Staff Favorites - Mike Parres

Mike Parres

Reviews

Page: 1 2 next
2017 Villa Pillo Sangiovese Toscana (3L Bag-in-a-Box) (cannot ship)
Review Date: 04-05-2018
The nose is classic ripe cherries and strawberries and a hint of cocoa powder. On the palate of this medium-bodied wine, you will find the fruit described above, with a touch of minerals and soft tannins, which gives this wine a very lush feel to the palate and an incredible long finish. The perfect Spring red and great when you don't want to comment to a whole bottle of wine.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2013 Fratelli Barale Barolo
Review Date: 03-28-2018
The wine’s perfume is pure Nebbiolo: raspberry fruit and dried rose petals with a touch of tobacco and lots of cedar, bursting with sweet fruit, tar, minerals, displaying outstanding depth and fine overall balance. This wine will drink well now and over the next few years, best with the heartiest meats or stews.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2013 Fratelli Barale "Castellero" Barolo
Review Date: 03-28-2018
This 2013 Barolo is gorgeous. From the translucent color, to the fresh, floral bouquet and bright red fruits, this entry-level bottling screams of Nebbiolo. What a beautiful wine! Sweet roses, berries and spices emerge in the glass adding further complexity. There is a tension between the ripeness of the vintage and the wine’s firm sense of structure that is utterly captivating. Two thumbs up !!!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
WE 93 JS 92

2013 Sergio Barale "Bussia" Barolo
Review Date: 03-28-2018
Do not let the price scare you away from this wine. This is serious Barolo, at a not so serious price. If you pay close attention it says "Bussia" on the label now. Red berries, minerals, spice and floral notes with structure, drink now and over the next few years. ( Yes, decanting is a must!). Two thumbs up!!!
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

2013 Giacomo Ascheri Barolo
Review Date: 03-28-2018
Classic, old school Barolo and a steal at this price. A great introduction to Barolo that won't feel like your wallet is hurting, the Cantine Ascheri has Nebbiolo's classic rose and tar aromas with lots of exotic spice and hints of leather & cedar. On the palate there's lovely red fruit with hints of anise delivered on a bed of acidity and well-integrated-yet-characterustic tannins.

2013 Castello di Monsanto Chianti Classico Riserva
Review Date: 03-17-2018
I met Fabrizio Bianchi from Monsanto in the early eighties and have been a fan and follower ever since. Mr. Bianchi is certainly one of the earliest pioneers in trying to change the image of Chianti as well as the grapes involved. Fabrizio is a big believer in Sangiovese, the main grape in Chianti and the backbone of most Tuscan wines. He was one of the first in Chianti to make wines 100% Sangiovese in the early '70s. The terroir of this region is evident and expressed consistently, spicy, mineral laden, complex fruits and good acidity. I love this 2013, a blend of Sangiovese and 10% Canaiolo and Colorino , BE WARNED! It will go quick!

2015 Von Strasser "Rudy" North Coast Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 03-15-2018
This is a great California Napa Valley Cabernet, wonderful layers and great mature fruit, rich and ripe dark fruit very luscious and silky finish. Pull the cork and you are good to go!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2016 Domaine Renaud Mâcon-Villages
Review Date: 03-15-2018
A super value Macon Villages that expresses its uniqueness. This wine is elegant, crisp and well-structured. This 2016 Chardonnay is chalky with a mineral quality. The wine is mouth-filling and full, with a smooth and supple finish.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart

2015 La Fortuna Rosso di Montalcino
Review Date: 03-15-2018
Most of the 2015 “Rosso’s have come and gone by now, but we save a few of our favorites to carry us into 2018.Woo-hoo! La Fortuna's is back in town! Ever time I raise a glass of this wine to my lips; it brings me back to Montaclino. Why? because there is so much Montaclino in the glass. This Rosso reveals perfumed ripe fruit of plum, cassis and kirsch, some leather and cassis, mid- pallet and earthiness that meld into ripe strawberries, spices and minerals on the long finish. ( Warning !!! this will sell out quickly and yes, I am going to put some down).
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2015 Fèlsina Chianti Classico
Review Date: 02-28-2018
This is drinking GREAT right now!!! and will over the next couple of years (but only if you can keep your hands off it and keep some in the cellar). Here is a wine that packs a wallop and lots of bang for your buck all in one! Give this Chianti about an hour to open up and stand back, on the palate you will find strawberries and black cherries, a little bitter coco and some toasty oak, fine tannins and a hint of Tuscan dust on the long finish.

2016 Ermacora Pinot Grigio Colli Orientali del Friuli
Review Date: 02-28-2018
One of K & L’s best sellers since we started bringing them in. The perfect balance of acidity and tremendous aromatics, loaded with pear, apple, citrus and tropical fruit in an elegant, concentrated and superbly balanced wine. This is a Great wine for you to start the evening off with some pecorino and will work well with a first course of bruschetta or insalata mista.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2016 Ermacora Pinot Bianco Colli Orientali del Friuli
Review Date: 02-28-2018
Here is one our most popular wineries from Colli Orientali del Friuli, just a few miles from the Slovenian border. I just tasted all of the new Ermacora wines and the first two things I have written down are OMG & Wow! Perfectly balanced, this wine has incredible depth and concentration with focus, there is ripe apples and pears with minerals on the front palate and is very rich and creamy on the mid-palate, great length on the finish. Serve with grilled chicken diablo or a seafood risotto.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2016 Poggiarellino Rosso di Montalcino
Review Date: 02-28-2018
Woohooo !!2016 !! O.K., I LOVE this wine, I think the best they ever made ( I say that every year and every year it gets better). This is old world Rosso, leather, spice, cranberry and lots of minerals and Tuscan dust and soft tannins on the very long finish.At fifteen bucks this will go fast, you are fairly warned!!!
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2015 Zaccagnini "Tralcetto" Montepulciano d' Abruzzo Riserva
Review Date: 01-19-2018
Montepulciano the grape has nothing to do with Montepulciano- the Tuscan town. For as many years as I have sold this wine I have always make many friends with this bottle and they always come back and ask for the wine with the "stick on it " they never remember Cantina Zaccagnini, but they do remember it a great wine and fantastic value. There are aromas of blackberries, and floral notes; on the palate you will find smoke, wild cherries and minerals, with plenty of dark fruit that carries through to the finish. There is outstanding depth here, not to mention terrific overall balance.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart

2011 Felsina "Fontalloro" Toscana
Review Date: 01-17-2018
This boasts a deep ruby/purple color, lots of black cherries, raspberries, and currants with hints spice, Tuscan dust and minerals. There is a great texture on this full- bodied wine; it has a long, authoritative finish that combines power with elegance. I would drink this now and over the next couple of years.

2014 Antech "Cuvée Eugenie" Cremant de Limoux (1.5L)
Review Date: 01-11-2018
From the southern French region of the Languedoc comes this beautiful example of Cremant de Limoux, very characteristic of the variety, with perfume of white flower, citrus, lemon soda and drying mineral tones. The wine offers intensity and precision with focused attention on acidity and freshness. A great party pleaser.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2015 Antech "Cuvée Eugenie" Cremant de Limoux
Review Date: 01-11-2018
From the southern French region of the Languedoc comes this beautiful example of Cremant de Limoux, very characteristic of the variety, with perfume of white flower, citrus, lemon soda and drying mineral tones. The wine offers intensity and precision with focused attention on acidity and freshness. A great party pleaser.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2016 Valle dell'Acate "Il Frappato" Vittoria
Review Date: 01-11-2018
Made from grapes known also as Frappato di Vittoria, this wine is fragrant, fresh and bursting out, intense notes of cherries, blackberry and raspberry. The palate impression is bright and fresh, light but persistent; with small black and red fruits coating the mouth. Wonderful with all cheeses, it is equally at home when served with fish. Give a slight chill.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2013 Bersano "Mantico" Barbaresco
Review Date: 01-11-2018
I love the 2013 Piemontese wines; they are amazing values. The wine’s perfume is pure Nebbiolo: raspberry fruit and dried rose petals with a touch of tobacco and lots of cedar, tar and minerals, displaying outstanding depth and fine overall balance. This wine will drink well now and over the next few years, best with the heartiest meats or stews. Better yet, serve after dinner with some great aged cheeses (Pecorino Romano, Parmigiano-Reggiano or Asiago) and an olive tapenade.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
WE 91 JS 90

2012 Baccinetti "La Saporoia" Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 01-11-2018
This Brunello is coming from the user friendly vintage of 2012 this "puppy" is good to go or I should say drink. This is full-bodied wine with silky and soft caressing tannins and intense fruit (black cherries and plum) with hint of mineral flavors and was very well-crafted. I would give this a couple hours of decanting and serve with a winter’s hearty stew.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
JS 92

2012 Tenuta di Sesta Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 01-11-2018
Big wine, little price!!! Do not let the price let you think that this is a lesser wine. This is a Great 2012 Brunelli that will develop over the years. If you open this wine in the next couple of years, give at least four to five hours decanting.

2014 Cantele Salice Salentino Riserva
Review Date: 01-03-2018
Puglia is going through a rebirth when it comes to wine, and all over Southern Italy innovative producers are using indigenous varieties to coax the local terroir flavors out of their soil. These are wines with character, balance, weight and a unique expression of their varietals rarely seen here in the USA. This Salice Salentino is one of those wines, 100% Negroamaro, dark fruit, some spice and lots of acidity, prefect for pizza & pasta.
Price: $8.95 Add To Cart

2013 Fratelli Revello "Giachini" Barolo
Review Date: 01-03-2018
The Ravello is deep red with ruby tones and in the glass you will find, aromas of marzipan, brown spices, dried rose and truffle with brown spices, and leather. Nicely integrated acidity accentuates the wine's inner-mouth perfume and contributes to an impression of firm structure. Love this Barolo, drink now and over the next few years.

2015 Gagliole "Rubiolo" Chianti Classico
Review Date: 01-02-2018
Modern and well-balanced, with lots of floral and mineral character and ripe plum notes .This is medium-bodied, with silky tannins and a long dusty finish. A great value for a 2015 Sangiovese.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
JS 92 RP 90

2016 Pala "I Fiori" Cannonau di Sardegna
Review Date: 01-02-2018
Cannonau is one of the main red grapes of Sardinia and this is 100%. (Aka Garnacha, Grenache ) This shows, middle eastern spiciness of sandalwood, cedar and plums, with bold, dramatic fruit character alternating with bursts of brilliant spice and pepper. A great cocktail wine on a cold winter’s night.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
JS 93

2015 Outlier "Noiro" Santa Lucia Highlands Pinot Noir
Review Date: 12-22-2017
Wow! This is really one of the best Pinot Noirs I've tasted at this price point. The bouquet has notes of plum, dark strawberry, clove, chocolate and earth. On the palate there is beautiful balance, with good acidity, soft tannins and very good length. If you're a fan of Pinot, don't miss this great value. Mike ( Guido) Parres
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2015 D'Arce, Côtes de Castillon
Review Date: 12-12-2017
Classic 2015. Don't let the low price scare you away. This reminds me of the 1997 Cantemerle: it drinks great young, but will age (if you can keep your hands off it.) Wild spicy berry and floral character. Full-bodied, with soft tannins. Two Thumbs up !!!

2015 Cantina di Gallura "Genesi" Vermentino di Gallura
Review Date: 12-09-2017
The delicate straw color of the 2015 "Genesi" Vermentino di Gallura is followed by beautiful aromas of almonds, oranges, lemon, honey, apple skins, and a hint of tropical fruits. This crisp, elegant, Full-bodied white has layers of herbs, citrus and a touch of apricot,, with excellent acidity, fresh and long. I love this as an aperitif, or as a broadly useful table wine (roast chicken, fish...).
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2014 La Massa "La Massa" Toscana
Review Date: 12-09-2017
Concentrated Sangiovese fruit with layers of subtle earth and mineral scents in a soft and forward body. Wonderful to drink now! Two Thumbs up !
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart
JS 91 WS 90

2014 Tormaresca "Neprica" Super Puglia
Review Date: 12-09-2017
I just opened this for our staff tasting recently and this little "Puglia blend" stopped the show, with lots of oohs and ahhs from my coworkers. This wine has lots of bang for the buck. This wine is a blend of 40% Negroamaro, 30% Primitivo & 30% Cabernet Sauvignon, medium-bodied with dark fruit, good acidity and a really long finish. Two THUMBS up !!! Guido
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2016 Domaine Louis Moreau Petit Chablis
Review Date: 11-25-2017
This Chardonnay is crisp and stylish with lovely flowery fruit and plenty of depth, energy and concentration underneath and a very long finish. Love this Petit Chablis and white Burgundies at affordable prices!
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2016 Cantina Terlano "Terlaner Classico" White Blend Alto Adige
Review Date: 11-25-2017
This blend of three different grape varieties, grown in the classic district of Terlano (South-Tyrol), is as versatile a wine as you'll find from anywhere, and a seriously good value besides. A blend used quite successfully for over 100 years, this cuvee of Pinot Bianco, Chardonnay and Sauvignon Blanc, fermented at controlled temperature in stainless steel vats offers fruity aromatics with light yeasty notes and a taste that is always harmonious though quite strong on the palate and very persistent.
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart
WS 90

2016 Castello di Verduno "Basadone" Pelaverga
Review Date: 11-25-2017
I first tried this grape varietal with the 2008 vintage, when I met Mario Andrion (Oenologist) and I soon planed a trip to visit the winery in May of 2010 (www.castellodiverduno.it) they have a great hotel ! Pelaverga has a DOC, in the region of Piedmont in Italy. The small zone has a vineyard area of only eight hectares, and includes the commune of Verduno, from which the name is taken, as well as parts of the communes of La Morra and Roddi d´Alba in the province of Cuneo. It’s an amazing medium-bodied red, intense fragrant nose, showing spicy overtones with lots of whir pepper and nutmeg, as well as fruity sensations reminiscent of cherries and strawberries. Truly a taste sensation, you must try.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart

2016 Abbazia di Novacella "Praepositus" Kerner Alto Adige
Review Date: 11-15-2017
This Kerner is fresh and dry with subtle aromas of flowers, green apples and lemons. Truly one of the Best Kerner's I have ever had, don't miss out on this. Enjoy it with Thai or other spicy dishes or by itself (like I did). This wine pairs well with almost everything!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
JS 90

2016 Centovigne "Della Motta" Rosso
Review Date: 11-15-2017
This rosso is made up of 100% Nebbiolo!!! I opened this one on Sunday night and immediately poured it into a decanter and let it open for an hour. There is plenty of fruit, good acidity, soft tannin structure, some minerality, and a lengthy finish. The combination of blue/dark fruit and the black cherry comes from the Nebbiolo, I also find some tar and roses on the lengthy finish. Two Thumbs up !
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart

2016 GRÜNER by Etz Grüner Veltliner Kamptal (1L)
Review Date: 11-01-2017
Great aromatics on this rich, yet dry and quaffable wine. Perfect for vegetable dishes, lighter fish dishes, or spicy asian cuisine.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2012 Cordella Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 10-17-2017
Love these user friendly 2012 Brunelli, This is very concentrated and has a impressive nose for the vintage, with loads of ripe fruit, Full-bodied and very velvety, with beautiful soft tannins and great fruit, full-bodied, this wine boasts excellent length.
Price: Hidden View Price
JS 95

2015 Ferrero "Pepita" Rosso di Toscana
Review Date: 10-17-2017
From our friends at Ferrero (Claudia Ferrero & Pablo Harri) husband & wife team, they have hit another one out of the proverbial ballpark. This is a Super Tuscan ( Merlot, Cabernet, Montrpulciano & Alicante), on the palate you will find a dark, brooding profile of Tuscan dust, smoke, wild cherries and underbrush, with plenty of dark fruit that carries through to the finish. There is outstanding depth here (2015 Structure!!!), not to mention terrific overall balance with soft supple tannins. Just the thing for cheese filled pastas.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2012 Cortonesi "Poggiarelli" Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 10-17-2017
I am Lovin on the 2012 Brunelli, beautifully layered, expressive wine bursting with sweet ripe strawberries, black cherries intermingled with subtle earth and toasted oak notes, minerals and a hint of bitter chocolate on the on the finish, round and ripe tannins and a long aftertaste and really well sturture. Great for gifts, or the Holiday table.

2012 Felsina "Fontalloro" Toscana
Review Date: 10-06-2017
This 2012 Fontalloro is 100% Sangiovese sourced from few different vineyards and is simply beautiful. The opulent, forward fruit that is typical of the year is present, but a firm sense of structure keeps things from going over the top. If that sounds appealing you’ll love this wine. Dark red fruit, flowers, minerals and spices come together beautifully and with 2012 structure should age very well, tough to keep your hands off this wine.

2016 Erste e Neue Müller-Thurgau Alto Adige
Review Date: 10-06-2017
From one of our favorite importers of Italian wines, Oliver McCrum, this producer makes wonderfully affordable wines with the quality and authenticity we've come to expect from one of Oliver's selections. The Müller-Thurgau--a Riesling cross created in Switzerland in the 1880s--comes from limestone-rich soils of the Alto Adige. McCrum describes the wine thusly: "Exuberant aroma of lime peel and flowers; zesty, bright and dry on the palate; delicious as a dry aperitif or with cured meats. I drink a lot of this in warmer weather as an aperitif."
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2014 Tenuta Roveglia "Vigne di Catullo" Lugana Riserva
Review Date: 10-06-2017
Pure and fresh, this is a delicious dry white wine. Lugana is one of Italy's most popular white wines, probably because the good ones like this are so smooth, light, and easy to drink. This wine comes from the southern shores of Lake Garda. This is the perfect wine for your summer sipping and Sunday brunches.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
WE 93

2012 Poggiarellino Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 10-06-2017
This user friendly 2012 has big and bright fruit that hit you first, black cherries cassis and ripe strawberries and then the terroir takes on the rest of this wine, giving it a long finish that lingers long on the palate. Drinks very well young and will over the next couple of years.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
JS 93 WE 93

2012 Albatreti Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 10-06-2017
Albatreti is a new find ( Our third vintage for you) to Greg & I and we thought that we must share this with you! You will find a lot of Tuscany in this glass that is ripe and fleshy with cocoa, spice, black fruit and density, full-bodied and broad on the palate with complex layers of earth and some good tannin structure on the finish. This is a wine that is very user friendly now and has the aging potential of 5 to 10 or more years. This is the ideal match for red meats and roasted poultry or just a BIG glass all by itself after a long day from work.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
JS 93

2015 Luigi Boveri "Derthona" Timorasso Colli Tortonesi
Review Date: 09-23-2017
This is white wine for a red wine drinker. There is so much concentration and depth of flavor, intensity, complexity and downright deliciousness here, you'll have a hard time ever sipping on a light quaffing white wine ever again. Made from 100% Timorasso, a rare Piedmontese varietal.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2016 Treves Petite Arvine Val d'Aosta
Review Date: 09-06-2017
and now for something completely different. This Petite Arvine from the Val D Aoste, should give you a WOW factor when you taste this wine. Medium -bodied with Lots of apples, herbs and minerality. Incredible length on the finish. A must try! Salute!!!
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart
JS 93

2016 Silvano Follador Prosecco Superiore Brut Nature
Review Date: 08-23-2017
It's back!!! This is a perfect wine for this time of year. This Prosecco has been one of K&L’s best sellers since we started bringing it in many years ago. There is melon and green apple, and it is crisp and floral on the palate. A long finish and a subtle mousse make this delicious wine a sure bet for your table. This wine will work well as an alternative to Champagne. Fun bubbles and great value for the last days of summer.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$16.99

2016 Fratelli Barale Dolcetto d'Alba "Le Rose"
Review Date: 08-17-2017
Wow!!! This definitely gets THREE Stars from me, what a mouthful of wine. The elegant perfumes will entice you to want to jump into the glass; medium to full-bodied and very supple with overripe cherries, blackberries, bittersweet chocolate and lots of minerals with some tannins. This wine has such great structure it will stand the test of time, the big problem will be keeping enough around to potently age it. Thinking risottos dishes or a grilled Portobello mushroom, but honestly I am actually drinking this one all by itself with some dried cheese and salami.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2016 Casale Marchesi Frascati
Review Date: 08-17-2017
Tangy acidity focuses this firm, snappy white. The palate is subtle and creamy, offering an elegant mix of almond skin, crunchy white peach and pink grapefruit granita.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2016 Domaine de Biéville (Louis Moreau) Chablis
Review Date: 08-03-2017
A super value Chablis that expresses its uniqueness. This wine is elegant, crisp and well-structured. This 2016 Chablis is chalky with a mineral quality. The wine is mouth-filling and full, with a smooth and supple finish.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

Page: 1 2 next