Staff Favorites - Greg St. Clair

Greg St. Clair

Reviews

  
Page: 1 2 3 next
Canella "Bellini" Wine Cocktail di Venezia
Review Date: 09-06-2016
One would think that this is just a gimmick wine, but it is so good you won't believe it! Also, it has a tendency for the pulp to separate, so you have to mix it up a bit in the bottle before you drink it, but wow, you're going to love it. I've had Bellinis at Harry's in Venice, and let me tell you, this can bring back the experience—perfect for brunch or just an afternoon in the back yard!
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

2013 La Massa "La Massa" Toscana
Review Date: 09-06-2016
For me, this is really a superb reflection of all of Giampaolo’s vineyard work. The wine is a delicious blend of 60% Sangiovese, which gives the wine a structural backbone, 30% Merlot, which adds some meat, density and richness, with Cabernet Sauvignon lending authority and direction even at this small amount, while Alicante Bouschet adds some personality, spice and a little bit of nastiness—it kind of reminds me of Giampaolo—and it all seamlessly blends together. It is a superb blend, and once again, highly awarded.
Drink from 2016 to 2016

2014 Domaine Cabirau "Serge & Nicolas" Maury Sec
Review Date: 08-31-2016
A really fruit first Rhone value, the nose on this wine is quite vibrant and I really liked the supple nature on the palate. And while that fruit played itself out, it still had a balanced, dry, clean finish. Perfect for grilled pork chops.
Drink from 2016 to 2016

2014 Bel Colle Verduno Pelaverga
Review Date: 08-31-2016
I love the nose of this wine: full of aromatics, baking spice, white pepper, vibrant, it just bolts out of the glass. However, this isn't a big wine, it's more like a delicate Pinot except it has such a powerful nose, it makes you think bigger. On the palate the wine is dry, has a tiny bit of tannic grip—just to make sure you notice—and it is the perfect accompaniment for delicate pasta, roasted chicken or even salmon. Try one, you're going to love it!
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
JS 91

2014 K Vintners "Milbrandt" Wahluke Slope Syrah
Review Date: 08-30-2016
The nose is classic Washington Syrah, bold, dramatic yet a little less oaky than I'd seen in these wines before, which I found as a plus. On the palate the wine was lush, broad and full of saturated flavors, notes of chocolate and hints of tar. The finish goes out like it came in, dramatic, splashy and full-bodied, you can't miss you've had this wine!
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart
RP 94

2015 Domaine Lafage "Novellum" Chardonnay Pays d'Oc
Review Date: 08-30-2016
The nose is luxuriously fruity, full of tropical fruit. On the palate the wine is supple, and is reminiscent of California Chardonnay from a decade or two past except it doesn't have that big Oak signature. A value at the price, drink it cold!
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart
RP 90

2013 Cà Viola "Brichet" Barbera d'Alba
Review Date: 08-29-2016
This vintage of the 2013 Ca’Viola Barbera d’Alba Brichet is classic Barbera, the nose is full of spice, leather and brambly fruit, while on the palate the wine has a crunchy cranberry like flavor, an archetypal acidic structure that leads to lots of earth, spice and a bit of grip in the finish. This is an ideal wine for rich pasta dishes or even roasted chicken!
Drink from 2016 to 2016

2014 Edi Keber Collio Bianco
Review Date: 08-29-2016
The structure and richness of the wine comes from Friulano which is 70% (Edi and Kristian still call it Tocai Friulano) of the blend. That’s followed by 15% each of Ribolla Gialla which gives the wine its snap, vigor and brightness and Malvasia Istriana which adds perfume, aromatic complexity and weight. The nose has aromas that are pear like and then is delicately spiced with flavors that remind me of crushed celery seed and bay leaf. The wine has a creamy density and viscosity to it yet still has a vibrant core of acidic balance. Capable of aging for many years I’d serve this with fish that has a meatier texture like halibut or swordfish or I had recently a Lobster Risotto at a new Oakland Restaurant called Belotti, and although I don’t go out of my way to eat Lobster it was so unfortunate I didn’t have the wine with me!
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $25.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$22.99
RP 90 WE 90

2013 Cantina Valle Isarco Sylvaner "Sabiona"
Review Date: 08-29-2016
This wine was a revelation to me, I’d never heard of this wine and I’ve been a big fan of Valle Isarco’s wines for years. Sabiona is a separate wine Estate it is actually a Benedictine Monastery and has been since 1687 and while the vineyards are truly dramatic they only make 2 wines and only 3,000 bottles of each. A bit of skin contact, 10 months on the lees in tank and then 1 year in the bottle before release. I came across this bottle almost by accident, it was in a box of samples a vendor dropped off for me and I really didn’t think much about it until I opened the bottle and a truly OMG moment happened. The wine has a vibrant floral aromatic but it is so tightly coiled it seems like just a wisp of flowers. On the palate the wine explodes, decidedly more open than the Sabiona Kerner not that it is lush it still shows searing acidity and minerality but couched in a richer denser mouth feel. The flavors are slightly riper pear, with just the slightest hint of tropical fruit. The finish is sensational, powerful and dynamic a really serious wine, try it with Halibut or even better Sea Bass or Grouper, but the wine is powerful enough to hold up to creamy pasta dishes.
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2013 Cantina Valle Isarco "Sabiona" Kerner
Review Date: 08-29-2016
This wine was a revelation to me, I’d never heard of this wine and I’ve been a big fan of Valle Isarco’s wines especially their Kerner. Sabiona is a separate wine Estate it is actually a Benedictine Monastery and has been since 1687 and while the vineyards are truly dramatic they only make 2 wines and only 3,000 bottles of each. A bit of skin contact, 10 months on the lees in tank and then 1 year in the bottle before release. As I started to write this the word etch kept coming to me over and over, it is the ϋber intense minerality and acidity that is scintillating, dramatic and one sensation you’re not going to forget. The delicate nose is full of the pear, white flower, crushed quartz and is awaiting years of aging to release all that it has. On the palate it screams down the center of your tongue, layering stone and salinity in a seemingly endless finish. This wine, scratch that, this place reminds me of wine grown in Austria’s Wachau, where the soil is more often the dominant factor rather than the grape and that’s what I feel here. The finish is surprising it leaves a layer of viscosity on the inside of your mouth, just an insane wine, after writing a couple of hundred words I still feel speechless. I'd decant this wine for an hour or two if you're going to drink it now.
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart

2013 Al-Cantara "Occhi di Ciumi" Sicilia
Review Date: 08-29-2016
The nose of this wine is vibrant, saline, and full of lime leaf with crushed oyster shells and hints of peach. That may sound like a rather diverse mélange of aromas but it really works together; on the palate the wine is vibrant, zippy and refreshing replaying the nose but the minerality takes over in a driving, long finish. As the wine finishes it etches a path down your tongue and seemingly exposes more layers of flavor of peach and wispy hints of lime. This is a sensational accompaniment to scampi, vegetable pasta dishes or shellfish.
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2010 Podere Marini "Korone" IGT Calabria Rosso
Review Date: 08-29-2016
The nose of this wine really threw me, wild, gamy and full of dense fruit that was alluring and made me put my nose back in several times for more and again more. On the palate the wine shows a richly textured structure, plump yet focused, fleshy yet wiry, and more chocolaty, cassis like flavors come forward but always with a hint of wild brush, dried violets, herb and spice. The finish starts to focus the center of the wine and its lushness fades as more of a vibrant and lifting feeling finish the wine. A superb blend of predominantly Sangiovese, with a hint Merlot and of Cabernet Sauvignon, mostly stainless steel with a very small percentage of barrel aging….Super Tuscan in Calabria? We call it the Silver Snake!
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2014 Villa Sparina Gavi
Review Date: 08-29-2016
The nose is elegant, delicate, with hints of white peach and a classic Gavi minerality. On the palate the wine is medium-bodied, balanced, while supple and round no edginess here. The finish is subtle, yielding and all the while entertaining with hints of white flower and nutmeg. The perfect accompaniment to more delicate fish like Red Snapper or Striped Bass or just by itself on a scorching hot day!
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart
JS 91

2010 La Velona Brunello di Montalcino Riserva
Review Date: 08-29-2016
I tasted this wine last September before it was officially released this January, it was brooding, angular, gritty and obviously needed time…..well time’s up! Wow, I tasted it yesterday and I was so impressed by the nose that was full of a gamey, mocha like aromatic that was backed up by a combination of umami driven plums and dark chocolate with hints of sandalwood and wild herbs. On the palate it was luxurious, rolling across your palate while at the same time it never gave one the sense of fat or heavy just a velvety texture while the flavors centered on the mocha and sandalwood backed up by the dark chocolate. The finish was long, powerful and beckoned me to drink another glass.. or two. An exceptional value for a Riserva from Montalcino’s best ever vintage!
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
JS 93 RP 91

2015 Cantina Terlano "Terlaner Classico" White Blend Alto Adige
Review Date: 08-29-2016
The nose on this wine is so enticing, so inviting I can hardly hold back from just swallowing, while waves of white flower, quince, kiwi, Bartlett pear pour from the glass. On the palate it is the weight and lushness that first grabs your attention but quickly the focus changes to the vibrant acidity and minerality that drive the wine across the full length of the palate. Then the flavors just explode, swirls of exotic fruits mixed with crushed quartz like minerality enveloping your palate. The finish is intense; full of vibrant fruit flavors a lingering minerality and an incredible sensation of viscosity that just doesn’t go away. This blend of grapes isn’t a “new” thing the folks in this village have been making this exact blend of Pinot Bianco, Chardonnay and Sauvignon Blanc for more than 100 years. A sensational wine from the truly sensational 2015 vintage.
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $21.95 Add To Cart
VN 91 RP 90

2014 Tenuta Montemagno "Nymphae" Monferrato Bianco
Review Date: 08-16-2016
The nose of this wine is so complex and inviting a complex blend of spice and herb from 50% Sauvignon Blanc and 50% the indigenous variety Timorasso that shows lots of grit, earth, apple skin. On the palate this wine is vibrantly focused around a superb acidity that is enveloped in a richly textured mid palate full of spiced apple, freshly cut hay with all sorts of baking spice for this UNOAKED wine. The finish is incredibly long, vivacious and carries through the same flavors to a crescendo, an absurdly good food wine.
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2014 Benanti Etna Rosso
Review Date: 08-16-2016
Benanti is one of the oldest and best producers on Mount Etna; their wines show the volcanic origins of the vineyards and how Nerello Mascalese is the perfect vehicle to express the Mountain’s flavors. The full nose has waves of smoky, spicy, earthiness coupled with a bit of plumy fruit. On the palate the wine is reminiscent of the structure of Nebbiolo a bit of tannic structure on the outside brushing your cheeks with a sweet plumyness inside. The flavors are complex, persistent and show a rainbow from umami driven flavors of porcini, kelp and salted plums to sweet, chocolaty plum. The wine is layered, so many different levels, heavy, light, gritty, smooth, just an amazing array of texture and flavor. The finish is evocative of the palate experience, driving, long and persistent .
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart
WE 94

2012 Cantine di Ora "Amicone" Rosso Veneto
Review Date: 08-15-2016
The nose of this wine is full of warm, wafting chocolaty Corvina, that’s the main grape in Amarone; these aromatics fill you with the sensation of something full and dense and it is rich. On the palate the wine flows across your tongue with a velvety texture but is highlighted by enough acidity to keep it from getting fat while still being full bodied, the wild cherry flavors just bowls you over. The finish is full of those complex chocolaty cherry flavors and continues on for seconds. This is a perfect wine just for drinking with a bit of cheese or with some spicy BBQ!
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2015 Treves Petite Arvine Val d'Aosta
Review Date: 08-15-2016
The nose of this wine is filled with Alpine flowers, ripe pear and a bright savory quality. On the palate the wine is expansive, rich almost to the point of oily but is restrained at that point. While the body is omnipresent the real driving force of the wine is its minerality, a forceful driving point right down the middle of your tongue that cleaves through the richness and creates a superb synergy of tangy acid and mineral with a mélange of ripe fruit. The wine has a haunting, beckoning appeal, its supple, flowing nature juxtaposed with that mineral edge that creates a scintillating finish that seems to go on for minutes.
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart

San Venanzio Prosecco Valdobbiadene Superiore Brut (1.5L)
Review Date: 08-07-2016
I was stunned by the superlative quality in this vintage of San Venanzio: 2015 has been just an exceptional vintage across Italy and most of Europe and it didn’t skip Valdobbiadene. The fruit in the nose of this wine is so pure, clean and vibrant it outgrows the appellation, the wine has so much minerality, clean focus yet still retains that Prosecco elegance and balance. Sensational finish!
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

San Venanzio Prosecco Valdobbiadene Superiore Brut
Review Date: 08-07-2016
I was stunned by the superlative quality in this vintage of San Venanzio: 2015 has been just an exceptional vintage across Italy and most of Europe and it didn’t skip Valdobbiadene. The fruit in the nose of this wine is so pure, clean and vibrant it outgrows the appellation, the wine has so much minerality, clean focus yet still retains that Prosecco elegance and balance. Sensational finish!
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
WE 91

2013 Olema Sonoma County Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 07-31-2016
My BEST VALUE for under $20 Cab. The nose is classic Sonoma, ripe but with more complexity less cassis. On the palate the wine shows richness, layers of fruit, spice and a touch of leafy intrigue. The finish is very well balanced, long and focused showing the layers of fruit as it drifts off your tongue.
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JS 91

2013 Olema Sonoma County Chardonnay
Review Date: 07-31-2016
I was really surprised by the quality of this wine even more so at this price. The nose shows wonderful, complex apply aromatics that lead to a creamy and balanced palate feel. A real focus and brightness on the finish, excellent value
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2010 San Filippo Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 07-25-2016
A very intense nose that seems more like a pot roast cooking, savory, earthy, bay leaves, porcini and root vegetables. On the palate the wine’s braised meat flavors continue but are captured by the texture, this wine becomes tactile, less flavor driven yet is wildly interesting, and indescribable layers of consistency, grain, fineness and feel infuse the wine with a vibrant almost tactile flavor. The flavors are there, that same batch from the nose but hints of spiced cherry emerge in the long, vibrant albeit slightly grippy finish.
Drink from 2017 to 2017

2012 Cantine Ascheri Barolo
Review Date: 07-18-2016
The nose of this Barolo is full of red fruit, spice and earth clean and vibrant. On the palate this wine is full and broad with lots of richness and the tannins are well in check, the flavors are bold, striking red fruit, cherry with hints of the classic “Tar & Roses” that Barolo is known for. The finish is long, lingering and carries the fruit well. I’d pair this with a wild mushroom risotto or braised meats. This is a perfect wine to drink now and will age for another 10+ years.
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: Hidden View Price
WS 94 JS 92

2013 Argiolas "Costera" Cannonau di Sardegna
Review Date: 07-18-2016
The nose of this wine is full of dense, saturated fruit, vibrant with a wisp of the sea breeze and touches of wild herbs. On the palate the wine shows balance first off then you notice its richness, the supple feel that glides across your palate. It is full of bold dark fruit, a bit of spice and a hint of earth yet the fruit quality is what leaves a lasting impression. The finish is full, lasting and replays that dark fruit that lingers on and on. This is an exceptional value for easy drinking or an excellent accompaniment to grilled meats or fuller, meatier pasta or the classic grilled Burger with all of the fixes. I think for those who regularly drink California wine while finding Italians to lean this is a super crossover.
Drink from 2016 to 2016

2013 La Massa "La Massa" Toscana (1.5L)
Review Date: 07-12-2016
For me, this is really a superb reflection of all of Giampaolo’s vineyard work. The wine is a delicious blend of 60% Sangiovese, which gives the wine a structural backbone, 30% Merlot, which adds some meat, density and richness, with Cabernet Sauvignon lending authority and direction even at this small amount, while Alicante Bouschet adds some personality, spice and a little bit of nastiness—it kind of reminds me of Giampaolo—and it all seamlessly blends together. It is a superb blend, and once again, highly awarded.

2011 La Massa "Carla 6" Toscana
Review Date: 07-12-2016
A tiny production of pure fruit (named after Giampaolo's daughter and the vineyard parcel number) that shows that classic, high-toned Sangiovese cherry-like note on the nose. On the palate, the wine is modern, flashy and sleek. Made in new French oak, this is supple, warm and soft, with a delicate, lingering finish.
Price: $74.99 Add To Cart
JS 94 WS 92

2013 Tenuta Novare Valpolicella Ripasso
Review Date: 07-12-2016
I always find the aromatics in Valpolicella intoxicating—that wispy, ethereal character calls to me each time I try it. The Tenuta Novare Valpolicella Ripasso is no exception: the nose is enticing, the palate presence is seductive, layered with complex fruit character, and the finish is rich and lifting in the same moment. The wine has exceptional balance and moderate alcohol at 13.5%, and is perfect for summer barbecue, roasted chicken or your favorite pasta!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2012 Terre del Palio Vino Nobile di Montepulciano
Review Date: 07-12-2016
This is a sensational Vino Nobile. The nose is full of saddle leather, spice and iron, coming on bold and straightforward—no wafting around here! While this Vino Nobile’s structure shows unflinchingly on the palate, it takes a more claret-like direction, slowly opening to reveal a richer, more complex center that shows through the long finish. You should try this wine with Pici, Montepulciano’s hand-rolled spaghetti-like pasta, with a beef ragu!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2011 Rivella Barbaresco
Review Date: 07-11-2016
I drank a bottle of this the day it arrived in our store and was amazed. Made in tonneaux and barriqes, all of the 4th passage, so it doesn't have any of the sweet vanillin it is just pure nebbiolo. On the palate the 2011 vintage's richness comes across and makes it so accessible now with a certain richness and then the underpinnings of structure come through yet balanced and sweet tannin. A long finish that just says Barbaresco
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart
VN 92

2013 Sergio Barale "Bussia" Langhe Chardonnay
Review Date: 07-10-2016
I've already drunk 3 bottles of this wine since it has arrived...I love it. You can't compare it to anything else because nobody else would plant Chardonnay in one of the most expensive Barolo vineyards available! Planted in 1982 this fully mature vineyard highlights the mineral and soil character, long and vibrant on the palate the extended lees time the wine went through adds to the palate weight. Made in old tonneaux and it seems like no oak. You really need to drink this wine, before I drink it all myself!
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2012 Grattamacco "L'Alberello" Bolgheri Superiore
Review Date: 07-06-2016
The nose on this wine is exhilarating, rich, cassis-like aromas followed by waves of subtle Cab Franc and then a dose of plummy Petit Verdot. On the palate the wine is sensational, supple and rich yet with a real backbone, long, vibrant and lifting. The flavors suggest a real depth of complexity, and with each sip the wine deepens and shows more layers. Full in the mouth, the wine is richly textured, but the supple richness is stretched out over a long, elegant structure. This is an outstanding wine, a blend of 70% Cabernet Sauvignon, 25% Cabernet Franc and 5% Petit Verdot and can easily age for another decade plus. If you like Bordeaux or California Cab you should check this wine out. Situated in a Murderer’s Row of Tuscan coastal Cabernet producers, Podere Sapaio, Gaja’s Ca Marcanda, Chiappini, Guado al Tasso, Poggio al Tesoro, Le Macchiole, Sassiciaia and Ornellaia all in a 4-mile stretch of land all about 3 miles from the Tyrennhian Sea. Superb wine.
Drink from 2016 to 2016

Tom's Foolery Bottled In Bond Batch #3 Ohio Straight Bourbon Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 06-16-2016
Truly exceptional product. I was really impressed with the preciseness of the aromatics, so focused but layered. On the palate, the supple density is highlighted with spice and toast, but it’s never over the top. The finish is long and smooth, yet it is the density, saturated with flavors, with so much richness yet so light on the palate, that's truly exceptional.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

Casa Dragones Sipping Tequila 750ml (Ships as a 1.5L due to bottles shape)
Review Date: 06-15-2016
It’s not often I review Tequila but this one is I have to. This is a really unique product, the color makes you think that is an inexpensive, simple, un-aged spirit, but the nose immediately ends that train of thought. The nose is not one of those explosive, overpowering bolts of aroma that singe your nostrils the aromatics are really pure, intense and penetrating. It was enough for me to just smell this Tequila for a couple of minutes it was so fascinating while totally engaging and easily accessible. On the palate the depth of the aged flavors comes forward, wave after wave of cured Agave sweep across your tongue, no bite, no burn yet not fat just perfectly balanced. The finish….I can still taste it as I write this 10 minutes later, long, intense yet lifting. Superb spirit, not often you get to taste something like this.
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $249.99 Add To Cart
WE 96

Casa Dragones Sipping Tequila Gift Set w/glasses (cannot be shipped) 750ml
Review Date: 06-15-2016
It’s not often I review Tequila but this one is I have to. This is a really unique product, the color makes you think that is an inexpensive, simple, un-aged spirit, but the nose immediately ends that train of thought. The nose is not one of those explosive, overpowering bolts of aroma that singe your nostrils the aromatics are really pure, intense and penetrating. It was enough for me to just smell this Tequila for a couple of minutes it was so fascinating while totally engaging and easily accessible. On the palate the depth of the aged flavors comes forward, wave after wave of cured Agave sweep across your tongue, no bite, no burn yet not fat just perfectly balanced. The finish….I can still taste it as I write this 10 minutes later, long, intense yet lifting. Superb spirit, not often you get to taste something like this.
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $249.99 Add To Cart

2011 Corte Guala Amarone
Review Date: 06-15-2016
I love the classic nose of this Amarone, it's full of bright, wild cherry and plum fruit. On the palate those wild cherry and plum characteristics are backed up with some spice and earthy intrigue. The finish is great, I'm not a fan of clumsy, overly dried and too sweet Amarone, this wine is very full but exceptionally well balanced. Have it with your favorite lasagna or a big hunk of Parmigiano Reggiano!
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2013 Tormaresca "Neprica" Puglia
Review Date: 06-08-2016
It is hard to believe that a wine at this price point can carry the quality level it does, but the Antinori family has centuries of experience to back them. This wine is a blend of NE (Negroamaro) PRI (Primitivo) and CA (Cabernet), hence the Neprica name. Negroamaro is Puglia's most important grape and provides the size and frame and structure of the wine, the Primitivo gives it a rich dose of fruit and the Cabernet adds backbone and complexity, all told for the price this wine can't be beat!
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2013 Luce Della Vite "Lucente" Toscana
Review Date: 06-02-2016
The nose is full of bold fruit; wave after wave of black cherry, blackberry very dark fruited. On the palate the wine is supple, fleshy and rolls across your palate full of an almost cassis like flavor. The richness gradually subsides as the structure begins to slowly emerge and shows lengthening balance. The finish is full of bold fruit and hints of earth. The wine seems to step between two worlds, enough forward fruit and richness to seem New World but with traces of the Old World structure. Real value wine for this price point!
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $19.95 Add To Cart
JS 92

2010 Tassi Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 05-25-2016
The nose is full of sweet plumy fruit, wild cherry, earth, Tuscan dust, smoked meats and herb, all flowing gently from the glass giving one the sense ease and grace, not forceful but full. In the mouth the wine shows a lush, fuller expression almost chocolaty, with plum and herb and earth, a supple, warm and inviting palate presence that just begs to be drunk, yet for the wine to be so easy to drink it shows remarkable depth and definition. The finish is long lasting, and carries through the chocolaty, cherry, dried herb character but it is its texture, that luscious, lustrous broad power that catches your attention and makes you go back for another taste.
Drink from 2016 to 2016

2013 Tassi Rosso di Montalcino
Review Date: 05-23-2016
From the southern slope of Montalcino Fabio Tassi's Rosso di Montalcino is fabulous! The nose is inviting, full of spice, brush, wild flowers and plum. On the palate it is lush, broad strokes of wild cherry spiced plumy flavors on a supple, warm and full body. This isn't just some jammy plonk, fuller yes but this wine has such complexity, balance and most of all Drinkability!
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart
JS 90

2013 Agostina Pieri Rosso di Montalcino
Review Date: 05-23-2016
Pieri's vineyards are near the southern boundary of Montalcino in the deep, rich, Terra Rossa soil. The nose is full of complex, high toned, plumy aromatics. On the palate the wine is full, broad and richly textured giving one the sense of richness and size. The finish is bold, fruity and cries out for Baby Back Ribs, hey it's almost summer and BBQ time, this wine is perfect for that Summer fare! If you like Zinfandel you'll love this wine.
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: Hidden View Price

2013 Sesta di Sopra Rosso di Montalcino
Review Date: 05-23-2016
The desire to call Sesta's 2013 Rosso a "baby" Brunello is really coursing through my veins, as much as I don't like to use the phrase, but man this wine is something. This wine so complete, with such depth of flavor, so much fruit and such perfect balance; it is stunningly good for the price and remarkably drinkable now, although I'll be aging a six-pack myself for another few years. If you're new to Brunello, this is a great wine to get familiar with the region at a really good price.
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JS 90

2010 Tassi "Franci" Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 05-19-2016
The nose is smoky, dark, shows more earthy aromatics with hints of iron, leather, dried herbs, dried meat, more of that umami savory character with hints of mineral salts. On the palate the wine is expansive, powerful while still showing definition in the midst of its richly textured body. The wine comes on in waves, full, powerful, texturally dominating but then the flavors take over, plumy, chocolate, Christmas spice, wild cherry and then to the meaty, more savory flavors, just an incredible array. The finish is long, powerful, supple, complex and really brings this wine to an exciting…well I can’t say finish because it just goes on and on. Drink from 2015 to 2035
Drink from 2016 to 2016

2013 Tenuta Luisa Cabernet Franc
Review Date: 05-19-2016
I love the complex blend of earth, spice, olives and forest floor you find in the nose of this wine. Friulian Reds sometimes are a bit too lean or green but 2013 was a great vintage for Reds there and this wine has the texture and balance in spades! Long finish full of complex herbs and spice, elegant and supple, a perfect food wine. Try it with pasta, sausage or savory onion tarts.
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
W&S 90

Sesta di Sopra K&L Exclusive Grappa Riserva (750ml)
Review Date: 04-27-2016
Sesta di Sopra is a tiny producer of Brunello, a Massive 340 cases a year, so as you can guess they don't make much Grappa. The have a small portion that gets aged in small barrels for a year and the results are magnificent. The nose is spiced and somewhat restrained for Grappa, in fact this spirit seems less Grappa like and more Armaganc'ish, (apologies to any Armagnac producers) ok maybe a stretch but the supple balance, depth of flavors really makes this spirit special, and for me the Hallmark of any great drink is the finish and this has got it, a really complete, long and layered finish...Superb value.
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: Hidden View Price

Sesta di Sopra K&L Exclusive Grappa (750ml)
Review Date: 04-27-2016
Full disclosure...I don't drink Grappa, but being the Italian buyer I'm constantly made to taste Grappa when I'm in Italy, so I have a lot of experience! This Brunello Grappa has the classic Tuscan Grappa nose, petrol, gamey, and potent, yet in the mouth the quality of fruit is exceptional, so well balanced actually refreshing and has very good weight as well. Very well made.
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: Hidden View Price

Montechiara Prosecco DOC
Review Date: 04-20-2016
You can't find a better Extra Dry Prosecco at this price point, clean, richly textured, fresh, crisp so easy to drink with a wonderfully balanced mousse! This is the perfect afternoon refresher, just as you finished gardening or if you love Aperol Spritz this will be your companion mixer! Friends coming over before dinner aperitif, everyone loves a little Prosecchino!
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2011 Riecine "Riecine" Toscana
Review Date: 04-17-2016
I’ve always loved Riecine but it wasn’t until last year that I actually visited the winery. During the visit we tasted the 2011 Riecine, Riecine… its classic 100% Sangiovese nose is full of cherry, earth, spice, and on the palate the wine has depth, richness and lots of length. The flavors just resonate across your tongue, vibrant, warm and richening, slowly you see a bit of tannic structure in the back end but all in balance. The finish is superlative, long, lifting and thoroughly enchanting.
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart
JS 97

2013 Zorzal "Gran Terroir" Malbec Gualtallary
Review Date: 04-15-2016
The nose on this wine caught me right away, I’m generally not a Malbec fan, too many indistinguishable bass notes, yet this wine was vibrant, focused, pure and really intrigued me to give it a palate try. On the palate the wine had lift, freshness and a really complex array of Bordeaux-like flavors yet with enough New World weight and fruit, it really grabbed me. The finish is long, memorable, balanced and replays the palate flavors for an encore. I really like this wine; I was a bit at arm’s length just from the name, Zorzal, a takeoff on Zorro? I’m no longer a skeptic, this is really good wine and at a bargain price for the quality.
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
RP 93

Page: 1 2 3 next

More Favorites

Greg St. Clair is also a fan of the following items. To become a fan of Greg St. Clair, click here to join Greg St. Clair's Personal Sommelier Service.
Pierre Paillard Grand Cru Brut Rosé Champagne ($57.99)