Staff Favorites - Kirk Walker

Kirk Walker

Reviews

  
2012 Bench Alexander Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 03-28-2015
This has been a SF favorite for years, and this is the best vintage we have tried yet. Full of dark fruits with oak spice and chocolate tones. It rich and polished with enough tannin to give it heft but no so big that you cannot serve as a cocktail.
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Akitu "A2" Pinot Noir Central Otago (White Label)
Review Date: 03-28-2015
Serious, interesting and delicious Pinot for about $20? It doesn't seem to happen often enough so when we tried this I had to stop and do a double take. The wine is driven with a solid core of mineral laced acidity that has gorgeous layers of dark fruit and subtle earthy spice wrapped around it. It is has depth and a unique sense of place, and this is the entry level wine for this estate!
Price: $21.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 Woodstock Estate "Octogenarian" Old Vine Grenache McLaren Vale South Australia
Review Date: 03-13-2015
Rioja Baja from down under? With old vine Grenache it is too easy to draw a direct comparison with Châteauneuf-du-Pape, but really good Grenache (Garnacha) is also grown in Spain. The brightness of the fruit, the exotic spice and the good structure (not to mention it's blended with Tempranillo!) makes me this Spain not France. Dust off the grill, this wine is crying out for savory smoky goodness.
Price: $18.99 Add To Waiting List
JH 96

2012 Penley Estate "Phoenix" Cabernet Sauvignon Coonawarra
Review Date: 03-13-2015
This is a ridiculous value. Cabernet with structure, complexity, and depth; and it is only $16! Try to find a Cab with similar characteristics from CA for the same price and originating in some of the best Cabernet soils in the world. This is delicious now and it will only get better over the next few years.

2012 Faust Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 02-26-2015
Full Throttle Napa Cab from the people who bring you Quintessa. Dark fruited with plenty of spicy oak and chocolate notes. Rich and opulent, this with is super enjoyable now but still has places to go.
Price: $44.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 90

2007 Bodegas Puelles Rioja Reserva
Review Date: 02-25-2015
It is almost too easy to overlook this wine when we have the 1999 Gran Reserva on the shelf at the same time. That would be a huge mistake. This wine offer a freshness and power that the other does not have. While the red and dark fruits of the wine are starting to dry, there is still freshness that gives it some pop. It also posses the classic leather and spice of Rioja. Drink it now or hold for a while, this is another great deal from Bodegas Puelles.
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 Antech "Cuvée Eugenie" Cremant de Limoux
Review Date: 02-25-2015
Always one of our best deals in bubbles. On the lighter side, with citrus and apple flavors, a touch of yeasty breadiness and clean finish. Something to have in your fridge at all times.
Price: $13.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 Olema Sonoma County Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 02-24-2015
This is classic Sonoma Cab. Dark red fruit, a touch of chocolate and spicy oak. Lush on the palate with just enough tannin to give it heft but no edges.
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List

2011 Campo Viejo Tempranillo Rioja
Review Date: 02-17-2015
One of K&L's all time best sellers. A mixture of dark and red fruits, pleasant oaky spice and a touch of earthiness all on a medium weight palate with just the right amount of tannins to give it a hint of grip. A great every day dinner red.
Price: $11.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Domaine du Tariquet "Classic" Cotes de Gascogne Blanc
Review Date: 02-17-2015
This is a classic apertif; bright, light and crisp. Citrus dominated with just a wisp of something green and a touch of spice.
Price: $8.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Val de Mer Bourgogne Rosé
Review Date: 06-26-2014
This is a rosé that demands your attention. The nose is all about very soft and delicate red-fruited Pinot Noir--you cannot wait to taste it. Those flavors are echoed on the palate, then snap! There is that Chablis acidity. Mouthwatering and delicious, this is everything that I want from a rosé.
Price: $16.99 Add To Waiting List

Michel Dervin Brut Champagne
Review Date: 06-29-2012
Blanc de Noirs for a song! Dried stone fruits, brioche on the nose and palate. Concentrated and very dry this is an under- valued over achieving wine.
Price: $32.99 Add To Waiting List

Ariston Aspasie "Carte Blanche" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 07-29-2011
This is the go to value Champagne here at K&L. Dry, toasty with subtle fruit notes. Everything you want from Champagne except for the price tag!
Price: $27.99 Add To Waiting List

Arran 10 year old Single Island Malt Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 03-29-2011
I often overlook this Single malt; it is easy to do when looking at our shelves, but after trying this recently, no more. This small independently owned distillery is new, just about 15 years old. Their entry level whisky should be in everyone’s liquor cabinet. Medium rich with a great blend of both Bourbon and Sherry barrels; this is a whisky with no edges. It as easygoing and comfortable as a broken-in lay-z-boy. Perfect for kicking back and forgetting about your day, it will not challenge you with its complexity but indulge you with caramel, crème Brule, heather and a touch of apple.
Price: $44.99 Add To Waiting List

Deligeroy Crémant de Loire Brut Rosé
Review Date: 12-28-2010
Party bubbles. A touch darker than you'd expect. Dark fruits fine bubbles and a crisp finish.
Price: $12.99 Add To Waiting List

Fleury Blanc de Noirs Brut Champagne
Review Date: 12-28-2010
A great bottle of bubbles. Rich and very dry this Blanc de Noirs is perfect dinner Champagne.
Price: $39.99 Add To Waiting List

Antech "Brut Nature" Blanquette de Limoux
Review Date: 12-28-2010
Super dry bubbles. This does more than flirt with being austere. That being said, "thank you mistress, may I have another?"
Price: $12.99 Add To Waiting List

2006 Rosenblum "Richard Sauret" Paso Robles Zinfandel
Review Date: 11-26-2010
Bold, powerful Zin that has a little extra time in the bottle to mellow out its tannins. Ripe fruit balanced with spicy, creamy oak and textbook briary Zinfandel spice.
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List
CG 90

Ruinart Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 10-06-2010
This is no ordinary rose. Yes, it is beautifully colored, has a great mouse, and is just too easy to drink but there is something else going on here as well. In one word, complexity. This is like drinking beautiful sparkling Burgundy. Wonderful aromatics, multidimensional fruit, a round, generous mid-palate and great length, this is more than special occasion Champagne, this is indulgent, you deserve it, treat yourself (family and friends optional) Champagne!

Sorelle Bronca Prosecco DOCG
Review Date: 06-23-2010
This is the best off dry Prosecco in the shop, quite possibly the best Prosecco! Clean and pure with just a hint of spice and the right touch of sweetness. This is the perfect wine for almost every occasion!
Price: $17.99 Add To Waiting List

Franck Bonville "Belles Voyes" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 05-13-2010
This could be the best Direct Import Champagne that we bring in! Depending on the day and my mood, it absolutely is! Old vine, single vineyard Chardonnay that spend some time in old Burgundy barrels, what is not to love about this?! It is great now, long complex and tasty, it get even better with bottle age (I had one from the first batch we brought in OM!@@#@$G!)

Sorelle Bronca "Particella 68" Prosecco
Review Date: 12-17-2009
This is the best Prosecco that we sell. Period. It has a richness on the mid-palate that you typically do not find, but more importantly the flavors are pure, clean and delightful. An open bottle is an empty bottle.
Price: $21.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 90 ST 90

Launois "Quartz" Blanc de Blancs Brut Champagne
Review Date: 08-31-2009
It is hard to choose a favorite Launois wine. All of them are so good. What makes the Quartz stand out, other than it being unique in that it has few ATM's of pressure in the bottle, is the brightness of the fruit. There is a dazzling purity that make you want more and more! The mousse is soft and you couldn't guess that there is less pressure, and the finish is terrific. Grab some while we still have it!
Price: $39.99 Add To Waiting List

Launois "Cuvée Reserve" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 07-09-2009
It is hard to miss this wine with its great packaging, but more importantly it is the juice between the bubbles. Ever since I started working for K & L, first bottle I took home was this wine!, I have been a big fan. Broad rich on the palate with a great bead. The flavors lean towards white Burgundy, what's not to like?
Price: $34.99 Add To Waiting List

La Caudrina "La Selvatica" Asti
Review Date: 07-09-2009
This is the best Asti I have ever had! It is happy in a glass. Text book Muscat aromatics but softer, prettier, almost elegant. Perfumy but in a sofisticated way. Light round and soft on the palate with a delicate sweetness. I have drunk more of this just by itself, it never seems to last until the cheese or dessert course!
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List
GR 2