Staff Favorites - Gary Westby

Gary Westby
Gary Westby  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service
I started at K&L in February of 2000, after 4 years of working down the street for another retailer, and although I take care of the Champagne buying here at K&L, I love to drink wine from all over the world. I prize authenticity in wine, and love representative examples of many different styles, whether it is a spicy dry creek zinfandel or a mineral driven Manzanilla. I almost always drink my wine with food, and am drawn to food wines rather than the softer styles that are good for drinking on their own. My wife Cinnamon and I cook a lot of Italian & French food at home, and my list of wines reflects those food choices. I also love value, at every price point, and can't stand "prestige" labels that under deliver in the bottle. I love honest wines for the table. If you love good wine to go with your good cooking too, I think that by joining my personal Sommelier list you will be treated to a wide variety of wines that represent a strong value for money at what ever price range you feel comfortable with. Give it a try!


Reviews

  
Page: 1 2 3 4 5 next >>
Louis Brochet 1er Cru Extra Brut Champagne
Review Date: 07-29-2016
Line up the oysters, order the sushi and put fire the scallops! This is our ultimate extra brut for matching with seafood. Many extra bruts are just plain mean spirited and screechy, but the Brochet is steely dry without going over the edge. At this price, I will always be able to have one in my fridge!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2009 Louis Brochet "Millésimé" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 07-29-2016
If you enjoyed the clean, ripe 1990 vintage in Champagne, 2009 is almost a repeat. This Pinot powered gem from the picturesque 1er cru of Ecueil has plenty of richness and concentration, as well as texture that only over six years on the lees will bring.
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2008 Louis Brochet "Millésimé" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 07-29-2016
This is stunning vintage Champagne from a great producer in Ecueil on the slopes of the little mountain of Reims. If you like Pinot Noir power and structure, along with the finesse of long lees ageing, this will make you very happy. I don't think I can say enough up about the greatness of the 2008 harvest; not only did it have the tremendous ripeness of a sunny year, but also near 1996 level acidity. It is the whole package! You can drink this now, or save it for a generation (do you have kids born in 2008?)- it will be great either way.
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2015 S.C. Pannell "Arido" Rosé Adelaide Hills
Review Date: 07-27-2016
After 20 years in the wine business, I should learn not to be so prejudiced, but there is something about New World rosé that almost always leaves me cold. This Arido from Pannell broke that prejudice, and I have to wonder if it is the magic of the Meunier in the blend that won me over. After tasting it yesterday, I am bringing home a bottle tonight to go with my salad composé! This has both solid strawberry fruit and bright refreshment going for it. It is all mine for a price that makes it competitive with my beloved provençal pink!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
JH 93

2014 Domaine Bart Bourgogne Rouge
Review Date: 07-22-2016
What a great Burgundy value! I have been waiting (rather impatiently) for the Bart to arrive since visiting Martin and Pierre last October in Marsannay. When it arrived last week I bought one of everything we received. Cinnamon and I enjoyed this with a simple steak sandwich with leftover ratatouille on Wednesday night, and it was spectacular. It has great crunchy fruit, bracing acidity and a purity and minerality that only Burgundy can deliver. If you love serious, dry Pinot Noir, this is a must try!
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart

Brasserie Lebbe "L'Amalthee" Saison, France (750ml)
Review Date: 07-20-2016
France is not famous for its beer, but this Basque beauty is worthy of your attention! This has depth and intrigue, but not at at the expense of moreish refreshment. A 750ml of this goes down quite quickly. I have a question: why does the best beer in France have to come from the opposite side of the country to Champagne? I would love to see just one tap handle of this in Epernay... I would become a fixture in that bar!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

Weihenstephaner "1516" Kellerbier (Unfiltered), Germany (330ml)
Review Date: 07-20-2016
Thank you Weihenstephaner- in one magnificent beer you have celebrated one of the best beverage laws of all time and delivered a magical drink that I cannot get enough of. In 1516, Reinheitsgebot, the Bavarian beer purity law was put into effect, providing legal recourse against fraudsters who would adulterate their beer with anything other than water, malt and hops. When drinking the 1516 I can imagine stiff, medieval punishments for today's hipsters and their cold brew coffee and peanut butter stout! Weihenstephaner has not tried to "innovate" with this excellent lager- they just crafted something as close to perfection as you can get. This is graceful. refreshing beer, and the only thing wrong with it is the all to small 330ml size. By two- you will want the second one!
Price: $2.19 Add To Cart

Orval Trappist Ale, Belgium (11.2 oz)
Review Date: 07-20-2016
As a young wine professional I often yearned for a complex drink when I didn't have the money to afford it. At times like that, I always turned to Orval, a beer that provides an experience akin to 1er Cru Burgundy, but at a price that I could easily afford even when rent was due. Somehow the monks manage to combine great lift, refreshment and ease of drinking with serious layers of savory complexity. The look of the stuff in the glass is worth the price of admission on its own... The Belgian lace this ale throws always takes longer than I want to wait to come down in the glass low enough for me to have a sip!
Price: $5.99 Add To Cart
WE 96

Aecht Schlenkerla Helles Lager, Germany (500ml)
Review Date: 07-20-2016
I hate flavored beer. This is the exception that proves the rule- a subtle, smoky lager that reminds me of a smoked sausage combined with the right beer to wash it down. If you want something a little different, but don't need guava, lemon grass or sauterne barrels in your beer, check this out!
Price: $4.49 Add To Cart

Anchor Brewing "Anchor Steam" (12oz)
Review Date: 07-20-2016
I can't think of a beverage that I have had a longer and better relationship with that San Francisco's great Anchor Steam. This is the golden states great contribution to the beer lovers of the world- made at ale temperatures in shallow, open concrete vats with lager yeast. This is a beer of impeccable balance, and even though I must have had more than a thousand of them by now, it never gets old. This is the kind of beer that real beer drinkers love- it is not a box to check, it is something to buy a case of. Whenever I have visitors from Champagne, I often offer them an Anchor Steam before diving into Mount Eden Chardonnay and Ridge Monte Bello. It is that good.
Top Value!
Price: $1.69 Add To Cart

2013 Le Battistelle "Battistelle" Soave Classico
Review Date: 07-13-2016
If you are looking to change up your white wine routine, the Le Battistelle is for you. This has enough apricot fruit and rich texture for a Chardonnay lover, but packs the refreshing zip of a racy Sauvignon Blanc. You friends won't believe how little you paid for this!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2013 Tenuta Novare Valpolicella Ripasso
Review Date: 07-13-2016
If you love Amarone, but don't want to spend $50, this is a must try. This rich, full bodied wine has the power and persistence of a bottle twice its price, and will be perfect with everything from lasagna to osso buco!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2012 Cantine Ascheri Barolo
Review Date: 07-13-2016
I have to admit, I had my doubts about how good a sub $30 Barolo could be. Usually I feel that one is better off buying Nebbiolo d'Alba at this price... But it is the exceptions that prove the rule, and nothing makes me happier than being proved wrong by a great bottle at a fair price! The Ascheri is very drinkable now with an hour in the decanter, and promises to improve in the cellar. I think a six pack for now and a six pack for later is a great idea! The style is a balance between the dark fruit of modern Barolo and the savory leather of old school. What a buy!
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: Hidden View Price
WS 94 JS 92

2013 Felsina Chianti Classico
Review Date: 07-13-2016
If you like Italian wine with the inimitable, original flavors of the Tuscan hills, this fantastic Chianti Classico is for you. I can't wait for my next grilled pork chop and polenta dinner... This wine is going to be perfect with it! The Felsina has the classic nose of Sangiovese- it is hard for me to tell where the cherries end and the leather begins! It also has that perfect medium bodied texture- not to heavy, but not at all weak. I think the best feature of the wine is the finish- long and elegant. Time to fire up the coals and decant one!
Drink from 2016 to 2016

Lustau Almacenista Oloroso "Pata de Gallina" (500ml)
Review Date: 06-28-2016
A bottle of Pata De Gallina and a plate of Cotswold, Cheddar and Stilton lead me into predation every time. I pour a big glass, put the bottle back in the cellar and close the door; otherwise I will be powerless against its charms and pour another. Then I go back to the cellar... It is the tang and zip of this bone dry wine that make it so moreish, while the scale, richness and complexity make it beguiling. What a wine!

2015 S.C. Pannell Sauvignon Blanc Adelaide Hills South Australia
Review Date: 06-22-2016
This is my kind of Sauvignon Blanc! This has the tart, gooseberry like nose that I love in refreshing summer white, but does not go over into the hot-pepper zone that so many New Zealand wines do. This Australian white balances great fruit on the palate with excellent acidity on the finish.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart
JH 95

2014 S.C. Pannell Syrah Adelaide Hills South Australia
Review Date: 06-22-2016
This bacony, blue fruit driven Syrah has all the power one could want out of Australia, and leaves the sugar behind. This is dark, brooding stuff with full body, silky tannin and excellent acidity. If you need a great bottle for the mixed grill at the next cook-out, I couldn't recommend this S C Pannell highly enough.
Drink from 2016 to 2016

2013 Reyneke Sauvignon Blanc Stellenbosch (Biodynamic)
Review Date: 06-22-2016
What an unbelievable deal! This polished, dry Sauvignon Blanc has succulent fruit and a surprising amount of complexity. If you like your white wine clean and refreshing, but also with some substance, this Reyneke is a must try. I would feel very happy recommending this wine at the full $20+ price, but I am ecstatic about having it for such a bargain.
Top Value!
Price: Hidden View Price
RP 90 WS 90

2014 J.L. Chave Selection "Silene" Crozes-Hermitage
Review Date: 06-16-2016
Cinnamon & I love the wines of the northern Rhone, and the Silene from Chave is one of the best values I have tasted from this area in a long time. The nose is loaded with cracked pepper and has a little meaty complexity as well. In the mouth it is very authentic, and is big and bold without being sweet or tiresome. I love the mix of Syrah gaminess and good acidity in this wine and can't wait to have it home with some leg of lamb.
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2014 Clos de l'Anhel "Les Terrassettes" Corbières
Review Date: 06-14-2016
Are you ready for French BBQ? Get your kebabs ready, stud that leg of lamb with garlic and make sure to have plenty of the Terrassettes from Clos De L'Anhel on hand. This is grippy, authentic, dark fruited big red wine with charming rustic, earthy complexity and the refreshing acidity to keep you coming back for more.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2015 Franck Millet Sancerre Rosé
Review Date: 06-04-2016
The Franck Millet Sancerre Rose is made with a half-and-half combination of free run pinot noir and macerated pinot noir. I love this wine for capturing both the crunchy Rainier cherry flavors and aromas of the grape and the cut grass and minerality of Sancerre. It is 5% of their production, so you have to act fast to get it. I bought my case the first day it arrived!
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2015 Franck Millet Sancerre Blanc
Review Date: 06-04-2016
This Sancerre is one of the most delicious bottles of crisp, refreshing white wine that you can buy at K&L. It not only has great ripe citric aroma and flavor, but very nice texture as well. This very good domaine has been a favorite here at K&L for over 20 years... If you haven't tried it yet, you should!
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart

2014 Franck Millet "Insolite" Sancerre
Review Date: 06-04-2016
This fabulous "Insolite" prestige cuvee is selected from the very best plots of the Millet estate in a given vintage. They only make 10,000 bottles, using only free run cuvee- no press juice is added. The wine is kept in contact with its skins for about 20 hours at sub zero temperatures underneath a blanket of CO2. This allows him to keep his sulphur counts low but greatly increase the complexity of the wine. Millet has long been my personal favorite sauvignon blanc in the store, and now I know why: it is a meticulous selection from a great terroir!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

Four Pillars Navy Strength Gin 750ml
Review Date: 05-28-2016
This has all the great attributes of the Rare Dry from Four Pillars- just more of them! If you love citrus lift and a strong juniper foundation and sneaky power, this is for you. I love the way that Navy Strength Gin leads me down the wrong path, and I can't wait to get a bottle of this home.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart

Four Pillars Rare Dry Gin 750ml
Review Date: 05-28-2016
The colonies know their gin. This fragrant, balanced bottle does not try and reinvent the gin wheel, it just tastes better than most drinks. I love the high citrus notes and the low juniper base in the Four Pillars Rare. I think you will find it as at home in tonic as in a Martini. I am buying mine now!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Jean Josselin "Alliance" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-27-2016
This Champagne comes from vineyards less than five miles from the boarder with Burgundy, on soils just like those of Chablis. This soil character comes through in the Alliance more so than any other Champagne that we have! If you are looking for an oyster Champagne look no further! This dry, balanced Champagne has the perfect salinity for a trip to the oyster beds. I love it with any kind of shellfish from scallops to crab to lobster. This wine has the layers of a much more expensive bottle of white Burgundy and the fantastic bead of the best of Champagne!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Jean Josselin "Audace" Brut Rose Champagne
Review Date: 05-27-2016
This deeply colored rose Champagne is one of the most painstakingly selected and made in our stock. Almost all of the fruit comes from the Viller Deniere parcel, one of the most limestone rich sites in Gye-sur-Seine. The fruit is then sorted so only grapes with healthy skins are used for the Audace. All of this fruit is then macerated with all of the juice for about 18 hours, but the extra color from this special plot still yields a lot of color, but without too much tannin. This results in a rose with shockingly pure Pinot Noir fruit, with great richness and power!
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

Jean Josselin "Cuvee des Jean" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-27-2016
This is one of the most intriguing all Pinot Noir Champagne's in the store. Looking at it, I would never be able to tell that it was made from red grapes- Jean-Felix Josselin presses his grapes very delicately with a pair of very old basket presses that are the best, and the most labor intensive kind in Champagne! Cinnamon and I enjoyed this bottle with some “duck sushi”- sliced cooked duck breast served over risotto shaped into sushi rice shape this past weekend. While this wine is clean and refreshing enough to have on its own, the clean earth and Pinot power really came on with the food. At this price, I will be drinking a lot of this flexible, delicious Champagne and I will no doubt have more pairing suggestions soon!
Top Value!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$24.99

2007 Miguel Merino Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 05-25-2016
This top notch bottle has all of the polish and richness of modern Spanish wine, but with depth, intrigue and savor that is inimitably Rioja. If you want the texture and full bodied fat of the new world, balanced by the lift and earth of the old world, this Miguel Merino has it all. Get the grill fired up and put the lamb chops on... It is Rioja time!
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2010 Miguel Merino "Unnum" Rioja
Review Date: 05-25-2016
I love it when a great bottle of wine breaks my prejudices. I would be quick to say that I don't like French oak in Rioja... But that was before tasting Unnum! This is suave, effortless, rich red wine with a ton of style. Miguel Merino is a modern producer that makes wine of grace and his 2010's are his best yet. I love the ripe blackberries and vanilla cake on the very generous nose. The texture is the best thing about this wine- it is very rich, but not ponderous or heavy. It tastes great now, but if you can keep your hands off of it I think it will get even better!
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2011 Finca El Encinal Crianza Ribera del Duero
Review Date: 05-25-2016
This Ribera Del Duero has a lot of stuffing- especially for such a fair price. If you like a big, dark, powerful wine with plenty of grip and richness that still finishes dry, you will like the Finca El Encinal Crianza. This wine has enough acidity to keep it lively and make it go well with food.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
WS 92

Launois "Veuve Clemence" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 05-17-2016
This is the "insiders" Launois, and most of what we can get sells very quickly to people who have visited the property in Mesnil. This comes from the tops and bottoms of the slopes in the grand crus of Mesnil, Cramant and Oger, and is aged for an extra year compared to the reserve. This has classic chalky drive and length, with more than a little complexity. Don't get hooked- we never get much!
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart

2006 Veuve Clicquot "La Grande Dame" Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 05-17-2016
If you are looking for something for the wine lover that has had it all, you have found it. This entirely Grand Cru masterpiece has the vanishing delicacy and haunting complexity for the most discerning of palates. After tasting it for the first time, I was taken aback by how effortless it was, and after drinking it with food I haven't been able to stop thinking about it. This class is not magic, but straight from the vineyard. The 15% Pinot Noir that gives this rose its color and flavor is from the Clos Colin in the Grand Cru of Bouzy, a mid slope jewel in the very best terroir for the red wine for rose Champagne. This is expensive, but what a wine!
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $299.00 Add To Cart

Ruinart Brut Rosé Champagne (1.5L)
Review Date: 05-16-2016
From the oldest shipper of bubbly Champagne, this is a blend of 55% Pinot Noir and 45% Chardonnay entirely from Grand and Premier Cru vineyards. About 18% of the Pinot is vinified red and blended in for the color and rosé flavor. It has a dark color-almost like blood orange juice, and a soft, full bodied texture. It is rich and satisfying, despite the deceptively high proportion of Chardonnay.
Price: $179.00 Add To Cart
ST 95 WS 93

2006 Veuve Clicquot "La Grande Dame" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-14-2016
This is one of the most elegant, subtle, and delicate bottles in our Champagne section. Crafted entirely from Grand Cru vineyards, this great Champagne could not be further from the mass market style. It is a jewel for the jaded palate, and I can't get enough of its laid back, creamy, detailed style. I had this most recently with a warm Napa Cabbage salad, and it worked perfectly, cooling and refreshing my palate after every savory, bacon loaded bite. It is composed of 53% Pinot Noir and 47% Chardonnay and has class and length to spare!
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $149.99 Add To Cart
WE 94 WS 94

2008 Veuve Clicquot Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 05-14-2016
The 2008 vintage has rightly been hailed as a great one in Champagne, and this Veuve Clicquot Rose is a great example of this fantastic harvest. I drank this with Mr. DeMarville, chef de cave of Clicquot, paired with a long roasted chicken- what an experience! The wine has incredible power and a nearly Burgundian savor to it which was very satisfying with the food. It also has the clarity and lift of the highest acid vintage since 1996. This is a wine for the ages... But it will be very difficult to keep my hands off of now!
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $84.99 Add To Cart

2004 Veuve Clicquot "Gold Label Reserve" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-14-2016
This Pinot Noir driven Champagne has the power to wow and the elegance to leave a person wanting to more. If you only think of yellow label when you think of Clicquot, this is a must try!
Drink from 2016 to 2016

Charles Ellner "Premier Cru" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-10-2016
This Champagne comes entirely from the 1er cru vineyards of Dizy, Rilly-la-Montagne, Sermieres and Champillon. It is composed of 75% Chardonnay and 25% Pinot Noir with over six years of ageing on the lees. The current batch is based on 2006. This has the personality of a Champagne with much more Pinot Noir than the composition suggests. I love the black cherry on toast aromas and the incredible hazelnut depth on the palate. This is very concentrated, serious Champagne.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
WE 92 WS 90

Louis Roederer "Brut Premier" Champagne Jeroboam (3L)
Review Date: 04-20-2016
This is great Champagne- and perhaps one of the best values for money in any category of wine. Louis Roederer has been pushing quality like few others in the region over the last decade, and no wine shows the heights that they have reached as well as the Brut Premier. With massive investment in organic viticulture, including a massive purchase of 1er vineyards from Leclerc-Briant, a return to plowing in the vineyard instead of chemical treatment and obsession with every detail in the winery they have created something here that has no rival among the big names, especially at this price. The 1/3 of the fruit that they buy comes from growers like Benoit Marguet- so you know they are getting top stuff. While most of my time is spent advocating for single origin Champagnes, this bottle is a great argument for blending and the balance that cellar master Jean-Baptiste Lecaillon created here is second to none. This wine has a great brioche nose and plenty of vivacious sparkle. It is a perfect aperitif!

Louis Roederer "Brut Premier" Champagne (375ml)
Review Date: 04-20-2016
This is great Champagne- and perhaps one of the best values for money in any category of wine. Louis Roederer has been pushing quality like few others in the region over the last decade, and no wine shows the heights that they have reached as well as the Brut Premier. With massive investment in organic viticulture, including a massive purchase of 1er vineyards from Leclerc-Briant, a return to plowing in the vineyard instead of chemical treatment and obsession with every detail in the winery they have created something here that has no rival among the big names, especially at this price. The 1/3 of the fruit that they buy comes from growers like Benoit Marguet- so you know they are getting top stuff. While most of my time is spent advocating for single origin Champagnes, this bottle is a great argument for blending and the balance that cellar master Jean-Baptiste Lecaillon created here is second to none. This wine has a great brioche nose and plenty of vivacious sparkle. It is a perfect aperitif!

Louis Roederer "Brut Premier" Champagne (1.5L)
Review Date: 04-20-2016
This is great Champagne- and perhaps one of the best values for money in any category of wine. Louis Roederer has been pushing quality like few others in the region over the last decade, and no wine shows the heights that they have reached as well as the Brut Premier. With massive investment in organic viticulture, including a massive purchase of 1er vineyards from Leclerc-Briant, a return to plowing in the vineyard instead of chemical treatment and obsession with every detail in the winery they have created something here that has no rival among the big names, especially at this price. The 1/3 of the fruit that they buy comes from growers like Benoit Marguet- so you know they are getting top stuff. While most of my time is spent advocating for single origin Champagnes, this bottle is a great argument for blending and the balance that cellar master Jean-Baptiste Lecaillon created here is second to none. This wine has a great brioche nose and plenty of vivacious sparkle. It is a perfect aperitif!

2014 Château de la Negly "La Côte" Languedoc la Clape
Review Date: 04-13-2016
If you love full bodied, dry southern French wine, the Negly La Cote is for you! This very well balanced red has enough guts for a rich meal, and enough refreshment to have that second big glass.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$9.99

Lanson Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 04-13-2016
This dry, racy rosé has great toastiness and an exceptionally fine bead. It is composed of 50% Pinot Noir, 35% Chardonnay and 15% Meunier, with 7% Bouzy rouge giving the Champagne its color. It has been aged for three years on the lees and is dosed at only 9 grams per liter. Like all of Lanson's Champagnes, the wine is fermented in stainless steel without malolactic.

Charles Ellner "Carte d'Or" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 04-06-2016
This all estate-grown blend of 75% Chardonnay and 25% Pinot Noir is an outstanding value in top-class Champagne. This wine has been aged for over five years on the lees and has a wonderful lemon curd and brioche nose. They never do malolactic at Charles Ellner, and because of that decision they must age the wines longer... The results are spectacular. This has incredible texture and finesse, but also fantastic mineral-laden length!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WS 90

Tarlant "Brut Tradition" Champagne
Review Date: 04-05-2016
The Tarlant "Brut Tradition" Champagne combines serious vinosity with bright refreshment like few other bottles ever do. If you love Champagne like Krug and Bollinger, this is a must try. The current batch is based on 2009, and has been aged longer on the lees than some of the vintage Champagne that we carry; it was disgorged in February of 2015. It is composed of 56% Pinot Noir, 39% Meunier and 5% Chardonnay, all from the estate. The feature that makes this Champagne so interesting is the deep reserves that are used - all barrel aged stuff that really makes this Champagne rub the Krug spot for me.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2014 Château de la Negly "La Falaise" Languedoc la Clape
Review Date: 04-05-2016
Wow - what a serious wine from the Languedoc! The Chateau De La Negly "La Falaise" will be my go-to Rhone-style blend for this summer's barbecues. I love the smoky dark fruit from the Syrah and the dry, structured finish. This will be a great match for everything from ribs to lamb chops coming hot off the backyard grill!
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
RP 92

Tarlant "Cuvée Louis" Brut Champagne (1.5L)
Review Date: 04-05-2016
Drinking this Champagne out of magnum is a decadent wine experience. We served this to family friends paired with fresh figs that we had put under the broiler dotted with Cyprus Grove Truffle Tremor goat cheese and some ancient balsamic. The magnum was sent rattling into the recycling bin all to quickly... This is quite a rich Champagne, and is hitting a point in its development now where the Chardonnay and the Pinot Noir are on even terms. The savor of old Pinot is not there yet, the caramel of old Chardonnay is still far away, but the black cherry fruit and chalky sparkle are in full stride. Yes, this is about as good as it gets now, and yet the wine promises different experiences that are just as lovely later!
Drink from 2009 to 2009

Tarlant "Cuvée Louis" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 04-05-2016
The most iconic wine at Tarlant is the single vineyard Tarlant "Cuvée Louis" Brut Champagne. It comes from a vineyard called les Crayons which is on the slope nearest the Marne on their property. While the rest of their vineyard has widely varied soil types, the Crayons is very pure chalk and quite old- over 60 years. The current batch is based on 1999 and has reserves going back to 1996 and has been aged on the lees for fifteen years, just being disgorged in May of 2015. It is now labeled as extra brut, as the dosage is just 2g/l, but don’t be scared- the 15 years on the lees has made this a rich, full bodied Champagne that is in no way austere or hard. If you want a grower Champagne of spectacular depth and Burgundian power, this even blend of Chardonnay and Pinot Noir is an excellent choice- it is one of the great single vineyard Champagnes period.

2006 Billecart-Salmon "Cuvée Elizabeth" Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 02-25-2016
I tasted this with Antoine Billecart in October, and it lives up to its lofty reputation as the best rosé in the world. It is composed of even parts Chardonnay and Pinot Noir, but it is the red wine that is added (about 9%) that puts this wine in a class of its own. The red Pinot Noir is all from the 1er Cru of Mareuil, in fact from one 80-year-old plot called the Valofroy. This ultimately elegant Champagne has kaleidoscopic complexity with everything inside from white flowers to subtle hazelnuts. The Volnay-like character of the red wine is in the background now, but for the patient, this wine will be a treat on the level of any wine in the world!
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $249.00 Add To Cart

Bernheim 7 Year Old "K&L Exclusive Barrel #5253297" Single Barrel Kentucky Straight Wheat Whiskey (750ml - ships as 1.5L)
Review Date: 02-18-2016
Those of us who love wheated Whiskey have had a tough run since Bourbon exploded in popularity. When the Van Winkle became impossible to get, Weller was soon to follow, and a general shortage has made fans of this style have to do with out. This single barrel, seven year old Bernheim is a great relief for the wheated Whiskey drought, but I am sure it won't last long. If you like them gentle and round without sacrificing complexity, you have found your bottle!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Page: 1 2 3 4 5 next >>

More Favorites

Gary Westby is also a fan of the following items. To become a fan of Gary Westby, click here to join Gary Westby's Personal Sommelier Service.
2013 Kalinda "Rawiri Vineyard" Pinot Noir Marlborough ($14.99)

2013 Lagar de Costa "Doelas" Albariño Rias Baixas ($19.99)

2012 Stolpman Ballard Canyon Grenache ($24.99)

Baron Fuente "Galipettes" Brut Champagne ($34.99)

2007 Bodegas Puelles Rioja Reserva ($19.99)

2011 Qupé "Sawyer Lindquist Vineyard - K&L Selection" Edna Valley Syrah ($21.99)

2013 Au Bon Climat Santa Barbara County Chardonnay ($19.99)

2009 Bodegas Olarra "Añares" Reserva Rioja ($14.99)

2012 Ellero "Pisa Terrace" Pinot Noir Central Otago ($24.99)