Staff Favorites

If you’re going to have Robert Parker or Stephen Tanzer over for dinner, selecting a wine they’ve rated highly will be a nice choice. However, when you’re buying wines for yourself, we’d love to see you find wines that match up your unique palate and pocketbook. We have a large staff of friendly and knowledgeable wine professionals that taste hundreds of wines each week. They can put you in touch with bottles that you are likely to love, often at a much lower cost than the highly-rated gems that often see a run-up in price and frequent availability issues. Like any great group of opinionated professionals, our staff has varied tastes themselves. Often our customers will find a particular staff member with a style that corresponds to their own. That concept works extremely well in our retail stores, and this section is our effort to bring you the same online. Don’t get us wrong, we love the highly rated wines from the press and will continue to offer them, but we think you’re missing out if you’re not augmenting those selections with picks from our excellent staff. Here are their favorites. (Click on a name to see their other selections - or to drop them a line.) Cheers!

Reviews

  
Page: 1 2 3 next >>
2015 Claude Riffault "Les Boucauds" Sancerre
By: Olivia Ragni | Review Date: 12/1/2016 | Send Email
Riffault puts out beautiful Sancerre every year, but I am especially enamored with this one. The "Les Boucauds" is classic, elegant and racy with notes of fresh peeled lemon rind, wet stones and lean texture, while also maintaining some tropical notes like passion fruit in the mid-palate to balance it out. Remember to bring two bottles to your holiday dinner party because you’ll find the bottle will empty faster than you think.
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart
RP 92

2015 Claude Riffault "Les Boucauds" Sancerre
By: Diana Turk | Review Date: 12/1/2016 | Send Email
Ripe nectarine and a hit of melon shine through the nose, with more tropical fruit and plenty of powerful minerality through the palate. A slightly richer mouthfeel makes the 2015 "Les Boucauds" seem fuller-bodied than previous vintages, but with the classic chalky finish, there’s no mistaking this is as anything but a racy, high-quality Sancerre.
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart
RP 92

2015 Amalaya Torrontes Riesling Salta
By: Ivan Diaz | Review Date: 12/1/2016 | Send Email
Torrontes and Riesling is a rather uncommon pairing for a white blend, but that seems likely to change based on how well this bottling from Colome works. Torrontes brings all the ripe, aromatic qualities while the Riesling (usually ripe and aromatic in its own right) here provides more structure with a bracing backbone of acidity and stony minerality. This would pair beautifully with a flaky fish in ponzu, or if you want to be super authentic, a bit of Argentine "humita."
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart
DC 95

2014 Elephant Hill Pinot Noir Central Otago
By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 12/1/2016 | Send Email
Tough to find a better Central Otago Pinot at this price! From a single vineyard in the Bendigo sub-region called Maori Point. Robust dark fruits, toasted spice, warm earthy tones, briary elements, wild thyme and minerals. Subtle power. Quite Burgundian in a way but with an unmistakable "wild" Central Otago core.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
RC 92 - 93

2014 Claude Dugat Bourgogne Rouge
By: Trey Beffa | Review Date: 12/1/2016 | Send Email
I love the nose on this wine! It shows a vibrant, candied, bright cherry fruit quality that grabs your attention right out of the gate. In the mouth the wine is slightly aggressive and definitely high in acidity. Still a young wine with plenty of fruit, this will be a wine to buy now and enjoy in 3-5 years down the road.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2015 Dr. Pauly Bergweiler Bernkasteler alte Badstube am Doctorberg Riesling Kabinett Mosel
By: Olivia Ragni | Review Date: 12/1/2016 | Send Email
Absolutely beautiful, classic Mosel Kabinett. Very perfumed with aromas of honeysuckle, lavender and wet stones. The palate is mineral-driven, surrounded by notes of tart tangerine, sweet pears, and nectarines with juicy acidity and the perfect amount of sweetness to complement any spicy food. Elegant, complex and delicious.
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart
WE 92

2013 Domaine Eden Santa Cruz Mountains Cabernet Sauvignon
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 12/1/2016 | Send Email
The amazingly complex aromas of this wine are always difficult for me to pin down, but mint, camphor, eucalyptus, wild flowers and savory herb all come to mind—I guess what the French would call garrigue. The rich and smooth middle is full of sweet cherries, dark plums and more savory notes that are layered and deep. I challenge you to find a more complex and interesting Cabernet in this price range.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
VN 92

2015 Bodegas Puelles Blanco Rioja
By: Ivan Diaz | Review Date: 12/1/2016 | Send Email
The new vintage of Viura (with a touch of Garnacha Blanca, Malvasia, and Chenin Blanc) from Bodegas Puelles is dry and refreshing, with an interplay of citrus, orchard, and minerality that resembles closer to something like Chablis than traditional Rioja Blanca. Bright lemon, crunchy apples, subtle chalkiness, and zippy acidity. This drinks like many wines twice its price, and would be an incredible stealth pairing with the fanciest of seafood.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2015 Wwe. Dr. H. Thanisch (Müller-Burggraef) Bernkasteler Badstube Riesling Kabinett Mosel
By: Diana Turk | Review Date: 12/1/2016 | Send Email
Slightly smoky at first with a hint of petrol that gives way to bright apple fruit, soft honey, and mouthwatering acidity, this Riesling Kabinett is sharply delicious with a long finish. Tingly but easy drinking, the 2015 Thanisch is classically flinty, fruity Mosel for, unbelievably, under $20. Drink now!
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart
WE 92 WS 91

2014 Outlier "Noiro" Santa Lucia Highlands Pinot Noir
By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 12/1/2016 | Send Email
Wow! This is really one of the best Pinot Noirs I've tasted at this price point. The bouquet has notes of plum, dark strawberry, clove, chocolate and earth. On the palate there is beautiful balance, with good acidity, soft tannins and very good length. If you're a fan of Pinot, don't miss this great value.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Paul Pernot Beaune Rouge "Clos des Marconets"
By: Trey Beffa | Review Date: 12/1/2016 | Send Email
This is a fantastic example of a delicious 2015 red that will show well right out of the gate. This wine shows a fleshy, round, spicy mid-palate and with lots pure clean fruit. The finish is juicy and lingering. This is a wine to buy now and drink over the next 5 years.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2015 Wwe. Dr. H. Thanisch (Müller-Burggraef) Bernkasteler Badstube Riesling Kabinett Mosel
By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 12/1/2016 | Send Email
It's no surprise that one of the icons of the Mosel delivers again in this most pristine of vintages. The Badstube has all the hallmarks of classic. Intense acidity, flinty minerality, vibrant apple and pear fruit, long finish. For me this as a short term ager (maybe a year or two) with a decade or more of a drinking window once it awakens from a short slumber in your cellar.
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart
WE 92 WS 91

2015 Wwe. Dr. H. Thanisch (Müller-Burggraef) Bernkasteler Badstube Riesling Kabinett Mosel
By: Olivia Ragni | Review Date: 12/1/2016 | Send Email
Classic notes of honeycomb and smoke turn to flavors of crunchy apples, exotic fruits like Asian pears and star fruit, and ginger and exotic spices. There is loads of texture and a long, mouthwatering finish that leaves you wanting more.
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart
WE 92 WS 91

2013 Sarah's Vineyard Central Coast Pinot Noir
By: Adam Winkel | Review Date: 12/1/2016 | Send Email
A mushroomy nose right off the pop tells you that this is a traditional Pinot drinker's Pinot. Red-fruited but with a lot of savor and a smoky, sappy persistence leave no doubt that this is a great find. You could go on for days about what blind tasting flight of much more expensive wines you could slip this into. Sarah's Vineyard is in the Santa Clara Valley AVA's Hecker Pass district... their estate vineyard just a few hundred yards from the Santa Cruz Mountains AVA. Hecker Pass was an important wine growing area in the 19th century and up until prohibition, but unlike other areas it never entirely recovered after the 21st Amendment. But a few good producers (and a few very old vineyards) tend the flame for those who might be interested in California's hidden corners.
Top Value!
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
WE 93

2015 Dr. Pauly Bergweiler Bernkasteler alte Badstube am Doctorberg Riesling Kabinett Mosel
By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 12/1/2016 | Send Email
This is everything I want in a Kabinett. Precise green apple flavors, a touch of tropical fruit and a long stony finish. Great purity and intensity that will drink well now with beautiful spicy dishes while cleansing your palate with is subtle sweet fruit and bright acidity. This will even age well for 5 to 10 more years.
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart
WE 92

2015 Claude Riffault "Les Boucauds" Sancerre
By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 12/1/2016 | Send Email
The Riffault speaks volumes with its pure citrus and musk melon nose. It shows the weight and body of the 2015 vintage but is wrapped in a beautiful cloak of acidity and fine minerality. Everything stays focused, precise and balanced. Definitely a serious Sancerre that would even evolve for a few years in bottle.
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart
RP 92

2015 Castello di Verduno "Basadone" Pelaverga
By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 12/1/2016 | Send Email
I first tried this grape varietal with the 2008 vintage, when I met Mario Andrion (Oenologist) and I soon planed a trip to visit the winery in May of 2010 (www.castellodiverduno.it) they have a great hotel ! Pelaverga has a DOC, in the region of Piedmont in Italy. The small zone has a vineyard area of only eight hectares, and includes the commune of Verduno, from which the name is taken, as well as parts of the communes of La Morra and Roddi d´Alba in the province of Cuneo. It’s an amazing medium-bodied red, intense fragrant nose, showing spicy overtones with lots of black pepper and nutmeg, as well as fruity sensations reminiscent of cherries and strawberries. Truly a taste sensation, you must try.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2011 Sportoletti "Villa Fidelia" Rosso
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 12/1/2016 | Send Email
This is dense and concentrated with a depth of blackberry fruit, ripe cherry flavors, earthy nuances and hints of smoke. Although mostly Merlot, this dry wine tastes more like Cabernet Sauvignon or a top-notch Bordeaux but with unmistakable Italian character to the long, dusty finish. From the mineral-laced aromas to the fine and embedded tannins this is a classy and sophisticated bottling.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JS 93 RP 92

2015 Claude Riffault "Les Boucauds" Sancerre
By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 12/1/2016 | Send Email
Quite a rich style showing the ripeness of the vintage. Plenty of texture and body on the palate with yellow tree fruit flavors and a pronounced lees quality. Powerful wine yet still has that distinctive Sancerre minerality and cut on the finish.
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart
RP 92

2011 Sportoletti "Villa Fidelia" Rosso
By: John Downing | Review Date: 11/30/2016 | Send Email
Made from predominantly Merlot with lesser amounts of Cabernet and Cabernet Franc, the Sportoletti "Villa Fidelia" is a full-bodied mouthful of flavorful black fruit with intriguing notes of minerals, leather and licorice. It's not often we come across Bordeaux style blends this good at this price, so we took full advantage of the offer and hope you'll do the same while our supply lasts. Simply outstanding.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JS 93 RP 92

2015 Malat Berg "Furth-Palt" Grüner Veltliner Kremstal
By: Mahon McGrath | Review Date: 11/30/2016 | Send Email
Watercress, arugula, and ruby red grapefruit start things off on the nose. The wine shows a pleasing balance, juxtaposing a round mid-palate with a sneakily lip-smacking finish, and distinctly fresh and lively fruit with subdued spicy and herbal accents.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2013 Domaine Eden Santa Cruz Mountains Cabernet Sauvignon
By: Kirk Walker | Review Date: 11/30/2016 | Send Email
A great Santa Cruz Mountain Cabernet. Made in the image of the Mount Eden but with a touch accessibility both structurally and with its price. Beautiful dark red fruits that is both ripe and reserved. Just the right amount of oak and backed with solid tannins. This will be one of my "go to" Cabs this holiday season.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
VN 92

2012 Michel Gassier "Lou Coucardié" Costières de Nîmes Rouge
By: David Driscoll | Review Date: 11/30/2016 | Send Email
This is not at all the ripe or decadent wine that I read about before tasting. This is a wonderful surprise! Instead of over-extracted blue fruits I got real acidity, plush dark fruit, and the meatiness of the Mouvedre. Fans of Cote du Rhone will get far more than their money's worth here, and Southern Rhone drinkers will rejoice in tasting a wine that has more to offer than just richness and texture. There is real nuance here in this bottle and it's dialed back enough to where you can pair it with a number of meals.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart
RP 93 VN 92

2015 Domaine Paul Pernot Beaune Rouge "Clos des Marconets"
By: David Driscoll | Review Date: 11/30/2016 | Send Email
This wine is a godsend for those of us in the Burgundy department who are constantly looking for new, drinkable selections to recommend. The Clos des Marconets is not only delicious now, it has enough acidity and focus to develop nicely over the next five to seven years. The whole tasting experience is a piercingly pure note of red cherry, foresty notes, and classic Burgundian baking spices. It's utterly charming from front to back, and it tastes so good right now you'd be hard pressed to lay off it once the bottles are in your possession.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2015 Dr. Pauly Bergweiler Bernkasteler alte Badstube am Doctorberg Riesling Kabinett Mosel
By: Lilia McIntosh | Review Date: 11/30/2016 | Send Email
Tasting this wine is like biting into perfectly ripe juicy peach! It is absolutely delicious. It's lush and creamy in texture, with peach, lime, vanilla, apricot and spice notes with bright acidity and minerality.
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart
WE 92

2015 Malat Berg "Furth-Palt" Grüner Veltliner Kremstal
By: Eric Story | Review Date: 11/30/2016 | Send Email
This is a whole lotta wine for $18! Wonderfully balanced between elegance and textural weight. Juicy citrus, sweet apple along with fresh herbs and spice. For so much palate intensity this really has an airy, dancing lift to it. The outright quality of this wine can't be denied...
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2012 Fratelli Barale Barolo
By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 11/30/2016 | Send Email
Barale’s wines are all so classically styled; it’s like reading a textbook definition for Barolo. The nose drifts gently from the glass with hints of smoke, delicate, dried rose aromatics followed by hints of wild cherry. On the palate the wine has weight; depth and darker fruits come forward a supple yet evident structure shows itself in a graceful hold on your palate. The finish is sure, more fruit opens and a supple flow of persistent flavors. The wine is made from a blend of Castellero and Bussia vineyards and shows Castellero’s high toned aromatics and Bussia’s body and depth, at the price a sensational deal. The perfect accompaniment to braised beef or a grilled T-bone.
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
VN 91

2015 Domaine Paul Pernot Bourgogne Chardonnay
By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 11/30/2016 | Send Email
Recently, I drank my last bottle of the 2013 of this wine. It was awesome. A little time to settle in the bottle and it was a rockstar punching well above its weight class. Now, a little dilemma: If I tell you how much better this is than that '13 you might be inclined to buy more of this wine and that means less for me. But I am an honest person and this wine was amazing. It is rich, yet focused with balancing acidity. The lush apple fruit screams decadent but the minerality keeps it from going to broad and over-the-top. For a great Puligny producer like this, who consistently makes wonderful wines, this reaches a new level of awesome! It is Puligny quality for Bourgogne pricing. Thankfully, I already purchased a half case to enjoy over the next two years.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Paul Pernot Volnay "Carelle Sous la Chapelles"
By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 11/30/2016 | Send Email
This is pretty classic and inviting Volnay. A meaty, earthy nose greets you but is quickly overshadowed by supple red and black fruit. This is lush and satiny on the palate. Still a touch of baby fat that will reward a few years in the cellar but still pretty fantastic right now.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart

2013 Sarah's Vineyard Central Coast Pinot Noir
By: Bryan Brick | Review Date: 11/30/2016 | Send Email
While labeled Central Coast, this is a single-vineyard, estate-grown Pinot that drives forward with crushed cherry and strawberry tones and deeper aromas of Porcini mushroom and old leather. Overall red fruited but with more bass than treble, this is plump but with good energetic tang and a level of seriousness that is rare for under $20. Interwoven fruit, earth, savor and acid are all presented in a fun and pretty frame with a dominating pitchy resonance that has a wealth of cranberry, white cherry, beef blood and Shiitake mushroom that really can’t be beat at this price.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
WE 93

2011 Sportoletti "Villa Fidelia" Rosso
By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 11/30/2016 | Send Email
OK, and now for something completely different from me: “SUPER TUSCAN”! Villa Fidelia Rosso is from Umbria and is composed of Merlot, Cabernet Sauvignon and Cabernet Franc (percentages will change with vintage). This 2011 is very user friendly and drinks well now: on the palate, flavors of black cherry and plum, leather, tobacco and soft floral notes blend with medium-bodied tannins. The Cab gives this a backbone that you feel, also a smoky vanilla from well-integrated French oak; needs an hour or so decanting time.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JS 93 RP 92

2015 Domaine Paul Pernot Puligny-Montrachet
By: David Driscoll | Review Date: 11/30/2016 | Send Email
While we have a number of other premier cru selections from Paul Pernot right now, I was most impressed with the standard village grade Puligny Montrachet at our recent tasting. At the moment, it's easily the most drinkable and the most attractive of the bunch, so if you're not the cellaring type this is clearly the one for you. It tastes expensive. It's remarkably clean, vibrant, and balanced in terms of acidity, fruit, and richness. There's a seamless transition from lemon citrus to stonefruit on the palate and the wine finishes with both textural richness and length. If I were looking for a nice bottle to bring to a special dinner that I knew would cater to a number of different tastes and preferences, this would be high on my list.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

2014 Errazuriz Chardonnay Aconcagua Costa
By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 11/30/2016 | Send Email
We have had some terrific finds of late for serious value Chardonnay in Chile's Aconcagua Costa DO. Here, in addition to the coastal influence, you have interesting and complex soil types, loaded with schist, which appear to give the wines a certain drive and freshness. This 2014 from Errazuriz is no exception. A nose of Yellow Delicious apples gives way to a palate full of crunchy, appley, lemony fruit, with an overall linear and lean quality that almost seem to suggest Burgundy more so than New World. In fact, I tasted this an hour ago next to Paul Pernot Bourgogne (yes, Paul Pernot of Puligny-Montrachet fame) and it more than held its own. If you love Chardonnay, this ought to be in your glass.

2013 Domaine Eden Santa Cruz Mountains Cabernet Sauvignon
By: Gary Norton | Review Date: 11/30/2016 | Send Email
Holy moly. Forty bucks for a wine if this caliber? It's drinkable now and will only get better for the next 15 to 20 years, I promise. Dark fruit, green bell, black berry, dried herbs and a touch of vanilla on the finish. My guess is that they went a little heavier on new wood this year, lending to a bit more richness up front, making it more accessible now as opposed to a few other Cabs on this level. Buy big on this one folks, it's worth every penny and more.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
VN 92

2009 Bodegas Muga "Prado Enea" Gran Reserva Rioja
By: Kirk Walker | Review Date: 11/30/2016 | Send Email
This is captivating Rioja. The nose tells you everything you want know about it. Subtly intense, with layers and layers of fruit, both dark and red, a crazy mélange of spice and dusty earthy tones. I'm content just to sit and nose the wine, kind of.... The palate delivers everything that it promises on the nose but with super fine tannins and a long lingering finish. This is a great wine that you will be hard pressed to hold on to, but please try, it will just get better and better.

2015 Claude Riffault "Les Boucauds" Sancerre
By: Mahon McGrath | Review Date: 11/30/2016 | Send Email
This brings the min-er-al up front right out of the gate, but it doesn't stop there, showing lime peel, green melon and Thai basil, too. The palate is high tension, with more stoniness, and a cranked up, unrelenting profile, before it displays a unique side for a Sancerre, dispensing with the chilly and green disposition of many, and substituting instead a reasonably sunny, orange-orange blossom character with a gentle, implied sweetness, and a faint echo of basil. The novelty will intrigue you, but the character will hook you.
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart
RP 92

Rhum Clement Cask Stength Single Barrel Agricole Martinique Rum (750ml)
By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 11/30/2016 | Send Email
When I first nosed this cask I knew immediately that we had to have it. It's full-strength-full tilt Agricole aged in NEW AMERICAN OAK. The perfect crossover to get bourbon people into Agricole Rhum WITHOUT sacrificing authenticity. One first nosing, you get a strong, dry oak tannin, but wait a moment and the spectacular complexity arises from the glass. Deep dark spices, kola nut, mahogany, flambéed orange peel. The palate is vibrant, with subtle funk of Agricole never lost around the rich oak spice, powerful tropical fruit, and long dry finish. BUT WAIT, add one tiny drop of water, this thing is cask strength after all, and this little puppy explodes. Gone are the dark dry oak tannins and replaced with candied orange peel, sweet Tahitian vanilla, and that underlying topicality that's so inviting. On the palate is explodes with rich exotic spices, marzipan, ginger, coffee, and salted fruits. Sometimes adding water breaks rum as it does with many brandies, but in this case it reacts much like a fine single malt. Without a doubt one of the finest rhums we've ever had on our shelves at any price point.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

2011 Sergio Barale Barolo "Bussia"
By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 11/30/2016 | Send Email
I absolutely love this wine. The nose is deep, it has a brooding ripeness, a mix of wild cherry, plum with bits of smoke and rose hips, just scintillating. On the palate the wine has a richly textured presence where waves of supple warmth and layers of fruit flow across your tongue. A broad, expansive palate presence where the complexity builds and the wine flows toward a long, vibrant finish. This is real Bussia vineyard Barolo, complex, dense yet in the warmth of this vintage the wine has a luscious open fullness and is really drinkable, I’d still decant it for an hour, but this is a sensational wine. Try it with braised meats, polenta or risotto and wild mushrooms.
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $45.99 Add To Cart
JS 92

2009 Egrot (formerly Elisabeth Goutorbe) Brut Grand Cru Champagne
By: Diana Turk | Review Date: 11/30/2016 | Send Email
Heady with toasty biscuit notes up front, plus golden apple and bright Asian pear throughout the rich palate, Egrot Champagne always delivers, and this well-priced release is no exception. No dosage and clean minerality keep things lively in the glass, but there’s enough juicy citrus fruit to show off the warmer vintage. While the name and label change can make it tricky to recognize this Direct Import as Elisabeth Goutorbe, quality is as strong as ever, and the 2009 is already drinking beautifully.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$34.99

2011 Domaine Santamaria Patrimonio Rouge (Corsica)
By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 11/30/2016 | Send Email
This goes down as one of my favorite reds under $50 for the year. At half that price, it is simply a must-buy. Made from 100% Niellucciu, this wine has so much weight, spice and brambly black fruit. It has the fruit of a Brunello but the texture of a Nebbiolo. It is sublime.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Santamaria Patrimonio Rosé (Corsica)
By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 11/30/2016 | Send Email
Wild with ripe strawberry and peach fruit. Made from 100% Niellucciu, this is full-bodied rosé with a supple texture. It is long on the palate and has great minerality. This is a good short-term cellaring rosé, much like the great Bandol rosés or Tavels to the north.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Santamaria Patrimonio Blanc (Corsica)
By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 11/30/2016 | Send Email
100% Vermentinu planted on clay-limestone soils. This soil type provides a more unctuous richness and texture in the wine while maintaining great tone and acidity. It is pure, with ripe pear and white flower notes.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart

2010 Château Saint Jacques d'Albas "La Chapelle d'Albas" Minervois
By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 11/30/2016 | Send Email
Held back at the winery until it is ready to drink, this almost 100% Syrah is one of the best of the region. Denser and richer, this has an almost Hermitage quality with its toasted blackcurrant coulis, smoked meatiness, cigar box aromas and chocolaty finish. It is another long-on-the-palate wine that deserves a short term presence in any cellar.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2013 Château Saint Jacques d'Albas "Le Chateau d'Albas" Minervois
By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 11/30/2016 | Send Email
Classic Minervois flavors of roasted plum, blackberry, garrigue and earth are all wrapped up in this generous package with supple tannins and balancing acidity.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2015 Château Saint Jacques d'Albas "Domaine d'Albas" Coteaux de Peyriac Blanc
By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 11/30/2016 | Send Email
It may be very easy to overlook whites in Minervois, as they only make up about 4% of production, but you should still check out the 2015 “Domaine d’Albas” Coteaux de Peyriac Blanc. Loaded with orchard fruit flavors and aromas, it is one of the most inviting and pleasurable whites under $20 in our stores.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Tour Boisée "Plantation 1905"
By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 11/30/2016 | Send Email
The wine is classically spicy, with bright red and black fruit flavors of plum, cherry and blackberry. It has lovely sandalwood and violet notes that emerge from the glass. The 1905, in one simple glass, captures the entire history of this producer and village.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

2012 Bodegas Castaño "Hécula" Monastrell Yecla
By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 11/30/2016 | Send Email
This perennial best buy is on its "A" game in 2012, a vintage that was especially successful in southeastern Spain for its climatically even nature, not quite as hot as usual. After nearly a year in bottle, I'm coming back to this Monastrell and still finding licorice and black pepper aromas, with fruits that are more red than dark, in particular think cranberry or pomegranate. On the palate the slightly toasty elements are integrating nicely, and there is still a clear underpinning of calcareous driven minerality. Still a terrific value at under $10. and one to buy in quantity.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart
RP 91

2014 Antech "Emotion" Cremant de Limoux Brut Rosé
By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 11/30/2016 | Send Email
The 2014 Antech “Emotion” Brut Rosé is my own personal workhorse bubbly. I’m a sucker for rosé and this delivers on all fronts. With plenty of cherry and Arkansas black apple flavor, it is more structured and full-bodied. It is easily their best rosé to date.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2014 Clos de l'Anhel "Lolo de l'Anhel" Corbieres
By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 11/30/2016 | Send Email
This Carignan-based wine is loaded with perfumed blue fruit flavors and purple flower notes. Medium-bodied on the palate and with silky tannins, this is pure deliciousness in a glass, and like milk, everyone should have a little “Lolo” to go with that weeknight meal to help keep up their strength.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2013 Domaine Aubai Mema Grenache Vieilles Vignes "Lunatico" Gard Rouge
By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 11/30/2016 | Send Email
The flagship wine, the “Lunatico” is a lush and velvety Grenache made from old-vine fruit from a north-facing vineyard that Mark farms biodynamically. Lunatico in French is a person who is changeable or ruled by the phases of the moon. In Spanish and English we think of someone who is lunatico as crazy. It’s almost too on point when you think of Mark’s story and his journey into wine. He will admit you have to be lunatico to be in the wine business, both changeable and a little crazy. A great takeaway from my experience with Mark and his outstanding winery is that you may have to be a little crazy to immerse yourself this deeply in the life experience. But with all the joy and pleasure that his hard work brings, from winemaking to dancing to living life to its fullest, you have to be a little Lunatico not to.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart

Page: 1 2 3 next >>