Staff Favorites - Jeff Garneau

Jeff Garneau
Jeff Garneau  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service
Jeff has been a member of the sales staff in our Redwood City store for the past four years. His first introduction to wine was as a waiter in an upscale Italian restaurant in Hanover, NH more years ago than he likes to admit. He slowly made his way west to wine country, working his way across the US as a graduate student in geography, a public sector researcher in regional economic development, and briefly, in the wake of the Anderson-Enron scandal, a records management coordinator for one of the remaining Big Five accounting firms. Finally, surrendering to the inevitable, he accepted a position in the wine business here at K&L. His goals for the next four years include drinking more wines from Italy and France and trying to limit the number of open bottles on the dinner table on any given night to fewer than six.


Reviews

  
Page: 1 2 next
2009 Peyrabon, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 08-17-2016
Delighted to see that the 2009 Peyrabon, Haut-Médoc ($19.99) is now back in stock. Bordeaux veterans will recall this Haut-Médoc bargain is happily situated on the border with Pauillac near Château Bernadotte. The strength of the exceptional '09 vintage really shines through here. The wine is remarkably fresh, with textbook blackberry and cassis notes and fine tannins. While it may be difficult to resist drinking this wine immediately, it will only continue to improve over the next 3 to 5 years.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2009 Moulin La Lagune, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 08-17-2016
The second label of troisième cru Chateau La Lagune, Haut-Médoc. The 2009 vintage yielded a large crop of grapes of exceptional quality, perfect conditions for producing outstanding second wines. The ’09 Moulin de La Lagune is a great example. Intriguing oak spice on the nose with plenty of sweet dark fruit and a rich texture. Can be enjoyed in its youth or cellared for a few years more.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2009 Capbern Gasqueton, St-Estèphe
Review Date: 08-17-2016
The 2009 Capbern Gasqueton, St-Estèphe is a veritable showcase for everything that is right about the ’09 vintage – wonderfully fresh and lively with loads of sweet, dark fruit and positively silky, ultrafine tannins. Add to that a hauntingly floral nose with deft touches of toasty, spicy oak that is just damn sexy. No other word for it. What a pleasure to be able to revisit this wine now four years after release! An outstanding value. Delicious to drink now or to cellar for a few years more.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
RP 91

1996 Bel Air Lagrave, Moulis-en-Medoc
Review Date: 08-12-2016
From one of the top vintages of the 1990s, this perfectly aged Bordeaux is ready for your table at a price you can afford to drink every night. In color, the wine spans the range from deep garnet to a warm brick red. On the nose, hints of cedar, camphor oil, and mint. Still youthful fruit with notes of red and black currant and cherries. Full-bodied, showing lovely weight and ripeness. Bright and lively with fine tannins. 60% Cabernet Sauvignon, 35% Merlot, 5% Petit Verdot.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2010 Tronquoy de St-Anne, St-Estèphe
Review Date: 08-09-2016
Back to back successes in ’09 and ’10 at Chateau Tronquoy-Lalande with this second label, Tronquoy de Sainte-Anne. The 2010 is much like the 2009, but with more of everything...more fruit, more acidity and more tannin. A rich, full bodied effort with sweet, ripe red and black fruits wrapped around a substantial core of fine tannins. This is serious wine, deeply colored with real intensity and depth. Certainly the best value we can offer from Bordeaux at this price point. For best results decant for one hour and enjoy, and be sure to tuck a case away to have a few years from now.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2014 Oakridge Estate "Willowlake Vineyard" Pinot Noir Yarra Valley
Review Date: 07-29-2016
A terrific example of topnotch Aussie winemaking expertise inspired by French traditions. New World Pinot Noir in a Burgundian style. The 2014 Oakridge Estate Willowlake VIneyard Pinot Noir Yarra Valley offers crisp, slightly "crunchy" red fruits with notes both floral and spicy. Think Chambolle Musigny. Astonishing quality here at this price. "Bonjour, mate! Merci beaucoup!"
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JH 96

2014 Roquefort Blanc, Bordeaux
Review Date: 07-29-2016
My personal favorite so far from this 2014 vintage and a perfect example of an entry level Bordeaux blanc. The most expensive dry white wines from Bordeaux are aged in oak barrels and are typically cellared for a decade or more prior to consumption. By contrast, the 2014 Chateau Roquefort Blanc is available for a mere $11.99, is aged entirely in stainless steel tanks, and is ready to drink right now. The wine is delightfully fresh and lively in character, quite crisp and dry but with remarkably generous fruit. A blend of 85% Sauvignon Blanc and 15% Semillon. Mostly citrus here with mouthwateringly fresh, white grapefruit notes and the barest hint of something a bit more exotic and tropical. If you are a fan of Sauvignon Blanc and have yet to discover the quality of the white wines of Bordeaux, this is the perfect wine with which to begin.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

2013 Trellis (Amelia Park) Cabernet Sauvignon-Merlot Margaret River
Review Date: 07-24-2016
If I had tasted the 2013 Trellis (Amelia Park) Cabernet Sauvignon-Merlot Margaret River blind, I would have assumed it was a much more expensive wine. However, since I was aware of the true retail price, my actual response at first sip was a calm, restrained, very professional “Holy &%$@!” I don’t know what to say about this wine that won’t be dismissed as mere hyperbole, but I can tell you honestly that it may very well be one of the top $10 reds we currently have available. This is classic Margaret River Cab (actually a blend of 85% Cabernet Sauvignon and 15% Merlot) for a mere song. The nose is lightly floral with a hint of mint. On the palate, notes of cherry and raspberry, generous red fruits, sweet and ripe. The wine is rich in texture but with near perfect balance. Bright and lively with ultra-fine tannins. An absolute delight to drink and an unbeatable value. I repeat, there is simply NO way for me to convey how good a deal this wine is and make you believe me. You will have to try it for yourself. Once you do, your friends won’t believe you either, so do them a favor and pour them a glass. You'll make believers of them, too.
Top Value!
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart

2000 Sarget de Gruaud Larose, St-Julien
Review Date: 07-07-2016
The second label of second growth Chateau Gruaud-Larose, named for one of the property's most prominent 19th century owners. The 2000 Sarget de Gruaud Larose, St-Julien shows off the strength of this millennial vintage. Big and round in the mouth with admirable weight. Lightly floral nose with characteristic tobacco notes. Lively fresh-picked blackberry fruit. Finishes firm with tannins still noticeably present. Drink or hold.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart
WS 91

2014 Jacques Bavard Auxey-Duresses "Les Clous" Blanc
Review Date: 06-30-2016
From the heart of the appellation of Auxey-Duresses, which lies between Meursault and Saint-Romain, this single vineyard villages-level white Burgundy is among the more richly-textured of Jacques Bavard’s wines. There is more weight here and less apparent minerality yet plenty of liveliness and energy. Bright citrus peel notes combine with lightly toasted oak and delicate floral aromas to create a very satisfying whole. Drinkable now or over the next few years.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2000 Calon-Ségur, St-Estèphe
Review Date: 06-21-2016
he pedigree is obvious here. The 2000 Calon-Ségur has it all: lovely weight, richness and texture with ample, ripe, sweet fruit. However, it also demonstrates how the very best wines of this stellar vintage are going to require further patience. The tannins are still quite firm. If I had, say, half a dozen bottles in my cellar (and I do), I would not look to open the next bottle for another three to five years at least.

1982 Dauzac, Margaux
Review Date: 06-21-2016
The 1982 Dauzac, now in its third decade, is approaching full maturity. The nose is quite savory, with a pronounced sous bois character. With the bottle I sampled, the removal of the cork was followed by an explosion of violets, an enchanting floral note that virtually defines Margaux. The ripeness of the vintage is apparent in the wine’s rich texture and bright, sweet red fruits—predominantly dried cherry and cranberry. Fine tannins frame the finish.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart

2013 Olema Sonoma County Chardonnay
Review Date: 06-04-2016
The second label of staff and customer favorite, Amici Cellars. From fruit sourced in Sonoma Carneros, the Russian River and Sonoma Coast, the 2013 Olema Sonoma County Chardonnay is richly textured with generous apple and pear notes nicely integrated with lightly spicy oak. A superbly crafted wine from an outstanding vintage, and a terrific deal in a California Chardonnay.
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2013 Obsidian Ridge "Obsidian Ridge Vineyard" Red Hills Lake County Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 06-02-2016
I can't stress this strongly enough. The 2013 Obsidian Ridge "Obsidian Ridge Vineyard" Red Hills Lake County Cabernet Sauvignon is the BEST DEAL we have in stock right now in a California Cab, bar none. This is serious juice! Geography is destiny, and the volcanic soil and higher elevations found in the Red Hills are merely a northward extension of the superb conditions found in Napa in places like Howell Mountain. Classic Cabernet profile here - a hint of violets on the nose with notes of blackberry and cassis. Rich texture with loads of dark fruit. Superb structure with lively acidity and fine tannins. Unbelievable quality at his price. Outstanding value!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2010 Bava Barbaresco
Review Date: 06-01-2016
From one of a handful of exciting new Piemontese producers recently added to our Italian Direct Import program. The 2010 Bava Barbaresco may be one of the best values we currently offer in a Barbaresco or Barolo. Classic Nebbiolo character. Elegant. Refined. Wonderfully floral in aroma. Crunchy red fruits with a hint of spice. Firm, structured finish. The quality of this 2010 vintage, the best in recent memory, is outstanding. It really begs for a few more years in the cellar to develop fully. Can be enjoyed now if you allow an hour or so for decanting.
Top Value!
Price: $32.99 Add To Cart

Can Mayol Loxarel "999" Brut Nature Rosat Penedes
Review Date: 05-31-2016
The low price here may fool you into thinking this is just a simple sparkling wine but don't sell this substantial cava short. Bone dry in style with intense red fruits and a hint of spice, this greatly outperforms the price point. Add this to your list of great Spanish wine values to try soon.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
W&S 91

2000 Brane-Cantenac, Margaux
Review Date: 05-13-2016
2000. The millennial vintage. Cooler, wetter conditions earlier in the year eventually gave way to warm, sunny weather in August and September, allowing for good ripening of the grapes and a harvest under ideal conditions. Notwithstanding, at Brane Cantenac in order to produce the best possible wine for the vintage a much stricter selection than usual was made for the first wine (less than 30% of total production) and a higher proportion of Merlot was used (55%). A little more than 15 years later the results speak for themselves. The 2000 Brane Cantenac, Margaux is typical of the best wines of the vintage with generous ripe, sweet red and black fruits and admirable mid-palate weight. The wine offers a rich, sensuous texture with good underlying structure – lively acidity and firm, fine tannins. The wines from this 2000 vintage are beginning to diverge in terms of their development. Some are ripe and forward and ready to drink. Others can be enjoyed now but clearly have a long life ahead of them. Others still remain largely closed and will require additional cellaring before their full promise is revealed. Fortunately, the 2000 Brane Cantenac falls into the middle category. Though some signs of bottle age have begun to emerge, the wine is perhaps five to ten years away from the peak of maturity. Drink now or hold.

2013 Sesta di Sopra Rosso di Montalcino
Review Date: 04-30-2016
Sesta di Sopra was our first Direct Import from Montalcino. I think that this 2013 Sesta di Sopra Rosso di Montalcino is our twelfth vintage of this wine. Like its bigger brother Brunello, this is one of the few Tuscan reds that is 100% Sangiovese by law. And Sesta di Sopra's wine, unusually for a rosso, is aged entirely in barrique. This is a polished, elegant wine, entirely in the Sesta di Sopra style. This is what you drink while you wait for the 2010 Brunello to age beautifully in the cellar. Terrific value.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JS 90

2014 Clos Floridene, Graves Blanc
Review Date: 04-16-2016
This classic white Bordeaux is produced by the husband and wife team of Florence and Denis Dubordieu. (The name of the domaine is an amalgam of their two first names.) Denis Dubordieu is a professor of oenology at the University of Bordeaux and the foremost expert on white wine production in the region. No surprise then that his 2014 Clos Floridene Graves Blanc offers such exceptional quality. The wine is a blend of 55% Sauvignon Blanc and 45% Semillon. It is aged in barrel (25% new) for 8 months with frequent lees stirring. The result is a dry white wine that combines a refreshing crispness with a palate-pleasing richness of texture. This is the model on which the best California Sauvignon Blancs are based. Outstanding value.
Top Value!

Fukucho "Forgotten Fortune" Junmai Sake 720ml
Review Date: 04-01-2016
The re-establishment of the Hattan-so variety of sake rice is a personal project of master brewer Miho Imada. Fukucho Forgotten Fortune Junmai Sake is made entirely from Hattan-so rice milled to 75%. It is a bold, full-flavored junmai, supple and richly textured, very much in the style for which Hiroshima prefecture is famous. A superb value!
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart

2014 Clos Cibonne Tibouren "Tradition" Côtes de Provence Rosé
Review Date: 03-30-2016
Although the region of Provence is well known for producing some of the world’s classic dry rosés, the similarity of blends and styles can easily lead one to assume that one Provençal rosé is much like any other. True or not, the same can certainly not be said of the wines of Clos Cibonne. Their reliance on the rare Tibouren grape and their unusual method of vinification makes these wines truly unique. The 2014 Clos Cibonne Tibouren "Tradition" Côtes de Provence Rosé is an unusual blend of 90% Tibouren and 10% Grenache. Following fermentation the wine is aged for one year on its lees in 100 year old, 500L wooden foudres under a thin veil of yeast called a fleurette (similar to the sous voile aging in the nearby Jura). While this is a wine that will no doubt appeal to the true wine geek, many will find it well worth seeking out for its quality, character, and rarity.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2011 Fratelli Barale Barolo "Cannubi"
Review Date: 03-30-2016
Cannubi is the most prestigious of Barolo's many vineyards with a reputation for producing fine wines that precedes the creation of the DOC itself. Prices for "Cannubi" designated wines therefore are often higher than for other nearby "crus". Which explains in part why this 2011 Cannubi bottling from new direct import Sergio Barale is so compelling. Traditional in style. Lightly floral with some savory notes. Lovely weight and mouthfeel, rich and round. Bright and fresh with a firm finish. Classic appeal from one of Barolo's best vineyards at a very reasonable price.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart
JS 91

Mas Codina Cava Brut Reserva Penedès
Review Date: 02-29-2016
Everyone loves a good value in sparkling wine. We would all love to drink Champagne every night, but sometimes you want to spend a little less without compromising quality. For that reason, our buyers here at K&L strive to provide a broad range of alternatives at affordable prices. Over time certain of these have become so popular among our customers and staff that they have achieved an almost iconic status, the kind of wine people buy by the case – among others the Louis Bouillot Cremant de Bourgogne "Perle d'Aurore" Brut Rosé, the Deligeroy Cremant de Loire Brut, and the Mas Codina Cava Brut Reserva Penedès. This classic Spanish cava combines traditional grape varieties like Xarello and Macabeo with those more likely to be found in Champagne like Chardonnay and Pinot Noir. 24 months on the lees adds richness and weight. At this price you can treat yourself whenever you like.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2012 Olema Sonoma County Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 02-29-2016
I have been fortunate enough on a couple of occasions to enjoy a glass or two in the company of Bob Shepard, one of the partners in Amici Cellars. What is so compelling about Bob is the fact that he simply loves making great wine and sharing that wine with friends. Nothing more complicated than that. By those standards, the 2012 Olema Sonoma County Cabernet Sauvignon is a triumph. Classic California Cabernet character at a price you can afford to drink. And have enough money left over so you can pick up a second bottle in case company drops by. You never know.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2013 Carbonnieux Blanc, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 01-29-2016
It's all too easy to forget that Bordeaux is famous for its white wine as well as red. The finest whites from Pessac-Léognan are world class blends of Sauvignon Blanc and Semillon, the most shockingly successful French marriage since Carla Bruni & Nicolas Sarkozy. The 2013 Chateau Carbonnieux Blanc, Pessac-Léognan is a superb example. One of only a handful of properties designated Cru Classé for both red and white wines, the Carbonnieux vineyards enjoy a favorable exposition and are usually among the first to be harvested each autumn. They made the most of a challenging vintage in 2013, producing a white wine of surprising ripeness. The nose is frankly tropical, with notes of guava and passionfruit. On the palate one finds tart white grapefruit notes, very fresh, crisp and precise. The blend is three quarters Sauvignon Blanc to one quarter Semillon. Aged for 10 months in barrel (30% new) with occasional lees stirring. This is the French archetype which provided the inspiration for wildly popular California Sauvignon Blancs such as Duckhorn or Spottswoode. You owe it to yourself to try the original.

2014 Saint-Jean-des-Graves Blanc, Graves
Review Date: 01-29-2016
The 2014 Saint-Jean-des-Graves Blanc, Graves is the latest release of a wine K&L has sold vintage after vintage for nearly 20 years, and it remains a perennial staff and customer favorite. A 50/50 blend of Sauvignon Blanc and Semillon, it is bright and fresh, very crisp and clean and mineral driven with abundant notes of citrus and fresh herbs. A great value, conveniently priced for everyday drinking.
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart

2006 Baron Fuente "Grand Millesime" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 12-14-2015
What's not to like about the 2006 Baron Fuente Grand Millesime Brut Champagne? The warm vintage yielded big, bold wines that offer generous fruit and are perfectly ready to drink. Seven plus years on the lees added a rich, toasty complexity with notes of brioche and pain grillé. There is an intriguing spiciness (cinnamon?) that I attribute to the quality of the Pinot Meunier in the blend. Notes of candied lemon peel and baked apple round out the flavor profile. Did I mention the price? Direct import pricing and a favorable euro-dollar exchange rate mean you can take a bottle home for less than $30.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
WS 91

2015 Lake Chalice "The Nest" Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough
Review Date: 12-14-2015
Our fourth vintage of what is fast becoming one of our best selling NZ Sauvignon Blancs. Among the best priced wines in the category, it compares very favorably to many wines in the $15 to $20 range. This 2015 vintage may very well be the best yet. Loads of tart, fresh grapefruit notes and a hint of something a bit more floral and tropical - passionfruit? Classic NZ "savvy" at a price you can afford to drink every day.
Top Value!
Price: $8.99 Add To Cart
RP 90

2015 Waterkloof Circumstance "Cape Coral" Mourvedre Rosé Stellenbosch
Review Date: 11-28-2015
Bandol meets Stellenbosch! Introduced just two years ago this dark horse of a rosé from South Africa has quickly and improbably become a customer favorite, the first one people ask for every spring. Composed of 100% Mourvedre and reminiscent of the best rosés of Provence. Crisp and dry but with a genuine richness of texture. Terrific value.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

San Venanzio Prosecco Valdobbiadene Superiore Brut
Review Date: 11-10-2015
While the classic Italian Prosecco is "Extra Dry", with just a touch of sweetness on the finish, this charming sparkling wine from San Venanzio is made in a "Brut" style more familiar to American palates. At a mere 11.5% alcohol and at the very attractive, direct import price of $12.99, it's easy on both your palate and your wallet. Crisp, bone dry, refreshing. Low in alchohol. Low in price. An ideal aperitif you can enjoy every day.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
WE 91

Mezcalero "Los Nahuales" Special Edition Sierrudo/Cuishe Mezcal (750ml)
Review Date: 10-22-2015
When our spirits buyer, David Driscoll, returned from Mexico last May, it was as if he had had a religious conversion, a “Saint Paul on the road to Oaxaca” moment. Mezcal was his new god, and Karina Abad Rojas, the head of production for Los Danzantes, his High Priestess. David was as excited as only David can be, and within a few days of his return he had the staff here in Redwood City in a similar state, thrilled to be able to sell the Los Danzantes and Alipus mezcals, and ready to become evangelists for this remarkable agave spirit. How typical of David not to mention that there was something even better on the way, a mezcal handcrafted by none other than Karina Abad Rojas herself, a remarkable expression of her intense passion for, and deep knowledge of, the agave grown in and around her home state of Oaxaca. The Mezcalero Los Nahuales Special Edition Sierrudo-Cuishe Mezcal, a co-fermented blend of the massive and slow-growing Sierrudo and wild Cuishe agaves is an agave spirit of astonishing subtlety and refinement. I lingered long over complex notes of cedar smoke, fleur de sel, and candied lemon peel. It was nothing short of a revelation, and the most exciting thing to come out of Mexico since Salma Hayek. This is a mezcal that is going to win over not only tequila aficionados, but gin drinkers as well. And if you are already a mezcal fan, well, make a little room on your bar for this little miracle. It would be a sin not to.
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart

Michel Loriot "Authentic" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 10-17-2015
"You had me at Meunier..." So rare to have a chance to enjoy Champagne that is 100% Pinot Meunier. As if that weren't enough, this is one of the few non-vintage cuvees we sell that is more than 50% reserve wine. Oh, and at less than $30 one of the best deals among our directly imported grower producer Champagnes. Still not sold on this one? Each bottle is sealed with genuine 16k gold foil. OK. That's not actually true. But everything else, you bet. What are you waiting for?
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
ST 90

2010 Von Siebenthal "Parcela #7" Gran Reserva Aconcagua Valley
Review Date: 09-30-2015
I fell in love with the Von Siebenthal wines when we first began to carry them several years ago. I was thrilled then to see the 2010 Von Siebenthal "Parcela #7" Gran Reserva Aconcagua Valley back in stock (OK, I may have bullied Joe, our Chilean buyer, just a little bit). I don't drink a lot of Chilean wine, but I do drink a lot of Bordeaux, and this Bordeaux blend is really on point. A great wine and a great price. Welcome back!
Price: Hidden View Price
RP 91

2012 Ellero "Pisa Terrace" Pinot Noir Central Otago
Review Date: 05-29-2015
My list of "outstanding Pinot Noirs from New Zealand offered at unbelievable prices" just keeps getting longer and longer. At the moment we have perhaps a dozen wines in the $20 to $30 range, all of exceptional quality. This 2012 Pisa Terrace bottling from Ellero comes from one of the most coveted vineyards in Central Otago. A melange of spice notes coupled with ripe red and black fruits define this supremely balanced wine. Deliciously sweet yet fresh and lively. Accessible yet with good underlying structure. Perfection in a glass.

2013 Bishop's Peak San Luis Obispo Pinot Noir
Review Date: 03-31-2015
I am a big fan of the Talley Vineyards wines. Their single vineyard bottlings from Rincon and Rosemary's vineyards are benchmarks for great Central Coast Pinot Noir. While these wines justifiably command premium prices, we have also been stocking their slightly more affordable second label Bishop's Peak wines for several years now. It is frankly tough to find great California Pinot Noir for less than $20, but the Bishop's Peak 2013 bottling really over-delivers. Plenty of ripe red and black fruits and intriguing spice notes. Rich and round in the mouth with lovely weight. Complex and multidimensional. Great Pinot Noir character at a terrific price.
Top Value!
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2012 Rocca di Montegrossi Chianti Classico
Review Date: 03-31-2015
It should tell you something that the only Chianti K&L imports directly from Italy are the wines of Rocca di Montegrossi. From the heart of the Chianti Classico zone in Gaiole, Marco Ricasoli meticulously produces some of the finest wines to be found between Florence and Siena. The 2012 Rocca di Montegrossi Chianti Classico is a classic blend of 90% Sangiovese and 5% each of Canaiolo and Colorino, aged 12 months in French oak for a polished, elegant style.
Price: $21.95 Add To Cart

2011 Pontet-Canet, Pauillac
Review Date: 02-18-2015
Tasted blind in a recent K&L weekly staff tasting along with the 2000 Pontet Canet. Thank god Clyde decided to taste us blind on this 2011 Pontet Canet or I likely would have allowed my feelings about the vintage as a whole to color my perceptions. The class and breed of the exceptional terroir at Pontet Canet along with the incredible work done by the Tesseron family over the past twenty years really shines through here in a wine made under very challenging conditions. Youthful character, remarkably sweet fruit, and firm but not astringent tannins. And what length! Quite possibly the wine of the vintage.
Top Value!

Ariston Aspasie "Prestige Vieilles Vignes" Champagne
Review Date: 02-10-2015
The wines of Paul-Vincent Ariston were the first from Champagne to be imported directly by K&L some 15 years ago now, and the Ariston Aspasie Prestige Vielles Vignes is still one of the best values on our shelves. The current cuvee, though not vintage dated, is composed entirely of fruit from the exceptional 2008 vintage (certainly the best vintage in Champagne since 1996, and perhaps even surpassing that much-heralded year). A blend of all three principal varieties (Chardonnay, Pinot Noir, and Pinot Meunier) from 65 year old vines, the old vine character really shines through here, yielding a wine of surpassing concentration and depth. This is one to savor, or perhaps to cellar for a few years. You can congratulate yourself on your foresight in the years to come.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2004 Haut-Bergey, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 02-03-2015
2004 is one of those often overlooked vintages. Not in the top rank for the decade but solidly good, with quite a few well-priced wines of superb quality. The 2004 Chateau Haut Bergey from Pessac-Leognan is certainly one of these. It possesses lovely weight and richness with plenty of ripe red and black fruits, cherry and plum. There is an intriguing note of green tobacco, at once both comfortingly familiar and beguilingly exotic.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
RP 90

1995 Calon-Ségur, St Estèphe
Review Date: 01-27-2015
It's hard to believe this vintage is now 20 years old. '95 and '96 were the two top vintages of the decade and as they reach their twentieth birthday no doubt many of the wines will receive renewed scrutiny. 20 to 30 years old is prime maturity for most Bordeaux wines and many will be reaching their peak over the next decade. That being said, the 1995 Calon Segur, St-Estephe still seems very youthful with still firm tannins and just a hint of aged character emerging. The oak is nicely integrated at this point with lovely spice notes. Plenty of sweet, ripe fruit and classic Cabernet character of blackberry and cassis. As my colleague Ralph Sands notes, all the reasons we drink Bordeaux can be found in this bottle. I love this wine.

Tozai "Typhoon" Futsu Sake 720ml
Review Date: 12-31-2014
Our best value futsu-shu. Soft, round and fruity. Delicious either chilled or gently warmed.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

Ichishima Tokubetsu Honjozo Sake 720ml
Review Date: 12-31-2014
Hands down, one of the best values in our sake selection, and an excellent example of the Niigata style. So pure, so clean. Quite dry. It would do well paired with traditional sushi or any type of fresh seafood. I enjoyed it with our local Dungeness crab, and it really showed off the sweetness of the meat. Superb.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart

Ariston Aspasie Blanc de Blancs Brut Champagne
Review Date: 12-31-2014
The current disgorgement of the Ariston Aspasie Blanc de Blancs Brut Champagne is perhaps a little firmer, a little less open knit than previous bottlings. But the tradeoff is more focus, more purity, and more length. Quite dry, but with remarkable sweetness of fruit and a light toast that adds depth and character. The ideal New Year's Eve companion - complex enough to be interesting but not so serious as to dominate the conversation.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Ariston Aspasie Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 11-29-2014
Always my favorite rosé champagne here at K&L. Drank it with Thanksgiving dinner this year. Quite dry with a pronounced red fruit character - crisp red apple and tart cherry. For die hard Pinot fans - 50/50 Pinot Noir and Pinot Meunier.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Ariston Aspasie "Carte Blanche" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 09-02-2014
I think the Ariston Aspasie Carte Blanche Brut was one of the first grower-producer Champagnes I ever purchased from K&L. It remains to this day our best value in Champagne, and a superb introduction to the grower producer (RM) Champagnes. If your usual Champagne experience is Veuve Clicquot or Moet & Chandon, you owe it to yourself to try the Carte Blanche from Paul-Vincent Ariston. With roughly equal parts of the three classic Champagne grapes, and a retail price comfortably south of $30, this is a no-brainer. Open a bottle for no reason in the middle of the week. You'll feel like royalty.
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart

1986 Haut-Bailly, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 04-30-2014
The wines of the '86 vintage were forbiddingly tannic in their youth and very slow to evolve. Closing in on 30 years past the vintage they are really coming into their own. The 1986 Haut Bailly, Pessac-Leognan is certainly a strong candidate for one of the most charming wines of the vintage. The wine has all the hallmarks of a nicely aged claret - fully garnet color, bottle notes of cedar and saddle leather, and a fine coating of tannins on the finish that is the legacy of this long-lived vintage. In addition, however, it also offers a remarkable sweetness of fruit - red currant and cherry. The wine is possessed of a lovely ripeness and a suppleness of texture that became even more evident with additional aeration.
Price: $139.99 Add To Cart
WS 91

2009 Clos du Marquis, St-Julien
Review Date: 10-15-2013
Elegant and intriguing. 2009 is the 'vintage of the second wine.' This is easily one of the best.

1989 Chasse-Spleen, Moulis
Review Date: 09-28-2013
A few years back when we traveled to Bordeaux to taste the 2009 vintage out of barrel, we were served the 1989 Chasse Spleen at lunch at the Chateau. Given the opportunity to taste it again, I jumped at the chance. At nearly 25 years of age the wine is near its peak. The nose speaks of a mature Bordeaux - cedar and tobacco, leather and prunes. On the palate the ripeness of the '89 vintage shines through - loads of dark fruit - tart blackcurrant and fig jam. Tannins are quite fine with a bit of firmness remaining. Delicious last night with a grilled ribeye steak, roasted fingerling potatoes and brussel sprouts.
Price: $89.99 Add To Cart
RP 91 WS 91

Page: 1 2 next