Staff Favorites

If you’re going to have Robert Parker or Stephen Tanzer over for dinner, selecting a wine they’ve rated highly will be a nice choice. However, when you’re buying wines for yourself, we’d love to see you find wines that match up your unique palate and pocketbook. We have a large staff of friendly and knowledgeable wine professionals that taste hundreds of wines each week. They can put you in touch with bottles that you are likely to love, often at a much lower cost than the highly-rated gems that often see a run-up in price and frequent availability issues. Like any great group of opinionated professionals, our staff has varied tastes themselves. Often our customers will find a particular staff member with a style that corresponds to their own. That concept works extremely well in our retail stores, and this section is our effort to bring you the same online. Don’t get us wrong, we love the highly rated wines from the press and will continue to offer them, but we think you’re missing out if you’re not augmenting those selections with picks from our excellent staff. Here are their favorites. (Click on a name to see their other selections - or to drop them a line.) Cheers!

Reviews

  
Page: 1 2 3 next >>
2011 Proprietà Sperino Lessona
By: Rachel Vogel | Review Date: 5/23/2017 | Send Email
Hailing from upper Piemonte near the Swiss border, the Sperino Lessona is filled with dense crushed cherry, bold baking spice and savory tobacco on the nose. The small addition of Vespolina helps build those bold aromatics. The wine is fermented with natural yeast and is kept on it's skins for just under three weeks giving it structure and depth. Some lee's aging before bottling adds to the full bodied texture of the wine. It is held to age in bottle for a few years before release to allow the structure of the wine to integrate. When I first opened the bottle the tannins were filled with baking spice and had almost a granulated texture, but when I tasted it a few hours later, the structure was focused and elongated. It is a beautiful wine filled with complex fruit and spice character that is completely delicious now, but could continue to age for the next 5+ years.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart
WE 96

2011 Proprietà Sperino Lessona
By: Christina Stanley | Review Date: 5/23/2017 | Send Email
This beauty comes from Lessona in Alto Piemonte, a region once famous for producing some of the highest quality Nebbiolos in Italy, before being decimated by phylloxera. Now that the region has been repopulated and is flourishing, the Di Marchi family of Sperino has returned to their estate to continue the legacy. The 2011 Sperino Lessona is crafted from all family owned estate fruit, Nebbiolo and Vespolina. A light bodied and aromatic wine, with aromas of tar and dried rose petals, the Sperino Lessona shows tremendous potential for extended aging and development. This wine has a bright acidity in an intriguing contrast to the condensed earthy fruit. Chocolate covered cherry and crushed herbs round out the palate.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart
WE 96

2014 Antica Masseria di Sigillo Primitivo di Manduria
By: Rachel Vogel | Review Date: 5/23/2017 | Send Email
The region of Manduria is known for it's hot and dry weather which creates juicy and opulent primitivos. The regional influence mixed with the slightly cooler growing season in 2014 gives this juicy wine more balance and subtlety than expected. The Antica Masseria vineyards are planted on limestone and clay, unusual for the area, which adds complexity and minerality to the softly structured wine. Full of bold purple fruit flavors with the decadence we come love in primitivos and the more balanced acidity mixes together for an integrated and approachable glass of wine.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart
WS 90

2015 Noemia de Patagonia "A Lisa" Malbec Rio Negro
By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 5/23/2017 | Send Email
When it comes to Malbec in the burgeoning Rio Negro region of Patagonia, Bodegas Noemia is the name to know. What you're getting here for well under $20 is a beautiful, supple Malbec, with dark and red fruits, well integrated oak, and a profile whose richness of fruit and fineness of tannins combine to make this seem considerably more expensive. Whether you are a fan of Malbec such as Achaval Ferrer or generally seek out value in California, this Patagonian wine should absolutely be on your radar.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart
RP 93 JS 92

2016 Rocca di Montegrossi Rosato
By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 5/23/2017 | Send Email
This robust rosato has a light salmon pink in color with fascinating aromas of ripe wild mountain strawberries and I found a hint of mandarin zest. It's fresh and lingering on the palate with a very dry finish.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2011 Proprietà Sperino Lessona
By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 5/23/2017 | Send Email
Deep red with ruby tones. Aromas of marzipan, brown spices, dried rose, leather and truffle. Suave and sweet, with a liqueur-like ripeness to the flavors of red fruits, marzipan and brown spices. Nicely integrated acidity accentuates the wine's inner-mouth perfume and contributes to an impression of firm structure.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart
WE 96

2011 Rocca di Montegrossi "San Marcellino" Chianti Classico
By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 5/23/2017 | Send Email
This boasts a deep ruby/purple color in addition to sweet vanilla (from French oak), and lots of black cherries, raspberries, and currants with hints spice, Tuscan dust and minerals. There is a great texture on this full- bodied wine; it has a long, authoritative finish that combines power with elegance. So… pull the cork a few hours before you throw pork roast on the Q’ and enjoy the first days of spring.
Price: $42.95 Add To Cart

2011 Proprietà Sperino Lessona
By: John Downing | Review Date: 5/23/2017 | Send Email
The wines of Lessona normally express a more elegant and aromatic side of Nebbiolo yet possess the ability to age for decades in the best of vintages. 2011 was a departure from the norm as vegetation occurred far earlier than anticipated and the temperatures were unseasonably warm during the Summer months. As a result, the Sperino Lessona is ripe and rich with slightly lower acidity than usual making it a bit atypical as it's approachable now. The fruit is flavor-packed and mouth-filling with nicely placed French oak that rounds it out. Although it's delicious now it will definitely cellar well.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart
WE 96

2015 Meinklang "Graupert" Grauburgunder Burgenland (Biodynamic)
By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 5/23/2017 | Send Email
This is the cleanest tasting "natural" wine I have ever had, and for fans of the style this flinty, very fruity, well balanced wine is a must try. I am not usually a fan of "sans soufre" bottlings, as they have a little too much dirty foot aroma and flavor, but this is completely clean. A very tasty bottle of Pinot Gris, with great richness and texture!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
DC 96

2016 Reichsrat von Buhl Spätburgunder Rosé Pfalz
By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 5/23/2017 | Send Email
What a surprising, delicious bottle of Pinot Noir Rose! The Reichsrat Von Buhl 2016 has lovely cherry fruit on the nose, contrasted by a dry and driven character on the palate. It has quite a bit of spicy complexity, balanced by plain refreshment. Add this into your lineup of rose... You won't regret it!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2015 Joh. Jos. Prüm Graacher Himmelreich Riesling Kabinett Mosel
By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 5/23/2017 | Send Email
The wines of Joh Jos Prum are some of the best in the world, and a great value for their pedigree and cellar worthiness. They last for decades- generations even, and never fail to wow. The 2015 Graacher Himmelreich Kabinett's biggest barrier to ageing will be how good it tastes now... I recommend off site storage if you want to age it! This has the spice and power of a big Mosel wine, but also texture and grace. The slatey finish goes on forever!
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2015 Maximin Grunhaus Riesling Tocken Mosel
By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 5/23/2017 | Send Email
This iconic Ruwer producer has made a fabulous dry Riesling in the ripe 2015 vintage, and at the price, everyone should drink some. I loved the classic peach fruit and the crackling minerality in this very easy to drink bottle. A long, detailed finish like in this Grunhaus would cost the farm in white Burgundy, but is cheap here even with the pedigree of one of the best producers in Germany.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2015 Weingut Fürst Elbling Mosel (1L)
By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 5/23/2017 | Send Email
This tasty bottle of white wine was racy enough to make my left eye jump... And I taste Champagne before they bottle it every year! If you are looking to put a refreshing, different white into your rotation, the one liter Elbling from Weingut Furst is a great option. This will hold up in the door of the refrigerator for a week without a problem- the acidity is fresh as can be! It also has quite nice body and texture given the bracing, high toned finish.
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2015 Argiano Rosso di Montalcino
By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 5/23/2017 | Send Email
The nose of this wine is smoky, earthy spiced with aromatic plums, but more red plums than dark plums. The body shows lushness, supple warmth, yet without being fat, it is just textured, Argiano is in the western portion of Montalcino and has sun-kissed glow to its feel. The flavors show a bit of earth, spice, leather that combine with the smoky, spiciness, the red plums come in at the end and drive those into a more singular flavor. The finish shows Sangiovese’s long, natural structure and in a great vintage like 2015 where everything lines up you can get quite the show. Balanced, complex, texturally supple with a long finish this is a really good wine that’s going to age for another 5-10 years.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2015 Uccelliera Rosso di Montalcino
By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 5/23/2017 | Send Email
The nose of this wine is smoky, savory, umami driven and reminds me a lot of the aromas from the 2010 vintage and they were heavenly. It isn’t as if there is a lack of fruit it’s just that it’s not that ebullient California fruity forwardness. The fruit in this wine is part of that savory nose it’s just integrated, the wild cherry aromatics are less like a bowl of Jell-O they’re more like that pungent, earthy, aromatic, dried cherries can give, concentrated but not “fruity”. On the palate you sense this is Sangiovese immediately, the long axis that gives wines from Montalcino that great length and lift. There is no sense of sweetness on your tongue but you can feel the movement, that electric vibrancy driving the flavors and the supple texture. The finish is very well balanced, complex and persistent. This is a wine that is really drinkable now, but I always like to decant Sangiovese for an hour or two, it opens an expressive option. This wine will age very well, 10-15 years from the vintage opening, gaining complexity.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart

2015 Meyer-Näkel "Estate" Pinot Noir Ahr
By: Morgan Laurie | Review Date: 5/23/2017 | Send Email
This is one of the best Pinot's I have tried in some time! Germany takes their Pinot Noir seriously and it shows in this incredibly delicous "Estate" Pinot Noir from Meyer-Nakel. The nose on this is so fragrant and inviting! It's floral, cherry scented goodness makes this a wine to savour. It will knock your socks off! It has a delicacy to it but enough grip to prove that it's serious. If you've never had a German Pinot Noir before, this is a must try and a great introduction to just how lovely these wines can be.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2016 Angélus, St-Emilion
By: Ralph Sands | Review Date: 5/23/2017 | Send Email
”Pure nose of deep, old vine Merlot, strong sweetness and structure, deep raspberry fruit, powerful and lush with great concentration and persistence throughout the long finish. Great, great, wine! 3 Stars." Ralph Sands

2016 Beychevelle, St-Julien
By: Ralph Sands | Review Date: 5/23/2017 | Send Email
In my opinion the best Beychevelle I have ever tasted! Fresh and effusive, pure blue fruits literally float across the palate with hints of minerals. Beautifully elegant, perfectly balanced and tasty. The comeback wine and 2 Stars!

2011 Baccinetti "La Saporoia" Brunello di Montalcino
By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 5/23/2017 | Send Email
Wow, $25?! For a Brunello with as much classical style, leathery, dusty tangy cherry fruit, and wonderful poise, I would certainly grab a few bottles, if not a few cases, to enjoy near term as well as mid-term in your cellar. Given the combination of vintage (having to follow the much hyped 2010 vintage) and our direct import, I cannot recall a Brunello offer as compelling as this one. Act quickly. $25 Brunello at any level - let alone something of this quality - is not long for this world!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
JS 91

2016 Croix de Beaucaillou, St-Julien
By: Ralph Sands | Review Date: 5/23/2017 | Send Email
Criox de Beaucaillou has great freshness on the nose, high toned silky textured fruit all in perfect balance. This is a WOW 2nd wine and I will be a buyer! 2 Stars. Believe me it is very hard to find a better tasting wine than Les Croix!

2016 Langoa-Barton, St-Julien
By: Ralph Sands | Review Date: 5/23/2017 | Send Email
Ch. Langoa Barton…$49.99 Mags $99.99 Langoa Barton has beautifully fresh, spicy raspberry fruit, nice texture, very pretty with all parts perfectly balanced. 2 Stars! Ralph

2011 Proprietà Sperino Lessona
By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 5/23/2017 | Send Email
The nose of this wine is so incredibly sensual; it is the proverbial siren’s song. Waves of savory complexity, laurel, cardamom, salted plum, middle-eastern spices fill your nose. On the palate you can tell this is Nebbiolo, there’s no doubting the lacy tannic structure that defines the wine’s size, but the tannins are sweet, long and give the wine length without losing its supple smoothness. The flavors on your palate are once again more savory, dried herbs, salted plum, fresh leather and dried cherries. The finish is long, persistent and reaches every corner of your palate leaving a layer of spice, intrigue and memory. This is a wine that is drinkable now…yet will last another 30 years; the wines from Alto Piemonte are incredibly long-lived and a century ago were Italy’s most famous, wars, economics, history changed the face of this zone that has only resurfaced in the past few decades as once again some of Italy’s greatest red wines. The winery is owned by the de Marchi family, the owners of Isole e Olena the famed Chianti producers, this is their original family estate.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart
WE 96

2009 Franck Bonville "Millesime" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne (1.5L)
By: Diana Turk | Review Date: 5/23/2017 | Send Email
This is the dark horse in Bonville’s lineup: it’s sophisticated with a steely, chalky backbone, yet soft and accessible enough to for non-Champagne drinkers to appreciate. Yeasty with caramel notes right from the top, "Millesime" Brut showcases the house’s mineral-driven style, with the bonus drinkability of a rich, easygoing vintage. While the additional time on the lees really comes through (surprising even Bonville – this was accidentally left in the cellar an extra 2 years!), this still a bright Blanc de Blancs with tiny mousse, lemon and green apple fruit, and a clean yet lingering finish. I planned to be impressed with this practically-priced offering (Grand Cru! Avize!), but this release, especially magical in magnum format, will elevate expectations of just how special your celebration can be.
Price: $84.99 Add To Cart

Franck Bonville "Belles Voyes" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne (1.5L)
By: Diana Turk | Review Date: 5/23/2017 | Send Email
This might just be my favorite Champagne that we carry, and drinking it out of a magnum is especially luxurious. Whether you’re looking for a generous gift or just selecting something incredibly special for yourself, Franck Bonville "Belles Voyes" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne should be on your radar. It drinks like Krug and the distinctive bulbous bottle adds glamour, especially in this striking 1.5 liter size. This release is sourced exclusively from the already-accessible 2009 harvest and is 100% Chardonnay from Bonville’s tiniest vineyard in Oger. Belles Voyes easily outshines exponentially more expensive options, showing apple brightness and intense floral aromatics, plus leesy complexity, brioche notes and a heady, indulgent texture balanced by racy minerality. The perfect celebratory investment.
Price: $139.00 Add To Cart
WS 91 WE 90

Franck Bonville Brut Rosé Champagne (1.5L)
By: Diana Turk | Review Date: 5/23/2017 | Send Email
Bonville’s delicate, visually-stunning rosé is here in a size perfect for bigger celebrations. This release is delicious and elegant, but also substantial: Franck Bonville Brut Rosé Champagne feels important, with quality that far exceeds its price point. Mainly Avize fruit but featuring 8% Pinot Noir from Grand Cru village of Ambonnay, this crisp rosé features vivid red fruit on the nose but finishes fresh, with the linear snap expected of 92% Chardonnay, mostly from the colder 2011 vintage. There is electric acidity on the palate but also a plusher component thanks to a luxuriously fine bead. Luxurious, dry, and easydrinking – this is a rosé I’ve returned to again and again, and the magnum just makes it even more special.
Price: $84.99 Add To Cart
WS 92

Franck Bonville Brut Rosé Champagne (375ml)
By: Diana Turk | Review Date: 5/23/2017 | Send Email
Now featuring the new labels! Bonville’s delicate, visually-stunning brut rosé is delicious and elegant, but also substantial: this feels like important Champagne, with quality that far exceeds its price point. Featuring 8% Pinot Noir from celebrated Grand Cru village of Ambonnay, this crisp rosé features vivid red fruit on the nose but finishes fresh, with the linear snap expected of 92% Chardonnay, mostly from the colder 2011 vintage. There is electric acidity on the palate but also a plusher component thanks to a luxuriously fine bead. Luxurious, dry, and easydrinking – this is a favorite rosé for not only celebratory occasions, but to make any day special, and the smaller size is picnic-perfect.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart
WS 92

Franck Bonville Brut Rosé Champagne
By: Diana Turk | Review Date: 5/23/2017 | Send Email
Consistently incredible! Bonville’s delicate, visually-stunning brut rosé is delicious and elegant, but also substantial: this feels like important Champagne, with quality that far exceeds its price point. With 8% Pinot Noir from celebrated Grand Cru village of Ambonnay, this crisp rosé features vivid red fruit on the nose but finishes fresh, with the linear snap expected of 92% Chardonnay, mostly from the colder 2011 vintage. There is electric acidity on the palate but also a plusher component thanks to a luxuriously fine bead. Luxurious, dry, and easydrinking – this is rosé I’ve returned to again and again.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
WS 92

2015 Domaine Renaud Mâcon-Charnay
By: Jim Barr | Review Date: 5/23/2017 | Send Email
We have directly imported this lovely single vineyard production from the Reanuds for over five years, and this effort is, without a doubt, their best Chardonnay production to date. A superb nose of tropical fruit, white peach, and jasmine-like fruit is enhanced by undertones of wet-river stone to slate-like minerality, all of which carries over to a rich, lush, elegant palate impression that shows excellent structure and broadness of flavor on through its mouthwatering finish. This Gem is a fabulous representation of what wonderful wines can come from this area. Many of my colleagues have called this an excellent ‘crossover wine for our customers,’ and I just maintained that it doesn’t matter; it is just a brilliant production of Chardonnay. The Bean has demanded that I bring home several cases of this Gem for our consumption over the next three to five years. A SUPER VALUE” >>>A K&L WINE MERCHANTS’ DIRECT IMPORT<<< ***** 13.0% ABV *****
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Renaud St-Véran
By: Jim Barr | Review Date: 5/23/2017 | Send Email
After all these years in the wine retail trade, I am still captivated by the notion that two neighboring Macon Villages of Burgundy (Pouilly-Fuisse and Saint-Véran) can have vastly different prices for the same grape (Chardonnay), produced in virtually identical styles, and, in most instances, from the same producers. The concept for this vast price variance (Pouilly-Fuisse retailing for fifty percent or more than Saint-Véran) stems from the fact that many Americans way back when thought it much more romantic and classier to say at a restaurant, "I would like to have a bottle of Pouilly-Fuisse with this dinner, waiter," than to ask for a bottle of a much more mundane, rural sounding word as Saint-Véran, thereby creating a much greater demand. What amuses me the most, I believe, is the fact that this "variance" has been able to sustain itself, even with many of us wine "specialist" telling everyone that this pricing is stupid. This gorgeous, estate Saint-Véran from the Renauds is a perfect example of just how brainless that notion of pricing can be. Tons of bright apply, melon-like to lime zest tones with a slate-like mineral undertone abounds in the nose and on the palate of this remarkably rich, well-structured, classic style Chardonnay from that village of Macon and will rival any exceptional Pouilly-Fuisse. The finish is bright, clean, and crisp and invites another glass or two or three. Rizzo has asked me to bring home several cases of this finely crafted Gem for our near-term consumption over the next two to five years. A REALLY, REALLY NICE VALUE!! >>>A K&L WINE MERCHANTS’ DIRECT IMPORT<<< !***** 13.0% ABV *****
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart

2014 Baron de Montfaucon Châteauneuf-du-Pape
By: Sharon Kelly | Review Date: 5/22/2017 | Send Email
Two weeks ago, after ten years in business, my favorite restaurant permanently closed its doors. I don’t consider the closure of any good restaurant cause for celebration but this one in particular holds a special place in my heart so I made plans to commemorate their final dinner service with a fine bottle of wine in tow. Wanting something special to complement their food, I selected this Châteauneuf du Pape from winemaker Rudi des Pins. I could not have chosen a more perfect wine for the menu and the moment. Delicately restrained and beautifully elegant, we let this breathe a bit before consuming and it opened up to reveal gorgeous, bright red cherry fruits and exotic spices. This wine is drinking wonderfully now but do not hesitate to put one away for a few years as there is much to offer in this bottle.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2001 Chateau de la Grangerie 14 Year Old K&L Exclusive Armagnac (750ml)
By: Andrew Whiteley | Review Date: 5/22/2017 | Send Email
Yep. This is my favorite Armagnac that we carry and it has been since we first got it into the store in 2015! It's been sold out for nearly 6 months and it's finally here again - still at the same unbelievable direct price! The nose is seductive - full of rich florals, butterscotch, vanilla, and salted caramel. The most incredible thing about it though is how light it feels. This isn't a dark and brooding Armagnac full of oak spice and tannin, but something light and ethereal still with lovely richness and palate weight. The finish is long, and lingers with the sweet fruit notes of a fresh-picked Honeycrisp apple, almost like a great Calvados of Adrian Camut. While any Bourbon drinker will immediately find something to love here (wood spice, great age, and low prices), this is truly for those who love the best Armagnac has to offer; delicate fruits, wonderful body, nuanced wood influence, and the ever important low prices.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

2011 Proprietà Sperino Lessona
By: Stefanie Juelsgaard | Review Date: 5/22/2017 | Send Email
A beautiful expression of how complex and elegant Nebbiolo can become when left to mellow and age for a few years. This wine is showing softness and rich fruits, with still just a hint of drying tannin in the front, as is expected from Nebbiolo from this region. It is drinking beautifully right now, but will certainly continue to soften and smooth out even more in the coming years. This is a delicious wine and, with it's subtle earthiness, would make a great food wine for many different dishes.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart
WE 96

Blason Isonzo Bianco (3L Bag-in-a-Box) (cannot ship)
By: Jeffrey Jones | Review Date: 5/22/2017 | Send Email
This wine in a box is an easy way to get a glass of wine if you do not want to open a full bottle. One does not have to sacrifice quality with this wine. It is nice and medium bodied with a pleasurable round mouth fill and a clean and crisp finish.This wine is dry and will be nice and refreshing alone and will go well with fish and chicken.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2016 Puy-Blanquet, St-Emilion
By: Jason Marwedel | Review Date: 5/22/2017 | Send Email
My top Left Bank value in 2016 has to be Château Puy-Blanquet. I have always enjoyed this château's wines, but the 2016 is operating on a whole new level. Deep dark color with notes of cherry, vanilla, bay leaf and black olive fill the glass. The palate is decadent, sweet and round with supple tannins and mouth-watering acidity. This is by far the best Puy Blanquet I have ever tasted!
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart

2013 Kenwood "Jack London Vineyard" Sonoma Mountain Cabernet Sauvignon
By: Anthony Gittings | Review Date: 5/22/2017 | Send Email
Kenwood has been making quality wine since the 1970's and their latest Jack London Cabernet is another classic example from one of California's historic wineries. Healthy amounts of dark cherries and plum are nicely balanced with silky tannin, a touch of spice and a long lingering finish. Subtle vanilla and leather gives the wine a deep richness and adds complexity.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine de Biéville (Louis Moreau) Chablis
By: Morgan Laurie | Review Date: 5/22/2017 | Send Email
This Chablis is truly a steal. It's got a bit of a fuller palate and length for days! There are some really bright citrus notes, like freshly grated lemon zest. The fruit is ripe, yet still refreshing. There's a bit of crispy green pear and an incredibly refreshing minerality. This is delicious!
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2010 Berliquet, St-Emilion
By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 5/22/2017 | Send Email
Complexity and value. That's how I would describe this wine. It is a classic St-Emilion, packed with its dark fruit and light incense notes. The palate is velvety and elegant, with its tannins that are never grippy. It shows some development on its alluring leather notes, but still with a good 10 years of drinking pleasure.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
JS 92 WS 91

2014 La Conseillante, Pomerol
By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 5/22/2017 | Send Email
An absolutely overachiever this wine. A palate with lots of complexity, with notes that run the spectrum from the beautiful Jasmin scent, to blood orange, incense and exotic spices. A premium bottle.

2016 Mount Edward Pinot Noir Rosé Central Otago
By: Morgan Laurie | Review Date: 5/22/2017 | Send Email
The wine makers of Mount Edward focus their efforts on producing organic, single estate, small production wines that are reflective of the terroir in which they are grown. This attention to detail is evident in this lovely Rose of direct press Pinot Noir. The nose on this wine is incredible and smells like white roses, fresh nectarines and juicy watermelon. The palate is a little softer but still has such incredible, zippy acidity. This is an elegant Rose that truly showcases the best of what Central Otago has to offer.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart
RC 90 - 91

2015 Petit Figeac, St-Emilion
By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 5/22/2017 | Send Email
Petit Figeac is definitely a wine for those who appreciate a balanced wine that although soft it does deliver a complex and well integrated experience. I appreciated that very much.

2014 Branaire-Ducru, St-Julien
By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 5/22/2017 | Send Email
A very classic 2014 Bordeaux with a relative lighter body, cassis, plums and a touch of coffee. It's old school as usual, and its structure tells me it will need time in the cellar.

2010 Joanin Bécot, Côtes de Castillon (special label)
By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 5/22/2017 | Send Email
This wine is ready to be enjoyed. Very pleasing, and of a lighter body than what I was expecting. Enticing notes of sweet BBQ sauce, along with mocha, and plum with a touch floral as well.

2015 Gabaron, Bordeaux
By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 5/22/2017 | Send Email
I enjoyed this wine very much for what it is. Not for what it isn't. Reminiscent of a Cabernet Franc from the Loire Valley, and it works in similar ways. It is of a light color, medium-light body, floral and very fresh, and I would even put a bit of a chill on it to drink outside on an summer day.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2014 Gainey "Estate" Sta. Rita Hills Chardonnay
By: Christina Stanley | Review Date: 5/21/2017 | Send Email
The Gainey Estate vineyards are located just ten miles East of the Pacific Ocean, and this Chardonnay is a blend of two of those vineyards: Rancho Esperanza and Evan's Ranch. These two vineyards produce fruit of differing characteristics, and the result is a harmonious combination of fruit, acid and minerality. Notes of bright ripe pineapple, meyer lemon and white peach dance on the medium bodied palate, and a trail of saline minerality creates a lasting finish.
Price: Hidden View Price
VN 92

2011 Sportoletti "Villa Fidelia" Umbria Rosso
By: Rachel Vogel | Review Date: 5/21/2017 | Send Email
A bold Super Tuscan influenced by the vintage's August heat wave. The warm weather rested on the vines and particularly influenced the delicate Merlot grapes in early ripening bringing intensity, richness and a streamline of deep purple fruits into the bottle. Early harvest and irrigation that was possible from mid summer rain kept all grapes from over ripening and helped them hold onto enough natural acidity to balance the bold wine. The Cab Sauv and Cab Franc keep the wine spicey and softly structured making it layered and ready to drink!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JS 93 RP 92

2014 Bishop's Peak San Luis Obispo Pinot Noir
By: Jim Barr | Review Date: 5/20/2017 | Send Email
One of my favorite Central Coast producers is Talley Vineyards, and the exceptional quality of the varietals that they produce under their primary label can easily be found also with their second label, Bishop’s Peak. And a perfect example to that assertion can be found in this well-structured, nicely drinking, way-underpriced Pinot, with the grapes coming from vineyards in San Luis Obispo. Medium-deep ruby in color, the nose offers up classic rose petal to strawberry to clove-like fruit aromas which is underscored by slate-like minerality and soft cedary tones. Balanced, lush, almost silky on entry in the mouth, this Gem broadens out over the mid-range and finishes with round, refined tannins in its complex presentation and finish. Rusty asked me how much this Gem cost and then demanded that I bring home cases of this delightful find. A WONDERFUL VALUE!!! ***** 13.7% ABV *****
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
VN 91

2015 Domaine des Terres Dorées (Jean-Paul Brun) Moulin-a-Vent
By: Lilia McIntosh | Review Date: 5/20/2017 | Send Email
Fresh Bing cherry and red plum aromas with spice notes jump out of the glass immediately. This is very soft and friendly Beaujolais but with beautiful brightness throughout. On the palate plum and cherry flavors linger on, and overall the wine is smooth and inviting. If you just starting to explore Beaujolais, this Moulin-A-Vent is a great start. It will make you want to know more and try other Crus of Beaujolais.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JG 92 JS 92

2014 Domaine des Terres Dorées (Jean-Paul Brun) Moulin-a-Vent Les Thorins"
By: Lilia McIntosh | Review Date: 5/20/2017 | Send Email
Stellar wine! This is on the level of Premier Cru Burgundy for sure. Aromas are full of light, earthy strawberry and raspberry. Beautiful acidity cuts through the wine and makes it fresh, vibrant and energetic. Its mineral and earthy component is what makes me associate this wine with Burgundy the most. It's so structured and deep that it puts this Beaujolais on a whole different level.
Price: $25.99 Add To Cart
VN 93 JS 91

2013 Kenwood "Jack London Vineyard" Sonoma Mountain Cabernet Sauvignon
By: Christina Stanley | Review Date: 5/20/2017 | Send Email
This is a very dark, extracted and full-bodied Sonoma Mountain Cabernet. Its sturdy tannins and earthy notes of tobacco leaf, licorice and clove make it a great pairing for heartier dishes right now, but this wine shows great aging potential as well. A fantastic value for the price point, particularly for those who enjoy the ripeness of California Cabernet in a powerful incarnation.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2015 Les Freres Perroud "Vieilles Vignes" Brouilly
By: Jim Barr | Review Date: 5/20/2017 | Send Email
It is really a delight to find Cru Beaujolais available on the market like this old vine production. Nearly fifty years ago, the French seriously considered ripping out the Gamay vineyards in Southern Burgundy because wine sales from that area, for many reasons, had virtually come to a halt. Regardless what you feel about the nouveau wines of Beaujolais, that evolution saved the Gamay vineyards of Beaujolais. Many producers have returned, since then, to making Gamay in the fashion that it was created fifty-plus years ago, much like its clonal parent of Pinot Noir is produced in the heart of Burgundy. This villages Cru is a perfect example as to how the wines from Beaujolais use to be made. Medium ruby in color, the aromatics are distinctive and pronounced with upfront strawberry to clove-like notes with an obvious mild cedary oak {yes, some barrel aging took place} background note, The palate is bright, balanced, yet rich, reductive, and subtle, with silky, very fine tannins and a finish that is long and deep. This Gem would give many villages Burgundy a great run for their money, and, according to Rusty, will be one of our house reds for the next couple of years. A K&L Wine Merchants' Direct Import. A WONDERFUL BEAUJOLAIS BUY! ***** 11.0% TO 14.0% ABV *****
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
VN 90

Page: 1 2 3 next >>