Staff Favorites - Shaun Green

Shaun Green

Reviews

  
2011 Fromm "La Strada" Pinot Noir Marlborough
Review Date: 03-03-2015
This bright and compelling Pinot from NZ is pretty hard to beat. Truly fantastic Pinots are nearly impossible to find under $20, but this one delivers. It's not a New World "thick" Pinot, rather it shows its varietal characteristics confidently and soundly while offering complex notes of spices, florals and earthy notes floating over a lovely array of red and blue fruits, and with fine tannins and a great acid balance. Bravo!
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List
JS 93

2012 Woodstock Estate Shiraz McLaren Vale South Australia
Review Date: 03-03-2015
Another Aussie wine pulls the strings of my wine loving heart! This wonderfully rich and powerful Shiraz from winemaker Ben Glaetzer (yep, think Amon Ra!)shows all the great deep notes of mocha, black licorice root and spicy blackberries, but not ever overwhelming or hot. It's amazing how this wine balances density and richness with complex aromatics, structure and bright highlights - all coming together with remarkable style and beauty. Maybe the best deal in Syrah in the store.
Top Value!
Price: $16.99 Add To Waiting List
JH 94

2004 Haut-Bergey, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 02-18-2015
Here's your chance to get a lovely classic ready to drink Bordeaux at a great price. Wonderfully rich and smooth texture with a medium weight yet complex qualities of tobacco leaf, roasted nuts under lovely berry fruit. Don't miss this one!
Top Value!
Price: $29.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 90

2013 McManis California Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 02-04-2015
McManis has been a great source of inexpensive and crowd friendly California Cabs for a while and the 2013 does not disappoint. Juicy and plump with a nice little dose of oak - if you like a modern California Cab, but need something a bit more economical you'll love this one. Very tasty!
Drink from 2014 to 2014
Price: $8.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 90

2012 Ad Lib (Larry Cherubino) "Avant Gardening" Malbec / Cabernet Western Australia
Review Date: 10-25-2014
Another great find from Ad Lib, the Malbec is a lovely juicy Malbec with a medium body and broad appeal. Great dark fruits with a touch of rose petal and spice makes this one a perfect accompaniment with our upcoming holiday dinners.
Top Value!
Price: Hidden View Price
JH 94

2012 Ad Lib (Larry Cherubino) "Hen & Chicken" Chardonnay Western Australia
Review Date: 10-25-2014
What a price! This will be making a lot of party guests happy this year. Great medium intensity and concentration with nicely balanced acidity. The wood is there for texture only, not a big oaky component and the entirety comes off as a much more expensive wine. My go-to holiday white!
Top Value!
Price: $12.99 Add To Waiting List
JH 94

2009 Il Valentiano "Campo di Marzo" Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 10-02-2014
Here again Tuscany shows us they can still produce truly fantastic wines at great values. Here's a beautiful and elegantly composed Brunello with lovely red fruits, silky rose petals, interwoven minerals and fine spices with an absolutely lovely texture hung on fine polished tannins, all in perfect harmony. Greg's imagery of a gemstone is perfect and polished rubies is one of the first images I had upon trying this wine too.
Top Value!
Price: $29.99 Add To Waiting List

Wine Club

$26.99
WE 91 JS 90

2010 Mount Langi Ghiran "Billi Billi" Shiraz Grampians Victoria
Review Date: 08-19-2014
Another great deal, perfect for summertime grilling & parties. Beautiful berried Syrah, fresh and juicy with surprising structure for a wine at this price. A bit of spice and mouthwatering acidity round it out for a great overall package.
Top Value!
Price: $9.99 Add To Waiting List
JH 93

Westland American Single Malt Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 07-15-2014
I hardly need to second the choices of David, but wow this one is very cool! Its rich, deep color at first made me worry that this was going to be a little too woody and sweet, but the nose suddenly changed that. Very full and deep with a somewhat roasted nut nose, and on the palate it has nice, long walnut, vanilla, barley and subtle raisin and caramel notes. Delicious and mouth-filling, yet vibrant and zesty. It has just enough sweet notes and a fantastic finish. The closest I've seen to a single malt Scotch from the U.S.!
Price: $69.99 Add To Waiting List

2009 Kingston Family Vineyards "Alazan" Pinot Noir Casablanca Valley
Review Date: 06-09-2014
Absolutely delicious Pinot Noir - one of the best Pinot offerings from Chile - fantastic red fruits and exotic spices mingling with a distinctive smoky note are extremely enticing and this wine pairs very well with many foods. Kingston's vineyards are in the Casablanca Valley, and with its cool maritime influence it's no wonder such high quality Pinot comes from their spectacular property. It's a great contender for the cellar too, but hard to resist so hide some from yourself if you want to age it!
Top Value!
Price: $29.99 Add To Waiting List
ST 91 WE 90

2012 Kingston "Cariblanco" Sauvignon Blanc Casablanca Valley
Review Date: 06-09-2014
This is an absolutely fantastic Sauvignon Blanc - one of my favorites, especially at this price. It is wonderfully complex and has a very impressive texture and weight. Rich tropical and citrus fruits with a slight touch of savory - it is spectacular as a summer dinner wine.
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 91

2012 Celler de Capçanes "Mas Donis Barrica--Old Vines" Montsant
Review Date: 05-21-2014
Wow, is this the best Mas Donis we've seen yet? I think so. It still shows its hallmark big, deep blackberry fruit, but really brings in another quality with the up-front spiciness and rose petal notes. The wonderful dark berry fruit and spice comes through all the way to the palate and long into the finish. Great job!
Top Value!
Price: $12.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 94 ST 90

Lehmann "Jamesse Reference" Grand Champagne glass (ship as 6pk *in styrofoam only)
Review Date: 05-20-2014
When our Champagne gurus Gary and Scott came back from Champagne this year raving about the glassware designed by Philippe Jamesse, I certainly took notice. These Champagne glasses are a bit more open and less flute like than standard flutes, and highlight the complexity of Champagne beautifully. Among the best Champagne glasses we've ever used, they are also an incredible value for both the mouth blown and machine made versions. If you love Champagne you owe it to yourself to try this glass.
Top Value!
Price: $11.99 Add To Waiting List

Lehmann "Jamesse Prestige" Grand Champagne mouth blown wine glass
Review Date: 05-20-2014
When our Champagne gurus Gary and Scott came back from Champagne this year raving about the glassware designed by Philippe Jamesse, I certainly took notice. These Champagne glasses are a bit more open and less flute like than standard flutes, and highlight the complexity of Champagne beautifully. Among the best Champagne glasses we've ever used, they are also an incredible value for both the mouth blown and machine made versions. If you love Champagne you owe it to yourself to try this glass.
Top Value!
Price: $37.50 Add To Waiting List

2005 Launois "Spécial Club" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne (ships as 1.5L)
Review Date: 10-15-2013
The Launois 'Special Club' has regularly been a giant hit with our staff and customers alike and the 2005 is right in line. A bit richer than the 2004, it's really showing its old vine source (50+ year old vines)Fantastic creamy richness even right from the start and a long vanilla and nut cream component on the palate. Lots of brioche and a wonderful expression of its 100% Mesnil Chard. You can't go wrong with this one!
Drink from 2013 to 2013
Price: $59.99 Add To Waiting List

2002 Thienot "La Vigne aux Gamins" Blanc de Blancs Brut Champagne
Review Date: 08-13-2013
Stunning perfection. The 2002 La Vigne Aux Gamins elegance and purity rise this Champagne to a level rarely seen. Without the need for blousy opulence or extensive lees character, the Champagne sings. It's a counter tenor compared to the more commonly seen baritone version of great Champagnes. No offence to the rich and toasty champagnes out there, I love those sometimes, but this is cerebral and special, a bright and vivid expression of Champagne, showing extremely refined minerality, delicate white florals and wonderfully focused fruit that is both delicate and profound at the same time. Don't miss this one!
Drink from 2013 to 2013
Price: $149.00 Add To Waiting List
WE 94 WS 93

Launois "Quartz" Blanc de Blancs Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-07-2013
This lower pressure Champagne, coming from the single vineyard Chetillons is another astounding deal from Launois. The soft creamy feel of the mousse and the long lingering palate feel showing sweetcake and creamy apple richness mid-palate flows to a long lingering finish (another Grand Cru at this price!) ..... what's not to like?
Price: $39.99 Add To Waiting List

Launois "Cuvée Reserve" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 05-07-2013
There's not a lot more to say about this one, it a no-brainer! Grand Cru Champagne of this quality at this price is just not to be missed.
Price: $34.99 Add To Waiting List

Thienot Brut Champagne
Review Date: 03-12-2013
Light and crisp on the nose and moving on to an absolutely wonderful zesty palate of citrusy/tangerine like fruit - it has a wonderful mousse and a great finish. Drink like a movie star! This was the Champagne for the 2013 Oscars.
Drink from 2013 to 2013
Price: $39.99 Add To Waiting List

Wine Club

$34.99
ST 90

Canard-Duchene "Authentic" Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 03-12-2013
What a deal for a Brut Rose. Perfectly dry and crisp with red currant/strawberry fruit and a crisp clean finish.
Drink from 2013 to 2013
Price: $39.99 Add To Waiting List

Canard-Duchêne "Authentic" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 03-12-2013
What a value! Another great find by Gary Westby. Lovely bread/cracker notes, fairly rich but with a good highlighting tartness. Clean finish and a lovely texturaly fine mousse.
Drink from 2013 to 2013
Price: $29.99 Add To Waiting List

2004 Sigalas Vinsanto Santorini 500ml
Review Date: 03-12-2013
Very cool - relive those college days on Santorini with this wonderfully concentrated deeply intense dessert wine from the island. It's loaded with rich dried apricot and pineapple fruit with a tiny touch of molassas laced with spiciness and an abundant acidity to counterbalance.
Drink from 2013 to 2013

1995 Charles Heidsieck "Blanc des Millénaires" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 12-26-2012
Exactly what I want in special occasion Champagne - rich hazelnut cream, spicy baked apple, notes of honey and a wonderfully toasty overlay, yet it has great acidity and is still fresh - a wonderful balancing act. Perfect bubbles and silky palate texture,this is perfection in a bottle. Heidsieck has spent a huge amount of effort on quality across the range of their Champagnes, and this is absolutely spectacular!
Drink from 2012 to 2012

Ariston Aspasie "Carte Blanche" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 06-10-2009
I can give this no better recommendation, working for K&L I have a lot of choices, and this was the wine for my wedding. You'll always find it in my cellar and I love this Champagne.
Price: $27.99 Add To Waiting List