Staff Favorites - Shaun Green

Shaun Green

Reviews

  
2015 Clemens Busch Riesling Trocken (Dry) Mosel (Biodynamic)
Review Date: 02-13-2017
The Clemens Busch Trocken has everything there is to like about a dry Mosel at a price that can't be beat. Pure and bright with great acidity and balance. Lovely slate nose laced with jasmine and a faint quince like savory note. The palate is pure and fine with great minerality and lovely ripe Meyer lemon fruit. A reasonably long dry finish and fine mineral residual top it off. Beautiful Riesling, fantastic value - what's not to like!
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2012 Iron Horse "Wedding Cuvée" Green Valley of Russian River Valley Brut Sparkling Wine
Review Date: 02-07-2017
Not surprising, coming from the great folks at Iron Horse, this sparkler is absolutely beautiful. Pure and clean, nice and dry with just a hint of blush in the color - not only is this one of the very best California has to offer, it is wonderfully festive and versatile. The beautiful balance and refreshing acidity make it pair with quite a lot of foods!
Top Value!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
WE 96

2012 Marqués de Murrieta Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 01-24-2017
Thank goodness sanity still reigns supreme in the pricing of some regions' wines. The 2012 Murrieta Reserva is a perfect example. They beautifully navigated the 2012 vintage to bring us this lovely sub-$20 age-worthy wine with a nod to Old World Rioja and New World purity. I've been a fan of the Marques de Murrieta for years and this shows me why. It's a wine not to pass up.
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JS 95 RP 92

2015 Averaen (Banshee) Willamette Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 01-11-2017
Add my voice to the chorus of praise! Winemaker Adam Smith has brought us another fantastic wine at a ridiculous price from the stable of the guys at Banshee. It's hard to find even a pleasant Pinot at this price these days, yet alone a beautifully made, seriously food-friendly Pinot like this.
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
VN 91

2013 Sinor-LaVallee San Luis Obispo County Chardonnay
Review Date: 01-10-2017
California Chard lovers rejoice! Here's a rich and wonderful Chard at an incredibly good price. With a Ripe pear and beeswax nose, lovely peachy fruit and a note of brulee on the palate showing a little creamy oak from the French and American barrels. Nicely powerful but mercifully avoiding the RS trap. It's a crowd pleaser and a very well made wine.
Top Value!
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart
WE 93 VN 90

2013 Pahlmeyer Napa Valley Merlot
Review Date: 01-10-2017
Perfect California Merlot? Maybe so. The beautiful 2013 vintage and the peak of California Merlot producers come together in one stunning package. Wonderfully rich and intensity following all the way from the nose to the extra long finish are just a start of this beauty's appeal. Layers of deep black fruits, subtle coffee notes and fine tannins hold together just right and absorb all of the lovely oak. Quite complex and very well structured. The wine will surprise you when you see the ABV of slightly over 15%, the wine is so incredibly balanced you won't even notice. Spectacular!

2014 Olema Sonoma County Chardonnay
Review Date: 01-04-2017
Delicious and a great value, what more can we ask for? A wonderful mid weight clean and bright Sonoma chard like this typically costs much more, but here we have it. Lovely notes of peach stone and white flowers with a moderated amount of wood and wonderful pleasing finish. Fantastic wine at any price!
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
JS 91

2000 Domaine d'Ognoas 16 Year Old Bas-Armagnac (750ml)
Review Date: 12-20-2016
Creamy, rich and silky smooth, this is a definite winner in the Bas Armagnac category. Certain to sell out quickly so get yours while you can.
Top Value!
Price: $64.99 Add To Cart

2014 Columbia Crest "Grand Estates" Columbia Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 11-28-2016
It's hard to believe we can offer a delicious cab at this price, but sure enough, here it is! Your party wine for the holidays. The Columbia Valley in Washington continues to impress us, and this 2014 is no exception. Big rich and plummy with dusty cocoa and a great velvety texture all mingles with yummy creamy oak. Big and showy and an incredible steal.
Price: $8.99 Add To Cart
WS 91 WE 90

Baron de Lustrac 25 Year Old Brut de Fut Bas Armagnac (750ml)
Review Date: 11-22-2016
Here's a great value on a 25 year old Armagnac from a truly historic property. Complex and rich with a beautiful deep nose and a broad palate almost creamy in texture. A definite must for any Cognac/Armagnac lover!
Top Value!
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart

Siembra Valles "Ancestral" Blanco Tequila (750ml)
Review Date: 11-21-2016
OK, I have to admit I'm more of a Scotch and Cognac drinker so a Tequila has to be off the charts to make me think I want to write up something. This is THE best Tequila I have ever sipped. Pure, bright and elegant are not always the descriptors you expect of a Tequila, but this fits the bill precisely. The nose is absolutely charming with a pure agave quality interlaced with aromas of lime, spice and a note of aromatic pine. On the palate it is wonderfully complex, a bit smoky, oaky and spicy with citrus and that beautiful quince like fruitiness great Tequila always shows me. The story is captivating enough to make you want to try it, but the experience will bring you back for more. Bravo!
Price: $119.99 Add To Cart

Boulard-Bauquaire "Trepail" Brut Blanc de Blancs Vieilles Vignes Champagne
Review Date: 10-04-2016
Oh wow, I tasted this and immediately bought a case. It's amazing to find any Champagne from seriously old vines at all, much less at this price. Rich and creamy as you would expect from all my colleagues' reviews and one of the best deals in Champagne in the store.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2015 Zudugarai "Amats" Getariako Txakolina
Review Date: 08-25-2016
When you're looking for a wine to have with light summer meals, or a dish that is hard to pair give this Txakolina a try. This delicious clean white has a slight spritz helping to make it extremely versatile
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2007 La Rioja Alta "Viña Ardanza" Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 08-24-2016
If you're longing for Rioja like it used to be, look no further, here it is. Continuing a run of great Ardanza vintages, the 2007 will not disappoint.
Top Value!

1991 Villa Zarri 24 Year Old "K&L Exclusive" Single Barrel Cask Strength Italian Brandy (750ml)
Review Date: 08-04-2016
My treat to myself after dinner has always been a good cognac, and I've enjoyed this so much I've not been lured by any other brandies..... until now. The Villa Zarri 24 is just spectacular - vibrant and bright, with only barrel ageing (no caramel coloring here) and an incredible lively palate. For a 24 year old this is truly still fresh and youthful. Rich but not too savory or heady, the natural color is a wonderful deep bronze. I would have guessed this was a luxury level Cognac if I had not known in advance it was from Italy. Single cask distilled in 1991. A must try!
Top Value!
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart

2014 Terra Valentine Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 08-03-2016
A beautiful expression of Napa Cab does not have to be monolithic and overripe, the 2014 TV definitely proves this. It has plenty of rich dark fruits and a nice balanced use of oak. It's held together by a deftly balanced structure with just the right acidity and rather mellow tannins to compliment nicely. Offered now at a fantastic price, it's a cab you don't want to miss.
Top Value!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
WS 91

2015 Chateau de la Noblesse Bandol Rosé
Review Date: 08-03-2016
Wonderfully complex and impressive, this is for the serious Rose lover. Dry lovely strawberry fruit with an orange edge, elegant spice and a nice long finish. Serious enough to pair with a lot of summer fare, but still friendly enough for sipping on its own. Keith brought this one in direct and it's easy to see why.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart

2014 Big Table Farm Willamette Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 07-18-2016
You can't get closer to nature than Big Table Farm. On a 19th century farm near Gaston Oregon, the owners are truly hands on, boots in the dirt true winemakers. 'Craft' is used a bit too much, but it applies perfectly here. Head to the farm and you'll see two people producing something that harkens back to a simpler age, and they will almost certainly capture your heart.. The Pinot Noir has wonderful purity, silky texture and great pinot expression. It is balanced out with lovely minerals and spice and very pretty cherry fruit. Something truly special in the world of Oregon Pinot.
Price: $42.99 Add To Cart

Charles Heidsieck "Brut Reserve" Champagne (1.5L)
Review Date: 05-17-2016
The magnum of the Charles Heidsieck Brut Reserve is even better than the Champagne in .750 which is truly a statement. The .750 is rich and opulent but the magnum lends yet another overlaying note of refined elegance to the package. It is often repeated that Champagne is best made in magnums, and this bottle is definitely an argument to that truth.

Charles Heidsieck "Brut Reserve" Champagne
Review Date: 05-17-2016
Simply delicious, the Charles Heidsieck Champagnes have improved so drastically lately that if you haven't tried them recently you owe it to yourself to try one now. Bold nutty, toasty and rich, but not lumbering or cloying - it has a lovely acidity to finish it off. Bravo!

Launois "Severine" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 05-17-2016
Wow, this is something special and different! All Mesnil fruit in oak barrels made from Mesnil Oak - like a double Grand Cru. The Mesnil Oak lends a delicious oaky note with a wonderfully unusual and enticing oily texture. Mid slope Mesnil pickings give classic GC fruit and power.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

Launois "Veuve Clemence" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 05-17-2016
I love the freshness of the Veuve Clemence. From pickings on the upper and lower parts of the slopes in all Grand Cru vineyards. The Champagne is wonderfully complex, but the crisp apple fruit component of the palate shows through brilliantly and subtle hints of spices are woven throughout. Another incredible deal in Grand Cru Champagne
Top Value!
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart

2012 E. Guigal Côtes du Rhône
Review Date: 05-16-2016
We all need some 'go to' wines in our cellar, and for years Guigal has produced a fantastic Cotes du Rhone at an extremely good price to complement their line of high end wines. It has seen its rightful place on many a restaurant menu and in wine lovers' homes everywhere. The 2012 is no exception, pure and balanced Rhone full of dark fruit, spice and lovely Rhone earth and fine tannins and acidity to support the wine.
Top Value!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
VN 91 RP 90

2014 Wines Of Substance Columbia Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 05-10-2016
A bold and pretty powerful offering from Charles Smith at a great price! The WOS has great mouthfeel, lots of deep dark fruit and notes of French Oak and spice. It's truly a serious Washington Cab at a fantastic price
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
RP 91 WE 90

2013 Lynmar Russian River Valley Chardonnay
Review Date: 05-10-2016
Here's a wonderfully crowd pleasing Chardonnay nicely balancing beautiful ripe fruit classic creamy oak and a nice lemon cream edge over a nicely textured soft tannin frame. There is something for everyone in this Chardonnay, not too far in any direction and hitting the 'yum' bulls eye!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WE 94

2015 Mt. Hector Sauvignon Blanc Wairarapa
Review Date: 04-07-2016
Hot on the heels of their wildly successful Pinot Noir, this Sauvignon Blanc from Mt Hector is an equally outrageous value. Wonderfully tropical NZ fruits, lime and guava with a mouthwatering acidity and lovely steely finish. Get it while it lasts!
Top Value!
Price: $8.99 Add To Cart

2009 Louise Brison Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-11-2016
Wow, I drank a lot of the fabulous 2008 and was sorry to see it gone, but then the 2009 showed up and it is right there in quality. A bit racier and zippier than the 2008 while still stunning in elegance and style. It's hard to understand how this Champagne can be priced so low, but I'm not complaining, I'm just drinking! This will last 10 years easily, but I doubt much will make it that long, it's very inviting right now and will be hard to resist.
Top Value!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Gin Mare Mediterranean Gin (750ml)
Review Date: 02-04-2016
A very cool and unusual gin from Spain! Distilled from Olives, Thyme, Rosemary and Basil, this gin is almost a martini in itself. The thyme is the forward aromatic so the herbal notes are very fine, and wonderful citrus overtones provide freshness and zip. There is a fantastic and equally fresh subtly minty quality on the finish that I love. Absolutely delicious.
Top Value!
Price: $33.99 Add To Cart

2013 Mt. Hector Pinot Noir Wairarapa
Review Date: 01-07-2016
OK, now this is getting hard to believe but Ryan has found another NZ beauty at a ridiculously low price. The Mt Hector has wonderfully sweet cherry and wild raspberry fruit and surprising layers of minerality and dark spice all supported by just enough backbone, fresh acidity and a lovely sweet cherry finish. All for a silly price and even better finished off in Stelvin (screw cap) which I love for early drinking wines. This truly shows much, much better than its price and is a no-brainer for any Pinot Noir lover. It could just be THE best value in the store.
Top Value!
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart
BC 92

VinoBlends Wine Blending Kit
Review Date: 12-03-2015
VinoBlends Wine Blending Kit lets you try your hand at being a winemaker. Created by Phil Mckenney, a successful wine industry insider who leads group wine blending seminars, this kit has everything you will need. The wines are top Napa reds with which you can make your own Bordeaux style blend. It's a great experiment, and one you get to drink after you've finished!
Price: Hidden View Price

Copper & Kings "Butchertown Reserve" Casks Brandy (750ml)
Review Date: 11-18-2015
Wow! This was really fantastic from a great new distillery. Rich and full with a nice roundness that draws you to the next sip. Great Job Copper & Kings!
Top Value!
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

2013 Tongue In Groove "The Mound Vineyard" Riesling Waipara Valley
Review Date: 07-09-2015
Another big winner Ryan found for us! This Pinot is a great example of how a wine can show the fantastic fruit of the new world while still maintaining complexity and balance. The label looks like something right out of an Austin Powers movie but don't be fooled, this one is serious and seriously good!
Top Value!

The Durand Corkscrew for Removal of Old Corks with Confidence
Review Date: 06-23-2015
Simply the best corkscrew we have ever offered, and the best I've ever used.
Price: $124.99 Add To Cart

Lehmann "Jamesse Reference" Grand Champagne glass (we can only ship in 6pks )
Review Date: 06-23-2015
When our Champagne gurus Gary and Scott came back from Champagne this year raving about the glassware designed by Philippe Jamesse, I certainly took notice. These Champagne glasses are a bit more open and less flute like than standard flutes, and highlight the complexity of Champagne beautifully. Among the best Champagne glasses we've ever used, they are also an incredible value for both the mouth blown and machine made versions. If you love Champagne you owe it to yourself to try this glass. Our best selling Champagne glass ever!
Top Value!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

2002 Ruinart "Dom Ruinart" Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 06-04-2015
There are flashily packaged, everyone has to have one, fad-of-the-moment Champagnes - and there are classic, stunningly beautiful Champagnes that prove to all who taste them why Champagne is a true luxury worth treating yourself from time to time. The 2002 Dom Ruinart Rose is a great example of the latter. A true special occasion Grand Cru that you deserve to try at least once in life.

Louise Brison "L'Impertinente" Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 02-06-2015
Wow, not sure what is impertinent about this wine, it's spectacular and lovely. A wonderfully red fruit nose and a richer elegance on the palate, dry with a long finish. And for a rosé at this price it is a serious price performer.
Top Value!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Westland American Single Malt Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 07-15-2014
I hardly need to second the choices of David, but wow this one is very cool! Its rich, deep color at first made me worry that this was going to be a little too woody and sweet, but the nose suddenly changed that. Very full and deep with a somewhat roasted nut nose, and on the palate it has nice, long walnut, vanilla, barley and subtle raisin and caramel notes. Delicious and mouth-filling, yet vibrant and zesty. It has just enough sweet notes and a fantastic finish. The closest I've seen to a single malt Scotch from the U.S.!
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart
WE 93

Lehmann "Jamesse Prestige" Grand Champagne Mouth-Blown Wine Glass
Review Date: 05-20-2014
When our Champagne gurus Gary and Scott came back from Champagne this year raving about the glassware designed by Philippe Jamesse, I certainly took notice. These Champagne glasses are a bit more open and less flute like than standard flutes, and highlight the complexity of Champagne beautifully. Among the best Champagne glasses we've ever used, they are also an incredible value for both the mouth blown and machine made versions. If you love Champagne you owe it to yourself to try this glass.
Top Value!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Launois "Quartz" Blanc de Blancs Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-07-2013
This lower pressure Champagne, coming from the single vineyard Chetillons is another astounding deal from Launois. The soft creamy feel of the mousse and the long lingering palate feel showing sweetcake and creamy apple richness mid-palate flows to a long lingering finish (another Grand Cru at this price!) ..... what's not to like?
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Launois "Cuvée Reserve" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 05-07-2013
There's not a lot more to say about this one, it a no-brainer! Grand Cru Champagne of this quality at this price is just not to be missed.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Thienot Brut Champagne
Review Date: 03-12-2013
Light and crisp on the nose and moving on to an absolutely wonderful zesty palate of citrusy/tangerine like fruit - it has a wonderful mousse and a great finish. Drink like a movie star! This was the Champagne for the 2013 Oscars.
Drink from 2013 to 2013
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
ST 90

Canard-Duchêne "Authentic" Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 03-12-2013
What a deal for a Brut Rose. Perfectly dry and crisp with red currant/strawberry fruit and a crisp clean finish.
Drink from 2013 to 2013
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Canard-Duchêne "Authentic" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 03-12-2013
What a value! Another great find by Gary Westby. Lovely bread/cracker notes, fairly rich but with a good highlighting tartness. Clean finish and a lovely texturaly fine mousse.
Drink from 2013 to 2013
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

1995 Charles Heidsieck "Blanc des Millénaires" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 12-26-2012
Exactly what I want in special occasion Champagne - rich hazelnut cream, spicy baked apple, notes of honey and a wonderfully toasty overlay, yet it has great acidity and is still fresh - a wonderful balancing act. Perfect bubbles and silky palate texture,this is perfection in a bottle. Heidsieck has spent a huge amount of effort on quality across the range of their Champagnes, and this is absolutely spectacular!
Drink from 2012 to 2012

Ariston Aspasie "Carte Blanche" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 06-10-2009
I can give this no better recommendation, working for K&L I have a lot of choices, and this was the wine for my wedding. You'll always find it in my cellar and I love this Champagne.
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart