Staff Favorites - Gary Westby

Gary Westby
Gary Westby  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service
I started at K&L in February of 2000, after 4 years of working down the street for another retailer, and although I take care of the Champagne buying here at K&L, I love to drink wine from all over the world. I prize authenticity in wine, and love representative examples of many different styles, whether it is a spicy dry creek zinfandel or a mineral driven Manzanilla. I almost always drink my wine with food, and am drawn to food wines rather than the softer styles that are good for drinking on their own. My wife Cinnamon and I cook a lot of Italian & French food at home, and my list of wines reflects those food choices. I also love value, at every price point, and can't stand "prestige" labels that under deliver in the bottle. I love honest wines for the table. If you love good wine to go with your good cooking too, I think that by joining my personal Sommelier list you will be treated to a wide variety of wines that represent a strong value for money at what ever price range you feel comfortable with. Give it a try!


Reviews

  
Page: 1 2 3 4 5 next >>
2015 Pascal Bellier Cheverny Rouge
Review Date: 03-14-2017
The Cheverny Rouge from Pascal Bellier is a shocking value in the world of Pinot Noir. While most California Pinot's in this price range are blended with Chardonnay and Syrah, this has a touch of Gamay, just like a passetoutgrain from Burgundy. It is a very light style, and all of the lovely red fruit and even a touch of the elusive savor is here. Another great week night red from the Loire Valley!
Top Value!
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2001 Couly-Dutheil "Clos de l'Echo" Chinon
Review Date: 03-14-2017
One cannot imitate the passage of time with technology, no matter how much winemakers have tried over the years. This 2001 Clos de l'Echo has been laying peacefully in the cellars of Couly Dutheil and shipped alongside the 2013. Drinking these wines after 15+ years is the perfect time to enjoy them. The young black olive taste turns to complex tapenade and the wine gains in texture and finesse... This is a great bottle of wine, and for this price, anyone interested in tasting a wine in its prime should try it!
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart

2014 Domaine Les Pins "Les Rochettes" Bourgueil
Review Date: 03-14-2017
This was my very favorite find from today's excellent Loire valley tasting. The Les Rochettes Bourgueil from Domaine Les Pins transported me from Redwood City to my minds Paris bistro after just one taste. This would be perfect with poulet roti, steak frites or any other bistro classic. It has wonderful black olive hints framing a core of aromatic blue fruit and lifted acidity that makes me want to go back for more. I am buying some of this now and bringing it home!
Top Value!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart
WE 92

2015 Joël Taluau "Expression" Saint-Nicolas-de-Bourgueil
Review Date: 03-14-2017
If you like red wine with crunchy fruit, low tannin and great acidity for your mid-week meals, the Expression Saint Nicolas De Bourgueil from Joel Taluau should be at the top of your list to try. These wines go so well with simple grilled fair or even picnic food. The 2015 vintage ripeness has made this into a real crowd pleasing choice!
Top Value!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2015 Jo Landron "La Louvetrie" Muscadet Sèvre et Maine
Review Date: 03-14-2017
This incredible value Muscadet from Jo Landron has the mineral complexity of a premier cru Chablis! This will knock me off my Champagne drinking high-horse the next time I am shucking oysters at home with its chiseled flavors and great acidity. What a find!
Top Value!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2009 Franck Bonville "Millesime" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 03-04-2017
We drank a bottle of this last night while closing the store, and I was surprised at just how good this Champagne showed. This has the focus and snap of many 2008's, and an incredibly long, mineral driven finish. Most of the 2009's I have had have been much broader and lower in acid than this all Avize Grand Cru super star. While it is showing great now, I think this has a lot of potential for the future!
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

2006 Pol Roger Vintage Brut Champagne Magnum (1.5L)
Review Date: 02-28-2017
It is no surprise that at 10 years old, many of the 2006 Champagnes are really starting to show well. The best I tasted at this year’s staff summit was the 2006 Pol Roger "Extra Cuvée de Réserve" Brut. This is one of the most masculine, vinous, broad and powerful Champagnes of the day. It is composed of about 60% Pinot Noir to 40% Chardonnay, but that Pinot is powerful Mountain of Reims Grand and 1er cru stuff… And it shows! I loved the big, hazelnut and black cherry savor in this rich, yet very dry Champagne. This will be a top recommendation for anyone married in 2006 or with a child born in this year, because while it drinks well now, it will be great for a long, long time.

2013 Domaine de l'Espigouette Vacqueyras
Review Date: 02-21-2017
This bottle is a blast from the past and reminds me so much of the dry, vinous, serious Chateauneuf's in the days before the critics turned them into sumo wrestlers. This bottle has the great powerful dark fruit of the warm climate, earthy sauvage flavors and great tannic backbone. This would be perfect with a roasted leg of lamb!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
RP 89 - 91

2014 La Jasse Castel "La Pimpanela" Terrasses du Larzac
Review Date: 02-21-2017
The Pimpanela was a huge star in today's staff tasting of French country wines. If you like the GSM's of Australia and South Africa, this is a must try. While it is ripe and full bodied, it is not over the top, and the fruit here is super clean and pure.
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2014 Château Viella Pacherenc du Vic Bilh Blanc Sec
Review Date: 02-21-2017
At this price range, our buyers at K&L routinely find tasty straightforward wines. This Chateau Viella is so much more than that- it is loaded with intrigue, and a real original. I loved the exotic aromas from the indigenous varieties, and assumed I would have to pay the price with flab on the back end. Nothing could be further from the truth! This little value has acid zip on the level of the Cote de Blanc or Chablis! If you like complex, racy white wines, you can't afford not to try it!
Top Value!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2014 Domaine de Verquière Côtes du Rhône-Villages Plan de Dieu
Review Date: 02-21-2017
This great bottle comes from old vine plots in the very rocky, flat parcels between the named villages. I love its hearty richness and authentic Cotes Du Rhone flavor profile. It is ripe, but you won't find the raisins, prunes and excessive alcohol that too many Rhone wines these days have. What a great bottle for the mixed grill!
Top Value!
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2014 Domaine de Verquière Rasteau
Review Date: 02-21-2017
This great value Rasteau has all of the features that made me fall in love with southern Rhone wine. It is full bodied and has great earthy, ripe flavors, but is completely free of the residual sugar and excessive alcohol that sometimes spoils modern high end Chateauneuf. If you are looking for a full bodied, dry red to go with your weeknight meals, you have found it!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2008 Launois "Spécial Club" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne 750ml (ships as 1.5L)
Review Date: 02-18-2017
This is one of the most profoundly great young vintage Champagnes that I have ever had, and I just bought a case for my own cellar. The 2008 vintage is a historic one, and either the greatest or tied for the honor in this young century. The Champagne that Bernard Launois was able to make from his two oldest Mesnil plots in this great year promises to be equally historic. The only problem is that it tastes far to good now... And I know that it will do nothing but improve. I will put this case at the bottom of a tall corner stack in my cellar! This Champagne has not only the richness of a 2002, but also the laser minerality of the best 2004's. It has it all!
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

2013 Cantina Terlan "Gries" Lagrein Riserva
Review Date: 02-15-2017
This spicy, rich, powerful red has a lot in common with Hermitage. If you like big wines with a lot of texture, and are not afraid of a little tannin, a Lagrein like this is perfect to try. I can't wait to roast a leg of lamb and serve this Cantina Terlan with it!
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $35.99 Add To Cart
RP 91

2013 La Massa "La Massa" Toscana
Review Date: 02-15-2017
If you love super Tuscans and expensive Napa Cabernet, this La Massa is a must try for you. This Toscana has all of the dark color, flashy richness and power of its more expensive neighbors, but not the price.
Drink from 2017 to 2017

2012 Poggerino Chianti Classico Riserva Bugialla
Review Date: 02-15-2017
The folks at Poggerino have made one of the finest Classico's I have had in years with this 2012 Riserva Bugialla. If you love elegant wine of complexity, restraint and real depth, this is worth a splurge. Although it seems light up front, it has that rare peacock's tail finish that even the finest wines don't always achieve. A special bottle.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
WS 91 WE 90

2014 Farnetella Lucilla Toscano Rosso
Review Date: 02-15-2017
What a slam dunk value from Tuscany! This inexpensive bottle has so much going on for the price. Not only does it have friendly, ripe, brambly blackberry flavors it also has good balancing acid and tannin. This is real wine for your week night pizzas and pasta dishes!
Top Value!
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart
JS 93

2013 La Monacesca "Mirum" Verdicchio di Matelica Riserva
Review Date: 02-15-2017
This rich Verdicchio Di Matelica from La Monacesca impressed me with Meursault like richness and excellent focus. If you haven't experimented with the better whites of Italy, there is no better time than now. This wine has the scale, complexity and the balance that I would only expect from a much more expensive wine.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart
W&S 92 WE 91

Jean-Jacques Lamoureux Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 02-02-2017
I have only been down to Riceys at the southern tip of Champagne twice. Vivien Lamoureux’s vineyards are only three miles away from the border, and he makes both Champagne and Burgundy. Due to French law, they are produced in different cellars on their respective sides of the boarder. In the past, Les Riceys seemed switched hands between the Comtes de Champagne and the Dukes of Burgundy to many times to count, and that split heritage is very evident in Vivien’s Chamapgne! If you love full bodied rose with plenty of Burgundian Pinot Noir flavor, this one is not to be missed!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$34.99

2014 Henri de Villamont Meursault "Clos du Cromin"
Review Date: 02-02-2017
Why do we love Meursault so much? Because when it is on, like this unbelievable 2014 Henri De Villamont is on, it truly has it all. The Clos Du Cromin has fabulous richness matched to bright vitality. The flavors are complex and layered with pretty white fruit, subtle vanilla and a component that reminds me of beurre d'isigny. I have been telling everyone who will listen to buy heavy on the great 2014's, and this is a super star and all at a very reasonable direct import price!
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart
DC 96

2012 Leeuwin "Art Series" Cabernet Sauvignon Margaret River Western Australia
Review Date: 02-02-2017
This may be the most elegant Cabernet Sauvignon in the store from outside of Bordeaux, and gives most of even them a run for their money. The Leeuwin Art Series from Margaret River has very fine currant aromatics framed by an almost pencil lead like mineral component. The wine has perfect texture, medium body and resolved, fine tannin. This would be perfect with filet mignon tonight, or keep for quite a long time in your cellar.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
JS 97 JH 96

2013 Domaine A " Lady A" Sauvignon Blanc Tasmania
Review Date: 02-01-2017
Wow did this turn my little world wine order on its head! The Domaine A Lady A from Tasmania would fit perfectly in a flight with Domaine de Chevalier, Laville Haut Brion and even Haut Brion blanc... We were all dumbfounded at the stupendous quality of the wine. I will be putting down some bottles in my cellar for the future. No- I will be putting them in the locker where it is harder for me to open them to early! This oily, deep, complex wine has laser like acidity and length for days. A stunner!
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

2015 Kloof Street (Mullineux Family Wines) Chenin Blanc Swartland South Africa
Review Date: 02-01-2017
Many folks looking for a great bottle of white wine at a reasonable price would do well to try this Chenin Blanc from the Swartland South Africa. This has the body of a big white Burgundy, the acidity of a crisp Chablis and nice, subtle melon like flavors from the grape variety. A top value for sure!
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2014 Pencarrow Pinot Noir (Palliser) Martinborough
Review Date: 02-01-2017
Normally, Pinot Noir in this price range is good if it is, as a customer of mine once said, "red and wet". This is so much more, with so much fresh red fruit, nice medium to light body, and a satisfying Pinot flavor. What really struck me with this wine was the multi-dimensional aromatic character... I simply do not expect much complexity at this price. What a good bottle!

2015 Pencarrow Sauvignon Blanc (Palliser) Martinborough
Review Date: 02-01-2017
This is my new go-to value NZ Sauvignon Blanc. It has great clean fruit, without the hot pepper aromas and flavors that sometimes dominate SB from this part of the world. I don't expect a wine in this price range to have a precise, mineral driven finish, but this surprised me with focus and length on a level with bottles twice the price.
Top Value!

2005 Bollinger "Grande Année" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 01-26-2017
The lush, rich, toasty, decadent 2005 Bollinger "Grande Année" Brut Champagne is one of our most delicious vintage bottles in the store for drinking now. It should also keep very well! The 2005 is almost all estate, and composed of 70% Pinot Noir (mostly Ay and Verzenay) and 30% Chardonnay (mostly Mesnil, Avize and Chouilly). Like all Bollinger vintage, treated to long ageing on the lees on a cork instead of a cap, so the cork that you pop before enjoying is the 2nd that has been in the bottle.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart
JS 94 WS 94

2014 Domaine des Terres Dorées (Jean-Paul Brun) Saint-Amour
Review Date: 01-18-2017
This lovely, aromatic Saint Amour is the perfect red for so many occasions. If you are looking for something that is lower in alcohol, more perfumed yet still satisfying, you have found it!
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart
VN 93 RP 91

Brasserie De La Senne / Brew By Numbers Session IPA, Belgium (330ml)
Review Date: 01-17-2017
I love it when a good drink makes a liar out of me. This Brasserie De La Senne Brew By Numbers certainly did--as before tasting it I was sure I wasn't going to like it. It is after all, an IPA that is not from England, and I am an old curmudgeon when it comes to beer. I found it wonderfully refreshing and easy to drink, while still showing very nice complexity. Thanks for the treat Mr. Boyce!
Price: $5.29 Add To Cart

2014 de France Blanc, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 01-17-2017
Pessac-Leognan makes some of the finest dry whites in the world, and most of them are a very good value for money. The 2014 De France Blanc is a fantastic example of this. I think one would be hard-pressed to find a white Burgundy or California white at this price that was even in the same league. Although predominantly Sauvignon Blanc, the 20% Semillon is front and center in this honeyed, full-bodied yet completely dry white. The great 2014 vintage is renowned for dry whites for a good reason, this is concentrated, long finishing stuff!
Drink from 2017 to 2017

2011 Pauillac de Latour, Pauillac
Review Date: 01-17-2017
Clyde has taught me well that vintage charts are not a very useful tool for judging wine. That is even more true when it comes to the best properties in Bordeaux. At Chateau Latour, their is no such thing as a step that is to expensive or work that is to hard when it comes to making their wine. When we tasted this 2011, it was obvious that they had done everything to make this into a wonderful wine. This is structured Pauillac, with power, denisty, and tannic structure. Unlike new world wines, you get all of this without sacrificing acidity or having to accept an excess of alcohol. What a wine!
Drink from 2021 to 2021
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart
JS 90

2012 Gloria, St-Julien
Review Date: 01-17-2017
I haven't seen a vintage so packed with great values and delicious claret as 2012 in more than a decade and the Gloria is among the best I have tasted. At $34.99, it is a steal. Try to find such a seamless, expensive tasting, cassis loaded, balanced Cabernet out of California! The best thing about this wine is the finish; it is detailed and super long.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WE 92 - 94

2000 Labegorce, Margaux (1.5L)
Review Date: 01-17-2017
With the big names of Bordeaux still charging a king’s ransom, many of our customers are turned off by Bordeaux. The 2000 Labégorce is a great example of why this category still has a lot to offer in special wines that one can still afford. If you like Bordeaux, and like a good steak, don’t miss this one! The bouquet is very generous with this wine and I found everything from earthy, animal savor to cool cassis on the nose. In the mouth the wine was seamless with perfect medium body, a gift from the time in the bottle that can’t be replicated by wine making tricks. With the tannins resolving nicely, the acidity still bright and the fruit still sweet, this wine was ideal with the rich and flavorful dry aged New York steaks we paired it with.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

1991 Labégorce, Margaux (1.5L)
Review Date: 01-17-2017
The 1991 vintage is a very rare one to find, as so much of the crop was destroyed by frost. Luckily, Labegorce is near the water, and the harvest was saved. This herbal, light bodied claret will thrill wine lovers who want something that is the opposite of "cult" wine! This gravely, 74 acre vineyard is planted to 50% Cabernet Sauvignon, 45% Merlot, 3% Cabernet Franc and 2% Petite Verdot. They work very traditionally, with the first fermentation in concrete and only 35% new oak for 12-15 months of elevage afterwards. They make 8500 cases a year. If you are looking for an antidote to over-sized cabernet sauvignon, look no further. This old school, mature Bordeaux is just the wine for those of us who value maturity, complexity and restraint over youthful fruit, monolithic flavors and power.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

2010 La Rioja Alta "Viña Alberdi" Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 01-17-2017
If you like medium bodied, earthy reds that go with food, this is a wine to buy a case of. Last night, Cinnamon and I had the Vina Alberdi from La Rioja Alta with a winter beef stew that I made. It was a stunning wine and a great combination. The savory dark Tempranillo fruit had just the right amount of rose like aroma to contrast its frame of cake like American oak and plenty of good acid to cut the rich stew. We found the 750ml size a bit small for something so easy to drink!
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
JS 95 RP 91

2012 Fratelli Barale "Serraboella" Barbaresco
Review Date: 01-12-2017
This lovely Barbaresco from Fratelli Barale drinks at a much higher level than its price suggests. Last night, I made Cinnamon some mushroom tortellini with bacon and garlic, and decanted this about an hour ahead. The dry, masculine Serraboella had fantastic aromas of new leather and potpourri and a long high acid finish with good ripe tannin. It was a great match, and I can't wait to have this again, next time with some lamb perhaps!
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
WE 92

Laurent-Perrier "Cuvée Rosé" Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 01-05-2017
If you haven't tasted the LP Rose lately, you should! This all Pinot Noir Champagne is entirely made from Grand Cru fruit and lighter than most that are made in this style- it is macerated with all of the skins in contact with all of the juice. The LP Rose has set the standard for rose Champagne for many years, and for good reason.

Taittinger "La Francaise" Brut Champagne Jeroboam (3L)
Review Date: 11-27-2016
Taittinger has always been known for the creamy refreshment that the La Francaise has delivered so consistently through the years. If you like a little bit of toast balanced by some citric zing, this high Chardonnay blend is for you! (6/2015)
Price: $229.00 Add To Cart
RP 90 WS 90

Taittinger "La Francaise" Brut Champagne Methuselah (6L)
Review Date: 11-27-2016
Taittinger has always been known for the creamy refreshment that the La Francaise has delivered so consistently through the years. If you like a little bit of toast balanced by some citric zing, this high Chardonnay blend is for you! (6/2015)
Price: $499.00 Add To Cart
RP 90 WS 90

2009 Miguel Merino "Vitola" Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 11-10-2016
I can't think of a bottle of red wine under $20 that can compete with the Vitola from Miguel Merino. It has plenty of rich, dark fruit, is framed very nicely with a touch of vanilla oak, and finishes with great lift. This wine has great body and texture, and will be great with any number of meaty dishes, or just to drink after work. If you haven't had a Spanish wine in a while, try it! If you know you like Rioja, don't hesitate and take a case before it is gone!
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2012 Miguel Merino "Viñas Jovenes" Crianza Rioja
Review Date: 11-10-2016
This is a delicious, well balanced value from Rioja. If you like medium to full bodied reds with great freshness and balance as well as texture and dark fruit, you will fall in love with the Vinas Jovenes from Miguel Merino. This will go perfectly with casual burgers or even by itself!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

Boulard-Bauquaire "Trepail" Brut Blanc de Blancs Vieilles Vignes Champagne
Review Date: 10-06-2016
This is our most exotic and intense Blanc de Blancs, all from one ancient vineyard in the 1er cru of Trepail. This bottle just took the staff by storm when I poured a flight of all Chardonnay Champagne for my final staff training seminar of the year. The Boulard Bauquaire made bottles twice the price seem hollow with its wonderful richness and white fruit quality. Luckily, this Champagne also has a great dry, long, chalky finish!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2007 Michel Arnould "Cuvee B50" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 10-03-2016
This ambitious all barrel-fermented Champagne is only available in tiny quantities—we received less than 10 cases and we are his US importer! If you are looking for a powerful, ultra-rare bottle, you have found it! Look for vanilla and hazelnut as well as brioche on the nose, and incisive, dry minerality on the back end.
Price: $99.00 Add To Cart

Michel Arnould Verzenay Brut Rosé Champagne (1.5L)
Review Date: 10-03-2016
The value that Patrick Arnould delivers with this top-notch rosé is mind boggling. This is the only rosé Champagne that I have ever had that is exclusively Pinot Noir, but made by blending wines that are vinified white with wines that are vinified red. Patrick is very proud of his Burgundian clones in his best exposed vineyard plot that he uses to make the red wine that gives this Champagne its color and flavor. This rosé has dark cherry authority as well as complex savor from that high quality vineyard. It also has easy refreshment and a dry chalky finish from the rest of his Grand Cru estate vineyard that makes the white Pinot portion. A must try for every rosé fan!
Price: $74.99 Add To Cart

Veuve Clicquot Brut Champagne (1.5L)
Review Date: 09-25-2016
This is the best-selling Champagne in the USA.

Veuve Clicquot Brut Champagne Jeroboam (3L)
Review Date: 09-25-2016
This is the best-selling Champagne in the USA.
Price: $399.00 Add To Cart
JS 92 WS 90

Billecart-Salmon "Brut Reserve" Champagne (375ml)
Review Date: 09-24-2016
Of all the grand marques, no one offers a cleaner, purer example of Champagne fruit and refreshment than Billecart-Salmon. The Billecart family pick earlier than most, and run the coldest, longest fermentations in all of Champagne to deliver their inimitable, graceful house style. If you are looking for the ultimate in balance aperitif Champagne, you have found it!

2010 Louis Roederer Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 09-21-2016
All of Champagne Louis Roederer's vintage wines are in essence separate estate wines, and the rose might be the most spectacular of them all. It is composed of 62% Pinot Noir from Cumieres, the earliest ripening premier cru for that grape variety. The steep south-facing amphitheater that these grapes come from allow for full maceration of all the skins with all the juice, a real trick this far north since one bad bunch can ruin a whole tank. The wine is then blended with 38% Chardonnay from very cool sites in the Grand Cru of Chouilly. This combination gives the wine not only the generous, clean, strawberry fruit of a ripe rose, but also incredible chalky precision and a racy, dry finish. This is classy stuff!
Drink from 2016 to 2016

2015 Centovigne "Della Motta" Rosso
Review Date: 09-21-2016
For me, this is the best value in Nebbiolo in the whole store. The Della Motta is composed of 80% Nebbiolo, and 20% the super rare Vespolina. While it is open and fragrant, and ready to drink at only one year old, it still has a lovely backbone that is all Piemonte! I was lucky enough to try this great bottle of Italian red in Champagne of all places! The hottest restaurant in Reims, Racine, poured it by the glass and Cinnamon and I enjoyed it with guinea fowl. We didn't even wait to get back and sent Greg a picture the very same night! He found it, tasted it, and the rest is history.
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart

2008 Louis Roederer Brut Champagne
Review Date: 09-20-2016
The 2008 Louis Roederer Brut Champagne, their “classic” vintage, comes from 23 acres of estate vineyard. It is composed of 70% Pinot Noir from the Grand Cru of Verzenay and 30% Chardonnay from the Grand Cru of Avize. This Champagne has nutty flavors aromas and flavors that remind me of the chestnuts that they sell on the street in Alba in the truffle season braced by chalky acidity that gives the wine the kind of length that I can feel all the way in the back of my head. This wine is going to be a legend--it tastes fantastic now, and should cellar for as long as you can keep your hands off of it. This is spectacular vintage Champagne, and will provide a generation of enjoyment. No doubt you will be able to laugh about what a good deal it was years from now… If you don’t drink it all this year!
Drink from 2016 to 2016

A.D. Coutelas "Cuvée Louis Victor" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 09-20-2016
This bottling is a blend of 2007 through 2012 vintages with three years of ageing on the lees. It is a brassy gold color and has a generous nose of fresh forest aromas and brioche toast. In the mouth it has a round, rich, seamless texture and an amazing array of flavors… It is easily one of the most complex Champagnes that we have on the shelf. The truly amazing thing to me is the focus of the wine. It stays completely refreshing, vibrant and mineral on the long finish, which makes the 750ml format seem to small! This Champagne is produced out of one 8000 liter barrel and every year about 100 cases is bottled, and the barrel is refreshed with the best wine of the next harvest.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

Page: 1 2 3 4 5 next >>

More Favorites

Gary Westby is also a fan of the following items. To become a fan of Gary Westby, click here to join Gary Westby's Personal Sommelier Service.
2013 Tongue In Groove "The Mound Vineyard" Riesling Waipara Valley ($16.99)

Baron Fuente "Galipettes" Brut Champagne ($34.99)

2007 Bodegas Puelles Rioja Reserva ($17.99)