Staff Favorites - Keith Wollenberg

Keith Wollenberg
Keith Wollenberg  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service


Reviews

Page:  prev  1 2  3  next
2011 La Massa "La Massa" Toscana
Review Date: 10-24-2013
This Sangiovese/Cabernet/Merlot blend (with a hint of Alicante to boot)shows teh brightness you expect from a Tuscan red. But on the palate, it comes across as both rich and deep, with opulent fruit. Whether a fan of California Cabernet, French Bordeaux, or Tuscan reds, there is something here for you. Serve this wine to your friends over the holidays, and you will surprise (and please) them!

1991 Cambus 21 Year Old K&L Exclusive Signatory Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Grain Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 10-16-2013
Intriguing as the nose is on this grain whisky (and it is!), where it really shines is on the palate. Harmonious, round, and just slightly on the softer side, this is a truly delightful tipple. Have a friend who does not like the peaty style malt whiskys? This will convert them to a Scotch lover.
Top Value!
Price: $109.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2005 Launois "Spécial Club" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne (ships as 1.5L)
Review Date: 10-16-2013
Ok, folks. Here we go. I wondered how our friends at Launois could possibly follow the 2004 Special Club. well, yesterday I found out. They produced a rich, complex champagne of distinction and breeding. it's a bit less racy than the 2004, but it trades off a bit more volume in the mid-palate in exchange. And, it shows why so many champagne growers prize their oldest vines. the old-vine intensity sings through particularly clearly in a bountiful vintage like 2005. Complex and dleicious. What's not to like?
Top Value!
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2002 Bowmore 11 Year Old K&L Exclusive "Exclusive Malts" Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 10-2-2013
Bowmore has long been a favorite of mine. It is unique among the Islay whiskies, in my experience. Although it has the peaty quality for which these are known, it marries it with a sweeter, slightly oilier mouthfeel. For me, this removes some of the edginess and makes for a more pleasurable drink. The combinatoin of smoke, peat and a gentler sweeter malt is morst intriguing here.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Au Bon Climat/K&L Wine Merchants "Bien Nacido Vineyard" Santa Maria Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 9-26-2013
Jim Clendenen is a guy with a storied past. He loves Burgundy, and has worked there and maintains his passion for its wines. He has a clear vision of what he likes, and makes wines of focus, with a sense of place and respect for their terroir, to use the French term. I was excited when I heard that Jim was working with Bryan on this project, and even more delighted to taste the finished product. This is is wine of complexity, length and charm, with attractive cassis and interesting herbal flavors, along with red and black currant notes. When you taste this wine, you will be astonished that Pinot of this quality can come at this price. Frankly I like it much better than most of the California Pinots I have tasted at twice the price! I'll be taking some across the pond to give to my friends in Burgundy as gifts. Don't miss out, because when this is gone, it will not be coming back.
Top Value!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2002 Piper-Heidsieck "Cuvée Rare" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 9-25-2013
Classic Piper Heidsieck, with a pronounced yeasty quality, and rich mouthfeel. If you want to avoid the current fashion for ever so bone dry Brut champagne, and are looking for a rich, traditional champagne, this is a fabulous place to find it.

Green Mark (Zelyonaya Marka) Russian Vodka 750ml
Review Date: 8-29-2013
Love that rich, oily quality of a good russian vodka? Tired of paying $30 per bottle to cover their marketing expenses? So were we. Then the Davids found this one. How the third best-selling vodka in the world missed our market, is a mystery. And how one of the winnners of russia's top mark of approval sells at this price is even a bigger one. All I know is that if you do not buy this one because of the price, you will be cheating yourself.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart BC 0

1998 Baraillon K&L Exclusive Folle Blanche Vintage Armagnac 750ml
Review Date: 8-29-2013
This is a fantastic value in aged Armagnac. Folle Blanche is really the grape that excites me. There is a combinatoin of richness and drive that I really appreciate. here it iis combined with a layered mid-palate, good complexiity and just a bit of dusty spice on the finish. I loved the 1995, but for only three years younger, you get this at a 40% discount. If you wait too long, the staff is likely to make a serious dent in our supply.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Franck Bonville "Belles Voyes" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 8-2-2013
Based on the 2004 vintage, this is a terrifically rich and very lovely champagne, made from old vines, planted in the 1920s, long before commercial clones were available. The reulting concentration and depth is a reward that exceeds many champagnes costing well over $100.

2010 Amelia Park Cabernet Sauvignon-Merlot Margaret River Western Australia
Review Date: 7-24-2013
I thought the Mishmash Cabernet form these folks was terrifically impressive for under $15 (and still do). But when I tasted this, for under $20, I was blown away. It has a lovely nose, with classic Cabernet spice and a bit of the softer rounder profiles from the 25% Merlot in the blend. Nicely reserved, with clean and balanced fruit, adn delicious length on the finish. Bravo!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart JH 94 BC 0

2010 Oakridge Local Vineyard Series "Whitsend & Oakridge Vineyard" Shiraz Yarra Valley Victoria
Review Date: 7-24-2013
Bright and spicy, with an interesting meaty note, and aromas of freshly ground white pepper. Very clean and attractive focused fruit,with interesting red fruit note, and lots of charm.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart JH 95 BC 0

2011 Oakridge 864 Single Block Selection "Drive Block: Funder and Diamond Vineyard" Chardonnay Yarra Valley
Review Date: 7-24-2013
This is hte top of the impressive Oakridge line of Chardonnays. It is made in a very Burgundian style and could use some time in the cellar to reach its pinnacle. The winery stopped the fermentation with sulphur to block the malo-lactic fermentatoin and preserve acidity. Just a trace of that sulphur still shows, boding very well for a long life in your cellar.

2011 Oakridge Local Vineyard Series "Denton Vineyard" Chardonnay Yarra Valley
Review Date: 7-24-2013
This is my kind of Chardonnay! Coming from the cool climate of the Yarra Valley, this is completely different frmo the big, high-alcohol blowsy chardonnays from South Australia. It has acidity, focus, and balance. It is made from wild yeasts, and shows complexity and legth. And the alcohol is a modest (and appropriate) 12.5%. Bravo to K&L's Australian buyer and team for finding and bringing in this wine.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart JH 95 BC 0

1999 York Creek Spring Mountain District Meritage
Review Date: 5-7-2013
This represents a terrific value in a mature California Cabernet. If you are a fan of the modern fruit bomb style, skip this one. But, if like me, you love more classic , focused Cabernets, with a bit of earthiness, and elegant texture and mature aromas, then this is your cup of wine, so to speak. I reccomend it with a nice grilled steak on the barbecue, or a smokey Portabello mushroom with olive oil and pepper, if you are of the vegetarian bent. The combination will richly reward you for a modest sum.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart BC 0

1995 Charles Heidsieck "Blanc des Millénaires" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 11-16-2012
One of my favorite things is old champagne. But I never seem to have enough in my cellar, so it's a joy to find a current release such a this on the market. 100% Chardonnay, rich and toasty, complex and long, this is a Don't Miss! sort of bubbly. Supplies are running low, and I hope it will last until New Year's. I am buying some now to be sure I have it laid safely away.

Page:  prev  1 2  3  next