Staff Favorites

If you’re going to have Robert Parker or Stephen Tanzer over for dinner, selecting a wine they’ve rated highly will be a nice choice. However, when you’re buying wines for yourself, we’d love to see you find wines that match up your unique palate and pocketbook. We have a large staff of friendly and knowledgeable wine professionals that taste hundreds of wines each week. They can put you in touch with bottles that you are likely to love, often at a much lower cost than the highly-rated gems that often see a run-up in price and frequent availability issues. Like any great group of opinionated professionals, our staff has varied tastes themselves. Often our customers will find a particular staff member with a style that corresponds to their own. That concept works extremely well in our retail stores, and this section is our effort to bring you the same online. Don’t get us wrong, we love the highly rated wines from the press and will continue to offer them, but we think you’re missing out if you’re not augmenting those selections with picks from our excellent staff. Here are their favorites. (Click on a name to see their other selections - or to drop them a line.) Cheers!

Reviews

  
Page: 1 2 3 next >>
2008 Louis Brochet "Millésimé" Brut Champagne
By: Scott Beckerley | Review Date: 8/27/2016 | Send Email
This producer is brand new to us and finding a 2008 at this price is just phenomenal. There is a bright acidity and cleansing minerality to this release that will make it a good candidate for mid-term cellaring. All estate fruit with partial barrel ageing that also lends a bit of toast to go along with the underlying caramel and golden apple flavors. If you like very rich, get the 2009. If you like more acidity and chalk, the 2008 is the one for you!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2013 Mas Karolina Côtes Catalanes
By: Scott Beckerley | Review Date: 8/27/2016 | Send Email
This project of Caroline Bonville, cousin to the much admired Olivier Bonville (creator of one my favorite lines of small-estate champagne) is putting out many excellent reds from the Roussillon area. This particular example is bright and spicy, with a overlay of ripe fruit that makes it a little too easy to drink. There is a purity of red fruits and soft, smooth tannins that make this little affordable beauty a real gem. Perfect with barbecue and smoked meats.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2014 Spellbound California Chardonnay
By: Scott Beckerley | Review Date: 8/27/2016 | Send Email
This little bargain chardonnay will leave you spellbound! It is one of our most popular domestic chardonnay's because of its tropical flavors, cream and bright acidity on the finish. Just a light hint of oak. Excellent in part because of its lineage from the Mondavi family, who as you know, have just a little experience in winemaking.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

2015 Zudugarai "Amats" Getariako Txakolina
By: Sarah Covey | Review Date: 8/27/2016 | Send Email
Woohoo! It's finally Txak-o-clock! I love this affordable Txakoli. It's red delicious apple, lemon zest, saline, and Bartlett pear, with a refreshing acidity that makes me keep reaching for more! Lower alcohol, this is a wonderfully versatile apertif wine. Perfect with fresh summer tomato crostini, the classic Spanish pairing of Marcona almonds and Manchego cheese, or even with a fish or chicken dish. Stock up!
Top Value!
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2009 La Velona Brunello di Montalcino
By: Scott Beckerley | Review Date: 8/27/2016 | Send Email
Bargain Brunello! Whoever thought those two words would go together? This is indeed that elusive beast and it will be sold out soon. La Velona has always been lush with dark, black cherry fruit, cassis and boysenberry. Super silky tannins and ready to go now. Don't wait to buy it!

2014 Domaine Long-Depaquit (Albert Bichot) Chablis
By: Scott Beckerley | Review Date: 8/27/2016 | Send Email
Hello bargain Chablis! I love super clean whites like Gruner Veltliner and Albarino, so naturally, I love Chablis. It is even better when I can afford to buy it! This wonderful bottling of Long Depaquit has lime, white pepper and Anjou pear scents and flavors. Clean and full of grapefruit but, retains enough body to carry it off. Should age well for a couple of years, if you like to keep yours to soften the acidity. I love the acidity, so I enjoy it now.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2014 GRÜNER by Etz Grüner Veltliner Kamptal (1L)
By: Scott Beckerley | Review Date: 8/27/2016 | Send Email
This fantastic value Gruner is classic in character with limestone, nectarine and lemon/lime flavors. Peppery notes linger on the finish. Bracing acidity but, not over the top enough to take the enamel off of your teeth. Fantastic with a shrimp salad or a nice side dish of roasted brussesl sprouts with toasted, sliced almonds.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2015 Quinta da Aveleda Loureiro-Alvarinho Vinho Verde
By: Scott Beckerley | Review Date: 8/27/2016 | Send Email
This bright and semi-fizzy white is a great way to start a meal or to have at a picnic or to just plain enjoy by itself! Dry, with white stone fruits and peach notes, it pairs up very well with spicy foods. I like mine with ceviche.
Price: $8.99 Add To Cart
W&S 90

2015 Montsecano Pinot Noir Casablanca Valley
By: Jim Barr | Review Date: 8/26/2016 | Send Email
There have been some great Pinot Noirs coming out of Chile the last few years, to the point that I have maintained to many of you that the Chileans should have planted Pinot many years ago. Their environment, in many areas, is perfect. This small production (375 cases which is equal to only 15 barrels) is deeply colored with opulent, powerful aromas of blueberry, blackberry, to floral fruit characteristics with undertones of forest floor to slate-like minerality, which carries well into a broad, rich, viscous palate impression. Complex, deeply flavored, silky and round, this well-integrated, superbly focused Pinot finishes with a long, lingering, mouthwatering set of flavors. This gorgeous Gem should continue to improve over the next five to ten years. Rusty has demanded that I bring home at least a case of this great Gem and honestly believes that you shouldn’t miss this wine, too. Great Value! ***** 13.5% ABV *****
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
JS 96

2010 La Velona Brunello di Montalcino Riserva
By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 8/26/2016 | Send Email
I am giving this two thumbs up ! ROCKIN Brunello, beautifully layered, expressive wine bursting with sweet, ripe strawberries, vanilla, black cherries intermingled with subtle earth and toasted oak notes, minerals and a hint of bitter chocolate on the finish; round and ripe tannins and a long aftertaste. YUM !!!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
JS 93 RP 91

2015 Zudugarai "Amats" Rosé Getariako Txakolina
By: Shaun Green | Review Date: 8/25/2016 | Send Email
Fun and bright and clean and fresh, dry with just a hint of spirits, even a great price .... what is not to like here! Fantastic and crowd pleasing.
Top Value!
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2004 Lopez de Heredia "Viña Tondonia" Reserva Rioja
By: Sal Rodriguez | Review Date: 8/25/2016 | Send Email
I'm consistently awed by the fine wines the folks at Lopez de Heredia have been making. I guess, being in the business for about 140 years you learn a few things about your craft. This superbly complex wine is something really special. I've had their late 90's Tondonia and they all seem to age like Tom Cruise has aged - Slowly, comfortably, and hard to believe it's the age that it is. Some of the highest quality wines you'll find in the price category. Cheers!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
RP 94 WS 90

2015 Zudugarai "Amats" Getariako Txakolina
By: Shaun Green | Review Date: 8/25/2016 | Send Email
When you're looking for a wine to have with light summer meals, or a dish that is hard to pair give this Txakolina a try. This delicious clean white has a slight spritz helping to make it extremely versatile
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2013 Cantina Valle Isarco "Sabiona" Kerner
By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 8/25/2016 | Send Email
Bright & enticing, with aromas of lemon drop, flowers and a hint of spice jump out of the glass. Then pristine and lively on the palate, with laser-like precision to the tropical fruit and white stone fruit flavors. The finish is long and minerally, with a mouthwatering quality thanks to the bright saline character and harmonious acidity.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart

2013 Sparkman "Holler" Columbia Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
By: John Majeski | Review Date: 8/25/2016 | Send Email
With a rambunctious name like "Holler," this wine better be something to really shout about! Fortunately for the rest of us, Washington winemaker Chris Sparkman and his wife Kelly poured their everything into this bold and uncompromising Bordeaux blend. Both expressive in the glass and expansive on the palate, this wine displays opulent, velvety black fruits enhanced by rose petals, humidor, dark chocolate and lavish oak elements. The downside is there isn't much of this remarkable wine left in the physical universe, so please do not hesitate to indulge, you won't regret it. Your ribeye will thank you.....
Top Value!
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart
WS 94

2015 Mönchhof Erdener Prälat Riesling Auslese Mosel
By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 8/25/2016 | Send Email
A legendary wine and one of the best Erdener Pralat I've ever tasted. Focused yet complex - this wine should evolve for several decades, but it will be difficult to keep your hands off it. Magical!!!
Price: $48.99 Add To Cart

2013 Tapiz "Alta Coleccion" Malbec Mendoza
By: Heather Vander Wall | Review Date: 8/25/2016 | Send Email
Looking for a fun new everyday bottle? Try this lovely little Tapiz Malbec! We recently tasted a bottle of this, and I was impressed with the nice balance and pretty fruit. Although slightly lighter than some Malbecs from the area, this wine shows lovely dark berry fruit and mild spice notes. Malbecs from this area are also extremely versatile for food pairing, and are a great go-to for weekday nights.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart
JS 95

2007 La Rioja Alta "Viña Ardanza" Reserva Rioja
By: Heather Vander Wall | Review Date: 8/25/2016 | Send Email
I am in love with the 2007 vintage of Vina Ardanza from la Rioja Alta! Upon release the bottle was a bit shy, showing plenty of structure and little fruit, but checking back in a few months later, I find the wine has opened up and become even more elegant and expressive than the well-loved 2005 vintage. 2007 as a rule was a little cooler, and therefore the wine shows a bit more high-toned acidity and structure, but this also lends a more subtle character to the wine. Although it is already showing some savory development, this wine certainly has the structure to age further. Drink some now and save some for a couple of years!

2014 Gessinger "Josefsberg Old Vines" Zeltinger Sonnenuhr Riesling Spätlese ** Mosel
By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 8/25/2016 | Send Email
This spectacular offering is the best of the best when it comes to balanced Spatlese. Showing stupendous acidity and tons of freshness with the first tiny hints of petrol peaking through. Powerful aromatic and mouth filling, the texture is perfectly balanced by the racy acid. Lovely price on this and the perfect pairing for SPICY foods.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
WE 92

2007 La Rioja Alta "Viña Ardanza" Reserva Rioja
By: Shaun Green | Review Date: 8/24/2016 | Send Email
If you're longing for Rioja like it used to be, look no further, here it is. Continuing a run of great Ardanza vintages, the 2007 will not disappoint.
Top Value!

2013 Tapiz "Alta Coleccion" Malbec Mendoza
By: Sal Rodriguez | Review Date: 8/24/2016 | Send Email
Looking for a bright, fruit forward, easy drinking Malbec, for not a lot of money? May I hand you a case of this? Party on with this easy to drink, lovely, red-fruited number that will surely charm your guests. Enjoy!
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart
JS 95

2004 Lopez de Heredia "Viña Tondonia" Reserva Rioja
By: Kirk Walker | Review Date: 8/24/2016 | Send Email
Always a favorite, just one sniff takes me to a happy place! It has a perfect blend of Fresh and dried cherry fruit balanced with spice, leather, earth and just a hint of funk. It keeps you coming back just to try to tease apart all of the aromatic layers. It is already seamless on the palate, with all of the complexity from the nose played out against a dusty fine tannins and juicy acidity. This is the friendliest Tondonia I have tried. It will be very hard not to drink it while it is young, but this wine has places it still needs to go. So go big, buy deep you will not regret it.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
RP 94 WS 90

2013 Hendry "Block 24" Napa Valley Primitivo
By: Kirk Walker | Review Date: 8/24/2016 | Send Email
For a Zin lover but not Zinfandel, no matter what legend or history you have read. This is dark fruited and spicy, just like Zin but different, and not just it is speaking with a heavy accent different. It plays different on the palate, just a subtle difference in the spice. It is delicious regardless. All that fruit and spice are balanced with enough tannin to make it a little more interesting at the dinner table.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2012 Hendry "Blocks 7 & 22" Napa Valley Zinfandel
By: Kirk Walker | Review Date: 8/24/2016 | Send Email
Spicy. Herbal and pepper spice with lots of facets to it. Rich and supple with a dark berry fruit and balanced with good acidity. This is not a simple Zinfandel, crush it at a BBQ or take your time with it, you'll be coming back for more.
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart
W&S 90 WE 90

2013 Amici Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
By: Kirk Walker | Review Date: 8/24/2016 | Send Email
This is real deal Cabernet. What I love about this wine is that you absolutely get that beautiful Napa Valley Cabernet fruit but there is so much more going on with with. There is a judicious amount of oak, it rounds out and adds subtle chocolate and spice notes. There is also a savory almost olive like note to it that plays incredibly off the fruit. Full and rich this is a very satisfying Cabernet.
Price: $43.99 Add To Cart
JS 93 WE 92

2012 Amici Spring Mountain District Cabernet Sauvignon
By: Kirk Walker | Review Date: 8/24/2016 | Send Email
While I have had very little experience with the Reserve line of wines from Amici, I have always enjoyed their Napa Cabernet. This is easily 3 times the wine. While it is not 3 times as massive it is more intense, more complex and has a way better finish, it should. Lots of dark red fruits with an aromtic twist. It is structured, I would ideally hold onto it for a while but it is not so big that a rich meal can put it into its place. This is a special occasion wine, it makes an impression and it stays with you.

2014 Leitz Rüdesheimer Roseneck (Katerloch) Riesling (Dry) Rheingau
By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 8/24/2016 | Send Email
Another triumph from Leitz, but this one is for the cellar. Stock a case away for at least 5 years and you will undoubtedly be the proud owner of some of the finest dry Riesling available at any price. Tons of richness balanced by powerful acid and an ultra long textured finish. Compares up to the finest being made anywhere in Germany.
Price: $40.99 Add To Cart

2015 Leitz Rüdesheimer Riesling Trocken Rheingau
By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 8/24/2016 | Send Email
An absolute dream for Trocken riesling lovers finding that perfect balance between aromatic intensity, textural richness, and powerful acidity. A nose of freshly crush meyer lemon - peel and all. Big notes of limestone and sea spray which all come together on the palate with great richness and focus. Beaming all the way through it never stops and delivers the goods with out seeming austere or hard edge like some other trockens. Leitz kills it all the time.
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart

2012 Vignobles des 2 Lunes "Périgée" Pinot Noir
By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 8/24/2016 | Send Email
I'm definitely impressed with these 2 Lunes wines, but the pinot out performed even my already lofted expectations. The nose is exactly what I want from Alsatian pinot without any semblance of under ripeness or veggie quality, yet expressive and powerful. Super gorgeous pointed cherry, flecks of earthy mineral and a subtle texture makes this one of the most drinkable and delicious Pinot Noirs on the shelf for those seeking balance and freshness.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart

2011 Vignobles des 2 Lunes "Comète" Cremant d'Alsace
By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 8/24/2016 | Send Email
This fabulous little wine took me utterly by surprise. We get stuck assuming that many Cremant are built as some sort of approximation of their more expensive counterparts in Champagne, but that's not at all the case here. I'm totally enamored because this is different and delicious. The nose is all creamy sherbet -Orange sherbet, tangerine peel, and soft clean nuttiness. The palate, the citrus turns up, but remains totally balanced. Creamy, but lifted. Total pleasure going down and something utterly unique.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart

2010 Domaine de la Jaufrette Côtes-du-Rhone
By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 8/24/2016 | Send Email
What a gorgeous little value this wine is. I'm a huge fan of the 2010s and this reminds me of why. Still kicking more than a half decade later, it's got great structure and lovely balance, without being light or overly fruited. A pretty serious little style, with some deep dark earthiness, but no barnyard whatsoever, it seems to really be in its prime now and deserves a nice decant, but could easily go for several more years in the cellar. Totally lovely affordable aged CDR? Yes please!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

1998 Royal Brackla 17 Year Old "Hepburn's Choice" Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 8/24/2016 | Send Email
What little Brackla we see on the secondary market is typically overpriced and under performing. This creamy little cask is NEITHER of those, instead it's ultra affordable with maximum drinkability. This is what I'd easily categorize as a summer whisky. Fresh and open, but not boring. Creamy fruit all the way but not just one note the whole way through. Tons of citrus and meaty fruit, great vanilla and malty grain. A real treat to cheat the heat!
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

1991 Glen Keith 24 Year Old "Hepburn's Choice" Single Sherry Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 8/24/2016 | Send Email
This is almost the perfect Speyside malt in my opinion, a true Speysider in style, meaning elegant, herbal, floral, and ultra balanced. 24 years old (nearly 25) - Refill sherry, so right out of the gate we're getting the wonderful juicy fruit on the nose. The palate is sweet floral honey and a wonderful rich mineral ton, with a slight fudginess on the finish. One tiny drop of water heightens the flavors gloriously and at this price is absolutely unacceptable to miss this one.
Price: $89.99 Add To Cart

2013 Spottswoode "Lyndenhurst" Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
By: Brian Allie | Review Date: 8/24/2016 | Send Email
Juicy and fresh, the Spottswoode Lyndenhurst Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon possesses a great bright balance. This is a wonderful bang for your buck from Spottswoode, since it is made with the same love and care as their first growth wine, with 73% fruit from their own estate. Bright and bold floral notes give way to chocolate dipped cherry and coffee flavors. Should age very nicely over the next few years. Enjoy!
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart
JS 96 VN 92

2013 Spottswoode "Estate" Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
By: Brian Allie | Review Date: 8/24/2016 | Send Email
Deep, dark purple in color, the 2013 Spottswoode Estate Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon is showing very well with a lovey internal core strength and great acidity. Aromas of vanilla and cocoa give way to flavors of dark blue fruits with cream and caramel with a lingering finish. Highly recommended!

1998 Royal Brackla 17 Year Old "Hepburn's Choice" Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
By: Andrew Stevens | Review Date: 8/23/2016 | Send Email
In the embarrassment of riches coming from Scotland to us, there are always a few bottles that just absolutely stand out for me. On this incredible wave of whisky the 17-year-old Royal Brackla is one of those bottles. This distillery is owned by Bacardi and most of it goes into Dewars, so it is super rare to see any of it by itself—but of course the geek factor of this only works if what is in the bottle is any good. It very much is good, in fact it is so good that one is almost forced to wonder why we are selling it at this price. The secret is that we can sell it as this price and so we choose to do that rather than be another place that overcharges due to high demand for whisky. On the nose there is almost a maple bar sweetness with notes of peat and orange peel. Elegant smoke balances the peat and salted notes and leads to a spice finish that is super smooth. This whisky is way to good to miss out on so I would recommend that you do not.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

2007 La Rioja Alta "Viña Ardanza" Reserva Rioja
By: Andrew Stevens | Review Date: 8/23/2016 | Send Email
Absolutely classic Rioja, this is the kind of wine I can get into over and over again. Dried red fruit and tart cherry are well balanced by the spice and lively acid that give this wine drive. Although the 2007 vintage was a little cooler and did not have the ripeness of 2005 this wine benefits by having a little more elegance and focus. As much as I enjoyed the 2005 vintage I find I am responding as well to the new offering from them.

2004 Lopez de Heredia "Viña Tondonia" Reserva Rioja
By: Scott Beckerley | Review Date: 8/23/2016 | Send Email
I have always been a Tondonia (and Bosconia) fan and this latest release only confirms why I love it so. The earthy, spicy, tobacco nose has everything I expect from this wine...mushrooms, savory spices and a hint of tanned leather. On the palate, it starts off with bright, red cherries and follows up with round tannins, which is a wonderful surprise. Quite supple for this wine! It still has a lingering finish and bright acidity. A simply wonderful bargain for under 40 dollars.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
RP 94 WS 90

2015 Pike Road Willamette Valley Pinot Gris
By: Heather Vander Wall | Review Date: 8/23/2016 | Send Email
One of my favorite little finds for everyday drinking out of Oregon! The Pike Road Pinot Gris is a new wine from Elk Cove winery, made using their neighbor's grapes. This wine is light, tangy, and full of citrus and verbena notes. Tending to the more savory side of Pinot Gris, this wine is excellent with lighter dishes, salads, and hard-to-pair veggie plates.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2014 Pike Road Willamette Valley Pinot Noir
By: Heather Vander Wall | Review Date: 8/23/2016 | Send Email
One of the best Pinot Noirs in stock under $20! Pike Road Pinot Noir is made by Elk Cove, and bears many similarities to their Willamette Valley bottling, though with a lighter, fresher style. Elegant red berry fruit bursts pleasantly on the palate, with clean, fresh acidity and fine-grained tannin lending structure to the whole. Eminently easy-drinking and versatile, this may well be your next go-to Pinot!
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

2014 Clos de la Bonnette "Roches d'Arbuel" Condrieu
By: Olivia Ragni | Review Date: 8/23/2016 | Send Email
I can't believe it, we have a Direct Import Condrieu! And what a Condrieu it is! Elegant and beautiful with aromas of white flowers, wet stones, and yellow Mirabelle plum. The palate wraps your mouth in flavors of rosemary, quince, nectarine and beeswax. This white has big texture and length for days. This bottle drinks at much more than its price point.
Price: $54.99 Add To Cart

2015 Robert Cantin "Les Grezes" Pinot Noir Vin de France
By: Mahon McGrath | Review Date: 8/23/2016 | Send Email
I strongly encourage you to avail yourselves of this shapely Pinot Noir while you can. It is that rarest creatures—a value priced Pinot Noir that escapes being some Candy-Land ditch or being so odd that it is unidentifiable as the varietal it purports to be. Proportionate, with bright acidity, this leans to dark fruit with a loamy edge flavor-wise, and this vintage boasts a nice floral lift, too. You won’t jump out of your socks to taste it, but then there are always other bottles to turn to achieve that effect. For an everyday wine, however, it really cleans up.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

2013 Sparkman "Holler" Columbia Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
By: Shaun Green | Review Date: 8/23/2016 | Send Email
Oh Yes, Bryan was definitely right on this one. Just delicious and at a fantastic price. Creamy and velvety with a great texture and lots of smoothly transitioning layers. Cocoa, black fruits, lovely anise notes and a fantastic creamy oak edge. It's certainly a big winner and something you don't want to wait on, once it's tasted you'll want more, but it won't last.
Top Value!
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart
WS 94

2013 Sparkman "Holler" Columbia Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
By: Dave Genevro | Review Date: 8/23/2016 | Send Email
This Washington State Cabernet is delicious and ready to go. The concentration of blackberry and raspberry fruit is balanced, with some lovely sweet berries and lively textures on the mid-palate, which did not collide with each other on the rich, long and smooth finish. Serious bottle for the money. Let this wine breathe for an hour and let it pour! A great beef/steak wine.
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart
WS 94

2010 La Velona Brunello di Montalcino Riserva
By: Andrew Stevens | Review Date: 8/23/2016 | Send Email
For those looking to taste what all the press and buzz about Brunello from 2010 is all about, or for those who have been drinking these amazing wines for a long time, here is a new bottle that is for you. Rich, ripe and ready to drink, the La Velona welcomes all, a full body and a soft yet long and lingering finish. One of the amazing things about this wine is how well it is drinking now. Particularly at this price point, this is the type of 2010 Brunello to get a case of so as to have one now, and age the rest, and see how much better it is going to get.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
JS 93 RP 91

2014 Clos de la Bonnette "Roches d'Arbuel" Condrieu
By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 8/23/2016 | Send Email
When I visited this property in the spring of this year, it was quite a sight (and site) to behold. Just seeing the vineyards and the thoughtful detail in the farming practices, I knew before tasting the wines that I wanted to work with them. But of course, taste I must and everything I saw in the vineyards was confirmed in the glass. This is not hedonism, this is purity and balance. A focused and pure Condrieu, it is redolent with ripe apples, white nectarine, jasmine, stargazer lilies and a touch of oolong tea. This is enticing on the nose, not overblown. The palate shows nice weight and mineral tones but never comes off as heavy. In the hands of a great producer and from a great site, this is what Condrieu and Viognier can and should be: dynamic and ethereal.
Price: $54.99 Add To Cart

Kalinda North Coast Pinot Noir
By: Jim Barr | Review Date: 8/23/2016 | Send Email
Produced mostly from Anderson Valley fruit with the balance being mostly Sonoma Coast, this highly aromatic Pinot has a lovely robe of medium-deep ruby in color, with the nose offering distinctive, pronounced aromas of dried rose petals, black cherry, and clove-like qualities, with very mild undertones of anise, slate-like minerality, and creamy toasty, smoky notes. On the palate, it is bright, fleshy, well-integrated, highly focused, and broad, particularly across the mid-range. A soft, round, silky, complex finish is long and warm. I think that I have found our everyday-drinking Gem and, as a result, Rusty has ordered me to bring home numerous cases of this lovely Pinot. The K&L Kalinda wines are consistently among the best values in our store. We work closely with top producers to bring you first-rate wine at reasonable prices. We can't reveal our sources, but we can say that this Gem is a steal!!! ***** 13.1% ABV *****
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2007 La Rioja Alta "Viña Ardanza" Reserva Rioja
By: Dulcinea Gonzalez | Review Date: 8/23/2016 | Send Email
Don't let this one fly below your radar. If you are looking for the tried and true taste of a classic Rioja, you will do well to pick up a few of these bottles. The nose is fueled with dried cherry and dusty herbal notes. On the palate is generous red, ripe fruit mixed with all the Riojan hallmarks of dried tobacco leaves and saddle leather. Just add a plate of Spanish cured meats and manchego and it's fiesta time!

2007 La Rioja Alta "Viña Ardanza" Reserva Rioja
By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 8/23/2016 | Send Email
The 2007 Viña Ardanza is showing very well right now. While not necessarily a departure from the house style (if you've liked it in the past, I suspect you will continue to with this vintage), I will say that it shows a bit more development than normal, perhaps with a more dark fruited and savory profile. It seems like the Rioja Alta Tempranillo is more dominant in the 07. Vintage characteristics aside, Viña Ardanza is one of the true bargains in the wine world, a wine which spends three years in barrel, another three in bottle, and is produced from fruit which hails from time tested vineyard sources (many owned by the winery). When it comes to Rioja, this is the one that, perhaps more than any other, I can depend upon to be delicious in California, satisfying in Spain, wonderful now or fantastic after aging. A must-have for me.

2007 Fleur Cardinale, St-Emilion
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 8/23/2016 | Send Email
This is full and rich for the vintage with raspberry, earth and oak aromas. There is a deep core of fleshy red and black fruit along with a touch of licorice and ripe tannin to accent the limestone-kissed finish. The body is surprisingly plump with plenty of sweetness to the oodles of blue and black fruit.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
RP 90 ST 90

Page: 1 2 3 next >>