Staff Favorites

If you’re going to have Robert Parker or Stephen Tanzer over for dinner, selecting a wine they’ve rated highly will be a nice choice. However, when you’re buying wines for yourself, we’d love to see you find wines that match up your unique palate and pocketbook. We have a large staff of friendly and knowledgeable wine professionals that taste hundreds of wines each week. They can put you in touch with bottles that you are likely to love, often at a much lower cost than the highly-rated gems that often see a run-up in price and frequent availability issues. Like any great group of opinionated professionals, our staff has varied tastes themselves. Often our customers will find a particular staff member with a style that corresponds to their own. That concept works extremely well in our retail stores, and this section is our effort to bring you the same online. Don’t get us wrong, we love the highly rated wines from the press and will continue to offer them, but we think you’re missing out if you’re not augmenting those selections with picks from our excellent staff. Here are their favorites. (Click on a name to see their other selections - or to drop them a line.) Cheers!

Reviews

Page: 1 2 3 next >>
2015 Haut-Vigneau, Pessac-Léognan
Reviwer Picture By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 9/21/2017 | Send Email
This is fruity, fresh and clean with a touch of char to the bright red fruit flavors. The tannins turn a touch gravely on the structured and mineral toned finish.
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart
JS 91 - 92

2015 D'Alix, Pessac-Leognan
Reviwer Picture By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 9/21/2017 | Send Email
This is plush and earthy with a touch of spice to the creamy, dark fruited middle. There is a gravely edge to the finish adding length and texture. This young and serious wine already drinks beautifully.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2014 Folie de Chauvin, Saint-Emilion
Reviwer Picture By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 9/21/2017 | Send Email
The 2nd wine of Chateau Chauvin is filled with berries and other red fruits and has a clean and sleek middle showing touches of limestone minerality. Subtle oak shadings add complexity to the finish.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2010 La Cardonne, Médoc
Reviwer Picture By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 9/21/2017 | Send Email
This dark and punchy wine has a deep core of purple fruit that show the power of the vintage. The firm and intense middle of blackberry fruit leads to a finish of very ripe tannins that will allow further ageing although those with a decanter need wait no further.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2015 Haut Charmes, Sauternes (375ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 9/21/2017 | Send Email
One of the best deals in all of Bordeaux and a Sauternes of Classified Growth quality. This is lush and lively with tons of tropical fruit and creme brulee. The mouth watering flavors of Pineapple are over the top on this outstanding value.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

2015 Chateau de L'Ou Chardonnay "Infiniment" Côtes Catalanes Blanc
Reviwer Picture By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 9/21/2017 | Send Email
If you lined up every $20 Chardonnay in the store this would knock the socks off of them all. This is substantial and rich but pure and refined, with slight whiffs of toast and honey before the vibrant, crisp apple flavors spread across your palate. Hints of citrus blossom and wet mineral coast along the mouthwatering finish begging for another sip. This is great stuff.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
RP 90

2016 Domaine de Rimauresq Côtes de Provence Cru Classé Blanc
Reviwer Picture By: Anthony Russo | Review Date: 9/21/2017 | Send Email
Texture texture texture! What a cool wine: zippy acidity from the bright lemon zest alongside a fantastic waxy mouth feel from Vermentino that is reminiscent of neutral barrel aging. Versatility for food pairing is one of its main assets.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
DC 95

Jefferson's "K&L Exclusive" Reserve Very Old Small Batch Bourbon (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Illya Haase | Review Date: 9/21/2017 | Send Email
Born and raised in the Commonwealth of Kentucky, I feel it is my duty to review any Bourbon that comes through the door. I'm pretty picky, but this Jefferson's K&L Reserve Very Old Small Batch has certainly caught my attention! Up front on the nose is pleasing vanilla, cedar spice, toffee and butterscotch. The heat from the alcohol is rather tame. This is even before I put a drop of water to open up the aromatics. With a drop of water it leans to more supple notes. Now more dried fruit less pepper and cinnamon. Without water the taste is firm with big oak, baking spice and bitter sweet chocolate. With that touch of water it really softens it, but I prefer it straight out of the bottle. At full strength the balanced spice goes down easy, though with a delightful dried fruit note to contrast. Finish is long and keeps you warm all over. Perfect for a rustic autumn night. Grab a bottle with some friends and just enjoy last few mild days before old man winter takes hold.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Jefferson's "K&L Exclusive" Reserve Very Old Small Batch Bourbon (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Ivan Diaz | Review Date: 9/21/2017 | Send Email
Our exclusive bottlings from Jefferson continue with the Very Old Small Batch, a richer, deeper effort for more seasoned Bourbon drinkers. This one provides a deeper impact, not only with a slightly higher alcohol content, but a more robust flavor profile to boot. Raw vanilla, maple, warm clove-y spices, barrel toast, cedar, and compellingly savory salty notes lend this utterly smooth bottling layers of complexity and depth. Perfect for cocktails in warm weather, or served neat during chillier months.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Jefferson's "K&L Exclusive" Very Small Batch Bourbon (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Ivan Diaz | Review Date: 9/21/2017 | Send Email
A real treat from Jefferson, purveyor exceptionally velvety bourbon, is the newly exclusive K&L Very Small Batch bottling. A little lower in alcohol and a bit lighter-bodied on the palate, this one offers up vanilla bean, sweet oak spice, caramel, and sea salt, finishing with a subtly tart, briny citrus note. Silky smooth from front to back.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2016 Domaine Begude "Terroir 11300" Chardonnay Haute Vallée de l'Aude
Reviwer Picture By: Illya Haase | Review Date: 9/20/2017 | Send Email
One of my favorite producers in our Direct Import campaign is Domaine Begude. They always over-delivers in quality, terroir and price! Hell, it says Terroir in the name. He also does a secret Gruner Veltliner but keep it on the down low. Let’s get back to the Chardonnay 11300. The cool nights produce some high acid Chardonnay. For anyone who says they don't like Chardonnay because of the overwhelming oak, I’d love to put this bottle in their hands. Fresh and lively, it bursts with green apple and pear on the nose. An underlying minerality keeps coming up from start to finish, with just a hint of oak adding some some nice palate weight and some subtle aromas of apple crumble and cinnamon spice. Yet, all the while, that fantastic minerality blasts through. With its super long finish, it would be a perfect pairing with a lemon roasted chicken.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart
DC 90

Domaine du Petit Coteau Vouvray Brut
Reviwer Picture By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 9/20/2017 | Send Email
This is a straight-up delicious sparkling wine with notes of pear cider and toasted apples. Take note of this engaging bubbly to enjoy as we begin to enter the fall season.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2004 Domaine Les Pins "Le Clos les Pins" Bourgueil
Reviwer Picture By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 9/20/2017 | Send Email
The 2004 “Le Clos les Pins” was brimming with notes of tobacco, leather and spices. The fruit has mellowed but is ever-present, showing the classic style of the sandy and gravelly soils. This still has a long way to go.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine de Marcoux Châteauneuf-du-Pape
Reviwer Picture By: Stephanie Vidales | Review Date: 9/20/2017 | Send Email
This was a standout wine for me at our last Rhone staff tasting. The concrete aging contributes a lovely mineral element that's well integrated with the bold fruit, herb and dried flowers. The balance of this wine is impeccable, and with some time in the cellar, I know this will get even better.

2016 Domaine de Rimauresq Côtes de Provence Cru Classé Blanc
Reviwer Picture By: John Majeski | Review Date: 9/20/2017 | Send Email
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Empty image
Contrary to opinion, every wine in Provence is not coming up Rosés, and it was wonderful to witness this superb white sprouting on our shelves. Sardinia prides itself for its vibrant Vermentinu wines (confusedly named Rolle in France) but with this bottling Rimauresq has fashioned a master class in the grape. Classically dry and almost oily in texture, it rewards with flavors of white pear, peach, citrus pith, and minerals, with a satisfying, slightly bitter, almond skin finale. Wonderfully complex wine, I would match with a meatier fish like halibut or sturgeon for a fantastic meal.
Top Value!
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
DC 95

2014 Senejac, Haut-Médoc
Reviwer Picture By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 9/20/2017 | Send Email
Senejac is THE one super bargain that should be in the wine cellar of every serious collector of fine Bordeaux. Closed and powerful in youth, this amazing value always seems to blossom into a rich chewy wine of wonderful depth and flavor. Although this sub $20.00 bottle has the ability to develop for another 5+ years in a cool cellar decanting tonight will give you a hint of what to expect.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

1998 Fontesteau, Haut-Medoc
Reviwer Picture By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 9/20/2017 | Send Email
This a soft, gentle and earthy Old School bargain for lovers of mature, classic Medocs. Aromas of ripe Cherry fruit, potting clay and hints of truffle ease in to a long finish of forest floor and mineral. 17 years old and under $20.00!
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2015 Chateau de L'Ou Chardonnay "Infiniment" Côtes Catalanes Blanc
Reviwer Picture By: John Majeski | Review Date: 9/20/2017 | Send Email
The lovely equipoise and limpid purity of this Chardonnay is revelatory, and, as its name translates as ‘infinite or immeasurable’ I may run out of oxygen to describe it, but I’ll try...in the hands of an excellent winemaker like Severine Bourrier, balance and prismatically clean fruit come to the fore. This Chardonnay is redolent with notes of white peach, Fuji apple, delicate pastry, cut wildflowers and summer hay, and will pair well with grilled scallops or a rosemary-roasted chicken. An extraordinary wine for a fraction of the price you’d pay for a comparable domestic Chardonnay or white Burgundy!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
RP 90

Ardbeg "An Oa" Islay Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Andrew Whiteley | Review Date: 9/20/2017 | Send Email
I'm so thrilled this has arrived! I was fortunate enough to taste a sample 3 weeks ago and I've been hounding David about the release date ever since! Better yet, this isn't a flash in the pan. This is part of the new core lineup at Ardbeg and boy does it live up to my high expectations for Ardbeg flagship products. Beautifully married, this blend sings with sea salt brine, extinguished bonfire, malty goodness, and toasted brush. It's even better on the palate. The sweetness of the PX casks really livens up the mix. Cocoa notes and a bourbon spice profile play beautifully with a candied granola that is blanketed in the smooth smoky profile of Ardbeg you already love. Did I mention this is here to stay? I only have to buy one today, because after I finish it I can buy another next week. And the week after. Glorious.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

2015 Fratelli Barale Langhe Nebbiolo
Reviwer Picture By: Andrew Stevens | Review Date: 9/20/2017 | Send Email
One of my favorite everyday Italian wines from last year is back and in a better vintage. The Barale Nebbiolo showcases the beauty of the 2015 vintage by giving this delightful bottle of Nebbiolo more weight and richness. The floral notes in the nose take forefront here although there is still that classic earthy tar element. Layers of cherry, leather, and spice with a beautiful acid core and finish. This is a delightful food wine, especially for something a little more savory. So glad to see this wine back in this vintage!
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2016 Domaine Begude "Terroir 11300" Chardonnay Haute Vallée de l'Aude
Reviwer Picture By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 9/20/2017 | Send Email
The wonderful Kinglake family always over delivers on value when it comes to varietal wines from the south of France. Located in the hills near the village of Limoux, they produce Pinot Noir, Viognier, Sauvignon Blanc and often their most compelling wine - Chardonnay. The Terroir 11300 (the number refers to the zipcode of Limoux) is an all organically farmed, tank fermented Chardonnay that captures the essence of the grape without the suffusion of oak. About 15% of the wine does go through large used barrel adding some dimension and palate weight but minimal woodsy tones. Pure and clean, there is classic apple fruit with a slightly tropical finish. It is a pristine example that has a lovely nose and refreshing acidity. This wine is an absolute delight and is perfect for those wanting to depart from more oak laden styles without sacrificing fruit quality.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart
DC 90

2016 Domaine Begude "Terroir 11300" Chardonnay Haute Vallée de l'Aude
Reviwer Picture By: Anthony Russo | Review Date: 9/20/2017 | Send Email
Tasty, clean, Chardonnay with a palate weight that would fall somewhere between light and medium. Lime zest, green apple, and a delicate peach tone jump out on the nose. The palate flavors were much more floral than fruity, however, and the mouthwatering acidity led to a satisfying finish. A fantastic weekday drinker!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart
DC 90

2014 L'Union Sacré "La Passion du Diable - Star Lane Vineyard" Santa Ynez Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Reviwer Picture By: Anthony Gittings | Review Date: 9/20/2017 | Send Email
I discovered this wine while visiting the central coast with some colleagues. This a winery that probably few people have heard of and probably fewer have tried due to their small production. Two friends, one from a small town on France, and the other from a small town in Michigan, collaborated in the Central Coast to make this Cabernet Sauvignon. Rich red fruit, silky tannin and bright acid are all found in this wine, but the focus and complexity is truly amazing. This a softer more pretty style of Cabernet that is for the fan of small boutique, hard to find wines.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart

2015 Chateau de L'Ou "Velours Noir" Côtes Catalanes Rouge
Reviwer Picture By: John Majeski | Review Date: 9/20/2017 | Send Email
Looking out over the well-cultivated vineyards to the not too distant snow-capped Pyrenees, one can wonder that the Roussillon is regarded one of the warmest and sunniest regions in France. The efforts of Severine Bourrier and her husband Philippe are a consummation of terroir, tenacity and talent, as they bring everything to the table in the creation of their remarkable wines. The Velours Noir gathers its fruit from black schist soils higher up in the estate, and possesses arresting aromas of blackberries, blackcurrants and dark cherries, with a rich,structured palate caressed by new oak, peppery spice and hints of wild mint. Sumptuous, ageworthy Syrah that could rival many from the Northern Rhone!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
RP 94 RR 94

2013 Cantina Terlan "Gries" Lagrein Riserva
Reviwer Picture By: Anthony Gittings | Review Date: 9/20/2017 | Send Email
If your not familiar with Lagrein, or even if you are, this is one of the best examples of what the varietal can be. Lagrein is a varietal that is mostly planted in the Alto Adige region of Italy, one of Italy's most northern growing regions. This wine does embody some of the tradition characteristics like velvety firm tannin and rich opulent fruit, but also offers some intriguing qualities. Sweet cigar, fresh integrated acid and a finish that it reminiscent of chocolate covered cherries are all harmoniously wrapped together. The wine screams for gamy meats, creamy cheeses and wild mushrooms.
Price: $35.99 Add To Cart
RP 91

2016 Claiborne & Churchill Central Coast Gewürztraminer
Reviwer Picture By: Sal Rodriguez | Review Date: 9/20/2017 | Send Email
Gewurz this good should come with a warning label! "Caution - May be habit forming!" I've yet to become a huge fan of white wines, but when I do find one I like, it's very likely that it will be a little dry, a little floral, with noticeable fruit, juicy acidity, and enjoyable minerality. This is all of the above in an inexpensive package. I opened this just the other day and it just kept getting more and more expressive as the time went on. A wonderful, expressive wine that's worth every penny!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine de Marcoux Châteauneuf-du-Pape
Reviwer Picture By: Sal Rodriguez | Review Date: 9/20/2017 | Send Email
Lovely red fruit, fragrant flowers, and just a beauty to drink. Although this has an age-worthy presence about it, it's wonderful right now. I can't think of a better CdP anywhere near this price range that I would want to take home. A great value!

2016 Domaine de la Réserve d'O "La Reserve d'O" Saint Guilhem le Desert Blanc
Reviwer Picture By: John Majeski | Review Date: 9/20/2017 | Send Email
Marie Chauffray of Domaine Reserve d'O relishes the opportunity to create signature wines of great charm, finesse and brilliance. Her artisanal talents are very much on display in this unique, declassified white wine, the 2016 Saint Guilhem le Desert Blanc $21.99, made from co-harvested, co-fermented Chenin Blanc, Roussanne and Grenache Blanc. Unoaked, fresh-fruited and utterly distinctive, with floral and citrus aromas and a roundelay of rich yellow and stone fruits, embroidered with lovely acidity. A rich tapestry of a wine, and a tribute to a woman who unerringly follows her own path through the vineyards and beyond.
Top Value!
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart

2015 Chateau de L'Ou "Infiniment" Côtes Catalanes Rouge
Reviwer Picture By: Sal Rodriguez | Review Date: 9/20/2017 | Send Email
Impressive, Intense, Focused. For me, this was a shining star at our recent tasting and if you like pleasant, fragrant, mineral driven, Syrah, then this will shine for you as well! This version of the de L'Ou, Rouge adds an amazing depth, and intrigue to the already delicious "regular" version and for just a little more money, this is the one to grab!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
RP 94 RR 94

2015 Domaine de la Réserve d'O "La Réserve d'O" Terrasses du Larzac
Reviwer Picture By: John Majeski | Review Date: 9/20/2017 | Send Email
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Empty image
With her down-to-earth warmth and embrace of non-interventionist winemaking, Marie Chauffray of Domaine De La Reserve D’O manifests the abiding ethos of the Vinifilles, an accomplished coterie of amazing women winemakers in the Languedoc-Roussillon. She and her husband relinquished their safe life as owners of a wine shop, and spent a decade scouring the rugged countryside for the perfect site to grown their own. They found it in the high, windswept Terrasses du Larzac appellation, where her biodynamic, terroir-driven wines, grown on poor clay and calcareous soils are uniquely defined by their refreshing aromatic profiles and intense flavors. Her 2015 La Reserve d’O $21.99 is a compelling blend of Syrah, Grenache and Cinsault, with alluring black fruit aromas leading to an expansive palate of blackcurrant, cherries, licorice, cocoa and baking spice. Certainly one of the most harmonious wines I've tasted this year.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart

2004 Domaine Les Pins "Vieilles Vignes" Bourgueil
Reviwer Picture By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 9/19/2017 | Send Email
We’ve been working with Domaine les Pins in Bourgueil for several years now and the wines continually over-deliver for the money. On our recent visit, vignerons Philippe and Christophe Pitault-Landry were kind enough to dig some older bottles out of the cellar to show us how the wines evolve. I immediately homed in on their two 2004s—the Les Clos des Pins and Vieilles Vignes. After a little negotiating we were able to convince them to sell us a small parcel of each. The 2004 “Vieilles Vignes” Bourgueil was remarkably persistent on the palate, showing flavors of strawberries, clove and truffle nuances. It is still quite powerful in the mouth and loaded with body and texture. This could easily withstand another decade of evolution. Both are tremendous successes and demonstrate the ageability of Cabernet Franc, even from a modestly priced producer such as this.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2016 Franck Millet Sancerre Rosé
Reviwer Picture By: Morgan Laurie | Review Date: 9/19/2017 | Send Email
Made from 100% Pinot Noir, this is delicious and crisp with ripe peaches, watermelon, stony minerality and Rainier cherry at its core.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2016 Franck Millet Sancerre Blanc (375ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 9/19/2017 | Send Email
The nose is classic Sauvignon, a bit of grapefruit (no green peppers) with hints of dried herbs. On the palate the chalky soils become visible making a crisp and snappy appearance yet in this warmer vintage the wine's mid palate richness balances it perfectly. The finish is hints of grapefruit rind, anise and a lively focus. Perfect for grilled salmon.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $8.99 Add To Cart

2016 Franck Millet Sancerre Blanc (375ml)
Reviwer Picture By: John Downing | Review Date: 9/19/2017 | Send Email
I've made a lot of friends over the past few years thanks to the wonderful wines of Franck Millet. They remain one of my very favorite Sancerre producers and their 2016 speaks volumes. It's rounder and more concentrated than the most recent vintages with no shortage of chalky mineral notes, lime, lemongrass and crisp acidity. A Sauvignon Blanc not to be missed.
Price: $8.99 Add To Cart

2016 Franck Millet Sancerre Blanc (375ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 9/19/2017 | Send Email
Our visit to the Loire Valley would not have been complete if we hadn't visited our dear friends Franck and Betty Millet. Clyde, myself and a friend were traveling through the region and arrived a day early to have a relaxing meal in the village of Sancerre. We actually surprised the Millets by popping in to see their new house which sits on the hill of the village overlooking the valley of Sancerre and its vineyards. We had an appointment to visit them the next morning but they were so gracious even with our surprise visit, they began pulling out bottles of wine for us to try, offering us food and a tour of their recently finished house. I often point to these kinds of occasions when trying to illustrate why we try to develop strong relationships with our Direct Import producers. Even though we were just stopping by to say "hello" they went above and beyond to make us feel welcome and a part of their family. And that's why the Millets are part of our K&L family. When we finally did arrive at the winery for our scheduled appointment we retasted all the wines as well as some of the new tank samples for the 2016 Insolite. They had fresh cheeses and bread all laid out for us because they knew we were going to be traveling a couple of hours to our next destination. We discussed the difficulty of the 2016 vintage due to the early frost but thankfully they were not largely affected by the staggering crop losses that others felt. The quality of the 2016 was outstanding as usual, classic grapefruit and lemongrass tones, chalky minerality and a long citrusy finish with a whisper of wild thyme at the end. Clyde's specific comments were "better than the 2015" and "more my style, racy and classic." When Clyde saw some magnums, we immediately explored the notion (Clyde's a sucker for large formats) of adding that to our inventory set. I of course love the little half bottles which are new as well. So, in whatever format you choose, halves, mags or standard bottles, you'll hopefully share in the sense of gazing out over the vineyards of Sancerre and sipping wine with our dear friends Franck and Betty Millet.
Price: $8.99 Add To Cart

2016 Franck Millet Sancerre Blanc (1.5L)
Reviwer Picture By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 9/19/2017 | Send Email
Our visit to the Loire Valley would not have been complete if we hadn't visited our dear friends Franck and Betty Millet. Clyde, myself and a friend were traveling through the region and arrived a day early to have a relaxing meal in the village of Sancerre. We actually surprised the Millets by popping in to see their new house which sits on the hill of the village overlooking the valley of Sancerre and its vineyards. We had an appointment to visit them the next morning but they were so gracious even with our surprise visit, they began pulling out bottles of wine for us to try, offering us food and a tour of their recently finished house. I often point to these kinds of occasions when trying to illustrate why we try to develop strong relationships with our Direct Import producers. Even though we were just stopping by to say "hello" they went above and beyond to make us feel welcome and a part of their family. And that's why the Millets are part of our K&L family. When we finally did arrive at the winery for our scheduled appointment we retasted all the wines as well as some of the new tank samples for the 2016 Insolite. They had fresh cheeses and bread all laid out for us because they knew we were going to be traveling a couple of hours to our next destination. We discussed the difficulty of the 2016 vintage due to the early frost but thankfully they were not largely affected by the staggering crop losses that others felt. The quality of the 2016 was outstanding as usual, classic grapefruit and lemongrass tones, chalky minerality and a long citrusy finish with a whisper of wild thyme at the end. Clyde's specific comments were "better than the 2015" and "more my style, racy and classic." When Clyde saw some magnums, we immediately explored the notion (Clyde's a sucker for large formats) of adding that to our inventory set. I of course love the little half bottles which are new as well. So, in whatever format you choose, halves, mags or standard bottles, you'll hopefully share in the sense of gazing out over the vineyards of Sancerre and sipping wine with our dear friends Franck and Betty Millet.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2016 Franck Millet Sancerre Blanc (1.5L)
Reviwer Picture By: John Downing | Review Date: 9/19/2017 | Send Email
I've made a lot of friends over the past few years thanks to the wonderful wines of Franck Millet. They remain one of my very favorite Sancerre producers and their 2016 speaks volumes. It's rounder and more concentrated than the most recent vintages with no shortage of chalky mineral notes, lime, lemongrass and crisp acidity. A Sauvignon Blanc not to be missed.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2016 Franck Millet Sancerre Blanc (1.5L)
Reviwer Picture By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 9/19/2017 | Send Email
The nose is classic Sauvignon, a bit of grapefruit (no green peppers) with hints of dried herbs. On the palate the chalky soils become visible making a crisp and snappy appearance yet in this warmer vintage the wine's mid palate richness balances it perfectly. The finish is hints of grapefruit rind, anise and a lively focus. Perfect for grilled salmon.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Viticole "Malmont" Côtes du Rhône Villages Séguret
Reviwer Picture By: Thomas Smith | Review Date: 9/19/2017 | Send Email
Tucked into a small hillside to protect its vines, the village of Séguret is situated between the more recognized villages of Rasteau to the north and Gigondas to the south. The wines of Séguret may be less powerful than those of its neighbors, but they possess both freshness and structure. The 2015 Domaine Viticole “Malmont” is an excellent example of this high-value village, which offers exceptional quality in vintages like 2015. The Séguret is a blend of 55% Grenache and 45% Syrah. This wine has aromas of violets and peppery notes, with dark cherries and blackberries on the palate, all while maintaining vibrant acidity and impeccable balance.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
WS 90

2015 Domaine de Marcoux Châteauneuf-du-Pape
Reviwer Picture By: Anthony Russo | Review Date: 9/19/2017 | Send Email
The CDP earned an easy "A" on my tasting score sheet: classic profile and perfect structure. Although still relatively young, all of the elements (fruit flavors and aromas, tannin, alcohol, and acid) are super well blended and integrated. Classic CDP spiciness, soft and approachable tannins, and great depth to the core fruit flavors all contribute to how much the entire staff loved this bottle. And the price; that's a bonus. Stock up on these for the fall/winter!

2015 Chateau de L'Ou Chardonnay "Infiniment" Côtes Catalanes Blanc
Reviwer Picture By: Anthony Russo | Review Date: 9/19/2017 | Send Email
This is a great choice for California Chardonnay lovers who want to try something new or more Old World palates who want something different. The wine is more on the rich side with lots of banana notes on the nose. Not buttery or oaky flavors, however, and the key word here is balance. The structure of the wine match it's tropical aromatics perfectly. Drink it with a seafood covered pasta in butter sauce and watch it truly open up!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
RP 90

2014 Château Saint Jacques d'Albas "Le Chateau d'Albas" Minervois
Reviwer Picture By: Anthony Russo | Review Date: 9/19/2017 | Send Email
70% Syrah 30% Grenache from a very cool region of France (Google Minervois photos; it is beautiful). The nose on this wine instantly boasts it's uniqueness: for true soda fans, it has a root beer/cherry cola undertone! Despite being largely Syrah, the wine has a lifted freshness to it to appease lovers of either lighter or bolder Syrahs. Think Thanksgiving meal...
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart
DC 90

2015 Chateau de L'Ou "Velours Noir" Côtes Catalanes Rouge
Reviwer Picture By: Stephanie Vidales | Review Date: 9/19/2017 | Send Email
Look no further for you next grilled meat pairing! This 100% Languedoc Syrah shows beautiful dark fruits, mineral, black pepper and some subtle menthol character that is balanced with mid-palate tannic structure. Although this wine is aromatic and expressive now, don't hesitate to lay it down in the cellar.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
RP 94 RR 94

2015 Domaine de la Réserve d'O "La Réserve d'O" Terrasses du Larzac
Reviwer Picture By: Stephanie Vidales | Review Date: 9/19/2017 | Send Email
When I started here at K&L, Domaine de la Reserve d'O was one of the first direct imports I loved from the Languedoc. There is not only a female winemaker, but the estate vineyard is certified biodynamic and organic and the wines have minimal sulfur added. This wine is a blend all estate fruit, mostly Syrah and Grenache with a touch of Cinsault. This wine if playful, approachable and expressive with a great balance of savoriness, dark fruits and spice.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart

Jefferson's "K&L Exclusive" Reserve Very Old Small Batch Bourbon (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Andrew Whiteley | Review Date: 9/19/2017 | Send Email
You will need the following: One Highball glass 2 oz Jefferson's K&L Reserve VOSB Bourbon 4-8 mint leaves 1 teaspoon powdered sugar 2 teaspoons water Then in a highball glass gently muddle the mint, sugar and water. Fill the glass with cracked ice, add Jefferson's and stir well until the glass is well frosted. Garnish with a mint sprig. This makes the absolute best Mint Julep. Get em while it's still hot outside, you won't regret it. (Copper Moscow Mule mug makes a great service vessel as well.) Try the regular small batch for a slightly lighter version.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2015 Chateau de L'Ou "Velours Noir" Côtes Catalanes Rouge
Reviwer Picture By: Anthony Russo | Review Date: 9/19/2017 | Send Email
I love Syrah when it is neither too gamey nor too thin. This one falls in the middle. The "Velours Noire" comes entirely from vines planted on the hillside on top of a black schist soil, which results in an incredibly velvety wine. The tannic profile is present, but not overwhelming, making this gorgeous bottle something to enjoy either now or a few years down the road. As for pairing, think roasted pork, duck, turkey, or BBQ lamb.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
RP 94 RR 94

Ardbeg "An Oa" Islay Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: David Driscoll | Review Date: 9/19/2017 | Send Email
For the first time in a long time, we’ve got a permanent new member of the Ardbeg portfolio to tell you about. This isn’t some new committee release or another $100+ bottle of limited edition, space-themed, gimmick-oriented Islay malt. This is the new “An Oa,” a reasonably-priced and absolutely delicious new addition to the trio of 10 year, Uigeadail, and Corryvreckan that not only brings value back into the LVMH peated empire, but also serious flavor and enjoyment. Believe it or not, it’s not always easy to enjoy a bottle of whisky when it costs you three figures, you can only buy a limit of one bottle, and you’re scared to drink each sip for fear you’ll never be able to replace the experience. With the An Oa, Ardbeg is bringing not only functionality back to their core range, they’re bringing fun and flavor, to boot. The An Oa is the best new Ardbeg I’ve tasted in more than five years and it’s the roundest and easiest to drink of the regularly available editions. While it doesn’t pack the power that both the Uigeadail and Corryvreckan offer with their bold proofs, it makes up for it with richness and a rounded sweetness on the finish. You get all the peat, brine, smoke, and salt that you could ever want, but with more texture and perhaps finesse—not something we normally associate with the beastly Islay profile. In any case, this is the first bottle of Ardbeg in some time that I’ve been adamant about buying for my own personal daily enjoyment, not just my collection.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

Ardbeg "An Oa" Islay Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 9/19/2017 | Send Email
This incredibly elegant and sophisticated Ardbeg retains the peaty personality of the distillery while showcasing a suaver side of Islay. I enjoyed my little taste of this immensly, and I can't wait to take it home and drink it my favorite way- after dinner. Any fan of Islay malts should have a bottle of this generous, textural Ardbeg!
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine de Marcoux Châteauneuf-du-Pape
Reviwer Picture By: Sharon Kelly | Review Date: 9/19/2017 | Send Email
Absolutely lovely. I enjoyed its brooding berry fruit, herbs and smoke, displayed with elegant restraint and finesse. This should appeal to enthusiasts of both old school and modern style CDP.

2016 Domaine Begude "Terroir 11300" Chardonnay Haute Vallée de l'Aude
Reviwer Picture By: Sharon Kelly | Review Date: 9/19/2017 | Send Email
If you find yourself reaching for Chardonnay from California or Burgundy because these are the regions that first come to mind, I suggest you try this lovely bottle of goodness from the Languedoc-Roussillon. With soft texture on the palate, fresh notes of green apple, white peach, and hints of lemon, there is a perfect balance between fruit and acidity here that makes it very easy and pleasurable to drink. An incredibly priced value!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart
DC 90

Page: 1 2 3 next >>