Staff Favorites - Shaun Green

Shaun Green

Reviews

  
2012 Valli "Bannockburn Vineyard" Pinot Noir Central Otago
Review Date: 04-01-2015
Here is a beautiful and rich Pinot Noir from Valli. In tasting through their Pinot offerings, this stood out as one of the most powerful and deep offerings. It shows black cherry and deep dark plum fruit, an nice touch of oak and violets/rose petal. Long on the finish and solid. Absolutely delicious!
Drink to 0
Price: $49.99 Add To Waiting List
BC 94 JS 94

2012 Valli "Waitaki Vineyard" Pinot Noir North Otago
Review Date: 03-30-2015
This Valli was definitely the most intriguing of their 2012 offering. Powerful but angular and tense and tightly wound, quite a brooding Pinot. Great minerality and acidity and a complex nose. There are a lot of layers here, and this one should reward the patient collector.
Drink to 0
Price: $49.99 Add To Waiting List
JS 96

2012 Valli "Bendigo Vineyard" Pinot Noir Central Otago
Review Date: 03-30-2015
The Bendigo is another richer style from Valli, bold and rich but with savory notes and a super velvety texture. Mouth filling and layered with a warmer riper fruit and a wonderfully long finish
Drink to 0
Price: $49.99 Add To Waiting List
BC 93 JS 93

2013 Wines Of Substance Columbia Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 03-25-2015
Wow, what a deal. Wonderfully 'yummy' and rich nicely layerd with cocoa, fresh tobacco notes over deep brambly fruit. Mouth filling and long in finish, this shows a great Washington character at a bargain price. It's not all that surprising considering it comes from Charles Smith, a winemaker with a great track record of terrific wines.
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 90 - 93

2011 Fromm "La Strada" Pinot Noir Marlborough
Review Date: 03-03-2015
This bright and compelling Pinot from NZ is pretty hard to beat. Truly fantastic Pinots are nearly impossible to find under $20, but this one delivers. It's not a New World "thick" Pinot, rather it shows its varietal characteristics confidently and soundly while offering complex notes of spices, florals and earthy notes floating over a lovely array of red and blue fruits, and with fine tannins and a great acid balance. Bravo!
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List
JS 93

2012 Woodstock Estate Shiraz McLaren Vale South Australia
Review Date: 03-03-2015
Another Aussie wine pulls the strings of my wine loving heart! This wonderfully rich and powerful Shiraz from winemaker Ben Glaetzer (yep, think Amon Ra!)shows all the great deep notes of mocha, black licorice root and spicy blackberries, but not ever overwhelming or hot. It's amazing how this wine balances density and richness with complex aromatics, structure and bright highlights - all coming together with remarkable style and beauty. Maybe the best deal in Syrah in the store.
Top Value!
Price: $16.99 Add To Waiting List
JH 94

2004 Haut-Bergey, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 02-18-2015
Here's your chance to get a lovely classic ready to drink Bordeaux at a great price. Wonderfully rich and smooth texture with a medium weight yet complex qualities of tobacco leaf, roasted nuts under lovely berry fruit. Don't miss this one!
Top Value!
Price: $29.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 90

2013 McManis California Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 02-04-2015
McManis has been a great source of inexpensive and crowd friendly California Cabs for a while and the 2013 does not disappoint. Juicy and plump with a nice little dose of oak - if you like a modern California Cab, but need something a bit more economical you'll love this one. Very tasty!
Drink from 2014 to 2014
Price: $8.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 90

2012 Ad Lib (Larry Cherubino) "Avant Gardening" Malbec / Cabernet Western Australia
Review Date: 10-25-2014
Another great find from Ad Lib, the Malbec is a lovely juicy Malbec with a medium body and broad appeal. Great dark fruits with a touch of rose petal and spice makes this one a perfect accompaniment with our upcoming holiday dinners.
Top Value!
Price: Hidden View Price
JH 94

2009 Il Valentiano "Campo di Marzo" Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 10-02-2014
Here again Tuscany shows us they can still produce truly fantastic wines at great values. Here's a beautiful and elegantly composed Brunello with lovely red fruits, silky rose petals, interwoven minerals and fine spices with an absolutely lovely texture hung on fine polished tannins, all in perfect harmony. Greg's imagery of a gemstone is perfect and polished rubies is one of the first images I had upon trying this wine too.
Top Value!
Price: $29.99 Add To Waiting List

Wine Club

$26.99
WE 91 JS 90

Westland American Single Malt Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 07-15-2014
I hardly need to second the choices of David, but wow this one is very cool! Its rich, deep color at first made me worry that this was going to be a little too woody and sweet, but the nose suddenly changed that. Very full and deep with a somewhat roasted nut nose, and on the palate it has nice, long walnut, vanilla, barley and subtle raisin and caramel notes. Delicious and mouth-filling, yet vibrant and zesty. It has just enough sweet notes and a fantastic finish. The closest I've seen to a single malt Scotch from the U.S.!
Price: $69.99 Add To Waiting List

2009 Baricci Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 07-15-2014
With so many of my colleagues commenting, I hardly need to describe this again, but I wanted to throw my compliments behind this wine too. It's simply fantastic and coming home with me.
Top Value!
Price: $39.99 Add To Waiting List
ST 91

2009 Kingston Family Vineyards "Alazan" Pinot Noir Casablanca Valley
Review Date: 06-09-2014
Absolutely delicious Pinot Noir - one of the best Pinot offerings from Chile - fantastic red fruits and exotic spices mingling with a distinctive smoky note are extremely enticing and this wine pairs very well with many foods. Kingston's vineyards are in the Casablanca Valley, and with its cool maritime influence it's no wonder such high quality Pinot comes from their spectacular property. It's a great contender for the cellar too, but hard to resist so hide some from yourself if you want to age it!
Top Value!
Price: $29.99 Add To Waiting List
ST 91 WE 90

2012 Kingston "Cariblanco" Sauvignon Blanc Casablanca Valley
Review Date: 06-09-2014
This is an absolutely fantastic Sauvignon Blanc - one of my favorites, especially at this price. It is wonderfully complex and has a very impressive texture and weight. Rich tropical and citrus fruits with a slight touch of savory - it is spectacular as a summer dinner wine.
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 91

2012 Celler de Capçanes "Mas Donis Barrica--Old Vines" Montsant
Review Date: 05-21-2014
Wow, is this the best Mas Donis we've seen yet? I think so. It still shows its hallmark big, deep blackberry fruit, but really brings in another quality with the up-front spiciness and rose petal notes. The wonderful dark berry fruit and spice comes through all the way to the palate and long into the finish. Great job!
Top Value!
Price: $12.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 94 ST 90

Lehmann "Jamesse Reference" Grand Champagne glass (we can only ship in 6pks )
Review Date: 05-20-2014
When our Champagne gurus Gary and Scott came back from Champagne this year raving about the glassware designed by Philippe Jamesse, I certainly took notice. These Champagne glasses are a bit more open and less flute like than standard flutes, and highlight the complexity of Champagne beautifully. Among the best Champagne glasses we've ever used, they are also an incredible value for both the mouth blown and machine made versions. If you love Champagne you owe it to yourself to try this glass.
Top Value!
Price: $11.99 Add To Waiting List

Lehmann "Jamesse Prestige" Grand Champagne mouth blown wine glass
Review Date: 05-20-2014
When our Champagne gurus Gary and Scott came back from Champagne this year raving about the glassware designed by Philippe Jamesse, I certainly took notice. These Champagne glasses are a bit more open and less flute like than standard flutes, and highlight the complexity of Champagne beautifully. Among the best Champagne glasses we've ever used, they are also an incredible value for both the mouth blown and machine made versions. If you love Champagne you owe it to yourself to try this glass.
Top Value!
Price: $37.50 Add To Waiting List

2002 Thienot "La Vigne aux Gamins" Blanc de Blancs Brut Champagne
Review Date: 08-13-2013
Stunning perfection. The 2002 La Vigne Aux Gamins elegance and purity rise this Champagne to a level rarely seen. Without the need for blousy opulence or extensive lees character, the Champagne sings. It's a counter tenor compared to the more commonly seen baritone version of great Champagnes. No offence to the rich and toasty champagnes out there, I love those sometimes, but this is cerebral and special, a bright and vivid expression of Champagne, showing extremely refined minerality, delicate white florals and wonderfully focused fruit that is both delicate and profound at the same time. Don't miss this one!
Drink from 2013 to 2013
Price: $149.00 Add To Waiting List
WE 94 WS 93

Launois "Quartz" Blanc de Blancs Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-07-2013
This lower pressure Champagne, coming from the single vineyard Chetillons is another astounding deal from Launois. The soft creamy feel of the mousse and the long lingering palate feel showing sweetcake and creamy apple richness mid-palate flows to a long lingering finish (another Grand Cru at this price!) ..... what's not to like?
Price: $39.99 Add To Waiting List

Thienot Brut Champagne
Review Date: 03-12-2013
Light and crisp on the nose and moving on to an absolutely wonderful zesty palate of citrusy/tangerine like fruit - it has a wonderful mousse and a great finish. Drink like a movie star! This was the Champagne for the 2013 Oscars.
Drink from 2013 to 2013
Price: $39.99 Add To Waiting List

Wine Club

$34.99
ST 90

Canard-Duchene "Authentic" Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 03-12-2013
What a deal for a Brut Rose. Perfectly dry and crisp with red currant/strawberry fruit and a crisp clean finish.
Drink from 2013 to 2013
Price: $39.99 Add To Waiting List

Canard-Duchêne "Authentic" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 03-12-2013
What a value! Another great find by Gary Westby. Lovely bread/cracker notes, fairly rich but with a good highlighting tartness. Clean finish and a lovely texturaly fine mousse.
Drink from 2013 to 2013
Price: $29.99 Add To Waiting List

2004 Sigalas Vinsanto Santorini 500ml
Review Date: 03-12-2013
Very cool - relive those college days on Santorini with this wonderfully concentrated deeply intense dessert wine from the island. It's loaded with rich dried apricot and pineapple fruit with a tiny touch of molassas laced with spiciness and an abundant acidity to counterbalance.
Drink from 2013 to 2013

Ariston Aspasie "Carte Blanche" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 06-10-2009
I can give this no better recommendation, working for K&L I have a lot of choices, and this was the wine for my wedding. You'll always find it in my cellar and I love this Champagne.
Price: $27.99 Add To Waiting List