Staff Favorites - Jeff Garneau

Jeff Garneau
Jeff Garneau  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service
Jeff has been a member of the sales staff in our Redwood City store for the past four years. His first introduction to wine was as a waiter in an upscale Italian restaurant in Hanover, NH more years ago than he likes to admit. He slowly made his way west to wine country, working his way across the US as a graduate student in geography, a public sector researcher in regional economic development, and briefly, in the wake of the Anderson-Enron scandal, a records management coordinator for one of the remaining Big Five accounting firms. Finally, surrendering to the inevitable, he accepted a position in the wine business here at K&L. His goals for the next four years include drinking more wines from Italy and France and trying to limit the number of open bottles on the dinner table on any given night to fewer than six.


Reviews

  
Page: 1 2 next
2015 Domaine des Remizières Crozes-Hermitage
Review Date: 03-15-2017
Devotees of Syrah from the northern Rhone know that the best values are often to be found in Saint Joseph or Crozes-Hermitage, but this 2015 bottling from Domaine des Remizieres sets a new standard for quality and price. Deeply colored with a lightly floral nose, the wine offers loads of sweet, ripe blueberry fruit and peppery spice. A complete package here with lively acidity and fine tannins, this is an absolutely astonishing value in a northern Rhone Syrah you can drink tonight.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2014 Haut-Vigneau, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 03-08-2017
2014 seems like a vintage tailor-made for the Graves region. A long, cool summer kept acid levels high, lending the wines a noticeable freshness and liveliness. A nearly perfect autumn with warm days and cool nights brought the grapes to perfect ripeness, yielding an admirable sweetness of fruit. Add to that the classic Graves mineral profile and you have a veritable trifecta of taste. Owned by the Perrin family, who also own Cru Classé Chateau Carbonnieux, Chateau Haut Vigneau is always a terrific value. This 2014 vintage is partly floral, partly savory on the nose with notes of tobacco and smoke. Very lively and fresh in the mouth with classic Graves minerality and fine tannins. Soft and round with loads of sweet fruit, this medium to full-bodied effort is ready to drink tonight. Decant for best results.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2014 Valravn "Old Vine" Sonoma County Zinfandel
Review Date: 02-28-2017
I recall a winemaker once explaining how difficult Zinfandel could be to grow since the grape clusters tend to ripen unevenly, with some grapes still mostly green while others had started to raisin. I have always thought that the best California Zins seem to capture the essence of this phenomenon, being both tart and richly sweet all at once. The new 2014 Valravn Old Vine Sonoma County Zinfandel hits all the marks with lively acidity and rich, sweet dark fruit. Superb varietal typicity here and an absolutely delicious bottle of wine.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

Michel Arnould "Reserve" Brut Verzenay Champagne
Review Date: 02-28-2017
One of the remarkable things about our direct import program in Champagne and the many small grower producers with whom we work is the opportunity to taste wines from a specific region of Champagne, wines that reflect the particular terroir of one village or another. Upon first sip, I absolutely fell in love with the wines of Michel Arnould. In places like Verzenay and Bouzy in the Montaigne de Reims, Pinot Noir is king. These are big, bold, black fruited Champagnes that really deserve to be drunk out of a Burgundy glass and paired with a meal. The Michel Arnould Verzenay Reserve Brut Cham[pagne is a great introduction to the region, and a steal at this price.
Price: $32.99 Add To Cart

2010 Lamothe-Bergeron, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 02-28-2017
From Cussac Fort-Medoc, just south of Saint Julien. This is a big full-bodied red wine that is very much a product of the 2010 vintage, with more of, well, everything. Loads of rich, dark fruit, sweet and ripe combine with lively acidity and firm tannins. A touch floral on the nose buttressed by hints of oak spice and vanilla. Modern and forward in style. Decant for best results.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
WE 91 WS 90

Le Brun de Neuville "Authentique Assemblage" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-25-2017
La Maison Le Brun de Neuville is one of the top producers in the Côte de Sézanne. This lesser known region of Champagne is sometimes dismissed as merely a southward extension of the Côte des Blancs, but to do so is to ignore the unique character and exceptional quality of these wines. The Le Brun de Neuville Authentique Assemblage is aged under cork for five years, a practice that requires manual disgorgement using a centuries old technique. The result is Champagne that is rich in style with an ultra-fine bead, opulent yet focused, creamy in texture yet very fresh and lively. Rarely available in the US. Don’t miss your chance to sample the best of this remarkable region.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WE 90 WS 90

2004 La Tempérance Prestige, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 02-24-2017
From the portfolio of Bernard Magrez, owner of Chateau Pape Clement in Pessac-Leognan. While it might be too much to suggest that there is a "Magrez" style, it is true that many of his wines adopt a "take no prisoners" approach, combining toasty oak with a certain generosity of fruit. This 2004 Ch. La Temperance, Haut Medoc is no exception. There is a hint of age beginning to emerge on the nose here, with savory truffle notes combining with hints of roasted coffee. Plenty of sweet, ripe red and black fruits on the palate but with good underlying structure. The bright acidity and firm tannins are evident. A typical if slightly modern style Bordeaux to enjoy with tonight's dinner. Decant and enjoy!
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2010 Cantemerle, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 02-08-2017
The very first wine I bought for my cellar from this historic 2010 vintage. The 2010 Cantemerle, Haut-Medoc embodies everything that is great about the vintage - astonishing depth of color and flavor, big fruit, profound structure. One of the rare Haut-Medoc chateaus to be included in the classification of 1855 this cinquieme cru is one of Bordeaux's great values. Don't miss a chance to add some to your cellar.

2014 Henri de Villamont Meursault "Clos du Cromin"
Review Date: 02-02-2017
I can't say enough good things about this 2014 vintage for white Burgundy. What wonderful precision and focus the wines have. I have blown my wine budget over the past couple of months filling up the cellar. The trick though is to find great wines at affordable prices that you can drink tonight. This 2014 Henri De Villamont Meursault Clos Du Cromin is one such. Lightly floral on the nose with a hint of oak. Makes an immediate impression on the palate with lovely weight. The rich texture is balanced by bracing acidity that keeps the wine lively and fresh. Drink now or over the next one to three years. A terrific value in a villages Meursault.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart
DC 96

2014 Te Mata "Awatea" Bordeaux Blend Hawkes Bay
Review Date: 01-31-2017
Te Mata is the preeminent producer of Bordeaux blends in New Zealand. Their top bottling "Coleraine" is legendary. This second label “Awatea” is made in a slightly more approachable style at a more affordable price point. Otherwise you get the same classic blackcurrant leaf and savory “sous bois” character married to New World fruit that you find in the higher end bottling. A “can’t miss” wine for Bordeaux lovers.

2010 Bois-Malot, Bordeaux Supérieur
Review Date: 01-31-2017
From 10 hectares of vineyards on the banks of the Dordogne River, about 15 km from the city of Bordeaux itself, 3rd generation vigneron Jacques Meynard produces this incomparable Bordeaux Supérieur . I have found it to be remarkably consistent vintage to vintage, quite good even in years when the weather is less accommodating. Given the very favorable conditions of the extraordinary 2010 vintage, however, this little vin ordinaire is a surprisingly substantial wine! At first showing only ripe fruit with a slightly savory component, the wine – decanted – really opened up over the course of an hour. Sweet, ripe, almost jammy red fruits tasting of cherry preserves combined with a delightful note of fresh mint. A typical Bordeaux blend of Cabernet Sauvignon, Merlot, and Cabernet Franc, and the Cabernet really takes the lead here. This is a big, full-bodied effort with lively acidity and firm tannins. Greatly outperforms the price point.
Top Value!
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart

Cappelletti "Sfumato Rabarbaro" Amaro (750ml)
Review Date: 01-06-2017
This wonderful Amaro from Cappelletti is smoky and earthy, sweet and classically bitter. Try it on its own as a digestivo to end a hearty meal or get creative with some of your favorite cocktails. Personally, I am a huge Negroni fan. I have been looking for some time for an Amaro I could pair with Mezcal. As soon as I tasted the Sfumato Rabarbaro Amaro I knew I had found the secret ingredient for my Negroni Sfumato (I thought “Smoke & Mirrors” would be a fun title as well). Try equal parts Sfumato Rabarbaro Amaro from Cappelletti, Cocchi Vermouth di Torino, and your favorite mezcal. I used the Mezcalero "Los Nahuales" Special Edition Sierrudo-Cuishe Mezcal from Los Danzantes. Amazing!
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart

Luxardo Bitter Bianco (750ml)
Review Date: 01-06-2017
Like many cocktail aficionados and lovers of all things Italian, our staff members here at K&L just can’t get enough of the amazing selection of Amaros that David Driscoll has been stocking our shelves with. One of the most exciting recent arrivals is this Bitter Bianco from Luxardo. This is the perfect Campari substitute for making a Negroni Bianco. We have been playing around with different recipes, but my current favorite is equal parts Luxardo Bitter Bianco, Bordiga White Vermouth, and Berry Bros & Rudd "No. 3" London Dry Gin. Shake with ice and serve up in a martini glass with a twist of orange.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2014 de France Rouge, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 12-31-2016
The 2014 Chateau de France, Pessac-Léognan $24.99 is a blend of 55% Cabernet-Sauvignon and 45% Merlot. Showing surprising ripeness for the vintage, the wine is rich in style with loads of dark fruit and a generous use of oak (50% new). Ripe, sweet red and black fruits are complemented by notes of mocha and vanilla. This is a crowd-pleasing effort that is surprisingly approachable now but has the structure to age if desired.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
JS 91

2014 de France Blanc, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 12-31-2016
The 2014 Chateau de France Blanc, Pessac-Léognan $24.99 is a blend of 80% Sauvignon Blanc and 20% Semillon. The wine is generous and rich in style, with barrel aging and regular batonnage adding both flavor and texture. It explodes with exotic, tropical fruit – guava and fresh pineapple. Brisk and bracing, a lively acidity keeps the wine from becoming ponderous.

2004 Nairac, Barsac
Review Date: 12-31-2016
Classified as deuxième cru in 1855, this is an overperforming and undervalued property. Like neighbor Chateau Climens, its wines are mostly Semillon. The house style is big and brash, but supported by meticulous and painstaking work in the vineyards and cellar. This strategy really paid off in 2004, producing one of the best wines – and best values – of the vintage. Honey and a marked botrytis character are evident here, merging on the palate with notes of orange marmalade and crème anglaise. Deliciously sweet, combining a rich texture with vibrant acidity.

2009 Priban, Haut-Medoc
Review Date: 12-31-2016
If you are looking for great values in Bordeaux there are certain vintages that offer exceptional quality at entry level prices. 2009 is one such vintage. Nearly perfect weather conditions yielded a large crop of very high quality fruit. The wines are universally lively and fresh with ripe, sweet fruit and fine, silky tannins. The 2009 Priban, Haut-Medoc is typical of the vintage, with perhaps even a bit more ripeness of fruit and richness of texture. A hedonistic pleasure and a great wine to enjoy over the near term.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2001 Brane-Cantenac, Margaux
Review Date: 12-03-2016
As a lover of fine Bordeaux who is always looking for good values, I am increasingly turning to the 2001 vintage for well-priced wines of excellent quality. I recently enjoyed the 2001 Brane Cantenac, Margaux along with a Friday night dinner of steak frites. A remarkable wine for the vintage, combining better than average ripeness with the telltale acidity that is a hallmark of the '01's. Delightfully floral in typical Margaux fashion. Notes of wild blackberry jam and sweet black plum. Already showing some bottle age with a youthful, purple color shading to garnet and savory notes of leather and tobacco beginning to emerge on the nose and palate. A great price on a Deuxième Cru from Margaux, and a great choice to drink now or hold for a few years. 50% Merlot, 40% Cabernet Sauvignon, 10% Cabernet Franc.

2014 de Landiras Rouge, Graves
Review Date: 11-29-2016
Southern Graves value! Toasty oak and a hint of blackcurrant leaf on the nose. Surprising ripeness here with plenty of sweet black fruits, though the wine retains the freshness that I am coming to associate with this 2014 vintage. Classic Graves minerality. Finishes firm with fine tannins.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
DC 95

Siembra Valles "Ancestral" Blanco Tequila (750ml)
Review Date: 11-21-2016
Already got the final draft of your liquor "bucket list" completed? Well I hope you left room at the bottom because you are going to need to pencil in one more name - the new "Ancestral" Blanco Tequila from Siembra Valles. For true fans, this is not so much a tequila as a "proto-tequila", an honest and fearless exploration of the historical roots of the agave spirit. Painstakingly handcrafted, this is a unique and powerful expression offering bright citrus and savory spice notes interwoven with layers of earth and smoke. Truly one of a kind, with flavors so concentrated and pure that it's hard to go back from here. Once you've tasted this, where else can you go?
Price: $119.99 Add To Cart

2015 Kalinda Willamette Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 11-05-2016
I have been working here at K&L for over 12 years now. The first bottle I ever purchased as an employee, on my very first day, was a 2001 Kalinda Cabernet Sauvignon from the Alexander Valley. Many of the top wineries in California have generously agreed to work with us over the years, and I have enjoyed many similar bottles since then. Most recently, however, I tasted the just-released 2015 Kalinda Willamette Valley Pinot Noir, and I honestly can’t remember the last time I was this excited about one of our private label bottlings. For this wine, we teamed up with Harry Peterson-Nedry of Chehalem Vineyards in the Willamette Valley of Oregon. 2015 marked their second warm, ripe vintage in a row, a virtual twin to the very successful 2014 vintage. The 2015 harvest yielded a large crop of high quality fruit – perfect conditions for producing a private bottling such as our Kalinda. Our blend combines fruit from four of Chehalem’s estate vineyards, the oldest of which were planted in the early 1980’s. The results are nothing short of extraordinary. This is Oregon Pinot Noir at its best, with loads of red and black berry fruit, reminiscent of the ripe, sweet blackberries and raspberries for which the Willamette Valley is equally famous. I urge you to try the wonderful range of Chehalem wines we carry. Their Ridgecrest bottling is a benchmark for great Oregon Pinot Noir, and helped to make the case for the establishment of the Ribbon Ridge AVA. For sheer value, however, you can’t beat this 2015 Kalinda offering. An incredible price, and a great introduction to the excellent work being done at this historic Oregon winery.
Top Value!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2014 Tongue in Groove "Cabal Vineyard" Pinot Noir Waipara Valley North Canterbury
Review Date: 11-05-2016
Further fruits of our direct import program in NZ/Australia. The 2014 Tongue in Groove Cabal Vineyard Pinot Noir offers extraordinary complexity at an almost unbelievable price. Without the overt ripeness of the 2013 vintage the more reserved 2014 nevertheless combines plenty of ripe red and black fruits with lively acidity and a rich, almost silky texture. Beguilingly floral. Intriguingly spicy. And the addition of 35% whole clusters contributes a savory quality that adds yet another layer of flavor. This is unquestionably one of the best values in the store for New World Pinot Noir under $30.

2013 Tongue In Groove "The Mound Vineyard" Riesling Waipara Valley
Review Date: 10-01-2016
Winemaker Lynnette Hudson pulls out all the stops in this monster of a Riesling that puts me in mind of the best of the Alsatian wines. Big and rich in style with just a hint of residual sugar and a deft touch of botrytis. Tons of Riesling goodness here, pure poetry, with no apologies and no regrets. Very well done.

2015 Tongue in Groove Chardonnay Waipara Valley North Canterbury
Review Date: 10-01-2016
The Chardonnays coming out of NZ these days are some of the most exciting whites in production there, and some of the best of the Chardonnay being produced in the New World. Generous in style with admirable richness of texture combined with remarkable restraint and truly breathtaking concentration and depth. California wine lovers take note. There is a new standard being established here. Don't miss out.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
DC 93

2014 Pike Road Willamette Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 09-08-2016
A new value priced label from the good folks at Elk Cove Vineyards. A mix of estate and purchased fruit with the idea of providing honest Willamette Valley Pinot Noir at an affordable price. 2014 was a perfect choice for an inaugural vintage, with near ideal growing conditions and a large crop of ripe fruit. A seamless integration of fruit and oak with plenty of bright red fruits, tart cherry, cranberry and raspberry. Lightly spicy with good balance and structure. Soft and round and forward in style. Just pop (or twist!) and pour.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

2015 Quinta da Aveleda Loureiro-Alvarinho Vinho Verde
Review Date: 08-31-2016
A blend of Loureiro and Alvarinho, this Portugese white is the perfect companion for long, lazy summer afternoons. Dry and crisp in style and low in alcohol, this light-bodied wine neither tires nor dulls the senses but rather enlivens and refreshes. Lightly floral with bright citrus notes, there is a slight effervescence here that only emphasizes the wine's youthful exuberance.

2010 Tronquoy de St-Anne, St-Estèphe
Review Date: 08-09-2016
Back to back successes in ’09 and ’10 at Chateau Tronquoy-Lalande with this second label, Tronquoy de Sainte-Anne. The 2010 is much like the 2009, but with more of everything...more fruit, more acidity and more tannin. A rich, full bodied effort with sweet, ripe red and black fruits wrapped around a substantial core of fine tannins. This is serious wine, deeply colored with real intensity and depth. Certainly the best value we can offer from Bordeaux at this price point. For best results decant for one hour and enjoy, and be sure to tuck a case away to have a few years from now.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2014 Oakridge Estate "Willowlake Vineyard" Pinot Noir Yarra Valley
Review Date: 07-29-2016
A terrific example of topnotch Aussie winemaking expertise inspired by French traditions. New World Pinot Noir in a Burgundian style. The 2014 Oakridge Estate Willowlake VIneyard Pinot Noir Yarra Valley offers crisp, slightly "crunchy" red fruits with notes both floral and spicy. Think Chambolle Musigny. Astonishing quality here at this price. "Bonjour, mate! Merci beaucoup!"
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JH 96

2013 Can Mayol Loxarel "999" Brut Nature Rosat Penedes
Review Date: 05-31-2016
The low price here may fool you into thinking this is just a simple sparkling wine but don't sell this substantial cava short. Bone dry in style with intense red fruits and a hint of spice, this greatly outperforms the price point. Add this to your list of great Spanish wine values to try soon.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine des Côtes Blanches Sancerre Rosé
Review Date: 05-31-2016
Each year I look forward to the new crop of rose wines. Inevitably, one of my favorites is always a rose of Pinot Noir. This Sancerre rose looks like a top contender for this season. Plenty of fresh, ripe strawberry notes. Lightly floral. Mineral in character with a hint of earth. Bright and fresh and crisp in style. The perfect thing for a hot summer afternoon. Maybe to pair with grilled salmon? or perhaps just a fresh tomato salad.
Price: Hidden View Price

2015 Domaine des Côtes Blanches Sancerre
Review Date: 05-31-2016
Prices for the many of the best known producers in the upper Loire Valley continue to increase year by year, with many Sancerres now selling in the $20 to $50 range. In order to continue to make available a selection of wines for less than $20, we have been expanding the portfolio of wines we import directly. Newly arrived from France is the 2015 Domaine des Côtes Blanches Sancerre, now the fourth vintage we have offered of this classic Sauvignon Blanc. There is a hint of something delicately floral on the nose at first blush, followed by more assertive notes of fresh herbs – tarragon and thyme. Intensely mineral in expression with notes of smoke and gunflint. The fruit is decidedly citrus in character with loads of fresh grapefruit. Bright and fresh, crisp and clean overall with perhaps a bit more weight than I expected – a product of the 2015 vintage? (Quite good by all accounts. Time will tell…) If you are a Sancerre fan this one is hitting on all cylinders. Don't miss out.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2000 Brane-Cantenac, Margaux
Review Date: 05-13-2016
2000. The millennial vintage. Cooler, wetter conditions earlier in the year eventually gave way to warm, sunny weather in August and September, allowing for good ripening of the grapes and a harvest under ideal conditions. Notwithstanding, at Brane Cantenac in order to produce the best possible wine for the vintage a much stricter selection than usual was made for the first wine (less than 30% of total production) and a higher proportion of Merlot was used (55%). A little more than 15 years later the results speak for themselves. The 2000 Brane Cantenac, Margaux is typical of the best wines of the vintage with generous ripe, sweet red and black fruits and admirable mid-palate weight. The wine offers a rich, sensuous texture with good underlying structure – lively acidity and firm, fine tannins. The wines from this 2000 vintage are beginning to diverge in terms of their development. Some are ripe and forward and ready to drink. Others can be enjoyed now but clearly have a long life ahead of them. Others still remain largely closed and will require additional cellaring before their full promise is revealed. Fortunately, the 2000 Brane Cantenac falls into the middle category. Though some signs of bottle age have begun to emerge, the wine is perhaps five to ten years away from the peak of maturity. Drink now or hold.

Fukucho "Forgotten Fortune" Junmai Sake 720ml
Review Date: 04-01-2016
The re-establishment of the Hattan-so variety of sake rice is a personal project of master brewer Miho Imada. Fukucho Forgotten Fortune Junmai Sake is made entirely from Hattan-so rice milled to 75%. It is a bold, full-flavored junmai, supple and richly textured, very much in the style for which Hiroshima prefecture is famous. A superb value!
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart

2011 Fratelli Barale "Cannubi" Barolo
Review Date: 03-30-2016
Cannubi is the most prestigious of Barolo's many vineyards with a reputation for producing fine wines that precedes the creation of the DOC itself. Prices for "Cannubi" designated wines therefore are often higher than for other nearby "crus". Which explains in part why this 2011 Cannubi bottling from new direct import Sergio Barale is so compelling. Traditional in style. Lightly floral with some savory notes. Lovely weight and mouthfeel, rich and round. Bright and fresh with a firm finish. Classic appeal from one of Barolo's best vineyards at a very reasonable price.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart
JS 91

Mas Codina Cava Brut Reserva Penedès
Review Date: 02-29-2016
Everyone loves a good value in sparkling wine. We would all love to drink Champagne every night, but sometimes you want to spend a little less without compromising quality. For that reason, our buyers here at K&L strive to provide a broad range of alternatives at affordable prices. Over time certain of these have become so popular among our customers and staff that they have achieved an almost iconic status, the kind of wine people buy by the case – among others the Louis Bouillot Cremant de Bourgogne "Perle d'Aurore" Brut Rosé, the Deligeroy Cremant de Loire Brut, and the Mas Codina Cava Brut Reserva Penedès. This classic Spanish cava combines traditional grape varieties like Xarello and Macabeo with those more likely to be found in Champagne like Chardonnay and Pinot Noir. 24 months on the lees adds richness and weight. At this price you can treat yourself whenever you like.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2013 Carbonnieux Blanc, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 01-29-2016
It's all too easy to forget that Bordeaux is famous for its white wine as well as red. The finest whites from Pessac-Léognan are world class blends of Sauvignon Blanc and Semillon, the most shockingly successful French marriage since Carla Bruni & Nicolas Sarkozy. The 2013 Chateau Carbonnieux Blanc, Pessac-Léognan is a superb example. One of only a handful of properties designated Cru Classé for both red and white wines, the Carbonnieux vineyards enjoy a favorable exposition and are usually among the first to be harvested each autumn. They made the most of a challenging vintage in 2013, producing a white wine of surprising ripeness. The nose is frankly tropical, with notes of guava and passionfruit. On the palate one finds tart white grapefruit notes, very fresh, crisp and precise. The blend is three quarters Sauvignon Blanc to one quarter Semillon. Aged for 10 months in barrel (30% new) with occasional lees stirring. This is the French archetype which provided the inspiration for wildly popular California Sauvignon Blancs such as Duckhorn or Spottswoode. You owe it to yourself to try the original.

2014 Saint-Jean-des-Graves Blanc, Graves
Review Date: 01-29-2016
The 2014 Saint-Jean-des-Graves Blanc, Graves is the latest release of a wine K&L has sold vintage after vintage for nearly 20 years, and it remains a perennial staff and customer favorite. A 50/50 blend of Sauvignon Blanc and Semillon, it is bright and fresh, very crisp and clean and mineral driven with abundant notes of citrus and fresh herbs. A great value, conveniently priced for everyday drinking.
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart

Alexandre Le Brun "Tradition" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 12-31-2015
From one of our newest grower-producers. On the drier side, but with remarkable richness and weight. A light toast complemented by ripe pear and apple notes and a hint of cinnamon spice. A terrific introduction to the wines of this exciting young winemaker.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

San Venanzio Prosecco Valdobbiadene Superiore Brut
Review Date: 11-10-2015
While the classic Italian Prosecco is "Extra Dry", with just a touch of sweetness on the finish, this charming sparkling wine from San Venanzio is made in a "Brut" style more familiar to American palates. At a mere 11.5% alcohol and at the very attractive, direct import price of $12.99, it's easy on both your palate and your wallet. Crisp, bone dry, refreshing. Low in alchohol. Low in price. An ideal aperitif you can enjoy every day.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
WE 91

2013 Von Strasser "Rudy" Paicines Pinot Noir
Review Date: 05-29-2015
Rudy Von Strasser, of Napa Cab fame, has ventured south to San Benito County to source fruit for this value-priced Pinot Noir. Round and richly textured, even opulent in style, the 2013 Von Strasser Rudy Paicines Pinot Noir offers plenty of ripe red fruits yet retains a very sensible 14.2% alcohol. A crowd pleaser, ideal for summer, and a terrific deal at under $20.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

Ariston Aspasie "Prestige Vieilles Vignes" Champagne
Review Date: 02-10-2015
The wines of Paul-Vincent Ariston were the first from Champagne to be imported directly by K&L some 15 years ago now, and the Ariston Aspasie Prestige Vielles Vignes is still one of the best values on our shelves. The current cuvee, though not vintage dated, is composed entirely of fruit from the exceptional 2008 vintage (certainly the best vintage in Champagne since 1996, and perhaps even surpassing that much-heralded year). A blend of all three principal varieties (Chardonnay, Pinot Noir, and Pinot Meunier) from 65 year old vines, the old vine character really shines through here, yielding a wine of surpassing concentration and depth. This is one to savor, or perhaps to cellar for a few years. You can congratulate yourself on your foresight in the years to come.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2004 Haut-Bergey, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 02-03-2015
2004 is one of those often overlooked vintages. Not in the top rank for the decade but solidly good, with quite a few well-priced wines of superb quality. The 2004 Chateau Haut Bergey from Pessac-Leognan is certainly one of these. It possesses lovely weight and richness with plenty of ripe red and black fruits, cherry and plum. There is an intriguing note of green tobacco, at once both comfortingly familiar and beguilingly exotic.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
RP 90

2000 La Gaffelière, St-Emilion
Review Date: 01-27-2015
I drink a lot of Bordeaux, but, I am ashamed to say, not nearly enough Right Bank wines. So, last Friday for our weekly "steak & claret" night I opted for the 2000 Chateau La Gaffeliere, St-Emilion. I have a few cases of Bordeaux from the 2000 vintage in my cellar, mostly wines from the Medoc that are too young to drink, but this Right Bank beauty was raring to go at 15 years of age. A classic 2000. Rich, ripe, and round with good acidity, admirable weight, and fine tannins framing the finish. The wine was beginning to show some age - the color has shifted towards a lovely garnet and the nose showed hints of truffle emerging - but while it's drinking beautifully now it easily has another decade or more ahead of it. A perfect St-Emilion and a superb value for the money.

Tozai "Typhoon" Futsu Sake 720ml
Review Date: 12-31-2014
Our best value futsu-shu. Soft, round and fruity. Delicious either chilled or gently warmed.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

Ariston Aspasie Blanc de Blancs Brut Champagne
Review Date: 12-31-2014
The current disgorgement of the Ariston Aspasie Blanc de Blancs Brut Champagne is perhaps a little firmer, a little less open knit than previous bottlings. But the tradeoff is more focus, more purity, and more length. Quite dry, but with remarkable sweetness of fruit and a light toast that adds depth and character. The ideal New Year's Eve companion - complex enough to be interesting but not so serious as to dominate the conversation.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Ariston Aspasie Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 11-29-2014
Always my favorite rosé champagne here at K&L. Drank it with Thanksgiving dinner this year. Quite dry with a pronounced red fruit character - crisp red apple and tart cherry. For die hard Pinot fans - 50/50 Pinot Noir and Pinot Meunier.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Ariston Aspasie "Carte Blanche" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 09-02-2014
I think the Ariston Aspasie Carte Blanche Brut was one of the first grower-producer Champagnes I ever purchased from K&L. It remains to this day our best value in Champagne, and a superb introduction to the grower producer (RM) Champagnes. If your usual Champagne experience is Veuve Clicquot or Moet & Chandon, you owe it to yourself to try the Carte Blanche from Paul-Vincent Ariston. With roughly equal parts of the three classic Champagne grapes, and a retail price comfortably south of $30, this is a no-brainer. Open a bottle for no reason in the middle of the week. You'll feel like royalty.
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart

Bruno Michel "Blanche" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 09-29-2012
For longtime fans of Moet White Star or Veuve Cliquot this is the perfect introduction to grower producer Champagnes. A blend of Chardonnay and Pinot Meunier from Pierry south of Epernay, the Bruno Michel "Cuvee Blanche" offers lightly toasty, classic "brioche" character, a creamy texture, and crisp, ripe apple notes supported by a firm mineral backbone. This is superb Champagne at a great price.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

Franck Bonville "Belles Voyes" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 08-17-2012
When most people talk about "value for money" they are thinking of a great $10 red. At $67.99 this is our best "value" in Champagne, easily the equal of wines selling for many hundreds of dollars. This wine was featured in our last staff Champagne tasting and elicited a collective moment of silence in sheer appreciation. If you think you can't appreciate a great Champagne, try tasting this alongside the Franck Bonville "Brut Selection" Blanc de Blancs Champagne at $32.99 - excellent in its own right - and you will see what I mean.

Fleury Blanc de Noirs Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-18-2012
This extraordinary 100% Pinot Noir sparkling wine comes to us from the Aube, the southernmost part of the Champagne region. In the early 1900s, when the boundaries of the Champagne appellation were being formally drawn, it seemed for a time that producers in the Aube would be excluded by their brother growers to the north. They took to the streets in protest and French troops had to be called in to quell the riots. Because we are buying these wines directly in France you can enjoy them today at a price that won't provoke civil unrest. Why would you drink anything else?
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$34.99
VN 91

Page: 1 2 next