Staff Favorites

If you’re going to have Robert Parker or Stephen Tanzer over for dinner, selecting a wine they’ve rated highly will be a nice choice. However, when you’re buying wines for yourself, we’d love to see you find wines that match up your unique palate and pocketbook. We have a large staff of friendly and knowledgeable wine professionals that taste hundreds of wines each week. They can put you in touch with bottles that you are likely to love, often at a much lower cost than the highly-rated gems that often see a run-up in price and frequent availability issues. Like any great group of opinionated professionals, our staff has varied tastes themselves. Often our customers will find a particular staff member with a style that corresponds to their own. That concept works extremely well in our retail stores, and this section is our effort to bring you the same online. Don’t get us wrong, we love the highly rated wines from the press and will continue to offer them, but we think you’re missing out if you’re not augmenting those selections with picks from our excellent staff. Here are their favorites. (Click on a name to see their other selections - or to drop them a line.) Cheers!

Reviews

  
Page: 1 2 3 next >>
Glenlivet 12 Year Old Speyside Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 3/29/2017 | Send Email
Glenlivet 12 is the ubiquitous favorite of so many, there's just nothing wrong with it. It's a benchmark whisky and responsible for defining an entire style and introducing an entire generation of drinkers to single malt. It remains a wonderful value and one of best-selling whiskies in the store.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

2005 Caol Ila Cask Strength Gordon & MacPhail Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 3/29/2017 | Send Email
The fabulous Gordon & Macphail Caol Ila Cask Strength is always one of their best offerings. Contract purchased and filled into their own barrels (in this case refill hogsheads), the Caol Ila doesn't lose any of its character being aged in the G&M Warehouses in Elgin. Not far from the ocean by any means, but not quite as rugged as the coast of Islay, this fabulous little whisky only needs about a decade to reach a stupendous level of depth and complexity. This is briny oysters, intense lemon, iodine, salted nuts and old leather. I enjoy this one straight out of the bottle, but its intensity does lend itself to a hefty dollop of water. An absolute gem as always.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart

Aberlour 12 Year Old Speyside Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 3/29/2017 | Send Email
Aberlour 12 year is a fine little whisky from the tiny distillery in the town of the same name. At this price it's hard to argue with their Double Cask Matured entry level. It's a great alternative to Balvenie Doublewood or even the 'Farclas 12 year each at $10 more than the Aberlour. Expect a good malty base note, subtle fruit framed around easy sherry influences, dried fruit, dark chocolate, and baking spice spice. Solid stuff.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
WE 97

Balvenie 17 Year Old Doublewood Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 3/29/2017 | Send Email
Balvenie released the 17 year follow-up to the ultra-popular 12 year Doublewood to attack a price and age range that they'd historically been avoiding. We used to get the oddball cask finishes in the 17 year range (peated, Madeira, Islay, etc), but for standard offerings Balvenie went straight from 12 to 21. Assuming the 12 year Doublewood spends 10 years in ex-bourbon/hogshead and 2 years in ex-sherry, we can assume this simply spends another 5 years or so in sherry before bottling. Deep and darker than the 12 year, there's still tons of fresh vanilla and oak poking through the rich toffee and nutty sherry. A wonderful balance between the fragrant freshness of the Aberlour spirit, the rich oak flavors, and the dense sherry influence.
Price: $125.99 Add To Cart

Kilchoman 100% Islay Barley Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 3/29/2017 | Send Email
Kilchoman's lofty goal of producing Islay Whisky from 100% Islay ingredients might take another 100 years to achieve (I haven't seen them planting any oak trees), but they've gone 99% of the way and produce one of the most unique and delicious Islay malts nonetheless. Always with the 100% Islay we get more of a spirit-driven style than the other Kilchoman and I know why they won't obfuscate this wonderful whisky. Ultra sweet malt, super citrus, sweet salty nuts and more citrus. Zippy, briny, mineral, yet somehow still sweet fruity malt on the palate. This is malt whisky for mezcal lovers. Serve with a slice of orange and some toasted chapulines.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart

Dalwhinnie 15 Year Old Highland Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 3/29/2017 | Send Email
Dalwhinnie 15 year is one of those wonderful malts that tends to turn non-Scotch people into whisky fanatics. The lightly peated malt of Dalwhinnie is aged to perfect maturity in their excellent 15 year offering and certainly deserves its place in the Classic Malt portfolio. The beautiful distillery produces a fruity style that shows no signs of peat on the nose by the time its 15 years old. Instead, expect toasty oak, amber honey, floral oils and baked apple. The palate is rather sweet with the tiniest hints of smoke popping out at the end. Malty and fresh, this is easy-drinking stuff with plenty of character behind that sense of overt pleasure.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

Glenrothes Vintage Reserve Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 3/29/2017 | Send Email
Glenrothes wants this flagship whisky to be a premium offering to compete with the likes of Macallan 12 year. Somehow we're able to get this incredible pricing, and for less than $40 this is incredibly great value. Earthy malt, flinty, vanilla, oak and baking spice. Solid stuff at this price.
Price: $32.99 Add To Cart

Douglas Laing's Big Peat Islay Blended Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
By: Jeffrey Jones | Review Date: 3/29/2017 | Send Email
This blend of single malts from Islay offers a great profile of the best tastes that Islay has to enjoy. It is big and smoky, with elements of salt and sea thrown in, all put together with some round and pretty malt flavors. Complex and interesting, it offers a lot to explore.
Price: $64.99 Add To Cart
WE 92

2015 Quartz Reef "Bendigo Single Vineyard" Pinot Noir Central Otago (Biodynamic)
By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 3/29/2017 | Send Email
Potentially the best-ever release of this wine. I have long admired Rudi's wines at Quartz Reef and elsewhere but this wine has the x-factor. Hailing from a single, steep, Biodynamic certified, hillside vineyard in the Bendigo sub-region of Central Otago, this wine shows the pedigree and structure would would expect from one of Rudi's wines. However its real allure is the purity of fruit and its exuberance both aromatically and on the palate. This sub-region is known for more masculine, structured wines with dark fruit and formidable tannins, but this wine is so accessible and expressive even as a youngster. The tannins are polished, the fruit is bold with perfectly judged ripeness; hints of mineral and wild thyme add a distinctive sense of place; some exotic spice notes from the French oak maturation add a final touch of class. This is a Pinot that you can WOW people with. It captures the classic elements of Central Otago Pinot (as you would expect from one of the region's founding fathers) but also has an international appeal and luxurious quality that way surpasses our stunningly low importer-direct price point.
Top Value!
Price: Hidden View Price
RP 95

2012 Salwey "Estate" Pinot Noir Baden
By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 3/29/2017 | Send Email
Pinot Noir is one of the world's most prestigious grapes but few are familiar with the versions produced in Germany. Well now, is definitely the time to get on board, as the Salwey delivers the smoky spices that I associate with the Baden region while also delivering ripe red fruit and savory spicy notes. I love cooler climate Pinots for their wilder brushy notes, and the Salwey is reminiscent of the wines of Marsannay and in riper vintages like this, maybe a meaty Pommard. This is exceptional terroir-driven Pinot that is not to be missed.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
WE 94

2014 Farnetella Chianti Colli Senesi
By: John Downing | Review Date: 3/29/2017 | Send Email
With the tremendous demand for the previous vintage of this Chianti and the recent popularity of their "Lucilla" blend, many have been asking when this one would arrive. Well, it's back and it's delicious. The wine is soft, juicy and medium-bodied with flavorful cherry fruit and mild acidity. I find this wine to be both generous and inviting and perfect to drink now. It also reminds me of the great, inexpensive Chianti so many of our customers discover on their journeys through Tuscany but can't seem to find here.
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart
JS 90

2014 Cantina Terlan "Vorberg" Pinot Bianco Alto Adige Riserva
By: Rachel Vogel | Review Date: 3/29/2017 | Send Email
I love a good age-worthy white wine and this Terlan Pinot Bianco is just that. The depth and texture of the wine reminds me of a premier cru Bourgogne blanc, making it a wonderful wine to enjoy now, the high elevation of the vineyard site adds acidity making it cellar-friendly. If enjoying now you will find a light aromatics that lead into a beautiful floral and full bodied wine. It is elegant and not overreaching. Stunning from start to finish.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
VN 94 WE 92

2015 André Ostertag "Barriques" Pinot Blanc Alsace (Biodynamic)
By: Andrew Stevens | Review Date: 3/29/2017 | Send Email
This is the type of wine that I have fallen in love with for so many reasons. First and foremost because of how versatile it is for food pairing. There is a beautiful richness here with stone fruit that leads to a mouth-watering acid keeping this wine light and fresh. In other words there is enough body to stand up, structure to keep it long, and acid to keep it fresh and desirable. In addition, it is delicious, seriously good without the serious price tag.
Price: Hidden View Price

2013 La Monacesca "Mirum" Verdicchio di Matelica Riserva
By: Christina Stanley | Review Date: 3/29/2017 | Send Email
This is a beautiful, full-bodied and quite powerful Verdicchio with great focus and concentration. Golden with flecks of green with aromas of honey and almond, with persistent briny mineral notes. The wine has an almost oily mouthfeel and noticeable tannin from skin contact that can stand up to any cream sauce. This wine would be a great complement to a hearty bouillabaisse!
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart
W&S 92 WE 91

2015 Adegas Valtea Albariño Rias Baixas
By: Anthony Gittings | Review Date: 3/29/2017 | Send Email
The latest Albarino offering from Adegas Valtea is a must-have for anyone who loves the varietal. The thing that most stands out to me is that the wine offers a much fuller approach than most I have tried. A rich and round mouthfeel that has an expressive apple and tropical fruit appeal. Beautifully integrated acid and a nice long, dry finish make this an instant classic.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

1995 Glen Garioch 20 Year Old "John Milroy" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
By: Anthony Russo | Review Date: 3/29/2017 | Send Email
This Scotch is impressively layered and held together with a touch of peat. Flavors of stone fruit, oranges, and caramel all balance each other out, yet individually shine. A "must-have" for drinkers of elegantly structured Scotches.
Price: $119.99 Add To Waiting List

2016 Franck Millet "K&L Cuvee" Sancerre Blanc Vieilles Vignes
By: Alex Schroeder | Review Date: 3/29/2017 | Send Email
Very robust flavors of citrus, lemongrass, pineapple and melon are at the core of this Sancerre Blanc made from the old vines of our good friends Franck and Betty Millet. The density from the old vine fruit is balanced out by focused acidity and chalky minerality. Once again this Millet Sancerre well outperforms its price-point.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2014 Valle dell'Acate "Tenuta Ibidini" Nero d'Avola Sicilia
By: Diana Turk | Review Date: 3/29/2017 | Send Email
Dusty on the nose, with that unmistakable licorice note that only comes from Nero D’Avola, "Tenuta Ibidini" opens with concentrated dried currants followed by dark berry fruit – both blue and black – and lively acid. I paired this fruit-forward Sicilian red with a garlicky penne arrabiata and it balanced the heat beautifully.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

Glenfarclas 21 Year Old Distillery Bottling Highland Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 3/29/2017 | Send Email
The very special Glenfarclas 21 year, like the entire line from the special distillery outside of Aberlour, is an exquisite value. Having recently retasted the 21, I felt compelled to reiterate just how delicious it actually is. 'Farclas has tons of richness in all its offerings, but the 21 seems to be the most vibrant and alive of the standard offerings. Tons of rich tropical fruit and sherry spice without a ton of raisin or prune. The richness on the palate should be noted as well as the complex blend of fruit, spice and fudge. I'm absolutely in love with this one and recent bottlings are tasting better and better.
Price: $129.99 Add To Cart

2013 Hacienda Monasterio Ribera del Duero Crianza
By: David Driscoll | Review Date: 3/29/2017 | Send Email
This is the type of bottle you bring to a party where it absolutely destroys every other wine on the table. California fans who appreciate milder Cabs, heavier Pinot Noirs, balanced Zinfandels, and silky tannins from front to back will likely fall head over heels for this lovely little Ribero del Duero. There's a reason the experts have been predicting a Spanish renaissance for years at this point: the quality-to-dollar ratio is absolutely insane (just like partying in Barcelona, you end up getting a carafe of wine, a cheese plate, and endless snacks for like nine dollars). The Monasterio is a seamless wave of absolutely gorgeous red berry fruit that creeps slowly over the palate with precision. I have to imagine the fruit will reside over time and secondary flavors will emerge, but when it tastes this good right now you'd be hard-pressed to lay off. This is beautiful stuff. It's accessible, yet complex. Easy to like, but nuanced and layered. Like I said at the beginning, bring this to a dinner party and set your watch; they'll be oohing and ahhing in a matter of minutes.

2013 Hacienda Monasterio Ribera del Duero Crianza
By: Gary Norton | Review Date: 3/29/2017 | Send Email
There is often plenty of upside to difficult vintages and this bottle is a prime example of such. I'll roll the dice any day when I know that some incredibly high quality (and generally incredibly expensive) fruit is declassified and blended into an entry-level, or estate bottling. This wine is just seamless, showing notes of dark berries, leather and mocha. This should age gracefully for much longer than your average Crianza. This bottle is definitely worth a hard look but frankly, I don't expect it to be here for long.

2012 Miguel Merino Mazuelo de Quinta Cruz Rioja
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 3/29/2017 | Send Email
This 100% Carignane bottling has brambly aromas and a rustic edge to the fruity middle. Wonderful balancing acidity keeps this hearty and earthy, food-friendly wine fresh enough to sip on its own--but seriously, bring on the grilled meats.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2013 Hacienda Monasterio Ribera del Duero Crianza
By: Dulcinea Gonzalez | Review Date: 3/29/2017 | Send Email
Never mind Napa, here's a Ribera Del Duero to sink your teeth into! This bold Tempranillo shows power and intensity from start to finish. Framed with ripe, red berry fruit and dark flavored spices, this is lush on the palate with a fine tannin finish. What a killer steakhouse wine, that won't break the bank! Recommended!

2015 Abbazia di Novacella "Praepositus" Kerner
By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 3/29/2017 | Send Email
This Kerner is fresh and dry with subtle aromas of flowers, green apples and lemons. Enjoy it by the pool, with goat cheese or spicy foods or grilled fish. This wine pairs well with almost everything!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
WE 95 JS 92

2013 Hacienda Monasterio Ribera del Duero Crianza
By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 3/29/2017 | Send Email
Impressive, the nose of this wine is a complex blend of concentrated fruit, spice and earth that reaches out to you and beckons you in. It isn’t bursting out of the glass, it’s pooling under the surface. On the palate this is a really focused, well made wine, in a bit of an “international” style but for someone like me who doesn’t like “international” style it’s not over the top. The wine is dense yet very linear, not clunky or fat. It’s a powerful, yet supple wine; tannin is evident but with its linear axis aligned the tannins elongate and balance. The finish carries through with a savory, complex fruit character, long and balanced.
Drink from 2018 to 2018

2013 Can Mayol Loxarel "Refugi" Reserva Brut Nature Penedes
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 3/29/2017 | Send Email
This is clean and focused with orchard fruits and apple tones to the somewhat leesy entry. The Chardonnay makes its presence felt in the mid-palate then the fine finish leaves a chalky freshness.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
RP 92

2014 Maillet, Pomerol
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 3/29/2017 | Send Email
This has interesting toasty aromas and a sweet but lithe and supple body that maintains poise and elegance. There is an interesting caramel note on the soft, smooth finish. Easy to drink and very tasty.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
Limit of 12 per customer

2013 Hacienda Monasterio Ribera del Duero Crianza
By: Alex Pross | Review Date: 3/29/2017 | Send Email
A stunning wine, the 2013 Hacienda Monasterio Ribera Del Duero knocks your socks off from the very first sniff from the glass. Loaded with seductive aromas of raspberry, rose petals and spice notes this elegant, delineated wine displays remarkable finesse and complexity. Red fruits, spice notes and cola subtly weave around a core of fine tannins and bright acidity. This wine is delightful and is the perfect match for pork, veal or lamb dishes with its bright red fruit and great balance.
Top Value!

2012 Salwey "Estate" Pinot Noir Baden
By: Diana Turk | Review Date: 3/29/2017 | Send Email
Nimble, aromatic, rustic yet nuanced – this incredibly tasty Pinot Noir from southern Germany seriously overdelivers for the price. Dark with plum fruit initially, the Salwey Estate also has subtle smoke and more obvious spice, with a lingering finish. While it drank beautifully upon first opening, this 2012 only got better with time as the considerable acidity softened and more concentrated berry fruit came forward. Lighter-bodied and focused, this shows off Baden’s volcanic soil but doesn’t come across as sharp, just deliciously bright. I took home two bottles within days of each other, it was so good.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
WE 94

2009 Bois-Malot, Bordeaux Supérieur
By: Alex Schroeder | Review Date: 3/29/2017 | Send Email
If you enjoy steak & claret regularly like I do, an affordable Bordeaux from a great vintage and producer like this is a godsend! It is classic Bordeaux in structure, with supple red fruit with a touch of savoriness, and the soft ample tannins typical of the vintage. Claret drinkers could definitely benefit from having a case of this quality everyday Bordeaux around.
Top Value!
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart

Macallan 18 Year Old Speyside Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 3/29/2017 | Send Email
Here is the Rolls-Royce of single malt. Not everybody needs a Rolls-Royce--some people dream of one, others detest the idea of luxury for luxury's sake. Nonetheless, Macallan has built a reputation over the last half century for producing the finest sherried malts on the planet. Geeks will argue about whether that's still the case, but no one can deny that this is top-notch stuff. When you buy Mac 18, you're making a lifestyle choice. That's why I call it a "message malt." It sends a strong message no matter what you're trying to say.
Price: $239.99 Add To Cart
WE 92 WA 91

Glen Garioch 12 Year Old Highland Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 3/29/2017 | Send Email
The Glen Garioch distillery is one of Scotland's oldest and most legendary. Their flagship 12 year old remains an absolute classic. This distillery has been through a few owners and several stylistic changes in the last 40 years, but as stalwart steward for the Eastern Highlands style it has no equal. One thing that always amazes me about modern Glen Garioch is the opulent cereal qualities it's malt exhibits. Malted oats, sweet grain, floral honey and an attractive leafiness. On the palate some citrus, more grains, soft round texture added by the higher proof and some flinty pepper notes. Some water and the orchard fruits come out. A wonderful distinctive Highlander that should be considered a benchmark for any Scotch lover.
Price: $54.99 Add To Cart
WE 91

1997 Ben Nevis 18 Year Old "John Milroy" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 3/29/2017 | Send Email
This killer Ben Nevis is one of the best values we've seen from the Highland Distillery, which can often command a hefty premium. The nose is almost textbook Highland Malt for me. Big notes of fresh heather, whisps of something fusible (maybe it's camphor or lamp oil), sweet herbal honey, lump sugar, moss growing up the banks of a babbling brook in a dark forest somewhere. Ok, sorry about that one, but seriously it's a bit mossy. On the palate, rich malt, slight hints of fresh peat, and a wonderful full bodied texture. This one loves water and some time in the glass. It cleans it out a bit and brings out this wonderful golden fruit, mirabelle, fresh herbs and a old copper coins. Some whiffs of aged white wine. Maybe more some preserved lemon and a gravelly note that pops up on the palate. This one is an absolute cranking for the price.
Price: $59.99 Add To Waiting List

2006 Mortlach 10 Year Old "John Milroy" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 3/29/2017 | Send Email
This is ultra clean restrained Mortlach that showcases the spirit in a way that we rarely get to see. Quite restrained at full strength with only hints of powdered candy, fresh malt, and tinge of dried herbs. With a drop of water, the incredible amount of interaction with oils is evident and the resulting explosion of flavor is shocking. Like the freshest Barlett Pears being sliced in front of you, tangerine peels, honeysuckle, not a beefy funky Mortlach, but a floral mineral note that reminds me of the best Alsatian wines. I really recommend just the tiniest drop and not more and with that on the palate we get tons of fresh ginger, more pear (the skins this time), sweet malt, and a earthy gentian note on the finish. This is that wild aperitif style that I love and while subtle, it's ultimately and absolute pleasure to drink.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

Lagavulin 8 Year Old Limited Edition Islay Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 3/28/2017 | Send Email
Absolute magic! I've always been a bigger fan of the out of control cask strength 12 year old over the (still wonderful) standard 16 year. To be able to get an affordable, if slightly tame version of that is an exceptional score! There's just SO much going on here. This is real deal stinky briny, sooty oily Lagavulin. I'm not even going to bother attempting to describe this further, but this is without a doubt one of the best peaty whiskies on the shelf at any price. Forget the age and focus on the flavor. $60? Laphroaig Cask Strength and Ardbeg Uiggy have another for contender here for best bang for your buck peater in the store and I'm leaning toward the man in the middle. Good old laggy, lag, we don't deserve you.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

Clear Creek McCarthy's Oregon Single Malt Whiskey (750ml)
By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 3/28/2017 | Send Email
The lovely McCarthy Whiskey is our friend Steve's real legacy and it was bitter sweet to try this new batch now that he's passed the reins on to new owners. Steve is just a fabulous distiller and since the distillery acquired the Clear Creek Brand at the beginning of 2014 and McCarthy's is always aged 3 years in Oregon Oak, this is likely the last of his personal distillate. The small scale has always meant subtle difference in each bottling, so batch variations is to be expected here. While the aging and blended would have been completed by the new owners at Hood River, the heart of this spirit is still Steve's. It remains a wonderful and unique offering, that's equal parts clean peat and woodsy oak. One the palate the campfire and pine notes really turn up. Many years ago, Steve had a great idea to buy peaty Scottish barley from Islay, distill it on a pot and age it in Oregon Oak and hopefully his legacy will continue for many years to come, but right now this whiskey remains a classic as it always has been, delicious!
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

2000 Benrinnes 16 Year Old "John Milroy" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
By: Anthony Russo | Review Date: 3/28/2017 | Send Email
What an awesome buy at the price! Although this Scotch has some age to it, the youthful fruit complexities still shine bright and keep the flavors interesting through a long, smooth finish. This is the bottle for sipping on a sunny porch with some good tunes.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

Balvenie 12 Year Old Single Barrel Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 3/28/2017 | Send Email
The very special Balvenie 12 Year Single Barrel is really where real connoisseur of this Speyside gem should start their journey. This is true NAKED obfuscated Balvenie. Indeed, it is equally unchilltered and has much more body and richness than the standard 12 year. You don't get the tinge of Sherry that the Doublewood provides, but this is easily twice the whisky only a slight premium over the standard offering. The nose is chalked full of the most subtle aromatics and picking them out is difficult due to the complexity. Tons of fresh malt, ripe green and yellow fruits, wild herbal undertones. On palate, plenty of those stones fruits taking front and center. Great texture, great freshness and a wonderful minty malty finish. These are of course single barrels so subtle differences exist, but I haven't had a stinker yet. Grab them while you can.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

1995 Tormore 20 Year Old "John Milroy" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
By: Anthony Russo | Review Date: 3/28/2017 | Send Email
Elegance at its best, this 20 year old is a bit lighter on the peat and has soft caramel flavors that provide the structure. Less herbal and grassy, there is an amazing orange zest flavor that make this spirit seem alive.
Price: $89.99 Add To Waiting List

Highland Park 12 Year Old Isle of Orkney Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 3/28/2017 | Send Email
Highland Park remains a sleeper despite the some international attention, it hasn't achieved the heights the it's sister distillery in Speyside has. Perhaps that's because it comes from the far flung Isle of Orkney or maybe it's just that HP isn't as flashy as her Sherried southern sister. Highland Park has been consistently producing some of the best malts anywhere in the world since 1798. Traditionally, Highland Park (many years ago) was a big smoky sooty oily funky monsters. In modern times the distillery has adopted a more subtle style. I guess the move away from floor maltings has increase it's availability and consistency. What's great about modern HP 12 is one of those slightly peated malts that almost anyone can appreciate. When someone asks for something with just a little bit of smoke, we really don't have a lot of options. With HP 12 you can expect a nose fresh malt, sweet honey, slight green woodsy quality and the slightest smoldering peat left over night in the hearth. The Island vibe is not lost in HP and a soft briny note is present throughout. The palate remains on the malty side with the peat taking a back seat and the real highland character turning up. All in all a lovely little offering the remains quite affordable from this historic distillery.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart
WE 93 WA 90

1989 Linkwood 27 Year Old "John Milroy" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
By: Anthony Russo | Review Date: 3/28/2017 | Send Email
Big and graceful, the Linkwood has a bit more peat tones and a fantastic woody density. Grassy notes on the palate truly give this Scotch a sense of place. Settle into the couch after dinner with a glass of this.
Price: $149.99 Add To Waiting List

1996 Glen Moray 19 Year Old "John Milroy" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
By: Anthony Russo | Review Date: 3/28/2017 | Send Email
A little smokier, this is for someone who wants the whole package in their Scotch. It boasts beautiful, fresh cut cedar, a "clean-sugary" tone, and cigar box warmth. Delicious.
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart

Kavalan "Ex-Bourbon Oak" Taiwanese Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 3/28/2017 | Send Email
The excellent King Car Distillery in Taiwan's Northern Yilan County is quickly becoming one of the most successful around the world in terms of awards. Without a doubt the whiskies are fabulous, but it's the Kavalan Ex-Bourbon Oak is lowest mark in the line up that's really starting to get serious. Yes their standard King Car Single Malt is lovely, but for a mere $20 more you can get transported to a new level only a tick down in quality from the exceptional Solist offerings. Expect wonderful classic single malt flavors, big vanilla notes, powerful tropical fruit, deep underlying barrel spice. The bombastic and ultra opulent nature is what really sets Kavalan apart from it's more restrain counterparts in Scotland or Japan and the Ex-Bourbon is where that quality really begins to come out. Excellent stuff.
Price: $119.99 Add To Cart

Chairman's Reserve "The Forgotten Casks" St Lucia Rum (750ml)
By: Anthony Russo | Review Date: 3/28/2017 | Send Email
If the color doesn't get you excited, the aromas will. Wildflowers, fresh molasses, and aged cherry wood grace the nose and are followed by a crazy smooth mouth feel with just the right amount of bite. Perfect pairing with seasonal appetizers to open up the appetite.
Price: $37.99 Add To Cart

Chairman's Reserve "The Forgotten Casks" St Lucia Rum (750ml)
By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 3/28/2017 | Send Email
I've always loved the St Lucia Rums and while Chairman's Reserve has always provided solid drinking for the price, it was the IB single casks that really showed something special. Now this wonderful limited release "Forgotten Casks" bottling is here. It give all that wonderful St Lucia pot-still style without being so gnarly as to scare aware the uninitiated. Big notes of sweet oak, rich tropical, dense exotic woods and cigar box muffle the gorgeous funky pot-still note. On the palate the sweetness is restrained and the oak spice and fruit take over before that funky note return on the long soft finish. This is really good rum for serious lovers of the English style or anyone who can appreciate a complex brown spirit.
Price: $37.99 Add To Cart

2015 Amalaya Malbec Salta
By: Diana Turk | Review Date: 3/28/2017 | Send Email
Subtly savory on the nose and black-fruited though the palate, Amalaya’s 2015 Malbec is somehow both easygoing and structured, thanks to its 10% Tannat and hit of smoky Syrah. It’s as juicy as you’d want a red from Argentina to be, but with the fresh acidity and polish that makes wines from high-elevation Salta shine. A bright, quality option for Malbec fans – at a price too good to pass up.

2015 Don Rodolfo Malbec Mendoza
By: Diana Turk | Review Date: 3/28/2017 | Send Email
Impressive and sophisticated, the 2015 Don Rodolfo opens with an almost old world feel, presenting a dusty nose and hints of spice, but rings true to Argentinean Malbec’s black plum and dark, bold berry fruit through the palate. There is structure and some pepper to the finish, but overall this is a supremely drinkable, juicy option at a surprisingly low price.
Price: $8.99 Add To Cart
JS 90

2014 Antica Masseria di Sigillo Primitivo di Manduria
By: John Downing | Review Date: 3/27/2017 | Send Email
We receive numerous requests for Primitivo but in our attempt to source excellent, value priced ones the options have been few. Thankfully the 2014 Antica Masseria not only delivers but offers a California style ripeness combined with rich baked fruit flavors. It's a concentrated blend of sun soaked black cherry and mulberry flavors with additional hints of mocha throughout. This one's for those who love big, mouth-filling Zins and riper style fruit-driven wines. Fire up the grill and bring on the BBQ.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart
WS 90

2013 Xanadu Estate Cabernet Sauvignon Margaret River Western Australia
By: Stefanie Juelsgaard | Review Date: 3/27/2017 | Send Email
A truly delicious Cab from a hallmark Margaret River producer. This really is a great value for this complex yet highly approachable wine. It has the structure and earthiness reminiscent of Bordeaux, yet the silky mouthfeel is all courtesy of Aussie fruit. This wine exhibits fantastic balance and is absolutely drinkable now, which is dangerous given its low price point, it'd be easy to pick up a few every week.

2014 Antica Masseria di Sigillo Primitivo di Manduria
By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 3/27/2017 | Send Email
Reminiscent of a classic Amador county zinfandel, which is appropriate as Primitivo is the progenitor to our California zinfandels, this wine evokes deep berry flavors, roasted figs and Medjool dates on the palate with hints of brushy herbs and savory spices. The Italian sensibility shows through with nice acidity keeping the wine focused and on point. I can think of nothing better than a little osso bucco to go with this juicy hearty red.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart
WS 90

Page: 1 2 3 next >>