Staff Favorites - Christie Brunick

Christie Brunick
Christie Brunick  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service
I was first introduced to the fabulous world of California wine in Napa where I spent weekends bike riding and wine tasting with my parents up and down the Silverado Trail. Growing up in the East Bay Area it was only a hop...skip...jump away from wine country where my family would venture to relax and play every possible moment. It wasn't until my senior year at Cal Poly San Luis Obispo that I realized I had a passion for the wine industry. My first encounter with the working world of wine was my volunteer internship at Edna Valley Winery where I traveled to a number of tasting events with the marketing manager for the winery and realized I needed to get in the business. I added a minor in wine and viticulture to my communications studies major and ended up writing my thesis on the differences in wine marketing throughout a choice number of Paso Robles wineries. My first "real job" in the wine industry was at the smallest tasting room with the biggest personality in Paso Robles named Four Vines Winery. I worked there for almost three years while going to school and fell in love with not only central coast wines, but also with the business of sales and all those who loved, appreciated, and enjoyed our fruitful product. After graduation in 2007 I loved the central coast so much I decided to make a go for it and stay in this blissful paradise of beach and vines. I became fond very fond of making trips to Los Olivos and Santa Ynez valley quite often and in the mean time also became employed at Tolosa Winery in San Luis Obispo and 15 degrees wine bar in Templeton. In the summer of 2009 I decided to take a chance and move to Hollywood for more opportunity. Being from northern California I wanted to expand my horizons and see what the LA lifestyle was all about. I knew this was where I belonged the moment I stepped into this oasis of wine and cuisine. Never had I been to a place where I could find so many restaurants, bistros, wine bars, and the like within a 4 mile radius, and I don't have to get on the freeway! I'm in heaven. When I walked into the infamous K&L Hollywood Store it was love at first sight! I'm thrilled to be working here doing what I love, and love the incredible people here who share this passion and commitment with me.


Reviews

Page:  prev  1  2  3 4  5  next
Michel Dervin Brut Champagne
Review Date: 9-28-2012
My absolute favorite deal in Champagne! I will be sad when it sell out because when its gone its gone, until the next boat comes over! This is the most friendly and elegant style of bubbles you can get for an unbelievable price!
Price: $32.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Ariston Aspasie Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 1-27-2012
My favorite Rose Champagne for the price! Amazing bright and vibrant red-pink fruit with a broad and creamy mouthfeel with racy acidity to keep it all in balance. As far as I'm concerned it's my Billecart Rose for a quarter of the price! Always elegant and delightful!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Franck Bonville Grand Cru Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 12-14-2011
The best deal in direct import Blanc De Blanc Champagne Yet! Its an entire staff favorite here at K&L, and once you try it you'll understand why. Its elegant and pure but has a richness on the palate that is creamy and fulfilling. This is my personal house Champagne! My favorite Champagne under $50 by far! This has no hard edges at all; it's completely seamless from start to finish. Crisp, with elegance, round and creamy richness, the Bonville is full of bright fruit and mineral notes. As much fun as bubbly gets! Try it ASAP!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart BC 0

San Venanzio Prosecco Brut
Review Date: 12-14-2011
A delightful Prosecco from Italy which is dry but still very soft and elegant on the palate. Perfect Party bubbles for the Holiday season!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Graham's "Six Grapes" Port
Review Date: 11-10-2011
The best value I've tasted for a full 750ml bottle of Ruby Port! Dark and deep in color with loads of black fruit, spice, and chocolate on the nose. Richly intense with a creamy mid-palate with plenty of good acidity to balance it out. I'll be definitely buying some for the holiday season!
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Pol Roger "White Foil--Extra Cuvée de Réserve" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 8-11-2011
One of my new favorite finds at K&L! This is a gorgeous Champagne. Lots of focus and elegance showing from start to finish. Just slightly toasty, this Brut is full of integrated acid and fresh minerality that will have your taste buds tingling and salivating for more! An amazing value for under $40 as well! Stock up for the holidays before its gone!

Marguet Pere et Fils Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 6-9-2011
A beautifully elegant rose that I compare to Billecart Rose at Half the Price! Amazing focus and integration, clean and bright on the nose with a lush mid palate, aged 2 years on the lees, with a bright red cherry finish. A for sure crowd pleaser with its intense yet elegant layers! Sip and Enjoy! This Bubbly wont last forever!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Franck Bonville "Belles Voyes" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 6-1-2011
On of the most elegant yet powerful Blanc de Blancs Champagne I've had this year. I also think its one of the houses best cuvee's they've made that you can enjoy now or cellar for years! All 2004 vintage old vine fruit shows lovely integration on the palate. The nose is crisp and minerally with subtle sweet sugar cookie dough essences. Freshly smashed ripe apple crisps up on the palate with notes of allspice! A very amazing Champagne...treat yourself before its gone!

Henri Giraud "Hommage Francois Hemart" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 6-1-2011
A new small production Champagne to K&L and keep the secret safe cause once word gets out this one will go fast! All Grand Cru Fruit goes into the blend of Pinot Noir and Chardonnay. The nose is of sweet Meyer lemons, fresh triple cream brie and brioche. Unbelievable rich and complex with layers of pleasure unfolding the palate. Finish of minerals and red cherry!

Billecart-Salmon Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 4-16-2011
If I could pick any Champagne to drink on a daily basis regardless of price, it would be the Beautiful Billecart Salmon Rose! Without a doubt your last sip will still taste as good as the first. And your obsession will start at your first sip. This is a clean and elegant style that will impress just about any level Champagne drinker

Deligeroy Cremant de Loire Brut
Review Date: 3-9-2011
Its a beautiful thing to have an exceptional sparkler for an amazing price! This is always one of my favorites to always keep on hand at home because it is so fresh, minerally, with crisp acidity, elegant zesty bubbles, what more could you ask for from the Loire Valley? Its perfect day and night!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Baron Fuente "Esprit" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 2-9-2011
This is one of my favorite direct import Champagnes because it is seamless from start to finish. Very elegant but brilliantly intense as well. Using all stainless steel and spending 7 years on the lees gives the wine its smooth and creamy texture with that nutty brioche and layers of complexity. Triple cream on the nose with pommace fruit on the mid palate and a crisp finish.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart WS 92 BC 0

Laurent-Perrier Brut Champagne
Review Date: 2-9-2011
Although I am usually a fan of our smaller producer direct import Champagnes I really loved the Laurent-Perrier for the price! And we have the best price for this in town by the way. I love the crisp and elegant nose with a mousse filled mid-palate and a clean and toasty finish.

Michel Arnould Verzenay "Reserve" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 2-3-2011
Quite possibly the best deal in Champagne ever! Michel Arnould delivers way above and beyond! This direct import Pinot Noir based cuvee has a brightness to it that most Champagnes in this price range lack. Lots of citrus and wild berry fruit on the mid palate with bursting minerality and acid with a toasty but clean finish! Don't let this one pass you by...
Price: $32.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Charles Baur Cremant d'Alsace Brut Rosé
Review Date: 2-2-2011
This is not your average Alsatian Sparkling Rose! This is complex, elegant, yet approachable and perfect for sipping day or night! Full of great flinty minerality and bright racy acid for texture, yet still has a brilliant aroma of strawberry seed and wild flowers. This will keep your loved one wanting more...perfect for lovers day!
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Page:  prev  1  2  3 4  5  next

More Favorites

Christie Brunick is also a fan of the following items. To become a fan of Christie Brunick, click here to join Christie Brunick's Personal Sommelier Service.
Launois "Cuvée Reserve" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne ($34.99)