Customer Reviews - Matt Esq.

A drinker of wine.


Reviews

2007 Clos La Coutale Cahors
Review Date: 02-18-2010
Not big on nose or flavor, even after receiving some air, but smooth and easy drinking. Has a bit of tannic grip to remind you you're drinking malbec. Fun to compare with the more extracted and fruit forward New World malbecs. Best with food, good for a weeknight.
Price: $13.99 Add To Waiting List
WS 90

2008 Shenandoah Vineyards "Special Reserve" Amador Zinfandel
Review Date: 02-18-2010
Contrary to the other reviews, this does strike me a big zin (despite the somewhat restrained alcohol level). Not that that is a bad thing. Big fruit and spice flavors deliver a big bang for your buck. Highly recommended if you are a fan of zinfandel.
Price: $9.99 Add To Waiting List

2006 Krizevci Winery Grasevina, Kalnik Region, Croatia
Review Date: 02-16-2010
I've been loving Croatian wines lately. At their best they are unique, inexpensive and a fun change of pace. That being said, this was a big disappointment. Remarkably similar in body and flavor to watered down apple juice and flat, with little discernible acidity. It may be past its prime, or perhaps it never had one.
Price: $11.99 Add To Waiting List

2006 Monsanto Chianti Classico Riserva
Review Date: 02-15-2010
Agreed that this needs some air if you're going to drink now. Fruit really begins to show after about two hours and then this really starts to sing. Great value.
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 91 WE 91

2006 Hedges "Three Vineyards" Red Mountain Washington Red Blend
Review Date: 02-14-2010
To me this is what Washington wine is all about, and the Red Mountain AVA in particular. Great bordeaux blend (with a touch of Syrah) that is ready to drink now (with a brief decant) and at a great price. This tops just about anything California has to offer at this price point. Hopefully they'll get some of Kiona's Red Mountain reds in soon as well.
Price: $17.99 Add To Waiting List

2006 Havens Napa Valley Merlot
Review Date: 02-13-2010
This might just be the most controversial wine in K&L history. I must've gotten some of the good bottles. Nice QPR.
Price: $6.99 Add To Waiting List

2004 E. Guigal Côtes du Rhône Rouge
Review Date: 02-13-2010
In a sea of mediocre cotes du rhone at this price point, it's a standout. Nice 50/50 fruit/barnyard ratio. I'm gonna be sad when they run out of this one. Curious to try the slightly more expensive 06 they just got in.
Price: $9.99 Add To Waiting List
ST 89

Sean Thackrey "Pleiades XVIII" Old Vine Red Blend
Review Date: 02-13-2010
Wow. I hope you like flowers! Overwhelmingly floral. I had to dump this one out and that is typically blasphemy in my household. This makes me hesitant to try Thackrey's supposedly excellent higher priced offerings.
Price: $29.99 Add To Waiting List