Staff Favorites

If you’re going to have Robert Parker or Stephen Tanzer over for dinner, selecting a wine they’ve rated highly will be a nice choice. However, when you’re buying wines for yourself, we’d love to see you find wines that match up your unique palate and pocketbook. We have a large staff of friendly and knowledgeable wine professionals that taste hundreds of wines each week. They can put you in touch with bottles that you are likely to love, often at a much lower cost than the highly-rated gems that often see a run-up in price and frequent availability issues. Like any great group of opinionated professionals, our staff has varied tastes themselves. Often our customers will find a particular staff member with a style that corresponds to their own. That concept works extremely well in our retail stores, and this section is our effort to bring you the same online. Don’t get us wrong, we love the highly rated wines from the press and will continue to offer them, but we think you’re missing out if you’re not augmenting those selections with picks from our excellent staff. Here are their favorites. (Click on a name to see their other selections - or to drop them a line.) Cheers!

Reviews

  
Page: 1 2 3 next >>
2014 Domaine des Côtes Blanches Sancerre Rosé
By: Mari Keilman | Review Date: 5/29/2015 | Send Email
While subtle on the nose, this rose is full of fresh cherry fruit and a bright, vibrant blood orange packed palate. Full-bodied and complex, this rose finishes with a nice chalky finish.
Price: $16.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Fossil Point Edna Valley Pinot Noir
By: Mari Keilman | Review Date: 5/29/2015 | Send Email
Looking for an upfront, friendly Pinot Noir that won't break the bank? Fossil Point is your wine. This pinot noir has an extremely supple and smooth mouthfeel of sweet raspberry and strawberry. The rich red fruit and ample acidity on the finish make this the perfect wine to sip alone and to have with dinner.
Price: $15.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 Château de la Charrière Santenay Blanc 1er Cru "Beauregard" Domaine Yves Girardin
By: Mari Keilman | Review Date: 5/29/2015 | Send Email
This french chardonnay is the perfect summer white wine offering up an immense balance of acidity and structure to help carry the bright, ripe citrus and minerality on the palate.
Price: $29.99 Add To Waiting List

2014 Quinta da Aveleda Loureiro Alvarinho Vinho Regional Minho
By: Mari Keilman | Review Date: 5/29/2015 | Send Email
Absolutely delicious. Fresh, sparkling & refreshing. Packed with great minerality, pear and lime. Perfect for those hot summer nights.
Price: $8.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 Sesta di Sopra Rosso di Montalcino
By: Mari Keilman | Review Date: 5/29/2015 | Send Email
This sangiovese is always a clear favorite because it always over-delivers with an immense amount of ripe red currants, wild strawberries and that beautiful sweet leather and spice that is so classic for Sesta di Sopra.
Price: $21.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 90

2013 Sesta di Sopra Sangiovese Toscana
By: Mari Keilman | Review Date: 5/29/2015 | Send Email
Made from the younger vines, this Toscana sangiovese is rich and spicy with copious amounts of savory herb, leather and black cherry.
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 Black Estate Riesling Waipara Valley
By: James Knight | Review Date: 5/29/2015 | Send Email
I am a dry NZ/AU Riesling fan and I approve of this wine. The technical notes say it has 10.9 grams/liter residual sugar, but you wouldn't know it--although the aroma is all honeycomb marinated in lime juice, floral, with a note of sugar-coated lime candies, and mineral oil just shy of "petrol," all of it fairly subtle. I taste the faintest ghost of a peach inside the lime, and the acidity is vibrant without being sharp. It's light and buoyant on the palate. If you like the Pewsey Vale Museum Reserve or the Wittmann Estate Rheinhessen, you may approve of this wine, as well.

2013 Von Strasser "Rudy" Paicines Pinot Noir
By: Jeff Garneau | Review Date: 5/29/2015 | Send Email
Rudy Von Strasser, of Napa Cab fame, has ventured south to San Benito County to source fruit for this value-priced Pinot Noir. Round and richly textured, even opulent in style, the 2013 Von Strasser Rudy Paicines Pinot Noir offers plenty of ripe red fruits yet retains a very sensible 14.2% alcohol. A crowd pleaser, ideal for summer, and a terrific deal at under $20.
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 Ellero "Pisa Terrace" Pinot Noir Central Otago
By: Jeff Garneau | Review Date: 5/29/2015 | Send Email
My list of "outstanding Pinot Noirs from New Zealand offered at unbelievable prices" just keeps getting longer and longer. At the moment we have perhaps a dozen wines in the $20 to $30 range, all of exceptional quality. This 2012 Pisa Terrace bottling from Ellero comes from one of the most coveted vineyards in Central Otago. A melange of spice notes coupled with ripe red and black fruits define this supremely balanced wine. Deliciously sweet yet fresh and lively. Accessible yet with good underlying structure. Perfection in a glass.

2013 Franck Millet "Insolite" Sancerre
By: Jeff Garneau | Review Date: 5/29/2015 | Send Email
This is the most serious of the Sancerres we import directly from France. Wines of comparable quality typically sell for $30 or more. Dense, tightly wound, and quite reserved in style with excellent concentration and length. Lightly floral on the nose with fresh grapefruit and gooseberry notes. Intensely mineral in expression. This can be enjoyed now or over the next 3 to 5 years.
Price: $21.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 S.C. Pannell "Tinto" Old Vine Grenache-Touriga National McLaren Vale South Australia
By: Jeff Garneau | Review Date: 5/29/2015 | Send Email
A runaway hit at a recent K&L staff tasting, this inspired blend of Grenache and Touriga Nacional may be the ultimate summer BBQ wine. Crafted by Stephen Pannell, one of Australia's most gifted winemakers, this is no soft and simple fruit bomb. This is a masterpiece of ripe red fruits and complex spice notes that invites you back to sip again and again as it reveals more of its secrets. A terrific value, implausibly priced at a mere $14.99.
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List
JH 93

2009 Poggiarellino Brunello di Montalcino
By: Illya Haase | Review Date: 5/29/2015 | Send Email
Poggiarellino is one of the old rural Tuscan traditions in wine making. Don't look for any new world style Brunellos here. This thirty acre farm is surrounded by beautiful oil? OR old? trees. What grape wouldn't want to live here! The wine is bold, earthy, and full-bodied. Taste red and black fruit with a subtle grace on nose and palate, finishing with well-developed tannins, mineral texture, tobacco and underbrush notes. What a bottle for $30 bucks!
Price: $29.99 Add To Waiting List

Wine Club

$24.99

2014 Cibonne "Tentations" Côtes de Provence Rosé
By: Illya Haase | Review Date: 5/29/2015 | Send Email
This Fantastic blend of Cinsault, Grenache and Tibouren is one of the best selling Rosé from Provence! As the price for lesser quality Rosés rise, this one holds steady. With a delicate nose of spice, floral and stone fruit, this elegant and soft palate reminds you why we love Côtes de Provence Rosé soooo much! This is a must with simple grilled fish, fresh fruit, and cheeses. Grab this one bottle for any summertime affair.
Price: $17.99 Add To Waiting List

2014 Franck Millet Sancerre Rosé
By: Illya Haase | Review Date: 5/29/2015 | Send Email
I love Provence Rosé just like the next person, BUT there are wonderful Rosé wines just as amazing! The Franck Millet Sancerre Rosé is that bottle. 100-percent Pinot Noir it blends two styles of Rosé wine-making (pressed juice and saignee juice). Then the must is settled and low temperature fermentation begins; no malolactic fermentation, with light filtration and stainless steel tank ageing. All this brings out a crispness that you will find ONLY in Sancerre (limestone-clay soil). Being a direct import for K&L, this is coming to you at a discounted price. This is the perfect summertime wine!
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Angeline California Pinot Noir
By: Illya Haase | Review Date: 5/29/2015 | Send Email
Year in and year out one of our best values is Pinot Noir. If you don't believe me, just ask any K&L customer. This Pinot comes from Sonoma County's Martin Ray Winery, which also has a great value Cabernet flying out the doors. Martin Ray Winery does both quality and value which is hard to find these days. There is great intensity in the Pinot Noir; a very complex and alluring aroma of dark cherry and holiday spice. Palate gives way to juicy raspberry and cherry flavors with silky smooth tannins for an easy going finish. What more can you ask for!!
Price: $11.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 Rocca di Montegrossi Chianti Classico
By: Illya Haase | Review Date: 5/29/2015 | Send Email
Always a stand out for me in the sea of Chianti on the market. Great growing site just south of Gaiole in the hamlet of Monti in Chianti. All organic practices which bring out some very distinctive wines. Intense spice, fruit and mineral which makes it a perfect food wine. Pop open a bottle and transport yourself to the rolling Tuscan hills.
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Don Cataldo Rosato Salento Puglia
By: Jeff Garneau | Review Date: 5/29/2015 | Send Email
Baroque architecture, whitewashed hill towns, sun-drenched Mediterranean beaches. I am not going to claim you will find all of these things in a bottle of the 2013 Don Cataldo Rosato Salento Puglia, but if you can find a sunny spot to sip this dry, refreshing southern Italian rosé, you can close your eyes and imagine you are in Taranto or Brindisi. 95% Negroamaro. 5% Malvasia Nera. 100% Delicious.
Price: $9.99 Add To Waiting List

2014 Les Terres de St-Hilaire "Sagesse" VDP du Var Rosé
By: Illya Haase | Review Date: 5/29/2015 | Send Email
This is the pale pink color that everyone is searching for in a rose. Made up of grenache, syrah, and cinsault. The nose is complex with citrus, namely lemon and grapefruit, and raspberries. On the palate, it is supple, ample, and complex. You can't beat the price of $13.99. Most Rose of this quality are reaching well into the twenty dollar range. Buy it for your next party you won't be disappointed.
Price: $13.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Rickshaw California Pinot Noir
By: Illya Haase | Review Date: 5/29/2015 | Send Email
Banshee Wines have done it again! This value Pinot Noir stacks up to many of the over twenty bottles on the shelf. I don't know where they are sources their fruit but please keep it up. Medium body in style and perfect red cherry fruit make it a must at any summer outing.
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Rickshaw California Pinot Noir
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 5/29/2015 | Send Email
This brash and exuberant value is a best seller and not just because of the low price. There is surprising complexity here and a transparency that allows you to taste right through the wine without being overwhelmed by too much over ripeness and extract. This is not a $15.00 Pinot fruit bomb but rather a lively, energetic bottle from the folks who make the outstanding Banshee wines.
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Angeline California Pinot Noir
By: Jim Barr | Review Date: 5/29/2015 | Send Email
A Pinot Noir at $11.99 that is any good! Most of you would think: “Give me a break; how good could this possibly be?” Medium ruby in color, the nose offers a bright, flashy, distinctive classic Pinot strawberry to floral presentation with just a touch of toasty oak, while in the mouth it is lush, viscous, yet with excellent structure and acidity, good complexity, and a finish that is refreshing and long. Sooo, how good could this $12.00 Pinot be? Let’s put it this way: this wine has become one of Jim’s and Rusty’s Gems. I dare you to find a Pinot at this price with such nice flavors and refinement. Rusty has informed me that I need to bring many, many cases of this Gem home to be our everyday house red. Don’t miss it! ***** 13.5% ABV *****
Drink from 2015 to 2015
Price: $11.99 Add To Waiting List

2009 Bodegas Casa Juan Señor de Lesmos Crianza Rioja
By: Jim Barr | Review Date: 5/29/2015 | Send Email
What has become some of my two favorite Rioja producers are Bodegas Puelles and the productions from this fabulous house, Bodegas Casa Juan Senor de Lesmos, which are DI's for us. Medium deep ruby in color, this 2009 Gem offers a traditional style nose of cedar, an antiqueish tone, and red fruit driven aromas. In the mouth, it is balanced, complex, integrated, broad, and deeply flavored. It is a truly wonderful wine at a very reasonable price. Rusty has informed me that I need to bring home at least several cases of this Gem soon, and you need to do so, too. ***** 13.0% ABV *****
Drink from 2015 to 2015
Price: $12.99 Add To Waiting List

2007 Bodegas Puelles Rioja Reserva
By: Jim Barr | Review Date: 5/29/2015 | Send Email
What has become some of my two favorite Rioja producers are Bodegas Puelles and the productions from the fabulous house of Bodegas Casa Juan Senor de Lesmos, which are DI’s for us. This 2007 traditional style Rioja offers a lush and fresh presentation, with incredible balance and structure, a long and complex finish. This Gem drinks nicely now, but will age another ten-plus years. Rusty wants at least two cases of this Gem in our wine room for future drinking. ***** 14.0% ABV *****
Drink from 2015 to 2015
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 90

2013 Fossil Point Edna Valley Pinot Noir
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 5/29/2015 | Send Email
Edna Valley is known for richer, fuller Pinot Noir but with great balancing acidity due to the marine influence. In the world of Pinot, $16.00 is a price point where you need to lower your expectations but this focused, deep wine truly over delivers. This is smooth, balanced, very fresh and above all, a great drink.
Price: $15.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 Elephant Hill Pinot Noir Central Otago
By: Jeff Garneau | Review Date: 5/28/2015 | Send Email
This is classic Central Otago Pinot Noir that is true to the regional style yet incredibly user friendly. Generous black fruits, big and round in the mouth with lovely weight. Accessible and open knit, ready to go with the pop of a cork. This 2012 vintage bottling offers plenty of sweet, ripe fruit, and at a very reasonable price. Terrific value!
Price: $24.99 Add To Waiting List
RC 93 SK 93

2010 Belpoggio Brunello di Montalcino
By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 5/28/2015 | Send Email
This wine is 100% Sangiovese and a small marvel of class and power, especially when the vintage is taken into account. There is wonderful richness of fruit, which melds beautifully with the aristocratic oak, giving spicy scents which come through on the palate, too, right to this final liquorice note.Dark-colored ruby with concentrated aromas of blackberries, dark coco powder and stony minerals. Full-bodied, with big dusty tannins, needs some air time.
Price: $44.99 Add To Waiting List
JS 92 RP 91

2012 Sequillo (Eben Sadie) Red Blend Swartland
By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 5/28/2015 | Send Email
It is rare to find a big red wine that is balanced, rarer still to find a powerful wine that has nuance, and near impossible to find one with all these features at a reasonable price. Our South African buyer Ryan has done it with this Sequillo, and I am very impressed... If you like Syrah this has it all- meaty brawn, seamless texture and enough lift and length to make you want glass after glass!
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Sequillo (Eben Sadie) White Blend Swartland
By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 5/28/2015 | Send Email
These Sequillo wines are on the top of my must-try value list. The Eben Sadie White Blend is loaded with the kind of complexity and exoticism that makes sommelier's swoon with a rich texture that even lovers of California Chardonnay will not be able to resist. This wine is snapped together with excellent acidity, and really seems to have it all. Don't miss this, it will fool you for a bottle twice the price!
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List

2009 d'Escurac, Medoc
By: Jeff Garneau | Review Date: 5/28/2015 | Send Email
The 2009 Chateau d'Escurac, Medoc is a seductive pleasure, a superb example of the best of what this vintage has to offer. Super rich with a positively silky texture. Loads of sweet, dark fruit lightly seasoned with spicy oak. Would age effortlessly for a handful of years in the cellar, but SO easy to drink now.
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Sequillo (Eben Sadie) White Blend Swartland
By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 5/28/2015 | Send Email
The Chenin Blanc backbone really stands out and I love Chenin, the supple richness it provides as a canvas for the rest of the varietals. Excellent balance but still richly textured, so complex and an absolute steal. I'm buying this wine!
Drink from 2015 to 2015
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 Sequillo (Eben Sadie) Red Blend Swartland
By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 5/28/2015 | Send Email
This is one of the most unique, vibrant and exciting wines I've had in sometime. It's rare to get an opportunity to taste something so different yet absolutely delicious, it makes me remember my first wine experiences. On top of the superb drinkability and character these wines are priced incredibly low for the quality. You need to try this and experience the ride!
Drink from 2015 to 2015
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Sequillo (Eben Sadie) White Blend Swartland
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 5/28/2015 | Send Email
The Sequillo white blend is unfined, unfiltered, naturally made and possessed of fantastic texture and weight. Aromas and flavors of honey, apricot, almond, honeysuckle, white peach and more resonate in this layered, full-bodied and impeccably proportioned wine. This has all the texture, complexity and acid/mineral tension of a great Vouvray but at less than half the price. Amazing quality for less than twenty bucks!
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 Sequillo (Eben Sadie) Red Blend Swartland
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 5/28/2015 | Send Email
Attention all Chateauneuf-du-Pape lovers who are on a budget: here is a wine for you. This bold and lively Rhone blend has layers of crisp and crunchy dark fruit, a rich, smooth texture, balanced weight and a long, compelling finish. Here is a satisfying and delicious naturally crafted wine for less than twenty bucks. Easily the quality of a $40.00 bottle.
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 Balnaves Cabernet Sauvignon-Merlot Coonawarra South Australia
By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 5/28/2015 | Send Email
The blend consists of 91% Cabernet Sauvignon and 9% Merlot. This is a stunning wine with a powerful bouquet of pronounced ripe berry fruits (black and red), cassis, cedar, fresh tobacco and crushed mint. On the palate these aromas are echoed by the wines pure flavors with some ripe plum and mulling spice adding to the mix. The wine is powerful with great depth and richness, the tannins are fine but firm and give good structure and form to the decadent fruit. For all its ripe fruit and forward nature the wine also has great balanced acidity and a real vibrancy on the palate, I believe owing to Coonawarra's limestone soils and cool, ocean breezes. This wine is accessible to drink right now but I believe will also prove to be a great asset in the cellar for mid-term ageing over the next 5-10 years. This is a serious Cabernet at a very reasonable price thanks to our relationship with this excellent, boutique Australian importer.
Price: $24.99 Add To Waiting List
JH 95 WS 93

2010 Talosa Vino Nobile di Montepulciano Riserva
By: Andrew Whiteley | Review Date: 5/28/2015 | Send Email
2010 is the banner vintage for Brunello di Montalcino, but let us not forget the neighboring region of Montepulciano. Just a few miles to the East of Montalcino, Montepulciano has been making terrific wines since the beginning of viticulture and the wines of the region have been lauded by Popes and poets as 'the perfect wine' (see Jancis Robinson’s companion to wine). This beautiful 2010 Vino Nobile Riserva show tremendous dark, rich fruits, spice, and tobacco characteristics and shares many of the same characteristics of the stunning Brunellos from the same year. A well balanced and small, fine tannic structure is beautifully balanced by a light crisp acidity and splendid ripeness of fruit. The finish is long, bright, and clean. Just like it’s neighbors, this wine can be enjoyed for its great ripeness now, or put down in the cellar for 10-20 years to enjoy in the future. At $35/bottle, grab a case and try one or two now, and save 10 for later if you can keep your hands off of it!
Price: $34.99 Add To Waiting List
WS 94

2014 Les Vignerons de Fontès "Prieuré Saint-Hippolyte" Languedoc Rosé (1.5L)
By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 5/27/2015 | Send Email
This is the consummate summer rosé. It is fully fruited with pretty strawberry and raspberry notes. A nice streak of grapefruit citrus keeps it focused. This is a lot of rosé for such a good price. Be the hit of every party and picnic you attend this summer. Not only is the bottle impressive, so is the wine!
Price: $21.99 Add To Waiting List
Limit of 36 per customer

2014 Les Vignerons de Fontès "Prieuré Saint-Hippolyte" Languedoc Rosé
By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 5/27/2015 | Send Email
This is the consummate summer rosé. It is fully fruited with pretty strawberry and raspberry notes. A nice streak of grapefruit citrus keeps it focused. I first had this in January out of tank and was delighted by it's freshness. Now that it is in bottle and newly arrived it is showing even more intensity. This is a lot of rosé for such a good price.
Price: $9.99 Add To Waiting List

J. Laurens Brut Cremant de Limoux
By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 5/27/2015 | Send Email
One of the top producers in Limoux and always a favorite. Roasted pears with notes of green apples permeate the wine. Serve with some ultra creamy soft cheeses and be delighted.
Price: $13.99 Add To Waiting List

Antech "Brut Nature" Blanquette de Limoux
By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 5/27/2015 | Send Email
Of all the Antech wines, this is the cultiest and possibly my favorite. Not everyone is drawn to this for its bright brined apple, crispy jicama and crunchy pear flavors. I am though, because this is the ultimate aperitif sparkler. So crisp and racy, this is the goods. Serve it with fresh shucked oysters, crab salad, or maybe a little uni.
Price: $12.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 Antech "Cuvée Eugenie" Cremant de Limoux
By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 5/27/2015 | Send Email
Eugenie is one of the stalwarts of our direct import program. Year in year out, this over delivers delicious bubbly goodness for its price. The 2012 is no exception and may be one of the best to date. Apples, pears, a hint of ginger and a touch of brioche add to the complexity of what is the cleanest freshest sparkling wine for the price.
Price: $13.99 Add To Waiting List

2014 Château Miraval Côtes de Provence Rosé (1.5L)
By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 5/27/2015 | Send Email
There's so much you could say against celebrity vanity projects but Miraval is most definitely not one of those. Though the property is owned by two of the biggest mega stars in Hollywood, the wine is elaborated by one of the top Rhone producers, the Perrin family of Chateau de Beaucastel. The attention to detail shows. The Miraval is a perfumed and pretty style with red fruits, blood oranges and a touch of peach. Clean and refreshing, this is one of the hits of the summer and it didn't cost $100 million to make.
Price: $49.99 Add To Waiting List

2014 Château Miraval Côtes de Provence Rosé
By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 5/27/2015 | Send Email
There's so much you could say against celebrity vanity projects but Miraval is most definitely not one of those. Though the property is owned by two of the biggest mega stars in Hollywood, the wine is elaborated by one of the top Rhone producers, the Perrin family of Chateau de Beaucastel. The attention to detail shows. The Miraval is a perfumed and pretty style with red fruits, blood oranges and a touch of peach. Clean and refreshing, this is one of the hits of the summer and it didn't cost $100 million to make.
Price: $21.99 Add To Waiting List

2011 Obsidian Ridge "Obsidian Ridge Vineyard" Red Hills Lake County Cabernet Sauvignon
By: Olivia Ragni | Review Date: 5/27/2015 | Send Email
I love how this California Cabernet is so balanced and elegant!! The nose has aromas of blackberries, spice box and cocoa. On the palate blackberries and plums dominate the fruit character, while there is core of earth, graphite and coffee grounds. Best Cabernet for under $30.
Price: $24.99 Add To Waiting List
W&S 92 WE 90

2013 Napa Cellars Napa Valley Chardonnay
By: Mahon McGrath | Review Date: 5/27/2015 | Send Email
Are you looking for oak and butter front and center in your Chardonnay, but at a price that makes it an affordable, everyday pleasure? This no-holds-barred style delivers just that and then some, with plenty of toasty vanilla, oaky spice, and buttery richness. Though definitely the secondary aspect, there is also candied pear and pineapple lurking underneath, and a decent level of acidity as a counter weight, keeping everything from slipping too far into the plush-zone. Could be just the wine for your Tuesday night white!
Price: $13.99 Add To Waiting List

Pierre Paillard Grand Cru Brut Champagne
By: Mahon McGrath | Review Date: 5/27/2015 | Send Email
The key feature of this Champagne is, for me, the completeness. You get a little bit of everything, without an excess of anything. We have other non-vintage brut Champagnes that hit this or that mark well, but few that tie it all together so convincingly. Flavor wise, there’s fresh bread yeastiness, with just a slightly toasty aspect, citrus, and an underlying sense of minerality. The wine has good intensity, yet never takes it over the edge into the realm of the rich and robust, keeping a trimmer profile, and maintaining its vibrancy. Taste this once, and you’ll next thought will be to wonder whether you had the forethought to buy a second bottle.
Price: $48.99 Add To Waiting List
WS 92

2014 Domaine de Reuilly Pinot Gris Rosé
By: Olivia Ragni | Review Date: 5/27/2015 | Send Email
The color is so light, almost like lemon juice, it doesn’t even look like rose. This wine is delicate and has so much elegance. Aromas of melon, white flowers and crushed stones lead to a flinty palate with nectarines and beautiful acidity. With air, this wine will continue to unfold. Always one of the top rosés of the season.
Price: $18.99 Add To Waiting List

2014 Big Flower (Botanica) Petit Verdot Rosé
By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 5/26/2015 | Send Email
One of the coolest rosés I have tasted in a long time. Precise, spicy, fresh red berry fruits, lovely floral tones, and a hint of kaffir lime leaf. On the palate the wine is juicy, quaffable, has great fruit and fresh acidity, finishes dry but not aggressively so. Super drinkable...you will wonder where the bottle went! Made from Ginny's little parcel of Petit Verdot plus a secret vinous ingredient from old vines up in the Skurfberg. This is gonna be my go to this summer!
Top Value!
Price: $15.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough
By: John Majeski | Review Date: 5/26/2015 | Send Email
To quote an old Bond film—-sorry, I forget exactly which one, but when it comes to pitch-perfect, terroir-driven Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc, "nobody does it better" than Te Whare Ra’s incredibly textural, infinitely captivating version, and 2013 has apparently spun more superlatives from the finicky wine world than any vintage in recent memory. Showering further praise might seem like overkill, but I can’t resist adding a line or two about the tensile grace and innate beauty of this wine, a thoroughbred of marvelous precision and persistence ready to be unleashed in the glass.
Top Value!
Price: $18.99 Add To Waiting List
RC 94 SK 93

2012 Haut-Monplaisir "Tradition" Cahors
By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 5/26/2015 | Send Email
I first had the Haut Monplaisir "Tradition" on a cold winter's day in February in the Hollywood Hills part of Los Angeles. Okay maybe it wasn't that cold, we're talking about LA here. We did have it with cassoulet though which is truly a classic pairing. The wine showed ripe black and blue fruit with polished tannins. It was expressive and inviting, especially for a Cahors which for years were more rustic wines that could be a little rough around the edges. It was delicious. Flash forward a few months, having retasted the wine, I found it to have much of the lovely Malbec fruit qualities but it was beginning to show more of its terroir. The black and blue fruit was there but notes of graphite and fresh crushed herbs emerged. Fans of Malbec from Argentina may be swayed to try the wine because of the fruit but they'll stay for the layers of complexity from this most classic of Malbec producing regions.
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 90

2012 Olema Sonoma County Cabernet Sauvignon
By: Andrew Whiteley | Review Date: 5/26/2015 | Send Email
The Olema Cabernet, second label from our friends at Amici Cellars, is a terrific wine from the 2012 vintage. Bright fruit and an easy going and approachable tannic structure make for great drinking on its own, or for a beautiful pairing with any protein rich food (especially the delicious steak kabobs I just tried it with!). The excellent use of a small amount of new French oak gives this wine lots of weight and character, but doesn’t overpower the high quality of the ripe fruit. For only $20 bucks, it's hard to go wrong here.
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List

Page: 1 2 3 next >>