Staff Favorites - Sarah Covey

Sarah Covey

Reviews

  
2015 Giuliano "Terre di Chieti" Pecorino
Review Date: 11-08-2016
Lemon pith, honeysuckle, pear, mineral and spice with lively acidity and a mouth-watering quality that keeps me coming back for more. I have found my Thanksgiving Day white!
Top Value!
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2013 Joseph Swan "Cuvée de Trois" Russian River Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 11-04-2016
Strawberry, spice, fresh cherry, red rose with medium-plus acidity. Food-friendly and would be a very pretty addition to your Thanksgiving table!
Top Value!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2015 Zudugarai "Amats" Getariako Txakolina
Review Date: 08-27-2016
Woohoo! It's finally Txak-o-clock! I love this affordable Txakoli. It's Red Delicious apple, lemon zest, saline, and Bartlett pear, with a refreshing acidity that makes me keep reaching for more! Lower alcohol, this is a wonderfully versatile aperitif wine. Perfect with fresh summer tomato crostini, the classic Spanish pairing of Marcona almonds and Manchego cheese, or even with a fish or chicken dish. Stock up!
Top Value!
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2015 Tormaresca "Calafuria" Salento Rosato
Review Date: 08-16-2016
Searching for a super fun, delightful Italian rose with a hint of fizz? Look no further! Strawberry, pink bubblegum and citrus with a slight sweetness and yet great balance that makes me want to immediately take off my shoes, sit on the porch, and enjoy la dolce far niente- the sweetness of doing nothing!
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2014 Villa Poggio Salvi Rosso di Montalcino
Review Date: 08-16-2016
Old school, classic Sangiovese from Montalcino! Red cherry, hints of rose, iron, warm leather, wet gravel, baking spices, with medium plus acidity and medium tannin. I want to drink this with a Pork Ragu, Cinghale risotto or a big fat steak. I love this wine!
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Tour Boisée "Plantation 1905"
Review Date: 08-16-2016
Such a fun little every day red! A blend of 23 grape varieties, this wine shows blackberry, cassis, Santa Rosa plum, and raspberry, with balanced, easy acidity but tannin and structure for seriousness! I am firing up the grill tonight for a fun BBQ of ribs and tri tip to enjoy with this lovely little wine!
Top Value!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

2015 Château Viranel "Tradition" Saint-Chinian Rosé
Review Date: 08-16-2016
Rec cherry, cranberry, watermelon and jasmine, with beautifully balanced acidity. This wine never fails to impress me- and consistently delivers above its price point!
Top Value!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2015 Château Saint Jacques d'Albas "Domaine d'Albas" Minervois Rosé
Review Date: 08-16-2016
Here's what I love about rose season- it just keeps on coming! This insanely delicious rose delivers on all of my favorites- pretty strawberry, lemon zest, mineral, watermelon and Bing cherry with fabulous acidity and snap. Yes, please! Stock up!
Top Value!
Price: Hidden View Price

2014 Domaine de l'Aigle À Deux Têtes Savagnin "Les Clous" Côtes du Jura Blanc
Review Date: 08-16-2016
Holy Moly! This non-oxidized Jura blanc is awesome! Dried apricot, dried pear, baking spices, mineral and citrus, with medium plus acidity- a refreshing and delicious experience. leaving me both hungry and wanting more!
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart

2012 Trimbach Muscat Reserve Alsace
Review Date: 08-16-2016
Honey, orange marmalade, lemon zest, and honeysuckle with medium plus, fabulously balanced acidity. Vibrant, fresh and not even remotely cloying, this refreshing wine would be excellent paired with classic dishes such as asparagus, salad or artichokes! Yep, that's right- those notoriously hard to match foods with this wine and you have an incredible experience! Cheers!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2011 Vignobles des 2 Lunes "Comète" Cremant d'Alsace
Review Date: 08-16-2016
This 100% Biodynamic sparkling wine is 100% delicious! Pear, citrus, spice and cream with soft and elegant mouthfeel and pretty, balanced acidity. A lovely daily bubbly for your table!
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart

San Venanzio Prosecco Valdobbiadene Superiore Brut
Review Date: 07-12-2016
This Prosecco never fails to impress me. Pretty citrus, pear, spice and golden delicious apple nose, lovely minerality. A clean and refreshing Prosecco for your summer entertaining! Try it with fresh black figs wrapped in proscuitto, tiny goat cheese & fontina grilled cheese sandwiches, or simply to toast a fun night with friends.
Top Value!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
WE 91

Four Pillars Rare Dry Gin 750ml
Review Date: 06-23-2016
I LOVE THIS GIN! Coming from a person who at present has 21 different open bottles of Gin on her bar (and, no I am not exaggerating), this is the Gin I am going through at the most rapid clip right now. It's killer. When I met the hilarious and entertaining man who made it- Stuart- he put a tiny slice of orange in my G&T. I thought he was nuts. Then I tried it. I refuse to drink my G&Ts any other way now- the brightness of a fresh piece of orange (or a twist) beautifully enhances the orange notes in this fun Gin. Looking for a really fun new Gin for summer? This is it!!!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2015 Leitz Pinot Noir Rosé Rheingau
Review Date: 06-21-2016
Red cherry, cranberry, wet stone, and vibrant acidity make this rosé from Leitz very drinkable and very food friendly. I'm thinking grilled herb sausages, roasted chicken, or a platter full of cheese, olives and hummus, though it would be lovely with pork chops or a juicy steak, too!
Price: Hidden View Price

2015 Domaine Begude "Les Paradis" Viognier Pays d’Oc
Review Date: 06-21-2016
One of the things that I consistently can count on about Domaine Begude is the beautiful balance of all of their wine. This lovely Viognier is no exception - it has everything I look for in a properly made Viognier (which I admit, is no small task): the pretty honeysuckle aromatics, notes of peach and apricot, lemon zest and spice, with medium-plus acidity and truly perfect balance. I can't wait to grill up some spicy shrimp, get Pad Thai takeout, or put a classic French cheese board to the test with this wine - I am confident this Viognier will not only stand up to it all, but prove to be queen of it all.
Top Value!
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart

2014 FRAM Chenin Blanc Citrusdal Mountain
Review Date: 06-21-2016
A stunning old vine, dry farmed Chenin Blanc from decomposed granite soil for this price? Sign me up! Spiced pear, lemon zest, honey, and apricot with medium plus acidity, 13.5% alcohol and perfectly balanced old vine richness. A true gem!
Price: $22.99 Add To Cart

2015 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Pinot Noir Rosé Marlborough
Review Date: 05-27-2016
Classic Pinot Noir's pretty cranberry, cherry and spice, this TWR rose has been a long time coming! We begged and begged Anna and Jason to make this wine for us- and we now get to enjoy the fruits of their labor! Refreshing acidity make this wonderful with roasted chicken, salmon on the grill, or even with apps and a cheese platter. Scoop it up while you can- before the staff buys it all!
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart

2015 Lambuena Rosado Ribera Del Duero
Review Date: 05-27-2016
If you are looking for a juicy, easy to drink bottle of plush and pretty rose, look no further! Perfect for fans of slightly richer rose, this Lambuena stunner shows strawberry, raspberry and spice with lively acidity. Find me a patio on a warm, sunny afternoon surrounded by fun people and a good time will be had by all!
Top Value!
Price: Hidden View Price

2006 Veuve Clicquot "La Grande Dame" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-27-2016
Simply gorgeous. Elegant pear, citrus, honey and cream. Easy, nuanced, delicate Champagne. Well done, M.DeMarville!

2014 Foundi Xinomavro Blanc de Noir Imathia
Review Date: 04-21-2016
This wine was a total shock - a rare white Xinomavro! The classic Greek varietal shows here with incredible poise and balance. Citrus pith, spice, saline and just a hint of lees, with an incredibly zesty minerality that leaves me reaching for my glass. Fabulous for warm weather!
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2014 Claude Branger "Terroir Les Gras Moutons" Muscadet Sèvre et Maine sur Lie
Review Date: 04-21-2016
For $2 more than the classic "Les Fils de Gras Mouton" that Branger is famous for, the "Terroir" way over-delivers for the price. This is a plot of 50 year old vines on a band of Gneiss soil in the same vineyard where the "Les Fils" is grown. The Gneiss expresses the "Terroir" (get it?) by giving the wine an interesting mouth-watering savory salinity, citrus pith, notes of wet rocks, with zippy acidity. The lees here are subtle and just give a touch of texture. A wine of vast complexity for the crazy low price!
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2014 Zafeirakis Malagouzia Thessaly
Review Date: 04-21-2016
Holy Moly! This is warm weather goodness! Citrus, lychee, honeysuckle, pear, spice and notes of chalk with medium plus acidity and great fruit to acid balance. Looking for an unusual alternative to Sauvignon Blanc, Chenin Blanc or Pinot Gris? Give this pretty little wine a shot! You'll be delighted!
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart

2014 Michel Autran "Les Enfers Tranquilles" Vouvray
Review Date: 04-21-2016
Bartlett pear, nutmeg and baking spices, honey, lemon pith, cream and mineral with balanced, medium plus acidity. A totally nerdy Chenin Blanc for a twist on your classic Vouvray. Love Loire Valley white? Under the spell of Chenin? Try this wine and be delighted!
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart

2013 Mt. Hector Pinot Noir Wairarapa
Review Date: 01-07-2016
Raspberry, black cherry and cassis make this pretty, easy, juicy and affordable Pinot Noir a total no-brainer for your every day drinker wine in 2016! With fabulously bright, fresh fruit and nice acidity to balance it out, this is a winner. You'll be delighted to pour this for family and friends any night of the week! Buy by the case!
Top Value!
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart
BC 92

2013 Tongue In Groove "The Mound Vineyard" Riesling Waipara Valley
Review Date: 07-15-2015
Aaaaand the Tongue in Groove Riesling brings it again! Seriously fabulous Riesling, most excellently crafted. Apricot, peach, and citrus with classic mandarin orange marmalade botrytis notes with a delicious sweetness that is perfectly balanced with the acidity. Stock up- last year the staff bought 90% of the stock!
Top Value!

Venus Spirits Batch #2 Barrel Aged Gin (750ml)
Review Date: 04-01-2015
I've got a new favorite barrel aged gin, and its name is Venus Batch 2! Sean Venus hits it out of the park with each bottling of his carefully crafted, local Santa Cruz spirits. Not just another bottling of the same darn gin just thrown into a barrel, Venus actually created this spirit independent of his Batch 1 gin. Batch 2 winks at you from the shelf with a bright amber sparkle, with dried orange peel, nutmeg, star anise and gingerbread teasing you to make yourself a Negroni, for goodness sake! This puppy will be a mainstay on my bar from today forward!
Price: $36.99 Add To Cart

Ariston Aspasie Blanc de Blancs Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-15-2015
I just threw our family's first baby shower for my brother and sister-in-law, and this was the Champagne of choice to celebrate the new little life on the way! I love this Champagne for its easy and yet elegant personality. Apple, cream, citrus, and mineral with the stunning golden wine visible through the clear glass. It looks gorgeous on ice at a party, and its accesibility make it a total win for Champagne neophytes and connoiseurs alike!
Top Value!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Charles Baur Cremant d'Alsace Brut Rosé
Review Date: 12-04-2014
Crunchy cranberry and juicy strawberry make this lovely sparkling wine an easy choice for elegant and fun holiday entertaining! Spice things up with this top value rose!
Top Value!
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
WE 89

Charles Baur "Emotion" Cremant d'Alsace Brut
Review Date: 12-04-2014
Bright, fresh and elegant, the Chardonnay in this sparkling wine really shines with citrus, pear, apple and mineral. Looking for an affordable, classy wine for your holiday parties? Look no further!
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

Lot 40 Single Single Copper Pot Still Canadian Rye Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 01-15-2014
All the spice and flash of Rye that I love, with a vanilla, caramel, clove and cigarbox undernote with a soft, sweet finish. AWESOME!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WE 97

2008 Bruno Michel "Les Roses" Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 10-26-2013
Every time I taste this Champagne, I want to sit and linger with it for the rest of the afternoon. It's a totally nerdy rose, unlike anything else we have. Barrel fermented, all Pinot Meunier and aged in bottle for a year, this particular bottling is all from 2006 fruit. Red cherry, spice, vanilla, leather, funky earth with medium plus acidity and a long finish. What a fabulous, fun rose Champagne!
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

Crabbies Ginger Beer, England (11.2oz)
Review Date: 09-03-2013
My go-to closing beer! When my colleagues are sipping brews from our unique selection, I sip my Crabbie's. This puppy tastes like alcoholic, fresh ginger ale. I love it! Zesty, fresh ginger with hints of citrus, I drink this whenever I can! Y-U-M!
Top Value!
Price: $2.29 Add To Cart

Louis Bouillot Cremant de Bourgogne "Perle d'Aurore" Brut Rosé
Review Date: 09-03-2013
Man, I love this wine. I had this again the other evening with pank-crusted salmon and a spinach salad, and it was light, pretty and delicious. Soft raspberry, strawberry and citrus with the tiniest hint of sweetness. The acidity really worked with my salmon's fattiness. Of course, the wine's pink sparkly glimmer on the dinner table in my wine glasses added to the ambiance. Stock up for birthday celebrations, brunch, baby showers, or just because it's a Tuesday night!
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

Caves Messias Santola "Crab Wine" Vinho Verde
Review Date: 09-01-2013
Love bright, fresh, affordable Vinho Verde? This is simply delish! Super low alcohol at 9%, this vinho verde is slightly fizzy, with notes of apple, pear and lime zest with fresh minerality and lots of zip. Stock up- this one has been flying out of the store in the hands of every staff member! (Including me!)
Top Value!
Price: $8.99 Add To Cart

2010 Tablas Creek "Esprit de Beaucastel" Paso Robles Rhône Blend
Review Date: 03-26-2013
Pretty black currant, cassis, blackberry, vanilla & blueberry with a meaty, savory, spicy edge. Medium plus acidty & medium plus tannin- a cellar worthy candidate to be sure. Always mainly Mourvedre, the Esprit de Beaucastel is the flagship red of Tablas Creek. 45% Mourvedre, 30% Grenache Noir, 21% Syrah, 4% Counoise.
Price: $54.99 Add To Cart
RP 94 ST 92

Fleury Blanc de Noirs Brut Champagne
Review Date: 12-08-2012
Every time I try this wine, I wonder why I don't drink more of it! Apple, toast and mineral make this champagne from our friends at Fleury perfectly balanced and well-suited to food. Grown organically and biodynamically, the care that is taken with each bottle will shine through. Perfect gift or party bubbly for the holidays!
Top Value!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$34.99
VN 91

1998 Bodegas Casa Juan Señor de Lesmos Gran Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 12-08-2012
This is a gorgeous wine! Moving gracefully into its secondary characteristics, with stewed cherry, hints of leather and earth. Still had medium plus acid and fine tannins, leading me to believe this puppy will continue to age well for at least another 5-10 years. Drink it now after decanting, and you will not be diasppointed!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2010 Malmaison, Moulis
Review Date: 11-30-2012
Elegant red cherry cola, chocolate and red currant. Medium plus acidity and medium plus tannins make this a wine to decant and enjoy with a steak! Delish!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JS 92

Bruno Michel "Blanche" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 11-24-2012
This has been my recent number one go-to champagne: I had a bottle with a friend at dinner, and then 2 days later had another to start a party, and I am buying a third tonight just because! Pretty spiced apple, white flowers, and citrus, with medium acid & a fine bubble structure. Very pleasant and quite friendly for such a complex wine. A lot of fun as a conversation starter at a cocktail party!
Top Value!
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

Deligeroy Cremant de Loire Brut
Review Date: 09-28-2012
What a screaming deal at $11.99! This bubbly from the Loire Valley will delight you with its refreshingly pleasant acidity, fine bubble structure, and hints of pear, apple and minerals. Chenin Blanc, Chardonnay & Cabernet Franc. When I first brought this wine home, I admittedly had intended to just mix it with my Mathilde Cassis for a Kir Royale, but I wanted to give the wine its proper due and poured a glass out straight first. A wonderful surprise met me, and I never did add that cassis.... the wine somehow disappeared too quickly! Perfect for holiday entertaining!
Top Value!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

Cocchi Aperitivo Americano (750ml)
Review Date: 07-10-2012
Oooooh if you love Lillet Blanc but want something a little sweeter as an aperitif, try the Cocchi Americano! Mandarin orange, lemon, hints of white flowers with a sweet finish.... delicious on the rocks on a hot afternoon!
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart

Fleury Brut Rosé de Saignee Champagne
Review Date: 05-28-2012
Not only is the bottle design simply beautiful, this rose is quietly elegant and complex. 100% pinot noir gently pressed for the wine's pale salmon color, with light earth, well-balanced acidity & a backbone of minerality with a soft finish. This champagne is luscious & quite gorgeous. Great for a special celebration or as a very generous gift.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart
VN 90

Ariston Aspasie Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 12-29-2011
Minerally, cranberry and tart- the perfect pairing with smoked salmon appetizers. The richness of the salmon would be outstanding with the crisp mineral zip of this fantastic rose. Another excellent demonstration of the care and passion that Ariston Aspasie and family put into their champagne. Drink deep- Happy New Year!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Ariston Aspasie "Carte Blanche" Brut Champagne (375ml)
Review Date: 11-21-2011
A teeny-tiny version of the Aspasie classic Carte Blanche? Get me a picnic basket or a seat by the fire! I'm in! A miniature version of the well-balanced, delicious champagne that we sell by the, well, boatload as it were. Get it now- this is all that is left!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

King's Ginger Liqueur (750ml)
Review Date: 11-17-2011
Fans of fresh grated ginger rejoice! This is the stuff for you! No cloying stickiness here, just lots of spice and real ginger heat. Made with 20 year old Glenrothes, and macerated with real fresh ginger root- just add soda!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

St. George "Terroir" Mt. Tam Gin (750ml)
Review Date: 11-15-2011
Having read Melissa and David's reviews of this gin, I was excited but rather dubious in approaching it- how could it be so expressive of the terrior of Northern California? I poured it over ice, added some Fevertree Tonic water and a splash of lime and BAM! Hands down the most incredible experience of drinking in the landscape I love so much! Bay laurel, damp redwood, eucalyptus, wild fennel & dill- this California girl is enraptured!
Price: $30.99 Add To Cart

La Caudrina "La Selvatica" Asti
Review Date: 07-04-2011
A soft, mildly sweet Moscato d'Asti with light floral aromas. A pleasant choice (best when chilled) to enjoy on its own or for a sunny Sunday brunch on the terrace with friends!
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart
GR 2

St. Germain Elderflower Liqueur (750ml)
Review Date: 07-04-2011
Drinking St. Germain is like drinking liquid flowers! Subtle, sweet and captivating. Who knew that hand-picked elderflowers from the French Alps could be so lovely? Delicious with Gran Cava champagne with a curly twist of orange, even more amazing with soda on the rocks! I served St. Germain with soda and fresh watermelon juice at a springtime cocktail party, and could hardly keep up with the demand! My absolute favorite spirit for spring and summer!
Price: $32.99 Add To Cart
WE 96 - 100