Customer Reviews - rachel



Reviews

Page: 1 2 3 next
2010 Marchetti Verdicchio Castelli di Jesi "Cavaliere"
Review Date: 01-06-2012
Damn, this is lovely and I wish I'd bought more. New Years res is to drink more Italian white as they are usually so unique and expressive. Love the creamy weight, almond/peach/citrus/stone aromatics-palate balanced by enough acidity and subtle bitter finish to make it food friendly. 91
Price: $10.99 Add To Waiting List

2003 Lavradores de Feitoria "Tres Bagos" Douro
Review Date: 10-08-2011
I like it I really like it! Surprisingly balanced for it's age and vintage.Love the meatiness factor too. 89
Ruh roh! There seems to be some bottle variation with this one. Second bottle was overwhelmed with Brett. Hope the other 5 aare ok.80
Price: $7.99 Add To Waiting List
ST 89

2009 Phillipe Tessier Cheverny Rouge
Review Date: 08-19-2011
I cant stop smelling this wine! Reminiscent of gingersnap cookies dipped in cherry juice. Delicious, pretty and complex. 91
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List

2009 Domaine Roche Côtes du Rhone Villages Cairanne
Review Date: 08-19-2011
15% ABV Grenache and Robert Parker likes it. I should have known better. 84
Price: $13.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 91 WS 91

2004 Bodegas Viyuela Crianza Ribera Del Duero
Review Date: 08-17-2011
Is that big American oak in your pants or are you just another crass Tempranillo? 82
Price: $12.99 Add To Waiting List
W&S 92

2009 Beck-Hartweg "Cuvee Prestige" Riesling
Review Date: 07-29-2011
Stone fruit,apple, petrol, dry and clean. Delightful stuff. 89
Price: $11.99 Add To Waiting List

2009 Columbia Crest "Two Vines" Columbia Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 07-27-2011
I have no idea how Wine and Spirits came up with 90 for this. This is too sweet (rs) and has zero tannic structure. The rest I bought will be going into sangria. On the up side its still better than Manishevitz. 83
Price: $4.99 Add To Waiting List
W&S 90

2009 GRÜNER by Etz Kamptal Grüner Veltliner (1L)
Review Date: 06-28-2011
This was amazing with my show dogs fried chicken sandwich and afterwards with..... nothing. Groovy Groovy Groovy! Only problem is it goes down too easy. 90
Price: $12.99 Add To Waiting List

2009 Michel Delhommeau "Harmonie" Muscadet Sèvre et Maine Sur Lie
Review Date: 05-30-2011
Man oh Manishevitz (don't ask me, something my dad used to say,) this is really good! In fact, this reminded me how good Muscadet can be. Perfect with scallops; Lemony, pineapple, zippy and mineraly but has a richness of fruit I haven't tasted in most muscadets previously. 91
Price: $12.99 Add To Waiting List
ST 91 RP 89

2009 Georges Duboeuf Julienas "La Trinquée"
Review Date: 05-10-2011
Wow really impressed with this, thanks Jim! Deep Dark cherry, dusty minerality, fruit is fresh and juicy and complicated by surprising pepperiness. Structured and fleshy, love it. 92
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List

2009 Los Nevados Malbec Mendoza
Review Date: 05-04-2011
More balanced than most at this price but still boring. 86
Cheap Malbec I've given you many chances but I'm afraid we just aren't compatable. im afraid it over between you and me.
Price: $9.99 Add To Waiting List

2009 King Estate Oregon Pinot Gris
Review Date: 04-23-2011
Very good textbook Oregon PG. 89
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List
W&S 92 WS 89

2009 Domaine de la Noblaie Chinon Rosé
Review Date: 04-23-2011
Perfect rose. Dry Strawberry lemonade with mineral zip. Rivals a good Bandol at half the price. 90.
Price: $9.99 Add To Waiting List
ST 90

2007 Château d'Or et de Gueules "Les Cimels" Costières de Nîmes
Review Date: 04-23-2011
While very good wish it was a bit more restrained. My guess is id prefer this in a less big vintage. 88.
Price: $9.99 Add To Waiting List

2009 Domaine Lapièrre Chenas "Vieilles Vignes"
Review Date: 04-23-2011
Really bitter tannins at first but opened up after a couple hours. On day 2 this was quite good. This is one to age for sure. 92?
Price: $16.99 Add To Waiting List

2008 François Chidaine "Clos Habert " Montlouis Sur Loire (demi-sec)
Review Date: 01-26-2011
This wine is exactly like lying naked on a sheepskin rug in a southern garden full of night blooming jasmine, As angels spoon feed you key lime pie topped with vanilla bean whipped cream and sprinkled with nuts and truffle salt. Sweet, sour, salty-mineral, rich, focused, oily.....incredible. 95 pts
Price: $22.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 94

2008 Château de Lascaux Coteaux du Languedoc
Review Date: 01-24-2011
Great peppery spice nose, rich strawberry cherry fruit. little bitter on shortish finish, but this wine has very nice character. 89
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List
WS 91

2005 Cantina Santadi "Shardana"
Review Date: 01-12-2011
deep dark ripe plum but with acidity, spice, and round tannins giving enough grip to keep from being gloopy. Highly delicious. 92 pts
Price: $29.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 94

2009 Saint Cosme Côtes du Rhône
Review Date: 11-05-2010
I really appreciate how this wine displays ample ripeness and concentration but is kept in check by fresh acidity and tannin. Ripe black fruit with spice, bitter green finish. sausage nose emerges with air time. Little too bitter but i happen to have high tolerance for that flavor, I like fernet and Campari after all. Remeniscent of a spicy ripe cab franc. 89
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List
WS 90

2008 Alamos Chardonnay Mendoza
Review Date: 10-14-2010
On the pallate this wine is reminiscent of Barbara Streisand's legs ie. It tastes like two sticks of buuutttah! While I love me some Babs I do not like this much oak in my chard. Oddly, I had this wine in Peru over the summer and I feel like it was much fresher tasting. perhaps they send the buttery barrels to the gringos as that's what they think we like. 78 pts.
Price: $10.99 Add To Waiting List

2008 Domaine des Aubuisieres "Cuvee Silex" Vouvray
Review Date: 09-26-2010
Holycrap this is good! Unctuous mouthfeel, concentrated stuff. Nose is lovely- yellow fruits and honey with subtle floral and damp wool. Slight drop of sweetness and salty on tail end. Could use a hair more acid but overall this chenin is dense,complex and delish . 92
Price: $15.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 92

2000 Hatzimichalis Xinomavro Naoussa
Review Date: 09-08-2010
Wow, this is a steal AND an educational experience, first xinomavro for me. Very italianesque in it's dry cherry, plum and spicy as heck leather pallate. superdooper! 89.
Price: $13.99 Add To Waiting List

Embajador Blanco Mezcal de Oaxaca 750ml (Cannot Ship This Product)
Review Date: 09-06-2010
Has a cloyingly sweet quality that I really don't like. Probably ok as a mixer but not alone. 82.
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List

2007 Henry Lagarde Malbec Mendoza
Review Date: 05-07-2010
Awful, big, one dimensional and that dimension is rubbing alcohol/nail polish remover and prunes. undrinkable even with steak. Bitter tannins oak and unbalanced high alcohol. 65 pts Have yet to find a malbec I really like.
Price: $12.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 90

2008 Bodegas La Cana Albariño Rias Baixas
Review Date: 04-30-2010
Really good, best Albarino I've had. Better after it warms a bit. Nice weight-creamy with tart lime. Awesome with sole panfried in butter and garlic with squeeze of lemon. 90+
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List

2006 Garrida Dão Portugal
Review Date: 04-10-2010
Solid, no complaints. Old school manly, rough around the edges but honest and sincere, like a cowboy with a good heart. 87 pts.
Price: $15.99 Add To Waiting List

2008 Domaine de Montrabech Vin de Pays d'Oc Blanc
Review Date: 03-17-2010
Lovely. This is springtime in a glass, like a lighter, more subtle Torrontes. Nice QPR 87
Price: $7.99 Add To Waiting List

2007 Produttori del Barbaresco Nebbiolo delle Langhe
Review Date: 03-08-2010
Day-1 Oh this was lovely and quite pinot-like Elegant...wish I had more. Great with porcini and truffle ravioli and softish parmesan 90 pts Day 2- Ripe cherries, some earth, nice acid and structure. Tasted blind I'd totally peg this as a $40 Cali Pinot. 91 pts
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List

2004 Lalande-Borie, St-Julien
Review Date: 03-08-2010
solid deliciousness, nicely balanced still going strong after 4 days open! 89+
Price: $21.99 Add To Waiting List

2006 Beronia Tempranillo Rioja
Review Date: 02-16-2010
Solid, smooth, value. A tad too much sundried fruit (prunes) for me. 87 pts
Price: $12.99 Add To Waiting List

Jean-Louis Denois Pinot Noir Brut Rosé
Review Date: 02-15-2010
Darn, I love their reg brut but this just had no flavor, really short. ;(80 pts
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List

2007 Frédéric Mabileau "Racines" Bourgueil
Review Date: 02-07-2010
Really nice. Subtle tobacco and green pepper. Good weight. Wish it was a little cheaper though. 89 pts.
Price: $13.99 Add To Waiting List

2007 Adega Pena Das Donas "Verdes Matas" Ribeira Sacra
Review Date: 01-31-2010
Holy minerality! Almost prickles the tongue as if there were some carbonation in here. Could use a touch more fleshiness for my palate but nice. Reminds me of a simple light (clean) Bourgogne. 87
Price: $12.99 Add To Waiting List

2008 Benaza Mencía Monterrei
Review Date: 01-26-2010
Great! BUY MORE! Red Berries, vibrant acidity, mineral. Anise is a good call, also, has a pastrami (smoky meat) on rye (bready and carraway) with thousand island dressing(creamy tomato) thing going on which is fascinating. Low alcohol makes it highly quaffable. 90 pts
Price: $12.99 Add To Waiting List

2008 Bethel Heights Oregon Pinot Gris
Review Date: 01-24-2010
Sad Dottie Face....was expecting more, kinda watery. 82 pts.
Price: $13.99 Add To Waiting List

2007 Casa Ferreirinha "Esteva" Douro
Review Date: 01-19-2010
Day one: Some off putting chemical(?) flavors and some interesting funkyness with muted fruit followed by dry finish. Solid but lacking in deliciousness. 87 pts Improved signifigantly on day 2! Rounded out and integrated becoming more candied raspberry on finish. Weird flavors and funkyness are gone. 89pts
Price: $11.99 Add To Waiting List
WS 89

2006 Aurum Pinot Noir Central Otago
Review Date: 10-29-2009
Shockingly good for $10! Flavors and nose are right on . Only negative is short finish (but really can't complain.)
Price: $9.99 Add To Waiting List

2007 Cave de Saumur Selection Rouge
Review Date: 10-03-2009
Not my cup of tea, a little too thin and sour. Better on day 2 and needs food.
Price: $7.99 Add To Waiting List

2007 Bodegas J C Conde "El Arte de Vivir" Ribera del Duero
Review Date: 09-20-2009
Solid and waaayyy better than the overly oaky Valduero crianza IMO. Only downside is it's not that memorable or distinctively Ribera-ey.
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 91

2007 Kanonkop "Kadette" Cape Blend Stellenbosch
Review Date: 09-15-2009
Wow this reminds me so much of Wolftrap, which is probably the only other red South African wine I've had, but it's a totally different blend. I guess SA just has some really distinctively funky, meaty terrior because I really taste the similarity here. Gutsy, gamey, tar, smoky. Like the uniqueness but not the heat or the volatile acidity which is just slightly too high for me. definatley interesting but not for the faint of heart. 85 points.
Price: $11.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 90

2008 Neil Ellis "Sincerely" Sauvignon Blanc
Review Date: 09-13-2009
Not bad but I don't get what all the fuss is about. For me the fruit tastes under ripe. 85 points.
Price: $7.99 Add To Waiting List
ST 90

2004 Valduero Crianza Ribera del Duero
Review Date: 09-10-2009
Much too dominated by American oak for my pallate. A shame because it could have been a good wine. 79 pts
Price: $16.99 Add To Waiting List

2008 Bodegas Shaya Verdejo "Old Vines" Rueda
Review Date: 09-09-2009
This has everything I'm looking for in a white; aromatics, pure vibrant fruit, minerality and perfect acidity! Better than the Naia(?) I'd had a few years ago.Kind of like between NZ sauv blanc and sancerre. 91 points
Price: $12.99 Add To Waiting List
ST 89

2007 Perrin & Fils Côtes du Rhône-Villages
Review Date: 09-06-2009
What's not to like? Rich cherries, garrigues, pepper followed by nice acidity and mineral on finish all for 11 bucks. 88 pts.
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List
WS 90

2007 Blason Cabernet Franc
Review Date: 09-04-2009
easy drinking cab franc with slight residual sugar. 87 pt
Price: $9.99 Add To Waiting List

2005 Bodega Weinert "Carrascal" Red Lujan de Cuyo
Review Date: 09-04-2009
slight barnyard but not a problem, this really does taste like a french country wine. well done! 88+ pts
Price: $11.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 90

2007 Bolognani Moscato Giallo (Dry Muscat)
Review Date: 08-31-2009
like a flat (low acid) sancerre or torrontes and more watery. better QPR is crios torrontes. skip. 82 points.
Price: $16.99 Add To Waiting List

2007 Jean-Luc Colombo "La Redonne" Côtes du Rhone Blanc
Review Date: 08-31-2009
honey, some white flowers but FLAT. Tastes tired and cheaper than $17. 84 points and not buy again.
Price: $12.99 Add To Waiting List

2008 Domaine de l'Attilon Merlot Vin de Pays de Mediterranée
Review Date: 08-30-2009
nice- herbal and fresh merlot, would buy again. 88 points
Price: $4.99 Add To Waiting List

Page: 1 2 3 next