Staff Favorites - Illya Haase

Illya Haase

Reviews

Page: 1  2  next
2013 Domaine de la Grande Colline "Le Canon"
Review Date: 9-9-2014
Le Canon is my new go-to wine for my fellow wine geeks! Thirty-year-old vines of Syrah and Grenache in its purest form. Hirotake Ooka is a maverick in winemaking, going way beyond any organic practices. This guy uses no sulfur. Of course it is unfined, unfiltered. He doesn't even look at the vines, let alone touch them. This is winemaking in its purest form. In the glass is where it counts! Touch of earth on the nose accented by lovely florals to round it out. Blue fruit and just silky smooth going down, with just the right amount of mineral and tannins on the finish. Give it a good decanting and it will blow off the carbon dioxide. Trust me you will keep going back to the glass over and over.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2009 La Fortuna Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 7-7-2014
One of the most approachable Brunellos in the bunch. Intense dark berry color meets you in the glass. Rounded fruit with hints of plum and floral notes. Great acidity and velvety tannins. This is a balanced and powerful wine ready for any cut of meat you want to throw at it.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2009 Baricci Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 7-7-2014
Baricci is one of the most reliable direct imports for K&L. This family-run estate believes in traditional winemaking and brings out the best in bottle. This is wonderfully balanced, with sweet ripe, red fruits, herbs, lively acidity and integrated tannins that are fleshy and delicious. Age it for a couple of years or throw it in the decanter and enjoy!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart ST 91 BC 0

2009 Ferrero Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 7-7-2014
The Ferrero Estate is located at the Podere Pascena, about halfway between Sant’Angelo in Colle and Sant’Angelo Scalo, on the southern slopes of Montalcino. Wonderful Tuscan earth and spice. Once again, Ferrero gives a rich, rounder style of fruit and tannins. But, enough acidity to handle any meat dish or pasta. Give it some time in the decanter and enjoy!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2010 Oddero Barolo
Review Date: 7-7-2014
Oddero Barolo is one for the ages. Maria Cristina took over from her father in 1997 and feels this is one of best vintages yet. Showing great complexity already. I found wonderful hints of floral, herb and mineral notes on the nose. First sip you get a wonderfully complex and powerful mouthfeel. With balanced fruit, tannin and acidity, you know this is built for the long haul. So, for all you traditional Barolo drinkers, this one is for you. Actually, anyone who loves a great glass of wine won't be disappointed!
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart JS 95 BC 0

2011 Rosenblum Contra Costa County Zinfandel
Review Date: 7-3-2014
Stock up on this great summertime red! It’s perfect for any outing or Tuesday night barbecue. Lovely, deep, dark fruit and hints of mocha. Rounded out by some surprising acidity on the back end. All this for $9.99! Buy it by the case.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2010 Castello di Monsanto Chianti Classico Riserva
Review Date: 3-10-2014
This was my first introduction into Italian wines. I have loved Chianti ever since. This particular vintage is the best I have tasted. This is text book Tuscan earth. With a richness of spice and black cherry. It is worthy of any red meat or roast you can throw at it! So if you are going to pick up just one bottle this is the one. Trust me you will be back for more.

2010 Montechiara Amarone
Review Date: 12-16-2013
Happy Holidays!!I LOVE Amarone! Not a lot of wine can you use the words. Big, powerful and elegant. Well, that is what you are getting in this wine. Firm but balanced tannins and very fine acidity help round out the flavorful finish. This traditional blend of Corvina, Molinara and Rondinella grapes that are partially air dried prior to ferment. Once again big, rich, saturated style of wine ready for some hearty winter fare. At this price we will go through this wine before the first nip of winter. This wine can hold up wonderfully for the next 10 to 15 years. So buy it by the case!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Renacer "Punto Final" Malbec Mendoza
Review Date: 7-8-2013
In a sea of Argentina Malbec's you would be hard pressed to find one with this quality and value! Smoked spice, blackberry and crushed violet on the nose. On the palate it is soft, round and lush! Great notes of blackberry, blueberry, cassis and spice. Nothing over done with this wine. Super long finish with balanced tannins and acidity. All this for $9.99!! Buy it by the case.

Carpano Antica Formula Sweet Vermouth 1L
Review Date: 7-29-2012
One thing I learned in my twenty years of bar tending is. The better the ingredients, the better the drink. So, if you are making a Manhattan or one of those crazy whiskey drinks from your local mixologist. Keep the Carpano on hand. It make's any cocktail, ten thousand times better! You will not find a better vermouth!
Price: $28.99 Add To Cart WE 95 BC 0

21st Amendment Brewery "Bitter American" IPA, California 12oz Cans
Review Date: 5-28-2012
I am Over hopped beer's. Enough already! So, when I open up the 21st Amendment's Bitter APA I was not expecting much. Nice burst of citrus in the beginning. Well balanced hop's and malt. A great bitter finish. One more bonus 4.4 percent ABV. So I can have more than one.
Price: $1.59 Add To Cart BC 0

Scrappy's Grapefruit Bitters 5oz
Review Date: 4-30-2012
It's citrus time at the Hollywood Farmers Market. There is nothing better on a lazy Sunday than a greyhound! This grapefruit and vodka cocktail is an ideal choice for a summertime brunch. The beauty of this mixed drink is in its simplicity. But, I like to spice mine up with a little Scrappy's Grapefruit bitters. It is that little extra that goes a long way!
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Ariston Aspasie "Carte Blanche" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 2-27-2012
This is my kind of Champagne! Toasty, yeasty, and dry. The price speaks for itself! We are so lucky to get great champagne at sparkling wine prices!
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Ariston Aspasie Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 2-26-2012
This my friends is my go to Rose Champagne! Great acidity, intermingled with some bright cherry notes. Balanced minerality which is perfect for some salmon or Friday night sushi!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Deligeroy Cremant de Loire Brut
Review Date: 11-25-2011
In our recent staff tasting for sparkling wines. This by far was top of the class! I brought it to start the Thanksgiving Day events. Deligeroy did not disappoint! It went perfect with the root salad!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Page: 1  2  next