Staff Favorites

If you’re going to have Robert Parker or Stephen Tanzer over for dinner, selecting a wine they’ve rated highly will be a nice choice. However, when you’re buying wines for yourself, we’d love to see you find wines that match up your unique palate and pocketbook. We have a large staff of friendly and knowledgeable wine professionals that taste hundreds of wines each week. They can put you in touch with bottles that you are likely to love, often at a much lower cost than the highly-rated gems that often see a run-up in price and frequent availability issues. Like any great group of opinionated professionals, our staff has varied tastes themselves. Often our customers will find a particular staff member with a style that corresponds to their own. That concept works extremely well in our retail stores, and this section is our effort to bring you the same online. Don’t get us wrong, we love the highly rated wines from the press and will continue to offer them, but we think you’re missing out if you’re not augmenting those selections with picks from our excellent staff. Here are their favorites. (Click on a name to see their other selections - or to drop them a line.) Cheers!

Reviews

  
Page: 1 2 3 next >>
2013 Felton Road "Calvert" Pinot Noir Central Otago (Biodynamic)
By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 8/4/2015 | Send Email
Always the most compact, dense and brooding of Felton's single vineyards bottlings. Tightly wound, powerful, structured and built for the long haul. Having said this, the 2013 is one of the more accessible young "Calvert" bottlings I have had to date and it showed that way even when tasting from barrel in 2014. The wine really shows the purity and pedigree of what has been described at NZ first Pinot Noir Grand Cru site.
Drink from 2015 to 2015

2013 Felton Road "Bannockburn" Pinot Noir Central Otago (Biodynamic)
By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 8/4/2015 | Send Email
Very interesting that multiple critics scored this bottling from Felton Rd higher than the single vineyard wines it is composed from. This is a true reflection of what Mike and Blair mean when they say..."we don't do anything different in making the single vineyards than the Bannockburn" and also a great example of the fact that sometimes the whole is greater than the sum of its parts. I personally love the single vineyards for their unique and consistent expression of the vineyard sites and representation of meso climates even within a sub-region, however I can see how the Bannockburn bottle is more immediately accessible and gratifying. The 2013 is quite forward, deep, dusty, dark red fruits, wild thyme, warm earth, toasted exotic spices. Great palate weight and ripe tannins. As with many of the Felton wines, and probably representative of their terroir, I love the supple mouth feel from the heavy silts and clays of Bannockburn, underpinned by the more compact layered finish of the underlying schist, a great combination of accessibility and softness combined with focus and drive on the back. Since we do great business with Felton Road every year, we have seriously competitive pricing on this wine.
Drink from 2015 to 2015

2011 Sons of Eden "Kennedy" GSM Barossa Valley
By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 8/4/2015 | Send Email
The answer to many critics and even some winemakers who have written off the 2011 vintage in South Australia. The vintage was one of the coldest and wettest on record with weather more like Seattle than Adelaide! However Simon and Corey have crafted a wine that is a shinning representation their grape growing / wine making skills and the ability of Barossa to produce incredibly delicious wines that are fresh, vibrant and a million miles away stylistically from the jammy, sweet fruit bombs that people often associate with the region. Never ones to make over-the-top wines anyway, the cards that mother nature dealt Simon and Cory in 2011 made them focus on purity and balance over bulk and brawn. This wine has fantastic purity of fruit and lovely ripe berry flavors, bramble fruit, loganberry. It also has sweet spice, black pepper and hint of bloody steak. The wine is so supple and silky on the palate with super fine tannins and bright but soft acidity. The old vine (50+ yrs) origins of this wine show up on the finish with a lovely rocky, soil driven complexity adding yet another element to this complex wine. This has all the purity of fruit I want from Barossa with the layers and complexity I seek in Châteauneuf-du-Pape. A really great bottle I implore you to try. Phenomenal value at $19.99!
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List
JH 93 WS 91

2005 Bodegas Casa Juan Señor de Lesmos Reserva Rioja
By: Andrew Stevens | Review Date: 8/4/2015 | Send Email
This wine at this price almost seems to be a mistake. Beautiful and balanced the wine greets the nose with ripe dark fruit and hints of smoke and chocolate. The pallet is full and lush with a little tobacco spice blending into the ripe berry notes. Fine tannins complement the body and lead to an excellent lingering finish. A delicious rioja from an amazing year and at a price that allows you to drink a few.
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List
JS 92

2013 Valle dell'Acate "Il Frappato" Vittoria
By: Diana Turk | Review Date: 8/3/2015 | Send Email
I was looking for a Southern Italian wine to pair with penne arrabbiata for an al fresco dinner and this fit the bill perfectly. I'm not even going to specify summer dining since this beauty would be welcome any time of year. Light-bodied with complexity and fresh berry notes, Frappato stands up to spicy foods and strong cheeses but maintains an easy-going quality. Herbal and gorgeous slightly chilled, this dry red is interesting without overwhelming. A winner.
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List
JS 91

2013 Banshee Sonoma County Pinot Noir
By: Mahon McGrath | Review Date: 8/3/2015 | Send Email
The 2013 leads with a nose redolent of low key cherry fruit accented by earth, tar, and dark cocoa powder. The palate adds dried orange peel, pine, cranberry, strawberry-rhubarb, and cinnamon and other spices, with the earthy dimension expressing itself as baked clay. Throughout, the dusty fruit character is never over played. While the mid-palate has just a bit of heft to it, and the finish is supple and creamy, there is nothing approaching over-ripe here, and the oak keeps a low profile, which, at this price, makes this fully dimensional Pinot Noir a hard bargain to beat.
Price: $22.99 Add To Waiting List

2010 Antadze Mtsvane Republic of Georgia
By: Olivia Ragni | Review Date: 8/3/2015 | Send Email
This Mtsvane has a beautiful orange hue due to skin contact and aromas of apple cider, walnuts and dried apricots with salinity and kumquat on the palate. Yes, this is an “orange wine” and it’s perfect for warm weather and deserves food; try it with Mediterranean cuisine.
Price: $23.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 90

2014 Argyros Estate "Atlantis" White Cyclades
By: Olivia Ragni | Review Date: 8/3/2015 | Send Email
Argyros Estate is a 4th generation family owned winery and they own some of the oldest vineyards on the island. This blend bursts with orange blossom, crushed stone, tangerine and white flowers. With zippy acidity and a fuller body, this wine can be drank on its own or with or with light fare.
Price: $16.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Hatzidakis Assyrtiko Santorini
By: Olivia Ragni | Review Date: 8/3/2015 | Send Email
The Hatzidakis is 100% Assyrtiko and 100% awesome. It’s less citrus driven than some Assyrtikos can be with notes of pear, nectarine, granny smith apples, almonds and chalky minerality. Try this with grilled whole fish, simply prepared.
Price: $17.99 Add To Waiting List
W&S 90

2013 Domaine Les Poëte Quincy
By: Olivia Ragni | Review Date: 8/3/2015 | Send Email
Domaine Les Poëte is a small winery with only 6 hectares spread throughout the central vineyards of Loire. The winemaker is a chef turned sommelier turned winemaker, making a Quincy that rivals the best of Sancerre. This bottle is stellar, it had all the staff here smitten. With aromas of smoke, baked apple pie and honeysuckle, and a palate of pear, nectarine, flint and mineral-driven finish that just won’t quit. This should be your new go-to summer wine paired with fish, veggies or goat cheese.
Price: $28.99 Add To Waiting List

2014 Domaine Renaud Mâcon-Charnay
By: Kirk Walker | Review Date: 8/3/2015 | Send Email
The Renaud Macon wines are always some of the best value wines at K&L. For me the Solutre has always been my favorite, but over the last to vintages the Charnay has just shined. A little more fruit, a touch more texture, more zip and a slightly longer finish. Buy both, but if you can only have buy one, get the Charnay.
Price: $13.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Dr. Randolf Kauer Oberweseler Oelsberg Riesling Spätlese Trocken Alte Reben
By: Olivia Ragni | Review Date: 8/3/2015 | Send Email
In the upper middle Rhine valley, which is an UNESCO world heritage site, family estate Weingut Dr. Randolf Kauer farms 3.5 hectares of vines on steep slate ridden slopes. The Dr. Randolf Kauer Riesling Spatlese Trocken is truly terroir driven with aromas of lemon zest, orange blossom and pear, with a palate of tree-fruits, lemon and searing high, juicy acidity.
Price: $26.99 Add To Waiting List

2014 Lake Chalice "The Nest" Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough New Zealand
By: Kirk Walker | Review Date: 8/3/2015 | Send Email
A delicious Kiwi Sauvignon Blanc. With plenty of riper fruit notes and a touch of minerality and just a faint whiff of something herbal. A versatile everyday white.
Price: $10.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 Jacques Bavard Auxey-Duresses "Les Clous"
By: Jeff Garneau | Review Date: 8/3/2015 | Send Email
Lightly floral with hints of toasty oak. Crisp, clean and bright in expression. Citrus and stone fruit notes - lemon oil and peach pit. Delicious Chardonnay from one of the best of our direct imports. Superb value.
Price: $27.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Varner "Amphitheater Block-Spring Ridge Vineyard" Santa Cruz Mountains Chardonnay
By: Bryan Brick | Review Date: 8/3/2015 | Send Email
I’m not scared to say it, and I have many times, out loud, to real people. I think the Varner Chardonnays are some of the best, if not the best, Chardonnays made in the United States. These wines are still way under the radar to most wine fans due to their small production, out of the way location-high in the hills above Portola Valley in the Santa Cruz Mountains, and stylistic choices. But for all of us lucky enough to have tasted these wines vintage after vintage we can’t help but feel this way. The wines are just too good, with pinpoint precision, amazing complexity, and little “wine making” to get in the way of the amazing raw materials they put into each and every bottle they make. The 2013 "Amphitheater Block” stunned me with how fleshed out it was. Typically the Amphitheater is always the most strict, linear, mineral driven wine under the Varner label. However this year there is a pleasing nutty generosity to the nose and a very deep set richness on the palate that just wasn’t there in previous vintages. (The Varner’s attest this to the vineyard block maturing rather than any changes in the cellar, of which there were none.) Cashew, almond skin, dried apple and nectarine mesh on the complex and intriguing nose. Bright and citrusy on entry with layers of mineral and earth over tangerine, pomelo and lemon pith this has a subtle creaminess and fleshes out with a pretty floral bitterness at its edges.
Price: $47.99 Add To Waiting List
AG 95

2014 Domaine Renaud St-Véran
By: Christie Brunick | Review Date: 8/3/2015 | Send Email
Absolutely my top favorite of all our Direct Import Burgundy producers, because year after year, Domaine Renaud consistently over-delivers quality for the price! Which is hard to find in Burgundy, and if you're a Burgundy connoisseur you already know this! The Saint Veran is the most seamless and elegant of the bunch, with a freshness about it that the Pouilly-Fuissé lacks because of its heavier use of oak. The Saint Veran is full of flavor but not new oak. Gorgeous texture and layers of stone fruit, zesty minerality, and balanced acid that makes it perfect with food. It has the brightness of a Chablis but not the ultra tartness on the finish. It carries itself so elegantly you will fall in love, over and over again with every sip!
Price: $18.99 Add To Waiting List

San Venanzio Prosecco Valdobbiadene Superiore Brut
By: Kirk Walker | Review Date: 8/3/2015 | Send Email
Clean pear fruit backed by fairly intense minerality. There is way more wine in this bottle of bubbles than you would expect from a Prosecco at this price point.
Price: $12.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Varner "Bee Block-Spring Ridge Vineyard" Santa Cruz Mountains Chardonnay
By: Bryan Brick | Review Date: 8/3/2015 | Send Email
I’m not scared to say it, and I have many times, out loud, to real people. I think the Varner Chardonnays are some of the best, if not the best, Chardonnays made in the United States. These wines are still way under the radar to most wine fans due to their small production, out of the way location-high in the hills above Portola Valley in the Santa Cruz Mountains, and stylistic choices. But for all of us lucky enough to have tasted these wines vintage after vintage we can’t help but feel this way. The wines are just too good, with pinpoint precision, amazing complexity, and little “wine making” to get in the way of the amazing raw materials they put into each and every bottle they make. The 2013 “Bee Block,” long the favorite block of most of our local customers, is Bee Block at its finest. I don’t know if it is the suggestion of the name, or if the name came from the suggestion, but there is always a honeyed quality to this wine. Never sweet of course but more of an exotic, spiced, ripeness that the other blocks just don’t have. Build on top of that aromas of anise seed/fennel, jasmine blossoms, talc and a delicate marzipan note and this is one aromatic wine. The heftiest of the bunch this has layers of rich flavors like crème brulee, peach pit, egg custard and apricot however it never feels flat or blousy. It’s quite the contrary one the finish full of Meyer lemon, wet stone and fresh alfalfa rolls around. But never does that honey quality subside and I’m glad it doesn’t, it’s the true tell of this stunning wine.
Price: $47.99 Add To Waiting List
AG 96

2014 Domaine Dragon Côtes de Provence Rosé
By: Christie Brunick | Review Date: 8/3/2015 | Send Email
Simply the best Provencal rosé I've tasted under $15 all year! Or for the past few years for that matter. This boutique producer we just started importing delivers everything you could want in a Provence rosé and more! Gorgeous light salmon color, dry, crisp, mineral driven, subtle fruit undertones of grapefruit pitch, pomelo rind, even a touch of white nectar and strawberry seed. Super light and refreshing, perfect pool-side sipper for the long summer ahead! If you're looking for a food pairing try it with a summer salad of prosciutto, melon, and burrata! Yum!
Price: $11.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Von Strasser "Rudy" Paicines Pinot Noir
By: Dulcinea Gonzalez | Review Date: 8/3/2015 | Send Email
Here's a new super-value favorite! I love luxury on the cheap, and this is exactly what Rudy is -- totally affordable, but displaying moments of grandeur. Sourced from Paicines AVA next to the Gabilan Mountain range, this fruit benefits from the cool winds coming of the Monterey Valley. Rudy is richly aromatic and exudes the scent of pepper and fresh boysenberries. Showing layers of luscious, succulent, bright ripe black cherry/ raspberry fruit and allspice, this Pinot packs a punch with fine tannins and a lengthy finish. Delicious stuff!
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Neely "Holly's Cuvée-Spring Ridge Vineyard" Santa Cruz Mountains Chardonnay
By: Bryan Brick | Review Date: 8/3/2015 | Send Email
I’m not scared to say it, and I have many times, out loud, to real people. I think the Varner Chardonnays are some of the best, if not the best, Chardonnays made in the United States. These wines are still way under the radar to most wine fans due to their small production, out of the way location-high in the hills above Portola Valley in the Santa Cruz Mountains, and stylistic choices. But for all of us lucky enough to have tasted these wines vintage after vintage we can’t help but feel this way. The wines are just too good, with pinpoint precision, amazing complexity, and little “wine making” to get in the way of the amazing raw materials they put into each and every bottle they make. So what does that have to do with Neely you may ask? Well the Neely Chardonnays are from the same blocks, the same finished wines actually, but instead of single block expressions you get the sum of the amazing parts by blending them together. The 2013 “Holly’s Cuvee” is a wild wine, one where you can see the personality of the single blocks but you get to experience them transforming into something entirely new. The honeyed nose of Bee Block is wildly apparent on the nose but it also has the subtle nuttiness of Amphitheater. Linear and streamlined like the Home Block on the palate this is brisk and full of mouthwatering acid and tons of exotic citrus tones. It is a wine that encapsulates all that is this property, these people and the greatness of these wines. Sadly we get the least of this, comparatively speaking. But that’s OK, a little will go a long way here.
Price: $47.99 Add To Waiting List
AG 97

2011 Castello di Monsanto Chianti Classico Riserva
By: Jeff Garneau | Review Date: 8/3/2015 | Send Email
A perennial favorite here at K&L. I have enjoyed this traditional Chianti year after year. I am still enjoying the last few bottles of a case of the 2004 vintage, and recently purchased a case of the 2010 to lay down for a few years. This 2011 Castello di Monsanto Chianti Classico Riserva is a bit more "user friendly" as Guido would say. Those who prefer not to wait will love the extra ripeness the 2011 vintage has yielded. Soft & round, sweet & ripe, yet with the bright red fruits and spice notes one usually associates with this most traditional of Chiantis. Classic Sangiovese. Superb value.

2014 Zudugarai "Amats" Rosé Getariako Txakolina
By: Andrew Stevens | Review Date: 8/3/2015 | Send Email
My first experience with a Txakolina Rose and I am a huge fan. It's ight and crisp, with fantastic minerality, and a little effervescence makes this rosé perfect for long summer afternoons. There exists a lovely elegance to this wine and an almost floral finish. I have read that this Txakolina is consumed like water where this is from and I can readily believe it. I find myself looking for more reasons to have people over so I can bring home a couple bottles of this.
Price: $12.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Pinot Noir Marlborough
By: Andrew Stevens | Review Date: 8/3/2015 | Send Email
More and more I appreciate New Zealand Pinot Noir and this one is one of the best. Ripe berry immediately captures the palate with tastes of cherry and raspberry. The body holds wonderful weight and just the right amount of light woody ending. Everything about this Pinot works and the finish leaves you wanting more.

2014 Eric Cottat Sancerre
By: Andrew Stevens | Review Date: 8/3/2015 | Send Email
This is one of our top Sancerre and upon tasting the reason becomes abundantly evident. This 100% Sav Blanc that we import directly is perfectly balanced and delightfully drinkable. The body is round and and clean with hints of lemon and melon. Acid drives the wine forward without ever overwhelming the palate, finishing dry and delectable. This Sancerre is light enough for the afternoon, weighty enough for dinner, and tasty enough for the close of day.
Price: $18.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 Tormaresca "Neprica" Puglia
By: Ivan Diaz | Review Date: 8/3/2015 | Send Email
I've been drinking this value-priced stunner consistently for the last 8 vintages or so. It is one of the most reliable and affordable bottles I've come across in my ten years in the wine business, showing a deep, rich fruit profile supported by spice and a hearty structure. This is extremely versatile with food, but also an impossibly easy sipper on its own.
Price: $9.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Pascual Toso Malbec Maipú
By: Andrew Stevens | Review Date: 8/3/2015 | Send Email
Before moving to the Bay Area and finding a wonderful home with K&L this Malbec was my go-to red wine. Whatever I was making for dinner, whether or not company was coming over, it did not matter this wine was on hand. Wonderful hints of cherry and plum are balanced by the touches of cocoa and licorice. There is a perfect blend of dark fruit, spice, and soft tannins in this wine to make it go with practically everything. The best thing about this wine is how well it drinks, but the second best is the price you get it for. After you finish a bottle you do not feel guilty opening another.
Price: $11.99 Add To Waiting List
JS 90

2013 Pascual Toso Malbec Maipú
By: Ivan Diaz | Review Date: 8/3/2015 | Send Email
Pascual Toso's estate was one of the more picturesque properties I saw while visiting Mendoza in early 2012. Luckily, the quality of the wine is able to match the beautiful aesthetic of the landscape, and at a super-affordable price point. Dark, plumy fruit gains richness from the gentle oak spice, warm cocoa, and vanilla tones, while the acidity helps avoid a sappiness common to many inferior Malbecs. This will stand up to your rib-eye perfectly, but with its velvety mouthfeel and sweet tannins, it is also perfect on its own for your after-work wind-down.
Price: $11.99 Add To Waiting List
JS 90

2011 Relyea-Wood "Camalie Vineyard" Mount Veeder Cabernet Sauvignon
By: Dave Genevro | Review Date: 8/3/2015 | Send Email
Who knew?...Mt. Veeder fruit with this quality, at this price?! This team in the Santa Cruz Mtn. AVA sources this delicious fruit, and offer us all a brilliantly made wine. At 12.3 % ABV, this is not a heavy bomb per say but a well made, balanced wine. With the present fruit, leaves, a little earth and dirt, the acidity is on point, it ends with a great finish on the palate with it's streamlined tannin structure. This is a whole lot of wine at this price-maybe even one of the best deals in the store right now for a Napa Cab. Enjoy once and you'll want more and more!
Top Value!
Price: $15.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 Amici Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
By: Daniel Maas | Review Date: 8/3/2015 | Send Email
If you’re like me, you like things BIG! Monumental! Thunderous! Explosive! Each of these words perfectly describe the experience that lies before you as you contemplate opening a bottle of this Napa wine. Named for the friends who, together, began making wine in the heart of Calistoga, their 2012 bottling is their best yet, bringing forth the best of what those aforementioned adjectives promise. A long-lasting onslaught of black-fruit-driven character, a boisterous use of oak-produced creaminess, and just enough acid and tannin to ensure a clear structure and the ability for this to age quite well. Forget Caymus; Forget Silver Oak; Remember AMICI! If it is not abundantly clear by now, I’ll restate my feeling in more simple terms. I PASSIONATELY LOVE THIS WINE!!!!!!!
Price: $43.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 Tormaresca "Neprica" Puglia
By: Daniel Maas | Review Date: 8/3/2015 | Send Email
In one of my all-time favorite films, DIRTY HARRY CALLAHAN famously states to a near-arrested baddie, “I know what you’re thinking. Did he fire six shots or only five?” I share in his suspect’s confusion. Not in terms of how many bullets were fired, no. The mystery running through my head is a less mathematical one, and one more suited to our setting here today: How can a wine priced so low, be quite so delicious? While coming in at less than ten dollars thanks to our direct import program, The 2012 Tormaresca NEPRICA bottling, a blend of Negro-amaro, Primitivo, and Cabernet is one of the most immensely versatile wines I’ve had in quite awhile. Here we have something for everyone: Enough fruit and oak to please the “new-worlders”; The acid and structure for us “Italy-philes”, and the smooth drinkability (and price) to please all of you “hosts-with-the-mosts” (It’s the perfect party wine). Folks, this is a case-buy if I’ve ever seen one, so make sure you get yours before I buy it all up myself!
Price: $9.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Cave de Rasteau "Dame Victoria" Rasteau
By: Daniel Maas | Review Date: 8/3/2015 | Send Email
It was almost nine fun-filled months ago when I started here at glorious K&L, and it was not long before I began falling in love with several of the stunning wines we are able to bring to you for next to nothing through out direct import program. One of the first, however, to capture my attention was this gorgeous Rhone blend from Rasteau, the newest area of the Southern Valley to be designated as its own AOC. Full of raspberry and cherry, this is a medium-bodied wine with sweet-soft tannins and immense drinkability that makes it perfect for your summer nights!
Price: $13.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Secoli Valpolicella Ripasso
By: Daniel Maas | Review Date: 8/3/2015 | Send Email
What a treat this is! For anyone who loves full-bodied, rich wines but are sick of more Zinfandel, here we go! Best described as "baby Amarone," this blend is intricately layered with plum, creamy vanilla, and spices. Blended from Corvina, Rondinella, and Mollinara, this takes creative winemaking to a new level, this offers all the best of both Amarone and Valpolicella, while maintaining that unbeatable price tag. Fire up those grills and kill those pigs... It's ripasso time!
Price: Hidden View Price

2013 Martin Ray Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
By: Daniel Maas | Review Date: 8/3/2015 | Send Email
Cabernet Sauvignon has long been one of the most widely drunk red wine varietals globally, and the staple of California wine. Here, we find out why. From longtime and well-respected producer Martin Ray, this is what classic Napa Cab is all about. A full body without venturing into chewy territory, intricate layers of black fruit, mocha, vanilla, and a surprising eucalyptus essence makes this insanely complex for the price. Easily one of my favorite wines in the store!
Price: $24.99 Add To Waiting List

2005 Bodegas Casa Juan Señor de Lesmos Reserva Rioja
By: Dulcinea Gonzalez | Review Date: 8/3/2015 | Send Email
Rioja fans take note! When "wine geeks" say that great bargains can be found in Spanish wines, this is exactly what they are taking about. At 20 bucks, you'll get a delicious example of a reserva from the excellent 2005 vintage! The wine is the color of deep maroon and radiates the scent of cherry soda and sandalwood. On the palate, the flavors are more restrained, with notes of dark fruit reminiscent of fig and plum. Slightly peppered with clove and hints of tobacco, the body is medium, silky, and round with just enough fine tannin to keep everything delicately in balance. This is super drinkable tonight, and definitely worth putting a few bottles in your cellar for years to come. Super recommended!
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List
JS 92

2014 Rocca di Montegrossi Rosato
By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 8/3/2015 | Send Email
The bright cherry fruit in the nose of this wine is superb. On the palate you see the Sangiovese's acidity give a great center to the wine but it is supple, approachable and makes you want to drink it right away, maybe even gulp it, it's really tasty. Enough palate weight not to scare off California rosé lovers, but far more elegant!
Drink from 2015 to 2015
Price: $15.95 Add To Waiting List
AG 90

2014 Domaine Begude Pinot Noir Rosé IGP Pays d'Oc
By: Jim Boyce | Review Date: 8/3/2015 | Send Email
The Begude Pinot Noir Rosé is a top rosé every summer, and the 2014 vintage does not disappoint! Wild strawberry and cherry shine through from the Pinot Noir, with refreshing acidity and a bone-dry finish.
Price: $12.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 Villa Symposia "Equilibre" Languedoc Rouge
By: Mari Keilman | Review Date: 8/3/2015 | Send Email
Whenever the Chateau Montfaucon Cotes du Rhone runs out there's always a mad dash to find a replacement and Keith hit the ball out of the park with this amazing Languedoc red! Loaded with tons of black cherry, dark chocolate and warm baking spices, this organic southern French red is a true crowd-pleaser!
Price: $15.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 90 - 92

2013 Banshee Sonoma County Pinot Noir
By: Christie Brunick | Review Date: 8/3/2015 | Send Email
Every year Banshee wines seem to get better and better. They are getting more recognized and more popular, which means they are getting better picks and vineyard sources than they used to. The fruit quality in the 2013 is above and beyond what I've experienced in the past! Not only was 2013 an even better vintage than 2012 in Sonoma, the winemakers and vineyard managers all love the '13s for their elegance, power, and purity of fruit. Classic in color and flavor, with a medium-dark purple/red tone and flavors that portrays sweet summer Bing cherries, wildflowers, summer wild berry fields, quenching acidity, and an absolutely stunning texture that's silky and polished. This is California Pinot at its best!
Price: $22.99 Add To Waiting List

2014 Alloy Wine Works "Tin City" Central Coast Grenache Rosé (500ml Can)
By: Sarah Covey | Review Date: 8/3/2015 | Send Email
3/4 of a bottle of rosé in a can for this price? Are you bonkers? Nope! It's the latest thing--get on the bus! 3 glasses in this can make it the perfect thing to bring along to share with a friend on a picnic, hike, at the beach or the pool. Or, splash out and take one down yourself! Pretty strawberry, peach and watermelon with vibrant acidity and total drinkability. It's summer--enjoy it! But watch out--the staff might buy it all first!
Top Value!
Price: $6.99 Add To Waiting List

2014 Clos Cibonne Tibouren "Cuvée Speciale" Côtes de Provence Rouge
By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 8/3/2015 | Send Email
Geek Alert! What is Tibouren and why should you care? Basically it is an heirloom variety grown in Provence. It's not particularly easy to work with like Grenache and Syrah so many producers have shied away from using it. Our friends at Clos Cibonne have made amazing roses that are Tibouren based and are some of the most ageworthy in the region. They sell out quickly each year. For the second time ever, we have the Rouge and what a treat! It is loaded with notes of white and pink peppercorns. Brush floral notes and red fruit dominate the palate. There is a fresh tilled earthiness as well. Great acidity and more weight on the palate than you would expect. Really special wine for you adventuresome drinkers out there.
Price: $24.99 Add To Waiting List

2000 Arran 15 Year Old K&L Exclusive Single Sherry Cask Single Malt Whisky 750ml
By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 8/3/2015 | Send Email
We are super lucky here at K&L...we get to taste / drink a ton of great booze. We sip Glen Ellen 30, single casks of Glenfarclas from the '60s and Johnnie's George V...but if I'm completely honest with you, several of the most impressive bottles I have tasted in my time at K&L have come from Arran. I don't know what it is about these whiskies but they just resonates with me. They seem to have such great concentration of flavor, richness, texture and length. The malts have freshness, spicy, honeyed yellow fruits, toasted grains, lovely sherry derived cake spices and rancio tones. It's rich, supple and satisfying but also refined and graceful. Pretty magic stuff at any price point, and at this price...crazy good. If you've skipped over Arran before for its more famous Islay neighbors, you should really give this a try.
Price: $129.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Buchegger Gebling Riesling Kremstal
By: Olivia Ragni | Review Date: 8/3/2015 | Send Email
Weingut Buchegger makes dry, stainless steel-aged Rieslings with a natural approach to farming their 10 hectares, with no pesticides or herbicides. Their Gebling Riesling shows aromas of chalk, wet stone and white flowers, while the palate has flavors of nectarine and peach and a wonderful piquant and mouthwatering acidity.
Price: $21.99 Add To Waiting List

2010 Val di Suga Brunello di Montalcino
By: Kirk Walker | Review Date: 8/3/2015 | Send Email
2010 Brunello for dinner tonight! You have been reading/hearing the hype about the vintage, now try some guilt-free. It showcases everything you would want from a Brunello, dark rich fruit, earth, spice and big ripe tannins. Yes you can, and maybe you should, put some in your cellar but it is so good now....
Price: $37.89 Add To Waiting List
RP 93 JS 92

2013 Varner "Home Block-Spring Ridge Vineyard" Santa Cruz Mountains Chardonnay
By: Bryan Brick | Review Date: 8/3/2015 | Send Email
I’m not scared to say it, and I have many times, out loud, to real people. I think the Varner Chardonnays are some of the best, if not the best, Chardonnays made in the United States. These wines are still way under the radar to most wine fans due to their small production, out of the way location high in the hills above Portola Valley in the Santa Cruz Mountains, and stylistic choices. But for all of us lucky enough to have tasted these wines vintage after vintage we can’t help but feel this way. The wines are just too good, with pinpoint precision, amazing complexity, and little “wine making” to get in the way of the amazing raw materials they put into each and every bottle they make. My favorite of the bunch, and certainly a wine worth lying down, is the 2013 Home Block. This wine is not some much about its aromas or flavors, which are all certainly wonderful (chalk, granite, Asian pear, kumquat, saline) but about its intensity and tension. Structure is always hard to write about in wine, and rarely done in white wines, but this wine is all about its frame. The way its parts build on one another to create a wall of flavor, an experience of everything at once yet remaining streamlined and delineated. I’d love to taste this wine in 5, 10 and 15 years to see the life it lives.
Price: $47.99 Add To Waiting List
AG 96

2010 Sapaio Bolgheri Superiore
By: Jeff Garneau | Review Date: 8/3/2015 | Send Email
One of the great values for Super Tuscan fans, comparable to more famous names costing many hundreds of dollars per bottle. If you are going to buy one vintage to add to the cellar this 2010 is it! A finely crafted Bordeaux blend that's built to age. Outstanding Cabernet character, ripe yet restrained, with formidable tannins. Needs another 5 years minimum but will more than repay any additional investment of time you care to make.

2014 Clos Cibonne Tibouren "Cuvée Speciale" Côtes de Provence Rouge
By: Diana Turk | Review Date: 8/3/2015 | Send Email
This interesting Tibouren is a unique wine that still goes down easy. Herbal nose with fresh berry, almost cherry, notes and a beautiful deep ruby color. Szechuan and white pepper, some iron, and earthiness show up on the palate while still delivering beautiful fruit. Woodsy finish and medium body with tannins that sneak up on you. Get this beauty while you can.
Price: $24.99 Add To Waiting List

2014 Les Roches Sauvignon Touraine
By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 8/3/2015 | Send Email
Nice and zippy, with aromatics that remind me of a softer New Zealand Sauvignon Blanc, with lots of elegance. Perfect for appetizers, salads, outdoor events and parties.
Price: $9.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 Faust Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
By: Dave Genevro | Review Date: 8/3/2015 | Send Email
The Faust 2012 Cab from Coombsville and the Rutherford AVA is drinking very well right now. The makers of Quintessa sure do offer us Cabernet lovers a more approachably priced and made wine to either enjoy now or cellar for up to ten years with ease. Dark crimson to fire engine siren red (in the sun) in color, with cedar planks and wood chips on the nose with all that fresh blackberry. It has all those lush dark berries and cassis. With tobacco leaves and a bit of green bell pepper at times. The tannin structure was present, but well integrated considering the wood influence the wine goes through. The finish was mouthwatering--I wanted another and another.
Price: $44.99 Add To Waiting List
JS 93 RP 90

2013 Weiser-Künstler Estate Riesling (Feinherb)
By: Andrew Whiteley | Review Date: 8/3/2015 | Send Email
Beautifully perfumed and nicely sweet, this Feinherb from Weiser-Kunstler is just a touch effervescent and extraordinarily lively. The bright acid belies the sweetness and the two seem to come and go independently making for a fascinating and delightful drinking experience. Low in alcohol and high in refreshment, this wine is perfect as an aperitif or to round out your next spicy meal needing a touch of sweetness and acid to cut the heat.
Price: $21.99 Add To Waiting List

Page: 1 2 3 next >>