Staff Favorites

If you’re going to have Robert Parker or Stephen Tanzer over for dinner, selecting a wine they’ve rated highly will be a nice choice. However, when you’re buying wines for yourself, we’d love to see you find wines that match up your unique palate and pocketbook. We have a large staff of friendly and knowledgeable wine professionals that taste hundreds of wines each week. They can put you in touch with bottles that you are likely to love, often at a much lower cost than the highly-rated gems that often see a run-up in price and frequent availability issues. Like any great group of opinionated professionals, our staff has varied tastes themselves. Often our customers will find a particular staff member with a style that corresponds to their own. That concept works extremely well in our retail stores, and this section is our effort to bring you the same online. Don’t get us wrong, we love the highly rated wines from the press and will continue to offer them, but we think you’re missing out if you’re not augmenting those selections with picks from our excellent staff. Here are their favorites. (Click on a name to see their other selections - or to drop them a line.) Cheers!

Reviews

  
Page: 1 2 3 next >>
2014 Bodegas Puelles Blanco Rioja
By: Andrew Stevens | Review Date: 2/13/2016 | Send Email
I loved last years vintage of this wine, and I think I may like this years even more. This is perhaps my top choice for everyday white wine. It is clean and crisp with a touch of minerality and nice acid lift. Hints of green apple, lemon, and melon make it super easy to drink. The wine pairs well with food of all types and at $10 it pairs well with more of itself. It is one I recommend keeping a case of.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2013 Smith & Hook Central Coast Cabernet Sauvignon
By: Andrew Stevens | Review Date: 2/12/2016 | Send Email
Again and again our buyers show up with wine that is just unbelievable for its price. This is another example of that phenomenon. Dark, rich berry is immediately present in this Cab, full bursting flavor that leads to a surprisingly long finish. Full bodied and full of flavor; the truly astonishing thing is that we are selling it for under $20. Forget Napa pricing and pick up a bottle of this for your next big dinner.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart
WE 92

2014 Ermitage "Victor" Costières de Nîmes Rouge
By: Alex Schroeder | Review Date: 2/12/2016 | Send Email
Located right next to Chateauneuf Du Pape, the “Victor” offers an amazing Rhône style blend at table-wine pricing! Showcasing amazing structure framed by a composition of 40% Syrah grapes, 40% Mourvèdre and 20% Grenache, “Victor” offers warm, savory fruit flavors, smooth tannins and a soft acid finish. Pick up a case, it makes a perfect everyday dinner accompaniment!
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2008 Martinelli "Hop Camp Vineyard-Gravel Lens" Russian River Valley Syrah
By: Scott Beckerley | Review Date: 2/12/2016 | Send Email
If you are looking for super heavy, syrupy Syrah, look elsewhere. This release from Martinelli is spicy and bright, with wild blackberry fruit and a slight hint of chalkiness. Also slightly gamy, with pepper and clean clay notes. Red plums on the finish. A very interesting release.
Price: Hidden View Price
RR 92

Riestra Sidra Natural Cider 700ml
By: Andrew Stevens | Review Date: 2/12/2016 | Send Email
I am very new to the world of Spanish Cider, so I am not sure if this is a typical example of what they do. However, I do know that it was cool, interesting, and enjoyable. The nose definitely had some brett and there was a vinegar note underlying the green tart apple, which totally worked for me. A good food cider, this paired well with the beans, peppers, and rice I prepared. Fun and funky.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2012 Thomas Coyne Contra Costa County Mourvedre
By: Scott Beckerley | Review Date: 2/12/2016 | Send Email
This is my favorite wine of the Coyne series. Even more so at this bargain basement price. This is textbook Mouvedre in the French style, with a savory character and accompanying spices. It also has rich, plummy fruit that does not have the stewed prune aspect that we get from this varietal as is common with other winemakers.
Top Value!
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2012 Thomas Coyne "Confluence" California Bordeaux Blend
By: Scott Beckerley | Review Date: 2/12/2016 | Send Email
Lightly tannic with tobacco and leather notes. The red and black fruits are bright and have good acidity. A good choice for those of you who are tired of massive fruit bombs.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2012 Thomas Coyne "La Balle d'Argent" Lodi Early Burgundy
By: Scott Beckerley | Review Date: 2/12/2016 | Send Email
This little bargain of a wine has big, bright red fruits on the forefront with a hint of white pepper and bright acidity on the back of the palate. The finish is fairly big with a bit of ripeness.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

Ruinart Brut Rosé Champagne
By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 2/12/2016 | Send Email
No Champagne is more famous within France than Ruinart, but it is only now that connoisseurs in the USA are starting to discover these great wines from Champagne. This rich, well balanced rose will delight fans of great pink Champagne with a great contrast between pure Pinot fruit and pure Champagne chalk. It is a blend of 55% Pinot Noir and 45% Chardonnay, with 18% of the Pinot vinified red and blended in for color and flavor. It has a little more color than most rose Champagne and a soft, full bodied texture. It is rich and satisfying, despite the deceptively high proportion of Chardonnay.
Price: $72.99 Add To Cart
VN 92 WS 92

Ruinart Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 2/12/2016 | Send Email
The Ruinart Brut Blanc De Blancs is a wonderfully different style of Chardonnay based Champagne than any other that we have. While almost all of the others that we carry rely on the laser precision of Cote de Blanc fruit exclusively, this wine balances this electricity with the rich, nearly grapey Chardonnay of the Mountain of Reims. The result is magic; a full bodied blanc de blancs that still finishes dry and long!These crus; Trepail and Villers Marmery on the Mountain of Reims round out the mineraly focus of the Cotes de Blancs fruit. This is a creamy, subtly toasty bottle of Champagne with a little bit of lychee exoticism. It has class to spare and is exceptionally easy to drink.

2014 Bodegas Puelles Blanco Rioja
By: Jim Barr | Review Date: 2/11/2016 | Send Email
This is one of my favorite white wines in the store, and it is not for those of you who like heavily over-extracted, over-the-top, oaky, full ML style Chardonnays. It is really dry, clean, crisp, mineral-driven style of white wine with tons of character and a mouthwatering set of flavors, yet is a bit richer and more viscous than the 2013. The nose will remind you of fresh honeydew melons with lime zest fruit undertones that carry over to a bright, flashy set of flavors, and a bright, fresh finish. The Bean has demanded that I bring home, as with previous vintages, several cases of this Gem for our near-term, shellfish dining enjoyment. ***** 12.0% ABV *****
Top Value!
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2013 Bava "Libera" Barbera d'Asti
By: Andrew Stevens | Review Date: 2/11/2016 | Send Email
This is a beautiful Barbera, perfect for pizza or a light pasta, an excellent food wine. There is a hint of white pepper on the nose and a lovely, lifted texture from the acid. Light fruit and a bit of spice that are well balanced and present a clean and vibrant wine. Well made easy drinking Barbera for a fantastic price, this is a wine to keep in mind as long as we have it.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2011 Kir-Yianni "Ramnista" Xinomavro Naoussa
By: Andrew Whiteley | Review Date: 2/11/2016 | Send Email
This wine screams out crushed plums, black fruit, and pulverized rocks on the nose. The tannins provide a beautiful mouth coating texture and just begs to be paired with a lamb chop or juicy steak. The body is quite rustic, full of earth, spice, and leather. The finish is long and circles back around to the dark berry and plum beginning. Decanting and food are imperative and contribute to a rewarding experience. But one for dinner this Friday and one or two for the cellar!
Price: Hidden View Price
RP 92

2013 Bava "Gionson" Nebbiolo
By: Dave Genevro | Review Date: 2/11/2016 | Send Email
I love these wines from Bava. The slight earthy, savory characters, the bright flavors and fresh feel this wine has is unique to my palate. The lighter weight body with still that woodsy/piney grip from the tannin make this wine jump out at me. The progression of this wine reminds me of the amazing song by The Beatles, I Want You (She's So Heavy), how all the different melodies, tempos and harmonies took me to very different places but all end up taking me back to where it started. Definitely one not to miss out on. Drink now or cellar.
Top Value!
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2014 Elephant Hill Sauvignon Blanc Hawke's Bay
By: Dave Genevro | Review Date: 2/11/2016 | Send Email
One of my favorite Hawke's Bay producers, gives us yet another bright, elegant, fresh and clean all-stainless Sauvignon Blanc. When I poured this wine for Guests at an in store tasting...this is one of those bottlings that stole the show. The proximity of the vineyards to the ocean in Hawke's Bay, and just the lack of holding back on seeking out top-of-the-line winemakers and equipment, truly helps give this wine its own sense of place. The characters are in sync and the amount of wine you get for the price is too much not to try a bottle!
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
RC 91 - 92

2012 Kir-Yianni "Yianakohori Hills" Red Blend Macedonia
By: Andrew Whiteley | Review Date: 2/11/2016 | Send Email
This is an extremely satisfying wine. The dark yet almost sour fruits of Xinomavro, the plums and alpine blueberries, taper off just as pepper spice of Syrah and the smooth character of the Merlot pick up. The mouth feel is full, yet velvety smooth. Those same tannins will keep this gorgeous wine drinking well for many years to come. This is a great candidate for 6 or 12 bottles as it is so delicious now, but will surely continue to evolve over the next decade.
Price: Hidden View Price
RP 90

2009 Louise Brison Vintage Brut Champagne
By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 2/11/2016 | Send Email
Nothing in the store comes close to this spectacular bottle of vintage Champagne. If you like clean, refreshing, bright Champagne with tons of detail and length, this is not to be missed. If this wine was 50% more expensive, I would still be very excited about recommending it. At the price it is simply untouchable... Everything has been done the hard way: all organic, all estate fruit, mostly barrel fermented and aged for over four years on the lees! The Brison wines also age very well, over the past months I have enjoyed the 1999, 1996 and 1995- so make sure to get a few extras for the future.
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Venus Spirits Aquavit Blend #1 (750ml)
By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 2/11/2016 | Send Email
Cinnamon and I tasted through the entire line of products at Venus last week and the biggest surprise was the fabulous Aquavit. I have never had a spirit with such a strong anise component that stayed in such lovely elegant balance before. The high quality black licorice aromas and flavors were a real revelation.
Price: $32.99 Add To Cart

Venus Spirits Batch #2 Barrel Aged Gin (750ml)
By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 2/11/2016 | Send Email
If you are interested in barrel aged gin, the Venus Batch No. 2 should be the first one you try. Sean was inspired by Manhattans when creating this, and it shows through in the finished product. The base spirit has a custom blend of botanicals made to go into barrel, and it rests for two months in ½ new and ½ one year old 53 gallon, 3 char American oak. I have to say my mind went straight to Negronis when I tasted it, and I love the bay leaf and spice in this top quality gin.
Price: $36.99 Add To Cart

2014 Domaine Paul Pernot Bourgogne Chardonnay
By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 2/11/2016 | Send Email
Visiting Michel Pernot and his father is a great way to start the day in Burgundy, and when you get to taste a vintage as great as the 2014s, it makes it even better. The regular Bourgogne Chardonnay delivers a tremendous amount of Puligny-like class for an incredibly reasonable price, and I loved it for its fine combination of body and refreshment. This wine is entirely barrel fermented, but mostly in older oak, and the barrel spice in this great bottle is very subtle. This is a great one to take a case of!
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2014 Domaine Paul Pernot Puligny-Montrachet
By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 2/11/2016 | Send Email
This super clean, limey white Burgundy defines Puligny for me. If you like focused, long, detailed wines, the 2014 Paul Pernot is for you. This is an ideal partner for a crab risotto or a scallop with polenta now, and still has plenty of time in hand if you want to age it.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart
VN 87 - 90

2014 Domaine Paul Pernot Meursault-Blagny 1er Cru "La Piece Sous le Bois"
By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 2/11/2016 | Send Email
This fantastic Meursault is certainly the best that we have at this price! The Blagny La Piece Sous Le Bois stood out when we tasted it with Michel Pernot at the property for its creamy, pineapple-like aromas and flavors and great upfront richness. This does the Burgundy trick, with plenty of size on the palate, but a completely dry, mineral-driven finish. Wow!
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart
VN 88 - 90

2014 Domaine Paul Pernot Puligny-Montrachet 1er Cru "Clos de la Folatières"
By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 2/11/2016 | Send Email
What a knockout of a white Burgundy! This comes from three separate sub plots within the Clos De La Folatieres and is one of the jewels of Michel Pernot's excellent lineup. How can a wine with so much Key lime richness and high class vanilla and spice also have so much minerality? The magic of Burgundy, is my cop-out answer! This is one of the longest finishing bottles in the store!

2014 Domaine Paul Pernot Bienvenues-Bâtard-Montrachet Grand Cru
By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 2/11/2016 | Send Email
If you are looking for one of the top wines in the world, you have found it. This Bienvenues-Batard has the concentration, power and earthy detail that makes Grand Cru Burgundy the most sought after wine in the world. I felt very lucky to taste this with Michel Pernot in his cellar, and it is an experience I will not soon forget.
Price: $189.00 Add To Cart
ST 91 - 93

2009 Louise Brison Vintage Brut Champagne
By: Mari Keilman | Review Date: 2/11/2016 | Send Email
Made up of half barrel fermented Chardonnay and one-half Pinot Noir that was fermented in two-thirds stainless and one-third barrel, the 2009 demonstrates how warm the vintage was with its classic nose of ripe chardonnay fruit. Pushing through are aromas of fresh apple and white stone fruit and hints of chalkiness. The palate comes alive with mouth tingling vibrancy and bright acidity. Subtle layers and a nutty, elegant finish hint to the wines aging potential. A definite choice to put in the cellar for a few years.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2009 Louise Brison Vintage Brut Champagne
By: Shaun Green | Review Date: 2/11/2016 | Send Email
Wow, I drank a lot of the fabulous 2008 and was sorry to see it gone, but then the 2009 showed up and it is right there in quality. A bit racier and zippier than the 2008 while still stunning in elegance and style. It's hard to understand how this Champagne can be priced so low, but I'm not complaining, I'm just drinking! This will last 10 years easily, but I doubt much will make it that long, it's very inviting right now and will be hard to resist.
Top Value!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2009 Louise Brison Vintage Brut Champagne
By: Kyle Kurani | Review Date: 2/11/2016 | Send Email
Each and every time I drink this bottle of Champagne, I forget how affordable it is, and get completely lost in the experience of drinking great vintage bubbles. Following in the footsteps of the ’08 is no small task, so it was with much anticipation that I cracked the 2009. Every bit as good. A nose of white peaches and pie crust, greets you right out of the glass. On the palate it is perfectly poised, medium body with a mix of baguette and stone fruits, vibrant and fresh with a very clean supple mouthfeel. Pretty incredible that this is under $30!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2009 Louise Brison Vintage Brut Champagne
By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 2/11/2016 | Send Email
While the 2008 Louise Brison (a few of you I think may have purchased a bottle or two!) is sadly sold out, I would not hesitate to recommend this 2009. It's a bright, yellow stonefruit-driven effort, with plenty of drive and a nearly unmatched drinkability and value for money for vintage Champagne. At the risk of re-stating the obvious I think it does bear repeating: this is VINTAGE Champagne (good quality vintage Champagne, at that) from an RM (grower/producer) for under $30! Stock up and drink the good stuff.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2013 Smith & Hook Central Coast Cabernet Sauvignon
By: Gary Norton | Review Date: 2/11/2016 | Send Email
Smith & Hook is the latest Cab-focused label from our friends over at Hahn Family Wines. Rich and focused, the wine shows notes of dark plum, black cherry, cassis, black currant and aromas of cedar and baking spice. This Cab is big and expressive, stylistically similar to Caymus, at a fraction of the price. Drink now, or cellar for the next 5-8 years. Great wine at an obscenely low price point.
Top Value!
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart
WE 92

2014 Domaine Paul Pernot Bâtard-Montrachet Grand Cru
By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 2/11/2016 | Send Email
Michel Pernot has a spectacular lineup of 2014s, and when we visited his cellar, this was the grand finale. Batard-Montrachet is always expensive, but this powerhouse makes me understand why everyone in the world tries to make big Chardonnay... When it is as good as this, it leaves you wanting for nothing!

2012 Terre da Vino "La Luna e I Falò" Barbera d'Asti Superiore
By: Jeffrey Jones | Review Date: 2/11/2016 | Send Email
This a wonderful red wine that is both flavorful and will go great with pasta, pizza, pork or beef. It has nice, dark fruit flavors, and a soft mouthfeel that is balanced out with a nice, crisp finish. It offers a lot of value for the price.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2009 Louise Brison Vintage Brut Champagne
By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 2/11/2016 | Send Email
The newest staff favorite is consistently providing some of the absolute BEST values we've seen in bubbles to date. Ultra open and expressive, but with the chops to develop nicely over the next several years. What I really love about this stuff is the balance between creamy fruit (sherbets & creamsicles) and nutty richness (hazelnuts and walnuts). Absolutely transfixed by the combo. And that price! Wow.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2008 Martinelli "Hop Camp Vineyard-Gravel Lens" Russian River Valley Syrah
By: Andrew Whiteley | Review Date: 2/11/2016 | Send Email
This wine is in its absolute prime. Everything has come together so beautifully. There is a tremendous balance here. The earth and cedar have meshed beautifully with the blackberries and cocoa powder, and there is that elegant touch of pepper spice and a bit gaminess. The wine has a dramatic presence and full mouthfeel, but never feels too weighty or bulky. It is silky smooth and remarkably clean. Getting access to such a legendary producer in the Russian River at this amazing price doesn't happen often. This wine is an excellent opportunity for any drinker looking to seize a deal.
Price: Hidden View Price
RR 92

2014 Vacheron Sancerre
By: Eric Story | Review Date: 2/11/2016 | Send Email
Super thrilled to finally be able to start working with this producer. The expressions of the wines coming from the domaine aren’t really like many of the other typical styles of Sancerre. These have a lot more silex influence and therefore have a sharper more precise focus to them. The complexity is sneaky and really starts to shine after about an hour of decanting. The amount of thoughtful attention in making these wines is very evident with each sip.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Venus Spirits Batch #1 Gin (750ml)
By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 2/11/2016 | Send Email
The Blend No. 1 gin inspired Cinnamon and I to travel to Santa Cruz to meet the distillers and tour the facility. When I first tasted it in August of 2014 I wrote the following review: “This one is coming home with me! I love it when a local, small production product delivers not just quality, but also excellent value. The wonderful, creamy texture of this gin is balanced by high toned citrus and grounded by clean juniper. I can't wait to get some fever tree tonic, lime and obnoxiously large ice cubes into this... It will be hard just to have one.” This is in the top echelon of gins world wide, and I would put it in on the table next to anything. At the price, it is peerless. If you love gin and haven’t tried it, you are cheating yourself!
Top Value!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2011 Kir-Yianni "Ramnista" Xinomavro Naoussa
By: John Majeski | Review Date: 2/9/2016 | Send Email
Grew up reading Greek myths, the toga and tiara struggle between gods and mortals, long before touching Greek wine to my all too mortal lips. One tale told of the Phrygian king Tantalus, who, when invited to dine with the big boys and girls at Mount Olympus, suddenly excused himself and made a hasty exit with their finest nectar and ambrosia stuffed in his bulging tunic. Big mistake. His punishment? Banished for thirsty eternity to a lonely hot tub in the Underworld, where whenever he reached for a mouthful of ripe fruit from the nearby vines, they receded just out of reach, and whenever he put his hand out to grasp a goblet of wine, it spilled its glistening contents… well fortunately we’ve made things much simpler by bringing you this truly ‘tantalizing’, reachable bottle of superb Xinomavro (which translates as 'acid wine'). This is a robust, earthy and deeply-scented red, effusive with aromas and flavors of cassis, black plums, red raspberries, forest leaf fall and licorice spice, caressed by lusty tannins and finishing firm and slightly tangy. Certainly ageworthy, but don’t wait for an eternity. And save the ambrosia, just bring on the moussaka!
Top Value!
Price: Hidden View Price
RP 92

2013 Greywacke Pinot Noir Marlborough
By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 2/8/2016 | Send Email
This is such an exotic, fragrant wine...it demonstrates why I love Pinot Noir so much! There's a symphony of ripe forest fruits, baking spices, agarwood, and star anise. I like how Kevin has managed to keep this wine very bright and aromatic whilst also embracing the richness and textural density that naturally comes from the heavier clay soils of Marlborough's Southern Valleys. This is a beautiful example of what the region can do with Pinot Noir when it's planted in the right spot and crafted with love and passion. Very classy and worth the full attention of any Pinot lover.
Drink from 2016 to 2016

2010 Palacio del Burgo Reserva Rioja
By: Randy Hagerman | Review Date: 2/8/2016 | Send Email
This wine is a perfect gateway for domestic wine drinkers looking to "dip their toes" into the wonders of Rioja. The sweet dark cherry and dark berry flavors are integrated nicely with juicy acidity. There is plenty of mid-palate weight, but the tannins are soft and assimilated on the long finish. This is a ripe, easy-drinking red with plenty of Rioja character.

2010 Miguel Merino "Unnum" Rioja
By: Randy Hagerman | Review Date: 2/8/2016 | Send Email
This is a generously fruited offering from Miguel Meriño. There is a sweetness to the dark cherry and plum notes, yet the wine has classic Rioja acidity. This full-bodied Rioja is plenty bold, yet very drinkable. Those of you looking for a clean, more elegant Rioja offering, look no further.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2014 Akitu "A2" Pinot Noir Central Otago (White Label)
By: Alex Schroeder | Review Date: 2/8/2016 | Send Email
Made from clones of Burgundian vines planted in Central Otago over a decade ago, the Akitu A2 Pinot Noir displays characteristics you just don't find at this price point often: Depth, complexity, freshness and character. Intense flavors of blackberries and raspberries are the focal point, while subtle spices and herbs frame the wine perfectly to create a food-friendly, utterly satisfying Pinot Noir experience. No question, awesome value!

2012 Mount Veeder Winery Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
By: Dave Genevro | Review Date: 2/7/2016 | Send Email
I love this wine. Power, precision and a well integrated tannin structure... plus that great Mount Veeder fruit, at that price point is great for all of us. Let this wine breathe and it will definitely open up a bit for you.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WE 92

2013 Smith & Hook Central Coast Cabernet Sauvignon
By: Bryan Brick | Review Date: 2/5/2016 | Send Email
One of our most successful wines over the last 2-3 months has been the 2013 Hahn Santa Lucia Highlands Pinot Noir. Its combination of friendly style, honest Pinot flavors and ridiculous value has captured our customers' attention, and palates, and has held it. Always on the hunt for the next big thing, we wanted to see if the Hahn Family wines produced anything else that held a candle to the value of the Pinot Noir. Much to our chagrin, we found the 2013 Smith & Hook Central Coast Cabernet Sauvignon and we were floored by the same combination of value, flavor and drinkability we found in the Hahn.
Made from 100% Cabernet Sauvignon from a blend of San Antonio Valley, Paso Robles, Hames Valley and Arroyo Seco fruit and aged in 100% French oak, this Cab has the polish and slick black fruit of a wine 3-4 times the price. A lace of menthol and sage weaves through the boysenberry fruit and mocha richness found on the nose, leading to the fresh and zesty entry. Fleshy and easygoing, this Cab delivers a fully weighted core of olive, black currant, plum, tarragon, cedar and loam flavors on the lush palate. Velvety tannins wrap up the ripe and juicy finish and a long mélange of fresh herbs resonate long after the glass is empty. This is the easily the best value Cabernet we have in the store right now.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart
WE 92

2012 Kir-Yianni "Yianakohori Hills" Red Blend Macedonia
By: Olivia Ragni | Review Date: 2/5/2016 | Send Email
This elegant Greek blend boasts aromas of violets, dark cherry and anise. The palate is lifted and bright yet soft and polished. Flavors of dark plum, blackberry, and chocolate dominate the palate while having a backbone of graphite and a subtle sanguine quality. While this is drinking well now, the bright acidity and polished tannin structure would make for an interesting wine to cellar for a few years.
Price: Hidden View Price
RP 90

2012 Achaval Ferrer Cabernet Sauvignon Mendoza
By: Randy Hagerman | Review Date: 2/5/2016 | Send Email
This is an extremely drinkable Cabernet at a great price. The bright red fruit and medium acidity rounds quite nicely to the smooth, softly tannic finish. I'm astounded that we can offer this much wine at this price point.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
JS 90

2010 Viña Quebrada "Domus Aurea" Cabernet Sauvignon Maipo Valley
By: Dulcinea Gonzalez | Review Date: 2/5/2016 | Send Email
Totally distinct and showing amazing depth, the Domus Aurea is an intense, full-bodied Cab that wears its weight with elegance and class. The nose displays a handsome fragrance of roasted almonds and vanilla. It has plenty of backbone, with well-integrated tannins, and displays a delicious mid-palate of black fruit, dark chocolate, smoke and herbs. Stack this dark horse up against any $100 Napa Cab...you won't be disappointed. Super recommended!

2013 Paolo Calì "Mandragola" Frappato Vittoria
By: Diana Turk | Review Date: 2/5/2016 | Send Email
Versatile and now bargain-priced! Tart with notes of citrus zest and bright berry, this light-bodied Frappato shows huge lift but surprising depth and elegance as it opens up. Chill slightly, let it breathe, and serve this Sicilian beauty with spicy pasta.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$12.99

2011 Kir-Yianni "Ramnista" Xinomavro Naoussa
By: Diana Turk | Review Date: 2/5/2016 | Send Email
Racy cherry fruit and a palate that somehow manages to be both smooth and earthy. This is an elegant, high acid wine that almost drinks like a bright Nebbiolo. Herbal notes on the nose and a tannic finish, this complex Xinomavro will benefit from age but is interesting enough to try now.
Price: Hidden View Price
RP 92

2011 Kir-Yianni "Ramnista" Xinomavro Naoussa
By: Olivia Ragni | Review Date: 2/5/2016 | Send Email
This Xinomavro has incredible lift and acidity, while still having that hallmark Xinomavro tannin. There are notes of bright cherries, figs, and fennel coupled with flavors of eucalyptus, leather, and iron. This is a wine that is light yet tannic; full of fruit, yet incredibly earthy; and rustic while maintaining exceptional complexity. I love its opposing characteristics that work seamlessly together.
Price: Hidden View Price
RP 92

2010 Viña Quebrada "Domus Aurea" Cabernet Sauvignon Maipo Valley
By: Randy Hagerman | Review Date: 2/5/2016 | Send Email
Wow! The herbaceous and green pepper notes leap from the glass of this bold, Chilean Cabernet. If you are a fan of varietally correct Cabernet Sauvignon, you need to buy this wine. The smoky, dark fruit and spice notes show how unique and expressive Cabernet Sauvignon can be from this region. The acid and structure suggest that this wine will age very well. Buy some to try now and some to lay down. You won't be disappointed.

San Venanzio Prosecco Valdobbiadene Demi-Long Superiore Brut
By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 2/5/2016 | Send Email
For the first days of spring, there is nothing better than bubbles. This is straw yellow and has a creamy mousse with a delicate, long-lasting bead on the nose that you will find releasing hints of apples and tropical fruit, plus wisteria blossoms, wonderful balance and elegance. The palate is crisp, with admirable fullness and a very dry finish. This will also work great with O.J. for your spring holidays and morning brunch. This is a wine of great balance and elegance and an excellent aperitif for all social occasions.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
WE 92 JS 90

Page: 1 2 3 next >>