Staff Favorites - Gary Westby

Gary Westby
Gary Westby  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service
I started at K&L in February of 2000, after 4 years of working down the street for another retailer, and although I take care of the Champagne buying here at K&L, I love to drink wine from all over the world. I prize authenticity in wine, and love representative examples of many different styles, whether it is a spicy dry creek zinfandel or a mineral driven Manzanilla. I almost always drink my wine with food, and am drawn to food wines rather than the softer styles that are good for drinking on their own. My wife Cinnamon and I cook a lot of Italian & French food at home, and my list of wines reflects those food choices. I also love value, at every price point, and can't stand "prestige" labels that under deliver in the bottle. I love honest wines for the table. If you love good wine to go with your good cooking too, I think that by joining my personal Sommelier list you will be treated to a wide variety of wines that represent a strong value for money at what ever price range you feel comfortable with. Give it a try!


Reviews

  
Page: 1 2 3 4 5 next >>
2013 Domaine Philippe Colin Chassagne-Montrachet 'Les Chenes' Rouge
Review Date: 05-16-2017
The reds of Chassagne Montrachet are one of my favorite under the radar wines in the whole world. This is blood making Burgundy, with more substance than one would expect from its value price. It manages to have both red and dark cherry fruit, and a good little bit of tannin on the long back end. I am going to buy at least half a case!
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2015 Château Thivin "Reverdon" Brouilly
Review Date: 05-16-2017
The Thivin Reverdon Brouilly has all the virtues that has made Cru Beaujolais a darling of top sommeliers in the US. It has luscious, delicious, generous fruit that is balanced perfectly by granite structure and refreshing acidity. This has the kind of fruit that one finds in California wine, but without the sweetness. It finishes dry, and is the perfect companion to the lighter fare of weeknight home cooking.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
RP 92

2014 Jacques Bavard Bourgogne Blanc
Review Date: 05-16-2017
I find that the 2014 white Burgundies are the best to come along since 2008, and this is one of our best examples of the vintage. Jacques Bavard managed to get more than a little limey, Puligny like zing in this quite concentrated little Bourgogne Blanc. Don't miss out on this great vintage- there is no reason not to try some at this great value price!
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2015 Chateau Vitallis Pouilly-Fuissé Vieilles Vignes
Review Date: 05-16-2017
This rich, full bodied white Burgundy from Chateau Vitallis impressed me even next to much more expensive offerings at today's staff tasting. It is stuffed with great Chardonnay flavor, but does not crossover into heaviness. It is certainly one of the very best Pouilly Fuisse's we have in stock.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2015 Chateau Vitallis Macon-Fuissé
Review Date: 05-16-2017
I had to go back to this wine a second time at our staff tasting... I didn't believe that this Macon Fuisse could be under $20! Chateau Vitallis has delivered not only refreshing minerality, but considerable texture and complexity at a price that I don't usually associate with fine white Burgundy. If you are looking for something without the heavy oak and alcohol, but still plenty of Chardonnay flavor, this is a must try!
Top Value!
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2015 Felton Road "Bannockburn" Pinot Noir Central Otago (Biodynamic)
Review Date: 05-12-2017
This fabulous bottle of Central Otago Pinot Noir is at the top level of what we offer at K&L. If purity of fruit, grace, and natural richness are priorities for you, this Felton Road Bannockburn is one of the top bottles we can offer. This is an ideal partner for your best leg of lamb, or your cellar.
Drink from 2017 to 2017

2010 Ariston Aspasie Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-11-2017
No Champagne producer is better loved by K&L customers than Paul-Vincent Ariston of Champagne Aspasie, and he has delivered another great vintage with his 2010 Ariston Aspasie Brut Champagne . This is a blend of 1/3 each Chardonnay, Pinot Noir and Meunier from his estate in Brouillet, and is in a drier, more focused style in 2010. I love this Champagne for the aperitif, and it also goes very well with summer vegetable quiche or even pate!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$34.99

2012 Franck Bonville "Millesime" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 05-11-2017
From the Grand Cru of Avize, this Champagne is one of our first from this “miracle” vintage. Much like 2000 in Bordeaux, the Champenois had many problems during the 2012 growing season. After a golden autumn, the wines turned out to be fantastic, and I have never seen so many smiling facings in the region as when I visited to taste the 2012’s as vin-clair. This is a very rich blanc de blancs, with more body and substance than even the quite broad 2006’s. That being said, it is loaded with Avize chalk, and focuses very nicely on the finish. If you like the wines, stash some for the future, I have never tasted tired Bonville, and I have tasted back to the 1959!
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$34.99

2014 Brown Rouge, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 05-09-2017
The Chateau Brown 2014 is my top value in fine Cabernet blends in the store. This graceful blend of 55% Cabernet Sauvignon, 42% Merlot and 3% Petit Verdot is an outstanding ambassador for the fresh and delicious 2014's. It has all of the dark cassis fruit that we love in Cab, but without the sugar, excessive alcohol and big tannins. This will make a wonderful partner to steaks on the grill, with its great cut and moreish refreshment. Save room in your cellar- it is only going to get better!
Top Value!

2014 La Conseillante, Pomerol
Review Date: 05-09-2017
This great La Conseillante harkens back to a time before Pomerol became a land of giant wines. Is it concentrated- of course, and fabulously so, with the balancing acidity to carry off the ample amount of rich plummy fruit in the middle. This is the longest finishing, most intriguing La Conseillante I have tasted since the great 1982!
Drink from 2024 to 2024

2014 Montrose, St-Estèphe (375ml)
Review Date: 05-09-2017
I understand why so many of my colleagues are calling the 2014 Chateau Montrose the wine of the vintage. It is the best young Bordeaux I have tasted in many, many years. This tremendous, dark fruited wine is loaded with power, but also packaged perfectly elegantly. Is it tannic? Of course- it is Montrose! But the tannins are ripe, and lifted by graceful acidity. The only ingredient that is missing is a lot of time... I am afraid that the perfect balance will cause much of the production to be drunk far too young.

2014 Montrose, St-Estèphe
Review Date: 05-09-2017
I understand why so many of my colleagues are calling the 2014 Chateau Montrose the wine of the vintage. It is the best young Bordeaux I have tasted in many, many years. This tremendous, dark fruited wine is loaded with power, but also packaged perfectly elegantly. Is it tannic? Of course- it is Montrose! But the tannins are ripe, and lifted by graceful acidity. The only ingredient that is missing is a lot of time... I am afraid that the perfect balance will cause much of the production to be drunk far too young.
Drink from 2024 to 2024

2014 Canon, St-Emilion
Review Date: 05-09-2017
Chateau Canon is back on top! This graceful, balanced St. Emilion will repay time in your cellar in spades. I love the dark fruit and the seamless texture of this elegant right bank wine. The best part is the quality of the concentration, rather than making for heavy going, the acidity is as concentrated as the fruit, and the wine has a finish that I can almost still taste now. Make room in your cellar!
Drink from 2024 to 2024

2014 Petit Figeac, St-Emilion
Review Date: 05-09-2017
If you love the great wines of the right bank, but can do without the super extracted, high alcohol and high prices, the 2014 Petit Figeac is for you. I thought that wines like this from the "other" side of the river were extinct. This St. Emilion is a clinic on purity, with perfect plummy fruit, fresh new leather and a lifted finish that goes on and on. No heaviness here, just old fashioned right bank claret!
Drink from 2017 to 2017

2008 Fallet-Dart Vintage Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-03-2017
I consider the 2008 Fallet Dart to be the most exciting vintage Champagne that we have in stock. It comes from estate vineyards in the far west of Champagne, in the tiny hamlet of Drachy, from a family that has been growing grapes for an astounding 17 generations. This bottling is composed of 70% Chardonnay and 30% Pinot Noir, and most of the Chardonnay comes from one of the few "clos" sites in Champagne, the Clos du Mont. This vineyard was the first monastic site in the region and perhaps the oldest of the "clos" in Champagne, first planted around the same time as the l'eglise Drachy was built: 741! The wine has the electricity, length and mineral drive that one would expect from the great 2008 vintage. The surprise is how much body and structure comes along with the minerality, and the complex, seemingly every changing flavors of the wine. I found it to have everything from sourdough to truffles to nectarines from one sip to the next. We tasted this next to the 1999, a much softer vintage that is still going strong... This will last a long time!
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2015 d'Yquem "Y" Bordeaux Blanc
Review Date: 04-20-2017
This rich white wine is a powerhouse! It is composed of 75% semillon and 25% sauvignon blanc from d'Yquem's estate vineyards in Sauternes. It has the right amount of honey to set off the grassy notes of the sauvignon blanc, and an unbelievable amount of length and laser like focus. They use 80% one year old barrels that were used once for d'Yquem, and the balance brand new oak, and yet the oak is barely a feature in the wine. This is concentrated stuff!
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $139.99 Add To Cart

2014 Tapiz "Alta Collection" Cabernet Sauvignon Mendoza
Review Date: 04-14-2017
This big, ripe powerful Cabernet will thrill fans of Napa wines. It is loaded with cassis fruit, and has plenty of tannic structure on the back end. This is excellent for drinking right now for fans of the big Cabernet style, and priced for any old night. Similar quality from Napa would cost a lot more than twice as much!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
JS 96

2015 Akitu "A2" Pinot Noir Central Otago (White Label)
Review Date: 04-12-2017
The balanced, clean 2015 A2 from Akitu is a skillful blend from across their Wanaka estate. This is the kind of Pinot Noir that has the lift and refreshment for many different kinds of food, but is easy and delicious enough to have on its own. I love the dark fruit and the new leather flavors in this perfect example of Central Otago Pinot!
Drink from 2017 to 2017

2016 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough
Review Date: 04-12-2017
This is my favorite New Zealand Sauvignon Blanc at any price. It has everything that I want from this now famous style- clean grapefruit and serrano pepper on the nose, medium to light body, and a great bright, long finish with no residual sugar. This is one of our most re-bought wines in the store for a reason... Get out of the industrial production game and try these small production gems. This is a great value!
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
RP 90

2015 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Pinot Noir Marlborough
Review Date: 04-12-2017
My favorite wines of our very strong New Zealand direct import program are from TWR. The 2015 Te Whare Ra Pinot Noir is full of dark cherry fruit and vinous, savory drive. If you like complexity in your Pinot, this medium bodied, long finishing bottle is a must try.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
JS 94

2014 Mount Edward Pinot Noir Central Otago
Review Date: 04-12-2017
This toasty, bacony Pinot Noir from Mount Edward reminded me of some of the bigger, high end Oregon Pinot Noirs, but at half the price! If you love your Pinot with substance, but still dry and long, this is a must try!

2014 Elephant Hill Syrah Hawke's Bay
Review Date: 04-12-2017
This Hawkes Bay Syrah from Elephant Hill was the red wine standout of our New Zealand staff tasting. If you love the classic Syrahs of the Northern Rhone, you owe it to yourself to try this beauty. It has a classic nose that explodes with white pepper, and medium to full body with excellent texture. Minty, eucalyptus like flavors last and last with good tannin and excellent acidity on the finish. Perfect for leg of lamb now, or the cellar for later!
Drink from 2017 to 2017

1990 Krug "Collection" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 04-12-2017
Tasting this with the Krug team at the new Krug house in Reims is an experience I won't soon forget. Arnauld Lallement, the chef from L’Assiette Champenois cooked for us, and this was the vintage highlight of the evening. When a Champagne has the freshness of youth, combined with the savory, white truffle complexity of age you can say that it has it all. Words fall short with a great wine like this... The 1990 Krug Collection can stand on the table with anything.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $649.00 Add To Cart
VN 97

Baron Fuente "Esprit" Blanc de Blancs Brut Champagne
Review Date: 04-08-2017
The Esprit Blanc de Blancs is made from the very last vineyard in the farthest west part of Champagne—the Chantemanche in Saacy-sur-Marne. This site is one of the very few so far west that they are actually in the Paris district, Ile-de-France. The current release is based on 2009 with 5% barrel fermented reserves from 2008. It is a very creamy style of Blanc de Blancs, with an excellent Chablis like earth character and a bright finish to contrast the richness of the mid-palate.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
WE 92

2010 Pierre Paillard "Les Maillerettes" Grand Cru Brut Blanc de Noirs Champagne
Review Date: 04-08-2017
The 2010 Pierre Paillard "Les Maillerettes" Brut Blanc de Noirs is made from a mid-slope plot of pinot noir planted in 1970 to the family massal selection. They still propagate pinot noir from here for new vineyard plantations. After years of working with these wines, I was not surprised at the Corton like power and structure of this wine, but I was blown away by the effortless texture and fine bead of this bottle. I do not understand how they can get both elements in one little 750ml!
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart
VN 92 RP 91

2010 Pierre Paillard "Les Mottelettes" Grand Cru Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 04-08-2017
The 2010 Pierre Paillard "Les Mottelettes" Blanc de Blancs comes from the Paillard's mother plot of chardonnay that was planted in 1961. This bone dry, chalk laden wine is usually a laser beam, and I love it with oysters. In 2010, it has an extra element that almost reminds me of the subtle pineapple character that you get in the best Meursault. With the terroir-driven aspects Paillard is showcasing in these wines, anyone who loves both Champagne and Burgundy would do well to drink one of these!
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart
RP 92 VN 91

Laurent-Perrier "Grand Siècle" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 04-08-2017
The Grand Siecle has long been my favorite tete de cuvee, but for many years now it has been out of reach. Since 2008, just a trickle has made it to the USA, and it was a fantastically expensive trickle. We managed to secure some at a very fair price and I can't say enough about what a great wine this is. Most big houses talk a big game about the "Blenders Art" and the synergy of Grand Cru terroirs when combined not just with balancing sites, but also across time. This is the embodiment of synergistic blending and monk’s patience. Nearly every Grand Cru in Champagne is represented; the wine is from three different vintages and aged over 10 years on the lees. I believe this is the most underrated of all the tête de cuvees in Champagne. First of all, it is real and honest tête de cuvee, representing only a sliver of their production and allowing them to select the cream of the crop for this bottling. Some of the most famous tête de cuvees are actually the second highest production wine from their respective houses! As one would expect from a Champagne that is aged this long from such excellent sources, it is very complex. This complexity is not a vinous, heavy complexity, however; in fact it is almost vanishingly subtle and elegant. I think it's necessary to spend time with the Grand Siècle to truly understand it. The wine is simply lovely with a fantastic bead of tiny bubbles to start and I always feel like a having second glass when I taste it. That is when I start to notice the complexity! That desire for more speaks volumes.

2015 Pascal Bellier Cheverny Rouge
Review Date: 03-14-2017
The Cheverny Rouge from Pascal Bellier is a shocking value in the world of Pinot Noir. While most California Pinot's in this price range are blended with Chardonnay and Syrah, this has a touch of Gamay, just like a passetoutgrain from Burgundy. It is a very light style, and all of the lovely red fruit and even a touch of the elusive savor is here. Another great week night red from the Loire Valley!
Top Value!
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2001 Couly Dutheil "Clos de l'Echo" Chinon
Review Date: 03-14-2017
One cannot imitate the passage of time with technology, no matter how much winemakers have tried over the years. This 2001 Clos de l'Echo has been laying peacefully in the cellars of Couly Dutheil and shipped alongside the 2013. Drinking these wines after 15+ years is the perfect time to enjoy them. The young black olive taste turns to complex tapenade and the wine gains in texture and finesse... This is a great bottle of wine, and for this price, anyone interested in tasting a wine in its prime should try it!
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart

2015 Jo Landron "La Louvetrie" Muscadet Sèvre et Maine
Review Date: 03-14-2017
This incredible value Muscadet from Jo Landron has the mineral complexity of a premier cru Chablis! This will knock me off my Champagne drinking high-horse the next time I am shucking oysters at home with its chiseled flavors and great acidity. What a find!
Top Value!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2009 Franck Bonville "Millesime" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 03-04-2017
We drank a bottle of this last night while closing the store, and I was surprised at just how good this Champagne showed. This has the focus and snap of many 2008's, and an incredibly long, mineral driven finish. Most of the 2009's I have had have been much broader and lower in acid than this all Avize Grand Cru super star. While it is showing great now, I think this has a lot of potential for the future!
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

2013 Domaine de l'Espigouette Vacqueyras
Review Date: 02-21-2017
This bottle is a blast from the past and reminds me so much of the dry, vinous, serious Chateauneuf's in the days before the critics turned them into sumo wrestlers. This bottle has the great powerful dark fruit of the warm climate, earthy sauvage flavors and great tannic backbone. This would be perfect with a roasted leg of lamb!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
RP 89 - 91

2014 La Jasse Castel "La Pimpanela" Terrasses du Larzac
Review Date: 02-21-2017
The Pimpanela was a huge star in today's staff tasting of French country wines. If you like the GSM's of Australia and South Africa, this is a must try. While it is ripe and full bodied, it is not over the top, and the fruit here is super clean and pure.
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2014 Château Viella Pacherenc du Vic Bilh Blanc Sec
Review Date: 02-21-2017
At this price range, our buyers at K&L routinely find tasty straightforward wines. This Chateau Viella is so much more than that- it is loaded with intrigue, and a real original. I loved the exotic aromas from the indigenous varieties, and assumed I would have to pay the price with flab on the back end. Nothing could be further from the truth! This little value has acid zip on the level of the Cote de Blanc or Chablis! If you like complex, racy white wines, you can't afford not to try it!
Top Value!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2014 Domaine de Verquière Rasteau
Review Date: 02-21-2017
This great value Rasteau has all of the features that made me fall in love with southern Rhone wine. It is full bodied and has great earthy, ripe flavors, but is completely free of the residual sugar and excessive alcohol that sometimes spoils modern high end Chateauneuf. If you are looking for a full bodied, dry red to go with your weeknight meals, you have found it!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2013 Cantina Terlan "Gries" Lagrein Riserva
Review Date: 02-15-2017
This spicy, rich, powerful red has a lot in common with Hermitage. If you like big wines with a lot of texture, and are not afraid of a little tannin, a Lagrein like this is perfect to try. I can't wait to roast a leg of lamb and serve this Cantina Terlan with it!
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $35.99 Add To Cart
RP 91

2013 La Massa "La Massa" Toscana
Review Date: 02-15-2017
If you love super Tuscans and expensive Napa Cabernet, this La Massa is a must try for you. This Toscana has all of the dark color, flashy richness and power of its more expensive neighbors, but not the price.
Drink from 2017 to 2017

2012 Poggerino Chianti Classico Riserva Bugialla
Review Date: 02-15-2017
The folks at Poggerino have made one of the finest Classico's I have had in years with this 2012 Riserva Bugialla. If you love elegant wine of complexity, restraint and real depth, this is worth a splurge. Although it seems light up front, it has that rare peacock's tail finish that even the finest wines don't always achieve. A special bottle.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
WS 91 WE 90

2013 La Monacesca "Mirum" Verdicchio di Matelica Riserva
Review Date: 02-15-2017
This rich Verdicchio Di Matelica from La Monacesca impressed me with Meursault like richness and excellent focus. If you haven't experimented with the better whites of Italy, there is no better time than now. This wine has the scale, complexity and the balance that I would only expect from a much more expensive wine.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart
W&S 92 WE 91

Jean-Jacques Lamoureux Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 02-02-2017
I have only been down to Riceys at the southern tip of Champagne twice. Vivien Lamoureux’s vineyards are only three miles away from the border, and he makes both Champagne and Burgundy. Due to French law, they are produced in different cellars on their respective sides of the boarder. In the past, Les Riceys seemed switched hands between the Comtes de Champagne and the Dukes of Burgundy to many times to count, and that split heritage is very evident in Vivien’s Chamapgne! If you love full bodied rose with plenty of Burgundian Pinot Noir flavor, this one is not to be missed!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2012 Leeuwin "Art Series" Cabernet Sauvignon Margaret River Western Australia
Review Date: 02-02-2017
This may be the most elegant Cabernet Sauvignon in the store from outside of Bordeaux, and gives most of even them a run for their money. The Leeuwin Art Series from Margaret River has very fine currant aromatics framed by an almost pencil lead like mineral component. The wine has perfect texture, medium body and resolved, fine tannin. This would be perfect with filet mignon tonight, or keep for quite a long time in your cellar.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
JS 97 JH 96

2013 Domaine A " Lady A" Sauvignon Blanc Tasmania
Review Date: 02-01-2017
Wow did this turn my little world wine order on its head! The Domaine A Lady A from Tasmania would fit perfectly in a flight with Domaine de Chevalier, Laville Haut Brion and even Haut Brion blanc... We were all dumbfounded at the stupendous quality of the wine. I will be putting down some bottles in my cellar for the future. No- I will be putting them in the locker where it is harder for me to open them to early! This oily, deep, complex wine has laser like acidity and length for days. A stunner!
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

2015 Kloof Street (Mullineux Family Wines) Chenin Blanc Swartland South Africa
Review Date: 02-01-2017
Many folks looking for a great bottle of white wine at a reasonable price would do well to try this Chenin Blanc from the Swartland South Africa. This has the body of a big white Burgundy, the acidity of a crisp Chablis and nice, subtle melon like flavors from the grape variety. A top value for sure!
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2014 Pencarrow Pinot Noir (Palliser) Martinborough
Review Date: 02-01-2017
Normally, Pinot Noir in this price range is good if it is, as a customer of mine once said, "red and wet". This is so much more, with so much fresh red fruit, nice medium to light body, and a satisfying Pinot flavor. What really struck me with this wine was the multi-dimensional aromatic character... I simply do not expect much complexity at this price. What a good bottle!

2015 Pencarrow Sauvignon Blanc (Palliser) Martinborough
Review Date: 02-01-2017
This is my new go-to value NZ Sauvignon Blanc. It has great clean fruit, without the hot pepper aromas and flavors that sometimes dominate SB from this part of the world. I don't expect a wine in this price range to have a precise, mineral driven finish, but this surprised me with focus and length on a level with bottles twice the price.
Top Value!

2003 Haut-Bailly, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 02-01-2017
This fresh, balanced, ready to drink Haut Bailly might be the classiest bottle of Bordeaux we have for the price. Because of the vintage, it is full bodied, and because of their wisdom managing the weather conditions, it is in no way overripe. The nose is loaded with currants and minerality, and the back end is long and delineated.
Drink from 2017 to 2017

2005 Bollinger "Grande Année" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 01-26-2017
The lush, rich, toasty, decadent 2005 Bollinger "Grande Année" Brut Champagne is one of our most delicious vintage bottles in the store for drinking now. It should also keep very well! The 2005 is almost all estate, and composed of 70% Pinot Noir (mostly Ay and Verzenay) and 30% Chardonnay (mostly Mesnil, Avize and Chouilly). Like all Bollinger vintage, treated to long ageing on the lees on a cork instead of a cap, so the cork that you pop before enjoying is the 2nd that has been in the bottle.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart
JS 94 WS 94

2014 Domaine des Terres Dorées (Jean-Paul Brun) Saint-Amour
Review Date: 01-18-2017
This lovely, aromatic Saint Amour is the perfect red for so many occasions. If you are looking for something that is lower in alcohol, more perfumed yet still satisfying, you have found it!
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart
VN 93 RP 91

Brasserie De La Senne / Brew By Numbers Session IPA, Belgium (330ml)
Review Date: 01-17-2017
I love it when a good drink makes a liar out of me. This Brasserie De La Senne Brew By Numbers certainly did--as before tasting it I was sure I wasn't going to like it. It is after all, an IPA that is not from England, and I am an old curmudgeon when it comes to beer. I found it wonderfully refreshing and easy to drink, while still showing very nice complexity. Thanks for the treat Mr. Boyce!
Price: Hidden View Price

2014 de France Blanc, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 01-17-2017
Pessac-Leognan makes some of the finest dry whites in the world, and most of them are a very good value for money. The 2014 De France Blanc is a fantastic example of this. I think one would be hard-pressed to find a white Burgundy or California white at this price that was even in the same league. Although predominantly Sauvignon Blanc, the 20% Semillon is front and center in this honeyed, full-bodied yet completely dry white. The great 2014 vintage is renowned for dry whites for a good reason, this is concentrated, long finishing stuff!
Drink from 2017 to 2017

Page: 1 2 3 4 5 next >>

More Favorites

Gary Westby is also a fan of the following items. To become a fan of Gary Westby, click here to join Gary Westby's Personal Sommelier Service.
2013 Tongue In Groove "The Mound Vineyard" Riesling Waipara Valley ($16.99)

2007 Bodegas Puelles Rioja Reserva ($17.99)