Staff Favorites

If you’re going to have Robert Parker or Stephen Tanzer over for dinner, selecting a wine they’ve rated highly will be a nice choice. However, when you’re buying wines for yourself, we’d love to see you find wines that match up your unique palate and pocketbook. We have a large staff of friendly and knowledgeable wine professionals that taste hundreds of wines each week. They can put you in touch with bottles that you are likely to love, often at a much lower cost than the highly-rated gems that often see a run-up in price and frequent availability issues. Like any great group of opinionated professionals, our staff has varied tastes themselves. Often our customers will find a particular staff member with a style that corresponds to their own. That concept works extremely well in our retail stores, and this section is our effort to bring you the same online. Don’t get us wrong, we love the highly rated wines from the press and will continue to offer them, but we think you’re missing out if you’re not augmenting those selections with picks from our excellent staff. Here are their favorites. (Click on a name to see their other selections - or to drop them a line.) Cheers!

Reviews

  
Page: 1 2 3 next >>
2014 Akitu "A2" Pinot Noir Central Otago (White Label)
By: Alex Schroeder | Review Date: 2/8/2016 | Send Email
Made from clones of Burgundian vines planted in Central Otago over a decade ago, the Akitu A2 Pinot Noir displays characteristics you just don't find at this price point often: Depth, complexity, freshness and character. Intense flavors of blackberries and raspberries are the focal point, while subtle spices and herbs frame the wine perfectly to create a food-friendly, utterly satisfying Pinot Noir experience. No question, awesome value!

2014 Vacheron Sancerre
By: Eric Story | Review Date: 2/8/2016 | Send Email
Super thrilled to finally be able to start working with this producer. The expressions of the wines coming from the domaine aren’t really like many of the other typical styles of Sancerre. These have a lot more silex influence and therefore have a sharper more precise focus to them. The complexity is sneaky and really starts to shine after about an hour of decanting. The amount of thoughtful attention in making these wines is very evident with each sip.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2012 Mount Veeder Winery Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
By: Dave Genevro | Review Date: 2/7/2016 | Send Email
I love this wine. Power, precision and a well integrated tannin structure... plus that great Mount Veeder fruit, at that price point is great for all of us. Let this wine breathe and it will definitely open up a bit for you.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WE 92

2013 Smith & Hook Central Coast Cabernet Sauvignon
By: Bryan Brick | Review Date: 2/5/2016 | Send Email
One of our most successful wines over the last 2-3 months has been the 2013 Hahn Santa Lucia Highlands Pinot Noir. Its combination of friendly style, honest Pinot flavors and ridiculous value has captured our customers' attention, and palates, and has held it. Always on the hunt for the next big thing, we wanted to see if the Hahn Family wines produced anything else that held a candle to the value of the Pinot Noir. Much to our chagrin, we found the 2013 Smith & Hook Central Coast Cabernet Sauvignon and we were floored by the same combination of value, flavor and drinkability we found in the Hahn.
Made from 100% Cabernet Sauvignon from a blend of San Antonio Valley, Paso Robles, Hames Valley and Arroyo Seco fruit and aged in 100% French oak, this Cab has the polish and slick black fruit of a wine 3-4 times the price. A lace of menthol and sage weaves through the boysenberry fruit and mocha richness found on the nose, leading to the fresh and zesty entry. Fleshy and easygoing, this Cab delivers a fully weighted core of olive, black currant, plum, tarragon, cedar and loam flavors on the lush palate. Velvety tannins wrap up the ripe and juicy finish and a long mélange of fresh herbs resonate long after the glass is empty. This is the easily the best value Cabernet we have in the store right now.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart
WE 92

2012 Kir-Yianni "Yianakohori Hills" Red Blend Macedonia
By: Olivia Ragni | Review Date: 2/5/2016 | Send Email
This elegant Greek blend boasts aromas of violets, dark cherry and anise. The palate is lifted and bright yet soft and polished. Flavors of dark plum, blackberry, and chocolate dominate the palate while having a backbone of graphite and a subtle sanguine quality. While this is drinking well now, the bright acidity and polished tannin structure would make for an interesting wine to cellar for a few years.
Price: Hidden View Price
RP 90

2012 Achaval Ferrer Cabernet Sauvignon Mendoza
By: Randy Hagerman | Review Date: 2/5/2016 | Send Email
This is an extremely drinkable Cabernet at a great price. The bright red fruit and medium acidity rounds quite nicely to the smooth, softly tannic finish. I'm astounded that we can offer this much wine at this price point.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
JS 90

2010 Viña Quebrada "Domus Aurea" Cabernet Sauvignon Maipo Valley
By: Dulcinea Gonzalez | Review Date: 2/5/2016 | Send Email
Totally distinct and showing amazing depth, the Domus Aurea is an intense, full-bodied Cab that wears its weight with elegance and class. The nose displays a handsome fragrance of roasted almonds and vanilla. It has plenty of backbone, with well-integrated tannins, and displays a delicious mid-palate of black fruit, dark chocolate, smoke and herbs. Stack this dark horse up against any $100 Napa Cab...you won't be disappointed. Super recommended!

2013 Paolo Calì "Mandragola" Frappato Vittoria
By: Diana Turk | Review Date: 2/5/2016 | Send Email
Versatile and now bargain-priced! Tart with notes of citrus zest and bright berry, this light-bodied Frappato shows huge lift but surprising depth and elegance as it opens up. Chill slightly, let it breathe, and serve this Sicilian beauty with spicy pasta.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$12.99

2011 Kir-Yianni "Ramnista" Xinomavro Naoussa
By: Diana Turk | Review Date: 2/5/2016 | Send Email
Racy cherry fruit and a palate that somehow manages to be both smooth and earthy. This is an elegant, high acid wine that almost drinks like a bright Nebbiolo. Herbal notes on the nose and a tannic finish, this complex Xinomavro will benefit from age but is interesting enough to try now.
Price: Hidden View Price
RP 92

2011 Kir-Yianni "Ramnista" Xinomavro Naoussa
By: Olivia Ragni | Review Date: 2/5/2016 | Send Email
This Xinomavro has incredible lift and acidity, while still having that hallmark Xinomavro tannin. There are notes of bright cherries, figs, and fennel coupled with flavors of eucalyptus, leather, and iron. This is a wine that is light yet tannic; full of fruit, yet incredibly earthy; and rustic while maintaining exceptional complexity. I love its opposing characteristics that work seamlessly together.
Price: Hidden View Price
RP 92

2010 Viña Quebrada "Domus Aurea" Cabernet Sauvignon Maipo Valley
By: Randy Hagerman | Review Date: 2/5/2016 | Send Email
Wow! The herbaceous and green pepper notes leap from the glass of this bold, Chilean Cabernet. If you are a fan of varietally correct Cabernet Sauvignon, you need to buy this wine. The smoky, dark fruit and spice notes show how unique and expressive Cabernet Sauvignon can be from this region. The acid and structure suggest that this wine will age very well. Buy some to try now and some to lay down. You won't be disappointed.

San Venanzio Prosecco Valdobbiadene Demi-Long Superiore Brut
By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 2/5/2016 | Send Email
For the first days of spring, there is nothing better than bubbles. This is straw yellow and has a creamy mousse with a delicate, long-lasting bead on the nose that you will find releasing hints of apples and tropical fruit, plus wisteria blossoms, wonderful balance and elegance. The palate is crisp, with admirable fullness and a very dry finish. This will also work great with O.J. for your spring holidays and morning brunch. This is a wine of great balance and elegance and an excellent aperitif for all social occasions.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
WE 92 JS 90

2012 Casanova di Neri Rosso di Montalcino
By: Mahon McGrath | Review Date: 2/5/2016 | Send Email
Dried cherry, fruitcake, and fennel come out on the nose of this Rosso di Montalcino. A hint of mint accents the juicy cherry notes on the palate, which shows good depth of flavor. There’s lots of youthful vitality here yet, though the tannins are fine enough to make this approachable now.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$22.99

2014 Domaine Paul Pernot Bourgogne Chardonnay
By: Dulcinea Gonzalez | Review Date: 2/5/2016 | Send Email
Clean, balanced, and refreshing, this is a quintessential K&L value Burgundy that's perfect for every day of the week drinking, showing what is turning out to be a great balance of fruit, flesh and acidity in the 2014 vintage. With fruit sourced from Puligny-Montrachet, this has a pretty lemon tart nose and is deliciously racy, yet totally user-friendly. A total must buy!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2005 Bodegas Casa Juan Señor de Lesmos Reserva Rioja
By: Diana Turk | Review Date: 2/5/2016 | Send Email
Classic Rioja from a celebrated vintage, this lush Tempranillo shows some cherry and earthiness on the nose but finishes with deep elegant fruit, leather, fennel, softer spice, and that caskiness Spanish fans love from a good Reserva. I am always in the Lesmos camp but this release in particular impressively over-delivers — unbelievable value for less than twenty bucks!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JS 92

2012 Kir-Yianni "Yianakohori Hills" Red Blend Macedonia
By: Kirk Walker | Review Date: 2/5/2016 | Send Email
A "Super Grecian" for lack of a better term. This is a great combination of French and Greek varietals. The Xinomavro is the core of this wine, giving plenty of structure and a hint of earth. The Merlot and Syrah flesh out the wine with a pleasant mix of dark fruits, tobacco and subtle game. Polished with the right amount of French oak, this wine over-delivers for the price.
Price: Hidden View Price
RP 90

Gin Mare Mediterranean Gin (750ml)
By: Nicole Osmanski | Review Date: 2/5/2016 | Send Email
Wow, this gin appears to be taking K&L by storm. I'm not sure I've ever seen all of us react so quickly with such unanimous love for a gin before. Gin Mare - distilled with Arbequina olives, basil, rosemary, and thyme - transported me to a garrigue covered hilltop overlooking the Mediterranean on a warm, breezy day. The palate is fresh, soft, and elegant with sweet citrus, briny olive, and herb de Provence. That essence of the Mediterranean Sea that Mare's named for will certainly add a Je Ne Sais Quoi depth to your next cocktail. If you're feeling like a full seaside immersion experience, try a Martini with equal parts Mare Gin and Manzanilla Sherry with a splash or two of orange bitters.
Price: $33.99 Add To Cart

2014 Copain "Tous Ensemble" Anderson Valley Pinot Noir
By: Diana Turk | Review Date: 2/4/2016 | Send Email
A balanced, bright, old world style that’s reminiscent of French Pinot Noir yet is sourced from vineyards north of Headsburg. Copain presents floral on the nose with cherry up front and hints of deeper fruit throughout. This is a “hands off” method of winemaking that – when combined with 2014’s cooler weather – creates a beautifully earthy wine with easy-drinking Anderson Valley fruit. Lovely.
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart

Gin Mare Mediterranean Gin (750ml)
By: Shaun Green | Review Date: 2/4/2016 | Send Email
A very cool and unusual gin from Spain! Distilled from Olives, Thyme, Rosemary and Basil, this gin is almost a martini in itself. The thyme is the forward aromatic so the herbal notes are very fine, and wonderful citrus overtones provide freshness and zip. There is a fantastic and equally fresh subtly minty quality on the finish that I love. Absolutely delicious.
Top Value!
Price: $33.99 Add To Cart

2013 Clos de l'Anhel "Les Terrassettes" Corbieres
By: Diana Turk | Review Date: 2/4/2016 | Send Email
My favorite in the Clos de L’Anhel lineup, Les Terrasettes is an incredibly versatile (holiday) wine that impresses with beautiful earthiness, rusticity, and bright fruit. It’s complex enough for the sophisticated but still wows a crowd. Plus it's organic and a killer price! I took a bottle to a dinner party and what started out as a slightly confusing pick “Where’s Corbieres? What’s Carignan like?” turned to adoration by the end of the night (“This is delicious! So interesting! Only gets better with air!”). The fact that winemaker Sophie Guiraudon runs the whole show, thoughtfully farming 25 acres on clay limestone soil, just adds to the appeal of this high quality, value-oriented stunner.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$14.99

2014 Domaine Long-Depaquit (Albert Bichot) Chablis
By: Ivan Diaz | Review Date: 2/4/2016 | Send Email
Impressive weight and richness catch me off guard out of the gate. Baked apple and lemon citrus wash over my palate first, giving way to the mid-palate which reveals more traditional notes of flinty minerality, reminding me of salty stones in the sea. It finishes on a high note with zesty acidity and a kick of herbs that makes me want oysters so, so badly right now.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2012 Villa Symposia "Equilibre" Languedoc Rouge
By: Ivan Diaz | Review Date: 2/4/2016 | Send Email
The most common request we get is for that special bottle of muscular, fully-loaded red wine for under $20 that just blows us all away. Well, until the Equilibre by Villa Symposia sells out, consider this your go-to. A foundation of organically grown Syrah provides the core of rich, black fruit, cocoa, cracked pepper, tobacco, and herbs - flavors which only develop further and spawn new ones as the wine breathes. Perfect with grilled lamb or roast beef.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart
RP 90 - 92

2009 Elisabeth Goutorbe Brut Champagne
By: Ivan Diaz | Review Date: 2/4/2016 | Send Email
Quick! Before the masses find out about this fine, grower producer and send the price point soaring, make sure to pick up a bottle (or twelve) so you can say you owned it back when it was only $40 a bottle. Made from a vintage blend of Pinot Noir and Chardonnay, this handcrafted bottling is bright but silky on the palate, showing ripe citrus and white peach flavors alongside compelling minerality and buttery, brioche-y richness.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Faultline "Jaime Hernandez Special Edition" Gin (750ml)
By: David Driscoll | Review Date: 2/4/2016 | Send Email
I think with all the hoopla of the artwork and the limited edition vinyl that originally came with it, we forgot to talk about how amazing the spirit is. I had the bartenders from Whitechapel come in recently to express their love and ask if they could potentially work with the product at their newly-established gin bar downtown (alas, there's no legal way of selling it to them). It's like a far more-drinkable version of the Monkey with hints of red berries on the initial entry that give way to an almost creamy mouthfeel accented by vibrant Indian spices. You don't need tonic, or ice, or anything. You can sip this neat and I honestly believe it offers all the complexity of a whisky straight up, all on its own. There are layers of complexity within this gin. They just need a bit of your undivided attention.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2014 Rickshaw California Pinot Noir
By: Diana Turk | Review Date: 2/4/2016 | Send Email
So good and so reasonably priced! A brighter style Pinot Noir sourced mainly from Sonoma fruit, Rickshaw shows high-toned berry notes and good acid while maintaining easygoing drinkability; the 2014 definitely lives up to the Banshee name. Plus a portion of the proceeds go to food-related charities – everyone wins!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2010 Cune "Imperial" Reserva Rioja
By: Illya Haase | Review Date: 2/4/2016 | Send Email
There is no other wine like the Rioja from Alta! The moment you pour the glass and it hits your nose, you know exactly where you are. Aromas of subtle spice linger in the glass. Violets, cinnamon and dried cherries are the benchmarks for an old world Rioja. As it is relatively young, the fruit is a little more seductive, but the underlying earth, leather and sweet crushed floral are the highlights. Rounded out by amazing acidity and polish tannins this is the ultimate food wine! Start out with Morcilla and end with a roasted leg of lamb. Nothing could be more perfect!

2010 Miguel Merino "Unnum" Rioja
By: Diana Turk | Review Date: 2/4/2016 | Send Email
Dark cherry fruit with velvety texture and a touch of oak, Unnum is a plush, impressively layered release from what’s turning out to be a stellar vintage. Miguel Merino is always on the more fruit-driven modern side of Rioja style, and I wouldn’t be surprised if Parker devotees love this delicious wine, but there’s a balance here that doesn’t alienate fans of cooler climate Tempranillo… a thoroughly enjoyable offering from a classic producer.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2009 Can Mayol Loxarel "Gran Reserva de Familia" Brut Nature Penedes
By: Diana Turk | Review Date: 2/4/2016 | Send Email
Crafted from grapes that include 70 year old Xarel-lo vines, this is bright but still shows the gorgeous lees-y qualities without any hint of reduction. There’s sophistication here and a subtle salinity with a dry, beautifully chalky finish. I tend to love everything from this mad scientist Cava producer, but the 2009 Brut Nature is especially lovely and bargain-priced to boot – a celebratory favorite that continues to impress even Champagne lovers.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
RP 93

2014 Ca' del Baio "Paolina" Barbera d'Alba
By: Diana Turk | Review Date: 2/4/2016 | Send Email
I bought this initially at the advice of a fellow K&L employee. I was leaning towards a mineral-driven Mt. Etna wine, or at least something earthy and bright to pair with pasta; he’d just had a bottle of the Paolina and was singing its praises. If he’d told me up front that it would show such lively blueberry fruit on the nose, I might not have gone for it, but it turns out that an open mind here led to an incredibly enjoyable experience. Aromatic with vibrant juicy fruit, tons of lift, sneaky delicate herbal notes, and a surprisingly long finish, this was more intense than expected from Barbera and evolved throughout the night. Sophisticated yet easy going, high quality, and under twenty bucks – Ca’ Del Baio delivers a gorgeous winner here.
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart

2009 Louise Brison Vintage Brut Champagne
By: Diana Turk | Review Date: 2/4/2016 | Send Email
Bright and clean with apple and stone fruit notes, beautiful lift and a dry finish, the 2009 Louise Brison is racy, bargain-priced for Champagne, and goes down easily, perhaps even moreso than the wildly popular 2008. Cheers!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2013 Eisold-Smith "Edel" Columbia Gorge White Blend
By: Sal Rodriguez | Review Date: 2/3/2016 | Send Email
What's this, WHAT'S THIS. There's magic in the air! Ok. It's not actually magic- it's pretty darn close, though. It's the fragrant stone fruit and dried flowers in the air from this compelling blend of white wine from Washington. Although the wine maker hasn't come forth with a blend that amounts to 100 percent of the wine, we aren't scoffing at how delicious it still is. Bright, lovely, lifted, and #@!%&#, were all descriptors found on my notes at the end of the tasting. Hands down, my new favorite white wine to take home, and priced to sell!
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2010 Poggio Antico Brunello di Montalcino
By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 2/3/2016 | Send Email
The nose of this wine is just super elegant, full of rose petals, wild cherry with hints of Middle Eastern spices. On the palate the wine is lively, fresh and savory all at the same time; the wild cherry turns deeper into plum, smoked meats and leather but always propped up by high-toned cherry and rose notes. The finish is just stupendous, so complex, so full, so long, it is hard to choose between these two wines but I like this one just slightly more than the Altero. But both are super.
Drink from 2016 to 2016

2013 Eisold-Smith "Edel" Columbia Gorge White Blend
By: Nicole Osmanski | Review Date: 2/3/2016 | Send Email
If you're a fan of German and Alsatian white wine, you know how difficult it can be to find domestic examples of Riesling and Gewurztraminer that measure up. Gewurtz, especially, is often maligned and misunderstood: "too floral", "not enough acid," "too sweet" are common complaints. Eisold-Smith's Edel - a Gewurtz blended with Riesling and Pinot Gris - is a great example of how good this noble grape can be with the right terroir and winemaker. Lauren Eisold studied winemaking in Germany and her restrained, delicately perfumed, fresh take on this Gewurz blend certainly reflects that. Mandarin orange and citrus blossom fill out the bouquet, with a lovely honeyed richness rounding out the still fresh and crisp palate. This wine is a find.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2014 Domaine Paul Pernot Puligny-Montrachet 1er Cru "Les Pucelles"
By: Trey Beffa | Review Date: 2/3/2016 | Send Email
A very toasty nose with a round, rich, creamy palate, the “Les Pucelles” shows a juicy texture and bright, clean acidity on the finish. Very nice balance and complexity, this wine should age well. Tasted at the property in October of 2015.
Price: $109.99 Add To Cart
VN 89 - 92

San Venanzio Prosecco Valdobbiadene Demi-Long Superiore Brut
By: David Driscoll | Review Date: 2/3/2016 | Send Email
This wine is the worst thing that's happened to me in years. It's a better, longer-aged (on the lees) version of the standard San Venanzio that, for an extra two bucks, brings UNBEATABLE sparkling drinkability. This wine is light as air, with utterly faint hints of citrus and stone fruit just dancing briefly in the distance. The bubbles are fine, the finish is clean and refreshing. I could (and probably will) drink a bottle of this every single night of the week and never get tired of it. And that's my problem. There's just nothing this good for this low of a price in sparkling wine.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
WE 92 JS 90

San Venanzio Prosecco Valdobbiadene Demi-Long Superiore Brut
By: Shaun Green | Review Date: 2/3/2016 | Send Email
OK, so the label is hard to love and the name is a bit hard to figure out but most importantly, the Prosecco inside is great! Fresh and inviting on the nose, and on the palate it's wonderfully creamy and moussy lively and bright. Quite dry with a lemon pith over golden delicious apple fruitiness, soft chalky minerality and a nice mid-palate weight from the extended lees contact. This one is sure to become a party favorite at a price we can afford.
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
WE 92 JS 90

San Venanzio Prosecco Valdobbiadene Demi-Long Superiore Brut
By: Sal Rodriguez | Review Date: 2/3/2016 | Send Email
This is a winning value! Bright, crisp, and creamy lemon zest on the nose. High fruit tones and crisp, dry, delicious bubbles on the palate. This comes together nicely with apple fruits and a nice mineral backbone. You can never have too many bubbles so be sure to add this bottle to your collection.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
WE 92 JS 90

San Venanzio Prosecco Valdobbiadene Demi-Long Superiore Brut
By: Mellyn Craig | Review Date: 2/3/2016 | Send Email
My fellow bubbly drinkers take note! This dry Prosecco is so delicious and a bargain to boot. The bouquet is filled with dried white flowers. The floral qualities carry through onto the palate and as well as peach, apple and lemon pith. The fruits are balanced out with a steely minerality and zesty acid. This pretty bubbly is so tasty that it is almost too easy to drink. I recommend stocking up. I will be!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
WE 92 JS 90

2014 Blason Pinot Grigio Isonzo
By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 2/3/2016 | Send Email
We have been importing Blason Pinot Grigio since the 2002 vintage....yes this is the 13th (and Lucky # in Italian) vintage and without a doubt my favorite vintage to date. Blason has always had body, depth and aromatics but this year they've got a really vibrant central acidity that amplifies the aromatics and firms up the wine. Sensational and at this price a ridiculous BARGAIN!
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart

San Venanzio Prosecco Valdobbiadene Demi-Long Superiore Brut
By: Nicole Osmanski | Review Date: 2/3/2016 | Send Email
This lovely Prosecco reminds me of a spring morning - it's fresh and aromatic with honeysuckle blossom, ripe melon, and stones wet from the rain. The same notes come through on the palate with yellow peach and mandarin orange peel adding a little more complexity. I love that the flavors suggest an almost honeyed, feminine sweetness, but the wine is nice and dry with a healthy dose of minerality. This is easily one of the most interesting and dynamic sparkling wines for under $20 in the store.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
WE 92 JS 90

2013 Celler Cecilio "Negre" Priorat
By: Diana Turk | Review Date: 2/3/2016 | Send Email
Wet rocks and graphite on the nose with almost violet floral notes plus a touch of oak, Cecilio Negre is a big wine with nice acidity and a long finish. This shows a more modern side of Priorat but retains everything you love about schist-grown Garnacha in a fruit-forward, high-scoring blend.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
RP 95

2011 Kir-Yianni "Ramnista" Xinomavro Naoussa
By: Mahon McGrath | Review Date: 2/3/2016 | Send Email
If I were to smell this blind, I’d probably guess I was in the presence of a Barbaresco. Licorice and mint curl up with berry fruit and warm baking spices on the nose, before it goes in an emphatically dry, high-toned, resinous, woody direction on the palate. The high acidity and strong tannins mark this one as an excellent candidate for squirreling away in a cold cellar; this is going to last for many years. And what will you find years on when its sleep is ended? I suspect that as the resinous notes are absorbed, the wonderfully natural raspberry fruit and dry herb notes that come out now only on the finish will emerge, and the wine will take on a elegant, supple, and seductive character, supplanting the bold and forceful one it displays at present.
Price: Hidden View Price
RP 92

2012 Kir-Yianni "Yianakohori Hills" Red Blend Macedonia
By: Mahon McGrath | Review Date: 2/3/2016 | Send Email
There’s a rich, plummy character, with a tart edge, on the nose here which is nicely accented by some subdued spice. Something like an alternate-world claret in body, there’s boysenberry, bay leaf, and asphalt flavors in this blend, along with bright acidity, and lively tannic structure(hello, Xinomavro!), marking this one as best suited to the dinner table. If it’s rich, savory, and/or meaty, this one will get along with it swimmingly.
Price: Hidden View Price
RP 90

San Venanzio Prosecco Valdobbiadene Demi-Long Superiore Brut
By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 2/3/2016 | Send Email
I love this pure expression of Prosecco, a vibrant Brut, dry and very crisp with an extended lees contact that adds to the complexity. Very crisp, great mid palate weight and long, long finish, exceptional Prosecco!
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
WE 92 JS 90

2013 Smith & Hook Central Coast Cabernet Sauvignon
By: Sal Rodriguez | Review Date: 2/3/2016 | Send Email
Hi, My name is Sal and I drink red wine... And this bottle is one of the main reasons I drink red wines. This has a great sense of rich ripe fruit (but not too sweet), and just enough oak, tobacco, spice, and acidity to balance things out. It's drinking quite well right now but I know it can go for several more years. I can think of a few wines over 50 bucks that would be easily replaced by this, and no-one would be the wiser. 17 bucks?! Are you kidding me!?!
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart
WE 92

2014 Domaine Paul Pernot Puligny-Montrachet
By: Trey Beffa | Review Date: 2/3/2016 | Send Email
Tasted at the property in October of 2015 – The Puligny Montrachet is quite fresh and yet still shows a very rich and layered middle palate with hints of baked apples, pear and green olive. This round, almost creamy wine should be wonderful to drink upon its release.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart
VN 87 - 90

2013 Sobon Estate "Cougar Hill" Amador County Zinfandel
By: Andrew Whiteley | Review Date: 2/2/2016 | Send Email
I can't reproduce my tasting notes here because the language wouldn't be appropriate. But, my goodness, that is some good Zin at any price! Full of berry brambles and spice without being too heavy, this is perfect daily drinking for Zinfandel fans who don't want something akin to maple syrup or boysenberry jam. All at a price that won't make you feel guilty for opening it on a Monday.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2009 Louise Brison Vintage Brut Champagne
By: Scott Beckerley | Review Date: 2/2/2016 | Send Email
This new (to us) small estate producer had a HUGE success here with their 2008 vintage. The 2009 vintage release is of a similar quality but, with higher acidity. It has bracing acidity and chalkiness on the finish, which, for me, is a good thing. This is due to a much lower dosage than the 2008. Where the 2008 showed rich, golden apple fruit, this release shows white stone fruits and peach. This is a solid effort and a very pleasing release.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2013 Husch "Nash Mill Vineyard" Anderson Valley Pinot Noir
By: Andrew Whiteley | Review Date: 2/2/2016 | Send Email
If you've shopped at K&L (especially in Redwood City) for a while, you've certainly met our fabulous Jim Barr and heard about his planting of the Nash Mill Vineyard in 2003. While the wine from this unique site has always been good, now that the vines are reaching a more mature age, it is simply excellent. The wine is fresh and bright with ripe strawberries and floral aromatics followed by lots of lift at the back end. Given the heritage of the vineyard, it's a K&L must try!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2014 Varner "El Camino Vineyard" Santa Barbara County Chardonnay
By: Andrew Whiteley | Review Date: 2/2/2016 | Send Email
Bob and Jim Varner make some of my favorite wines. Not only are they extremely local (just up the road from our Redwood City store) but they make Pinot and Chardonnay to rival the greats. They always manage to strike a balance between rich, textural Chardonnay and bright acid and freshness that keep things interesting. The El Camino Vineyard Chardonnay is no exception. With fruit grown in Santa Barbara County that goes through full malo-lactic fermentation, but no new oak treatment, this wine is bright and clean. It has notes of baked apples and pears and well as a sparkling clean lemon freshness. At a very modest price given it's quality, this is the perfect middle of the road Chardonnay that will surely pleas the crowd at your next party.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

Page: 1 2 3 next >>