Staff Favorites - Sarah Covey

Sarah Covey

Reviews

  
2015 Domaine Marcel Lapierre "Cuvée Camille" Morgon
Review Date: 05-18-2017
While I'm shy about saying it, I'm going to be honest here--I have only ever brought two bottles of Beaujolais home from work in the course of my tenure, and the "Camille" from Lapierre was the bottle I drank with my steak this Tuesday night while watching the Warriors crush the Spurs in Game 2 of the 2017 NBA Playoffs. Raspberry, strawberry, red plum, currant, and spice, with medium plus acidity and medium tannin. Very well-balanced and pretty, this hearty Beaujolais stood up nicely with my steak and was exactly what I wanted on a cool Bay Area spring evening! Pro Tip: decant this IMMEDIATELY once you decide to have it with your meal--it needs a whole day to open up, or it shows some barnyard funkiness. Let it breathe properly, and it will be pretty, pretty, pretty!

2014 Limerick Lane Russian River Valley Zinfandel
Review Date: 05-16-2017
Our friends at Limerick Lane, brothers Jake and Scot Bilbro, continue to turn out spectacular bottlings from the old vines on their property. Blackberry, cassis, blueberry, raspberry, Santa Rosa plum, mineral and spice, with medium plus acidity and medium tannin. A gorgeous, well balanced, elegant Zinfandel to enjoy now with BBQ or steak, or to tuck away in your cellar. This lovely wine has the bones to age- but only if you can keep yourself away from it long enough! As Robert Parker has said, "If you haven't caught on to the magic that is emerging from Limerick Lane, it's about time."

2014 de France Blanc, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 05-16-2017
Green apple, pineapple, lemon zest, with a pretty floral note that suggests Sauvignon Gris is hiding in there undisclosed. Medium plus acidity with weight and texture. Bordeaux Blanc for the win!

2015 Los Bermejos Malvasia Seco Lanzarote (Canary Islands)
Review Date: 05-16-2017
Spectacular! Lemon zest, saline saltiness, white peach, pear and honeysuckle notes with vibrant acidity and fabulous balance and texture. My new house summer white- I love this wine!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
VN 91

2015 Idlewild "The Bee-Flora & Fauna" California White Blend
Review Date: 05-16-2017
Lovely honeysuckle, lemon zest, pear, spice and apricot with medium plus acidity and great balance. Aromatic, very refreshing, pretty but not cloying, and surprisingly versatile with food!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
VN 89 - 91

2016 Chateau Les Valentines Côtes de Provence Rosé
Review Date: 05-16-2017
Strawberry, watermelon, juicy red berries. Medium plus acidity and rich fruit. A classic Provencal rose for spring!
Price: $22.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

2008 Fallet-Dart Vintage Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-13-2017
Such an intriguing Champagne! Spiced pear, lemon zest, flaky pie crust, mineral, dried apple, saline...and while not exactly the same, it reminds me a lot of the Krug Grand Cuvee. As it warmed in my glass, it became more weighty and lingered on the palate. I enjoyed this with my favorite shrimp tempura rolls from my local sushi spot. The toastiness of the tempura complemented the wine perfectly! The fabulous 2008 vintage is just beginning to shine here- I can't wait to see how this develops. A true worthy addition to my regular weekly Champagne ration (because yes, I have one), and most definitely worthy of my cellar!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2015 Akitu "A2" Pinot Noir Central Otago (White Label)
Review Date: 04-18-2017
The White Label is one gorgeous bottle of Pinot Noir. Very accessible, and very aromatic- pretty, pretty, pretty. Red cherry, sweet strawberry, rose, spice and raspberry, with medium plus acidity and medium plus tannin. I just want to sit and savor every sip. Throw a party and make this your house Pinot Noir- you will not be disappointed!

2016 Mount Edward Pinot Noir Rosé Central Otago
Review Date: 04-18-2017
Mount Edward brings it again with their killer rose! I've been waiting for this to come back in stock! Strawberry, melon, red cherry, citrus zest, and mineral with bright, zesty acidity. So, so drinkable! Grab a bottle, pull up a chair in the sun, kick off your shoes and toast the spring!
Top Value!
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart
RC 90 - 91

2016 Framingham "Select" Riesling Marlborough
Review Date: 04-18-2017
Oh, how I love a good off-dry Riesling! Apricot, citrus zest, and Bartlett pear, sweet but not cloying, with fabulously balanced acidity- and 8.5% alcohol. Helloooooo, summer!
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
BC 97

2016 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Pinot Noir Rosé Marlborough
Review Date: 04-18-2017
Darker in color than the last vintage, but all kinds of character! This year's TWR Rose of Pinot Noir does not disappoint- red cherry, red plum, red currant, strawberry and spice with medium plus acidity and great balance. Looking for a rose to compliment your BBQ'ed ribs, salmon, chicken or steak- or perhaps a plate of cheese & charcuterie? Give this puppy a try! YUM!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2015 TWR (Te Whare Ra) "SV5182 - Single Block" Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough
Review Date: 04-18-2017
Granny smith apple, lemon zest, chalky minerality and a bit of toast and texture from lees contact and barrel fermentation, with very refreshing, zesty acidity. This is one drinkable Sauvignon Blanc!

2013 Joseph Swan "Cuvée de Trois" Russian River Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 11-04-2016
Strawberry, spice, fresh cherry, red rose with medium-plus acidity. Food-friendly and would be a very pretty addition to your Thanksgiving table!
Top Value!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2014 Villa Poggio Salvi Rosso di Montalcino
Review Date: 08-16-2016
Old school, classic Sangiovese from Montalcino! Red cherry, hints of rose, iron, warm leather, wet gravel, baking spices, with medium plus acidity and medium tannin. I want to drink this with a Pork Ragu, Cinghale risotto or a big fat steak. I love this wine!
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Tour Boisée "Plantation 1905"
Review Date: 08-16-2016
Such a fun little every day red! A blend of 23 grape varieties, this wine shows blackberry, cassis, Santa Rosa plum, and raspberry, with balanced, easy acidity but tannin and structure for seriousness! I am firing up the grill tonight for a fun BBQ of ribs and tri tip to enjoy with this lovely little wine!
Top Value!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

2014 Domaine de l'Aigle À Deux Têtes Savagnin "Les Clous" Côtes du Jura Blanc
Review Date: 08-16-2016
Holy Moly! This non-oxidized Jura blanc is awesome! Dried apricot, dried pear, baking spices, mineral and citrus, with medium plus acidity- a refreshing and delicious experience. leaving me both hungry and wanting more!
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart

Blason Isonzo Bianco (3L Bag-in-a-Box) (cannot ship)
Review Date: 07-14-2016
Yahoo! It's back! My favorite box of wine! Honeysuckle, citrus, golden pear and cream with fabulous balanced acidity and easy drinkability! Perfect for parties alfresco on a warm night, great when the neighbor drops by unannounced, and most excellent when all you need is a 1/2 cup good white wine for a sauce or risotto (with a glass for you, too!). This is 4 bottles in one box, people—for that price, you'd be nuts not to buy two boxes! Stock up before the staff buys it all!
Top Value!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

Four Pillars Rare Dry Gin (750ml)
Review Date: 06-23-2016
I LOVE THIS GIN! Coming from a person who at present has 21 different open bottles of Gin on her bar (and, no I am not exaggerating), this is the Gin I am going through at the most rapid clip right now. It's killer. When I met the hilarious and entertaining man who made it- Stuart- he put a tiny slice of orange in my G&T. I thought he was nuts. Then I tried it. I refuse to drink my G&Ts any other way now- the brightness of a fresh piece of orange (or a twist) beautifully enhances the orange notes in this fun Gin. Looking for a really fun new Gin for summer? This is it!!!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2006 Veuve Clicquot "La Grande Dame" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-27-2016
Simply gorgeous. Elegant pear, citrus, honey and cream. Easy, nuanced, delicate Champagne. Well done, M.DeMarville!

2014 Michel Autran "Les Enfers Tranquilles" Vouvray
Review Date: 04-21-2016
Bartlett pear, nutmeg and baking spices, honey, lemon pith, cream and mineral with balanced, medium plus acidity. A totally nerdy Chenin Blanc for a twist on your classic Vouvray. Love Loire Valley white? Under the spell of Chenin? Try this wine and be delighted!
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart

2013 Tongue In Groove "The Mound Vineyard" Riesling Waipara Valley
Review Date: 07-15-2015
Aaaaand the Tongue in Groove Riesling brings it again! Seriously fabulous Riesling, most excellently crafted. Apricot, peach, and citrus with classic mandarin orange marmalade botrytis notes with a delicious sweetness that is perfectly balanced with the acidity. Stock up- last year the staff bought 90% of the stock!
Top Value!

Underwood by Union Wine Co. Oregon Rosé (375ml can)
Review Date: 06-04-2015
It's here, it's here, it's finally here! The Underwood Rosé I've been waiting for since last June! Plush strawberry, unexpected peach, citrus, and red cherry with nice acidity and balance. Half a bottle for $5.99 in an easily portable, light can? SIGN ME UP! Head out to the beach, the park, a picnic, the pool, or a BBQ with cold cans and you will be the toast of the party! LOVE THIS!
Top Value!
Price: $5.99 Add To Cart

Venus Spirits Batch #2 Barrel Aged Gin (750ml)
Review Date: 04-01-2015
I've got a new favorite barrel aged gin, and its name is Venus Batch 2! Sean Venus hits it out of the park with each bottling of his carefully crafted, local Santa Cruz spirits. Not just another bottling of the same darn gin just thrown into a barrel, Venus actually created this spirit independent of his Batch 1 gin. Batch 2 winks at you from the shelf with a bright amber sparkle, with dried orange peel, nutmeg, star anise and gingerbread teasing you to make yourself a Negroni, for goodness sake! This puppy will be a mainstay on my bar from today forward!
Price: $36.99 Add To Cart

Ariston Aspasie Blanc de Blancs Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-15-2015
I just threw our family's first baby shower for my brother and sister-in-law, and this was the Champagne of choice to celebrate the new little life on the way! I love this Champagne for its easy and yet elegant personality. Apple, cream, citrus, and mineral with the stunning golden wine visible through the clear glass. It looks gorgeous on ice at a party, and its accesibility make it a total win for Champagne neophytes and connoiseurs alike!
Top Value!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Charles Baur "Emotion" Cremant d'Alsace Brut
Review Date: 12-04-2014
Bright, fresh and elegant, the Chardonnay in this sparkling wine really shines with citrus, pear, apple and mineral. Looking for an affordable, classy wine for your holiday parties? Look no further!
Top Value!
Price: Hidden View Price
WE 90

2012 Ad Lib (Larry Cherubino) "Hen & Chicken" Chardonnay Western Australia
Review Date: 10-26-2014
An amazing value for a delightful little wine. Apple, pear, mineral with a textural note absent in many inexpensive Chardonnay. Medium plus acidity and very quaffable!
Top Value!
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart
JH 94

Lot 40 Single Copper Pot Still Canadian Rye Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 01-15-2014
All the spice and flash of Rye that I love, with a vanilla, caramel, clove and cigarbox undernote with a soft, sweet finish. AWESOME!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
WE 97

1995 Joël Taluau "Vieilles Vignes" Saint-Nicolas-de-Bourgueil
Review Date: 11-17-2013
Gorgeous stewed red cherry, hints of leather and earth with great minerality, medium plus acidity and fine, well-integrated tannin. At $26.99, this is a crazy steal- we bought directly from the property! A must for Thanksgiving!
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart

2008 Bruno Michel "Les Roses" Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 10-26-2013
Every time I taste this Champagne, I want to sit and linger with it for the rest of the afternoon. It's a totally nerdy rose, unlike anything else we have. Barrel fermented, all Pinot Meunier and aged in bottle for a year, this particular bottling is all from 2006 fruit. Red cherry, spice, vanilla, leather, funky earth with medium plus acidity and a long finish. What a fabulous, fun rose Champagne!
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

Crabbies Ginger Beer, England (11.2oz)
Review Date: 09-03-2013
My go-to closing beer! When my colleagues are sipping brews from our unique selection, I sip my Crabbie's. This puppy tastes like alcoholic, fresh ginger ale. I love it! Zesty, fresh ginger with hints of citrus, I drink this whenever I can! Y-U-M!
Top Value!
Price: $2.29 Add To Cart

Louis Bouillot Cremant de Bourgogne "Perle d'Aurore" Brut Rosé
Review Date: 09-03-2013
Man, I love this wine. I had this again the other evening with pank-crusted salmon and a spinach salad, and it was light, pretty and delicious. Soft raspberry, strawberry and citrus with the tiniest hint of sweetness. The acidity really worked with my salmon's fattiness. Of course, the wine's pink sparkly glimmer on the dinner table in my wine glasses added to the ambiance. Stock up for birthday celebrations, brunch, baby showers, or just because it's a Tuesday night!
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
DC 90

Caves Messias Santola "Crab Wine" Vinho Verde
Review Date: 09-01-2013
Love bright, fresh, affordable Vinho Verde? This is simply delish! Super low alcohol at 9%, this vinho verde is slightly fizzy, with notes of apple, pear and lime zest with fresh minerality and lots of zip. Stock up- this one has been flying out of the store in the hands of every staff member! (Including me!)
Top Value!
Price: $8.99 Add To Cart

Fleury Blanc de Noirs Brut Champagne
Review Date: 12-08-2012
Every time I try this wine, I wonder why I don't drink more of it! Apple, toast and mineral make this champagne from our friends at Fleury perfectly balanced and well-suited to food. Grown organically and biodynamically, the care that is taken with each bottle will shine through. Perfect gift or party bubbly for the holidays!
Top Value!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$34.99
VN 91

1998 Bodegas Casa Juan Señor de Lesmos Gran Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 12-08-2012
This is a gorgeous wine! Moving gracefully into its secondary characteristics, with stewed cherry, hints of leather and earth. Still had medium plus acid and fine tannins, leading me to believe this puppy will continue to age well for at least another 5-10 years. Drink it now after decanting, and you will not be diasppointed!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Bruno Michel "Blanche" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 11-24-2012
This has been my recent number one go-to champagne: I had a bottle with a friend at dinner, and then 2 days later had another to start a party, and I am buying a third tonight just because! Pretty spiced apple, white flowers, and citrus, with medium acid & a fine bubble structure. Very pleasant and quite friendly for such a complex wine. A lot of fun as a conversation starter at a cocktail party!
Top Value!
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

Deligeroy Cremant de Loire Brut
Review Date: 09-28-2012
What a screaming deal at $11.99! This bubbly from the Loire Valley will delight you with its refreshingly pleasant acidity, fine bubble structure, and hints of pear, apple and minerals. Chenin Blanc, Chardonnay & Cabernet Franc. When I first brought this wine home, I admittedly had intended to just mix it with my Mathilde Cassis for a Kir Royale, but I wanted to give the wine its proper due and poured a glass out straight first. A wonderful surprise met me, and I never did add that cassis.... the wine somehow disappeared too quickly! Perfect for holiday entertaining!
Top Value!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

Quartz Reef "Methode Traditionelle" Brut Central Otago (Biodynamic)
Review Date: 07-16-2012
I had the pleasure of tasting this elegant sparkling wine with the winemaker from New Zealand, who stopped by our store recently. Having just stepped off the plane not 24 hours prior, he was still enthusiastic about presenting us this wine! Pinot Noir dominates the blend with Chardonnay, with a sweet apple and pear, a lovely leesy toastiness, hints of mineral and zippy acid in the finish. This wine is biodynamic, hand picked, and done in the traditional method- and it is HAND riddled to boot! Not many sparkling wines left in the world today can claim that! The care taken with this wine is clear- and the price makes it a steal!
Top Value!

Cocchi Aperitivo Americano (750ml)
Review Date: 07-10-2012
Oooooh if you love Lillet Blanc but want something a little sweeter as an aperitif, try the Cocchi Americano! Mandarin orange, lemon, hints of white flowers with a sweet finish.... delicious on the rocks on a hot afternoon!
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart

Fleury Brut Rosé de Saignee Champagne
Review Date: 05-28-2012
Not only is the bottle design simply beautiful, this rose is quietly elegant and complex. 100% pinot noir gently pressed for the wine's pale salmon color, with light earth, well-balanced acidity & a backbone of minerality with a soft finish. This champagne is luscious & quite gorgeous. Great for a special celebration or as a very generous gift.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart
VN 90

Ariston Aspasie Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 12-29-2011
Minerally, cranberry and tart- the perfect pairing with smoked salmon appetizers. The richness of the salmon would be outstanding with the crisp mineral zip of this fantastic rose. Another excellent demonstration of the care and passion that Ariston Aspasie and family put into their champagne. Drink deep- Happy New Year!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Ariston Aspasie "Carte Blanche" Brut Champagne (375ml)
Review Date: 11-21-2011
A teeny-tiny version of the Aspasie classic Carte Blanche? Get me a picnic basket or a seat by the fire! I'm in! A miniature version of the well-balanced, delicious champagne that we sell by the, well, boatload as it were. Get it now- this is all that is left!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

King's Ginger Liqueur (750ml)
Review Date: 11-17-2011
Fans of fresh grated ginger rejoice! This is the stuff for you! No cloying stickiness here, just lots of spice and real ginger heat. Made with 20 year old Glenrothes, and macerated with real fresh ginger root- just add soda!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

St. George "Terroir" Mt. Tam Gin (750ml)
Review Date: 11-15-2011
Having read Melissa and David's reviews of this gin, I was excited but rather dubious in approaching it- how could it be so expressive of the terrior of Northern California? I poured it over ice, added some Fevertree Tonic water and a splash of lime and BAM! Hands down the most incredible experience of drinking in the landscape I love so much! Bay laurel, damp redwood, eucalyptus, wild fennel & dill- this California girl is enraptured!
Price: $30.99 Add To Cart

La Caudrina "La Selvatica" Asti
Review Date: 07-04-2011
A soft, mildly sweet Moscato d'Asti with light floral aromas. A pleasant choice (best when chilled) to enjoy on its own or for a sunny Sunday brunch on the terrace with friends!
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart
GR 2

St. Germain Elderflower Liqueur (750ml)
Review Date: 07-04-2011
Drinking St. Germain is like drinking liquid flowers! Subtle, sweet and captivating. Who knew that hand-picked elderflowers from the French Alps could be so lovely? Delicious with Gran Cava champagne with a curly twist of orange, even more amazing with soda on the rocks! I served St. Germain with soda and fresh watermelon juice at a springtime cocktail party, and could hardly keep up with the demand! My absolute favorite spirit for spring and summer!
Price: $32.99 Add To Cart
WE 96 - 100