Staff Favorites - Shaun Green

Shaun Green

Reviews

  
2012 La Valentina Montepulciano d'Abruzzo
Review Date: 08-30-2015
Want a wonderfully rich and complex old world meets a touch of new world wine for a steal? Here you go! The nose lures you in with nice lightly earthy and softly nuanced tobacco leaf notes over rich dark fruit and an old world elegance. The palate offers up deep plummy fruit highlighted by a lovely dried citrus peel. Dusty tannins and well balanced acidity breathes old world style and a touch of new world fruit density answers back. Great balance and style, not overdone or manipulated just delicious - this one should not last long!
Top Value!
Price: $10.95 Add To Waiting List
JS 92

2013 Scarbolo Sauvignon Friuli
Review Date: 08-30-2015
Here's a beautiful and expressive Sauvignon Blanc with aromatics of white flowers and ever so light sandalwood - definitely not your grassy/sweet pea or overly fruity style. The palate carries the theme with a wonderful peach pit, creamy lemon and white currant fruits, river pebble minerality and an amazingly bright acidity. The finish is surprisingly long and rich, with an softly beeswax like texture.
Top Value!
Price: $13.95 Add To Waiting List
JS 93

2010 Hopes Grove "Silver Lining" Syrah Hawke's Bay
Review Date: 08-23-2015
One of the most exciting Syrahs I've tasted in some time. Powerful yet not over to top, complex and deep yet understandable, Old World and New World combined - pretty much everything I could want in a Syrah. There are times when our staff all taste a wine and look at each other with a knowing smile; this was one, and we have 30 cases total, they won't last long.
Top Value!

2014 Craggy Range "Te Muna Road" Sauvignon Blanc Martinborough
Review Date: 07-22-2015
The somewhat hard-to-describe certain quality in New Zealand SB, I've been told it truly mimics a fruit called Feijoa - sounds like a good reason to go to New Zealand and try one! The 2014 Craggy this year is again a beautiful Sauvignon Blanc - lovely guava, lime blossom tropical on the palate with fine granite like minerals - not too grassy but just enough and a wonderful summer treat. It's juicy and mouthwatering with a bright freshness, and a wonderful tension on the palate.
Top Value!
Price: $17.99 Add To Waiting List
WS 92

2014 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough
Review Date: 07-22-2015
Another great direct import from TWR that Ryan has found for us. Lovely aromas of jasmine and gooseberry with a lot of minerality and great presence on the palate. No shrinking violet here, the complex aromatics, exotic fruits and wonderfully broad and expressive regional character are truly penetrating and persistent. The TWR wines are finding a loyal base of fans and it's not surprising!
Top Value!
Price: $18.99 Add To Waiting List
RC 94 DC 93

Cut Spike Nebraska Single Malt Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 07-22-2015
Wow, this 3rd evolution of Cut Spike is a little different but even better. Tropical fruits, ginger and a wonderful spicy wood on the nose move along to a beautiful mid palate of soft fruity lime and papaya, gentle Asian spice and lemon grass, then flow through to a smooth finish showing orange blossom, kaffir lime and notes of that wonderful vanilla the last offering had. Very unique and impressive - and a must for any whisky lover.
Top Value!
Price: $59.99 Add To Waiting List

2010 La Mannella Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 07-15-2015
The Mannella is showing a wonderfully lively and a bit more flashy modern style. It works great with the 2010 vintage and provides a nice counterpoint to some more traditional styles. I really liked the bold fruitiness and perfumed nature, with a nice bit of spice mixed in. It's a great introduction to Brunello for our California wine lovers. Lively and zesty but still with plenty of structure, it will show better and better with a little age.
Drink from 2018 to 2018

2010 Val di Suga Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 07-14-2015
The Val di Suga is again showing wonderfully in the 2010 vintage. It has a great showing of mixture of brambly and plummy fruit in abundance and a wonderful structure underneath. The fruit coats the tannin well and it will be hard to resist drinking early - but make sure to give some bottles time in the cellar. This should be wonderful in 10 or so years
Top Value!
Price: $37.89 Add To Waiting List
RP 93 JS 92

2010 Innocenti Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 07-14-2015
Another great value from the fantastic 2010 vintage. The Innocenti has an enticing blend of warm/dry fruits and savory notes, but still with a fair amount of lovely fresh blueberry and cherry fruit. There is a wonderful hint of spices lingering and a core of fine tannins. A great one for drinking over the next 5 or so years
Drink from 2015 to 2015
Price: $36.99 Add To Waiting List
JS 94 SJ 1

2013 Tongue In Groove "The Mound Vineyard" Riesling Waipara Valley
Review Date: 07-09-2015
Another big winner Ryan found for us! This Pinot is a great example of how a wine can show the fantastic fruit of the new world while still maintaining complexity and balance. The label looks like something right out of an Austin Powers movie but don't be fooled, this one is serious and seriously good!
Top Value!

The Durand Corkscrew for Removal of Old Corks with Confidence
Review Date: 06-23-2015
Simply the best corkscrew we have ever offered, and the best I've ever used.
Price: $124.99 Add To Waiting List

Lehmann "Jamesse Reference" Grand Champagne glass (we can only ship in 6pks )
Review Date: 06-23-2015
When our Champagne gurus Gary and Scott came back from Champagne this year raving about the glassware designed by Philippe Jamesse, I certainly took notice. These Champagne glasses are a bit more open and less flute like than standard flutes, and highlight the complexity of Champagne beautifully. Among the best Champagne glasses we've ever used, they are also an incredible value for both the mouth blown and machine made versions. If you love Champagne you owe it to yourself to try this glass. Our best selling Champagne glass ever!
Top Value!
Price: $11.99 Add To Waiting List

2011 Domaine Aurelien Verdet Vosne Romanée 1er Cru "Les Beau monts"
Review Date: 06-04-2015
One of my favorite wines from a recent (May 2015) dinner tasting of Burgundies. Classic Burgundian beauty with a richness, complexity and depth, but in a very elegant and refined frame. Pure and finely balanced between beauty and power. This is why we buy Burgundy.
Drink from 2015 to 2015
Price: $109.00 Add To Waiting List
WS 90

2002 Ruinart "Dom Ruinart" Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 06-04-2015
There are flashily packaged, everyone has to have one, fad-of-the-moment Champagnes - and there are classic, stunningly beautiful Champagnes that prove to all who taste them why Champagne is a true luxury worth treating yourself from time to time. The 2002 Dom Ruinart Rose is a great example of the latter. A true special occasion Grand Cru that you deserve to try at least once in life.

2010 Poggiarellino Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 05-25-2015
This is an unbelievable steal and a great way to beef up your Brunello collection. This tiny producer has truly outperformed with their 2010 vintage - and for under $35 it is hands down one of the best deals in the store. These hands on dedicated owners have taken their ancestral property and turned it into a shining star. Fantastico!
Drink from 2019 to 2019
Price: $34.99 Add To Waiting List
JS 95

2009 Poggiarellino Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 05-25-2015
Wonderful and open knit - a wine you can drink soon. Showing great layers of ripe fruit and florals, with an earthy rich undertone. A great wine for drinking while waiting for your 2010s to come around!
Top Value!
Price: $29.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 Sesta di Sopra Rosso di Montalcino
Review Date: 05-25-2015
Little sister to the spectacular Brunello this producer offers - this is a spectacular deal. Rosso doesn't have the same requirement as Brunello so can be released earlier. It sees French Oak barrels instead of the large 30hl barrels but it is farmed and cared for just like the Brunello. This is a great bottle to try now or put down for a few years.
Top Value!
Price: $21.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 90

2010 Baricci Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 05-25-2015
I don't have to repeat how much we like this wine, Greg and Mike have done this but what a deal! This is 100% Montosoli fruit from a small family producer who just happens to be headed by one of the founders (and producer #1) of the Brunello Consorzio. Three generations of this family still work hands on daily and know every vine and every square foot of their property, which is on perhaps the most famous site for Brunello. Reserved and humble, this family makes a fantastic wine that certainly deserves its place next to many more expensive Brunelli.
Top Value!
Price: $39.99 Add To Waiting List
JS 93

2013 Sequillo (Eben Sadie) White Blend Swartland
Review Date: 05-20-2015
I keep thinking if Dagueneau had made a Chenin in South Africa it very well may have tasted like this. Eben Sadie has a stellar and growing reputation for spectacular wines and this is certainly proving his reputation deserved. This wine shows its Chenin Blanc so expressively and the remaining varietals seamlessly support the effort. Intense and pure fruit, a wonderful lanolin overlay and expressive minerality - wow - and at under $20 this is unbelievable. Don't wait, I can't believe these will be around for very long at all.
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 La Massa "La Massa" Toscana
Review Date: 05-19-2015
Here's a very cool Super Tuscan at a fantastic price. Rich and mouthfilling dark cherry fruit with a bit of spice lingering throughout and a great but not heavy handed structure. Pull the cork for your summertime BBQ evenings and you'll be hooked too.
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List
JS 93 RP 93

2012 Valli "Bannockburn Vineyard" Pinot Noir Central Otago
Review Date: 04-01-2015
Here is a beautiful and rich Pinot Noir from Valli. In tasting through their Pinot offerings, this stood out as one of the most powerful and deep offerings. It shows black cherry and deep dark plum fruit, an nice touch of oak and violets/rose petal. Long on the finish and solid. Absolutely delicious!
Drink to 0
Price: $49.99 Add To Waiting List
BC 94 JS 94

2012 Valli "Bendigo Vineyard" Pinot Noir Central Otago
Review Date: 03-30-2015
The Bendigo is another richer style from Valli, bold and rich but with savory notes and a super velvety texture. Mouth filling and layered with a warmer riper fruit and a wonderfully long finish
Drink to 0
Price: $49.99 Add To Waiting List
BC 93 JS 93

2013 Wines Of Substance Columbia Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 03-25-2015
Wow, what a deal. Wonderfully 'yummy' and rich nicely layerd with cocoa, fresh tobacco notes over deep brambly fruit. Mouth filling and long in finish, this shows a great Washington character at a bargain price. It's not all that surprising considering it comes from Charles Smith, a winemaker with a great track record of terrific wines.
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 90 - 93

2011 Fromm "La Strada" Pinot Noir Marlborough
Review Date: 03-03-2015
This bright and compelling Pinot from NZ is pretty hard to beat. Truly fantastic Pinots are nearly impossible to find under $20, but this one delivers. It's not a New World "thick" Pinot, rather it shows its varietal characteristics confidently and soundly while offering complex notes of spices, florals and earthy notes floating over a lovely array of red and blue fruits, and with fine tannins and a great acid balance. Bravo!
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List
JS 93 RC 91

2012 Woodstock Estate Shiraz McLaren Vale South Australia
Review Date: 03-03-2015
Another Aussie wine pulls the strings of my wine loving heart! This wonderfully rich and powerful Shiraz from winemaker Ben Glaetzer (yep, think Amon Ra!)shows all the great deep notes of mocha, black licorice root and spicy blackberries, but not ever overwhelming or hot. It's amazing how this wine balances density and richness with complex aromatics, structure and bright highlights - all coming together with remarkable style and beauty. Maybe the best deal in Syrah in the store.
Top Value!
Price: $16.99 Add To Waiting List
JH 94

2004 Haut-Bergey, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 02-18-2015
Here's your chance to get a lovely classic ready to drink Bordeaux at a great price. Wonderfully rich and smooth texture with a medium weight yet complex qualities of tobacco leaf, roasted nuts under lovely berry fruit. Don't miss this one!
Top Value!
Price: $29.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 90

Louise Brison "L'Impertinente" Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 02-06-2015
Wow, not sure what is impertinent about this wine, it's spectacular and lovely. A wonderfully red fruit nose and a richer elegance on the palate, dry with a long finish. And for a rosé at this price it is a serious price performer.
Top Value!
Price: $39.99 Add To Waiting List

Wine Club

$34.99

2013 McManis California Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 02-04-2015
McManis has been a great source of inexpensive and crowd friendly California Cabs for a while and the 2013 does not disappoint. Juicy and plump with a nice little dose of oak - if you like a modern California Cab, but need something a bit more economical you'll love this one. Very tasty!
Drink from 2014 to 2014
Price: $8.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 90

2012 FRAM Pinotage Citrusdal Mountain
Review Date: 10-22-2014
Wow! Here's a Pinotage that will win over even those who have been avoiding the varietal for years. Beautifully pure and missing the distinctive tarry herbal notes that keep many from enjoying Pinotage. There are a few great Pinotage that I've tasted over the years, and this certainly adds to that list.
Price: $22.99 Add To Waiting List

Michel Couvreur K&L Exclusive Overaged Peated Malt Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 10-07-2014
I love it! Super creamy with a mild peat, lovely sherry character and an absolutely wonderful sexy texture on the palate. What an amazingly charming whiskey!
Top Value!
Price: $89.99 Add To Waiting List

Stolzle Universal Bordeaux Glass (ship as 6pk only)
Review Date: 07-31-2014
Here's a fantastic value solution to your wine glass needs. It's a great Cabernet/Merlot shape and we got a fantastic closeout price.
Top Value!
Price: $5.99 Add To Waiting List

Westland American Single Malt Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 07-15-2014
I hardly need to second the choices of David, but wow this one is very cool! Its rich, deep color at first made me worry that this was going to be a little too woody and sweet, but the nose suddenly changed that. Very full and deep with a somewhat roasted nut nose, and on the palate it has nice, long walnut, vanilla, barley and subtle raisin and caramel notes. Delicious and mouth-filling, yet vibrant and zesty. It has just enough sweet notes and a fantastic finish. The closest I've seen to a single malt Scotch from the U.S.!
Price: $69.99 Add To Waiting List

2009 Kingston Family Vineyards "Alazan" Pinot Noir Casablanca Valley
Review Date: 06-09-2014
Absolutely delicious Pinot Noir - one of the best Pinot offerings from Chile - fantastic red fruits and exotic spices mingling with a distinctive smoky note are extremely enticing and this wine pairs very well with many foods. Kingston's vineyards are in the Casablanca Valley, and with its cool maritime influence it's no wonder such high quality Pinot comes from their spectacular property. It's a great contender for the cellar too, but hard to resist so hide some from yourself if you want to age it!
Top Value!
Price: $29.99 Add To Waiting List
ST 91 WE 90

2012 Kingston "Cariblanco" Sauvignon Blanc Casablanca Valley
Review Date: 06-09-2014
This is an absolutely fantastic Sauvignon Blanc - one of my favorites, especially at this price. It is wonderfully complex and has a very impressive texture and weight. Rich tropical and citrus fruits with a slight touch of savory - it is spectacular as a summer dinner wine.
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 91

2012 Celler de Capçanes "Mas Donis Barrica Old Vines" Montsant
Review Date: 05-21-2014
Wow, is this the best Mas Donis we've seen yet? I think so. It still shows its hallmark big, deep blackberry fruit, but really brings in another quality with the up-front spiciness and rose petal notes. The wonderful dark berry fruit and spice comes through all the way to the palate and long into the finish. Great job!
Top Value!
Price: $12.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 94 ST 90

Lehmann "Jamesse Prestige" Grand Champagne Mouth Blown Wine Glass
Review Date: 05-20-2014
When our Champagne gurus Gary and Scott came back from Champagne this year raving about the glassware designed by Philippe Jamesse, I certainly took notice. These Champagne glasses are a bit more open and less flute like than standard flutes, and highlight the complexity of Champagne beautifully. Among the best Champagne glasses we've ever used, they are also an incredible value for both the mouth blown and machine made versions. If you love Champagne you owe it to yourself to try this glass.
Top Value!
Price: $37.50 Add To Waiting List

2002 Thiénot "La Vigne aux Gamins" Blanc de Blancs Brut Champagne
Review Date: 08-13-2013
Stunning perfection. The 2002 La Vigne Aux Gamins elegance and purity rise this Champagne to a level rarely seen. Without the need for blousy opulence or extensive lees character, the Champagne sings. It's a counter tenor compared to the more commonly seen baritone version of great Champagnes. No offence to the rich and toasty champagnes out there, I love those sometimes, but this is cerebral and special, a bright and vivid expression of Champagne, showing extremely refined minerality, delicate white florals and wonderfully focused fruit that is both delicate and profound at the same time. Don't miss this one!
Drink from 2013 to 2013
Price: $149.00 Add To Waiting List
WE 94 WS 93

Launois "Quartz" Blanc de Blancs Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-07-2013
This lower pressure Champagne, coming from the single vineyard Chetillons is another astounding deal from Launois. The soft creamy feel of the mousse and the long lingering palate feel showing sweetcake and creamy apple richness mid-palate flows to a long lingering finish (another Grand Cru at this price!) ..... what's not to like?
Price: $39.99 Add To Waiting List

Launois "Cuvée Reserve" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 05-07-2013
There's not a lot more to say about this one, it a no-brainer! Grand Cru Champagne of this quality at this price is just not to be missed.
Price: $34.99 Add To Waiting List

Thienot Brut Champagne
Review Date: 03-12-2013
Light and crisp on the nose and moving on to an absolutely wonderful zesty palate of citrusy/tangerine like fruit - it has a wonderful mousse and a great finish. Drink like a movie star! This was the Champagne for the 2013 Oscars.
Drink from 2013 to 2013
Price: $39.99 Add To Waiting List

Wine Club

$34.99
ST 90

Canard-Duchene "Authentic" Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 03-12-2013
What a deal for a Brut Rose. Perfectly dry and crisp with red currant/strawberry fruit and a crisp clean finish.
Drink from 2013 to 2013
Price: $39.99 Add To Waiting List

Canard-Duchêne "Authentic" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 03-12-2013
What a value! Another great find by Gary Westby. Lovely bread/cracker notes, fairly rich but with a good highlighting tartness. Clean finish and a lovely texturaly fine mousse.
Drink from 2013 to 2013
Price: $29.99 Add To Waiting List

Ariston Aspasie "Carte Blanche" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 06-10-2009
I can give this no better recommendation, working for K&L I have a lot of choices, and this was the wine for my wedding. You'll always find it in my cellar and I love this Champagne.
Price: $27.99 Add To Waiting List