Staff Favorites

If you’re going to have Robert Parker or Stephen Tanzer over for dinner, selecting a wine they’ve rated highly will be a nice choice. However, when you’re buying wines for yourself, we’d love to see you find wines that match up your unique palate and pocketbook. We have a large staff of friendly and knowledgeable wine professionals that taste hundreds of wines each week. They can put you in touch with bottles that you are likely to love, often at a much lower cost than the highly-rated gems that often see a run-up in price and frequent availability issues. Like any great group of opinionated professionals, our staff has varied tastes themselves. Often our customers will find a particular staff member with a style that corresponds to their own. That concept works extremely well in our retail stores, and this section is our effort to bring you the same online. Don’t get us wrong, we love the highly rated wines from the press and will continue to offer them, but we think you’re missing out if you’re not augmenting those selections with picks from our excellent staff. Here are their favorites. (Click on a name to see their other selections - or to drop them a line.) Cheers!

Reviews

  
Page: 1 2 3 next >>
2014 Domaine des Niales Rhedon-Marin Vieilles Vignes Mâcon-Villages
By: Ivan Diaz | Review Date: 1/19/2017 | Send Email
Our most reliable (and ridiculously inexpensive) Macon is priced under $15, but drinks with a quality well beyond that. Round orchard fruits, lemon zest, and orange blossom flavors are given lift from the bracing acidity and stony minerality for a value-based white Burgundy that will pair perfectly with shellfish, roast chicken, or cream-sauce pasta.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2014 Domaine Jean-Michel Giboulot Savigny-lès-Beaune
By: Ivan Diaz | Review Date: 1/19/2017 | Send Email
Classic, varietally correct Pinot Noir in essence, the 2014 Savigny les Beaune is a magnificent offering for Pinot fans everywhere. A core of bright red raspberries and cherries is layered with loam, mushroom, and tea leaves, handily expressing this varietal's potential for a fraction of the price of most Burgundy this quality. Pair this with cedar-plank salmon or pork tenderloin medallions.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2014 Jax "Estate" Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
By: Gary Norton | Review Date: 1/19/2017 | Send Email
Truth be told, fifty bucks is becoming the entry level price for an estate cab coming out of Napa these days. We are reaching an era of skyrocketing prices - some producers are doubling the rates for their 2015 releases. Literally. Less than 1000 cases of Jax's estate Cabernet was produced this year and our share will likely evaporate soon. It's a big, fruit-driven wine that is immediately accessible and will continue to be for the next 5-9 years.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart
RP 93

2014 Jax "Y3" Russian River Valley Pinot Noir
By: Gary Norton | Review Date: 1/19/2017 | Send Email
Certainly the most delicate and finesse driven wine I've had from Jax and for twenty five bucks it's a steal. The wine possesses tremendous drive, balanced acidity, pure fruit and minerality. It's dominantly red fruited, showing notes of fresh strawberries, Ranier Cherries, dried rose petals and earth before leading into a gentle tannin on the finish. There's a serious shortage of high quality, drinkable, sub-thirty dollar Russian River Pinot Noirs on the market right now. This wine, ladies and gents, is worth every penny and more. Drink now through 2023.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
WE 94

Cain "Cuvée NV12" Napa Valley Bordeaux Blend
By: Gary Norton | Review Date: 1/19/2017 | Send Email
Cain's non-vintage "NV" offerings are some of the Valley's best value reds. If you are a fan of old-world styled, hearty red wines that carry a bit of a funky, bretty edge than this wine is a must try. Unfortunately, this type of wine is a dying breed in California as most wineries are shifting towards the production of bigger, rounder and flashier reds. The NV12 is a blend of 2012 and 2011 (59% & 41%, respectively) and consists of 50% Merlot, 32% Cabernet Sauvignon, 10% Cabernet Franc, 4% Petit Verdot and 4% Malbec. For those rustic wine lovers out there, this one's for you!
Price: $35.99 Add To Cart

2014 Jax "Y3 Taureau" Napa Valley Red Blend
By: Gary Norton | Review Date: 1/19/2017 | Send Email
We discovered this production earlier last year and since that time a number of it's offerings have been very well received by the press. This particular blend is comprised of 45% Merlot, 25% Cabernet Sauvignon, 20% Syrah and 10% Zinfandel. It's an extractive style, very reminiscent of Bedrock. The wine is dense and full bodied, showing notes of dried violets and black fruits on the nose. The palate comes together with more dark flowers, black berries, black currant and cassis. This wine offers tons of fruit and finishes quite dry. It's a great wine and a steal for the money.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2015 Chante Cigale Châteauneuf-du-Pape Blanc
By: John Majeski | Review Date: 1/18/2017 | Send Email
Not sure if the namesake cicadas of Chante Cigale would be singing in the rain right now, as it's pouring outside as I write, but they have reason enough to rejoice over this resplendent white Chateauneuf. Crafted from equal parts Grenache Blanc, delivering citrus and herbal notes; Clairette, of vermouth fame; Bourboulenc--nice acidity, subtle smoky character; and Roussanne, a flower basket with beeswax and pear aromas, this generous, full-bodied white is far more than the sum of its parts, and will evolve gracefully over several years. A lovely complexity, certainly the finest white Rhone value in our store in several years.
Top Value!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
WS 93 RP 90

2014 de France Rouge, Pessac-Léognan
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 1/18/2017 | Send Email
Here is a great introduction to the very good wines of the 2014 vintage from the folks at Malartic-Lagraviere. This is rich and flashy with black cherry and ripe plum fruit and dark cocoa accents throughout. The finish is quite complex with earth, gravel and fine grip. Decant now or lay away for several years.

2014 Domaine des Terres Dorées (Jean-Paul Brun) Saint-Amour
By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 1/18/2017 | Send Email
This lovely, aromatic Saint Amour is the perfect red for so many occasions. If you are looking for something that is lower in alcohol, more perfumed yet still satisfying, you have found it!
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart
VN 93 RP 91

2015 Domaine Jean-Claude Lapalu Cote de Brouilly
By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 1/18/2017 | Send Email
There is a forward, juicy, mixed berry and wild plum ripeness in Lapalu's Cote de Brouilly. While I'm not familiar enough with the producer to know if this is his expression of Cote De Brouilly or the result of a very good quality, warm and dry vintage, I think I know enough to know for sure that I dig this wine. A lot. Some other details include that it is certified organic, utilizing 60 year old vines, fermented using only partial carbonic maceration, and aged in 5-10 year old used barrels. Drink now or age 5-6 years.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
RP 93

2015 Charles Smith "Kung Fu Girl" Columbia Valley Riesling
By: Bryan Brick | Review Date: 1/18/2017 | Send Email
With typical varietal aromas of subtle petrol tones layered over with mounds of fresh white peach, apricot and picked wild flowers this is about as good as Riesling gets in this price range. Never cloying and full of zesty and mouth watering acidity this is a long way away from anything like a dessert wine. Snappy and zingy with just enough residual sugar (1.4% Residual Sugar g/100mL) to put it into something like the classic Kabinett range of Germany this is more at home for the main course with thinks like Spicy Thai, Indian or even Mexican food. Dry clover honey, lemongrass, grilled peaches and honeydew melon flavors all drizzled in Meyer lemon juice, this is one guzzle-able wine whose value can’t be matched on today’s market. So if you love Riesling or you just need a tangy refreshing white around the house this is something you may want to grab in quantity.

2015 Domaine Jean-Claude Lapalu "Tentation" Beaujolais-Villages
By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 1/18/2017 | Send Email
Go on and get this wine, it's delicious! Lapalu is a producer whose wines represent good Beaujolais at their best: freshly fruited, impeccably balanced, carefree and delicious. For those who are paying attention, though, there is an endearing freshness, lovely spice and surprising length for a $20 red. If serving this at dinner (ideally with a nice big roaster and crispy roasted potatoes) be sure to have plenty of wine on hand because this goes down real easy - I'm thirsty just thinking about the Lapalu Tentation! Seriously though this is likely to be one of my favorite French wines of the year.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
RP 91

2015 Averaen (Banshee) Willamette Valley Pinot Noir
By: Bryan Brick | Review Date: 1/18/2017 | Send Email
Averaen: [AY-vuh-rain]
Noun
1: The new and wildly exciting Pinot Noir project from the men that brought you Banshee
2: The men from Banshee’s loose translation of “Bird Queen” from the Latin word “avis” for bird and French word “reine” for queen (Latin root regina)
Since the very first bottling of Banshee, K&L was their second customer ever, the three amigos: Baron, Steve and Noah, have made some of the best affordable Pinot Noir in California not to mention great Chardonnay and some other fun things as well. So when they told me in secret a little over two years ago that they were thinking about making Willamette Valley Pinot Noir I was obviously very excited. The result is Averaen and it is a wonderful example of why Banshee became so popular in the first place: the quality for value just can’t be beat. At $19.99 this was instantly in the argument for one of the best wines from the still youthful but very good 2015 vintage at this price point. Made from some vineyards well know to insiders and Oregon Pinot files like Meredith Mitchell, Deux Vert, Eola Springs and Valin among others this is top flight raw materials wedged into an entry level price point. Also an added bonus for the 2015 vintage bottling is that every grape harvested in 2015 went into this bottling where as in years upcoming they will also make single vineyard bottlings, so this really is the best foot forward with their inaugural release.
Made from a mix of Volcanic and Sedimentary soils and a blend of Pommard and Dijon clones this takes all the best parts of Oregon Pinot Noir and dovetails them in to one seamless and drinkable wine. Aromas of freshly picked cherries, clove and wet, warm earth dominate the nose backed by typical forest-y notes and hints of darker berry fruits. The first thing that struck me about this wine is just how serious it is in terms of balance and structure. Everything is in its place and while this is eminently drinkable it is also quite serious and complex. Lush loganberry at the edges with a pitchy red fruited core this Pinot has plenty of fruit intensity and lift but it also has the darker side of the Pinot spectrum as well with finishing mushroom, fern and purple flower notes. Add a subtle oaky quality, but no toastiness-this is all done in neutral oak foudre and stainless steel-and this really becomes one of the best Pinot Noir values, regardless of place, in K&L today.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
VN 91

2014 Domaine Foillard Morgon Cru Beaujolais "Côte du Py"
By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 1/18/2017 | Send Email
I would suggest this wine perhaps not for the completely uninitiated to Beaujolais, but rather to someone who has seen the light with a few well made, structured Cru Beaujolais and would like to taste, drink and cellar one of the best. Foillard's Cote Du Py is very spicy, mineral, and yet generously, intensely fruited as well. It is the perfect example of why I will always opt for a top name producer in a less fancy region, over a merely decent producer in a more established region (perhaps, for example, somewhere to the north in the Côte d'Or?)
Price: $36.99 Add To Cart
RP 93 VN 93

2010 Chateau L'Argenteyre, Medoc
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 1/18/2017 | Send Email
This is dark and earthy with flavors and aromas of blackberry, spice and cherry. The middle is firm and toasty with traces of iron showing on the long, sweet finish. Another bargain from one of the greatest Bordeaux vintages of all time.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
WS 90

2014 Haut-Vigneau, Pessac-Léognan
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 1/18/2017 | Send Email
An overachieving property of Carbonnieux fame that scores big in the price/quality ratio year after year. This gravely wine has hints of spice, mineral and milk chocolate to go along with the crunchy dark currant fruit and sweet, rocky finish. Fairly deep and rich for the appellation but satisfying and super food-friendly.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2012 Domaine du Grand Ormeau, Lalande-de-Pomerol
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 1/18/2017 | Send Email
This is opulent and modern with new oak, jammy raspberries, smoky dark plums and a middle that is rich, creamy and layered. There is impressive concentration and sweetness to this ripe, mouth-filling wine.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JS 90 RP 90

2016 Gen del Alma "Ji Ji Ji" Malbec Pinot Noir Gualtallary
By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 1/18/2017 | Send Email
This is the prettiest, freshest, finest, crispiest, most crunchy, most refreshing, and [insert superlative] red I have yet to taste from Argentina. It is simply that freakin' delicious. Place in a brown bag, and a wine professional would likely guess this to be a very good quality, cooler climate French red. The lively berry fruit, subtle violet floral aspects and firm, poised tannin structure all point to a French effort, perhaps in the Loire or one of the villages in Beaujolais. That said, this Malbec and Pinot Noir blend is impressive. Do not expect loads of fruit but do expect a crisp, balanced, low 12% ABV red for your next whole roasted chicken and oven crisped yukon gold potato dinner. Fun stuff!
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
RP 92

Brasserie De La Senne / Brew By Numbers Session IPA, Belgium (330ml)
By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 1/17/2017 | Send Email
I love it when a good drink makes a liar out of me. This Brasserie De La Senne Brew By Numbers certainly did--as before tasting it I was sure I wasn't going to like it. It is after all, an IPA that is not from England, and I am an old curmudgeon when it comes to beer. I found it wonderfully refreshing and easy to drink, while still showing very nice complexity. Thanks for the treat Mr. Boyce!
Price: $5.29 Add To Cart

2002 Dailuaine 14 Year Old "Old Particular K&L Exclusive" Single Sherry Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 1/17/2017 | Send Email
This is my first taste of Dailuaine, but I know it will not be my last! This came from one special Sherry butt that yielded 602 bottles, and has the creamy richness and rancio complexity that one would expect from a 14 year old aged in sherry cask. I enjoyed it most with a good splash of water, which opened up the whisky and added layers that the fire of the cask strength hid at first. When David told me the price, I could not believe it... Nothing comes close to this quality in well-aged sherry cask malt even at double the price. Time to make room in the liquor cabinet!
Top Value!
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

2014 de France Blanc, Pessac-Léognan
By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 1/17/2017 | Send Email
Pessac-Leognan makes some of the finest dry whites in the world, and most of them are a very good value for money. The 2014 De France Blanc is a fantastic example of this. I think one would be hard-pressed to find a white Burgundy or California white at this price that was even in the same league. Although predominantly Sauvignon Blanc, the 20% Semillon is front and center in this honeyed, full-bodied yet completely dry white. The great 2014 vintage is renowned for dry whites for a good reason, this is concentrated, long finishing stuff!
Drink from 2017 to 2017

2010 Chateau L'Argenteyre, Medoc
By: Andrew Whiteley | Review Date: 1/17/2017 | Send Email
As a general rule, if you see 2009 or 2010 Bordeaux for under 20 bucks it's going to be worth grabbing a few. The winemaking in the modern era is so good across the board and the vintages were so spectacular that it's hard to go wrong. L'Argenteyre is no exception. This shows phenomenal vintage characteristics. There is a ton of structure underneath generous fruit. Loaded with cassis, mocha, and tons of depth--I'm excited to drink this bottling over the next decade or so.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
WS 90

2014 Domaine Drouhin "Arthur" Dundee Hills Chardonnay
By: Stephanie Vidales | Review Date: 1/17/2017 | Send Email
The Arthur Chardonnay from Domaine Drouhin is a great representation of the plentiful 2014 Oregon vintage and a good match for those who like Burgundian style wines. There's a bright acidity that's elegantly combined with white floral, lemon zest, vanilla and baking spices. Enjoy this wine now, or hold onto it for a few years and I'm sure it will be even more fabulous.

2012 Château Peyros "Vieilles Vignes" Madiran
By: John Majeski | Review Date: 1/17/2017 | Send Email
Ouch! The vineyards of Peyros are built upon gravelly soils covered with large stones deposited by glaciers during the last Ice Age, which created a surfeit of sore feet for any herd of woolly mammoths that galumphed upon them. Hm, might explain their extinction....but the mammoth loss is your gain, as these scattershot stones also retain heat that gracefully ripens the grapes on these old vines, leading to wines of impeccable power, warmth and depth. High-toned aromatic black fruits lift from the glass, revealing a lush viscosity with notes of dark cherry, black plum, pepper, menthol and smoke on the rich, velvety palate, finishing long and lovely. A veritable "mam-mouthful" of wine!
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart
DC 94

2002 Dailuaine 14 Year Old "Old Particular K&L Exclusive" Single Sherry Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
By: David Driscoll | Review Date: 1/17/2017 | Send Email
Let's be clear: sherry-aged cask strength whisky is in incredibly high demand. In fact, it's so popular that prices for whiskies in that style have gone way, way up, completely changing the idea of "value" when it comes to Scotch. With this cask of Dailuaine 14 year, however, we've outdone ourselves once again. Not so much with the selection, mind you. Anyone who tastes this whisky can tell it's absolutely delicious. It doesn't take a genius to figure that out. It's brimming with sweet sherry flavors, a creamy mid-palate, and loads of baking spice on the finish. The real accomplishment here is the price. We've managed to offer a single barrel, cask strength, sherry-matured Highland whisky for less than what a standard market, water-reduced, general offering would normally cost! The Arran 14 year sherry cask edition is a hundred bucks!! That's probably the closest comparison on the market right now. Yet, this Dailuaine is better.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

2002 Dailuaine 14 Year Old "Old Particular K&L Exclusive" Single Sherry Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
By: Andrew Whiteley | Review Date: 1/17/2017 | Send Email
Sweet, rich, pretty, and powerful. The nose packs a wallop -- it's jammed full of baking spices, dried fruits, marmalade, sherry's salty and sweet complexity, a little bit of baked apples and warm bread. Not to mention that it brings the heat. On the palate it is warm and rich, full of love and doubles up on the nose profile, but adds a small amount of cocoa that really shines when you add a little water. I loved the 9 year we had before the holidays, but this is, no joke, leaps and bounds ahead. For only $10 bucks more, it's a true no brainer.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

Cain "Cuvée NV12" Napa Valley Bordeaux Blend
By: Andrew Stevens | Review Date: 1/17/2017 | Send Email
Some of the more esoteric wines coming from California, the entire Cain line tends towards a more French style with higher acid, more tannin, and often a little Brett. The Cain Cuvee, though, is spectacular for those looking to branch out of the ripe, rich end of Napa and explore some of its alleyways. Raspberry and cassis along with some leather in the nose are carried along by a fine acid core. A little earth balances the fruit and rather fine tannins create a long finish. Definitely a little off the beaten path for Napa, this is a perfect food wine for the colder months.
Price: $35.99 Add To Cart

2002 Dailuaine 14 Year Old "Old Particular K&L Exclusive" Single Sherry Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
By: Alex Schroeder | Review Date: 1/17/2017 | Send Email
Great Scotch that’s loaded with integrated flavors, complexity and richness. The extended time in sherry cask imparts a broad, creamy butterscotch core with nuanced flavors of toffee, orange marmalade and a little cocoa. Even at cask strength it is inviting and pleasant, and a small addition of water makes it more so, opening up the flavors quite a bit. Great Scotch priced well below its class!
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

2002 Dailuaine 14 Year Old "Old Particular K&L Exclusive" Single Sherry Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
By: Sal Rodriguez | Review Date: 1/17/2017 | Send Email
We enjoy getting worked up about some great Scotch, if you haven't noticed. Here is one such Scotch. Rich, powerful, and expressive! There's no shortage of minerality and sherry butt influence here. If you're a fan of spicy, rich, flavorful, toasted maple, then this is your next bottle. And at about 50 bucks, this can easily be your nightly "go-to" bottle of Scotch. Act now, 'cause this is another bottle that's sure to go quickly.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

2015 Charles Smith "Kung Fu Girl" Columbia Valley Riesling
By: Mari Keilman | Review Date: 1/17/2017 | Send Email
Whether you need this Riesling to elevate your mid-week Asian take-out or be a cheap and cheerful porch pounder at your Saturday night cook-out, the Kung Fu Girl will not disappoint. First of all, it's delicious! Secondly, it's only $10!! This isn't the mineral-driven, petrol-drenched Riesling that you share with your favorite local somm that you've been dying to impress. Rather, the Kung Fu Girl is that floral, stone fruit and citrus-driven white wine with just a hint of sweetness that every no fuss no muss evening is screaming for!

Billecart-Salmon "(RED) Cuvée Brut Reserve" Champagne
By: Diana Turk | Review Date: 1/17/2017 | Send Email
Billecart-Salmon doesn’t stop at killer rosé! They also have heart, recently collaborating with charity (RED) on a limited edition of their focused, crowd-friendly NV Brut Reserve. This bottling initially confused customers and staff alike, but while the label reads red, inside, the wine is the exact cuvée we know and love! Aged 36 months on the lees, this is clean and vivacious, rich with stone fruit and honey, plus that classic chalky finish. The only difference is that an extra $5 will go to the Global Fund to fight AIDS. Billecart-Salmon is (RED)’s only Champagne partner, with the goal of raising $100,000. And with Champagne this good, that should be easy.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

2011 Pauillac de Latour, Pauillac
By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 1/17/2017 | Send Email
Clyde has taught me well that vintage charts are not a very useful tool for judging wine. That is even more true when it comes to the best properties in Bordeaux. At Chateau Latour, their is no such thing as a step that is to expensive or work that is to hard when it comes to making their wine. When we tasted this 2011, it was obvious that they had done everything to make this into a wonderful wine. This is structured Pauillac, with power, denisty, and tannic structure. Unlike new world wines, you get all of this without sacrificing acidity or having to accept an excess of alcohol. What a wine!
Drink from 2021 to 2021
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart
JS 90
Limit of 24 per customer

2012 Gloria, St-Julien
By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 1/17/2017 | Send Email
I haven't seen a vintage so packed with great values and delicious claret as 2012 in more than a decade and the Gloria is among the best I have tasted. At $34.99, it is a steal. Try to find such a seamless, expensive tasting, cassis loaded, balanced Cabernet out of California! The best thing about this wine is the finish; it is detailed and super long.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WE 92 - 94

2000 Labegorce, Margaux (1.5L)
By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 1/17/2017 | Send Email
With the big names of Bordeaux still charging a king’s ransom, many of our customers are turned off by Bordeaux. The 2000 Labégorce is a great example of why this category still has a lot to offer in special wines that one can still afford. If you like Bordeaux, and like a good steak, don’t miss this one! The bouquet is very generous with this wine and I found everything from earthy, animal savor to cool cassis on the nose. In the mouth the wine was seamless with perfect medium body, a gift from the time in the bottle that can’t be replicated by wine making tricks. With the tannins resolving nicely, the acidity still bright and the fruit still sweet, this wine was ideal with the rich and flavorful dry aged New York steaks we paired it with.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

1991 Labégorce, Margaux (1.5L)
By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 1/17/2017 | Send Email
The 1991 vintage is a very rare one to find, as so much of the crop was destroyed by frost. Luckily, Labegorce is near the water, and the harvest was saved. This herbal, light bodied claret will thrill wine lovers who want something that is the opposite of "cult" wine! This gravely, 74 acre vineyard is planted to 50% Cabernet Sauvignon, 45% Merlot, 3% Cabernet Franc and 2% Petite Verdot. They work very traditionally, with the first fermentation in concrete and only 35% new oak for 12-15 months of elevage afterwards. They make 8500 cases a year. If you are looking for an antidote to over-sized cabernet sauvignon, look no further. This old school, mature Bordeaux is just the wine for those of us who value maturity, complexity and restraint over youthful fruit, monolithic flavors and power.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

2010 La Rioja Alta "Viña Alberdi" Reserva Rioja
By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 1/17/2017 | Send Email
If you like medium bodied, earthy reds that go with food, this is a wine to buy a case of. Last night, Cinnamon and I had the Vina Alberdi from La Rioja Alta with a winter beef stew that I made. It was a stunning wine and a great combination. The savory dark Tempranillo fruit had just the right amount of rose like aroma to contrast its frame of cake like American oak and plenty of good acid to cut the rich stew. We found the 750ml size a bit small for something so easy to drink!
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
JS 95 RP 91

2015 Jean-Michel Dupre "Haut Ronze" Regnie
By: Andrew Stevens | Review Date: 1/17/2017 | Send Email
This was was good last year, but this year it is spectacular. Classic Gamay red cherry and dark berry notes with a beautifully soft silky texture are all present here. Hints of spice and enough acid to balance the wine make this an absolute steal especially at this price.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
VN 93 RP 90

2015 Charles Smith "Kung Fu Girl" Columbia Valley Riesling
By: Diana Turk | Review Date: 1/17/2017 | Send Email
Lemony and bright, with some slight and very pleasing residual sugar but a dry finish, "Kung Fu Girl" is a cheerful weeknight winner – there’s enough great acid to make this well-priced Riesling a Thai takeout (or anything spicy) staple. Plus the campy label doesn’t hurt. I love Charles Smith’s easygoing wines, and this lively, layered offering might just be my favorite.

2015 Fratelli Barale "Castle" Barbera d'Alba
By: Diana Turk | Review Date: 1/17/2017 | Send Email
Classic and delicious! Brimming with dark berry fruit, this Barbera is high-quality and easygoing, with just enough brightness and lift – more acidity than most – to keep things interesting. A natural with cheese, this would also be lovely on its own, although the number of dishes with which I’ve successively paired layered this Barbera is impressive. Fratelli Barale is a crowd-pleasing yet sophisticated choice that won't break the bank. This producer is always a hit with customers and staff alike, and the 2015 Castle is already almost sold out. Try it while you can.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

Billecart-Salmon Brut Rosé Champagne
By: Diana Turk | Review Date: 1/17/2017 | Send Email
This sets the bar for spectacular brut rosé! It’s hard to gush about Billecart-Salmon without feeling like you’re piggybacking on critical accolades or following popular opinion, but this best-selling Champagne is worth the hype. Gorgeous rose petal and delicate white peach on the nose, followed by pure strawberry fruit gleaming through the palate, this showcases Billecart-Salmon’s bright style while adding the sophistication of mousse texture and a minerally finish. There’s freshness throughout, plus substance – this would be a great wine to pair with heartier meals like fried chicken, although its elegance makes a glass equally at home with caviar. Tiny creamy bubbles and lovely color only enhance the drinking experience, and cooler, longer fermentation in stainless steel (3-5 weeks!) keeps everything crisp. Billecart-Salmon uses all three big Champagne varietals: Chardonnay, Pinot Noir, and curiously, more Pinot Meunier than most houses. They have traditionally championed Meunier and the result is a delicate, nuanced wine with depth. Perfect for any occasion, even if that occasion is a weeknight spent on an apartment balcony, Billecart-Salmon Brut Rosé Champagne is reliably special.

2015 Clos Bellane "Petite Bellane" Côtes du Rhône-Villages
By: Alex Schroeder | Review Date: 1/16/2017 | Send Email
This is brimming with the aromas of freshly crushed raspberry confiture…very rich fruit and the acid to back it up. This is likely due to its unusually high Syrah content for a southern Rhone wine. There’s a nice toastiness from the oak and its light-bodied nature makes it especially “mid-week quaffable.” The strong acid makes it a great food wine and a fantastic value.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2013 Lamole di Lamole Chianti Classico
By: Rachel Vogel | Review Date: 1/16/2017 | Send Email
A ripe and meaty full-bodied Chianti with fresh black cherry characteristics strong on the weighted palate. It's depth and complexities extend from beginning to end of the glass as the finish streams into the classic savory Sangiovese flavors, dried violets and meaty tannins.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart
JS 92

2014 Chateau l'Avocat (Sweet), Cérons (500ml)
By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 1/15/2017 | Send Email
A superb value for everyday drinking. Some pineapple and apricot aromas with citrus notes. Smooth and lingering on the palate.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2004 Nairac, Barsac
By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 1/15/2017 | Send Email
We found this gem on our April 2106 Bordeaux visit. This is half the normal price. I do not like 2004 Sauternes in general, but this is one of the best there is. Great balance of sweetness with crisp citrus acidity. A great party wine and very good before dinner or with foie gras.

1977 Graham's Vintage Port
By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 1/15/2017 | Send Email
Perfect gift for that fortieth birthday or anniversary. There are not any real good 1977 California or Bordeaux wines.
Price: $149.99 Add To Cart
RP 93 WS 91

2013 Gazin-Rocquencourt Blanc, Pessac-Léognan
By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 1/15/2017 | Send Email
This property is under the auspices of the Bonnie family of Malartic-Lagravière. The white is so citrusy and focused with lots of mineral nuances.

2012 Gazin-Rocquencourt, Pessac-Léognan
By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 1/15/2017 | Send Email
This property is under the auspices of the Bonnie family of Malartic-Lagravière. The red is fruity and forward and represents an excellent buy.

2011 Pauillac de Latour, Pauillac
By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 1/15/2017 | Send Email
This third wine from Latour shows plenty of structure and ripe fruit—superb value for such a pedigree.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart
JS 90
Limit of 24 per customer

2007 Malescasse, Haut-Medoc
By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 1/15/2017 | Send Email
This wine is a beauty. The garnet color with some lighter tinges tells us this wine is developing nicely, and very much ready to drink. It has an appealing, sweet fruit note on the nose, but is enveloped by even more enticing woodsy, cocoa and violet notes. It has a medium body, with present but caressing tannins. Above all it is a fresh and classic Bordeaux for the table. I don’t usually talk about the prices, as I find it is up to the consumer to decide if it is a good value, but in this case I have to point out that this is a great opportunity to buy, and buy by the case.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2009 Les Grands Chenes, Médoc
By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 1/15/2017 | Send Email
From another one of the “Grands” vintages, this Magrez wine is also another beauty. But this one is for the cellars, in my opinion. It is all there: the opaque color, the espresso/coffee beans and tobacco, the sweet but never heavy cassis fruit, along with crushed stone minerality and bitter chocolate. If you drink it now, decant it for an hour. Better yet, get a case and put it in the cellar.

Page: 1 2 3 next >>