Staff Favorites - Shaun Green

Shaun Green

Reviews

  
2014 Big Table Farm Willamette Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 07-18-2016
You can't get closer to nature than Big Table Farm. On a 19th century farm near Gaston Oregon, the owners are truly hands on, boots in the dirt true winemakers. 'Craft' is used a bit too much, but it applies perfectly here. Head to the farm and you'll see two people producing something that harkens back to a simpler age, and they will almost certainly capture your heart.. The Pinot Noir has wonderful purity, silky texture and great pinot expression. It is balanced out with lovely minerals and spice and very pretty cherry fruit. Something truly special in the world of Oregon Pinot.
Price: $42.99 Add To Cart

Charles Heidsieck "Brut Reserve" Champagne (1.5L)
Review Date: 05-17-2016
The magnum of the Charles Heidsieck Brut Reserve is even better than the Champagne in .750 which is truly a statement. The .750 is rich and opulent but the magnum lends yet another overlaying note of refined elegance to the package. It is often repeated that Champagne is best made in magnums, and this bottle is definitely an argument to that truth.

Charles Heidsieck "Brut Reserve" Champagne
Review Date: 05-17-2016
Simply delicious, the Charles Heidsieck Champagnes have improved so drastically lately that if you haven't tried them recently you owe it to yourself to try one now. Bold nutty, toasty and rich, but not lumbering or cloying - it has a lovely acidity to finish it off. Bravo!

Fleury Sonate 9 Opus 10 Extra Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-17-2016
Something quite unique and exciting in Champagne presents itself in the Sonata 9 Opus One EB from Fleury, the best Natural Wine I've tried sparkling or not. Quite dry on the palate even though there is a small naturally occurring RS, 2 years on the lees which makes some sense for a Natural Wine, and a lovely palate. For the Champagne lover who has everything!
Price: $89.99 Add To Cart

Launois "Veuve Clemence" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 05-17-2016
I love the freshness of the Veuve Clemence. From pickings on the upper and lower parts of the slopes in all Grand Cru vineyards. The Champagne is wonderfully complex, but the crisp apple fruit component of the palate shows through brilliantly and subtle hints of spices are woven throughout. Another incredible deal in Grand Cru Champagne
Top Value!
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart

2012 E. Guigal Côtes du Rhône
Review Date: 05-16-2016
We all need some 'go to' wines in our cellar, and for years Guigal has produced a fantastic Cotes du Rhone at an extremely good price to complement their line of high end wines. It has seen its rightful place on many a restaurant menu and in wine lovers' homes everywhere. The 2012 is no exception, pure and balanced Rhone full of dark fruit, spice and lovely Rhone earth and fine tannins and acidity to support the wine.
Top Value!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
VN 91 RP 90

2014 Wines Of Substance Columbia Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 05-10-2016
A bold and pretty powerful offering from Charles Smith at a great price! The WOS has great mouthfeel, lots of deep dark fruit and notes of French Oak and spice. It's truly a serious Washington Cab at a fantastic price
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
RP 90 - 92

2013 Lynmar Russian River Valley Chardonnay
Review Date: 05-10-2016
Here's a wonderfully crowd pleasing Chardonnay nicely balancing beautiful ripe fruit classic creamy oak and a nice lemon cream edge over a nicely textured soft tannin frame. There is something for everyone in this Chardonnay, not too far in any direction and hitting the 'yum' bulls eye!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WE 94

2013 Joseph Phelps "Freestone Vineyards" Sonoma Coast Chardonnay
Review Date: 05-10-2016
Here is a lovely classic California Chardonnay with just the right amount of lovely pear and apple fruit, white flowers and an integrated oak component. Never over the top or overly buttery and beautifully balanced. It's great to have this very serious and well crafted,fine tuned California Chardonnay at a very reasonable price.

2013 Mount Edward Pinot Noir Central Otago
Review Date: 05-03-2016
I have to agree with my colleagues here, Ryan has brought us another fantastic and engaging Pinot Noir at an incredible price. NZ Pinot Noir has been capturing the hearts of the K&L staff for a while now and this is yet another entry in that winning category. It's great to see consensus among K&L Staff, professional reviewers and customers - this has earned great reports from all three.
Top Value!

2015 Mt. Hector Sauvignon Blanc Wairarapa
Review Date: 04-07-2016
Hot on the heels of their wildly successful Pinot Noir, this Sauvignon Blanc from Mt Hector is an equally outrageous value. Wonderfully tropical NZ fruits, lime and guava with a mouthwatering acidity and lovely steely finish. Get it while it lasts!
Top Value!
Price: $8.99 Add To Cart

2014 Domaine Barou Syrah Collines Rhodaniennes
Review Date: 04-01-2016
What a great value this is! Northern Rhone old vine Syrah at this price is unheard of. It has a wonderful Syrah expression and truly shows its northern Rhone roots, lovely deep dark fruit mingled with light spices and a nice long finish of intense blueberry and cassis. Buy it by the case before it's gone!
Top Value!
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart

2009 Louise Brison Vintage Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-11-2016
Wow, I drank a lot of the fabulous 2008 and was sorry to see it gone, but then the 2009 showed up and it is right there in quality. A bit racier and zippier than the 2008 while still stunning in elegance and style. It's hard to understand how this Champagne can be priced so low, but I'm not complaining, I'm just drinking! This will last 10 years easily, but I doubt much will make it that long, it's very inviting right now and will be hard to resist.
Top Value!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Gin Mare Mediterranean Gin (750ml)
Review Date: 02-04-2016
A very cool and unusual gin from Spain! Distilled from Olives, Thyme, Rosemary and Basil, this gin is almost a martini in itself. The thyme is the forward aromatic so the herbal notes are very fine, and wonderful citrus overtones provide freshness and zip. There is a fantastic and equally fresh subtly minty quality on the finish that I love. Absolutely delicious.
Top Value!
Price: $33.99 Add To Cart

San Venanzio Prosecco Valdobbiadene Demi-Long Superiore Brut
Review Date: 02-03-2016
OK, so the label is hard to love and the name is a bit hard to figure out but most importantly, the Prosecco inside is great! Fresh and inviting on the nose, and on the palate it's wonderfully creamy and moussy lively and bright. Quite dry with a lemon pith over golden delicious apple fruitiness, soft chalky minerality and a nice mid-palate weight from the extended lees contact. This one is sure to become a party favorite at a price we can afford.
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
WE 92 JS 90

2013 Mt. Hector Pinot Noir Wairarapa
Review Date: 01-07-2016
OK, now this is getting hard to believe but Ryan has found another NZ beauty at a ridiculously low price. The Mt Hector has wonderfully sweet cherry and wild raspberry fruit and surprising layers of minerality and dark spice all supported by just enough backbone, fresh acidity and a lovely sweet cherry finish. All for a silly price and even better finished off in Stelvin (screw cap) which I love for early drinking wines. This truly shows much, much better than its price and is a no-brainer for any Pinot Noir lover. It could just be THE best value in the store.
Top Value!
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart
BC 92

VinoBlends Wine Blending Kit
Review Date: 12-03-2015
VinoBlends Wine Blending Kit lets you try your hand at being a winemaker. Created by Phil Mckenney, a successful wine industry insider who leads group wine blending seminars, this kit has everything you will need. The wines are top Napa reds with which you can make your own Bordeaux style blend. It's a great experiment, and one you get to drink after you've finished!
Price: $159.99 Add To Cart

Copper & Kings American Apple Brandy (750ml)
Review Date: 11-18-2015
I really loved this apple brandy. Some of us who have been around a while remember the days of pretty harsh apple brandy, and this couldn't be further from those bad old days. The Copper & Kings American Apple Brandy is wonderfully full bodied, with a lovely texture and bold fruit. Not simple at all, despite the great price. This was one of my top two of the offerings from Copper & Kings
Top Value!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Copper & Kings "Butchertown" Reserve Casks Brandy (750ml)
Review Date: 11-18-2015
Wow! This was really fantastic from a great new distillery. Rich and full with a nice roundness that draws you to the next sip. Great Job Copper & Kings!
Top Value!
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

2012 Stonestreet "Estate" Alexander Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 11-18-2015
Here's a great value in Cabernet that really shines. It shows a wonderful concentration of dark fruits without going over the top, highlighted with a dash of dark spices and nicely supported by rounded tannins. It will hold its own with a lot of cabs at twice the price!

2014 Silkman Semillon Hunter Valley
Review Date: 11-09-2015
The Silkman is a wonderfully expressive and forward Semillon that shows its new world character up front with lovely fresh tropical fruit and fine elegant minerals. A very friendly wine with complexity just right for a holiday feast this year!
Top Value!
Price: Hidden View Price

2012 La Valentina Montepulciano d'Abruzzo
Review Date: 08-30-2015
Want a wonderfully rich and complex old world meets a touch of new world wine for a steal? Here you go! The nose lures you in with nice lightly earthy and softly nuanced tobacco leaf notes over rich dark fruit and an old world elegance. The palate offers up deep plummy fruit highlighted by a lovely dried citrus peel. Dusty tannins and well balanced acidity breathes old world style and a touch of new world fruit density answers back. Great balance and style, not overdone or manipulated just delicious - this one should not last long!
Top Value!
Price: $10.95 Add To Cart
JS 92

2010 Hopes Grove "Silver Lining" Syrah Hawke's Bay
Review Date: 08-23-2015
One of the most exciting Syrahs I've tasted in some time. Powerful yet not over to top, complex and deep yet understandable, Old World and New World combined - pretty much everything I could want in a Syrah. There are times when our staff all taste a wine and look at each other with a knowing smile; this was one, and we have 30 cases total, they won't last long.
Top Value!

Cut Spike Nebraska Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 07-22-2015
Wow, this 3rd evolution of Cut Spike is a little different but even better. Tropical fruits, ginger and a wonderful spicy wood on the nose move along to a beautiful mid palate of soft fruity lime and papaya, gentle Asian spice and lemon grass, then flow through to a smooth finish showing orange blossom, kaffir lime and notes of that wonderful vanilla the last offering had. Very unique and impressive - and a must for any whisky lover.
Top Value!
Price: Hidden View Price

The Durand Corkscrew for Removal of Old Corks with Confidence
Review Date: 06-23-2015
Simply the best corkscrew we have ever offered, and the best I've ever used.
Price: $124.99 Add To Cart

Lehmann "Jamesse Reference" Grand Champagne glass (we can only ship in 6pks )
Review Date: 06-23-2015
When our Champagne gurus Gary and Scott came back from Champagne this year raving about the glassware designed by Philippe Jamesse, I certainly took notice. These Champagne glasses are a bit more open and less flute like than standard flutes, and highlight the complexity of Champagne beautifully. Among the best Champagne glasses we've ever used, they are also an incredible value for both the mouth blown and machine made versions. If you love Champagne you owe it to yourself to try this glass. Our best selling Champagne glass ever!
Top Value!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

2011 Domaine Aurelien Verdet Vosne-Romanée 1er Cru "Les Beau Monts"
Review Date: 06-04-2015
One of my favorite wines from a recent (May 2015) dinner tasting of Burgundies. Classic Burgundian beauty with a richness, complexity and depth, but in a very elegant and refined frame. Pure and finely balanced between beauty and power. This is why we buy Burgundy.
Drink from 2015 to 2015
Price: $109.00 Add To Cart
WS 90

2002 Ruinart "Dom Ruinart" Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 06-04-2015
There are flashily packaged, everyone has to have one, fad-of-the-moment Champagnes - and there are classic, stunningly beautiful Champagnes that prove to all who taste them why Champagne is a true luxury worth treating yourself from time to time. The 2002 Dom Ruinart Rose is a great example of the latter. A true special occasion Grand Cru that you deserve to try at least once in life.

2004 Haut-Bergey, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 02-18-2015
Here's your chance to get a lovely classic ready to drink Bordeaux at a great price. Wonderfully rich and smooth texture with a medium weight yet complex qualities of tobacco leaf, roasted nuts under lovely berry fruit. Don't miss this one!
Top Value!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
RP 90

Louise Brison "L'Impertinente" Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 02-06-2015
Wow, not sure what is impertinent about this wine, it's spectacular and lovely. A wonderfully red fruit nose and a richer elegance on the palate, dry with a long finish. And for a rosé at this price it is a serious price performer.
Top Value!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Michel Couvreur K&L Exclusive Overaged Peated Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 10-07-2014
I love it! Super creamy with a mild peat, lovely sherry character and an absolutely wonderful sexy texture on the palate. What an amazingly charming whiskey!
Top Value!
Price: $82.99 Add To Cart

Stolzle Universal Bordeaux Glass (ship as 6pk only)
Review Date: 07-31-2014
Here's a fantastic value solution to your wine glass needs. It's a great Cabernet/Merlot shape and we got a fantastic closeout price.
Top Value!
Price: Hidden View Price

Westland American Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 07-15-2014
I hardly need to second the choices of David, but wow this one is very cool! Its rich, deep color at first made me worry that this was going to be a little too woody and sweet, but the nose suddenly changed that. Very full and deep with a somewhat roasted nut nose, and on the palate it has nice, long walnut, vanilla, barley and subtle raisin and caramel notes. Delicious and mouth-filling, yet vibrant and zesty. It has just enough sweet notes and a fantastic finish. The closest I've seen to a single malt Scotch from the U.S.!
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

Lehmann "Jamesse Prestige" Grand Champagne Mouth-Blown Wine Glass
Review Date: 05-20-2014
When our Champagne gurus Gary and Scott came back from Champagne this year raving about the glassware designed by Philippe Jamesse, I certainly took notice. These Champagne glasses are a bit more open and less flute like than standard flutes, and highlight the complexity of Champagne beautifully. Among the best Champagne glasses we've ever used, they are also an incredible value for both the mouth blown and machine made versions. If you love Champagne you owe it to yourself to try this glass.
Top Value!
Price: $37.50 Add To Cart

2012 Penfolds "Bin 8" Cabernet Sauvignon-Shiraz South Australia
Review Date: 04-08-2014
I love the addition of Syrah to Cabernet, and Penfolds is certainly one of the masters of the blend. Rich dense black fruits but not at all overblown, and oak that is present but very nicely integrated. It's smooth and rich with a nice long finish. With all the high priced Penfolds offerings lately, here's a fantastic offering showing their style at a price we can afford.
Drink from 2014 to 2014

2002 Thiénot "La Vigne aux Gamins" Blanc de Blancs Brut Champagne
Review Date: 08-13-2013
Stunning perfection. The 2002 La Vigne Aux Gamins elegance and purity rise this Champagne to a level rarely seen. Without the need for blousy opulence or extensive lees character, the Champagne sings. It's a counter tenor compared to the more commonly seen baritone version of great Champagnes. No offence to the rich and toasty champagnes out there, I love those sometimes, but this is cerebral and special, a bright and vivid expression of Champagne, showing extremely refined minerality, delicate white florals and wonderfully focused fruit that is both delicate and profound at the same time. Don't miss this one!
Drink from 2013 to 2013
Price: $149.00 Add To Cart
WE 94 WS 93

Launois "Quartz" Blanc de Blancs Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-07-2013
This lower pressure Champagne, coming from the single vineyard Chetillons is another astounding deal from Launois. The soft creamy feel of the mousse and the long lingering palate feel showing sweetcake and creamy apple richness mid-palate flows to a long lingering finish (another Grand Cru at this price!) ..... what's not to like?
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Launois "Cuvée Reserve" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 05-07-2013
There's not a lot more to say about this one, it a no-brainer! Grand Cru Champagne of this quality at this price is just not to be missed.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Thienot Brut Champagne
Review Date: 03-12-2013
Light and crisp on the nose and moving on to an absolutely wonderful zesty palate of citrusy/tangerine like fruit - it has a wonderful mousse and a great finish. Drink like a movie star! This was the Champagne for the 2013 Oscars.
Drink from 2013 to 2013
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
ST 90

Canard-Duchene "Authentic" Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 03-12-2013
What a deal for a Brut Rose. Perfectly dry and crisp with red currant/strawberry fruit and a crisp clean finish.
Drink from 2013 to 2013
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Canard-Duchêne "Authentic" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 03-12-2013
What a value! Another great find by Gary Westby. Lovely bread/cracker notes, fairly rich but with a good highlighting tartness. Clean finish and a lovely texturaly fine mousse.
Drink from 2013 to 2013
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

1995 Charles Heidsieck "Blanc des Millénaires" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 12-26-2012
Exactly what I want in special occasion Champagne - rich hazelnut cream, spicy baked apple, notes of honey and a wonderfully toasty overlay, yet it has great acidity and is still fresh - a wonderful balancing act. Perfect bubbles and silky palate texture,this is perfection in a bottle. Heidsieck has spent a huge amount of effort on quality across the range of their Champagnes, and this is absolutely spectacular!
Drink from 2012 to 2012

Cappellano Barolo Chinato 500ml
Review Date: 08-22-2012
If you have not experienced Chinato yet, you don't know what you're missing - and this is about as good as it gets. The wonderful aromatics of Barolo combined with herbs to create a magically wonderful concoction. Traditionally used to soothe the stomach after a wonderful meal, a lot of us now use it as a liqueur. The slightly bitter herbs and roots are strangely alluring and completely different.
Price: $54.99 Add To Cart

Ariston Aspasie "Carte Blanche" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 06-10-2009
I can give this no better recommendation, working for K&L I have a lot of choices, and this was the wine for my wedding. You'll always find it in my cellar and I love this Champagne.
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart