. A broad range of wines are produced – white and red and rosé, sparkling and still. For white grapes, there is some Chardonnay and Chenin Blanc, but more than 80% of the wine produced is Sauvignon Blanc. The 2016 Les Roches Sauvignon Touraine is one of the best values we offer in a Loire Valley Sauvignon Blanc, a less expensive alternative to the Sancerre and Pouilly-Fumé which is produced just upriver. Very dry and crisp in style with lively citrus notes. Lightly savory and intensely mineral in expression. Terrific value at this price point.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2008 Launois "Spécial Club" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne 750ml (ships as 1.5L)
Review Date: 06-28-2017
I first purchased Champagne Launois’ Special Club bottling with the 2000 vintage at the urging of our Champagne buyer, Gary Westby. I was so impressed I made sure to buy at least a few bottles of every subsequent release – the 2002, 2004, 2005 and 2006. The only regret I ever had was not buying more. Now we have in stock the 2008 Launois Special Club, and it is unquestionably the finest vintage of this wine I have tasted to date. It combines exceptional richness with superb focus and intensity. Very precise with admirable persistence. This is showing remarkably well now but will really shine with a few years in the cellar.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

2012 Pauillac de Latour, Pauillac
Review Date: 06-09-2017
An “appellation” wine from First Growth Chateau Latour in Pauillac. Each year, after the initial selection is made for the Grand Vin, and for the second label, Forts de Latour, some of the remaining lots are used to produce this 3rd label. Also included are grapes from some of the younger vines on the estate, as well as from outlying vineyards. The “Pauillac” bottling will usually include a higher proportion of Merlot and is intended for earlier consumption, requiring less aging than Latour’s more prestigious labels. We tasted the 2012 Pauillac de Latour at the chateau in early April. It was good enough to compare very favorably with a barrel sample of the excellent 2016. Very much in the Latour style – structured, bold, black-fruited. Very generous with loads of sweet fruit and good concentration. Tannins are quite fine. Drinkable now or over the next decade. Given the pricing for First Growths these days, this wine represents one of the great bargains in Bordeaux.
Price: $74.99 Add To Cart
Limit of 24 per customer

2016 Pichon-Baron, Pauillac
Review Date: 06-08-2017
A classic in the making, the 2016 Pichon Baron is the very definition of Pauillac – powerful, concentrated, focused. One of the latest harvests ever at the chateau, this is a vintage for Cabernet lovers, one that rivals even 2009 and 2010. At 85% of the blend, this Deuxiéme Cru attains nearly the level of Cabernet Sauvignon in most First Growths in 2016. Superbly structured with great underlying acidity and fine tannins, this will make a great addition to any cellar. I have no doubt the 2016 will eventually take its place among the great vintages of this century.

2016 Les Carmes Haut-Brion, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 06-08-2017
This tiny viticultural enclave, consisting of a mere 5 hectares of vineyards, lies fully within the city of Bordeaux, immediately north of its more famous neighbor, Chateau Haut-Brion. The property takes its name from the order of Carmelite nuns who held it for more than two hundred years, from the late 16th century to the time of the French Revolution. With its 19th century chateau and sculptured gardens, there is still a sense of the cloister about the place, a remarkably peaceful oasis in the heart of a bustling metropolis. The holy sisters would likely be greatly startled however by the new Philippe Starck designed winery, which rises like a leviathan from the spring fed stream that bisects the property. The new cellars and winemaking facility are part of a comprehensive program of investment initiated by new owner Patrice Pichet since acquiring the property in 2010. The 2016 Les Carmes Haut Brion is a vindication of his efforts to realize the full potential here. It is a breathtaking expression of the unique terroir of the northern Graves, at once intensely mineral and extraordinarily concentrated. The blend includes an astonishing 41% Cabernet Franc, supported by 20% Cabernet Sauvignon and 39% Merlot. Perfectly ripe, with lively acidity and firm, fine tannins. Deeply colored and very aromatic, with a savory/spicy character, very much in keeping with the vintage. A superb effort, not to be missed. This is a property to keep an eye on. Great things are happening here.

2016 Brane-Cantenac, Margaux
Review Date: 06-06-2017
It’s hard for me to be completely objective about the wines of Brane-Cantenac. It’s one of my favorite properties from the appellation and my “go to” wine when I really want to drink Margaux. I have quite a few vintages in my cellar starting with 2000 and it seems to me that the wines just keep getting better and better with each passing year. The 2016 Brane-Cantenac may be one of the best I have ever tasted. Classically floral with generous ripe, sweet fruit. There is good depth here. Layered, complex, with firm, fine tannins. Still a relative bargain for a Deuxième Cru as the improvement in quality continues to outpace any increase in price.

2016 Léoville-Barton, St-Julien
Review Date: 06-06-2017
Year on year, Leoville Barton continues to deliver wines that are firm, structured, and uncompromisingly tannic in their youth. The 2016 is very much on point with substantial, though very fine, tannins. What is particularly striking is the sheer intensity of the color, from palate-staining purple to nearly inky black. Loads of black fruit here as well. Superbly ripe with notes of fresh blackberry and hints of richer cassis. Like many of the Left Bank wines in 2016, Cabernet Sauvignon very much takes the lead here. Patience will be required but this ought to age magnificently.

2016 Margaux, Margaux
Review Date: 06-06-2017
Commenting on the extreme weather conditions of 2016 – from the heavy spring rains to the late summer drought – the good folks at First Growth Chateau Margaux characterized the year in typically understated fashion as “a singular vintage”. If it was a vintage to test the mettle of vineyard manager and cellar master alike, then Margaux passed with flying colors. This 2016 Margaux, Margaux is very much a wine of the vintage. Notable acidity, very fresh and lively, with a mere 13% alc. Hugely tannic but so very fine it was easy to taste even out of barrel. At 94% of the blend this is a vintage for Cabernet lovers. While yields were slightly up here in 2016, the selection for the Grand Vin was quite strict, a mere 28% of total production, down from 35% the year before. Where 2015 was opulent, the 2016 is precise. This is a sleek greyhound of a wine, a marvel of focused intensity and restrained power, a wine of great finesse and elegance.

2014 Brown Rouge, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 05-30-2017
A cool summer followed by warm, nearly perfect autumn weather in 2014 yielded a wine with lively acidity combined with generous ripe, sweet fruit. Loads of red and black fruits here – raspberries and cherries – with a deft touch of spicy oak (40% new). Nicely mineral in expression. Terrific value. Very well-priced. 55% Cabernet Sauvignon, 42% Merlot, 3% Petit Verdot.

2014 Maldonado "Farm Worker" Napa Valley Chardonnay
Review Date: 05-30-2017
If it’s true that the best wines are made in the vineyard, this 2014 Maldonado "Farm Worker" Napa Valley Chardonnay couldn’t hope for a better pedigree. Lupe Maldonado has over three decades of vineyard management experience under his belt, and it shows. Fermented partially in stainless steel and partially in French oak, this is a crisp, focused effort that nevertheless offers plenty of ripe, sweet fruit.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2016 Haut-Brion, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 05-30-2017
The 2016 Haut-Brion, Pessac-Léognan would seem to be swimming against the current. In a vintage where most wines are dominated by Cabernet Sauvignon, it is instead Merlot (at 56% of the blend) that takes the lead here. Cabernet Sauvignon is the junior partner at 37.5% of the blend. Cabernet Franc makes up the remainder at 6.5%, though this grape did less well in 2016 and mostly went to the second labels. Very lively and fresh in keeping with the vintage. The tannins, too, here are quite firm. Overall this is reserved in style, quite powerful in its own way, but marked by restraint. Very fine indeed.

2004 Haut-Bergey, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 05-30-2017
2004 is one of those often overlooked vintages. Not in the top rank for the decade but solidly good, with quite a few well-priced wines of superb quality. The 2004 Chateau Haut Bergey from Pessac-Leognan is certainly one of these. Showing nice integration of the oak and just a hint of age with notes of coffee and tobacco. Notable acidity with bright, sweet red fruits – red currant and sour cherry. Classically mineral in character with firm, fine tannins.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
RP 90

2016 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Pinot Noir Rosé Marlborough
Review Date: 05-30-2017
Last year was our first time selling a rosé from TWR, one of our favorite NZ producers. I fell in love with it, and it quickly became my house rosé for the summer. This new 2016 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Pinot Noir Rosé Marlborough is a little more robust in style, a saignée bottling of Pinot Noir from a single block. Lightly savory with notes of spice. Bright red fruits, sweet and ripe, juicy and delicious. A worthy successor to last year's inaugural offering.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2010 Can Mayol Loxarel "Reserva Familiar" Brut Nature Penedes
Review Date: 05-30-2017
Imagine. This is the wine you discovered in that tiny little tapas bar tucked away in the Gothic Quarter in the old city of Barcelona. You remember. The one you raved about to all your friends? When you returned home you found out it wasn't available for sale in the US and you complained about how all the best local wines are never imported? Yes. That one. This is the real deal. Zero dosage, bone dry cava made from the traditional trio of Xarello, Macabeo, and Parellada grapes. There is a complex, leesy character here from six years in the bottle prior to disgorgement. Exotic notes of wildflowers and honey, anise and chamomile. You have to enjoy this with food. Why not splurge on some jamón ibérico and toast up some pan con tomate? Vale.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Renaud Mâcon-Solutré
Review Date: 05-30-2017
A great followup to the outstanding 2014 vintage, this 2015 Domain Renaud Macon Solutre offers the same classic minerality plus a little extra ripeness and sweetness of fruit. Notes of candied lemon peel and bitter grapefruit pith. Bright and lively and very fresh in style. Lovely weight here without sacrificing focus or intensity. Delicious.
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2016 Duhart-Milon, Pauillac
Review Date: 05-16-2017
The 2016 Duhart Milon is ripe and concentrated, dense, dark and black-fruited. Plays to the strengths of the vintage with a blend of two-thirds Cabernet Sauvignon to one-third Merlot. Tannins quite fine here. Deceptively easy to taste. Terrific effort here in 2016. A great success.

2016 Pape Clément, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 05-15-2017
One of the great properties in Pessac-Léognan, historic, renowned, a near neighbor of Chateau Haut-Brion. In recent years, the estate has been moving towards a more terroir-driven style, taking full advantage of its exceptional position in the northernmost part of the appellation. The 2016 Pape Clément is a nuanced effort, complex and layered with good concentration and length. Deeply colored, intense. Lovely weight with perfectly ripe, sweet fruit and fine tannins. Deftly seasoned with spicy oak that enhances rather than overwhelms the wine. Very well done.

2016 Pape Clément Blanc, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 05-15-2017
Remarkably bright and fresh with terrific focus and intensity. Sweet, ripe fruit adds richness supported by admirable underlying tension and length. A balanced effort worthy of the cellar.

2016 Montrose, St-Estèphe
Review Date: 05-15-2017
The 2016 Montrose is a marvel—intense, concentrated and brooding. Inky, dark, palate-staining color. Wildly aromatic nose with notes of lavender and oolong tea. A big, powerful wine with perfectly ripe, sweet fruit. Solid, structured, with vibrant acidity and ultra-fine tannins. This is Montrose as it is meant to be, at its very best, a wine of precision and refinement rather than blunt force. Unequivocal quality here. Not to be missed.

2016 Meyney, St-Estèphe
Review Date: 05-15-2017
Consistently one of the best values in Saint-Estèphe. Situated on the Gironde River immediately north of Chateau Montrose. Typically black fruited in style with perhaps a bit more richness than its peers. That difference has been accentuated with the arrival in 2013 of consulting oenologist Hubert du Boüard, owner of Chateau Angelus in Saint Emilion. A worthy successor to the excellent 2014 vintage, the 2016 Meyney is lushly textured with ripe, sweet fruit and very fine tannins. Still too early perhaps to see how Boüard’s influence will affect the winemaking here. If greater consistency can be achieved without sacrificing typicity, the potential here is enormous. This is a property well worth keeping an eye on.
Top Value!

2016 Ormes de Pez, St-Estèphe
Review Date: 05-11-2017
Consistently one of the top values in St-Estèphe, Château Ormes de Pez flourishes under the stewardship of the Cazes family, owners of Lynch-Bages in Pauillac. Jean-Charles Cazes purchased the property in 1940; his son Jean-Michel made major improvements in the early 1980s. The 2016 vintage may be one of the finest ever produced at this estate. Pitch perfect with generous sweet black fruits and a hint of oak spice. Tannins very fine. A complete wine.

2016 Cantemerle, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 05-11-2017
Chateau Cantemerle was classified a Cinquième Cru in 1855, one of only five chateaus designated “Haut-Médoc” to be awarded cru classé status. With nearly 100 hectares of vineyards it is one of the largest estates on the Left Bank, and all I can say is, thank goodness. Even with yields slightly above average, I worry there won’t be enough of the 2016 vintage to go around. 2016 is a remarkable vintage in many respects, but one of its most compelling features is the tendency to bring out in the very best wines something quintessential, a perfect expression of terroir. I think the 2016 Cantemerle is one such. It brings together all of the best aspects of the vintage – an extraordinary intensity of color, wildly expressive aromatics, lively acidity and very fine tannins. And the fruit? As a child, I used to spend the summers in Maine, and I used to go blackberry picking with my grandmother. She preferred to go early in the morning before it got too hot. The berries would still be cool with a bit of the morning dew still upon them. Even under my grandmother’s watchful eye, not every berry made its way into my pail. I still remember quickly popping them into my mouth and that astonishing all at once burst of tartness and sweetness. Tasting “fresh-picked blackberry” in this wine made me smile with the memory it evoked. And I have no doubt that 2016 will be remembered as one of the great vintages for Cantemerle. 52% Cabernet Sauvignon, 39% Merlot, 5% Cabernet Franc, 4% Petit Verdot. Tasted twice with consistent notes.

2016 d'Arce, Côtes de Castillon
Review Date: 05-11-2017
Côtes de Castillon continues to be a source for some of the best values on the Right Bank. Many top producers in Saint-Emilion and Pomerol have invested in properties within this neighboring appellation, making wines which are nearly equal in quality to their best labels at a fraction of the price. Hélène Garcin, owner of Chateau Clos l'Église in Pomerol and Chateau Barde-Haut and the new Poesia in St-Emilion, now owns Chateau d’Arce in Côtes de Castillon. 2016 is only her third vintage, but certainly the best vintage yet. The quality is already apparent here. Loads of bright, sweet fruit. Very fresh with fine tannins. Terrific balance. Exceptional value.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2016 Clerc-Milon, Pauillac
Review Date: 05-11-2017
A very successful vintage for Clerc Milon, this 2016 simply exudes class and character. Classic Pauillac, with great presence and weight. Ripe, sweet fruit. Very lively and fresh. Lush in texture with very fine tannins. A supremely polished effort. Superb. Tasted three times during en primeur week with consistent notes.

2016 Branaire-Ducru, St-Julien
Review Date: 05-09-2017
Chateau Branaire-Ducru is consistently one of the best values in Saint Julien. I love it for its elegance and for its classic appeal. I confess I have quite a few bottles in my cellar from various vintages. I plan to add a few more from this remarkable 2016 vintage. Patrick Maroteaux and his team really outdid themselves, producing one of the best wines from this appellation. Wildly aromatic and deeply colored. Bright, fresh, and very lively with fine tannins. Perfectly ripe, sweet fruit. Balanced. Precise. Complete.

2016 Lilian Ladouys, St-Estèphe
Review Date: 05-05-2017
A near neighbor of Chateau Lafon-Rochet, this is a property that in the past few years has become a customer favorite due to its combination of quality and price. The 2016 Lilian Ladouys will no doubt both delight existing fans of the wine as well as win over many new Bordeaux lovers with its generous fruit and overall balance and character. Beguilingly aromatic, a bit floral and a bit spicy. Good underlying structure – lively acidity and firm, fine tannins. Top quality, and very true to the vintage.

2016 Potensac, Médoc
Review Date: 05-05-2017
Consistently one of the very best properties in the Médoc, Chateau Potensac has been owned for many years by the Delon family of Leoville Las Cases in St. Julien. The quality of the wine can be attributed both to the superb character of the terroir and to the additional resources made available due to its long association with a top Deuxième Cru. It can be difficult to properly judge this wine when tasting at the Chateau, since you are obliged to evaluate it alongside the more prestigious Clos du Marquis and Leoville Las Cases itself, but more than in any other vintage I can recall this 2016 Potensac more than held its own. Even in such august company the quality was readily apparent. The wine showed exceptional concentration. Bright and lively in character, very fresh, and with loads of sweet, ripe fruit and fine tannins, very much in line with the vintage as a whole. One of the most intriguing things about this 2016 Potensac is the higher than usual percentage of Cabernet Franc. One theme we heard over and over again during en primeur was that due to the extreme conditions of the vintage – from very wet to very dry – the oldest vines faired best. The vineyards at Potensac include a parcel of Cabernet Franc vines more than 80 years old. The grapes from these vines in 2016 were of such a quality that they were among the best the estate produced and formed a key part of the blend. You may tire of hearing this regarding the 2016 vintage, but, truthfully, I have enjoyed many vintages of Potensac over the years, but this may be the best I have ever tasted.

2016 d'Armailhac, Pauillac
Review Date: 05-04-2017
My personal favorite among the wines we tasted at Chateau Mouton-Rothschild this year, possibly the finest d'Armailhac I have ever tasted. The wine makes an immediate impression in the mouth, demonstrating obvious class and polish. It is rich and lushly textured with generous ripe, sweet black fruits but retains great freshness and a very moderate 13.4% alcohol. Cabernet Sauvignon takes the lead here at nearly two-thirds (62%) of the blend. The remainder is mostly Merlot (28%), with smaller amounts of Cabernet Franc (8%) and Petit Verdot (2%). In 2016, the extremely dry conditions that prevailed throughout the mid to late summer and early fall yielded a crop of small, thick-skinned berries. Fair but cooler weather in autumn with warm days and cool nights meant that the grapes could be picked at the peak of ripeness and maturity. The result is a wine of great intensity and depth of color, and tannin levels that rival even the vaunted 2010 vintage but are much finer overall. This is classic Pauillac, as good as it gets – big, brash, self-assured – but with a warm and friendly manner that puts you immediately at ease. If this wine were running for office, it would definitely have my vote.

Cappelletti "Sfumato Rabarbaro" Amaro (750ml)
Review Date: 05-03-2017
This wonderful Amaro from Cappelletti is smoky and earthy, sweet and classically bitter. Try it on its own as a digestivo to end a hearty meal or get creative with some of your favorite cocktails. Personally, I am a huge Negroni fan. I have been looking for some time for an Amaro I could pair with Mezcal. As soon as I tasted the Sfumato Rabarbaro Amaro I knew I had found the secret ingredient for my Negroni Sfumato (I thought “Smoke & Mirrors” would be a fun title as well but the rest of the staff seem set on "Smoky Negron"). Try equal parts Sfumato Rabarbaro Amaro from Cappelletti, Cocchi Vermouth di Torino, and your favorite mezcal. I used the Mezcalero "Los Nahuales" Special Edition Sierrudo-Cuishe Mezcal from Los Danzantes. Amazing!
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart

2015 Stony Bank Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough
Review Date: 05-03-2017
New to K&L with this 2015 vintage, the Stony Bank Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc is quickly becoming a customer favorite. Hot and dry conditions yielded a delicious wine that combines classic gooseberry notes with more tropical passionfruit and guava. Still very racy and fresh with lively acidity and crisp minerality, this is without a doubt one of our best values in a NZ Sauvignon Blanc.
Top Value!
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart

2016 Capbern, St-Estèphe
Review Date: 05-03-2017
Chateau Capbern, formerly Capbern-Gasqueton, was acquired along with Chateau Calon-Segur by its current owners in 2012. Judging from the quality of this 2016 vintage, the property has surely benefitted from some upgrades and improvements in the intervening years. Spice and floral notes leap out of the glass. The fruit is ripe and sweet and perhaps a bit more forward than some wines from the vintage at 14% alcohol. Combined with lively acidity and very fine tannins, however, the wine exhibits perfect balance, and should require a bit less patience than some of its fellow in St-Estephe. This property is fast becoming a customer favorite for its combination of quality and price. I imagine many will choose to drink this wine sooner rather than later, but it has sufficient structure to make a superb near term cellar candidate.
Top Value!

2016 Mauvesin Barton, Moulis
Review Date: 04-29-2017
I sometimes wonder if the Barton-Sartorius family, owners of Langoa-Barton and Leoville-Barton, acquired Chateau Mauvesin in Moulis in 2011 as much for the quality of its stables as for its vineyards. Daughter Mélanie Barton-Sartorius is an avid equestrian in addition to being a trained oenologist. Whatever the reason, they have certainly spared no expense in developing the property. The old cellars have been restored and new capacity added; the vineyards have been expanded and replanted. Today they have 50 hectares of vineyards planted 45% to Merlot, 36% to Cabernet Sauvignon, 16% to Cabernet Franc, and 2% to Petit Verdot. The 2016 Mauvesin Barton is quite true to the vintage, very pretty with bright red fruits and a hint of spice. Merlot takes the lead here so a bit more ripeness is evident in the rich, textured mid-palate. The finish is understandably firm though quite fine. An admirable effort, very reasonably priced, and a suggestion of even better things to come.

2016 Senejac, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 04-28-2017
From 40 hectares of vines in Le Pian-Médoc, just north of the city of Bordeaux itself. Always solid if occasionally rustic this property has improved markedly in the past few years. The 2016 vintage was one of the standouts among the wines of the Haut-Médoc at the big Maison Joanne tasting in Bordeaux during en primeur week. The blend is 48% Cabernet Sauvignon, 37% Merlot, 11% Cabernet Franc, and 4% Petit Verdot. Impressive weight with loads of ripe, sweet fruit and fine tannins. Best ever from here?

2015 Domaine Renaud Mâcon-Charnay
Review Date: 04-28-2017
2015 marks our tenth vintage of the Domaine Renaud Macon-Charnay, and it remains one of our best values in a white Burgundy. 100% Chardonnay aged in stainless steel in a crisp, clean, mineral driven style, this is classic Mâconnais. 2015 was very warm and dry, adding an extra layer of ripeness. Classic stone fruit notes of peach and nectarine give way to more exotic notes of mango and papaya. Lovely weight here, this wine should have broad appeal.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2016 Clos de Bouard, Montagne St-Emilion
Review Date: 04-25-2017
Formerly Chateau Tour Musset, acquired by the de Boüard family of Chateau Angelus, and rechristened Clos du Boüard for the inaugural vintage of 2016. The estate consists of 30 hectares of vines in Montagne Saint-Emilion on clay-limestone soils, and lies near the border with Saint-Emilion near the commune of Saint-Christophe-des-Bardes. The 2016 is a blend of 85% Merlot, 10% Cabernet Franc, and 5% Cabernet Sauvignon. Sweet and ripe. Very polished with fine tannins.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2016 Les Grands Chenes, Médoc
Review Date: 04-25-2017
From the stable of Bernard Magrez, owner of Pape Clement in Pessac-Leognan. This cru bourgeois from the Medoc is made in the signature Magrez style, ripe and forward with a notable generosity of fruit. Very sweet with notes of kirsch and creme de cassis. Good underlying structure with lively acidity and firm tannins.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart

2016 Doisy-Daëne, Sauternes
Review Date: 04-25-2017
One of the top wines from Barsac in 2016 and a close second behind the great Chateau Climens. The wine makes a powerful and immediate impression. A wine of quality and class, striking that essential balance between freshness and opulence. Wonderfully rich with notes of citrus and spice. Complex botrytis character. Extraordinary length and persistence here as well. Superb.

2016 Doisy-Védrines, Sauternes
Review Date: 04-25-2017
Always reliable, and consistently one of the best values in Barsac. While perhaps just a step or two behind the best of the recent vintages from here - 2011 and 2014 come to mind - this is very good. Honeyed and rich with brighter notes of candied citrus peel and lovely botrytis development. A notable effort.

2016 Les Pagodes de Cos, St-Estèphe
Review Date: 04-25-2017
Technically similar to the Grand Vin, but with half the new oak and considerably less Cabernet Sauvignon in the blend, closer to 50/50 Cab and Merlot with a very small addition of Petit Verdot and a soupçon of Cabernet Franc. Intended for more immediate consumption but will still require some patience.

2016 Cos d'Estournel, St-Estèphe
Review Date: 04-25-2017
I have wonderful memories of the great vintages of Cos d’Estournel from the 1980’s. These were some of the wines that shaped my earliest impressions of Bordeaux. Yet, sadly, I feel as though sometime in the past decade or so we sort of lost touch with each other. I remember tasting the 2009 and finding it much riper than I expected, much bigger and grander in style. I thought, well, things change. I silently wished the property well and thought, at least I still have my memories of a shared past, a simpler time. Imagine my joy, then upon tasting the 2016 vintage en primeur. Mon vieux! The unique conditions in 2016 yielded a wine that will rival the great vintages of decades past. This is a wine heavily dominated by Cabernet Sauvignon, which makes up 76% of the blend. It is a miracle of the dry conditions and the very warm days and cool nights of July and August. The wine is deeply colored and intensely aromatic with great presence and persistence. A marvel of perfect ripeness, lively acidity, and very fine tannins, and all with a mere 13% alcohol. Structured, yet refined. Exquisitely balanced. A more definitive expression of terroir I have rarely seen. Classic. A triumph.

2016 La Patache, Pomerol
Review Date: 04-22-2017
From a total of 3.18 hectares spread over nine plots west and north of the main plateau of Pomerol on clay and fine gravel soils. Six parcels around the Chateau itself near Chateau Rouget, Clinet and Latour à Pomerol, and an additional three near Chateau Montviel and Clos René. The 2016 vintage is a blend of 85% Merlot and 15% Cabernet Franc. Very sweet fruit, ripe and richly textured. A full-bodied effort, at the higher end for the vintage at 14.5% alc. 30% new oak adds a bit of spice. Fine tannins frame the finish. Terrific value.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2016 Peyrabon, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 04-21-2017
Following the success of the wildly popular 2009, 2010, and 2012 vintages, this petit chateau is now firmly established as a staff and customer favorite. The vineyards are happily situated on a mix of clay limestone and gravel soils in Saint-Sauveur, just west of Pauillac near Chateau Bernadotte. The 2016 Peyrabon is a blend of about two-thirds Cabernet Sauvignon to one-third Merlot, with the addition of a small percentage of Cabernet Franc and Petit Verdot. Cabernet is king on the Left Bank in 2016, and you can sense the quality of the vintage in the lively acidity and fine tannins found here. There is plenty of sweet fruit, too, but without excessive ripeness. The wine exhibits only moderate alcohol and retains great freshness. Superb!
Top Value!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

Page: 1 2 3 next