Staff Favorites

If you’re going to have Robert Parker or Stephen Tanzer over for dinner, selecting a wine they’ve rated highly will be a nice choice. However, when you’re buying wines for yourself, we’d love to see you find wines that match up your unique palate and pocketbook. We have a large staff of friendly and knowledgeable wine professionals that taste hundreds of wines each week. They can put you in touch with bottles that you are likely to love, often at a much lower cost than the highly-rated gems that often see a run-up in price and frequent availability issues. Like any great group of opinionated professionals, our staff has varied tastes themselves. Often our customers will find a particular staff member with a style that corresponds to their own. That concept works extremely well in our retail stores, and this section is our effort to bring you the same online. Don’t get us wrong, we love the highly rated wines from the press and will continue to offer them, but we think you’re missing out if you’re not augmenting those selections with picks from our excellent staff. Here are their favorites. (Click on a name to see their other selections - or to drop them a line.) Cheers!

Reviews

  
Page: 1 2 3 next >>
2014 Domaine Paul Pernot Puligny-Montrachet
By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 2/11/2016 | Send Email
This super clean, limey white Burgundy defines Puligny for me. If you like focused, long, detailed wines, the 2014 Paul Pernot is for you. This is an ideal partner for a crab risotto or a scallop with polenta now, and still has plenty of time in hand if you want to age it.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart
VN 87 - 90

2014 Domaine Paul Pernot Bourgogne Chardonnay
By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 2/11/2016 | Send Email
Visiting Michel Pernot and his father is a great way to start the day in Burgundy, and when you get to taste a vintage as great as the 2014's, it makes it even better. The regular Bourgogne Chardonnay delivers a tremendous amount of Puligny-like class for an incredibly reasonable price, and I loved it for its fine combination of body and refreshment. This wine is entirely barrel fermented, but mostly in older oak, and the barrel spice in this great bottle is very subtle. This is a great one to take a case of!
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2013 Smith & Hook Central Coast Cabernet Sauvignon
By: Gary Norton | Review Date: 2/11/2016 | Send Email
Smith & Hook is the latest Cab focused label from our friends over at Hahn Family Wines. Rich and focused, the wine shows notes of dark plum, black cherry, cassis, black currant and aromas of cedar and baking spice. This cab is big and expressive, stylistically similar to Caymus at a fraction of the price. Drink now, or cellar for the next 5-8 years. Great wine at an obscenely low price point.
Top Value!
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart
WE 92

Venus Spirits Batch #2 Barrel Aged Gin (750ml)
By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 2/11/2016 | Send Email
If you are interested in barrel aged gin, the Venus Batch No. 2 should be the first one you try. Sean was inspired by Manhattan’s when creating this, and it shows through in the finished product. The base spirit has a custom blend of botanicals made to go into barrel, and it rests for two months in ½ new and ½ one year old 53 gallon, 3 char American oak. I have to say my mind went straight to Negroni’s when I tasted it, and I love the bay leaf and spice in this top quality gin.
Price: $36.99 Add To Cart

Venus Spirits Aquavit Blend #1 (750ml)
By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 2/11/2016 | Send Email
Cinnamon and I tasted through the entire line of products at Venus last week and the biggest surprise was the fabulous Aquavit. I have never had a spirit with such a strong anise component that stayed in such lovely elegant balance before. The high quality black licorice aromas and flavors were a real revelation.
Price: $32.99 Add To Cart

Venus Spirits Batch #1 Gin (750ml)
By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 2/11/2016 | Send Email
The Blend No. 1 gin inspired Cinnamon and I to travel to Santa Cruz to meet the distillers and tour the facility. When I first tasted it in August of 2014 I wrote the following review: “This one is coming home with me! I love it when a local, small production product delivers not just quality, but also excellent value. The wonderful, creamy texture of this gin is balanced by high toned citrus and grounded by clean juniper. I can't wait to get some fever tree tonic, lime and obnoxiously large ice cubes into this... It will be hard just to have one.” This is in the top echelon of gins world wide, and I would put it in on the table next to anything. At the price, it is peerless. If you love gin and haven’t tried it, you are cheating yourself!
Top Value!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2009 Louise Brison Vintage Brut Champagne
By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 2/10/2016 | Send Email
While the 2008 Louise Brison (a few of you I think may have purchased a bottle or two!) is sadly sold out, I would not hesitate to recommend this 2009. It's a bright, yellow stone fruit driven effort, with plenty of drive and a nearly unmatched drinkability and value for money for vintage Champagne. At the risk of re-stating the obvious I think it does bear repeating: this is VINTAGE Champagne (good quality vintage Champagne, at that) from an RM (grower/producer) for under $30! Stock up and drink the good stuff.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2009 Louise Brison Vintage Brut Champagne
By: Kyle Kurani | Review Date: 2/10/2016 | Send Email
Each and every time I drink this bottle of Champagne, I forget how affordable it is, and get completely lost in the experience of drinking great vintage bubbles. Following in the footsteps of the ’08 is no small task, so it was with much anticipation that I cracked the 2009. Every bit as good. A nose of white peaches and pie crust, greets you right out of the glass. On the palate it is perfectly poised, medium body with a mix of baguette and stone fruits, vibrant and fresh with a very clean supple mouth feel. Pretty incredible that this is under $30!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2009 Louise Brison Vintage Brut Champagne
By: Shaun Green | Review Date: 2/10/2016 | Send Email
Wow, I drank a lot of the fabulous 2008 and was sorry to see it gone, but then the 2009 showed up and it is right there in quality. A bit racier and zippier than the 2008 while still stunning in elegance and style. It's hard to understand how this Champagne can be priced so low, but I'm not complaining, I'm just drinking! This will last 10 years easily, but I doubt much will make it that long, it's very inviting right now and will be hard to resist.
Top Value!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2009 Louise Brison Vintage Brut Champagne
By: Mari Keilman | Review Date: 2/10/2016 | Send Email
Made up of half barrel fermented Chardonnay and one-half Pinot Noir that was fermented in two-thirds stainless and one-third barrel, the 2009 demonstrates how warm the vintage was with its classic nose of ripe chardonnay fruit. Pushing through are aromas of fresh apple and white stone fruit and hints of chalkiness. The palate comes alive with mouth tingling vibrancy and bright acidity. Sublte layers and a nutty elegant finish hint to the wines aging potential. A definite choice to put in the cellar for a few years.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2009 Louise Brison Vintage Brut Champagne
By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 2/10/2016 | Send Email
Nothing in the store comes close to this spectacular bottle of vintage Champagne. If you like clean, refreshing, bright Champagne with tons of detail and length, this is not to be missed. If this wine was 50% more expensive, I would still be very excited about recommending it. At the price it is simply untouchable... Everything has been done the hard way; all organic, all estate fruit, mostly barrel fermented and aged for over four years on the lees! The Brison wines also age very well, over the past months I have enjoyed the 1999, 1996 and 1995- so make sure to get a few extras for the future.
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2012 Kir-Yianni "Yianakohori Hills" Red Blend Macedonia
By: Andrew Whiteley | Review Date: 2/9/2016 | Send Email
This is an extremely satisfying wine.The dark yet almost sour fruits of Xinomavro, the plums and alpine blueberries, taper off just as pepper spice of Syrah and the smooth character of the Merlot pick up. The mouth feel is full, yet velvety smooth. Those same tannins will keep this gorgeous wine drinking well for many years to come. This is a great candidate for 6 or 12 bottles as it is so delicious now, but will surely continue to evolve over the next decade.
Price: Hidden View Price
RP 90

2014 Elephant Hill Sauvignon Blanc Hawke's Bay
By: Dave Genevro | Review Date: 2/9/2016 | Send Email
One of my favorite Hawke's Bay producers, gives us yet another bright, elegant, fresh and clean all-stainless Sauvignon Blanc. When I poured this wine for Guests at an in store tasting...this is one of those bottlings that stole the show. The proximity of the vineyards to the ocean in Hawke's Bay, and just the lack of holding back on seeking out top of the line wine makers and equipment, truly helps give this wine it's own sense of place. The characters are in sync and the amount of wine you get for the price is too much not to try a bottle!
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
RC 91 - 92

2013 Bava "Gionson" Nebbiolo
By: Dave Genevro | Review Date: 2/9/2016 | Send Email
I love these wines from Bava. The slight earthy, savory characters, the bright flavors and fresh feel this wine has is unique to my palate. The lighter weight body with still that woodsy/piney grip from the tannin make this wine jump out at me. The progression of this wine reminds me of the amazing song by The Beatles, I Want You (She's So Heavy), how all the different melodies, tempos and harmonies took me to very different places but all end up taking me back to where it started. Definitely one not to miss out on. Drink now or cellar.
Top Value!
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2011 Kir-Yianni "Ramnista" Xinomavro Naoussa
By: Andrew Whiteley | Review Date: 2/9/2016 | Send Email
This wine screams out crushed plums, black fruit, and pulverized rocks on the nose. The tannins provide a beautiful mouth coating texture and just begs to be paired with a lamb chop or juicy steak. The body is quite rustic, full of earth, spice, and leather. The finish is long and circles back around to the dark berry and plum beginning. Decanting and food are imperative and contribute to a rewarding experience. But one for dinner this Friday and one or two for the cellar!
Price: Hidden View Price
RP 92

2013 Bava "Libera" Barbera d'Asti
By: Andrew Stevens | Review Date: 2/9/2016 | Send Email
This is a beautiful Babrbera, perfect for pizza or a light pasta, an excellent food wine. There is a hint of white pepper on the nose and a lovely lifted texture from the acid. Light fruit and a bit of spice that are well balanced and present a clean and vibrant wine. Well made easy drinking Barbera for a fantastic price, this is a wine to keep in mind as long as we have it.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2014 Bodegas Puelles Blanco Rioja
By: Jim Barr | Review Date: 2/9/2016 | Send Email
This is one of my favorite white wines in the store, and it is not for those of you who like heavily over-extracted, over-the-top, oaky, full ML style Chardonnays. It is really dry, clean, crisp, mineral-driven style of white wine with tons of character and a mouthwatering set of flavors, yet is a bit richer and more viscous than the 2013. The nose will remind you of fresh honeydew melons with lime zest fruit undertones that carry over to a bright, flashy set of flavors, and a bright, fresh finish. The Bean has demanded that I bring home, as with previous vintages, several cases of this Gem for our near-term, shellfish dining enjoyment. ***** 12.0% ABV *****
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2011 Kir-Yianni "Ramnista" Xinomavro Naoussa
By: John Majeski | Review Date: 2/9/2016 | Send Email
Grew up reading Greek myths, the toga and tiara struggle between gods and mortals, long before touching Greek wine to my all too mortal lips. One tale told of the Phrygian king Tantalus, who, when invited to dine with the big boys and girls at Mount Olympus, suddenly excused himself and made a hasty exit with their finest nectar and ambrosia stuffed in his bulging tunic. Big mistake. His punishment? Banished for thirsty eternity to a lonely hot tub in the Underworld, where whenever he reached for a mouthful of ripe fruit from the nearby vines, they receded just out of reach, and whenever he put his hand out to grasp a goblet of wine, it spilled its glistening contents… well fortunately we’ve made things much simpler by bringing you this truly ‘tantalizing’, reachable bottle of superb Xinomavro (which translates as 'acid wine'). This is a robust, earthy and deeply-scented red, effusive with aromas and flavors of cassis, black plums, red raspberries, forest leaf fall and licorice spice, caressed by lusty tannins and finishing firm and slightly tangy. Certainly ageworthy, but don’t wait for an eternity. And save the ambrosia, just bring on the moussaka!
Top Value!
Price: Hidden View Price
RP 92

2013 Greywacke Pinot Noir Marlborough
By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 2/8/2016 | Send Email
This is such an exotic, fragrant wine...it demonstrates why I love Pinot Noir so much! There's a symphony of ripe forest fruits, baking spices, agarwood, and star anise. I like how Kevin has managed to keep this wine very bright and aromatic whilst also embracing the richness and textural density that naturally comes from the heavier clay soils of Marlborough's Southern Valleys. This is a beautiful example of what the region can do with Pinot Noir when it's planted in the right spot and crafted with love and passion. Very classy and worth the full attention of any Pinot lover.
Drink from 2016 to 2016

2010 Palacio del Burgo Reserva Rioja
By: Randy Hagerman | Review Date: 2/8/2016 | Send Email
This wine is a perfect gateway for domestic wine drinkers looking to "dip their toes" into the wonders of Rioja. The sweet dark cherry and dark berry flavors are integrated nicely with juicy acidity. There is plenty of mid-palate weight, but the tannins are soft and assimilated on the long finish. This is a ripe, easy-drinking red with plenty of Rioja character.

2010 Miguel Merino "Unnum" Rioja
By: Randy Hagerman | Review Date: 2/8/2016 | Send Email
This is a generously fruited offering from Miguel Meriño. There is a sweetness to the dark cherry and plum notes, yet the wine has classic Rioja acidity. This full-bodied Rioja is plenty bold, yet very drinkable. Those of you looking for a clean, more elegant Rioja offering, look no further.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2014 Akitu "A2" Pinot Noir Central Otago (White Label)
By: Alex Schroeder | Review Date: 2/8/2016 | Send Email
Made from clones of Burgundian vines planted in Central Otago over a decade ago, the Akitu A2 Pinot Noir displays characteristics you just don't find at this price point often: Depth, complexity, freshness and character. Intense flavors of blackberries and raspberries are the focal point, while subtle spices and herbs frame the wine perfectly to create a food-friendly, utterly satisfying Pinot Noir experience. No question, awesome value!

2014 Vacheron Sancerre
By: Eric Story | Review Date: 2/8/2016 | Send Email
Super thrilled to finally be able to start working with this producer. The expressions of the wines coming from the domaine aren’t really like many of the other typical styles of Sancerre. These have a lot more silex influence and therefore have a sharper more precise focus to them. The complexity is sneaky and really starts to shine after about an hour of decanting. The amount of thoughtful attention in making these wines is very evident with each sip.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2012 Mount Veeder Winery Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
By: Dave Genevro | Review Date: 2/7/2016 | Send Email
I love this wine. Power, precision and a well integrated tannin structure... plus that great Mount Veeder fruit, at that price point is great for all of us. Let this wine breathe and it will definitely open up a bit for you.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WE 92

2013 Smith & Hook Central Coast Cabernet Sauvignon
By: Bryan Brick | Review Date: 2/5/2016 | Send Email
One of our most successful wines over the last 2-3 months has been the 2013 Hahn Santa Lucia Highlands Pinot Noir. Its combination of friendly style, honest Pinot flavors and ridiculous value has captured our customers' attention, and palates, and has held it. Always on the hunt for the next big thing, we wanted to see if the Hahn Family wines produced anything else that held a candle to the value of the Pinot Noir. Much to our chagrin, we found the 2013 Smith & Hook Central Coast Cabernet Sauvignon and we were floored by the same combination of value, flavor and drinkability we found in the Hahn.
Made from 100% Cabernet Sauvignon from a blend of San Antonio Valley, Paso Robles, Hames Valley and Arroyo Seco fruit and aged in 100% French oak, this Cab has the polish and slick black fruit of a wine 3-4 times the price. A lace of menthol and sage weaves through the boysenberry fruit and mocha richness found on the nose, leading to the fresh and zesty entry. Fleshy and easygoing, this Cab delivers a fully weighted core of olive, black currant, plum, tarragon, cedar and loam flavors on the lush palate. Velvety tannins wrap up the ripe and juicy finish and a long mélange of fresh herbs resonate long after the glass is empty. This is the easily the best value Cabernet we have in the store right now.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart
WE 92

2012 Kir-Yianni "Yianakohori Hills" Red Blend Macedonia
By: Olivia Ragni | Review Date: 2/5/2016 | Send Email
This elegant Greek blend boasts aromas of violets, dark cherry and anise. The palate is lifted and bright yet soft and polished. Flavors of dark plum, blackberry, and chocolate dominate the palate while having a backbone of graphite and a subtle sanguine quality. While this is drinking well now, the bright acidity and polished tannin structure would make for an interesting wine to cellar for a few years.
Price: Hidden View Price
RP 90

2012 Achaval Ferrer Cabernet Sauvignon Mendoza
By: Randy Hagerman | Review Date: 2/5/2016 | Send Email
This is an extremely drinkable Cabernet at a great price. The bright red fruit and medium acidity rounds quite nicely to the smooth, softly tannic finish. I'm astounded that we can offer this much wine at this price point.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
JS 90

2010 Viña Quebrada "Domus Aurea" Cabernet Sauvignon Maipo Valley
By: Dulcinea Gonzalez | Review Date: 2/5/2016 | Send Email
Totally distinct and showing amazing depth, the Domus Aurea is an intense, full-bodied Cab that wears its weight with elegance and class. The nose displays a handsome fragrance of roasted almonds and vanilla. It has plenty of backbone, with well-integrated tannins, and displays a delicious mid-palate of black fruit, dark chocolate, smoke and herbs. Stack this dark horse up against any $100 Napa Cab...you won't be disappointed. Super recommended!

2013 Paolo Calì "Mandragola" Frappato Vittoria
By: Diana Turk | Review Date: 2/5/2016 | Send Email
Versatile and now bargain-priced! Tart with notes of citrus zest and bright berry, this light-bodied Frappato shows huge lift but surprising depth and elegance as it opens up. Chill slightly, let it breathe, and serve this Sicilian beauty with spicy pasta.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$12.99

2011 Kir-Yianni "Ramnista" Xinomavro Naoussa
By: Diana Turk | Review Date: 2/5/2016 | Send Email
Racy cherry fruit and a palate that somehow manages to be both smooth and earthy. This is an elegant, high acid wine that almost drinks like a bright Nebbiolo. Herbal notes on the nose and a tannic finish, this complex Xinomavro will benefit from age but is interesting enough to try now.
Price: Hidden View Price
RP 92

2011 Kir-Yianni "Ramnista" Xinomavro Naoussa
By: Olivia Ragni | Review Date: 2/5/2016 | Send Email
This Xinomavro has incredible lift and acidity, while still having that hallmark Xinomavro tannin. There are notes of bright cherries, figs, and fennel coupled with flavors of eucalyptus, leather, and iron. This is a wine that is light yet tannic; full of fruit, yet incredibly earthy; and rustic while maintaining exceptional complexity. I love its opposing characteristics that work seamlessly together.
Price: Hidden View Price
RP 92

2010 Viña Quebrada "Domus Aurea" Cabernet Sauvignon Maipo Valley
By: Randy Hagerman | Review Date: 2/5/2016 | Send Email
Wow! The herbaceous and green pepper notes leap from the glass of this bold, Chilean Cabernet. If you are a fan of varietally correct Cabernet Sauvignon, you need to buy this wine. The smoky, dark fruit and spice notes show how unique and expressive Cabernet Sauvignon can be from this region. The acid and structure suggest that this wine will age very well. Buy some to try now and some to lay down. You won't be disappointed.

San Venanzio Prosecco Valdobbiadene Demi-Long Superiore Brut
By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 2/5/2016 | Send Email
For the first days of spring, there is nothing better than bubbles. This is straw yellow and has a creamy mousse with a delicate, long-lasting bead on the nose that you will find releasing hints of apples and tropical fruit, plus wisteria blossoms, wonderful balance and elegance. The palate is crisp, with admirable fullness and a very dry finish. This will also work great with O.J. for your spring holidays and morning brunch. This is a wine of great balance and elegance and an excellent aperitif for all social occasions.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
WE 92 JS 90

2012 Casanova di Neri Rosso di Montalcino
By: Mahon McGrath | Review Date: 2/5/2016 | Send Email
Dried cherry, fruitcake, and fennel come out on the nose of this Rosso di Montalcino. A hint of mint accents the juicy cherry notes on the palate, which shows good depth of flavor. There’s lots of youthful vitality here yet, though the tannins are fine enough to make this approachable now.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$22.99

2014 Domaine Paul Pernot Bourgogne Chardonnay
By: Dulcinea Gonzalez | Review Date: 2/5/2016 | Send Email
Clean, balanced, and refreshing, this is a quintessential K&L value Burgundy that's perfect for every day of the week drinking, showing what is turning out to be a great balance of fruit, flesh and acidity in the 2014 vintage. With fruit sourced from Puligny-Montrachet, this has a pretty lemon tart nose and is deliciously racy, yet totally user-friendly. A total must buy!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2005 Bodegas Casa Juan Señor de Lesmos Reserva Rioja
By: Diana Turk | Review Date: 2/5/2016 | Send Email
Classic Rioja from a celebrated vintage, this lush Tempranillo shows some cherry and earthiness on the nose but finishes with deep elegant fruit, leather, fennel, softer spice, and that caskiness Spanish fans love from a good Reserva. I am always in the Lesmos camp but this release in particular impressively over-delivers — unbelievable value for less than twenty bucks!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JS 92

2012 Kir-Yianni "Yianakohori Hills" Red Blend Macedonia
By: Kirk Walker | Review Date: 2/5/2016 | Send Email
A "Super Grecian" for lack of a better term. This is a great combination of French and Greek varietals. The Xinomavro is the core of this wine, giving plenty of structure and a hint of earth. The Merlot and Syrah flesh out the wine with a pleasant mix of dark fruits, tobacco and subtle game. Polished with the right amount of French oak, this wine over-delivers for the price.
Price: Hidden View Price
RP 90

Gin Mare Mediterranean Gin (750ml)
By: Nicole Osmanski | Review Date: 2/5/2016 | Send Email
Wow, this gin appears to be taking K&L by storm. I'm not sure I've ever seen all of us react so quickly with such unanimous love for a gin before. Gin Mare - distilled with Arbequina olives, basil, rosemary, and thyme - transported me to a garrigue covered hilltop overlooking the Mediterranean on a warm, breezy day. The palate is fresh, soft, and elegant with sweet citrus, briny olive, and herb de Provence. That essence of the Mediterranean Sea that Mare's named for will certainly add a Je Ne Sais Quoi depth to your next cocktail. If you're feeling like a full seaside immersion experience, try a Martini with equal parts Mare Gin and Manzanilla Sherry with a splash or two of orange bitters.
Price: $33.99 Add To Cart

2014 Copain "Tous Ensemble" Anderson Valley Pinot Noir
By: Diana Turk | Review Date: 2/4/2016 | Send Email
A balanced, bright, old world style that’s reminiscent of French Pinot Noir yet is sourced from vineyards north of Headsburg. Copain presents floral on the nose with cherry up front and hints of deeper fruit throughout. This is a “hands off” method of winemaking that – when combined with 2014’s cooler weather – creates a beautifully earthy wine with easy-drinking Anderson Valley fruit. Lovely.
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart

Gin Mare Mediterranean Gin (750ml)
By: Shaun Green | Review Date: 2/4/2016 | Send Email
A very cool and unusual gin from Spain! Distilled from Olives, Thyme, Rosemary and Basil, this gin is almost a martini in itself. The thyme is the forward aromatic so the herbal notes are very fine, and wonderful citrus overtones provide freshness and zip. There is a fantastic and equally fresh subtly minty quality on the finish that I love. Absolutely delicious.
Top Value!
Price: $33.99 Add To Cart

2013 Clos de l'Anhel "Les Terrassettes" Corbieres
By: Diana Turk | Review Date: 2/4/2016 | Send Email
My favorite in the Clos de L’Anhel lineup, Les Terrasettes is an incredibly versatile (holiday) wine that impresses with beautiful earthiness, rusticity, and bright fruit. It’s complex enough for the sophisticated but still wows a crowd. Plus it's organic and a killer price! I took a bottle to a dinner party and what started out as a slightly confusing pick “Where’s Corbieres? What’s Carignan like?” turned to adoration by the end of the night (“This is delicious! So interesting! Only gets better with air!”). The fact that winemaker Sophie Guiraudon runs the whole show, thoughtfully farming 25 acres on clay limestone soil, just adds to the appeal of this high quality, value-oriented stunner.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$14.99

2014 Domaine Long-Depaquit (Albert Bichot) Chablis
By: Ivan Diaz | Review Date: 2/4/2016 | Send Email
Impressive weight and richness catch me off guard out of the gate. Baked apple and lemon citrus wash over my palate first, giving way to the mid-palate which reveals more traditional notes of flinty minerality, reminding me of salty stones in the sea. It finishes on a high note with zesty acidity and a kick of herbs that makes me want oysters so, so badly right now.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2012 Villa Symposia "Equilibre" Languedoc Rouge
By: Ivan Diaz | Review Date: 2/4/2016 | Send Email
The most common request we get is for that special bottle of muscular, fully-loaded red wine for under $20 that just blows us all away. Well, until the Equilibre by Villa Symposia sells out, consider this your go-to. A foundation of organically grown Syrah provides the core of rich, black fruit, cocoa, cracked pepper, tobacco, and herbs - flavors which only develop further and spawn new ones as the wine breathes. Perfect with grilled lamb or roast beef.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart
RP 90 - 92

2009 Elisabeth Goutorbe Brut Champagne
By: Ivan Diaz | Review Date: 2/4/2016 | Send Email
Quick! Before the masses find out about this fine, grower producer and send the price point soaring, make sure to pick up a bottle (or twelve) so you can say you owned it back when it was only $40 a bottle. Made from a vintage blend of Pinot Noir and Chardonnay, this handcrafted bottling is bright but silky on the palate, showing ripe citrus and white peach flavors alongside compelling minerality and buttery, brioche-y richness.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Faultline "Jaime Hernandez Special Edition" Gin (750ml)
By: David Driscoll | Review Date: 2/4/2016 | Send Email
I think with all the hoopla of the artwork and the limited edition vinyl that originally came with it, we forgot to talk about how amazing the spirit is. I had the bartenders from Whitechapel come in recently to express their love and ask if they could potentially work with the product at their newly-established gin bar downtown (alas, there's no legal way of selling it to them). It's like a far more-drinkable version of the Monkey with hints of red berries on the initial entry that give way to an almost creamy mouthfeel accented by vibrant Indian spices. You don't need tonic, or ice, or anything. You can sip this neat and I honestly believe it offers all the complexity of a whisky straight up, all on its own. There are layers of complexity within this gin. They just need a bit of your undivided attention.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2014 Rickshaw California Pinot Noir
By: Diana Turk | Review Date: 2/4/2016 | Send Email
So good and so reasonably priced! A brighter style Pinot Noir sourced mainly from Sonoma fruit, Rickshaw shows high-toned berry notes and good acid while maintaining easygoing drinkability; the 2014 definitely lives up to the Banshee name. Plus a portion of the proceeds go to food-related charities – everyone wins!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2010 Cune "Imperial" Reserva Rioja
By: Illya Haase | Review Date: 2/4/2016 | Send Email
There is no other wine like the Rioja from Alta! The moment you pour the glass and it hits your nose, you know exactly where you are. Aromas of subtle spice linger in the glass. Violets, cinnamon and dried cherries are the benchmarks for an old world Rioja. As it is relatively young, the fruit is a little more seductive, but the underlying earth, leather and sweet crushed floral are the highlights. Rounded out by amazing acidity and polish tannins this is the ultimate food wine! Start out with Morcilla and end with a roasted leg of lamb. Nothing could be more perfect!

2010 Miguel Merino "Unnum" Rioja
By: Diana Turk | Review Date: 2/4/2016 | Send Email
Dark cherry fruit with velvety texture and a touch of oak, Unnum is a plush, impressively layered release from what’s turning out to be a stellar vintage. Miguel Merino is always on the more fruit-driven modern side of Rioja style, and I wouldn’t be surprised if Parker devotees love this delicious wine, but there’s a balance here that doesn’t alienate fans of cooler climate Tempranillo… a thoroughly enjoyable offering from a classic producer.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2009 Can Mayol Loxarel "Gran Reserva de Familia" Brut Nature Penedes
By: Diana Turk | Review Date: 2/4/2016 | Send Email
Crafted from grapes that include 70 year old Xarel-lo vines, this is bright but still shows the gorgeous lees-y qualities without any hint of reduction. There’s sophistication here and a subtle salinity with a dry, beautifully chalky finish. I tend to love everything from this mad scientist Cava producer, but the 2009 Brut Nature is especially lovely and bargain-priced to boot – a celebratory favorite that continues to impress even Champagne lovers.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
RP 93

2014 Ca' del Baio "Paolina" Barbera d'Alba
By: Diana Turk | Review Date: 2/4/2016 | Send Email
I bought this initially at the advice of a fellow K&L employee. I was leaning towards a mineral-driven Mt. Etna wine, or at least something earthy and bright to pair with pasta; he’d just had a bottle of the Paolina and was singing its praises. If he’d told me up front that it would show such lively blueberry fruit on the nose, I might not have gone for it, but it turns out that an open mind here led to an incredibly enjoyable experience. Aromatic with vibrant juicy fruit, tons of lift, sneaky delicate herbal notes, and a surprisingly long finish, this was more intense than expected from Barbera and evolved throughout the night. Sophisticated yet easy going, high quality, and under twenty bucks – Ca’ Del Baio delivers a gorgeous winner here.
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart

Page: 1 2 3 next >>