Staff Favorites - Trey Beffa

Trey Beffa

Reviews

Page:  prev  1  2  3  4 5
2011 Poujeaux, Moulis (1.5L)
Review Date: 4-23-2014
Dark and chewy, with plenty of sweet fruit, cocoa and graphite in this mineral-driven wine. Good balance and fresh, ripe tannins.

2011 Fonplégade, St-Emilion
Review Date: 4-23-2014
Dark and inky in the mouth, graphite and slate, minerals sweet minerals. Still very tannic on the finish and big. Should age well--there is enough fruit to cellar. Great freshness.

2011 Margaux, Margaux
Review Date: 2-25-2014
Sweet mocha upfront and fleshy fruit, seamless in the middle with a long finish. Lush, sweet and rich. From a very small crop. This is very approachable young. The tannins are silky, but the wine is quite serious. May be my favorite of the vintage.

2011 Beychevelle, St-Julien
Review Date: 1-7-2014
Perfumy nose, good spice, surprisingly sweet, with a soft, smooth finish. Fleshy mid-palate. A bit light but good.

2010 Lynch-Bages, Pauillac
Review Date: 12-12-2013
One of my favorite Lynch-Bages in years. Lots of minerals, slate and velvety currants on the palate, with a firm backbone. Should age well.

2011 Croix Mouton, Bordeaux Supérieur
Review Date: 9-18-2013
Decent fruit, sweet, bright and spicy.

2011 Latour, Pauillac (1.5L) Pre-Arrival
Review Date: 5-29-2013
Smoky flavors of graphite, slate and minerals, with a sweet core of black berries and red currants. Still firm on the finish. A very good Latour.
Price: $1,199.00 Add To Cart WE 97 WS 96 JS 95

2011 Sojourn Cellars Sonoma Coast Pinot Noir
Review Date: 5-27-2013
The 2011 Sojourn Sonoma Coast Pinot Noir is a fresh, delicate and lively Pinot Noir that will pair well with food. Not overdone and shows the softer side of Pinot.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2011 Sojourn Cellars "Sangiacomo Vineyard" Sonoma Coast Chardonnay
Review Date: 5-27-2013
The 2011 Sangiacomo Chardonnay was one of the richer of the Chardonnay’s we tasted on the trip. Owner Craig Haserot focuses on mouth feel for his Chardonnay’s. This wine goes through full ML but still only see’s about 30% New Oak. This wine is definitely fleshy and creamy in the mouth. It is loaded with dense, rich fruit, hints of baked pear, figs and green apple. The finish is still bright and fresh, as there is plenty of acidity to carry the wine through.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart ST 90 BC 0

2010 DuMol "Eoin" Sonoma Coast Pinot Noir
Review Date: 5-27-2013
The 2010 Eoin Pinot Noir from DuMol shows that classic smoky, grilled meat aroma that grabs your attention right away. In the mouth, this whole cluster pressed Pinot is dense and chewy. Flavors of cinnamon, cloves and red cherry fruit explode from the glass. ABV is still under 14%. Lots of grip, acidity and structure, this wine should age well for 7-10 years.

2004 Heitz Cellar "Martha's Vineyard" Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 3-4-2013
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Amazing wine that is showing well now and will age gracefully for another 10-15 years! It is loaded with black cherry, coco powder, leap pencil and red currant fruit. This wine is rich and lush in the mouth but sits on a firm structure. Tannins are ripe and integrated.
Drink from 2013 to 2025
Price: $149.99 Add To Cart WS 93 BC 0

2004 Heitz Cellar "Trailside" Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 2-28-2013
Loaded with spice, mint and bright cherry fruit, this wine is dense and firm. Great mid texture and tons of complex flavors have yet to even come out of this wine. Will be great in 10 years if one can hold out that long!
Price: $74.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2011 Lafite Rothschild, Pauillac Pre-Arrival
Review Date: 5-17-2012
Dark color. Intense on the nose. Tightly wound, deep and super concentrated. A massive wine with huge tannins that’s not showing much for me now. Very focused. I loved ’09 and ’10 out of barrel, but I had never understood this wine in its youth before those two vintages—now I am back to not understanding the wine.

Arette Artesanal Blanco Suave Tequila 750ml
Review Date: 5-20-2008
Arette was founded in 1900 by the Orendain family. Since 1976 it has been produced and bottled by Eduardo and Jaime Orendain in their distillery “El Llano” in Tequila, Mexico. The Blanco is one of the most unique tequilas I have tasted yet. It is very bright and citric, with a lively palate and hints of oak. The Reposado is your sipping tequila: complex, deep and rich. Both are excellent, hand-crafted tequilas that I would highly recommend.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Page:  prev  1  2  3  4 5