Staff Favorites - Sarah Covey

Sarah Covey

Reviews

  
Page: 1 2 next
Blason Isonzo Bianco (3L Bag-in-a-Box) (cannot ship)
Review Date: 07-14-2016
Yahoo! It's back! My favorite box of wine! Honeysuckle, citrus, golden pear and cream with fabulous balanced acidity and easy drinkability! Perfect for parties alfresco on a warm night, great when the neighbor drops by unannounced, and most excellent when all you need is a 1/2 cup good white wine for a sauce or risotto (with a glass for you, too!). This is 4 bottles in one box, people—for that price, you'd be nuts not to buy two boxes! Stock up before the staff buys it all!
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

San Venanzio Prosecco Valdobbiadene Superiore Brut
Review Date: 07-12-2016
This Prosecco never fails to impress me. Pretty citrus, pear, spice and golden delicious apple nose, lovely minerality. A clean and refreshing Prosecco for your summer entertaining! Try it with fresh black figs wrapped in proscuitto, tiny goat cheese & fontina grilled cheese sandwiches, or simply to toast a fun night with friends.
Top Value!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
WE 91

2013 Le Battistelle "Battistelle" Soave Classico
Review Date: 07-12-2016
Lemon pith, honeysuckle, spice and green pear with medium plus acidity. This wine is wonderfully refreshing and vibrant, showcasing the unusal terroir of these vineyards (Tufo and Basalt). An easy-going, welcoming wine for anyone- but particularly if you are a bit tired of your usual whites. Wonderful with roasted chicken, grilled shrimp, herbed goat cheese, or fish.
Top Value!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

Four Pillars Rare Dry Gin 750ml
Review Date: 06-23-2016
I LOVE THIS GIN! Coming from a person who at present has 21 different open bottles of Gin on her bar (and, no I am not exaggerating), this is the Gin I am going through at the most rapid clip right now. It's killer. When I met the hilarious and entertaining man who made it- Stuart- he put a tiny slice of orange in my G&T. I thought he was nuts. Then I tried it. I refuse to drink my G&Ts any other way now- the brightness of a fresh piece of orange (or a twist) beautifully enhances the orange notes in this fun Gin. Looking for a really fun new Gin for summer? This is it!!!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2013 Reyneke Sauvignon Blanc Stellenbosch (Biodynamic)
Review Date: 06-22-2016
Lemon zest, cream, tropical fruits and lively acidity make this simply delicious wine a total no-brainer to stock up on! Like the old Nike ads- Just Do It!
Top Value!
Price: Hidden View Price
RP 90 WS 90

2013 Toulouse "Lautrec" Anderson Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 06-21-2016
Anderson Valley Pinot Noir at its best--and super affordable! Very aromatic: red rose, spices, Bing cherry, and zippy cranberry with medium-plus acidity and fine, elegant tannin. Looking for your next favorite Pinot? Look no further!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2015 Leitz Pinot Noir Rosé Rheingau
Review Date: 06-21-2016
Red cherry, cranberry, wet stone, and vibrant acidity make this rosé from Leitz very drinkable and very food friendly. I'm thinking grilled herb sausages, roasted chicken, or a platter full of cheese, olives and hummus, though it would be lovely with pork chops or a juicy steak, too!
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine de Reuilly Pinot Gris Rosé
Review Date: 06-21-2016
This is such a lovely rosé - I wait for it every year. Delicate notes of white peach, citrus and honeysuckle, with medium plus acidity. Elegant, nuanced and very drinkable, I can't wait to experiment with pairing all summer long!
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Begude "Les Paradis" Viognier Pays d’Oc
Review Date: 06-21-2016
One of the things that I consistently can count on about Domaine Begude is the beautiful balance of all of their wine. This lovely Viognier is no exception - it has everything I look for in a properly made Viognier (which I admit, is no small task): the pretty honeysuckle aromatics, notes of peach and apricot, lemon zest and spice, with medium-plus acidity and truly perfect balance. I can't wait to grill up some spicy shrimp, get Pad Thai takeout, or put a classic French cheese board to the test with this wine - I am confident this Viognier will not only stand up to it all, but prove to be queen of it all.
Top Value!
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart

2014 FRAM Chenin Blanc Citrusdal Mountain
Review Date: 06-21-2016
A stunning old vine, dry farmed Chenin Blanc from decomposed granite soil for this price? Sign me up! Spiced pear, lemon zest, honey, and apricot with medium plus acidity, 13.5% alcohol and perfectly balanced old vine richness. A true gem!
Price: $22.99 Add To Cart

Quartz Reef "Methode Traditionelle" Brut Rosé Central Otago (Biodynamic)
Review Date: 05-27-2016
Every time I taste this wine, I think "Wow! I need to buy a whole bunch of this". And then I promptly forget to do so. But this time around, I'm not going to forget. Fabulously pretty red cherry, strawberry, spice and cream, this wine is all glam and incredibly elegant at the same time. Wonderfully dry, with fresh acidity and super, super drinkable. Get ready for a night of fun when you pop this 100% Pinot Noir, method traditionelle bubbly- you will not be sorry! Cheers!

2013 Paolo Caciorgna "Ciauria" Etna Rosso
Review Date: 05-27-2016
Incredibly aromatic, Nerello Mascalese is always sly little bugger- pretty perfumed rose, dried cherry, fig jam and spice.... and then takes you by surprise with very present medium plus acidity and medium plus tannin! This wine comes from a site which has 3 layers of different volcanic soil, lending an interesting salinity and savory note in the back palate. Braised meats, eggplant, mushrooms and duck breast would be perfect pairings with this aromatic, pretty, slightly savory wine. Love it!
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart

2013 Lambuena Tinto Ribera del Duero
Review Date: 05-27-2016
Blackberry, black cherry, spice, plum and a thread of mineral on the back palate, this friendly introduction to the elegant wines of Ribera Del Duero will not disappoint! Medium plus acidity and medium tannin, this wine pairs well with ribs, a steak, burgers or chicken. Or, try it with the classic RDD pairing- lamb! You will be the star guest of the next BBQ you attend when you show up with this little gem in your hand! Case up, people!
Top Value!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
W&S 90

2015 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Pinot Noir Rosé Marlborough
Review Date: 05-27-2016
Classic Pinot Noir's pretty cranberry, cherry and spice, this TWR rose has been a long time coming! We begged and begged Anna and Jason to make this wine for us- and we now get to enjoy the fruits of their labor! Refreshing acidity make this wonderful with roasted chicken, salmon on the grill, or even with apps and a cheese platter. Scoop it up while you can- before the staff buys it all!
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart

2015 Lambuena Rosado Ribera Del Duero
Review Date: 05-27-2016
If you are looking for a juicy, easy to drink bottle of plush and pretty rose, look no further! Perfect for fans of slightly richer rose, this Lambuena stunner shows strawberry, raspberry and spice with lively acidity. Find me a patio on a warm, sunny afternoon surrounded by fun people and a good time will be had by all!
Top Value!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

2015 Heitz Cellar Napa Valley Grignolino Rosé
Review Date: 05-27-2016
Brilliant, super aromatic strawberry, raspberry, Bing Cherry, and black plum, with perceptible tannin and medium plus acidity that help balance out the plush, pretty fruit. I wait for this Rose every year! Lovelovelove!
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart

2006 Veuve Clicquot "La Grande Dame" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-27-2016
Simply gorgeous. Elegant pear, citrus, honey and cream. Easy, nuanced, delicate Champagne. Well done, M.DeMarville!
Price: $149.99 Add To Cart
WE 94 WS 94

2015 Mount Edward Pinot Noir Rosé Central Otago
Review Date: 05-27-2016
Strawberry, watermelon, lemon pith, mineral, and hints of orange zest with zesty acidity and refreshing drinkability. Marvelous! Bring on the warm weather!
Top Value!
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart

2014 Claude Branger "Les Fils de Gras Mouton" Muscadet Sèvre et Maine sur Lie (last of vintage)
Review Date: 04-21-2016
A truly classic Muscadet all around. Starfruit, lime pith, granny smith apple, and saline with a subtle hint of lees. Super zesty acidity. Makes me hungry for cheese, salmon, roasted chicken or hummus with veggies - just add warm patio and good friends!
Top Value!
Price: $8.99 Add To Cart

2014 Le Rocher des Violettes "Touche-Mitaine" Montlouis Sur Loire
Review Date: 04-21-2016
I admit it. I adore Chenin Blanc from the Loire. Here is what I love about the Montlouis Sur Loire area- it's like killer Vouvray but at half the price. Across the street from the famous Vouvray appellation, Montlouis Sur Loire Chenin Blanc from Le Rocher des Violettes is a beautifully pure expression of the varietal. Pear, honey, lemon pith, baking spice and mineral, with wonderful vibrant acidity - and dry as can be. Give me a sunny patio, some cheese, nuts and olives and this wine all day!
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart
W&S 93

2010 Tassi Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 04-21-2016
Black olives, spice box, dried cherry, leather, pencil lead, red cherry, mineral with medium plus acidity and fine, well-integrated tannin. Love it - Simply stunning!

2014 Foundi Xinomavro Blanc de Noir Imathia
Review Date: 04-21-2016
This wine was a total shock - a rare white Xinomavro! The classic Greek varietal shows here with incredible poise and balance. Citrus pith, spice, saline and just a hint of lees, with an incredibly zesty minerality that leaves me reaching for my glass. Fabulous for warm weather!
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2014 Domaine de la Réserve d'O "La Reserve d'O" Saint Guilhem le Desert Blanc
Review Date: 04-21-2016
Pretty, pretty, pretty! I love this white blend for a warm evening! Pear, citrus, honey, cream, spice with a very nice medium plus acidity which balances out all that lovely fruit. Pull up a chair and watch the sunset while you laugh the night away with good company!
Top Value!
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2014 Claude Branger "Terroir Les Gras Moutons" Muscadet Sèvre et Maine sur Lie
Review Date: 04-21-2016
For $2 more than the classic "Les Fils de Gras Mouton" that Branger is famous for, the "Terroir" way over-delivers for the price. This is a plot of 50 year old vines on a band of Gneiss soil in the same vineyard where the "Les Fils" is grown. The Gneiss expresses the "Terroir" (get it?) by giving the wine an interesting mouth-watering savory salinity, citrus pith, notes of wet rocks, with zippy acidity. The lees here are subtle and just give a touch of texture. A wine of vast complexity for the crazy low price!
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2014 Zafeirakis Malagouzia Thessaly
Review Date: 04-21-2016
Holy Moly! This is warm weather goodness! Citrus, lychee, honeysuckle, pear, spice and notes of chalk with medium plus acidity and great fruit to acid balance. Looking for an unusual alternative to Sauvignon Blanc, Chenin Blanc or Pinot Gris? Give this pretty little wine a shot! You'll be delighted!
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart

2014 Michel Autran "Les Enfers Tranquilles" Vouvray
Review Date: 04-21-2016
Bartlett pear, nutmeg and baking spices, honey, lemon pith, cream and mineral with balanced, medium plus acidity. A totally nerdy Chenin Blanc for a twist on your classic Vouvray. Love Loire Valley white? Under the spell of Chenin? Try this wine and be delighted!
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart

2013 Baricci Rosso di Montalcino
Review Date: 11-08-2015
Baricci's Rosso di Montalcino is the wine that made me fall in love with Italian wine in general, and Sangiovese in particular! The fact that it is made by some of the nicest people you'll ever meet makes it even more incredible. Francesco and Federico Buffi are the third generation of winemakers for the Baricci family. Their grandfather Nello Baricci had the foresight to purchase 5 gorgeous acres on the north side of Montalcino on the coveted Montosoli slopes. Their wines are a beautiful expression of the vibrant soil, bright sunlight, beloved craft, and the joyful nature of the family. Plush red cherry, cassis, bright cranberry, sandalwood, cola, tobacco, spice, and mineral with lively acidity and easy, well-integrated tannin. A hugely friendly wine, elegant and polished wine- perfect for Thanksgiving, and still my favorite Rosso!
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

Michel Loriot "Marie-Leopold" Sec Champagne
Review Date: 06-29-2015
Michel Loriot and his daughter & co-winemaker Marie have created a very special cuvee here. The Marie Leopold Sec (named so after Michel's daughter Marie and their great-great-great grandfather Leopold) has the tiniest dance of sweetness, with beautiful lemon zest, fresh apricot and flaky pie crust notes, with a chalky minerality and vibrant acidity that keep the sweetness from being heavy or dense. If you enjoy Prosecco, but are looking for something different and truly more elegant, try this pretty little cuvee. It's an homage to the Loriot family's history!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Underwood by Union Wine Co. Oregon Rosé (375ml can)
Review Date: 06-04-2015
It's here, it's here, it's finally here! The Underwood Rosé I've been waiting for since last June! Plush strawberry, unexpected peach, citrus, and red cherry with nice acidity and balance. Half a bottle for $5.99 in an easily portable, light can? SIGN ME UP! Head out to the beach, the park, a picnic, the pool, or a BBQ with cold cans and you will be the toast of the party! LOVE THIS!
Top Value!
Price: $5.99 Add To Cart

Venus Spirits Batch #2 Barrel Aged Gin (750ml)
Review Date: 04-01-2015
I've got a new favorite barrel aged gin, and its name is Venus Batch 2! Sean Venus hits it out of the park with each bottling of his carefully crafted, local Santa Cruz spirits. Not just another bottling of the same darn gin just thrown into a barrel, Venus actually created this spirit independent of his Batch 1 gin. Batch 2 winks at you from the shelf with a bright amber sparkle, with dried orange peel, nutmeg, star anise and gingerbread teasing you to make yourself a Negroni, for goodness sake! This puppy will be a mainstay on my bar from today forward!
Price: $36.99 Add To Cart

Anchor Old Tom Gin (750ml)
Review Date: 04-01-2015
This year is the first year that I have played around with the Old Tom sweeter style of gin, and the Anchor Old Tom now has a permanent position on my home bar shelf. Slightly sweet, with notes of lemon and orange zest, and spicy juniper, this gin is absolutely fabulous mixed with blood orange juice and a bit of soda water! Or, try it with grapefruit juice! Such a fun and festive gin for springtime!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Ariston Aspasie Blanc de Blancs Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-15-2015
I just threw our family's first baby shower for my brother and sister-in-law, and this was the Champagne of choice to celebrate the new little life on the way! I love this Champagne for its easy and yet elegant personality. Apple, cream, citrus, and mineral with the stunning golden wine visible through the clear glass. It looks gorgeous on ice at a party, and its accesibility make it a total win for Champagne neophytes and connoiseurs alike!
Top Value!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2012 Erik Banti "Carato" Toscana
Review Date: 02-10-2015
Every time I try a new vintage of this wine, I am reminded of how ridiculous this is for the price! The gorgeous Sangiovese stands out in this blend, with red cherry and sandalwood, the Merlot lends a little plummy fleshiness and the 10% Ciliegiolo a bit of mineral and delight. Seriously too good not to tuck away a few cases for your house wine! Fabulous with pizza, burgers, roasted chicken, antipasto--Salute!
Top Value!
Price: $8.99 Add To Cart

Charles Baur "Emotion" Cremant d'Alsace Brut
Review Date: 12-04-2014
Bright, fresh and elegant, the Chardonnay in this sparkling wine really shines with citrus, pear, apple and mineral. Looking for an affordable, classy wine for your holiday parties? Look no further!
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

2012 Millton Estate "Crazy By Nature" Chardonnay New Zealand
Review Date: 01-29-2014
Fabulously interesting nose on this Chardonnay: sweet orchid flowers, citrus, apple, pear with medium plus acidity. Incredible at $14.99!
Top Value!
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

Lot 40 Single Single Copper Pot Still Canadian Rye Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 01-15-2014
All the spice and flash of Rye that I love, with a vanilla, caramel, clove and cigarbox undernote with a soft, sweet finish. AWESOME!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
WE 97

Bruno Michel "Les Roses" Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 10-26-2013
Every time I taste this Champagne, I want to sit and linger with it for the rest of the afternoon. It's a totally nerdy rose, unlike anything else we have. Barrel fermented, all Pinot Meunier and aged in bottle for a year, this particular bottling is all from 2006 fruit. Red cherry, spice, vanilla, leather, funky earth with medium plus acidity and a long finish. What a fabulous, fun rose Champagne!
Price: $49.99 Add To Waiting List

Crabbies Ginger Beer, England (11.2oz)
Review Date: 09-03-2013
My go-to closing beer! When my colleagues are sipping brews from our unique selection, I sip my Crabbie's. This puppy tastes like alcoholic, fresh ginger ale. I love it! Zesty, fresh ginger with hints of citrus, I drink this whenever I can! Y-U-M!
Top Value!
Price: $2.29 Add To Cart

Louis Bouillot Cremant de Bourgogne "Perle d'Aurore" Brut Rosé
Review Date: 09-03-2013
Man, I love this wine. I had this again the other evening with pank-crusted salmon and a spinach salad, and it was light, pretty and delicious. Soft raspberry, strawberry and citrus with the tiniest hint of sweetness. The acidity really worked with my salmon's fattiness. Of course, the wine's pink sparkly glimmer on the dinner table in my wine glasses added to the ambiance. Stock up for birthday celebrations, brunch, baby showers, or just because it's a Tuesday night!
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

Caves Messias Santola "Crab Wine" Vinho Verde
Review Date: 09-01-2013
Love bright, fresh, affordable Vinho Verde? This is simply delish! Super low alcohol at 9%, this vinho verde is slightly fizzy, with notes of apple, pear and lime zest with fresh minerality and lots of zip. Stock up- this one has been flying out of the store in the hands of every staff member! (Including me!)
Top Value!
Price: $8.99 Add To Cart

Michel Loriot "Authentic" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 07-08-2013
Apple, pie crust toastiness, chalky minerality with a beautiful, persistent bead and balanced acidity. This is the real deal, folks. I love this 100% Meunier, insanely affordable Champagne! Thank you, Gary Westby!
Top Value!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
ST 90

2010 Tablas Creek "Esprit de Beaucastel" Paso Robles Rhône Blend
Review Date: 03-26-2013
Pretty black currant, cassis, blackberry, vanilla & blueberry with a meaty, savory, spicy edge. Medium plus acidty & medium plus tannin- a cellar worthy candidate to be sure. Always mainly Mourvedre, the Esprit de Beaucastel is the flagship red of Tablas Creek. 45% Mourvedre, 30% Grenache Noir, 21% Syrah, 4% Counoise.
Price: $54.99 Add To Cart
RP 94 ST 92

Fleury Blanc de Noirs Brut Champagne
Review Date: 12-08-2012
Every time I try this wine, I wonder why I don't drink more of it! Apple, toast and mineral make this champagne from our friends at Fleury perfectly balanced and well-suited to food. Grown organically and biodynamically, the care that is taken with each bottle will shine through. Perfect gift or party bubbly for the holidays!
Top Value!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2010 Malmaison, Moulis
Review Date: 11-30-2012
Elegant red cherry cola, chocolate and red currant. Medium plus acidity and medium plus tannins make this a wine to decant and enjoy with a steak! Delish!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JS 92

Bruno Michel "Blanche" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 11-24-2012
This has been my recent number one go-to champagne: I had a bottle with a friend at dinner, and then 2 days later had another to start a party, and I am buying a third tonight just because! Pretty spiced apple, white flowers, and citrus, with medium acid & a fine bubble structure. Very pleasant and quite friendly for such a complex wine. A lot of fun as a conversation starter at a cocktail party!
Top Value!
Price: $34.99 Add To Waiting List

Fluteau Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 11-06-2012
By far the darkest rose champagne I have ever seen, the color of this incredible Fluteau Rose Brut Champagne is the color of a classic Pinot Noir! Rich and fruity, with beautiful bubble structure and a clean finish. There is an element of the earth of a classic Burgundian Pinot Noir in the back ground in this startling champagne. A rose not to be missed.... A fabulous alternative to standard Pinot Noir on your Thanksgiving Day table! Think ahead for your holiday celebrations & stock up- this is unusual & incredible!
Top Value!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Deligeroy Cremant de Loire Brut
Review Date: 09-28-2012
What a screaming deal at $11.99! This bubbly from the Loire Valley will delight you with its refreshingly pleasant acidity, fine bubble structure, and hints of pear, apple and minerals. Chenin Blanc, Chardonnay & Cabernet Franc. When I first brought this wine home, I admittedly had intended to just mix it with my Mathilde Cassis for a Kir Royale, but I wanted to give the wine its proper due and poured a glass out straight first. A wonderful surprise met me, and I never did add that cassis.... the wine somehow disappeared too quickly! Perfect for holiday entertaining!
Top Value!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

Quartz Reef "Methode Traditionelle" Brut Central Otago (Biodynamic)
Review Date: 07-16-2012
I had the pleasure of tasting this elegant sparkling wine with the winemaker from New Zealand, who stopped by our store recently. Having just stepped off the plane not 24 hours prior, he was still enthusiastic about presenting us this wine! Pinot Noir dominates the blend with Chardonnay, with a sweet apple and pear, a lovely leesy toastiness, hints of mineral and zippy acid in the finish. This wine is biodynamic, hand picked, and done in the traditional method- and it is HAND riddled to boot! Not many sparkling wines left in the world today can claim that! The care taken with this wine is clear- and the price makes it a steal!
Top Value!

Cocchi Aperitivo Americano (750ml)
Review Date: 07-10-2012
Oooooh if you love Lillet Blanc but want something a little sweeter as an aperitif, try the Cocchi Americano! Mandarin orange, lemon, hints of white flowers with a sweet finish.... delicious on the rocks on a hot afternoon!
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart

Fleury Brut Rosé de Saignee Champagne
Review Date: 05-28-2012
Not only is the bottle design simply beautiful, this rose is quietly elegant and complex. 100% pinot noir gently pressed for the wine's pale salmon color, with light earth, well-balanced acidity & a backbone of minerality with a soft finish. This champagne is luscious & quite gorgeous. Great for a special celebration or as a very generous gift.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

Page: 1 2 next