Staff Favorites

If you’re going to have Robert Parker or Stephen Tanzer over for dinner, selecting a wine they’ve rated highly will be a nice choice. However, when you’re buying wines for yourself, we’d love to see you find wines that match up your unique palate and pocketbook. We have a large staff of friendly and knowledgeable wine professionals that taste hundreds of wines each week. They can put you in touch with bottles that you are likely to love, often at a much lower cost than the highly-rated gems that often see a run-up in price and frequent availability issues. Like any great group of opinionated professionals, our staff has varied tastes themselves. Often our customers will find a particular staff member with a style that corresponds to their own. That concept works extremely well in our retail stores, and this section is our effort to bring you the same online. Don’t get us wrong, we love the highly rated wines from the press and will continue to offer them, but we think you’re missing out if you’re not augmenting those selections with picks from our excellent staff. Here are their favorites. (Click on a name to see their other selections - or to drop them a line.) Cheers!

Reviews

  
Page: 1 2 3 next >>
2014 Domaine de Millet Colombard-Ugni Blanc Cotes de Gascogne Blanc
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 5/22/2015 | Send Email
This super summer sipper is an amazing value and very versatile for BBQ's, the patio, picnics casual get togethers and as an all around thirst quencher.This delicious and affordable blend of equal parts Colombard and Ugni Blanc is crisp, clean and tangy with a crushed fruit middle of citrus and peach.
Price: $8.99 Add To Waiting List

2009 Poggiarellino Brunello di Montalcino
By: Illya Haase | Review Date: 5/22/2015 | Send Email
Poggiarellino is one of the old rural tuscan tradition in wine making. Don't look for any new world style Brunello's here. This thirty acre farm is surrounded by beautiful oil trees. What grape wouldn't want to live here! The wine is bold, earthy, and full-bodied. Red and black fruit with a subtle grace on nose and palate. Finishing with well-developed tannins, mineral texture, tobacco and underbrush notes. What a bottle for $30 bucks!
Price: $29.99 Add To Waiting List

Wine Club

$24.99

2014 Cibonne "Tentations" Côtes de Provence Rosé
By: Illya Haase | Review Date: 5/22/2015 | Send Email
This Fantastic blend of Cinsault, Grenache and Tibouren is one of the best selling Rosé from Provence! As the price for lesser quality Rosé rise this one holds steady. With a delicate nose of spice, floral and stone fruit. Elegant and soft palate reminds you why we love Côtes de Provence Rosé Soooo much! A must with simple grilled fish, fresh fruit, cheeses. This is the one bottle to grab for any summertime affair.
Price: $17.99 Add To Waiting List

2014 Franck Millet Sancerre Rosé
By: Illya Haase | Review Date: 5/22/2015 | Send Email
I love Provence Rosé just like the next person BUT there are wonderful Rosé just as amazing! The Franck Millet Sancerre Rosé is that bottle. 100-percent Pinot Noir it blends two styles of Rosé wine making. ( pressed juice and saignee juice )Then the must is settled and low temperature fermentation begins. No malolactic fermentation. Light filtration and stainless steel tank ageing. All this brings out a crispness that you will find ONLY in Sancerre ( limestone-clay soil ). Being a direct import for K&L this is coming to you at a discounted price. This is the perfect summertime wine!
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Angeline California Pinot Noir
By: Illya Haase | Review Date: 5/22/2015 | Send Email
Year in and year out one of our best value Pinot Noir. If you don't believe me just ask any K&L customer. This Pinot comes from Sonoma County's Martin Ray Winery. Which also has a great value Cabernet flying out the doors. Martin Ray Winery does both quality and value which is hard to find these days. Great intensity in the Pinot Noir. A very complex and alluring aroma of dark cherry and holiday spice. Palate gives way to juicy raspberry and cherry flavors. Silky smooth tannins for a easy going finish. What ask can you ask for!!
Price: $11.99 Add To Waiting List

2014 Domaine des Côtes Blanches Sancerre Rosé
By: Olivia Ragni | Review Date: 5/22/2015 | Send Email
Juicy melon, bright cherry, blood orange and mouthwatering acidity. Perfect for that summer heat!
Price: $16.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 Haut-Monplaisir "Tradition" Cahors
By: Olivia Ragni | Review Date: 5/22/2015 | Send Email
Cahors, the home of the original malbec. Much different than the plush malbecs of Argentina, this French malbec is bit more earthy, mineral driven and balanced. Aromas of violets, slate, and the slightest hint of barnyard. The palate provides fresh blackberries, plums and graphite, with plenty of acidity and a fine integrated tannin. Try it with stews and red meat.
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 90

2014 Montmassot Picpoul de Pinet
By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 5/21/2015 | Send Email
It was a bit of a cold and rainy day when I visited the cooperative that produces the Montmassot. We cruised around and toured the vineyards for an hour before we did the thing that all Picpoul demands - drink it with oysters! We had oysters three different ways: raw with a mignonette; baked with sauteed fennel and cheese; and broiled with a gorgeous aioli. Wow!! I really began to understand beyond the brightness and freshness of the wine. This is a wine from a region famous for its oysters and the wine paired perfectly with every permutation of that food. Vibrant and clean with notes of pink grapefruit and green apples on the palate. The finish is full of salty sea air. I think you know what your're supposed to do next...
Price: $10.99 Add To Waiting List

Pierre Paillard Grand Cru Brut Champagne
By: Ivan Diaz | Review Date: 5/21/2015 | Send Email
Simultaneously delicate and well-structured, this Grand Cru Brut stands head and shoulders above a mountain of clumsy, overly sweet non-vintage Champagne. Balancing pears, lemon curd, gentle minerality and saline acidity, this certified organic bottling is the roundest, cleanest entry level Champagne to impress my palate in a while. A perfect pairing with equally delicate meals like sushi or ceviche. Enjoy!
Price: $48.99 Add To Waiting List
WS 92

2013 Sequillo (Eben Sadie) White Blend Swartland
By: Danielle Freschet | Review Date: 5/21/2015 | Send Email
This fascinating South African wine is definitely a must try! Made by one of the most acclaimed vintners, Eben Sadie, it is incredibly complex yet very approachable for any palate. It has an inviting nose of orange blossom and stone fruit with an amazing richness and structure. It tastes fantastic now but I would also love to see this age!
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Sequillo (Eben Sadie) White Blend Swartland
By: David Driscoll | Review Date: 5/21/2015 | Send Email
Sometimes hyperbole isn't enough to get your point across. "This is the BEST, ever, ever, ever, ever!" wouldn't really even do this wine justice. The quality of Eben Sadie's wines speaks for itself, but usually you'll have to pony up about $40-$60 a bottle to test out that quality for yourself. Somehow, someway, our wine buyer Ryan Woodhouse worked out a deal to bring in Sadie's Sequillo wines direct: for $19 freakin' 99!!! That's just unreal. The Sequillo white is like elegance in a bottle. It's soft and seamless, yet never lacking in acidity or minerality. I took a bottle of his T'Voetpad white (the single vineyard version of this wine) to my anniversary dinner with my wife this year. She fawned over that bottle like a school girl at a New Kids on the Block concert in 1989. Get a bottle of this wine. Get two cases. Get in while it's here. ASAP. You won't be sorry.
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 Sequillo (Eben Sadie) Red Blend Swartland
By: David Driscoll | Review Date: 5/21/2015 | Send Email
Sometimes hyperbole isn't enough to get your point across. "This is the BEST, ever, ever, ever, ever!" wouldn't really even do this wine justice. The quality of Eben Sadie's wines speaks for itself, but usually you'll have to pony up about $40-$60 a bottle to test out that quality for yourself. Somehow, someway, our wine buyer Ryan Woodhouse worked out a deal to bring in Sadie's Sequillo wines direct: for $19 freakin' 99!!! That's just unreal. The Sequillo red blend is soft, juicy, incredibly balanced, and elegant in its profile. It's a testament to quality winemaking and dedicated vineyard practices that manifests itself clearly in the bottle. You won't wonder one bit why Even Sadie is a superstar after tasting this bottle. You'll be wondering why you didn't buy another ten cases for your cellar.
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List

2014 Xavier Clua "El Sola d'en Pol" Rosado Terra Alta
By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 5/21/2015 | Send Email
This is another great bottling of Xavier Clua's rosado, a blend of Garnacha and Syrah. Given the beautiful, relatively paler pink color and fresh flavor profile, it would seem that the maceration is on the shorter side for this rosé, emphasizing juicy red fruit flavors and hints of watermelon. Though the fruit is tasty and up front, this wine finishes nicely dry and would give most any French rosé from similar grapes a real run for its money!
Price: $10.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 Terra Rosa Malbec Mendoza
By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 5/21/2015 | Send Email
If you are a fan of Patrick Campbell's legendary Laurel Glen wines, then you probably know that he sold the winery. What you may not know, however, is that Patrick continues to source terrific fruit in Mendoza to make some of the best Malbecs around! Terra Rosa has fruit from five vineyards in Lujan de Cuyo and the Uco Valley. This wine boasts expressive flavors of dark fruits with an honest, balanced tannin structure.
Price: $11.99 Add To Waiting List

2007 Vina Santurnia Reserva Rioja
By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 5/21/2015 | Send Email
Based in the Rioja Alta village of Briñas, on the north bank of the Río Ebro opposite Haro and Lopez de Heredia's Viña Tondonia, Viña Santurnia has quietly been producing reliably delicious, authentic, traditionally inspired Riojas. In the cooler, more "Atlantic" vintage of 2007, Viña Santurnia's wine shows crisp bright mixed berry fruit flavors, high toned but not lacking generosity, depth or the subtly sweet baking spice and earthy notes we love in Rioja. (Joe Manekin, K&L Spanish & Portuguese wine buyer)
Price: $17.99 Add To Waiting List

2010 Vale La Pena Malbec Uco Valley
By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 5/21/2015 | Send Email
If you are a fan of Patrick Campbell's legendary Laurel Glen wines, then you probably know that he sold his iconic winery. What you may not know, however, is that Patrick continues to source terrific fruit in Mendoza to make some of the best Malbecs around! For his Vale la Pena bottling, expressive dark berry fruits abound on the nose and palate. The wine manages to be generous while still showing great structure. Fruit comes from a formerly abandoned, low yielding vineyard in the Uco Valley.
Price: $24.99 Add To Waiting List

2014 Domaine Begude Chardonnay "Terroir 11300" IGP Haute Vallée de l'Aude
By: Olivia Ragni | Review Date: 5/20/2015 | Send Email
If you are interested in trying French Chardonnay, this is where you should start. The ‘terroir’ is bright, fresh and clean, showing no obvious oak influence. Aromas of white flowers, pears and chalky minerality lead to rich but not heavy palate of apples and lemon with lifting acidity and a dry finish.
Price: $11.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 Sequillo (Eben Sadie) Red Blend Swartland
By: Shaun Green | Review Date: 5/20/2015 | Send Email
If you could make a classic styled Chateauneuf du Pape in South Africa (OK, with a little modern nod), or more precisely if superstar winemaker Eben Sadie could make one, it would be this. Stunning intensely deep fruit, black spices, ground minerals and a perfumed, lifted nose of rose petals, black raspberries and sweet spices all mingle together in a very exotic and enticing wine. The balance and structure of this wine makes me wonder what it will do in 5-10 years, but I sincerely doubt anyone buying it will be able to keep their hands off it this long.
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List

2014 Domaine Lafage "Miraflors" Côtes du Roussillon Rosé
By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 5/20/2015 | Send Email
On a cold February day, I tasted a tank sample of this wine with Jean Marc Lafage at his magnificent new winery just outside of Perpignan in the south of France. Throughout the afternoon we tasted about 30 wines and I kept coming back to the rose. I was entranced by its light color and refreshing qualities. Frankly, I needed something to rejuvenate me after a week and a half of hardcore wine tasting. Now that the wine is in bottle and newly arrived in the States, I popped one to see where it was at. Racy red currants led off followed by flavors of Seascape strawberries, blood oranges and white peaches. The intensity and minerality erupt from the glass. The Miraflors is expressive, focused and balanced. Definitely a top rose wine this year!
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 90

2014 Ameztoi "Rubentis" Rosé Getariako Txakolina
By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 5/20/2015 | Send Email
While Rubentis will get a run for its money this year from the excellent Txmomin Etxaniz rosé, we must give credit where it is due. Ameztoi virtually created the rosé txakoli category, at least from our vantage point here in the US market. Showing a bit more of a green snap to the fruit this year, the Rubentis also has its usual display of tangy red berry fruits, fizz and bright acidity. This is a wine for charcuterie and cheeses, particularly the best jamón you can find and Pais Vasco's famous idiázabal cheese.
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Carballal "Sete Cepas" Albariño Rias Baixas
By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 5/20/2015 | Send Email
Carballal returns to our shelves after a brief absence, and this time we have the pleasure of enjoying the wine after a year in bottle. While freshly bottled Carballal shows a hint of fizz, ripe yellow fruits, sometimes just a hint of banana, this is a wine that gains volume, becomes drier and more balanced if allowed the time to do so. I like both versions, but must admit a preference for this more mature, rounder, less fruit forward and more elegant 7 cepas.
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List

2014 Ameztoi Getariako Txakolina
By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 5/20/2015 | Send Email
Ameztoi once again produces their trademark, fizzy, refreshing, pack leading Getariako Txakolina in 2014. Given the particularly cool conditions in 2014, this wine is suprisingly delicious and gulpable.
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Do Ferreiro Albariño Rias Baixas
By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 5/20/2015 | Send Email
2013 was a cooler, damper vintage, one that presented lots of difficulty on the Iberian peninsula, particularly up north. For Do Ferreiro, though, this may be their best Albariño since 2010. It is classically steely and racy, with a palate staining yellow skinned fruit and citric mid palate, leading to an appealingly subtle bitter lime and mineral laden finish. One for shellfish, of course, as well as a wine that can dress up for a nice meal, but also a great white wine to enjoy with snacks among friends.
Price: $24.99 Add To Waiting List

Mas Codina Cava Brut Reserva Penedès
By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 5/20/2015 | Send Email
Mas Codina is a humble family operation, and man do they make delicious sparkling wine! They have been slowly ramping up the amount of Pinot Noir in their otherwise traditional cava blend, in order to gain a bit more in color and mid-palate presence. These are very drinkable cavas, wines that strike a great balance between ripe, bright, snappy fruit, weight, and texture. For under $14, the detail and value of this wine is undeniable.
Price: $13.99 Add To Waiting List

2004 Vega Sicilia "Unico" Ribera del Duero
By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 5/20/2015 | Send Email
This is a great vintage of Vega Sicilia, really a classic. Though it has been called 'the Latour of Spain,' 'Spain's first collectible wine,' and many other superlatives, the fact remains that this is, historically and presently, Spain's greatest wine. While not inexpensive, it is rare in that it is one of the world's finest red wines, with a long track record, whose price has been relatively stable. Compared with the world's other greatest and most often collected wines, Vega Sicilia is one of the most consistent names out there.
Price: $349.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 98 RP 97

2012 Sequillo (Eben Sadie) Red Blend Swartland
By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 5/20/2015 | Send Email
Wow! This wine is off the charts good. It has pure, bright aromatics of deep, spicy crushed berries, ripe currants, red fleshy plum, granite, and toasted spices and dark red floral tones. The wine is rich and layered but precise and focused. The fruit shows macerated raspberries, logan fruit, dark cherry hints with subtle leather, charred meat and dusty mineral tones showing through the purity of fruit. There is an intense soil quality to this wine that is equally impressive as the quality and fruit and floral tones. A complex wine that I love for it's combination of power, purity and subtlety all combined into one slick package. An insane value thanks to our direct import.
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List

2014 Txomin Etaniz Rosé Getariako Txakolina
By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 5/20/2015 | Send Email
Pink, fizzy, bone dry, low in alcohol...sign me up! This rosé from outside of San Sebastián is, believe it or not, one of three we will be featuring this summer. If you prefer a zippy, very acid driven rosé, with just enough tangy red fruit to have you reaching for a re-fill, then this is a rosé to put in the rotation this summer.
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 Carmelo Patti Malbec Lujan de Cuyo
By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 5/20/2015 | Send Email
If you’re curious about how to make a delicious, textbook Malbec, with all of the bursting purple fruit, a minimal amount of oak and no overextraction to distract from the wine’s expression, here’s how it’s done. Start with terrific fruit (in this case from Pedriel in Lujan de Cuyo). Ferment with only native yeasts and age one year in concrete. Then age for another year in good quality, primarily used French oak barrels. Finally, another year of ageing in the bottle. It’s that simple, though when you taste the wine your thoughts will likely not be about winemaking, but wine drinking
Price: $29.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 91

2012 Ferrero Toscana Rosso
By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 5/20/2015 | Send Email
And now for something completely different! This is a Super Tuscan at a super price. This bad boy is made up of Cabernet Sauvignon, Merlot, Montepulciano and Alicante, and I swear you can taste all of these. On the palate you will find flavors of black cherry, plum and soft floral notes blended with silky tannins. The Cabernet gives this a backbone you can feel and a nice smooth and long finish.
Price: $15.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 Sequillo (Eben Sadie) Red Blend Swartland
By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 5/20/2015 | Send Email
This is a delicious red, full of very dark fruit flavors and a salty, mineral driven quality that seems to be amplified by the serious tannin structure. With some air, the wine freshens up, retaining its dark fruits and licorice notes while picking up red fruits and energy on the mid palate. A serious wine that easily stands toe to toe with some of the best of Chateauneuf du Pape - for less than half the price.
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List

2009 Bodegas Casa Juan Señor de Lesmos Crianza Rioja
By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 5/20/2015 | Send Email
We love this Rioja. As one of our favorite direct imports, it pulls off the mean feat of delivering great typicity for it's region, as well as presenting something unique, a different angle on a landscape of wines we thought we had known fairly well prior to finding these folks. Perhaps its the 15% Mazuelo, the particular organic sites in Laguardia and Villabuena de Alava (we are talking about vineyards in great equilibrium, with no need to even add any organic compost), or Angel's exacting winemaking. It all adds up to delicious wine that drinks beautifully now, as it will continue to for years to come.
Price: $12.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Sequillo (Eben Sadie) White Blend Swartland
By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 5/20/2015 | Send Email
Phenomenal white wine. The nose is dominated by ripe, roasted orchard fruit, poach pears, preserved apricot and yellow peach. On the palate the wine has a rich, round palate weight, a creamy dense texture that fills the mouth, this almost has the palate feel of a rich chardonnay but without the oak flavor influence. Beyond the fruit profile there is wonderful savory lees character with with toasted grains and pie crust nuances. Underpinning all of this is a dynamic minerality from the ancient decomposed granite soils of the region. A serious multidimensional wine that is rich and crowd pleasing but also detailed, nuanced and bursting with minerality.
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Pascual Toso Malbec Maipú
By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 5/20/2015 | Send Email
Pascual Toso is based in Maipú, an historic, sun-drenched winegrowing region just southeast of the city of Mendoza. Their Malbec is a standby of the section for its supple, juicy red and dark fruits - solid Malbec for a very solid price!
Price: $11.99 Add To Waiting List

2007 Contino "Viña del Olivo" Reserva Rioja
By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 5/20/2015 | Send Email
This is a modern Rioja in terms of fruit intensity and texture, yet even those who tend to favor the more old school Riojas can rally behind Viña del Olivo, a wine that is big and intensely flavored, oaky yet with so much obvious material that you cannot deny its greatness and ageability. Think of this as somewhere between a delicious southern Rhone wine and Rioja, with purple, blue and red fruit, sweet baking spices and minerality.

2009 Vega Sicilia "Valbuena" Ribera del Duero
By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 5/20/2015 | Send Email
Valbuena is not a second wine. It is in fact a vineyard selection from Vega Sicilia's property, one that features some of the best Tempranillo in all the world, farmed meticulously on their estate vineyards, first planned and planted in the latter half of the 19th century. Like Vega Secilia, this wine manages to blend powerful dark fruits with fresh acidity and surprising finesse. It is also able to be cellared for a long time; a few years ago we tasted the 1987 and it was fantastic.
Price: $139.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 94

2005 La Rioja Alta "Viña Ardanza" Reserva Rioja
By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 5/20/2015 | Send Email
Quintessential, old school Rioja. Bursting with dusty red fruits, worn leather, red earth, a touch of dry tobacco and cedar. The tannins have softened nicely, the acidity is doing most of the driving on the palate. Nice savory, secondary development but still has plenty of life and vibrancy left (as you would expect). If you're into Rioja, you have to get into one of these.

2013 Sequillo (Eben Sadie) White Blend Swartland
By: Shaun Green | Review Date: 5/20/2015 | Send Email
I keep thinking if Dagueneau had made a Chenin in South Africa it very well may have tasted like this. Eben Sadie has a stellar and growing reputation for spectacular wines and this is certainly proving his reputation deserved. This wine shows its Chenin Blanc so expressively and the remaining varietals seamlessly support the effort. Intense and pure fruit, a wonderful lanolin overlay and expressive minerality - wow - and at under $20 this is unbelievable. Don't wait, I can't believe these will be around for very long at all.
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List

West Cork 10 Year Old Single Malt Irish Whiskey 750ml
By: Olivia Ragni | Review Date: 5/20/2015 | Send Email
This is some serious whiskey for less than $40. The nose is full of complexity; malted barley, spice and some fruit showing through. The palate is rich and spicy with notes of roasted chestnuts, raw cane sugar, allspice and nutmeg. Not sure how they are selling this for only $37 but happy there are!
Price: $36.99 Add To Waiting List

West Cork Original Classic Blend Irish Whiskey 750ml
By: Olivia Ragni | Review Date: 5/20/2015 | Send Email
A fantastic, easy going Irish whiskey to have around the house for making cocktails but also soft enough to drink straight at the end of the evening! New favorite for under $30!
Price: $26.99 Add To Waiting List

Rey Fernando de Castilla "Antique" Palo Cortado Jerez (500ml)
By: Olivia Ragni | Review Date: 5/20/2015 | Send Email
The Rey Fernando de Castilla Palo Cortado is over 30 years of average age with both tremendous aromatics and flavors. Aromas of cocoa, roasted chestnuts, tiramisu, and nutmeg beam from the glass. The palate is bright at first, showing it’s years aged under flor with a beautifully tangy acidity, lemon rind and burnt orange peel. The palate turns to flavors of almonds, mocha and espresso on the finish. Potentially the finest example of Palo Cortado that exists. A must try bottle for Sherry lovers. Oh and properly stored, this bottle will keep well once opened for a couple of months.
Price: $59.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 93 WS 92

2005 La Rioja Alta "Viña Ardanza" Reserva Rioja
By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 5/20/2015 | Send Email
What is the bottle I most often recommend to those looking for a classic Rioja? The wine I am most likely to order at a restaurant upon touching down in Madrid, heading in the rental car and hitting the wine road? The wine that should you see older vintages is most likely to impress you with it's gorgeous aromatics and fruit? Yes, Viña Ardanza. Very tough to go wrong with this one! This is another strong vintage of Ardanza to follow their very good 2004 and classic 2001 bottlings. The 05 has more dark fruit than usual for this bottling, with a savory/sweet umami quality; cured meat and sweetened soy sauce also come to mind. While this is a fairly large production, and as critic Luis Gutierrez notes there is some variation, I think that the best bottles are transformative and the overall quality still makes this one of the best values in the store.

2013 Domaine Gerard Tremblay Chablis 1er Cru "Cote de Lechet"
By: Angie An | Review Date: 5/20/2015 | Send Email
This vineyard is considered of the best 1er Cru in Chablis, covering about 50ha on the west side of the Serein, just across from where all the Grand Cru vineyards are located. This producer itself is always a classic and what I look for in a bottle of Chablis. On the nose with tart lemon, yellow apple, very obvious chalky, oyster shell type minerality that's unmistakably Chablis (and what makes it so sexy in my opinion). On the palate it's razor sharp, with focused acidity, tons of mineral and an elegant yet long finish. This was the most racy out of all the 2013 Tremblay Chablis we tasted together. I'm definitely more biased toward this style and consider this the best of the lineup.
Price: $23.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 Cardwell Hill Willamette Valley Pinot Noir
By: Angie An | Review Date: 5/20/2015 | Send Email
A top value Williamette Valley Pinot Noir with chunky red fruit, crushed rose potpourri, and a rich mouthfeel. Overall easy drinking wine and makes you want to stick your nose back in over and over for the florals. Yum.
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List
WS 90

2012 La Massa "La Massa" Toscana
By: Angie An | Review Date: 5/20/2015 | Send Email
Undeniably a solid, well-structured wine. This mini Super Tuscan at $19.99 a bottle is a long-time favorite of ours and sells out quickly each year. A blend of 60% Sangiovese and 40% Cabernet offer aromas of violet, vivid dark fruit and a touch of leather followed by firm tannin. Grab yours today before it's too late!
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List
JS 93 RP 93

2013 Amelia Park Sauvignon Blanc-Semillon Margaret River Western Australia
By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 5/20/2015 | Send Email
Very fresh and racy. Crisp, juicy citrus fruits, lemongrass, nectarine and stoney minerals. The wine is lithe and energetic on the palate. On back it broadens a touch with the extra weight and density from the Semillon component but still finishes crisp and dry. Exceptional for the price point.
Top Value!
Price: $13.99 Add To Waiting List
JH 95

2012 Dalwhinnie "Moonambel" Chardonnay Pyrenees Victoria
By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 5/20/2015 | Send Email
Stunning chardonnay. Great combination of rich texture and flavor with ripe orchard and stone fruits, toasty oak and hazelnut nuances. But...underpinning it all is powerful granitic mainerality. The wine is broad and expressive and yet fresh and driven with good structural acidity. For a burgundian comparison I would go with Corton. Rich and powerful and yet taught and firm on the back palate with great ageing potential.
Top Value!
Price: $24.99 Add To Waiting List
JH 95

2014 Domaine Petroni Corse Rosé (Corsica)
By: Olivia Ragni | Review Date: 5/20/2015 | Send Email
Straight out of Corsica, this unique rosé is made from mainly indigenous varietals brought to us for an incredible price due to our DI relationship. This rosé personifies elegance. Aromas of rose petal, nectarine and cobblestone like minerality, lead to a rich, silky palate of stone fruits like peach and nectarine, beautiful white cherry and white flowers and a backbone of minerality.
Price: $13.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Bishop's Peak San Luis Obispo Pinot Noir
By: Jim Barr | Review Date: 5/20/2015 | Send Email
In our household, Pinot Noir is still king and I am always on the search to find a really exceptional one at a dirt cheap price that everyone can uniformly enjoy. The Bishop’s Peak [Talley’s second label] Central Coast production gets as close to that desire as possible. Produced from six different vineyards in San Luis Obispo, the bouquet is exact and true showing precise aromas of dried rose petals, strawberry, and raspberry, with a characteristic mineral note of slate and chalk. All of these components carry over nicely in the mouth to a rich, lush, fairly complex Pinot, that shows excellent structure and depth. The finish on this Gem is long and warm. Rusty has ordered me to bring home cases of this Gem so that it can be our house red wine for the next six-plus months. We have Pinots in our stores at two to three times this price that don’t drink quite as well. Don’t miss this Gem! ***** 14.1% ABV *****
Drink from 2015 to 2015
Price: $17.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 Domaine Lafage Carignan "Tessellae" Cotes Catalanes
By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 5/19/2015 | Send Email
This is awesome old vine Carignan that has flavors of brambly blackberry, roasted plum, hoisin and mission figs. There are notes of garrigue and spice on the palate as well. It is lush but not bombastic having good acidity to balance the wine. Perfect for barbecues, picnics or outdoor adventuring!
Price: $12.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 92

2012 Sesta di Sopra Rosso di Montalcino
By: Angie An | Review Date: 5/19/2015 | Send Email
One of the most serious Ross di Montalcino I've tasted. Touch of red clay with lots of earthy mineral characteristics on the nose. The wine is round and warm on the palate with long lasting finish. Bravo!
Price: $21.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 90

Page: 1 2 3 next >>