Staff Favorites - Jim Barr

Jim Barr

Reviews

  
2007 Château de Montfaucon "Baron Louis" Côtes du Rhône
Review Date: 07-19-2017
We have been directly importing the outstanding Rhone Valley wines of Chateau de Montfaucon since 1995 and, although many of you know the story of this property, I think that it is still appropriate to repeat. This 85+ acre estate lies across the Rhone River from the village of Chateauneuf-du-Pape and its red and white wine grape make-up are similar to what goes into making CDPs. The problem, however, is that the river is the appellation line and Montfaucon, therefore, cannot be called CDP, and is relegated to a general Cotes du Rhone classification. My attitude is that if it smells and tastes like CdP, than treat it like CdP. With that out of the way, I can tell you that the 2007 Cotes du Rhones from Montfaucon are the best that I have tasted from this estate since we have been importing them. Produced from the older sections of their vineyard (60- to 90-year-old vines), the Cuveé Baron Louis(40% Grenache, 15% Syrah, 15% Cinsault and 10% each Carignan, Mourvedre and Counoise) would be a great and classic CdP if wasn't for that #*&^ river. With its deep, richly appearing hue, the opulent, perfumed nose of blackberry, purple plum, white pepper spiciness, hints of smoked meats and forest floor explodes from the glass. It is concentrated and lush, with broad fruit in the mouth that is complex yet soft and round, with silky tannins, all leading to a long, warm, ongoing finish. I plan to lay this Gem down for a few years to give it additional development, but it is an amazingly wonderful wine now, particularly with decanting and airing {10/13/2009}...A K&L WINE MERCHANTS' DIRECT IMPORT... ***** 14.0% ABV ***** {RETASTED 07/13/2017: Has become absolutely incredibly delicious; comparable to any $150.00 or much more older wine available in our stores}
Drink from 2009 to 2009
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Bart Marsannay Rouge
Review Date: 07-19-2017
See my tasting notes for the 2015 Domaine Bart Bourgogne Rouge. ***** 13.0% ABV *****
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Bart Bourgogne Rouge
Review Date: 07-19-2017
I am totally enthralled with what is coming from the 2015 vintage from the Burgundian producers {much as I was with the 1999s} in terms of the incredible high quality. And this enthusiasm extends all the way down to their declassified productions of 'Bourgogne Rouge,' as with this beauty from Domaine Bart. I had this Gem alongside their villages production of Marsannay Rouge, and, if I had them blindly, I do not believe that I would be able to tell the difference, which hints at the fact that it is probably declassified Marsannay and more than likely the lower part of the hillside vineyard{s}. Deeply colored, the nose is loaded with distinctive aromas of dried rose petals, ripe raspberries and cherries, and cassis with background notes of forest floor and underbrush. Rich, broad, viscous, yet well-balanced and nicely integrated completely across the fleshy, complex, elegant palate impression, this gorgeous, deeply flavored Gem drinks well right now, but, as with most exceptionally well made wines, it will age and improve for another five to ten years. The finish is long, lingering, and creamy. Rusty has asked me to bring home several cases of this Gem for our enjoyment over the next five-plus years. AN EXCEPTIONAL VALUE!!!" {JIM BARR, K&L WINE MERCHANTS' WINE STAFF} .....A K&L WINE MERCHANTS' DIRECT IMPORT..... ***** 12.5% ABV *****
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2015 Kalinda Rutherford Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 07-18-2017
Produced by one of the oldest established Cabernet estates {and we cannot tell you who it is} in Napa Valley, which had its first crush in 1882, this absolutely astounding wine is deeply colored and offers opulent, powerful aromas of cassis, currants, blackberries, and violets, all of which is underscored by cedary, creamy, and dusty (Rutherford dust, of course!} qualities. This carries over fabulously to a broad, viscous, concentrated, yet integrated palate impression that offers excellent complexity, depth, balance, and richness. The finish is long, warm, and elegant. Although you can drink this Gem, with decanting and an hour or so of airing, currently, it will age easily another ten-plus years, which Rusty and I plan to do. Rusty wants me to bring home several cases of this amazing Gem and thinks that you need to give some serious consideration in doing the same. A GREAT VALUE! .....A K&L WINE MERCHANTS' EXCLUSIVE..... ***** 14.5% ABV *****
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart

2016 Domaine Cherrier Père & Fils Sancerre
Review Date: 07-13-2017
Another exceptional vintage for this excellent Loire Valley estate has produced a Sauvignon Blanc of brilliant character and an elegant presentation. Aromas of honey-dew melon, lime zest, and fig-like qualities leads to a rich, yet snappish, clean, and crisp set of flavors across the palate, with undertones of a chalky, slate-like mineral nature. The finish is refreshing and mouthwatering. The Bean has demanded that I bring home at least several cases of this wonderful Gem to to serve with our shellfish dinners or to simply have with an aperitif plate in the afternoon. A MOUTHWATERING VALUE!. …A K&L WINE MERCHANTS’ DIRECT IMPORT… ***** 12.5% ABV *****
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2014 Château de Montfaucon Côtes du Rhône
Review Date: 07-12-2017
I think of all the years that we have been directly importing the wines from this very old estate, their regular Côtes-du-Rhônes have been of consistent superb high quality and drinking extremely well in the near-term. This 2014 not only continues that evolution, but I feel may be the best that they have produced to date. Rich in appearance with a medium-deep ruby robe, the flashy, bright nose offers aromas of blackberry, violets, white pepper, anise, and mocha, with background notes of forest floor and filings. In its broad, juicy palate presentation you will be treated to a Gem that is beautifully balanced, lush, and silky, yet provides exceptional structure and depth of flavor that leads to a long, almost creamy finish. Although this Gem drinks wonderfully now, it will age and “improve” for another four to eight years. Rusty and I love this Gem, regardless of its price point, and plan to make it one of our house reds for however long it is available. A LUSH AND SILKY VALUE! …..A K&L WINE MERCHANTS’ DIRECT IMPORT….. ***** 14.0% ABV *****
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

2015 Rickshaw California Pinot Noir
Review Date: 06-30-2017
Produced mostly from vineyards from the cooler North Coast and Central Coast appellations {Sonoma Coast, Anderson Valley, Monterey, and Santa Barbara} from a vintage that most of you know I feel as being a sensational vintage for Pinot Noir, this second label production from Banshee Vineyards is perhaps the best they have created since we have started from the very beginning carrying this wine several years ago. Native yeast fermented and aged ten months in both stainless steel {45%} and French oak {55% of which 10% was new}, and very reflective of this superior, low crop yield vintage, this lovely Pinot shows an excellent rich appearance and deep robe of medium to medium-deep ruby color, with a distinctive perfume of a violet floral to black cherry to plummy quality, with mild undertones of a forest floor to wet river stone quality. Following through well into its soft, silky, round palate impressions, this gorgeous, near-term drinker has a defined, weighty, yet juicy mid-range, excellent integration and a long, nicely definitive finish. Again, this is a near-term production, with Rusty wanting me to bring home several cases of this Gem for our enjoyment over the next couple of years. A NICELY DRINKING VALUE! ***** 13.9% ABV *****
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2015 D'Archambeau, Graves
Review Date: 06-24-2017
Great vintages, as with 2015, in Bordeaux will give you a plethora of excellent quality wines, both red and white, across the gamut that you can buy to age {and spend a great deal of money for in some cases} and to also drink near-term, which tend to be from the chateaux from the lesser growths and cru bourgeouis from all the various regions of this infamous area. This production surprised the hell out of me with its superb quality, particularly when you view the price point. It definitely reminds me of a drinkable Chateau Carbonnieux from that area, but without the need for a lot of aging. Medium-deep to deep ruby in color, the nose is pronounced and focused offering lush, yet classic Graves-like minerality of filings and gravelly notes with an opulent presentation of cassis, blackberry to blueberry fruit. In the mouth, it is round, rich, integrated, well-structured, and full of character, all of which leads to a soft, elegant finish. An amazing wine for the money and probably the best that this chateau has ever made. Rusty has asked me to bring home several cases of this Gem for our near-term consumption for the next three to five years. A DELICIOUS, WELL PRICED VALUE! …..A K&L WINE MERCHANTS’ DIRECT IMPORT….. ***** 13.5% ABV *****
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
RP 88 - 90

2015 Domaine Jean-Michel Giboulot Pommard "En Brescul"
Review Date: 06-23-2017
Most of you who know me well, are aware that I have not seriously collected Burgundy for my wine cellar since the 1999 vintage was released. And not because I am getting to the age where those wines might outlive me or that I am sitting on 200-plus cases in my cellar. I just wasn’t convinced that such vintages as 2005 and 2009 in Burgundy, in general, were as exceptional as the press presented to us. I did buy a few wines from each vintage, but not in the quantity that I did with the 1999s. That is about to change! The 2015 is one of those to-die-for vintages and even the declassified productions are truly outstanding. This production from Giboulot is a great example of what I am asserting. I honestly believe that this is declassified Pommard, probably from the lower hillside of their vineyard sites, and it is a remarkable wine. Rich in appearance and color, the opulent nose is loaded with classic rose petal, plumy, blackberry fruit tones with a lovely creamy to forest floor background. This all carries over exceptionally well to a broad, rich, viscous, silky, round palate impression that leads to a long, warm finish. I am going to both age some of this Gem for five to ten years and drink it near-term, and Rusty has ordered me to bring home several cases of this gorgeous puppy. By the way, I also purchased for my cellar a half of a case of the 2015 Domaine Giboulot Pommard, “En Brescul” which is truly great wine, to which I plan to age for well over ten years. BOTH ARE EXCEPTIONAL VALUES!!! …..A K&L WINE MERCHANTS’ DIRECT IMPORT….. ***** 12.5% ABV *****
Drink from 2025 to 2025
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2013 Vidal-Fleury Côtes-du-Rhône
Review Date: 06-23-2017
We have carried the Rhone Valley productions from Vidal-Fleury for well over ten years, with the bulk of the production selections being the Côtes-du-Rhône Rouge, which have been consistently wonderful near-term drinkers. And, just as I was beginning to wonder when this Northern Rhône Valley house was ever going to release their 2013, it arrived here in June {2017}. They must have felt that the 2013, since it is a much more reserved type of vintage, needed some extra bottle time development to show itself in a much better fashion. And it dose! Medium-deep ruby in color, this Grenache/Syrah base wine offers a lovely, distinctive bouquet of white pepper, anise, and violet-like qualities with undertones of truffles and forest floor to underbrush notes. Lush, broad, round, well-structured, yet balanced palate impressions lead to a warm, fleshy finish that lingers well. Rusty thinks that this Gem is a perfect wine to go with our occasional cassoulet and that I need to bring home several cases of it for our near term consumption for the next three to six years. A REALLY NICE VALUE! ***** 14.0% ABV *****
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
DC 95

2014 Jacques Bavard Bourgogne Blanc
Review Date: 06-22-2017
If you have never been to Burgundy in France, it is a must trip for any serious wine consumer/collector. The vineyards are so closely planted and the “Clos” are so near each other with so many different, undefined growers/owners, you will ask yourself how do the Burgundians decide what gets declassified to a Bourgogne Rouge or Blanc, and what gets just a villages description. Single vineyard designations are simple. You will be amazed, for instance, that the difference between DRC’s La Tache and the Romanee Conti vineyard is a ten foot wide gravel roadway and two stone walls on each side. The vineyard that produces this exceptional Bourgogne Blanc is in that kind of position – it is a roadway that just separates it below one of the great vineyards of Puligny-Montrachet. Distinctive aromas of wet river stone minerality to green apple to hints of honeydew melon and lime-zest fruit abound in this Gem. All of this carries over prominently to a well-structured and well-defined Chardonnay that is clean, crisp, and bright both on entry and through its exceptional mid-range set of flavors and leads to a mouthwatering, delicious finish. The Bean has told me to bring home cases of this Gem for our consumption over the next five to ten years. GREAT VALUE! >>>A K&L WINE MERCHANTS’ DIRECT IMPORT<<< ***** 13.0% ABV *****
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2015 Cave de Rasteau "Dame Victoria" Rasteau
Review Date: 06-21-2017
We have been importing the productions from this growers’ co-operative from the village area of Rasteau in the Southern Rhone Valley for nearly twenty years, now, and the quality consistency has just been outstanding year after year. And when take into account a great vintage in that area as the 2015 is, the quality of wine suddenly becomes stunning even when you consider the price point. Traditionally produced from Grenache {70%}, Syrah {20%}, and Mourvedre {10%}, this medium-deep ruby in color wine offers lush, distinctive aromas of white pepper, anise, blueberry fruit with creamy to truffle-like background notes in the nose that carries into a rich, round, nicely balanced palate impression. Good fullness and weight in the midrange, with excellent structure and silkiness that leads into its long, warm finish, this Gem is one to consume in the near-term which Rusty and I plan to do for the next three to six years – maybe longer. I have been ordered to bring home cases of this Gem and he thinks that you should think in the same terms. A DELICIOUS VALUE! …..A K&L WINE MERCHANTS’ DIRECT IMPORT….. ***** 14.5% ABV *****
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2014 Pencarrow Pinot Noir (Palliser) Martinborough
Review Date: 06-20-2017
We are constantly searching for our customers for Pinots for under $20.00 that taste “good,” and when one that is simply exceptional as this from Palliser Estate comes along and only cost $14.99, all of us have to do a double-take at the retail price and look in astonishment and ask the question, “Did they know what a great Gem of a Pinot Noir that they just produced and released?” Medium-deep ruby in color, the nose suggests villages Burgundy {Pommard or Vosne-Romanee} with opulent, bright smells of rose petals, red fruits, and clove-like herbaceousness that is underscored with a forest floor to wet stone-like minerality and hints of toasty oak. It is broad, rich, lush, reductive, viscous, and deeply flavored in the mouth with excellent elegance and a long, silky finish. This Gem shows such incredible components that I had to double-recheck to see that it was actually from New Zealand and not from Burgundy. I actually toyed, but didn’t, with accusing Ryan Woodhouse, our New Zealand wine buyer, of substituting an actual Bourgogne Rouge into the sample bottle we were tasting. Rusty has demanded that I bring home cases of this Gem for our consumption over the next five to ten years. A MIND-BOGGLING VALUE!!! …..A K&L WINE MERCHANTS’ DIRECT IMPORT….. ***** 14.0% ABV *****
Drink from 2017 to 2017

2015 Hahn "SLH" Santa Lucia Highlands Pinot Noir
Review Date: 06-14-2017
The 2015 Pinot Noirs from our best coastal growing areas continue to astound me with their exceptional richness and presentation, and the 2015 Hahn SLH is a great example of the super high quality of this vintage. Rich in appearance, the color is deep ruby with lovely reddish hue, while in its opulent bouquet you will be treated to a Pinot of lush, ripe smells of blueberry, strawberry, and violets, with hints a creamy, wet river stone, mild toasty characteristics. All of this carries over nicely to a broad, viscous, elegant mouthfeel that leads to a long silky finish. We need cases of this Gem, according Rusty, to which I totally agreed… so be it! A WONDERFUL VALUE!!! ***** 14.5% ABV *****
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: Hidden View Price
WS 90

2015 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Pinot Noir Marlborough
Review Date: 06-14-2017
Previous vintages of TWR Pinots that we have brought in have been excellent productions that show some real classic Pinot characteristics bordering on a cross between a really nice Pommard from Burgundy and some “new-world” qualities without going over the top. But, this 2015 production has kicked up those wonderful qualities of their previous productions threefold to a level that is absolutely superb. Medium-deep ruby in color, the opulent nose is loaded with lush floral fruit notes {rose petals to violets}, black cherry to ripe strawberry to blueberry tones, that is reinforced by creamy to wet river stone mineral qualities. In its complex, silky smooth, rich palate, this exceptional Gem is balanced, elegant, fleshy, and well-structured, has a viscous mid-range, all of which leads to a long, succulent, juicy finish that seems to go on and on, and it is only 13.0% ABV {???}. This is great New Zealand Pinot, and Rusty has ordered me to bring home cases of this exceptional Gem for our consumption over the next seven to ten years. A GREAT VALUE!!!” …..A K&L WINE MERCHANTS’ DIRECT IMPORT ***** 13.0% ABV *****
Drink from 2017 to 2017

2015 Banshee Sonoma County Pinot Noir
Review Date: 06-07-2017
We have a string of great vintages taking place this decade, starting with 2012 harvest and up to 2016 that I honestly believe has been unmatched in the history of California winemaking. The closest decade that gave us close to the strength of these five vintages was the mid-1990s (1994 to 1997) with some real exceptional wines being produced. Again, starting with 2012 and thus far ending with 2016, the wines that are coming from the one vintage that I have anxiously been waiting for is 2015, which I consider is the best of those five years and, in particular, the Pinot Noirs from the cooler coastal appellations (Russian River Valley, Sonoma Coast, Anderson Valley, and Santa Lucia Mountains). The Banshee Pinots have always been outstanding productions and at very reasonable prices, but this 2015 is breathtaking and an absolute steal at the price we are offering it for. Deeply colored, although it is only 13.6% alcohol, the nose gushes forth opulent aromas of dried rose petals, strawberry, black cherry, and plum-like characteristics with undertones of truffles, structured by forest floor to stone-like slate minerality. All of this carries over to a broad, viscous, concentrated, fleshy mouthfeel that is amazingly deep and complex with finely etched tannins, leading to a silky, round, and elegant finish that refuses to go away. Although this Gem drinks incredibly well now, especially with decanting and airing, Rusty and I plan to put several cases of this great Pinot down for another eight to fifteen years or longer; it will only get better, believe it or not. A GREAT VALUE!!! ***** 13.6% ABV *****
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart
VN 90

2014 Bodegas Puelles Segundo Año Rioja
Review Date: 05-31-2017
An early release from one of our favorite Rioja producers, Bodegas Puelles, this delicious Gem is deeply colored, with a pure fruit bouquet that offers white pepper to black cherry to black olive scents with just a hint of slate-like minerality and cedar that accentuates its upfront tones. Broad, lush, deeply flavored, concentrated, and rich across the mouth, this Gem is still elegant and balanced to the finish, with a lovely complexity and focused presentation. Rusty has demanded that I bring home cases of this Gem for our enjoyment for the next five to ten years. AN AMAZING VALUE!!! >>>A K&L WINE MERCHANTS’ DIRECT IMPORT<<< ***** 13.0% ABV *****
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart

2015 Blason Pinot Grigio Isonzo
Review Date: 05-31-2017
Greg St.Clair’s review of this lovely Gem on our web-site is right on target! This is not your typically watery, simple Pinot Grigio. This is a for real white wine with fleshiness and depth of character. We have been importing the Blason wines for well over ten years now, ever since Greg discovered them way back when, and each year their wines seem to knock up the quality by a notch or two. This gorgeous Pinot Grigio is perhaps the best that has come from them thus far; of course, 2015 is a great vintage in Europe, and this wine totally reflects that fact. Rich and lush, the nose shows high perfumed amounts of jasmine and cream, with hints of pear and anise, while in the mouth it is deep in flavor, yet balanced and lush across a clean, crisp, and mouthwatering mid-range and finish. The Bean wants me to bring home several cases of this Gem; she wants it with her seared ahi tuna dinners. A SUPERB WHITE WINE VALUE! >>>A K&L WINE MERCHANTS’ DIRECT IMPORT<<< ***** 12.5% ABV *****
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2009 Saint-Paul, Haut-Medoc
Review Date: 05-31-2017
I agree with Clyde’s review on this pretty, easy drinking Gem from this great vintage; it is a “great value,” and falls in line with why we should not associate price with quality level. Medium to medium-deep ruby in color, the nose shows a nice blueberry to blackberry note with just a faint hint of toasty oak. In the mouth, this lovely Haut-Médoc is a lot more serious, with good concentration and depth of flavor, really finely etched tannins, and excellent balance. The finish seems to last beyond two minutes and its roundness suggest near-term consumption. Rusty wants this Gem to be one of our house dinner reds for the next several years. A REALLY EXCELLENT VALUE! >>>A K&L WINE MERCHANTS’ DIRECT IMPORT<<< ***** 14.0% ABV *****
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Renaud Mâcon-Charnay
Review Date: 05-24-2017
We have directly imported this lovely single vineyard production from the Reanuds for over five years, and this effort is, without a doubt, their best Chardonnay production to date. A superb nose of tropical fruit, white peach, and jasmine-like fruit is enhanced by undertones of wet-river stone to slate-like minerality, all of which carries over to a rich, lush, elegant palate impression that shows excellent structure and broadness of flavor on through its mouthwatering finish. This Gem is a fabulous representation of what wonderful wines can come from this area. Many of my colleagues have called this an excellent "crossover wine for our customers," and I just maintained that it doesn’t matter; it is just a brilliant production of Chardonnay. The Bean has demanded that I bring home several cases of this Gem for our consumption over the next three to five years. A SUPER VALUE” >>>A K&L WINE MERCHANTS’ DIRECT IMPORT<<< ***** 13.0% ABV *****
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Renaud St-Véran
Review Date: 05-23-2017
After all these years in the wine retail trade, I am still captivated by the notion that two neighboring Macon Villages of Burgundy (Pouilly-Fuisse and Saint-Véran) can have vastly different prices for the same grape (Chardonnay), produced in virtually identical styles, and, in most instances, from the same producers. The concept for this vast price variance (Pouilly-Fuisse retailing for fifty percent or more than Saint-Véran) stems from the fact that many Americans way back when thought it much more romantic and classier to say at a restaurant, "I would like to have a bottle of Pouilly-Fuisse with this dinner, waiter," than to ask for a bottle of a much more mundane, rural sounding word as Saint-Véran, thereby creating a much greater demand. What amuses me the most, I believe, is the fact that this "variance" has been able to sustain itself, even with many of us wine "specialist" telling everyone that this pricing is stupid. This gorgeous, estate Saint-Véran from the Renauds is a perfect example of just how brainless that notion of pricing can be. Tons of bright apply, melon-like to lime zest tones with a slate-like mineral undertone abounds in the nose and on the palate of this remarkably rich, well-structured, classic style Chardonnay from that village of Macon and will rival any exceptional Pouilly-Fuisse. The finish is bright, clean, and crisp and invites another glass or two or three. Rizzo has asked me to bring home several cases of this finely crafted Gem for our near-term consumption over the next two to five years. A REALLY, REALLY NICE VALUE!! >>>A K&L WINE MERCHANTS’ DIRECT IMPORT<<< !***** 13.0% ABV *****
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart

2014 Bishop's Peak San Luis Obispo Pinot Noir
Review Date: 05-20-2017
One of my favorite Central Coast producers is Talley Vineyards, and the exceptional quality of the varietals that they produce under their primary label can easily be found also with their second label, Bishop’s Peak. And a perfect example to that assertion can be found in this well-structured, nicely drinking, way-underpriced Pinot, with the grapes coming from vineyards in San Luis Obispo. Medium-deep ruby in color, the nose offers up classic rose petal to strawberry to clove-like fruit aromas which is underscored by slate-like minerality and soft cedary tones. Balanced, lush, almost silky on entry in the mouth, this Gem broadens out over the mid-range and finishes with round, refined tannins in its complex presentation and finish. Rusty asked me how much this Gem cost and then demanded that I bring home cases of this delightful find. A WONDERFUL VALUE!!! ***** 13.7% ABV *****
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
VN 91

2015 Les Freres Perroud "Vieilles Vignes" Brouilly
Review Date: 05-20-2017
It is really a delight to find Cru Beaujolais available on the market like this old vine production. Nearly fifty years ago, the French seriously considered ripping out the Gamay vineyards in Southern Burgundy because wine sales from that area, for many reasons, had virtually come to a halt. Regardless what you feel about the nouveau wines of Beaujolais, that evolution saved the Gamay vineyards of Beaujolais. Many producers have returned, since then, to making Gamay in the fashion that it was created fifty-plus years ago, much like its clonal parent of Pinot Noir is produced in the heart of Burgundy. This villages Cru is a perfect example as to how the wines from Beaujolais use to be made. Medium ruby in color, the aromatics are distinctive and pronounced with upfront strawberry to clove-like notes with an obvious mild cedary oak {yes, some barrel aging took place} background note, The palate is bright, balanced, yet rich, reductive, and subtle, with silky, very fine tannins and a finish that is long and deep. This Gem would give many villages Burgundy a great run for their money, and, according to Rusty, will be one of our house reds for the next couple of years. A K&L Wine Merchants' Direct Import. A WONDERFUL BEAUJOLAIS BUY! ***** 11.0% TO 14.0% ABV *****
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
VN 90

2016 Kalinda Reserve North Coast Sauvignon Blanc
Review Date: 05-20-2017
I am in total agreement with Clyde’s review of this amazing, killer SB. After being here at K&L for over thirty years, I have seen a ton of excellent SBs that were produced for us come and go, and I don’t think any of them would come close to the wonderful aromatics and flavors of this one. In the nose, you will be treated to a distinctive, opulent set of aromas of honeydew melon, lime zest, Chilean Jasmine, and ripe apricots, all of which carries over brilliantly to a bright, perfectly balanced, voluptuous, yet clean and crisp set of refreshing flavors that leads to a mouthwatering, rich, long finish. If you were to serve this Gem to me blindly, my first reaction would have been a great, single vineyard Sancerre from a great vintage and from a great producer. The Bean is absolutely in love with this Gem and has ordered me, in no uncertain terms, to bring home cases of this great SB for our consumption for the next three to five years. A K&L Wine Merchants' exclusive. SUPER VALUE!!!***** 12.9% ABV *****
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$14.99

2014 Trébiac Rouge, Graves
Review Date: 05-20-2017
After thirty years in the retail business, I think one of the aspects that still keeps me motivated is finding excellent quality wine, as with the 2014 Trébiac, in this price range. I have always found it easy, if not boring, to sell the expensive 'stuff' that has received a b'zillion points from the many different wine writers, but finding wine as this and selling it in quantity to our customers continues to excite me. This Gem is medium-deep ruby in color, offers a lovely nose of black cherry to cedary to earthy tones whcih carries over nicely to a soft, round, drinkable Bordeaux with a silky finish. Rusty has demanded that I bring home several cases of this Gem for our near-term consumption. GREAT VALUE!!!
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2015 Kalinda Willamette Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 10-21-2016
There is a difficult decision facing us currently, but until this gorgeous Gem was released, recently, our everyday house red was the Kalinda Anderson Valley Pinot Noir (we're on our fourth case). Medium-deep ruby in color, the nose is opulent with dried rose petals to jasmine-like floral qualities combined nicely with a strawberry to red fruit-driven set of aromatics, and a nice touch of granite-like mineral notes. Lush, balanced, wonderfully integrated, and silky, all the elements in the nose carry over to a complex, deeply flavored Pinot with excellent structure and backbone in the mouth. This is "classic" Willamette Valley Pinot and Rusty has ordered me to also bring home cases of this Gem for our daily consumption. It seems that we are going to have two Pinot Gems in our house for our everyday consumption. By the way, this wonderful Pinot was put together (it's a very limited barrel selection) by our Domestic Wine Buyer, Bryan Brick, at one of the small, but well-known producers in the Willamette Valley. YOU SHOULD NOT MISS THIS GEM! ***** 13.9% ABV *****
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Renaud Mâcon-Solutré
Review Date: 09-15-2016
The 2015 Mâconnais single vineyard productions from Domaine Renaud are absolutely fabulous wines and none of them should be missed. We have been directly importing these Gems for at least the last five years and I have been enamored with every production. One of my favorites is this single vineyard offering of Solutre, which offers distinctive richness and a broad set of flavors much more associated with such productions as Chassagne-Montrachet and Meursault. Lush ripe white peach to nectarine aromas with a slate-like, chalky mineral undertone are abundant in the nose, and carries across extremely well in the mouth to a deeply flavored, profound set of flavor characteristics, with excellent structure, and superb components presentation to it mouthwatering, long finish. The Bean has demanded that I bring home cases of this wonderful Gem and feels that you need to do the same. AN AMAZING VALUE! >>>A K&L WINE MERCHANTS' DIRECT IMPORT<<< ***** 13.0% ABV *****
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Tour Boisée Minervois Rouge
Review Date: 09-15-2016
This is the first time that we have directly imported this estate’s wine, and I must say, what took our buyer, Keith Mabry, so long in discovering this absolutely fabulous drinking Southwestern regional French Minervoios. Produced from Syrah (50%) and Grenache, this lovely Gem offers a distinctive nose of spicy, red fruit-driven components with that classic meaty, game-like undertone to go with its medium deep ruby robe, that carries over well to a balanced, integrated, flashy, bright palate impression. This Gem is meant for near-term enjoyment and would be a perfect match for such dishes as cassoulet, or any stew type creation. Rusty loves this Gem for drinking now and has asked me politely, this time, to bring home several cases. Excellent Value! A K&L WINE MERCHANTS’ DIRECT IMPORT.
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Bousquet Cabernet Sauvignon Tupungato Valley
Review Date: 08-12-2016
I am totally astonished at some of the wines that our Spanish/Portuguese/South American wine buyer, Joe Manekin, is finding from these locations at some astonishingly great quality levels, particularly at some astonishingly great low prices. This Gem is medium-deep ruby in color that leads to an opulent, distinctive nose of black cherry to a spicy clove-like quality. This fruit-driven quality of the same characteristics carries over nicely to a Cabernet of balance, brightness, and elegance with excellent acid structure and a silky, energetic finish. This is an astonishing Cabernet at this price point and Rusty has demanded that I bring home at least two cases of this Gem for our near-term enjoyment. AN ASTONISHINGLY GREAT VALUE!!! ***** 14.0% ABV *****
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart
W&S 91

2015 Kalinda "Reserve" Sonoma County Chardonnay
Review Date: 08-12-2016
After several decades of assisting, evaluating, and helping to select many of our private label varietals, I am still, to a certain extinct anymore, fascinated by from what wineries and where some of these great wines are coming, many of which are highly allocated to you and expensive wines under the winery’s label. The juice from this exceptional Chardonnay Gem came from vineyards mostly out of the Sonoma Coast appellation, but was produced for us from a Pritchard Hill winery that was established in 1966. This is stunning Chardonnay, maybe one of the best that we have had under the Kalinda label, with well-defined cinnamon apple to white peach to nectarine aromas with just a hint of supporting vanilla, creamy oak notes, all of which carries over to this viscous, amazingly structured, focused Chardonnay Gem with a note of slate-like mineral undertone, and a mouthwatering finish. A great Chardonnay Gem from an established great Chardonnay producer for us that The Bean has ordered for me to bring home cases of, for our regular enjoyment for the next two to four years. Great Value! DON'T MISS IT!!! ***** 14.5% ABV *****
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart

2014 Von Strasser "Rudy" Sta. Rita Hills Pinot Noir
Review Date: 06-29-2016
I thought the 2013 Pinot was a wonderful, near-term great drinker, but this 2014 absolutely steals the show. Rich in appearance and color, this highly refined, well-structured Pinot shows incredible aromas of strawberry, dried-rose-like petals in a Burgundian sense to forest floor qualities on the nose, that carry over exceptionally well to a long, complex, rich, viscous, deeply flavored palate impression. A broad mid-range, this is an outstanding Pinot Gem at a ridiculously low price that is obviously meant for near-term consumption, although I thoroughly believe that it will age nicely and improve well beyond that [five to ten years+++]. Rusty wants at least two cases of this Gem in our wine room. GREAT VALUE; DON’T MISS THIS WONDERFUL PINOT! ***** 14.2% ABV *****
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Renaud Mâcon-Villages
Review Date: 05-10-2016
The most current releases [2015] of the Macons from one of the finest, yet smaller producers of Chardonnay in that appellation have directly arrived, and their productions may be the best that we have imported to date. Distinctive aromas of white peach to Arkansas Black apple fruit, with a touch of slate to wet river stone minerality, all of which carries over to a lush, viscous mouthfeel. This is what we at K&L refer to as a great crossover Chardonnay for those of you who are hung-up on these creamy, rich domestic Chardonnays. It offers the best of both worlds and is thoroughly enjoyable on both ends. The Bean has asked me to bring home several cases of this lovely Gem. ***** 13.0% ABV *****
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2013 Zorzal "Gran Terroir" Malbec Gualtallary
Review Date: 04-15-2016
Medium deep ruby in color, this distinctively lush-smelling Malbec offers plum to blueberry fruit notes, with a chalky to slate-like mineral undertone. In its broad, viscous palate presentation, this complex, deeply flavored, well-focused and integrated Gem provides a wine of wonderful substance, savory elegance, and purity of character. Long in the finish, this puppy will age easily for another ten-plus years, but drinks great right now with its bright, fleshy, silky fruit on display. Rusty wants at least a case of this Gem for our enjoyment for the next five to ten years. THIS IS A GREAT VALUE AND YOU SHOULD NOT MISS IT! ***** 14.5% ABV *****
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
RP 93

2014 Banshee Sonoma County Pinot Noir
Review Date: 12-31-2015
As many of you know, the 2012, 2013, and 2014 domestic vintages were back-to-back-to-back exceptional vintages (the 2015 vintages is also following into the same vein), and Banshee created some exceptional Sonoma Pinots in the first two vintages. Produced mostly from Sonoma Coast vineyard sources (as were the `12 and `13), the 2014 continues the wonderful qualities of the previous vintages. Medium-deep ruby in color, the nose is loaded with dried rose petal, black cherry, and a mild spicy clove-like fruit notes with hint of slate-like mineral undertones. Carrying over nicely to a well integrated, well-balanced, viscous set of flavors, this superb Gem shows excellent structure and depth, with excellent complexity and a superb long finish. Although thoroughly enjoyable now, this puppy will improve for the next five to eight years of aging. Rusty has demanded that I bring home at least several cases of this Gem and suggest that you do the same. Wonderful wine! Wonderful Value! ***** 13.6% ABV *****
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $22.99 Add To Cart

2005 Bodegas Casa Juan Señor de Lesmos Reserva Especial Rioja
Review Date: 12-30-2015
One of my favorite Rioja producers, Bodegas Senor de Lesmos, has just released and sent over to us via our direct import program, this amazing fleshy 2005 Reserva Especial Rioja. Deep ruby in color, the opulent, distinctive nose shows blackberry, cassis, and currants fruit notes with a chocolate, mocha, and toasty undertone. In the mouth, this young Gem is expansive, ever evolving, and focused with the same characteristics as in the nose to lead to an wonderfully complex, viscous, broad set of flavors with creamy, lush undertones, and a long, complete finish. Rusty has ordered me to bring home several cases of this Gem for our enjoyment over the next five to ten-plus years. An amazing Value! Don’t miss this Gem! 13.5% ABV
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Jean-Louis Denois "Tradition" Extra Brut Reserve
Review Date: 12-22-2015
It is fascinating that once you get outside of the Champagne appellation and into other areas of France that produce "sparkling wines" in a similar method, the price for those wines seems to de-escalate substantially. Of course, there is the question of quality comparisons, which can be a realistic appraisal, but once in a while you will find a sparkler from those other regions that will rival its much more expensive cousins in Champagne and at one-third the price or less. Such is case with this beautifully created sparkler from the Languedoc region of Southwestern France. We have been importing Jean-Louis Denois wines for well over ten years, and have found his productions to be of superb quality in general, and when the price is taken into consideration, ridiculously ‘cheap’ vis-à-vis the outstanding quality level. Produced from equal amounts of estate grown Pinot Noir and Chardonnay, this lovely sparkling wine spent eighteen months on yeast (Cremant style), yet in its rich-smelling aromatics and lush flavors, this Gem behaves as if it has been on yeast for five to six years. Creamy, nutty, toasty, and pronounced both, again, on the nose and in the mouth, this finely beaded, dry, clean, and mouthwatering Gem provides tons of elegant and delicious flavors, which do defy the low price. The Bean has ordered me to bring home cases of this wonderful Gem and strongly recommends that you do the same. An Incredible Value.” ***** 12.0% ABV *****
Drink from 2015 to 2015
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2014 Domaine de Biéville (Louis Moreau) Chablis
Review Date: 11-01-2015
We have imported two delicious Chablis from Louis Moreau, the Moreau regular villages production and this Gem from their Domiane de Bieville estate. Both of them our incredible buys and may be the best deal for great drinking Chablis' for the year. As with the regular Moreau, the Bieville drinks as if it is a Premier Cru at two to three times the price. Aromas of green apples, almonds, and jasmine-like floral notes are distinctive and underscored by that classic chalky, limestone mineral quality. Carrying over nicely across a clean, crisp, mouthwatering palate impression and finish, this Gem has excellent structure and acid backbone, and would be the perfect accompaniment to shell fish, particularly crab or lobster. The Bean has demanded that I bring home several cases of this Gem for our near-term consumption. Don's miss this Great Value! ***** 12.5% ABV *****
Drink from 2015 to 2015
Price: $16.99 Add To Waiting List

2007 Bodegas Puelles Rioja Reserva
Review Date: 05-29-2015
What has become some of my two favorite Rioja producers are Bodegas Puelles and the productions from the fabulous house of Bodegas Casa Juan Senor de Lesmos, which are DIs for us. This 2007 traditional style Rioja offers a lush and fresh presentation, with incredible balance and structure, a long and complex finish. This Gem drinks nicely now, but will age another ten-plus years. Rusty wants at least two cases of this Gem in our wine room for future drinking. ***** 14.0% ABV *****
Drink from 2015 to 2015
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
RP 90

Ariston Aspasie "Carte Blanche" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 11-14-2014
It is remarkable to me, and to much of our wine staff, some of the unique, profoundly produced Champagnes from the small producers that Gary Westby, our Champagne Wine Buyer, has discovered over the last decade. Virtually all of these producers, including the Aristons, are making sparkling wine strictly from estate fruit from Grand Cru recognized vineyard sites, and in small lots. As with any small producer, these wines are “hands-on” creations that are given extensive individual attention and long term aging before being disgorged. The Ariston “Carte Blanche’s” exquisite, superb quality is at a mind boggling low price vis-à-vis its style and complexity. Rich and authoritative both on its nutty, doughy yeasty nose and in the mouth, the very fine mousse leads to an amazingly rich, full style brut, with a long, intense finish. Some of you will probably not enjoy this Gem, due to the fact that you have gotten use to flavorless, bulk productions from the international, well-known, simply made name “brands,” but for those of you that seek complexity and profoundness in your Champagne, you will not find one even close in quality to this Gem at this price. The Guys (Rusty, Eby, The Beaner, and Rizzo) have forcefully made this our house sparkling wine forever. Don't be afraid to age this wonderful Champagne; it will only keep getting better. ABV 12%
Drink from 2014 to 2014
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart

2013 Can Mayol Loxarel "999" Brut Nature Rosat Penedes
Review Date: 07-26-2014
This is an absolutely wonderful, delicious Cava Brut Rose with distinctive red fruit characteristics of strawberry and red cherry, not only in the mouth, but in its high-profile aromatics. Dry, clean, and crisp across the palate, this Gem finishes with a mouthwatering set of flavors. The Bean has informed me that we need cases of this brilliantly produced Gem before the summer ends. It will be our house sparkler for however long it is around. You should not miss this beauty.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

Veuve Clicquot Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 10-17-2013
12.0% ABV

2009 Peyrabon, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 09-20-2013
Deeply colored, this ripe, rich, plumy wine shows soft, integrated tannins and near term drinkability. 14.0% ABV
Drink from 2013 to 2013
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2005 Verdignan, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 08-21-2013
Medium deep ruby in color, this wonderful Cru Bourgeois from a truly great vintage offers tons of complex flavors and opulent aromatics. Cassis, currants, and antiqueish ceder-like tones abound in the nose and across its viscous palate impression, with violets and truffles to forest floor notes, integrated tannins, excellent acid structure, and a finish that refuses to give up. Rusty has informed me that this Gem will be one of our house reds for the next three to five years. Great value for a wine with some age. 13% ABV.
Drink from 2013 to 2013
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
WS 90

Launois "Cuvée Reserve" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 05-14-2013
Produced from Chardonnay [obviously, since it is “Blanc de Blancs”], this amazing Gem throws tons of yeasty, nutty, creamy fruit at you both in the nose and on the palate, with brilliant complexity, and a lush, broad, and rich finish. The Bean has ordered me to bring at least one case of this home for our consumption in the next one to three-plus years. I will probably bring home more than that. 12.0% ABV
Drink from 2013 to 2013
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2005 Bodegas Casa Juan Señor de Lesmos Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 12-26-2012
From my favorite Rioja producer, this stunning, complex, high-profiled “Reserva” offers all the elements that I look for in a great wine: an opulent bouquet, abundant structure and depth, exceptional mid-range, focus, a broad and powerful fruit presentation, and a finish that is satisfyingly long and warm. Medium deep ruby in color, the nose is loaded with an anise spiciness in concert with currant and cassis-like fruit characteristics, with undercurrents of game and mild toasty notes. All of these remarkable features carry over to its extraordinary set of flavors and overall presentation. This Gem will age easily for another ten to fifteen years, but you will find it difficult to keep your hands off of it for the near term once you taste it. Rusty has anointed this wonderful Gem as one of our house reds for however long it is around and has ordered me to buy cases of it for our cellar. 13.5% ABV
Drink from 2013 to 2013
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JS 92

2010 Clarke Rothschild, Listrac
Review Date: 12-04-2012
This may be the best production coming from this property, ever. Deep ruby in color, the nose explodes with currants, mocha, roasted coffee bean, and chocolate (I had to view the label again to make sure it wasn’t from Napa Valley). On the palate, this Gem is broad, lush, viscous, well-integrated, and loaded with depth of character. Wonderfully complex, even at its youthful age, this puppy represents some of the best coming from this wonderfully soft , near-term vintage. Rusty has informed me that this Gem will be one of our house reds for the next three to five years. 14.0% ABV
Drink from 2013 to 2013

2006 Cantemerle, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 02-17-2012
This is a great drinking Haut Medoc Gem and shouldn’t be missed, and will be one of our house reds for the month, according to Rusty. 13.0% ABV (Jim Barr)
Drink from 2012 to 2012
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart
RP 92