Customer Reviews - Ian

Wine enthusiast. I generally like the variety of different regions and flavors. I've recently developed more of a taste for lighter wines that have more lively acidity.


Reviews

2008 Pali Wine Company "Shea Vineyard" Willamette Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 11-13-2012
Very nice wine. Quite a bit of oak here. It was 50% French for 18 months I think. I think this wine leans toward too much oak for my palate but it's very nice.

2008 Dame de Montrose, St-Estèphe
Review Date: 09-22-2011
Very nice. To me it tastes like a classic ripe vintage Bordeaux. You can taste the oak but it's well balanced. It's got the bright acidity that you expect from a French wine but it has the fruit to match it and it tastes great. I'd buy it again.

2005 Pagodes de Cos, St-Estèphe
Review Date: 08-17-2010
Very nice wine. Full mouth feel, ripe fruit, clean, good tannins. Very very nice. After tasting this I ordered 2 bottles of the '09 futures.

2008 Banshee Santa Lucia Highlands Pinot Noir
Review Date: 07-07-2010
I don't know what happened here. I felt like this was a pinot mixed with an inexpensive California zinfandel. We ended up spraying argon over it, corking the bottle, putting it back, and opening up a 1er cru from Burgundy. Much happier with the Burgundy. I don't know... maybe it was a bad bottle but it really tasted like too full bodied and sweet for a pinot.
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List

2005 Ruston "La Maestra" Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 02-01-2010
Fantastic. Great fruit forward wine with full body, balanced acidity, medium fine tannins. Good blend of New and Old World style. Good structure and depth.
Price: $29.99 Add To Waiting List

2004 Ruston "La Maestra" Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 02-01-2010
I love the Ruston wines. Great structure and balance.
Price: $24.99 Add To Waiting List

2008 Berroia Bizkaiko Txakolina
Review Date: 02-01-2010
This one didn't work for me. I'd be willing to try it again, however. It seemed a little too light and I didn't feel the balance.
Price: $11.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 90

2006 Ferrero Rosso di Montalcino
Review Date: 02-01-2010
Fine Rosso but we had it right after the 2007 Baricci Rosso and so were a little disappointed. The Ferrero didn't have the fruit that the Baricci did.
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List

2007 Domaine Roulot Bourgogne Blanc
Review Date: 02-01-2010
Another great white burgundy at K&L for a great price. Complex mid palate, nice bright acidity. Interesting flavors linger in the mouth with the finish. This wine has the flavor I look for from this region.
Price: $22.99 Add To Waiting List

2007 Domaine l'Églantière Chablis
Review Date: 02-01-2010
Excellent Chablis, great price. I went back to buy more and it was out. Nice authentic mid palate flavors that can only be from a Burgundy Chardonnay.
Price: $11.99 Add To Waiting List
BH 88

2007 Baricci Rosso di Montalcino
Review Date: 02-01-2010
Fantastic Sangiovese fruit. If you appreciate Italian wine and can get past a little bit of acidity (which I like, and it's balanced in this wine,) you will be rewarded heavily with abundant beautiful tasting fruit. I bought 6 bottles!
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List

2007 Kalinda Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 02-01-2010
Medium bodied, some tannin, mild to medium acidity. Fairly well balanced. Everyone liked the wine and it's reasonably priced.
Price: $16.99 Add To Waiting List

2007 Ridge Vineyards "Three Valleys" Sonoma Zinfandel Blend
Review Date: 02-01-2010
Medium body and less new world mouth-coating than some of Ridge's Zinfandel offerings. Good fruit, however, with lively acidity.
Price: $18.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 92 CG 90

2007 Patient Cottat Sauvignon Blanc
Review Date: 02-01-2010
For the price it's a very reasonable bright French Sauvignon Blanc. There are no 'off' flavors.
Price: $10.99 Add To Waiting List

2007 Domaine de l'Églantière Chablis 1er Cru "Fourchaume"
Review Date: 02-01-2010
Beautiful Chablis at a reasonable price. This wine has some of the earthy tones I like in Burgundy whites. Nice balanced acidity on the finish. I would buy this again without hesitation.
Price: $29.99 Add To Waiting List
BH 91