Customer Reviews - Susan Purnell

Susan joined the staff here at K & L in August 1999. She started off in wine sales but was lucky enough to take on the roll of Spirits Buyer just six month into her job. Spirits is where Susan shines! Single Malt Whisky, Cognac, Armagnac, Bourbon, Rye, America, France, Scotland, anywhere and everything! For those of you her know Susan, she may be physically here in California, but her heart and soul is on the island of Islay in Scotland! When Susan is not at K & L, she loves roaming the hills around La Honda and taking long walks on the beach. She is always in search of cold, foggy weather!


1999 De Meric "Vintage Sous Bois" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 03-25-2009
WHAT! The 1999 De Meric Sous Bois at $35.99, unbelieveable! What I really enjoy about this Champagne, other than the price, is that it is made up of 70% Pinot Noir. The extra boldness from the Pinot grape adds depth and structure that balances out the wood fermentation, making this a winner in my book! I have enjoyed this with a Caesar salad topped with a local Dungeness crab cakes; lovely!
Price: $35.00 Add To Waiting List

Louis Bouillot Cremant de Bourgogne "Perle d'Aurore" Brut Rosé
Review Date: 03-25-2009
Not only our staff, but many of our customers, are blown away by this sparking wine from Bourgogne! It has a great balance of richness and fruit that will please any palate. A winner of a rosé for anyone! Perfect with a baby lettuce salad with fresh herbs, grilled green beans and salmon!
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List

2007 Ermacora Friulano
Review Date: 03-25-2009
I simply love wines from Italy that have seen no oak whatsoever. The Ermacora Friulano bursts with mouthwatering acidity and minerals. But this is not a single layered wine. The fruit starts to shine with apricot, apples and pears. Great for the warm weather ahead. Try it with scallops right off the grill, dabbed with a bit of olive oil on a bit of fresh foccacia.
Price: $11.99 Add To Waiting List
GR 2

2003 Sesta di Sopra Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 03-06-2009
This is one of my favorite direct Italian imports! I have loved this wine year after year after year! But the 2003, supple, soft and delicious!

2004 Bodegas LAN Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 03-05-2009
Aaron and I had this lovely little Rioja this weekend. It was nice and stormy in La Honda and a perfect weekend for brisket with pearl onions, carrots and potatoes! The Lan Reserva was just right with the stew! And at this price, fantastic!!!!!
Price: $15.99 Add To Waiting List
WS 90

2005 Domaine Des Girasols "Vieilles Vignes" Côtes du Rhône-Villages Rasteau ($18.99)
Review Date: 02-25-2009
I am a big fan of old vine Rasteau and cheese, so I am lucky to live close to the coast. Often I visit Harley Farms in Pescadero. They make the world's best goat cheese. The last time I was there two baby goats were just born! Try this Girasols Rasteau with grilled sourdough, Harley goat cheese in olive oil and just a sprinkle of fresh rosemary. Mmmmmmmm!
Price: $12.99 Add To Waiting List

2007 Mâcon Vergisson, Domaine des Nembrets, Denis Barraud
Review Date: 02-25-2009
There are times when I want to sip on a nice Chardonnay while I am preparing a relaxing Sunday meal. The Macon from Denis Barraud fits the bill. It is rich enough to just sip on but also has a nice bright acidity that will hold up just fine with food. It would make a lovely everyday Macon!
Price: $12.99 Add To Waiting List

2003 La Fortuna Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 02-25-2009
Have you ever wanted to bathe in a wine? This Brunello is so juicy and yummy that I just want to pour it all over myself in hedonistic rapture! Just give it a try and you will want to do the same!

Bruno Michel "Blanche" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-21-2009
The Bruno Michel Blanche Brut is one of my favorite Champagnes to always have in my home. It is light and fresh and not too acidic and one that everyone can enjoy. Perfect with a nice fresh crab salad or to just to sip on before dinner!
Price: $34.99 Add To Waiting List

2006 Maison Champy Savigny-lès-Beaune "Aux Fourches"
Review Date: 02-21-2009
I have always enjoyed the wines from Maison Champy. There is something special about this 2006 Savigny-Les-Beaune! Maybe it is the low yield of grapes, the warm, deep soil and the fact that it is unfiltered. I find that this is a lovely wine for just $29.99. It is pretty with nice tannin structure and extremely well balance! Give this one a try!
Price: $26.99 Add To Waiting List

Hangar One Vodka Spiced Pear 750ml
Review Date: 02-14-2009
This is the best pear vodka I have ever tasted! I can't keep it in my house it is so very delicious and smooth. I am going to buy a whole case of it to keep in my wine locker for future enjoyment!
Price: $27.99 Add To Waiting List

2007 Blason Rosato (Rosé)
Review Date: 02-14-2009
What! We are selling this fantastic Rose for only $2.95. This is a beautiful Rosé that goes so well with food! Because this is made with Merlot and Franconia grapes, it will even hold up to a juicy, grilled ribeye steak. Buy it by the case! If not, I will be tempted to buy it all!
Top Value!
Price: $2.95 Add To Waiting List

Franck Bonville "Belles Voyes" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 02-13-2009
I simple love Champagne and if I had only on bottle to drink on a lonely island it would be the Franck Bonville Les Belles Voyes. It must be because they ferment and age the Chardonnay juice in old oak casks before bottling. I love that extra richness that the oak gives the wine. I have turned on many a master distiller in Scotland to this fantastic Champagne!

2005 Boeger "Walker" El Dorado County Zinfandel
Review Date: 02-13-2009
There is something very special about the Zinfandel made in El Dorado County. Maybe it is the people, always so friendly and willing to have a nice chat with you. Maybe it is the soil - decomposed granite - and the elevation at 2,100 feet.... All I can say, is that after a hard day selling spirits to people all over the world, sometimes a gal just wants a soft, jammy Zinfandel! I usually enjoy Zinfandel just on it own out on my patio enjoying the redwood trees in La Honda.
Price: $12.99 Add To Waiting List

Hacienda de Los Diaz Reposado Tequila 750ml (Ship as 3L)
Review Date: 08-22-2008
I knew that Hacienda de Los Diaz was going to be special right when I took my first whiff. It made me instantly start salivating, to say the least, and that is a very good sign! My nose was filled with lovely, salty agave, green bell pepper and delicate floral notes offset by aromas of fresh cracked black peppercorns. The color was only golden wheat, which told me that they were paying attention to how the tequila was interacting with the white oak casks. Then, I took my first sip…Oh, my goodness. It completely coated my palate and slid down my throat with delicious flavors that blew my mind away! The flavors were a blend of oven-roasted, earthy and rustic agave melting together with the sweet brown sugar and honeycomb. Beautifully balanced, it finished with sumptuous, oily and peppery notes.
Price: $45.99 Add To Waiting List

2007 Gerard Boulay Sancerre Chavignol
Review Date: 08-19-2008
Ok, I know I am the Spirits Buyer but I also love wine. I would drink the Sancerre from Gerard Boulay every day if you would let me! Wonderful to just sip on and even better with food. Also, if you want to lay it down for a few years, no problem!
Price: $21.99 Add To Waiting List

2006 Roessler Cellars Bluejay Anderson Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 08-19-2008
I love this wine so much that I took it to Scotland to celebrate one of my favorite Master Distiller's birthday! We had it with a Vietnamese dinner that I create especially for him and his family. It was a slam-dunk. At this price, buy, buy, buy!
Price: $26.99 Add To Waiting List

Essential Spirits Classick Pure Pear Brandy (375ml)
Review Date: 08-19-2008
I love supporting our local distillers. Dave Classick Sr. and Jr. are doing an exceptional job creating unbelievable hand crafted spirits. This Pure Pear Brandy is just that, juicy, fresh pears. Yummy! Thank goodness it is in a 375ml. Because, if it was in a 750ml, I would still drink the whole bottle!
Price: $32.99 Add To Waiting List