Staff Favorites - Scott Beckerley

Scott Beckerley
Scott Beckerley  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service
I wear a number of “hats,” so to speak (covers my bald head well). I am an assistant manager at the SF store. I also manage the SF tasting bar and work sales as well. Working the sales floor allows me to explore different vineyards and regions. Luckily, there are opportunities at K&L to bounce around a lot. I’ve developed a preference for wines that are drier, more tart and more complex. Fruit bombs are not my thing like they were when I was, ahem, younger. I definitely prefer more terrior and wines that are “earthy,” particularly with some age on them. My advice? Trust yourself and try to keep track of what you have had that you like. Don’t let anyone tell you what you are supposed to like. Everyone has a different palate and that’s what makes this business interesting.


Reviews

  
Page: 1 2 next
2014 Domaine la Chapelle Saint Victor Coteaux d'Aix en Provence Rosé
Review Date: 06-16-2015
We have just received this lovely, easy to drink Rose. It has ripe raspberry and strawberry fruit with medium acidity and a smooth finish. This is a great apertif Rose that will pair finely with a vegetable platter or an Italian antipasto starter course. This is the summer go-to wine!
Price: $13.99 Add To Waiting List

2009 La Fortuna Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 05-30-2015
The great thing about this bargain Brunello is that it has soft tannins and opulent dark cherry fruit that makes it very appealing to drink right now. It also has enough background tannin to allow it to be aged well for the next few years. Cocoa and spice add to the complexity and also give the La Fortuna added character. This Brunello is consistently a staff favorite and this vintage is no exception.
Drink from 2015 to 2015
Price: $39.99 Add To Waiting List

2008 Launois Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 04-17-2015
This simply great blanc de blanc is 100% Chardonnay from mid-slope parcels on the Launois estate. Rich, yet clean and crisp with the trademark Launois creamy texture. This is a fantastic vintage for Champagne, so don't miss out! It will age in the cellar extremely well.
Price: $49.99 Add To Waiting List

Amaury Coutelas "Cuvée Louis Victor" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 04-16-2015
This FANTASTIC release of the Cuvee Louis Victor from Damien and Angelique Coutelas is based on the 2012 harvest with vintages from 2007 on up blended in. It has a wonderful butterscotch nose and is rich but, not sweet on the palate. It has a creamy texture and brioche and golden apples notes. Simply delicious! It has a lingers and very lovely finish. This is the best champagne that I have tasted in recent weeks.
Price: $34.99 Add To Waiting List

Wine Club

$29.99

Laurent-Perrier Brut Champagne
Review Date: 03-17-2015
This is classic Laurent-Perrier style. Nutty notes on nose with chalky notes. On the palate,anjou pear and yellow apple fruit, lemon notes and clean, fresh minerality on the finish. A clean, classic stlye! A blend of 50% chardonnay, 15% pinot meunier and 35% pinot noir. A pleasing 10.7 grams per litre of dosage, though it tastes more like 7 or 8 grams.
Top Value!
Price: $31.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 91 WS 90

Laurent-Perrier "Cuvée Rosé" Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 03-17-2015
This Brut Rose has consistently been the darling of both staff and customers. It is composed of 100% pinot noir and retains a classic, clean, fresh raspberry and strawberry character. it fleshes out on the mid-palate with ripe strawberry fruit but, ends with the classic LP clean and mineral-driven finish. Classic Brut Rose!

2013 Woodstock Estate Cabernet Sauvignon McLaren Vale South Australia
Review Date: 03-13-2015
Like the other wines from Woodstock Estate, the Cabernet retains bright cherries on the finish and cedar and earth notes. It does differ a bit with a rich mid-palate laden with black fruits and cocoa. It shines in a surprising finish that lingers a bit.
Top Value!
Price: $16.99 Add To Waiting List
JH 94

2012 Woodstock Estate "Octogenarian" Old Vine Grenache McLaren Vale South Australia
Review Date: 03-13-2015
This is a lively blend of 80% Grenache and 20% Tempranillo. It is big and rich but retains admirable acidity on the finish. Raspberry and cherry fruit with a touch of white pepper and licorice on a bright finish that lingers. Will work well with most types of food, particularly roasted chicken and barbecued pork dishes.
Price: $18.99 Add To Waiting List
JH 96

2012 Woodstock Estate Shiraz McLaren Vale South Australia
Review Date: 03-13-2015
This wine has to be one of the best bargains in our store! It has really nice, dark plummy fruit with subtle game and roasted meat notes. The red and black fruits are integrated nicely with spicebox and earthy nuances. It will even age gracefully in the cellar for a few more years! What more could you ask at this price?
Top Value!
Price: $16.99 Add To Waiting List
JH 94

2013 Fossil Point Edna Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 03-06-2015
This great little Pinot Noir was a serious star in our stores for the 2012 vintage. The good news is that the 2013 is even better! It has tart strawberry fruit and ripe cherry fruit with a light dose of wood to make things interesting. Smooth texture, though the 2013 has brighter acidity on the finish than the 2012 did. This is one of those rarities....inexpensive and delicious California Pinot Noir!
Top Value!
Price: $15.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Kistler "Sonoma Mountain" Chardonnay
Review Date: 02-24-2015
I rarely write up California Chardonnay, so please bear with me. I do, however, appreciate the Chardonnay that Kistler produces for its quality and its ability to age in the cellar for a number of years. This 2013 is more Burgundian than Californian, with a stone fruit nose, hints of almonds and minerality/chalk. It is rather weighty on the first taste, though not heavy. The viscosity makes way for lively spices, citrus notes, white stone fruits and mandarin orange with hints of lime. Very long finish with bracing mineral notes. Just lovely and right up my alley due to the chalkiness and spices. Should age well for years to come.
Price: $64.99 Add To Waiting List
WS 93

2012 Urbanite Cellars Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 02-20-2015
We have had a long and very successful history with Urbanite Cellars. The wines are that great combination of really good quality and excellent value. This lush and easy drinking new release has lovely red fruits, a touch of vanillin oak and spices. Super food friendly and inexpensive enough to use as your everyday go-to wine that is a cut above the others in quality and finesse.
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List

2007 Bodegas Puelles Rioja Reserva
Review Date: 02-16-2015
This bright little gem of a rioja has dark red fruits with touches of cedar and blood orange. It still does retain some of the characteristics of the region, light saddle leather notes with fine spices and a good balance of acidity. An excellent price makes it even more attractive!
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 90

Boulard-Bauquaire "Trepail" Vieilles Vignes Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 02-07-2015
This is a bright new star in our small-estate Champagne portfolio! It has a lovely, creamy nose of lemon meringue, bread dough and chalk. On the palate, it starts out full with golden apples, creme fraiche and macaroon. By the mid-palate, up pops the acidity and chalk and lemon flavors. Long, chalky finish that lingers. Tasted with the staff on 2/7 and everyone agreed that it was delicious and a great new find!
Price: $39.99 Add To Waiting List

Wine Club

$34.99

Alexandre Le Brun "Tradition" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-03-2015
This is our newest direct import champagne created by 9th generation winemaker, Alexandre Le Brun. Due to its low dosage, minerals jump out of the glass on the nose. Once you give it a turn or two in the glass, the golden apple fruit peeks out and lets you know that it is there. On the palate, it comes across more fully with rich yellow fruits and bright red cherries. The fullness of the palate is balanced very well by the long finish, which has lingering acidity and minerality. We are very pleased to have Alexandre's wines available for sale, as they are not to be missed.
Price: $39.99 Add To Waiting List

Wine Club

$34.99

Franck Bonville Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 01-31-2015
Hello, cherry pie! It is amazing how a much a very small amount of pinot noir can change this (mostly) blanc de blanc into rose! Start with the nose, deep, ripe, bing cherries and tart raspberries. In the mouth, the same order...initially, fleshy cherries, cream and a hint of pomegranate. Then, the raspberries and minerality march in and demand your attention. Long, long finish. If you like "bright" Brut Rose and are seeking to expand your horizons, this is the one to buy. This gem, and the wonderful Ariston Aspasie Brut Rose, are my go-to picks for affordable rose sparklers that taste as if they are much more expensive. Olivier Bonville really is a fantastic winemaker!
Price: $39.99 Add To Waiting List

2011 Happy Canyon "K&L—Doug Margerum Cuvée" Happy Canyon Red Blend
Review Date: 01-29-2015
This is indeed a happy wine! Bright red fruits, with just a hint of oak to add complexity. This wine is easy drinking and low tannin, so for those of you who are looking for a pleasant sipping wine, this is it!
Price: $17.99 Add To Waiting List

Wine Club

$14.99

2013 Pascual Toso Malbec Maipú
Review Date: 01-29-2015
This excellent little everyday malbec is supple and soft with dark red fruits and traditional cedar spice and game bird notes. Supple enough to enjoy by itself and complex enough to compliment nearly any meal.
Top Value!
Price: $11.99 Add To Waiting List
JS 90

2013 Oustric Picpoul de Pinet
Review Date: 01-27-2015
This bright little "lip stinger" wine is much more than just clean citrus fruit, saline and minerals. It also has a touch of white stone fruits and white flowers in the nose. Refreshing, clean and yet delicate and, well, pretty. For those of you who like your Gruner Veltliner and Albarino, you should consider this little bargain!
Top Value!
Price: $10.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 Olema Sonoma County Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 01-26-2015
This bottling from Amici Cellars was hugely popular with the 2011 vintage. Well, it only gets better with the 2012 vintage! Deep and rich, with dark red fruits, cassis and mocha notes. Lush on the palate, with bright oak and roasted nuts. Another winner from Amici Cellars!
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List

2009 Viña Eguía Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 01-26-2015
This surprisingly weighty release has gobs of black cherries and red plums with herbs and cedar. It also has nice, spicy undertones of pepper and minerals. Wonderful floral nose of crushed violets. A great value, as well!
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List

2014 Valentin Bianchi "Elsa Bianchi" Malbec Mendoza
Review Date: 01-26-2015
Like the previous vintages of this wine, the 2014 is a fun, affordable and easy drinking wine without the raisins/prune character in similar wines. A little French oak for added flavors and low tannins make this a perfect party wine. Consistently listed as a "Best Buy" by the Wine Enthusiast.
Top Value!
Price: $9.99 Add To Waiting List

Laurent-Perrier "Grand Siècle" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 01-22-2015
This review is for the latest release, a blend of 20% 1999 vintage, 20% 2000 vintage and 60% 2002 vintage. A blend of 50% chardonnay and 50% pinot noir with a clean nose of green apples, lime and minerals. Lush and full on the palate with toasted hazelnut and almond notes. It has a very nice finish that linger and lingers! The best one that I have tasted since the 1996 blend.

2013 Banshee Sonoma County Pinot Noir
Review Date: 01-08-2015
We just had the opportunity to taste this latest release of Banshee Pinot Noir today (6 January) and though I liked the 2012 version of this wine, I think that I prefer the 2013. As with the previous vintage, this one has bright red fruits, rhubarb and pine notes, where the 2012 had black fruits; in the mid-palate, the 2013 stays bright and clean with a long finish of generous acidity. Being a fan of Burgundy, this works for me! This is a wonderful, affordable Pinot Noir with excellent quality and character that will pair very well with chicken and fattier fishes such as salmon. A real winner, this.
Price: $22.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 Joseph Jewell Russian River Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 09-22-2014
Very pretty nose of red cassis, dark cherry, cream and light earth. Unfined and unfiltered, yet, not blocky or chunky. Bright cherries on the palate, with notes of spice and earth. Excellent acidity on the finish that adds grace and balance. A very substantial, and delicious, effort.
Price: $29.99 Add To Waiting List
W&S 95

2006 Louis Roederer "Cristal" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 08-19-2014
Ripe nose of fragrant white flowers, stone fruits and almonds. Light and delicate and soft on the palate. Rich and smooth, with a very small bead. Long finish. Quite drinkable now but, should age very well in the cellar. Should be available over the course of a year from now. Like the 2005, this one is rarin' to go right out of the chute.

Lehmann "Jamesse Prestige" Grand Champagne Mouth Blown Wine Glass
Review Date: 05-27-2014
I had the chance to try these fantastic, mouth-blown glasses in Reims in April of this year. They are fantastically light and concentrate the nose beautifully! They are also very visually pleasing and elegant. I have a set of, shall we say, much more expensive (over $100 a stem) and well-known glasses that are inferior to these at home. They will remain in their boxes forever more! These GREAT glasses are sommelier certified!
Price: $37.50 Add To Waiting List

Lehmann "Jamesse Reference" Grand Champagne glass (we can only ship in 6pks )
Review Date: 05-27-2014
Earlier this Spring, I was able to visit Lehmann glass in Reims one (fairly early) morning. After the initial eye-googling in their showroom, where the array of glasses and their collection of glass Champagne buckets dazzles, we were able to sit down and look at the Jamesse line. The star of which, for me, is their Champagne series. The "Reference" Grand Champagne glass is the little brother to the "Prestige" glass. He is just as attractive as his big brother but, a little heavier. Not overweight, of course. Just more sturdy. Like his brother, he has a great nose and bubbly personality. He's also less expensive to have around. Seriously, for me, this is THE glass to have at home for your everyday Champagne needs. It is beautiful to look at, Sommelier certified and very, very affordable. So, you won't feel bad if you break one after that mag of Cristal!
Top Value!
Price: $11.99 Add To Waiting List

2011 Domaine Lafage "Tessellae Old Vines" Côtes du Roussillon
Review Date: 05-06-2014
This is a great value in Rhone-style wines! it starts out lush, with plush mouthfeel and rich, dark red fruits. It then comes forth with supple tannin and and follows this up by dark, black cherries on the finish. Northern Rhone fans take note! Put your Cote Rotie and Hermitage away for special occasions and buy this super-bargain tonight! It will even age for the next couple of years beautifully. Robert Parker even gave it 93 points! Once it is gone, folks, it is gone. So don't wait!
Top Value!
Price: $12.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 93

Pierre Paillard Grand Cru Brut Champagne
Review Date: 03-21-2014
This lower dosage, clean and linear Brut is one of the best that we carry, in my opinion. Green apple, bright cherry and lemon meringue notes on the nose. Bright apples, zippy lemon/lime and candied ginger flavors on the palate. It has a finish laden with chalk and minerals. When we have them, do NOT miss the magnums! They priced extremely reasonably and will age for another 10 years. As it is, this little beauty in the 750 ml bottle will age well for 6-7 more years. Do NOT wait to buy any of our Pierre Paillard selections! We receive them in limited quantities and they sell out quickly!
Top Value!
Price: $48.99 Add To Waiting List
WS 92

2002 Thiénot "La Vigne aux Gamins" Blanc de Blancs Brut Champagne
Review Date: 03-20-2014
Wow! This bottling of Champagne Thienot's "Gamins" has it all. The traditional elements of a superb blanc de blancs and so much more! Both green and golden apples are present (more so for the latter) as well as clay and dough notes on the nose. Lush lemon curd, light honey and nutty flavors on the palate. Wonderfully long finish! This bubbly would be a stellar addition to any cellar and should last another 20 years or so. Extremely impressive and worth every penny. For me, it is right up there with Krug and Salon.
Drink from 2014 to 2014
Price: $149.00 Add To Waiting List
WE 94 WS 93

Ragnaud Sabourin K&L Exclusive Fontevieille #35 Cognac 750ml
Review Date: 08-20-2013
Similiar in style to the No. 20 but, with more vanilla, richness and oak. This cognac also has the stone fruit and nectarine notes with a very, very long finish. Very smooth, and a cognac to linger over an enjoy by itself.
Price: $169.99 Add To Waiting List

Ragnaud Sabourin K&L Exclusive Reserve Speciale #20 Cognac 750ml
Review Date: 08-20-2013
I just tried this fantastic cognac this morning. Better than cornflakes! It has a lovely, delicate nose of cinnamon, orange peel and apricot. Vanilla, caramel and stone fruit on the palate. Very feminine and a great contrast to the much more common heavy, sweet caramel cognac styles. Sip it, sip it, sip it. Great stuff!
Price: $89.99 Add To Waiting List

Ruinart Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 08-17-2013
This is one of our richer styled Brut Rose champagnes. It has a lush nose of dark cherries, red fruit and rose petals. Full and rich on the palate with dark, red fruits and smokey notes. Rich and spicy, it will please nearly everyone.
Price: $72.99 Add To Waiting List
AG 92 WS 92

Charles Heidsieck "Rosé Reserve" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 08-17-2013
The first thing that is striking about this champagne is the light, almost orange colour that you see in the glass. Very, very attractive! On the nose, gobs of strawberry and blood orange scents. On the palate, strawberry, raspberry and cream. Lingering finish with good acidity.

1999 Thienot "Cuvée Alain Thiénot" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 08-17-2013
An absolutely stunning effort composed of 60% chardonnay and 40% pinot noir. It has a wonderful nose of red fruits and freshly baked bread. Lush and mouthfilling with a fine bead, dark red fruits and a light savory note. Simply delicious. The Thienot champagnes were amongst the most interesting I tasted during our "Champagne Summit" on August 13th with about 75 other selecctions.
Price: $99.00 Add To Waiting List
WS 93 ST 90

Thienot Brut Champagne
Review Date: 08-17-2013
This uber-small producer has managed to produce a fine little Brut at a very affordable price. It is composed of 45% chardonnay, 35% pinot noir and 20% pinot meunier with up to 40 reserve wines used in the blend. It has a bright cherry nose with nice citrus notes. On the palate, rich and round and fairly dense with weighty red fruits. Nicely balanced with good acidity.
Top Value!
Price: $39.99 Add To Waiting List

Wine Club

$34.99
ST 90

Piper-Heidsieck Brut Champagne
Review Date: 08-17-2013
This is a great little champagne at a very affordable price! It has pear and ripe flavors on the nose with some cream, as well. On the palate, juicy and rich but, there are also ample mineral notes on the finish. Very, very nice at a really great price!
Top Value!
Price: $29.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 90 WS 90

Billecart-Salmon Extra Brut Champagne
Review Date: 08-17-2013
Lime and green apple notes on the nose. Excellent acidity and cleanliness. Citrus flavors on the palate with lemon/lime, necatarine and some saline notes. A great wine to have with shellfish, whitefish and crab.

Krug Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 08-17-2013
Even though I am a bit of a Krug fiend, actually I'm very much a Krug fiend, I just love this Brut Rose! It has an elegant nose of rose petals, tart strawberries and white pepper. A bright forefront with raspberry fruit merges into a tart strawberry and spicebox flavors at the back of the palate. Absolutely lovely! Will make a great cellar addition for the next 4-5 years.

2004 Dom Pérignon Brut Champagne
Review Date: 08-17-2013
This newest release harkens back to the quality of the 1996 and 2000 vintage DP. A beautiful nose of white flowers, toasted almonds and cocoa. Much cleaner than the 2003 vintage, with clean citrus notes to balance the yellow apple and stone fruit palate. A very nice effort!

Barnaut "Authentique" Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 08-17-2013
This beautiful Rose is 85-90% pinot noir and 10-15% chardonnay. It has baking spices, deep red fruits and anise on the nose. Dark red plum, cherry and very ripe strawberry on the palate. A rich and full Brut Rose that is great with food. Even steak!
Price: $43.99 Add To Waiting List
ST 91 WS 90

Deligeroy Crémant de Loire Brut Rosé
Review Date: 08-02-2013
Loire buyer Eric Story has been doing his best to provide us with relatively inexpensive bubblies and in this case, he has come through. This little winner has bright red fruits, zippy acidity and a touch of minerality. Bright and refreshing. An added bonus is the tiny, tiny bubbles. Tiny bubbles, in the wine, make me happy, make me feel fine. Thank you, Don Ho!
Top Value!
Price: $12.99 Add To Waiting List

Louis Roederer "Brut Premier" Champagne
Review Date: 11-01-2012
This is one of my favorite Grand Marque houses and this particular champagne has great quality and is also a really good value. Toasty nose, with rich fruit. On the palate, golden apples and cream with a finish of bright, yet subtle, acidity. A really lovely champagne that works well on its own or with a meal.
Top Value!

Ariston Aspasie "Carte Blanche" Brut Champagne (375ml)
Review Date: 02-21-2012
The perfect bottle for a picnic! This lightly yeasty bubbly has fresh apple fruit, toast and a lingering finish with good acidity. This wine is just fine by itself or great with everything from sandwiches to roast chicken.
Top Value!
Price: $15.99 Add To Waiting List

Bruichladdich Botanist Gin 750ml
Review Date: 02-17-2012
This is going to be a very strange review, so bear with me. Normally, I am NOT a gin fan. I usually don't even like the smell of it. However, this Botanist gin smells, well, like flowers. It has juniper on the nose, but it is very elegant and muted. There are a lot of white flower notes and some rose scents (for me anyway...be patient, I've never described a gin before!). On the palate, it is soft and smooth, with good body that is not too heavy or oily. Here again, the juniper is subtle and almost slighty sweet. This is not gin-and-tonic gin. Don't ruin it by mixing! Serve it neat or maybe with one small ice cube. Better yet, just keep it in the fridge. If a wuss like me can handle it neat, you can too! You won't be disappointed!
Price: $34.99 Add To Waiting List

Fluteau Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 10-17-2011
This is the first time that we have carried this wine and it is marvelous! Deep and rich, with big pinot flavors of rich strawberries and dark cherries. Big enough to handle a main course and balanced enough to stand on its own! This is my favorite of the Fluteau line.
Price: $34.99 Add To Waiting List

2008 Pontet-Canet, Pauillac
Review Date: 07-04-2011
Worth every dollar and it deserves every high rating that it has been receiving. Dense and full, with blackberry and blueberry fruit. Pencil lead (as usual) on the nose with minerality and smoke. It is a joy on the palate with currant and blueberry fruit. Amazingly supple tannins. A cellar pick and I am giving it a Best Buy as it will age for 25 years plus and costs under $100.00.
Top Value!

Ruinart Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 04-12-2011
All Grand Cru fruit in this delicious blanc de blanc. An excellent combination of yeastiness,stone fruits and citrus fruits. Classic finish laden with crisp minerality. Dosage of 8g. This is a slightly bigger style of blanc de blanc for those of you who don't like "Brut Nature" styles of blanc de blanc.

Billecart-Salmon "Brut Reserve" Champagne
Review Date: 04-12-2011
It's baaaack! While this wonderful Brut often gets overshadowed by the Brut Rose, it is one that should not be missed! Rich, yet focused, with peach and pear fruit. Ginger spice on the palate, with bracing minerality and firm structure. If you're looking to find almost everything in one Champagne, this is it!

Page: 1 2 next