Staff Favorites - Keith Wollenberg

Keith Wollenberg
Keith Wollenberg  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service


Reviews

Page: 1  2  3  4  next
2009 Domaine de Chevalier Rouge, Pessac-Lťognan
Review Date: 8-12-2014
When you take one of my favorite Chateaus in Bordeaux and combine it with a ripe and focused vintage, you have something to get excited about. This shows the characteristic combination of finesse, minerality and complexity I look for. Frankly, I would rather have this wine than many of the so-called super seconds, which sell for $250 and up. This is classic Pessac Leognan, with an interesting gravel and mineral component, but plenty of fruit as well. Bravo! If I were you, I would not miss this wine!
Top Value!

Michel Loriot "Palmyre" Brut Nature Champagne
Review Date: 8-6-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Ok, if you are a fan of complex Champagne and on a budget, your ship just came in. This is a Brut Nature, but it avoids that lean and mean character, thanks to the ripe estate fruit selected for this cuvee. It has that rich and slightly gamy character I love in Meunier, coupled with the bright focus of Chardonnay. If you think of Champagne as an aperitif, consider trying this with a roasted whitefish such as halibut, and see why it is the perfect accompaniment to a meal.
Top Value!
Price: Hidden View Price BC 0

Fleury "Carte Rouge" Blanc de Noirs Brut Champagne
Review Date: 8-6-2014
Very rich, very concentrated in style. Lovely champagne from a biodynamic grower. Just flat-out excellent and an amazing value.
Top Value!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart BH 90 BC 0

Bruno Michel Premier Cru Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 8-6-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
From a single vineyard, with old selectoin massale vines (not commercial clones), planted a half-century ago. 1/2 has been through ML, half has not. It comes from a vineyard high on the hill, almost on the border with Epernay, so it is a cooler, more mineral rich enviforment. The vineayrd is a 1er Cru one, called Les Brousses. This has a modest 8g/liter of dosage, but such great drive and minerality it shows as a most amazing champagne. This is a Don't Miss! for me.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2011 Tamarack Columbia Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 7-31-2014
This may be the least expensive Cab in our stock that will age beautifully for a decade or more, It's solid, well-made, masculine and has a nice acidity to keep it fresh on the palate. Decant and drink now or age for 5-15 years. Just do not miss it entirely and regret it later.
Top Value!

2012 Mount Eden Santa Cruz Mountains Rosť of Cabernet Franc
Review Date: 7-31-2014
The winery made a tiny quantity of this wine (2 barrels), But we loved it so much we talked them out of 20% of the production for us to sell. Grab yours now, or the staff will buy all that is available of this amazingly fresh and bright rose.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2011 Lagier Meredith Mount Veeder Syrah
Review Date: 7-31-2014
Fantastic New World Syrah, with a delicious entry, big fruit, but enough acid and structure to make the package balance beautifully. This is not only delicious, it is also approachable now, which is a bonus.

2010 Chehalem "Stoller Vineyard" Willamette Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 7-31-2014
For those of you who wrote off the 2010 vintage because it was cool, all I have to say is HAH! For those of you who think Oregon Pinot Noirs cannot age, another HAH! Thanks to too many critics who think that same way, those of us in the know get a smoking good deal. This shows lovely crunchy cranberry fruit on the nose, followed by focused and interesting flavors. If you are looking for a big, jammy pseudo-Syrah, avoid this wine. If you are looking for delicious, bright Pinot Noir with a bit of age, and a lot of character on the finish, GRAB some of this before the staff gets it all. Thanks to our special purchase, we are selling this to you at less than we once paid at wholesale. 'Nuff said.
Top Value!

2012 ViŮa Robles "Estate" Paso Robles Sauvignon Blanc
Review Date: 7-31-2014
Clean, modern in style and focused like a laser beam. For this price, this is close to a no-brainer as I have seen in a while.
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart WE 90 BC 0

2011 Ferrero Toscana Rosso
Review Date: 7-16-2014
This has lovely, sweet fruit, and is a delicious blend of Cab, Merlot, Montepulciano and Alicante. This is a Super Tuscan to put those over-priced California Cult Cabernets to shame. Simply delightful.
Top Value!
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Corte Gardoni Bardolino Chiaretto Rosato
Review Date: 7-16-2014
This delightful rosé has a lovely texture, nice spice and an interesting finish. Never heavy, but never wispy, this Chiaretto (from the Italian "clear") has a delightful transparency. Bravissimo!
Top Value!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Ferrero Rosso di Montalcino
Review Date: 7-16-2014
This 100% Sangiovese wine is elegant, with a nice focus. Clean, sophisticated and very drinkable. What's not to like?
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2008 Sesta di Sopra Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 7-16-2014
This is very, very good. It has lovely fruit, and is just opening and losing its angularity it showed a year ago. This is bottled unfined and unfiltered and is a terrific cellar candidate. Don't overlook the so-called lesser vintages from great wine-growers like this! It has found a place in my cellar.
Top Value!

2010 Seghesio Barolo
Review Date: 7-16-2014
OK, I thought we were not going to see any more Barolos under $30, with the weakness in the dollar. But Greg St. Clair has pulled another rabbit out of his hat. This is solid, spicy, and very drinkable, with fine-grained tannins for such a young Nebbiolo.
Top Value!
Price: $26.95 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Te Whare Ra (TWR) Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough New Zealand
Review Date: 7-16-2014
Crisp and bright, thanks to the cool nights in the Awatere Valley. Lot of minerality and focus, and none of that over-the-top gooseberry thing some NZ Sauv Blancs tend towards. Probably because it is organically and biodynamically grown, with controlled yields. Then it sees a slow fermentation with native yeasts. Well done!
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart DC 91 BC 0

Page: 1  2  3  4  next