Staff Favorites - Christie Brunick

Christie Brunick
Christie Brunick  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service
I was first introduced to the fabulous world of California wine in Napa where I spent weekends bike riding and wine tasting with my parents up and down the Silverado Trail. Growing up in the East Bay Area it was only a hop...skip...jump away from wine country where my family would venture to relax and play every possible moment. It wasn't until my senior year at Cal Poly San Luis Obispo that I realized I had a passion for the wine industry. My first encounter with the working world of wine was my volunteer internship at Edna Valley Winery where I traveled to a number of tasting events with the marketing manager for the winery and realized I needed to get in the business. I added a minor in wine and viticulture to my communications studies major and ended up writing my thesis on the differences in wine marketing throughout a choice number of Paso Robles wineries. My first "real job" in the wine industry was at the smallest tasting room with the biggest personality in Paso Robles named Four Vines Winery. I worked there for almost three years while going to school and fell in love with not only central coast wines, but also with the business of sales and all those who loved, appreciated, and enjoyed our fruitful product. After graduation in 2007 I loved the central coast so much I decided to make a go for it and stay in this blissful paradise of beach and vines. I became fond very fond of making trips to Los Olivos and Santa Ynez valley quite often and in the mean time also became employed at Tolosa Winery in San Luis Obispo and 15 degrees wine bar in Templeton. In the summer of 2009 I decided to take a chance and move to Hollywood for more opportunity. Being from northern California I wanted to expand my horizons and see what the LA lifestyle was all about. I knew this was where I belonged the moment I stepped into this oasis of wine and cuisine. Never had I been to a place where I could find so many restaurants, bistros, wine bars, and the like within a 4 mile radius, and I don't have to get on the freeway! I'm in heaven. When I walked into the infamous K&L Hollywood Store it was love at first sight! I'm thrilled to be working here doing what I love, and love the incredible people here who share this passion and commitment with me.


Reviews

Page:  prev  1  2  3 4  5  next  >>
2013 A.A. Badenhorst "Secateurs" Chenin Blanc Swartland
Review Date: 7-3-2014
I feel in love with this wine last vintage, and the 2013 is making me fall in love all over again! Classic Chenin Blanc texture with the silky honey and citrus fruit, with gorgeous minerality and a bright high acid finish that makes your mouth water. I will be drinking a lot of this again!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Fossil Point Edna Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 6-24-2014
This is a new project coming from a small boutique producer out of San Luis Obispo's Edna Valley region. Perfectly suited for cool climate loving varietals like Pinot Noir. This is one that absolutely over-delivers for the price. Very aromatic with ripe strawberry, black cherry, and rose petals, light purple-red in the glass that actually looks like Pinot, not some Syrah-infused Pinot that we see so often these days. Juicy and bright on the mid-palate with great acidity and not too much oak. This is the perfect summer red to drink with almost anything.
Price: Hidden View Price BC 0

2013 Margerum Wine Company "K&L Blend" Happy Canyon Sauvignon Blanc
Review Date: 5-27-2014
My favorite K&L Branded wine to date! This is very similar in style to the Margerum Sybarite Sauvignon Blanc that is their house style. The K&L Cuvee is bright, tropical, even a touch floral, with honeysuckle and guava, lots of zippy acidity and tons of flavor! This is the perfect summer wine!!
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

Club Price: $14.99
BC 0

Caves Messias Santola "Crab Wine" Vinho Verde
Review Date: 5-27-2014
Its like a white wine spritzer but better! I love this Fizzy, zippy, frizzante, dry white wine! I can drink it all day long, and my palate stays refreshed and alive with this wonderful wine! Great with salads, fish, Mexican food, or just on its own!
Price: $8.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Back Nine Cellars Napa Valley Chardonnay
Review Date: 4-25-2014
K&L killed it with this one! Coming from a producer we all love and know far too well...but can't tell, this is classic Napa Chardonnay with its big burst of stone and citrus fruit, buttercream, and toast, but not burnt, just toasty, this is the perfect Cakebread for half the price! Take a bottle while golfing!
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

Club Price: $14.99
BC 0

2012 Back Nine Cellars Rutherford Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 4-23-2014
Plush, classic Rutherford dusty fruit, well structured yet easy drinking, this is a steal for 100% Napa Valley Rutherford Cabernet Sauvignon!
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Kalinda Santa Ynez Valley Sauvignon Blanc
Review Date: 2-13-2014
Now I tried my hardest to weasel an answer out of the owners about where this Kalinda Sauv Blanc fruit is from but they are holding tight! This is classic Santa Ynez style SB with lots of bright juicy acid that dances on your tongue and plenty of citrus on the palate and a touch of sweet herb on the finish. Super refreshing and mouthwatering! I will be drinking A LOT of this!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Henriot "Souverain" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 2-4-2014
Amazingly bright and moussey. Pure golden honey in color, and clean yet luxurious minerality on the palate. Boy would this pair well with sushi! This is an uber value and a superbly elegant classic style of Champagne!

2012 Pali Wine Company "Charm Acres" Sonoma Coast Chardonnay
Review Date: 2-4-2014
Pale golden yellow in the glass, with stone fruit and nectar aromas of white peach and Fuji apple coming through. The palate is a bit more intense with loads of flavor and even a touch of baking spice. Bright, with balanced acidity, this flavortown-packed Chardonnay is a kicker for any $30-$40 Chardonnay on the rack. If you place this in a blind tasting it will beat some of your favorite big brand Chards! Absolutely awesome!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Michel Loriot "Theodorine" Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 12-6-2013
New Package, new look, same amazing Rose Champagne from Michel Loriot. They have always been a personal favorite of mine bringing us great values for their amazing juice! Definitely under the radar in the Champagne world and I hope it stays that way, because this is a steal! Gorgeous light pink salmon in the glass, delicate bead, bright minerals and slightly wild berry fruit flavors with a clean yet decadent finish. Enjoy with a loved one
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Failla Sonoma Coast Chardonnay
Review Date: 11-25-2013
The 2012 Sonoma Coast Chardonnay fruit comes from 1/3 Olivet Lane vineyard, 1/3 Keefer Ranch, and 1/3 Floodgate. This is a lifted style of Chardonnay with great apple and stone fruit notes with aromatic spice, great texture with juicy acid and minerality. The oak is well integrated using 50% barrel fermentation, 5% new, 25% concrete, and 25% stainless. Simply tremendous!

2011 Momo (Seresin) Pinot Noir Marlborough
Review Date: 11-25-2013
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Another great wine from MOMO that just can't be beat at this price for authentic, balanced, complex Pinot Noir. Now sourced entirely from Seresin's Organic/Biodynamic Estate. Fruit is hand picked, sorted and fermented with native yeast. The 2011 is a little more structured and less fleshy that the 2010. A nice spicy core of dusty red fruit and dried herbs. Savory forest floor notes hark back to the grape's Burgundian ancestors. A very food-orientated wine that is much more serious than its $16.99 price point.
Top Value! Drink from 2013 to 2016
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart BC 0

1994 Benriach 19 Year Old K&L Exclusive Single Bourbon Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 11-25-2013
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Fascinating whiskey. Not the biggest, boldest flavors one can find, but it certainly has layers of complex, balanced nuances. A spicy, medium-weight malt with nice savory toast flavors and subtle touches of vanilla. This whiskey has both the vibrancy and liveliness of a young spirit but also the softness and supple ease of a more mature bottling. If you want a heavy, more multidimensional sherry expression, try the Glendronach.
Price: $149.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Montechiara Prosecco DOC
Review Date: 11-8-2013
This little Italian Prosecco has changed the way think about Prosecco here at K&L, and trust me, that's not an easy task. With a label that mimics a yellow/orange Veuve Cliquot label, and a price that will keep your wallet full, this lovely bubbly will be the hit of every party, day or night. Not too dry, not too fruity, it's just right. You and your friends will be very, very happy!
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Olema Sonoma County Chardonnay
Review Date: 11-8-2013
This 2012 vintage of Olema Sonoma County Chardonnay is my personal favorite style of Chardonnay. It's not your typical California oak and butter-bomb that makes you feel like you're licking the inside of a freshly charred oak barrel. Amici is sticking to the Burgundian model by fermenting only half the juice in French oak to get the rich, leesy texture, the other half in stainless to retain the fresh, crisp, delicate balance between the two. And did I mention this is a delicious wine to drink on the deck while watching the sunset? Subtle fruit, touch of tropical notes, bright acid, creamy mid palate texture...It's a perfect Chardonnay that will please your wine drinking friends whether they're fans of Old World or New World styles.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Page:  prev  1  2  3 4  5  next  >>

More Favorites

Christie Brunick is also a fan of the following items. To become a fan of Christie Brunick, click here to join Christie Brunick's Personal Sommelier Service.
Launois "Cuvée Reserve" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne ($34.99)