Staff Favorites - Christie Cartwright

Christie Cartwright
Christie Cartwright  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service
I was first introduced to the fabulous world of California wine in Napa where I spent weekends bike riding and wine tasting with my parents up and down the Silverado Trail. Growing up in the East Bay Area it was only a hop...skip...jump away from wine country where my family would venture to relax and play every possible moment. It wasn't until my senior year at Cal Poly San Luis Obispo that I realized I had a passion for the wine industry. My first encounter with the working world of wine was my volunteer internship at Edna Valley Winery where I traveled to a number of tasting events with the marketing manager for the winery and realized I needed to get in the business. I added a minor in wine and viticulture to my communications studies major and ended up writing my thesis on the differences in wine marketing throughout a choice number of Paso Robles wineries. My first "real job" in the wine industry was at the smallest tasting room with the biggest personality in Paso Robles named Four Vines Winery. I worked there for almost three years while going to school and fell in love with not only central coast wines, but also with the business of sales and all those who loved, appreciated, and enjoyed our fruitful product. After graduation in 2007 I loved the central coast so much I decided to make a go for it and stay in this blissful paradise of beach and vines. I became fond very fond of making trips to Los Olivos and Santa Ynez valley quite often and in the mean time also became employed at Tolosa Winery in San Luis Obispo and 15 degrees wine bar in Templeton. In the summer of 2009 I decided to take a chance and move to Hollywood for more opportunity. Being from northern California I wanted to expand my horizons and see what the LA lifestyle was all about. I knew this was where I belonged the moment I stepped into this oasis of wine and cuisine. Never had I been to a place where I could find so many restaurants, bistros, wine bars, and the like within a 4 mile radius, and I don't have to get on the freeway! I'm in heaven. When I walked into the infamous K&L Hollywood Store it was love at first sight! I'm thrilled to be working here doing what I love, and love the incredible people here who share this passion and commitment with me.


Reviews

Page:  prev  1  2 3  4  5  next
2012 Failla Sonoma Coast Chardonnay
Review Date: 11-25-2013
The 2012 Sonoma Coast Chardonnay fruit comes from 1/3 Olivet Lane vineyard, 1/3 Keefer Ranch, and 1/3 Floodgate. This is a lifted style of Chardonnay with great apple and stone fruit notes with aromatic spice, great texture with juicy acid and minerality. The oak is well integrated using 50% barrel fermentation, 5% new, 25% concrete, and 25% stainless. Simply tremendous!

2011 Momo (Seresin) Pinot Noir Marlborough
Review Date: 11-25-2013
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Another great wine from MOMO that just can't be beat at this price for authentic, balanced, complex Pinot Noir. Now sourced entirely from Seresin's Organic/Biodynamic Estate. Fruit is hand picked, sorted and fermented with native yeast. The 2011 is a little more structured and less fleshy that the 2010. A nice spicy core of dusty red fruit and dried herbs. Savory forest floor notes hark back to the grape's Burgundian ancestors. A very food-orientated wine that is much more serious than its $16.99 price point.
Top Value! Drink from 2013 to 2016
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2011 Arterberry Maresh Dundee Hills Oregon Chardonnay
Review Date: 11-25-2013
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Wow! This wine just floored me. Unbelievable brightness and focus. Lovely snappy citric acidity with flinty undertones. Rivaling anything I have ever tasted from Chablis in any price point. Very admirable restraint and tension on the palate. Long and lingering, just keeps you coming back for another sip. One of the wines of the year for me.
Top Value! Drink from 2013 to 2020
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart RP 91 BC 0

1994 Benriach 19 Year Old K&L Exclusive Single Bourbon Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 11-25-2013
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Fascinating whiskey. Not the biggest, boldest flavors one can find, but it certainly has layers of complex, balanced nuances. A spicy, medium-weight malt with nice savory toast flavors and subtle touches of vanilla. This whiskey has both the vibrancy and liveliness of a young spirit but also the softness and supple ease of a more mature bottling. If you want a heavy, more multidimensional sherry expression, try the Glendronach.
Price: $149.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Lea (Tensley) Sta. Rita Hills Pinot Noir
Review Date: 11-25-2013
This Pinot Noir from the folks at Tensley is bright, ripe and extracted, with plentiful dark red fruits, spice and hints of cedar. Fleshy and silky, this is a wine to enjoy immediately. This wine isn't for the Burgundy lover--this is a California Pinot Noir fan's Pinot Noir.

2011 Chateau Montelena Napa Valley Chardonnay
Review Date: 11-8-2013
This is the highest-rated Chardonnay from Montelena Estates that has ever been released to date! A masterful piece from the so-called "bad vintage" that would fool you for Premier or Grand Cru Burgundy. Exquisitely balanced with gorgeous minerality, bright acid, creamy lemon curd and subtle fruit from sitting on its lees, but with no stirring and no malolactic fermentation. This hits it out of the ball park for sure, and will be in my fridge as soon as it's released on October 1st!

2010 Amici Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 11-8-2013
When I tasted with the folks from Amici cellars this summer, I was wowed by how well their Cabernets were showing, especially since they're quite young. But I thought the star was their basic Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon. It was exactly what I would expect from well-made, no-expense-spared Napa Cab! Super classic in style, with an ultra-rich color of black and purple fruit and plush weight on the palate, making it feel luxurious but not too over-the-top. Superbly elegant and finessed with integrated tannins and a polished finish. This is drinking great now, but can also cellar for another few years if you like.

Montechiara Prosecco DOC
Review Date: 11-8-2013
This little Italian Prosecco has changed the way think about Prosecco here at K&L, and trust me, that's not an easy task. With a label that mimics a yellow/orange Veuve Cliquot label, and a price that will keep your wallet full, this lovely bubbly will be the hit of every party, day or night. Not too dry, not too fruity, it's just right. You and your friends will be very, very happy!
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Olema Sonoma County Chardonnay
Review Date: 11-8-2013
This 2012 vintage of Olema Sonoma County Chardonnay is my personal favorite style of Chardonnay. It's not your typical California oak and butter-bomb that makes you feel like you're licking the inside of a freshly charred oak barrel. Amici is sticking to the Burgundian model by fermenting only half the juice in French oak to get the rich, leesy texture, the other half in stainless to retain the fresh, crisp, delicate balance between the two. And did I mention this is a delicious wine to drink on the deck while watching the sunset? Subtle fruit, touch of tropical notes, bright acid, creamy mid palate texture...It's a perfect Chardonnay that will please your wine drinking friends whether they're fans of Old World or New World styles.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Spellbound California Chardonnay
Review Date: 11-8-2013
Spellbound Chardonnay comes from Robert Mondavi and Folio Fine Wine Partners, and the 2012, if you can believe it, is even more amazing than 2011. Some say 2012 is the best vintage California has had in a decade, and this wine is a perfect testament to that. Perfect balance and texture to a "Baby Rombauer" style of Chardonnay. Even with its rich, creamy texture, there are layers of flavor and complex fruit notes like citrus, tropical fruit and vanilla. But with the drinkability and balance of this "life of the party" wine, you would never guess its price! It will be bikini season soon so drink your spellbound in place of the cheese!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Failla Sonoma Coast Pinot Noir
Review Date: 8-29-2013
The 2012 Failla Pinot is full of super concentrated crunchy red fruits, bursting with pretty and sweet aromatics exploding with flavor on the palate. Tons of juicy acid, great structure, only sees 5% new oak, unfined and unfiltered. Erin's wine-making philosophy is simple, using native yeasts, picking fruit by PH not necessarily by brix levels, never adding water and acid like some who pick too ripe. He also practices natural Malolactic never inoculating, letting the wines do their own magic and really speak for themselves.
Price: $32.99 Add To Cart RP 90 BC 0

Elisabeth Goutorbe "Cuvée Eclatante" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 10-17-2012
From the daughter of Henroit Goutorbe, Elisabeth is making something so elegant and superb for a far better price! 70% Pinot noir, and 25% Chardonnay, with 5% Pinot Meunier, this Champagne is rich and moussy, with a full of honey and caramelized fruit on the nose and finish. delicate yet plush, and a steal in my book!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Bruno Michel "Blanche" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 10-4-2012
This is my quintessential Holiday Party Champagne, and it aims to please! Not too big and over-the-top, and not to light and lean either, its just right! Made from almost half Chardonnay and half Pinot Meunier graps giving it lots of depth and great texture on the palate. This is the bell of the ball as far as I'm concerned. This lovely bubbly is feminine yet sexy and bold at the same time. Its bright and fresh character gives it a friendly quality that can be sipped on and enjoyed all day and all night long! This is heaven in a flute!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Deligeroy Crémant de Loire Brut Rosé
Review Date: 9-28-2012
This is one of my all time favorite Bubbly Rose and a fraction of the price of Champagne.I love the new cuvee of my Deligeroy Rose. Its much softer and more feminine that the last cuvee which was a touch herbaceous. This Cab Franc based blend is aimed to please this holiday season! Its the perfect party wine that will please a crowd instantly. Subtle fruit with balanced acid and a clean, dry finish! You wont believe your wallet! It has subtle red berry and sweet herb undertones with its racy acid and minerality keep it refreshing but still full on the palate. Perfect for any gathering or romantic date, or just sip and savor alone! Its that good
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Michel Dervin Brut Champagne
Review Date: 9-28-2012
My absolute favorite deal in Champagne! I will be sad when it sell out because when its gone its gone, until the next boat comes over! This is the most friendly and elegant style of bubbles you can get for an unbelievable price!
Price: $32.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Page:  prev  1  2 3  4  5  next

More Favorites

Christie Cartwright is also a fan of the following items. To become a fan of Christie Cartwright, click here to join Christie Cartwright's Personal Sommelier Service.
Launois "Cuvée Reserve" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne ($34.99)