Staff Favorites - Sarah Covey

Sarah Covey

Reviews

  
Page: 1 2 next
2010 Von Hövel Oberemmeler Hütte Riesling Spätlese
Review Date: 04-21-2015
Zesty and refreshing, this Spatlese is light on its feet! Apricot, citrus, and honey with great balance and drinkability. Yum!
Price: $17.99 Add To Waiting List
ST 90 WS 90

2014 Copain "Tous Ensemble" Anderson Valley Rosé
Review Date: 04-10-2015
Crunchy cranberry, red currant, bright red cherry, mineral with zesty, refreshing acidity. On the leaner side of rose, this is delicious on its own and killer with food! Stock up!
Price: $16.99 Add To Waiting List

2014 Palmina "Botasea" Santa Barbara County Rosato
Review Date: 04-09-2015
Strawberry, red currant, watermelon, nice acidity- juicy and easy. I served this to my family for our Easter dinner this year, and it was perfect with roasted ham, scalloped potatoes and green beans! An interesting blend of Sangiovese, Barbera and Dolcetto. A blend by Chrystal Clifton to raise awareness of breast cancer.
Price: $17.99 Add To Waiting List

2014 Txomin Etaniz Rosé Getariako Txakolina
Review Date: 04-09-2015
Well hellooooooo summer! Man, I seriously love Txakoli. This Txakoli rose has cemented itself as my spring and summer sipper. Perfectly approachable with strawberry, red cherry, and cranberry but there is also the wonderful chalky, sightly funky earthy note of the classic Txakoli grapes, too- in a totally delicious way! Just a teeny bit fizzy, with mouth-watering acidity- perfect for priming the palate for dinner!
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List

2014 Domaine Fontsainte "Gris de Gris" Corbières Rosé
Review Date: 04-09-2015
Strawberry, pretty cranberry, watermelon, mineral, refreshing acidity- faaaaaaaaabulous first rose of the season! Better buy it asap- this was last summer's staff favorite and it is again this year!
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List

2011 Fromm "La Strada" Pinot Noir Marlborough
Review Date: 04-02-2015
This wine gets better every time I taste it. Beautifully elegant, red rose & red cherry, sandalwood, cassis, currant, mineral and hints of earthiness. Lively acidity and soft, easy tannin. A total no-brainer to stock up on as we start a warm spring!
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List
JS 93

2012 Eric Cottat Sancerre Rouge
Review Date: 04-02-2015
Super crunchy cranberry, red cherry, tart red currant and sandalwood, with an undercurrent of minerality. Definitely medium plus acidity, and easy tannin, so a perfect match with food- I enjoyed this alongside my roasted chicken with herbed goat cheese. Interested in experiencing what Pinot Noir is like from the Sancerre region? This friendly, fun wine is the perfect place to start!
Price: $17.99 Add To Waiting List

Venus Spirits Batch #2 Gin 750ml
Review Date: 04-01-2015
I've got a new favorite barrel aged gin, and its name is Venus Batch 2! Sean Venus hits it out of the park with each bottling of his carefully crafted, local Santa Cruz spirits. Not just another bottling of the same darn gin just thrown into a barrel, Venus actually created this spirit independent of his Batch 1 gin. Batch 2 winks at you from the shelf with a bright amber sparkle, with dried orange peel, nutmeg, star anise and gingerbread teasing you to make yourself a Negroni, for goodness sake! This puppy will be a mainstay on my bar from today forward!
Price: $36.99 Add To Waiting List

Anchor Old Tom Gin 750ml
Review Date: 04-01-2015
This year is the first year that I have played around with the Old Tom sweeter style of gin, and the Anchor Old Tom now has a permanent position on my home bar shelf. Slightly sweet, with notes of lemon and orange zest, and spicy juniper, this gin is absolutely fabulous mixed with blood orange juice and a bit of soda water! Or, try it with grapefruit juice! Such a fun and festive gin for springtime!
Price: $29.99 Add To Waiting List

Marietta "Old Vine Red-Lot #62" Red Blend
Review Date: 03-30-2015
Jake and Scot Bilbro have re-launched their father's historic winery into the future. The Marietta Old Vine Red is still an amazing value and really, really good stuff. I love that they are carrying on the tradition of deliciously drinkable, affordable, well-made juice with this wine. Always a blend of old vine Zinfandel (and a few other reds they won't tell you!). Blackberry, black currant, cassis, and spice with medium plus acidity and medium tannin. Throwing a BBQ? Hosting a graduation party? Having a wedding reception? Kicking off the summer with a block party? This is one wine that needs to be on your list!
Top Value!
Price: $11.99 Add To Waiting List
WS 90

2014 Patton Valley Willamette Valley Pinot Noir Rosé
Review Date: 03-30-2015
My friend Derek, the winemaker at Patton Valley, has made us such a fun rose to kick off the rose season! All Pinot Noir, this puppy is brimming with cranberry, red cherry, strawberry and red currant with zesty, fresh acidity. Pull up a chair on a sunny patio, pour a glass of this delightful rose, and let your cares fall away! But you better hurry- I might just buy it all first!
Top Value!
Price: $16.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Akitu "A1" Pinot Noir Central Otago (Black Label)
Review Date: 03-30-2015
The Akitu 1 Pinot Noir Black Label is a stunning, undeniably elegant wine. With clonal material from DRC in Burgundy, it shows all of the grace and poise of its genetic roots, with the vibrancy and purity of fruit I love about Central Otago Pinot Noir. Black currant, plum, red cherry, sandalwood, spice, red roses, and mineral, with medium plus acidity and medium tannin. Described by the winemaker as "The Chanel Suit" of his two Pinots (the Akitu 2 is his flashier "Dolce & Gabbana"), like classic Chanel, this wine is stunning now, and no doubt will continue to age with understated elegance. Buy as much as you can.
Price: $29.99 Add To Waiting List
DC 95

Ariston Aspasie Blanc de Blancs Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-15-2015
I just threw our family's first baby shower for my brother and sister-in-law, and this was the Champagne of choice to celebrate the new little life on the way! I love this Champagne for its easy and yet elegant personality. Apple, cream, citrus, and mineral with the stunning golden wine visible through the clear glass. It looks gorgeous on ice at a party, and its accesibility make it a total win for Champagne neophytes and connoiseurs alike!
Top Value!
Price: $34.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Terre da Vino "Masseria dei Carmelitani" Gavi di Gavi
Review Date: 02-10-2015
This Gavi di Gavi is everything that I love about Italian white--mineral, citrus, white stone fruit and hints of jasmine, with high acid and a mouth-watering drinkability. For the price, this is one white you should want to stock up on for spring and summer!
Top Value!
Price: $11.99 Add To Waiting List

2011 Tassi Rosso di Montalcino
Review Date: 02-09-2015
My love affair with Sangiovese continues.... Beautiful fresh cherry compote, cassis, mineral, sandalwood spice, and the tiniest hint of smoke & earth, with elegant, fine tannin and medium plus acidity. This lovely Rosso shows everything that Sangiovese Grosso is about- finesse, grace, and beautiful fruit. Guzzle this by the gallon while you are waiting for your Tassi Brunello to age! Try this with a San Daniele prosciutto & truffle oil pizza!
Price: $26.99 Add To Waiting List
ST 90

Colonel E.H. Taylor, Jr. Small Batch Bottled in Bond Straight Kentucky Bourbon 750ml
Review Date: 01-08-2015
Fans of soft, supple, easy-sipping bourbon should snap this puppy up immediately. Sweet corn, vanilla, spice and light caramel with a long, lingering finish. You will absolutely want to have this on your bar for sipping on the rocks, or as a killer component in any bourbon cocktail. It's awesome!
Price: $39.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Patient Cottat "Le Grand Caillou" Sauvignon Blanc
Review Date: 01-08-2015
This wine amazes me every vintage for its balance, deliciousness, and price performance. Grapefruit and mineral with bright, refreshing, zesty acidity. A must for your daily-drinker white category! Buy by the case--this budget-friendly wine will take you easily from January through summertime, delighting your friends and family with its accessibility--and quaffability!
Top Value!
Price: $9.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 Charles Baur Eichberg Riesling Grand Cru
Review Date: 12-04-2014
A pretty Riesling, with fabulous acidity! With a tiny hint of sweetness, starfruit, citrus and mineral, this wine really showcases the seriousness of Grand Cru Alsatian Riesling.
Price: $24.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 92

Charles Baur Cremant d'Alsace Brut Rosé
Review Date: 12-04-2014
Crunchy cranberry and juicy strawberry make this lovely sparkling wine an easy choice for elegant and fun holiday entertaining! Spice things up with this top value rose!
Top Value!
Price: $17.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 89

Charles Baur "Emotion" Cremant d'Alsace Brut
Review Date: 12-04-2014
Bright, fresh and elegant, the Chardonnay in this sparkling wine really shines with citrus, pear, apple and mineral. Looking for an affordable, classy wine for your holiday parties? Look no further!
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 90

2012 Filippi "Castelcerino" Soave Colli Scaligeri
Review Date: 11-26-2014
What a tremendously interesting white! Citrus, tart green apple, leesy richness, and a saline character that is a result of the volcanic soils in which the grapes are grown. Medium-plus quite zesty acidity. The length of this wine is significant--about 10 minutes after tasting, it was still lingering on my palate. A fabulous value--I am excited to give this a go with a cheese platter, roasted chicken or scallops!
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Guy Saget "Marie de Beauregard" Vouvray
Review Date: 11-25-2014
Whoa! Simply gorgeous Vouvray! Honey, apricot, pear, citrus, mineral and zesty, fresh acid. A hint of sweetness with perfectly balanced acidity means this is a fabulous wine to pair with food. Bring on the winter sauces and game--we've got a white contender! If you loved last year's vintage of this wine, trust me, you're going to go nuts for this one!
Top Value!
Price: $15.99 Add To Waiting List
WS 91

2012 Zepaltas "Clay Wheels" Rhone Blend
Review Date: 11-20-2014
Former pro-skater Ryan Zepaltas really brings it with this juicy, drinkable red blend. Grenache, Syrah & Carignan. Plum, cherry, and currant with medium plus acidity. A fun wine for every day drinking!
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 Ad Lib (Larry Cherubino) "Avant Gardening" Malbec / Cabernet Western Australia
Review Date: 10-26-2014
What a killer holiday party wine! Red plum, red cherry, currant and blackberry notes with medium plus acidity & soft, easy tannin. Quite the charmer!
Price: Hidden View Price
JH 94

2009 Il Valentiano "Campo di Marzo" Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 10-01-2014
Just when you thought that we had found all of the amazing, tiny producers in Montalcino to bring you incredible Brunello, Greg St. Clair has scored another coup with the Il Valentiano wines. Valentina and Fabbiolo blended their names together to create the name- and we are proud to say that the lovely estate near Caprili is quite the find. This 2009 is showing beautifully right now, but would easily quite happily slumber in your cellar for a while, too. Open it now and decant it, and it will delight you with notes of red cherry, cassis, spice, stewed cherries and earthiness. Medium plus acidity and medium tannin, this elegant, classy Brunello will not disappoint you!
Price: $29.99 Add To Waiting List

Wine Club

$26.99
WE 91 JS 90

2013 Oustric Picpoul de Pinet
Review Date: 09-03-2014
Pear, mineral, grapefruit zest with medium plus acidity. A juicy, fun and easy introduction to the world of Picpoul de Pinet! Fabulous value!
Top Value!
Price: $10.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Zudugarai "Amats" Getariako Txakolina
Review Date: 08-07-2014
Our friends at Zudugarai Amats bring it again! Zippy freshness with a hint of fizz and low alcohol- delish! Lime zest, mineral, green pear with a lively acidity that makes me reach for the bottle to pour another glass. It's time to kick off your shoes, break out the aged Manchego, olives and Marcona almonds, grab a glass, and hit the patio- it's Txak-O'Clock somewhere!
Top Value!
Price: $12.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 Suñer Bibiloni Ca Sa Padrino "Montenegro" Binissalem (Mallorca)
Review Date: 06-26-2014
Red wine from Mallorca, you say? Why, yes indeed! We have had this pretty little wine on our shelves for some time, but revisiting it this week, I was struck again by how lovely it is. I would like to think it shows the light-hearted joyfulness of the island- red cherry, dried apricots, tarragon, and dried orange peel with medium plus acidity and soft, easy tannin. Fun, bright, fresh and very easy to drink. Crazy price for such a great wine!
Price: Hidden View Price

2012 Glen Carlou Chardonnay Paarl South Africa
Review Date: 01-29-2014
Crazy value in this South African Chardonnay: rich, Meursault-like quality with butter, apple, vanilla and an interesting nutty note. Well-balanced with medium-plus acidity. Insanely good for $12.99!
Top Value!
Price: $12.99 Add To Waiting List

Lot 40 Single Pot Still Canadian Rye Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 01-15-2014
All the spice and flash of Rye that I love, with a vanilla, caramel, clove and cigarbox undernote with a soft, sweet finish. AWESOME!
Price: $54.99 Add To Waiting List

2010 Lambuena Crianza Ribera del Duero
Review Date: 12-11-2013
Red cherry, red currant, red plum, cassis, and notes of coconut from the American oak, the Lambuena Crianza has medium plus acidity and medium tannin. Organically farmed grapes. Bright, fresh and very drinkable! I have been waiting for the Lambuena wines to arrive for what feels like forever! As our first Direct Import from Ribera Del Duero, I couldn't be more proud of how these wines are showing! Salud!
Top Value!
Price: Hidden View Price

Bruno Michel "Les Roses" Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 10-26-2013
Every time I taste this Champagne, I want to sit and linger with it for the rest of the afternoon. It's a totally nerdy rose, unlike anything else we have. Barrel fermented, all Pinot Meunier and aged in bottle for a year, this particular bottling is all from 2006 fruit. Red cherry, spice, vanilla, leather, funky earth with medium plus acidity and a long finish. What a fabulous, fun rose Champagne!
Price: $49.99 Add To Waiting List

Crabbies Ginger Beer, England 11.2oz
Review Date: 09-03-2013
My go-to closing beer! When my colleagues are sipping brews from our unique selection, I sip my Crabbie's. This puppy tastes like alcoholic, fresh ginger ale. I love it! Zesty, fresh ginger with hints of citrus, I drink this whenever I can! Y-U-M!
Top Value!
Price: $2.49 Add To Waiting List

Louis Bouillot Cremant de Bourgogne "Perle d'Aurore" Brut Rosé
Review Date: 09-03-2013
Man, I love this wine. I had this again the other evening with pank-crusted salmon and a spinach salad, and it was light, pretty and delicious. Soft raspberry, strawberry and citrus with the tiniest hint of sweetness. The acidity really worked with my salmon's fattiness. Of course, the wine's pink sparkly glimmer on the dinner table in my wine glasses added to the ambiance. Stock up for birthday celebrations, brunch, baby showers, or just because it's a Tuesday night!
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List

Caves Messias Santola "Crab Wine" Vinho Verde
Review Date: 09-01-2013
Love bright, fresh, affordable Vinho Verde? This is simply delish! Super low alcohol at 9%, this vinho verde is slightly fizzy, with notes of apple, pear and lime zest with fresh minerality and lots of zip. Stock up- this one has been flying out of the store in the hands of every staff member! (Including me!)
Top Value!
Price: $8.99 Add To Waiting List

1976 Couly Dutheil "Baronnie Madeleine" Chinon
Review Date: 07-21-2013
This wine is drinking beautifully right now. Stewed red cherry, warm saddle leather, earth, mineral, sandalwood with great acidity, even at 37 years old. Well-balanced, elegant, fine tannin. An incredible value for older Chinon. A rare treat.
Price: $59.99 Add To Waiting List

1999 Bodegas Puelles Gran Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 07-15-2013
Oh Gran Reserva, how I love thee...This gorgeous 1999 from Puelles is in the absolutely perfect spot for drinking! Stewed red cherry, red currant, leather, earth, spice, licorice, and mineral with silky, elegant tannin & medium plus acid. An excellent example of Gran Reserva for $20? Are you nuts!? Stock up now!
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 91

2009 Saarloos & Sons "His" Santa Ynez Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 04-08-2013
Red cherry, red plum, red currant, sandalwood, spice, cassis. Medium plus acidity & medium plus tannin. Well-balanced and ridiculously juicy & drinkable.
Price: $39.99 Add To Waiting List

2010 Tablas Creek "Esprit de Beaucastel" Paso Robles Rhône Blend
Review Date: 03-26-2013
Pretty black currant, cassis, blackberry, vanilla & blueberry with a meaty, savory, spicy edge. Medium plus acidty & medium plus tannin- a cellar worthy candidate to be sure. Always mainly Mourvedre, the Esprit de Beaucastel is the flagship red of Tablas Creek. 45% Mourvedre, 30% Grenache Noir, 21% Syrah, 4% Counoise.
Price: $54.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 94 ST 92

2009 Brewer-Clifton "Sweeney Canyon" Sta. Rita Hills Chardonnay
Review Date: 03-19-2013
Apple, butter, vanilla, mineral, with medium plus acidity. Rich and textural.
Price: $54.99 Add To Waiting List
ST 94 RP 91

2010 Qupe "Sawyer Lindquist Vineyard" Edna Valley Grenache
Review Date: 03-18-2013
Red cherry, raspberry, pepper, spice, mineral with medium plus acidity and medium tannin. This wine is from the Demeter certified Biodynamic Sawyer Linquist vineyard in Edna Valley. A distinct, varietally correct, delicious Grenache. Awesome.
Price: $29.99 Add To Waiting List
ST 90 W&S 90

Fleury Blanc de Noirs Brut Champagne
Review Date: 12-08-2012
Every time I try this wine, I wonder why I don't drink more of it! Apple, toast and mineral make this champagne from our friends at Fleury perfectly balanced and well-suited to food. Grown organically and biodynamically, the care that is taken with each bottle will shine through. Perfect gift or party bubbly for the holidays!
Top Value!
Price: $39.99 Add To Waiting List

1998 Bodegas Casa Juan Señor de Lesmos Gran Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 12-08-2012
This is a gorgeous wine! Moving gracefully into its secondary characteristics, with stewed cherry, hints of leather and earth. Still had medium plus acid and fine tannins, leading me to believe this puppy will continue to age well for at least another 5-10 years. Drink it now after decanting, and you will not be diasppointed!
Price: $29.99 Add To Waiting List

Fluteau Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 11-06-2012
By far the darkest rose champagne I have ever seen, the color of this incredible Fluteau Rose Brut Champagne is the color of a classic Pinot Noir! Rich and fruity, with beautiful bubble structure and a clean finish. There is an element of the earth of a classic Burgundian Pinot Noir in the back ground in this startling champagne. A rose not to be missed.... A fabulous alternative to standard Pinot Noir on your Thanksgiving Day table! Think ahead for your holiday celebrations & stock up- this is unusual & incredible!
Top Value!
Price: $34.99 Add To Waiting List

Cocchi Aperitivo Americano 750ml
Review Date: 07-10-2012
Oooooh if you love Lillet Blanc but want something a little sweeter as an aperitif, try the Cocchi Americano! Mandarin orange, lemon, hints of white flowers with a sweet finish.... delicious on the rocks on a hot afternoon!
Price: $18.99 Add To Waiting List

Ariston Aspasie Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 12-29-2011
Minerally, cranberry and tart- the perfect pairing with smoked salmon appetizers. The richness of the salmon would be outstanding with the crisp mineral zip of this fantastic rose. Another excellent demonstration of the care and passion that Ariston Aspasie and family put into their champagne. Drink deep- Happy New Year!
Price: $34.99 Add To Waiting List

Ariston Aspasie "Carte Blanche" Brut Champagne (375ml)
Review Date: 11-21-2011
A teeny-tiny version of the Aspasie classic Carte Blanche? Get me a picnic basket or a seat by the fire! I'm in! A miniature version of the well-balanced, delicious champagne that we sell by the, well, boatload as it were. Get it now- this is all that is left!
Price: $15.99 Add To Waiting List

King's Ginger Liqueur 750ml
Review Date: 11-17-2011
Fans of fresh grated ginger rejoice! This is the stuff for you! No cloying stickiness here, just lots of spice and real ginger heat. Made with 20 year old Glenrothes, and macerated with real fresh ginger root- just add soda!
Price: $27.99 Add To Waiting List

St. George Terroir Mt. Tam Gin 750ml
Review Date: 11-15-2011
Having read Melissa and David's reviews of this gin, I was excited but rather dubious in approaching it- how could it be so expressive of the terrior of Northern California? I poured it over ice, added some Fevertree Tonic water and a splash of lime and BAM! Hands down the most incredible experience of drinking in the landscape I love so much! Bay laurel, damp redwood, eucalyptus, wild fennel & dill- this California girl is enraptured!
Price: $30.99 Add To Waiting List

La Caudrina "La Selvatica" Asti
Review Date: 07-04-2011
A soft, mildly sweet Moscato d'Asti with light floral aromas. A pleasant choice (best when chilled) to enjoy on its own or for a sunny Sunday brunch on the terrace with friends!
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List
GR 2

Page: 1 2 next