Customer Reviews - Derek

Born in Tours, France. Highly partial to Burgundy, also fond of Loire valley not so well known crus, occasional Bordeaux drinker, preferrably exceptionally good. Still finding my way through the maze of Californian wines. I tend to favor subtle and well balanced wines, with enough acidity, and elegant tannins.


Reviews

2004 Joel Gigou "Cuvee Clos St. Jacques" Jasnières
Review Date: 12-29-2009
An intriguing wine, of obvious noblesse; subtle and complex, high acidity, tantalizing aromas of citrus zest, (not ripe) pear, honey or beewax, combined with indeed something oceanic or briny as noted by RP. This is highly original and really good stuff ... unless of course you were looking for a buttery Chardonnay!
Price: $18.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 91

2004 Francois Diligent "Cuvee Tradition" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 12-27-2009
Delicious. Subtle.
Price: $39.99 Add To Waiting List

2006 Richou "Les 4 Chemins" Anjou Rouge
Review Date: 12-27-2009
Good Anjou. Dense and interesting, if not super refined. Perhaps tasted too young.
Price: $9.99 Add To Waiting List

2007 Martin Schaetzel Pinot Blanc Reserve
Review Date: 12-27-2009
Really quite good ... but I am really not found of Alsace. Except when it's Deiss.
Price: $13.99 Add To Waiting List

1995 Couly Dutheil Chinon Clos de L'Olive
Review Date: 12-27-2009
Super delicious. I love good Chinon. This is it.
Price: $28.99 Add To Waiting List

2000 Couly Dutheil Chinon Clos de l'Echo
Review Date: 12-27-2009
Delicious. I love good Chinon. This is it.
Price: $21.99 Add To Waiting List

2001 d'Armailhac, Pauillac
Review Date: 12-27-2009
Looking back, a great value. 2001 is a classic bordeaux vintage IMHO, unjustly looked down on.
Price: $54.99 Add To Waiting List

2001 Chassagne Montrachet 1er Cru, Rouge, Domaine Gagnard Delagrange
Review Date: 12-27-2009
Subtle, elegant if light and short in flavor. Still a good burgundy.
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List

2003 Corse-Figari Clos Canarelli "Le Petit Clos"
Review Date: 12-27-2009
Nice enough, with some pleasant spice or aromas of garrigue.
Price: $7.99 Add To Waiting List

2006 Domaine Philippe Alliet Chinon
Review Date: 12-27-2009
GREAT Chinon; dark as ink, very full bodied and with aromas of clover, ink and santal. WOW. can't wait to taste it later.
Price: $21.99 Add To Waiting List

2004 Irouleguy Blanc Herri Mina
Review Date: 12-27-2009
I like this. Then again I tend to like Irouleguy. Still, this is nice.
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List

2004 E. Guigal Côtes du Rhône Rouge
Review Date: 12-27-2009
solid value. sometimes surprising in good vintages and with proper cellaring.
Price: $9.99 Add To Waiting List
ST 89

2006 Domaine de la Louvetrie Muscadet Sèvre et Maine Amphibolite Nature
Review Date: 12-27-2009
Not good. Slightly sweet and past its prime. avoid.
Price: $5.99 Add To Waiting List

2006 Cantelys Rosé, Pessac-Leognan
Review Date: 12-27-2009
WOW. This is good stuff and AMAZING value. Subtle, full of aromas and reasonably long in mouth. WOW.
Price: $7.99 Add To Waiting List

Domaine Voarick Cremant de Bourgogne
Review Date: 12-27-2009
Nice cheap bottle of bubbly.
Price: $9.99 Add To Waiting List

2007 E. Guigal Côtes du Rhône Blanc
Review Date: 12-27-2009
OK .. this is a run of the mill CdR. White gives it some appeal but it lacks complexity or subtlety.
Price: $11.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 90 W&S 90

2007 Au Bon Climat Santa Barbara Pinot Noir
Review Date: 12-27-2009
I am a Burgundy fiend. This is not a burgundy, but this is not either a big, way too alcohoolic Pinot. Nice and subtle, like a Pinot should be, if lacking some complexity. You could get way less Pinot for your money.
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List

2007 Ridge Vineyards "Three Valleys" Sonoma Zinfandel Blend
Review Date: 12-27-2009
I like this wine. Full of aromas but not too big or jammy. I like Ridge.
Price: $18.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 92 CG 90

1996 Lanessan, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 12-27-2009
Good, but austere. Classic Bordeaux, lacking some aromas or exuberance. 1996 is an austere year, so it might be the year rather than the chateau. if you like classic bordeaux you won't be disappointed.
Price: $29.99 Add To Waiting List

2004 Binder-Mitchell "Gunslingers" Shiraz
Review Date: 12-27-2009
big wine. ridiculous label. I suppose quite nice if you like big, jammy wines.
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 92 - 94

2007 Foxglove San Luis Obisipo County Chardonnay
Review Date: 12-27-2009
What has RP smoked? 90 pts?? no way. this is your average Chardonnay. average.
Price: $16.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 90

2005 Grand Bateau Rouge, Bordeaux
Review Date: 12-27-2009
Good stuff. great value.
Price: $9.99 Add To Waiting List

2006 Louis Martini Sonoma Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 12-27-2009
Agree with the previous reviewer; does the job in a nice , balanced manner. You could have lot worse Cab for the money.
Price: $11.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 90

2006 Clos Floridene, Graves Blanc
Review Date: 12-27-2009
Good wine, but too classic for my taste; I expect more for this price.
Price: $24.99 Add To Waiting List

2006 Michele Chiarlo Barbera d'Asti Superiore "Le Orme"
Review Date: 12-27-2009
OK wine; a touch sweet, typical Barbera. Enjoyable if not fascinating.
Price: $10.99 Add To Waiting List

2007 Grange Tiphaine Touraine-Amboise Les Cassiers
Review Date: 12-27-2009
Ok ... a Gamay ....
Price: $7.99 Add To Waiting List

2006 Châteauneuf-du-Pape Cecile Chassagne "IDS-Image du Sud"
Review Date: 12-27-2009
Nice Chateauneuf. Spicy but light, easy to drink.
Price: $16.99 Add To Waiting List

2007 Friedrich Becker Estate Pinot Noir
Review Date: 12-27-2009
Nice.
Price: $16.99 Add To Waiting List

2007 Grange Tiphaine Touraine Rosé Riage Tournant
Review Date: 12-27-2009
average wine. not worth the price (by french standards!)
Price: $9.99 Add To Waiting List

2007 Allimant Laugner Pinot Noir
Review Date: 12-27-2009
Good. not deep but good.
Price: $15.99 Add To Waiting List

2007 Grange Tiphaine Touraine Côt Vieilles Vignes
Review Date: 12-27-2009
OK ... this is Gamay.
Price: $9.99 Add To Waiting List

2006 Domaine Ilarria Irouleguy Rouge
Review Date: 12-27-2009
pleasant but not fascinating; perhaps too young. I used to love Irouleguy, I thought this one was lacking in power or intensity. No need to open it 24h before!
Price: $15.99 Add To Waiting List

2006 Domaine Durand "Les Côteaux" Saint-Joseph
Review Date: 12-27-2009
excellent; subtle, not big, acidic enough to last.
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 90

2003 Louise Brison Vintage Brut
Review Date: 12-27-2009
delicious! super dry, very small bubbles (as it should be for a good champagne), wow.
Price: $39.99 Add To Waiting List

2003 Domaine de Bonserine "La Sarrasine" Côte Rôtie
Review Date: 12-27-2009
Nice! not GREAT but NICE!
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List
WS 93

2008 Pavie Macquin Rosé, St-Emilion
Review Date: 12-27-2009
Serviceable rose; not up to the Pavie name but OK. Don't expect too much and you won't be disappointed!
Price: $9.99 Add To Waiting List

2008 Domaine des Nembrets Denis Barraud Pouilly-Fuissé "Clos de la Combe Poncét"
Review Date: 12-27-2009
Way pricey; not even that nice. save yourself some bucks and try some other burgundy.
Price: $21.99 Add To Waiting List

2007 Château Paradis "Terre des Anges" Côteaux d'Aix en Provence
Review Date: 12-27-2009
Completely agree with the previous reviewer; dark, concentrated but somewhat not satisfying; then again i tend not to like big wines ... unless when they are really good!
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 92 - 95

2005 Domaine Desertaux-Ferrand Côte de Nuits-Villages Vieilles Vignes
Review Date: 12-27-2009
Beautiful tannins and texture; but lacking in perfumes or aromas; a teaser that does not fully deliver; perhaps closed or shut in at this time?
Price: $21.99 Add To Waiting List

2007 Franck Millet Sancerre Rouge
Review Date: 12-27-2009
nice enough; that's it. I have had better Sancerre rouges, but then again it's not bad. I just happen to LOVE Sancerre rouge.
Price: $9.99 Add To Waiting List