Customer Reviews - Mark Chamness


2009 Curran Santa Ynez Valley Grenache Blanc
Review Date: 04-15-2011
As a *big* fan of Grenache Blanc, this was a disappointment. The residual sugar combined with a lack of varietal nose made me question my investment. For real Grenache Blanc, buy tablas creek.
Price: $21.99 Add To Waiting List

2009 Tangley Oaks "Lot #11" Sonoma Coast Pinot Noir
Review Date: 04-15-2011
Amazing that a wine with true Pinot Noir varietal characteristics is sold for $10 via wine club. Wow for the price/value ratio. If it threw a sediment I would score it higher.
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List

2009 Saddleback Cellars Clarksburg Viognier
Review Date: 04-15-2011
I did not like this wine due to the residual sugar and the fact that it has no varietal characteristics. The nose is not even reminiscent of a Condrieu.
Price: $8.99 Add To Waiting List

2009 Comte Louis de Clermont-Tonnerre (Alain Corcia) "Très Vieilles Vignes" Cairanne
Review Date: 02-23-2011
A baby Chateauneuf. Unfortunately this wine is far too young to drink now, so it doesn't show well for the moment. For those with patience to wait 5 to 15 years, there will be great rewards. With time, it will be amazing.
Drink from 2014 to 2014
Price: $12.99 Add To Waiting List

2008 Aveleda Alvarinho Vinho Verde
Review Date: 07-24-2010
Wow. This wine is like a New Zealand Sauvignon Blanc on steroids. (Kim Crawford, etc.)
Price: $9.99 Add To Waiting List
W&S 92 WE 91

2007 Cantemerle, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 06-04-2010
I concur with the other reviews. But I pick up hints of espresso along with the typical Haut-Medoc minerality. If drinking in 2010, decant and give it an hour to open up. A little young, but certainly delicious now.
Price: $29.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 90

2006 Poggiarellino Rosso di Montalcino
Review Date: 01-02-2009
Delicious. My first impression was of mineral and wet stones, along with dusty tannins. The traditional Sangiovese nose kicked my a$$ - intense fruit and earth. It's great with mushroom dishes. This wine is a baby, but with a few hours of decanting it is approachable. It doesn't get a higher score just because it's not as good as a Brunello (costing $65+). This is not a silky smooth American wine, but youthfully rough. If possible, let it rest for a few years. Winemaker's note: this wine begs for a little egg white fining.
Drink from 2010 to 2010
Price: $17.99 Add To Waiting List

2006 Artazu "Artazuri" Garnacha Navarra, Spain
Review Date: 12-07-2008
Once you get past the harsh acidity, this wine has some charming qualities.
Price: $10.99 Add To Waiting List
ST 90