Staff Favorites - Scott Beckerley

Scott Beckerley
Scott Beckerley  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service
I wear a number of “hats,” so to speak (covers my bald head well). I am an assistant manager at the SF store. I also manage the SF tasting bar and work sales as well. Working the sales floor allows me to explore different vineyards and regions. Luckily, there are opportunities at K&L to bounce around a lot. I’ve developed a preference for wines that are drier, more tart and more complex. Fruit bombs are not my thing like they were when I was, ahem, younger. I definitely prefer more terrior and wines that are “earthy,” particularly with some age on them. My advice? Trust yourself and try to keep track of what you have had that you like. Don’t let anyone tell you what you are supposed to like. Everyone has a different palate and that’s what makes this business interesting.


Reviews

  
Page: 1 2 3 next
2008 Louis Brochet "Millésimé" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 08-27-2016
This producer is brand new to us and finding a 2008 at this price is just phenomenal. There is a bright acidity and cleansing minerality to this release that will make it a good candidate for mid-term cellaring. All estate fruit with partial barrel ageing that also lends a bit of toast to go along with the underlying caramel and golden apple flavors. If you like very rich, get the 2009. If you like more acidity and chalk, the 2008 is the one for you!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2013 Mas Karolina Côtes Catalanes
Review Date: 08-27-2016
This project of Caroline Bonville, cousin to the much admired Olivier Bonville (creator of one my favorite lines of small-estate champagne) is putting out many excellent reds from the Roussillon area. This particular example is bright and spicy, with a overlay of ripe fruit that makes it a little too easy to drink. There is a purity of red fruits and soft, smooth tannins that make this little affordable beauty a real gem. Perfect with barbecue and smoked meats.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2014 Spellbound California Chardonnay
Review Date: 08-27-2016
This little bargain chardonnay will leave you spellbound! It is one of our most popular domestic chardonnay's because of its tropical flavors, cream and bright acidity on the finish. Just a light hint of oak. Excellent in part because of its lineage from the Mondavi family, who as you know, have just a little experience in winemaking.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

2009 La Velona Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 08-27-2016
Bargain Brunello! Whoever thought those two words would go together? This is indeed that elusive beast and it will be sold out soon. La Velona has always been lush with dark, black cherry fruit, cassis and boysenberry. Super silky tannins and ready to go now. Don't wait to buy it!

2014 Domaine Long-Depaquit (Albert Bichot) Chablis
Review Date: 08-27-2016
Hello bargain Chablis! I love super clean whites like Gruner Veltliner and Albarino, so naturally, I love Chablis. It is even better when I can afford to buy it! This wonderful bottling of Long Depaquit has lime, white pepper and Anjou pear scents and flavors. Clean and full of grapefruit but, retains enough body to carry it off. Should age well for a couple of years, if you like to keep yours to soften the acidity. I love the acidity, so I enjoy it now.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2014 GRÜNER by Etz Grüner Veltliner Kamptal (1L)
Review Date: 08-27-2016
This fantastic value Gruner is classic in character with limestone, nectarine and lemon/lime flavors. Peppery notes linger on the finish. Bracing acidity but, not over the top enough to take the enamel off of your teeth. Fantastic with a shrimp salad or a nice side dish of roasted brussesl sprouts with toasted, sliced almonds.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2015 Quinta da Aveleda Loureiro-Alvarinho Vinho Verde
Review Date: 08-27-2016
This bright and semi-fizzy white is a great way to start a meal or to have at a picnic or to just plain enjoy by itself! Dry, with white stone fruits and peach notes, it pairs up very well with spicy foods. I like mine with ceviche.
Price: $8.99 Add To Cart
W&S 90

2004 Lopez de Heredia "Viña Tondonia" Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 08-23-2016
I have always been a Tondonia (and Bosconia) fan and this latest release only confirms why I love it so. The earthy, spicy, tobacco nose has everything I expect from this wine...mushrooms, savory spices and a hint of tanned leather. On the palate, it starts off with bright, red cherries and follows up with round tannins, which is a wonderful surprise. Quite supple for this wine! It still has a lingering finish and bright acidity. A simply wonderful bargain for under 40 dollars.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
RP 94 WS 90

2007 La Rioja Alta "Viña Ardanza" Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 08-23-2016
Another fine, traditional Rioja that I was able to taste right after the 2004 Vina Tondonia, which was great. This (also) traditionally styled Rioja has a beef broth nose with dark cherries and dried leaves. On the palate, dried red plums and cherries, cocoa powder and baking spices. Simply wonderful! Traditionalists, rejoice in this under-$30 bargain!

2013 Vermillion by Helen Keplinger California Red Wine
Review Date: 07-07-2016
I had the pleasure of tasting this wine today (7/7) and found it to be absolutely delicious and a far cry from overly extracted and too heavy domestic Rhone blends. A nose of red raspberries and bright blackberries, along with scents of graphite and white pepper. On the palate, dark plums, more dark raspberry fruit and a nice dash of herbs and smoke. If there ever was a true domestic "Rhone" wine, this one is it!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WS 90

1992 Louise Brison Vintage Brut Champagne
Review Date: 06-20-2016
I loved the 1992, which shows a strongly scented nose of roasted nuts, with baked yellow apples on the palate, background flavors of passion fruit, and a very long finish, with lively acidity.
Price: $199.00 Add To Cart

2014 Cakebread Napa Valley Sauvignon Blanc
Review Date: 06-16-2016
This crisp and clean Sauvignon Blanc is one of our most popular. Cakebread has not traded off lively balance for heavy fruit! Medium-bodied, with clean lemon and grapefruit flavors. White stone fruits, fig undertones and a wet stone finish make this one of our most interesting Sauvignon Blancs, as well. Enjoy!
Price: $25.99 Add To Cart

2014 Pascual Toso Malbec Maipú
Review Date: 06-16-2016
This is one of best values, and best selling malbec's ever! Juicy, dark fruits, vanilla and a very light hint of baking spices. Soft and supple, with very mild tannins. It ever scores highly with the critics!
Top Value!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

2014 Chateau Vitallis Pouilly-Fuissé Vieilles Vignes
Review Date: 06-16-2016
This is a great alternative to California chardonnay or for those of you who are looking to switch to Burgundy. Generous, old vine fruit with yellow apple, white stone fruits, toasted nuts and a touch of oak.
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart
DC 91 WE 91

2013 Mercedes Eguren Cabernet Sauvignon Vino de la Tierra de Castilla
Review Date: 06-16-2016
This is a GREAT value in Cabernet! Dark red fruits, subtle spices and even a nice hint of clean, fresh oak. The fruit is from older vines, so it is of higher quality. Very balanced and very delicious!
Top Value!
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

Jean Josselin "Alliance" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-27-2016
The Alliance has a very fine bead, with hints of cream and saline. Green apples, white stone fruits and just the right amount of spice keep things interesting and very refreshing!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Jean Josselin "Cuvee des Jean" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-27-2016
This extraordinarily affordable release from Jean Josselin is simply delicious and very mineral driven for 100% Pinot Noir. Minerals, sea salt, white fruit and orange blossoms on the nose. Melons, spices, white fruit and Anjou pear on the palate with a lingering, mildly acidic finish. A really nice introductory bubbly to this line and one of my favorite bargains.
Top Value!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$24.99

2008 Viña Real Gran Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 05-26-2016
I absolutely LOVED this wine when we tasted it on May 24th. It has everything great that the traditional wines of Spain have to offer. Earthiness, tobacco, spices and savory notes. Fine tannins and fruit that starts out bright and then deepens mid-palate. Long finish with fresh minerals and bright red fruits. This is a classic and lovers of Tandonia and Bosconia should take note. This wine is simply too good to miss at this price!
Top Value!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
RP 94 VN 92

2011 Finca El Encinal Crianza Ribera del Duero
Review Date: 05-26-2016
This wine was the true bargain of the day when we tasted it on May 24th. It has an bright, red fruit nose with hints of earth and tannin but, not too much. On the palate, darker fruits, with spices and dark chocolate. A lingering, delicious finish. Drinkable now but, should age wonderfully for the next several years. What more could you ask for in a $15.00 wine?!
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
WS 92

2010 Miguel Merino "Unnum" Rioja
Review Date: 05-26-2016
Dark red fruits, menthol and fresh oak on the nose. Nice and grippy on the palate with deep, dark, red boysenberry fruit. This wine beautifully shows off its lush fruit with traditional elements of tannins and earthiness, which peek out nicely from the background.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2007 Miguel Merino Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 05-26-2016
I tried this beauty on the 24th of May and it was simply wonderful. A beautiful deep nose of dark, ripe fruits with notes of cola and cedar. There is a hint of tannin on the palate but, not too much and it is nicely integrated. A lingering, delicious finish of blackberry and black cherries.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

Charles Ellner "Carte d'Or" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-17-2016
This bargain champagne has a very bright character lemon/lime flavors followed by bright red fruits and pastry dough notes. Very, very pleasant and drinkable. Bargain hunters rejoice!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WS 90

2006 Veuve Clicquot "La Grande Dame" Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 05-17-2016
HUGE surprise! As 2006 has produced champagnes that are largely very rich, this vintage Grande Dame Brut Rose is clean, muted and elegant. A nose of pomegranate, nectarine and black cherries, with a light hint of smoke. On the palate, bright red fruits, orange marmalade/orange peel and cream. Very fine character with a long finish of minerals. Should age very well.
Price: $299.00 Add To Cart

2006 Veuve Clicquot "La Grande Dame" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-17-2016
A big surprise! Much more minerality than expected. Cream, golden apples, smoke and almonds on the nose. Big, toasty and mouth filling, though not as big as many other 2006 vintage champagnes. Fleshy mid-palate with golden fruit and dark cherries. Very clean finish. The Chardonnay dominates on the nose, while the Pinot Noir dominates on the palate. More geared toward brightness than the past few vintages.
Price: $149.99 Add To Cart
WE 94 WS 94

Tarlant "Brut Tradition" Champagne
Review Date: 05-17-2016
I just tasted this again today, 17 May, 2016, and it is just stunning! Candied ginger, pears and pine nuts on the nose. Fleshes out on the palate with white and yellow fruits and a very nutty finish that lingers with minerality due to the low 6 grams of dosage. Clean. Don't miss it! It's a bargain at 40 dollars!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2008 Veuve Clicquot Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 05-16-2016
A lovely tangerine and raspberry nose with touches of chalkiness and smoke. On the palate, tart boysenberry fruit, black cherries and additional smokiness. Very, very fresh tasting with generous minerality. One of the best VC vintage Brut Rose's that I have ever tasted!
Price: $84.99 Add To Cart

Founders Brewing Co. Porter, Michigan (12oz)
Review Date: 04-15-2016
What an awesome porter at such an affordable price! A nose of unroasted coffee beans and maple. In the mouth, more coffee with toffee and chocolate notes. Not a summer sipper, this. I would even be tempted to serve it as an after dinner beer with something made with dark, bitter, chocolate. Or, just by itself.
Price: $1.89 Add To Cart
WE 93

Mikkeller "Nelson Sauvin Brut" Bière de Champagne, Denmark (750ml)
Review Date: 04-15-2016
As I specialize in Champagne, this Brut Biere had a natural attraction for me. It is simply lovely with a rich and creamy character that is at once soft and hoppy. It has a very nice finish that lingers for a bit to remind of just how good it is!
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart

2014 Cascade Brewing "Figaro" Ale Aged in Oak Barrels w/ Figs, Oregon (750ml)
Review Date: 04-15-2016
Absolutely yummy and right up my alley. I love sour things. Sour fruit, sour candy, Vin Clair and the like. This ale is very sour, with strawberry, lime and tart nectarine flavors. The figs take the background and add those flavors in, as well. Yes, it is on the upper echelon (price wise) for a beer but, the quality is there AND it comes in a standard wine bottle size.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Hop Dogma Brewing Co. "Fides in Fermento - Knob Creek 7 Year Old K&L Barrel" Barrel Aged Imperial Stout, California (22oz)
Review Date: 04-15-2016
I tasted this beer at a staff tasting on 4/12 (with about 40 other beers and ciders) and it was a standout. It is very chocolaty with soy sauce notes and a hint of oatmeal. I know that sounds terribly geeky but, I usually write up Champagne! Simply put, it was delicious and extremely interesting. I still need to mull over what to serve with it!
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart
Limit of 6 per customer

Prairie Artisan Ales "Bomb" Imperial Stout, Oklahoma (354ml)
Review Date: 04-15-2016
The name is very applicable here, as this is, indeed, "da bomb." Not "a bomb," but "da bomb." The main flavors here are dark chocolate and toffee. It is almost, but not quite sweet. My suggestion is to have it after a meal in place of liqueur or cognac. A great way to round off a meal!
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2014 Isastegi Sagardo Naturala (Natural Cider) Pais Vasco
Review Date: 04-15-2016
Wonderful! Very dry, with a chalky, mineral laden character. Balanced green apple fruit, some stone fruits and nectarine and lime. A wonderful, warm weather sipper!
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

The Libertine Pub Saison, California (750ml)
Review Date: 04-15-2016
What a delicious saison this is! Lemon meringue, lemon curd, citrus and saline flavors bring this one to the forefront for me. Refreshing and a real delight on the palate!
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2013 Alexander Valley Vineyards "Wetzel Family Estate" Cabernet Sauvignon (1.5L)
Review Date: 04-12-2016
This bargain of a magnum is a very balanced bottling with dark red fruits, dark chocolate and fine tannins that are not too soft or plush. A defining undertone of cedar and spice makes it really interesting and rather elegant. Easy enough to drink now, or it should age well for the next couple of years. Don't miss out on this distinctive bargain!
Top Value!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2013 Giesen "The Brothers Reserve" Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough
Review Date: 04-05-2016
I just tasted this Sauvignon Blanc today and it is a really great bottle of wine! Classic NZ Sauvignon with gooseberries, lime and chalky notes. Wonderful, fine acidity that keeps it crisp and clean. A very nice value, as well!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2013 Ringbolt Cabernet Sauvignon Margaret River Western Australia
Review Date: 04-05-2016
I tasted this wine today at our staff tasting, and it was nice to be reminded that bargain, quality Cabernet Sauvignon IS out there! This particular bottling is dry, with solid tannins, red fruits, a nice touch of spice, mint and eucalyptus. Good acidity on the finish. Try it out!
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
JS 92 WS 92

2015 A.A. Badenhorst "Secateurs" Chenin Blanc Swartland
Review Date: 04-05-2016
The first striking thing that comes to mind for this wine is the bright acidity. Peach and stone fruit flavors with that long finish of solid acidity. Delicious and not sweet. Will pair well with Thai food.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2010 William Murdoch Estate Merlot-Malbec Gimblett Gravels Hawke's Bay
Review Date: 04-05-2016
Bordeaux in New Zealand? Well, here it is! Loaded with gravelly character, savory spices and dark red fruits. Lush mid-palate. A wonderful bargain!
Top Value!

2010 William Murdoch Estate Cabernet Sauvignon-Cabernet Franc Gimblett Gravels Hawke's Bay
Review Date: 04-05-2016
This wine is almost too interesting and difficult to write up because of all that is going on with it. NOT a bad thing! A nose that at once has currants, jalapeno and mint. Darker, black fruits on the palate, with savory notes and a little clay. A superb price for all of this! Like the Malbec-Merlot, more Euro in style.
Price: Hidden View Price
RC 93 BC 90

2014 Jules Taylor Late Harvest Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough (375ml)
Review Date: 04-05-2016
Stickies have never been my thing. I think it goes back to drinking sweet wine in senior year in high school at unsanctioned parties. That being said, this late harvest from Jules Taylor is pretty special! Honeyed apricot, muscat and orange peel flavors. Nice, long finish that is, well, very clean! Not too heavy or sweet. The price is quite amazing. A perfect stickie to pair with fruit tarts or something flaky. Even something with sharp cheeses in it. Very memorable.
Top Value!
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2013 Domaine de la Réserve d'O "La Réserve d'O" Terrasses du Larzac
Review Date: 04-01-2016
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! This GREAT wine has deep, dark red fruits, some cola notes and great density and spiciness. A huge favorite of our staff tasting of about 35 wines two days ago. The price is simply fantastic for a wine of this caliber. In fact, ALL of the Domaine De La Reserve are over-performers and should NOT be missed!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2013 Antech "Cuvée Héritage 1860" Cremant de Limoux
Review Date: 03-28-2016
This delightful little wine from Antech is the favorite of their lineup for me. Crisp chardonnay gives it a balance of acidity and freshness. Pear and apple fruit, with a hint of nectarine. A lovely, very affordable alternative to Champagne!
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2006 Taittinger "Comtes de Champagne" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 03-14-2016
This quite rich new release from Taittinger is a very worthy follow up to the 2005. It has a lovely white stone fruit character with lightly toasted nuttiness and subdued apple flavors. Creamy and floral, with a nice bit of citrus fruit on the finish.

Deligeroy Crémant de Loire Brut Rosé
Review Date: 03-10-2016
Loire buyer Eric Story has been doing his best to provide us with relatively inexpensive bubblies and in this case, he has come through. This little winner has bright red fruits, zippy acidity and a touch of minerality. Bright and refreshing. An added bonus is the tiny, tiny bubbles. Tiny bubbles, in the wine, make me happy, make me feel fine. Thank you, Don Ho!
Top Value!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

Baron Fuente "Grande Reserve" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 03-10-2016
Surprisingly, for such a blend of “dark” grapes, this is very light in color—almost a light straw. On the nose it starts out light and pretty with aspects of fresh-cut flowers and bread dough. In the mouth it has a tight bead with very well-balanced flavors of apples (both green and gold), lemon curd and white cake, in a lighter style that finishes very cleanly. Ten grams of dosage per liter make this a perfect aperitif bubbly.
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart

Ariston Aspasie "Carte Blanche" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 03-10-2016
Excellent bubbles at an excellent price! For those of you who like Veuve Clicquot, this effort from Ariston has ample yeast and toast but, not too much. Golden apple fruit and hints of caramel and vanilla. Great by itself or with chicken, salmon or pork.
Top Value!
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart

Gosset "Excellence" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 03-10-2016
This lovely bubbly is excellent and is also a great value! Initially, it is rich with baked bread scents, vanilla and luscious yellow fruits. On the palate, it starts off rich and heady with rich mid-palate of Bartlett pears and fresh cream. The finish is a nice surprise, with bright acidity and just a hint of minerality. One of my favorite memories of this wine was having it with Caprese fare on a lovely warm night in Epernay. It was the perfect apertif!
Top Value!

2012 Chaman Malbec Reserva Mendoza
Review Date: 03-10-2016
This pretty and opulent Malbec has a lovely nose of crushed violets and Ludens cherries. On the palate, it is rich and smooth with dense cherry fruit, ripe raspberries and just a hint of anise and minerals. A wonderful vale and a wine that should please nearly everyone.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart
RP 91

San Venanzio Prosecco Valdobbiadene Superiore Brut
Review Date: 03-10-2016
This very pretty, rich and creamy Prosecco has been a favorite here for a while now. It has a mouthwatering nose of peaches and nectarines with just a hint of Key lime. The palate follows the characteristics of the nose, but has the addition of cream with a citrus finish. Don't miss this one!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
WE 91

2012 Momo (Seresin) Pinot Noir Marlborough
Review Date: 03-10-2016
This medium-bodied and juicy Pinot Noir pretty much has it all! Lush strawberry fruit combined with red berries, smoke and spice. Pretty much goes with everything from lighter beef dishes to smoked salmon and game bird. An excellent value!
Top Value!
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

Page: 1 2 3 next