Customer Reviews - Gestalted

I am a complete Syrah geek. That is my wine. I also love Cabernet. To a lesser extent, I also love a serious Tempranillo, Pinot Noir, Grenache, Nebbiolo, and Sangiovese. I look out for very small batch, specially crafted wines that contain weight, concentration and complexity that boggle the mind.


Reviews

Compass Box The Peat Monster Blended Malt Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 12-14-2012
I have to admit, when I first read David's post about this on the Spirits Journal, I was a touch hesitant being this is a Scotch blend, however because of his great detailed description and overwhelming endorsement, I decided to try this out. I can tell you, this is fantastic and a must-try for any Islay-geek. The high level summary is, massive yet elegant. It truly takes a blend master to get this level of quality. Massive amounts of smoke and peat yet the mouthfeel is clean yet super greasy (a great attribute) and finish is very complex with notes of malt, lemon, spice, etc.

2009 Charles Smith "Boom Boom" Washington Syrah
Review Date: 01-11-2011
Another great Boom Boom from Charles Smith. This 2009 is higher in alcohol and a little syrupy compared to the 2008. Almost Shiraz-like in style which disappoints me a little. So yeah, I miss the balance of the 2008 but for 15.99, this is still a winner! Dark sweet fruit, smoky, bold, tons of vanilla and baking spices on the finish. You cannot go wrong here.
Price: $15.99 Add To Waiting List

2008 Coho "Headwaters" Napa Valley Red Blend
Review Date: 12-08-2010
Okay, so after all the hype from WS, I just had to try it. So my first reaction upon first smell and sip was, hmmm, it's good but not great. There's really not a lot exciting or complex going on. With that said, it's a very good wine. Super polished. I mean, smooth like chrome. Contrary to the description, there is lack of texture and the tannins are extremely soft. However, it's very ripe, very sweet tasting on the midpalate, lots of sweet plum, the finish is long and has traces of mineral and anise. Bottom line, for 36.99, this is really good. One of the best Cab values for the price.
Price: $36.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 89

2008 Lewis Cellars Napa Valley Syrah
Review Date: 11-02-2010
There are simply not enough positive adjectives to describe this wine. It's flat out stunning. In one Syrah geek's opinion, this is the Martha's Vineyard of Syrahs. Extremely potent cassis nose and once you dive in, there are ribbons of textures and flavors that keep rolling from the midpalate continuing on well after the finish. If WS scores this less than a 96, I will seriously have a fit.
Price: $69.99 Add To Waiting List
WS 96

2007 Leviathan Red Blend
Review Date: 10-28-2010
Total bummer. Interesting blend of mostly Cab Franc. Bittersweet chocolate and coffee, with an unremarkable finish.
Price: $49.99 Add To Waiting List
WS 90

2008 Charles Smith "Boom Boom" Washington Syrah
Review Date: 10-28-2010
Coming from a complete Syrah geek like myself, there is NO better value. This is an excellent Syrah for $15. Scratch that, this is an excellent Syrah if it were $35. Smoke, vanilla bean, tobacco and fresh berries on the finish. Awesome.
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List

2008 Bodegas Numanthia-Termes "Termes" Toro
Review Date: 09-01-2010
Pours black w/ purple crema, tar and cassis nose, awesome concentration of plum and vanilla. Fantastic!!!

2007 Denner Paso Robles Syrah
Review Date: 08-23-2010
Rich, thick and concentrated of all the Denners I've tasted. Thankfully it's not overdone like Shiraz. There's just enough acidity to keep it from going over the top. Dense with tar, pepper and spices. Delicious.
Price: $39.99 Add To Waiting List
WS 93 ST 90

2007 Darioush "Caravan" Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 08-23-2010
This Cabernet blend is heaven. I've had the 2005 and 2006 and they were good. The 2007 is great! This is my favorite economy Cabernet this year. Thick with chocolate, vanilla and espresso with a beautiful trace of minerality. If $35 is in your budget, drop everything and try this immediately.
Price: $34.98 Add To Waiting List
RP 90

2006 Altamura Napa Valley Sangiovese
Review Date: 08-23-2010
Another outstanding Sangio from Altamura. The chocolate, Grand Marnier, clove, cinnamon flavors are decadent. One of my all time favorite Sangiovese wines.
Price: $42.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 92

2006 Altamura Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 08-23-2010
This is a "hallelujah" Cabernet! Holy smokes. 100% gratuitous Cabernet. Rich yet polished. The fruit is so concentrated, it's almost spicy on the finish. I can't get sick of this wine. The price makes it all that much better.
Price: $74.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 94 WS 94

2006 Fontodi "Flaccianello della Pieve" Toscana
Review Date: 08-23-2010
I absolutely adore Sangiovese, however the Flaccianello was a let down. After decanting for about 2 hours, the result was a delicious nose with familiar Sangio floral notes, however the midpalate and finish was thin, hallow and flat. Yes, there was a little oak and vanilla, but the absence of complexity and concentration left me looking for something else to drink after only one glass.

2007 Te Awa Syrah Hawkes Bay New Zealand
Review Date: 08-23-2010
This was a really interesting Syrah. When first opening it, it was almost backward with a finish that stopped dry. However, after about 30 mins, it really changed and developed into smoke, pepper and a really decent savory finish. At this price, I will definitely purchase again. Just remember to decant and drink at cellar temp to appreciate its full potential.
Price: $24.99 Add To Waiting List
WS 93

2007 Denner "Ditch Digger" Paso Robles Rhône Blend
Review Date: 07-28-2010
I enjoyed this wine by Denner. Not my first pick from them, but decent. It hit many high notes with its Grenache and Syrah in the blend, however there was a slight bite in the Mourvedre that just made it slightly odd for me. Still very very enjoyable. Slick tannins made the finish utterly soft. I would've rated this a 91.
Price: $49.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 93 WS 93

2007 Varner "Hidden Block" Santa Cruz Mountains Pinot Noir
Review Date: 03-09-2010
Okay, I just had this a couple weeks ago and HOLY SMOKES! What an amazing New World Pinots. One of the best I've had in a long time. This is a shout from the rooftops wine. Rich and complex with the classic clone 115 attributes and a finish with holiday spice-like flavors that never quits.
Price: $34.99 Add To Waiting List

2005 Bonny Doon "Le Pousseur" Central Coast Syrah
Review Date: 11-24-2009
Its saving attribute is the price. This is an acceptable discount Syrah. Like many Boony Doon reds tend to be, it's hollow and thin tasting. Almost a watered down experience but has tannins with teeth. Every sip, I craved a more savory flavor but never quite got it.
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 90

2006 Castle Rock Columbia Valley Syrah
Review Date: 11-08-2009
So, I just had to try this after the glowing reviews. I'm all for crazy good bargain values, however this is not one of them. Yes, price is pretty cheap, but from the first sip through the rest of the bottle, it has that sour-cherry, almost plastic-like aftertaste. It's best quality is the soft tannins and modest juiciness. Absent of pepper or smoke qualities.
Price: $6.99 Add To Waiting List

2007 Columbia Crest "H3" Horse Heaven Hills" Washington Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 11-08-2009
Simply outstanding for this price. Each sip, kept saying, how can this be only $11? Super silky soft tannins and mocha all over the place. Well deserves a 5 star rating!
Price: $11.99 Add To Waiting List
WS 90

2006 Twenty Bench Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 10-23-2009
This is a shout from the rooftops wine value. This cab pours a beautifully inky dark violet and red and within seconds I was hit in the nose with rich cassis liqueur, and the glass was 2 feet from me at the time! Sticking my nose in the glass, the cassis was tinged with vanilla was almost overwhelming. And it doesn't stop there. The midpalate is a very well balanced with dark fruit rolling into mocha, rolling into espresso with a long soft finish. I was still mentally tasting these nuances the next day. This is the best cab value I have ever come across and I am as skeptical as they come with cab value wines.
Price: $15.99 Add To Waiting List

2007 Château Paradis "Terre des Anges" Côteaux d'Aix en Provence
Review Date: 09-16-2009
Hmmm, well it pours inky dark, the nose is very rich, sweet with touch of smoke, however it falls short on flavor. Not mouthfilling nor savory. Don't get me wrong, it's decent but wish it was more, especially with a nose like this. Also a bit too tannic.
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 92 - 95

2000 Château Musar Rouge Bekaa Valley
Review Date: 09-08-2009
Musar is one of my favorites! And unbelievably unique. It's a Cinsault, Carignan and Cabernet blend. It's elegance is like a very mature Bordeaux. Supple, balanced with this incredible overtone of sandalwood and a creamy finish. I can't get tired of Musar.
Price: $49.99 Add To Waiting List
W&S 92

2004 Bindi Wine Growers "Bundaleer" Shiraz Heathcote Victoria
Review Date: 09-08-2009
This was a decent Shiraz for the price. Most notable traits were pepper, berry jam and a caramelized sugar (creme brulee) finish. I would not characterize this as savory.
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List
ST 92

2007 Perrin & Fils "Reserve" Côtes du Rhône
Review Date: 09-08-2009
Yes, this one's certainly all about the price point. The nose from the Grenache is rich and very fooling. The palate is hollow and lacking the juicy flavor you are tempted with from the nose. If you're not terribly discriminating and you are really really trying to stay under $10 then it's not a bad pick.
Price: $7.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 89

2006 Copain "L'Hiver" Mendocino County Syrah
Review Date: 08-19-2009
For the price, not bad. Although there ARE some stunning Syrahs out there for about the same price. L'Hiver has got a sweet but earthy-mushroom nose with boysenberry vanilla-cream midpalate and finish. For those of you who like the syrupy style Syrahs, you'll like this. It's missing the more classic smoky-peppery flavors.
Price: $12.99 Add To Waiting List

Tritan Burgundy Glass by Schott Zwiesel "Forté" (8465/140)
Review Date: 08-19-2009
So yeah, I'll admit, after reading James Laube's blog about these glasses, I had to see what all the hype was about. The big disappointment was how the glasses are slightly warped. Not badly, but they're certainly not Riedels. But, given they are $9 each, you really can't go wrong with these.
Price: $9.99 Add To Waiting List

2006 Big Basin Vineyards "Mandala" Santa Cruz Mountains Syrah
Review Date: 08-13-2009
The Mandala is my favorite Syrah from Big Basin hands down. My understanding is that it's a blend from a couple of his vineyards and however he's done it, it's wonderful stuff. It's rich and savory with a lush texture and all the classic Syrah notes of pepper, spice, plum and fine tannins. This is absolutely a must-try.
Price: $38.99 Add To Waiting List

2005 Kathryn Kennedy Santa Cruz Mountains Syrah
Review Date: 08-13-2009
I am 100% a complete Syrah-head and this is in my top 3 list of all time. It has all the elements of an excellent Syrah; pepper, dark fruit, chocolate, and complexity from the nose to the lingering finish and pleasant tannins. This is the real deal through and through!
Price: $25.99 Add To Waiting List

2001 Heitz Cellar "Martha's Vineyard" Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 08-13-2009
One of the best from Martha's. Leather, cedar, oak with those classic mint chocolate notes and a ribboning finish that lingers on forever. I swear the taste stuck with me 2 days later!
Price: $169.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 95 WS 93

2003 Heitz Cellar "Martha's Vineyard" Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 08-13-2009
This is by far one of the biggest disappointments from Heitz. This Martha was completely absent of mint. I purchased 2 bottles, both had same results. No rich chocolate or mint or long finish.
Price: $139.99 Add To Waiting List

Heitz Cellar "Ink Grade" Napa Valley Port (375ml)
Review Date: 08-13-2009
If you like "real" vintage port, you MUST try this. Think velvety chocolate and marshmallow cream sauce. I have never had a US made port that tasted this close to a true vintage Graham or Dow. You can't lose with a price like this.
Price: $18.99 Add To Waiting List

2007 Caymus Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 08-13-2009
Absolutely outstanding for the price! Yes, this is mass production Napa Cab, but if you want a knock-em-dead, total gratuitous, rich layered Cab that is coated with mocha and harmonious oak, buy this now! This wine makes you want to shout from the rooftops.
Price: $124.99 Add To Waiting List
WS 92

2006 Caymus "Special Selection" Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 08-13-2009
Probably the biggest disappointment this year for me. Wild berry nose, dried fruit mid palate and chewy burnt coffee finish. This wine lacked every element I look for in a rich Napa Cab. I've tasted more complex Merlots than this. Do yourself a favor and purchase the 2007 Caymus (reg) instead and be prepared to be amazed!

2005 Benjamin de Sansonnet, St-Emilion
Review Date: 08-13-2009
I'm surprised by the rave reviews this wine received. While the nose was pleasant with plum and a touch of oak, the mouth feel was earthy and dry with a sour cherry finish and rough tannins for a right bank St Emilion Bordeaux. I found it absent of depth or complexity. Disappointed.
Price: $29.99 Add To Waiting List