Staff Favorites - Jim Barr

Jim Barr

Reviews

  
2015 Kalinda Willamette Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 10-21-2016
There is a difficult decision facing us currently, but until this gorgeous Gem was released, recently, our everyday house red was the Kalinda Anderson Valley Pinot Noir (we're on our fourth case). Medium-deep ruby in color, the nose is opulent with dried rose petals to jasmine-like floral qualities combined nicely with a strawberry to red fruit-driven set of aromatics, and a nice touch of granite-like mineral notes. Lush, balanced, wonderfully integrated, and silky, all the elements in the nose carry over to a complex, deeply flavored Pinot with excellent structure and backbone in the mouth. This is "classic" Willamette Valley Pinot and Rusty has ordered me to also bring home cases of this Gem for our daily consumption. It seems that we are going to have two Pinot Gems in our house for our everyday consumption. By the way, this wonderful Pinot was put together (it's a very limited barrel selection) by our Domestic Wine Buyer, Bryan Brick, at one of the small, but well-known producers in the Willamette Valley. YOU SHOULD NOT MISS THIS GEM! ***** 13.9% ABV *****
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Tour Boisée Minervois Rouge
Review Date: 09-15-2016
This is the first time that we have directly imported this estate’s wine, and I must say, what took our buyer, Keith Mabry, so long in discovering this absolutely fabulous drinking Southwestern regional French Minervoios. Produced from Syrah (50%) and Grenache, this lovely Gem offers a distinctive nose of spicy, red fruit-driven components with that classic meaty, game-like undertone to go with its medium deep ruby robe, that carries over well to a balanced, integrated, flashy, bright palate impression. This Gem is meant for near-term enjoyment and would be a perfect match for such dishes as cassoulet, or any stew type creation. Rusty loves this Gem for drinking now and has asked me politely, this time, to bring home several cases. Excellent Value! A K&L WINE MERCHANTS’ DIRECT IMPORT.
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2014 Kalinda Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 09-02-2016
Produced for us from the same famous Napa Valley Cabernet-producing winery that is located on the eastern slopes of Howell Mountain and which created our 2013, this deeply colored Gem offers opulent, lush, precise aromas of currants, cassis and blackberries, with just a hint of cedary, toasty oak as a back note. These qualities are well-defined in the mouth both on entry and in its viscous mid-range, with superb depth and broadness of flavor, excellent structure and concentration, and a fleshy, focused long finish. Rusty has demanded that I bring home cases of this exceptional, complex Gem to consume and age over the next 10 to 15 years, although, as with most great Cabernets, with decanting and airing of one to two hours, it is very approachable now. GREAT VALUE! ***** 14.5% ABV *****
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: Hidden View Price

2015 Montsecano Pinot Noir Casablanca Valley
Review Date: 08-26-2016
There have been some great Pinot Noirs coming out of Chile the last few years, to the point that I have maintained to many of you that the Chileans should have planted Pinot many years ago. Their environment, in many areas, is perfect. This small production (375 cases which is equal to only 15 barrels) is deeply colored with opulent, powerful aromas of blueberry, blackberry, to floral fruit characteristics with undertones of forest floor to slate-like minerality, which carries well into a broad, rich, viscous palate impression. Complex, deeply flavored, silky and round, this well-integrated, superbly focused Pinot finishes with a long, lingering, mouthwatering set of flavors. This gorgeous Gem should continue to improve over the next five to ten years. Rusty has demanded that I bring home at least a case of this great Gem and honestly believes that you shouldn’t miss this wine, too. Great Value! ***** 13.5% ABV *****
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
JS 96

2014 Kalinda Dry Creek Valley Chardonnay
Review Date: 08-23-2016
No one will tell any of us, not even to Clyde, who produced this amazingly elegant, nicely balanced Chardonnay for us, but based on its richness, structure, and viscous mouthfeel, I would speculate that it is a producer located at the very deep end of the Dry Creek Valley, the owner who use to create some wonderfully rich Chardonnays for an old, established Napa Valley winery in Saint Helena. Opulent in the nose with an apply, white peach, creamy set of qualities, these characteristics come across the palate with excellent richness and viscosity, yet with classiness and style, and finishes with a long, distinctive, well-structured finish. The Bean has ordered that I bring home several cases of this lovely Gem for our everyday house white for the next two to four years. A WONDERFUL VALUE! DON’T MISS THIS! ***** 14.5% ABV *****
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$9.99

2014 Zorzal "Eggo-Tinto de Tiza" Tupungato
Review Date: 08-16-2016
Produced mostly from Malbec, with a small amount of Cabernet Franc and Sauvignon blended in, this lovely production is deep ruby in color, offers a distinctive, powerful nose of currents and cassis, with hints of mocha and chocolate, all of which is well-defined on its complex, deeply flavored palate impression. Elegant, rich, focused, and an amazingly profound wine, this lush, full, integrated Malbec driven Gem is absolutely delicious and could be drunk now, but will continue to improve over the next five to ten years, easily. Rusty has ordered me to bring several cases of this Gem for our enjoyment over the next ten years, and thinks that you need to do yourselves a favor and do the same. GREAT VAULE! DON’T MISS THIS GEM! ***** 13.9% ABV *****
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
DC 96 RP 94

2008 Martinelli "Hop Camp Vineyard-Gravel Lens" Russian River Valley Syrah
Review Date: 08-16-2016
Medium deep ruby in color with a pinkish youthful edge in appearance, the opulent, developed nose on this moderately aged Syrah is loaded with white pepper, anise, cedary to forest floor-like qualities that carries over wonderfully into a broad, viscous, silky, incredibly complex, evolved set of flavors. With excellent mid-palate presentation and a core of concentrated fruit, this Gem is a truly nicely aged, serious, elegant Syrah with layers of characteristics that will probably age easily another five-plus years, but drinks so great right now, one needs to ask; “Why age it?” I will though. Rusty has demanded that I bring at least several cases of this aged, great Gem home, and I definitely will. Great Value!!! Don’t miss it!!! Ignore the alcohol level, because it does not interfere. ***** 15.2% ABV *****
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: Hidden View Price
RR 92

2015 Domaine Bousquet Cabernet Sauvignon Tupungato Valley
Review Date: 08-12-2016
I am totally astonished at some of the wines that our Spanish/Portuguese/South American wine buyer, Joe Manekin, is finding from these locations at some astonishingly great quality levels, particularly at some astonishingly great low prices. This Gem is medium-deep ruby in color that leads to an opulent, distinctive nose of black cherry to a spicy clove-like quality. This fruit-driven quality of the same characteristics carries over nicely to a Cabernet of balance, brightness, and elegance with excellent acid structure and a silky, energetic finish. This is an astonishing Cabernet at this price point and Rusty has demanded that I bring home at least two cases of this Gem for our near-term enjoyment. AN ASTONISHINGLY GREAT VALUE!!! ***** 14.0% ABV *****
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart
W&S 91

2015 Kalinda "Reserve" Sonoma County Chardonnay
Review Date: 08-12-2016
After several decades of assisting, evaluating, and helping to select many of our private label varietals, I am still, to a certain extinct anymore, fascinated by from what wineries and where some of these great wines are coming, many of which are highly allocated to you and expensive wines under the winery’s label. The juice from this exceptional Chardonnay Gem came from vineyards mostly out of the Sonoma Coast appellation, but was produced for us from a Pritchard Hill winery that was established in 1966. This is stunning Chardonnay, maybe one of the best that we have had under the Kalinda label, with well-defined cinnamon apple to white peach to nectarine aromas with just a hint of supporting vanilla, creamy oak notes, all of which carries over to this viscous, amazingly structured, focused Chardonnay Gem with a note of slate-like mineral undertone, and a mouthwatering finish. A great Chardonnay Gem from an established great Chardonnay producer for us that The Bean has ordered for me to bring home cases of, for our regular enjoyment for the next two to four years. Great Value! DON'T MISS IT!!! ***** 14.5% ABV *****
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart

2014 Von Strasser "Rudy" Sta. Rita Hills Pinot Noir
Review Date: 06-29-2016
I thought the 2013 Pinot was a wonderful, near-term great drinker, but this 2014 absolutely steals the show. Rich in appearance and color, this highly refined, well-structured Pinot shows incredible aromas of strawberry, dried-rose-like petals in a Burgundian sense to forest floor qualities on the nose, that carry over exceptionally well to a long, complex, rich, viscous, deeply flavored palate impression. A broad mid-range, this is an outstanding Pinot Gem at a ridiculously low price that is obviously meant for near-term consumption, although I thoroughly believe that it will age nicely and improve well beyond that [five to ten years+++]. Rusty wants at least two cases of this Gem in our wine room. GREAT VALUE; DON’T MISS THIS WONDERFUL PINOT! ***** 14.2% ABV *****
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2012 Bodegas Puelles Crianza Rioja
Review Date: 06-24-2016
I have a problem; I cannot decide which Rioja producer I like best: Bodegas Muga, Bodegas Juan de Lemos, or Bodegas Puelles. Regardless of this personal problem, this 2012 Crianza from Puelles is a stunning wine that is produced from mostly estate fruit. Medium-deep ruby in color, the nose offers a red berry, fruit-driven to anise spicy set of qualities with a well-defined slate-like to wet-river-stone minerality. This carries over nicely to a balanced, integrated, viscous, elegant palate presentation, with a solid mid-palate, excellent complexity and components, and a long, deep finish. This Gem drinks really well now but will age another five to ten years. Rusty has ordered me to bring home several cases of this classic Rioja Crianza Gem for near-term consumption (or later). GREAT VALUE! ***** 14.0% ABV *****
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2014 La Monacesca Verdicchio di Matelica
Review Date: 05-11-2016
High profiled aromas of pear to white peach, with a fig-like to melon-like undertone intermixed with a wet river stone to slate minerality are distinctive and quite unique, all of which leads to an amazingly rich, lush, viscous palate impression. Complex, superb structure, and full-bodied, this Gem may be the best Verdicchio that I have ever tasted. The Bean has demanded that I bring home several cases of this exceptional Gem. In any case, this is one white wine that you should not miss. GREAT VALUE!" [JIM BARR, K&L WINE MERCHANTS' WINE STAFF] ***** 12.5% ABV *****
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
W&S 90

2014 Alain Corcia Mâcon-Villages
Review Date: 04-29-2016
Some of my favorite Chardonnays at reasonable prices are coming from the Macon region of Burgundy. They are such uncomplicated, refreshing, clean and crisp wines that you need to ask yourself, why this isn’t being done more domestically. This bright, clean, crisp Gem from Alain Corcia shows a distinctive nose reminiscent of green apples with a slate-like mineral undertone. In the mouth, it is vivid, refreshing, and crisp, yet well defined and structured, and with a finish that is mouthwatering and demanding another glass. The Bean has ordered me to bring home several cases of this excellent Gem for our near-term consumption with such dinners as salmon, lobster, or albacore (she has expensive taste when comes to food!). Great Value! ***** 12.5% ABV *****
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

2013 Mount Edward Pinot Noir Central Otago
Review Date: 04-26-2016
Those of you who know me, know that my favorite varietal to consume (as well as collect and grow) is Pinot Noir. And, not just any Pinot Noir, in general. I am very, very selective and picky when it comes to what Pinots I purchase to both consume and/or age. When our New Zealand/Australian wine buyer, Ryan Woodhouse, presented this wine to us, I was totally surprised just how wonderful and distinctive the nose and flavors of this Pinot were. Medium-deep ruby garnet in color, the opulent, pronounced nose of dried rose petals, red cherry, clove-like spice, and blueberry fruit are underscored by slate-like to forest floor mineral notes and just a touch of cedar. In the mouth, this Gem is incredibly balanced and integrated with those same exceptional components, shows complex, focused, broad, and lush flavors that leads to a silky mid-range, and a long, warm finish. Rusty has ordered me to bring home several cases of this exceptional Gem for our consumption over the next four to eight years. THIS IS A GREAT VALUE THAT SHOULDN'T BE MISSED! Soooo, don't miss it! ***** 14.0% ABV *****
Drink from 2016 to 2016

2013 Zorzal "Gran Terroir" Malbec Gualtallary
Review Date: 04-15-2016
Medium deep ruby in color, this distinctively lush-smelling Malbec offers plum to blueberry fruit notes, with a chalky to slate-like mineral undertone. In its broad, viscous palate presentation, this complex, deeply flavored, well-focused and integrated Gem provides a wine of wonderful substance, savory elegance, and purity of character. Long in the finish, this puppy will age easily for another ten-plus years, but drinks great right now with its bright, fleshy, silky fruit on display. Rusty wants at least a case of this Gem for our enjoyment for the next five to ten years. THIS IS A GREAT VALUE AND YOU SHOULD NOT MISS IT! ***** 14.5% ABV *****
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
RP 93

2014 Saini Dry Creek Valley Zinfandel
Review Date: 04-07-2016
The three new Zinfandel releases (this one, plus the 2013 old vine, Dry Creek Valley Estate productions of Apple and Pear Blocks) from Saini are incredible, classic Zinfandels from that area and may be the best Zins on the market. Produced mostly from old vine estate vineyards, this 2014 is deeply colored and offers intense, high profile aromas of blackberry to currant-like to red cherry notes, with distinctive tones of anise and white pepper spiciness. All of these characteristics carry over perfectly in its rich, creamy set of flavors. Round, full, concentrated, this Gem drinks great now and will age easily for another six to ten years - but why! Drink it near-term. Rusty has ordered me to bring home several cases of this amazing Zin Gem! GREAT VALUE! ***** 14.9% AB V *****
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
RP 91

2013 Von Strasser "Rudy" Paicines Pinot Noir
Review Date: 02-18-2016
Really good Pinot Noir at an inexpensive price is particularly hard to find, primarily when the grapes sell for $6000 to $9000 per ton,domestically. But when Von Strasser released their second label, ‘Rudy,’ at this reasonable price, one needs to wonder at what price the winery got the grapes. In any case, produced from fruit coming from an appellation near Monterey, this Pinot is medium-deep ruby in color with a distinctive, pronounced nose that offers aromas of rose petals, spicy white pepper notes to raspberry-like fruit notes with a mild earthy, forest floor undertone. In the mouth, it is balanced, well-integrated, round, definitely Pinot in presentation with ripe, lush, complex flavors and a long, well-structured finish. This is lovely near-term drinking Gem that has Rusty totally excited and who has demanded at least several cases in our cache of wine in our wine room. This Gem will continue to improve with bottle aging, but is thoroughly enjoyable now. Great Value! Don’t Miss It! ***** 14.2% ABV *****
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2014 Banshee Sonoma County Pinot Noir
Review Date: 12-31-2015
As many of you know, the 2012, 2013, and 2014 domestic vintages were back-to-back-to-back exceptional vintages (the 2015 vintages is also following into the same vein), and Banshee created some exceptional Sonoma Pinots in the first two vintages. Produced mostly from Sonoma Coast vineyard sources (as were the `12 and `13), the 2014 continues the wonderful qualities of the previous vintages. Medium-deep ruby in color, the nose is loaded with dried rose petal, black cherry, and a mild spicy clove-like fruit notes with hint of slate-like mineral undertones. Carrying over nicely to a well integrated, well-balanced, viscous set of flavors, this superb Gem shows excellent structure and depth, with excellent complexity and a superb long finish. Although thoroughly enjoyable now, this puppy will improve for the next five to eight years of aging. Rusty has demanded that I bring home at least several cases of this Gem and suggest that you do the same. Wonderful wine! Wonderful Value! ***** 13.6% ABV *****
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $22.99 Add To Cart

2005 Bodegas Casa Juan Señor de Lesmos Reserva Especial Rioja
Review Date: 12-30-2015
One of my favorite Rioja producers, Bodegas Senor de Lesmos, has just released and sent over to us via our direct import program, this amazing fleshy 2005 Reserva Especial Rioja. Deep ruby in color, the opulent, distinctive nose shows blackberry, cassis, and currants fruit notes with a chocolate, mocha, and toasty undertone. In the mouth, this young Gem is expansive, ever evolving, and focused with the same characteristics as in the nose to lead to an wonderfully complex, viscous, broad set of flavors with creamy, lush undertones, and a long, complete finish. Rusty has ordered me to bring home several cases of this Gem for our enjoyment over the next five to ten-plus years. An amazing Value! Don’t miss this Gem! 13.5% ABV
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2014 Eyrie Dundee Hills Pinot Gris
Review Date: 12-30-2015
The two new releases of 2014 white wines from Eyrie, this Pinot Gris and the Chardonnay, are absolutely incredible wines, both being rich, lush, and delicious. This Gem gives you an almost honeysuckle to tropical set of flavors, yet is dry and mouthwatering. Both the 2014 Chardonnay and this Gem may be the best set of whites ever released by Eyrie. The Bean has ordered me to bring home cases upon cases of this white Gem, and thinks that all of you need to be thinking in the same logical manner. Stunning wine! Remarkable Value as is the Chardonnay! ***** 12.5% ABV *****
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
WE 92 JS 91

Jean-Louis Denois "Tradition" Extra Brut Reserve
Review Date: 12-22-2015
It is fascinating that once you get outside of the Champagne appellation and into other areas of France that produce "sparkling wines" in a similar method, the price for those wines seems to de-escalate substantially. Of course, there is the question of quality comparisons, which can be a realistic appraisal, but once in a while you will find a sparkler from those other regions that will rival its much more expensive cousins in Champagne and at one-third the price or less. Such is case with this beautifully created sparkler from the Languedoc region of Southwestern France. We have been importing Jean-Louis Denois wines for well over ten years, and have found his productions to be of superb quality in general, and when the price is taken into consideration, ridiculously ‘cheap’ vis-à-vis the outstanding quality level. Produced from equal amounts of estate grown Pinot Noir and Chardonnay, this lovely sparkling wine spent eighteen months on yeast (Cremant style), yet in its rich-smelling aromatics and lush flavors, this Gem behaves as if it has been on yeast for five to six years. Creamy, nutty, toasty, and pronounced both, again, on the nose and in the mouth, this finely beaded, dry, clean, and mouthwatering Gem provides tons of elegant and delicious flavors, which do defy the low price. The Bean has ordered me to bring home cases of this wonderful Gem and strongly recommends that you do the same. An Incredible Value.” ***** 12.0% ABV *****
Drink from 2015 to 2015
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

Baron Fuente "Esprit" Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 12-09-2015
Produced from 50% Pinot Meunier and 50% Pinot Noir, this lovely Gem has an incredible perfumed nose of dried rose petals and a ripe field of strawberries. The color is a deep pink tone to the point that I am surprise that it was allowed to be release as a Rosé by the appellation control dudes and not turned down as a sparkling red wine (the French do not allow the Champagne producers to make red sparkling wine. Too bad!). With its very fine, well defined bead, this is a wonderful and an amazing sparkler on the palate. Bright, fresh, and focused, this Gem is complex, with floral notes and excellent fullness, and leaves a long, incredibly satisfying finish. The Bean has ordered me to bring home cases of this Champagne Roeé Gem for our long term consumption. She also ordered all of you to do the same. Great Value! *****12.5% ABV ****
Drink from 2015 to 2015
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2007 Bodegas Puelles Rioja Reserva
Review Date: 05-29-2015
What has become some of my two favorite Rioja producers are Bodegas Puelles and the productions from the fabulous house of Bodegas Casa Juan Senor de Lesmos, which are DIs for us. This 2007 traditional style Rioja offers a lush and fresh presentation, with incredible balance and structure, a long and complex finish. This Gem drinks nicely now, but will age another ten-plus years. Rusty wants at least two cases of this Gem in our wine room for future drinking. ***** 14.0% ABV *****
Drink from 2015 to 2015
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
RP 90

Ariston Aspasie "Carte Blanche" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 11-14-2014
It is remarkable to me, and to much of our wine staff, some of the unique, profoundly produced Champagnes from the small producers that Gary Westby, our Champagne Wine Buyer, has discovered over the last decade. Virtually all of these producers, including the Aristons, are making sparkling wine strictly from estate fruit from Grand Cru recognized vineyard sites, and in small lots. As with any small producer, these wines are “hands-on” creations that are given extensive individual attention and long term aging before being disgorged. The Ariston “Carte Blanche’s” exquisite, superb quality is at a mind boggling low price vis-à-vis its style and complexity. Rich and authoritative both on its nutty, doughy yeasty nose and in the mouth, the very fine mousse leads to an amazingly rich, full style brut, with a long, intense finish. Some of you will probably not enjoy this Gem, due to the fact that you have gotten use to flavorless, bulk productions from the international, well-known, simply made name “brands,” but for those of you that seek complexity and profoundness in your Champagne, you will not find one even close in quality to this Gem at this price. The Guys (Rusty, Eby, The Beaner, and Rizzo) have forcefully made this our house sparkling wine forever. Don't be afraid to age this wonderful Champagne; it will only keep getting better. ABV 12%
Drink from 2014 to 2014
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart

Veuve Clicquot Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 10-17-2013
12.0% ABV

2005 Bodegas Casa Juan Señor de Lesmos Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 12-26-2012
From my favorite Rioja producer, this stunning, complex, high-profiled “Reserva” offers all the elements that I look for in a great wine: an opulent bouquet, abundant structure and depth, exceptional mid-range, focus, a broad and powerful fruit presentation, and a finish that is satisfyingly long and warm. Medium deep ruby in color, the nose is loaded with an anise spiciness in concert with currant and cassis-like fruit characteristics, with undercurrents of game and mild toasty notes. All of these remarkable features carry over to its extraordinary set of flavors and overall presentation. This Gem will age easily for another ten to fifteen years, but you will find it difficult to keep your hands off of it for the near term once you taste it. Rusty has anointed this wonderful Gem as one of our house reds for however long it is around and has ordered me to buy cases of it for our cellar. 13.5% ABV
Drink from 2013 to 2013
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JS 92

2010 Clarke Rothschild, Listrac
Review Date: 12-04-2012
This may be the best production coming from this property, ever. Deep ruby in color, the nose explodes with currants, mocha, roasted coffee bean, and chocolate (I had to view the label again to make sure it wasn’t from Napa Valley). On the palate, this Gem is broad, lush, viscous, well-integrated, and loaded with depth of character. Wonderfully complex, even at its youthful age, this puppy represents some of the best coming from this wonderfully soft , near-term vintage. Rusty has informed me that this Gem will be one of our house reds for the next three to five years. 14.0% ABV
Drink from 2013 to 2013

2010 Malmaison, Moulis
Review Date: 12-04-2012
Soooo, I was wandering through our employee purchase hold area in our store and I noticed that Ralph had purchased a half of case [don’t worry Ralph, I won’t tell Kim] of this puppy. And, I asked him, “Why did you purchase this lovely wine.” His response was basically to tell me that, like me, he was also older, and that he couldn’t buy wine anymore wine that needed to be aged and would outlive him. My response to that was “Red wine keeps you alive!” This is a wonderful 2010 and very definitely near-term. Medium –deep ruby in color, this Gem is loaded with upfront, soft, round blueberry to truffles notes in the nose that carry over nicely to a high-profiled, fairly powerful, yet well-integrated and soft palate impression. The finish is long and satisfying with Rusty telling me that this Gem will be one of our house reds for the next few years. 14.0% ABV
Drink from 2013 to 2013
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JS 92

2006 Cantemerle, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 02-17-2012
This is a great drinking Haut Medoc Gem and shouldn’t be missed, and will be one of our house reds for the month, according to Rusty. 13.0% ABV (Jim Barr)
Drink from 2012 to 2012
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart
RP 92

2000 Dalem, Fronsac
Review Date: 03-08-2011
Given outstanding reviews by Stephen Tanzer and the Wine Spectator, this medium-deep ruby-colored Gem, offers up black cherry to plum-like fruit characteristics, with medium toast and roasted coffee bean undertones. This fairly complex, elegant Bordeaux is drinking nicely now, but will age another three to six years, easily. This Gem is definitely one of the buys of the vintage, and will be one of our house reds for the month, according to Anderson. 13% ABV. (Jim Barr)
Drink from 2011 to 2011
Price: $22.99 Add To Cart

Charles Baur Cremant d'Alsace Brut Rosé
Review Date: 03-04-2009
As our Alsatian wine buyer, Eric Story, pointed out to me, recently: “Most people outside of the region don’t think about Alsace for sparkling wine, but wait until you try this puppy!” He was right both times. Most people don’t know, and I couldn’t wait to have another glass after I tasted the first. This is an impeccably delightful, refreshing Brut rosé, produced entirely from Pinot Noir and bottle-aged on yeast for two years before disgorgement. The resulting wine is a sparkler that shows a lovely pinkish hue, very fine bead, and bright yeasty, strawberry and spicy fruit characteristics on the nose that carries well to the dry, clean, yet abundantly fruity palate. Try it with a grilled salmon dinner or seriously consider it for your next party. Anderson and the girls have informed me that this will be our house sparkler for spring and into summer, if it lasts that long. 12% abv
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
WE 89