Staff Favorites

If you’re going to have Robert Parker or Stephen Tanzer over for dinner, selecting a wine they’ve rated highly will be a nice choice. However, when you’re buying wines for yourself, we’d love to see you find wines that match up your unique palate and pocketbook. We have a large staff of friendly and knowledgeable wine professionals that taste hundreds of wines each week. They can put you in touch with bottles that you are likely to love, often at a much lower cost than the highly-rated gems that often see a run-up in price and frequent availability issues. Like any great group of opinionated professionals, our staff has varied tastes themselves. Often our customers will find a particular staff member with a style that corresponds to their own. That concept works extremely well in our retail stores, and this section is our effort to bring you the same online. Don’t get us wrong, we love the highly rated wines from the press and will continue to offer them, but we think you’re missing out if you’re not augmenting those selections with picks from our excellent staff. Here are their favorites. (Click on a name to see their other selections - or to drop them a line.) Cheers!

Reviews

  
Page: 1 2 3 next >>
2014 Sobon Estate "Rocky Top" Amador County Zinfandel
By: Anthony Gittings | Review Date: 2/27/2017 | Send Email
I have always enjoyed the Rocky Top Zinfandel and this vintage is no exception. A rich and structured wine with ample amounts of rich blackberry and cherry fruit. Hints of spices, menthol and earthiness offer complexity and help round out the wine.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

2015 Kistler Sonoma Mountain Chardonnay
By: Anthony Gittings | Review Date: 2/27/2017 | Send Email
Kistler wines are synonymous with high quality wine. This is one of Sonoma's premier wineries and I am proud we carry this Chardonnay. Sourced from the family's mountain vineyards, this wine delivers a unique Burgundian style. Juicy lemon and honey are well integrated with a rich creamy, almost meringue texture. A long clean finish polishes off this outstanding wine. I highly recommend this to anyone who is a Chardonnay lover!
Price: $64.99 Add To Cart

2014 Foley "Rancho Santa Rosa" Sta. Rita Hills Chardonnay
By: Anthony Gittings | Review Date: 2/27/2017 | Send Email
This was the first time I tried this wine and I was impressed enough to write a review. A delicate and fresh nose, full of lemons and pears. The lemon translates to palate, but enhanced with honeysuckle, and butter. This is classic California style Chardonnay for an extremely fair price.
Price: $22.99 Add To Cart
WE 93 W&S 91

2015 Domaine des Remizières "Cuvée Christophe" Crozes-Hermitage Blanc
By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 2/27/2017 | Send Email
Outstanding wine with an impressive orange, honey and white flowers aromatics, followed by a very complex palate. Wood spices, cloves, orange blossoms and even cinnamon, with a thick texture, but all in balance. It drinks like a wine at least twice its price.
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart

2013 Domaine de l'Espigouette Vacqueyras
By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 2/27/2017 | Send Email
A Vacqueyras that's light on its feet, with pretty floral aromatics, with a tinge of herbs, along with a delicious palate showing plums, and strawberry and white pepper. This is an incredibly well made wine, that is a delight to drink now, but will age beautifully as well.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
RP 89 - 91

2015 Clos de la Bonnette Syrah Vieilles Vignes Collines Rhodannienes
By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 2/27/2017 | Send Email
A very classic Northern Rhône Syrah with its characteristic violets and meat aromatics, along with blood orange and white pepper. Very good wine to pair with all kinds of stews and Indian food as well.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2014 La Jasse Castel "Bleu Velours" Languedoc-Montpeyroux
By: Jeffrey Jones | Review Date: 2/27/2017 | Send Email
A stand out at a recent staff tasting.Beautiful aromas lead to a wine that has nice balanced fruit with mineral undertones that well work together. It is seductive with delicious dark fruit flavors that seem to get better with each sip.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2014 La Jasse Castel "El Abanico" Pays l'Herault Blanc
By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 2/27/2017 | Send Email
I have to say all the wines from La Jasse Castel were remarkable. The Albanico, despite its cépages, reminded me of a grand Burgundy! That's crazy, right? But it did. Beautiful aromatics that combine Pierre à fusil and caramel, and a palate that is perfectly woodsy and yet refreshing. This is an exceptional wine.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2014 Husch Anderson Valley Pinot Noir
By: Anthony Gittings | Review Date: 2/27/2017 | Send Email
Founded in 1971, Husch Vineyards is the oldest winery in Anderson Valley. The current Pinot Noir offering is outstanding. Lush dark berries and a beautiful bouquet of rose petals are balanced with soft integrated wood, and bright cherries on the palate. This Pinot Noir embodies the region and it's tradition.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
WE 92

2014 Te Mata "Awatea" Bordeaux Blend Hawkes Bay
By: Jeffrey Jones | Review Date: 2/27/2017 | Send Email
An excellent Bordeaux style bland from New Zealand. It is full bodied with layers of flavors, offering dark fruit with mineral undertones wrapped in a balanced and structure package. It has a touch more fruit than most wines from Bordeaux and will go well with hearty foods.

2014 Husch Anderson Valley Pinot Noir
By: Andrew Stevens | Review Date: 2/27/2017 | Send Email
This is a very tasty bottle of PN from one of the oldest wineries in the area. Bright red fruit with wild cherry and sweet raspberry notes dance on the acid core that drives this wine. A little herbal and spice on the finish along with very soft tannins help round the wine out and bring about a nice finish. Easy to drink at an easy price point this is worth a bottle or two.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
WE 92

2014 La Jasse Castel "Bleu Velours" Languedoc-Montpeyroux
By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 2/27/2017 | Send Email
Another outstanding wine from this certified organic producer. The Bleu Velours (blue velvet) delivers an elegant floral aromatics, with blackberries, and black pepper. The tannins are indeed very velvety-like which makes this wine a pleasure to drink on its own but I'm thinking about pairing it with a vegetarian/vegan dinner party coming up...
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2014 La Jasse Castel "La Pimpanela" Terrasses du Larzac
By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 2/27/2017 | Send Email
This certified organic wine (and Producer) delivers a wine that is floral and pretty on the nose, and a palate full of cherries and wild berries. Complex and never heavy, it would work very well with charcuterie, lighter cheeses, and sandwiches.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2014 Artezin "Old Vine" Mendocino County Zinfandel
By: Anthony Gittings | Review Date: 2/27/2017 | Send Email
This might be one of the best Zinfandel's we have for under $15. Ample amounts of plum and fig fill this full bodied red. Hints of cedar, blackberries, and licorice round it out, while the juicy acid makes it bright and vibrant.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
WE 92 VN 91

2015 Kistler Sonoma Mountain Chardonnay
By: Andrew Stevens | Review Date: 2/27/2017 | Send Email
This is the perfect entry into one of the most recognizable Chardonnay producers of California, giving you a lovely overview of why Kistler is so highly rated. Made from a cuvee of all of the terroir Kistler works with, this is the overview wine that allows people to glimpse what this winery has to offer. Rich fruit on the nose gives a hint to the power and focus of this wine. Lots of stone fruit, with little hints of tropical lushness and wet rock are carried forward on a core of acid the leads to a long finish. Well balanced and very clean despite being a big wine in some ways.
Price: $64.99 Add To Cart

2010 Antech "Grande Cuvée Oublié" Cremant de Limoux
By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 2/27/2017 | Send Email
This Antech is their Tête de Cuvée for sure. The aromatics are more reminiscent of a bottle of Champagne, and the rich, creamy palate shows a lot of elegance. It is richer, and more complex than the Eugenie, and yet still retains a delicate mouthfeel. I was delighted to try the Oublié.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2013 Helen's Hill Winery "Range View Reserve - Pommard Clone" Pinot Noir Yarra Valley Victoria
By: David Driscoll | Review Date: 2/27/2017 | Send Email
Tasting the 2013 "Range View" at the winery was revelatory because the Pommard clone tasted like actual Burgundian Pommard with blackberry fruit, dusty tannins, and a darker, more brooding profile. I was speechless, to say the least. Not only did the wines show beautifully, they matched exactly the descriptions that Allan had provided earlier in the vineyards based on the clone being used, the growing conditions, and the microclimates in each site. In the case of Helen's Hill, not only are they following the philosophies of Burgundy, they're actually achieving the same results, yet in a much more approachable style that drinks well right out of the bottle.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
JH 96

2013 Helen's Hill Estate "Old Block Reserve - MV6 Clone" Pinot Noir
By: David Driscoll | Review Date: 2/27/2017 | Send Email
I was lucky enough to visit Helen's Hill this past February on my trip to Australia and I was absolutely blown away by the operation and the incredible commitment to quality in the vineyards there. Tasting the 2013 Helen's Hill "Old Block Reserve" with Allan back at the winery was a memorable experience because I have to admit—I thought he may have been pulling my leg by doing a little switcharoo with a bottle of Burgundy. I couldn't believe how Burgundian the wine tasted. It wasn't the bright or juicy style of pinot noir I had been tasting throughout my other appointments in the Yarra. It tasted much more like Volnay with subdued fruit, hints of earth and forest floor, with grittier tannins on the finish. I honestly couldn't believe it was Australian—not because I didn't think Australian pinot noir could be that delicious, but because I didn't think these types of wines existed outside the Côte d'Or.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
JH 96

2015 Powell & Son Riesling Eden Valley South Australia
By: Sharon Kelly | Review Date: 2/27/2017 | Send Email
This is wonderfully aromatic with plenty of white flowers and fresh lemon in the nose. It's a dry, lean style that has abundant lime zest, lemon, crushed stone and zingy acidity however it's more round than taut across the mid palate. The result is a deliciously fresh and easy, perfect for day drinking wine. Didn't know such gems could be found in Australia? Now you do.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
RP 92

2015 Helen's Hill Winery "Ingram's Road" Pinot Noir Yarra Valley Victoria
By: David Driscoll | Review Date: 2/27/2017 | Send Email
I've seen great pinots from the southern hemisphere for under twenty bucks over the last year, but not estate-grown pinot noirs. The fruit at Helen's Hill is meticulously cared for by Allan Halder, a guy who is as passionate about viticulture as anyone I've ever met. The Ingram pinot is not only full of pure pinot flavor, it's fresh and lively on the palate in a way that I wish more Bourgogne rouge value options were. If you're looking for that great bottle of village level Burgundy but don't feel like spending $20+ for an unknown, this is as close to a sure thing as I've ever seen at K&L. I'm thrilled to be working directly with Helen's Hill and I think were on the verge of something very big with this initial release.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
JH 94

2014 Powell & Son "Loechel Vineyard" Shiraz Eden Valley South Australia
By: Sharon Kelly | Review Date: 2/27/2017 | Send Email
Do not assume that this old vine, single vineyard Shiraz is your typical bruiser from Australia. Yes, it is full-bodied but definitely not heavy. It packs a solid punch in the flavor department, with plenty of dark fruits like plum and blueberry, and lovely notes of sweet spices and dark chocolate. There's complexity, vibrancy, fine tannins and solid acidity that supports. This is a decadent wine that showcases what good fruit and solid winemaking can produce.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart
RP 97

2011 Sesta di Sopra Brunello di Montalcino
By: Andrew Stevens | Review Date: 2/27/2017 | Send Email
This is one of my all time favorite producers from this region and I always think one of the best deals in Brunello (or Rosso for that matter) in the store. Due to both the location and the winemakers style this Brunello almost always eschews power for grace and elegance. Not that this is a weak wine by any stretch, but rather it has focus, drive, and lots of complexity. These are the bottles that can be enjoyed now, are well worth stocking away in the cellar and opening in a few years.

2015 Boekenhoutskloof "The Wolftrap" Red Blend Western Cape
By: Mahon McGrath | Review Date: 2/26/2017 | Send Email
This Rhone style red blend delivers! The nose gives up cherry and baked earth, with a floral, peppery edge. The palate boasts vibrant fruit, which gets a little hint of eucalyptus, along with a medium body, bright acidity and chalky, low-key tannins. Easily one of our best reds under ten bucks.
Price: $8.99 Add To Cart

2009 Peyrabon, Haut-Médoc
By: Jeff Garneau | Review Date: 2/25/2017 | Send Email
Delighted to see that the 2009 Peyrabon, Haut-Médoc is now back in stock. Bordeaux veterans will recall this Haut-Médoc bargain is happily situated on the border with Pauillac near Château Bernadotte. The strength of the exceptional '09 vintage really shines through here. The wine is remarkably fresh, with textbook blackberry and cassis notes and fine tannins. While it may be difficult to resist drinking this wine immediately, it will only continue to improve over the next 3 to 5 years.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

Le Brun de Neuville "Authentique Assemblage" Brut Champagne
By: Jeff Garneau | Review Date: 2/25/2017 | Send Email
La Maison Le Brun de Neuville is one of the top producers in the Côte de Sézanne. This lesser known region of Champagne is sometimes dismissed as merely a southward extension of the Côte des Blancs, but to do so is to ignore the unique character and exceptional quality of these wines. The Le Brun de Neuville Authentique Assemblage is aged under cork for five years, a practice that requires manual disgorgement using a centuries old technique. The result is Champagne that is rich in style with an ultra-fine bead, opulent yet focused, creamy in texture yet very fresh and lively. Rarely available in the US. Don’t miss your chance to sample the best of this remarkable region.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WE 90 WS 90

2014 Domaine des Niales Rhedon-Marin Vieilles Vignes Mâcon-Villages
By: Jeff Garneau | Review Date: 2/25/2017 | Send Email
This spectacular 2014 Domaine Des Niales Rhedon Marin Vieilles Vignes Macon Villages is our eleventh vintage of this classic Maconnais white and certainly as good if not better than the 2010 and 2008. On point minerality with a hint of earth. Round in texture with notes of citrus and orchard fruit. Remarkable typicity overall. And our direct import pricing means this is a Chardonnay you can enjoy any night of the week.
Top Value!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2010 Vega Sicilia "Valbuena" Ribera del Duero
By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 2/25/2017 | Send Email
If Vega Sicilia, THE original Spanish collectible wine, can be compared to Latour for its power, elegance, and ability to age with the world's best wines, then Valbuena would be Les Forts de Latour. At less than half the cost, though, and with a similar track record for ageing, Valbuena is a bargain. To further illustrate this, we lucked across some 1987 Valbuena several years ago that was showing phenomenally well at 25 years of age. 2010, a terrific Ribera del Duero vintage, lent its power, acid structure, and delicious dark fruit to Valbuena. It should be one for the ages, and definitely something worthy of representation in any fine wine collection.
Price: $119.99 Add To Cart
RP 96 VN 95

2015 Felton Road "Bannockburn" Pinot Noir Central Otago (Biodynamic)
By: Kirk Walker | Review Date: 2/25/2017 | Send Email
While this is a blend of most of their "single" vineyard site it shouldn't be over looked. This does what all great blends should do; express the sum of the individual components. It has an expressive forward element like the Cornish and with more of the drive that the Calvert offers. It also expresses a spice element not found in either. The nose is cherry, raspberry and Central Otago spice. It is medium bodied with soft but moderate tannins. Great fruit with a hint of cola spice and a savory edge to the finish. Not a wine to be overlooked.

Le Brun de Neuville "Authentique Assemblage" Brut Champagne
By: Muriel Sarik | Review Date: 2/24/2017 | Send Email
We have so many wonderful Champagnes to choose from, that when one stands out I just have to tell everyone about it. The first word that comes to mind when I think of this Champagne is "balance," where all the components are in the right places. This is evolution in a flute. On the nose, the freshness is bright and lovely. It gains some weight after the second sip and becomes creamy on the mid-palate, due to 5 years aging on the lees. Then it has an extra long, intense finish, with a slightly tart aftertaste—as one gets from eating tropical fruit.
Top Value!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WE 90 WS 90

2013 Super Substance "Stoneridge Vineyard" Columbia Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
By: Anthony Gittings | Review Date: 2/24/2017 | Send Email
This is rich and powerful Cabernet Sauvignon. Blackberries, licorice, and cherry notes give way to a full bodied structured wine. Soft tannin and juicy acid are well balanced and integrated. A flinty dry finish helps polish off this outstanding wine.

2014 Mignanelli Central Coast Pinot Noir
By: Andrew Stevens | Review Date: 2/24/2017 | Send Email
Finding good Central Coast Pinot for $20 should be a daunting task, yet our buyer keeps managing to make this happen time and time again. The Mignanelli Central Coast Pinot opens with a touch of savory notes on the nose in addition to the ripe berry notes. There is a lovely core of acid here that balances the wine and helps to keep the ripe red berry notes from being cloying. The finish is rather soft with just a hint of coating tannins, this wine is well worth getting in to.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

Le Brun de Neuville "Authentique Assemblage" Brut Champagne
By: Stephanie Vidales | Review Date: 2/24/2017 | Send Email
The Authentique Assemblage from Le Brun De Neuville definitely drinks well above its price. Aged 5 years on the lees, this wine expresses baked apple spice and nutty flavors with fresh acidity resulting in a very well-balanced, delicious bottle of bubbles. For champagne that is made with all estate fruit and lees aging, you can't go wrong for 35 bucks.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WE 90 WS 90

2013 Garlider Grüner Veltliner Alto Adige-Südtirol
By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 2/24/2017 | Send Email
Christian Kerschbaumer’s Garlider Estate is in Feldthurns,in the Isarco river valley. He is a “Biologic” producer. It is a natural process and he wants the vines and the soil to do the talking. In his wines you really can feel the sun shining on the vines, and the stones giving a distinct character. This Grüner Veltliner is amazing. The aromas burst from the glass, full of white pepper and hints of alpine flowers. On the palate the wine has a density and weight, and supple richness that warms your mouth. The finish is stunning, powerful and long. This wine can easily age another six to eight years but it is so tasty now it’s hard to imagine waiting. Grüner Veltliner is one of the most versatile wines. It can accompany fish, poultry, pasta, pork or veal. This wine has a vino-lock, a glass plug in the end, my favorite closure. Don’t use a corkscrew!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$17.99

2014 Les Vignerons de Fontès "Prieuré Saint-Hippolyte" Languedoc Rouge
By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 2/24/2017 | Send Email
This small, relatively unknown area of the Languedoc is mostly known for Rosé. Ninety-five percent of the wine made in Fontès is Rosé. If some of the best Rosé comes from this area’s Grenache, Syrah, Mourvèdre or Cinsault (all Rhône varietals) then it stands to reason that those grapes must also provide the raw material to make pretty damn good red wine. That is exactly what the people at Prieuré Saint Hippolyte knew. We have absolutely loved their rosé—it has been our biggest selling rosé for the last few years—and this red is equally good. The 2014 Prieuré Saint Hippolyte Languedoc Rouge is a blend of 75% Syrah and 25% Grenache with aromas of freshly picked blackberries, wild black plums and spicy black pepper notes. The palate is a nice medley of blackberry, plum, and Asian spice notes all framed against supple tannins and racy acidity. There is a touch of minerality on the palate. The finish is smooth and lingering with a nice snap on the end. I think this 2014 is a step ahead of the 2013. Pair this with lamb, pork or a nice flank steak fresh from the grill.
Price: Hidden View Price

Le Brun de Neuville "Authentique Assemblage" Brut Champagne
By: Scott Beckerley | Review Date: 2/24/2017 | Send Email
Lovely lemon meringue nose with baked apples and caramel. Initially, a note of bright acidity in the mouth that segues into toasted nuts, ripe apples, yellow pears and butterscotch. The initial acidity brightens things up a bit and it finishes fleshy and rich and creamy. A great bargain at 35 dollars! Stand well alone or will work well with many main course dishes.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WE 90 WS 90

2014 Domaine Dauliac Cahors
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 2/24/2017 | Send Email
This is an earthy, lilac scented wine with crunchy black current fruit, dark cocoa and talc-like tannins on the crisp finish. The dark middle is sleekly textured and graceful in this food friendly and palate refreshing bottle.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2014 Tour St-Christophe, St-Émilion
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 2/24/2017 | Send Email
This modern and delicious Bordeaux has a plush and velvety texture with fine, ripe tannins holding everything together on the finish. The entry is toasty and earthy with a vanilla tinged blueberry and blackberry middle of sweet and layered fruit. So easy to drink that you wont have to wait. This property is doing great things.

Michel Arnould "Reserve" Brut Verzenay Champagne
By: Mahon McGrath | Review Date: 2/24/2017 | Send Email
Exceedingly well composed, the tension between the palate’s richness and the countervailing tug of acidity is judged just right. Flavor-wise, there’s some nuttiness, white berry, and waxy fruit, with a wee hint of bolete in back of it all. Texturally, it is quite fine: this is the complete package. My only nit to pick here is the under-the -radar label, but don’t let that deter you from the superlative Champagne underneath it.
Price: $32.99 Add To Cart

2015 Felton Road "Calvert" Pinot Noir Central Otago (Biodynamic)
By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 2/24/2017 | Send Email
Another deep, dense, brooding Calvert bottling. This wine never really show it's true predigre on release but it's already looking pretty good. Like many great wines of the world as the minutes, hours, days, years tick on by the wine evolves, shape-shifts and continues to amaze. Whilst not having the immediate appeal the Cornish Point always seems to have...if you're in this for the long haul it's often a case of the Tortoise and the Hare.
Drink from 2020 to 2020
Price: $54.99 Add To Cart
BC 96 WS 94

2015 Château d'Epiré Savennières
By: Mahon McGrath | Review Date: 2/24/2017 | Send Email
Best inexpensive Chenin Blanc to cross my lips in awhile! The wine is very dry, with just a sliver of apple and citrus by way of fruit, up against spice, nut oil, saline-minerality, and wax. The acidity is taut like a bow string, and the body is ample, but without any fat.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2004 Bodegas Puelles Gran Reserva Rioja
By: Mahon McGrath | Review Date: 2/24/2017 | Send Email
We’re at the happy point in this wine’s trajectory: it has hit its proper altitude, plateau-ed, and is just cruisin’. The maturity shows in the salty, meaty, saddle-leather and soy sauce flavors. There is bright fruit in there, too, but it doesn’t hold forth loudly, and the wine is dry, spicy, with the tannins and oak influence well integrated into the overall structure. The Puelles Gran Riserva has been a customer favorite for a while now, and if you haven’t assayed a bottle yet, it definitely merits a look!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2015 Spellbound California Chardonnay
By: Mahon McGrath | Review Date: 2/24/2017 | Send Email
Lemon, tangerine, toast with butter, meets warm spice and nutmeg, and a distinct savor of vanilla custard in this iteration of Spellbound. If you are hankering after a lavish style of Chardonnay at an inexpensive price point, this could be the answer to your desire!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

2015 Felton Road "Bannockburn" Pinot Noir Central Otago (Biodynamic)
By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 2/24/2017 | Send Email
As always this is the workhorse of Felton's stable. The team there are always keen to point out that this shouldn't be considered a "lesser" wine than the single vineyard bottlings despite it's lower price point. The fruit is grown in exactly the same way and the winemaking practices are identical. This wine is a benchmark for the region every year perfectly representing Bannockburn as a truly special place for Pinot Noir.
Top Value!

2012 Bodegas Puelles Crianza Rioja
By: Mahon McGrath | Review Date: 2/24/2017 | Send Email
Quite a Swiss army knife of a wine, this is a great choice when you want a lighter bodied, generalist, everyday red. The dark fruit is natural, and accented with light spice shadings of cumin and black pepper, the tannins are gentle, and the acidity, while present, does not stand up and announce itself. Best of all, there is a “completeness” that is not always to be had at this price point.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2015 Armas de Guerra Mencía Bierzo
By: Heather Vander Wall | Review Date: 2/24/2017 | Send Email
I was a big fan of the 2014 vintage of this wine, but the 2015 is perhaps even more powerful and well-crafted! Armas de Guerra does a great job exploiting the qualities of the Mencia grape. This varietal tends to display darker fruit, with meaty notes and an herbal, savory aspect. The magic that Armas de Guerra works is to present these qualities while maintaining a clean, bright fruit profile, unencumbered by sweet oak or funky notes. It is an easy wine to open and enjoy on its own or with food, and presents a much more complex palate than one would guess at this price point.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2011 Sesta di Sopra Brunello di Montalcino
By: Heather Vander Wall | Review Date: 2/24/2017 | Send Email
Whether you've already laid away some of Sesta di Sopra's 2010 Brunello, or are new to the winery, I highly recommend considering some of the 2011 vintage from Sesta di Sopra. This Brunello is grown on a more elevated site than many in the region, and therefore has a slightly lighter body, with more elegance and less ponderous weight. Nevertheless, the wine has firm structure and a depth of flavors, with some savory development just beginning to show. This wine should develop beautifully over the next decade, so its a good candidate to stock in your cellar.

2015 St-Michael-Eppan "Schulthauser" Pinot Bianco Alto Adige
By: Heather Vander Wall | Review Date: 2/24/2017 | Send Email
I am a devotee of the Pinot Blanc grape in almost all its manifestations, but nowhere does it reach such a perfect balance as in the Alto Adige region of Italy. This is a great example of the lighter, more mineral-driven style of Pinot Blanc, that still retains a certain creamy texture inherent in the varietal. Austere and stony on the nose, the wine displays a round, melon fruit on the palate, with just the right amount of zippy acidity to keep it light and focused. Though lesser known than its cousin Pinot Grigio, the Pinot Bianco grape is well worth exploring, particularly from the region of Alto Adige, where it often performs beautifully.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart
JS 91

2014 Domaine de Verquière Rasteau
By: Heather Vander Wall | Review Date: 2/24/2017 | Send Email
Domaine de Verquiere consistently over-delivers in all their wines, but this 2014 Rasteau bottling strikes me as exceptional for its excellent balance. Verquiere tends to have a more delicate touch to their wines, using mostly older barrels, and harvesting the fruit before its sugars reach too high a degree. The wine is therefore elegant and poised, with a medium to lighter body that highlights the more feminine side of the Grenache grape, though the use of some Syrah in the blend adds a more vibrant, spicy kick as well.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2014 Powell & Son GSM Barossa Valley South Australia
By: Kirk Walker | Review Date: 2/24/2017 | Send Email
This wine forced me to reevaluate my take on this blend from Australia. I have always enjoyed the wines but more often than not they are good reds with some complexity and while I enjoyed them rarely have I found myself thinking about how all the varietal work together. This wine had me jumping from layers of fruit and left me asking, Syrah? Mataro? Is that spice Grenache? What starts the flavor party? I love that you can taste and perceive the transitions. Delicious and intriguing one of my favorite wines of the year so far.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
RP 93

2014 Powell & Son "Loechel Vineyard" Shiraz Eden Valley South Australia
By: Kirk Walker | Review Date: 2/24/2017 | Send Email
This is a show stopper. A head turner. "what was I just say....?" This wine will go toe to toe with the best Shiraz/Syrah in the store. Dark, rich, complex, fantastically textured and a long, long finish.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart
RP 97

Page: 1 2 3 next >>