Staff Favorites - Scott Beckerley

Scott Beckerley
Scott Beckerley  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service
I wear a number of “hats,” so to speak (covers my bald head well). I am an assistant manager at the SF store. I also manage the SF tasting bar and work sales as well. Working the sales floor allows me to explore different vineyards and regions. Luckily, there are opportunities at K&L to bounce around a lot. I’ve developed a preference for wines that are drier, more tart and more complex. Fruit bombs are not my thing like they were when I was, ahem, younger. I definitely prefer more terrior and wines that are “earthy,” particularly with some age on them. My advice? Trust yourself and try to keep track of what you have had that you like. Don’t let anyone tell you what you are supposed to like. Everyone has a different palate and that’s what makes this business interesting.


Reviews

  
Page: 1 2 3 next
2014 Castillo de Monseran Garnacha Cariñena
Review Date: 11-19-2016
This great little bargain of a grenache has bright, red fruits, supple tannin and lovely balance. A really good go to as a party wine that will match up very well with most foods.
Top Value!
Price: $7.99 Add To Cart

2014 Roquefort Blanc, Bordeaux
Review Date: 11-19-2016
This more traditionally styled white Bordeaux has crisp, green apple fruit, tart acidity and regional herbal notes. This is not a new world, soft and fruity effort but, a crisp, clean wine that is perfectly suited to shellfish and richer seafood dishes. Simply delicious for those of you who appreciate Sancerre and Muscadet.
Top Value!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine de Biéville (Louis Moreau) Chablis
Review Date: 11-19-2016
Yet another one in our lineup of bargain Chablis! Two words that often do not go together. A nice balance of the traditional Chablis elements of acidity, chalk and citrus with added old vine texture and fruit. This one should please those of you who appreciate the crispness of Chablis and also those of you who are looking to experiment away from bigger, buttery, chardonnay.
Top Value!
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2012 Lyeth Sonoma County Meritage
Review Date: 11-19-2016
This wonderful bargain from Lyeth is extremely versatile. At once it has deep, dark, red and black fruits, silky tannins and generous mouthfeel but, it does not come across as heavy handed due to the red fruit character that peeks through. Subtle spice and wood nuances add extra layers of interest, as well. Extremely versatile!
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Renaud Mâcon-Charnay
Review Date: 11-19-2016
This is consistently one of our best selling Macon's. The Charnay from Renaud has golden apple and white stone fruit scents. On the palate, apple and pear flavors are compensated amply by the citrus and minerality that takes you by surprise. A very nice, lingering finish. This latest effort from Domaine Renaud is a definite winner!
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2014 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Pinot Noir Marlborough
Review Date: 11-19-2016
This winery is probably my favorite when it comes to New Zealand pinot noir and sauvignon blanc. This bottling of the 2014 vintage is very, very bright, with a nose of tart cherries, cranberry and spice. Lively on the palate with the brightness again the star of the show. The tannins are soft and the lingering finish leaves bing cherries and pomegranate on the tongue. A perfect match to fattier fish dishes.

Ariston Aspasie Blanc de Blancs Brut Champagne (375ml)
Review Date: 10-30-2016
The Ariston family are some of my favorite winemakers who produce some of the best small-estate champagnes that we carry. This blanc de blancs is no exception. It carries their reputation for excellent quality at an affordable price. This is a creamy, rich style of blanc de blancs with a rich mousse and lemon meringue flavors. Fleshy, without being heavy, it has a long, subtle finish of apple and pear fruit. A great way to start a party or meal!
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart

Drappier "Signature" Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 10-04-2016
This unusual blend of 95% chardonnay and 5% blanc vrai (pinot blanc) has white flower notes with some muted bread dough notes on the nose. In the mouth, it is fairly rich with creamy golden apple fruit and a long, rich finish of lemon meringue. Excellent acidity and brightness, as well. A low 8 grams per liter dosage and it spends 2-3 years on the lees. All stainless steel fermentation. Update: Retasted on October 4th, 2016. This wine gets even better! Chalk is coming through even more so now and the balance is just gorgeous and the finish is even longer. The only better champagnes that I have had lately are in the $300.00-$900.00 range! Nearly perfect!
Price: Hidden View Price
VN 91 WS 91

2006 Philipponnat "Clos de Goisses" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 10-03-2016
On Monday, September 12, I had the rare opportunity to taste the wines of the “the Clos.” Regarded as the top “Clos” in Champagne by many, “Clos de Goisses” has been owned by Philipponnat since 1935, and was planted to mostly Pinot Noir in the 1950s. Up to this point in the tasting, this was the richest of the selections, with pastry dough, baked apple and ginger scents. Somewhat brighter on the palate, with dark, yellow fruits, caramel, and baking spices. Super solid.
Price: $159.99 Add To Cart
VN 96 WS 93

Fallet-Dart "Clos du Mont" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 10-03-2016
On Monday, September 12, I had the rare opportunity to taste the wines of the “the Clos.” This is an interesting blend of the 1999 and 2002 vintages with 80% Chardonnay and 20% Pinot Noir. The wine had a very big nose of caramel, maple leaf and sweet oak. Rich and balanced, with stone fruits and yellow apples. It retained a nice, clean finish with some toastiniess. Kudos to Fallet-Dart to following up well after the Krug Mesnil. A very hard act to follow!
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart

2002 Krug "Clos du Mesnil" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 10-03-2016
On Monday, September 12, I had the rare opportunity to taste the wines of the “the Clos.” This wine had a wonderful nose of lemon meringue, toasted nuts and freshly whipped cream. On the palate, it is extremely unique with lemony zest, mandarin orange, kiwi and a little nutmeg. The finish is super, super clean with lime fruit and chalky notes. Two hours later, it was all about toasted nuts and citrus! So, very, very Krug.

1999 Billecart-Salmon "Le Clos Saint-Hilaire" Brut Blanc de Noirs Champagne
Review Date: 10-03-2016
On Monday, September 12, I had the rare opportunity to taste the wines of the “the Clos.” The journey came to what could have been a sad end—because it was all over—with the 1999 Billecart-Salmon “Le Clos Saint-Hilaire.” Not so sad to end on this note! Amazing, amazing bead that goes on forever; dark and golden hued. Fine and frothy, with elements of smoke, exotic spice and anise. Once it opened up, it becomes even more intriguing with even more spices, praline, truffle and toast. Finishes softly and elegantly. One hundred percent Pinot Noir. It is named after the patron saint of Mareuil-sur-Ay and this bottling is indeed heavenly!
Price: $399.00 Add To Cart
VN 96

2010 Louis Roederer Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 09-22-2016
I was able to taste this lovely last week and it is just so pretty and enticing. The first striking thing is the bright nose of raspberries and orange. It fleshes out a bit on the palate with a nice, slightly richer style texture with bright cherry fruit and surprisingly crisp minerality. Very interesting and quite refreshing!

2008 Baron Fuente "Grand Millesime" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 09-09-2016
I just tasted a sample bottle of this last night (9/8/2016) and it is magnificent! It is clean and crisp with a long finish and a core of apples, cream and notes. Lemon meringue and nectarine on the finish. This is a SUPER bargain, so don't miss it. One of the BEST vintages since 1996. It is on its way folks, so please be patient! One of the benefits of tasting a preview bottle. It will sell out quickly!
Top Value!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Jean Josselin "Audace" Brut Rose Champagne
Review Date: 09-06-2016
I just re-tasted this on Labor Day and it was showing extremely well. In fact, our entire staff loved it! This is a main course Brut Rose in the league of Bruno Michel and Fleury. A big style, with full and lush red fruits and savory spices and blood orange. Some smokiness and a complex finish. Will hold up to red meat and smoked game meats.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

2014 Amici Napa Valley Sauvignon Blanc
Review Date: 09-02-2016
Another winner from Amici! I tried this for the first time on Tuesday, 30 August and just fell in love with it. My palate runs toward acidity and citrus flavors and this beauty has that in spades. Lemon/lime, grapefruit and an wonderful minerality make this a domestic version of New Zealand Sauvignon Blanc. Although it is does see some oak, it is very light oak and well-integrated, at that. Some tropical notes on the finish. Do NOT wait to buy it! Minuscule production.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JS 93 WE 91

2014 Olema Sonoma County Pinot Noir
Review Date: 09-02-2016
This probably the best value Pinot Noir that we have, hands down. This is a bright, spicy effort that lends itself very, very well to nearly any meal. Bright red strawberry and raspberry fruit with a hint of minerality and a very nice finish that lingers for a bit. A great pairing for fish, chicken, pork or barbecue.
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2013 Olema Sonoma County Chardonnay
Review Date: 09-02-2016
Like its sister wine, the wonderful Pinot Noir, this Chardonnay is zesty and refreshing with orange, apple and a nice touch of citrus. Not a big, buttery style, but one that lends itself to various foods or is very enjoyable on its own. A wonderful bargain!
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2014 Amici Sonoma Coast Chardonnay
Review Date: 09-01-2016
Wow! I never thought that I would be writing up a domestic chardonnay. That being said, this Amici chardonnay bridges that gap between oaky/buttery (not my favorite) and lean/chalky (my favorite). It starts with riper fruit, white stone fruits and apples, and moves into light toast and oak and finishes with some really nice acidity and a touch of chalkiness. Really, really nice!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
JS 92 WE 90

2015 Quinta da Aveleda Loureiro-Alvarinho Vinho Verde
Review Date: 08-27-2016
This bright and semi-fizzy white is a great way to start a meal or to have at a picnic or to just plain enjoy by itself! Dry, with white stone fruits and peach notes, it pairs up very well with spicy foods. I like mine with ceviche.

2013 Mas Karolina Côtes Catalanes
Review Date: 08-27-2016
This project of Caroline Bonville, cousin to the much admired Olivier Bonville (creator of one my favorite lines of small-estate champagne) is putting out many excellent reds from the Roussillon area. This particular example is bright and spicy, with a overlay of ripe fruit that makes it a little too easy to drink. There is a purity of red fruits and soft, smooth tannins that make this little affordable beauty a real gem. Perfect with barbecue and smoked meats.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2014 Domaine Long-Depaquit (Albert Bichot) Chablis
Review Date: 08-27-2016
Hello bargain Chablis! I love super clean whites like Gruner Veltliner and Albarino, so naturally, I love Chablis. It is even better when I can afford to buy it! This wonderful bottling of Long Depaquit has lime, white pepper and Anjou pear scents and flavors. Clean and full of grapefruit but, retains enough body to carry it off. Should age well for a couple of years, if you like to keep yours to soften the acidity. I love the acidity, so I enjoy it now.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2004 Lopez de Heredia "Viña Tondonia" Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 08-23-2016
I have always been a Tondonia (and Bosconia) fan and this latest release only confirms why I love it so. The earthy, spicy, tobacco nose has everything I expect from this wine...mushrooms, savory spices and a hint of tanned leather. On the palate, it starts off with bright, red cherries and follows up with round tannins, which is a wonderful surprise. Quite supple for this wine! It still has a lingering finish and bright acidity. A simply wonderful bargain for under 40 dollars.

2007 La Rioja Alta "Viña Ardanza" Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 08-23-2016
Another fine, traditional Rioja that I was able to taste right after the 2004 Vina Tondonia, which was great. This (also) traditionally styled Rioja has a beef broth nose with dark cherries and dried leaves. On the palate, dried red plums and cherries, cocoa powder and baking spices. Simply wonderful! Traditionalists, rejoice in this under-$30 bargain!

2013 Vermillion by Helen Keplinger California Red Wine
Review Date: 07-07-2016
I had the pleasure of tasting this wine today (7/7) and found it to be absolutely delicious and a far cry from overly extracted and too heavy domestic Rhone blends. A nose of red raspberries and bright blackberries, along with scents of graphite and white pepper. On the palate, dark plums, more dark raspberry fruit and a nice dash of herbs and smoke. If there ever was a true domestic "Rhone" wine, this one is it!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WS 90

1992 Louise Brison Vintage Brut Champagne
Review Date: 06-20-2016
I loved the 1992, which shows a strongly scented nose of roasted nuts, with baked yellow apples on the palate, background flavors of passion fruit, and a very long finish, with lively acidity.
Price: Hidden View Price

2014 Pascual Toso Malbec Maipú
Review Date: 06-16-2016
This is one of best values, and best selling malbec's ever! Juicy, dark fruits, vanilla and a very light hint of baking spices. Soft and supple, with very mild tannins. It ever scores highly with the critics!
Top Value!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

2014 Château Vitallis Pouilly-Fuissé Vieilles Vignes
Review Date: 06-16-2016
This is a great alternative to California chardonnay or for those of you who are looking to switch to Burgundy. Generous, old vine fruit with yellow apple, white stone fruits, toasted nuts and a touch of oak.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
DC 91 WE 91

2013 Mercedes Eguren Cabernet Sauvignon Vino de la Tierra de Castilla
Review Date: 06-16-2016
This is a GREAT value in Cabernet! Dark red fruits, subtle spices and even a nice hint of clean, fresh oak. The fruit is from older vines, so it is of higher quality. Very balanced and very delicious!
Top Value!
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

Jean Josselin "Alliance" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-27-2016
The Alliance has a very fine bead, with hints of cream and saline. Green apples, white stone fruits and just the right amount of spice keep things interesting and very refreshing!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Jean Josselin "Cuvee des Jean" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-27-2016
This extraordinarily affordable release from Jean Josselin is simply delicious and very mineral driven for 100% Pinot Noir. Minerals, sea salt, white fruit and orange blossoms on the nose. Melons, spices, white fruit and Anjou pear on the palate with a lingering, mildly acidic finish. A really nice introductory bubbly to this line and one of my favorite bargains.
Top Value!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2008 Viña Real Gran Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 05-26-2016
I absolutely LOVED this wine when we tasted it on May 24th. It has everything great that the traditional wines of Spain have to offer. Earthiness, tobacco, spices and savory notes. Fine tannins and fruit that starts out bright and then deepens mid-palate. Long finish with fresh minerals and bright red fruits. This is a classic and lovers of Tandonia and Bosconia should take note. This wine is simply too good to miss at this price!
Top Value!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
RP 94 VN 92

2010 Miguel Merino "Unnum" Rioja
Review Date: 05-26-2016
Dark red fruits, menthol and fresh oak on the nose. Nice and grippy on the palate with deep, dark, red boysenberry fruit. This wine beautifully shows off its lush fruit with traditional elements of tannins and earthiness, which peek out nicely from the background.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2007 Miguel Merino Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 05-26-2016
I tried this beauty on the 24th of May and it was simply wonderful. A beautiful deep nose of dark, ripe fruits with notes of cola and cedar. There is a hint of tannin on the palate but, not too much and it is nicely integrated. A lingering, delicious finish of blackberry and black cherries.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

Charles Ellner "Carte d'Or" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-17-2016
This bargain champagne has a very bright character lemon/lime flavors followed by bright red fruits and pastry dough notes. Very, very pleasant and drinkable. Bargain hunters rejoice!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WS 90

2006 Veuve Clicquot "La Grande Dame" Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 05-17-2016
HUGE surprise! As 2006 has produced champagnes that are largely very rich, this vintage Grande Dame Brut Rose is clean, muted and elegant. A nose of pomegranate, nectarine and black cherries, with a light hint of smoke. On the palate, bright red fruits, orange marmalade/orange peel and cream. Very fine character with a long finish of minerals. Should age very well.
Price: $299.00 Add To Cart

2006 Veuve Clicquot "La Grande Dame" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-17-2016
A big surprise! Much more minerality than expected. Cream, golden apples, smoke and almonds on the nose. Big, toasty and mouth filling, though not as big as many other 2006 vintage champagnes. Fleshy mid-palate with golden fruit and dark cherries. Very clean finish. The Chardonnay dominates on the nose, while the Pinot Noir dominates on the palate. More geared toward brightness than the past few vintages.
Price: $149.99 Add To Cart
WE 94 WS 94

Launois "Veuve Clemence" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 05-17-2016
Hello, my pretty! That's because this is just what this champagne is, very, very pretty. Loads of cream, with muted citrus fruits and white stone fruits. Hints of orange and blood orange. We do not get very much of this from Launois, so don't wait to buy it. In fact, NEVER wait to buy any Launois because it comes and goes so quickly. Sell a kidney and buy some!
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart

Tarlant "Brut Tradition" Champagne
Review Date: 05-17-2016
I just tasted this again today, 17 May, 2016, and it is just stunning! Candied ginger, pears and pine nuts on the nose. Fleshes out on the palate with white and yellow fruits and a very nutty finish that lingers with minerality due to the low 6 grams of dosage. Clean. Don't miss it! It's a bargain at 40 dollars!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
RP 91

2008 Veuve Clicquot "Gold Label Reserve" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-16-2016
This vintage marks the first time that VC has used oak-aged wines for this blend. In this case, five percent. The clean nose leads to rich apple and creaminess. Freshness comes through on the palate with minerals and chalk. The mid-palate retains golden/yellow fruits and toasted almonds. Intriguingly long and bright finish. The final blend is 61% pinot noir, 34% chardonnay and 5% pinot meunier. Don't miss this one!

2008 Veuve Clicquot Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 05-16-2016
A lovely tangerine and raspberry nose with touches of chalkiness and smoke. On the palate, tart boysenberry fruit, black cherries and additional smokiness. Very, very fresh tasting with generous minerality. One of the best VC vintage Brut Rose's that I have ever tasted!
Price: $84.99 Add To Cart

Founders Brewing Co. Porter, Michigan (12oz)
Review Date: 04-15-2016
What an awesome porter at such an affordable price! A nose of unroasted coffee beans and maple. In the mouth, more coffee with toffee and chocolate notes. Not a summer sipper, this. I would even be tempted to serve it as an after dinner beer with something made with dark, bitter, chocolate. Or, just by itself.
Price: $1.89 Add To Cart
WE 93

Mikkeller "Nelson Sauvin Brut" Bière de Champagne, Denmark (750ml)
Review Date: 04-15-2016
As I specialize in Champagne, this Brut Biere had a natural attraction for me. It is simply lovely with a rich and creamy character that is at once soft and hoppy. It has a very nice finish that lingers for a bit to remind of just how good it is!
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart

2014 Cascade Brewing "Figaro" Ale Aged in Oak Barrels w/ Figs, Oregon (750ml)
Review Date: 04-15-2016
Absolutely yummy and right up my alley. I love sour things. Sour fruit, sour candy, Vin Clair and the like. This ale is very sour, with strawberry, lime and tart nectarine flavors. The figs take the background and add those flavors in, as well. Yes, it is on the upper echelon (price wise) for a beer but, the quality is there AND it comes in a standard wine bottle size.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart

Prairie Artisan Ales "Bomb" Imperial Stout, Oklahoma (354ml)
Review Date: 04-15-2016
The name is very applicable here, as this is, indeed, "da bomb." Not "a bomb," but "da bomb." The main flavors here are dark chocolate and toffee. It is almost, but not quite sweet. My suggestion is to have it after a meal in place of liqueur or cognac. A great way to round off a meal!
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2014 Isastegi Sagardo Naturala (Natural Cider) Pais Vasco
Review Date: 04-15-2016
Wonderful! Very dry, with a chalky, mineral laden character. Balanced green apple fruit, some stone fruits and nectarine and lime. A wonderful, warm weather sipper!
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

Heater Allen "Pils" Pilsner, Oregon (22oz)
Review Date: 04-15-2016
This is a rich, slightly bitter, Pils with loads of character. I am not generally a Pils fan as I prefer more stuffing in my beers, but this one sets itself apart. Loads of malt and cereal grain make it more interesting, and well, just delicious!
Price: $6.49 Add To Cart

The Libertine Pub Saison, California (750ml)
Review Date: 04-15-2016
What a delicious saison this is! Lemon meringue, lemon curd, citrus and saline flavors bring this one to the forefront for me. Refreshing and a real delight on the palate!
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2013 Alexander Valley Vineyards "Wetzel Family Estate" Cabernet Sauvignon (1.5L)
Review Date: 04-12-2016
This bargain of a magnum is a very balanced bottling with dark red fruits, dark chocolate and fine tannins that are not too soft or plush. A defining undertone of cedar and spice makes it really interesting and rather elegant. Easy enough to drink now, or it should age well for the next couple of years. Don't miss out on this distinctive bargain!
Top Value!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2013 Giesen "The Brothers Reserve" Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough
Review Date: 04-05-2016
I just tasted this Sauvignon Blanc today and it is a really great bottle of wine! Classic NZ Sauvignon with gooseberries, lime and chalky notes. Wonderful, fine acidity that keeps it crisp and clean. A very nice value, as well!
Price: Hidden View Price

Page: 1 2 3 next