Customer Reviews - Simple Hedonisms Wine Blog

Wine writer/reviewer. Avid wine consumer. Lover of all things Rhone. Wine event aficionado. Ambassador to Sonoma County. Follow at:<br>www.simplehedonisms.com


Reviews

2010 Château Viranel "Tradition" Coteaux du Languedoc Blanc
Review Date: 02-05-2012
Excellent $10 Rhone white blend from K&L. 80% Grenache Blanc, 15% Roussanne and 5% Bourboulenc. Very fragrant nose of honeysuckle, orange blossom. Wonderful acidity & minerality in mouth.
Price: $9.99 Add To Waiting List

2008 Berthet-Bondet "Nature" Cotes du Jura
Review Date: 02-01-2012
Wonderful find from Jura, white varietal never had before, Savagnin. Clear bright pale yellow color, nose reminiscent of a Sancerre sauvignon blanc, which isn't a surprise I guess since its believed sauv blanc is possibly descended from Savagnin. Zippy acidity, great minerality on finish. Modest lemon. Well balanced, a hard wine to put down. 300 cases made
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List

2009 Rabl Spiegel Gruner Veltliner
Review Date: 01-28-2012
$6 from $18, and worth full price. Wish I had grabbed a case. Straw yellow, clear, nose of wet stone, lime, note of honey. Wonderful in the mouth, dances across the tongue.
Zippy acidity, great minerality, oily viscosity - a sensory heady pleasure. And super quaffable at 12.5% alcohol. (why wont we learn this domestically?) I'd buy a case if I could, and lay some down, besides gulping down now.
Price: $6.99 Add To Waiting List

2006 Bourgogne Pinot Noir, Maison Emile Chandesais
Review Date: 11-16-2011
French Pinot for $12 thats drinkable wow. Not every persons Pinot at 12.5% alc, earthy, and lots of bright cherry. (Color is much darker than one would expect). A good nose of red fruits and earth, great acidity, mouth of cranberry and bright fruit. Pizza and grilled fare make great combos.
Price: $11.99 Add To Waiting List

2009 Domaine de la Ferme Saint Martin "Terres Jaunes" Beaumes de Venise Rouge
Review Date: 11-04-2011
Another K&L steal I wish I had bought more of. A steal at $15 - I boggle how they produce this. Grenache/Syrah blend (% unknown)
that has great body, silky finish, great red fruit expression without being jammy, a nice balance of lean but flavorful. A wine both a geek and a 'bigger' wine more novice drinker could both appreciate. An aromatic nose of raspberry, red fruit, touch of spice. Bright fruit in mouth, balanced acid and tannins. Much to love about this wine, at 2x the price.
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List

2007 Domaine de Piaugier "Ténébi" Côtes du Rhone Villages-Sablet
Review Date: 11-02-2011
wow 100% Counoise - a rarity in Rhone or CA. Been tasting for over an hour and it constantly evolves. Initial nose of raspberry, now showing darker fruit. It feels like an easy drinking quaffer, and then a touch of tannins hit on the finish....would soften nicely with some age, and gain some complexity. Wish I had bought more from K&L. Recommend.
Price: $18.99 Add To Waiting List

2009 Pueblo del Sol Tannat Juanico
Review Date: 05-24-2011
Nose: Fresh red fruit, raspberry, black cherry, and a hint of graphite. Nice fruit on the front palate, as you first taste it. Bright red and black fruit, with a nice hint minerality running through mid palate. Recommended buy, drink. A great value, unique wine for $10. full review: http://www.simplehedonisms.com/archives/5123
Drink from 2011 to 2011
Price: $9.99 Add To Waiting List

2009 Les Vendanges du Domaine Rougié Viognier "02-09-2009" Vin de Pays d'Oc
Review Date: 02-26-2011
Viognier lovers rejoice; leave it to the French. Dark yellow straw color. Great nose of stone fruit, peach, but not overtly floral; tangerine, peach in mouth. No
RS but juicy finish, good acidity.love love love. How is this only $15 ?
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List

2009 d'Arenberg "Hermit Crab" Viognier-Marsanne McLaren Vale
Review Date: 02-05-2011
My relationship with Rhones from Oz is still exploratory and in the courtship stage. My palate is not fan of the commonly found over ripe, flabby Shiraz and Viognier one can pick up quite easily.

The 90 WS didn't really carry a lot of weight, and the <$15 price more scared me. It's not a value if I pour it down the drain. But I was wandering through K&L awaiting will call pick up and thought why not, Marsanne always adds interesting character to Rhone white blends, especially viognier based.

Color: pale yellow straw; very clear
Nose: Abundant; white peach, green apple, guava, lime; oyster shell
Mouth: Lush; big stone fruit, citrus, melon. Some minerality. Good acidity at finish, only 13% alcohol.

Recommend. a Quaffer alone; have to ponder more what food I would pair with this besides shellfish. Re-ordered.
Price: $13.99 Add To Waiting List
WS 90

2009 Château L'Ermitage Costières de Nîmes Blanc
Review Date: 01-03-2011
excellent value Rhone White imported from @KLWines . 60% roussanne, 20 % each grenache blanc and viognier. Nose of guava, apricot. Stone fruit and good minerality in mouth. Good viscosity, nice finish.
Price: $10.99 Add To Waiting List

De Chanceny Cremant de Loire Brut
Review Date: 11-08-2010
LOVE this! why didn't I buy more! Crisp, tiny bubbles, great pear and citrus, creamy texture.
Price: $11.99 Add To Waiting List

2005 Chapelle & Fils Santenay 1er Cru "Beaurepaire"
Review Date: 10-02-2010
thin, acidic and sour. Friend, a former wine buyer and broker agreed. Run. Or dump like I did. Worse next day.
Price: $24.99 Add To Waiting List

2007 Bodega Elvira Calle "Ca' de Calle" Gran Reserva Mendoza
Review Date: 01-03-2010
Interesting blend of malbec, bonarda (yum), syrah, cab, merlot. Beautiful brick red color. Lush nose of berry. Plum, red fruit in mouth with clean finish. 14% alcohol. A great wine for only 12.99
Price: $12.99 Add To Waiting List
WS 90

2007 Domaine des Nembrets Denis Barraud Pouilly-Fuissé "Les Chataigniers"
Review Date: 12-29-2009
I had a bottle last night and enjoyed it greatly. I don't like heavily oaked chards, and I thought the oak was subtle on this. I very much enjoyed the minerality and the bright fruit.
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List

2008 Tomero Torrontes Salta
Review Date: 12-17-2009
update: Finally the 4th try of this isn't spoiled or tainted.
Color: a very pale yellow color. Clear.
Aroma: characteristic floral nose. Pineapple. Hint of citrus.
In the Mouth: A plethora of fruit – peach, green apple, grapefuit. Excellent viscosity, mouthfeel, balance, with a mouth watering, acidic finish.
Original review- I am a massive Torrontes fan after my trip to Mendoza in 2008 and try-buy every release I see. I have had this one twice, once from K&L and once from a specialty store in Santa Rosa. The first one was horrible, I wrote it off to a bad bottle, possible cork taint, although there a detectable corked odor, just the horrid finish. Dumped it. Had the second bottle last night, poured in a tasting class, this one had the same slight off nose, and the horrible finish. The person leading the class, who owns the store, was equally appalled. Either there are numerous bad cases out there, or its just bad period.
Price: $12.99 Add To Waiting List

2006 Willowbrook "DuNah Vineyard" Sonoma Coast Pinot Noir
Review Date: 08-12-2009
big Pinot fan, but was not impressed with this. overly acidic and outa balance, in my opinion.
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List

2005 Bodega Weinert "Carrascal" Red Lujan de Cuyo
Review Date: 08-12-2009
I thought this wine was horrid....possible heat damage(?), but I dumped it.
Price: $11.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 90