Staff Favorites

If you’re going to have Robert Parker or Stephen Tanzer over for dinner, selecting a wine they’ve rated highly will be a nice choice. However, when you’re buying wines for yourself, we’d love to see you find wines that match up your unique palate and pocketbook. We have a large staff of friendly and knowledgeable wine professionals that taste hundreds of wines each week. They can put you in touch with bottles that you are likely to love, often at a much lower cost than the highly-rated gems that often see a run-up in price and frequent availability issues. Like any great group of opinionated professionals, our staff has varied tastes themselves. Often our customers will find a particular staff member with a style that corresponds to their own. That concept works extremely well in our retail stores, and this section is our effort to bring you the same online. Don’t get us wrong, we love the highly rated wines from the press and will continue to offer them, but we think you’re missing out if you’re not augmenting those selections with picks from our excellent staff. Here are their favorites. (Click on a name to see their other selections - or to drop them a line.) Cheers!

Reviews

Page: 1 2 3 next >>
2013 Storybook Mountain "Estate Reserve" Napa Valley Zinfandel
Reviwer Picture By: Christina Stanley | Review Date: 4/20/2018 | Send Email
Jerry Seps, winemaker and owner of Storybook Mountain, is truly a pioneer of Napa Valley, crafting Zinfandels that consistently far surpass any and all expectations. Made from 100% Organically farmed Estate fruit from The Northeastern most point in Napa Valley, the 2013 Reserve Zinfandel is a selection of the best barrels of the harvest, and is impeccably balanced and powerful. The vineyards were planted by Jerry and his wife Sigrid 41 years ago, through legendary winemaker André Tchelischeff's advising. High quality volcanic soils and cool climate Eastern exposure add to the wine's fine acidity and aging potential. This is a must purchase for any oenophile!
Price: $64.99 Add To Cart

1995 Ben Nevis 21 Year Old Faultline Refill Bourbon Hogshead Cask Strength Single Cask Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Andrew Stevens | Review Date: 4/20/2018 | Send Email
This is only my second chance to try a Ben Nevis seeing as they never come into the US and this bottle impressed me as much as the last one maybe even more. Lovely vanilla and white stone fruit on the nose with hints of orange and oak. The palate is balanced and elegant with layers of vanilla, candied fruit, saline and spice notes. On the finish creeps in an earthier grain notes that combined with a touch of salt lead to a long and surprisingly gristly finish. Delicious whisky and with an absolutely gorgeous label art this is one to snag immediately.
Price: $89.99 Add To Cart

2014 Schlumberger Saering Riesling Grand Cru Alsace
Reviwer Picture By: Kirk Walker | Review Date: 4/19/2018 | Send Email
This wine is paradoxical in the best way. It smells sweet, honied tropical cool yellow fruit accents, yet it is very dry. The aromas and flavor prime you for a heavy unctuous wine yet texturally it light and lively. This wine is complex, long and demands your attention yet it is simply enjoyable. A very, very good wine.

2013 Marqués de Murrieta Reserva Rioja
Reviwer Picture By: Kirk Walker | Review Date: 4/19/2018 | Send Email
This is almost as good as the 2010, do you remember how freaking good that was? While it might not be as intense as that wine it has a savory complexity in its youth that the 2010 didn't and more importantly it is more open knit. This wine drinks as if it were at least three years older. It is rich without being heavy, has good length and very polished tannins. There is plenty of ripe cherry fruit, it just accented with chocolate and savory spices.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
RP 92

2014 Domaine de Montbourgeau "En Banode" l'Etoile
Reviwer Picture By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 4/19/2018 | Send Email
The wines from Montbourgeau are always such a treat and in a lot of ways this one is maybe the most interesting. We often have to steer people away from some of the weird Jura wines because they're really an acquired taste, they're not inexpensive and so there's kind of this underlying fear that the uninitiated will absolutely hate it. The En Banode bridges that gap nicely, showing enough the oxidized funk to keep any die hard fan happy for days, while softening the intense acidity of a typical voile savagnin with some pretty chardonnay fruit. The nutty quality is there but more as a frame than the most prominent flavor. Almost anyone who is interested in wine and somewhat adventurous will find something to love here. The gorgeous bouquet the wonderful texture and acidity, it's really the whole package.
Price: $31.99 Add To Cart
RP 93

2016 Lucien Lardy Morgon "Cote du Py"
Reviwer Picture By: Alex Pross | Review Date: 4/19/2018 | Send Email
A stunning Morgon, the 2016 Lucien Lardy Morgon "Cote du Py" is a great example of the quality of the 2016 Beaujolais vintage. More classic than 2015 with cooler, wetter weather the 2016s are fresher and more lively than the rich and powerful 2015s. The 2016 is loaded with sexy aromas of black plum and spice while the palate is an intoxicating mixture of black fruits, plum and baking spices. The wine finish with excellent lift and stays on the palate for almost a minute after the last sip fades away.
Top Value!
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
WE 93 RP 90

2014 Schlumberger Saering Riesling Grand Cru Alsace
Reviwer Picture By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 4/19/2018 | Send Email
I will breezily re-state the obvious selling points (Grand Cru under $30! Strong vintage! Riesling, the last world class value white!) on the way to something more specific about what is in the bottle: damn, does this smell terrific and taste good! In an acid forward vintage like 2014, 'Saering' could very well be an anagram for 'searing, 'as in, 'My, this is acidity is searing.' Thing is, great vineyards yield fruit that produces wine which has acidity, fruit intensity, volume and terroir magic, all in perfect balance. All of these are present in this bottle of classically styled Alsatian Riesling. Aromas and flavors remind me of a most delicious fruit salad, as if the components of said salad were picked from the best trees selected by the region's most in-the-know fruit foragers. Enjoy this wine with your favorite type of smoked fish, or something richer like a potato and onion, gruyere and parmesan gratin.

2016 Lucien Lardy Moulin-à-Vent "Les Thorins"
Reviwer Picture By: Alex Pross | Review Date: 4/19/2018 | Send Email
If there is any village in Beaujolais that could pass for Burgundian in style it is Moulin-a-Vent. A beautiful nose of fresh cranberry, rose hips, spice and morning dew leap from the glass. On the palate this beauty exudes delicate red fruit flavors as well as spice and mineral notes. Great body and lift carry this wine all the way thru to the finish which reveals a surprisingly weighty wine. This wine could easily pass for a fine village-level Burgundy.
Top Value!
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart
VN 93 WE 92

2015 Lucien Lardy Fleurie "Les Chenes"
Reviwer Picture By: Alex Pross | Review Date: 4/19/2018 | Send Email
So fresh and bright on the nose with red plum, spice and subtle floral aromas. The red fruits in this wine just ooze across the palate and go from plum-to-berry-to-orchard fruit flavors. Great acidity and zippy mineral notes round out this brilliant offering.
Top Value!
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
WE 93 JG 90

2014 Schlumberger Saering Riesling Grand Cru Alsace
Reviwer Picture By: Alex Pross | Review Date: 4/19/2018 | Send Email
Wow! This is a very impressive Riesling, from the very first sniff of the glass I knew I had something very special. A vibrant nose of beeswax, stone fruit, orange oil and petrol jump from the glass. On the palate the wines has depth, complexity and unfurls across the palate to reveal pithy orchard fruits and crunchy mineral notes. If you're in search of a fantastic Grand Cru Riesling that won't break the bank this is the wine for you.
Top Value!

2010 Domaine de Montbourgeau Vin Jaune de l'Etoile (620ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 4/19/2018 | Send Email
This is one of the most harmonious young Vin Jaune's I've tasted in quite some time. I say young because the wine spends 7 years under the traditional layer of yeast before bottling making this the current release. These kinds of wines have an almost indefinable history of longevity. I've had some going back to the forties and they are exquisite. I know people who've tasted further back than that with the same kinds of results. What makes Vin Jaune so special in general and this in particular is the layers of unique flavors that persist from nose to palate to finish. Explosive aromas of tamarind, salted apples, caramelized walnuts lead to a palate of smoked lemon peel and light peat tones all while having beautiful acidity and balance. The finish persists for minutes if not longer. All this in a dry wine! It is unique and not necessarily for everyone but if you are open, trust me you'll be in all the way. And when you try it, make sure to have a hunk of Comte cheese on hand. There is no better pairing in the wine universe.
Price: $76.99 Add To Cart
RP 97

2012 Domaine de Montbourgeau "Cuvée Speciale" l'Etoile
Reviwer Picture By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 4/19/2018 | Send Email
A bit more of an outlier, the Cuvee Speciale is all Chardonnay aged sous voile like a Vin Jaune. Not quite as long but it has all of those beautiful qualities. Brined apples, sweet spices, dried pineapple and roasted almonds, it has a quality that resonates on the palate. If you've had Vin Jaune before, you'll know what I'm talking about but the feel here is a touch fresher and feels a tad rounder since the grape is Chardonnay. It is a gorgeous expression worthy of any Jura collector or someone looking to explore a little outside the box.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
RP 94

2014 Domaine de Montbourgeau "En Banode" l'Etoile
Reviwer Picture By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 4/19/2018 | Send Email
The wines of Montbourgeau are no joke and this is one of the best introductions you could hope for. The En Banode is a field blend of Savagnin and Chardonnay that has gorgeous aromas of curry spices and tamarind and persists long on the palate. Salted caramel apples, lemon curd and a bit of fenugreek develop on the palate and the vibrant acidity leads to a long finish. It's hard to contextualize these kinds of wines if you have never had them but think Fino or Manzanilla sherry with more intense weight and underlying acidity meets aged white Burgundy. The wine is a beast with food too. I love to serve this with oilier cuts of grilled fish, any type Japanese cuisine and aged cheeses.
Price: $31.99 Add To Cart
RP 93

2014 Hyot, Côtes de Castillon
Reviwer Picture By: Andrew Stevens | Review Date: 4/19/2018 | Send Email
Absolutely beautiful every day Bordeaux, the Hyot Cotes De Castillon is a superb example of what we can offer here at K&L. Because our buyers go out and track down wine like this we are able to offer easy to drink, incredibly affordable, but still, serious wines that can be stashed away for years. The dark rich berry here is complemented by silky smooth tannin and lots of spice with a core of acid that keeps this wine in balance. I thought this was all gone so I am pleased to see we got more in, but do not wait. This wine sold out quickly last time around and I expect it to do the same this time.

2015 Poujeaux, Moulis
Reviwer Picture By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 4/18/2018 | Send Email
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Half image
Another under $35 value from the great 2015 vintage in Bordeaux. Here the 50%+ of Cabernet brings out the red fruit and cassis aromas that follow to the palate. Great structure for the cellar but plenty of sweet, sexy red berry flavors. We always love this wine and it is even better these days under the team from Clos Fourtet.
Drink from 2020 to 2020

2015 Cantemerle, Haut-Médoc
Reviwer Picture By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 4/18/2018 | Send Email
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image
This could be for me the greatest value wine of the vintage. (Under $35). IT is so sweet and lush on the palate, but it also has tremendous depth and structure. Blackberry aromas and flavors-silky texture. Long and lingering on the palate-tasted three times and it was great each time. As good as the 2010 was, this may be a touch better-more polished. We sold over 8000 bottles of the 2010 ($37-$47)-we will sell that much of this beauty. A must buy.
Drink from 2020 to 2020

1997 Bowmore 20 Year Old "Old Particular" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 4/18/2018 | Send Email
If I had to pick one distillery to drink for the rest of my life, Bowmore would definitely be in the running. They do some solid and safe stuff at the distillery, but where it truly shines are the single casks. I'm not sure why we've had such incredible luck with this distillery, but we've literally purchased every casks we've tasted distilled in the last several years (save the 1971 at Signatory, but only because it was $1000+ a bottle). While there was a weird period at the distillery from the early 80s to the mid 90s, they seem to have cycled through those casks and we're not seeing the perfumed weird stuff any longer. What we have seen has been so delicious and diverse I just never get tired of them. Even more impressive is that we're able to get old Islay whisky from a blue chip distillery and not charge $300 a bottle! Even though we've done two others this year already this cask was so different and absolutely delectable we couldn't resist it. You may think you have enough Bowmore, but you're wrong. It opens with a classic Bowmore nose, medium intensity peat, sea spray, wet earth, bright citrus fruit and herbs. Crystalline and absolute purity on the palate with the sweet tropical fruit, citrus peel and smoke working together in gorgeous harmony. The first whisky for Springtime! I like this better than the last cask by a few ticks and with a drop of water it's one of the more inviting Bowmore we've ever bottled.
Price: $149.99 Add To Cart

2016 Arnot-Roberts "Watson Ranch" Napa Valley Chardonnay
Reviwer Picture By: Christina Stanley | Review Date: 4/17/2018 | Send Email
Planted on an extreme site as close to the San Pablo Bay as possible, Watson Ranch vineyard has unique soils composed of marine deposits over limestone. It's inevitable that Chardonnay harvested from the site will take on some of the briny, mineral saturated character of It's organically farmed home. In the 2016 "Watson Ranch" Napa Valley Chardonnay there are faintly leesy aromas with wafts of almond, lemon curd and chamomile, and the palate tells another fascinating story. Medium bodied and perfumed, flavors and aromas of star jasmine and seabed minerality dominate.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
VN 94

2013 Marqués de Murrieta Reserva Rioja
Reviwer Picture By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 4/17/2018 | Send Email
Depending upon whom you ask, Marqués de Murrieta is either the oldest, or second oldest, bodega in all Rioja. Their foundation pre-dates the 1855 Bordeaux classification by a few years, and their beautiful property happens to sit on some of the region´s finest terroir, overlooking the city of Logroño. While 2013 was not easy, I have had some great Rioja´s from this vintage. True to the year, this bottling has a a slightly darker pitch to the fruit and a firmer overall feel, without any hard edges. For the price, it continues to be one of our best Rioja´s in stock, and from one of the most consistent leaders in quality and value from the region. Highly recommended!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
RP 92

2013 Giacomo Ascheri Barolo
Reviwer Picture By: Rachel Vogel | Review Date: 4/17/2018 | Send Email
This is my second vintage working with the Ascheri Barolo, but I know it has impressed for many years before I entered the scene. It's complex savory cherry skin aromas and flavors with hints of dried mushrooms and violets make it easy to fall in love with. The harmonious character of the 2013 vintage shines with precise but graceful tannin structure while a fresh and lively red cherry character dances along the palate. It is unassuming yet complex, perfect introduction to one of the best vintages in years.

2016 Les Freres Perroud "Vieilles Vignes" Brouilly
Reviwer Picture By: Sharon Kelly | Review Date: 4/17/2018 | Send Email
With spring in full swing and summer just around the corner, the time for warm weather reds is now. While fruit and power dominated the 2015 vintage in Beaujolais (and most of France), the focus for 2016 in Beaujolais is on elegance with a favorable harmony of fruit and acid. The Brouilly “Vielles Vignes” smells like freshly picked strawberries and tastes like gorgeous ripe blackberries, with a nice cinnamony bite on the mid palate and an energetic finish that reflects the sand, clay and granitic soils of the area. Like the majority of Gamay wines this a winner with any meal. I drank this last night with pasta and homemade pesto. Not a traditional pairing but it turned out to be a party in my mouth that I didn’t want to end.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
VN 90

2015 Isole e Olena Chianti Classico
Reviwer Picture By: Sharon Kelly | Review Date: 4/17/2018 | Send Email
Four years ago on a whirlwind trip to Italy, I made a last minute tasting appointment with Paolo de Marchi’s wife Marta, who informed me that I “would have to taste with a group of Canadians” (what a dilemma). When the Canadians left, she gave me a tour of the facility then handed me off to the always charming Paolo, who took me around the vineyards and sent me home with a bottle of their estate-produced olive oil. This visit was a top highlight of my trip for many reasons so I always look forward to each release of this Chianti Classico. When I first tasted this vintage, it was notably very soft and easy, but still typically dry with a lot of cherry fruit. I chose not to decant it or let it breathe but decided to let it sit until the next day. What a contrast! The cherry fruit was still there but now there were herbs, some plum, the tannins and acidity were present and balanced. A bright, fresh, lingering finish completed my tasting experience. Absolutely lovely and elegant.. Open it up, try it then let it breathe for at least an hour to see how beautifully it blossoms.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2015 Catena DV "Tinto Histórico" Mendoza
Reviwer Picture By: Chantel Carroll | Review Date: 4/17/2018 | Send Email
I spent most of my career in the restaurant industry and sold a ton of Catena. My impression was that the wines were easy drinking and middle of the road. However that is not longer my opinion. I'm super excited and really impressed that they are really honing in on these smaller appellations, and making wines with so much character, and concentrating on the terroir. This blend is a tribute to Don Domingo Vicente Catena, who made this style popular in the 1930's. This was the blend he would sell to the upscale French Bistros, in Buenos Aires. This is a blend of Malbec, Bonarda and Petit Verdot. Delicious and classic
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
JS 93 DC 91

2016 Ermacora Schioppettino Colli Orientali del Friuli
Reviwer Picture By: Rachel Vogel | Review Date: 4/17/2018 | Send Email
A grape that was almost destroyed and forgotten began making a comeback when a wine maker's strong passion began to bring it back to life in the '70's. It is wine whose aromatics could easily be confused with Cabernet Franc or even Syrah due to the evident and exciting aromas of freshly ground black pepper corns. From first scent I thought it would make me sneeze! It is paired with a bouquet of fresh red fruits and black berries that carry into the palate. The unyielding acidity and integrated structure make it easy to enjoy while the savory pepper pops on the finish.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2016 Tenuta Le Calcinaie Ingredienti Uva.
Reviwer Picture By: Rachel Vogel | Review Date: 4/17/2018 | Send Email
What I love about Sangiovese that is aged in large neutral oak barrels verses new French barrique is the vibrancy and true character that the grape can still express. In the Ingredienti, it is completely stainless steel and a few lively characteristics have been highlighted. What you get is a vibrant and fresh nose that exudes beautiful notes of baking spice. It is alive on the palate with unique crunchy fruit and evident tannins. High acidity runs through the wine while a touch of savory, almost soy sauce like character clings to the tip of your tongue. This wine is anything but reserved.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
VN 92

2015 Stonestreet "Estate Vineyards" Alexander Valley Chardonnay
Reviwer Picture By: Stephanie Vidales | Review Date: 4/17/2018 | Send Email
This wonderful, voluminous Chardonnay is from the top of the Mayacamas mountains looking over Alexander Valley. 100% barrel fermented Chardonnay with monthly lees stirring gives a delicious richness and body to this wine. Aromas of peach, lemon creme, green apple and graham cracker are complimented with a palate balanced with acidity and precision.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
WE 94 RP 91

2017 Aerena San Francisco Bay AVA Rosé
Reviwer Picture By: Stephanie Vidales | Review Date: 4/17/2018 | Send Email
The team behind this rose and the Resolute brand is Blackbirds Vineyards, who are known for their Napa Valley Cabernet. Winemakers Aaron Pott and Kyle Mizuno sourced the Cabernet Sauvignon and Carignane for this rose oddly enough from the San Francisco AVA. This playful, red fruited, dry rose is absolutely perfect for the upcoming summer months. It is also a fun opportunity to try something from this unknown wine growing region.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2016 Stony Hill Napa Valley White Riesling
Reviwer Picture By: Christina Stanley | Review Date: 4/17/2018 | Send Email
This is a wine that very clearly shows the characteristics of an old vine Napa Valley Riesling, with subtly aromatic notes of tropical white and yellow flowers, and a deep, rocky minerality. Harvested mostly from the Stony Hill Estate, the Riesling grows on vines planted in 1948: some of the oldest Riesling vines in California. The palate is very slightly off dry, but barely noticeably so, making it a great apéritif that easily transitions to entrées.
Price: $26.95 Add To Cart

2016 Cakebread Napa Valley Sauvignon Blanc
Reviwer Picture By: Christina Stanley | Review Date: 4/17/2018 | Send Email
The 2016 Sauvignon Blanc from Cakebread is impossibly light and elegant, but with an underlying flinty complexity reminiscent of Fumé Blanc. With fruit harvested from the entire Napa Valley, the wine beautifully demonstrates the unique characteristics of the region and the cooler vintage, and artful winemaking brings it to a world class level.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart

2014 Charles Joguet "Les Varennes du Grand Clos" Chinon
Reviwer Picture By: Elsa Baez | Review Date: 4/17/2018 | Send Email
I was impressed with the structure and elegance of this Chinon. The aromatics of floral, dark fruits, and slight earthiness meshed together with black pepper, bright fruit, balanced acidity and tannins make it approachable now. I can only imagine the complexity this bottle will gain with some aging.
Price: $32.99 Add To Cart
W&S 94 WS 92

2014 Charles Joguet "Les Varennes du Grand Clos" Chinon
Reviwer Picture By: Sharon Kelly | Review Date: 4/16/2018 | Send Email
I love the beautiful nose of this wine which is filled with flowers, herbs, berries, earth and the smell of rain on pavement. There is plenty of high toned fruit, energetic acidity and tannins on the palate, but everything is well balanced for what was a classic vintage for this region. Can you drink this now? Yes, but consider this wine like you would a mid-life self-evaluation - it is still youthful, but has evolved and made great strides. Yet, with another 5 years to fine tune and achieve a few more goals, it will definitely be on its way to accomplishing something to be even more proud of.
Price: $32.99 Add To Cart
W&S 94 WS 92

2013 Capezzana Carmignano
Reviwer Picture By: John Downing | Review Date: 4/16/2018 | Send Email
Carmignano is a lesser known yet important subzone (located just northwest of Florence)of Tuscany that has held the long tradition of blending Cabernet with Sangiovese. Capezzana remains the benchmark producer here and their 2013 is a classic. Made from 80% Sangiovese and 20% Cabernet, it's juicy and medium-bodied with red fruit from the Sangiovese taking the lead while the Cabernet fills in the palate with a nice touch of dark chocolate. A fine layer of tannins adds a pleasant touch of structure to this wonderful Tuscan red.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart
VN 90

2015 Cascina Ca' Rossa "Vigna Mulassa" Barbera d'Alba
Reviwer Picture By: John Downing | Review Date: 4/16/2018 | Send Email
Cascina Ca'Rossa is located in Roero, the zone adjacent to Barolo and Barbaresco that is best known for the production of Arneis. Their "Mulassa" Barbera comes from the vineyard of the same name where predominantly sandy soils yield grapes that result in highly aromatic and flavorful wine. It's aged in large Slavonian oak casks which allows it to showcase rich, high toned earthy black cherry and black berry fruit amplified by ample acidity. This is a first class Barbera that is more than worth the price. Great with hot appetizers and substantial pastas.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2014 Charles Joguet "Les Varennes du Grand Clos" Chinon
Reviwer Picture By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 4/16/2018 | Send Email
Capturing the essence of Chinon, let alone the Loire Valley, is no easy task but the wines of Charles Joguet continue to do so with all their site specific bottlings. The Les Varennes is something truly special though coming from a single parcel of own-rooted vines on the sandy-clay hillsides that make up the best sites. The wines expresses all of the things good about the noble Cabernet Franc varietal, including the characteristics of black raspberry, cherry and lavendar oil. A touch of crushed herb puts you firmly in Chinon. The texture is something to behold as well, and it is the ideal reflection of the 2014 vintage. Sinewy acidity is framed by supple tannins and the finish is long. The vintage is not as robust and fruited in general as say 2015, which we call more of a crossover style. 2014 is for purists and classicists. And that is where the Les Varennes sits, on the edge of classic but with such potency that a few years in the cellar will be well rewarded.
Price: $32.99 Add To Cart
W&S 94 WS 92

San Venanzio Prosecco Valdobbiadene Superiore Brut
Reviwer Picture By: John Downing | Review Date: 4/16/2018 | Send Email
San Venanzio Brut certainly stands out amongst its peers and remains one of the finest quality Proseccos we've come across at this tremendous price. Known for its vibrant fruit, bright florals, minerality and exceptional balance, this creamy, fresh sparkler continues to impress.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

2013 Fratelli Barale Barolo
Reviwer Picture By: John Downing | Review Date: 4/16/2018 | Send Email
One of the reasons we cherish our direct import program is that we have the opportunity to offer our customers impressive wines at incredible prices. Barale's first-rate 2013 is one of the steals among our Italian selections currently especially in light of the going rate for Barolo. This medium-bodied gem offers an aromatic array of pretty red fruit, dried florals, earth and cedar and a seamless palate with a bright snap of acidity on the finish. Although it can be enjoyed today after ample aeration, it's certain to improve in the cellar.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2016 Selbach-Oster Zeltinger Sonnenuhr Kabinett Riesling Mosel
Reviwer Picture By: Morgan Laurie | Review Date: 4/16/2018 | Send Email
The Selbach Oster estate has kept wine making in the family for four hundred years. Working out of the middle Mosel, the estate has several ungrafted vineyards, with the vine age on some up to 100 years old. The rocky, Devonian slate in many of the vineyards forces the vines to dig deeply into the soil to find water and nutrients. The wines, even at an entry level, are complex and highly aromatic. The Zeltinger Sonnenuhr Kabinett highlights one of the Mosel's most acclaimed vineyard sites for a sub $20 price point. On the nose is the classic flinty minerality with notes of dried orange and marmalade. The 2016 vintage produced ripe, fruity wines and this has a tempered acidity letting the beautiful fruit really shine through. An exceptional bottle from one of our favorite producers!

1989 Bunnahabhain 28 Year Old Faultline First Fill Sherry Hogshead Cask Strength Single Cask Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Anthony Russo | Review Date: 4/16/2018 | Send Email
Although Bunnahabhain is one of my favorite distilleries due to it's drinkability, I haven't tasted as many older expressions of it as I would like, until this and the 25 year old release from Old Particular arrived. Side note, by "drinkability," I mean the distillery seems to bottle the whisky as one should be bottled: no bells or whistles to enhance flavor, just pure, complex scotch. This also means the spirit is not super full bodied, but a bit more mellow. Lots of wood age and a seriousness on the palate make this a must-have for collectors and enthusiasts who need a big, pure, scotch on the shelf.
Price: $149.99 Add To Cart

2015 Isole e Olena Chianti Classico
Reviwer Picture By: John Downing | Review Date: 4/16/2018 | Send Email
After just one sip of this wine I was immediately reminded why owner Paolo De Marchi has developed such a sterling reputation and following. His 2015 Chianti Classico is simply sublime. It's a seamless blend of mostly Sangiovese with small amounts of Canaiolo and Syrah that showcases lush cherry and plum flavors with polished tannins and perfectly integrated acidity. This is one of the finer Chiantis I've tasted in some time and I have no doubt many will share my sentiment.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2015 San Vincenti Chianti Classico
Reviwer Picture By: John Downing | Review Date: 4/16/2018 | Send Email
San Vincenti is one of the more recent and impressive additions to our Italian section that took us a bit by surprise during an LA staff tasting. It's medium-to-full-bodied with earthy layered blackberry and black cherry fruit and a healthy dose of ripe tannnins throughout. While aged in and rounded by small French barrels, the fruit in this wine takes center stage. This substantial Chianti will only improve with a year of cellaring.
Price: $22.99 Add To Cart

1989 Mortlach 28 Year Old Faultline First Fill Sherry Hogshead Cask Strength Single Cask Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Anthony Russo | Review Date: 4/16/2018 | Send Email
Between the 22 and the 28 year old expressions, this is the one for people who want a bit more of the sherry richness. Also a bit softer, the nose slightly reminds me of a very high end, unsweetened Cognac. Almost a touch minty. With a slightly lower ABV, this is the complex Mortlach for those who want to pour themselves a glass after a long day and just focus on the complexities of the dram. The age of the spirit is most apparent on the palate as the woody notes really stand out.
Price: $149.99 Add To Cart

1995 Mortlach 22 Year Old Faultline First Fill Sherry Butt Cask Strength Single Cask Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Anthony Russo | Review Date: 4/16/2018 | Send Email
Twenty-two year old Mortlach, aged in a first-fill Sherry butt, and under $120?! What more can you ask for? The classic grassy flavors of the distillery blast through the sweet, nutty center so well to create an incredibly well balanced juice that can be enjoyed by novice and seasoned scotch drinkers alike. A great cigar drink.
Price: $119.99 Add To Cart

1995 Ben Nevis 21 Year Old Faultline Refill Bourbon Hogshead Cask Strength Single Cask Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Anthony Russo | Review Date: 4/16/2018 | Send Email
Ohhh yes. Definitely smells like a super old bourbon. Butterscotch, toffee, and caramel all melt together with a touch a vanilla. The Ben Nevis "freshness" and "fruitiness" really comes through with a bit of air. The classic scotch whisky flavor is much more apparent on the palate. This is the bottle for bourbon loves who want to branch out a touch or scotch fans who want to try something off the beaten path.
Price: $89.99 Add To Cart

2014 Charles Joguet "Les Varennes du Grand Clos" Chinon
Reviwer Picture By: Morgan Laurie | Review Date: 4/16/2018 | Send Email
This single vineyard bottling from Charles Joguet is built to last. The wines of the estate are divided into two lines, one for drinking young and one for long term aging. This falls into the latter category. If Chinon were permitted to label wines as Premier Cru, this would certainly be such a wine. The structure is very well balanced and the wine opens up beautifully after getting some air. If you plan on drinking this in the short term, decant for an hour plus, but if you plan on holding it, you could cellar for upwards of ten years. I tasted this once when it was first opened and once the next day. On the first go, the wine had beautiful aromatics right out of the bottle and the structure felt fresh and young. The high toned acidity and tannin were pronounced but felt smooth. The next day the aromatics really opened up and I found the floral notes more distinct while there was still the brambly black raspberry and blueberry coulis, dusty crushed rocks, dried herbs and lavender notes I had been savoring the day before. Cabernet Franc's from the Loire Valley are some of my favorite wines for their ability to pair with food, and this would go with any sort of bistro fare ranging from steak with mushroom or peppercorn sauce to pork chops to burgers.
Price: $32.99 Add To Cart
W&S 94 WS 92

2014 Charles Joguet "Les Varennes du Grand Clos" Chinon
Reviwer Picture By: Blake Conklin | Review Date: 4/16/2018 | Send Email
Bold, yet never overbearing. This cabernet franc knocks it out the park. Smooth and peppery, and very well balanced acidity, I'm reminded time and time again just why I love Chinon so much and why it may be my favorite region in the entire Loire Valley. Thanks Charles Joguet.
Price: $32.99 Add To Cart
W&S 94 WS 92

2014 Charles Joguet "Les Varennes du Grand Clos" Chinon
Reviwer Picture By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 4/16/2018 | Send Email
There are few wines that deliver value as consistently and as convincingly as a well made Loire valley Cab Franc. Joguet is a reference producer of Chinon, one of those benchmarks that not only ought to be tasted by anyone studying for their advanced WSET levels (i.e., taste this and remember it, this is Chinon), but also demands to be cellared by anyone with even a small collection of French wines. To the latter point, the fact that such a delicious - and serious - wine can be purchased for so little money is solely a function of the region and grape variety. The only wine I can think of to demand top quality Bordeaux or Burgundy pricing made from Cabernet Franc is Clos Rougeard, and though Joguet is not as trendy or highly sought after, having recently tasted this particular cuvee, I can't help but think that the quality is certainly right up there. A lovely, deeply foresty and elegantly savory nose (don't worry, there is fruit too) leads to a tense, high toned, chiseled, and well built palate. Decant a while if drinking now and you will not be disappointed, but...the real magic begins 5+ years from now.
Price: $32.99 Add To Cart
W&S 94 WS 92

2014 Charles Joguet "Les Varennes du Grand Clos" Chinon
Reviwer Picture By: Anthony Russo | Review Date: 4/15/2018 | Send Email
This is a bold cab franc, I like it. The nose is very serious, loaded with black cherries, black tea, and subtle touches of vanilla and coffee. The structure on the palate is what really caught me off-guard: all of the pieces that would make this wine age-able are there. Pre-loaded with almost 4 years already, this is the bottle of Chinon to open at dinner and "wow" your friends with.
Price: $32.99 Add To Cart
W&S 94 WS 92

2015 Viños de Encostas "Mais Ala" Godello Valdeorras
Reviwer Picture By: Joe Bruno | Review Date: 4/15/2018 | Send Email
This Galician Godello is a dark horse for one of the best white wines we are currently offering in store. Beautiful aromas of grapefruit and yellow apple initially. There is also quite a beautiful bouquet of lilies and sea spray. On the palate, ripe pear and stone fruits are accented by hints of lemon juice and herbs, that finish on a savory note. The texture is where this wine really draws you in and shines. Silky at first, but finishes crisp and refreshing. Almost reminiscent of a mineral-driven Chenin Blanc. Delicious as a glass on its own or accompanying food. A very underrated wine that will surprise and delight many
Price: Hidden View Price

2016 Poggiarellino Rosso di Montalcino
Reviwer Picture By: Blake Conklin | Review Date: 4/14/2018 | Send Email
When it comes to our Italian direct imports, Poggiarellino tends to be my favorite. Their 2016 Rosso di Montalcino is definitely a solid every dayer and quite possibly my new favorite pizza wine... The fruit is super concentrated and the acidity is vibrant and lovely. Definitely worth a whirl.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2016 Bründlmayer "Kamptaler Terrassen" Gruner Veltliner Kamptal
Reviwer Picture By: Morgan Laurie | Review Date: 4/14/2018 | Send Email
Weingut Brundlmayer produces out of the Kamptal in Austria, a growing area renowned for the production fresh, dry wines with youth and lightness. Even the entry level wines from Brundlmayer are produced with much care and attention to detail. The Kamptaler Terrassen, all hand harvested, is made exclusively in stainless steel with a combination of two separate vineyard sites blended into one bottling. The elevated terraces are grown on stony, schist based soils providing aromatics and acidity, while the lower terrace is planted on fertile loess, giving the wine more body and ripeness. Notes of white melon, sweet snap peas and white pepper gives way to a clean, fresh, easy going palate. This would be great with many of the Spring vegetables that are beginning to come into season, such as asparagus and artichokes. A great gateway into Austrian wine if you've never explored the region!
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
WE 92 JS 91

Page: 1 2 3 next >>