Customer Reviews - Mike McCarty

Discovered good wines in '86 in a wine tasting class, and have been shopping at K&L ever since. Still love big, ripe california cabs, but my tastes have broadened over the years, and I'm always on the lookout for the best quality/price ratio under $25.


Reviews

2010 Claiborne & Churchill Edna Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 11-26-2013
earthy and savory aromatics, lovely medium bodied red cherry fruit with a crisp finish. Delicious stuff that is well worth the price.
Price: $24.99 Add To Waiting List

2010 Qupe "Sawyer Lindquist Vineyard" Edna Valley Grenache
Review Date: 03-17-2013
Exuberant aromas of spicy cranberry and pomegranates. Mouthfull of ripe grenache fruit with a hightone acidic finish. Performs really well with anything having a thick tomato-based sauce.
Price: $29.99 Add To Waiting List
ST 90 W&S 90

Daniel Ginsburg "Grande Reserve Sous Bois" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 03-03-2013
This is rich and full fruited with plenty of toasty yeastiness. Made in a style I love becase it also finishes nice and crisp. It is worth twice the price!
Price: $34.99 Add To Waiting List

2010 Dashe Dry Creek Valley Zinfandel
Review Date: 02-04-2013
Wonderfully elegant Zin, full fruited but not jammy with moderate alcohol levels

2010 Baccinetti "La Saporoia" Rosso di Montalcino Catzilla
Review Date: 11-06-2012
Ripe, juicy, succulent, red fruit with a bit of tannin and nice acid backbone. Great with pasta.
Price: $15.99 Add To Waiting List

2005 Miguel Merino Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 11-03-2012
Smoke, leather, black fruits in the nose, full- fruited mouthfeel, and smoothing tannin on the long finish.
Price: $29.99 Add To Waiting List
ST 92 RP 89

2005 Domaine Faverot "Le General" Côtes du Luberon
Review Date: 08-21-2012
Hints of pepper, leather, black cherries on the nose. Lots of ripe fruit in a ready to drink package. Beautiful stuff. 90+ points in my book.
Price: $24.99 Add To Waiting List

2009 Angeline Alexander Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 06-08-2012
Ripe and juicy but not overblown. Good acid backbone cleans the palate and clears the way for more. I liked it.
Price: $13.99 Add To Waiting List

2007 Bodegas Castano "Solanera Vinas Viejas" Yecla
Review Date: 06-07-2012
Get this while you can. I agree with Parker's and Tanzer's reviews. For the price wine doesn't get better. Violets and sweet fruits in the nose, medium-full in the mouth with a nice acid backbone that keeps it alive on the finish. Just brought it home and it is great with the Brie and crackers I'm having before dinner.
Price: $10.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 90 ST 90

1999 Daniel Ginsburg "Sous Bois" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-17-2012
"Wow! Wish I'd tasted this before it went out of stock. One of the best vintage champagnes I've ever tasted. Aromas of toast and caramelized apples. Fine beads from the bottom of the glass. Medium-full bodied flavors of apples and cherry and more caramel and toast. Did I say "wow?" I'm sorry I didn't re-order immediately because this was sure goood!
Price: $49.99 Add To Waiting List

2009 Banshee Sonoma County Pinot Noir
Review Date: 01-31-2012
Good, but not great. Aroma hard to find and what is there is simple and correct.
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List

2009 Columbia Crest "H3" Horse Heaven Hills Washington Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 01-31-2012
Excellent price/quality ratio here. Vanilla tinged jammy currant nose, full fruited blackberry in the mouth, ripe and up front. What's not to like?
Price: $10.99 Add To Waiting List
WS 90

2009 Alta Maria Vineyards Santa Maria Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 01-31-2012
Wish I could get more of this beautiful wine. Brought it to a friend's house and we both agreed it was the best under $25 Pinot. Textured moderately rich fruit, complex, rose petals, tea and minerals.Did I say I wish I could get more?

2007 Delas "St-Esprit" Côtes du Rhône
Review Date: 11-10-2009
Blueberry nose, hints of iron earth and spice set off the full-fruited medium bodied wine with light tannin. This is excellent stuff for the price!
Price: $9.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 90