Staff Favorites - Christie Cartwright

Christie Cartwright
Christie Cartwright  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service
I was first introduced to the fabulous world of California wine in Napa where I spent weekends bike riding and wine tasting with my parents up and down the Silverado Trail. Growing up in the East Bay Area it was only a hop...skip...jump away from wine country where my family would venture to relax and play every possible moment. It wasn't until my senior year at Cal Poly San Luis Obispo that I realized I had a passion for the wine industry. My first encounter with the working world of wine was my volunteer internship at Edna Valley Winery where I traveled to a number of tasting events with the marketing manager for the winery and realized I needed to get in the business. I added a minor in wine and viticulture to my communications studies major and ended up writing my thesis on the differences in wine marketing throughout a choice number of Paso Robles wineries. My first "real job" in the wine industry was at the smallest tasting room with the biggest personality in Paso Robles named Four Vines Winery. I worked there for almost three years while going to school and fell in love with not only central coast wines, but also with the business of sales and all those who loved, appreciated, and enjoyed our fruitful product. After graduation in 2007 I loved the central coast so much I decided to make a go for it and stay in this blissful paradise of beach and vines. I became fond very fond of making trips to Los Olivos and Santa Ynez valley quite often and in the mean time also became employed at Tolosa Winery in San Luis Obispo and 15 degrees wine bar in Templeton. In the summer of 2009 I decided to take a chance and move to Hollywood for more opportunity. Being from northern California I wanted to expand my horizons and see what the LA lifestyle was all about. I knew this was where I belonged the moment I stepped into this oasis of wine and cuisine. Never had I been to a place where I could find so many restaurants, bistros, wine bars, and the like within a 4 mile radius, and I don't have to get on the freeway! I'm in heaven. When I walked into the infamous K&L Hollywood Store it was love at first sight! I'm thrilled to be working here doing what I love, and love the incredible people here who share this passion and commitment with me.


Reviews

Page:  prev  1 2  3  4  5  next
2012 Fossil Point Edna Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 6-24-2014
This is a new project coming from a small boutique producer out of San Luis Obispo's Edna Valley region. Perfectly suited for cool climate loving varietals like Pinot Noir. This is one that absolutely over-delivers for the price. Very aromatic with ripe strawberry, black cherry, and rose petals, light purple-red in the glass that actually looks like Pinot, not some Syrah-infused Pinot that we see so often these days. Juicy and bright on the mid-palate with great acidity and not too much oak. This is the perfect summer red to drink with almost anything.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2008 La Velona Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 6-24-2014
An absolute steal when it comes to 08 Brunello. A fuller bodied fleshy style for sure, with well integrated tannins to help the fruit stay fresh and lively. I love this wine because you can pop it open and drink it without waiting 10 years for it to age. Also super food friendly and drinks far above its price!

2012 Evening Land Arroyo Grande Valley Chardonnay
Review Date: 6-24-2014
Unbelievable quality for the price point here. Evening land one of the most esteemed names both here in California and Oregon and now making a name for themselves in France is showing off the fruits of their labor. This is a luscious Chardonnay, packed with creamy texture and ripe baked apple and crunchy bright fruit as well. Nicely balanced with just the right amount of acid to pull the flavors together.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Happy Canyon Vineyards "K&L Cuvee" Sauvignon Blanc
Review Date: 5-27-2014
My favorite K&L Branded wine to date! This is very similar in style to the Margerum Sybarite Sauvignon Blanc that is their house style. The K&L Cuvee is bright, tropical, even a touch floral, with honeysuckle and guava, lots of zippy acidity and tons of flavor! This is the perfect summer wine!!
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Caves Messias Santola "Crab Wine" Vinho Verde
Review Date: 5-27-2014
Its like a white wine spritzer but better! I love this Fizzy, zippy, frizzante, dry white wine! I can drink it all day long, and my palate stays refreshed and alive with this wonderful wine! Great with salads, fish, Mexican food, or just on its own!
Price: $8.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Abbaye Saint Hilaire Coteaux Varois en Provence Rosé
Review Date: 5-27-2014
This is my quintessential summer rosé! This rosé is classic Provencal in style. Gorgeous opaque rose color, silky and minerality on the palate, with a clean finish that lingers just long enough. Great balance with just the right amount of acidity. Super refreshing and just the right thing to drink this rosé season!
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Back Nine Cellars Napa Valley Chardonnay
Review Date: 4-25-2014
K&L killed it with this one! Coming from a producer we all love and know far too well...but can't tell, this is classic Napa Chardonnay with its big burst of stone and citrus fruit, buttercream, and toast, but not burnt, just toasty, this is the perfect Cakebread for half the price! Take a bottle while golfing!
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

Club Price: $14.99
BC 0

2012 Back Nine Cellars Rutherford Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 4-23-2014
Plush, classic Rutherford dusty fruit, well structured yet easy drinking, this is a steal for 100% Napa Valley Rutherford Cabernet Sauvignon!
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

Club Price: $23.99
BC 0

2012 Kalinda Santa Ynez Valley Sauvignon Blanc
Review Date: 2-13-2014
Now I tried my hardest to weasel an answer out of the owners about where this Kalinda Sauv Blanc fruit is from but they are holding tight! This is classic Santa Ynez style SB with lots of bright juicy acid that dances on your tongue and plenty of citrus on the palate and a touch of sweet herb on the finish. Super refreshing and mouthwatering! I will be drinking A LOT of this!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Henriot "Souverain" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 2-4-2014
Amazingly bright and moussey. Pure golden honey in color, and clean yet luxurious minerality on the palate. Boy would this pair well with sushi! This is an uber value and a superbly elegant classic style of Champagne!

2012 Pali Wine Company "Charm Acres" Sonoma Coast Chardonnay
Review Date: 2-4-2014
Pale golden yellow in the glass, with stone fruit and nectar aromas of white peach and Fuji apple coming through. The palate is a bit more intense with loads of flavor and even a touch of baking spice. Bright, with balanced acidity, this flavortown-packed Chardonnay is a kicker for any $30-$40 Chardonnay on the rack. If you place this in a blind tasting it will beat some of your favorite big brand Chards! Absolutely awesome!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2011 Jacques Bavard Saint-Romain Blanc "Sous le Château"
Review Date: 2-3-2014
This is my perfect white Burgundy! Its extremely layered with lots of crunchy minerality, and leesy rich creamy undertones. The fruit bright yet ripe, that really lingers on the finish and is balanced with great acid as well. I want to drink this every day! (Christie Cartwright, K&L Hollywood buyer)
Price: $32.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Rancho Zabaco "Heritage Vines" Sonoma County Zinfandel
Review Date: 1-14-2014
If you're a Zin lover and are always looking for that next bargain, well here it is! Classic aromas of dried black and purple fruits, slightly jammy on the palate but not sweet, with juicy acidity and a clean finish. This is perfect for anyone with a Zin palate!
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart RP 90 BC 0

2012 Kalinda "Cuvée Reserve" Willamette Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 1-14-2014
I have to be honest, the 2011 Kalinda Willamette Valley Pinot was a bit lean and green for my taste. But here comes the 2012 vintage that is soaring high with flying colors! I absolutely love 2012 Oregon Pinots because they have so much more stuffing for the price. It was a nearly perfect vintage, and the fruit shows it. The Kalinda is still classic enough in style, but there's much more fluff and ripe fruit to go alongside its elegance.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Michel Loriot "Theodorine" Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 12-6-2013
New Package, new look, same amazing Rose Champagne from Michel Loriot. They have always been a personal favorite of mine bringing us great values for their amazing juice! Definitely under the radar in the Champagne world and I hope it stays that way, because this is a steal! Gorgeous light pink salmon in the glass, delicate bead, bright minerals and slightly wild berry fruit flavors with a clean yet decadent finish. Enjoy with a loved one
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Page:  prev  1 2  3  4  5  next

More Favorites

Christie Cartwright is also a fan of the following items. To become a fan of Christie Cartwright, click here to join Christie Cartwright's Personal Sommelier Service.
Launois "Cuvée Reserve" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne ($34.99)