Customer Reviews - Michael Berry


2007 Brancaia Tre Toscana
Review Date: 11-04-2010
A wonderful Tuscan blend, strong black fruit presence but not sweet or overpowering, and balanced with a nice tannic finish. I've only got one bottle left and hope to pick up a few more as I anticipate this one will get better with a little more bottle aging, though its very good right now.
Price: $22.99 Add To Waiting List
WS 93

2007 Marchesi de' Frescobaldi "Tenuta Castiglioni" Tuscany
Review Date: 10-10-2010
Enjoyed this this with grilled lean pork after a long bike ride; an exceptional wine, dense, with many layers of dried red fruit, tannins, baking spices and just that acidity necessary to make for a refreshing drink after a day outdoors. Expertly blended. Should drink nicely--even better--for several years. Hoping to lay some more down for later if I can get it.
Price: $21.99 Add To Waiting List
WS 93

2008 Domaine Renaud St-Veran
Review Date: 07-16-2010
Rich and soft; with body and a blending of interesting but understated fruit and mineral flavors. A refreshingly acidic finish without bitterness. Buttery and subtle. Just a really nice glass of wine
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List

2007 Domaine Robert Martin Mâcon-Villages
Review Date: 05-17-2010
Smooth and delicious; showing the best the Chardonnay grap has to offer without the bite which characterizes many lesser efforts. A big hit in our home.
Price: $13.99 Add To Waiting List

2005 Verdignan, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 05-01-2010
Took this on a overnight fishing trip with friends and thought several times through the day how terrific this would taste after the fish and I were cleaned and cooled down. I was disappointed when I opened the bottle. finding the wine to be musty and tannic. So I passed happy hour with a cold beer while I let the bottle breathe and the glass sit, hoping time and air would do something miraculous. Just before dinner I took a sip to discover this wine had smoothed out and was tasting very good. It continued improving through the evening. This is a terrific Bordeaux for the money; you will enjoy it very much if you have the patience to decant it for at least an hour or two before serving.
Price: $24.99 Add To Waiting List
WS 90

2008 Maritma Sangiovese "The 4 Old Guys"
Review Date: 04-23-2010
A gentle Tuscan red, easy to drink. A wine you'd get served in Italy as the house red where locals eat. Nothing complicated about it but has some subtle and interesting notes of fruit and soil. You'll like it.
Price: $7.99 Add To Waiting List

Chardonnay, Plaisir des Princes
Review Date: 04-18-2010
Soft, crisp and very refreshing. It drinks way better than just about any Chardonnay selling for twice this price. I highly recommend it.
Price: $8.99 Add To Waiting List

2008 Heartland Shiraz South Australia
Review Date: 03-20-2010
This would be a good buy at twice the cost; a real workhorse of the wine cellar, a go-to wine you can enjoy any day of the week, serve to guests with confidence alongside a wide range of fare, or pack on a picnic (it has a screw top). It starts out with plenty of fruit (blackberry, to my taste), but dosn't seem viscous and syrupy like some Shiraz can be. The mellow entry is complimented with some mineral accents and a refreshing amount of acidity, finishing with some understaed but present spices and tannins, all in very satisfying proportions. I recommend it highly.
Price: $12.99 Add To Waiting List

2006 Santa Rita "Medalla Real" Cabernet Sauvignon Maipo Valley
Review Date: 02-14-2010
A big wine with lots of prune, chocolate and blackberry up front, followed by a mouthful of oak tannins. Next time I'll let it open a bit in the decanter before serving but I couldn't wait. Should age very well. Drank this one with dinner on Valentine's day, along-side a pan sauteed beef tenderloin rolled in cracked pepper, garlic and sea salt, topped with sherry mushrooms and heavy cream...terrific combination. Highly recommend.

2006 Campo Viejo Tempranillo Crianza Rioja
Review Date: 02-14-2010
I'm a hard grader so consider this a good score on a fine drinking wine that beats the socks off bottles costing twice as much and compares favorably with many costing more than that. A little low on acidity for my taste but strong finish of tannins and spice makes it very enjoyable. I recommend it.
Price: $6.99 Add To Waiting List

2006 Monsanto Chianti Classico Riserva
Review Date: 02-12-2010
Terrific Chianti Classico for this price. Benefits from some air. Powerful tannins with strong presence of fruit. Highly recommend.
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 91 WE 91

2007 Bodegas Numanthia-Termes "Termes" Toro
Review Date: 02-12-2010
A really good wine, with strong tannins and charcoal flavors, mild but present acidity. A great match for seasoned meats.
Price: $24.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 92

2007 Thorn-Clarke "Shotfire" Shiraz Barossa Valley South Australia
Review Date: 02-12-2010
A well balanced Shiraz with many interesting flavors; good value; highly recommend. Would pair well with broiled meat or a hearty stew.
Price: $18.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 92 WS 90