Staff Favorites

If you’re going to have Robert Parker or Stephen Tanzer over for dinner, selecting a wine they’ve rated highly will be a nice choice. However, when you’re buying wines for yourself, we’d love to see you find wines that match up your unique palate and pocketbook. We have a large staff of friendly and knowledgeable wine professionals that taste hundreds of wines each week. They can put you in touch with bottles that you are likely to love, often at a much lower cost than the highly-rated gems that often see a run-up in price and frequent availability issues. Like any great group of opinionated professionals, our staff has varied tastes themselves. Often our customers will find a particular staff member with a style that corresponds to their own. That concept works extremely well in our retail stores, and this section is our effort to bring you the same online. Don’t get us wrong, we love the highly rated wines from the press and will continue to offer them, but we think you’re missing out if you’re not augmenting those selections with picks from our excellent staff. Here are their favorites. (Click on a name to see their other selections - or to drop them a line.) Cheers!

Reviews

  
Page: 1 2 3 next >>
2013 Casa Beade "Ladeiras de Paderne" Mencía VdT Betanzos
By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 8/31/2016 | Send Email
This is a bit of an oddball of a wine, but I was completely swept up in its intriguing complexity. A touch wild with a hint of rusticity, sure. Bordering on natural, yes. For some this might be a deal breaker, but the Casa Beade walks that tight rope, keeping it all together for a wonderfully complex and gastronomic wine. All you need is a good plate of charcuterie and some Manchego cheese.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2009 Contino Reserva Rioja
By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 8/31/2016 | Send Email
Roasted red and black fruit, supple loamy texture, succulent palate weight. Contino is one of those rare examples of a single estate Rioja. Whether that's a good thing or not can hardly be in question when you taste such a polished and delicious wine. Gorgeous complexity, powerful but balanced structure, this will have a long life ahead of it.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
RP 93 VN 93

2010 Cune "Imperial" Reserva Rioja
By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 8/31/2016 | Send Email
I'm such a huge fan of this classic producer. The 2010 lives up to the expectations of the vintage with its spicebox nose, roasted cherry fruit and subtle notes of crushed herbs. Full-bodied, beautifully textured, sweet fruit on the palate, this is such a fine wine now, but you know this has the distance to go 10+ years. Probably even longer. It's going to be hard to wait.

2014 Domaine Cabirau "Serge & Nicolas" Maury Sec
By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 8/31/2016 | Send Email
Not long ago, I visited this property just outside the village of Maury. It was obvious to see why importer/vigneron Dan Kravitz was drawn to it. And why he had to purchase the land. The ethereal moonscape of shattered brown schist is a defining characteristic of the appellation as it is scattered everywhere but Dan's vineyards look as if they are composed almost entirely of the stuff. Trying to gain purchase on the hillside to climb to the top was an adventure in and of itself. Great vineyards like this invariably lead to potentially great wines. And, the wines coming out of Cabirau are some of the biggest rock stars in the Roussillon region. The best fruit goes into the Serge & Nicolas. Not only is there depth of fruit in each wine but classic terroir. None are heavy handed but they are polished. I tasted a multi-vintage flight ranging from 2011 to 2014 when I visited, tracing a mini-history of the wine in a row of glassware. Each vintage spoke of the terroir of the region but I think 2014 speaks terroir the loudest. Revisiting this wine, now solidly in bottle for a year, the Serge & Nicolas is loaded with flavors of wild blueberry, roasted plum and garrigue. It is juicy and ripe but focused and balanced. This is a more streamlined version that is great now and should definitely evolve beautifully for a few years down the road. Now, we are one of the biggest supporters of the wines and as such, we have the best price in the country. The normal retail price on this wine is well over $20, but we struck a deal with the importer that lets us get it down to $16. If you're not familiar with the wines of Roussillon or Domaine Cabirau, there is no better place to start than right here.

2015 Domaine Lafage "Novellum" Chardonnay Pays d'Oc
By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 8/31/2016 | Send Email
If you are a fan of succulent rich Chardonnay but without the heavy oak influence, then look no further. The Novellum offers gorgeous white peach, dried mango and pineapple notes on the nose. The fruit fills the mouth with its creamy full body, underlying acidity and a long finish. This is such a pleaser, you'll be back buying it by the case before you know it.
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart
RP 90

2015 Domaine la Colombe Coteaux Varois en Provence Rosé
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 8/31/2016 | Send Email
Here is a best seller and no brainer that over delivers every vintage but really notched things up a bit in the exceptional 2015 vintage. This is juicy, fruity, spicy, amazingly fresh and super palate cleansing.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

2012 Domaine de Fontbonau Côtes du Rhône
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 8/31/2016 | Send Email
Although technically not a single village wine this has the elegance and finesse one usually associates with a wine from Gigondas. Both red and black fruit, spice, dusty earth and gentle tannins form the body and structure of this delicious and polished bottle which drinks well above its humble appellation.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$24.99

2012 Trébiac, Graves
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 8/31/2016 | Send Email
This gravely, earthy wine is one of the best Bordeaux values we carry year after year. Always elegant and fresh yet possessing plenty of fruit and lively structure this has a bang to buck ratio that is off the charts.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

2012 Gundlach Bundschu "Mountain Cuvée" Sonoma County Red Blend
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 8/31/2016 | Send Email
This bordeaux blend from Sonoma hits all the right spots at an easy to digest price. This is smooth, plush and dark with just a touch of spice. With no hard edges and plenty of ripe fruit this is easy drinking and a great match for anything grilled.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2014 Fromm "Fromm Vineyard" Pinot Noir Marlborough
By: Kirk Walker | Review Date: 8/31/2016 | Send Email
Fromm makes very engaging Pinot Noirs. For me they are not dinner party wines, they are great and should be shared, but with only one other person, I can be selfish. All of their wines, but especially the single vineyards, have so much depth and so many layers that one glass is not enough. Pour half full or 2/5ths full glasses, drink slow and savor over an entire evening. Pure fruits, minerals, earth, spice, savory tones all come to the forefront at different times. Buy a six pack, put it next to your Burgundy in your cellar, I bet you'll reach for this before any old French wine.

2015 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Pinot Noir Rosé Marlborough
By: Jeff Garneau | Review Date: 8/31/2016 | Send Email
It goes without saying that we here at K&L are big fans of Anna and Jason Flowerday of Te Whare Ra (TWR). Their wines have brought us so much pleasure it seems unfair to ask more of them, yet here on our shores, just in time for summer we have the new 2015 TWR Rosé. Each year, I find that at least one of the several rosé wines that I keep on hand for the warmer months inevitably is a rosé of Pinot Noir. This year my choice was an easy one. Bright and crisp in style with singular focus and admirable length, this wine really over delivers.
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart

2015 Quinta da Aveleda Loureiro-Alvarinho Vinho Verde
By: Jeff Garneau | Review Date: 8/31/2016 | Send Email
A blend of Loureiro and Alvarinho, this Portugese white is the perfect companion for long, lazy summer afternoons. Dry and crisp in style and low in alcohol, this light-bodied wine neither tires nor dulls the senses but rather enlivens and refreshes. Lightly floral with bright citrus notes, there is a slight effervescence here that only emphasizes the wine's youthful exuberance.
Price: $8.99 Add To Cart
RP 90 W&S 90

2013 Tapiz "Alta Coleccion" Malbec Mendoza
By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 8/30/2016 | Send Email
The Tapiz hits the spot for a juicy, fruit forward Malbec that still does not lack for structure and overall balance. Most importantly, though, with its red and dark fruits and hints of spice and licorice, it is a delicous, easy to drink red for a budget friendly price.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart
JS 95

2011 Felsina "Rancia" Chianti Classico Riserva
By: John Downing | Review Date: 8/30/2016 | Send Email
Rancia is one of the truly great Chianti Classico Riservas and we are fortunate to have their wonderful 2011 in good supply at the moment. Normally this would require a bit more time in the cellar but the warm weather of 2011 resulted in a more open and accessible wine. This drinks nicely now but will certainly age for a few more years. A real gem.

2010 La Velona Brunello di Montalcino Riserva
By: John Downing | Review Date: 8/30/2016 | Send Email
It's rare to ever come across a Brunello Riserva from a great vintage at this price so you can imagine our excitement at being able to offer this latest from La Velona. This delicious Sangiovese offers a combination of the now legendary 2010 fruit and subtle complexity and drinks nicely if opened today. Don't miss this serious value.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
JS 93 RP 91

2014 Bel Colle Verduno Pelaverga
By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 8/30/2016 | Send Email
I love the nose of this wine, full of aromatics, baking spice, white pepper, vibrant it just bolts out of the glass. However this isn't a big wine, it's more like a delicate Pinot except it has such a powerful nose it makes you think bigger. On the palate the wine is dry, has a tiny bit of tannic grip jsut to make sure you notice and it is the perfect accompaniment for delicate pasta, roasted chicken or even salmon. try one you're going to love it!
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
JS 91

2014 K Vintners "Milbrandt" Wahluke Slope Syrah
By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 8/30/2016 | Send Email
The nose is classic Washington Syrah, bold, dramatic yet a little less oaky than I'd seen in these wines before, which I found as a plus. On the palate the wine was lush, broad and full of saturated flavors, notes of chocolate and hints of tar. The finish goes out like it came in, dramatic, splashy and full-bodied, you can't miss you've had this wine!
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart
RP 94

2015 Domaine Lafage "Novellum" Chardonnay Pays d'Oc
By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 8/30/2016 | Send Email
The nose is luxuriously fruity, full of tropical fruit. On the palate the wine is supple, and is reminiscent of California Chardonnay from a decade or two past except it doesn't have that big Oak signature. A value at the price, drink it cold!
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart
RP 90

2014 Domaine Cabirau "Serge & Nicolas" Maury Sec
By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 8/30/2016 | Send Email
A really fruit first Rhone value, the nose on this wine is quite vibrant and I really liked the supple nature on the palate and while that fruit played itself out it still had a balanced, dry, clean finish. Perfect for grilled pork chops
Drink from 2016 to 2016

2014 Domaine Cabirau "Serge & Nicolas" Maury Sec
By: Andrew Stevens | Review Date: 8/30/2016 | Send Email
Beautiful red wine that is more structured and elegant than last year. The Domaine Cabirau is a lovely mix of bright red fruit alongside darker, richer fruits with floral and mineral notes adding complexity. The acid and tannins in this wine give it lift and length and help to make it a great food wine to keep around the house.

2014 K Vintners "Milbrandt" Wahluke Slope Syrah
By: Gary Norton | Review Date: 8/30/2016 | Send Email
The 2014 K Vintners Milbrandt Syrah may be the best red wine that K Vintners/Charles Smith has released this year. Dried violets, purple/blue fruit and some subtle gamy notes appear on the nose. The palate explodes with more dark berry and black plum notes plus the inclusion of a persistent layer of acid that keeps the character of the wine in tact. Yes, it's a fruit-laden, unapologetically massive wine. It's also massively delicious and will sell out quickly (especially at $27 bucks apiece), so my recommendation is to nab a few bottles of this one while you can.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart
RP 94

2014 K Vintners "Milbrandt" Wahluke Slope Syrah
By: Bryan Brick | Review Date: 8/30/2016 | Send Email
Charles Smith, the crazy haired maniac that has helped put Washington State wine on the map is about as big of a character as all the stories, both true and rumored, would have you believe. I have some of my own stories but those would be inappropriate in this, or about any other setting. The one thing about him that I can talk about though without any hesitation is his unflinching commitment to quality whether it is in his massive bottlings of $15 dollar wine or in his one barrel of $150 wine he never cuts corners and the ultimate product is all that matters to him cost or time be damned.
The 2014 Milbrandt Syrah is a perfect example of this attention to detail and overall quality. From two different vineyards, Clifton and Northridge, both farmed and planted by the Milbrandt brothers this 100% Syrah is big and burly with a bursting fruit driven intensity and plenty of cured meat spice. Coffee bean and mocha blend with fennel pollen and white sage on the nose in this flagship Syrah. Plush and velvety this is electric Syrah with the typical K Vintners crushed violet tones, chocolate covered cherries, pan fried bacon and chocolate milkshake flavors. Savory and with tremendous length the white pepper studded finish is on par with some of the best Syrahs the US has to offer. This is one powerful, massive wine that still has good generosity and drinkability, easily enjoyable now or over the next 8-12 years.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart
RP 94

2014 K Vintners "Milbrandt" Wahluke Slope Syrah
By: Andrew Stevens | Review Date: 8/30/2016 | Send Email
I love to steer customers looking for rich, dark, smooth luscious wine towards Washington Syrah because generally this is where you can find it. Unfortunately, unlike Cabernet coming from this area the Syrah is generally more expensive because people are aware of how good Washington Syrah can be. So I was surprised when I saw we had a new vintage from K Vintners, one of Charles Smith's projects, for under $30. This wine is bold, dark, and smooth, the fruit is overlaid with cassis, liquorice and a spice finish. Pick one of these bottles up now, wait until big Holiday meals happen and taste the magic of this Syrah.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart
RP 94

2012 Joan d'Anguera "Finca L'Argata" Montsant
By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 8/30/2016 | Send Email
Joan and Joseph d'Anguera have been making some serious changes at their family-owned winery over the past decade or so. Starting with a focus on organic farming, the brothers soon reaped the rewards of healthier vineyards and fruit, but felt that they were still looking for brighter, lighter, fresher wines. To achieve this they began picking a bit earlier and including some whole clusters in the fermentation, going for what Joseph calls more an "infusion" rather than extraction, of color and flavor. This 2012 consists primarily of Garnacha, with 15% Syrah added in. This is an intense wine, but also a taut one, rather linear, with fresh aromas and flavors of wild berries and fennel. Serious, but very drinkable wine.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
VN 91 WE 90

2013 Cà Viola "Brichet" Barbera d'Alba
By: Alex Schroeder | Review Date: 8/30/2016 | Send Email
This is a very well made Barbera! Violet, lavender and plum aromas lift from the glass, and on the palate the fruit is remarkably fresh tasting, neither overripe or wanting for depth. I detect a small hint of cola that enriches the flavor profile and its medium-bodied tannins make it the perfect partner to a hearty Italian meal!​

2010 La Velona Brunello di Montalcino Riserva
By: Alex Schroeder | Review Date: 8/30/2016 | Send Email
The 2010 vintage in Montalcino has been incredibly generous to us wine lovers over the past year. And sure enough, one-by-one, our inventory on most producers has dropped to zero. Alas, the Riservas, aged a year longer and only now ready for release, will provide us one last hurrah! La Velona’s Riserva Brunello is incredible! It is a big, rich wine, with notes of cola framing rich savory fruit flavors of raspberries and blueberries, with elements of scorched earth and just a hint of herbs and spice. The texture is silky and hearty at the same time! It’s a wine so well-structured it kept tasting better and better up to three days after opening it! Being one of our direct imports, the cost is ridiculously low, so don’t expect this wine to stick around for very long. ​
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
JS 93 RP 91

2014 K Vintners "Milbrandt" Wahluke Slope Syrah
By: Stephanie Vidales | Review Date: 8/30/2016 | Send Email
This Syrah is bold, elegant and a match made for barbecue beef or pork. On the nose there's plum, blueberry, cedar and allspice. The palette is full and round with balanced tannin and elegant texture. This wine from Washington truly delivers and will be great to have on hand!
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart
RP 94

2014 K Vintners "Milbrandt" Wahluke Slope Syrah
By: Dave Genevro | Review Date: 8/30/2016 | Send Email
This is delicious, easy to enjoy Washington Syrah at it's best, at an even better price. The fruit is generous, with plump and generosity on the mid-palate, with a lovely and silky smooth spice backbone to round out the wine and give it texture and life. This deep purple Syrah from our dear friends at K Vintners is a knock out of the park. Enjoy!
Top Value!
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart
RP 94

2012 L'Arrosée, St-Emilion
By: Diana Turk | Review Date: 8/30/2016 | Send Email
Gorgeous foresty nose with hints of wet earth and faint violets, this release immediately feels both classic and intriguing. The green of Cab Franc shines up front while the palate brings rich cherry, blackberry and dark coffee notes. The finish is soft with silky but apparent tannins – this is a complex wine for under $35! Fans of the Right Bank should not miss Chateau L'Arrosée.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
RP 92 JS 90

2013 Cà Viola "Brichet" Barbera d'Alba
By: Rachel Vogel | Review Date: 8/30/2016 | Send Email
This intriguing Barbera starts with a nose full of dry spices such as cinnamon and cardamom layered with ripe red fruits. It is delicate on the palate with prominent acid, smooth round tannins, slight spice and red fruit. I find light notes of mint and fresh herbs on the long dry finish. An enjoyable and price friendly red!

2015 Cantina Terlano "Terlaner Classico" White Blend Alto Adige
By: Rachel Vogel | Review Date: 8/30/2016 | Send Email
While this Terlaner is only aged in 20% large oak barrels, I find the nose to be greatly influenced from that oak. It is rich with lemon butter and white flowers. I found the palate surprisingly bright in lemon acidity and to be almost effervescent while keeping that wonderful floral note. It had a long, clean finish that kept me wanting more!
Price: $21.95 Add To Cart
VN 91 RP 90

2015 Zudugarai "Amats" Rosé Getariako Txakolina
By: Shaun Green | Review Date: 8/30/2016 | Send Email
Fun and bright and clean and fresh, dry with just a hint of spritz, even a great price .... what is not to like here! Fantastic and crowd pleasing.
Top Value!
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2015 Siran, Margaux
By: David Driscoll | Review Date: 8/30/2016 | Send Email
2015 will not only be remembered as the vintage that brought sanity back to Bordeaux pricing, it will be remembered by enthusiasts as the year Margaux dominated the communes. Just about every wine we tasted from the region was balanced, beautiful, and elegant. When the combination of great pricing and great quality comes together, it only adds to our initial excitement. Just like the Malescot before (a Margaux wine we sold TONS of), the Siran showcases everything we loved about the vintage but at an even lower price. The difference here is the merlot dominance, but the grace is still there under all that dark fruit. The wine is alive and kicking, plush on the palate, and loaded with drive and panache. It's also less than thirty bucks. I'd say: go for it.

2009 Domaine de la Jaufrette Gigondas
By: John Downing | Review Date: 8/29/2016 | Send Email
Like their Cotes du Rhone, this is a classic Southern Rhone that we highly recommend. The Gigondas showcases a complex array of raspberry, cherry, leather, tea and a hint of licorice on both nose and palate with Grenache taking center stage. It's juicy and flavorful with pleasant grippy tannins on a long finish. This truly lights up with richer dishes. Outstanding!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2014 Domaine Cabirau "Serge & Nicolas" Maury Sec
By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 8/29/2016 | Send Email
An absolutely pleasing wine, vibrant and floral, fruity and elegant. Classic Grenache notes of plums and raspberries, along with herbs and plenty of minerality. It's medium body, and its grippy tannins add a welcoming spicy element to it. A perfect companion to roast chicken and grilled vegetables. A deal!

2013 Cà Viola "Brichet" Barbera d'Alba
By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 8/29/2016 | Send Email
This vintage of the 2013 Ca’Viola Barbera d’Alba Brichet is classic Barbera, the nose is full of spice, leather and brambly fruit, while on the palate the wine has a crunchy cranberry like flavor, an archetypal acidic structure that leads to lots of earth, spice and a bit of grip in the finish. This is an ideal wine for rich pasta dishes or even roasted chicken!
Drink from 2016 to 2016

2010 Domaine de la Jaufrette Côtes-du-Rhone
By: John Downing | Review Date: 8/29/2016 | Send Email
Cotes du Rhone reds of this style are few these days as many emphasize riper fruit characteristics and elevated alcohol levels. That's not to say they aren't wonderful (we love them) but we miss the availability of wines like this one from Jaufrette. Their 2010 is more old guard with complex scents of black fruit, black olive, pepper, earth, deli meat spicing and garrigue and a compact palate with moderate tannins and plenty of concentrated black fruit. Give this one plenty of time to aerate and pair with lamb, stews, cheeses and heartier fare.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2014 Clos de la Bonnette "Roches d'Arbuel" Condrieu
By: John Downing | Review Date: 8/29/2016 | Send Email
My colleague Keith Mabry discovered a hidden gem during his most recent sojourn in the Northern Rhone as I can attest after having tasted this stunning Condrieu. I'm rarely convinced by most Condrieu but this one is a head turner. A round and creamy palate of subtle orchard fruits envelops a core of minerality and acidity that together make this an ethereal experience. There's an overall combination of freshness, vibrancy and complexity that make this an especially compelling wine.
Price: $54.99 Add To Cart

2014 Villa Sparina Gavi
By: Rachel Vogel | Review Date: 8/29/2016 | Send Email
A great, refreshing weekday white! While the wine seems richer on the palate with notes of white flowers and honeysuckle; it has a balanced mouth feel with bright acid and flavors or lemon and lime zest. A perfect end to these warm days!
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2010 La Velona Brunello di Montalcino Riserva
By: Rachel Vogel | Review Date: 8/29/2016 | Send Email
This has been one of my favorite 2010 Brunellos! And the price is outstanding. The entire palate is wrapped by a beautiful savory note of salted black mushrooms. It encompasses deep, ripe cherry and plum notes and rounded yet noticeable tannins. The savory flavors are long on the finish and accompanied by dry spice. A beautiful wine to drink now as well as age.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
JS 93 RP 91

2014 Villa Sparina Gavi
By: John Downing | Review Date: 8/29/2016 | Send Email
Villa Sparina Gavi remains one of the sleeper picks within our Italian white selections and we are pleased to be able to offer it at this tremendous value price. It's a round, delicate and creamy style Gavi with just the right touch of acidity and a wonderful citrus finish that make it ideal with seafood, light pastas, white meats and vegetable dishes. Take advantage of this outstanding wine while it lasts.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2015 Cantina Terlano "Terlaner Classico" White Blend Alto Adige
By: John Downing | Review Date: 8/29/2016 | Send Email
We've been smitten with the wines of Cantina Terlano since their entrance into California in 1999, and are once again reminded why with the arrival of their sensational 2015 "Terlaner" Bianco. This is one of their finest in years offering signature aromas of elderflower, gooseberry, citrus and mineral and a medium-bodied palate of exceptional fruit and incredible acidity that carries it to a very long, mineral-driven finish. In my opinion, Terlano consistently makes some of Italy's finest white wines and this one exceeds expectations.
Price: $21.95 Add To Cart
VN 91 RP 90

2014 Edi Keber Collio Bianco
By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 8/29/2016 | Send Email
The structure and richness of the wine comes from Friulano which is 70% (Edi and Kristian still call it Tocai Friulano) of the blend. That’s followed by 15% each of Ribolla Gialla which gives the wine its snap, vigor and brightness and Malvasia Istriana which adds perfume, aromatic complexity and weight. The nose has aromas that are pear like and then is delicately spiced with flavors that remind me of crushed celery seed and bay leaf. The wine has a creamy density and viscosity to it yet still has a vibrant core of acidic balance. Capable of aging for many years I’d serve this with fish that has a meatier texture like halibut or swordfish or I had recently a Lobster Risotto at a new Oakland Restaurant called Belotti, and although I don’t go out of my way to eat Lobster it was so unfortunate I didn’t have the wine with me!
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $25.99 Add To Cart
RP 90 WE 90

2015 Cantina Terlano "Terlaner Classico" White Blend Alto Adige
By: Alex Schroeder | Review Date: 8/29/2016 | Send Email
This latest release from the cooperative in northeast Italy is a uniquely fun one! Made from 60% Pinot Bianco, supplemented by Chardonnay and a little Sauvignon Blanc, it has a great weighty texture holding up rich tropical fruit flavors like mandarin and banana with a subtle but satisfying acid finish that spreads evenly over the whole palate. I kept revisiting to make sure I wasn’t missing anything and can confirm - this wine is VERY drinkable! ​
Price: $21.95 Add To Cart
VN 91 RP 90

2013 Cantina Valle Isarco Sylvaner "Sabiona"
By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 8/29/2016 | Send Email
This wine was a revelation to me, I’d never heard of this wine and I’ve been a big fan of Valle Isarco’s wines for years. Sabiona is a separate wine Estate it is actually a Benedictine Monastery and has been since 1687 and while the vineyards are truly dramatic they only make 2 wines and only 3,000 bottles of each. A bit of skin contact, 10 months on the lees in tank and then 1 year in the bottle before release. I came across this bottle almost by accident, it was in a box of samples a vendor dropped off for me and I really didn’t think much about it until I opened the bottle and a truly OMG moment happened. The wine has a vibrant floral aromatic but it is so tightly coiled it seems like just a wisp of flowers. On the palate the wine explodes, decidedly more open than the Sabiona Kerner not that it is lush it still shows searing acidity and minerality but couched in a richer denser mouth feel. The flavors are slightly riper pear, with just the slightest hint of tropical fruit. The finish is sensational, powerful and dynamic a really serious wine, try it with Halibut or even better Sea Bass or Grouper, but the wine is powerful enough to hold up to creamy pasta dishes.
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2014 Jacques Bavard Auxey-Duresses "Les Clous" Blanc
By: Kelsey McNellis | Review Date: 8/29/2016 | Send Email
I love the Bourgogne Blanc by the same producer so I had high hopes for this wine and I was not disappointed! Very elegant and well-rounded with light butter and creaminess. Flavors of melon and pear on the palate give this a refreshing aspect too. Delicious wine for under $30 from a great producer.... a must buy!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2015 Pedro Martinez Alesanco Rosado Rioja
By: Kelsey McNellis | Review Date: 8/29/2016 | Send Email
Perfect summer Rose that I will stock up on to take me into the fall for our warmer SF days in September and October. I love the slight creaminess of this rose with hits of mixed berries and strawberries. Not sweet but just enough fruitiness to give it some character and zing. It also is an amazing value for $9.99! Stock up before its gone.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2015 Mt. Hector Sauvignon Blanc Wairarapa
By: Kelsey McNellis | Review Date: 8/29/2016 | Send Email
I honestly can't believe this Sauvignon Blanc is only $8.99. It might be my new favorite one from New Zealand! I love the kiwi and guava fruits on the palate that are not overwhelming. So light, fresh and perfect for Sunday brunch or a seafood and pasta dinner. Great acidity and fruit aromatics. Don't miss this steal!
Price: $8.99 Add To Cart

2013 Cantina Valle Isarco "Sabiona" Kerner
By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 8/29/2016 | Send Email
This wine was a revelation to me, I’d never heard of this wine and I’ve been a big fan of Valle Isarco’s wines especially their Kerner. Sabiona is a separate wine Estate it is actually a Benedictine Monastery and has been since 1687 and while the vineyards are truly dramatic they only make 2 wines and only 3,000 bottles of each. A bit of skin contact, 10 months on the lees in tank and then 1 year in the bottle before release. As I started to write this the word etch kept coming to me over and over, it is the ϋber intense minerality and acidity that is scintillating, dramatic and one sensation you’re not going to forget. The delicate nose is full of the pear, white flower, crushed quartz and is awaiting years of aging to release all that it has. On the palate it screams down the center of your tongue, layering stone and salinity in a seemingly endless finish. This wine, scratch that, this place reminds me of wine grown in Austria’s Wachau, where the soil is more often the dominant factor rather than the grape and that’s what I feel here. The finish is surprising it leaves a layer of viscosity on the inside of your mouth, just an insane wine, after writing a couple of hundred words I still feel speechless. I'd decant this wine for an hour or two if you're going to drink it now.
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart

2014 Clos de la Bonnette "Roches d'Arbuel" Condrieu
By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 8/29/2016 | Send Email
Condrieu for me it's one of the most fascinating wines of France, if not always a bargain. That's why I was not only surprised, but actually impressed by our Buyer, Mr. Mabry, to have found in this minuscule appellation a producer for our direct import program. The exotic Viognier grape display its array of flavors in this wine. Jasmine flower, apples, quince, honey, and orange flower, but fear not, it is dry, and definitely never heavy or cloying. If you like Indian curry, do yourself a favor and pair it with this wine, for an elegant dinner party.
Price: $54.99 Add To Cart

Page: 1 2 3 next >>