Customer Reviews - Jon Gillespie-Brown



Reviews

2005 Elderton "Command" Single Vineyard Shiraz Barossa Valley
Review Date: 11-28-2009
Superb. Even at only 4 years old this wine is majestic, well balanced and an excellent example of a shiraz style wine. The price and quality make this a bargain and the wine will ast for many years yet. I have bought a load!

2008 Dashwood Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough
Review Date: 11-28-2009
A bargain wine for parties and every day drinking, not as good as Kim Crawford but still a great value.
Price: $8.99 Add To Waiting List
WS 90

2006 Joseph Phelps "Le Mistral" Monterey County Red Blend
Review Date: 11-28-2009
This is an excellent example of a great syrah style, better than the Pax and others I have tried recently. More refined and enjoyable to me. Also, the price is right and so we just have to see what the future holds now that Phelps have sold the brand on.
Price: $39.99 Add To Waiting List
WS 92

2007 Mollydooker "Blue Eyed Boy" Shiraz South Australia
Review Date: 11-28-2009
I have to confess to being a fan of the Mollydooker brand that uses its name on many wines, most of which are excellent. This is a great value if you like the shiraz style wines as I do. It will be way better in 2-3 years too!
Price: $44.90 Add To Waiting List
RP 95 WS 92

2006 Pax "Griffin's Lair" Sonoma Coast Syrah
Review Date: 11-28-2009
I was disappointed with this syrah for the price. I think it needs more age and will probably improve but seems over priced and lacking in much character. I think the Pax brand is overdone compared to equivalent shiraz wines.
Price: $44.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 93

2005 Ridge Vineyards "Lytton West" Dry Creek Syrah
Review Date: 11-28-2009
A nice example of a US style syrah but not overwhelming. Will probably do better with age.
Price: $29.99 Add To Waiting List
CG 95

2004 Rolf Binder "Hanisch" Shiraz
Review Date: 11-28-2009
This is a "Super Bargain" I paid over $150 when I got it in the UK. It's a superb wine, and also a great wine maker. I have over 150 shiraz style wines from OZ in the this is on the top 5. Rolf Binder is a superb wine maker and even his lower cost wines are superb. I would buy as much as you can!
Price: $59.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 95 WS 93

2008 Kim Crawford Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough
Review Date: 11-28-2009
This is an absolute bargain. Clearly a volume wine but for the price and the quality its hard to beat if you like SB style whites.
Price: $13.99 Add To Waiting List
WS 91 WE 90

2006 Water Wheel "Memsie" Shiraz-Cabernet-Malbec Bendigo Victoria
Review Date: 11-28-2009
First, the price of this is very good compared to other places you can get it, so buy from KL. It's a great wine for the price, sure its a blend but for every day drinking it's hard to beat if you like more shiraz-syrah-rhone style wines.
Price: $10.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 90 ST 90

2008 d'Arenberg "Stump Jump" Shiraz McLaren Vale
Review Date: 11-28-2009
I have tried many Shiraz and this has an "odd" taste to me, not necessarily bad, but not to my taste. If I want a lower cost wine, I would suggest the "memsie' that's great, everyday drinking and a silly price for the quality and taste. I can't get on with this one.
Price: $8.99 Add To Waiting List
WS 90