Staff Favorites - Jeff Garneau

Jeff Garneau
Jeff Garneau  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service
Jeff has been a member of the sales staff in our Redwood City store for the past four years. His first introduction to wine was as a waiter in an upscale Italian restaurant in Hanover, NH more years ago than he likes to admit. He slowly made his way west to wine country, working his way across the US as a graduate student in geography, a public sector researcher in regional economic development, and briefly, in the wake of the Anderson-Enron scandal, a records management coordinator for one of the remaining Big Five accounting firms. Finally, surrendering to the inevitable, he accepted a position in the wine business here at K&L. His goals for the next four years include drinking more wines from Italy and France and trying to limit the number of open bottles on the dinner table on any given night to fewer than six.


Page: 1 2 next
2014 Domaine la Colombe Coteaux Varois en Provence Rosé
Review Date: 09-30-2015
From Coteaux Varois en Provence, the third major appellation in the trio that includes Côtes de Provence and Coteaux d’Aix en Provence. Mostly Grenache and Syrah with the judicious addition of a little Cabernet Sauvignon. One of our best values in a classic Provençal rosé. Dry and crisp in style. Buy it buy the case and enjoy while the warm weather lasts.
Price: $11.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 Le Ragnaie Rosso di Montalcino
Review Date: 09-30-2015
A fairly new addition to our stable of awesome Brunello producers. If you enjoy traditionally styled Sangiovese, you should certainly consider adding some of their 2010 vintage to your cellar. If you are looking for something to drink right now, though, don't miss out on this 2012 Le Ragnaie Rosso di Montalcino. Morello cherry and spice notes. Sweet, ripe fruit. Silky texture and fine tannins. Exceptional quality at this level for under $30.
Price: $27.99 Add To Waiting List
AG 91 RP 90

2010 Von Siebenthal "Parcela #7" Gran Reserva Aconcagua Valley
Review Date: 09-30-2015
I fell in love with the Von Siebenthal wines when we first began to carry them several years ago. I was thrilled then to see the 2010 Von Siebenthal "Parcela #7" Gran Reserva Aconcagua Valley back in stock (OK, I may have bullied Joe, our Chilean buyer, just a little bit). I don't drink a lot of Chilean wine, but I do drink a lot of Bordeaux, and this Bordeaux blend is really on point. A great wine and a great price. Welcome back!
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 91

2008 Miguel Merino "Vitola" Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 08-28-2015
The follow up to the enormously successful 2006 inaugural offering of Miguel Merino's Vitola Reserva. A modern interpretation of the Tempranillo grape executed with all due respect for Rioja's traditions. Appealing to both the diehard fan of Spanish wines and the confirmed California wine drinker, trying Spanish wines for the first time. Terrific direct import pricing, at a mere $20, this is a must buy.
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List

2011 Fromm "La Strada" Pinot Noir Marlborough
Review Date: 08-28-2015
With all the hard work done by New Zealand buyer Ryan Woodhouse, we are spoiled for choice in selecting delicious, well priced NZ Pinot Noir. That being said, anyone looking for exceptional quality and unbeatable pricing ought to be drinking the 2011 La Strada Pinot Noir from Fromm. There is so much on offer here. Ripe red and black fruits. Subtle spice. Real depth and complexity. A reserved, Burgundian style even for an entry level bottling. Do yourself a favor and get this into a decanter for an hour before dinner, then enjoy with grilled salmon or roast chicken. You'll be surprised just how much $20 buys you.
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List
JS 93 RC 91

2004 Malescasse, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 08-15-2015
An historic property ideally situated on gravel soils close to the Gironde River just north of Margaux. The 2004 Chateau Malescasse, Haut-Medoc retains a youthful, purple hue shading to brick red at the rim. Little of any aged character yet on the nose or palate, but you do get beautifully integrated oak with a light toast and hints of vanilla. Plenty of ripe, sweet fruit here. Round and smooth in the mouth with admirable weight and fine tannins. Opened up considerably and showed true character with about an hour in the decanter. A superb value at less than $20.
Price: $18.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 Jacques Bavard Auxey-Duresses "Les Clous"
Review Date: 08-03-2015
Lightly floral with hints of toasty oak. Crisp, clean and bright in expression. Citrus and stone fruit notes - lemon oil and peach pit. Delicious Chardonnay from one of the best of our direct imports. Superb value.
Price: $27.99 Add To Waiting List

2010 Sapaio Bolgheri Superiore
Review Date: 08-03-2015
One of the great values for Super Tuscan fans, comparable to more famous names costing many hundreds of dollars per bottle. If you are going to buy one vintage to add to the cellar this 2010 is it! A finely crafted Bordeaux blend that's built to age. Outstanding Cabernet character, ripe yet restrained, with formidable tannins. Needs another 5 years minimum but will more than repay any additional investment of time you care to make.

2014 Quinta da Aveleda Loureiro Alvarinho Vinho Verde Regional Minho
Review Date: 06-28-2015
Here at K&L we don't wait for the solstice to signal the arrival of summer. Each year it's the arrival of the Vinho Verde from Quinta da Aveleda that truly heralds the advent of warmer weather. The perfect wine for our Mediterranean climate. The ideal accompaniment to long, lazy sun-drenched afternoons. Dry. Crisp. Low in alcohol. Affordably priced.
Price: $8.99 Add To Waiting List
W&S 90 WE 90

2014 Ponzi Willamette Valley Rosé of Pinot Noir
Review Date: 06-17-2015
Each year I look forward to the start of summer and the beginning of rosé season with renewed anticipation. I usually sample each season’s offerings broadly at first, then eventually settle on two or three wines that will carry me through the year. Without fail at least one of the wines each year is a rosé of Pinot Noir. Frequently this is a Sancerre rosé from the Loire Valley of France, but this year pride of place belongs to the 2014 Ponzi Willamette Valley Rosé of Pinot Noir. I can’t recall when I last enjoyed a rosé of Pinot Noir that tasted so much like, well, Pinot Noir. Dry and crisp but with admirable ripeness and weight for a rosé. Lightly floral on the nose with notes of fresh strawberry and a hint of earth on the palate. I enjoyed a chilled bottle on a warm evening last week with a hastily put- together dinner of summer vegetables, a selection of cured meats and cheeses, and a loaf of sourdough bread. I think it would pair equally well with grilled salmon or roast chicken. A fantastic effort by Ponzi, and a terrific addition to your selection of summer rosés.
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List

2011 Ugo Lequio "Gallina" Barbaresco
Review Date: 06-11-2015
While I love Nebbiolo on a personal level, from a professional standpoint it's often difficult to explain its appeal to those new to Italian wine. Great Barolo or Barbaresco is not only frequently expensive, it is usually tannic enough in its youth to discourage early consumption, requiring patience and time in the cellar to be at its best. What a delight then to discover the 2011 Ugo Lequio "Gallina" Barbaresco. The riper 2011 vintage yielded a wine that is open and accessible in its youth without sacrificing varietal character. Wonderful concentration and depth here at a very reasonable price.
Price: $44.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 95 RP 92

2013 Von Strasser "Rudy" Paicines Pinot Noir
Review Date: 05-29-2015
Rudy Von Strasser, of Napa Cab fame, has ventured south to San Benito County to source fruit for this value-priced Pinot Noir. Round and richly textured, even opulent in style, the 2013 Von Strasser Rudy Paicines Pinot Noir offers plenty of ripe red fruits yet retains a very sensible 14.2% alcohol. A crowd pleaser, ideal for summer, and a terrific deal at under $20.
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 Ellero "Pisa Terrace" Pinot Noir Central Otago
Review Date: 05-29-2015
My list of "outstanding Pinot Noirs from New Zealand offered at unbelievable prices" just keeps getting longer and longer. At the moment we have perhaps a dozen wines in the $20 to $30 range, all of exceptional quality. This 2012 Pisa Terrace bottling from Ellero comes from one of the most coveted vineyards in Central Otago. A melange of spice notes coupled with ripe red and black fruits define this supremely balanced wine. Deliciously sweet yet fresh and lively. Accessible yet with good underlying structure. Perfection in a glass.

2013 Franck Millet "Insolite" Sancerre
Review Date: 05-29-2015
This is the most serious of the Sancerres we import directly from France. Wines of comparable quality typically sell for $30 or more. Dense, tightly wound, and quite reserved in style with excellent concentration and length. Lightly floral on the nose with fresh grapefruit and gooseberry notes. Intensely mineral in expression. This can be enjoyed now or over the next 3 to 5 years.
Price: $23.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 S.C. Pannell "Tinto" Old Vine Grenache-Touriga National McLaren Vale South Australia
Review Date: 05-29-2015
A runaway hit at a recent K&L staff tasting, this inspired blend of Grenache and Touriga Nacional may be the ultimate summer BBQ wine. Crafted by Stephen Pannell, one of Australia's most gifted winemakers, this is no soft and simple fruit bomb. This is a masterpiece of ripe red fruits and complex spice notes that invites you back to sip again and again as it reveals more of its secrets. A terrific value, implausibly priced at a mere $14.99.
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List
JH 93

2013 Don Cataldo Rosato Salento Puglia
Review Date: 05-29-2015
Baroque architecture, whitewashed hill towns, sun-drenched Mediterranean beaches. I am not going to claim you will find all of these things in a bottle of the 2013 Don Cataldo Rosato Salento Puglia, but if you can find a sunny spot to sip this dry, refreshing southern Italian rosé, you can close your eyes and imagine you are in Taranto or Brindisi. 95% Negroamaro. 5% Malvasia Nera. 100% Delicious.
Price: $7.99 Add To Waiting List

2009 d'Escurac, Medoc
Review Date: 05-28-2015
The 2009 Chateau d'Escurac, Medoc is a seductive pleasure, a superb example of the best of what this vintage has to offer. Super rich with a positively silky texture. Loads of sweet, dark fruit lightly seasoned with spicy oak. Would age effortlessly for a handful of years in the cellar, but SO easy to drink now.
Price: Hidden View Price

2013 Von Strasser "Rudy" Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 04-30-2015
Is there a better value in California Cabernet than this second label bottling from Rudy Von Strasser? A wine that we encountered unexpectedly while tasting at the winery a few years back. Hard to believe we are now on our sixth vintage. And still available for only $20. If you haven't tried this wine yet, then grab a bottle of the 2013 at once. Maybe the best vintage yet.
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Bishop's Peak San Luis Obispo Pinot Noir
Review Date: 03-31-2015
I am a big fan of the Talley Vineyards wines. Their single vineyard bottlings from Rincon and Rosemary's vineyards are benchmarks for great Central Coast Pinot Noir. While these wines justifiably command premium prices, we have also been stocking their slightly more affordable second label Bishop's Peak wines for several years now. It is frankly tough to find great California Pinot Noir for less than $20, but the Bishop's Peak 2013 bottling really over-delivers. Plenty of ripe red and black fruits and intriguing spice notes. Rich and round in the mouth with lovely weight. Complex and multidimensional. Great Pinot Noir character at a terrific price.
Top Value!
Price: $17.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Elephant Hill Sauvignon Blanc Hawke's Bay
Review Date: 03-31-2015
You're flying first class with this 2013 Hawke's Bay Sauvignon Blanc from Elephant Hill. Plenty of extra room to stretch your legs or recline your seat. Settle in for a comfortable trip with generous, ripe fruit - classic gooseberry accented with exotic, tropical fruit notes. Bright and fresh, yet luxuriously appointed with a rich, smooth texture. From first sip to final glass, you'll appreciate the extraordinary value of this classic NZ Sauvignon Blanc. First class quality. Economy class pricing.
Top Value!
Price: $16.99 Add To Waiting List
AG 90

2012 Il Valentiano Rosso di Montalcino
Review Date: 02-28-2015
100% Sangiovese in the classic style from Montalcino. Medium to full-bodied, silky in texture, showing all the ripeness of the 2012 vintage. Bright, sweet, morello cherry notes with a slightly bitter "amaro" finish. For those looking for a traditional Tuscan red at a great price.
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List

2009 Peyrabon, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 02-20-2015
Delighted to see that the 2009 Peyrabon, Haut-Médoc ($19.99) is now back in stock. Bordeaux veterans will recall this Haut-Médoc bargain is happily situated on the border with Pauillac near Château Bernadotte. The strength of the exceptional '09 vintage really shines through here. The wine is remarkably fresh, with textbook blackberry and cassis notes and fine tannins. While it may be difficult to resist drinking this wine immediately, it will only continue to improve over the next 3 to 5 years.
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List

2011 Gigault "Cuvée 'Viva" Premières Côtes de Blaye
Review Date: 02-20-2015
One of the great Right Bank values from the Cotes de Blaye. Always a wine to look for. Difficult to follow the outstanding '09 and the unparalleled '10, but the 2011 Gigault Cuvee Viva makes the most of a challenging vintage, offering rich, upfront fruit. Soft, ripe, and juicy, this wine is already drinking well and should continue to do so over the next few years.
Price: Hidden View Price
JS 91

2011 Pontet-Canet, Pauillac
Review Date: 02-18-2015
Tasted blind in a recent K&L weekly staff tasting along with the 2000 Pontet Canet. Thank god Clyde decided to taste us blind on this 2011 Pontet Canet or I likely would have allowed my feelings about the vintage as a whole to color my perceptions. The class and breed of the exceptional terroir at Pontet Canet along with the incredible work done by the Tesseron family over the past twenty years really shines through here in a wine made under very challenging conditions. Youthful character, remarkably sweet fruit, and firm but not astringent tannins. And what length! Quite possibly the wine of the vintage.
Top Value!

Ariston Aspasie "Prestige Vielles Vignes" Champagne
Review Date: 02-10-2015
The wines of Paul-Vincent Ariston were the first from Champagne to be imported directly by K&L some 15 years ago now, and the Ariston Aspasie Prestige Vielles Vignes is still one of the best values on our shelves. The current cuvee, though not vintage dated, is composed entirely of fruit from the exceptional 2008 vintage (certainly the best vintage in Champagne since 1996, and perhaps even surpassing that much-heralded year). A blend of all three principal varieties (Chardonnay, Pinot Noir, and Pinot Meunier) from 65 year old vines, the old vine character really shines through here, yielding a wine of surpassing concentration and depth. This is one to savor, or perhaps to cellar for a few years. You can congratulate yourself on your foresight in the years to come.
Price: $39.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Haut-Bergey Blanc, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 02-03-2015
Just 2 hectares of the nearly 30 hectare estate of Haut Bergey are planted to white wine grapes, roughly 80% Sauvignon Blanc and 20% Semillon. This limited production Bordeaux Blanc is fermented in stainless steel tanks then spends 12 months in barrel, about 30% new. On the nose, exotic, tropical notes of guava and melon. Bright, tangy fruit on the palate, mango and cara cara orange. Ripe and round in the mouth with good weight. Mineral in character with a firm finish. Delicious now and an excellent value in a classic white Bordeaux.

2004 Haut-Bergey, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 02-03-2015
2004 is one of those often overlooked vintages. Not in the top rank for the decade but solidly good, with quite a few well-priced wines of superb quality. The 2004 Chateau Haut Bergey from Pessac-Leognan is certainly one of these. It possesses lovely weight and richness with plenty of ripe red and black fruits, cherry and plum. There is an intriguing note of green tobacco, at once both comfortingly familiar and beguilingly exotic.
Price: $29.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 90

1995 Calon-Ségur, St Estèphe
Review Date: 01-27-2015
It's hard to believe this vintage is now 20 years old. '95 and '96 were the two top vintages of the decade and as they reach their twentieth birthday no doubt many of the wines will receive renewed scrutiny. 20 to 30 years old is prime maturity for most Bordeaux wines and many will be reaching their peak over the next decade. That being said, the 1995 Calon Segur, St-Estephe still seems very youthful with still firm tannins and just a hint of aged character emerging. The oak is nicely integrated at this point with lovely spice notes. Plenty of sweet, ripe fruit and classic Cabernet character of blackberry and cassis. As my colleague Ralph Sands notes, all the reasons we drink Bordeaux can be found in this bottle. I love this wine.

Tozai "Typhoon" Futsu Sake 720ml
Review Date: 12-31-2014
Our best value futsu-shu. Soft, round and fruity. Delicious either chilled or gently warmed.
Price: $9.99 Add To Waiting List

Ichishima Tokubetsu Honjozo Sake 720ml
Review Date: 12-31-2014
Hands down, one of the best values in our sake selection, and an excellent example of the Niigata style. So pure, so clean. Quite dry. It would do well paired with traditional sushi or any type of fresh seafood. I enjoyed it with our local Dungeness crab, and it really showed off the sweetness of the meat. Superb.
Price: $26.99 Add To Waiting List

Ariston Aspasie Blanc de Blancs Brut Champagne
Review Date: 12-31-2014
The current disgorgement of the Ariston Aspasie Blanc de Blancs Brut Champagne is perhaps a little firmer, a little less open knit than previous bottlings. But the tradeoff is more focus, more purity, and more length. Quite dry, but with remarkable sweetness of fruit and a light toast that adds depth and character. The ideal New Year's Eve companion - complex enough to be interesting but not so serious as to dominate the conversation.
Price: $34.99 Add To Waiting List

Dewatsuru Kimoto Junmai Sake 720ml
Review Date: 12-29-2014
This exceptional Junmai (no added alcohol and a seimaibuai of 65%) is made in the original, or "kimoto" style. It is more painstaking, labor-intensive, and time-consuming than using more modern techniques, but the result is a creamier, more complex, more savory style of sake that pairs well with robust dishes like fried foods, grilled meats, or aged cheeses. This semi-dry sake is nutty and creamy with hints of oyster mushroom and roasted chestnut. If you have never tried the kimoto or yamahai style, this is a superb introduction.
Price: $29.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Rickshaw California Pinot Noir
Review Date: 11-29-2014
Good California Pinot Noir under $20 is increasingly rare. Finding good California Pinot Noir for under $15 is like winning the lottery. And this 2013 Rickshaw California Pinot Noir is just the ticket. Ripe, sweet, almost candied red fruits – bright cherry and raspberry with just a hint of spice. Unbeatable quality at this price.
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List

Michel Loriot "Authentic" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 11-29-2014
"You had me at Meunier..." So rare to have a chance to enjoy Champagne that is 100% Pinot Meunier. As if that weren't enough, this is one of the few non-vintage cuvees we sell that is more than 50% reserve wine. Oh, and at less than $30 one of the best deals among our directly imported grower producer Champagnes. Still not sold on this one? Each bottle is sealed with genuine 16k gold foil. OK. That's not actually true. But everything else, you bet. What are you waiting for?
Price: $29.99 Add To Waiting List
ST 90

Ariston Aspasie Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 11-29-2014
Always my favorite rosé champagne here at K&L. Drank it with Thanksgiving dinner this year. Quite dry with a pronounced red fruit character - crisp red apple and tart cherry. For die hard Pinot fans - 50/50 Pinot Noir and Pinot Meunier.
Price: $34.99 Add To Waiting List

2005 Valandraud, St-Emilion
Review Date: 11-06-2014
The flagship wine of garagiste Jean-Luc Thunevin, this 2005 Chateau Valandraud, St-Emilion is a superb example of both the vintage and the "modern" style of Bordeaux winemaking. It offers loads of dense, dark fruit, black fig and damson plum, with a bit of spicecake thrown in for good measure. Rich, almost silky in texture, finishing with fine tannins. A very well made wine, generous in every way but with excellent balance. Needs another five to ten years in the cellar but will more than reward the patient connoisseur.

2012 Joseph Phelps Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 10-02-2014
If you have not had this wine recently this is the perfect vintage to renew your acquaintance with this unparalleled Napa value. Since 2009 Phelps has shifted entirely to estate grown fruit, reducing their overall production and improving quality. They now consider their estate wine something of a "second wine to Insignia" at one third of the price. This 2012 vintage is stunning, with loads of dark fruit and fine tannins. If you are a fan of Napa Cabernet, this is a "must try." Do not miss out.
Top Value!
Price: $59.99 Add To Waiting List
JS 92 WE 91

2014 Lake Chalice "The Nest" Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough
Review Date: 10-02-2014
Our third vintage of this NZ classic and still one of our best values in a Kiwi Sauvignon Blanc. The slightly cooler 2014 vintage produced a more aromatic wine with tart gooseberry notes, a more pronounced mineral character, and a peppery finish.
Price: $10.99 Add To Waiting List

Ariston Aspasie "Carte Blanche" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 09-02-2014
I think the Ariston Aspasie Carte Blanche Brut was one of the first grower-producer Champagnes I ever purchased from K&L. It remains to this day our best value in Champagne, and a superb introduction to the grower producer (RM) Champagnes. If your usual Champagne experience is Veuve Clicquot or Moet & Chandon, you owe it to yourself to try the Carte Blanche from Paul-Vincent Ariston. With roughly equal parts of the three classic Champagne grapes, and a retail price comfortably south of $30, this is a no-brainer. Open a bottle for no reason in the middle of the week. You'll feel like royalty.
Price: $27.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Margerum "K&L Blend" Happy Canyon Sauvignon Blanc
Review Date: 06-30-2014
You tend to see two main styles of Sauvignon Blanc in California. They are either lighter in style, very dry and crisp with tart citrus notes, or fuller-bodied, with more texture and weight (often due to barrel aging), showing more tropical fruit. The 2013 Margerum "K&L Cuvee" Happy Canyon Sauvignon Blanc somehow seems to combine the best of both. There is real richness here with exotic melon and mango notes. At the same the wine has a taut, linear style with a marked acidity and an admirable tension unusual in a California Sauvignon Blanc. Really superb, and the perfect wine for those who like having their cake and eating it too.
Price: $18.99 Add To Waiting List

2009 Les Allées de Cantemerle, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 11-07-2013
Easily the best $20 Bordeaux in the store. Why? Well, the 2009 vintage was the best since 2005 for wines at the $10 to $20 price point. And Chateau Cantemerle is one of only five Haut Medoc properties that are designated "cru classe", in fact it is a fifth growth. Finally, the quality of the 2009 vintage was such that even second wines like the "Les Allees" really excel. Loads of dark fruit here, blackberry and cassis. Superb Cabernet character. I was shocked by how well this is drinking already. If you really want to get your money's worth, though, tuck this away in the cellar for a few years. You won't regret it.
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List
JS 90

2009 Caronne Ste-Gemme, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 07-06-2013
Chateau Caronne Ste Gemme is located in the commune of Saint Laurent, due west of Saint Julien-Beychevelle, and is a near neighbor of Chateau Lagrange and Gruaud Larose. Francois Nony, whose family has owned the property for over a century, currently manages 40 hectares of vineyards planted on gravel soils. The wine spends 12 months in oak with about 25% of the barrels new. The extraordinary 2009 vintage produced a big, deeply colored wine with a rich, silky texture and very fine tannins. The wine is still youthful with tart, fresh blackberry and ripe, red cherry notes. Already more expressive than when tasted one year ago, it can be enjoyed now or over the next 1 to 5 years. A superb effort for this property and my top pick for best Bordeaux under $20 for the vintage.
Price: $22.99 Add To Waiting List
WS 90

Bruno Michel Premier Cru Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 11-30-2012
I recently enjoyed my first Dungeness crab of the season and this was the champagne I chose to drink with it. 100% Chardonnay from Bruno Michel's oldest vines. Crisp, clean and very dry with a very light toast. Bright citrus and tart green apple notes. Focused, precise, with tremendous concentration and length, this is serious wine.
Price: $44.99 Add To Waiting List

Bruno Michel "Blanche" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 09-29-2012
For longtime fans of Moet White Star or Veuve Cliquot this is the perfect introduction to grower producer Champagnes. A blend of Chardonnay and Pinot Meunier from Pierry south of Epernay, the Bruno Michel "Cuvee Blanche" offers lightly toasty, classic "brioche" character, a creamy texture, and crisp, ripe apple notes supported by a firm mineral backbone. This is superb Champagne at a great price.
Price: $34.99 Add To Waiting List

1999 Fugue de Nenin, Pomerol
Review Date: 09-26-2012
The 1999 vintage has always been charming, medium to full-bodied with lovely sweet, upfront fruit. This second wine from Chateau Nenin in Pomerol is very much in step with the vintage as a whole. Elegant and richly textured, it offers sweet, ripe cherry notes combined with soft tannins. Drinking beautifully now, it can be enjoyed for many years to come.
Price: Hidden View Price

Franck Bonville "Belles Voyes" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 08-17-2012
When most people talk about "value for money" they are thinking of a great $10 red. At $67.99 this is our best "value" in Champagne, easily the equal of wines selling for many hundreds of dollars. This wine was featured in our last staff Champagne tasting and elicited a collective moment of silence in sheer appreciation. If you think you can't appreciate a great Champagne, try tasting this alongside the Franck Bonville "Brut Selection" Blanc de Blancs Champagne at $32.99 - excellent in its own right - and you will see what I mean.

2009 Coufran, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 04-28-2012
Long time customers of K&L will recognize this producer. We have carried many different vintages over the years. I was privileged to taste the 2009 out of barrel when we visited the chateau a couple of years ago. The proprietor, Eric Miailhe, confided that he considered it the finest wine he had ever made, possibly the finest he would ever make at this property. This is a big wine! Tons of sweet fruit backed by fine tannins. Needs perhaps five years to pull itself together and can then be enjoyed for many years to come. 85% Merlot, 15% Cabernet Sauvignon.

1997 Potensac, Médoc
Review Date: 04-17-2012
One of the very best properties in the Medoc, Chateau Potensac has been owned for many years by the Delon family of Leoville Las Cases in St. Julien. The quality of the wine can be attributed both to the superb character of the terroir at the Chateau and to the additional resources made available through its long association with a top second growth. The 1997 Potensac is one of the best I have tasted from this vintage. It is surprisingly youthful in character, displaying a deep purple to red color, a very floral nose with elements of new wood, and pleasingly ripe, sweet red and black fruits. Like most Medoc wines, it is a broad shouldered effort, very structured and firm. It needed a good hour in a decanter, and really started to shine about 2 hours into a meal of grilled ribeye steak with asparagus and roasted potatoes. At a price comfortably below that of the classified growths, this lovely wine should prove immensely satisfying to any lover of good claret.
Price: $24.99 Add To Waiting List

2009 La Lagune, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 03-06-2012
Deeply colored, aromatic, floral and spicy. Loads of dark, sweet fruit. Unbelievably bright and fresh. A superb effort.

Launois "Cuvée Reserve" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 12-09-2011
I am embarrassed to admit that before I met Gary Westby, our Champagne buyer, I was not a drinker of Champagne. I probably had had one or two bottles of mediocre, bulk-produced sparkling wine (not Champagne) and dismissed all sparkling wines on that basis. Then Gary introduced me to grower-producer Champagnes like the Launois "Cuvée Reserve" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne. The quality--the authenticity--of the wines was a revelation. And the great prices made possible through our direct import program made it impossible not to try as many as I could. If you want to learn about the Côte des Blancs--the home of the finest Chardonnay in Champagne--about Grand Cru sites like Mesnil and Oger, then this is a tutorial in a glass. Fine bead. Clean. Crisp. Wonderfully mineral in its expression, while still rich in texture. Try it on its own as an aperitif or, better yet, with our local Dungeness crab.
Price: $34.99 Add To Waiting List

Page: 1 2 next