Staff Favorites - Kirk Walker

Kirk Walker

Reviews

  
Page: 1 2 3 next
2013 Domaine Eden Santa Cruz Mountains Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 11-30-2016
A great Santa Cruz Mountain Cabernet. Made in the image of the Mount Eden but with a touch accessibility both structurally and with its price. Beautiful dark red fruits that is both ripe and reserved. Just the right amount of oak and backed with solid tannins. This will be one of my "go to" Cabs this holiday season.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
VN 92

2009 Bodegas Muga "Prado Enea" Gran Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 11-30-2016
This is captivating Rioja. The nose tells you everything you want know about it. Subtly intense, with layers and layers of fruit, both dark and red, a crazy mélange of spice and dusty earthy tones. I'm content just to sit and nose the wine, kind of.... The palate delivers everything that it promises on the nose but with super fine tannins and a long lingering finish. This is a great wine that you will be hard pressed to hold on to, but please try, it will just get better and better.

2014 Domaine des Niales Rhedon-Marin Mâcon-Villages Vieilles Vignes
Review Date: 11-25-2016
This Domaine has always over delivered. Best Macon on the sales floor, better than most of the white Burgundies that we have at twice the price. Clean fruit, a hint of minerality, nice intensity and a lingering finish; this is more than just an everyday drinker.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2015 Kalinda Willamette Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 11-25-2016
For me this is one of the best Kalinda Pinots we have ever offered. Aromatic, with dark and bright fruits and berries, soft floral notes, earth and a touch of oak spice. The palte is balanced and fresh with more red fruit and berries jumping to the forefront. Easy tannins and fresh acidity make this wine dance on the palate.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2015 Boekenhoutskloof "The Wolftrap" Red Blend Western Cape
Review Date: 11-25-2016
Always one of the best deals in the store. This "cote du Rhone" inspired blend, delivers good fruit, a whisper of earth, a touch of spice ans just the right amount of tannin.
Price: $8.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine de la Réserve d'O "Bilbo" Languedoc
Review Date: 11-25-2016
This wine pops! It is the most charming most enjoyable from this Domaine. It is serious wine but it should not be take too seriously. Bright dark fruit, hints of spice, easy tannins and fresh acidity. This is a great every day drinker.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2014 Te Mata "Awatea" Bordeaux Blend Hawkes Bay
Review Date: 11-25-2016
This is one of the best Bordeaux blends that we have in stock. Te Mata always over delivers, on every wine that they produce. This is the "Second wine" to the Coleraine but it is the first wine that I want to buy from their portfolio. This wine has richness, great structure, beautiful fruit, subtle complexity; what more could you ask for.

2010 Misha's Vineyard "High Note" Pinot Noir Central Otago
Review Date: 10-08-2016
This is captivating Pinot Noir. Classically Central Otago; bright red fruit laced with a wild herbal spice. This wine has power, polish and drive that make it stand apart from every other Pinot around this price point. The tannins are polished and refined and are drawn out seamlessly by the wine's bright core of acidity. Bright fruit with a touch of savory complexity, this will be a brilliant wine to have this fall and winter.

2015 Te Mata "Estate" Gamay Hawkes Bay
Review Date: 10-01-2016
Ask almost any staff member in the San Francisco store for a bottle of Beaujolais and the first or second bottle that they will recommend will be this, all depending where they are on the actual floor! Dark fruit, a touch of spice, crunchy acidity and easy tannins. There is nothing not to like about this. Throw in the fridge for 15 minutes and enjoy.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart
BC 90

2014 Valravn "Old Vine" Sonoma County Zinfandel
Review Date: 09-29-2016
A bright and spicy style of Zin. Full and rich on the palate but with pop and lift that you don't always see from the varietal.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2013 TWR (Te Whare Ra) "SV5182 - Single Block" Pinot Noir Marlborough
Review Date: 09-29-2016
For anyone who loves burgundy and does not like this wine, I will fight you! Holy Moly this is great Pinot Noir and a ridiculous price for what it delivers. Complex aromatics, a supple palate, lots of layers, great length. Beyond that it has that beguiling Pinot character where it has the flavor intensity of the fullest bodied wine but only lightest softest caress on your palate.

2014 Momento Chenin Blanc/Verdelho Bot River Western Cape
Review Date: 09-29-2016
I love the Chenin Blanc blends we have from South Africa. They are some of the most interesting and delicious white wines in the store, this is no exception. The nose is full of cool yellow fruits, mineral and mellow earthy Chenin Blanc tone. The palate is full and textured with great acidity and feels like is has been finely etched with layers and layers crystals. I know it doesn't make sense but try it you'll see what I'm taking about.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2013 Josef Chromy Pinot Noir Tasmania
Review Date: 09-29-2016
Wow! I have not had many Tasmanian Pinot Noirs but after this wine is sold out I will more actively seek them out. Cool, high toned fruit, savory herbs, subtle spice, fine polished tannins, great acidity without being tart and a long, long finish.

2007 Miguel Merino Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 09-29-2016
A modern Rioja classic! Rish, ripe dark red fruits with leather spice and just a hint of earth on the nose. Medium-full bodied on the palate with youthful fruit and ripe tannins caressed with just the right amount of oak. This wine is built to thrill.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2013 Shaw + Smith Shiraz Adelaide Hills
Review Date: 09-29-2016
This is a wine that would have caught you off guard if you did not read this review. The nose is big, bold and intense. The aromatics leap out of the glass; bright berries, spices, earth and hint of berry compote. Oh coarse you know what to expect, fruit bomb. Wrong. This wine has restraint and poise. All those aromatics are echoed on the palate and balanced with a subtle savory character. The tannins are fine and polished. I love how this wine played with my expectations. It is almost blasphemy but new world Cote Rotie is kind of what I am left thinking after trying the wine.

2014 Fromm "Fromm Vineyard" Pinot Noir Marlborough
Review Date: 08-31-2016
Fromm makes very engaging Pinot Noirs. For me they are not dinner party wines, they are great and should be shared, but with only one other person, I can be selfish. All of their wines, but especially the single vineyards, have so much depth and so many layers that one glass is not enough. Pour half full or 2/5ths full glasses, drink slow and savor over an entire evening. Pure fruits, minerals, earth, spice, savory tones all come to the forefront at different times. Buy a six pack, put it next to your Burgundy in your cellar, I bet you'll reach for this before any old French wine.

2004 Lopez de Heredia "Viña Tondonia" Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 08-24-2016
Always a favorite, just one sniff takes me to a happy place! It has a perfect blend of Fresh and dried cherry fruit balanced with spice, leather, earth and just a hint of funk. It keeps you coming back just to try to tease apart all of the aromatic layers. It is already seamless on the palate, with all of the complexity from the nose played out against a dusty fine tannins and juicy acidity. This is the friendliest Tondonia I have tried. It will be very hard not to drink it while it is young, but this wine has places it still needs to go. So go big, buy deep you will not regret it.

2013 Hendry "Block 24" Napa Valley Primitivo
Review Date: 08-24-2016
For a Zin lover but not Zinfandel, no matter what legend or history you have read. This is dark fruited and spicy, just like Zin but different, and not just it is speaking with a heavy accent different. It plays different on the palate, just a subtle difference in the spice. It is delicious regardless. All that fruit and spice are balanced with enough tannin to make it a little more interesting at the dinner table.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2012 Hendry "Blocks 7 & 22" Napa Valley Zinfandel
Review Date: 08-24-2016
Spicy. Herbal and pepper spice with lots of facets to it. Rich and supple with a dark berry fruit and balanced with good acidity. This is not a simple Zinfandel, crush it at a BBQ or take your time with it, you'll be coming back for more.
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart
W&S 90 WE 90

2013 Amici Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 08-24-2016
This is real deal Cabernet. What I love about this wine is that you absolutely get that beautiful Napa Valley Cabernet fruit but there is so much more going on with with. There is a judicious amount of oak, it rounds out and adds subtle chocolate and spice notes. There is also a savory almost olive like note to it that plays incredibly off the fruit. Full and rich this is a very satisfying Cabernet.
Price: $43.99 Add To Cart
JS 93 WE 92

2012 Amici Spring Mountain District Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 08-24-2016
While I have had very little experience with the Reserve line of wines from Amici, I have always enjoyed their Napa Cabernet. This is easily 3 times the wine. While it is not 3 times as massive it is more intense, more complex and has a way better finish, it should. Lots of dark red fruits with an aromtic twist. It is structured, I would ideally hold onto it for a while but it is not so big that a rich meal can put it into its place. This is a special occasion wine, it makes an impression and it stays with you.

2013 Cantina Valle Isarco Sylvaner "Sabiona"
Review Date: 08-18-2016
Grand Cru Sylvaner? but that's not Italian. Smaragd Sylvaner from the Alto Adige? that's not Italian. OK so it is neither of those legally but that is what it drinks like. This wine the has power, depth, concentration of the best of the best white wines in the world. Imagine, a medley citrus peels being sun dried in cool alpine air on an ancient alter of quartz! If you are a mineral junky, this is for you! You can almost feel crystals forming on your palate stalagmite stalactite style during the glacially long finish.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2013 Spottswoode "Estate" Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 08-17-2016
A great wine from one of the Valley's classic producers. It is a supple and restrained wine that belies its intensity and concentration. Dark Cabernet fruit tones with subtle layers of spice, earth, sneaky tannins and a core of fruit that goes and goes. Drink this slow,this wine will have you savoring every sip and leave you a little heartbroken when it is gone.

2013 Spottswoode "Lyndenhurst" Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 08-17-2016
This might be a "second wine" but it is better than many "firsts"! It starts off with a dark cherry ans sweet spice nose with a core of bright red fruit. The palate if full with good tannins and restrained used of oak that rounds and polishes the wine. Concentrated red fruits, dusty Napa spiciness and great length. Drink or hold, the later will be hard to do.
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart
JS 96 VN 92

2015 Treves Petite Arvine Val d'Aosta
Review Date: 08-11-2016
I was so excited to see this hit the shelves, it has been a wile since we had anything from the Val d'Aosta. This is a beautiful cork dork wine from a beautiful cork dork region. High tones fruit that is crystalline, with very subtle herbal notes and tons of minerality. There is so much extract that the stoniness almost turns salty, one of my favorite things in wine. It is not so weird and obscure that it is not delicious, it essential evaporates from your glass without you noticing!
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart
JS 93

2005 Bodegas Casa Juan Señor de Lesmos Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 08-11-2016
Over ten years old, with lots of potential and only $20, I love this wine! A very complex nose that you just keep going back to over and over. On the palate it is medium full with much more intensity than you would expect for any wine in this price point.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JS 92

2011 Bodegas Casa Juan Señor de Lesmos Crianza Rioja
Review Date: 08-03-2016
This could be the best value from our Spanish selections and there are a lot of values to be had there. Why because this is not just a simple delicious wine, it is delicious but there is too much wine here to be called simple. Multidimensional fruit tones, spice, and earth. Medium bodied with sneaky intensity and just the right amount of acidity, this wine belongs on the dinner table, right next to the salt and pepper.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2014 S.C. Pannell Syrah Adelaide Hills South Australia
Review Date: 08-03-2016
Very serious Syrah, easily one of the best bottles of the varietal, at any price point, on the sales floor right now. This wine has lots of immediate appeal. Great aromatics of dark fruits, flowers, spice and game. Great texture ripe tannins and bright acid. There is no downside to drinking this wine now except that you can sense that this will get even better, a lot better.

2014 Neyers "Left Bank Red" Napa Valley Red Blend
Review Date: 08-03-2016
Like everything I have tasted from this winery recently this is good, really good. Clean, precise flavors, nicely textured, good length and more than reasonably priced.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
WS 92

2015 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Pinot Noir Rosé Marlborough
Review Date: 07-30-2016
I hate to keep on comparing wines to Burgundy, but it is so easy! Think Marsannay Rose. Great, serious and delicious Rose. While this can be enjoyed as a summer sipper there is so much more going on here! Sour cherry, red berries, earth, a hint of forest floor, minerality, the more you look the more you find.
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart

2014 Oakridge Estate "Over the Shoulder" Pinot Noir Yarra Valley
Review Date: 07-30-2016
Multi-dimensional Pinot Noir under $15! Ripe red fruits, a little spice, a little earth, a touch of tannin and fresh acidity. You cannot find a better Pinot, unless you are looking for a fruit bomb, for the money.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2013 Trellis (Amelia Park) Cabernet Sauvignon-Merlot Margaret River
Review Date: 07-30-2016
It is crazy that this wine is only $11. It is just another example of the great Cabernet that is being produced in the Margaret River, at all price points. Bright fruit, moderate tannins, good acid and a little intrigue, what else can you ask for?
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart

2014 Oakridge Estate "Willowlake Vineyard" Chardonnay Yarra Valley
Review Date: 07-29-2016
This wine is "Burgundian" but that is such a loaded and sometimes misleading term. I would rather say we have Chardonnay wines in the store, made in Burgundy, that are "Yarra Vallian". Better yet they wish they were more like this wine! Focus, purity, subtle richness, complexity and length you typically have to spend $40 or more to get a Burgundy that delivers all that wine wine does.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JH 97

2015 Neyers "304" Sonoma County Chardonnay
Review Date: 07-07-2016
This is a natural beauty of California Chardonnay. By that I mean that it is not hiding behind any toasty oak. Ripe clean fruit that backed with just the right amount of leesy richness.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart

2004 Heitz Cellar "Trailside" Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 07-07-2016
Beautiful older Napa Cab, just what you would expect from Heitz. This wine dances on the palate, it seamlessly integrates bright red fruits with tobacco, spice and leather. It is full bodied but the tannins are polished and elegant. This has lots life left in it but it will be hard to keep you hands off of it.
Price: $74.99 Add To Cart

2013 Green & Red "Tip Top Vineyard" Napa Valley Zinfandel
Review Date: 07-07-2016
This is the Green and Red Zin with the most intrigue, the most spice, the most texture and structure. Great old school Napa Zin. A mixture of dark berries and lifted red fruits, the play out with wild herbs and pepper spice on a long finish.
Price: Hidden View Price
W&S 94

2012 Keenan "Reserve" Spring Mountain District Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 07-07-2016
I thought that the regular Napa cab was great, this is way better. All Spring Mountain fruit and it shows. This has structure, richness and length. Lots of dark berry and dark cherry notes with this intriguing spice note which I will call Spring Mountain spice. There is a lot of wine here, and not for the faint of heart if you drink it when it is young. This will be a classic wine, hold for a decade plus.

2012 Keenan Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 07-07-2016
What a treat. The nose is rich with lots of dark red fruits and a wild spicy tone. On the palate it starts of with bright red fruits that slowly darken to a dusty berries. This wine is built, great tannins and structure with a long tobacco spice finish. Really good now, I's this will be even better in 5-10 years!
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart
VN 93 RP 90

2012 Storybook Mountain "Mayacamas Range" Napa Valley Zinfandel
Review Date: 07-07-2016
This is the classic, the first wine that comes to mind when thinking about the winery and the exemplar of the house style, structured. I like to describe it as Zin made like Cabernet rather than fruit compote. Brambly dark fruit with snap, lots of spice that hangs of good tannic structure. It is full and bright with a long lingering finish.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
CG 90

2013 Wakefield (Taylor's) "Jaraman" Cabernet Sauvignon Clare Valley South Australia
Review Date: 06-26-2016
I know we have been conditioned to Shiraz when it comes to Australia, but I am starting to think Cabernet. This year has been ridiculous for Australian Cabernet at K&L...At all price points, but on the value side especially. The Jaraman is continuing with the new tradition. It has a great nose, dark and red fruits backed with a eucalyptus note. The palate it no ripe fruit bomb, rather it is full but linear, showcasing restraint and brightness. Flavors of dark cherry, cassis, tobacco and a hint of mineral. There is nothing locally made that can compete with this wine at this price point.
Price: Hidden View Price
JH 94 RP 90

2014 Neyers "Chuy's Vineyard" Sonoma Valley Chardonnay
Review Date: 06-23-2016
White Burgundy from California. If I were served this wine blind, I would guess that it was white Burgundy. The aromatics of Golden delicious apple, delicate white flowers, mineral and soft vanilla tone. The palate is broad but not heavy. it has sneaky richness that is balanced with great acidity. It has a long mouthwatering finish. Really special CA Chardonnay. Let it breath, decant for at least 30 minutes.
Price: $41.99 Add To Cart

2014 Neyers "Evangelho Vineyard" Contra Costa County Carignane
Review Date: 06-21-2016
This wine pops. It is intensely colored and the fruit and spice aromatics leap out of the glass. On the palate it has lots of sappy red fruits, and berry flavors that are heavily spiced with herbal spice and pepper. This is a summertime in the back yard grilling and BBQing kind of wine. Or if you cannot do that, at least it will put you in that head space.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2012 Keenan Napa Valley Merlot
Review Date: 06-20-2016
This is Merlot made by people who love Merlot, and it shows. Keenan is always my "go to" Napa Merlot. It is pure, complex, and structured. Dark red fruit leap from the glass, peppered with spice and earth. This is not fleshy and soft but rather poised and linear. While you can drink this as a cocktail you should serve it with steak.
Price: $35.99 Add To Cart
W&S 91

2012 Brown Estate Chiles Valley Zinfandel
Review Date: 06-20-2016
Bright and very spicy; very Chiles Valley. Rich, complex, textured, and balanced; very Brown Estate. This a great wine, for me that is. Anytime/any wine when you spend almost more time trying to tease apart the aromatic than you spend tasting the wine, it is great. The best thing is, it is not a cerebral wine, it is meant to be enjoyed! Let the cork dorks sniff away, the rest of you drink up it is lip-smacking good.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

2014 Green & Red "Catacula Vineyard" Napa Valley Sauvignon Blanc
Review Date: 06-20-2016
Not your typical California SB. Yes it has plenty of citrus fruit, a faint whiff of grassiness, a hint of vanilla. It is light bodied, with a little extra texture from lees contact, but there is more extract. There is a darker, almost apricot-like note, with snap and texture. While this would be a great aperitif, this is an even better dinner wine.
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart

2013 Ladera Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 06-20-2016
One of the best values that you will find from the 2013 vintage. High-toned dark red fruit with layers of aromatic complexity: dark cherry, pomegranate?, dusty herbs, minerals and subtle oak spicing. On the palate it is darker, with plenty of structure to support the rich, brambly, spicy fruit. This will be a go-to Cab for as long as it is on the shelves.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2015 Heitz Cellar Napa Valley Sauvignon Blanc
Review Date: 06-18-2016
A perfect summer sipper! Citrus fruit backed with a more reserved tropical note. Light, bright and fresh.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2014 Neyers "El Novillero" Carneros Chardonnay
Review Date: 06-17-2016
This wine has a dramatic range of flavors from delicate pear, to caramelized pineapple, delicate mineral to butterscotch. There is the right amount of creaminess that acts a lubricant taking your from fresh fruit to lush almost dessert tones. This a classic rich and full CA Chardonnay that handles it weight as if it were a professional dancer.
Price: $41.99 Add To Cart

2012 Heitz Cellar Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 06-17-2016
Pure dark cherry fruit with a touch or earth and sweet spice on the nose. On the palate it pops with bright cherry and slowly starts to darken, and deepen with dark cherry, spice and earth all on top of super fine tannins. Classic Heitz, long, elegant and subtle.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

2014 Neyers "Placida Vineyard" Russian River Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 06-17-2016
I knew I was going to love this wine at first sniff. Sappy, spicy, floral, wild strawberries, soft oak spice; all of which is very intense but delicate at the same time. How can you not like that? On the palate the wine has that same paradoxical nature bright delicate fruit, strawberries and rhubarb, that it lifted and jump right out at you. Then slowly the richness builds with dark fruit and oak spice appearing from the periphery. The wine mouth watering acidity gives it great length and the flavors seem to roll over and over again on and on.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Page: 1 2 3 next