Customer Reviews - Neil Maiers-Wine Expedition

Neil is a self-proclaimed wine geek. He’s not an expert, but a feverish enthusiast and he believes that wine isn’t a destination- it’s an expedition. He can often be found roaming the aisles of K&L’s Hollywood store. He’s always on the hunt for new wine discoveries and good wine values. When he finds something great, he loves to share his findings with anyone and everyone. He’s also the host of the wine-video website WineExpedition.com.<br><br>The idea for WineExpedition came during a shared bottle Napa Cabernet with his good friend Jeff. With a shared enthusiasm for wine and the desire to tell everyone about it, they rented a 40-foot motorhome, pointed it north and proceeded to drive to Napa, Sonoma and Paso Robles and visit 12 wineries in 10 days. They recorded the whole trip on High-Definition video, and the rest as they say, is history. At WineExpedition, every day and every new bottle is a new adventure. Stay tuned for our tasting notes; more often then not there will be a corresponding webisode with even more information at WineExpedition.com. Cheers!


Reviews

2004 Aglieta "Pomo" Toscano Rosso
Review Date: 04-05-2010
Holy cow, what a wine! This is a big, strong Italian red. A stoic nose of spicy red fruit is followed by sweet, dark red fruit on the palate with a voluptuous mouth-feel, silky tannins and finish o' plenty. It was a perfect pair with chateaubriand.
Price: $31.99 Add To Waiting List

2007 Luna Napa Valley Pinot Grigio
Review Date: 03-24-2010
A nose filled with zesty aromas of lemony citrus and a pinch of minerality. A palate bursting with orange, grapefruit and various tropical flavors; it reminds me of the old Cactus Cooler sodas of my youth, though not as sweet. A nice, refreshing acidity, with a complex, crisp, dry finish. Check out our tasting notes webisode on this one at www.wineexpedition.com.
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List
ST 90

2006 Brandborg "Bench Lands" Umpqua Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 03-24-2010
Oregon Pinot for 18 bucks; yes please. A vibrant garnet color, the nose on this wine has nice, light, cherry aromas with a hint of sweet baking spices. on the palate, layers of red fruits: cherries, strawberries and tangy pomegranate with a backbones of warm, sweet spices. If this were Willamette Valley it would cost a lot more; thanks Umpqua Valley! Check out our tasting notes webisode on this one at www.wineexpedition.com.
Price: $17.99 Add To Waiting List
WS 90

2006 Fisticuffs Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 03-24-2010
This wine has a nice dark hue with a classic Napa-cab nose of dark fruit, cassis and a layer of spicy vanilla. Dark berries, plums and currants on the palate with a strong vanilla layer; they were generous with the oak on this one, but it's backing up nice, ripe fruit so it works. Nice texture and a decent finish. Check out our tasting notes webisode on this one at www.wineexpedition.com.
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List

2006 Bernadotte, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 03-24-2010
$15 Bordeaux makes me happy. This one is fun; a nice deep color with a nose of red fruit with a hint of herbs and a subtle sweetness. The palate is cherry, plummy fruit with a streak of herbs, but is dominated by the chewy tannins-o-plenty. An hour in the decanter took the edge off this medium-bodied, elegant wine. Check out our tasting notes webisode on this one at www.wineexpedition.com.
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List

2008 Momo (Seresin) Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough
Review Date: 03-11-2010
A good vibrant yellow color with bright, tropical & citrus notes on the nose. Pink grapefruit on the palate with a tropical layer and a crisp, dry finish. This wine has a nice weight to it; zesty, zingy and a bright, balanced acidity. Another solid Marlborough Sauv Blanc. Check out our webisode on this NZ treat at www.wineexpedition.com.
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List
ST 90 WS 90

2008 A to Z Oregon Pinot Noir
Review Date: 03-11-2010
I love an Oregon Pinot and I love a good wine deal- this bottle is both. A nice nose of cherries and spice with a dash of cherry coke, nice berry fruits on the palate and some more spice for good measure. Good balance for a sub-$20 Pinot. Check out our webisode on the '07 vintage at www.wineexpedition.com.
Price: $15.99 Add To Waiting List
WS 90

2005 Cellers Capafons-Osso Masia Esplanes Montsant
Review Date: 02-22-2010
I love it when a wine is on sale, and this one is nearly half off! This is a big, dark beauty. It has a lovely, dark ruby color with nice, dark, sweet notes of currant and boysenberry on the nose. The palate has gobs of black cherry, licorice and berries with a solid layer of chocolate and spice underneath- and a nice, smooth, loooong finish. This wine IS NOT small... but the price tag is... Snatch a bottle up, you'll be happy you did. Check out our tasting notes webisode on this one at www.wineexpedition.com.
Price: $15.99 Add To Waiting List

2007 Saintsbury Carneros Pinot Noir
Review Date: 02-16-2010
This dark, ruby-colored, Carneros Pinot has notes of dark, plummy fruit and spices on the nose, with plums, cherries, sweet spices and vanilla on the palate. It's a fairly complex wine with a nice silky texture. We recently featured this wine in a webisode at www.wineexpedition.com. Check it out.
Price: $23.99 Add To Waiting List

2008 Saintsbury "Garnet" Carneros Pinot Noir
Review Date: 02-16-2010
One look at the glass reveals that this Pinot is aptly named. The nose shows bright, red fruit with a faint mineral streak and a touch of alcohol. Cherries and pomegranates show up on the palate with a hint of spice. The wine is easy, with a bright acidity and a decent finish. A good effort for the price. We tasted two of the Saintsbury Pinots in a recent webisode-check it out at www.wineexpedition.com.
Price: $15.98 Add To Waiting List

De Chanceny Cremant de Loire Rosé
Review Date: 02-16-2010
A beautiful color on this bubbly from the Loire... Citrus-y aromas of lemon peel and orange blossoms infused with berries start you off, with flavors of strawberries and raspberries on the palate. The bubbles started out small and lazy in the glass, but once in my mouth they created a nice creamy layer on my tongue. An easy, balanced, and refreshing sparkler with an easy, balanced and refreshing price tag. We tasted it for our Valentine's webisode- check it out at www.wineexpedition.com.
Price: $12.99 Add To Waiting List

2005 Elderton "Command" Single Vineyard Shiraz Barossa Valley
Review Date: 02-15-2010
This wine is inky purple, with strong aromas of juicy blackberry, raspberry and blueberry intertwined with a smoky tinge of lavender and vanilla. It's thick and rich and chewy- like biting into a big piece of blackberry pie; except this pie's sweet, complex filling is laced with chocolate, licorice, spices and a dash of pepper. Silky tannins and a mile-long finish add to the glory of this wine. Sublime.

2008 Willamette Valley Vineyards Pinot Gris
Review Date: 02-11-2010
Ahhh Pinot Gris... Crisp and clean! A nice, light colored wine with pears, green apples and minerals on the nose. Green apples, pears and tropical notes on the palate with a pinch of spice. It has a light, refreshing acidity but overall it's nicely balanced. Interesting that they use mostly steel fermented juice with just a little off of oak, along with a touch of muscat and Pinot Blanc. Check out our webisode comparing this with an Italian Pinot Grigio at www.wineexpedition.com.
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List

2008 Innocent Bystander Pinot Noir Victoria
Review Date: 02-11-2010
$15 Pinot is a good thing! This one is bright and lively from start to finish with bright red cherry and pomegranate notes, a streak of minerals and a nice layer of baking spices. Refreshing and tasty. Check out our video tasting notes on this one at www.wineexpedition.com.
Price: $11.99 Add To Waiting List
ST 90

2008 Foxglove Central Coast Chardonnay
Review Date: 02-05-2010
No oak, no malo, just good fruit here in this bargain of a California chard. A nice nose of green apples, pears and tropical notes and those flavors carry over nicely to the palate. Medium bodied and crisp acidity with a subtle mineral backbone. This wine is more Chablis-ian then Californian in style and there's nothing wrong with that. Bottom line: Some really good fruit and a skilled winemaker. I don't know how they sell it for only eleven bucks! Check out our video tasting notes in the webisodes section at WineExpedition.com.
Price: $10.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 91

2006 Mönchhof Erdener Prälat Riesling Auslese
Review Date: 02-03-2010
This light yet intense colored Riesling is bursting with fresh tangerines as you bring the glass to your nose. On the palate, that tangerine is joined by a dash of mineral and a big dollop of wild honey. It's thick and creamy with a nice, lingering finish. One of the more elegant Rieslings I've tasted.
Price: $26.99 Add To Waiting List
WS 92 RP 90

2008 Meulenhof Erdener Treppchen Riesling Kabinett
Review Date: 02-03-2010
Nice, light color, a nose full of orange and lemon accented mineral notes, switching over to more of a creamy peach vibe on the palate. Not too sweet, nice, smooth and balanced. Sure to be a crowd-pleaser at this price.
Price: $12.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 90

2007 Maison Louis Tête Beaujolais-Villages "Le Pot"
Review Date: 01-25-2010
Easy like Sunday morning is this one... A light, ruby colored wine, with a nose of creamy cherry yogurt and black pepper. With cherries and strawberries on the palate, it's a simple, light-bodied and easy-drinking. Approachable with a capital 'A'. Check out our tasting notes video on this wine at www.wineexpedition.com.
Price: $10.99 Add To Waiting List

2005 Angelo Germano Langhe Nebbiolo
Review Date: 01-25-2010
There's a nice little trip to the Langhe region in this bottle. Dark ruby color, a reserved nose of floral and berry notes, and a palate of raspberries and light spices. It's an elegant, light-bodied wine (lighter than I expected)- easy and refreshing. Check out our video tasting notes on this one at www.wineexpedition.com.
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List

2005 Cellers Capafons Oso "Sirsell" Priorat
Review Date: 01-20-2010
As soon as I brought this one to my nose I was hit with aromas of black currant and sweet spices (the kind I smell my wife is baking something sweet and rich). I took a swig and my mouth was instantly warmed up by blackberries, plums and spices o-plenty. And despite this one being big, it also has an elegance to it; decent length and a nice finish.
Price: $18.99 Add To Waiting List
WS 90

2003 d'Aiguilhe, Côtes de Castillon
Review Date: 01-07-2010
Big wine big fruit: Plums, dark berries, smoke and spice... WOW. So much going on here, with a nice finish as well. I'll say it again: BIG FRUIT; we drank this tasty wine on New Years Eve. Check out the Hi-Def video webisode on our New Years bottles at www.wineexpedition.com.
Price: $34.99 Add To Waiting List
WS 91 RP 90

2008 Bethel Heights Oregon Pinot Gris
Review Date: 12-24-2009
We LOVE all things Oregon at WineExpedition.com. This Pinot Gris is a nice, dry glass of goodness; a nose of citrus zest and minerals, followed by a palate of summer fruits: peaches and pears. Great acidity; just had a glass with some broiled salmon in ponzu sauce. Fantastic!
Price: $13.99 Add To Waiting List

2007 Joel Gott Zinfandel
Review Date: 12-24-2009
Joel Gott never disappoints, and this wine is a steal at $12.99. Solid plums and berries on the nose with a layer of spice. On the palate, dark berries and plums and licorice with those nice winter-y spice notes in tow. A complex wine with a substantial finish. We paired this with a Christmas ham for our holiday webisode: Check it out at www.wineexpedition.com.
Price: $12.99 Add To Waiting List

2007 Casa Ferreirinha "Esteva" Douro
Review Date: 12-24-2009
...a lot going on here for $11.99!!! Candied raspberries and fresh flowers on the nose, with solid red raspberries on the palate and a backbone of spices and chocolate. A slow, easy finish. More complex than the price would suggest. We featured this wine in a 'tasting notes' webisode at www.WineExpedition.com. Check it out.
Price: $11.99 Add To Waiting List
WS 89

2008 Encostas do Lima Vinho Verde
Review Date: 12-17-2009
A low-alcohol, low-priced treat of a wine. Crisp, and clean and tasty. A light, fragrant nose with aromas of sweet pears that leads into pears and tropical flavors in your mouth. The wine has a crisp effervescence which adds weight and texture and goodness. A great aperitif wine- serve it nice and cold. If you haven't tried a Vinho Verde, pick up a bottle of Encostas Do Lima; you won't regret it. Check out our webisode on pairing this wine with home-made Portuguese caldo verde soup at www.wineexpedition.com.
Price: $9.99 Add To Waiting List

2005 Quinta do Vallado "Reserva" Douro
Review Date: 12-17-2009
If you haven't heard about Douro, you will. This Portuguese region is poised to be the next Spain in terms of under-appreciated wines. This Quinta Do Vallado is RIDICULOUS. Big and bold and food-friendly. A beautiful color on this wine; and a complex nose with berries, pepper and a touch of gameiness. Dark fruit on the palate with notes of pepper, tar and leather. Tannic and texured with a decent finish. Check out our webisode on pairing this wine with home-made Portuguese caldo verde soup at www.wineexpedition.com.

2006 Monte Antico Tuscan
Review Date: 12-17-2009
Really? $8.99? I mean, this wine's got a lot going on for nine bucks. A good-looking garnet color and a decent nose of sweet cherries and plums. Raspberries and cherries on the palate with surprisingly nice tannins balanced with a fresh, easy acidity. An easy, easy drinker that raised my eyebrows and left some money in my wallet.
Price: $9.99 Add To Waiting List
WS 90

2007 Fonty's Pool "Single Vineyard" Pinot Noir Pemberton Western Australia
Review Date: 12-14-2009
I used to think it was impossible to find a nice Pinot for under $20. I was wrong. While it's still a tough assignment there are a few exceptions to that rule and this my friends is one of the better exceptions that I've found... and from Australia? Who woulda thunk. To start with, it has a nice, light garnet color and a light but inviting nose with notes of strawberries and white cherries. Easy-drinking: light, bright and elegant. Classic flavors of strawberries and cherries are followed by a nice dusting of earth and a gentle finish. Check out our tasting notes video on this wine at www.wineexpedition.com.
Price: $13.99 Add To Waiting List

2008 Domaine Renaud Mâcon-Charnay
Review Date: 12-12-2009
Okay- I'll say it. I love this wine. As I type this, I just opened up the second bottle of this wine that I've picked up in as many weeks and I'm a guy that constantly seeks out new bottles, so for my to go back for more is saying something... Such good fruit handled with a deft hand. Green apples with a backbone of minerals on the nose, pears and minerals with a squeeze of citrus on the palate. Nice, crisp acidity and a substantial weight in my mouth. Tasty, elegant, good- period. We recently shot a 'tasting notes' webisode on this wine: check it out at www.wineexpedition.com.
Price: $12.99 Add To Waiting List

2007 Henry Lagarde Malbec Mendoza
Review Date: 12-09-2009
Big, dark and complex. A deep color and a very foucsed nose of dark fruit and herbs. On the palate, dark berries with a layer of bitter tar notes beneath. Tannins o' plenty, this wine begs for a steak or other piece of meat as big as it. A complex wine for thirteen bucks. Check out our tasting notes video on this wine at www.wineexpedition.com.
Price: $12.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 90

2006 Maison Nicolas Potel Vosne-Romanée Vieilles Vignes
Review Date: 12-03-2009
Ahhh Burgundy. So elegant and crafted; nice cherry fruit, cinnamon and Asian spices on the light, intriguing nose. Cherry fruit with floral notes on the palate; easy finish with a dusting of spice. A special bottle indeed. Check out our video tasting of this wine at www.wineexpedition.com.
Price: $42.99 Add To Waiting List

2006 Faust Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 12-03-2009
A big, beautiful, classic Napa cab made from grapes grown on the Quintessa estate. A bountiful nose of red fruit, plums and vanilla greets you before you even get the glass off of the table. There's a big 'punch-in-the-mouth' of cherries and red berries as soon as the wine hits your tongue and it fills your mouth with its nice, full, lush texture and slowly tapers off on the back of the tongue before your mouth begs for another sip. I had a chance to taste this wine at the Quintessa winery; check out the webisode at www.wineexpedition.com and pick up a bottle for your next steak dinner.
Price: $49.99 Add To Waiting List

2005 Hartford Court "Land's Edge" Sonoma Coast Pinot Noir
Review Date: 11-29-2009
Sonoma Coast Pinot rarely disappoints and this fine specimen from Hartford Court is no exception. This wine looks dark and foreboding in the glass; it has a mysterious nose with black cherries and chocolate. Once you get some in your mouth, you get sweet cherry pie filling and blackberries, supported by a murky brew of chocolate, coffee and cedar chest. Its thick, lush and substantial on the tongue- there is a lot going on here! What a wine... it was 'the bottle' I opened up and decanted for my Thanksgiving dinner. Watch the webisode at www.wineexpedition.com.

Louis Bouillot Cremant de Bourgogne "Perle d'Aurore" Brut Rosé
Review Date: 11-29-2009
All this for $14!!??!! This is a easy-drinking delight. Nice color, light, fruity strawberries on the nose and creamy strawberries on the palate. The bubbles really create a great creamy texture that fills your mouth and brings a smile to your face. I said it once before but it bears repeating: All this for $14!!??!! It was a great aperitif before Thanksgiving dinner: Watch the webisode at www.wineexpedition.com.
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List

2008 Mönchhof Estate Riesling
Review Date: 11-25-2009
A sweet refreshing nose of peaches and a pinch of the mineral & slate we expect from Mosel. The slate remains on the palate but oh-so-subtle. A mouthful of fruit cocktail is what dominates here, and despite the residual sugar, the acidity makes it all work. Like most wines made from the Riesling grape, its a food friendly wine, perfect for the holidays. Check out our video tasting notes at www.wineexpedition.com where we taste the '07 vintage.
Price: $9.99 Add To Waiting List

2008 Josef Leitz Rüdesheimer Drachenstein "Dragonstone" Riesling Qba
Review Date: 11-25-2009
Summery fruit on the nose (peaches and apricots) with a strong mineral backbone. On the palate, the residual sugar creates a nice blend of peaches and Mandarin oranges with just a hint of the minerality from the nose. It's a bit sweet, but the acidity balances it out nicely. A food friendly wine, perfect for the holidays. Check out our video tasting notes at www.wineexpedition.com where we taste the '07 vintage.
Price: $10.99 Add To Waiting List
W&S 90

2007 Bodegas Volver Tempranillo La Mancha
Review Date: 11-25-2009
This bottle is a perfect example of why ‘Tempranillo’ has become the buzz word in American wine bars and why Spanish wine in general is getting such a good rap. Solid performance at a good price.

The floral nose is big and full of fruit- blackberries and cherries, along with smoky coffee. Full-bodied and complex on the palate with lots of ripe berries and finish-o-plenty. All that for only 13 greenbacks? SOLID.

2007 Morgan "Twelve Clones" Santa Lucia Highlands Pinot Noir
Review Date: 11-23-2009
DELICIOUS. A great, classic Pinot nose: fragrant berries and cherry cola. On the palate, rich red berry fruit and a backbone of autumn spices. A nice acidity, elegant structure and a long, spicy finish that makes you pour another glass. It was incredible with our Thanksgiving webisode meal. Go to www.wineexpedition.com to watch.
Price: $26.99 Add To Waiting List

2007 Maison Louis Tête Morgon "Les Charmeuses"
Review Date: 11-23-2009
This was a fun bottle: Very Pinot Noir-esque from nose to finish. Light red cherry and berry fruit on the nose, with a nice, light palate of cherry, strawberry and a dusting of earth and spice, and just a pinch of white pepper. Good acidity and very food-friendly; it paired nicely with nearly everything on the plate on our Thanksgiving webisode. Check it out at www.wineexpedition.com.
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List

2008 Domaine Renaud Mâcon-Solutré
Review Date: 11-23-2009
Hey now... this wine is all minerals all the time. It starts on the nose- I got a nice punch in the nostril when I lifted the glass- and it continues all the way through. A drop of honey on the palate and it finishes on a dime, cleansing your mouth and preparing it for the next bite of food. It worked well with our turkey dinner and Thanksgiving webisode. Watch it at www.wineexpedition.com.
Price: $12.99 Add To Waiting List

2006 Concha y Toro "Don Melchor" Cabernet Sauvignon Puente Alto
Review Date: 11-12-2009
The grand-daddy of Chilean Cab... ...dark and foreboding in the glass and on the nose, this wine is big and bad with dark berry fruit notes with undertones of licorice and chocolate. A thick, complex finish and before I know it I had poured another glass. There is A LOT going on in this wine. A truly special bottle.

2008 Luli Santa Lucia Highlands Pinot Noir
Review Date: 11-11-2009
The Pisoni family and good Pinot go hand in hand, and so it's no surprise that this Pinot is a good one. A nice vibrant color on this one, with a nose filled with tart, spicy cherries. More tart cherries once it hits the tongue with strawberries and a pinch of nutmeg and pumpkin spice as it goes into a nice, gentle finish. A bright acidity, but balanced with a nice, thick mouth-feel. $17.99 a bottle? I'll take two please... Check out our tasting notes webisode on the Luli Pinot at www.wineexpedition.com
Price: $17.99 Add To Waiting List

2006 Jordan Russian River Chardonnay
Review Date: 11-09-2009
Style and grace. A nice, delicate color... with apples, figs and honey on the nose. The tasty apple notes remain on the palate with a mix of peaches, almond and lemon zest with a light mineral undertone and just a pinch of oak. There's an acidity, but its mellow and refined. No surprise considering it's coming from Russian River fruit and the folks at Jordan. Check out our tasting-notes webisode on this wine at www.wineexpedition.com
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List

2003 Thomas Fogarty Santa Cruz Mountain Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 11-08-2009
...ahhh the Santa Cruz Mountains. One of my favorite appellations.. both to visit and to partake in it's wines. Some fantastic Pinots and Chardonnays up there and some darn good mountain-side Cabernet, like this one right here. It has a nice, dark, beautiful color, blackberries wrapped in licorice on the nose with a pinch of tobacco. Those blackberries are joined by blueberries and a subtle layer of chocolate n' tobacco on the palate. The tannins are having fun in my mouth, but there's a nice balance in this wine; the fruit holds its own and it has a nice, graceful finish. This would be a great paring with tri-tip or whatever your favorite steak may be. ...and you gotta love a wine that's on sale for half-off. Do yourself a favor and pick up a bottle of this Cab and plan on drinking it with a steak this weekend. You can watch our full tasting-notes webisode on this bottle at www.wineexpedition.com.
Price: $24.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 93

2008 Kalinda Sonoma Coast Pinot Noir
Review Date: 11-04-2009
Mmmmm. Sonoma Coast Pinot. For $16.99??!!?? After doing a double-take I snatched a bottle and hurried home to give it a taste. Right-away, classic Pinot aromas came through... spicy cherries and that 'smell of the woods' I always get from Sonoma Coast (and sometimes Russian River) Pinots. A lot of nice, velvety texture with flavors of cherries sprinkled with spices and a touch of chocolate and it lingered nicely in my mouth. I'll say it again, good Sonoma Coast Pinot at $16.99? Get some. Check out our video review webisode at www.wineexpedition.com
Price: $16.99 Add To Waiting List

2004 Domaine La Madura "Classic" Saint-Chinian
Review Date: 11-02-2009
I was anxious to try this one... As soon as I gave it a pour I noticed its great, vibrant garnet color, and the nose jumped out at me- warm, complex and spicy with ripe, plummy notes. On the palate, lots of bright red fruit: berries and plums with a decent (but not overbearing) acidity and some of those warm, spicy notes underneath. Delicious and easy (like Sunday morn). I drank a glass with a roast chicken dinner and life was good. $9.99 rarely gets you a wine this tasty and complex. I'm going back for more…
Price: $9.99 Add To Waiting List