Staff Favorites - Mike Parres

Mike Parres

Reviews

  
Page: 1 2 next
2015 Einaudi Nebbiolo Langhe
Review Date: 07-01-2017
The wine is full of the classic Nebbiolo aromas of dried roses, truffle, smoke and hints of earth. There's lots of richness, loads of fruit and a long finish here. The tannins are well-integrated, but they still remind you that this is Nebbiolo. Decant this to drink now or age for a few more years.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2014 Domaine Aurélien Verdet Nuits-St-Georges
Review Date: 06-23-2017
It has the structure you expect from Nuits St. Georges, as well as the opulence and weight on the mid-palate that their Vosne Romanee delivers. This is a wine that deserves some time in your cellar and will reward you for your patience or a few hours of decanting and a fine meal.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WS 92

2015 Caravaglio Malvasia Bianco Secca Salina Sicily
Review Date: 06-23-2017
This grape is becoming very popular in the San Francisco bay area, thanks to a little restaurant called "A16", that has introduced a lot of Southern Italian varietals to its patrons. A bright, fresh wine with pear, lime, lemon peel, toasted hazelnut with a mineral/salty notes on the palate, this is a very food friendly wine.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$15.99
VN 90

2014 Tenuta San Guido "Guidalberto" Toscana
Review Date: 06-20-2017
Tenuta San Guido "Guidalberto" Toscana, this is one of my favorite producers from Tuscany ( With the Guido, it has to be Bene’ ). This is their "Super Tuscan" - a very user friendly wine, the blend is made with 60% Cabernet Sauvignon and 40% Merlot, and lots of dark skinned fruit with spice, minerals that complete each other on the nose and palate. The wine has pleasantly soft tannins, but good acidity to pull it all together.

2015 Hundred Suns "Old Eight Cut" Willamette Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 06-20-2017
This Pinot Noir is a ROCKIN" wine. Sweet perfumed cherries, flowers and acidity all come together in this harmonious wine. Hundred Suns "Old Eight Cut" captures an attractive middle ground between the lighter and richer styles of Pinot being made in Willamette Valley. If you enjoy European-influenced Pinot with acidity, vibrancy and balance, this will blow you away!
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart

2015 Foxglove Paso Robles Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 06-20-2017
If you never had Paso Robles Cabernet before, this is the place to start! This Cabernet Sauvignon displays a flavorful deluge of rich black currant, hints of cherry and a long finish of sweet mocha and velvety tannins, with hints of that Paso terroir that I love.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2016 Elk Cove Willamette Valley Rosé
Review Date: 06-20-2017
This robust Rose has a light salmon-pink color, with fascinating aromas of ripe, wild mountain strawberries, and I found a hint of mandarin zest. It's fresh and lingering on the palate with a very dry finish.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2013 Einaudi "Terlo" Barolo
Review Date: 06-14-2017
The nose brings aromas of dried cherry and roses, and on the palate you will find raspberries, tar, tobacco, truffle, and a little Langhe dust with a good tannin structure. I love the elegance to this wine, and with all of its varietal purity here, I recommend decanting for a couple hours...or even aging a couple of years (up to five or more years if you are that patient). This would show extremely well with a wild mushroom risotto or a barbecue tommy hawk steak.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
JS 94 VN 92

2012 Fattoria dei Barbi Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 06-13-2017
This wine is full-bodied wine with some tannin structure and intense fruit (black cherries and plum) and a hint of mineral flavors and was very well-crafted. I would give this a couple hours of decanting and serve with a blackened Tri tip or a pork loin fresh off the Que.

2013 Einaudi "Terlo Vigna Costa Grimaldi" Barolo
Review Date: 06-13-2017
Light red with ruby tones. Aromas of marzipan, brown spices, dried rose and truffle. Suave and sweet, with a liqueur-like ripeness to the flavors of red fruits, marzipan, brown spices, menthol and leather. Nicely integrated acidity accentuates the wine's inner-mouth perfume and contributes to an impression of firm structure. Love this Barolo, drink now and over the next few years.

2012 Talenti Brunello di Montalcino 375ml
Review Date: 06-13-2017
This was once again in my top five Brunelli and is in my cellar and will be there over the next five years or so. I love the concentration user friendliness of 2012 in Montalcino, there are many layers of ripe fruit, tobacco, earthiness, smoke and toasted oak and I would give this an hour or two of decanting to see the great structure and balance that is going on here. YUM !
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart

2012 Talenti Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 06-13-2017
This was once again in my top five Brunelli and is in my cellar and will be there over the next five years or so. I love the concentration user friendliness of 2012 in Montalcino, there are many layers of ripe fruit, tobacco, earthiness, smoke and toasted oak and I would give this an hour or two of decanting to see the great structure and balance that is going on here. YUM !
Price: $43.99 Add To Cart
JS 95 VN 91

2011 Proprietà Sperino Lessona
Review Date: 05-23-2017
Deep red with ruby tones. Aromas of marzipan, brown spices, dried rose, leather and truffle. Suave and sweet, with a liqueur-like ripeness to the flavors of red fruits, marzipan and brown spices. Nicely integrated acidity accentuates the wine's inner-mouth perfume and contributes to an impression of firm structure.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart
WE 96

2011 Rocca di Montegrossi "San Marcellino" Chianti Classico
Review Date: 05-23-2017
This boasts a deep ruby/purple color in addition to sweet vanilla (from French oak), and lots of black cherries, raspberries, and currants with hints spice, Tuscan dust and minerals. There is a great texture on this full- bodied wine; it has a long, authoritative finish that combines power with elegance. So… pull the cork a few hours before you throw pork roast on the Q’ and enjoy the first days of spring.
Price: $42.95 Add To Cart
WS 93

Blason Isonzo Bianco (3L Bag-in-a-Box) (cannot ship)
Review Date: 05-18-2017
Back by popular demand. I think there is no tastier, more versatile white wine in our store right now. This is three liters (that’s like four bottles), and there is nothing that beats this Pinot Bianco for value and pure drinkability. It combines the body and weight of Chardonnay (to which it is distantly related) and the minerality and freshness of Pinot Grigio. The perfect cocktail white. We sold out of this quickly last summer, so buy a couple of these. This is a great wine to serve at your Labor Day party, for camping, or just for the last warm days of an Indian summer. Sadly, we cannot ship this wine.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2014 Limerick Lane Russian River Valley Zinfandel
Review Date: 05-16-2017
I am a huge fan of this producer’s Zinfandels, I have even aged some, and not a lot of producers can make Zins that age... Limerick's Zins, though, age gracefully and mellow. Dark ruby color, dense, deep and aromatic, this Zinfandel shows ripe blackberry fruit with hints of tar and cocoa powder. ( Not a bad thing to drink sooner than later as well ).

2016 Le Coeur de la Reine Sauvignon Blanc Touraine
Review Date: 05-02-2017
Citus aromas. Full on the palate. Tasty bright fruit - peach, citrus, and even a hint of melon. The touch of grassy flavors and pure Sauvignon fruit will give you a great idea of what the Touraine appellation is all about.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

2016 Quinta da Aveleda Loureiro-Alvarinho Vinho Verde
Review Date: 05-02-2017
This 2016 Aveleda is a crisp, light-bodied, fragrant notes of melons, figs, dried herbs, and a hint of honey, delicious, and surprisingly nuanced, A great value.
Price: $8.99 Add To Cart

2012 Valdicava Rosso di Montalcino
Review Date: 04-25-2017
This Valdicava is full-bodied, with silky, caressing tannins and intense fruit and mineral flavors; well-crafted Buy two the first bottle empties quickly. YUM!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2015 Villa Pillo "Cingalino" Toscana Rosso
Review Date: 04-25-2017
Yes, $11. will get you this beautiful bottle of 65% Merlot 35% Cab Franc! Fermented in stainless steel, this is as pure as it gets. I would call this a user-friendly Rosso with hints of old world. There are aromas of blackberries and flowers, and on the palate wild cherries and minerals with plenty of dark fruit that carries through on the finish. There is outstanding depth here not to mention terrific overall balance.
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart
JS 91

2014 Tornatore "Pietrarizzo" Etna Rosso
Review Date: 04-20-2017
On the palate, you will find moderately ripe red fruit and herbal flavors nicely framed by harmonious acidity. Offers good texture and length, finishing with notes of herbs and iron and youthful tannins. A very pretty, nicely balanced wine.

2015 Tornatore "Pietrarizzo" Etna Bianco
Review Date: 04-20-2017
This is a delicate, soft fruit good acidity and lots of minerality, Fun and refreshing Carricante from of Mount Etna.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JS 93 WE 91

2014 Rocca di Montegrossi Chianti Classico
Review Date: 04-20-2017
Here is one our most popular wines from Tuscany! The 2014 reminds me a lot of the 2004 vintage, black cherries, spicy oak, and a touch of earth. In the mouth, the wine is full-bodied, with fine concentration, with well integrated & soft tannins. Enjoy tonight (needs decanting time, an hour or so) and over the next few years. Two BIG Thumbs up !!!

2013 La Monacesca "Mirum" Verdicchio di Matelica Riserva
Review Date: 04-20-2017
This refreshing white from Italy's Marches region (on the calf section of the Italian boot) is made entirely from Verdicchio, with its layered bouquet of vanilla, butterscotch and almonds, and vibrant citrus and Golden Delicious apple flavors on the palate, this wine pairs perfectly with seasonal vegetables, poultry and seafood.
Price: $22.99 Add To Cart
W&S 92 WE 91

2014 Remo Farina Valpolicella Superiore Ripasso
Review Date: 04-20-2017
Valpolicella has undergone an amazing transformation from the 60s Bolla version with a red-checked tablecloth to the suave and ultra-hip wine region. This ripasso is a midway point between simple and fresh and the power and size of the Amarone taking the best from both. A wine to drink straight from the bottle, with a straw or with roasted rabbit, or complex pasta dishes. Rockin' Ripasso!
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2015 Blason Pinot Grigio Isonzo
Review Date: 04-20-2017
This is a mouthful of Pinot Grigio and a wine that has body and is perfectly balanced with zippy acidity and very aromatic, good complexity, length and that subtle elegance that shows muscle and long and flowing finish. It is a little spicy with red apple and melon, and LOTS of minerals on the aftertaste
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2012 Agostino Bosco "La Serra" Barolo
Review Date: 04-20-2017
Grab it while you can. Ripe and laced with tobacco and gravel flavors as well as leather and tar. Lots of tannin structure Would drink now ( Six to eight hours of decanting) and over the couple of years.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart
JS 94 VN 91

2014 Falesco Vitiano Rosso
Review Date: 04-20-2017
It is just the kind of wine you want when you sit down with a little bread and cheese or when you open something to drink while cooking dinner. Rich and complex, Sangiovese, Cabernet Sauvignon and Merlot. Super Umbria & Super Price !
Price: $9.95 Add To Cart
JS 91

2013 Le Filigare "Lorenzo" Chianti Classico
Review Date: 04-20-2017
In this wine you will find black cherries, plum with minerals and a touch of chestnuts on the finish. Medium-bodied with soft tannins, this is a very user-friendly Chianti that will show well with the pizza and pasta.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
JS 93

2015 La Monacesca Verdicchio di Matelica
Review Date: 04-20-2017
This 2015 Verdicchio di Matelica, is a very good example for the vintage. Offers apple and refreshing citric fruit flavors, and aromas with the characteristic touch of green herbs, is a wonderful value, a well-rounded wine, beautifully structured, soft on the palate but with a slight suggestion of almond (typical for Verdicchio), a great summer sipping wine and is very food-friendly.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2012 Felsina "Rancia" Chianti Classico Riserva 1.5L
Review Date: 04-20-2017
This boasts a deep ruby/purple color, lots of black cherries, raspberries, and currants with hints spice, Tuscan dust and minerals. There is a great texture on this full- bodied wine; it has a long, authoritative finish that combines power with elegance. I would drink this over the next couple of years.

2012 Felsina "Rancia" Chianti Classico Riserva
Review Date: 04-20-2017
This boasts a deep ruby/purple color, lots of black cherries, raspberries, and currants with hints spice, Tuscan dust and minerals. There is a great texture on this full- bodied wine; it has a long, authoritative finish that combines power with elegance. I would drink this over the next couple of years.

2011 Poggiarellino Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 04-19-2017
This user friendly 2011 has big and bright fruit that hit you first, black cherries cassis and ripe strawberries and then the terroir takes on the rest of this wine, giving it a long finish that lingers long on the palate. Drinks very well young and will over the next couple of years. We also have a few Mags of these as well.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
JS 90

2014 Villa Pillo "Borgoforte" Toscana
Review Date: 04-19-2017
And now for something completely different! This is a Super Tuscan at a super price. This bad boy is made up of 50% Sangiovese, 40% Cabernet Sauvignon and 10% Merlot, and I swear you can taste all of these. On the palate you will find flavors of black cherry, plum and soft floral notes blended with silky tannins. The Cabernet gives this a backbone you can feel and a nice smooth and long finish.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
WS 91

2011 Sesta di Sopra Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 04-19-2017
I love these user friendly Brunelli's in 2011. Impressive nose, with loads of ripe fruit, this is full-bodied with soft tannin structure, that won’t hurt your teeth. Love the fruit that is an impressive, rich and concentrated. The wine boasts excellent length, with black cherry, leather and a spicy nose with a little Tuscan dust and minerals on the finish. It is drinkable now, with a couple of hours in a decanter, or give this wine time to improve and continues to evolve for another 2-4 years. I am thinking a pork roast loin.

2015 Villa Poggio Salvi "Caspagnolo" Chianti Colli Senesi
Review Date: 04-19-2017
This is 100% Sangiovese and all stainless steel and LOVE the 2015 structure. The nose is classic, ripe cherries and strawberries with a hint of cocoa powder. On the palate of this full-bodied wine, you will find the fruit described above, plus a touch of minerals and soft tannins, which gives this wine a very lush feel to the palate and an incredibly long finish.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart
JS 91

2011 Baccinetti "La Saporoia" Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 04-19-2017
This Brunelli has the same cat ( Sidney) on the label and coming from the user friendly vintage of 2011 this puppy is good to go or I should say drink. This is full-bodied wine with silky and soft caressing tannins and intense fruit (black cherries and plum) with hint of mineral flavors and was very well-crafted. I would give this a couple hours of decanting and serve with a something hot off the grill.
Price: $24.99 Add To Waiting List
JS 91

2012 Castellare di Castellina "I Sodi di San Niccolò" Toscana
Review Date: 04-05-2017
A few months in oak, the nose is classic ripe cherries and strawberries and a hint of coco powder. On the palate of this full-bodied wine, you will find the fruit describe above with a touch of minerals and soft tannins, which gives this wine a very lush feel to the palate and has an incredible long finish

2015 Abbazia di Novacella "Praepositus" Kerner
Review Date: 03-29-2017
This Kerner is fresh and dry with subtle aromas of flowers, green apples and lemons. Enjoy it by the pool, with goat cheese or spicy foods or grilled fish. This wine pairs well with almost everything!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
WE 95 JS 92

2016 Saracco Moscato d'Asti
Review Date: 03-24-2017
Mr. Saracco is the toast of the US rappers who sip his Moscato d’Asti at parties and name-check it in their lyrics. Indeed, hip hoppers’ vocal endorsement is credited as being one of the reasons why producers are popping their corks at the growing popularity of this sparkling wine. Since Kanye West’s mention of Moscato d’Asti in the song “Make Her Feel Good” sales have been spiralling upwards. Moscato d’Asti is, like Champagne, from a controlled appellation of origin. Made from Muscat Blanc grapes grown exclusively in Asti, Alessandria and Cuneo, it proudly traces its heritage back to Roman times when it was called Moscatellum. The alcohol content remains low, typically at 6% ABV. This is a great wine to serve for all your spring parties.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2015 Blason Cabernet Franc Isonzo
Review Date: 03-21-2017
It’s back! And as long as I can keep my coworkers at bay, you may be able to buy some for yourself. There is nothing simple about this Cab Franc, it has the classic blueberry, herbaceous plum, and a hint of cola; also a little white pepper on the finish. A staff and consumer favorite for many years now, this is a wine you will want to stock up on.
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart

2013 Argiano "Solengo" Toscana
Review Date: 03-21-2017
This is one of my favorite producers from Montalcino. This is their "Super Tuscan" - a very user friendly wine, the blend is Cabernet Sauvignon, Petit Verdot, Merlot and Syrah. There is lots of dark skinned fruit with spice, minerals that complete each other on the nose and palate, a little taste of California from Italy. The wine has pleasantly soft tannins, but good acidity to pull it all together.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
JS 94

2015 Ronco Blanchis Pinot Grigio Collio
Review Date: 03-02-2017
The 2015 Pinot Grigio has really nice concentration, ripe apple, and peach stones, with hints of lemon peel and wet stone. Medium-bodied, with a good grip and a long, memorable finish, great for just sipping on in the evening or would love something with a lot of spice.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
JS 92

2015 Santa Cristina Pinot Grigio delle Venezie
Review Date: 02-24-2017
This is a mouthful of Pinot Grigio and a wine that has body and is perfectly balanced with zippy acidity and very aromatic, good complexity, length and that subtle elegance that shows muscle and long and flowing finish. It is a little spicy with red apple and melon, and LOTS of minerals on the aftertaste.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2015 Ermacora Pinot Grigio Colli Orientali del Friuli
Review Date: 02-24-2017
This is our sixtieth of bringing Ermacora to you and in 1998 our price on the P/G was $11.99! We love beating that Euro down! and one of K & L’s best sellers since we started bringing them in. The perfect balance of acidity and tremendous aromatics, loaded with pear, apple, citrus and tropical fruit in an elegant, concentrated and superbly balanced wine. This is a Great wine for you to start the evening off with some pecorino and will work well with a first course of bruschetta or insalata mista.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$12.99

2015 Cantina Valle Isarco Pinot Nero-Blauburgunder
Review Date: 02-24-2017
Blauburgunder (Pinot Noir) is a lovely wine. Sweet perfumed cherries, flowers and spices all come together in this harmonious wine. Cantina Valle Isarco's Blauburgunder captures an attractive middle ground between the lighter and richer styles of Pinot being made in Alto Adige. If you enjoy European-influenced Pinot with acidity, vibrancy and balance, this will blow you away! Melt some strong cheese, dip some bread and veggies in there, and enjoy with a glass (or a bottle) of Tyrolean red!
Price: $22.99 Add To Cart

2015 Ermacora Pinot Bianco Colli Orientali del Friuli
Review Date: 02-24-2017
Here is one our most popular wineries from Colli Orientali del Friuli, just a few miles from the Slovenian border. I just tasted all of the new Ermacora wines and the first two things I have written down are OMG & Wow! Perfectly balanced, this wine has incredible depth and concentration with focus, there is ripe apples and pears with minerals on the front palate and is very rich and creamy on the mid-palate, great length on the finish. Serve with grilled chicken diablo or a seafood risotto.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2015 Ermacora Ribolla Gialla Colli Orientali del Friuli
Review Date: 02-24-2017
Ribolla Gialla enjoys a long history as one of Friuli's oldest indigenous vines, this extremely unusual wine would be worth buying solely on account of its very low price, but once you have tried this unusual grape varietals, you be back for more. The palate is intense and full with a supple body, echoing the wine's varietals character, exotic and honeyed bliss, floral notes, hints of flint and citrus, delivering several complex layers that transform as they evolve in the glass, the finish is dry with lots of acidity and pleasantly fresh.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2014 Zaccagnini "Tralcetto" Montepulciano d' Abruzzo Riserva
Review Date: 02-10-2017
Montepulciano the grape has nothing to do with Montepulciano- the Tuscan town.) For as many years as I have sold this wine I have always make many friends with this bottle and they always come back and ask for the wine with the "stick on it " they never remember Cantina Zaccagnini, but they do remember it a great wine and fantastic value. There are aromas of blackberries, and floral notes; on the palate you will find smoke, wild cherries and minerals, with plenty of dark fruit that carries through to the finish. There is outstanding depth here, not to mention terrific overall balance.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart
JS 91

2011 Mazzei "Philip" Cabernet Sauvignon Toscano
Review Date: 02-01-2017
Cabernet from Italy, what were we thinking? That we must share this with you! You will find a little bit of Tuscany in this glass that is ripe and fleshy with cocoa, spice, black fruit and density, full-bodied and broad on the palate with complex layers of earth and some soft tannin on the finish. This is a wine that is very user friendly now and has the aging potential of 2-5 years. This is the ideal match for red meats and roasted poultry or just a BIG glass all by itself after a long day from work.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
JS 93 RP 93

Page: 1 2 next