Staff Favorites - Shaun Green

Shaun Green

Reviews

  
2009 Louise Brison Vintage Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-11-2016
Wow, I drank a lot of the fabulous 2008 and was sorry to see it gone, but then the 2009 showed up and it is right there in quality. A bit racier and zippier than the 2008 while still stunning in elegance and style. It's hard to understand how this Champagne can be priced so low, but I'm not complaining, I'm just drinking! This will last 10 years easily, but I doubt much will make it that long, it's very inviting right now and will be hard to resist.
Top Value!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Gin Mare Mediterranean Gin (750ml)
Review Date: 02-04-2016
A very cool and unusual gin from Spain! Distilled from Olives, Thyme, Rosemary and Basil, this gin is almost a martini in itself. The thyme is the forward aromatic so the herbal notes are very fine, and wonderful citrus overtones provide freshness and zip. There is a fantastic and equally fresh subtly minty quality on the finish that I love. Absolutely delicious.
Top Value!
Price: $33.99 Add To Cart

San Venanzio Prosecco Valdobbiadene Demi-Long Superiore Brut
Review Date: 02-03-2016
OK, so the label is hard to love and the name is a bit hard to figure out but most importantly, the Prosecco inside is great! Fresh and inviting on the nose, and on the palate it's wonderfully creamy and moussy lively and bright. Quite dry with a lemon pith over golden delicious apple fruitiness, soft chalky minerality and a nice mid-palate weight from the extended lees contact. This one is sure to become a party favorite at a price we can afford.
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
WE 92 JS 90

2013 Mt. Hector Pinot Noir Wairarapa
Review Date: 01-07-2016
OK, now this is getting hard to believe but Ryan has found another NZ beauty at a ridiculously low price. The Mt Hector has wonderfully sweet cherry and wild raspberry fruit and surprising layers of minerality and dark spice all supported by just enough backbone, fresh acidity and a lovely sweet cherry finish. All for a silly price and even better finished off in Stelvin (screw cap) which I love for early drinking wines. This truly shows much, much better than its price and is a no-brainer for any Pinot Noir lover. It could just be THE best value in the store.
Top Value!
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart
BC 92

2012 La Massa "La Massa" Toscana
Review Date: 11-30-2015
Here's a very cool Super Tuscan at a fantastic price. Rich and mouthfilling dark cherry fruit with a bit of spice lingering throughout and a great but not heavy handed structure. Pull a cork and you'll quickly be hooked too.
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$16.99
JS 93 RP 93

Copper & Kings American Apple Brandy (750ml)
Review Date: 11-18-2015
I really loved this apple brandy. Some of us who have been around a while remember the days of pretty harsh apple brandy, and this couldn't be further from those bad old days. The Copper & Kings American Apple Brandy is wonderfully full bodied, with a lovely texture and bold fruit. Not simple at all, despite the great price. This was one of my top two of the offerings from Copper & Kings
Top Value!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Copper & Kings "Butchertown" Reserve Casks Brandy (750ml)
Review Date: 11-18-2015
Wow! This was really fantastic from a great new distillery. Rich and full with a nice roundness that draws you to the next sip. Great Job Copper & Kings!
Top Value!
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

2012 Stonestreet "Estate" Alexander Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 11-18-2015
Here's a great value in Cabernet that really shines. It shows a wonderful concentration of dark fruits without going over the top, highlighted with a dash of dark spices and nicely supported by rounded tannins. It will hold its own with a lot of cabs at twice the price!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
RP 94 VN 90

2014 Silkman Semillon Hunter Valley
Review Date: 11-09-2015
The Silkman is a wonderfully expressive and forward Semillon that shows its new world character up front with lovely fresh tropical fruit and fine elegant minerals. A very friendly wine with complexity just right for a holiday feast this year!
Top Value!
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart

2014 Te Mata "Elston" Chardonnay Hawke's Bay
Review Date: 09-30-2015
Wonderfully complex and rich, this Chard shows lovely fruit of baked apple/pear and a fairly rich texture, yet balances out with enough acidity to make your palate doubt the 100% Malo it went through. Bits of spice and notes of sweet bread, with fine mineral woven throughout. Super fresh for a wine of this weight, finishing with lovely peach and fresh pineapple notes. Pretty much everything you can want in a Chardonnay and definitely a huge winner!
Top Value!

2012 La Valentina Montepulciano d'Abruzzo
Review Date: 08-30-2015
Want a wonderfully rich and complex old world meets a touch of new world wine for a steal? Here you go! The nose lures you in with nice lightly earthy and softly nuanced tobacco leaf notes over rich dark fruit and an old world elegance. The palate offers up deep plummy fruit highlighted by a lovely dried citrus peel. Dusty tannins and well balanced acidity breathes old world style and a touch of new world fruit density answers back. Great balance and style, not overdone or manipulated just delicious - this one should not last long!
Top Value!
Price: $10.95 Add To Cart
JS 92

2013 Scarbolo Sauvignon Friuli
Review Date: 08-30-2015
Here's a beautiful and expressive Sauvignon Blanc with aromatics of white flowers and ever so light sandalwood - definitely not your grassy/sweet pea or overly fruity style. The palate carries the theme with a wonderful peach pit, creamy lemon and white currant fruits, river pebble minerality and an amazingly bright acidity. The finish is surprisingly long and rich, with an softly beeswax like texture.
Top Value!
Price: $13.95 Add To Cart
JS 93

2010 Hopes Grove "Silver Lining" Syrah Hawke's Bay
Review Date: 08-23-2015
One of the most exciting Syrahs I've tasted in some time. Powerful yet not over to top, complex and deep yet understandable, Old World and New World combined - pretty much everything I could want in a Syrah. There are times when our staff all taste a wine and look at each other with a knowing smile; this was one, and we have 30 cases total, they won't last long.
Top Value!

2014 Craggy Range "Te Muna Road" Sauvignon Blanc Martinborough
Review Date: 07-22-2015
The somewhat hard-to-describe certain quality in New Zealand SB, I've been told it truly mimics a fruit called Feijoa - sounds like a good reason to go to New Zealand and try one! The 2014 Craggy this year is again a beautiful Sauvignon Blanc - lovely guava, lime blossom tropical on the palate with fine granite like minerals - not too grassy but just enough and a wonderful summer treat. It's juicy and mouthwatering with a bright freshness, and a wonderful tension on the palate.
Top Value!
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
WS 92

2014 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough
Review Date: 07-22-2015
Another great direct import from TWR that Ryan has found for us. Lovely aromas of jasmine and gooseberry with a lot of minerality and great presence on the palate. No shrinking violet here, the complex aromatics, exotic fruits and wonderfully broad and expressive regional character are truly penetrating and persistent. The TWR wines are finding a loyal base of fans and it's not surprising!
Top Value!
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart
RC 94 DC 93

Cut Spike Nebraska Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 07-22-2015
Wow, this 3rd evolution of Cut Spike is a little different but even better. Tropical fruits, ginger and a wonderful spicy wood on the nose move along to a beautiful mid palate of soft fruity lime and papaya, gentle Asian spice and lemon grass, then flow through to a smooth finish showing orange blossom, kaffir lime and notes of that wonderful vanilla the last offering had. Very unique and impressive - and a must for any whisky lover.
Top Value!
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

2010 La Mannella Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 07-15-2015
The Mannella is showing a wonderfully lively and a bit more flashy modern style. It works great with the 2010 vintage and provides a nice counterpoint to some more traditional styles. I really liked the bold fruitiness and perfumed nature, with a nice bit of spice mixed in. It's a great introduction to Brunello for our California wine lovers. Lively and zesty but still with plenty of structure, it will show better and better with a little age.
Drink from 2018 to 2018

2010 Castiglion del Bosco Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 07-14-2015
The values just keep coming - 2010 gave us an amazing number of exceptional and ageworthy Brunelli at prices that should make the Bordeaux producers nervous. The wonderfully powerful and complex Castiglion Del Bosco is another winner. Layers reveal themselves slowly releasing lovely bright fruit notes over a more savory and spicy core. The differing notes of dried cherries, flower petals and bright fresh berries all mingled with exotic spices absolutely sing on the palate. The 2010s show well now and this is no exception, but I'm putting some down for 10-15 years.
Top Value!

2010 Innocenti Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 07-14-2015
Another great value from the fantastic 2010 vintage. The Innocenti has an enticing blend of warm/dry fruits and savory notes, but still with a fair amount of lovely fresh blueberry and cherry fruit. There is a wonderful hint of spices lingering and a core of fine tannins. A great one for drinking over the next 5 or so years
Drink from 2015 to 2015
Price: $36.99 Add To Cart
JS 94 SJ 1

2013 Tongue In Groove "The Mound Vineyard" Riesling Waipara Valley
Review Date: 07-09-2015
Another big winner Ryan found for us! This Pinot is a great example of how a wine can show the fantastic fruit of the new world while still maintaining complexity and balance. The label looks like something right out of an Austin Powers movie but don't be fooled, this one is serious and seriously good!
Top Value!

The Durand Corkscrew for Removal of Old Corks with Confidence
Review Date: 06-23-2015
Simply the best corkscrew we have ever offered, and the best I've ever used.
Price: $124.99 Add To Cart

Lehmann "Jamesse Reference" Grand Champagne glass (we can only ship in 6pks )
Review Date: 06-23-2015
When our Champagne gurus Gary and Scott came back from Champagne this year raving about the glassware designed by Philippe Jamesse, I certainly took notice. These Champagne glasses are a bit more open and less flute like than standard flutes, and highlight the complexity of Champagne beautifully. Among the best Champagne glasses we've ever used, they are also an incredible value for both the mouth blown and machine made versions. If you love Champagne you owe it to yourself to try this glass. Our best selling Champagne glass ever!
Top Value!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

2011 Domaine Aurelien Verdet Vosne Romanée 1er Cru "Les Beau monts"
Review Date: 06-04-2015
One of my favorite wines from a recent (May 2015) dinner tasting of Burgundies. Classic Burgundian beauty with a richness, complexity and depth, but in a very elegant and refined frame. Pure and finely balanced between beauty and power. This is why we buy Burgundy.
Drink from 2015 to 2015
Price: $109.00 Add To Cart
WS 90

2012 Valli "Bendigo Vineyard" Pinot Noir Central Otago
Review Date: 03-30-2015
The Bendigo is another richer style from Valli, bold and rich but with savory notes and a super velvety texture. Mouth filling and layered with a warmer riper fruit and a wonderfully long finish
Drink to 0

2011 Fromm "La Strada" Pinot Noir Marlborough
Review Date: 03-03-2015
This bright and compelling Pinot from NZ is pretty hard to beat. Truly fantastic Pinots are nearly impossible to find under $20, but this one delivers. It's not a New World "thick" Pinot, rather it shows its varietal characteristics confidently and soundly while offering complex notes of spices, florals and earthy notes floating over a lovely array of red and blue fruits, and with fine tannins and a great acid balance. Bravo!
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JS 93 RC 91

Louise Brison "L'Impertinente" Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 02-06-2015
Wow, not sure what is impertinent about this wine, it's spectacular and lovely. A wonderfully red fruit nose and a richer elegance on the palate, dry with a long finish. And for a rosé at this price it is a serious price performer.
Top Value!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2012 FRAM Pinotage Citrusdal Mountain
Review Date: 10-22-2014
Wow! Here's a Pinotage that will win over even those who have been avoiding the varietal for years. Beautifully pure and missing the distinctive tarry herbal notes that keep many from enjoying Pinotage. There are a few great Pinotage that I've tasted over the years, and this certainly adds to that list.
Price: $22.99 Add To Cart

Michel Couvreur K&L Exclusive Overaged Peated Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 10-07-2014
I love it! Super creamy with a mild peat, lovely sherry character and an absolutely wonderful sexy texture on the palate. What an amazingly charming whiskey!
Top Value!
Price: $89.99 Add To Cart

Stolzle Universal Bordeaux Glass (ship as 6pk only)
Review Date: 07-31-2014
Here's a fantastic value solution to your wine glass needs. It's a great Cabernet/Merlot shape and we got a fantastic closeout price.
Top Value!
Price: Hidden View Price

Westland American Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 07-15-2014
I hardly need to second the choices of David, but wow this one is very cool! Its rich, deep color at first made me worry that this was going to be a little too woody and sweet, but the nose suddenly changed that. Very full and deep with a somewhat roasted nut nose, and on the palate it has nice, long walnut, vanilla, barley and subtle raisin and caramel notes. Delicious and mouth-filling, yet vibrant and zesty. It has just enough sweet notes and a fantastic finish. The closest I've seen to a single malt Scotch from the U.S.!
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

Lehmann "Jamesse Prestige" Grand Champagne Mouth Blown Wine Glass
Review Date: 05-20-2014
When our Champagne gurus Gary and Scott came back from Champagne this year raving about the glassware designed by Philippe Jamesse, I certainly took notice. These Champagne glasses are a bit more open and less flute like than standard flutes, and highlight the complexity of Champagne beautifully. Among the best Champagne glasses we've ever used, they are also an incredible value for both the mouth blown and machine made versions. If you love Champagne you owe it to yourself to try this glass.
Top Value!
Price: $37.50 Add To Cart

2002 Thiénot "La Vigne aux Gamins" Blanc de Blancs Brut Champagne
Review Date: 08-13-2013
Stunning perfection. The 2002 La Vigne Aux Gamins elegance and purity rise this Champagne to a level rarely seen. Without the need for blousy opulence or extensive lees character, the Champagne sings. It's a counter tenor compared to the more commonly seen baritone version of great Champagnes. No offence to the rich and toasty champagnes out there, I love those sometimes, but this is cerebral and special, a bright and vivid expression of Champagne, showing extremely refined minerality, delicate white florals and wonderfully focused fruit that is both delicate and profound at the same time. Don't miss this one!
Drink from 2013 to 2013
Price: Hidden View Price
WE 94 WS 93

Thienot Brut Champagne
Review Date: 03-12-2013
Light and crisp on the nose and moving on to an absolutely wonderful zesty palate of citrusy/tangerine like fruit - it has a wonderful mousse and a great finish. Drink like a movie star! This was the Champagne for the 2013 Oscars.
Drink from 2013 to 2013
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
ST 90

Canard-Duchene "Authentic" Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 03-12-2013
What a deal for a Brut Rose. Perfectly dry and crisp with red currant/strawberry fruit and a crisp clean finish.
Drink from 2013 to 2013
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Canard-Duchêne "Authentic" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 03-12-2013
What a value! Another great find by Gary Westby. Lovely bread/cracker notes, fairly rich but with a good highlighting tartness. Clean finish and a lovely texturaly fine mousse.
Drink from 2013 to 2013
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Cappellano Barolo Chinato 500ml
Review Date: 08-22-2012
If you have not experienced Chinato yet, you don't know what you're missing - and this is about as good as it gets. The wonderful aromatics of Barolo combined with herbs to create a magically wonderful concoction. Traditionally used to soothe the stomach after a wonderful meal, a lot of us now use it as a liqueur. The slightly bitter herbs and roots are strangely alluring and completely different.
Price: $54.99 Add To Cart

Ariston Aspasie "Carte Blanche" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 06-10-2009
I can give this no better recommendation, working for K&L I have a lot of choices, and this was the wine for my wedding. You'll always find it in my cellar and I love this Champagne.
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart