Staff Favorites - Shaun Green

Shaun Green

Reviews

  
2015 Zudugarai "Amats" Getariako Txakolina
Review Date: 08-24-2016
When you're looking for a wine to have with light summer meals, or a dish that is hard to pair give this Txakolina a try. This delicious clean white has a slight spritz helping to make it extremely versatile
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2015 Zudugarai "Amats" Rosé Getariako Txakolina
Review Date: 08-24-2016
Fun and bright and clean and fresh, dry with just a hint of sprits, even a great price .... what is not to like here! Fantastic and crowd pleasing.
Top Value!
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2007 La Rioja Alta "Viña Ardanza" Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 08-24-2016
If you're longing for Rioja like it used to be, look no further, here it is. Continuing a run of great Ardanza vintages, the 2007 will not disappoint.
Top Value!

2013 Sparkman "Holler" Columbia Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 08-23-2016
Oh Yes, Bryan was definitely right on this one. Just delicious and at a fantastic price. Creamy and velvety with a great texture and lots of smoothly transitioning layers. Cocoa, black fruits, lovely anise notes and a fantastic creamy oak edge. It's certainly a big winner and something you don't want to wait on, once it's tasted you'll want more, but it won't last.
Top Value!
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart
WS 94

1974 Garnheath 42 Year Old "Old Particular" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Grain Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 08-10-2016
Wow, just stunning. This is my favorite Scotch I've tried in a long time. Long and rich and beautiful, even straight at cask strength. From a closed distillery it is pretty darned rare and a 42 year old at $250 is crazy cheap. They won't last long - get yours now.
Top Value!
Price: $249.99 Add To Cart

2015 Arboleda "Aconcagua Costa" Chardonnay
Review Date: 08-10-2016
A Big Winner and a great value once again shows up from Chile. Fantastic fresh and crunchy apple and pear fruit dominates with a medium amount of oak very well integrated. There is a lot going on here despite the reasonable price, great acidity and a mineral component work very well with the fresh fruit. Just delicious!
Top Value!
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart
DC 95 JS 93

2015 Domaine Marcel Lapierre Morgon
Review Date: 08-04-2016
One of the nicest Cru Beaujolais I've encountered in some time. The wonderful medium full weight and blueberry/cherry fruit is complimented by dark spices and hints of rich savory notes underneath. This is a great Pinot-like Morgon - very Burgundian and complex. A perfect pairing wherever you would use a medium weight Burgundy. Make no mistake, this is very serious and complex - if you haven't tried a Cru yet, this will show you how nice these wines can be.
Top Value!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

1991 Villa Zarri 24 Year Old "K&L Exclusive" Single Barrel Cask Strength Italian Brandy (750ml)
Review Date: 08-04-2016
My treat to myself after dinner has always been a good cognac, and I've enjoyed this so much I've not been lured by any other brandies..... until now. The Villa Zarri 24 is just spectacular - vibrant and bright, with only barrel ageing (no caramel coloring here) and an incredible lively palate. For a 24 year old this is truly still fresh and youthful. Rich but not too savory or heady, the natural color is a wonderful deep bronze. I would have guessed this was a luxury level Cognac if I had not known in advance it was from Italy. Single cask distilled in 1991. A must try!
Top Value!
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart

2014 Terra Valentine Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 08-03-2016
A beautiful expression of Napa Cab does not have to be monolithic and overripe, the 2014 TV definitely proves this. It has plenty of rich dark fruits and a nice balanced use of oak. It's held together by a deftly balanced structure with just the right acidity and rather mellow tannins to compliment nicely. Offered now at a fantastic price, it's a cab you don't want to miss.
Top Value!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
WS 91

2015 Chateau de la Noblesse Bandol Rosé
Review Date: 08-03-2016
Wonderfully complex and impressive, this is for the serious Rose lover. Dry lovely strawberry fruit with an orange edge, elegant spice and a nice long finish. Serious enough to pair with a lot of summer fare, but still friendly enough for sipping on its own. Keith brought this one in direct and it's easy to see why.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart

2015 Château d'Aqueria Tavel Rose
Review Date: 08-03-2016
The D'Aqueria is a fantastic value in a knockout Tavel Rose. Beautiful dry cherried fruit from classic Rhone varietals held up by a great structure of acidity and light tannins. Medium weight and the perfect bottle for summer.
Top Value!
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart
DC 95 RP 91

2014 Big Table Farm Willamette Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 07-18-2016
You can't get closer to nature than Big Table Farm. On a 19th century farm near Gaston Oregon, the owners are truly hands on, boots in the dirt true winemakers. 'Craft' is used a bit too much, but it applies perfectly here. Head to the farm and you'll see two people producing something that harkens back to a simpler age, and they will almost certainly capture your heart.. The Pinot Noir has wonderful purity, silky texture and great pinot expression. It is balanced out with lovely minerals and spice and very pretty cherry fruit. Something truly special in the world of Oregon Pinot.
Price: $42.99 Add To Cart

Charles Heidsieck "Brut Reserve" Champagne (1.5L)
Review Date: 05-17-2016
The magnum of the Charles Heidsieck Brut Reserve is even better than the Champagne in .750 which is truly a statement. The .750 is rich and opulent but the magnum lends yet another overlaying note of refined elegance to the package. It is often repeated that Champagne is best made in magnums, and this bottle is definitely an argument to that truth.

Charles Heidsieck "Brut Reserve" Champagne
Review Date: 05-17-2016
Simply delicious, the Charles Heidsieck Champagnes have improved so drastically lately that if you haven't tried them recently you owe it to yourself to try one now. Bold nutty, toasty and rich, but not lumbering or cloying - it has a lovely acidity to finish it off. Bravo!

2012 E. Guigal Côtes du Rhône
Review Date: 05-16-2016
We all need some 'go to' wines in our cellar, and for years Guigal has produced a fantastic Cotes du Rhone at an extremely good price to complement their line of high end wines. It has seen its rightful place on many a restaurant menu and in wine lovers' homes everywhere. The 2012 is no exception, pure and balanced Rhone full of dark fruit, spice and lovely Rhone earth and fine tannins and acidity to support the wine.
Top Value!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
VN 91 RP 90

2014 Wines Of Substance Columbia Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 05-10-2016
A bold and pretty powerful offering from Charles Smith at a great price! The WOS has great mouthfeel, lots of deep dark fruit and notes of French Oak and spice. It's truly a serious Washington Cab at a fantastic price
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
RP 90 - 92

2013 Lynmar Russian River Valley Chardonnay
Review Date: 05-10-2016
Here's a wonderfully crowd pleasing Chardonnay nicely balancing beautiful ripe fruit classic creamy oak and a nice lemon cream edge over a nicely textured soft tannin frame. There is something for everyone in this Chardonnay, not too far in any direction and hitting the 'yum' bulls eye!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WE 94

2013 Joseph Phelps "Freestone Vineyards" Sonoma Coast Chardonnay
Review Date: 05-10-2016
Here is a lovely classic California Chardonnay with just the right amount of lovely pear and apple fruit, white flowers and an integrated oak component. Never over the top or overly buttery and beautifully balanced. It's great to have this very serious and well crafted,fine tuned California Chardonnay at a very reasonable price.

2012 Condado de Haza Ribera del Duero
Review Date: 05-04-2016
From the genius of Alejandro Fernandez comes yet another Iberian beauty. A deep and savory Tempranillo with a blood edge and bold dark fruit with intensity and length and wonderfully integrated dusty tannin. Interwoven mineral and licorice root with black spice noted buried within. Just fantastic!
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
WS 93

2013 Mount Edward Pinot Noir Central Otago
Review Date: 05-03-2016
I have to agree with my colleagues here, Ryan has brought us another fantastic and engaging Pinot Noir at an incredible price. NZ Pinot Noir has been capturing the hearts of the K&L staff for a while now and this is yet another entry in that winning category. It's great to see consensus among K&L Staff, professional reviewers and customers - this has earned great reports from all three.
Top Value!

2015 Mt. Hector Sauvignon Blanc Wairarapa
Review Date: 04-07-2016
Hot on the heels of their wildly successful Pinot Noir, this Sauvignon Blanc from Mt Hector is an equally outrageous value. Wonderfully tropical NZ fruits, lime and guava with a mouthwatering acidity and lovely steely finish. Get it while it lasts!
Top Value!
Price: $8.99 Add To Cart

2014 Domaine Barou Syrah Collines Rhodaniennes
Review Date: 04-01-2016
What a great value this is! Northern Rhone old vine Syrah at this price is unheard of. It has a wonderful Syrah expression and truly shows its northern Rhone roots, lovely deep dark fruit mingled with light spices and a nice long finish of intense blueberry and cassis. Buy it by the case before it's gone!
Top Value!
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart

2009 Louise Brison Vintage Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-11-2016
Wow, I drank a lot of the fabulous 2008 and was sorry to see it gone, but then the 2009 showed up and it is right there in quality. A bit racier and zippier than the 2008 while still stunning in elegance and style. It's hard to understand how this Champagne can be priced so low, but I'm not complaining, I'm just drinking! This will last 10 years easily, but I doubt much will make it that long, it's very inviting right now and will be hard to resist.
Top Value!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Gin Mare Mediterranean Gin (750ml)
Review Date: 02-04-2016
A very cool and unusual gin from Spain! Distilled from Olives, Thyme, Rosemary and Basil, this gin is almost a martini in itself. The thyme is the forward aromatic so the herbal notes are very fine, and wonderful citrus overtones provide freshness and zip. There is a fantastic and equally fresh subtly minty quality on the finish that I love. Absolutely delicious.
Top Value!
Price: $33.99 Add To Cart

2013 Mt. Hector Pinot Noir Wairarapa
Review Date: 01-07-2016
OK, now this is getting hard to believe but Ryan has found another NZ beauty at a ridiculously low price. The Mt Hector has wonderfully sweet cherry and wild raspberry fruit and surprising layers of minerality and dark spice all supported by just enough backbone, fresh acidity and a lovely sweet cherry finish. All for a silly price and even better finished off in Stelvin (screw cap) which I love for early drinking wines. This truly shows much, much better than its price and is a no-brainer for any Pinot Noir lover. It could just be THE best value in the store.
Top Value!
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart
BC 92

VinoBlends Wine Blending Kit
Review Date: 12-03-2015
VinoBlends Wine Blending Kit lets you try your hand at being a winemaker. Created by Phil Mckenney, a successful wine industry insider who leads group wine blending seminars, this kit has everything you will need. The wines are top Napa reds with which you can make your own Bordeaux style blend. It's a great experiment, and one you get to drink after you've finished!
Price: $159.99 Add To Cart

Copper & Kings American Apple Brandy (750ml)
Review Date: 11-18-2015
I really loved this apple brandy. Some of us who have been around a while remember the days of pretty harsh apple brandy, and this couldn't be further from those bad old days. The Copper & Kings American Apple Brandy is wonderfully full bodied, with a lovely texture and bold fruit. Not simple at all, despite the great price. This was one of my top two of the offerings from Copper & Kings
Top Value!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Copper & Kings "Butchertown" Reserve Casks Brandy (750ml)
Review Date: 11-18-2015
Wow! This was really fantastic from a great new distillery. Rich and full with a nice roundness that draws you to the next sip. Great Job Copper & Kings!
Top Value!
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

2012 Stonestreet "Estate" Alexander Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 11-18-2015
Here's a great value in Cabernet that really shines. It shows a wonderful concentration of dark fruits without going over the top, highlighted with a dash of dark spices and nicely supported by rounded tannins. It will hold its own with a lot of cabs at twice the price!

2014 Silkman Semillon Hunter Valley
Review Date: 11-09-2015
The Silkman is a wonderfully expressive and forward Semillon that shows its new world character up front with lovely fresh tropical fruit and fine elegant minerals. A very friendly wine with complexity just right for a holiday feast this year!
Top Value!
Price: Hidden View Price

2010 Hopes Grove "Silver Lining" Syrah Hawke's Bay
Review Date: 08-23-2015
One of the most exciting Syrahs I've tasted in some time. Powerful yet not over to top, complex and deep yet understandable, Old World and New World combined - pretty much everything I could want in a Syrah. There are times when our staff all taste a wine and look at each other with a knowing smile; this was one, and we have 30 cases total, they won't last long.
Top Value!

Cut Spike Nebraska Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 07-22-2015
Wow, this 3rd evolution of Cut Spike is a little different but even better. Tropical fruits, ginger and a wonderful spicy wood on the nose move along to a beautiful mid palate of soft fruity lime and papaya, gentle Asian spice and lemon grass, then flow through to a smooth finish showing orange blossom, kaffir lime and notes of that wonderful vanilla the last offering had. Very unique and impressive - and a must for any whisky lover.
Top Value!
Price: Hidden View Price

The Durand Corkscrew for Removal of Old Corks with Confidence
Review Date: 06-23-2015
Simply the best corkscrew we have ever offered, and the best I've ever used.
Price: $124.99 Add To Cart

Lehmann "Jamesse Reference" Grand Champagne glass (we can only ship in 6pks )
Review Date: 06-23-2015
When our Champagne gurus Gary and Scott came back from Champagne this year raving about the glassware designed by Philippe Jamesse, I certainly took notice. These Champagne glasses are a bit more open and less flute like than standard flutes, and highlight the complexity of Champagne beautifully. Among the best Champagne glasses we've ever used, they are also an incredible value for both the mouth blown and machine made versions. If you love Champagne you owe it to yourself to try this glass. Our best selling Champagne glass ever!
Top Value!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

2002 Ruinart "Dom Ruinart" Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 06-04-2015
There are flashily packaged, everyone has to have one, fad-of-the-moment Champagnes - and there are classic, stunningly beautiful Champagnes that prove to all who taste them why Champagne is a true luxury worth treating yourself from time to time. The 2002 Dom Ruinart Rose is a great example of the latter. A true special occasion Grand Cru that you deserve to try at least once in life.

2010 Poggiarellino Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 05-25-2015
This is an unbelievable steal and a great way to beef up your Brunello collection. This tiny producer has truly outperformed with their 2010 vintage - and for under $35 it is hands down one of the best deals in the store. These hands on dedicated owners have taken their ancestral property and turned it into a shining star. Fantastico!
Drink from 2019 to 2019
Price: $34.99 Add To Waiting List
JS 95

2004 Haut-Bergey, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 02-18-2015
Here's your chance to get a lovely classic ready to drink Bordeaux at a great price. Wonderfully rich and smooth texture with a medium weight yet complex qualities of tobacco leaf, roasted nuts under lovely berry fruit. Don't miss this one!
Top Value!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
RP 90

Michel Couvreur "Peaty Overaged" K&L Exclusive Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 10-07-2014
I love it! Super creamy with a mild peat, lovely sherry character and an absolutely wonderful sexy texture on the palate. What an amazingly charming whiskey!
Top Value!
Price: $82.99 Add To Cart

Westland American Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 07-15-2014
I hardly need to second the choices of David, but wow this one is very cool! Its rich, deep color at first made me worry that this was going to be a little too woody and sweet, but the nose suddenly changed that. Very full and deep with a somewhat roasted nut nose, and on the palate it has nice, long walnut, vanilla, barley and subtle raisin and caramel notes. Delicious and mouth-filling, yet vibrant and zesty. It has just enough sweet notes and a fantastic finish. The closest I've seen to a single malt Scotch from the U.S.!
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

Lehmann "Jamesse Prestige" Grand Champagne Mouth-Blown Wine Glass
Review Date: 05-20-2014
When our Champagne gurus Gary and Scott came back from Champagne this year raving about the glassware designed by Philippe Jamesse, I certainly took notice. These Champagne glasses are a bit more open and less flute like than standard flutes, and highlight the complexity of Champagne beautifully. Among the best Champagne glasses we've ever used, they are also an incredible value for both the mouth blown and machine made versions. If you love Champagne you owe it to yourself to try this glass.
Top Value!
Price: $37.50 Add To Cart

2002 Thiénot "La Vigne aux Gamins" Blanc de Blancs Brut Champagne
Review Date: 08-13-2013
Stunning perfection. The 2002 La Vigne Aux Gamins elegance and purity rise this Champagne to a level rarely seen. Without the need for blousy opulence or extensive lees character, the Champagne sings. It's a counter tenor compared to the more commonly seen baritone version of great Champagnes. No offence to the rich and toasty champagnes out there, I love those sometimes, but this is cerebral and special, a bright and vivid expression of Champagne, showing extremely refined minerality, delicate white florals and wonderfully focused fruit that is both delicate and profound at the same time. Don't miss this one!
Drink from 2013 to 2013
Price: $149.00 Add To Cart
WE 94 WS 93

Launois "Cuvée Reserve" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 05-07-2013
There's not a lot more to say about this one, it a no-brainer! Grand Cru Champagne of this quality at this price is just not to be missed.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2001 La Rioja Alta "Viña Ardanza" Reserva Especial Rioja
Review Date: 04-03-2013
It's hard to say enough about this wine. Beautifully clear and expressive Rioja that should cost twice this much. I keep drinking the bottles I bring home intending to age because it is just so incredibly alluring right now. I'll have to lock some up to make sure I get to see this beauty when it's mature, because it will only get better from here.
Drink from 2013 to 2013
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
RP 93 ST 92

Thienot Brut Champagne
Review Date: 03-12-2013
Light and crisp on the nose and moving on to an absolutely wonderful zesty palate of citrusy/tangerine like fruit - it has a wonderful mousse and a great finish. Drink like a movie star! This was the Champagne for the 2013 Oscars.
Drink from 2013 to 2013
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
ST 90

Canard-Duchene "Authentic" Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 03-12-2013
What a deal for a Brut Rose. Perfectly dry and crisp with red currant/strawberry fruit and a crisp clean finish.
Drink from 2013 to 2013
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Canard-Duchêne "Authentic" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 03-12-2013
What a value! Another great find by Gary Westby. Lovely bread/cracker notes, fairly rich but with a good highlighting tartness. Clean finish and a lovely texturaly fine mousse.
Drink from 2013 to 2013
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

1995 Charles Heidsieck "Blanc des Millénaires" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 12-26-2012
Exactly what I want in special occasion Champagne - rich hazelnut cream, spicy baked apple, notes of honey and a wonderfully toasty overlay, yet it has great acidity and is still fresh - a wonderful balancing act. Perfect bubbles and silky palate texture,this is perfection in a bottle. Heidsieck has spent a huge amount of effort on quality across the range of their Champagnes, and this is absolutely spectacular!
Drink from 2012 to 2012

Ariston Aspasie "Carte Blanche" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 06-10-2009
I can give this no better recommendation, working for K&L I have a lot of choices, and this was the wine for my wedding. You'll always find it in my cellar and I love this Champagne.
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart