Staff Favorites - Gary Westby

Gary Westby
Gary Westby  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service
I started at K&L in February of 2000, after 4 years of working down the street for another retailer, and although I take care of the Champagne buying here at K&L, I love to drink wine from all over the world. I prize authenticity in wine, and love representative examples of many different styles, whether it is a spicy dry creek zinfandel or a mineral driven Manzanilla. I almost always drink my wine with food, and am drawn to food wines rather than the softer styles that are good for drinking on their own. My wife Cinnamon and I cook a lot of Italian & French food at home, and my list of wines reflects those food choices. I also love value, at every price point, and can't stand "prestige" labels that under deliver in the bottle. I love honest wines for the table. If you love good wine to go with your good cooking too, I think that by joining my personal Sommelier list you will be treated to a wide variety of wines that represent a strong value for money at what ever price range you feel comfortable with. Give it a try!


Reviews

Page: 1 2 3 4 5 next >>
2014 Charles Joguet "Les Varennes du Grand Clos" Chinon
Review Date: 04-14-2018
This lovely Cabernet Franc not only has the olive tinged blue fruit and refreshment that fans of Chinon love, but also very nice mid-palate texture. Our allocation of Charles Joguet is always small, and it is a producer that no French wine lover should miss an opportunity to drink. The Les Varennes Du Grand Clos is a great example, and while precocious in its youth, will also reward some patience with even more texture and complexity!
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $32.99 Add To Cart
W&S 94 WS 92

Pierre Mineral "Vieillie En Fut" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 04-12-2018
This Champagne is almost too good to be true. It is made entirely from estate grown Mesnil Chardonnay, 50% of which is 2012 that spends six months in 600 liter oak barrels, and 50% reserves from the previous year which spend a full year in oak. This creamy, balanced blanc de blancs is not oaky in flavor at all, yet has the seamless texture that only wood treatment can bring. It is a super dry, mineral Champagne with finish that won't stop. It is hard not to compare it to the Krug Clos du Mesnil, which is also barrel fermented pure Mesnil! While it doesn't have the extra age of this famous bottle, it sure is good... and 1/20th the price!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

1997 Bowmore 20 Year Old "Old Particular" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 04-12-2018
The salty and sweet twenty year old Bowmore has all of the charm of the best of Islay along with the complexity and length that only time will bring. If you like the natural style of non-Sherry influenced Islay, but want the texture and interest of an older malt, this is a perfect choice.
Price: $149.99 Add To Cart

2012 Louis Roederer Brut Rosé Champagne (375ml)
Review Date: 03-15-2018
When it comes to vintage Champagne, Roederer is clearly one of the best. They start in the vineyard, and manage the vines for this rosé very differently than the sites that are used for the Blanc de Blancs, Cristal and regular Brut vintage. In the case of this wine, they use their steep sites in the Premier Cru of Cumieres to get the ripest Pinot Noir possible in the cold Champagne region. While the Pinot is macerating, they infuse Chardonnay from the coolest sites in the Grand Cru of Chouilly both to slow down the set of the pigment and add freshness and acidity to the wine. The 2012 vintage was a great one in Champagne, marked by low yields and warm harvest conditions, and this is a great example of the concentration and texture that this great year is capable of. The color is only a pale copper strewn pink, but the finish has great black cherry Pinot power. The top class chalk of the Chardonnay make this a long finishing, lengthy treat that should not be missed!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
JS 95 WE 94

2012 Louis Roederer Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 03-15-2018
When it comes to vintage Champagne, Roederer is clearly one of the best. They start in the vineyard, and manage the vines for this rosé very differently than the sites that are used for the Blanc de Blancs, Cristal and regular Brut vintage. In the case of this wine, they use their steep sites in the Premier Cru of Cumieres to get the ripest Pinot Noir possible in the cold Champagne region. While the Pinot is macerating, they infuse Chardonnay from the coolest sites in the Grand Cru of Chouilly both to slow down the set of the pigment and add freshness and acidity to the wine. The 2012 vintage was a great one in Champagne, marked by low yields and warm harvest conditions, and this is a great example of the concentration and texture that this great year is capable of. The color is only a pale copper strewn pink, but the finish has great black cherry Pinot power. The top class chalk of the Chardonnay make this a long finishing, lengthy treat that should not be missed!
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $64.99 Add To Cart
JS 95 WE 94

Laphroaig 10 Year Old Original Cask Strength Islay Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 03-13-2018
The Original Cask Strength 10 Year Old from Laphroig is the quintessential Islay powerhouse. This thick, oily, rich, super smokey, iodine bomb is exactly what you need on a stormy winter night. I keep mine by my lantern for when the power goes out!
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

Port Askaig 110 Proof Islay Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 03-13-2018
The Port Askaig is our gentlemans Isaly, and is creamy and rounded even though it is high proof and peaty. I love the generosity and openness of this malt as well as much as its smoky peat. This is a great value for money, and I think that you will be impressed with how much Islay you get inside.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

Bruichladdich "Classic Laddie" Scottish Barley Islay Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 03-13-2018
I love Islay Malt, but find that many of them just end up filling up my liquor cabinet, as I am not drawn to drinking them the same way that I am impressed by tasting them. The Classic Laddie Scottish Barley from Bruichladdich is not at like that, and is super drinkable and moreish. This is the perfect malt for having a second dram of, since the fabulously salty complexity does not come with a bunch of excessive fat and heat. This is a very high quality malt, especially for the money.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

Veuve Clicquot Extra Brut Extra Old Champagne
Review Date: 03-13-2018
We had this Champagne with some mushroom pate that Cinnamon made out of hen of the woods and crimi’s from a local grower at the Menlo Park farmers market on toasts made out of the Woodside Bakery’s walnut bread. While the wine was clean, refreshing and bright the whole time, it also magically had vinous depth and complexity that on rarely encounters in current release Champagne. The subtle way that this power and depth presents itself is a testament to the blending mastery of Dominique Demarville, a cellar master at the top of his game. The savory, earthy flavors in the pate brought out the same in the wine, but without the food I might have missed them completely.
Price: $84.99 Add To Cart
JS 93 WS 92

2011 Los Autores "El Brujo" Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 03-07-2018
I love traditional, unabashedly old school Rioja, and this is one of the best examples of the style that I have tasted in many years. As soon as it was in my glass, aromas of wild berries, earth and vanilla wafers were jumping out. The generous Los Autores El Brujo has perfect balance in the mouth, with seamless texture, spot on medium body and a long focussed finish. The tannins of this wine were left behind during the long ageing, leaving us nothing but red fruit, earth, refreshment and pleasure. If you like old fashioned Rioja to pair with food, this is our best offering! I am going to case up on this one for sure.
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2015 Laventura "Lanave" Rioja
Review Date: 03-07-2018
This new breed Rioja opened my eyes to the possibilities of enjoying a completely different style of one of my most loved regions. The first wave of new Rioja was all about expensive new French cooperage, high alcohol and big points from the critics... And this wine could not be any different. Although the Laventura seems to rebel against the big earth and oxidative orange peel flavors of the old school, it also rejects the heat and over polish of those first wave rebels. This is pure, clean, red fruited Rioja, that seems like it could almost be poured as a substitute for Pinot Noir! A must try for any fan of Rioja!
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
RP 90

2016 Adegas Valtea Albariño Rias Baixas
Review Date: 03-07-2018
I love it when my favorite example of an entire category is so inexpensive! The 2016 Valtea is my favorite Albarino that I have had in a long time. Not only does it have the generous, perfumed aromatics of the best Viognier, it is also as racy and lively as the best of Sauvignon Blanc! If you like clean, long finishing white untouched by oak, this is a great thing to try.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2016 Castillo de Vinas Rosado Rioja
Review Date: 03-07-2018
This pale rosé impressed me with its cool strawberry aromas, its great balance of clean, dry drive and generous fruit flavors, but most of all with its length. This is a long finishing, classy rosé from Spain that will easily compete with wines costing $10 more from provence.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2005 Vega Sicilia "Unico" Ribera del Duero 3-pack in OWC
Review Date: 03-07-2018
The 2005 Vega Sicilia is an awe inspiring wine that ranks up with the finest bottles in the world. I was blown away by the kaleidoscopic complexity of this perfectly textured, medium to full bodied red. Most of the time, wines with a reputation as great as this can only disappoint, but this over delivered. This will be at home on the table with the best and most expensive wines that the world has to offer, and drinks fabulously now with the promise of generations of enjoyment to come!
Drink from 2018 to 2018

2005 Vega Sicilia "Unico" Ribera del Duero
Review Date: 03-07-2018
The 2005 Vega Sicilia is an awe inspiring wine that ranks up with the finest bottles in the world. I was blown away by the kaleidoscopic complexity of this perfectly textured, medium to full bodied red. Most of the time, wines with a reputation as great as this can only disappoint, but this over delivered. This will be at home on the table with the best and most expensive wines that the world has to offer, and drinks fabulously now with the promise of generations of enjoyment to come!
Drink from 2018 to 2018

1999 Tour du Haut-Moulin, Haut-Médoc (1.5L)
Review Date: 03-06-2018
This magnum is drinking with exceptional freshness and has excellent complexity for the price. Getting the inside track on Bordeaux like this is one of the biggest perks to working at K&L. This is old school, pure, medium bodied claret with very good length and fresh cassis flavors. We enjoyed this with short ribs, and it had plenty of good cut for the rich dish. I think it would be even better with a grilled ribeye!
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2015 Mas Karolina Côtes du Roussillon Villages
Review Date: 02-21-2018
If you are a fan of the big wines like Amador Zinfandel and other Roussillon's like the Lafage, this is a must try. The Mas Karolina is super rich, powerful and sweet fruited dark red wine. This is a glass of "le soleil" from the south of France!
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart
RP 89 - 91

2014 Bedouet "Expression du Pallet Vieilles Vignes" Muscadet Sèvre et Maine Sur Lie
Review Date: 02-21-2018
When we tasted the Expression Du Pallet from Bedouet, I imagined myself in front of a giant plateau de fruits de mer on the coast of Brittany. This wine has serious white fruit power, with a small hint of honey, but is backed by the kind of minerality and nutty lees quality that I usually only expect from expensive Champagne. The values in Muscadet have long been touted here at K&L, but this has an extra special element. What a bottle!
Top Value!
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2015 Bedouet "Clos des Grands Primos" Muscadet Sèvre et Maine Sur Lie
Review Date: 02-21-2018
The Clos Des Grands Primos is a must for anyone who loves clean, unoaked, racy white wine at an everyday price. I love the vivacious zip and oyster shell complexity of this surprisingly long finishing wine. This makes a great glass to sip on after work, and is perfect for seafood!
Top Value!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2016 Château de la Noblesse Bandol Rosé
Review Date: 02-21-2018
The Noblesse is among the finest rosé wines that we carry, and by far the best value in high end pink in the store. Every time I drink it, I feel like I am living the cote d'azur dream, between cigarette boat rides and roulette tables. It has lovely red fruit that is cool as well as crisp- it reminded me a bit of watermelon. The finish is snappy, refreshing and moreish. Don't miss it!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2014 Benmarco Malbec Uco Valley
Review Date: 02-14-2018
The folks at Benmarco have delivered another brooding, powerhouse Malbec in 2014! This full bodied, dark, potent Malbec has slick tobacco like oak and rich black fruit. If you like powerful Napa Cabernet, but are tired of paying the exorbitant prices, this is a great alternative.

2016 Amalaya Malbec Salta
Review Date: 02-14-2018
It is not everyday that I am lucky enough to taste a real terroir wine from Argentina. It is far rarer for it to come at such a value price. The Amalaya Malbec comes from staggeringly high altitude vineyards, and that location shows through beautifully in the bottle. Not only does it have the full bodied, spicy, dark fruit character that makes Argentinian malbec so popular with our customers, it also has minerality and depth that are almost never found at this price range. This exciting bottle has surprising complexity and lift to balance its rich power. A must try for any Malbec fan!
Top Value!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart
DC 90 WS 90

2014 Catena Appellation Cabernet Franc San Carlos
Review Date: 02-14-2018
The Catena Cabernet Franc from San Carlos, Argentina walks a fine line between the olive character of French Franc and the blue fruit of the new world. It manages to have texture without being heavy, and a little bit of herbal lift without being green. It is a super example of Cabernet Franc, which is easy to drink as it is interesting to taste.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2017 Apaltagua Pinot Noir Reserva San Antonio Valley
Review Date: 02-14-2018
Great values in Pinot Noir are very rare, as this grape variety is famous for being difficult to grow and vinify. The Apaltagua Pinot Noir Reserva is an exception, and serves up round, dark cherry fruit and surprisingly satisfying body at a true bargain price. If you are looking for a good bottle of Pinot to drink on weeknights, this is a must try.
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2017 Viña Maquis "Calcu" Rosé Colchagua Valley
Review Date: 02-14-2018
This lovely rose from the Colchagua Valley impressed and surprised me. This clean, refreshing, slightly grassy wine has a high quality, subtle red fruit character in the middle, but finishes completely dry. Fans of the provencal style will not be going wrong with this great offering from Vina Maquis! I thought that Malbec and Petite Verdot made wine that is too heavy for refreshing rose, and had never thought of Chile as a place for world class pink wine... I was wrong on both counts!
Top Value!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

Michel Arnould "Grand Cuvée" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 01-24-2018
This is one of my very favorite non-vintage Champagnes! Cinnamon and I shipped this to Costanoa, a resort by the beach (better than carrying it on our bicycle!) and enjoyed it alfresco after a day in the saddle. We carried Riedel "O" stemless glasses in our jersey pockets (don't try this at home kids!) because we forgot to ship them... We were glad we did. This wine has so much complexity and subtlety it would have been a shame to drink it out of substandard glassware. The Grand Cuvee is very powerful Pinot-based stuff, with a hint of smoke on the nose, a very supple texture and a bone dry, persistent finish. A great reward after a long ride.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Michel Arnould Verzenay Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 01-24-2018
The value that Patrick Arnould delivers with this top-notch rosé is mind boggling. This is the only rosé Champagne that I have ever had that is exclusively Pinot Noir, but made by blending wines that are vinified white with wines that are vinified red. Patrick is very proud of his Burgundian clones in his best exposed vineyard plot that he uses to make the red wine that gives this Champagne its color and flavor. This rosé has dark cherry authority as well as complex savor from that high quality vineyard. It also has easy refreshment and a dry chalky finish from the rest of his Grand Cru estate vineyard that makes the white Pinot portion. A must try for every rosé fan, and a stunning value.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Michel Arnould "Reserve" Brut Verzenay Champagne
Review Date: 01-24-2018
The wines of Verzenay are some of my very favorite in all of Champagne, and Patrick Arnould of Champagne Michel Arnould makes some of the very best. This wine has the magical hazelnut quality that many (including myself!) often miss for wood treatment in blind tastings. Because this Grand Cru village faces north the wines are always electric and vibrant, even with high percentages of Pinot in the blend. This is one of our finest values in top grower Champagne, and the price makes it unmissable!
Top Value!
Price: $32.99 Add To Cart

Russell's Reserve K&L Single Barrel #998 Kentucky Bourbon (750ml)
Review Date: 01-11-2018
I love this whiskey! The feral rye character of this Bourbon marries perfectly with corn richness and fabulous new American oak vanilla roundness. The Russell's have another winner with this big, 110 proof whiskey. Our stocks of this are limited, so I better buy my bottle of this single barrel stuff now.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

Real McCoy 10 Year Old Limited Edition Virgin Oak Rum (750ml)
Review Date: 01-11-2018
What a great surprise! This fabulous bottle of sipping rum has an subtle, intricate complex nose not only of butterscotch and exotic fruit, but also mellow vanilla. In the mouth it is rich, without being at all sugary. The serious, no additives allowed approach shows through in the laid back complexity and long, long finish. I can't wait to have a glass of this by the fire tonight after dinner!
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

Baron-Fuenté "7" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 01-11-2018
I have been waiting eight long years for the premier of this tete de cuvée Champagne from Baron Fuente, and I am thrilled to finally be able to offer it! This wine has concentration and focus that is up their with the best Champagne that we offer. It is the first time that they have introduced a proportion of barrel fermented Champagne in one of their wines, and just like the vintage offerings from houses like Billecart and Roederer, it only shows in texture- there is no wood flavor at all! This is vibrant, mineral driven Champagne that has the pin point streamers and fine texture that only a long seven years of ageing on the lees will bring. This is one of the great deals in top notch Champagne that we offer!
Top Value!
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

2009 Baron-Fuenté "Grand Millesime" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 01-11-2018
The lovely, old school toastiness of this Grand Millesime grabbed me from the very first sniff! Baron Fuente has got a real winner from the warm 2009 harvest here, with beurre d'isigny cream and savor, but backed up with more than enough snappy refreshment to keep me coming back for more. This is an excellent aperitif, but will also go very well with gougeres or other finger foods.
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2015 Chappellet "Signature" Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 01-11-2018
This rich, flashy, dark Cabernet has all of the toasty oak and dark currant fruit to impress on the very first sip. It also has real Cabernet structure underneath with real power for your next big steak meal. If you like big cab, this is a great choice. Fire up the grill, put on some big ribeyes and enjoy this very good Cabernet!
Drink from 2018 to 2018

Launois "Severine" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 01-05-2018
The Launois Severine is 100% Mesnil Grand Cru that is fermented in barrels. The barrels are made from oak timbered from their property right there in Mesnil. The wood has now been used a number of times, and although the first few batches were very oaky, the current release is super well balanced. This Champagne has the breadth and richness of a full on barrel fermented Champagne, but also the crisp precision of Mesnil Chardonnay. It is a fantastic Champagne, best suited to cuisine. I love it with grilled salmon -- especially done on a cedar plank!
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

2015 Capbern, St-Estèphe (1.5L)
Review Date: 01-04-2018
I never thought that I would be able to say this, but St. Estephe is the home of value for thoroughbred Bordeaux! This concentrated, even chocolaty, exotic claret has power and dark fruit to spare. It also has a surprisingly elegant, long, dry finish and very good complexity. If you are looking for a great bargain in 2015 for the cellar, look no further! This magnum will keep for a very long time, and is ideal for anniversary year or children's birth year purchases!
Drink from 2025 to 2025

2015 Capbern, St-Estèphe
Review Date: 01-04-2018
I never thought that I would be able to say this, but St. Estephe is the home of value for thoroughbred Bordeaux! This concentrated, even chocolaty, exotic claret has power and dark fruit to spare. It also has a surprisingly elegant, long, dry finish and very good complexity. If you are looking for a great bargain in 2015 for the cellar, look no further!
Drink from 2018 to 2018

2015 Saint-Paul, Haut-Medoc
Review Date: 01-04-2018
This super value 2015 comes from just north of St. Estephe. It not only has the ripeness and power that make this vintage a wine critic favorite, but also the focus that will bring real pleasure at the table. These 2015's will be hard not to drink young, they have so much nice fruit and are incredibly open right now. I say buy some for now and some for later!
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JS 90

2014 La Dame de Montrose, St-Estèphe
Review Date: 01-04-2018
Chateau Montrose had a monumental success in 2014, and that shows through beautifully in this great 2nd wine. This has the powerful dark fruit and gamy intensity of the best of St. Estephe, as well as high gloss polish of the fanciest of red wines. It is hard to believe that this detailed, concentrated wine isn't the Grand Vin! It manages quite a bit of breadth and richness without being heavy in any way. Delicious.
Drink from 2018 to 2018

2014 Poujeaux, Moulis
Review Date: 01-04-2018
This is one of the very best values in cellar worthy wine in the entire store. We tasted this along side the 1998 vintage, which has aged effortlessly, and it rammed home the point of just how wonderfully Chateau Poujeaux does with time. This has the perfect combination of cassis fruit and classy Bordeaux earth that excites me. It is a firm, serious wine with plenty of structure for the long haul. If you have children born in or an anniversary in 2014, I would say that this is a must buy. Wine of this sort of class and length are almost never sold at such a reasonable price!
Drink from 2024 to 2024
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
JS 91 VN 90

2011 Egrot (formerly Elisabeth Goutorbe) Brut Grand Cru Champagne
Review Date: 12-30-2017
This Champagne comes from the impossibly steep slopes of Ay grand cru in the heart of the Marne Valley. It is composed of 2/3 Pinot Noir and 1/3 Chardonnay from some of the chalkiest soil in all of Champagne. While this vintage proved challenging for many, some of the best plots in the grand crus did exceptionally well, producing wines of both power and finesse. This is one of those wines, and has plenty of richness for drinking on its own, but also the backbone of minerality to pair with the best salmon or tuna fillets.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$34.99

Charles Ellner "Qualite" Extra Brut Champagne
Review Date: 12-30-2017
Champagne Charles Ellner is one of the largest vineyard holders in Epernay, and wine comes exclusively from these vines. It is composed of 50% Pinot Noir, 30%Chardonnay and 20% Meunier, is aged for almost five years on the lees and is treated to an addition of 1/3 reserve wines. This has great red cherry Pinot Noir fruit framed by baguette toast from the long ageing, as well as surprising snap and length. This is an ideal aperitif, and will go fantastically well with gougers, parmesan crisps and all manner of finger foods.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$34.99

Ariston Aspasie "Carte Blanche" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 12-22-2017
I can't think of a single bottle of Champagne at K&L that has brought me such consistent pleasure as the Ariston Aspasie Carte Blanche. The Ariston family has worked very hard to deliver this great bottle to the Champagne lovers of the world. Most producers age their Champagne for less than three years in the bottle before shipping, but the Carte Blanche gets five years. It is entirely estate grown by one of the most careful growers in the business. On top of all that it is made in one of the most modern facilities of any small producer that I have visited. The pressing is done in a 1/4 million euro Coquard diaganol press and the fermentation is all done in computer regulated temperature controlled tanks. The result is one of the best aperitif bottles that we sell; toasty and full, yet refreshing and crisp, a perfect balance between aged complexity and youthful vigor. And then there is the price--so fair that Cinnamon and I have had the opportunity to impact the world supply with our consumption! Don't miss it.
Top Value!
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart

Pol Roger "White Foil - Extra Cuvée de Réserve" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 11-28-2017
A classic for a reason. The cellars of Pol Roger are the deepest and coldest in Epernay, reaching over 110 feet into the chalk, and here every bottle is still hand riddled. This toasty, well balanced grand marque is composed of about 1/3 each Pinot Noir, Chardonnay and Meunier. It is treated to four years of ageing on the lees and has 25% reserve wines in the blend. It makes a lovely aperitif, and is supremely well balanced. If you haven't had this lately, it is a must try!

2001 Marchesi di Barolo "Sarmassa" Barolo
Review Date: 11-15-2017
If you are looking for ready to drink Barolo- you just found it! The Sarmassa is full of the tar and roses that we love Barolo for, and still has plenty of tannic power and freshness. This will be perfect with rich meaty dishes!
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart
WS 90

2015 Cantina di Gallura "Genesi" Vermentino di Gallura
Review Date: 11-15-2017
This incredible bottle of Vermentino Di Gallura has the kind of effortless class, seamless texture and near infinite length that one only expects from the most famous white Burgundy producers. If you are looking for a flat out great bottle of white wine that is a real discovery, try this Cantina Di Gallura Genesi. It makes a great drink on its own, but I can't wait to try it with crab risotto!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2006 Bollinger Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 11-07-2017
This super rich, all barrel fermented Champagne from Bollinger is usually sold as "La Grande Année" Rosé for $60 more a bottle. Since the team at Bollinger does not feel that this ripe 2006 will last a generation, they decided to sell it as regular vintage- a first for them. Since it was originally made as "La Grande Année" Rosé, this wine it has been aged all the time on the lees on a cork rather than a crown cap. This is a full, toasty, powerful dry style that will thrill fans of this house, at a price that is too good to miss!
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $119.00 Add To Cart
DC 94 JG 92

2010 Louise Brison Brut Champagne
Review Date: 10-17-2017
The vintage wines from Louise Brison are an incredible deal in fine wine. Delphine Brulez is one of the few grower-producers that we work with to have a diploma in oenology, and she works her vines in Noe-les-Mallets organically before fermenting her juice entirely in small oak barrels. The results in 2010 are electric and refreshing, but still round enough to have alone as the aperitif. This blend of half each Chardonnay and Pinot Noir will fool even the most discerning connoisseur for Champagne that costs no less than 50% more. We recently had a bottle of the 1992, and I am here to tell you that if you can keep your hands off of it, it will age very well too! If you like your Champagne clean, refreshing, dry and long, this is one to load up on.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
WE 91

Canard-Duchêne "Authentic" Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 10-05-2017
This charming rose is an excellent value, and I love the creamy texture and beautiful ripe strawberry fruit. The team at Canard Duchene has sourced almost all of the fruit for this rose from the mountain of Reims. It is composed of 45% Pinot Noir, 30% Chardonnay and 25% Meunier. While this rose has great fruit on the nose and on the palate, it finishes nice and dry. At this price, why not try it?
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Canard-Duchêne "Authentic" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 10-05-2017
If you are looking for a richer, toastier style of Champagne for the aperitif, this Authentic from Canard-Duchene is a great choice. It is composed of 43% Pinot Noir, 25% Meunier and 20% Chardonnay and comes almost exclusively from sites owned or contracted on the Montagne de Reims. It is delicious, round brut at its easy going best and it will thrill your guests with its charm.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2008 Launois "Spécial Club" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne (750ml - ships as 1.5L)
Review Date: 10-05-2017
This is one of the most profoundly great young vintage Champagnes that I have ever had, and I bought a case for my own cellar. The 2008 vintage is a historic one, and either the greatest or tied for the honor in this young century. The Champagne that Bernard Launois was able to make from his two oldest Mesnil plots in this great year promises to be equally historic. The only problem is that it tastes far to good now... And I know that it will do nothing but improve. I will put this case at the bottom of a tall corner stack in my cellar! This Champagne has not only the richness of a 2002, but also the laser minerality of the best 2004's. It has it all!
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

Page: 1 2 3 4 5 next >>

More Favorites

Gary Westby is also a fan of the following items. To become a fan of Gary Westby, click here to join Gary Westby's Personal Sommelier Service.
Baron-Fuenté "Galipettes" Brut Champagne ($34.99)