Customer Reviews - principalchef

Looking for full-bodied red wine values for under $20.


Reviews

2009 Perrin & Fils "Reserve" Côtes du Rhône
Review Date: 05-08-2011
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Empty image
A GREAT VALUE! I'll buy another case of this quickly. Full of flavor, complex enough to be interesting, medium to full-bodies, with definite licorice and fruit flavors. Loved it.
Price: $8.99 Add To Waiting List

2007 Andezon Côtes du Rhône
Review Date: 05-08-2011
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Empty image Glass Empty image Glass Empty image
Not what I expected at all. I served it at a beach bbq and not one glass of it was finished. Sour and thin. Disappointing.
Price: $9.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 89

2007 Domaine Courtois "La Grange" Vinsobres
Review Date: 04-11-2010
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Half image Glass Empty image Glass Empty image
An OK food wine, but it's not that smooth. Good flavors, but the mineral bite was too much for me.
Price: $12.99 Add To Waiting List

2008 Jaffurs Santa Barbara County Syrah
Review Date: 04-01-2010
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image
Spectacular. Big, jammy, interesting and delicious. Doesn't need food at all, just needs a nice glass and a welcome drinker. Enjoy!
Price: $34.99 Add To Waiting List
WS 92

2008 Porcupine Ridge (Boekenhoutskloof) Syrah Franschhoek
Review Date: 04-01-2010
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Half image Glass Empty image Glass Empty image
Well . . . I don't feel quite as strongly as the KL reviewers. It's nice, but really not as big as I would have hoped. After about 30 minutes of being open, it had some bigger moments, but it was never consistent. A little tightly wound for my tastes.
Price: $9.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 89

2005 License Zinfandel
Review Date: 03-31-2010
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Empty image Glass Empty image
Plenty good for $5.99. Not as full as I like, but way more than I expect for price. Good flavors. Great for a bbq, not bad indoors either!
Price: $5.99 Add To Waiting List

Urbanite Cellars "Redart" Red Blend
Review Date: 03-31-2010
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Empty image
Wonderful. A great wine at a great price. I'd serve this anywhere. Full, lush, great flavor, long enough to be interesting, and very Rhone-esque. I'll be buying more.
Price: $9.99 Add To Waiting List

2006 Urbanite Cellars "Amplio" California Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 03-31-2010
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Half image Glass Empty image Glass Empty image
I didn't love it. Some good flavors, but "tinny" throughout the bottle. Never opened up.
Price: $10.99 Add To Waiting List

2007 Delas "St-Esprit" Côtes du Rhône
Review Date: 01-18-2010
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Empty image Glass Empty image Glass Empty image
Reviewed quite nicely, but not what I was hoping for. Very dry, with herbal flavors, sometimes actually bitter. Has some very nice notes, and may go well with certain foods, but as a drinking wine, it was just OK.
Price: $9.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 90

2007 Cave de Rasteau "Dame Victoria" Côtes du Rhône-Villages Rasteau
Review Date: 01-18-2010
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Empty image
The Dame Victoria is a beautiful, silky wine with enough that you would be proud to serve to any guests, no matter how much of a wine critic they may be. This is a wine to serve with our without food, but if you're going to serve food, it deserves something nice. Layered, complex, with a little vanilla and a lot of red fruit, it makes you say, Wow.
Price: $9.99 Add To Waiting List

2008 d'Arenberg "Stump Jump" Shiraz McLaren Vale
Review Date: 01-17-2010
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Empty image Glass Empty image
A very smooth wine with little or no complexity. I really enjoyed it, but I kept wanting a little more. I think that's all there is. Still, I will have some on hand, as the flavor is very, very nice.
Price: $8.99 Add To Waiting List
WS 90

2007 La Font du Vent "Les Promesses" Côtes du Rhône
Review Date: 01-17-2010
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Half image
This wine was a treat. Many layers with wonderful complexity. Had it with a Ribeye steak and absolutely loved it (but I was enjoying it without the steak too). Medium to full bodied and a solid value.
Price: $13.99 Add To Waiting List