Customer Reviews - Mark Chamness



Reviews

2009 Curran Santa Ynez Valley Grenache Blanc
Review Date: 04-15-2011
Glass Full image Glass Empty image Glass Empty image Glass Empty image Glass Empty image
As a *big* fan of Grenache Blanc, this was a disappointment. The residual sugar combined with a lack of varietal nose made me question my investment. For real Grenache Blanc, buy tablas creek.
Price: $21.99 Add To Waiting List

2009 Tangley Oaks "Lot #11" Sonoma Coast Pinot Noir
Review Date: 04-15-2011
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Half image Glass Empty image
Amazing that a wine with true Pinot Noir varietal characteristics is sold for $10 via wine club. Wow for the price/value ratio. If it threw a sediment I would score it higher.
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List

2009 Saddleback Cellars Clarksburg Viognier
Review Date: 04-15-2011
Glass Half image Glass Empty image Glass Empty image Glass Empty image Glass Empty image
I did not like this wine due to the residual sugar and the fact that it has no varietal characteristics. The nose is not even reminiscent of a Condrieu.
Price: $8.99 Add To Waiting List

2009 Comte Louis de Clermont-Tonnerre (Alain Corcia) "Très Vieilles Vignes" Cairanne
Review Date: 02-23-2011
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Empty image
A baby Chateauneuf. Unfortunately this wine is far too young to drink now, so it doesn't show well for the moment. For those with patience to wait 5 to 15 years, there will be great rewards. With time, it will be amazing.
Drink from 2014 to 2014
Price: $12.99 Add To Waiting List

2008 Aveleda Alvarinho Vinho Verde
Review Date: 07-24-2010
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Half image
Wow. This wine is like a New Zealand Sauvignon Blanc on steroids. (Kim Crawford, etc.)
Price: $9.99 Add To Waiting List
W&S 92 WE 91

2007 Cantemerle, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 06-04-2010
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Empty image
I concur with the other reviews. But I pick up hints of espresso along with the typical Haut-Medoc minerality. If drinking in 2010, decant and give it an hour to open up. A little young, but certainly delicious now.
Price: $39.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 90

2006 Poggiarellino Rosso di Montalcino
Review Date: 01-02-2009
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Empty image
Delicious. My first impression was of mineral and wet stones, along with dusty tannins. The traditional Sangiovese nose kicked my a$$ - intense fruit and earth. It's great with mushroom dishes. This wine is a baby, but with a few hours of decanting it is approachable. It doesn't get a higher score just because it's not as good as a Brunello (costing $65+). This is not a silky smooth American wine, but youthfully rough. If possible, let it rest for a few years. Winemaker's note: this wine begs for a little egg white fining.
Drink from 2010 to 2010
Price: $17.99 Add To Waiting List

2006 Artazu "Artazuri" Garnacha Navarra, Spain
Review Date: 12-07-2008
Glass Full image Glass Half image Glass Empty image Glass Empty image Glass Empty image
Once you get past the harsh acidity, this wine has some charming qualities.
Price: $10.99 Add To Waiting List
ST 90