Staff Favorites - Jeff Garneau

Jeff Garneau
Jeff Garneau  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service
Jeff has been a member of the sales staff in our Redwood City store for the past four years. His first introduction to wine was as a waiter in an upscale Italian restaurant in Hanover, NH more years ago than he likes to admit. He slowly made his way west to wine country, working his way across the US as a graduate student in geography, a public sector researcher in regional economic development, and briefly, in the wake of the Anderson-Enron scandal, a records management coordinator for one of the remaining Big Five accounting firms. Finally, surrendering to the inevitable, he accepted a position in the wine business here at K&L. His goals for the next four years include drinking more wines from Italy and France and trying to limit the number of open bottles on the dinner table on any given night to fewer than six.


Reviews

  
Page: 1 2 next
2013 Carbonnieux Blanc, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 01-29-2016
It's all too easy to forget that Bordeaux is famous for its white wine as well as red. The finest whites from Pessac-Léognan are world class blends of Sauvignon Blanc and Semillon, the most shockingly successful French marriage since Carla Bruni & Nicolas Sarkozy. The 2013 Chateau Carbonnieux Blanc, Pessac-Léognan is a superb example. One of only a handful of properties designated Cru Classé for both red and white wines, the Carbonnieux vineyards enjoy a favorable exposition and are usually among the first to be harvested each autumn. They made the most of a challenging vintage in 2013, producing a white wine of surprising ripeness. The nose is frankly tropical, with notes of guava and passionfruit. On the palate one finds tart white grapefruit notes, very fresh, crisp and precise. The blend is three quarters Sauvignon Blanc to one quarter Semillon. Aged for 10 months in barrel (30% new) with occasional lees stirring. This is the French archetype which provided the inspiration for wildly popular California Sauvignon Blancs such as Duckhorn or Spottswoode. You owe it to yourself to try the original.

2014 Saint-Jean-des-Graves Blanc, Graves
Review Date: 01-29-2016
The 2014 Saint-Jean-des-Graves Blanc, Graves is the latest release of a wine K&L has sold vintage after vintage for nearly 20 years, and it remains a perennial staff and customer favorite. A 50/50 blend of Sauvignon Blanc and Semillon, it is bright and fresh, very crisp and clean and mineral driven with abundant notes of citrus and fresh herbs. A great value, conveniently priced for everyday drinking.
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart

2013 Brown Blanc, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 01-29-2016
Another great example of the quality of the white wines produced in Bordeaux in 2013. The 2013 Chateau Brown Blanc, Pessac-Léognan offers richness and texture for the hedonistic white Bordeaux drinker. Roughly 50/50 blend of Sauvignon Blanc and Semillon. Eight months in barrel (50% new) with twice weekly lees stirring. Lovely ripe tropical fruit, very bright and fresh, with notes of fresh pineapple foremost.

Alexandre Le Brun "Tradition" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 12-31-2015
From one of our newest grower-producers. On the drier side, but with remarkable richness and weight. A light toast complemented by ripe pear and apple notes and a hint of cinnamon spice. A terrific introduction to the wines of this exciting young winemaker.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2011 Bodegas Puelles Crianza Rioja
Review Date: 12-14-2015
If there is such a thing as a perfect crianza, an ideal marriage of fruit and oak, then the 2011 Bodegas Puelles Crianza Rioja is certainly a prime example. Sweet red fruits mesh seamlessly with hints of vanilla. There is an astonishing but undeniable note of raspberries and cream. A serious quaffer for the intellectual tippler. Available, thanks to our Spanish DI program, at a terrific price.
Top Value!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2015 Lake Chalice "The Nest" Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough
Review Date: 12-14-2015
Our fourth vintage of what is fast becoming one of our best selling NZ Sauvignon Blancs. Among the best priced wines in the category, it compares very favorably to many wines in the $15 to $20 range. This 2015 vintage may very well be the best yet. Loads of tart, fresh grapefruit notes and a hint of something a bit more floral and tropical - passionfruit? Classic NZ "savvy" at a price you can afford to drink every day.
Top Value!
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart

2013 Tongue In Groove "Clayvin Vineyard" Pinot Noir Marlborough
Review Date: 12-03-2015
We drink a lot of Pinot Noir at my house, quite a bit of it from California and Oregon. Increasingly, however, the Pinot Noir we drink most comes from New Zealand. Ryan has just been on fire lately with the outstanding wines he has been bringing in from some of the top producers and best vineyard sites in the country. A perfect example is the 2013 Tongue in Groove Pinot Noir from the Clayvin Vineyard in Marlborough. One of the oldest vineyards in Marlborough with just 7.8 hectares of Pinot Noir vines densely planted on clay soils, producing some of the most sought after fruit in NZ. The vintage was one of the best in NZ in recent memory, yielding loads of ripe, sweet fruit with notes of Rainier cherry and a savory element that is likely the result of 20% whole cluster inclusion. Rich, dense, and concentrated with a smooth, almost silky texture and fine, firm tannins. Impressive now but giving every indication it will be even better with a few years in the cellar. World class character at an astonishing price. Fans of New World Pinot take note. This is serious juice.

2006 York Creek "Springhouse Block" Spring Mountain District Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 12-02-2015
Regular K&L customers will recognize the York Creek Vineyards label, perhaps recalling fondly their own recent favorite from the multiple library offerings owner Fritz Maytag has graciously made available to K&L. Mr. Maytag has thrown wide the cellar doors once again and just in time for the holidays. The 2006 York Creek Springhouse Block is my personal favorite among these most recent selections. 100% Cabernet Sauvignon. Deeply colored and still quite youthful at nearly 10 years of age. Classic Spring Mountain Cabernet. Lightly floral notes on the nose. Lovely weight and ripeness with tons of black fruits - blackberry and cassis. Fine tannins frame the finish. A complete wine and a great opportunity to enjoy a perfectly aged CA Cab at a very reasonable price.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2013 Hahn Estates Santa Lucia Highlands Pinot Noir
Review Date: 12-02-2015
That rarest of birds - a great California Pinot Noir for under $20. Lovely floral nose with a hint of spice. On the palate, more spice - black tea and ginger notes. Plenty of generous ripe red and black fruits - tart fresh raspberry and sweet black cherry. Full and round in the mouth, very typical of the appellation. Genuine Pinot character here and at a great price.

2013 Bench Sonoma Coast Pinot Noir
Review Date: 11-29-2015
Consistently one of our best values in California Pinot Noir. From the Sonoma Coast. Plenty of dark fruit here. Lovely weight and character. Superb.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2015 Waterkloof Circumstance "Cape Coral" Mourvedre Rosé Stellenbosch
Review Date: 11-28-2015
Bandol meets Stellenbosch! Introduced just two years ago this dark horse of a rosé from South Africa has quickly and improbably become a customer favorite, the first one people ask for every spring. Composed of 100% Mourvedre and reminiscent of the best rosés of Provence. Crisp and dry but with a genuine richness of texture. Terrific value.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2014 Domaine de Biéville (Louis Moreau) Chablis
Review Date: 11-28-2015
Chablis offers a unique expression of the Chardonnay grape. Its climate and soils are nearer to those of Champagne - both literally and figuratively - than to the rest of Burgundy. Crisp. Clean. Mineral driven. Usually unoaked. Sometimes lightly floral. Fruit notes range from green apple to lemon to peach. How wonderful then to find such classic character in the 2014 Domaine de Bieville Chablis from Louis Moreau and all for a mere $14.99. A superb introduction to the Chablis style and a great value.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

1997 Potensac, Médoc
Review Date: 11-14-2015
One of the very best properties in the Médoc, Chateau Potensac has been owned for many years by the Delon family of Leoville Las Cases in St. Julien. The quality of the wine can be attributed both to the superb character of the terroir and to the additional resources made available due to its long association with a top second growth. I first reviewed this wine in April of 2012. Since then it has become one of K&L’s all time best selling clarets. I recently enjoyed a bottle with our weekly Friday night steak frites and was so impressed I bought a case to drink over the coming year. (Assuming it lasts that long.) This is a classic ’97, medium to full-bodied, and nicely developed with notes of cedar, leather, and cured meats on the nose and palate. Plenty of youthful fruit still on display here – bright, sweet red fruits, red currant and cherry. With the tannins nearly fully resolved, the wine offers a softer, rounder mouthfeel that is lovely to savor.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

San Venanzio Prosecco Valdobbiadene Superiore Brut
Review Date: 11-10-2015
While the classic Italian Prosecco is "Extra Dry", with just a touch of sweetness on the finish, this charming sparkling wine from San Venanzio is made in a "Brut" style more familiar to American palates. At a mere 11.5% alcohol and at the very attractive, direct import price of $12.99, it's easy on both your palate and your wallet. Crisp, bone dry, refreshing. Low in alchohol. Low in price. An ideal aperitif you can enjoy every day.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

Mezcalero "Los Nahuales" Special Edition Sierrudo/Cuishe Mezcal (750ml)
Review Date: 10-22-2015
When our spirits buyer, David Driscoll, returned from Mexico last May, it was as if he had had a religious conversion, a “Saint Paul on the road to Oaxaca” moment. Mezcal was his new god, and Karina Abad Rojas, the head of production for Los Danzantes, his High Priestess. David was as excited as only David can be, and within a few days of his return he had the staff here in Redwood City in a similar state, thrilled to be able to sell the Los Danzantes and Alipus mezcals, and ready to become evangelists for this remarkable agave spirit. How typical of David not to mention that there was something even better on the way, a mezcal handcrafted by none other than Karina Abad Rojas herself, a remarkable expression of her intense passion for, and deep knowledge of, the agave grown in and around her home state of Oaxaca. The Mezcalero Los Nahuales Special Edition Sierrudo-Cuishe Mezcal, a co-fermented blend of the massive and slow-growing Sierrudo and wild Cuishe agaves is an agave spirit of astonishing subtlety and refinement. I lingered long over complex notes of cedar smoke, fleur de sel, and candied lemon peel. It was nothing short of a revelation, and the most exciting thing to come out of Mexico since Salma Hayek. This is a mezcal that is going to win over not only tequila aficionados, but gin drinkers as well. And if you are already a mezcal fan, well, make a little room on your bar for this little miracle. It would be a sin not to.
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart

2014 Domaine la Colombe Coteaux Varois en Provence Rosé
Review Date: 09-30-2015
From Coteaux Varois en Provence, the third major appellation in the trio that includes Côtes de Provence and Coteaux d’Aix en Provence. Mostly Grenache and Syrah with the judicious addition of a little Cabernet Sauvignon. One of our best values in a classic Provençal rosé. Dry and crisp in style. Buy it buy the case and enjoy while the warm weather lasts.
Price: $8.99 Add To Cart

2010 Von Siebenthal "Parcela #7" Gran Reserva Aconcagua Valley
Review Date: 09-30-2015
I fell in love with the Von Siebenthal wines when we first began to carry them several years ago. I was thrilled then to see the 2010 Von Siebenthal "Parcela #7" Gran Reserva Aconcagua Valley back in stock (OK, I may have bullied Joe, our Chilean buyer, just a little bit). I don't drink a lot of Chilean wine, but I do drink a lot of Bordeaux, and this Bordeaux blend is really on point. A great wine and a great price. Welcome back!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
RP 91

2008 Miguel Merino "Vitola" Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 08-28-2015
The follow up to the enormously successful 2006 inaugural offering of Miguel Merino's Vitola Reserva. A modern interpretation of the Tempranillo grape executed with all due respect for Rioja's traditions. Appealing to both the diehard fan of Spanish wines and the confirmed California wine drinker, trying Spanish wines for the first time. Terrific direct import pricing, at a mere $20, this is a must buy.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2011 Fromm "La Strada" Pinot Noir Marlborough
Review Date: 08-28-2015
With all the hard work done by New Zealand buyer Ryan Woodhouse, we are spoiled for choice in selecting delicious, well priced NZ Pinot Noir. That being said, anyone looking for exceptional quality and unbeatable pricing ought to be drinking the 2011 La Strada Pinot Noir from Fromm. There is so much on offer here. Ripe red and black fruits. Subtle spice. Real depth and complexity. A reserved, Burgundian style even for an entry level bottling. Do yourself a favor and get this into a decanter for an hour before dinner, then enjoy with grilled salmon or roast chicken. You'll be surprised just how much $20 buys you.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JS 93 RC 91

2012 Jacques Bavard Auxey-Duresses "Les Clous"
Review Date: 08-03-2015
Lightly floral with hints of toasty oak. Crisp, clean and bright in expression. Citrus and stone fruit notes - lemon oil and peach pit. Delicious Chardonnay from one of the best of our direct imports. Superb value.
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart

2010 Sapaio Bolgheri Superiore
Review Date: 08-03-2015
One of the great values for Super Tuscan fans, comparable to more famous names costing many hundreds of dollars per bottle. If you are going to buy one vintage to add to the cellar this 2010 is it! A finely crafted Bordeaux blend that's built to age. Outstanding Cabernet character, ripe yet restrained, with formidable tannins. Needs another 5 years minimum but will more than repay any additional investment of time you care to make.

2014 Quinta da Aveleda Loureiro Alvarinho Vinho Verde Regional Minho
Review Date: 06-28-2015
Here at K&L we don't wait for the solstice to signal the arrival of summer. Each year it's the arrival of the Vinho Verde from Quinta da Aveleda that truly heralds the advent of warmer weather. The perfect wine for our Mediterranean climate. The ideal accompaniment to long, lazy sun-drenched afternoons. Dry. Crisp. Low in alcohol. Affordably priced.
Price: $8.99 Add To Cart
W&S 90 WE 90

2014 Ponzi Willamette Valley Rosé of Pinot Noir
Review Date: 06-17-2015
Each year I look forward to the start of summer and the beginning of rosé season with renewed anticipation. I usually sample each season’s offerings broadly at first, then eventually settle on two or three wines that will carry me through the year. Without fail at least one of the wines each year is a rosé of Pinot Noir. Frequently this is a Sancerre rosé from the Loire Valley of France, but this year pride of place belongs to the 2014 Ponzi Willamette Valley Rosé of Pinot Noir. I can’t recall when I last enjoyed a rosé of Pinot Noir that tasted so much like, well, Pinot Noir. Dry and crisp but with admirable ripeness and weight for a rosé. Lightly floral on the nose with notes of fresh strawberry and a hint of earth on the palate. I enjoyed a chilled bottle on a warm evening last week with a hastily put- together dinner of summer vegetables, a selection of cured meats and cheeses, and a loaf of sourdough bread. I think it would pair equally well with grilled salmon or roast chicken. A fantastic effort by Ponzi, and a terrific addition to your selection of summer rosés.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2011 Ugo Lequio "Gallina" Barbaresco
Review Date: 06-11-2015
While I love Nebbiolo on a personal level, from a professional standpoint it's often difficult to explain its appeal to those new to Italian wine. Great Barolo or Barbaresco is not only frequently expensive, it is usually tannic enough in its youth to discourage early consumption, requiring patience and time in the cellar to be at its best. What a delight then to discover the 2011 Ugo Lequio "Gallina" Barbaresco. The riper 2011 vintage yielded a wine that is open and accessible in its youth without sacrificing varietal character. Wonderful concentration and depth here at a very reasonable price.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart
WE 95 RP 92

2013 Von Strasser "Rudy" Paicines Pinot Noir
Review Date: 05-29-2015
Rudy Von Strasser, of Napa Cab fame, has ventured south to San Benito County to source fruit for this value-priced Pinot Noir. Round and richly textured, even opulent in style, the 2013 Von Strasser Rudy Paicines Pinot Noir offers plenty of ripe red fruits yet retains a very sensible 14.2% alcohol. A crowd pleaser, ideal for summer, and a terrific deal at under $20.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2012 Ellero "Pisa Terrace" Pinot Noir Central Otago
Review Date: 05-29-2015
My list of "outstanding Pinot Noirs from New Zealand offered at unbelievable prices" just keeps getting longer and longer. At the moment we have perhaps a dozen wines in the $20 to $30 range, all of exceptional quality. This 2012 Pisa Terrace bottling from Ellero comes from one of the most coveted vineyards in Central Otago. A melange of spice notes coupled with ripe red and black fruits define this supremely balanced wine. Deliciously sweet yet fresh and lively. Accessible yet with good underlying structure. Perfection in a glass.

2013 Don Cataldo Rosato Salento Puglia
Review Date: 05-29-2015
Baroque architecture, whitewashed hill towns, sun-drenched Mediterranean beaches. I am not going to claim you will find all of these things in a bottle of the 2013 Don Cataldo Rosato Salento Puglia, but if you can find a sunny spot to sip this dry, refreshing southern Italian rosé, you can close your eyes and imagine you are in Taranto or Brindisi. 95% Negroamaro. 5% Malvasia Nera. 100% Delicious.
Price: $7.99 Add To Cart

2013 Von Strasser "Rudy" Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 04-30-2015
Is there a better value in California Cabernet than this second label bottling from Rudy Von Strasser? A wine that we encountered unexpectedly while tasting at the winery a few years back. Hard to believe we are now on our sixth vintage. And still available for only $20. If you haven't tried this wine yet, then grab a bottle of the 2013 at once. Maybe the best vintage yet.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2013 Bishop's Peak San Luis Obispo Pinot Noir
Review Date: 03-31-2015
I am a big fan of the Talley Vineyards wines. Their single vineyard bottlings from Rincon and Rosemary's vineyards are benchmarks for great Central Coast Pinot Noir. While these wines justifiably command premium prices, we have also been stocking their slightly more affordable second label Bishop's Peak wines for several years now. It is frankly tough to find great California Pinot Noir for less than $20, but the Bishop's Peak 2013 bottling really over-delivers. Plenty of ripe red and black fruits and intriguing spice notes. Rich and round in the mouth with lovely weight. Complex and multidimensional. Great Pinot Noir character at a terrific price.
Top Value!
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2012 Rocca di Montegrossi Chianti Classico
Review Date: 03-31-2015
It should tell you something that the only Chianti K&L imports directly from Italy are the wines of Rocca di Montegrossi. From the heart of the Chianti Classico zone in Gaiole, Marco Ricasoli meticulously produces some of the finest wines to be found between Florence and Siena. The 2012 Rocca di Montegrossi Chianti Classico is a classic blend of 90% Sangiovese and 5% each of Canaiolo and Colorino, aged 12 months in French oak for a polished, elegant style.
Price: $21.95 Add To Cart

2011 Pontet-Canet, Pauillac
Review Date: 02-18-2015
Tasted blind in a recent K&L weekly staff tasting along with the 2000 Pontet Canet. Thank god Clyde decided to taste us blind on this 2011 Pontet Canet or I likely would have allowed my feelings about the vintage as a whole to color my perceptions. The class and breed of the exceptional terroir at Pontet Canet along with the incredible work done by the Tesseron family over the past twenty years really shines through here in a wine made under very challenging conditions. Youthful character, remarkably sweet fruit, and firm but not astringent tannins. And what length! Quite possibly the wine of the vintage.
Top Value!

Ariston Aspasie "Prestige Vielles Vignes" Champagne
Review Date: 02-10-2015
The wines of Paul-Vincent Ariston were the first from Champagne to be imported directly by K&L some 15 years ago now, and the Ariston Aspasie Prestige Vielles Vignes is still one of the best values on our shelves. The current cuvee, though not vintage dated, is composed entirely of fruit from the exceptional 2008 vintage (certainly the best vintage in Champagne since 1996, and perhaps even surpassing that much-heralded year). A blend of all three principal varieties (Chardonnay, Pinot Noir, and Pinot Meunier) from 65 year old vines, the old vine character really shines through here, yielding a wine of surpassing concentration and depth. This is one to savor, or perhaps to cellar for a few years. You can congratulate yourself on your foresight in the years to come.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

1995 Poujeaux Moulis-en-Médoc
Review Date: 01-27-2015
Always one of the great Bordeaux values, and along with Chasse Spleen one of the two top properties in Moulis. This 20 year old '95 Poujeaux is a perfectly aged Bordeaux at the peak of its powers. Wonderfully aromatic. Lovely floral notes. An explosion of violets leapt from the bottle as soon as I withdrew the cork. Plenty of ripe black fruits, currant and blackberry. Very fresh and fine. Firm tannins. This is drinking beautifully now and should hold its own for a while yet though likely without improving substantially. Enjoy!
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart
WS 91

Ichishima Tokubetsu Honjozo Sake 720ml
Review Date: 12-31-2014
Hands down, one of the best values in our sake selection, and an excellent example of the Niigata style. So pure, so clean. Quite dry. It would do well paired with traditional sushi or any type of fresh seafood. I enjoyed it with our local Dungeness crab, and it really showed off the sweetness of the meat. Superb.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart

2012 Joseph Phelps Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 10-02-2014
If you have not had this wine recently this is the perfect vintage to renew your acquaintance with this unparalleled Napa value. Since 2009 Phelps has shifted entirely to estate grown fruit, reducing their overall production and improving quality. They now consider their estate wine something of a "second wine to Insignia" at one third of the price. This 2012 vintage is stunning, with loads of dark fruit and fine tannins. If you are a fan of Napa Cabernet, this is a "must try." Do not miss out.
Top Value!
Price: $54.99 Add To Cart
JS 92 WE 91

Ariston Aspasie "Carte Blanche" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 09-02-2014
I think the Ariston Aspasie Carte Blanche Brut was one of the first grower-producer Champagnes I ever purchased from K&L. It remains to this day our best value in Champagne, and a superb introduction to the grower producer (RM) Champagnes. If your usual Champagne experience is Veuve Clicquot or Moet & Chandon, you owe it to yourself to try the Carte Blanche from Paul-Vincent Ariston. With roughly equal parts of the three classic Champagne grapes, and a retail price comfortably south of $30, this is a no-brainer. Open a bottle for no reason in the middle of the week. You'll feel like royalty.
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart

2009 Les Allées de Cantemerle, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 11-07-2013
Easily the best $20 Bordeaux in the store. Why? Well, the 2009 vintage was the best since 2005 for wines at the $10 to $20 price point. And Chateau Cantemerle is one of only five Haut Medoc properties that are designated "cru classe", in fact it is a fifth growth. Finally, the quality of the 2009 vintage was such that even second wines like the "Les Allees" really excel. Loads of dark fruit here, blackberry and cassis. Superb Cabernet character. I was shocked by how well this is drinking already. If you really want to get your money's worth, though, tuck this away in the cellar for a few years. You won't regret it.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JS 90

2009 Caronne Ste-Gemme, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 07-06-2013
Chateau Caronne Ste Gemme is located in the commune of Saint Laurent, due west of Saint Julien-Beychevelle, and is a near neighbor of Chateau Lagrange and Gruaud Larose. Francois Nony, whose family has owned the property for over a century, currently manages 40 hectares of vineyards planted on gravel soils. The wine spends 12 months in oak with about 25% of the barrels new. The extraordinary 2009 vintage produced a big, deeply colored wine with a rich, silky texture and very fine tannins. The wine is still youthful with tart, fresh blackberry and ripe, red cherry notes. Already more expressive than when tasted one year ago, it can be enjoyed now or over the next 1 to 5 years. A superb effort for this property and my top pick for best Bordeaux under $20 for the vintage.
Price: $22.99 Add To Cart
WS 90

Bruno Michel "Blanche" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 09-29-2012
For longtime fans of Moet White Star or Veuve Cliquot this is the perfect introduction to grower producer Champagnes. A blend of Chardonnay and Pinot Meunier from Pierry south of Epernay, the Bruno Michel "Cuvee Blanche" offers lightly toasty, classic "brioche" character, a creamy texture, and crisp, ripe apple notes supported by a firm mineral backbone. This is superb Champagne at a great price.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Fleury Blanc de Noirs Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-18-2012
This extraordinary 100% Pinot Noir sparkling wine comes to us from the Aube, the southernmost part of the Champagne region. In the early 1900s, when the boundaries of the Champagne appellation were being formally drawn, it seemed for a time that producers in the Aube would be excluded by their brother growers to the north. They took to the streets in protest and French troops had to be called in to quell the riots. Because we are buying these wines directly in France you can enjoy them today at a price that won't provoke civil unrest. Why would you drink anything else?
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2009 La Lagune, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 03-06-2012
Deeply colored, aromatic, floral and spicy. Loads of dark, sweet fruit. Unbelievably bright and fresh. A superb effort.

Ariston Aspasie "Brut Prestige" Champagne (1.5L)
Review Date: 09-23-2011
One of my favorites among our direct import Champagnes. The ONLY way to enjoy this wine more is to drink it out of magnum. Rich, ripe fruit, classic "toasty" brioche character. I took a bottle this weekend to a large party with many wonderful bottles of wine open for the sampling. My only regret is that I didn't bring TWO magnums; this was one of the first bottles emptied.
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart

Antech "Brut Nature" Blanquette de Limoux
Review Date: 09-23-2011
The Limoux area of the Languedoc in southern France is the oldest sparkling wine producing region in the world, predating even Champagne. Blanquette is made mostly from the local variety Mauzac, which adds a delightfully crisp, fresh apple quality. The remainder is Chenin Blanc and Chardonnay. Antech's Brut Nature is produced with no added dosage, creating a wine that is super dry, crisp and clean, and bracingly refreshing. Delicious, and a terrific value!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

1985 Soutard, St-Émilion
Review Date: 09-23-2011
What a delightful surprise this wine was! A bit firm at first, but with half an hour in the decanter it opened up beautifully. Aromatic notes of cedar and truffle on the nose. Ripe plum and cherry notes on the palate. Wonderfully silky texture. A classically styled, perfectly aged St-Emilion at its peak. Try this one with grilled duck breast.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart
RP 90

Deligeroy Cremant de Loire Brut
Review Date: 05-20-2011
The region of Saumur in the Loire Valley of France is the largest producer of sparkling wines outside of Champagne. This blend of Chenin Blanc, Chardonnay, and Cabernet Franc is an astonishing value at $11.99. Dry and crisp in style with a rich, creamy texture. Affordable by the case for a special event. Inexpensive enough to enjoy guilt-free any night of the week. Sante!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

Charles Baur Cremant d'Alsace Brut Rosé
Review Date: 12-31-2010
Gorgeous salmon color! Fresh, ripe strawberry nose. Crisp, dry style. Superb Pinot Noir character. Imported directly from the producer in Alsace, this is one of our best values in sparkling wine under $20.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
WE 89

2005 d'Angludet, Margaux
Review Date: 09-23-2010
Aromas of exotic Tahitian vanilla and wood spice frame the nose of this still very youthful wine. The strength of the vintage shows in the substantial dark fruit. Black currant and cherry. Rich and sweet with good acidity. Tannins still quite firm. Persistent, lengthy finish. If you are looking for a good value in 2005 to add to the cellar, this 2005 Chateau Angludet is the wine for you. Tasted at the Chateau in April with James Sichel, at home in good company with a nicely grilled ribeye steak, and more recently at our weekly staff tasting in Redwood City. Consistently delicious results.
Drink from 2013 to 2013

Franck Bonville Grand Cru Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 02-09-2010
This may be the best deal in Champagne that K&L offers. 100% Chardonnay. 100% Grand Cru fruit from some of the best vineyards in the Côte des Blancs. Don't write this wine off because you didn't pay more for it! This is an outstanding Champagne at an unbelievable price. It will delight you with its rich, creamy texture. Ripe pear and chalky mineral notes give way to toasty, fresh baked apple tart on the mid palate. The wine finishes with a crisp, zingy citrus note of Meyer lemon. Enjoy this wine alone, as a refreshing aperitif or together with chilled, cracked Dungeness crab.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WE 91 WS 90

1999 Lanessan, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 01-10-2010
I have long been a fan of this over performing Haut-Médoc estate. Château Lanessan has as storied a history as many classified growths. The current owners, the Delbos-Bouteiller family, can date their ownership of the property back to 1793, and the property itself to 1310. The wines were not included in the Classification of 1855 since the owner at the time, Louis Delbos, neglected to send in samples to the committee. However, it was considered to be the equal of many fifth growths. The property lies just to the south of Château Beychevelle in the commune of Cussac-Fort-Médoc, and has a very St. Julien-like character. This 1999 vintage is surprisingly ripe with firm tannins and impressive dark fruit. With some time in a decanter notes of black currants and cedar emerge on the nose. In the mouth, the fruit is rich and concentrated - blackberry compote and damson plum. 60% Cabernet Sauvignon, 30% Merlot, 5% Cabernet Franc and 5% Petit Verdot. For Bordeaux lovers this wine represents a tremendous value at less than $20. Drink now or enjoy over the next 3 to 5 years.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

Michel Arnould "Grand Cuvée" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 10-26-2009
Lovely toast on the nose. Classic pain grille, bright cherry, and hazelnut in the mouth. The ripeness of the fruit is offset by bracing acidity and an intense mineral character. A big, bold wine, this champagne will be the center of attention at any party.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Page: 1 2 next