Staff Favorites

If you’re going to have Robert Parker or Stephen Tanzer over for dinner, selecting a wine they’ve rated highly will be a nice choice. However, when you’re buying wines for yourself, we’d love to see you find wines that match up your unique palate and pocketbook. We have a large staff of friendly and knowledgeable wine professionals that taste hundreds of wines each week. They can put you in touch with bottles that you are likely to love, often at a much lower cost than the highly-rated gems that often see a run-up in price and frequent availability issues. Like any great group of opinionated professionals, our staff has varied tastes themselves. Often our customers will find a particular staff member with a style that corresponds to their own. That concept works extremely well in our retail stores, and this section is our effort to bring you the same online. Don’t get us wrong, we love the highly rated wines from the press and will continue to offer them, but we think you’re missing out if you’re not augmenting those selections with picks from our excellent staff. Here are their favorites. (Click on a name to see their other selections - or to drop them a line.) Cheers!

Reviews

  
Page: 1 2 3 next >>
1998 Royal Brackla 17 Year Old "Hepburn's Choice" Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
By: Andrew Stevens | Review Date: 8/23/2016 | Send Email
In the embarrassment of riches coming from Scotland to us, there are always a few bottles that just absolutely stand out for me. On this incredible wave of whisky the 17-year-old Royal Brackla is one of those bottles. This distillery is owned by Bacardi and most of it goes into Dewars, so it is super rare to see any of it by itself—but of course the geek factor of this only works if what is in the bottle is any good. It very much is good, in fact it is so good that one is almost forced to wonder why we are selling it at this price. The secret is that we can sell it as this price and so we choose to do that rather than be another place that overcharges due to high demand for whisky. On the nose there is almost a maple bar sweetness with notes of peat and orange peel. Elegant smoke balances the peat and salted notes and leads to a spice finish that is super smooth. This whisky is way to good to miss out on so I would recommend that you do not.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

2007 La Rioja Alta "Viña Ardanza" Reserva Rioja
By: Andrew Stevens | Review Date: 8/23/2016 | Send Email
Absolutely classic Rioja, this is the kind of wine I can get into over and over again. Dried red fruit and tart cherry are well balanced by the spice and lively acid that give this wine drive. Although the 2007 vintage was a little cooler and did not have the ripeness of 2005 this wine benefits by having a little more elegance and focus. As much as I enjoyed the 2005 vintage I find I am responding as well to the new offering from them.

2004 Lopez de Heredia "Viña Tondonia" Reserva Rioja
By: Scott Beckerley | Review Date: 8/23/2016 | Send Email
I have always been a Tondonia (and Bosconia) fan and this latest release only confirms why I love it so. The earthy, spicy, tobacco nose has everything I expect from this wine...mushrooms, savory spices and a hint of tanned leather. On the palate, it starts off with bright, red cherries and follows up with round tannins, which is a wonderful surprise. Quite supple for this wine! It still has a lingering finish and bright acidity. A simply wonderful bargain for under 40 dollars.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
RP 94 WS 90

2015 Pike Road Willamette Valley Pinot Gris
By: Heather Vander Wall | Review Date: 8/23/2016 | Send Email
One of my favorite little finds for everyday drinking out of Oregon! The Pike Road Pinot Gris is a new wine from Elk Cove winery, made using their neighbor's grapes. This wine is light, tangy, and full of citrus and verbena notes. Tending to the more savory side of Pinot Gris, this wine is excellent with lighter dishes, salads, and hard-to-pair veggie plates.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2014 Pike Road Willamette Valley Pinot Noir
By: Heather Vander Wall | Review Date: 8/23/2016 | Send Email
One of the best Pinot Noirs in stock under $20! Pike Road Pinot Noir is made by Elk Cove, and bears many similarities to their Willamette Valley bottling, though with a lighter, fresher style. Elegant red berry fruit bursts pleasantly on the palate, with clean, fresh acidity and fine-grained tannin lending structure to the whole. Eminently easy-drinking and versatile, this may well be your next go-to Pinot!
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

2014 Clos de la Bonnette "Roches d'Arbuel" Condrieu
By: Olivia Ragni | Review Date: 8/23/2016 | Send Email
I can't believe it, we have a Direct Import Condrieu! And what a Condrieu it is! Elegant and beautiful with aromas of white flowers, wet stones, and yellow Mirabelle plum. The palate wraps your mouth in flavors of rosemary, quince, nectarine and beeswax. This white has big texture and length for days. This bottle drinks at much more than its price point.
Price: $54.99 Add To Cart

2015 Robert Cantin "Les Grezes" Pinot Noir Vin de France
By: Mahon McGrath | Review Date: 8/23/2016 | Send Email
I strongly encourage you to avail yourselves of this shapely Pinot Noir while you can. It is that rarest creatures—a value priced Pinot Noir that escapes being some Candy-Land ditch or being so odd that it is unidentifiable as the varietal it purports to be. Proportionate, with bright acidity, this leans to dark fruit with a loamy edge flavor-wise, and this vintage boasts a nice floral lift, too. You won’t jump out of your socks to taste it, but then there are always other bottles to turn to achieve that effect. For an everyday wine, however, it really cleans up.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

2013 Sparkman "Holler" Columbia Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
By: Shaun Green | Review Date: 8/23/2016 | Send Email
Oh Yes, Bryan was definitely right on this one. Just delicious and at a fantastic price. Creamy and velvety with a great texture and lots of smoothly transitioning layers. Cocoa, black fruits, lovely anise notes and a fantastic creamy oak edge. It's certainly a big winner and something you don't want to wait on, once it's tasted you'll want more, but it won't last.
Top Value!
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart
WS 94

2013 Sparkman "Holler" Columbia Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
By: Dave Genevro | Review Date: 8/23/2016 | Send Email
This Washington State Cabernet is delicious and ready to go. The concentration of blackberry and raspberry fruit is balanced, with some lovely sweet berries and lively textures on the mid-palate, which did not collide with each other on the rich, long and smooth finish. Serious bottle for the money. Let this wine breathe for an hour and let it pour! A great beef/steak wine.
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart
WS 94

2010 La Velona Brunello di Montalcino Riserva
By: Andrew Stevens | Review Date: 8/23/2016 | Send Email
For those looking to taste what all the press and buzz about Brunello from 2010 is all about, or for those who have been drinking these amazing wines for a long time, here is a new bottle that is for you. Rich, ripe and ready to drink, the La Velona welcomes all, a full body and a soft yet long and lingering finish. One of the amazing things about this wine is how well it is drinking now. Particularly at this price point, this is the type of 2010 Brunello to get a case of so as to have one now, and age the rest, and see how much better it is going to get.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
JS 93 RP 91

2014 Clos de la Bonnette "Roches d'Arbuel" Condrieu
By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 8/23/2016 | Send Email
When I visited this property in the spring of this year, it was quite a sight (and site) to behold. Just seeing the vineyards and the thoughtful detail in the farming practices, I knew before tasting the wines that I wanted to work with them. But of course, taste I must and everything I saw in the vineyards was confirmed in the glass. This is not hedonism, this is purity and balance. A focused and pure Condrieu, it is redolent with ripe apples, white nectarine, jasmine, stargazer lilies and a touch of oolong tea. This is enticing on the nose, not overblown. The palate shows nice weight and mineral tones but never comes off as heavy. In the hands of a great producer and from a great site, this is what Condrieu and Viognier can and should be: dynamic and ethereal.
Price: $54.99 Add To Cart

Kalinda North Coast Pinot Noir
By: Jim Barr | Review Date: 8/23/2016 | Send Email
Produced mostly from Anderson Valley fruit with the balance being mostly Sonoma Coast, this highly aromatic Pinot has a lovely robe of medium-deep ruby in color, with the nose offering distinctive, pronounced aromas of dried rose petals, black cherry, and clove-like qualities, with very mild undertones of anise, slate-like minerality, and creamy toasty, smoky notes. On the palate, it is bright, fleshy, well-integrated, highly focused, and broad, particularly across the mid-range. A soft, round, silky, complex finish is long and warm. I think that I have found our everyday-drinking Gem and, as a result, Rusty has ordered me to bring home numerous cases of this lovely Pinot. The K&L Kalinda wines are consistently among the best values in our store. We work closely with top producers to bring you first-rate wine at reasonable prices. We can't reveal our sources, but we can say that this Gem is a steal!!! ***** 13.1% ABV *****
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2007 La Rioja Alta "Viña Ardanza" Reserva Rioja
By: Dulcinea Gonzalez | Review Date: 8/23/2016 | Send Email
Don't let this one fly below your radar. If you are looking for the tried and true taste of a classic Rioja, you will do well to pick up a few of these bottles. The nose is fueled with dried cherry and dusty herbal notes. On the palate is generous red, ripe fruit mixed with all the Riojan hallmarks of dried tobacco leaves and saddle leather. Just add a plate of Spanish cured meats and manchego and it's fiesta time!

2007 La Rioja Alta "Viña Ardanza" Reserva Rioja
By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 8/23/2016 | Send Email
The 2007 Viña Ardanza is showing very well right now. While not necessarily a departure from the house style (if you've liked it in the past, I suspect you will continue to with this vintage), I will say that it shows a bit more development than normal, perhaps with a more dark fruited and savory profile. It seems like the Rioja Alta Tempranillo is more dominant in the 07. Vintage characteristics aside, Viña Ardanza is one of the true bargains in the wine world, a wine which spends three years in barrel, another three in bottle, and is produced from fruit which hails from time tested vineyard sources (many owned by the winery). When it comes to Rioja, this is the one that, perhaps more than any other, I can depend upon to be delicious in California, satisfying in Spain, wonderful now or fantastic after aging. A must-have for me.

2007 Fleur Cardinale, St-Emilion
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 8/23/2016 | Send Email
This is full and rich for the vintage with raspberry, earth and oak aromas. There is a deep core of fleshy red and black fruit along with a touch of licorice and ripe tannin to accent the limestone-kissed finish. The body is surprisingly plump with plenty of sweetness to the oodles of blue and black fruit.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
RP 90 ST 90

2007 La Rioja Alta "Viña Ardanza" Reserva Rioja
By: Scott Beckerley | Review Date: 8/23/2016 | Send Email
Another fine, traditional Rioja that I was able to taste right after the 2004 Vina Tondonia, which was great. This (also) traditionally styled Rioja has a beef broth nose with dark cherries and dried leaves. On the palate, dried red plums and cherries, cocoa powder and baking spices. Simply wonderful! Traditionalists, rejoice in this under-$30 bargain!

2010 Domaine de la Jaufrette Côtes-du-Rhone
By: Olivia Ragni | Review Date: 8/23/2016 | Send Email
This is not just your everyday, $10 CDR. The Jaufrette is old school and earthy, with so much complexity. Flavors of fresh figs, spice box, tobacco leaf and savory dried meats make this a perfect wine for charcuterie or things like game meat.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2013 Sparkman "Holler" Columbia Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 8/23/2016 | Send Email
Unctuous and richly flavored, this is consummate Columbia Valley Cabernet. Lush, deeply flavored black cherry fruit, sweet tannins and a long finish. What more could you ask for in a domestic Cab!
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart
WS 94

1990 Bunnahabhain 25 Year Old K&L Exclusive "Old Particular" Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
By: Andrew Stevens | Review Date: 8/23/2016 | Send Email
I liked this whisky when I first tasted it, and having just revisited it, I am simply astounded by this bottle. This has so many things going on in its favor that it is almost hard to begin. On the nose there is a salted fruit note that combines hints of green apple with white peach and honey. Then into a smooth, elegant body with the complexity that only happens when whisky has been sitting in barrel for this long. Baking spice finish with sweet grain notes and some peat and smoke that just keep going. Basically this is delicious, then you look at the price, look away, and look again to make sure we are not fooling you. Yes, this amazing 25-year-old cask strength, single barrel whiskey is $150. Buy one, you are welcome.
Price: $149.99 Add To Cart

2014 Lamouroux Blanc, Graves
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 8/23/2016 | Send Email
I love this juicy white for its flowery aromas and mouth filling middle of spiced apricot and honeyed peach. There is a lanolin-like fatness to the body before the stony finish of fresh rain water and pebbles kick in. This goes down very easily.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart

2007 Labegorce Zede, Margaux
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 8/23/2016 | Send Email
This is dark and refined with black cherry fruit, mineral, a touch of spice and scents of dried, crushed flowers. The middle is smooth and subtle on this traditionally styled wine which has a mineral streak on the elegant finish of red fruits and berries. Old school and very easy to like.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

2009 Domaine de la Jaufrette Châteauneuf-du-Pape
By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 8/23/2016 | Send Email
The Chateauneuf is the richest by far of the three but never heavy. The 2009 shows ripe fruit flavors, but a little time in the bottle has softened the tannic structure and allowed the minerality to shine through. Reminds me of the classic Chateauneufs from the 80s and 90s but with a little more polished mouthfeel. I put a couple of these away to discover in a few more years but I am truly pleased to drink this now.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

2004 Lopez de Heredia "Viña Tondonia" Reserva Rioja
By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 8/23/2016 | Send Email
This is a fantastic Tondonia, one of my favorites at this relatively early stage. What I love about the 04 is it tension, it's taut fruit and acid forward personality. Starting from the top with the aromatics, there are some interesting notes of tar, bitter licorice and a slight suggestion of cumin as well. On the palate is where things become really interesting, as the fruit is fresh, incredibly so for having spent so long in barrel. Keep in mind these are used barrels, and not merely 2nd, 3rd or 4th year, but perhaps 16th or 20th year. This is the sort of wine I invariably want to drink, and cellar, in quantity. Don't miss it.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
RP 94 WS 90

2009 Domaine de la Jaufrette Gigondas
By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 8/23/2016 | Send Email
The Gigondas is probably my favorite of the three wines to drink right now. It has a nose of deep roasted cherry with fresh tilled earth and roasted cocoa nibs. There is a lot to like here with a supple texture and generous palate. It is still old school in a sense; I like to equate this to the Rioja-school of winemaking (without the coconut and dill nuances). This is persistent on the palate and the wine just keeps giving. I spent a few days with a bottle and even at the end, the wine just kept giving more. My highest recommendation!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2010 Domaine de la Jaufrette Côtes-du-Rhone
By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 8/23/2016 | Send Email
I was truly pleased when we discovered the Jaufrette wines last year. I think this old school producer captures everything we are looking for in a Rhone producer: dedication to great terroir, balanced style, classic winemaking. The Cotes du Rhone is out of the gate great and from a terrific vintage. It is a true southern Rhone but reminiscent of the wines made a couple of decades ago. It has black fruit flavors, earth notes, grilled rosemary, tobacco leaf and peppery spices on the palate. Give it a half hour in a decanter and the wine expands even further. This is serious stuff and one of my favorites right now.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2013 Sparkman "Holler" Columbia Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
By: Dulcinea Gonzalez | Review Date: 8/23/2016 | Send Email
Here's one smooth operator of a wine. On the nose, you get a mix of a freshly sharpened pencil scent with generous flavors of blackberry and plum. The palate is luscious with a velvety texture, but holds enough acidity to keep it drinking fresh. At just under $30, this is a killer Washington Cab deal, pick it up while you can.
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart
WS 94

2014 Domaine des Falaises "Angelliaume" Chinon
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 8/23/2016 | Send Email
This sweet little value is quite complex on the nose and palate with tobacco, mild spice, savory herb, wild raspberry fruit and a finish that reminds me of ice cold well water. Quite silky and fine for the for the price; this will remind you of the tasty, food friendly carafes that are ubiquitous at Parisian cafes.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2007 Malescasse, Haut-Medoc
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 8/23/2016 | Send Email
Here is an amazing bargain approaching 10 years of age and priced to buy by the case. This is very expressive with effusive aromas and flavors of raspberry and rhubarb fruit along with cedar chest and cigar box. Bargain hunters need to taste this crisp, fruity and very complex beauty.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2014 Pessac-Léognan de Haut Bailly, Pessac-Leognan
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 8/23/2016 | Send Email
This is the third wine of Chateau Haut-Bailly and the pedigree shines through even at the very affordable price. Bright and crunchy currants, earth tones and intense mineral notes enhance the length on the sophisticated palate. The gravely finish of cocoa and chalk is long and lingering.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2014 Kalinda Dry Creek Valley Chardonnay
By: Jim Barr | Review Date: 8/23/2016 | Send Email
No one will tell any of us, not even to Clyde, who produced this amazingly elegant, nicely balanced Chardonnay for us, but based on its richness, structure, and viscous mouthfeel, I would speculate that it is a producer located at the very deep end of the Dry Creek Valley, the owner who use to create some wonderfully rich Chardonnays for an old, established Napa Valley winery in Saint Helena. Opulent in the nose with an apply, white peach, creamy set of qualities, these characteristics come across the palate with excellent richness and viscosity, yet with classiness and style, and finishes with a long, distinctive, well-structured finish. The Bean has ordered that I bring home several cases of this lovely Gem for our everyday house white for the next two to four years. A WONDERFUL VALUE! DON’T MISS THIS! ***** 14.5% ABV *****
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

2014 Elk Cove "Clay Court" Chehalem Mountains Pinot Noir
By: Heather Vander Wall | Review Date: 8/22/2016 | Send Email
Elk Cove's "Clay Court" Pinot Noir ranks as one of my favorite wines from Oregon for finesse and elegance. With soft, red berry fruit and subtle clove spice, this wine is a little lighter in body than typical for Elk Cove, but nonetheless polished and full of intrigue.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart
WE 93

2014 Elk Cove "Mount Richmond" Yamhill-Carlton District Pinot Noir
By: Heather Vander Wall | Review Date: 8/22/2016 | Send Email
The Mt. Richmond vineyard bottling from Elk Cove offers much more mineral, and stony notes than their other single vineyard bottlings, with plenty of brooding, dark fruit, firm structure, and good spicy fruit. Of all the single vineyard Pinots from Elk Cove, the Mt. Richmond is certainly built to age for the long haul. This is a serious wine with excellent potential.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart
WE 92

2014 Elk Cove Willamette Valley Pinot Noir
By: Heather Vander Wall | Review Date: 8/22/2016 | Send Email
Elk Cove's Willamette Valley bottling of Pinot Noir is entirely estate fruit, and shows dark, intense flavors from the mature vines on their property. With smooth, silky tannins and polished fruit, this vintage has plenty to love, and offers both immediate appeal and good depth of flavors. Plum and cola notes dominate throughout the palate, and the length is excellent.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart

2012 Le Thil, Pessac-Léognan
By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 8/22/2016 | Send Email
This property flies under the radar, but we have enjoyed their wines for ten years. Located near Smith haut lafitte, and now under their ownership, this property has always made value reds. This is the last vintage under the old regime-and it merits your attention, Extremely spicy aromas with clove an Asian spices abounding. Very sweet and sexy on the palate with a streak of minerality through its middle. Very sweet finish-you can drink it young, but decant an hour or so.
Drink from 2016 to 2016

2009 Ormes De Pez, St-Estèphe
By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 8/22/2016 | Send Email
I love this vintage and ormes de pez shines in 2009. Usually a bit tough on the palate, this 2009 is sweet and lovely with fine structure and balance. A lot of blackberry fruit flavors, round tannins, and a lingering finish. Nice to have great tasting wines selling for less than $50.
Drink from 2016 to 2016

2014 Domaine Collotte "Noble Souche" Bourgogne Rouge
By: Philip Bohorfoush | Review Date: 8/21/2016 | Send Email
When you taste this Bourgogne Rouge, you will know why it has so much Pinot sap. It is sourced from 70-year-old vines! I love the sappy Pinot Noir character, ripe and balanced with red tree fruits on the palate layered with earth and spice. This has medium weight but is still light on its feet and finishes clean. This is one of our best Bourgogne Rouge values right now for its fresh and sappy Pinot character. Another favorite value is the 2014 Audoin Bourgogne Rouge for its elegance and finesse. For Pinot lovers in general, buy both. You will want these around.
Price: $22.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine de la Lysardiere Chinon Rosé
By: Kelsey McNellis | Review Date: 8/21/2016 | Send Email
Loving this rosé, especially at this price point! Clean and crisp with light acid. Predominately red fruits, but I mostly taste strawberry. Pair this with a nice cheese and charcuterie plate at your next dinner party or with some summer salads at a BBQ. Don't miss out on this deal!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

2014 Sobon Estate Amador County Red Blend
By: Bryan Brick | Review Date: 8/21/2016 | Send Email
The newest superb value in an otherwise packed stable at Sobon Estates is the 2014 "Premium" Red Blend. After years of making single varietal wines, this blend is a deft foray into the ever-expanding world of kitchen sink reds. Made with 47% Syrah, 24% Zinfandel, 21% Barbera, 3% Petite Sirah and 2% Cabernet Sauvignon, all from their estate vineyards at high elevation in the Sierra Foothills, this is a fun and fruity red with good snap and plenty of stuffing. Great for the mid-week meals and quaffing with family and friends with its tangy red fruited charm and rich finishing briary spice.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2014 Ermitage "Victor" Costières de Nîmes Rouge
By: Andrew Stevens | Review Date: 8/21/2016 | Send Email
A perfectly delightful red table wine from Rhone, and because of the fact that we directly import it, the price is fantastic for this wine. A little earth in the nose that, upon being open for a bit, becomes a lovely note of pepper. The wine has juicy dark berry notes along with spice and some pepper notes, making this an absolutely perfect picnic and BBQ wine. We sold through last year's vintage and had people asking for more, and this year looks like it will be no different, so it is best to pick some up now.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2011 Bersano "Nirvasco" Barolo
By: Rachel Vogel | Review Date: 8/21/2016 | Send Email
Right when we opened the Bersano Barolo I got great, rich fruit and dry spice notes with well structured tannins. After letting it breathe for a few hours, the complexity of the wine became really apparent. The mid-palate is full of rich and robust ripe black cherry and blueberry flavors, while beautiful savory notes of dark mushrooms, dry earth and spice expand throughout the palate. The wine is full bodied with pronounced yet rounded tannins and has a long dry finish. Great to drink now or save!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
WE 92

2009 Moulin La Lagune, Haut-Médoc
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 8/21/2016 | Send Email
The 2nd wine of Chateau La Lagune, while more approachable than its big brother, is still rich, broad and sweet with a fair amount of heft. This has black cherry fruit, aromas of damp earth and a woodsy character that with air turns somewhat smoky and meaty. The sweet tannin on the finish and overall sense of proportion make this very drinkable. Decanting recommended.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2015 Chateau les Valentines "Le Caprice de Clementine" Cotes de Provence Rosé
By: Kelsey McNellis | Review Date: 8/21/2016 | Send Email
Light, lively and fresh, this rosé is a total crowd-pleaser! Lemon and peach tea aromatics on the nose, this versatile rosé can be served alone or paired with a cheese tray or grilled fish and veggies. Ripe strawberry flavors makes this a perfect summer wine. Don't miss out on one of the best of the season.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2015 Robert Cantin "Les Grezes" Pinot Noir Vin de France
By: Olivia Ragni | Review Date: 8/21/2016 | Send Email
It is a constant battle trying to find a Pinot Noir for an affordable price that is worth drinking. 2014 was the first vintage that I had tried, and the 2015 is just as incredible if not better than the last vintage. Coming from the chalky soils of the Loire valley near Sancerre, this Pinot is elegant. Aromas of crush flower and violets lead to a palate with lift and acidity, and notes of plum, currants and graphite, this red is perfect for every occasion. Look no further for your everyday Pinot.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

2013 Sparkman "Holler" Columbia Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
By: Bryan Brick | Review Date: 8/21/2016 | Send Email
“Absolutely.” That was my sentiment in my tasting notes about bringing in the 2013 Sparkman "Holler" Columbia Valley Cabernet Sauvignon, and that was before Wine Spectator blew this up with a 94 (!) point score. I guess sometime I actually know what I’m talking about. Nicely positioned with medium-heavy weight for a Washington Cab, this has plenty of rich, creamy milk chocolate, blackcurrant, salted caramel, thyme and cigar tobacco flavors. Creamy and seamless with rich oak lacing all the way through, this Cabernet is a steal the way only Washington can produce for nickels on the dime. We purchased everything that was left of this wine to the tune of about 45 cases, and we expect it to be gone in a matter of hours, so get some while you can.
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart
WS 94

2014 Oakridge Estate "Over the Shoulder" Pinot Noir Yarra Valley
By: Andrew Stevens | Review Date: 8/21/2016 | Send Email
One of the best deals we have in Pinot Noir from anywhere in the world is this bottle from the Yarra Valley. At this price one expects a rather simple Pinot, and I often have customers shocked when they taste this wine. Bright, crunchy red berry is layered along with notes of earth and spice. This wine is elegant and complex with a finish reminiscent of a very good Bourgogne. This wine is drinking spectacularly well now so don't be afraid to buy a case of it as a house wine that drinks so much better than its price would lead one to believe.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Renaud St-Véran
By: Rachel Vogel | Review Date: 8/21/2016 | Send Email
In the Domaine Renaud line up, the St. Veran is one of my favorites. I find it to be a little brighter, lighter and have more complexity. While still a richer style Chardonnay with notes of yellow orchard fruit and intricacy from the older vines, the wine is well balanced. The fresh flavors of Meyer lemon and dry minerality will last on the long finish. A great Chardonnay to enjoy alone or with food!
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Robert Sérol "Cabochard" Côte Roannaise Rosé (Gamay)
By: Olivia Ragni | Review Date: 8/21/2016 | Send Email
This is an incredibly beautiful rosé from start to finish, even the color is this gorgeous, almost blood orange color. Aromas of cantaloupe, melon and rose petals lead to flavors of blood orange, white nectarine, wet stones and a hint of strawberry. The finish is long and persistent coupled with almost a waxy texture that balances out the acidity. The perfect rosé for simply poolside sipping while also being complex enough for serious food pairings.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2014 Domaine Marc Colin St-Aubin 1er Cru "La Chateniere"
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 8/19/2016 | Send Email
Here is a great bargain in ready to drink white Burgundy from an appellation known to over deliver. This starts out toasty with hints of talc and wet stones before the sweetness of the ripe yellow fruit take over in the plush middle. There is depth, balance and a long mineral finish to this very drinkable bottle.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
BH 92 RP 91

2014 Domaine Marc Colin "Les Charmois" St. Aubin 1er Cru
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 8/19/2016 | Send Email
This is finer, longer and has a more pronounced mineral strike than the "La Chateniere" bottling, but what it gives up in richness and weight it more than makes up for in intensity and complexity. This has the stature and elegance of a much more expensive bottle from a more prestigious appellation.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
BH 91 RP 90

2009 de Chantegrive Rouge, Graves
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 8/19/2016 | Send Email
Here is an easy to drink wine of great character with all the rounded warmth you expect for the 2009 vintage. Aromas of scorched earth, tar and roasted fruit lead to a smooth body of dark plums and ripe currants. This has gentle mineral and fine, ripe tannins on the supple finish. Always a delicious bargain.

Page: 1 2 3 next >>