Staff Favorites - Jeff Garneau

Jeff Garneau
Jeff Garneau  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service
Jeff has been a member of the sales staff in our Redwood City store for the past four years. His first introduction to wine was as a waiter in an upscale Italian restaurant in Hanover, NH more years ago than he likes to admit. He slowly made his way west to wine country, working his way across the US as a graduate student in geography, a public sector researcher in regional economic development, and briefly, in the wake of the Anderson-Enron scandal, a records management coordinator for one of the remaining Big Five accounting firms. Finally, surrendering to the inevitable, he accepted a position in the wine business here at K&L. His goals for the next four years include drinking more wines from Italy and France and trying to limit the number of open bottles on the dinner table on any given night to fewer than six.


Page: 1 2 next
2013 Bench Sonoma Coast Pinot Noir
Review Date: 11-29-2015
Consistently one of our best values in California Pinot Noir. From the Sonoma Coast. Plenty of dark fruit here. Lovely weight and character. Superb.
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Tongue In Groove "Clayvin Vineyard" Pinot Noir Marlborough
Review Date: 11-28-2015
We drink a lot of Pinot Noir at my house, quite a bit of it from California and Oregon. Increasingly, however, the Pinot Noir we drink most comes from New Zealand. Ryan has just been on fire lately with the outstanding wines he has been bringing in from some of the top producers and best vineyard sites in the country. A perfect example is the 2013 Tongue in Groove Pinot Noir from the Clayvin Vineyard in Marlborough. One of the oldest vineyards in Marlborough with just 7.8 hectares of Pinot Noir vines densely planted on clay soils, producing some of the most sought after fruit in NZ. The vintage was one of the best in NZ in recent memory, yielding loads of ripe, sweet fruit with notes of Rainier cherry and a savory element that is likely the result of 20% whole cluster inclusion. Rich, dense, and concentrated with a smooth, almost silk texture and fine, firm tannins. Impressive now but giving every indication it will be even better with a few years in the cellar. World class character at an astonishing price. Fans of New World Pinot take note. This is serious juice.

2014 Silvano Follador Prosecco Brut Nature
Review Date: 11-28-2015
Most people are familiar with the "Extra Dry" style of Prosecco which, due to the perverse manner in which sparkling wines are labeled, is actually slightly sweet. Increasingly, however, we are seeing the drier “Brut” style of Prosecco being introduced to the US market. For those with an interest in a drier style, you can do no better than the 2014 Silvano Follador Prosecco Brut Nature. Our sole direct import premium prosecco, it offers exceptional quality at a very reasonable price. Dosed at 3g or less per liter, it is BONE DRY. The ultimate aperitif. Serve VERY cold.
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List
JS 93 GR 2

2015 Waterkloof Circumstance "Cape Coral" Mourvedre Rosé Stellenbosch
Review Date: 11-28-2015
Bandol meets Stellenbosch! Introduced just two years ago this dark horse of a rosé from South Africa has quickly and improbably become a customer favorite, the first one people ask for every spring. Composed of 100% Mourvedre and reminiscent of the best rosés of Provence. Crisp and dry but with a genuine richness of texture. Terrific value.
Price: $16.99 Add To Waiting List

1995 Benrinnes 20 Year Old K&L Exclusive Signatory Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 11-28-2015
Have you ever attended a party where everyone you met was articulate, fascinating, compelling…yet by the time you left you abruptly realized you had spent virtually the entire night talking with just one person? If so, you have some idea of what it was like tasting through the first wave of K&L barrel selections to arrive from Scotland. The ’85 Linkwood was unbelievably creamy in texture, the ’90 Glen Elgin delightfully spicy, the ’88 Blair Athol decadently rich and sweet, and yet…and yet it was the ’95 Benrinnes I kept going back to. Classic notes of wood spice and vanilla, and something I can only identify as “black cardamom” - at once smoky and lightly herbaceous (though David assures me there is no peat used here). I found this to be the most complex and layered of the whiskies I tasted, revealing more of itself each time I returned to the glass. I asked Kyle and David if they had a favorite and without hesitation they both answered “Benrinnes”. Hmm. I have always been more of a wine guy, but David’s relentless insistence that I taste everything he brings through the door may finally be paying off.
Price: $99.99 Add To Waiting List

1997 Potensac, Médoc
Review Date: 11-14-2015
One of the very best properties in the Médoc, Chateau Potensac has been owned for many years by the Delon family of Leoville Las Cases in St. Julien. The quality of the wine can be attributed both to the superb character of the terroir and to the additional resources made available due to its long association with a top second growth. I first reviewed this wine in April of 2012. Since then it has become one of K&L’s all time best selling clarets. I recently enjoyed a bottle with our weekly Friday night steak frites and was so impressed I bought a case to drink over the coming year. (Assuming it lasts that long.) This is a classic ’97, medium to full-bodied, and nicely developed with notes of cedar, leather, and cured meats on the nose and palate. Plenty of youthful fruit still on display here – bright, sweet red fruits, red currant and cherry. With the tannins nearly fully resolved, the wine offers a softer, rounder mouthfeel that is lovely to savor.
Price: $24.99 Add To Waiting List

San Venanzio Prosecco Valdobbiadene Superiore Brut
Review Date: 11-10-2015
While the classic Italian Prosecco is "Extra Dry", with just a touch of sweetness on the finish, this charming sparkling wine from San Venanzio is made in a "Brut" style more familiar to American palates. At a mere 11.5% alcohol and at the very attractive, direct import price of $12.99, it's easy on both your palate and your wallet. Crisp, bone dry, refreshing. Low in alchohol. Low in price. An ideal aperitif you can enjoy every day.
Price: $12.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 90

2001 Brane-Cantenac, Margaux
Review Date: 10-28-2015
As a lover of fine Bordeaux who is always looking for good values, I am increasingly turning to the 2001 vintage for well-priced wines of excellent quality. I recently enjoyed the 2001 Brane Cantenac, Margaux along with a Friday night dinner of steak frites. A remarkable wine for the vintage, combining better than average ripeness with the telltale acidity typical of the '01's. Classic fresh-picked blackberry and rich cassis notes. Already showing some bottle age with a youthful, purple color shading to brick and savory notes of leather and tobacco beginning to emerge on the nose and palate. A great price on a Deuxième Cru from Margaux, and a great choice to drink now or hold for a few years.
Price: $89.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 92 WS 91

2010 Baricci Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 10-28-2015
Greg St. Clair, our Italian buyer, has been trying for the past year to convince me that the 2010 vintage in Montalcino is one of the best ever – better than 2006, better even than the celebrated 2001. I have remained steadfastly skeptical in spite of the increasing number of outstanding 2010 Brunellos I have tasted recently. Last night however I took home a bottle of the 2010 Baricci Brunello di Montalcino, and, well, that was that. I have no choice finally but to admit that this 2010 vintage in Montalcino is the best I have ever seen – extraordinary, incomparable, unparalleled. It can sometimes be difficult to properly assess the quality of young Brunello and it did take about 30 minutes of coaxing in the decanter for the Baricci to emerge from its shell, but when it did… wow! It shows the remarkable combination of sweet, ripe fruit and savory elements that seem to be the hallmark of the vintage (and not coincidentally, of great Sangiovese). It is possessed of both a lively acidity and a rich, almost silky texture. My notes are full of exclamation points – “Weight! Depth! Length!” Finish is quite firm but with lovely, fine tannins. This is a wine that will require – and amply reward – a few more years in the cellar. What more can I say about the 2010 Baricci Brunello? Certainly the finest wine from this estate I have ever tasted. At the end of the day I can only give it the best four word endorsement any wine professional can offer – “I bought a case.”
Price: $42.99 Add To Waiting List
JS 93 GR 3

Mezcalero "Los Nahuales" Special Edition Sierrudo/Cuishe Mezcal 750ml
Review Date: 10-22-2015
When our spirits buyer, David Driscoll, returned from Mexico last May, it was as if he had had a religious conversion, a “Saint Paul on the road to Oaxaca” moment. Mezcal was his new god, and Karina Abad Rojas, the head of production for Los Danzantes, his High Priestess. David was as excited as only David can be, and within a few days of his return he had the staff here in Redwood City in a similar state, thrilled to be able to sell the Los Danzantes and Alipus mezcals, and ready to become evangelists for this remarkable agave spirit. How typical of David not to mention that there was something even better on the way, a mezcal handcrafted by none other than Karina Abad Rojas herself, a remarkable expression of her intense passion for, and deep knowledge of, the agave grown in and around her home state of Oaxaca. The Mezcalero Los Nahuales Special Edition Sierrudo-Cuishe Mezcal, a co-fermented blend of the massive and slow-growing Sierrudo and wild Cuishe agaves is an agave spirit of astonishing subtlety and refinement. I lingered long over complex notes of cedar smoke, fleur de sel, and candied lemon peel. It was nothing short of a revelation, and the most exciting thing to come out of Mexico since Salma Hayek. This is a mezcal that is going to win over not only tequila aficionados, but gin drinkers as well. And if you are already a mezcal fan, well, make a little room on your bar for this little miracle. It would be a sin not to.
Price: $79.99 Add To Waiting List

Michel Loriot "Authentic" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 10-17-2015
"You had me at Meunier..." So rare to have a chance to enjoy Champagne that is 100% Pinot Meunier. As if that weren't enough, this is one of the few non-vintage cuvees we sell that is more than 50% reserve wine. Oh, and at less than $30 one of the best deals among our directly imported grower producer Champagnes. Still not sold on this one? Each bottle is sealed with genuine 16k gold foil. OK. That's not actually true. But everything else, you bet. What are you waiting for?
Price: $29.99 Add To Waiting List
ST 90

2014 Franck Millet Sancerre Rosé
Review Date: 10-14-2015
A Direct Import for K&L for many years and a perennial staff and customer favorite. From the Loire Valley of France, a rosé of Pinot Noir that is refreshingly dry and crisp in style. Ripe red fruits abound - fresh, wild strawberry and sour cherry. Serve chilled on its own or with lighter fare. Will complement everything from tomato salads to roast chicken or grilled salmon.
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List

2014 Domaine la Colombe Coteaux Varois en Provence Rosé
Review Date: 09-30-2015
From Coteaux Varois en Provence, the third major appellation in the trio that includes Côtes de Provence and Coteaux d’Aix en Provence. Mostly Grenache and Syrah with the judicious addition of a little Cabernet Sauvignon. One of our best values in a classic Provençal rosé. Dry and crisp in style. Buy it buy the case and enjoy while the warm weather lasts.
Price: $11.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 Le Ragnaie Rosso di Montalcino
Review Date: 09-30-2015
A fairly new addition to our stable of awesome Brunello producers. If you enjoy traditionally styled Sangiovese, you should certainly consider adding some of their 2010 vintage to your cellar. If you are looking for something to drink right now, though, don't miss out on this 2012 Le Ragnaie Rosso di Montalcino. Morello cherry and spice notes. Sweet, ripe fruit. Silky texture and fine tannins. Exceptional quality at this level for under $30.
Price: $27.99 Add To Waiting List
AG 91 RP 90

2010 Von Siebenthal "Parcela #7" Gran Reserva Aconcagua Valley
Review Date: 09-30-2015
I fell in love with the Von Siebenthal wines when we first began to carry them several years ago. I was thrilled then to see the 2010 Von Siebenthal "Parcela #7" Gran Reserva Aconcagua Valley back in stock (OK, I may have bullied Joe, our Chilean buyer, just a little bit). I don't drink a lot of Chilean wine, but I do drink a lot of Bordeaux, and this Bordeaux blend is really on point. A great wine and a great price. Welcome back!
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 91

2014 Franck Millet Sancerre Blanc
Review Date: 08-28-2015
A perennial favorite of both customers and staff, available now at the lowest price in years due to favorable exchange rates. 100% Sauvignon Blanc. Classic Sancerre profile. Lovely minerality. Ripe, tangy gooseberry notes shading to slightly more tropical guava with this 2014 vintage. Hints of fresh herbs, tarragon and sorrel. Compared to the $20 to $30 average price for Sancerre generally this is a superb value priced for weeknight consumption.
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List

2008 Miguel Merino "Vitola" Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 08-28-2015
The follow up to the enormously successful 2006 inaugural offering of Miguel Merino's Vitola Reserva. A modern interpretation of the Tempranillo grape executed with all due respect for Rioja's traditions. Appealing to both the diehard fan of Spanish wines and the confirmed California wine drinker, trying Spanish wines for the first time. Terrific direct import pricing, at a mere $20, this is a must buy.
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List

2011 Fromm "La Strada" Pinot Noir Marlborough
Review Date: 08-28-2015
With all the hard work done by New Zealand buyer Ryan Woodhouse, we are spoiled for choice in selecting delicious, well priced NZ Pinot Noir. That being said, anyone looking for exceptional quality and unbeatable pricing ought to be drinking the 2011 La Strada Pinot Noir from Fromm. There is so much on offer here. Ripe red and black fruits. Subtle spice. Real depth and complexity. A reserved, Burgundian style even for an entry level bottling. Do yourself a favor and get this into a decanter for an hour before dinner, then enjoy with grilled salmon or roast chicken. You'll be surprised just how much $20 buys you.
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List
JS 93 RC 91

2012 Jacques Bavard Auxey-Duresses "Les Clous"
Review Date: 08-03-2015
Lightly floral with hints of toasty oak. Crisp, clean and bright in expression. Citrus and stone fruit notes - lemon oil and peach pit. Delicious Chardonnay from one of the best of our direct imports. Superb value.
Price: $27.99 Add To Waiting List

2010 Sapaio Bolgheri Superiore
Review Date: 08-03-2015
One of the great values for Super Tuscan fans, comparable to more famous names costing many hundreds of dollars per bottle. If you are going to buy one vintage to add to the cellar this 2010 is it! A finely crafted Bordeaux blend that's built to age. Outstanding Cabernet character, ripe yet restrained, with formidable tannins. Needs another 5 years minimum but will more than repay any additional investment of time you care to make.

2014 Quinta da Aveleda Loureiro Alvarinho Vinho Verde Regional Minho
Review Date: 06-28-2015
Here at K&L we don't wait for the solstice to signal the arrival of summer. Each year it's the arrival of the Vinho Verde from Quinta da Aveleda that truly heralds the advent of warmer weather. The perfect wine for our Mediterranean climate. The ideal accompaniment to long, lazy sun-drenched afternoons. Dry. Crisp. Low in alcohol. Affordably priced.
Price: $8.99 Add To Waiting List
W&S 90 WE 90

2014 Ponzi Willamette Valley Rosé of Pinot Noir
Review Date: 06-17-2015
Each year I look forward to the start of summer and the beginning of rosé season with renewed anticipation. I usually sample each season’s offerings broadly at first, then eventually settle on two or three wines that will carry me through the year. Without fail at least one of the wines each year is a rosé of Pinot Noir. Frequently this is a Sancerre rosé from the Loire Valley of France, but this year pride of place belongs to the 2014 Ponzi Willamette Valley Rosé of Pinot Noir. I can’t recall when I last enjoyed a rosé of Pinot Noir that tasted so much like, well, Pinot Noir. Dry and crisp but with admirable ripeness and weight for a rosé. Lightly floral on the nose with notes of fresh strawberry and a hint of earth on the palate. I enjoyed a chilled bottle on a warm evening last week with a hastily put- together dinner of summer vegetables, a selection of cured meats and cheeses, and a loaf of sourdough bread. I think it would pair equally well with grilled salmon or roast chicken. A fantastic effort by Ponzi, and a terrific addition to your selection of summer rosés.
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List

2011 Ugo Lequio "Gallina" Barbaresco
Review Date: 06-11-2015
While I love Nebbiolo on a personal level, from a professional standpoint it's often difficult to explain its appeal to those new to Italian wine. Great Barolo or Barbaresco is not only frequently expensive, it is usually tannic enough in its youth to discourage early consumption, requiring patience and time in the cellar to be at its best. What a delight then to discover the 2011 Ugo Lequio "Gallina" Barbaresco. The riper 2011 vintage yielded a wine that is open and accessible in its youth without sacrificing varietal character. Wonderful concentration and depth here at a very reasonable price.
Price: $44.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 95 RP 92

2013 Von Strasser "Rudy" Paicines Pinot Noir
Review Date: 05-29-2015
Rudy Von Strasser, of Napa Cab fame, has ventured south to San Benito County to source fruit for this value-priced Pinot Noir. Round and richly textured, even opulent in style, the 2013 Von Strasser Rudy Paicines Pinot Noir offers plenty of ripe red fruits yet retains a very sensible 14.2% alcohol. A crowd pleaser, ideal for summer, and a terrific deal at under $20.
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 Ellero "Pisa Terrace" Pinot Noir Central Otago
Review Date: 05-29-2015
My list of "outstanding Pinot Noirs from New Zealand offered at unbelievable prices" just keeps getting longer and longer. At the moment we have perhaps a dozen wines in the $20 to $30 range, all of exceptional quality. This 2012 Pisa Terrace bottling from Ellero comes from one of the most coveted vineyards in Central Otago. A melange of spice notes coupled with ripe red and black fruits define this supremely balanced wine. Deliciously sweet yet fresh and lively. Accessible yet with good underlying structure. Perfection in a glass.

2012 S.C. Pannell "Tinto" Old Vine Grenache-Touriga National McLaren Vale South Australia
Review Date: 05-29-2015
A runaway hit at a recent K&L staff tasting, this inspired blend of Grenache and Touriga Nacional may be the ultimate summer BBQ wine. Crafted by Stephen Pannell, one of Australia's most gifted winemakers, this is no soft and simple fruit bomb. This is a masterpiece of ripe red fruits and complex spice notes that invites you back to sip again and again as it reveals more of its secrets. A terrific value, implausibly priced at a mere $14.99.
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List
JH 93

2013 Don Cataldo Rosato Salento Puglia
Review Date: 05-29-2015
Baroque architecture, whitewashed hill towns, sun-drenched Mediterranean beaches. I am not going to claim you will find all of these things in a bottle of the 2013 Don Cataldo Rosato Salento Puglia, but if you can find a sunny spot to sip this dry, refreshing southern Italian rosé, you can close your eyes and imagine you are in Taranto or Brindisi. 95% Negroamaro. 5% Malvasia Nera. 100% Delicious.
Price: $7.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Von Strasser "Rudy" Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 04-30-2015
Is there a better value in California Cabernet than this second label bottling from Rudy Von Strasser? A wine that we encountered unexpectedly while tasting at the winery a few years back. Hard to believe we are now on our sixth vintage. And still available for only $20. If you haven't tried this wine yet, then grab a bottle of the 2013 at once. Maybe the best vintage yet.
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 Rocca di Montegrossi Chianti Classico
Review Date: 03-31-2015
It should tell you something that the only Chianti K&L imports directly from Italy are the wines of Rocca di Montegrossi. From the heart of the Chianti Classico zone in Gaiole, Marco Ricasoli meticulously produces some of the finest wines to be found between Florence and Siena. The 2012 Rocca di Montegrossi Chianti Classico is a classic blend of 90% Sangiovese and 5% each of Canaiolo and Colorino, aged 12 months in French oak for a polished, elegant style.
Price: $21.95 Add To Waiting List

2012 Il Valentiano Rosso di Montalcino
Review Date: 02-28-2015
100% Sangiovese in the classic style from Montalcino. Medium to full-bodied, silky in texture, showing all the ripeness of the 2012 vintage. Bright, sweet, morello cherry notes with a slightly bitter "amaro" finish. For those looking for a traditional Tuscan red at a great price.
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List

2009 Peyrabon, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 02-20-2015
Delighted to see that the 2009 Peyrabon, Haut-Médoc ($19.99) is now back in stock. Bordeaux veterans will recall this Haut-Médoc bargain is happily situated on the border with Pauillac near Château Bernadotte. The strength of the exceptional '09 vintage really shines through here. The wine is remarkably fresh, with textbook blackberry and cassis notes and fine tannins. While it may be difficult to resist drinking this wine immediately, it will only continue to improve over the next 3 to 5 years.
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List

2011 Pontet-Canet, Pauillac
Review Date: 02-18-2015
Tasted blind in a recent K&L weekly staff tasting along with the 2000 Pontet Canet. Thank god Clyde decided to taste us blind on this 2011 Pontet Canet or I likely would have allowed my feelings about the vintage as a whole to color my perceptions. The class and breed of the exceptional terroir at Pontet Canet along with the incredible work done by the Tesseron family over the past twenty years really shines through here in a wine made under very challenging conditions. Youthful character, remarkably sweet fruit, and firm but not astringent tannins. And what length! Quite possibly the wine of the vintage.
Top Value!

Ariston Aspasie "Prestige Vielles Vignes" Champagne
Review Date: 02-10-2015
The wines of Paul-Vincent Ariston were the first from Champagne to be imported directly by K&L some 15 years ago now, and the Ariston Aspasie Prestige Vielles Vignes is still one of the best values on our shelves. The current cuvee, though not vintage dated, is composed entirely of fruit from the exceptional 2008 vintage (certainly the best vintage in Champagne since 1996, and perhaps even surpassing that much-heralded year). A blend of all three principal varieties (Chardonnay, Pinot Noir, and Pinot Meunier) from 65 year old vines, the old vine character really shines through here, yielding a wine of surpassing concentration and depth. This is one to savor, or perhaps to cellar for a few years. You can congratulate yourself on your foresight in the years to come.
Price: $39.99 Add To Waiting List

2004 Haut-Bergey, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 02-03-2015
2004 is one of those often overlooked vintages. Not in the top rank for the decade but solidly good, with quite a few well-priced wines of superb quality. The 2004 Chateau Haut Bergey from Pessac-Leognan is certainly one of these. It possesses lovely weight and richness with plenty of ripe red and black fruits, cherry and plum. There is an intriguing note of green tobacco, at once both comfortingly familiar and beguilingly exotic.
Price: $29.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 90

1995 Calon-Ségur, St Estèphe
Review Date: 01-27-2015
It's hard to believe this vintage is now 20 years old. '95 and '96 were the two top vintages of the decade and as they reach their twentieth birthday no doubt many of the wines will receive renewed scrutiny. 20 to 30 years old is prime maturity for most Bordeaux wines and many will be reaching their peak over the next decade. That being said, the 1995 Calon Segur, St-Estephe still seems very youthful with still firm tannins and just a hint of aged character emerging. The oak is nicely integrated at this point with lovely spice notes. Plenty of sweet, ripe fruit and classic Cabernet character of blackberry and cassis. As my colleague Ralph Sands notes, all the reasons we drink Bordeaux can be found in this bottle. I love this wine.

Tozai "Typhoon" Futsu Sake 720ml
Review Date: 12-31-2014
Our best value futsu-shu. Soft, round and fruity. Delicious either chilled or gently warmed.
Price: $9.99 Add To Waiting List

Ichishima Tokubetsu Honjozo Sake 720ml
Review Date: 12-31-2014
Hands down, one of the best values in our sake selection, and an excellent example of the Niigata style. So pure, so clean. Quite dry. It would do well paired with traditional sushi or any type of fresh seafood. I enjoyed it with our local Dungeness crab, and it really showed off the sweetness of the meat. Superb.
Price: $26.99 Add To Waiting List

Ariston Aspasie Blanc de Blancs Brut Champagne
Review Date: 12-31-2014
The current disgorgement of the Ariston Aspasie Blanc de Blancs Brut Champagne is perhaps a little firmer, a little less open knit than previous bottlings. But the tradeoff is more focus, more purity, and more length. Quite dry, but with remarkable sweetness of fruit and a light toast that adds depth and character. The ideal New Year's Eve companion - complex enough to be interesting but not so serious as to dominate the conversation.
Price: $34.99 Add To Waiting List

Dewatsuru Kimoto Junmai Sake 720ml
Review Date: 12-29-2014
This exceptional Junmai (no added alcohol and a seimaibuai of 65%) is made in the original, or "kimoto" style. It is more painstaking, labor-intensive, and time-consuming than using more modern techniques, but the result is a creamier, more complex, more savory style of sake that pairs well with robust dishes like fried foods, grilled meats, or aged cheeses. This semi-dry sake is nutty and creamy with hints of oyster mushroom and roasted chestnut. If you have never tried the kimoto or yamahai style, this is a superb introduction.
Price: $29.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Rickshaw California Pinot Noir
Review Date: 11-29-2014
Good California Pinot Noir under $20 is increasingly rare. Finding good California Pinot Noir for under $15 is like winning the lottery. And this 2013 Rickshaw California Pinot Noir is just the ticket. Ripe, sweet, almost candied red fruits – bright cherry and raspberry with just a hint of spice. Unbeatable quality at this price.
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List

Ariston Aspasie Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 11-29-2014
Always my favorite rosé champagne here at K&L. Drank it with Thanksgiving dinner this year. Quite dry with a pronounced red fruit character - crisp red apple and tart cherry. For die hard Pinot fans - 50/50 Pinot Noir and Pinot Meunier.
Price: $34.99 Add To Waiting List

2005 Valandraud, St-Emilion
Review Date: 11-06-2014
The flagship wine of garagiste Jean-Luc Thunevin, this 2005 Chateau Valandraud, St-Emilion is a superb example of both the vintage and the "modern" style of Bordeaux winemaking. It offers loads of dense, dark fruit, black fig and damson plum, with a bit of spicecake thrown in for good measure. Rich, almost silky in texture, finishing with fine tannins. A very well made wine, generous in every way but with excellent balance. Needs another five to ten years in the cellar but will more than reward the patient connoisseur.

2012 Baccinetti "La Saporoia" Rosso di Montalcino
Review Date: 10-30-2014
Our best buy in 100% Sangiovese from the hill town of Montalcino. Ripe morello cherries explode from the glass. The wine shows enviable concentration and depth, finishing with firm tannins. Works well with your preferred choice of pizza and/or pasta, but will stand up nicely even to more substantial dishes like Bistecca alla Fiorentina. Regular customers will welcome the return of the now famous "Catzilla" label, although that's a matter of perspective, surely.
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 Joseph Phelps Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 10-02-2014
If you have not had this wine recently this is the perfect vintage to renew your acquaintance with this unparalleled Napa value. Since 2009 Phelps has shifted entirely to estate grown fruit, reducing their overall production and improving quality. They now consider their estate wine something of a "second wine to Insignia" at one third of the price. This 2012 vintage is stunning, with loads of dark fruit and fine tannins. If you are a fan of Napa Cabernet, this is a "must try." Do not miss out.
Top Value!
Price: $59.99 Add To Waiting List
JS 92 WE 91

2014 Lake Chalice "The Nest" Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough
Review Date: 10-02-2014
Our third vintage of this NZ classic and still one of our best values in a Kiwi Sauvignon Blanc. The slightly cooler 2014 vintage produced a more aromatic wine with tart gooseberry notes, a more pronounced mineral character, and a peppery finish.
Price: $10.99 Add To Waiting List

Ariston Aspasie "Carte Blanche" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 09-02-2014
I think the Ariston Aspasie Carte Blanche Brut was one of the first grower-producer Champagnes I ever purchased from K&L. It remains to this day our best value in Champagne, and a superb introduction to the grower producer (RM) Champagnes. If your usual Champagne experience is Veuve Clicquot or Moet & Chandon, you owe it to yourself to try the Carte Blanche from Paul-Vincent Ariston. With roughly equal parts of the three classic Champagne grapes, and a retail price comfortably south of $30, this is a no-brainer. Open a bottle for no reason in the middle of the week. You'll feel like royalty.
Price: $27.99 Add To Waiting List

2009 Caronne Ste-Gemme, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 07-06-2013
Chateau Caronne Ste Gemme is located in the commune of Saint Laurent, due west of Saint Julien-Beychevelle, and is a near neighbor of Chateau Lagrange and Gruaud Larose. Francois Nony, whose family has owned the property for over a century, currently manages 40 hectares of vineyards planted on gravel soils. The wine spends 12 months in oak with about 25% of the barrels new. The extraordinary 2009 vintage produced a big, deeply colored wine with a rich, silky texture and very fine tannins. The wine is still youthful with tart, fresh blackberry and ripe, red cherry notes. Already more expressive than when tasted one year ago, it can be enjoyed now or over the next 1 to 5 years. A superb effort for this property and my top pick for best Bordeaux under $20 for the vintage.
Price: $22.99 Add To Waiting List
WS 90

Valdespino "Deliciosa" Manzanilla en Rama (375ml)
Review Date: 06-29-2013
If you are a sherry fan be sure to grab a bottle immediately of this unfiltered manzanilla from one of the top bodegas in Jerez. Bone dry but with a richer texture and greater complexity than a typical manzanilla. Super fresh and absolutely delicious.
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 92

Bruno Michel Premier Cru Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 11-30-2012
I recently enjoyed my first Dungeness crab of the season and this was the champagne I chose to drink with it. 100% Chardonnay from Bruno Michel's oldest vines. Crisp, clean and very dry with a very light toast. Bright citrus and tart green apple notes. Focused, precise, with tremendous concentration and length, this is serious wine.
Price: $44.99 Add To Waiting List

Bruno Michel "Blanche" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 09-29-2012
For longtime fans of Moet White Star or Veuve Cliquot this is the perfect introduction to grower producer Champagnes. A blend of Chardonnay and Pinot Meunier from Pierry south of Epernay, the Bruno Michel "Cuvee Blanche" offers lightly toasty, classic "brioche" character, a creamy texture, and crisp, ripe apple notes supported by a firm mineral backbone. This is superb Champagne at a great price.
Price: $34.99 Add To Waiting List

Page: 1 2 next