Staff Favorites - Melissa Smith

Melissa Smith
Growing from a Redwood City sales position in 2009, to the company sake buyer in 2011, and then to the Head Sommelier in 2013 my love of wine spreads the gamut from mineral laden Sancerres to California Zinfandels aged over 20 years, Urban wines to classic Bordeaux, and 99% of the spirits that we carry. As a CIA trained chef I spent 15 years in some of the top kitchens in the country until my love of wine won out and I transitioned to the wine industry in 2004 where I began utilizing my skills as an instructor, a writer, and a restaurant consultant after passing the introductory level exam of The Court of Master Sommeliers. In 2010, I developed the first iPhone app for wine pronunciation, the Enotria Guide. In 2011, I became one of the few certified Sake Sommeliers in the country through the Sake Education Council. Outside of K&L I run private and corporate wine and spirits events around the Bay Area, consult on private cellars, and attempt to write professionally.

Page:  <<  prev 6  7  8  9  10  next  >>
2012 Evesham Wood "Temperance Hill Vineyard" Willamette Valley Pinot Noir   | Approved
Review Date: 1-12-2015
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
This Pinot had just the right amount of everything I was hoping for. The spice, complexity, and yet gentleness were all very satisfying. This producer uses no irrigation in their vineyards, which makes every vintage from every plot true and unique at its roots. If you love Pinot Noir and have not had anything from Evesham Wood (or from Oregon in general), definitely give this one a try. I doubt you'd regret it.
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Sharp Zombie Rioja   | Approved
Review Date: 1-12-2015
This is a crisp, very clean Rioja. Not aged in any wooden barrels; I kept thinking this would be great to use to make sangria. It still has that great Rioja fruit-driven taste, but without the oak finish. Not to mention that for less than $10, it's a steal of a deal!
Price: $8.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Olema Sonoma County Chardonnay  
Review Date: 1-12-2015
A wonderful easy to drink and enjoy Chardonnay. The Olema Chardonnay offers nice juicy fruit that is complemented with oak and butter flavors. Drink alone or with roasted chicken.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Domaine des Côtes Blanches Sancerre Rosé (last of vintage)  
Review Date: 1-12-2015
I confess a particular weakness for a good Sancerre rose, and Domaine des Cotes Blanches twenty thirteen vintage showcases its virtues handily. I find it holographic. There is beauty and dimensionality here, and yet this is buoyant, almost weightless: there and not there, with delicately floral and fruity flavors dancing along a knife edge of citric vibrancy.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Michael & David "6th Sense" Lodi Syrah   | Approved
Review Date: 1-12-2015
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
A great deal on an even greater wine! If you love Syrah as much as I do, give this one a try. Amazing depth and juicy fruit. The bottle looks and drinks like a thirty dollar bottle easily, yet it is under fifteen dollars. Get 'em while they're here!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart WE 91 BC 0

2012 Savage "Red" Western Cape   | Approved
Review Date: 1-12-2015
This is an amazingly balanced wine. The winemaker, Duncan Savage, gives the winemakers of the Rhone a run for their money. A must try for red blend lovers.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart RP 95 BC 0

2011 Tassi Rosso di Montalcino   | Approved
Review Date: 1-11-2015
The soothing warm sun...The luscious meals...All the wonderful memories from any of our trips to Italy comes flying back into our consciousness with this lovely and complex Sangiovese. Dark fruit, lingering herbaciousness and earty spice. Drink this now and drink it again later!
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart ST 90 BC 0

Bushmills 21 Year Irish Whiskey 750ml  
Review Date: 1-9-2015
$79.99 for this whiskey is one HOT steaming deal. What many don't know (and I had completely forgotten until retasting this week) is that the Bushmills 21 is finished in Madeira cask, lending the whiskey a rancio, burnt orange peel sweetness on the back end. It's a damn fine whiskey for $120. For $79.99 you have to start thinking about a case.
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart WE 93 BC 0

1998 Mortlach 16 Year Old K&L Exclusive Signatory Sherry Butt Finish Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky 750ml  
Review Date: 1-9-2015
This Mortlach is going to make so many people happy. We were shocked earlier this year when the owners released an 18 year in the UK at £200 for the half bottle. We were equally surprised when Signatory pointed out the 10 casks of Mortlach that had been undergoing a second maturation for over two years in fresh sherry casks. We were allowed to taste one. We bought it immediately. The rugged Mortlach spirit is in perfect balance with the lovely sherry influence. While the whisky isn't as dark as I remember it being, there's still all that rich oloroso influence. The spirit is flamboyant and still showing the great youthful savoriness that Mortlach is known for. So much going on here; a true display of why Mortlach is a true blue chip distillery.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Low Gap 4 Year Old K&L Exclusive Single Stitzel-Weller Barrel Wheat Whiskey 750ml  
Review Date: 1-9-2015
What a ridiculous score this was. One thing that makes our position at K&L unique among spirits buyers across the country is our ability to not only select great whiskey for our store, but also to create new whiskey. For this one I must commend Mr. Driscoll as what was once an off-the-cuff idea has now become a truly unique product, nearly half a decade in the making. With the first sip of the special sauce you're reminded of the incredible attention to quality Ansley Coale puts into everything he does. This whiskey reminds me of everything and nothing, all at once. It's like you took a bit of the Nikka Coffey, a dab of the Weller 12 year, a pinch of a solid single malt and thimble full of the Stranahan Colorado and mushed it all together. Supple and seductive the nutty oak aromas and the distinct yet understated malted wheat tones are exciting, but nevertheless familiar and satisfying. Good work Double D & Mr Coale. A perfect collaboration.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2001 Tertre Daugay, St-Emilion  
Review Date: 1-8-2015
Here is yet another example of how fantastically the wines from the very good 2001 Bordeaux vintage are drinking at 10 years of age. This is a dark plum color with aromas of ripe cherry, savory herb and potting soil. The wine has lively acidity and as it opens up very fresh flavors and aromas of blackberry and dark cherry become even more evident. The smooth, creamy middle is substantial and is supported by dry, fine tannins on the intense, mineral finish. Decant one hour.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Trimbach Riesling   | Public Pending Approval
Review Date: 1-8-2015
Trimach Riesling continues to set the bar for dry Riesling. The 2012 provides aromas of orange blossom, peach and nectarine with a hint of salinity. The palate is superbly balanced, dry, and high acid while still having great weight. Flavors of lemon zest, green apple, and chalky minerality will have you reaching for this bottle every time you have seafood.

Low Gap 4 Year Old K&L Exclusive Single Stitzel-Weller Barrel Wheat Whiskey 750ml  
Review Date: 1-8-2015
If I had to pick one word to describe the 4-year-old Low Gap, it would be pretty. Other words that could possibly come into consideration would be pure, elegant and delicious. It has beautiful aromatics and is very easy to drink and enjoy.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Trimbach Riesling  
Review Date: 1-8-2015
This is as classic as the blind wine they would pour at the Court of Master Sommeliers blind tasting. If you're looking for non-petrol driven dry Riesling, this is where it's at! Chock-full of minerality and acid, with subtle fruit, it's extremely food-friendly and versatile.

2012 Trimbach Riesling   | Public Pending Approval
Review Date: 1-8-2015
When someone is pouring Riesling, I either feel reticent or jazzed. Depending on who's producing it and where it's from, Riesling varies SO MUCH. This little beauty from Alsace is glorious. Upon opening, the nose is sumptuous with orange blossom nectar and lemon zest. Upon tasting, there's white stone fruit, blood orange pith and a lovely high-toned acidity. This Riesling is bone dry and a feast for the senses.

Page:  <<  prev 6  7  8  9  10  next  >>