Staff Favorites

If you’re going to have Robert Parker or Stephen Tanzer over for dinner, selecting a wine they’ve rated highly will be a nice choice. However, when you’re buying wines for yourself, we’d love to see you find wines that match up your unique palate and pocketbook. We have a large staff of friendly and knowledgeable wine professionals that taste hundreds of wines each week. They can put you in touch with bottles that you are likely to love, often at a much lower cost than the highly-rated gems that often see a run-up in price and frequent availability issues. Like any great group of opinionated professionals, our staff has varied tastes themselves. Often our customers will find a particular staff member with a style that corresponds to their own. That concept works extremely well in our retail stores, and this section is our effort to bring you the same online. Don’t get us wrong, we love the highly rated wines from the press and will continue to offer them, but we think you’re missing out if you’re not augmenting those selections with picks from our excellent staff. Here are their favorites. (Click on a name to see their other selections - or to drop them a line.) Cheers!

Reviews

  
Page: 1 2 3 next >>
2013 Erik Banti Morellino di Scansano
By: Angie An | Review Date: 5/26/2015 | Send Email
This is a crowd-pleaser and best bang-for-your-buck all day, everyday! Morellino is another word for "brown" or "browning" which is used to describe how Sangiovese grapes look in the region. This tasty bottle has all the classic characters with red cherry, a super easy drinking mouthfeel and nice acidity to pair with your pizza or pasta on a weeknight. This wine always sells out FAST!! (Partially because all of us staff buy it by the case) so grab yours today and give it a try!
Top Value!
Price: $11.99 Add To Waiting List

Nikka Taketsuru Pure Malt Japanese Whisky 750ml
By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 5/26/2015 | Send Email
I was pretty bummed to hear that the U.S. market would not be getting the 12 year Taketsuru any longer and skeptical that a no age statement replacement would be acceptable. I was wildly mistaken. While the 12 year seemed safe and predictable, there's something wild and untamed about the NAS. While it doesn't have an age, the supplier says it's around 10ish -- I do think it's got more depth and complexity than the whisky it replaces. Hopefully they'll be able to keep this in good supply 'cause this is solid drinking for a good price.
Price: $59.99 Add To Waiting List

Nikka Coffey Still Japanese Grain Whisky 750ml
By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 5/26/2015 | Send Email
Nobody expected this goofy little whisky to explode the way it has. It's odd, but so inviting and unpretentious. Sure it's column distilled, but that doesn't mean it's any less flavorful than it's malted potstilled brothers. Just different. Candied melon, sweet oak, fresh sawdust, and peanuts. Medium bodied, with a pointed finish that really turns up the oak. Not only is this awesome Japanese (distinctly Japanese) Whisky, but it's also available and relatively affordable. Can't say that about many products out there right now. Get it, drink it, love it, repeat.
Price: $62.99 Add To Waiting List

Lagavulin 16-year-old Islay Single Malt Whisky 750ml
By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 5/26/2015 | Send Email
Lagavulin is a pillar. Without a doubt one of the most important distilleries in Scotland, it is the darling of Diageo and continues to crank out ultra high quality smoky malt year after year. Even though cranky critics like to lament how Lag 16 year doesn't taste like it used to, I've had it along side bottlings from the last 3 decades and I have to say, while the style is slightly different (OBE might be in play here), it without a doubt continues to be one of the most special whiskies on the market. Quality, flavor, and depth are unsurpassed at this price point (and our price point continues to be pretty seriously low all things considered). The Lagavulin is an oily best, rich and peaty, but with a balance that makes you itching to get the glass back up to your lips.

Macallan 12 year old Single Malt Whisky 750ml
By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 5/26/2015 | Send Email
Often dubbed the "Royals Royce of Single Malt," the Macallan distillery continues to have one of the best reputations in the business. Of course with Scotch, a good reputation always equals a higher price! However, over the last several years as Macallan's competitors have chipped away at this behemoth of a brand, the lowly 12 year old hasn't really increased much in price. That means we're getting 100% sherry 12 year old whisky for Speyside's best regarded distillery for only $50. Is Macallan a value brand again? We see people selling young sherried malts of lesser quality for much much more than this. And it's taste good too.
Price: $49.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 90 - 95

Tears of Llorona Extra Anejo Tequila 1L
By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 5/26/2015 | Send Email
German Gonzalez has become one of the most respected and important Distillers in Mexico. His work at Chinaco and his other projects have solidified him as one of the categories very best. He's partnered with our dear friend Enrique Fuenteseca to create the masterful product unlike anything else on the market. If German could improve his reputation anymore this was the product to do it. Originally created to be his private drinking stock, ultra limited amounts of the wild elixir are now available. The begin with agave at peak ripeness, hand selected by the master himself. After roasting in stone ovens and maceration, the aguamiel is fermented using German's proprietary yeast. This ultra slow fermentation allows for the deeps possible flavor. Double distillation on copper pot stills before being put into American oak barrels for at least 3 years. The exact aging regiment isn't totally clear, but we do know that after the initial aging it is transferred for at least another years in the following types of wood, French ex-Cognac, ex-Scotch, ex-Sherry. The final blend is a selection of those and maybe other types of wood all around 5 years. A stupendous example of what a skilled artisan when cost is no object. Really it's a pretty good deal for how incredible it is.
Price: $229.99 Add To Waiting List

Angel's Envy 86 Proof Bourbon 750ml
By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 5/26/2015 | Send Email
So what happens when one of Kentucky's most respected distillers source ultra high quality bourbon and finishes it in sweet Port wine casks, the bourbocalypse? Perhaps. But what's really going on here is one of the most successful examples of the potential of wine finishing in modern whiskey. Be it the Henderson's deft palate or their monumental experience - the Angel's Envy is unquestionably a sensation. Easy enough for you mom to love it, yet NOT boring in the slightest. The flavor profile is never dominated by the port, so it still tastes like bourbon, put the sweet rich flavors are there to enhance and envelop the already wonderful profile of the bourbon. The late Lincoln Henderson was clearly a genius and we know his legacy will be well looked after by the brands current custodians.
Price: $43.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 98 WA 93

2012 Fattoria Petrolo Torrione Toscana
By: Angie An | Review Date: 5/26/2015 | Send Email
The Petrolo Torrione is mostly Sangiovese with a bit of Merlot blended in. Located just north of Cortona this talented producer makes a broad and firm wine with warm red fruit notes and solid texture.

Four Roses K&L Exclusive OESF (10 year 9 month Barrel #48-2Q) Single Barrel Cask Strength Bourbon 750ml
By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 5/26/2015 | Send Email
Big and bold is the best way to categorize this guy. Lower rye content doesn't stop this guy from being a peppery spice monster. Aromatics move between the spice and the exotic vanilla bean stuff. The palate is slightly more tame, with the oaky vanilla taking over before the spiciness kicks up again on the back end. Stupid good.
Price: $66.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 Isole e Olena Chianti Classico
By: Angie An | Review Date: 5/26/2015 | Send Email
This winery is located close to the western border of the Chianti Classico DOCG, half way between Florence and Sienna. This is 100% Sangiovese that is super expressive and floral right out of the glass with and elegant touch, warm baking spices notes and good acidity on the back end. This is what I consider a classic example of what Chianti Classico should taste like!

Four Roses K&L Exclusive OBSO (11 year & 2 month) Single Barrel Cask Strength Bourbon 750ml
By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 5/26/2015 | Send Email
Bold and full bodied. The OBSO recipe (O,stands for 4Rs - B, the high rye mashbill - S, for Straight Bourbon - O for the fruity spicy yeast) is one of the most variable and interesting they have. IN this case the higher rye content of the mashbill provides a lovely spicy balance for the luscious red fruit flavors on the nose. This leans toward the almost caramelized sugar flavors. On the palate we have more tension. Spice, pepper, dark red fruits, maybe a bit of cocoa. Wonderful stuff to say the least.
Price: $66.99 Add To Waiting List

Dudognon Heritage 40 year Cognac 750ml
By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 5/26/2015 | Send Email
For all the stuff I say about Dudognon being the highest quality cognac house, it's not until you taste the big boy Heritage that you truly begin to understand why they're so special. At 40 years, we're beginning to see the real full potential of these stupendous EDVs. Ultra decadent while never cloying, the Heritage has everything that the big house brands strive for in their ultra-premium offerings at 10 times the price. Only this one is made without a single additive. They've achieved such incredible depth and balance it's almost hard to believe this isn't much more expensive. Yet here we are.
Price: $249.99 Add To Waiting List

Dudognon Vielle Reserve 20 year Cognac 750ml
By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 5/26/2015 | Send Email
Somethings in the world our are subjective. Other things are not. For instance, I can unequivocally that Dudognon is the most open, transparent, and honest producer in Cognac. They have some of the best terroir and use only the highest quality wood (100% of their cognac sees at least 1 year in new oak). They are the only producer who I can honestly tell you have not utilized additives in their cognac in any way. All of these things come together to make me say highly subjective things like, "Dudognon is the best producer in Cognac!" One might quibble with the details, but what is clear is that Dudognon makes their brandy like no one else in the region. Absolutely the purest expression of terroir with nothing in the way. The real complexity starts to show when their brandies at the Vieille Reserve level (20 years). Always drier than most people are used to with cognac, Dudognon's house style is this wonderful tension between freshness and age. Always keeping you guessing, this is the superlative product for the price point, a base from which I believe all others should be judged.
Price: $89.99 Add To Waiting List

2009 La Velona Brunello di Montalcino
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 5/26/2015 | Send Email
This is soft, warm, caressing and just delicious to drink over the next several years. Oodles of lush, baked cherry fruit, earth, and herb meld into a long mineral laced finish. The tannins are ripe and enveloped in the plush texture of this food friendly wine.

2012 Carpe Diem Anderson Valley Pinot Noir
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 5/26/2015 | Send Email
2012 was a spectacular Pinot Noir vintage all up and down California and Anderson Valley was no exception. This has a wild, brambly side rarely seen in this appellation yet retains all the cool balance and equilibrium you expect from this outstanding Northern region. There is freshness as well as depth to the layers of earthy dark cherry and berry fruit that linger on the gripping finish.
Price: $29.99 Add To Waiting List

Wine Club

$24.99
WS 90

2012 Sequillo (Eben Sadie) Red Blend Swartland
By: Jim Chanteloup | Review Date: 5/26/2015 | Send Email
We have been waiting for the Sequillo wines to arrive for some time now, and that day has finally come. As I said before Eben Sadie is making some of the most exciting wines coming out of South Africa. He makes pure wines to deliver character and a sense of place. I visited him a few years ago and tasted the brilliant Old Vine Series that he does before they launched here in the States and got a chance to get to know him beyond his wines. While his accolades are well deserved, he is one of the most unpretentious winemakers I've met and focuses on what brings him joy. A loose quote from him one day was "I need to surf, to drink, spearfish and to dream. All these things need to happen for me to make wine." While South African for sure, if I had to draw a comparison (he probably would hate this), this wine reminds of a traditional style Southern Rhone. The bouquet offers up spicy raspberry,plum, clove, leather, cumin and some meaty notes. On the palate there are integrated fine tannins with good acidity, texture and balance with a long complex finsih. Serious stuff.
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 Olema Sonoma County Cabernet Sauvignon
By: Andrew Whiteley | Review Date: 5/26/2015 | Send Email
The Olema cabernet, second label from our friends at Amici Cellars, is a terrific wine from the 2012 vintage. Bright fruit and an easy going and approachable tannic structure make for great drinking on its own, or for a beautiful pairing with any protein rich food (especially the delicious steak kabobs I just tried it with!). The excellent use of a small amount of new french oak gives this wine lots of weight and character, but doesn’t overpower the high quality of the ripe fruit. For only $20 bucks, it's hard to go wrong here.
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 Rocca di Montegrossi Chianti Classico
By: Andrew Whiteley | Review Date: 5/26/2015 | Send Email
A beautiful wine. Not quite traditional, as it has more breadth than most Chianti, this wine doesn’t quite fit into a fully modern style either. There is still tons of great acidity and focus, but it is much softer and broader on the palate than a traditional Chianti Classico. Bright fruit and cola notes in combination with this rounder texture make for a crisp and refreshing red, perfect for pairing with any pizza or pasta dish.
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List

2014 Montmassot Picpoul de Pinet
By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 5/26/2015 | Send Email
It was a bit of a cold and rainy day when I visited the cooperative that produces the Montmassot. We cruised around and toured the vineyards for an hour before we did the thing that all Picpoul demands - drink it with oysters! We had oysters three different ways: raw with a mignonette; baked with sauteed fennel and cheese; and broiled with a gorgeous aioli. Wow!! I really began to understand beyond the brightness and freshness of the wine. This is a wine from a region famous for its oysters and the wine paired perfectly with every permutation of that food. Vibrant and clean with notes of pink grapefruit and green apples on the palate. The finish is full of salty sea air. I think you know what you're supposed to do next...
Price: $10.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 Haut-Monplaisir "Tradition" Cahors
By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 5/26/2015 | Send Email
I first had the Haut Monplaisir "Tradition" on a cold winter's day in February in the Hollywood Hills part of Los Angeles. Okay maybe it wasn't that cold, we're talking about LA here. We did have it with cassoulet though which is truly a classic pairing. The wine showed ripe black and blue fruit with polished tannins. It was expressive and inviting, especially for a Cahors which for years were more rustic wines that could be a little rough around the edges. It was delicious. Flash forward a few months, having retasted the wine, I found it to have much of the lovely malbec fruit qualities but it was beginning to show more of its terroir. The black and blue fruit was there but notes of graphite and fresh crushed herbs emerged. Fans of Malbec from Argentina may be swayed to try the wine because of the fruit but they'll stay for the layers of complexity from this most classic of malbec producing regions.
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 90

2013 Sequillo (Eben Sadie) White Blend Swartland
By: Jim Chanteloup | Review Date: 5/26/2015 | Send Email
At last the Sequillo wines have arrived! Eben Sadie is making some og the most exciting wines coming out of South Africa...period. This unique blend dominated by Chenin Blanc has aromas of honey, apricot, peach,stoney minerality and a nutty note. On the palate, the wine is rich with a round creamy texture that all the while is supported by good acidity that leads to a long persistent finish. This is a wine of purity and character the belies the price.
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 Haut-Monplaisir "Tradition" Cahors
By: Daniel Maas | Review Date: 5/26/2015 | Send Email
Yeah, that's right people. Malbec isn't just from Argentina. In fact, it actually traces its roots back to France, as one of the traditional blending grapes of Bordeaux. Here, in Cahors, the wine is a classic representation of the region. Medium plus in body, the wine has firm tannins intermixed with plum, subtle hints of roasted meat (which make it an excellent pairing), and tart spice. Lovely.
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 90

Glenfarclas 25 year old, Distillery Bottling 750ml
By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 5/26/2015 | Send Email
It's still astonishing that this whisky is on the shelf for $150. Just absolutely flabbergasted by the continued price/quality ratio here, even while their competitors are raising prices every quarter. Glenfarclas is of course one of my favorite distilleries, not only because it's producing some of the most consistent and delicious malt in Scotland, but also because of the magnanimous family that's owner is for centuries - The Grants. The 25 year is the Grant's flagship product, often compared to their neighbors the Macallan, but truly in a class of it's own. While 'Farclas has a great amount of Sherry butts in this blend, unlike the Macallan, their not married to only using that type of cask. The result is something that is big and bold enough for a Mac drinker to appreciate, but with a subtle complexity that the most discerning palates could spend hours analyzing. And then there's is the price. Not even Scotland' WORST distilleries sell their 25 year old for anywhere close to this bad boy. This is unequivocally the best value in mature Scotch...maybe ever.
Price: $149.99 Add To Waiting List

Whistle Pig "Boss Hog" 13 Year Old Straight Rye Whiskey 750ml (2 bottle limit - ships as 1.5L)
By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 5/26/2015 | Send Email
The ultra limited new single barrel from the Whistle Pig Farm's in Vermont. This is top quality Canadian Straight Rye bottled right from the cask at full strength. Massively powerful and intense, the Boss Hog will literally rule your palate for hours after tasting it. Rye is still hard to find and older rye is all but extinct, so this really is a special thing to find. Despite the impressive textural quality and over the top flavor profile, Boss Hog retains a sense of smoothness, a roundness that's most likely thanks to the wonderful Canadian rye and high quality distillation.
Price: $174.99 Add To Waiting List
Limit of 2 per customer

2012 Domaine Lafage Carignan "Tessellae" Cotes Catalanes
By: Daniel Maas | Review Date: 5/26/2015 | Send Email
Too often does Carignan go unnoticed as a single varietal wine, and here we have a great example of how good it can be on its own. It is full bodied, and chock-full of blackberry, licorice, and spicy pepper, though it is elegant. A fruit-bomb that actually has old-world complexity and finesse! Simply lovely.
Price: $12.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 92

Benromach 10 Year Single Malt Whisky 750ml
By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 5/26/2015 | Send Email
This is the stupendous new presentation of the well regarded distillery owned by Gordon & Macphail. G&M have established BenRomach as one of the most consistent and high quality Speyside malts on the market today since they purchased the distiller in 1992. Recent package changes have pushed the price up, but we're in the business of keeping our prices low, so this final batch of 100 bottles will be the last at this ridiculously low price. Expect an increase of as much as $15 when this stock is gone.
Price: $49.99 Add To Waiting List

Tosba Espadin Mezcal 750ml
By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 5/26/2015 | Send Email
A massively delicious and highly affordable mezcal from some of our favorite guys in the industry. This is true grower producer Mezcal. Mezcal has become somewhat like wine or cognac over the last decade, with importers and brand owners buying bulk product from farmers and distillers throughout the region. But very few true Mezcaleros have been able to connect and market their own product in the US. This is one of the few and one of our favorites. What makes Tosba unique, is that it's basically been built from the ground up by two cousins, who had never distilled a drop of Mezcal before they agreed to start farming in their home town of San Cristobal. Their inexperience in production was more than made up for by a drive to bring the finest Mezcal to directly from a producer to this growing market. They learned to distill over the last decade by trial and error and through studying the techniques of their favorite distillers. The result is something all together unique. On the nose we're off the standard carbonized, charcoal smoke we often get on less expensive mezcal and well into the wonderul agave fruit and spice. The palate is absolutely balanced and more generous than most. Tons of minerally, white pepper, cinnamon, and nutty spice - it's all about the mouthfeel here, which is viscous without feeling sweet or overpowering. A spirit of great balance rather than overbearing power.
Price: $44.99 Add To Waiting List

2011 Seghesio "Old Vine" Sonoma County Zinfandel
By: John Majeski | Review Date: 5/26/2015 | Send Email
Whenever I open an old vine Zinfandel, I expect to be taken in, and frankly seduced, by a ravishing bouquet of robust dark fruit, savory spice, bold briary character, supple tannins and a mouth filling, juicy finish. This sinuous, provocative Zin did not disappoint, in fact, it was perfectly attired for the occasion. Bring it to your next outdoor barbecue and watch it charm the crowd.
Price: $34.99 Add To Waiting List

Wine Club

$24.99
WS 92

2013 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough
By: John Majeski | Review Date: 5/26/2015 | Send Email
To quote an old Bond film— sorry, I forget exactly which one, but when it comes to pitch-perfect, terroir-driven Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc, ‘nobody does it better’ than Te Whare Ra’s incredibly textural, infinitely captivating version, and 2013 has apparently spun more superlatives from the finicky wine world than any vintage in recent memory. Showering further praise might seem like overkill, but I can’t resist adding a line or two about the tensile grace and innate beauty of this wine, a thoroughbred of marvelous precision and persistence ready to be unleashed in the glass.
Top Value!
Price: $18.99 Add To Waiting List
RC 94 SK 93

2012 Erik Banti "Carato" Toscana
By: John Majeski | Review Date: 5/26/2015 | Send Email
Opened another bottle of this yesterday just to see if my early notes were somehow hyperbole. Nope, this giveaway value is the real deal, an amazing baby Tuscan with super-luscious flavors of ripe cherry, dark plum, nice spice and a kiss of oak to satisfy your ardent craving for that perfect everyday red to go with virtually anything consumable by a human being on the planet Earth… ok, maybe not anything, there I go exaggerating again. You’ll know.
Top Value!
Price: $8.99 Add To Waiting List

Antech "Brut Nature" Blanquette de Limoux
By: John Majeski | Review Date: 5/26/2015 | Send Email
Zero is my favorite number, or rather ‘un-number’ when it comes to most sparkling wines, as I prefer the naked, pure, crystalline fruit unadorned by added dosage, and the sheer raciness and zing of this stainless fermented bubbly from Limoux answers the call with laser flavors of green apple, lemon and white pear. Bring on a platter of fresh raw oysters or mussels mariniere and watch the shells pile up. Gotta love it!
Top Value!
Price: $12.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Husch Mendocino County Sauvignon Blanc
By: John Majeski | Review Date: 5/26/2015 | Send Email
Husch, don’t say a word, just let this wonderfully refreshing, winsome and harmonious Sauvignon Blanc have its way at your next summer party, as its lively notes of citrus blossom, passionfruit, fresh-cut melon and herbs prove irresistible when paired with calamari, shellfish or a rosemary-crusted chicken.
Price: $12.99 Add To Waiting List

2009 Il Valentiano "Campo di Marzo" Brunello di Montalcino
By: John Majeski | Review Date: 5/26/2015 | Send Email
Keeping it all in the family has proven to be the right formula for success for this highly regarded vigneron, as Jean-Louis Chave inherited the ‘wine’ gene from his father Gerard, who inherited it from his father who, well, you know how it goes. They approach the process as anything but formulaic, from the intensive cultivation of vines to meticulous selections in the cellar, and whether it is in the their supremely crafted white and red Hermitages or their more modest Côtes du Rhônes, they are intuitively immersed in every aspect of winemaking. Waxing philosophically, Gerard once remarked that “wine should be drunk and enjoyed, not intellectualized, as there seem to be more spitters than drinkers.” Well, for those fortunately in the latter group, the Mon Coeur will reward with stylish aromas of morello cherry and violets, measured on the midweight palate by ripe blackcurrants, pepper and spice, with clean acidity and smooth tannins. A supple, well-integrated wine that will enhance many a meal from short ribs to a Moroccan tagine.
Price: $29.99 Add To Waiting List

Wine Club

$26.99
WE 91 JS 90

2012 J.L. Chave Selection "Mon Coeur" Côtes du Rhône
By: John Majeski | Review Date: 5/26/2015 | Send Email
Keeping it all in the family has proven to be the right formula for success for this highly regarded vigneron, as Jean-Louis Chave inherited the ‘wine’ gene from his father Gerard, who inherited it from his father who, well, you know how it goes. They approach the process as anything but formulaic, from the intensive cultivation of vines to meticulous selections in the cellar, and whether it is in the their supremely crafted white and red Hermitages or their more modest Côtes du Rhônes, they are intuitively immersed in every aspect of winemaking. Waxing philosophically, Gerard once remarked that “wine should be drunk and enjoyed, not intellectualized, as there seem to be more spitters than drinkers.” Well, for those fortunately in the latter group, the Mon Coeur will reward with stylish aromas of morello cherry and violets, measured on the midweight palate by ripe blackcurrants, pepper and spice, with clean acidity and smooth tannins. A supple, well-integrated wine that will enhance many a meal from short ribs to a Moroccan tagine.
Top Value!
Price: $17.99 Add To Waiting List
ST 90

2014 Big Flower (Botanica) Petit Verdot Rosé
By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 5/26/2015 | Send Email
One of the coolest Roses I have tasted in a long time. Precise, spicy, fresh red berry fruits, lovely floral tones, and a hint of kaffir lime leaf. On the palate the wine is juicy, quaffable, has great fruit and fresh acidity, finishes dry but not aggressively so. Super drinkable...you will wonder where the bottle went! Made from Ginny's little parcel of Petit Verdot plus a secret vinous ingredient from old vines up in the Skurfberg. This is gonna be my go to this summer!
Top Value!
Price: $15.99 Add To Waiting List

2014 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Riesling "M" Marlborough
By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 5/26/2015 | Send Email
Beautiful once again, all the same exotic fruit and spice notes as previous incarnations but this time I feel the 2014 aromatic varietals from TWR have another level of purity and delicacy. They are rich in flavor and posses complex minerality and ethereal texture on the palate. Stunning wine.
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List
RC 95 BC 92

2010 Poggiarellino Brunello di Montalcino
By: Shaun Green | Review Date: 5/25/2015 | Send Email
This is an unbelievable steal and a great way to beef up your Brunello collection. This tiny producer has truly outperformed with their 2010 vintage - and for under $35 it is hands down one of the best deals in the store. These hands on dedicated owners have taken their ancestral property and turned it into a shining star. Fantastico!
Drink from 2019 to 2019
Price: $34.99 Add To Waiting List
JS 95

2009 Poggiarellino Brunello di Montalcino
By: Shaun Green | Review Date: 5/25/2015 | Send Email
Wonderful and open knit - a wine you can drink soon. Showing great layers of ripe fruit and florals, with an earthy rich undertone. A great wine for drinking while waiting for your 2010s to come around!
Top Value!
Price: $29.99 Add To Waiting List

Wine Club

$24.99

2006 Fourcas Dupré, Listrac
By: Dulcinea Gonzalez | Review Date: 5/25/2015 | Send Email
What a pleasure to pick up a Bordeaux on the verge of it's peak for only $20! This is a ruby blend of 44% Cabernet Sauvignon, 44% Merlot, 10% Cabernet Franc, 2% Petit Verdot and exhibits a rich, mineral driven note mixed with flavors of plum, blackberries and cappuccino. The body is silky and elegant with a fine tannic pull at the finish. Awesome now, but will keep giving for another 10 years easy. Get a bottle while they last.
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 Sesta di Sopra Rosso di Montalcino
By: Shaun Green | Review Date: 5/25/2015 | Send Email
Little sister to the spectacular Brunello this producer offers - this is a spectacular deal. Rosso doesn't have the same requirement as Brunello so can be released earlier. It sees French Oak barrels instead of the large 30hl barrels but it is farmed and cared for just like the Brunello. This is a great bottle to try now or put down for a few years.
Top Value!
Price: $21.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 90

2010 Baricci Brunello di Montalcino
By: Shaun Green | Review Date: 5/25/2015 | Send Email
I don't have to repeat how much we like this wine, Greg and Mike have done this but what a deal! This is 100% Montosoli fruit from a small family producer who just happens to be headed by one of the founders (and producer #1) of the Brunello Consorzio. Three generations of this family still work hands on daily and know every vine and every square foot of their property, which is on perhaps the most famous site for Brunello. Reserved and humble, this family makes a fantastic wine that certainly deserves its place next to many more expensive Brunelli.
Top Value!
Price: $39.99 Add To Waiting List
JS 93

2013 Outlier North Coast Pinot Noir
By: John Majeski | Review Date: 5/25/2015 | Send Email
Derek Rohlffs and Roger Scommegna, both rebels with a cause, got high in Mendocino... in fact higher than any vineyards in that beautifully lush region where fine Pinot Noir finds its natural habitat. Along with Roger's pristine Signal Ridge Vineyard, they selected fruit for this wine from nearby cool-climate, mountainside slopes, and aged it in older French oak, allowing the delicately fresh floral and mineral flavors to slowly meld and intensify into a beguiling Pinot Noir delivering sumptuous, velvety fruit with cherry, blueberry, dark chocolate, briar and cranberry notes. Guaranteed to satisfy those seeking a mouthwateringly delicious Pinot, this is a beautiful introduction to Anderson Valley's magical realm. Pair with a fresh-caught grilled salmon and live sublime!
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Angeline California Pinot Noir
By: Dulcinea Gonzalez | Review Date: 5/25/2015 | Send Email
Cherry cola, cinnamon spice and everything nice at a miraculous $12 dollar price point. Sourcing fruit from Russian River Valley, Mendocino, Santa Barbara County, this Californian blend is lively with bright fruit and balanced acidity. This is uncomplicated, totally quaffable and would pair perfectly with a grilled ham and cheese sandwich!
Price: $11.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Spellbound California Cabernet Sauvignon
By: Dulcinea Gonzalez | Review Date: 5/25/2015 | Send Email
Here's an out and out crowd pleasing California Chardonnay. With layers of rich and tropical flavors ala jack fruit and pineapple meets all-american apple pie, this wine is fun and a pleasure to imbibe at a price point that doesn't hurt the pocket book. This is a perfect party chard and would be great for casual gatherings.
Price: $11.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 Oakridge Estate Single Vineyard Series "Whitsend Vineyard" Cabernet Sauvignon Yarra Valley
By: Dulcinea Gonzalez | Review Date: 5/25/2015 | Send Email
Don't let this wine fly below your radar! Here's an absolutely awesome cool climate cab at a killer price. Showing beautiful, bright, succulent blackcurrant fruit with minty freshness, this is proof that an elegant, balanced and supremely drinkable cab can be attained at only $20 bucks!
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List
JH 96

2012 Shatter Grenache Côtes Catalanes
By: John Majeski | Review Date: 5/25/2015 | Send Email
Presenting big, bold and in your glass aromas of pure, unabashed Grenache, these two talented guys from Napa borrowed a page or two from Philippe Cambie, masterful Rhone consultant, when they created this impressive bottling. A powerful palate bursting with intense layers of cherries, blackberries, bakery spice, liquorice, wild thyme and toasty oak, the sheer amplitude of flavors from this wine defy a final edit. Blessed with fine, silky tannins and a round, seamless finish, enjoy it over the next several years with a rich beef stew or aged cheese board.
Price: $17.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 92

2014 Domaine Begude Pinot Noir Rosé IGP Pays d'Oc
By: John Majeski | Review Date: 5/25/2015 | Send Email
By strategically placing little pheromone pouches throughout the vineyards, the good folks at Domaine Begude manage to deter invasive vine moths by creating a state of “sexual confusion”. Whatever it takes I suppose, but don’t be confused by the brilliance of their organic wines, longtime favorites among staff and customers here at K&L. And summer wouldn’t quite feel right without a rollicking, frolicking glass of rosé, this version delivering expressive Pinot Noir aromas and refined, exotic flavors of cranberry, wildflowers and forest strawberry, captivatingly dry and complex. Charcuterie or seared tuna would be a welcome complement to this delicious wine. Enjoy!
Top Value!
Price: $12.99 Add To Waiting List

2014 Cognizant Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough
By: John Majeski | Review Date: 5/25/2015 | Send Email
Ever curious about the workhorse Ryan Woodhouse’s next hat trick from New Zealand, I have to admit that he really pulled a lovely bottle out of his cap with this one, with the talented help of a couple blessed with the best surname on Earth, Jason and Anna Flowerday. A true artisan’s touch at work here, with luscious, zesty fruit blended from two different vineyards in the Awatere and Wairau Valleys and given delicate barrel treatment to enhance the wonderful mouthfeel and generous richness of the wine. Once you taste this well-balanced and sophisticated creation, you will be fully 'cognizant' of why the name….
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List

2011 Cameron "Arley's Leap" Dundee Hills Pinot Noir
By: Krista Johnson | Review Date: 5/24/2015 | Send Email
One of the most beautiful Pinot Noirs I've ever had. Sumptuous and savory, the delicate red fruits meld perfectly with an earthy umami and salinity that linger seamlessly on the palate. Absolutely gorgeous and absolutely worth brooding over. I love it.
Price: $39.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 90 - 91

2013 GRÜNER by Etz Grüner Veltliner Kamptal (1L)
By: Angie An | Review Date: 5/24/2015 | Send Email
If you haven't tried Gruner before you HAVE TO hop on the gruner train and taste it for yourself to see why all the geeky sommeliers and wine lovers are going crazy over this little grape. There is only 50,000 cases of Gruner Veltliner produced world wide with most of it coming out of Austria, with style ranging from crisp and zesty to rich and nutty. The Etz is done in the more zesty, refreshing style, and I will give you 3 simple reasons why you should have this wine in your life. 1. This is the more exotic, fuller and much more fun cousin of Sauvignon Blanc 2. It's one of the very few wines that actually pairs well with asparagus and artichoke (they are a pain to pair with wine!). 3. It's a twist off bottle! and #4. It's in a LITER bottle for only $13.99!!!! Ok, I realize I gave you four instead of three reasons... but hey, I like to over deliver sometimes... enjoy, grab a bottle and cheers!
Top Value!
Price: $13.99 Add To Waiting List

Page: 1 2 3 next >>