Staff Favorites - Jim Chanteloup

Jim Chanteloup

Reviews

  
2013 Clos du Val Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 11-03-2015
Wow, this is impressive Cabernet Sauvignon from Napa Valley for the money, and is actually refreshing on the palate. The wine is medium-bodied and elegant with aromatics of dark plum, cherry, currant, leather, earth and cedar with hints of toasted oak. On the palate, there is good acidity, supple refined tannins, harmonious balance and fine length.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
JS 92 VN 92

2012 Terra Sancta "Estate" Pinot Noir Bannockburn Central Otago
Review Date: 11-03-2015
Central Otago has grown to be one of the premier regions in New Zealand for Pinot Noir, and this is a great value and introduction to the region. This estate bottling has a bouquet of boysenberry, dark cherry, earth, dried orange peel and a hint of forest floor and thyme. On the palate there is tangy acidity with silky supple tannins and a persistent finish.

Baron-Fuente "Esprit" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 09-21-2015
We just tasted through the line of wines from Baron Fuente, and I must say, they a s good as I can ever remember. The Grand Reserve is a no-brainer for the money as is '06 vintage for $30! But, I really was impressed with the "Esprit" with 7 years on the lees for $35. Made from a blend of equal parts Pinot Noir, Chardonnay and Pinot Meunier, the Esprit offers a light smoky, toasty note with nutty accents on a rich frame with honey, pear and lemon zest. Wonderful acidity and minerals complement on the palate with grace and fine persistence.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WS 92

1989 Rieussec, Sauternes
Review Date: 09-16-2015
Always a fine property. Since 1984 when a majority of the interest was sold to the Domaines Barons de Rothschild, the quality has soared making them one of the top three in the appellation. In the nose, rich, ripe pineapple and waxy honey notes with a hint of coconut leap from the glass. On the palate, the wine is unctuous with good acidity and great depth of flavor and length.

2012 Yalumba "The Signature" Cabernet-Shiraz Barossa Valley South Australia
Review Date: 09-15-2015
I've spoke before about how Australia's Cabernet-Shiraz blend is akin to the great blends from Bordeaux. The fact that Shiraz is blended with Cabernet is NOT their way of cheating you! Merlot doesn't work so well in the Barossa Valley. This is a wine that has been made for over 5 count them 5 decades at Yalumba, the oldest family run winery in Australia. Besides being one of their top wines, 'The Signature" has always been a chance to recognize the importance that someone in the organization has brought to the table. This year, they have chosen Robert Hill Smith, 5th generation of the family and the man at the helm of guiding this iconic Aussie winery. So, what kind of vintage would YOU pick to honor your boss? Well, if you're smart and enjoy your job, a stunning one, which is what we have here. The wine is simply gorgeous with a lifted bouquet of cassis, blueberry, blackberry, dark cherry, currant, bittersweet chocolate, roasted coffee, earth, cumin and a clove/pepper spice. The palate delivers seamless balance with a supple texture that is all the while supported by a fine cloak of tannins that ensure a very long life which I wish for RHS! I was lucky enough to taste the '66 a few years ago with him that was still stunning, and I put this in that league if not one of its own. This is a legendary "Signature".

2013 Grey's Peak (Greystone) Pinot Noir Waipara
Review Date: 09-08-2015
This is the second vintage we've carried of this wildly successful direct import, which I believe offers greater balance and detail than the very fine 2012. The bouquet is lifted and fresh with dark plum, cherry, dried orange peel, spice, forest floor and earth. The palate has a silky supple texture supported by a tangy, juicy acidity giving the wine excellent drive through the mid-palate to a long finish. This is a delicious Pinot with complexity and yet immediate appeal.

2012 John Duval "Plexus" SGM Barossa Valley South Australia
Review Date: 07-14-2015
I t wouldn't be stretching it to say John Duval is a part of Australian winemaking history given he is one of 4 people thus far to have made one of Australia's iconic wines, Penfolds Grange. Beyond his years of winemaking, there is his knowledge of the Barossa Valley and it's sub-regions that bring an understanding of the character each varietal will offer given its specific location that is mind boggling. This S-G-M brings aromas of raspberry, kirsch, boysenberry, blackberry, a hint of wintermint and a touch of sandlewood. On the palate the wine shows seamless balance with integrated oak and fine tannins framing the core of fruit with an accent of Asian spice and fine length.

2012 Oakridge Estate "Whitsend Vineyard" Cabernet Sauvignon Yarra Valley
Review Date: 06-04-2015
The cool 2012 vintage produced this Cabernet that weighs in at 13.0 ABV...remember those? The nose has notes of cedar, pencil lead, red currant, tart cherry, earth, spice and a light floral highlight. On the palate there is juicy acidity with fine tannins framing the core of this elegant wine. This is not your sipping Napa Valley Cabernet, but begs for food to bring out its best.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JH 96

Bruno Michel "Blanche" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 08-07-2014
The Bruno Michel wines always deliver, but the "Blanche" with 6 years on the lees will surely please. The bouquet shows toasty baked apple with hints of nutmeg spice and ginger. On the palate the wine has a rich and creamy mid-palate with refreshing acidity and a persistent, long finish. Great bubbles, with that kind of lees age, for $35? Yeah, buddy!
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart