Staff Favorites

If you’re going to have Robert Parker or Stephen Tanzer over for dinner, selecting a wine they’ve rated highly will be a nice choice. However, when you’re buying wines for yourself, we’d love to see you find wines that match up your unique palate and pocketbook. We have a large staff of friendly and knowledgeable wine professionals that taste hundreds of wines each week. They can put you in touch with bottles that you are likely to love, often at a much lower cost than the highly-rated gems that often see a run-up in price and frequent availability issues. Like any great group of opinionated professionals, our staff has varied tastes themselves. Often our customers will find a particular staff member with a style that corresponds to their own. That concept works extremely well in our retail stores, and this section is our effort to bring you the same online. Don’t get us wrong, we love the highly rated wines from the press and will continue to offer them, but we think you’re missing out if you’re not augmenting those selections with picks from our excellent staff. Here are their favorites. (Click on a name to see their other selections - or to drop them a line.) Cheers!

Reviews

  
Page: 1 2 3 next >>
2014 Gainey "Estate" Sta. Rita Hills Chardonnay
By: Christina Stanley | Review Date: 5/21/2017 | Send Email
The Gainey Estate vineyards are located just ten miles East of the Pacific Ocean, and this Chardonnay is a blend of two of those vineyards: Rancho Esperanza and Evan's Ranch. These two vineyards produce fruit of differing characteristics, and the result is a harmonious combination of fruit, acid and minerality. Notes of bright ripe pineapple, meyer lemon and white peach dance on the medium bodied palate, and a trail of saline minerality creates a lasting finish.
Price: Hidden View Price
VN 92

2011 Sportoletti "Villa Fidelia" Umbria Rosso
By: Rachel Vogel | Review Date: 5/21/2017 | Send Email
A bold Super Tuscan influenced by the vintage's August heat wave. The warm weather rested on the vines and particularly influenced the delicate Merlot grapes in early ripening bringing intensity, richness and a streamline of deep purple fruits into the bottle. Early harvest and irrigation that was possible from mid summer rain kept all grapes from over ripening and helped them hold onto enough natural acidity to balance the bold wine. The Cab Sauv and Cab Franc keep the wine spicey and softly structured making it layered and ready to drink!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JS 93 RP 92

2014 Bishop's Peak San Luis Obispo Pinot Noir
By: Jim Barr | Review Date: 5/20/2017 | Send Email
One of my favorite Central Coast producers is Talley Vineyards, and the exceptional quality of the varietals that they produce under their primary label can easily be found also with their second label, Bishop’s Peak. And a perfect example to that assertion can be found in this well-structured, nicely drinking, way-underpriced Pinot, with the grapes coming from vineyards in San Luis Obispo. Medium-deep ruby in color, the nose offers up classic rose petal to strawberry to clove-like fruit aromas which is underscored by slate-like minerality and soft cedary tones. Balanced, lush, almost silky on entry in the mouth, this Gem broadens out over the mid-range and finishes with round, refined tannins in its complex presentation and finish. Rusty asked me how much this Gem cost and then demanded that I bring home cases of this delightful find. A WONDERFUL VALUE!!! ***** 13.7% ABV *****
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
VN 91

2015 Domaine des Terres Dorées (Jean-Paul Brun) Moulin-a-Vent
By: Lilia McIntosh | Review Date: 5/20/2017 | Send Email
Fresh Bing cherry and red plum aromas with spice notes jump out of the glass immediately. This is very soft and friendly Beaujolais but with beautiful brightness throughout. On the palate plum and cherry flavors linger on, and overall the wine is smooth and inviting. If you just starting to explore Beaujolais, this Moulin-A-Vent is a great start. It will make you want to know more and try other Crus of Beaujolais.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JG 92 JS 92

2014 Domaine des Terres Dorées (Jean-Paul Brun) Moulin-a-Vent Les Thorins"
By: Lilia McIntosh | Review Date: 5/20/2017 | Send Email
Stellar wine! This is on the level of Premier Cru Burgundy for sure. Aromas are full of light, earthy strawberry and raspberry. Beautiful acidity cuts through the wine and makes it fresh, vibrant and energetic. Its mineral and earthy component is what makes me associate this wine with Burgundy the most. It's so structured and deep that it puts this Beaujolais on a whole different level.
Price: $25.99 Add To Cart
VN 93 JS 91

2013 Kenwood "Jack London Vineyard" Sonoma Mountain Cabernet Sauvignon
By: Christina Stanley | Review Date: 5/20/2017 | Send Email
This is a very dark, extracted and full-bodied Sonoma Mountain Cabernet. Its sturdy tannins and earthy notes of tobacco leaf, licorice and clove make it a great pairing for heartier dishes right now, but this wine shows great aging potential as well. A fantastic value for the price point, particularly for those who enjoy the ripeness of California Cabernet in a powerful incarnation.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2015 Les Freres Perroud "Vieilles Vignes" Brouilly
By: Jim Barr | Review Date: 5/20/2017 | Send Email
It is really a delight to find Cru Beaujolais available on the market like this old vine production. Nearly fifty years ago, the French seriously considered ripping out the Gamay vineyards in Southern Burgundy because wine sales from that area, for many reasons, had virtually come to a halt. Regardless what you feel about the nouveau wines of Beaujolais, that evolution saved the Gamay vineyards of Beaujolais. Many producers have returned, since then, to making Gamay in the fashion that it was created fifty-plus years ago, much like its clonal parent of Pinot Noir is produced in the heart of Burgundy. This villages Cru is a perfect example as to how the wines from Beaujolais use to be made. Medium ruby in color, the aromatics are distinctive and pronounced with upfront strawberry to clove-like notes with an obvious mild cedary oak {yes, some barrel aging took place} background note, The palate is bright, balanced, yet rich, reductive, and subtle, with silky, very fine tannins and a finish that is long and deep. This Gem would give many villages Burgundy a great run for their money, and, according to Rusty, will be one of our house reds for the next couple of years. A K&L Wine Merchants' Direct Import. A WONDERFUL BEAUJOLAIS BUY! ***** 11.0% TO 14.0% ABV *****
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
VN 90

2014 Dominus "Napanook" Napa Valley Bordeaux Blend
By: Anthony Russo | Review Date: 5/20/2017 | Send Email
I wasn't sure I wanted to jump onto the bandwagon, but I'm definitely on board now... Elegant aromas of some sort of violet-y-black-olive-marmalade give this wine a sophisticated sense right upon pulling the cork. Full bodied, but balanced, flavors of blueberry, plums, blackcurrant, and coffee align with a perfectly ripened core. Awesome now, even better in years to come.

2014 Domaine des Terres Dorées (Jean-Paul Brun) Saint-Amour
By: Lilia McIntosh | Review Date: 5/20/2017 | Send Email
When I first smelled this Saint-Amour I was surprised and captivated by its delicate white pepper aromas and light red cherry notes. I just could not stop sniffing it! It's so mesmerizing. Just like with the "Les Thorins" cuvee this wine reminds me of Burgundy in every aspect. It's mineral, structured, it has great fresh acidity and a lot of savory and earthy notes that absolutely delicious red fruit. 2014 vintage in Beaujolais is my favorite so far.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart
VN 93 RP 91

1982 Miltonduff 34 Year Old "John Milroy" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
By: Anthony Russo | Review Date: 5/20/2017 | Send Email
Awesome complexities: soft stone fruit, dried tobacco wood, butterscotch, all leading to a lightly prickly, smooth finish. Make this your "Friday night and not sharing with anyone" special bottle.
Price: $229.99 Add To Cart

1989 Linkwood 27 Year Old "John Milroy" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
By: Anthony Russo | Review Date: 5/20/2017 | Send Email
This Linkwood has an awesome, and very unique, "old wood" aroma that instantly makes your head spin (in a GREAT way). Beautiful and muted citrus zest, dark molasses, and a faint musky undertone round this scotch out. With loads of complexities and a great mouthfeel, the easy-going alcohol content make this juice go down nice and smooth. Grassy notes on the palate truly give this Scotch a sense of place. Settle into the couch after dinner with a glass of this.
Price: $149.99 Add To Cart

2016 Enclos Tourmaline, Pomerol
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 5/20/2017 | Send Email
Here is a fantastic wine that shows the quality, freshness and precision of the vintage. This big wine is almost black in color with a deep chiseled nose of granite and endless red and black fruit. The middle is thick, full and completely effortless and fine, integrated tannins sneak in on the finish. This is a roaring success.

2016 Palmer, Margaux
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 5/20/2017 | Send Email
This is silky, sweet, seamless and pure with great balance between the opulent fruit, elegant middle and satin finish. Flowery scents give way to flavors and aromas of dark plum, blackberry, cherry liqueur and baking chocolate that stay precise and articulated. More voluptuous than Chateau Margaux and my favorite of the appellation

2016 Kalinda Reserve North Coast Sauvignon Blanc
By: Jim Barr | Review Date: 5/20/2017 | Send Email
I am in total agreement with Clyde’s review of this amazing, killer SB. After being here at K&L for over thirty years, I have seen a ton of excellent SBs that were produced for us come and go, and I don’t think any of them would come close to the wonderful aromatics and flavors of this one. In the nose, you will be treated to a distinctive, opulent set of aromas of honeydew melon, lime zest, Chilean Jasmine, and ripe apricots, all of which carries over brilliantly to a bright, perfectly balanced, voluptuous, yet clean and crisp set of refreshing flavors that leads to a mouthwatering, rich, long finish. If you were to serve this Gem to me blindly, my first reaction would have been a great, single vineyard Sancerre from a great vintage and from a great producer. The Bean is absolutely in love with this Gem and has ordered me, in no uncertain terms, to bring home cases of this great SB for our consumption for the next three to five years. A K&L Wine Merchants' exclusive. SUPER VALUE!!!***** 12.9% ABV *****
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$14.99

2014 Jacques Bavard Bourgogne Blanc
By: Jim Barr | Review Date: 5/20/2017 | Send Email
If you have never been to Burgundy in France, it is a must trip for any serious wine consumer/collector. The vineyards are so closely planted and the “Clos” are so near each other with so many different, undefined growers/owners, you will ask yourself how do the Burgundians decide what gets declassified to a Bourgogne Rouge or Blanc, and what gets just a villages description. Single vineyard designations are simple. You will be amazed, for instance, that the difference between DRC’s La Tache and the Romanee Conti vineyard is a ten foot wide gravel roadway and two stone walls on each side. The vineyard that produces this exceptional Bourgogne Blanc is in that kind of position – it is a roadway just below one of the great vineyards of Puligny-Montrachet. Distinctive aromas of wet river stone minerality to green apple to hints of honeydew melon and lime-zest fruit abound in this Gem. All of this carries over prominently to a well-structured and well-defined Chardonnay that is clean, crisp, and bright both on entry and through its exceptional mid-range set of flavors and leads to a mouthwatering, delicious finish. The Bean has told me to bring home cases of this Gem for our consumption over the next five to ten years. GREAT VALUE! >>>A K&L WINE MERCHANTS’ DIRECT IMPORT<<< ***** 13.0% ABV *****
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2014 Trébiac Rouge, Graves
By: Jim Barr | Review Date: 5/20/2017 | Send Email
After thirty years in the retail business, I think one of the aspects that still keeps me motivated is finding excellent quality wine, as with the 2014 Trébiac, in this price range. I have always found it easy, if not boring, to sell the expensive 'stuff' that has received a b'zillion points from the many different wine writers, but finding wine as this and selling it in quantity to our customers continues to excite me. This Gem is medium-deep ruby in color, offers a lovely nose of black cherry to cedary to earthy tones whcih carries over nicely to a soft, round, drinkable Bordeaux with a silky finish. Rusty has demanded that I bring home several cases of this Gem for our near-term consumption. GREAT VALUE!!!
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2014 Elephant Hill Syrah Hawke's Bay
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 5/19/2017 | Send Email
Here is a super complex yet elegant Syrah that sells for a song. This has spicy blue and black fruits along with hints of red meat, pepper, iron and traces of iodine. Despite the warm and generous mid-palate the long finish is sweet, clean and crisp showing more traces of iron and pepper.

2010 Famille Perrin "Domaine du Clos des Tourelles" Gigondas
By: Thomas Smith | Review Date: 5/19/2017 | Send Email
I'm starting to get more and more used to 2010 Southern Rhones. In unbelievable vintage conditions, a serious wine like this gets kicked up a notch into totally different territory. The aroma has a huge amount of depth. On the palate, the structure really takes over. Tannin is hitting every corner of your palate, with acid jumping around the spots in between. This is a proper wine. A tightly coiled spring, packed with flavor that will go, and go, and go. An great example of what is capable in the Southern Rhone with ideal growing conditions. A total powerhouse of a wine that is sure to impress seasoned drinkers.

2013 Château Pesquié "Terrasses" Ventoux
By: Thomas Smith | Review Date: 5/19/2017 | Send Email
The nose points towards savory characteristics: bloody, charcoal, charcuterie. A perfect pairing for a murder mystery. Dark and brooding, on the palate there are plenty of black fruits with a slightly sweet undertone. This is exactly the kind of wine I really like and will totally end up taking home on a Tuesday.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart
RP 91

2014 Gerard Bertrand Corbieres
By: Thomas Smith | Review Date: 5/19/2017 | Send Email
Aromatically, there is a slight gaminess right off the bat. Dark fruit tones bum-rush the palate. Yet, there is a lightness to this wine. I was shocked to find it much more balanced than most of the wines I try from Southwest France. Lighter in body, some interesting woody notes, not even a hint of bitterness. This is definitely a wine that screams "Drink now". Even the acid seems to meld seamlessly into the wine. It's an easy-drinker for sure, but there's a whole lot going on in this glass.
Price: Hidden View Price
WS 90

2016 Langoa-Barton, St-Julien
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 5/19/2017 | Send Email
This is surprisingly bright and balanced with crisp and effortless texture to the substantial body. Black cherry, dark plum, cola and damp clay are present in this structured, clean and fresh wine.

2016 Beychevelle, St-Julien
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 5/19/2017 | Send Email
**+ This huge wine has impressive heft and weight but stays light on its feet due to the finely tuned and fresh finish. Tons of smoky, spiced blackberries ooze through the thick middle but never overwhelm the classy lines.

2016 Siran, Margaux
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 5/19/2017 | Send Email
This is dark, sleek and grapy with a clean, fresh body and a strong finish. Already complex and should flesh out nicely. A great value for the appellation.

2016 Palmer, Margaux
By: Ralph Sands | Review Date: 5/19/2017 | Send Email
Grand Vin is 47% Cabernet Sauvignon 47%M 12%CF with 65% new oak. The wine starts with sweet, delicious black-red fruits with great viscosity, a bit firmer and stronger than Alter Ego but the tannins are finer and rounder, literally seamless. In my opinion it blows away Ch. Margaux. 3 Stars!

2014 Dominus "Napanook" Napa Valley Bordeaux Blend
By: Jeffrey Jones | Review Date: 5/19/2017 | Send Email
An excellent and seductive Napa red wine. It has nice fruit and structure but what is the most important is that it is packaged together with elegance and finesse. It is full bodied and delicious and should please anyone who wants a Napa red that will go well with food.

2014 Domaine des Terres Dorées (Jean-Paul Brun) Moulin-a-Vent Les Thorins"
By: Andrew Stevens | Review Date: 5/18/2017 | Send Email
Offering a more decadent style the Lies Thorins from Jean Paul Brun is all about rich round fruit with a ripe red berry nose. This may sound like it is some overly fruited Gamay, but this wine has depth and weight to stand up to the fruit. Seriously, this almost goes outside of the Beaujolais realm and could easily fool me in a blind tasting. A long finish with minerality sneaking in completes this wine and further cements it as a new regular in my lineup of wines to bring home.
Price: $25.99 Add To Cart
VN 93 JS 91

2014 Domaine des Terres Dorées (Jean-Paul Brun) Fleurie
By: Dulcinea Gonzalez | Review Date: 5/18/2017 | Send Email
They don't call Fleurie "The Queen of Beaujolais” for nothing! Here you have a deceptively light-on-the-palate wine that has amazing structure. With bright red fruit and a hint of rose, this is easy to drink but must be taken seriously to truly appreciate. A super bottle at $20, and perfect for your next summer get-together!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JG 92 VN 92

2014 Domaine des Terres Dorées (Jean-Paul Brun) Fleurie "Grille Midi"
By: Andrew Stevens | Review Date: 5/18/2017 | Send Email
This was my second time getting to taste the Grille Midi and it is showing so incredibly well. Dark cherry nose with an herbal undertone that can be confused for Pinot Noir leads to a surprising layered and complex body. The berry here is a bit darker with earthier notes and tannic structure to balance out the acid. Notes of smoky spice also add to complexity here and the finish is super smooth. Drinking beautifully now, this bottle will also be good for a number of years.

1982 Miltonduff 34 Year Old "John Milroy" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
By: Andrew Stevens | Review Date: 5/18/2017 | Send Email
Like so many of the Milroy line this bottle of Miltonduff is all about beautiful complexity and elegance, the finesse of a master rather than the punch of youth. Slightly sweet floral notes with hints of mint and citrus give way to a layered mid palate of dried orchard fruit, a touch of vanilla and toffee with a long finish. This is the magic of old Miltonduff, this is beautifully matured Scotch.
Price: $229.99 Add To Cart

2014 Domaine des Terres Dorées (Jean-Paul Brun) Fleurie "Grille Midi"
By: Dulcinea Gonzalez | Review Date: 5/18/2017 | Send Email
The Jean Paul Brun portfolio has been an amazing source for the gorgeous 2014 vintage, showing off the distinct regions of Beaujolais with ready-to-drink wines, capable of improving in a cellar. One of the crème de la crème in the bunch is the the Fleurie Grille Midi, which is expressive from start to finish. Hints of clove and cherry permeate from the glass, with a bright, Burgundian Pinot-esqe middle, and lengthy mineral finish. This is a terrific bottle!

2016 Marquis d'Alesme, Margaux
By: Ralph Sands | Review Date: 5/18/2017 | Send Email
2016 Marquis d’Alseme is 70% CS, 30% M, 10% PV. Framed by a super bright, effusive nose of sweet blackberry and blueberry that floats briskly across the palate, this is firm, pure and fresh, linear and so attractive! 2 Stars for the first time!

1982 Miltonduff 34 Year Old "John Milroy" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
By: Jeffrey Jones | Review Date: 5/18/2017 | Send Email
This older single malt is still alive with energy and flavor and is not over the hill. The nose offers notes of honey and caramel. In the mouth it is complex with caramel, malt and honey flavors. With the addition of a splash of water there is a creamy mouthfeel but one does not need water to enjoy this whiskey. This is one of the better old single malts that I have tasted.
Price: $229.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine des Terres Dorées (Jean-Paul Brun) Moulin-a-Vent
By: Andrew Stevens | Review Date: 5/18/2017 | Send Email
Showcasing the warmer vintage of 2015 does not mean this wine falls flat and flabby in any way. Dark and smokey notes on the nose play with the wild cherry and spice. There is plenty of structure here with some herbal notes and a mouth-coating tannic feel that can fool you into thinking you opened a bottle from another area of Burgundy. Looking for a Gamay that will happily play with a roast or pork loin? This wine will happily come to dinner.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JG 92 JS 92

2015 Domaine Marcel Lapierre "Cuvée Camille" Morgon
By: Sarah Covey | Review Date: 5/18/2017 | Send Email
While I'm shy about saying it, I'm going to be honest here--I have only ever brought two bottles of Beaujolais home from work in the course of my tenure, and the "Camille" from Lapierre was the bottle I drank with my steak this Tuesday night while watching the Warriors crush the Spurs in Game 2 of the 2017 NBA Playoffs. Raspberry, strawberry, red plum, currant, and spice, with medium plus acidity and medium tannin. Very well-balanced and pretty, this hearty Beaujolais stood up nicely with my steak and was exactly what I wanted on a cool Bay Area spring evening! Pro Tip: decant this IMMEDIATELY once you decide to have it with your meal--it needs a whole day to open up, or it shows some barnyard funkiness. Let it breathe properly, and it will be pretty, pretty, pretty!

2014 Domaine des Terres Dorées (Jean-Paul Brun) Moulin-a-Vent Les Thorins"
By: Dulcinea Gonzalez | Review Date: 5/18/2017 | Send Email
Packing a hedonistic punch is the full-bodied Moulin a Vent Les Thorins. This is a beautifully structured wine showing lots of power and concentration with notes of plum and cherry. The finish is long, with ripe, perfectly integrated tannins and shows a Burgundian-like earthiness. Big and beautiful, this has plenty of aging potential, but will still be an amazing drinking partner with a charcuterie platter tonight.
Price: $25.99 Add To Cart
VN 93 JS 91

2014 Dominus "Napanook" Napa Valley Bordeaux Blend
By: Mari Keilman | Review Date: 5/18/2017 | Send Email
It's impossible to believe that the Napanook is a second wine because most first wines aren't this good! And it's impossible to believe that Dominus was able to pull off another amazing showing after their stellar, critically acclaimed year in 2013. Few wineries are able to achieve such critical success two vintages in a row but Dominus is able to pull it off vintage after vintage. The '14 Napanook is classic Bordeaux style. Quintessential aromatics of savory herb, sweet tobacco, graphite and black currants are amply supported by a supple, silky texture that screams finesse. Add a ripe, medium to full body mid-palate and a persistently long finish of black raspberries and violets and you can easily understand why Dominus deserves the respect it gets.

2014 Dominus "Napanook" Napa Valley Bordeaux Blend
By: Illya Haase | Review Date: 5/18/2017 | Send Email
I love it when wine surprises me! I went in thinking the Napanook was going to be this BIG, RICH, FULL-bodied monster. What I got was an elegant, medium-bodied wine. With wonderful savory and mineral notes, with a host of graphite, floral and dark berry fruit that open up in the glass. Graceful acidity, which is a good indicator that this wine is in for the long hall! So if you can give it a couple of years you will be rewarded.

2014 Domaine des Terres Dorées (Jean-Paul Brun) Fleurie
By: Andrew Stevens | Review Date: 5/18/2017 | Send Email
Although this wine starts on the nose with bright red berry and spice it hides a surprisingly weighty structure. Tart acid and spice are wrapped around dense crystalline bones that hold this wine up and make you take note. Very complex layers of cranberry, spice, wild cherry, and herbal touches mean this will be a phenomenal food wine and also give hints to the ageability this wine has to offer.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JG 92 VN 92

2014 Domaine des Terres Dorées (Jean-Paul Brun) Saint-Amour
By: Andrew Stevens | Review Date: 5/18/2017 | Send Email
With notes of wild cherry and raspberry on the nose and a lovely tart mid palate, this is precisely the type of Beaujolais I tend to gravitate to. There is a pleasing balance between the fruit, acid and structure that keeps the wine fresh, but does not sacrifice length and depth. On a sunny day like today this is exactly the type of red that calls my name.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart
VN 93 RP 91

2015 Domaine Jean-Claude Lapalu Cote de Brouilly
By: Alex Pross | Review Date: 5/18/2017 | Send Email
A classically-styled Cote de Brouilly the 2015 Domaine jean Claude Lapalu is a pretty red wine. Loaded with spice and black cherry flavors this mineral-driven red is the perfect foil for chicken and spicy cuisines.
Top Value!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
RP 93

2015 Domaine Jean-Claude Lapalu "Tentation" Beaujolais-Villages
By: Alex Pross | Review Date: 5/18/2017 | Send Email
This should immediately become your go to summer red. Perfect for a picnic, bbq or entertaining friends on the deck the 2015 Domaine Jean Claude Lapalu "Tenation" Beaujolais is a wine to be enjoyed with friends and family. Gorgeous red fruit permeates throughout the first sniff to the final sip in this seductive red wine. Just think to yourself candied cherry fruit and fresh aromas of macerated cherries.
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
RP 91

2015 Domaine Marcel Lapierre "Cuvée Lapierre MMXV" Morgon
By: Alex Pross | Review Date: 5/18/2017 | Send Email
Power is the name of the game with the Cuvee MMXV. The tete de cuvee from Marcel Lapierre this is a connoisseur's Beaujolais meant to showcase the greatness of the vintage years from now. A firm core of tightly-wound fruit nicely buffered by acidity and tannin make this wine a legend in the making. Tuck a few of the beauties away and in a few years you'll be handsomely rewarded with greatness in the bottle.
Top Value!
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart
VN 94

2015 Domaine Marcel Lapierre "Cuvée Camille" Morgon
By: Alex Pross | Review Date: 5/18/2017 | Send Email
When you are tasting one of the greatest producers from a region it is sometimes hard to express how amazing their wines are. Lapierre's wines are a deft mix of fruit, terroir and vintage characteristics that lift Morgon to heights rarely seen. 2015 is an incredible vintage in Beaujolais and the 2015 Marcel Lapierre "Cuvee Camille" Morgon is the highest expression of both the vintage and appellation. Sourced from 75 year-old vines this packed with cherry and pomegranate wine has perfect balance, fine tannins and bright acidity. If there is a better wine from Beaujolais in 2015 I don't think I have tasted it.
Top Value!

2015 Domaine des Terres Dorées (Jean-Paul Brun) Moulin-a-Vent
By: Alex Pross | Review Date: 5/18/2017 | Send Email
Spicy dark red fruits are the hallmark of this delicious Moulin-a-Vent. Black cherry, licorice and cola notes mingle on the palate while cool acidity helps to give the finish lift. This wine demonstrates great texture and balance a hallmark of the stunning 2015 vintage in Beaujolais.
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JG 92 JS 92

2014 Domaine des Terres Dorées (Jean-Paul Brun) Moulin-a-Vent Les Thorins"
By: Alex Pross | Review Date: 5/18/2017 | Send Email
Stunningly good. Rose petal and hibiscus notes deftly blend with cherry aromas on the savory nose. There's an amazing concentration of cherry fruit as well pomegranate and cranberry fruit. The wine is incredibly sleek and suave with great energy and lift. The finish is long with great freshness and vivacity. From start-to-finish this is a top-notch offering.
Top Value!
Price: $25.99 Add To Cart
VN 93 JS 91

1989 Linkwood 27 Year Old "John Milroy" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
By: Jeffrey Jones | Review Date: 5/18/2017 | Send Email
I always look forward to getting a bottling from Linkwood because Linkwood usually offers both good aromatics and great flavors. This bottling from John Milroy has an expressive and pronounced nose of honey and beeswax. In the mouth it is juicy with light and pretty notes of honey and a delicious finish. I tasted this offering with no additional water.
Price: $149.99 Add To Cart

2014 Domaine des Terres Dorées (Jean-Paul Brun) Fleurie
By: Alex Pross | Review Date: 5/18/2017 | Send Email
This is an incredibly energetic red wine. Aromas of bing cherry and fresh herbs dominate throughout. Zesty and alive the crunchy red fruit with zippy acidity makes this an elegant Fleurie that is drinking beautifully right now.
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JG 92 VN 92

2014 Domaine des Terres Dorées (Jean-Paul Brun) Fleurie "Grille Midi"
By: Alex Pross | Review Date: 5/18/2017 | Send Email
Red fruit aromas dominate throughout this gorgeous red wine. There's perfect balance between fruit, acid and tannins here, with red cherry fruit, raspberry and strawberry flavors galore. If you were to blind taste this beauty you could easily mistake it for a Vosne Romanee because it has that harmonious feel of pretty fruit and seductive aromas. This is easily one of the best Beaujolais' I have tasted this year!!
Top Value!

2014 Domaine des Terres Dorées (Jean-Paul Brun) Saint-Amour
By: Alex Pross | Review Date: 5/18/2017 | Send Email
Beautiful floral aromas combine with fresh macerated berry scents that seamlessly give way to dried cranberry and red cherry flavors. Classic structure and great lift make this an ultra-appealing offering.
Top Value!
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart
VN 93 RP 91

Blason Isonzo Bianco (3L Bag-in-a-Box) (cannot ship)
By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 5/18/2017 | Send Email
Back by popular demand. I think there is no tastier, more versatile white wine in our store right now. This is three liters (that’s like four bottles), and there is nothing that beats this Pinot Bianco for value and pure drinkability. It combines the body and weight of Chardonnay (to which it is distantly related) and the minerality and freshness of Pinot Grigio. The perfect cocktail white. We sold out of this quickly last summer, so buy a couple of these. This is a great wine to serve at your Labor Day party, for camping, or just for the last warm days of an Indian summer. Sadly, we cannot ship this wine.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

Page: 1 2 3 next >>