Staff Favorites - Illya Haase

Illya Haase

Reviews

Page:  prev  1 2
2009 Ferrero Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 7-7-2014
The Ferrero Estate is located at the Podere Pascena, about halfway between Sant’Angelo in Colle and Sant’Angelo Scalo, on the southern slopes of Montalcino. Wonderful Tuscan earth and spice. Once again, Ferrero gives a rich, rounder style of fruit and tannins. But, enough acidity to handle any meat dish or pasta. Give it some time in the decanter and enjoy!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Carpano Antica Formula Sweet Vermouth 1L
Review Date: 7-29-2012
One thing I learned in my twenty years of bar tending is. The better the ingredients, the better the drink. So, if you are making a Manhattan or one of those crazy whiskey drinks from your local mixologist. Keep the Carpano on hand. It make's any cocktail, ten thousand times better! You will not find a better vermouth!
Price: $28.99 Add To Cart WE 95 BC 0

Scrappy's Grapefruit Bitters 5oz
Review Date: 4-30-2012
It's citrus time at the Hollywood Farmers Market. There is nothing better on a lazy Sunday than a greyhound! This grapefruit and vodka cocktail is an ideal choice for a summertime brunch. The beauty of this mixed drink is in its simplicity. But, I like to spice mine up with a little Scrappy's Grapefruit bitters. It is that little extra that goes a long way!
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2005 Bodegas El Chantre "Ramos-Paul" Málaga
Review Date: 3-25-2012
I love big California red's! But, that being said. I am always looking for a great cross-over wine from new world to old world. I have found it! This bold wine brings great fruit, and spice. Everything I love in my California red's. Great use of the oak, which gives it even more complexity. BBQ pork chop anyone!
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Ariston Aspasie "Carte Blanche" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 2-27-2012
This is my kind of Champagne! Toasty, yeasty, and dry. The price speaks for itself! We are so lucky to get great champagne at sparkling wine prices!
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Ariston Aspasie Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 2-26-2012
This my friends is my go to Rose Champagne! Great acidity, intermingled with some bright cherry notes. Balanced minerality which is perfect for some salmon or Friday night sushi!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Deligeroy Crémant de Loire Brut Rosé
Review Date: 2-3-2011
This is well-balanced in the mouth and enhanced by a fresh but subtle finish. It also has tiny little bubbles, which always makes me happy! I love Cabernet Franc for sparkling wine, it has some great body and lovely fruit. For the price, buy a case!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Collard-Picard "Cuvée Selection" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 1-28-2011
Collard-Picard is a relatively new Champagne house, but with very old ties, which means they are getting a hold of some great fruit and, in turn, are making some great wines! I just love the toasty notes in this Champagne. It has also got a backbone of mimerality and acid that can stand up to meal.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2007 Watkins Family Winery "Nuns Cliff Vineyard" Sonoma Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 10-28-2010
Did I mention I love family-owned wineries? Especially the Watkins family winery in Sonoma County, who specialize in limited production wines from hillside vineyards. The Cabernet from the Nun Cliff Vineyard is rich and intensely flavored, reflecting the elegance of small lot winemaking. Try it with a big steak and you will be in heaven.
Price: $24.99 Add To Waiting List BC 0

Franck Bonville Grand Cru Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 7-29-2010
For me, one of the best finds at our recent Champagne tasting! It's off-dry, with beautiful fruit and a nice toasty nose. All this from third generation winemaking family whose holdings consist of 15 hectares of Grand Cru vineyards. The winemaking here is all about elegance and finesse and allowing the terroir to speak for itself and it shows.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Page:  prev  1 2