Staff Favorites

If you’re going to have Robert Parker or Stephen Tanzer over for dinner, selecting a wine they’ve rated highly will be a nice choice. However, when you’re buying wines for yourself, we’d love to see you find wines that match up your unique palate and pocketbook. We have a large staff of friendly and knowledgeable wine professionals that taste hundreds of wines each week. They can put you in touch with bottles that you are likely to love, often at a much lower cost than the highly-rated gems that often see a run-up in price and frequent availability issues. Like any great group of opinionated professionals, our staff has varied tastes themselves. Often our customers will find a particular staff member with a style that corresponds to their own. That concept works extremely well in our retail stores, and this section is our effort to bring you the same online. Don’t get us wrong, we love the highly rated wines from the press and will continue to offer them, but we think you’re missing out if you’re not augmenting those selections with picks from our excellent staff. Here are their favorites. (Click on a name to see their other selections - or to drop them a line.) Cheers!

Reviews

  
Page: 1 2 3 next >>
2013 Shaw + Smith Shiraz Adelaide Hills
By: Diana Turk | Review Date: 9/29/2016 | Send Email
From a cooler climate area of South Australia on the coast of the Southern Ocean, this Adelaide Hills stunner has all the concentrated blue and black fruit you want in an Aussie Shiraz while still showing the smoky, meaty integrity the syrah grape has to offer. Shaw + Smith goes down easily but has enough focus and balanced acidity to make it feel like a more serious wine.

2014 Valravn "Old Vine" Sonoma County Zinfandel
By: Kirk Walker | Review Date: 9/29/2016 | Send Email
A bright and spicy style of Zin. Full and rich on the palate but with pop and lift that you don't always see from the varietal.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2012 Hidden Ridge "55% Slope" Sonoma Cabernet Sauvignon
By: Gary Norton | Review Date: 9/29/2016 | Send Email
This is one heck of a wine for less than a hundred bucks. It's currently expressing notes of cassis, dark fruit, fresh salsa, dried herbs and licorice. I'd pick up a few of these for now and a few more for the future. It's pretty wound up right now and needs at least an hour of air time if you're going to open it tonight, but I'm substantially certain this wine can withstand a decade or more in your cellar.
Top Value!

2013 TWR (Te Whare Ra) "SV5182 - Single Block" Pinot Noir Marlborough
By: Kirk Walker | Review Date: 9/29/2016 | Send Email
For anyone who loves burgundy and does not like this wine, I will fight you! Holy Moly this is great Pinot Noir and a ridiculous price for what it delivers. Complex aromatics, a supple palate, lots of layers, great length. Beyond that it has that beguiling Pinot character where it has the flavor intensity of the fullest bodied wine but only lightest softest caress on your palate.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
JS 96

2014 Lynmar Russian River Valley Pinot Noir
By: Gary Norton | Review Date: 9/29/2016 | Send Email
It's a classic expression of Russian River Pinot Noir. Sappy, forward and lush. Lynmar's head winemaker was the assistant wine maker at Kosta Browne and there are many stylistic similarities between the two productions. Gobs of raspberry preserve, cola and baking spices here. This one is not for the faint of heart.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2014 Momento Chenin Blanc/Verdelho Bot River Western Cape
By: Kirk Walker | Review Date: 9/29/2016 | Send Email
I love the Chenin Blanc blends we have from South Africa. They are some of the most interesting and delicious white wines in the store, this is no exception. The nose is full of cool yellow fruits, mineral and mellow earthy Chenin Blanc tone. The palate is full and textured with great acidity and feels like is has been finely etched with layers and layers crystals. I know it doesn't make sense but try it you'll see what I'm taking about.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2007 Miguel Merino Reserva Rioja
By: Kirk Walker | Review Date: 9/29/2016 | Send Email
A modern Rioja classic! Rish, ripe dark red fruits with leather spice and just a hint of earth on the nose. Medium-full bodied on the palate with youthful fruit and ripe tannins caressed with just the right amount of oak. This wine is built to thrill.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2013 Shaw + Smith Shiraz Adelaide Hills
By: Kirk Walker | Review Date: 9/29/2016 | Send Email
This is a wine that would have caught you off guard if you did not read this review. The nose is big, bold and intense. The aromatics leap out of the glass; bright berries, spices, earth and hint of berry compote. Oh coarse you know what to expect, fruit bomb. Wrong. This wine has restraint and poise. All those aromatics are echoed on the palate and balanced with a subtle savory character. The tannins are fine and polished. I love how this wine played with my expectations. It is almost blasphemy but new world Cote Rotie is kind of what I am left thinking after trying the wine.

Cruz Vieja Viña Roble Amontillado Jerez
By: Olivia Ragni | Review Date: 9/29/2016 | Send Email
Cruz Vieja makes some of the most intricate, complex wines of the region, with such attention to detail and care for every step of the process. This Amontillado is elegant and complexly layered with flavor. It is extremely aromatic, revealing notes of hazelnuts, white flowers and bitter cocoa with flavors of salt, honey, roasted almonds and a long finish. Food pairings are endless with this wine, anything from olives to artichokes, to cured meats, to even heavier meats like pork or lamb.
Price: $32.99 Add To Cart
RP 91

2015 Montmassot Picpoul de Pinet
By: Olivia Ragni | Review Date: 9/29/2016 | Send Email
I love this particular Picpoul de Pinet for its quintessential 'picpoul' qualities. With bright, zippy acidity, a hint of effervescence and flavors of lime, lemon zest and an inherent salinity, this is the perfect wine to beat the heat or to pair with oysters!
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine de la Réserve d'O "Bilbo" Languedoc
By: Olivia Ragni | Review Date: 9/29/2016 | Send Email
The whole line-up of Domaine De La Reserve D'o wines is insane, it is so difficult to pick a favorite, but the' bilbo' may just be my favorite. The idea behind this bottling is to enjoy it with Basque cuisine, a favorite of the owners of the winery, so the bilbo reflects a wine that is light on its feet and bright, to pair with the seaside cuisine of Basque country. With aromas of purple fruit and crushed flowers this wine is gorgeous. Flavors of quince, blackberry and exotic spices dance across the palate. For me this wine is best enjoyed with a slight chill on it.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2013 TWR (Te Whare Ra) "SV5182 - Single Block" Pinot Noir Marlborough
By: Olivia Ragni | Review Date: 9/29/2016 | Send Email
This pinot is from a single block of a single, gravel laden, vineyard from TWR. This pinot oozes elegance and lift. With a bouquet of mushrooms and violets, leading your palate to notes of dark cherry, berries, cassis and spice. This pinot is lifted and light yet full of character. This is the kind of pinot that is hard to put down.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
JS 96

2013 Shaw + Smith Shiraz Adelaide Hills
By: Olivia Ragni | Review Date: 9/29/2016 | Send Email
This coastal shiraz manages to provide all those things we love about Australian shiraz without being too big, fruity or jammy but rather balanced with earthy and savory flavors. With flavors of dark cherry, meat and pepper, this shiraz has juicy acidity, great texture and concentration. Grab some red meat, a BBQ and a bottle of this shiraz for a perfect evening.

2013 Shaw + Smith Shiraz Adelaide Hills
By: Dave Genevro | Review Date: 9/29/2016 | Send Email
A gorgeous, concentrated, dense yet elegant and very well balanced Shiraz from the Adelaide Hills growing region. Spice box, deep red fruit with great persistence, a more melted and approachable structure and focus along the palate. A new must try for all the Shiraz drinkers out there. Enjoy!

2013 Shaw + Smith Shiraz Adelaide Hills
By: Shaun Green | Review Date: 9/29/2016 | Send Email
There's quite a lot going on in this wine, and it's especially at this price. The somewhat savory and minty combination on the nose with violets and sweet smoke is nearly irresistible. Lovely blue and black fruits along with spice cake and a stony minerality on the palate fulfill the promise the aromatics make. Not overblown but definitely rich and the mercifully moderate ABV in this wine just add to the charm.
Top Value!

2013 Plantagenet Chardonnay Mount Barker Western Australia
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 9/29/2016 | Send Email
Here is a rich, nutty bargain showing the kind of concentration you would expect from a Burgundy costing 3 times as much. This is packed with snappy spiced apple and citrus fruit and a lip smackingly fresh finish that will have you reaching for another glass.

2013 Shaw + Smith Shiraz Adelaide Hills
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 9/29/2016 | Send Email
This is packed, elegant and supple with an array of red fruits and spices lending great complexity. The style here is reserved, focused and clean with fantastic integration and a long finish of wet slate minerality and beautiful proportion.

2013 Shaw + Smith Shiraz Adelaide Hills
By: Ivan Diaz | Review Date: 9/29/2016 | Send Email
It's the dawn of a new era in Australian winemaking! Shiraz has officially taken a step back from the high-octane, over-the-top fruit bombs of the past and toward more restrained, thoughtful composition without sacrificing any of the power. Fresh blueberries, plum, and cassis show right up front, balanced and devoid of any alcoholic heat. Salty, meaty aromas bloom in the glass along with some smoked herbs and Worcestershire. Cleansing acidity and grippy tannins hold everything together for a world-class, vivid wine that heralds Shiraz's ever-evolving identity.

2010 Misha's Vineyard "High Note" Pinot Noir Central Otago
By: Ivan Diaz | Review Date: 9/29/2016 | Send Email
Smaller Pinot berries are used in this Central Otago bottling, which lend structure and concentration, making this one of the most serious NZ Pinots I think I've ever had. There are deep plum, black cherry, and raisin flavors supported by spicy anise, clove, and leather. There is vivacious acidity and tannic backbone all too rare in this category, giving it the legs it needs to age for up to 10 years.

2013 Shaw + Smith Shiraz Adelaide Hills
By: David Driscoll | Review Date: 9/29/2016 | Send Email
I could nose this wine ALL DAY LONG and never get tired of smelling it. The aromas are sultry with slightly perfumed berries accented by faint hints of smoke and earth. It's a haunting scent, one that entices you back for more repeatedly. There's no way in the world I would have guessed this was shiraz without knowing ahead of time, yet it's clearly not zinfandel, or cabernet, or pinot noir. At the same time, if you even remotely enjoy the three aforementioned grapes, you need to do yourself a favor and buy this wine. Those who still associate Aussie shiraz with Yellowtail or Mollydooker need to have their minds reset by the Shaw Smith and erase whatever prejudices they might be holding on to. This wine is as soft as a Storybook zin, as elegant as a Joseph Swan pinot, and as concentrated as a fine Margaux. Forget marketing this bottle to people who like shiraz, we should be alerting anyone who likes red wine made with poise and precision about the Shaw + Smith. If you like red wine with beauty, balance, and soul, this is your bottle. That should cast a pretty wide net. Don't miss this.

2013 Shaw + Smith Shiraz Adelaide Hills
By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 9/29/2016 | Send Email
Stunning Shiraz from the cooler coastal region of Adelaide Hills. What I love about this wine is that it captures the power and richness of Aussie Shiraz but with very aromatic, lifted tones of violets, baking spice and subtle smoky nuances harping back to the grape's northern rhone roots. There is plenty of soft, succulent fruit here but it's balanced by lovely natural acidity and some savory complexity. A great relationship with the importer means we can offer you this knockout Shiraz sub $30!
Top Value!

1992 Longmorn 24 Year Old K&L Exclusive "Signatory" Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
By: Shaun Green | Review Date: 9/28/2016 | Send Email
Oh Yes, rich and creamy with lots of weight and texture. The creamy caramel/butterscotch element is very up front and very subtle apple skin and light spice moving back palate. It's so smooth that even at 51.1 it shows a silky elegance. One more win for Signatory!
Top Value!
Price: $159.99 Add To Cart

2013 Marangona Lugana 'Tre Campane'
By: John Downing | Review Date: 9/27/2016 | Send Email
In my opinion, Marangona offers one of the truest expressions of Lugana and I couldn't be more pleased that we are able to offer it as one of our Italian selections. Winemaker and owner Alessandro Cutolo employs modern techniques while striving for a classic and memorable wine. His "Tre Campane" is made with grapes picked from 30 year old vines on three different sections of his vineyards. The clay and limestone soils yield grapes rich in both flavor and mineral and the result is this wonderful white. It's pleasantly aromatic with notes of florals, apples, citrus and almond and while it's initially round and concentrated, Tre Campane finishes with lots of crisp, mineral-driven fruit. Since we're not often in the Lake Garda area where this wine is produced, we'll have to settle for this world-class wine!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
WE 92

2012 Les Griffons de Pichon-Baron, Pauillac
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 9/27/2016 | Send Email
This is another 2nd wine from Pichon Baron and while is shows all the deep, dark fruit and pencil lead mineral notes of the Les Tourelles it has a much more plush and creamy texture somewhat obscuring the structure underneath. The much higher percentage of Merlot is evident in its bittersweet chocolate flavors and flattering personality.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
VN 92 WE 91

2015 Pencarrow Sauvignon Blanc (Palliser) Martinborough
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 9/27/2016 | Send Email
Here is a killer value in a full-bodied and rich yet bone dry wine with plenty of complexity. This is floral, earthy and musky with crushed melon fruit and hints of nectarine on the long, dry finish. An unbelievable price for this level of quality.
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart

2014 Pencarrow Pinot Noir (Palliser) Martinborough
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 9/27/2016 | Send Email
Bright red cherry fruit, spice, savory herb and dark plum are all found in this super bargain. This is surprisingly firm and structured for the price with a sweet and dark middle tempered by spicy complexity.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2013 Shaw + Smith Shiraz Adelaide Hills
By: Gary Norton | Review Date: 9/27/2016 | Send Email
I'm a big fan of this Aussie Shiraz. A really big fan in fact. It's smokey, purple fruited, focused and delicious. The nose emits a pungent layer of game and dried herb notes that are tough to find in a wine priced at $30. It's savory, round, and soft. Give me a plate of red meat, a glass of this Shiraz and I'm a happy camper.

2014 Te Mata "Awatea" Bordeaux Blend Hawkes Bay
By: Andrew Stevens | Review Date: 9/27/2016 | Send Email
This wine absolutely blew me away when I tasted the 2013 vintage, I immediately wanted to buy several bottles only to discover that by the time I was introduced to it we were already sold out. So after much cursing and carrying on as well as muttered imprecations I resolved to await the new vintage with more or less grace. Finally the wait is over and I have tasted the new vintage. It was worth the wait. Classic Bordeaux nose of red and black berry with cassis and dark floral notes. This wine is powerful, yet structured with the layers of herbs and minerality off setting the sweet fruit and crisp acid. The finish is long and resplendent with dark cassis and a touch of herbaceous goodness that lasts long. If you can stand the hold on to this wine it will age beautifully but make sure you pick up enough to open some during the holidays.

2014 Chehalem "Three Vineyard" Willamette Valley Pinot Noir (375ml)
By: Diana Turk | Review Date: 9/27/2016 | Send Email
Delicious from the first sip, the Three Vineyard Pinot shows rose petal on the nose with fresh cranberry fruit that gives way to deeper plum and a dusty finish. Lighter-bodied and great chilled, this is one of our fastest moving half bottles, and even features a screw cap for maximum portability and freshness. Perfect picnic wine.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart

2013 Chehalem "Three Vineyard" Willamette Valley Pinot Noir
By: Diana Turk | Review Date: 9/27/2016 | Send Email
Elegant and delicate, with lift and light body that would be great chilled, the Three Vineyard Pinot shows rose petal on the nose with fresh cranberry fruit that gives way to deeper plum through to the dustier finish. (The plusher 2014 vintage been a big seller for us in half bottles, too – picnic perfect!)
Price: $28.99 Add To Cart
WS 91

2013 Misha's Vineyard "Lyric" Riesling Central Otago
By: Andrew Stevens | Review Date: 9/27/2016 | Send Email
This is exactly the type of riesling that I like, one that showcases both a rich fruit beginning and a dry lengthy finish. On the nose this wine displays just the right amount of phenol and white fruit notes that lead to a rich baked fruit and honey on the palate. Here is where this wine surprised me though, I thought at first it would be an off dry style given the richness of the fruit, but it suddenly seemed to dissipate into a focused acid driven dry finish. So very tasty and at the price a super good wine to think about for the upcoming Holiday season.

2014 Thistle Ridge Pinot Noir Waipara Valley North Canterbury
By: Andrew Stevens | Review Date: 9/27/2016 | Send Email
Sometimes I worry that I am becoming a bit of a broken record when it comes to amazing Pinot Noir from NZ. Not that I will stop drinking or selling it though mind you, because there is just too many good wines coming from there. Bearing that in mind, here is yet another Pinot Noir that is not only spectacular, but completely underpriced at $15. Generous strawberry and cranberry notes come forward in this ripe, soft expression of Pinot. Easy drinking and crowd friendly though it may be, this does not mean that it is a one note wonder of a wine. There is enough acid here to provide length and a generous layered finish.

Ariston Aspasie Brut Rosé Champagne
By: Diana Turk | Review Date: 9/27/2016 | Send Email
An electric rosé! Composed of 50% Pinot Noir and 50% Meunier, this expensively-made wine goes through carbonic maceration and the saignée method, with a little still red wine added in. The result is stunning: gorgeous wild berry fruit with delicate bead, bracing acidity and a clean, minerally finish.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Ariston Aspasie "Carte Blanche" Brut Champagne
By: Diana Turk | Review Date: 9/27/2016 | Send Email
Based on the 2009 harvest, Carte Blanche spends five years on the lees, and has the biscuity notes to prove it. Ariston is committed to making a high-quality entry level wine, and there’s no doubt he’s accomplished that here. A traditional cépage of 40% Chardonnay and 30% each of Pinot Noir and Meunier, the Carte Blanche shows apple and crunchy pear fruit, tempered by underlying chalky notes, mousse texture, and a toasty finish.
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart

2014 Pessac-Léognan de Haut Bailly, Pessac-Leognan
By: David Driscoll | Review Date: 9/27/2016 | Send Email
As a somewhat value-driven Bordeaux drinker, I'm always on the hunt for two things: second and third wines from major chateaux, and the "off" vintages. 2014 was a perfectly respectable harvest for many properties, but it gets lost between the talk of 2009, 2010, and 2015. That's precisely the reason, however, that this sleeper from Haut Bailly is only $19.99. It's charming wine, full of delicate fruit and classic Graves minerality that purists like myself are smitten with. Decant this, cook yourself a steak, and know that you just came up on a hot deal. This is textbook claret from Pessac Leognan.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2013 Chehalem "Reserve-Ridgecrest Vineyard" Ribbon Ridge Pinot Noir
By: Diana Turk | Review Date: 9/27/2016 | Send Email
Made from grapes from the oldest part of Chehalem’s property, the 2013 Ridgecrest Pinot is elegant – there is depth and tension but overall, this is a plush, pretty wine. Picked Oct 6-11, after the rain event that threw some Willamette producers for a loop, the grapes were able to ripen enough to show red fruit and velvety texture while maintaining brightness. This style is somewhat linear with a dusty finish, a beautiful example of earthy Pinot from a colder climate. This is winemaker Wynn’s favorite vineyard, and she even had stories of sleeping there as a child. After tasting it in Oregon, Ridgecrest was my favorite too, even without the camping experience.

2015 Domaine de la Réserve d'O "Bilbo" Languedoc
By: Diana Turk | Review Date: 9/27/2016 | Send Email
This is the most value-oriented wine on the Reserve D’O roster, and while I’d be hard-pressed to pick a favorite from these enchanting producers, Bilbo might just edge out the others. There is so much lift here, with heady violet notes up front and complexity through the palate of fresh strawberry and darker plum fruit, and just enough spice on the finish. 2015 feels a bit lusher than previous vintages, but the sprightly acid remains. I took a bottle home after the staff tasting and was impressed to find it showing even better – slightly more floral and velvety – the next day.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2013 Francois Plouzeau "Le Rouge Des Cornus" Touraine Rouge (Domaine de la Garreliere)
By: Diana Turk | Review Date: 9/27/2016 | Send Email
Rosy nose, with the earthy herbaceousness you’d expect from Cabernet Franc. Leafy and green without veering too far into barnyard aromatics, this is a subtly fragrant, easier-drinking version from Touraine, with notes of pencil shavings and super soft tannins on the finish.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2015 Big Table Farm "Laughing Pig" Willamette Valley Rosé of Pinot Noir
By: Diana Turk | Review Date: 9/27/2016 | Send Email
A delicious example of hands-off winemaking from one of my favorite Oregon producers, this rosé checks nearly all the “natural” boxes without pretense: 100% whole cluster, basket-pressed, fermented on the skins, full malolactic fermentation, unfined, unfiltered. But the 2015 Laughing Pig is more clean than rustic, and really shows how nuanced Pinot Noir can be. Super dry, with an umami quality, purity of bright berry fruit, and singing acid, this would be great with charcuterie.
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart
VN 91

2014 Big Table Farm Willamette Valley Pinot Noir
By: Diana Turk | Review Date: 9/27/2016 | Send Email
An actual working farm with a huge, welcoming table, Big Table Farm is no marketing gimmick: the winemakers are passionate, detail-oriented, and impressively authentic. Even the portrait on the label, drawn by one of the owners herself, is of Bert, a resident pig. Though the setting feels rustic, the wine itself is sophisticated and silky, with a fragrant nose and tart cherry fruit. This is a blend from eight separate vineyard sites, intended to create a snapshot of great Willamette Pinot Noir. And wow, does it succeed! Though 2014 was a warm vintage, this release is lighter bodied and delicate, with herbal aromatics, plenty of lift, and earthiness on the finish. Visiting this property was a highlight of my recent visit to Oregon, and I could not be prouder that we support spirited producers so dedicated to quality.
Price: $42.99 Add To Cart

2006 Charles Ellner "Séduction" Brut Champagne
By: Diana Turk | Review Date: 9/27/2016 | Send Email
The 2006 Ellner Seduction opens with a yeasty, brioche nose and hints of geranium. Green apple fruit shines through but the palate is rounder, with supple texture reminiscent of honey. The acid is easygoing without sacrificing lift, and gives way to a chalky, pithy finish. Lots of structure now but should show more of 2006’s ripeness as it ages.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart
WS 93

2013 Cantele Salice Salentino Riserva
By: Diana Turk | Review Date: 9/27/2016 | Send Email
Surprisingly mineral-driven for Puglia, a region better known for fruity, bombastic wines, the 2013 Cantele Salice Salentino Riserva is a darker, more subtle negroamaro, bright with blackberry and plum, herbal notes, and an easygoing but peppery finish. Elevates any weeknight.
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart
RP 90

2015 GRÜNER by Etz Grüner Veltliner Kamptal (1L)
By: Lilia McIntosh | Review Date: 9/27/2016 | Send Email
Once again Etz doesn't disappoint! Consistently delicious every vintage. Clean, crisp, mineral but with juicy citrusy background, moderate acidity and long finish.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2014 Pence Ranch Santa Barbara County Chardonnay
By: Stephanie Vidales | Review Date: 9/26/2016 | Send Email
Full-bodied and rich, this Chardonnay is for those who want something big and expressive. Creme brulee, lemon zest, vanilla and apricot are present in the nose along with vibrant acidity and a slight minerality on the palette. Serve alongside lobster or salmon dishes!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2015 Ata Rangi Sauvignon Blanc Martinborough
By: Rachel Vogel | Review Date: 9/26/2016 | Send Email
A small amount of the grapes for this wine are fermented in large barrels on their skins and boy does it make a big difference! The texture of the wine is fantastic, It coats the palate while still having a lift from the balanced acid. There are flavors from fresh lemon zest, fresh white flowers, tropical fruit and fresh chives. The wine enjoys a long, dry finish where the acid really comes out. Absolutely delicious!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
BC 95

2014 Domaine Lafage "Bastide Miraflors" Côtes du Roussillon
By: John Majeski | Review Date: 9/26/2016 | Send Email
Perhaps the most rewarding aspect of this job is the ability to taste, savor and most importantly, share with customers, the immense wealth of wines that our tireless, talented buyers uncover and bring into the store. For several vintages, the Bastide Miraflors has expressed the very soul of the Roussillon, emboldened by robust, vibrant fruit that leaps from the glass with aromas and undertones of blackcurrants, sweet cherries, dark plums and wild herbs, wreathed by velvety tannins and a flourish of licorice on the firm finish. A truly fantastic find for your holiday parties, sure to enhance any gathering. And at this amazing price, it will soon disappear....
Top Value!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart
RP 92

2012 Domaine Aubaï Mema Carignan "L'Insoumise" Vin de France
By: Daniel Maas | Review Date: 9/26/2016 | Send Email
A dark and stormy night, it was, as I found myself driving through the windy country roads of Aubais. An aggressive rain pounded the tinny roof of my rented Dodge Dart. More than once I was sure that a drop or two succeeded in making its way inside and atop my head. It was then, just as things could not look more bleak, that a small animal ran from the side of the road, forcing my foot down on the breaks and the car right into a tree. The rain increased its ferocity as I now stood there, stranded in the south of France. Thankfully, through the dense tree line, a faint light broke the gloom. Making my way closer, I soon found myself confronted by the relieving site of a large structure. Smoke rose from the chimney as I made my way to the door, soon finding myself welcomed inside. Soaking wet, my night had turned from tragedy to triumph, as my generous hosts poured me a glass of their "L'Insoumise", a hauntingly beautiful expression of old-vine Carignan that soon proved magical. I no longer was cold. No longer wet. Instead, I found myself warmed and dried by the sheer opulence of the wine's voluminous body and the rich tannin, pronounced layers of black pepper, earth, and subtle lavender. One glass led to the next. And then a third. Before long, a rainy night had blossomed into a contemplative morning, with fog retreating from the vineyards. Making my way from the guest room to the foyer, I was offered a fresh change of clothes, as mine were dry yet badly wrinkled. "No. Thank you." I stepped out of the house, and stopped, turning back. "Another bottle of that incredible wine will more than suffice". Now, years later, I too-often find myself thinking of that night. Not of the rain, and not of the crash. Instead, I find myself dreaming of the “L’Insoumise”, and the question that it brings forth. How can one simple bottle of wine contain such pleasure? Answer this, my friends, and everything will be just fine.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2014 Erste e Neue Pinot Bianco
By: John Downing | Review Date: 9/26/2016 | Send Email
Pinot Bianco thrives in Italy's Alto Adige region and the small cooperative, Erste e Neue, produces a wonderful example of it. Their Weissburgunder highlights scents of apple, citrus and stony alpine minerals and offers a nicely structured palate that is quite versatile with food. It's less aromatic than most of the other white wines of the zone (Sauvignon, Pinot Grigio, Muller Thurgau, etc) but truly shines at the table.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2013 Pietracupa Greco di Tufo
By: John Downing | Review Date: 9/26/2016 | Send Email
Greco di Tufo is one of Campania's best known and most important white grapes and Sabino Loffredo of Pietracupa produces one of its greatest expressions. His Greco is structured and long-lived and although he prefers it with several years of age, it is certainly wonderful to drink upon release. An expressive and defined nose of pear, citrus and mineral are complemented by a crisp palate of mineral-driven fruit that pairs especially well with seafood, chicken, vegetables and lighter pastas. For those who love white wine and who've not yet tried Greco di Tufo, prepare to be impressed.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart
RP 90 ST 90

2014 Domaine Lafage "Bastide Miraflors" Côtes du Roussillon
By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 9/26/2016 | Send Email
Kudos to Jean-Marc and Elaine Lafage once again for delivering the highest QPR wines in the store. Last year we had phenomenal success with their wines and this year, the Bastide Miraflors is poised to garner the same interest. As with all wines though, vintage is a factor and I must say, I am really enjoying the 2014 a touch more than last year. Still loaded with beautiful fruit but a touch more restrained, I find more of the classic spices and garrigue notes that these varieties possess. Another not to be missed value from the Roussillon!!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart
RP 92

Page: 1 2 3 next >>