Customer Reviews - thomas vogelbacher

German and thus loves his German Rieslings in every style. Also in love with everything French and Austrian. Has a complicated relationship with CA-wine. Admits that red wines can be great, whites are too expensive for the quality. Prefers mineral and elegant wines over fruit-bombs. Over all, preferred US wine region Oregon.


2008 Domaine Drouhin "Arthur" Dundee Hills Chardonnay
Review Date: 06-21-2011
I agree with Doug. It is a wonderful Chardonnay, IMHO the best in Oregon, at least the best I had come across during my March "field-trip" to that region. Brilliant!
Drink from 2011 to 2011
Price: $28.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 92

2008 Chalone Estate Chardonnay
Review Date: 06-17-2011
Rather mediocre Chardonnay. Oak not very well integrated, fruit couldnt shine through. By no means 92 points
Drink from 2011 to 2011
Price: $12.99 Add To Waiting List
WS 92

2003 Bowen Estate Shiraz Coonawarra South Australia
Review Date: 05-25-2011
Textbook Shiraz, almost silky. Excellent food wine. Well-priced delicious Shiraz
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List
ST 91

2008 Schloss Saarstein Pinot Blanc
Review Date: 05-23-2011
Scott Beckerley, Pinot Blanc is very popular in Germany! Google Weissburgunder and you will learn more about Pinot Blanc in Germany...
Price: $18.99 Add To Waiting List

2008 Lemelson Willamette Valley Dry Riesling
Review Date: 05-23-2011
In my opinion, one of the best American rieslings I have ever tasted. Good fruit, embedded in great acidity and lovely finish. The other wines at Lemelson were very good as well.

2008 Selene "Hyde Vineyard" Carneros Sauvignon Blanc
Review Date: 02-11-2011
92 by WS? I am not very impressed, Capture and Cliff Lede are way better!
Price: $29.99 Add To Waiting List
WS 92

2003 Konrad & Conrad "Sigrun" Noble Late Harvest Riesling Marlborough 375ml
Review Date: 01-27-2011
Reminiscent of a top-flight German Beerenauslese? I dunno. When did Parker last try a German Beerenauslese? For the price, a good wine. For 30 USD I would not bother and skip the wine. At 10 USD a pretty good deal.

2008 Brewer-Clifton "Mt. Carmel Vineyard" Sta. Rita Hills Pinot Noir
Review Date: 12-15-2010
I do not agree with the reviewers, silky is by far the least you can say about this wine! It tasted very sterile to me, none of the Burgundian "stuff" that became so famous and popular. Brewer thinks that balance matters, and yet, at 14.8 ABV, balance is there, but you cannot drink the wine, you just sip. In my humble opinion, way overrated and nothing to enjoy with friends, unless you want to be drunk soon. Same goes for their other Pinot Noirs. I prefer their Chardonnays.
Drink from 2010 to 2010

2008 Cuvaison Carneros Chardonnay
Review Date: 12-01-2010
I am really surprised to read that many positive reviews. I found this wine very unremarkable. Tasted like liquid marshmellows, creamy, oaky, absolutely nothing special. The third day, wine had seen some oxygen and burnt. Overall, there are better deals, at least from French or Kiwi producers. This wine does not help convince an "ABC"-wine drinker...
Price: $12.99 Add To Waiting List

2009 Pacific Rim Columbia Valley Riesling
Review Date: 11-26-2010
Way overrated, cannot even slightly compare to German or Alsatian offerings...
Price: $8.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 92

2006 Rubicon Estate "Rubicon" Rutherford Bordeaux Blend
Review Date: 11-26-2010
Had it yesterday with Turkey and after decanting it for 1 hour, it was fabulous. You definitively want to decant this wine...

2009 Morgan Monterey County Sauvignon Blanc
Review Date: 11-15-2010
plain and simple Sauvignon Blanc. Slight hint of Newzealand, but the original is better than this "copy". Not very complex either. I guess there are plenty better SB in Cali such as Cliff Lede, Merry Edwards, Grgich and Tangent among others.
Price: $10.99 Add To Waiting List

2007 Cliff Lede Stags Leap District Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 10-22-2010
Too alcoholic for my taste. Kind of burned. In my opinion too expensive for what`s in the bottle. At the winery, they sell it for 60 USD

2009 Cliff Lede Napa Valley Sauvignon Blanc
Review Date: 10-22-2010
Might be the best Ca SB. Not too acidic, beautifully balanced and well-priced for the quality. Brilliant.
Price: $21.99 Add To Waiting List

2006 Ladera Howell Mountain Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 10-22-2010
Ladera had a tasting yesterday at K and L, I thought this was an absolute winner. Already drinkable now, it might further improve with age. One of the best Napa Cab I have ever tasted. Tasting notes from WS are correct.

2007 Ridge "Pagani Ranch" Sonoma Zinfandel
Review Date: 10-19-2010
had it yesterday along with 4 other Ridge Zins. Liked it the least due to high alcohol. If I remember correctly, ABV was around 15%. Finish was a bit too sweet. Other than that, a still decent red from my favorite CA-producer Ridge.
Price: $31.99 Add To Waiting List

2007 Ridge Vineyards "Lytton Springs" Dry Creek Valley Zinfandel
Review Date: 10-19-2010
Had it yesterday at a tasting. Good balance, clean fruit, not overwhelming and not too powerful. A typical Ridge Zin. Good quality for a relatively decent price.

2008 Blason Friulano
Review Date: 09-27-2010
K and L should check out other producers in Friuli. Blason is not considered to be one of the best there. I thought the wine was pretty mediocre and unremarkable. On the other hand, there aren`t many Friulanos for 10 USD, so it might be a decent first Friulano for those who are not familiar with them.
Price: $6.99 Add To Waiting List

2009 Mönchhof Ürziger Würzgarten Riesling Kabinett
Review Date: 09-23-2010
OMG, so super refreshing and spritzy. Love it, great with Asian food or just by its own. A steal at that price.
Price: $17.99 Add To Waiting List
WS 91

2008 Quinta da Aveleda Vinho Verde
Review Date: 09-23-2010
served it for women who usually do not like white wine. They loved it for being not complicated, deep and that is what I expect from a wine at a party. Alvarinhos are not critics` darling, but soo tasty and refreshing, yummy
Price: $8.99 Add To Waiting List
W&S 90 WE 90

2008 Louis M. Martini Sonoma County Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 09-23-2010
pleasant Tuesday-night red table wine. Had it with Lamb and it was just a decent tasty wine without being sensational. Bravo for 12 bucks.
Price: $11.99 Add To Waiting List

2008 Domaine J-M Brocard Chablis Vieilles Vignes Sainte Claire
Review Date: 09-23-2010
really liked its minerality, very food-friendly. Cork unfortunately not easy to remove and sharp decline (oxidation?) after 2 days in fridge. First day though was brilliant.
Price: $24.99 Add To Waiting List
BH 88 - 91

2008 Ramey Russian River Chardonnay
Review Date: 09-23-2010
Sorry, I do not get California Chardonnay. At most, it is pleasant, if a bit tart. Drinking pleasure was higher with 7 USD-Bernier. I was wondering, what do you pair it with? For 37 bucks, I rather enjoy 2 bottles of Chablis or Kumeu from NZL.
Price: $36.99 Add To Waiting List
ST 91 WS 90

2008 Meulenhof Erdener Treppchen Riesling Kabinett
Review Date: 08-11-2010
not too sweet, very balanced, very fresh taste, was excellent with food and without. A very typical Mosel Kabinett. Drink now.
Price: $12.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 90