Staff Favorites - Mike Parres

Mike Parres

Reviews

  
Page: 1 2 next
2013 Don Cataldo Rosato Salento Puglia
Review Date: 04-20-2015
Here is lots of zippy acidity and a little bit of strawberry at the tip of the tongue and then you feel the rocky soil and limestone of Puglia on the really long finish. A great wine for your 4th of July picnics or just summer sipping.
Price: $9.99 Add To Waiting List

Bellussi Prosecco di Valdobbiadene
Review Date: 04-18-2015
The wine offers intensity and precision with focused attention on acidity and freshness. A great party pleaser.
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List

2010 Villa Poggio Salvi Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 04-17-2015
Love this very user-friendly 2010 Brunelli. Here is a wine to stock up on, and you can drink this bad boy now and for the three to five years (it will help you keep your hands off some of your trophy 2010 Brunellos). Rich with ripe dark fruit, very smooth with soft acidity, the tannins are soft as well and the length on the finish will bring you in to tomorrow. Yum
Price: $34.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 94 JS 91

2012 Tormaresca "Neprica" Puglia
Review Date: 04-15-2015
I just opened this for our staff tasting recently and this little "Puglia blend" stopped the show, with lots of oohs and ahhs from my coworkers. This wine has lots of bang for the buck. This wine is a blend of 40% Negroamaro, 30% Primitivo & 30% Cabernet Sauvignon, medium-bodied with dark fruit, good acidity and a really long finish. Two THUMBS up !!! Guido
Price: $8.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Von Strasser "Rudy" Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 04-09-2015
This Cabernet Sauvignon displays a flavorful deluge of rich black currant, hints of cherry and a long finish of sweet mocha and velvety tannins.
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List

2014 Domaine des Côtes Blanches Sancerre
Review Date: 04-07-2015
Citrus aromas. Full on the palate. Tasty bright fruit: peach, citrus, and even a hint of melon. The touch of grassy flavors and pure Sauvignon fruit will give you a great idea of what the Sancerre appellation is all about.
Price: $17.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Weingut Allram Strassertaler Grüner Veltliner Kamptal
Review Date: 04-06-2015
This has always been one of our favorite Gruners and at the price it is unbelievable. Check out the other vineyard designated Gruners and you'll see that they are all much, much higher priced. This wine has a nose of white pepper, lentil, and citrus rind coupled with a richly textured body and centered with a great core of concentrated fruit. Extraordinary value!
Price: $11.99 Add To Waiting List

2010 Soluve Chianti Classico Riserva
Review Date: 04-01-2015
In this wine you will find black cherries, plum with minerals and a touch of chestnuts on the finish. Medium-bodied with soft tannins, this is a very user-friendly Chianti that will show well with the pizza and pasta.
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List
JS 91

2013 Cantina Valle Isarco Kerner
Review Date: 03-25-2015
A cross between Riesling and the local red grape Schiava. Though something of a mongrel in terms of ancestry, in the right hands, such as those of the very capable people at Cantina Valle Isarco, it produces a medium-bodied, un-oaked wine full of vibrant fruits and ethereal floral highlights, loves something spicy Thai of Mexican.
Price: $18.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Cantina Valle Isarco Lagrein
Review Date: 03-25-2015
Fairly dark red-purple in color with aromas and flavors of blackberries, black plums and tea leaf. It is medium-weight and savory on the palate. I drink this wine with grilled meats, stews, sausages....very versatile. Great value.
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 Cantina Valle Isarco Pinot Nero/Blauburgunder
Review Date: 03-25-2015
Südtiroler Blauburgunder or Alto Adige Pinot Nero, the wine is fantastic. Like a cool mountain lake, with fine acidity and focus and layers of cool red fruits. Chill it slightly and serve with wild mushroom pasta dishes or trout.
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List

2010 Tassi "Franci" Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 03-13-2015
The Brunelli’s from Fabio Tassi always remind me of Montalcino. They have the classic Tuscan dust and a little cedar, tobacco as well as fruit. The “Franci” is no exception, this is a bottle that when you remove the cork, I am almost transported back to this little hill town of Montalcino. This is a wine that is Old World in style with enough fruit and balance to keep everyone at the table happy. I will try to keep my hands off for quite a few years, the longer the time, the more I will be rewarded.

2010 Tassi Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 03-13-2015
This 2010 Brunello di Montalcino fleshes out beautifully on the palate with layers of super-expressive red fruits, coffee, some plum and spices with just hint of dust and well balanced tannins. The supple, forward personality is best suited for drinking over the three to five years.

2010 Poggiarellino Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 03-13-2015
Wow! Is what I first wrote down as this exploded on my palate, this has a lot more Montalcino in the glass than past years. Dark fruit, leather, terroir and good tannin structure, balanced with acidity, this is Brunello at its best!!! It reminds me of the 2007, that’s still in my cellar. A wine to buy for long term, will age over the next ten to fifteen years.
Price: $34.99 Add To Waiting List
JS 95

2010 La Lecciaia Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 03-13-2015
Plum, cedar and leather aromas follow through to a full-bodied palate, with a lovely density of ripe fruit and a soft, velvety textured, a little Tuscan dust and soft tannins on the finish. Ripe and beautiful, an opulent wine that opens with sometime in the glass.
Price: $34.99 Add To Waiting List
AG 94 JS 92

2010 Fattoria dei Barbi Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 03-13-2015
Classic Barbi, black cherry & ripe strawberry, very well balanced. This is full-bodied and powerful, soft tannins long finish, slightly rustic, but impressive for its concentration.

2010 Franco Pacenti Canalicchio Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 03-12-2015
This user friendly 2010 Brunelli has big and bright fruit that hit you first, black cherries cassis and ripe strawberries and then the terroir, Tuscan dust and lots of acidity makes the rest of this wine, giving it a long finish that lingers long on the palate. Drinks very well young and will over the next ten years.

2010 Castiglion del Bosco Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 03-12-2015
Very user friendly Brunelli, Beautiful blackberry, cherry and lightly toasted oak on the nose. Full and silky, with berry and cherry flavors and soft tannins. This is the 2010 you can drink sooner then later. Stock up on the Bosco, so it will keep you hands off the long-term 2010 Brunellis.
Price: $39.95 Add To Waiting List
JS 95 AG 91

2010 Baccinetti "La Saporoia" Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 03-12-2015
The wines of Baccinetti are rich, ripe, dense and full, but retain their balance and elegance. The 2010 Brunello is a stellar example of the vintage, and an exceptional bargain at this price. The palate has pretty cherry fruit with a nice earthy, spicy quality, great structure and good balance of acidity and tannins.
Price: $39.99 Add To Waiting List
JS 97

2010 Silvio Nardi Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 03-12-2015
Love this wine, classic Old World Brunello, earthy, wet leather aromas blow off to ripe and decadent fruit. Full-bodied, with soft and silky tannins and a long, luscious aftertaste of ripe fruit and tobacco. (in my top ten of 2010)
Price: $39.99 Add To Waiting List
JS 95

2010 Solaria Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 03-12-2015
Patrizia Cencioni’s Solaria is really a one-woman operation (she does hire help for harvest), and her philosophy is that great wines start in the vineyard and not in the lab. Patrizia really doesn’t put a thumbprint on her wines, she lets the hills of Montalcino and the Sangiovese speak for themselves. I have known and sold this producer’s wines for many years and am excited to do so again. Classic dark and ripe fruit, full-bodied with lots of structure, I would give this a couple hours of decanting.
Price: $44.99 Add To Waiting List
JS 95 AG 90

2010 La Velona Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 03-12-2015
This 2010 Brunello is beautifully layered, expressive wine bursting with sweet ripe strawberries, black cherries intermingled with subtle earth and toasted oak notes, minerals and a hint of bitter chocolate on the on the finish, round and ripe tannins and a long aftertaste. This is a must for the cellar, if you can try to give it some age (next 5 years), if not give about 2 to three hours of decanting.
Price: Hidden View Price
AG 93 RP 93

2010 Collemattoni Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 03-12-2015
Collemattoni delivers a mix of black cherry, ripe raspberry and cocoa aromas and flavors, picking up spice and tobacco elements on the Very LONG finish. This is a to drink now and over the next few years, stock up with this Brunelli while you can…
Price: $44.95 Add To Waiting List
JS 92

2010 Val di Suga Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 03-12-2015
A spice-driven wine with notes of leather, cherry cola, cedar, tobacco, and baked fruit, and some wood of the finish. There’s an earthy, dusty quality to the mouth that amplifies the wine’s smoothness.
Price: $37.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 93 JS 92

2010 Ciacci Piccolomini d'Aragona Brunello di Montalcino 375ml
Review Date: 03-12-2015
Very attractive and very user friendly Brunello, plum aromas, with hints of dried flowers and cedar, follow through to a medium-to-full body, with soft tannins and a clean, fresh finish. A Wine-der-ful for early drinking.

2010 Ciacci Piccolomini d'Aragona Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 03-12-2015
Very attractive and very user friendly Brunello, plum aromas, with hints of dried flowers and cedar, follow through to a medium-to-full body, with soft tannins and a clean, fresh finish. A Wine-der-ful for early drinking.

2010 Castiglion del Bosco Brunello di Montalcino (1.5L)
Review Date: 03-12-2015
Very user friendly Brunelli, Beautiful blackberry, cherry and lightly toasted oak on the nose. Full and silky, with berry and cherry flavors and soft tannins. This is the 2010 you can drink sooner then later. Stock up on the Bosco, so it will keep you hands off the long term 2010 Brunelli's (WoooHoooo a Mag !!!)
Price: $96.99 Add To Waiting List
JS 95 AG 91

2013 Castillo de Monseran Garnacha Cariñena
Review Date: 03-10-2015
Medium-bodied, it is characterized by fruity notes (cherry and raspberry) and hints of spices and herbs,sort of like a cross between Beaujolais and Bourgeuil. It is mouthwatering and savory. I like to give this a slight chill and pair it with grilled poultry or just sip it on the porch with some salami and salty cheese.
Price: $7.99 Add To Waiting List

2010 Antinori "Pian delle Vigne" Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 03-07-2015
Clean style of Brunello with loads of crushed fruit on the nose and palate. Full-bodied, with well-integrated tannins and a pretty & smooth finish.

2010 Renieri Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 03-06-2015
A Brunello that is very terroir-driven, with lots of earth, minerals & soft fruit. A big steak with this bad boy; drink over the next five years.
Price: $41.99 Add To Waiting List
JS 95 RP 95

2010 Talenti Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 03-06-2015
I am giving this two thumbs up ! ROCKIN Brunello, beautifully layered, expressive wine bursting with sweet, ripe strawberries, Vanilla, black cherries intermingled with subtle earth and toasted oak notes, minerals and a hint of bitter chocolate on the finish; round and ripe tannins and a long aftertaste. YUM !!!
Price: $44.99 Add To Waiting List
JS 96

2010 La Fortuna Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 03-06-2015
Gioberto Zannoni and his son Angelo have hit another one out of the ballpark with this vintage. Gorgeous core of perfumed ripe fruit, plum, cassis and kirsch, some leather and cola mid-palate and earthiness that melds into bitter cocoa powder, spices and minerals on the finish. Lush, and flows across your palate, long finish--just WOW! This is a classic 2010 Brunello, and needs HOURS to open up or some years of aging.

2010 Tenuta del Cerro (La Poderina) Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 03-06-2015
This is old world Sangiovese with lots of fruit, ripe blueberries, flowers and red raspberries, earthy with Tuscan dust and minerals, and soft acidity and well balanced tannins and sweet wood and beautiful viscosity. This can keep for several years in the cellar or I would let it open for three to four hours. A must have for 2010 Brunelli,
Price: $38.99 Add To Waiting List
JS 94

2010 Canalicchio di Sopra Brunello di Montalcino (1.5L)
Review Date: 03-06-2015
This was once again in my top five Brunelli and will be in my cellar for many years to come or as long as I can stand not tasting this again. A Classic example of 2010 in Montalcino, there are many layers of ripe fruit, tobacco, earthiness, smoke and toasted oak and I would give this two to four of decanting to see the great structure and balance that is going on here. YUM !

2010 Ferrero Brunello di Montalcino (1.5L)
Review Date: 03-06-2015
Two BIG STARS for this Brunello, and Bravo to our friends Pablo Harri and his wife Claudia Ferrero, this is the best to date that we have been carrying this producer. This vintage brings in more terroir than previous years very well balanced and a finish that will bring you into next week (long).
Price: $79.99 Add To Waiting List
JS 95 AG 94

2010 Ferrero Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 03-06-2015
Two BIG STARS for this Brunello, and Bravo to our friends Pablo Harri and his wife Claudia Ferrero, this is the best to date that we have been carrying this producer. This vintage brings in more terroir than previous years very well balanced and a finish that will bring you into next week (long).
Price: $42.95 Add To Waiting List
JS 95 AG 94

2010 Tenuta di Sesta Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 03-06-2015
Love this 2010, Tenuta Di Sesta is a wine that I never cry to drink sooner then later ( but if I wait, I am rewarded and a happy camper) Medium to full-bodied, Black cherries, Tuscan dust and soft tannins.
Price: $34.99 Add To Waiting List
JS 95 RP 94

2010 Baricci Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 03-06-2015
Classic “Montosoli” nose with lots of terroir (Montalcino dust and lots of minerals).spice, cinnamon, cardamom and anise with a touch of leather and brings that to the palate as well. This will need at least a half a day of decanting and will drink over the next ten years. YUM !!!
Price: $39.99 Add To Waiting List
JS 93

2009 Poggiarellino Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 03-03-2015
On this full-bodied Sangiovese you will find plum, chocolate, and cherries dancing with smooth and silky tannins. This Brunello will age well for the next couple of years, but no need to wait. This is the prefect accompaniment to many pork dishes.
Price: $29.99 Add To Waiting List

Wine Club

$24.99

2009 Il Valentiano "Campo di Marzo" Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 02-14-2015
Here is a wine that packs a wallop and lots of bang for your buck all in one! Give this Brunello about an hour to open up and stand back, on the palate you will find strawberries and black cherries, a little bitter coco and some toasty oak & vanilla, fine tannins and a hint of Montalcino dust on the long finish.
Price: $29.99 Add To Waiting List

Wine Club

$26.99
WE 91 JS 90

2013 Castello di Verduno Nebbiolo Langhe
Review Date: 02-06-2015
Love the 2013 vintage of this wine. The nose brings aromas of dried cherry and roses, and on the palate you will find raspberries, tar, tobacco, truffle, and a little Langhe dust with a good tannin structure. I love the elegance to this wine, and with all of its varietal purity here (I would call this baby-Barbaresco), I recommend decanting for a couple hours...or even aging a couple of years (up to five or six years if you are that patient). This would show extremely well with a wild mushroom risotto or a barbecue tri-tip.
Price: $29.99 Add To Waiting List

2009 La Velona Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 02-06-2015
I gave this two stars: A beautifully layered, expressive wine bursting with sweet, ripe strawberries and black cherries intermingled with subtle earth and toasted oak notes, minerals and a hint of dark chocolate on the finish; round and ripe tannins and a long aftertaste. Decant for about an hour.

2013 Cantina Terlan Pinot Nero
Review Date: 01-21-2015
This is truly an amazing Pinot. As you open this little treasure, pleasant aromas of wild strawberry, fresh leather and cedar fill the air around you. Medium to full-bodied, richly textured berries and game mingle with a long, spicy, soft oak finish with fine tannins and a twist of vanilla. There is also some of that Alto Adige chalk and porphyry that give this lots of minerals and acidity for balance. This is a wine that will definitely stand up to something very rich on the plate, like duck, or I will probably open mine and have with a leg of lamb.
Price: $24.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Ermacora Pinot Bianco Colli Orientali del Friuli
Review Date: 01-21-2015
Here is one our most popular wineries from Colli Orientali del Friuli, just a few miles from the Slovenian border. I just tasted all of the new Ermacora wines and the first two things I have written down are OMG & Wow! Perfectly balanced, this wine has incredible depth and concentration with focus. There are notes of ripe apples and pears, with minerals on the front palate, and it's very rich and creamy on the mid-palate; great length on the finish. Serve with grilled chicken diablo or a seafood risotto.
Price: $15.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Ermacora Pinot Grigio Colli Orientali del Friuli
Review Date: 01-21-2015
This is our seventieth of bringing Ermacora to you, and way back in 1998 our price on the P.G. was $11.99! We love beating that euro down! And one of K&L’s best sellers since we started bringing them in. The perfect balance of acidity and tremendous aromatics, loaded with pear, apple, citrus and tropical fruit in an elegant, concentrated and superbly balanced wine. This is a great wine for you to start the evening off with some Pecorino, and it will work well with a first course of bruschetta or insalata mista.
Price: $15.99 Add To Waiting List

2010 Terre da Vino "La Luna e I Falò" Barbera d'Asti Superiore
Review Date: 01-21-2015
This is classic Barbera with dark ripe black cherries and plum, full-bodied with some minerals and dust on the very long and well integrated finish. I would let this open for an hour or so and serve with a grilled Portobello mushroom or burgers and some great friends.
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Villa Pillo Sangiovese Toscana (3L Bag-in-a-Box) (cannot ship)
Review Date: 12-29-2014
The nose is classic ripe cherries and strawberries and a hint of cocoa powder. On the palate of this medium-bodied wine, you will find the fruit described above, with a touch of minerals and soft tannins, which gives this wine a very lush feel to the palate and an incredible long finish. Turn down the heat in your house; this will keep you warm on chilly winter evenings!
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Valle dell'Acate "Il Frappato" Vittoria
Review Date: 12-26-2014
Made from grapes known also as Frappato di Vittoria, this wine is fragrant, fresh and bursting out, intense notes of cherries, blackberry and raspberry. The palate impression is bright and fresh, light but persistent; with small black and red fruits coating the mouth. Wonderful with all cheeses, it is equally at home when served with fish. Give a slight chill.
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 Mossio Dolcetto d'Alba "Piano Delli Perdoni"
Review Date: 11-26-2014
Wow!!! This definitely gets THREE Stars from me, what a mouthful of wine. The elegant perfumes will entice you to want to jump into the glass; medium to full-bodied and very supple with overripe cherries, blackberries, bitter-sweet chocolate and lots on minerals with soft tannins. This wine has such great structure it will stand the test of time; the big problem will be keeping enough around to age it. Thinking risotto dishes or a grilled Portobello mushroom, but honestly I am actually drinking this one with some dried cheese & salami.
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List

2011 La Massa "Giorgio Primo" Toscana
Review Date: 11-25-2014
Full-bodied, with well-integrated tannins and a long, balanced, dark chocolate-tinged finish. Lots of toasted oak and ripe fruit and loads of black fruit, gamy with some hints of vanilla, Giorgio Primo comes from winemaker Giampaolo Motta.

Page: 1 2 next