Customer Reviews - Jeff Phillips



Reviews

2009 Bodegas Luzon "Luzon" Jumilla
Review Date: 04-09-2012
I have loved this wine in the past In fact, I purchased 4 of the '08 and 7 of the '07 from K & L alone. However, from one sniff I knew this was not going to be good. Porty nose. One sip and I had to pour the entire bottle out.

Very disappointed. This used to be one of my go-to bargain wines.
Price: $7.99 Add To Waiting List

2009 Domaine Ste. Leocadie Minervois Blanc Languedoc-Roussillon
Review Date: 08-27-2011
Clean, fresh, bright and refreshing especially on a warm day. Honeydew, apricot, peach, grass. Extremely light body. Good party wine, Good as an aperitif or with raw/lightly cooked fish/seafood, prosciutto & melon, cold antipasti.
Drink to 0
Price: $4.99 Add To Waiting List

2006 Tintara Cabernet Sauvignon McLaren Vale South Australia
Review Date: 07-06-2011
Simple. Straightforward. A bit thin on the mid palate and very cherry. Easy drinking. For $8 you can't complain. At this price, I'm likely to buy more.
Drink to 0
Price: $7.99 Add To Waiting List
WS 87

2008 Mer Soleil "Silver" Santa Lucia Highlands Chardonnay
Review Date: 07-06-2011
Super clean. Light in color with a nose of green & yellow apples. Smooth & round and despite the absence of oak there is a bit of spice.
Drink to 0
Price: $17.99 Add To Waiting List

2008 Columbia Crest "H3" Horse Heaven Hills" Washington Merlot
Review Date: 07-01-2011
Blueberry & vanilla on the nose. Soft, smooth, subtle tannins.
Drink to 0
Price: $8.99 Add To Waiting List
WS 90

2007 Flora Springs Napa Valley Chardonnay
Review Date: 07-01-2011
Darker than average in color. Perhaps slightly oxidized. Nose suggests some oak. May be a tad burnt. Overall, fairly benign and forgettable. Not as refreshing as I had been hoping for on a hot day like today.
Drink to 0
Price: $16.99 Add To Waiting List

2008 Chalone Estate Chardonnay
Review Date: 06-02-2011
Let this puppy breathe for about 30-45 minutes.

Darker than average gold color. Beautiful nose of butterscotch, honey, apple and some lightly spiced oak. Rich medium-full body. Buttery and spicy. Fairly elegant. Really picked up with some lightly spiced pork chops and got even better with about an hour+ of air
Drink to 0
Price: $12.99 Add To Waiting List
WS 92

2007 Hendry "Block 7 and 22" Napa Zinfandel
Review Date: 05-29-2011
One of the best Zins I have had in a while. True Zin sans jaminess.
Drink to 0
Price: $26.99 Add To Waiting List
W&S 93 WE 90

2009 Four Vines "Naked" Santa Barbara Chardonnay
Review Date: 05-19-2011
Almost Sauvignon Blanc-like in appearance and aroma. But the flavors are all Chardonnay: green apple, pear, peach along with some tropicality. IMHO, it turns a little bit sour on the finish.
Price: $7.99 Add To Waiting List

2009 Kirkham Peak Redwood Valley Sauvignon Blanc
Review Date: 05-19-2011
Uber pale. The nose is of citrus fruits dominated by lime. The mouth is fairly full for a SB. The lime follows through where it is intermixed with some tropical notes. Fairly long finish. Good, warm-weather quaffer.
Price: $9.99 Add To Waiting List

2009 Bernardus Monterey Sauvignon Blanc
Review Date: 05-19-2011
Nice coloring for a SB. Nose gives off tons of citrus notes dominated by lemon. Clean, crisp, nice acidity. Lemon, melon. Nice finish. All in all, a very enjoyable SB. Contains 2.5% Napa Semillion.
Drink to 0
Price: $12.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 90

2009 Rombauer Carneros Chardonnay
Review Date: 05-19-2011
Beautiful, rich golden color. Pear, apple and butter on the nose. Rich, silky, cream full-bodied mouth. Mid-palate seems a little hollow. But, the finish is long and expressive -- butter leading to butterscotch finishing with a nice hint of spicy oak.

I had greatly enjoyed a previous bottle of this vintage that I was somewhat disappointed by this bottle. Hopefully, it is just some bottle variation (they do make a ton of this stuff) as I have another two bottles.
Drink to 0
Price: $29.99 Add To Waiting List

2009 Bogle California Chardonnay
Review Date: 05-19-2011
Murky & overaoked yielding a soapy quality.
Price: $6.99 Add To Waiting List

2009 Château St. Jean Sonoma County Chardonnay
Review Date: 05-19-2011
Here the flavors & aromas are both of honey, green apple, butter & light oak. The nose is quite elegant. The wine is medium bodied, soft & round. Really good stuff at a really great QPR. Definitely one of the better mass-produced Chardonnays out there.
Price: $11.99 Add To Waiting List

2009 Chateau St. Jean Sonoma County Fumé Blanc
Review Date: 05-19-2011
Quite intriguing and engaging and a great QPR. The nose gives off pink grapefruit and wee hint of subtle oak. I also felt I could smell the Semillion blended in. The grapefruit continues on the palate and is met with some lemon finishing with pear and green apple. Lively acidity and a clean, round body. Will likely be one of my main summer wines this year.
Drink to 0
Price: $10.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 91

2007 Arrowood "Reserve Speciale" Sonoma County Chardonnay
Review Date: 05-19-2011
Gorgeous, rich Chardonnay.
Drink to 0
Price: $34.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 94

2008 Catena Malbec Mendoza
Review Date: 05-19-2011
This wine has that gorgeous luminescent purple typical of well made Argentinian Malbecs. The nose is violets, violets, violets and some more violets. Holy floralness! Deliciously intoxicating aroma. After some more air light toasty oak notes enter as well as Hoisin sauce. This is a wine you can sniff for hours. Boysenberry, black cherry, Asian spice notes. Rich and polished giving way to tannins that are a tad course on the finish. Could benefit from another 6-12 months in the bottle &/or more decanting than I gave it. Long finish. Truly delicious. Great for beef and richer pork dishes as well as heatier dishes with sausage.
Drink to 0
Price: $18.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 91 WS 90

2008 Greystone California Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 05-19-2011
For a cheap Cab, this really isn't bad. It got it as part of a recent selection from K & L's Best Buy Wine Club. And, it seems that Greystone references the CIA in Saint Helena.

Light in color & body with notes of black cherry, leather & cedar as well has an herbal/almost minty component. I'm not a fan of beef carpaccio, but I think this could be a good foil for it. Smooth with sticky tannins and a somewhat savory character keeping this interesting. Pleasantly surprised.
Drink to 0
Price: $9.99 Add To Waiting List

2009 d'Arenberg "Hermit Crab" Viognier-Marsanne McLaren Vale
Review Date: 01-11-2011
Lovely aroma of pineapple and other tropical fruit. Pale straw color. Delightful tropical flavors that finish off in a flourish of apricot. Really good stuff. Best Hermit Crab since the 06 IMHO
Drink to 0
Price: $13.99 Add To Waiting List
WS 90

2008 Alamos Malbec Mendoza
Review Date: 01-10-2011
All the hallmarks of an easy drinking Mendoza Malbec. Great value.
Drink to 0
Price: $8.99 Add To Waiting List
WS 90

2009 Comte Louis de Clermont-Tonnerre (Alain Corcia) "Très Vieilles Vignes" Cairanne
Review Date: 01-10-2011
The first word that comes to mind is childish. Tastes like a melted sucking candy. And, not a very good one.
Price: $12.99 Add To Waiting List

2009 Monteviejo "Festivo" Malbec Mendoza
Review Date: 12-15-2010
Although still not a great wine, the 09 is much better than the 08 which I found nearly undrinkable.
Price: $7.99 Add To Waiting List

2008 Skouras St George Nemea
Review Date: 11-18-2010
I'd never had this varietal before but got to try at a tasting at the SF K&L and really enjoyed it. Unique and uncommon.
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List

2007 Stepping Stone (by Cornerstone) Red Hills Grenache
Review Date: 11-18-2010
It's possible that this needs more bottle age, but I doubt it. I found it a bit dense for California Grenache and without mush style or finesse or signature flavors.
Price: $12.99 Add To Waiting List

2007 Argiolas Costera
Review Date: 07-19-2010
Surprisingly rich & dense. Needs a good deal of breathing time and then relents into a delicious wine.
Drink to 0
Price: $13.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 90

2008 Purisima Canyon Sonoma Coast Pinot Noir
Review Date: 06-26-2010
None of the charateristics of a Sonoma Coast Pinot. A bit heavy and flavorless.
Price: $13.99 Add To Waiting List

2006 Falset Marca "Ètim Selección" Montsant
Review Date: 01-27-2010
60% Grenache, 30% Carignane, 10 % Syrah. Based on that, I should love this wine as that is right up my alley. But, this is a thin and sour wine.
Price: $12.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 91

2007 Valley of the Moon Sonoma County Zinfandel
Review Date: 01-27-2010
I've never been fond of Valley of the Moon wines, but this one is actually quite good. Solid strawberry & raspberry flavors. Medium bodied with subtle & generous tannins.
Drink to 0
Price: $10.99 Add To Waiting List
CG 91

2007 Artazu "Artazuri" Garnacha Navarra
Review Date: 07-25-2009
A gorgeous, flavorful wine with tannins ample enough to last for a few years.
Drink to 0
Price: $10.99 Add To Waiting List
ST 90

2006 Bodegas Hijos de Juan Gil "Juan Gil" Jumilla
Review Date: 07-25-2009
I love this wine! A totally delightful, flavorful wine. Bounces between fruit & licorice, chocolate, tobacco and smoke finishing with subtle spice & tannin.
Price: $13.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 91 WS 90

2006 St. Clement Napa Valley Chardonnay
Review Date: 07-25-2009
Overly oaked tasting somewhat charred.
Price: $9.99 Add To Waiting List

2007 Perrin & Fils "Reserve" Côtes du Rhône
Review Date: 06-18-2009
Over the last few months, I've had quite a few bottles of this bargain. And, they keep getting better. Very smooth with lots of fruit and a hint of spice on the finish.
Drink to 0
Price: $7.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 89

2005 Teira Sonoma County Zinfandel
Review Date: 05-30-2009
Very nice flavor. Jammy but not overly so. Would go great with a medium rare burger.
Drink to 0
Price: $11.99 Add To Waiting List

2006 McNab Ridge "Cononiah Vineyard" Mendocino County Zinfandel
Review Date: 05-26-2009
I loved the '04 vintage of this wine which I had purchased at the winery's tasting room. So, I was excited to see this vintage at K & L and was the first person to purchase it. But, I found this vintage to have a minty hearbal thing going on in both the nose and the taste -- almost like pine needles. Light bodied with an almost medicinal aftertaste.
Price: $12.99 Add To Waiting List

2006 Concha y Toro Marques de Casa Concha Chardonnay Maipo Valley
Review Date: 05-20-2009
A bit muddled and maybe even a bit musty. A hint of marshamallow underneath.
Price: $15.99 Add To Waiting List
WS 90

2007 Bodegas Atalaya "Almansa" Red Blend
Review Date: 05-19-2009
Yum. Deep garnet color. Aromatic nose. Dark fruit flavors that fan a bit into smoked meat. Really nice wine.
Drink to 0
Price: $13.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 91 ST 90

2007 Bodegas Luzon, Luzon, Jumilla, Spain
Review Date: 05-09-2009
Super tasty. May well become my new "every-day" red. What a bargain!
Drink to 0
Price: $6.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 90

2007 Calina Cabernet Sauvignon Reserva, Chile
Review Date: 04-26-2009
After enjoying their bargain Carmenere, I decided to try Calina's Cab. For $7 you're not going to do any better. Leathery aromatics. Teeth sticking tannins and a pleasant finish with a dash of herb on the end. Not a particularly structured or ponderous wine but an enjoyable one, particularly with red meat.
Drink to 0
Price: $6.99 Add To Waiting List

2007 Columbia Crest Grand Estates Columbia Valley Chardonnay
Review Date: 04-17-2009
A cheap Chard that doesn't taste like a cheap Chard.
Drink to 0
Price: $6.99 Add To Waiting List
WS 89

2007 Calina Carmenere Reserva, Chile
Review Date: 04-17-2009
More than you can typically expect from a $6.99 wine! Starts with an aroma of dark plumb and charcoal (in a good way). Tastes of dark berries and plumb with a dash of herb. For $6.99 you can't go wrong.
Drink to 0
Price: $6.99 Add To Waiting List

2007 Delas "St-Esprit" Côtes du Rhône
Review Date: 04-10-2009
Really tasty glass of blueberries with vanilla & coffee in the back. At $9.99 it is a bargain. Unlike most Cotes du Rhone it is based on Syrah rather than Grenache.
Drink to 0
Price: $9.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 90

2006 Las Rocas de San Alejandro Garnacha Calatayud, Spain
Review Date: 03-16-2009
Super easy to drink, fun tasty wine. Deep & dark in color, with a nose of spice & black cherries. Starts out strong with dark berry flavor with subtle tannins and then fans out into a cherry-ish liquer flavor - almost candy-ish without being sweet. Really good bargain. Almost too easy to gulp.
Drink to 0
Price: $9.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 91

2006 Artazu "Artazuri" Garnacha Navarra, Spain
Review Date: 02-11-2009
Nice, dark cherry flavor. Some tannins on the finish. A little tight can age a bit
Drink to 0
Price: $10.99 Add To Waiting List
ST 90

2007 Fontanafredda Barbera Piemonte "Briccotondo"
Review Date: 02-11-2009
Extremely aromatic. Very flavorful plumb notes with a bit of zing hidden underneath. A really falvorful bargain.
Drink to 0
Price: $10.99 Add To Waiting List
W&S 90 WS 90

2008 Maipe Malbec Mendoza
Review Date: 02-11-2009
Flavorful bargain for the price.
Drink to 0
Price: $8.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 90