Staff Favorites - Jeff Garneau

Jeff Garneau
Jeff Garneau  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service
Jeff has been a member of the sales staff in our Redwood City store for the past four years. His first introduction to wine was as a waiter in an upscale Italian restaurant in Hanover, NH more years ago than he likes to admit. He slowly made his way west to wine country, working his way across the US as a graduate student in geography, a public sector researcher in regional economic development, and briefly, in the wake of the Anderson-Enron scandal, a records management coordinator for one of the remaining Big Five accounting firms. Finally, surrendering to the inevitable, he accepted a position in the wine business here at K&L. His goals for the next four years include drinking more wines from Italy and France and trying to limit the number of open bottles on the dinner table on any given night to fewer than six.


Reviews

  
Page: 1 2 next
2001 Brane-Cantenac, Margaux
Review Date: 12-03-2016
As a lover of fine Bordeaux who is always looking for good values, I am increasingly turning to the 2001 vintage for well-priced wines of excellent quality. I recently enjoyed the 2001 Brane Cantenac, Margaux along with a Friday night dinner of steak frites. A remarkable wine for the vintage, combining better than average ripeness with the telltale acidity that is a hallmark of the '01's. Delightfully floral in typical Margaux fashion. Notes of wild blackberry jam and sweet black plum. Already showing some bottle age with a youthful, purple color shading to garnet and savory notes of leather and tobacco beginning to emerge on the nose and palate. A great price on a Deuxième Cru from Margaux, and a great choice to drink now or hold for a few years. 50% Merlot, 40% Cabernet Sauvignon, 10% Cabernet Franc.

2015 Tablas Creek "Patelin de Tablas" Paso Robles Rhône Blanc
Review Date: 11-29-2016
Few producers in California have the depth of expertise that Tablas Creek does when it comes to Rhone grape varieties. Established over 20 years ago in partnership with the Perrin family of Chateau Beaucastel in Chateauneuf-du-Pape, Tablas Creek continues to champion Rhone inspired whites and reds to this day. The 2015 Tablas Creek "Patelin de Tablas" Paso Robles Rhône Blanc is an outstanding example and a terrific value – racy and mineral driven but with admirable texture and weight. For those who are unfamiliar with Rhone whites, this blend of Grenache Blanc, Viognier, Rousanne and Marsanne offers a delicious alternative to Chardonnay, and an excellent introduction to the distinctive Rhone style.

1995 Château de Briat 20 Year Old Vintage Armagnac (750ml)
Review Date: 11-28-2016
One of the most crowd-pleasing Armagnacs I've had the pleasure of tasting in some time. The Briat 20 year is a symphony of rich brandy flavor that should astound spirits lovers of all types. While we typically carry a range of Armagnac selections that run the spectrum from woody and earthy to soft and fruity, this 1995 vintage pulls the best elements from both sides and combines them into one perfectly balanced elixir. It's a traditional Armagnac, with spice and power, yet simultaneously an utterly drinkable one with all that richness. For the price, it's an unmistakable deal.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

Siembra Valles "Ancestral" Blanco Tequila (750ml)
Review Date: 11-21-2016
Already got the final draft of your liquor "bucket list" completed? Well I hope you left room at the bottom because you are going to need to pencil in one more name - the new "Ancestral" Blanco Tequila from Siembra Valles. For true fans, this is not so much a tequila as a "proto-tequila", an honest and fearless exploration of the historical roots of the agave spirit. Painstakingly handcrafted, this is a unique and powerful expression offering bright citrus and savory spice notes interwoven with layers of earth and smoke. Truly one of a kind, with flavors so concentrated and pure that it's hard to go back from here. Once you've tasted this, where else can you go?
Price: $119.99 Add To Cart

Jean Josselin "Cuvee des Jean" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 11-12-2016
This refreshing Blanc de Noirs is made in a lean, precise style. This is a sleek greyhound of a wine full of restrained energy and intense focus. Crisp, clean, mineral driven, and very dry. Superb value here.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2015 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough
Review Date: 11-12-2016
A benchmark for New Zealand Sauvignon Blanc. It doesn't get any better than this. If you have never tried one before, make this 2015 vintage of Jason and Anna Flowerday's TWR Sauvignon Blanc your first. Conscientiously produced, meticulously crafted. Superb varietal and regional typicity. A perfect expression of terroir. This is a masterclass in NZ Sauvignon Blanc in a glass. Enroll today. Direct import pricing makes for very affordable tuition. And you can't possibly fail to be delighted!

2015 La Chablisienne "Dame Nature" Petit Chablis
Review Date: 11-12-2016
From the foremost cooperative in Chablis, responsible for more than a quarter of all production annually in the region. The 2015 Chablisienne Dame Nature Petit Chablis is a product of one of the best of the recent vintages in Burgundy, and the quality here for the price is stunning. Crisp. Clean. Intensely mineral in expression. Admirable weight and texture. Achieves perfect ripeness. Hints of stone fruit – peach & nectarine. This is classic Chablis at a price you can afford to drink every day. Ideal on its own or paired with local seafood. Dungeness crab, anyone?
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2015 Giesen Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough
Review Date: 11-09-2016
An outstanding value, this classic Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc from Giesen opens with a nose that is tropical and lightly floral (guava?) underscored by something a bit more herbaceous (tomato leaf!). On the palate the wine is very fresh and lively, quite tangy with notes of fresh ripe gooseberry and candied lemon peel. A delight to drink and impossible to resist at this price.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart
DC 95 BC 90

1994 York Creek Spring Mountain District Meritage
Review Date: 11-08-2016
Once again the cellar doors swing wide at Fritz Maytag’s York Creek winery, and we welcome the newest winery-direct releases from his library of older wines. Fans of the 1999 Meritage blend (and there were many) are going to be thrilled with this 1994 York Creek Spring Mountain District Meritage. From one of the top vintages of the decade, now twenty plus years old. Fair warning, you are flat out not going to believe how youthful this wine remains, a tribute to the winemaking skill of Cathy Corison, who crafted these unbeatable Bordeaux-inspired blends throughout the 1990’s at York Creek. The wine is still deeply colored, a rich purple with only a faint “bricking” at the rim. The wine’s age shows more clearly on the nose, nicely savory with the expected aromas of cedar and tobacco. Bright and lively, very fresh still in the mouth with plenty of sweet, ripe fruit – fresh-picked blackberry and blackcurrant notes. Lovely weight, medium to full-bodied with a very food friendly 13% alcohol. This will stand among the best of the wines we have received over the years from York Creek. Exceptional value here.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
ST 90

2015 Kalinda Willamette Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 11-05-2016
I have been working here at K&L for over 12 years now. The first bottle I ever purchased as an employee, on my very first day, was a 2001 Kalinda Cabernet Sauvignon from the Alexander Valley. Many of the top wineries in California have generously agreed to work with us over the years, and I have enjoyed many similar bottles since then. Most recently, however, I tasted the just-released 2015 Kalinda Willamette Valley Pinot Noir, and I honestly can’t remember the last time I was this excited about one of our private label bottlings. For this wine, we teamed up with Harry Peterson-Nedry of Chehalem Vineyards in the Willamette Valley of Oregon. 2015 marked their second warm, ripe vintage in a row, a virtual twin to the very successful 2014 vintage. The 2015 harvest yielded a large crop of high quality fruit – perfect conditions for producing a private bottling such as our Kalinda. Our blend combines fruit from four of Chehalem’s estate vineyards, the oldest of which were planted in the early 1980’s. The results are nothing short of extraordinary. This is Oregon Pinot Noir at its best, with loads of red and black berry fruit, reminiscent of the ripe, sweet blackberries and raspberries for which the Willamette Valley is equally famous. I urge you to try the wonderful range of Chehalem wines we carry. Their Ridgecrest bottling is a benchmark for great Oregon Pinot Noir, and helped to make the case for the establishment of the Ribbon Ridge AVA. For sheer value, however, you can’t beat this 2015 Kalinda offering. An incredible price, and a great introduction to the excellent work being done at this historic Oregon winery.
Top Value!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2014 Tongue in Groove "Cabal Vineyard" Pinot Noir Waipara Valley North Canterbury
Review Date: 11-05-2016
Further fruits of our direct import program in NZ/Australia. The 2014 Tongue in Groove Cabal Vineyard Pinot Noir offers extraordinary complexity at an almost unbelievable price. Without the overt ripeness of the 2013 vintage the more reserved 2014 nevertheless combines plenty of ripe red and black fruits with lively acidity and a rich, almost silky texture. Beguilingly floral. Intriguingly spicy. And the addition of 35% whole clusters contributes a savory quality that adds yet another layer of flavor. This is unquestionably one of the best values in the store for New World Pinot Noir under $30.

2013 Tongue In Groove "The Mound Vineyard" Riesling Waipara Valley
Review Date: 10-01-2016
Winemaker Lynnette Hudson pulls out all the stops in this monster of a Riesling that puts me in mind of the best of the Alsatian wines. Big and rich in style with just a hint of residual sugar and a deft touch of botrytis. Tons of Riesling goodness here, pure poetry, with no apologies and no regrets. Very well done.

2015 Tongue in Groove Chardonnay Waipara Valley North Canterbury
Review Date: 10-01-2016
The Chardonnays coming out of NZ these days are some of the most exciting whites in production there, and some of the best of the Chardonnay being produced in the New World. Generous in style with admirable richness of texture combined with remarkable restraint and truly breathtaking concentration and depth. California wine lovers take note. There is a new standard being established here. Don't miss out.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
DC 93

2007 Malescasse, Haut-Medoc
Review Date: 10-01-2016
The 2007 is a softer, more forward version of the 2009. There is a lovely floral lift to the nose. Good ripeness was achieved here. There is plenty of bright, sweet black fruit on the palate and surprising weight and richness. Offered at a significant price reduction to the ’09, this is a superb example of an affordable, everyday red.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2007 Fleur Cardinale, St-Emilion
Review Date: 10-01-2016
This was my personal favorite among the wines recently tasted and a perfect example of all that is best about the 2007 vintage. At nearly 10 years past the vintage the wine is just beginning to show some development. Purple to garnet in color with a lightly floral nose and still youthful fruit. Generous ripe, sweet red and black fruits, cherry and plum. The oak is well integrated on both the nose and palate with subtle spice notes. Altogether a very polished effort with admirable weight. Should continue to provide years of pleasure.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
RP 90 ST 90

2007 Labegorce Zede, Margaux
Review Date: 10-01-2016
One of the last vintages bottled under a separate label prior to its historic reunification with neighbor Château Labégorce in 2009. The wine is still quite youthful in character, deeply colored and marked by primary fruit flavors and firm tannins. It shows a great deal of promise, however, with a lovely weight and lush texture that make an immediate impression.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

2007 Côte de Baleau, St-Emilion
Review Date: 10-01-2016
Purchased in 2013 by the Cuvelier family, owners of neighboring Clos Fourtet, along with Clos St-Martin and Les Grandes Murailles. This continues a centuries-old tradition of family ownership that dates back to the founding of the property in 1643. Toasty oak and a hint of violets on the nose. Merlot dominates the blend in this Right Bank value, with ripe, almost jammy plum notes. Finishes with fine tannins.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2014 Pike Road Willamette Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 09-08-2016
A new value priced label from the good folks at Elk Cove Vineyards. A mix of estate and purchased fruit with the idea of providing honest Willamette Valley Pinot Noir at an affordable price. 2014 was a perfect choice for an inaugural vintage, with near ideal growing conditions and a large crop of ripe fruit. A seamless integration of fruit and oak with plenty of bright red fruits, tart cherry, cranberry and raspberry. Lightly spicy with good balance and structure. Soft and round and forward in style. Just pop (or twist!) and pour.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

2010 Bois-Malot, Bordeaux Supérieur
Review Date: 09-03-2016
From 10 hectares of vineyards on the banks of the Dordogne River, about 15 km from the city of Bordeaux itself, 3rd generation vigneron Jacques Meynard produces this incomparable Bordeaux Supérieur . I have found it to be remarkably consistent vintage to vintage, quite good even in years when the weather is less accommodating. Given the very favorable conditions of the extraordinary 2010 vintage, however, this little vin ordinaire is a surprisingly substantial wine! At first showing only ripe fruit with a slightly savory component, the wine – decanted – really opened up over the course of an hour. Sweet, ripe, almost jammy red fruits tasting of cherry preserves combined with a delightful note of fresh mint. A typical Bordeaux blend of Cabernet Sauvignon, Merlot, and Cabernet Franc, and the Cabernet really takes the lead here. This is a big, full-bodied effort with lively acidity and firm tannins. Greatly outperforms the price point, constantly inviting another sip. Altogether very "moreish", as the English say.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2015 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Pinot Noir Rosé Marlborough
Review Date: 08-31-2016
It goes without saying that we here at K&L are big fans of Anna and Jason Flowerday of Te Whare Ra (TWR). Their wines have brought us so much pleasure it seems unfair to ask more of them, yet here on our shores, just in time for summer we have the new 2015 TWR Rosé. Each year, I find that at least one of the several rosé wines that I keep on hand for the warmer months inevitably is a rosé of Pinot Noir. This year my choice was an easy one. Bright and crisp in style with singular focus and admirable length, this wine really over delivers.
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart

2015 Quinta da Aveleda Loureiro-Alvarinho Vinho Verde
Review Date: 08-31-2016
A blend of Loureiro and Alvarinho, this Portugese white is the perfect companion for long, lazy summer afternoons. Dry and crisp in style and low in alcohol, this light-bodied wine neither tires nor dulls the senses but rather enlivens and refreshes. Lightly floral with bright citrus notes, there is a slight effervescence here that only emphasizes the wine's youthful exuberance.

2014 Oakridge Estate "Willowlake Vineyard" Pinot Noir Yarra Valley
Review Date: 07-29-2016
A terrific example of topnotch Aussie winemaking expertise inspired by French traditions. New World Pinot Noir in a Burgundian style. The 2014 Oakridge Estate Willowlake VIneyard Pinot Noir Yarra Valley offers crisp, slightly "crunchy" red fruits with notes both floral and spicy. Think Chambolle Musigny. Astonishing quality here at this price. "Bonjour, mate! Merci beaucoup!"
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JH 96

2014 Roquefort Blanc, Bordeaux
Review Date: 07-29-2016
My personal favorite so far from this 2014 vintage and a perfect example of an entry level Bordeaux blanc. The most expensive dry white wines from Bordeaux are aged in oak barrels and are typically cellared for a decade or more prior to consumption. By contrast, the 2014 Chateau Roquefort Blanc is available for a mere $11.99, is aged entirely in stainless steel tanks, and is ready to drink right now. The wine is delightfully fresh and lively in character, quite crisp and dry but with remarkably generous fruit. A blend of 85% Sauvignon Blanc and 15% Semillon. Mostly citrus here with mouthwateringly fresh, white grapefruit notes and the barest hint of something a bit more exotic and tropical. If you are a fan of Sauvignon Blanc and have yet to discover the quality of the white wines of Bordeaux, this is the perfect wine with which to begin.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

2013 Trellis (Amelia Park) Cabernet Sauvignon-Merlot Margaret River
Review Date: 07-24-2016
If I had tasted the 2013 Trellis (Amelia Park) Cabernet Sauvignon-Merlot Margaret River blind, I would have assumed it was a much more expensive wine. However, since I was aware of the true retail price, my actual response at first sip was a calm, restrained, very professional “Holy &%$@!” I don’t know what to say about this wine that won’t be dismissed as mere hyperbole, but I can tell you honestly that it may very well be one of the top $10 reds we currently have available. This is classic Margaret River Cab (actually a blend of 85% Cabernet Sauvignon and 15% Merlot) for a mere song. The nose is lightly floral with a hint of mint. On the palate, notes of cherry and raspberry, generous red fruits, sweet and ripe. The wine is rich in texture but with near perfect balance. Bright and lively with ultra-fine tannins. An absolute delight to drink and an unbeatable value. I repeat, there is simply NO way for me to convey how good a deal this wine is and make you believe me. You will have to try it for yourself. Once you do, your friends won’t believe you either, so do them a favor and pour them a glass. You'll make believers of them, too.
Top Value!
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart

2000 Sarget de Gruaud-Larose, St-Julien
Review Date: 07-07-2016
The second label of second growth Chateau Gruaud-Larose, named for one of the property's most prominent 19th century owners. The 2000 Sarget de Gruaud Larose, St-Julien shows off the strength of this millennial vintage. Big and round in the mouth with admirable weight. Lightly floral nose with characteristic tobacco notes. Lively fresh-picked blackberry fruit. Finishes firm with tannins still noticeably present. Drink or hold.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart
WS 91

1999 Sarget de Gruaud Larose, St-Julien
Review Date: 07-07-2016
The second label of second growth Chateau Gruaud-Larose, named for one of the property's most prominent 19th century owners. The 1999 Sarget de Gruaud Larose, St-Julien is typical of the vintage - medium to full-bodied with sweet, forward fruit. Characteristic tobacco notes merge with mature hints of leather and truffle. Classic, affordable Saint Julien you can drink now.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2014 Jacques Bavard Auxey-Duresses "Les Clous" Blanc
Review Date: 06-30-2016
From the heart of the appellation of Auxey-Duresses, which lies between Meursault and Saint-Romain, this single vineyard villages-level white Burgundy is among the more richly-textured of Jacques Bavard’s wines. There is more weight here and less apparent minerality yet plenty of liveliness and energy. Bright citrus peel notes combine with lightly toasted oak and delicate floral aromas to create a very satisfying whole. Drinkable now or over the next few years.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2000 Calon-Ségur, St-Estèphe
Review Date: 06-21-2016
he pedigree is obvious here. The 2000 Calon-Ségur has it all: lovely weight, richness and texture with ample, ripe, sweet fruit. However, it also demonstrates how the very best wines of this stellar vintage are going to require further patience. The tannins are still quite firm. If I had, say, half a dozen bottles in my cellar (and I do), I would not look to open the next bottle for another three to five years at least.

2013 Olema Sonoma County Chardonnay
Review Date: 06-04-2016
The second label of staff and customer favorite, Amici Cellars. From fruit sourced in Sonoma Carneros, the Russian River and Sonoma Coast, the 2013 Olema Sonoma County Chardonnay is richly textured with generous apple and pear notes nicely integrated with lightly spicy oak. A superbly crafted wine from an outstanding vintage, and a terrific deal in a California Chardonnay.
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine des Côtes Blanches Sancerre Rosé
Review Date: 05-31-2016
Each year I look forward to the new crop of rose wines. Inevitably, one of my favorites is always a rose of Pinot Noir. This Sancerre rose looks like a top contender for this season. Plenty of fresh, ripe strawberry notes. Lightly floral. Mineral in character with a hint of earth. Bright and fresh and crisp in style. The perfect thing for a hot summer afternoon. Maybe to pair with grilled salmon? or perhaps just a fresh tomato salad.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine des Côtes Blanches Sancerre
Review Date: 05-31-2016
Prices for the many of the best known producers in the upper Loire Valley continue to increase year by year, with many Sancerres now selling in the $20 to $50 range. In order to continue to make available a selection of wines for less than $20, we have been expanding the portfolio of wines we import directly. Newly arrived from France is the 2015 Domaine des Côtes Blanches Sancerre, now the fourth vintage we have offered of this classic Sauvignon Blanc. There is a hint of something delicately floral on the nose at first blush, followed by more assertive notes of fresh herbs – tarragon and thyme. Intensely mineral in expression with notes of smoke and gunflint. The fruit is decidedly citrus in character with loads of fresh grapefruit. Bright and fresh, crisp and clean overall with perhaps a bit more weight than I expected – a product of the 2015 vintage? (Quite good by all accounts. Time will tell…) If you are a Sancerre fan this one is hitting on all cylinders. Don't miss out.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2000 Brane-Cantenac, Margaux
Review Date: 05-13-2016
2000. The millennial vintage. Cooler, wetter conditions earlier in the year eventually gave way to warm, sunny weather in August and September, allowing for good ripening of the grapes and a harvest under ideal conditions. Notwithstanding, at Brane Cantenac in order to produce the best possible wine for the vintage a much stricter selection than usual was made for the first wine (less than 30% of total production) and a higher proportion of Merlot was used (55%). A little more than 15 years later the results speak for themselves. The 2000 Brane Cantenac, Margaux is typical of the best wines of the vintage with generous ripe, sweet red and black fruits and admirable mid-palate weight. The wine offers a rich, sensuous texture with good underlying structure – lively acidity and firm, fine tannins. The wines from this 2000 vintage are beginning to diverge in terms of their development. Some are ripe and forward and ready to drink. Others can be enjoyed now but clearly have a long life ahead of them. Others still remain largely closed and will require additional cellaring before their full promise is revealed. Fortunately, the 2000 Brane Cantenac falls into the middle category. Though some signs of bottle age have begun to emerge, the wine is perhaps five to ten years away from the peak of maturity. Drink now or hold.

2014 La Monacesca Verdicchio di Matelica
Review Date: 04-30-2016
The 2014 La Monacesca Verdicchio di Matellica, from the top producer in the region, combines a rich texture and ripe, sweet fruit with focused minerality and a fresh, lively character. No oak aging, though extended lees contact adds complexity. I love the precision here, and the more exotic notes of fennel and candied lemon peel. One of the most intriguing Italian whites in our inventory, and a terrific value.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
W&S 90

2014 Clos Floridène, Graves Blanc
Review Date: 04-16-2016
This classic white Bordeaux is produced by the husband and wife team of Florence and Denis Dubordieu. (The name of the domaine is an amalgam of their two first names.) Denis Dubordieu is a professor of oenology at the University of Bordeaux and the foremost expert on white wine production in the region. No surprise then that his 2014 Clos Floridene Graves Blanc offers such exceptional quality. The wine is a blend of 55% Sauvignon Blanc and 45% Semillon. It is aged in barrel (25% new) for 8 months with frequent lees stirring. The result is a dry white wine that combines a refreshing crispness with a palate-pleasing richness of texture. This is the model on which the best California Sauvignon Blancs are based. Outstanding value.
Top Value!

Fukucho "Forgotten Fortune" Junmai Sake 720ml
Review Date: 04-01-2016
The re-establishment of the Hattan-so variety of sake rice is a personal project of master brewer Miho Imada. Fukucho Forgotten Fortune Junmai Sake is made entirely from Hattan-so rice milled to 75%. It is a bold, full-flavored junmai, supple and richly textured, very much in the style for which Hiroshima prefecture is famous. A superb value!
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart

2011 Fratelli Barale Barolo "Cannubi"
Review Date: 03-30-2016
Cannubi is the most prestigious of Barolo's many vineyards with a reputation for producing fine wines that precedes the creation of the DOC itself. Prices for "Cannubi" designated wines therefore are often higher than for other nearby "crus". Which explains in part why this 2011 Cannubi bottling from new direct import Sergio Barale is so compelling. Traditional in style. Lightly floral with some savory notes. Lovely weight and mouthfeel, rich and round. Bright and fresh with a firm finish. Classic appeal from one of Barolo's best vineyards at a very reasonable price.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart
JS 91

Mas Codina Cava Brut Reserva Penedès
Review Date: 02-29-2016
Everyone loves a good value in sparkling wine. We would all love to drink Champagne every night, but sometimes you want to spend a little less without compromising quality. For that reason, our buyers here at K&L strive to provide a broad range of alternatives at affordable prices. Over time certain of these have become so popular among our customers and staff that they have achieved an almost iconic status, the kind of wine people buy by the case – among others the Louis Bouillot Cremant de Bourgogne "Perle d'Aurore" Brut Rosé, the Deligeroy Cremant de Loire Brut, and the Mas Codina Cava Brut Reserva Penedès. This classic Spanish cava combines traditional grape varieties like Xarello and Macabeo with those more likely to be found in Champagne like Chardonnay and Pinot Noir. 24 months on the lees adds richness and weight. At this price you can treat yourself whenever you like.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2014 Saint-Jean-des-Graves Blanc, Graves
Review Date: 01-29-2016
The 2014 Saint-Jean-des-Graves Blanc, Graves is the latest release of a wine K&L has sold vintage after vintage for nearly 20 years, and it remains a perennial staff and customer favorite. A 50/50 blend of Sauvignon Blanc and Semillon, it is bright and fresh, very crisp and clean and mineral driven with abundant notes of citrus and fresh herbs. A great value, conveniently priced for everyday drinking.
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart

Alexandre Le Brun "Tradition" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 12-31-2015
From one of our newest grower-producers. On the drier side, but with remarkable richness and weight. A light toast complemented by ripe pear and apple notes and a hint of cinnamon spice. A terrific introduction to the wines of this exciting young winemaker.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2015 Lake Chalice "The Nest" Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough
Review Date: 12-14-2015
Our fourth vintage of what is fast becoming one of our best selling NZ Sauvignon Blancs. Among the best priced wines in the category, it compares very favorably to many wines in the $15 to $20 range. This 2015 vintage may very well be the best yet. Loads of tart, fresh grapefruit notes and a hint of something a bit more floral and tropical - passionfruit? Classic NZ "savvy" at a price you can afford to drink every day.
Top Value!
Price: $8.99 Add To Cart
RP 90

Mezcalero "Los Nahuales" Special Edition Sierrudo/Cuishe Mezcal (750ml)
Review Date: 10-22-2015
When our spirits buyer, David Driscoll, returned from Mexico last May, it was as if he had had a religious conversion, a “Saint Paul on the road to Oaxaca” moment. Mezcal was his new god, and Karina Abad Rojas, the head of production for Los Danzantes, his High Priestess. David was as excited as only David can be, and within a few days of his return he had the staff here in Redwood City in a similar state, thrilled to be able to sell the Los Danzantes and Alipus mezcals, and ready to become evangelists for this remarkable agave spirit. How typical of David not to mention that there was something even better on the way, a mezcal handcrafted by none other than Karina Abad Rojas herself, a remarkable expression of her intense passion for, and deep knowledge of, the agave grown in and around her home state of Oaxaca. The Mezcalero Los Nahuales Special Edition Sierrudo-Cuishe Mezcal, a co-fermented blend of the massive and slow-growing Sierrudo and wild Cuishe agaves is an agave spirit of astonishing subtlety and refinement. I lingered long over complex notes of cedar smoke, fleur de sel, and candied lemon peel. It was nothing short of a revelation, and the most exciting thing to come out of Mexico since Salma Hayek. This is a mezcal that is going to win over not only tequila aficionados, but gin drinkers as well. And if you are already a mezcal fan, well, make a little room on your bar for this little miracle. It would be a sin not to.
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart

2014 Franck Millet Sancerre Blanc
Review Date: 08-28-2015
A perennial favorite of both customers and staff, available now at the lowest price in years due to favorable exchange rates. 100% Sauvignon Blanc. Classic Sancerre profile. Lovely minerality. Ripe, tangy gooseberry notes shading to slightly more tropical guava with this 2014 vintage. Hints of fresh herbs, tarragon and sorrel. Compared to the $20 to $30 average price for Sancerre generally this is a superb value priced for weeknight consumption.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart

2013 Von Strasser "Rudy" Paicines Pinot Noir
Review Date: 05-29-2015
Rudy Von Strasser, of Napa Cab fame, has ventured south to San Benito County to source fruit for this value-priced Pinot Noir. Round and richly textured, even opulent in style, the 2013 Von Strasser Rudy Paicines Pinot Noir offers plenty of ripe red fruits yet retains a very sensible 14.2% alcohol. A crowd pleaser, ideal for summer, and a terrific deal at under $20.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2012 Ellero "Pisa Terrace" Pinot Noir Central Otago
Review Date: 05-29-2015
My list of "outstanding Pinot Noirs from New Zealand offered at unbelievable prices" just keeps getting longer and longer. At the moment we have perhaps a dozen wines in the $20 to $30 range, all of exceptional quality. This 2012 Pisa Terrace bottling from Ellero comes from one of the most coveted vineyards in Central Otago. A melange of spice notes coupled with ripe red and black fruits define this supremely balanced wine. Deliciously sweet yet fresh and lively. Accessible yet with good underlying structure. Perfection in a glass.

2013 Von Strasser "Rudy" Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 04-30-2015
Is there a better value in California Cabernet than this second label bottling from Rudy Von Strasser? A wine that we encountered unexpectedly while tasting at the winery a few years back. Hard to believe we are now on our sixth vintage. And still available for only $20. If you haven't tried this wine yet, then grab a bottle of the 2013 at once. Maybe the best vintage yet.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2009 Duluc de Branaire-Ducru, St-Julien
Review Date: 02-20-2015
I have a vague memory of some famous British wine critic opining that the "sole purpose of a second wine is to improve the quality of the Grand Vin; one is never supposed to actually drink it". Fair point, but it would be a shame to miss out on second wines in a vintage like 2009. The quality of the vintage is such that they really shine, offering exceptional value for money. The 2009 Duluc de Branaire Ducru perfectly mirrors the vintage as a whole, offering fresh, ripe fruit, smooth, silky texture, and fine tannins. Branaire Ducru remains one of the great values in St Julien, the second wine even more so.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2011 Pontet-Canet, Pauillac
Review Date: 02-18-2015
Tasted blind in a recent K&L weekly staff tasting along with the 2000 Pontet Canet. Thank god Clyde decided to taste us blind on this 2011 Pontet Canet or I likely would have allowed my feelings about the vintage as a whole to color my perceptions. The class and breed of the exceptional terroir at Pontet Canet along with the incredible work done by the Tesseron family over the past twenty years really shines through here in a wine made under very challenging conditions. Youthful character, remarkably sweet fruit, and firm but not astringent tannins. And what length! Quite possibly the wine of the vintage.
Top Value!

Ariston Aspasie "Prestige Vieilles Vignes" Champagne
Review Date: 02-10-2015
The wines of Paul-Vincent Ariston were the first from Champagne to be imported directly by K&L some 15 years ago now, and the Ariston Aspasie Prestige Vielles Vignes is still one of the best values on our shelves. The current cuvee, though not vintage dated, is composed entirely of fruit from the exceptional 2008 vintage (certainly the best vintage in Champagne since 1996, and perhaps even surpassing that much-heralded year). A blend of all three principal varieties (Chardonnay, Pinot Noir, and Pinot Meunier) from 65 year old vines, the old vine character really shines through here, yielding a wine of surpassing concentration and depth. This is one to savor, or perhaps to cellar for a few years. You can congratulate yourself on your foresight in the years to come.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

1995 Calon-Ségur, St Estèphe
Review Date: 01-27-2015
It's hard to believe this vintage is now 20 years old. '95 and '96 were the two top vintages of the decade and as they reach their twentieth birthday no doubt many of the wines will receive renewed scrutiny. 20 to 30 years old is prime maturity for most Bordeaux wines and many will be reaching their peak over the next decade. That being said, the 1995 Calon Segur, St-Estephe still seems very youthful with still firm tannins and just a hint of aged character emerging. The oak is nicely integrated at this point with lovely spice notes. Plenty of sweet, ripe fruit and classic Cabernet character of blackberry and cassis. As my colleague Ralph Sands notes, all the reasons we drink Bordeaux can be found in this bottle. I love this wine.

2000 La Gaffelière, St-Emilion
Review Date: 01-27-2015
I drink a lot of Bordeaux, but, I am ashamed to say, not nearly enough Right Bank wines. So, last Friday for our weekly "steak & claret" night I opted for the 2000 Chateau La Gaffeliere, St-Emilion. I have a few cases of Bordeaux from the 2000 vintage in my cellar, mostly wines from the Medoc that are too young to drink, but this Right Bank beauty was raring to go at 15 years of age. A classic 2000. Rich, ripe, and round with good acidity, admirable weight, and fine tannins framing the finish. The wine was beginning to show some age - the color has shifted towards a lovely garnet and the nose showed hints of truffle emerging - but while it's drinking beautifully now it easily has another decade or more ahead of it. A perfect St-Emilion and a superb value for the money.

Page: 1 2 next