Staff Favorites

If you’re going to have Robert Parker or Stephen Tanzer over for dinner, selecting a wine they’ve rated highly will be a nice choice. However, when you’re buying wines for yourself, we’d love to see you find wines that match up your unique palate and pocketbook. We have a large staff of friendly and knowledgeable wine professionals that taste hundreds of wines each week. They can put you in touch with bottles that you are likely to love, often at a much lower cost than the highly-rated gems that often see a run-up in price and frequent availability issues. Like any great group of opinionated professionals, our staff has varied tastes themselves. Often our customers will find a particular staff member with a style that corresponds to their own. That concept works extremely well in our retail stores, and this section is our effort to bring you the same online. Don’t get us wrong, we love the highly rated wines from the press and will continue to offer them, but we think you’re missing out if you’re not augmenting those selections with picks from our excellent staff. Here are their favorites. (Click on a name to see their other selections - or to drop them a line.) Cheers!

Reviews

  
Page: 1 2 3 next >>
2015 Pike Road Willamette Valley Pinot Gris
By: Jeffrey Jones | Review Date: 2/20/2017 | Send Email
I really like everything that I have tasted from Pike Road. The Pinot Gris tastes like it cost more money. It is clean and crisp but has enough fruit to make it very easy to drink. This wine is a very pleasurable drink/ It will go well alone or with fish or chicken.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2013 Felsina Chianti Classico
By: Jeffrey Jones | Review Date: 2/20/2017 | Send Email
A delicious and wonderful Chianti. It has bright and juicy red fruit flavors and is medium bodied.It has a lot of fruit for a Chianti and will go well with paste and meat dishes.

2012 Ettore Germano "Prapo" Barolo
By: John Downing | Review Date: 2/20/2017 | Send Email
Sergio Germano's "Prapo" remains one of my favorite Barolos. "Prapo" is a vineyard directly below his house in Serralunga and the wine made from this property is always crafted in a traditional way with long masceration on the skins and aging in large oak barrels. His 2012 is fresh and elegant with fragrant aromas of red fruit, licorice, tar and spices while the palate is vibrant with fine chewy tannins and bright acidity. Although 2012 has yielded more elegant Barolos,(and this one is delicious now) don't hesitate to age this one for several years.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart
WE 94 VN 90

2015 Ermacora Pinot Bianco Colli Orientali del Friuli
By: John Downing | Review Date: 2/20/2017 | Send Email
Although I always love the Ermacora wines, the Pinot Bianco is nearly always my favorite of theirs every vintage. The 2015 is crisp and minerally with subtle hints of bergamot and nutmeg and plenty of stuffing on the palate. Simply impressive.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2015 Ermacora Friulano Colli Orientali del Friuli
By: John Downing | Review Date: 2/20/2017 | Send Email
This was a personal favorite during our visit to Ermacora in 2016. It opens with a complex aromatic array of anise spicing, white flowers and stone and an elegant palate with just the right touch of acidity and length. We can attest that it's terrific with vegetable and egg dishes and cured meats. A wonderful Friulano and a great introduction to Tocai for sure.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2015 Ermacora Ribolla Gialla Colli Orientali del Friuli
By: John Downing | Review Date: 2/20/2017 | Send Email
As much as we enjoy this wine every vintage, the 2015 is even bolder. It's medium-bodied with a wonderful texture, crisp acidity and soft citrus notes that make it perfect not only as an aperitif but also with light soups, white and cured meats. Break out the prosciutto!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2015 La Monacesca Verdicchio di Matelica
By: John Downing | Review Date: 2/20/2017 | Send Email
2015 was an exceptionally good vintage for white wine in Italy and we're reminded of this every time we taste this outstanding Verdicchio from our friends at La Monacesca. This richly endowed white combines scents of saline, dried honey, citrus and mineral with a creamy texture and mouthwatering acidity. Ideal with fish, poultry, lighter pastas and risotto.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2015 Villa Poggio Salvi "Caspagnolo" Chianti Colli Senesi
By: John Downing | Review Date: 2/20/2017 | Send Email
When we visited the Poggio Salvi Estate while in Montalcino last May, we happily tasted their 2014 and 2015 vintages of this Chianti from their Colli Senesi property. Both were outstanding and the 2015 was available to us so we jumped. This is one of the best value priced Chiantis you're likely to come across. It's far more complex than its nominal price might normally indicate and it's packed with rich Sangiovese fruit and ample acidity. It's substantial enough to stand up to hearty dishes and is sure to impress.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart
JS 91

1998 Malescasse, Haut Medoc
By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 2/20/2017 | Send Email
This wine must be one of our best bargain at the store right now. If not THE best one! Perfectly aged, and ready to be enjoyed, but far, far from being over its peak. The sweet fruit on the palate is the icing on the cake of a wine layered with exquisite classic aged Claret notes. Aromatic cedar, leather and smoke, olives and earth. Along with the faintest note of capsicum. This bottle would transform the most mundane of meals in a feast fit for a king. I really liked this one.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2010 Miguel Merino "Unnum" Rioja
By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 2/20/2017 | Send Email
Exotic, sanguine/raw meat notes along with the more typical raisin, plums and black cherry. The dusty minerality rounds it all up. This a a very good wine indeed, and I have been recommending it to very happy customers on the store.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2014 Olema Sonoma County Chardonnay
By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 2/20/2017 | Send Email
I gotta say I was impressed with this very flavorful Chardonnay. It has all the pretty notes I expect on a new-world wine, but none of the cloying, hyper-ripe fruit notes. Tropical? Yes. And it's all the better for it. Pineapple, peaches, and honeysuckle, and citrus, along with the cloves/cinnamon notes that make it just irresistible.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
JS 91

2015 The Fableist Paso Robles Cabernet Sauvignon
By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 2/20/2017 | Send Email
All round delicious wine with its notes of vanilla, red current, plums and some exotic wood spices. A Cabernet that is utterly pleasing, and would be as comfortable on the table, with a juicy steak or as a solo wine glass coming home from a hard day at work.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2014 Trail Marker Wine Co. "Saveria Vineyard" Santa Cruz Mountains Pinot Noir
By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 2/20/2017 | Send Email
Intriguing notes of smoke, and the umami flavors, along with the cherry, and spice notes that embrace the palate, make this wine an intriguing Pinot, that is unfiltered. The finish shows an almost "piquant" note that I found delicious. This wine would be great with full flavor spicy foods like a chicken curry.
Price: $36.99 Add To Cart
VN 92

2014 Big Table Farm Willamette Valley Chardonnay
By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 2/20/2017 | Send Email
Very exciting wine, with nice perfumey aromatics, along with brown sugar, tonic, blood orange on the palate. It also possess some beautiful peppercorn spice notes which takes this Pinot to another level. The apparent oak is never intrusive, and the soft tannins make it a very velvety finish.
Price: $45.99 Add To Cart
VN 90 WS 90

1987 Glenturret 28 Year Old "Old Particular" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
By: Andrew Stevens | Review Date: 2/20/2017 | Send Email
The pricing we are getting from Old Particular is almost bordering on the ridiculous at this point. I almost feel like I am in a time machine seeing 28 year old single malt for under $100. More importantly though is that it is very tasty. Soft and subtle on the nose with the fruit overlaying a touch of wood. The palate is light and delicate with notes of green apple, lemon bar, vanilla and spice. Surprisingly gentle finish, the heats starts slow and builds up but does not truly ever overpower. Delicious!
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart

2014 Ridge "Lytton Springs" Dry Creek Valley Zinfandel
By: Keith Palace | Review Date: 2/19/2017 | Send Email
This wine is starting to come into it's own since the last time I tasted it, about 6 months ago. The plumb and blackberry nose is still extremely intense, you will notice it before the glass is all the way up to your face. This is a big complex wine with lots of depth and a refined mouth feel. The Petite Syrah (18%) brings big tannins to the wine, but they are not over the top. The combination of big fruit, bold tannins and noticeable acid will allow this wine to age gracefully over the next 5-10 years. Drink one now but revisit it again in a few years.

2015 Domaine de Biéville (Louis Moreau) Chablis
By: Sharon Kelly | Review Date: 2/19/2017 | Send Email
The grapes for this wine were picked approximately 10 days after neighboring Chablis producers had begun their harvest—expect a rounder style with extra levels of ripeness and intensity. This is brimmingwith cheerful citrus, crisp green apple, peach pit and melon, and mouthwatering acidity lingers in the finish.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2014 Obsidian Ridge "Obsidian Ridge Vineyard" Red Hills Lake County Cabernet Sauvignon
By: Anthony Russo | Review Date: 2/19/2017 | Send Email
This great value cabernet from Lake County instantly makes it's presence know with a full, dark fruit bouquet, matching its deep ruby color. On the palate, black berry, cherry, and plum flavors are supported by inviting, ripe tannins and lively acidity that will leave you wanting another sip from the glass or bite of saucy pastas and juicy meats.
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart
RP 92

2014 Obsidian Ridge "Obsidian Ridge Vineyard" Red Hills Lake County Cabernet Sauvignon
By: Mari Keilman | Review Date: 2/18/2017 | Send Email
There are some wines you recommend because they fit a certain style and/or price point that a customer is looking for and there are some wines you recommend because you really like them. The Obsidian Ridge checks all of those boxes. This is my go to California Cab. I love the spice from the Hungarian oak. I love the full body richness that comes from the Lake County AVA. I look the concentration of fruit yet fresh acidity that comes from the 2600ft above sea level vines. I just love this wine.
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart
RP 92

2015 Domaine Gerard Tremblay Chablis Vieilles Vignes
By: Sharon Kelly | Review Date: 2/18/2017 | Send Email
“Sense of place” and “typicity” are words you’ll hear thrown around by wine professionals and enthusiasts alike to describe a varietal that possesses characteristics that are reflective of its origins, like this pure, steely, quintessential Chardonnay from Chablis, for example. Made from top quality, old vine fruit grown in highly regarded Kimmeridgian clay soils, this is chock-full of the distinctively classic notes of lime, lemon, crisp apple, pear and a hint of honey. The acid is bright and spirited, mineral notes and acidity are high on the palate and the finish is refreshingly mouth tingling. Fermented and aged in stainless steel, this is ready to drink. Try with oysters, Dover sole or seafood risotto.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2015 Frédéric Esmonin Hautes Côte de Nuits Rouge
By: Sharon Kelly | Review Date: 2/18/2017 | Send Email
It is a struggle to find Pinot Noir below $30 that delivers this much pleasure. This release from Frédéric Esmonin shows rich raspberry and cherry notes, and the acidity is soft but present, with a clean finish that will have you reaching for a second glass. This balanced, easy-drinking wine is wonderful over conversation with friends and a simple meal of roasted chicken and seasonal vegetables. At a recent dinner with friends, the bottle was empty before our meal was finished cooking so we had no choice but to open a second. Darn.
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Louis Moreau Chablis
By: Sharon Kelly | Review Date: 2/18/2017 | Send Email
Yet another fantastic wine from this benchmark producer who possesses some of the best vineyards in the region. Aged in stainless steel, this is a fresh, taut, classic Chablis with excellent acid structure and flinty stone and mineral characteristics and abundant green apple, lime and pear—a balanced and energetic expression of the Chardonnay grape from this region.
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart
WS 90

2013 Fuenteseca Huerta Singular "El Maguey" Blanco Tequila (750ml)
By: Andrew Stevens | Review Date: 2/18/2017 | Send Email
This is truly a spectacular tequila, one that helps me to realize how good tequila can be and lure me away from my sweet brown booze. I do not take home bottles of expensive tequila because I am really only interested in turning them into a paloma. However, I must admit I am looking forward to taking home a bottle of this blanco. The balance and purity of the agave are singularly impressive, Although I have not actually gotten to bite into blue agave as David has, I can well believe him when he says that this tequila is what that tastes like. As good as the nose and taste of this tequila is perhaps the finish is what truly sells me, long, beautiful, and elegant. A finish that seems to linger on the palate and in your mind.
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart

1988 Strathclyde 28 Year Old "Old Particular" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Grain Scotch Whisky (750ml)
By: Andrew Stevens | Review Date: 2/18/2017 | Send Email
I loved the the Port Dundas 26 single grain when we had it and at the time it was my favorite single grain I had tasted. Now I believe I will have to follow the example of my coworker Jeffrey and pronounce this my favorite single grain. The nose shows a fantastic complexity with the vanilla and spice notes being underpinned with a touch of lemon zest. Very soft and evolving palate that brings notes of fruit and creamy butterscotch lead to a long complex if subtle finish. The heat is definitely present here at the finish but a little water helps to calm it down and keeps helps highlight the length of the finish.
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart

2008 Launois "Spécial Club" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne (ships as 1.5L)
By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 2/18/2017 | Send Email
This is one of the most profoundly great young vintage Champagnes that I have ever had, and I just bought a case for my own cellar. The 2008 vintage is a historic one, and either the greatest or tied for the honor in this young century. The Champagne that Bernard Launois was able to make from his two oldest Mesnil plots in this great year promises to be equally historic. The only problem is that it tastes far to good now... And I know that it will do nothing but improve. I will put this case at the bottom of a tall corner stack in my cellar! This Champagne has not only the richness of a 2002, but also the laser minerality of the best 2004's. It has it all!
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

2014 de France Rouge, Pessac-Léognan
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 2/18/2017 | Send Email
Here is a great introduction to the very good wines of the 2014 vintage from the folks at Malartic-Lagraviere. This is rich and flashy with black cherry and ripe plum fruit and dark cocoa accents throughout. The finish is quite complex with earth, gravel and fine grip. Decant now or lay away for several years.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
JS 91

2014 Obsidian Ridge "Obsidian Ridge Vineyard" Red Hills Lake County Cabernet Sauvignon
By: Gary Norton | Review Date: 2/18/2017 | Send Email
I invite you to find a high elevation, single vineyard Cabernet from Napa that won't set you back less than one-hundred dollars. It simply doesn't exist. This wine is dense and structured, with notes of black fruit, blackcurrant, fennel seed and minerals. Many forget to consider the fact that Lake County is bordered by Mendocino, Napa and Sonoma Counties, three high profile designations that command a higher price point. To me, Lake County is synonymous for Value Town, and I plan to exploit the price to quality ratio for the benefit of my cellar until the masses finally catch up.
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart
RP 92

2010 Tronquoy de St-Anne, St-Estèphe
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 2/18/2017 | Send Email
Chateau Montrose is on a roll with this property and the 2010 version is even better than the outstanding 2009. This starts out dark and rich with blackberry, cassis and cocoa flavors that are rich but stay focused due to the fine tannic grip on the finish. The tight core of ripe Merlot is deeper and the aromatics somewhat less earthy than last vintage , but overall this is a more serious and complete bottling.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2001 Labegorce, Margaux
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 2/18/2017 | Send Email
This very traditional wine is silky, elegant, dry and oh so subtle. Dried cherries, soft smoky plums and cedar are burnished by notes of leather, sandalwood, tobacco and a long, satin textured finish. Old school Bordeaux but without the rusticity.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2014 Haut-Vigneau, Pessac-Léognan
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 2/18/2017 | Send Email
An overachieving property of Carbonnieux fame that scores big in the price/quality ratio year after year. This gravely wine has hints of spice, mineral and milk chocolate to go along with the crunchy dark currant fruit and sweet, rocky finish. Fairly deep and rich for the appellation but satisfying and super food-friendly.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2014 Obsidian Ridge "Obsidian Ridge Vineyard" Red Hills Lake County Cabernet Sauvignon
By: Keith Palace | Review Date: 2/18/2017 | Send Email
This is an extremely intriguing wine for a Lake County Cabernet. A fruit forward, dense, masculine wine with a bit more intensity due to three years of extremely thirsty vines. Lots of black fruit up front, with a different spice component on the mid palate from to the use of 100% Hungarian Oak barrels. The black obsidian that composes the hillside provides a underlining minerality to the dense layered texture of this wine. The big tannins will soften over time, if you can wait that long...Grab some before it is too late!
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart
RP 92

2014 Obsidian Ridge "Obsidian Ridge Vineyard" Red Hills Lake County Cabernet Sauvignon
By: Anthony Gittings | Review Date: 2/18/2017 | Send Email
This Cabernet is exactly what I expect from California. On the nose, there is loads of blackberries that is accompanied by subtle hits of coffee, and licorice. On the palate, rich velvety tannin is balanced with elegant dark berries, a touch of cinnamon, and juicy acid. This is one of my favorite Cabernet's for the price. Pick one up for now and second one for a couple years from now.
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart
RP 92

2014 Obsidian Ridge "Obsidian Ridge Vineyard" Red Hills Lake County Cabernet Sauvignon
By: Ryan Moses | Review Date: 2/17/2017 | Send Email
Easily one of the best values in refined, detailed, and delicious domestic cabs in the store. It has a profile that would sell for twice as much if it were labeled Napa and is one of the reference-point Lake County bottlings. Aromatically it is pure Cabernet all the way as black and blue fruits line the palate. It is the textural refinement that steals the show as it adds a signature and dimension to Obsidian Ridge that other wines in this range just don't have. Always a best-seller, the 2014 is another home run.
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart
RP 92

2014 Obsidian Ridge "Obsidian Ridge Vineyard" Red Hills Lake County Cabernet Sauvignon
By: Olivia Ragni | Review Date: 2/17/2017 | Send Email
I love how this Cabernet is so balanced and elegant yet still provides the weight that you want from Cali Cab!! The nose has aromas of cassis, spice box and coconut. On the palate flavors of blackberries with a core of graphite, bitter chocolate and coffee grounds. One of the best Cabs under $30.
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart
RP 92

2013 Fuenteseca Huerta Singular "El Maguey" Blanco Tequila (750ml)
By: Jeffrey Jones | Review Date: 2/17/2017 | Send Email
This Tequila offers easy drinking along with layers of complexity to keep it interesting.In the nose it is pure Agave with citrus and savory notes. In the mouth it is soft and supple with beautiful citrus flavors with an addition of fascinating savory accents. This is all put together in a complex package with a nice long finish.
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart

2011 Tenuta di Sesta Brunello di Montalcino
By: Lilia McIntosh | Review Date: 2/17/2017 | Send Email
One of my absolute favorite Brunellos! With intense, broad bouquet, elegant, rich in scents of mellow red fruits, spicy in notes of cedar and tobacco. On the palate it's dry, soft with velvet tannins, balanced, very intense, very persistent and elegant. Great for roasts and game meat.

2015 Field Recordings "Wonderwall" Edna Valley Pinot Noir
By: Lilia McIntosh | Review Date: 2/17/2017 | Send Email
What a delightful Pinot Noir! Full of black cherries, figs, cola and almond bark. Touch of smoke and black tea. Hint of white pepper, clove and cinnamon.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2014 Domaine Jean-Michel Giboulot Savigny-lès-Beaune 1er Cru "Serpentières"
By: Lilia McIntosh | Review Date: 2/17/2017 | Send Email
Classic, deep and elegant Savigny-Les- Beaune. It has firm structure, good acidity with savory earthiness and bright pomegranate, cranberry and red cherry notes. It's showing beautifully now and ready to drink, but it also has potential to age for many years.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2015 Silvano Follador Prosecco Brut Nature
By: Lilia McIntosh | Review Date: 2/17/2017 | Send Email
This is the wine in which the delicate varietal aromas of the grape Glera and the mineral notes from the soil are fully expressed. Delicate and fragrant, absolutely dry (zero dosage!) and light, perfect for aperitif.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
VN 92

2015 Blason Ribolla Gialla delle Venezie
By: Lilia McIntosh | Review Date: 2/17/2017 | Send Email
Easy to drink pretty wine full of deep minerality and green apple flavor with citrusy notes. Great for sipping on its own or pairing with salads and sushi! Fresh and crisp!
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart

1987 Glenturret 28 Year Old "Old Particular" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
By: Jeffrey Jones | Review Date: 2/17/2017 | Send Email
Another great older single malt from Old Particular. The Glenturret offers the delicate flavor profile of a mature single malt. I really liked the honey and wax aromas that were pretty and inviting. In the mouth the honey theme continues in a complex and subtle way that creates a delicious drink. Older single malts do not last long in inventory.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart

1988 Strathclyde 28 Year Old "Old Particular" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Grain Scotch Whisky (750ml)
By: Jeffrey Jones | Review Date: 2/17/2017 | Send Email
This is one of the best single grain whiskeys that I have tasted. The nose is very expressive with vanilla , savory and spice notes. In the mouth it is very complex with a lot flavor offerings. What I tasted was a mixture of vanilla , caramel and spice with an interesting and enhancing hint of savory flavors. This bottle will be a lot of fun for lovers of single grain whiskeys.
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart

2006 Belle Meade 10 Year Old "K&L Exclusive" Single Barrel #2573 Cask Strength Straight Bourbon Whiskey (750ml)
By: Jeffrey Jones | Review Date: 2/16/2017 | Send Email
In contrast to cask 2525 this is a more delicate and nuanced cask. It is soft and subtle with a hint of spice but is also round, sweet and complex.It is also an excellent selection that should give any bourbon lover pleasure. A great effort from Belle Meade.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

2006 Belle Meade 10 Year Old "K&L Exclusive" Single Barrel #2525 Cask Strength Straight Bourbon Whiskey (750ml)
By: Jeffrey Jones | Review Date: 2/16/2017 | Send Email
This bottling offers a lot of bourbon. It is big and lusty with full bodied mouth filling flavors. It is not shy but is sweet and rich with a long finish. It starts off with with pretty caramel and honey aromas that are complemented with subtle floral notes. An exciting single cask that should not last long in inventory.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

2009 Peyrabon, Haut-Médoc
By: Andrew Stevens | Review Date: 2/16/2017 | Send Email
I have continued to be impressed with the Peyrabon and to see the 2009 vintage still at $20 is spectacular. Great balance of dark berry fruit and tobacco spice with a soft tannin structure. Additionally, this is the type of wine that if you like Napa but bemoan the lack of good value or you need great everyday easy drinking Bordeaux this wine works perfectly. I don't believe this round will last longer than the last round so it is worth stocking up on.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2006 Belle Meade 10 Year Old "K&L Exclusive" Single Barrel #2525 Cask Strength Straight Bourbon Whiskey (750ml)
By: Andrew Stevens | Review Date: 2/16/2017 | Send Email
Lovely sweet nose that brings you caramel, toffee and ripe stone fruit. This barrel is softer than its sister and carries more butterscotch and canned fruit without getting into a pepper or salty profile. Less spicy and more creamy this bottle nevertheless still gives off plenty of character with some tea and tobacco notes to balance the richness.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

2006 Belle Meade 10 Year Old "K&L Exclusive" Single Barrel #2573 Cask Strength Straight Bourbon Whiskey (750ml)
By: Andrew Stevens | Review Date: 2/16/2017 | Send Email
Intense and aromatic nose with layers of wood, hints of spice, almost a savory note alongside the vanilla. The palate is both rich and somewhat creamy with wood baking spice and fruit starting on a low burn and building towards the finish. Long spicy ending that never seems to want to stop and leaves you ready for another taste. This is a bold whisky that is not out of balance and brings a lot to the table.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

2014 Farnetella Lucilla Toscano Rosso
By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 2/16/2017 | Send Email
This is one of my favorite producers from Tuscany. This is their "Super Tuscan" - a very user friendly wine, the blend is 70% Sangiovese, 15% Cabernet Sauvignon, 15% Merlot. Lots of dark skinned fruit with spice, minerals that complete each other on the nose and palate. The wine has pleasantly soft tannins, but good acidity to pull it all together. Buy two, the first one will disappear quickly.
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart
JS 93

2013 Trellis (Amelia Park) Cabernet Sauvignon-Merlot Margaret River
By: Jeff Garneau | Review Date: 2/15/2017 | Send Email
If I had tasted the 2013 Trellis (Amelia Park) Cabernet Sauvignon-Merlot Margaret River blind, I would have assumed it was a much more expensive wine. However, since I was aware of the true retail price, my actual response at first sip was a calm, restrained, very professional “Holy &%$@!” I don’t know what to say about this wine that won’t be dismissed as mere hyperbole, but I can tell you honestly that it may very well be one of the top $10 reds we currently have available. This is classic Margaret River Cab (actually a blend of 85% Cabernet Sauvignon and 15% Merlot) for a mere song. The nose is lightly floral with a hint of mint. On the palate, notes of cherry and raspberry, generous red fruits, sweet and ripe. The wine is rich in texture but with near perfect balance. Bright and lively with ultra-fine tannins. An absolute delight to drink and an unbeatable value.
Top Value!
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart

2016 Kalinda North Coast Reserve Sauvignon Blanc
By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 2/15/2017 | Send Email
I give this a perfect score and it is the best Sauvignon Blanc we have made so far. And that goes back to the first one 1984 from Boeger (still holding great color). This wine was made by a very famous winemaker from a very famous winery in the Napa Valley. Hint- Mr Parker scored this winemaker as "winemaker of the year" a few years ago. And that is winemaker of the year for the whole world as we know it. Perfumey, floral aromas mixed with citrus nuances. Rich and lively on the palate-great zest and verve. Some spice, some lime and a very toasty character. Summer is approaching but this will do well served with a chicken dish.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

Page: 1 2 3 next >>