Staff Favorites - Jeff Garneau

Jeff Garneau
Jeff Garneau  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service
Jeff has been a member of the sales staff in our Redwood City store for the past four years. His first introduction to wine was as a waiter in an upscale Italian restaurant in Hanover, NH more years ago than he likes to admit. He slowly made his way west to wine country, working his way across the US as a graduate student in geography, a public sector researcher in regional economic development, and briefly, in the wake of the Anderson-Enron scandal, a records management coordinator for one of the remaining Big Five accounting firms. Finally, surrendering to the inevitable, he accepted a position in the wine business here at K&L. His goals for the next four years include drinking more wines from Italy and France and trying to limit the number of open bottles on the dinner table on any given night to fewer than six.


Reviews

  
Page: 1 2 next
2016 Duhart-Milon, Pauillac
Review Date: 05-16-2017
The 2016 Duhart Milon is ripe and concentrated, dense, dark and black-fruited. Plays to the strengths of the vintage with a blend of two-thirds Cabernet Sauvignon to one-third Merlot. Tannins quite fine here. Deceptively easy to taste. Terrific effort here in 2016. A great success.

2016 Pape Clément, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 05-15-2017
One of the great properties in Pessac-Léognan, historic, renowned, a near neighbor of Chateau Haut-Brion. In recent years, the estate has been moving towards a more terroir-driven style, taking full advantage of its exceptional position in the northernmost part of the appellation. The 2016 Pape Clément is a nuanced effort, complex and layered with good concentration and length. Deeply colored, intense. Lovely weight with perfectly ripe, sweet fruit and fine tannins. Deftly seasoned with spicy oak that enhances rather than overwhelms the wine. Very well done.

2016 Pape Clément Blanc, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 05-15-2017
Remarkably bright and fresh with terrific focus and intensity. Sweet, ripe fruit adds richness supported by admirable underlying tension and length. A balanced effort worthy of the cellar.

2016 Montrose, St-Estèphe
Review Date: 05-15-2017
The 2016 Montrose is a marvel—intense, concentrated and brooding. Inky, dark, palate-staining color. Wildly aromatic nose with notes of lavender and oolong tea. A big, powerful wine with perfectly ripe, sweet fruit. Solid, structured, with vibrant acidity and ultra-fine tannins. This is Montrose as it is meant to be, at its very best, a wine of precision and refinement rather than blunt force. Unequivocal quality here. Not to be missed.

2016 Meyney, St-Estèphe
Review Date: 05-15-2017
Consistently one of the best values in Saint-Estèphe. Situated on the Gironde River immediately north of Chateau Montrose. Typically black fruited in style with perhaps a bit more richness than its peers. That difference has been accentuated with the arrival in 2013 of consulting oenologist Hubert du Boüard, owner of Chateau Angelus in Saint Emilion. A worthy successor to the excellent 2014 vintage, the 2016 Meyney is lushly textured with ripe, sweet fruit and very fine tannins. Still too early perhaps to see how Boüard’s influence will affect the winemaking here. If greater consistency can be achieved without sacrificing typicity, the potential here is enormous. This is a property well worth keeping an eye on.
Top Value!

2016 Ormes de Pez, St-Estèphe
Review Date: 05-11-2017
Consistently one of the top values in St-Estèphe, Château Ormes de Pez flourishes under the stewardship of the Cazes family, owners of Lynch-Bages in Pauillac. Jean-Charles Cazes purchased the property in 1940; his son Jean-Michel made major improvements in the early 1980s. The 2016 vintage may be one of the finest ever produced at this estate. Pitch perfect with generous sweet black fruits and a hint of oak spice. Tannins very fine. A complete wine.

2016 Cantemerle, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 05-11-2017
Chateau Cantemerle was classified a Cinquième Cru in 1855, one of only five chateaus designated “Haut-Médoc” to be awarded cru classé status. With nearly 100 hectares of vineyards it is one of the largest estates on the Left Bank, and all I can say is, thank goodness. Even with yields slightly above average, I worry there won’t be enough of the 2016 vintage to go around. 2016 is a remarkable vintage in many respects, but one of its most compelling features is the tendency to bring out in the very best wines something quintessential, a perfect expression of terroir. I think the 2016 Cantemerle is one such. It brings together all of the best aspects of the vintage – an extraordinary intensity of color, wildly expressive aromatics, lively acidity and very fine tannins. And the fruit? As a child, I used to spend the summers in Maine, and I used to go blackberry picking with my grandmother. She preferred to go early in the morning before it got too hot. The berries would still be cool with a bit of the morning dew still upon them. Even under my grandmother’s watchful eye, not every berry made its way into my pail. I still remember quickly popping them into my mouth and that astonishing all at once burst of tartness and sweetness. Tasting “fresh-picked blackberry” in this wine made me smile with the memory it evoked. And I have no doubt that 2016 will be remembered as one of the great vintages for Cantemerle. 52% Cabernet Sauvignon, 39% Merlot, 5% Cabernet Franc, 4% Petit Verdot. Tasted twice with consistent notes.

2016 d'Arce, Côtes de Castillon
Review Date: 05-11-2017
Côtes de Castillon continues to be a source for some of the best values on the Right Bank. Many top producers in Saint-Emilion and Pomerol have invested in properties within this neighboring appellation, making wines which are nearly equal in quality to their best labels at a fraction of the price. Hélène Garcin, owner of Chateau Clos l'Église in Pomerol and Chateau Barde-Haut and the new Poesia in St-Emilion, now owns Chateau d’Arce in Côtes de Castillon. 2016 is only her third vintage, but certainly the best vintage yet. The quality is already apparent here. Loads of bright, sweet fruit. Very fresh with fine tannins. Terrific balance. Exceptional value.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2016 Clerc-Milon, Pauillac
Review Date: 05-11-2017
A very successful vintage for Clerc Milon, this 2016 simply exudes class and character. Classic Pauillac, with great presence and weight. Ripe, sweet fruit. Very lively and fresh. Lush in texture with very fine tannins. A supremely polished effort. Superb. Tasted three times during en primeur week with consistent notes.

2016 Branaire-Ducru, St-Julien
Review Date: 05-09-2017
Chateau Branaire-Ducru is consistently one of the best values in Saint Julien. I love it for its elegance and for its classic appeal. I confess I have quite a few bottles in my cellar from various vintages. I plan to add a few more from this remarkable 2016 vintage. Patrick Maroteaux and his team really outdid themselves, producing one of the best wines from this appellation. Wildly aromatic and deeply colored. Bright, fresh, and very lively with fine tannins. Perfectly ripe, sweet fruit. Balanced. Precise. Complete.

2016 Lilian Ladouys, St-Estèphe
Review Date: 05-05-2017
A near neighbor of Chateau Lafon-Rochet, this is a property that in the past few years has become a customer favorite due to its combination of quality and price. The 2016 Lilian Ladouys will no doubt both delight existing fans of the wine as well as win over many new Bordeaux lovers with its generous fruit and overall balance and character. Beguilingly aromatic, a bit floral and a bit spicy. Good underlying structure – lively acidity and firm, fine tannins. Top quality, and very true to the vintage.

2016 Potensac, Médoc
Review Date: 05-05-2017
Consistently one of the very best properties in the Médoc, Chateau Potensac has been owned for many years by the Delon family of Leoville Las Cases in St. Julien. The quality of the wine can be attributed both to the superb character of the terroir and to the additional resources made available due to its long association with a top Deuxième Cru. It can be difficult to properly judge this wine when tasting at the Chateau, since you are obliged to evaluate it alongside the more prestigious Clos du Marquis and Leoville Las Cases itself, but more than in any other vintage I can recall this 2016 Potensac more than held its own. Even in such august company the quality was readily apparent. The wine showed exceptional concentration. Bright and lively in character, very fresh, and with loads of sweet, ripe fruit and fine tannins, very much in line with the vintage as a whole. One of the most intriguing things about this 2016 Potensac is the higher than usual percentage of Cabernet Franc. One theme we heard over and over again during en primeur was that due to the extreme conditions of the vintage – from very wet to very dry – the oldest vines faired best. The vineyards at Potensac include a parcel of Cabernet Franc vines more than 80 years old. The grapes from these vines in 2016 were of such a quality that they were among the best the estate produced and formed a key part of the blend. You may tire of hearing this regarding the 2016 vintage, but, truthfully, I have enjoyed many vintages of Potensac over the years, but this may be the best I have ever tasted.

2016 d'Armailhac, Pauillac
Review Date: 05-04-2017
My personal favorite among the wines we tasted at Chateau Mouton-Rothschild this year, possibly the finest d'Armailhac I have ever tasted. The wine makes an immediate impression in the mouth, demonstrating obvious class and polish. It is rich and lushly textured with generous ripe, sweet black fruits but retains great freshness and a very moderate 13.4% alcohol. Cabernet Sauvignon takes the lead here at nearly two-thirds (62%) of the blend. The remainder is mostly Merlot (28%), with smaller amounts of Cabernet Franc (8%) and Petit Verdot (2%). In 2016, the extremely dry conditions that prevailed throughout the mid to late summer and early fall yielded a crop of small, thick-skinned berries. Fair but cooler weather in autumn with warm days and cool nights meant that the grapes could be picked at the peak of ripeness and maturity. The result is a wine of great intensity and depth of color, and tannin levels that rival even the vaunted 2010 vintage but are much finer overall. This is classic Pauillac, as good as it gets – big, brash, self-assured – but with a warm and friendly manner that puts you immediately at ease. If this wine were running for office, it would definitely have my vote.

Cappelletti "Sfumato Rabarbaro" Amaro (750ml)
Review Date: 05-03-2017
This wonderful Amaro from Cappelletti is smoky and earthy, sweet and classically bitter. Try it on its own as a digestivo to end a hearty meal or get creative with some of your favorite cocktails. Personally, I am a huge Negroni fan. I have been looking for some time for an Amaro I could pair with Mezcal. As soon as I tasted the Sfumato Rabarbaro Amaro I knew I had found the secret ingredient for my Negroni Sfumato (I thought “Smoke & Mirrors” would be a fun title as well but the rest of the staff seem set on "Smoky Negron"). Try equal parts Sfumato Rabarbaro Amaro from Cappelletti, Cocchi Vermouth di Torino, and your favorite mezcal. I used the Mezcalero "Los Nahuales" Special Edition Sierrudo-Cuishe Mezcal from Los Danzantes. Amazing!
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart

2015 Stony Bank Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough
Review Date: 05-03-2017
New to K&L with this 2015 vintage, the Stony Bank Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc is quickly becoming a customer favorite. Hot and dry conditions yielded a delicious wine that combines classic gooseberry notes with more tropical passionfruit and guava. Still very racy and fresh with lively acidity and crisp minerality, this is without a doubt one of our best values in a NZ Sauvignon Blanc.
Top Value!
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart

2016 Labégorce, Margaux
Review Date: 05-03-2017
Chateau Labégorce is unapologetically swimming against the tide in 2016 with a blend that is majority Merlot in a vintage dominated by Cabernet Sauvignon. 52% Merlot, 38% Cabernet Sauvignon, 6% Cabernet Franc, and 4% Petit Verdot. The Merlot adds a bit more mid-palate breadth here and perhaps a bit more sweetness of fruit, but at a mere 13.5% alcohol the wine is by no means over-ripe. It is, quite decidedly, perfectly ripe. Precisely so, in fact, and in perfect balance with the lively acidity and ultrafine tannins which this 2016 Labégorce shares with the best wines of the vintage. Perhaps the best ever from this estate, and unquestionably one of the great bargains in Margaux today.

2016 Capbern, St-Estèphe
Review Date: 05-03-2017
Chateau Capbern, formerly Capbern-Gasqueton, was acquired along with Chateau Calon-Segur by its current owners in 2012. Judging from the quality of this 2016 vintage, the property has surely benefitted from some upgrades and improvements in the intervening years. Spice and floral notes leap out of the glass. The fruit is ripe and sweet and perhaps a bit more forward than some wines from the vintage at 14% alcohol. Combined with lively acidity and very fine tannins, however, the wine exhibits perfect balance, and should require a bit less patience than some of its fellow in St-Estephe. This property is fast becoming a customer favorite for its combination of quality and price. I imagine many will choose to drink this wine sooner rather than later, but it has sufficient structure to make a superb near term cellar candidate.
Top Value!

2016 Mauvesin Barton, Moulis
Review Date: 04-29-2017
I sometimes wonder if the Barton-Sartorius family, owners of Langoa-Barton and Leoville-Barton, acquired Chateau Mauvesin in Moulis in 2011 as much for the quality of its stables as for its vineyards. Daughter Mélanie Barton-Sartorius is an avid equestrian in addition to being a trained oenologist. Whatever the reason, they have certainly spared no expense in developing the property. The old cellars have been restored and new capacity added; the vineyards have been expanded and replanted. Today they have 50 hectares of vineyards planted 45% to Merlot, 36% to Cabernet Sauvignon, 16% to Cabernet Franc, and 2% to Petit Verdot. The 2016 Mauvesin Barton is quite true to the vintage, very pretty with bright red fruits and a hint of spice. Merlot takes the lead here so a bit more ripeness is evident in the rich, textured mid-palate. The finish is understandably firm though quite fine. An admirable effort, very reasonably priced, and a suggestion of even better things to come.

2016 Senejac, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 04-28-2017
From 40 hectares of vines in Le Pian-Médoc, just north of the city of Bordeaux itself. Always solid if occasionally rustic this property has improved markedly in the past few years. The 2016 vintage was one of the standouts among the wines of the Haut-Médoc at the big Maison Joanne tasting in Bordeaux during en primeur week. The blend is 48% Cabernet Sauvignon, 37% Merlot, 11% Cabernet Franc, and 4% Petit Verdot. Impressive weight with loads of ripe, sweet fruit and fine tannins. Best ever from here?

2015 Domaine Renaud Mâcon-Charnay
Review Date: 04-28-2017
2015 marks our tenth vintage of the Domaine Renaud Macon-Charnay, and it remains one of our best values in a white Burgundy. 100% Chardonnay aged in stainless steel in a crisp, clean, mineral driven style, this is classic Mâconnais. 2015 was very warm and dry, adding an extra layer of ripeness. Classic stone fruit notes of peach and nectarine give way to more exotic notes of mango and papaya. Lovely weight here, this wine should have broad appeal.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2016 Clos de Bouard, Montagne St-Emilion
Review Date: 04-25-2017
Formerly Chateau Tour Musset, acquired by the de Boüard family of Chateau Angelus, and rechristened Clos du Boüard for the inaugural vintage of 2016. The estate consists of 30 hectares of vines in Montagne Saint-Emilion on clay-limestone soils, and lies near the border with Saint-Emilion near the commune of Saint-Christophe-des-Bardes. The 2016 is a blend of 85% Merlot, 10% Cabernet Franc, and 5% Cabernet Sauvignon. Sweet and ripe. Very polished with fine tannins.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2016 Les Grands Chenes, Médoc
Review Date: 04-25-2017
From the stable of Bernard Magrez, owner of Pape Clement in Pessac-Leognan. This cru bourgeois from the Medoc is made in the signature Magrez style, ripe and forward with a notable generosity of fruit. Very sweet with notes of kirsch and creme de cassis. Good underlying structure with lively acidity and firm tannins.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart

2016 Doisy-Daëne, Sauternes
Review Date: 04-25-2017
One of the top wines from Barsac in 2016 and a close second behind the great Chateau Climens. The wine makes a powerful and immediate impression. A wine of quality and class, striking that essential balance between freshness and opulence. Wonderfully rich with notes of citrus and spice. Complex botrytis character. Extraordinary length and persistence here as well. Superb.

2016 Doisy-Védrines, Sauternes
Review Date: 04-25-2017
Always reliable, and consistently one of the best values in Barsac. While perhaps just a step or two behind the best of the recent vintages from here - 2011 and 2014 come to mind - this is very good. Honeyed and rich with brighter notes of candied citrus peel and lovely botrytis development. A notable effort.

2016 Les Pagodes de Cos, St-Estèphe
Review Date: 04-25-2017
Technically similar to the Grand Vin, but with half the new oak and considerably less Cabernet Sauvignon in the blend, closer to 50/50 Cab and Merlot with a very small addition of Petit Verdot and a soupçon of Cabernet Franc. Intended for more immediate consumption but will still require some patience.

2016 Cos d'Estournel, St-Estèphe
Review Date: 04-25-2017
I have wonderful memories of the great vintages of Cos d’Estournel from the 1980’s. These were some of the wines that shaped my earliest impressions of Bordeaux. Yet, sadly, I feel as though sometime in the past decade or so we sort of lost touch with each other. I remember tasting the 2009 and finding it much riper than I expected, much bigger and grander in style. I thought, well, things change. I silently wished the property well and thought, at least I still have my memories of a shared past, a simpler time. Imagine my joy, then upon tasting the 2016 vintage en primeur. Mon vieux! The unique conditions in 2016 yielded a wine that will rival the great vintages of decades past. This is a wine heavily dominated by Cabernet Sauvignon, which makes up 76% of the blend. It is a miracle of the dry conditions and the very warm days and cool nights of July and August. The wine is deeply colored and intensely aromatic with great presence and persistence. A marvel of perfect ripeness, lively acidity, and very fine tannins, and all with a mere 13% alcohol. Structured, yet refined. Exquisitely balanced. A more definitive expression of terroir I have rarely seen. Classic. A triumph.

2016 La Patache, Pomerol
Review Date: 04-22-2017
From a total of 3.18 hectares spread over nine plots west and north of the main plateau of Pomerol on clay and fine gravel soils. Six parcels around the Chateau itself near Chateau Rouget, Clinet and Latour à Pomerol, and an additional three near Chateau Montviel and Clos René. The 2016 vintage is a blend of 85% Merlot and 15% Cabernet Franc. Very sweet fruit, ripe and richly textured. A full-bodied effort, at the higher end for the vintage at 14.5% alc. 30% new oak adds a bit of spice. Fine tannins frame the finish. Terrific value.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2016 Peyrabon, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 04-21-2017
Following the success of the wildly popular 2009, 2010, and 2012 vintages, this petit chateau is now firmly established as a staff and customer favorite. The vineyards are happily situated on a mix of clay limestone and gravel soils in Saint-Sauveur, just west of Pauillac near Chateau Bernadotte. The 2016 Peyrabon is a blend of about two-thirds Cabernet Sauvignon to one-third Merlot, with the addition of a small percentage of Cabernet Franc and Petit Verdot. Cabernet is king on the Left Bank in 2016, and you can sense the quality of the vintage in the lively acidity and fine tannins found here. There is plenty of sweet fruit, too, but without excessive ripeness. The wine exhibits only moderate alcohol and retains great freshness. Superb!
Top Value!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2016 Lanessan, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 04-20-2017
The arrival of director Paz Espejo in 2009 represented a radical change for Chateau Lanessan. The retirement of Hubert Bouteiller ended eight generations of direct management of the property by the Bouteiller family, who have owned the chateau since the 18th century. Updates to the packaging and labeling of the bottles, as well as technical changes in the vineyard and cellars have brought a cleaner, more modern look, feel, and flavor to the wines. The 2016 vintage does not lack for fruit – there is ample ripeness here – but there is also a more savory, cigar box element that is reminiscent of the many older vintages our customers have enjoyed over the years. This wine will no doubt please all fans of Chateau Lanessan – both old and new.

2016 Beaumont, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 04-18-2017
From 113 hectares of vineyards on gravel soils in Cussac-Fort Médoc, just south of Saint Julien-Beychevelle, planted to 53% Cabernet Sauvignon, 42% Merlot, and 5% Petit Verdot. The 2016 Beaumont, Haut-Médoc displays an admirable ripeness of fruit, but one balanced by lively acidity and fine tannins. Very true to the vintage, very fresh, very precise. Ample proof that the quality in 2016 runs from top to bottom.

2014 Tapiz "Alta Collection" Cabernet Sauvignon Mendoza
Review Date: 04-14-2017
I admit I don’t have a lot of experience with Cabernet Sauvignon from Argentina. In fact, I was surprised to learn that it is the third most widely planted red wine grape after Malbec and Bonarda. What did seem familiar to me was the almost Bordeaux like restraint I found in this 2014 Tapiz "Alta Collection" Cabernet Sauvignon from Mendoza. The consulting winemaker here is Jean-Claude Berrouet, who made wine on behalf of the Mouiex family at Chateau Petrus in Pomerol and at Dominus in Napa Valley. His deft touch is easy to see in the modest 13.9% alcohol, the perfumed nose, and in the bright red and black fruits that speak of Cabernet. Lovely notes of fresh-picked raspberry here with a hint of bitter chocolate on the structured finish.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
JS 96

2016 Tour St-Christophe, St-Emilion
Review Date: 04-12-2017
From 20 hectares of terraced vineyards on clay limestone soils in the commune of Saint-Christophe-des-Bardes near Chateau Barde-Haut. 80% Merlot and 20% Cabernet Franc. Harvest quite late here in 2016 beginning on October 5th with the Merlot and finishing on October 23rd with the last of the Cabernet Franc. Fruit very sweet and ripe and a bit forward at 14.8% alc. Still, a supremely balanced effort overall sure to please many palates. Tannins are quite firm though very fine in keeping with the vintage. Quality is very high here with no expense spared. Very polished effort. Excellent value.

2016 Haut-Brisson, St-Émilion
Review Date: 04-11-2017
22 hectares of vines in a mix of clay limestone and sand and gravel soils. Major improvements here recently to bolster the already high quality of the wines. Vinification is by parcel in small, conical steel tanks. Barrel aging with 35% new. 90% Merlot and 10% Cabernet Franc. Rich and round with very sweet, ripe fruit. 14.5% alc. Finishes very fine.

2016 Enclos Tourmaline, Pomerol
Review Date: 04-11-2017
From a mere 1.2 hectares of vineyards in three small parcels in the very heart of the Pomerol plateau – one near l’Église Clinet, one near La Fleur Petrus, and the third lying midway between Trotanoy and Le Pin. Made entirely of Merlot and aged in 100% new oak barrels. There is incredible intensity here. The wine is deeply colored and wildly aromatic. Very rich in style with ripe, sweet fruit. A bit riper than the vintage on average at 14.7% alcohol but you would never guess. The wine remains very fresh with lively acidity and fine tannins.

2014 La Fleur Peyrabon, Pauillac
Review Date: 03-31-2017
Chateau Peyrabon, a property designated AOC Haut-Médoc, has proven to be very popular with our customers over the years. With its location in Saint-Sauveur, just west of Pauillac, I have often touted it as a “poor man’s Pauillac”, even noting that the estate includes five hectares of vineyards sold separately under the label La Fleur Peyrabon, Pauillac. Well, at long last here is that very wine, offered by K&L for the first time. The 2014 La Fleur Peyrabon has all of the lively acidity and the sweetness of fruit that seem to be typical of the best wines of the vintage. Additionally, there is a weight and a presence that reflects the character of the appellation. Remarkable value.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
WE 92 VN 90

2014 Deyrem Valentin, Margaux
Review Date: 03-31-2017
Trust Clyde to ferret out the hidden values in an appellation better known for prestige pricing. This Cru Bourgeois property is a neighbor of Chateau La Tour de Mons in Soussans, in the northernmost part of Margaux. The 2014 vintage has a very classic appeal. The nose is quite perfumed, very floral with hints of spicy oak. This is a medium to full-bodied effort, bright and lively with some sweetness of fruit, and an almost candied, “violet pastille” note. Finishes with firm tannins. At this price, many will be tempted to drink this young. Decanting is recommended for best results. For the patient few, time will reward you.

2015 Pessac-Léognan de Haut Bailly, Pessac-Leognan
Review Date: 03-31-2017
The third label from cru classé Chateau Haut-Bailly in Pessac-Léognan sourced mostly from younger vines on the estate. A clear example that the least of the wines from this remarkable property are often better than many others’ best efforts. A very polished wine with lovely weight and ripeness, smooth and round, with fine tannins. Surprisingly approachable now, this will no doubt continue to develop over the next few years. Terrific value here.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2014 Haut-Vigneau, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 03-08-2017
2014 seems like a vintage tailor-made for the Graves region. A long, cool summer kept acid levels high, lending the wines a noticeable freshness and liveliness. A nearly perfect autumn with warm days and cool nights brought the grapes to perfect ripeness, yielding an admirable sweetness of fruit. Add to that the classic Graves mineral profile and you have a veritable trifecta of taste. Owned by the Perrin family, who also own Cru Classé Chateau Carbonnieux, Chateau Haut Vigneau is always a terrific value. This 2014 vintage is partly floral, partly savory on the nose with notes of tobacco and smoke. Very lively and fresh in the mouth with classic Graves minerality and fine tannins. Soft and round with loads of sweet fruit, this medium to full-bodied effort is ready to drink tonight. Decant for best results.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2014 Valravn "Old Vine" Sonoma County Zinfandel
Review Date: 02-28-2017
I recall a winemaker once explaining how difficult Zinfandel could be to grow since the grape clusters tend to ripen unevenly, with some grapes still mostly green while others had started to raisin. I have always thought that the best California Zins seem to capture the essence of this phenomenon, being both tart and richly sweet all at once. The new 2014 Valravn Old Vine Sonoma County Zinfandel hits all the marks with lively acidity and rich, sweet dark fruit. Superb varietal typicity here and an absolutely delicious bottle of wine.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

Michel Arnould "Reserve" Brut Verzenay Champagne
Review Date: 02-28-2017
One of the remarkable things about our direct import program in Champagne and the many small grower producers with whom we work is the opportunity to taste wines from a specific region of Champagne, wines that reflect the particular terroir of one village or another. Upon first sip, I absolutely fell in love with the wines of Michel Arnould. In places like Verzenay and Bouzy in the Montaigne de Reims, Pinot Noir is king. These are big, bold, black fruited Champagnes that really deserve to be drunk out of a Burgundy glass and paired with a meal. The Michel Arnould Verzenay Reserve Brut Cham[pagne is a great introduction to the region, and a steal at this price.
Price: $32.99 Add To Cart

2010 Lamothe-Bergeron, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 02-28-2017
From Cussac Fort-Medoc, just south of Saint Julien. This is a big full-bodied red wine that is very much a product of the 2010 vintage, with more of, well, everything. Loads of rich, dark fruit, sweet and ripe combine with lively acidity and firm tannins. A touch floral on the nose buttressed by hints of oak spice and vanilla. Modern and forward in style. Decant for best results.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
WE 91 WS 90

2009 Peyrabon, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 02-25-2017
Delighted to see that the 2009 Peyrabon, Haut-Médoc is now back in stock. Bordeaux veterans will recall this Haut-Médoc bargain is happily situated on the border with Pauillac near Château Bernadotte. The strength of the exceptional '09 vintage really shines through here. The wine is remarkably fresh, with textbook blackberry and cassis notes and fine tannins. While it may be difficult to resist drinking this wine immediately, it will only continue to improve over the next 3 to 5 years.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2004 La Tempérance Prestige, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 02-24-2017
From the portfolio of Bernard Magrez, owner of Chateau Pape Clement in Pessac-Leognan. While it might be too much to suggest that there is a "Magrez" style, it is true that many of his wines adopt a "take no prisoners" approach, combining toasty oak with a certain generosity of fruit. This 2004 Ch. La Temperance, Haut Medoc is no exception. There is a hint of age beginning to emerge on the nose here, with savory truffle notes combining with hints of roasted coffee. Plenty of sweet, ripe red and black fruits on the palate but with good underlying structure. The bright acidity and firm tannins are evident. A typical if slightly modern style Bordeaux to enjoy with tonight's dinner. Decant and enjoy!
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2013 Fuenteseca Huerta Singular "El Maguey" Blanco Tequila (750ml)
Review Date: 02-03-2017
When David Driscoll, our spirits buyer, shouts “grab a glass, Jeff, I need you to taste something” as he heads for the tasting bar with an open bottle of booze in his hands, I waste no time in doing as he says. I have learned through good experience over the years that whatever he is pouring is going to be amazing. Today he surprised me with the new Fuenteseca Huerta Singular El Maguey Blanco Tequila. I have been an admirer of Enrique Fonseca ever since we started offering his anejos and extra-anejos. His masterful marriage of agave spirit and wood opened my eyes to the possibilities of the anejo style. And yet suddenly here I was with a glass of his Blanco in my hand. But this was no ordinary tequila. This was unlike any I had tasted before. I have had great blanco tequilas made from agave grown at higher altitudes that had impressive concentration and a sweet, fruity character. I have had blancos made from agave grown at lower altitudes that were wildly aromatic with a more savory quality. This new Fuenteseca Blanco seems to combine the best of both along with a slightly roasted note that somehow brings the whole thing together. There is more concentration and depth here, more sheer complexity, than I have ever tasted in a blanco-style tequila. If you believe that only wood-aged tequilas are worthy of sipping on their own, it’s only because you have yet to try the Fuenteseca Huerta Singular El Maguey Blanco Tequila.
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart

2014 Te Mata "Awatea" Bordeaux Blend Hawkes Bay
Review Date: 01-31-2017
Te Mata is the preeminent producer of Bordeaux blends in New Zealand. Their top bottling "Coleraine" is legendary. This second label “Awatea” is made in a slightly more approachable style at a more affordable price point. Otherwise you get the same classic blackcurrant leaf and savory “sous bois” character married to New World fruit that you find in the higher end bottling. A “can’t miss” wine for Bordeaux lovers.

Luxardo Bitter Bianco (750ml)
Review Date: 01-06-2017
Like many cocktail aficionados and lovers of all things Italian, our staff members here at K&L just can’t get enough of the amazing selection of Amaros that David Driscoll has been stocking our shelves with. One of the most exciting recent arrivals is this Bitter Bianco from Luxardo. This is the perfect Campari substitute for making a Negroni Bianco. We have been playing around with different recipes, but my current favorite is equal parts Luxardo Bitter Bianco, Bordiga White Vermouth, and Berry Bros & Rudd "No. 3" London Dry Gin. Shake with ice and serve up in a martini glass with a twist of orange.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2014 de France Rouge, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 12-31-2016
The 2014 Chateau de France, Pessac-Léognan $24.99 is a blend of 55% Cabernet-Sauvignon and 45% Merlot. Showing surprising ripeness for the vintage, the wine is rich in style with loads of dark fruit and a generous use of oak (50% new). Ripe, sweet red and black fruits are complemented by notes of mocha and vanilla. This is a crowd-pleasing effort that is surprisingly approachable now but has the structure to age if desired.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
JS 91

2014 de France Blanc, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 12-31-2016
The 2014 Chateau de France Blanc, Pessac-Léognan $24.99 is a blend of 80% Sauvignon Blanc and 20% Semillon. The wine is generous and rich in style, with barrel aging and regular batonnage adding both flavor and texture. It explodes with exotic, tropical fruit – guava and fresh pineapple. Brisk and bracing, a lively acidity keeps the wine from becoming ponderous.

2004 Nairac, Barsac
Review Date: 12-31-2016
Classified as deuxième cru in 1855, this is an overperforming and undervalued property. Like neighbor Chateau Climens, its wines are mostly Semillon. The house style is big and brash, but supported by meticulous and painstaking work in the vineyards and cellar. This strategy really paid off in 2004, producing one of the best wines – and best values – of the vintage. Honey and a marked botrytis character are evident here, merging on the palate with notes of orange marmalade and crème anglaise. Deliciously sweet, combining a rich texture with vibrant acidity.

2009 Priban, Haut-Medoc
Review Date: 12-31-2016
If you are looking for great values in Bordeaux there are certain vintages that offer exceptional quality at entry level prices. 2009 is one such vintage. Nearly perfect weather conditions yielded a large crop of very high quality fruit. The wines are universally lively and fresh with ripe, sweet fruit and fine, silky tannins. The 2009 Priban, Haut-Medoc is typical of the vintage, with perhaps even a bit more ripeness of fruit and richness of texture. A hedonistic pleasure and a great wine to enjoy over the near term.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

Page: 1 2 next