Staff Favorites - Christie Brunick

Christie Brunick
Christie Brunick  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service
I was first introduced to the fabulous world of California wine in Napa where I spent weekends bike riding and wine tasting with my parents up and down the Silverado Trail. Growing up in the East Bay Area it was only a hop...skip...jump away from wine country where my family would venture to relax and play every possible moment. It wasn't until my senior year at Cal Poly San Luis Obispo that I realized I had a passion for the wine industry. My first encounter with the working world of wine was my volunteer internship at Edna Valley Winery where I traveled to a number of tasting events with the marketing manager for the winery and realized I needed to get in the business. I added a minor in wine and viticulture to my communications studies major and ended up writing my thesis on the differences in wine marketing throughout a choice number of Paso Robles wineries. My first "real job" in the wine industry was at the smallest tasting room with the biggest personality in Paso Robles named Four Vines Winery. I worked there for almost three years while going to school and fell in love with not only central coast wines, but also with the business of sales and all those who loved, appreciated, and enjoyed our fruitful product. After graduation in 2007 I loved the central coast so much I decided to make a go for it and stay in this blissful paradise of beach and vines. I became fond very fond of making trips to Los Olivos and Santa Ynez valley quite often and in the mean time also became employed at Tolosa Winery in San Luis Obispo and 15 degrees wine bar in Templeton. In the summer of 2009 I decided to take a chance and move to Hollywood for more opportunity. Being from northern California I wanted to expand my horizons and see what the LA lifestyle was all about. I knew this was where I belonged the moment I stepped into this oasis of wine and cuisine. Never had I been to a place where I could find so many restaurants, bistros, wine bars, and the like within a 4 mile radius, and I don't have to get on the freeway! I'm in heaven. When I walked into the infamous K&L Hollywood Store it was love at first sight! I'm thrilled to be working here doing what I love, and love the incredible people here who share this passion and commitment with me.


Reviews

Page: 1  2  3  4  5  next  >>
Del Professore Vermouth 750ml
Review Date: 3-27-2015
Looking for a great Spring Time Apertif? This is semi off-dry Italian White Vermouth is soo delicous and refreshing! Its a great option for someone who wants something a little different than there typical Litllet Blanc or similar. I love it over the rocks with a twist of lemon or other citrus! I will be enjoying this all summer!
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2010 Amici Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 3-24-2015
This is drinking beautifully now and will age gracefully over the next 5-10 years as well. No expense spared by the folks at Amici Wines to make the absolute best wines possible for the price! Dark, rich, supple, juicy, with integrated oak and polished tannins on the finish. This is always a staff favorite!

2013 Kalinda Yountville Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 3-20-2015
If you haven't already heard, the 2013 vintage is even more exciting to Napa winemakers than 2012! Hard to believe I know, but wait to you taste our new release of the 2013 Kalinda Yountville Cabernet you will need to sit down for this! It's coming from one of my favorite producers in Napa Valley making balanced age-wothy Bordeaux style Cabernet. All the fruit used is second from this powerhouse estate and it is stupid-good for the money. I can't wait to put a case away and see how it develops over the next few years!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Alexandre Le Brun "Tradition" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 3-20-2015
A new Direct Import for us and I'm in love! This is the perfect Champagne to start out the night with! Although dry, it has a ripeness to the fruit that makes it a great aperitif or sipping Champagne on its own. This will be great for anyone that wants to dive right into our grower Champagne program and see what it has to offer! Great Champagnes for less than you'll find anywhere!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

Club Price: $34.99
BC 0

2012 Larkmead Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 3-19-2015
When you talk about a wine that is sleek, polished, elegant, with classic Napa Valley hedonism at its core, then you must be talking about the new 2012 Larkmead Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon! My only complaint here is; I want more! I can't get enough of this wine, I want to drink it now, and I want to cellar it! It's 100% perfect in its depth of fruit and structure. Love.

Jean-Jacques Lamoureux "Réserve" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 3-19-2015
Unbelievably drinkable and sophisticated on the palate. 100% Pinot Noir makes this dry cuvee especially luscious and creamy, with ripe stone fruit and subtle creamy brioche on the finish. This is a Champagne I'm really excited about because anyone can enjoy this style of Champagne. From the connoisseur to the bubbly drinking starter, this will seduce and amaze your palates!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

Club Price: $29.99
BC 0

2012 Araujo "Altagracia" Napa Valley Proprietary Red
Review Date: 3-6-2015
Looking for a perfect balance of power and beauty, a little Cali mixed with a little Bordeaux style, this delivers all the goods. Stunning structure, rich, bold, beautiful classic Cabernet fruit with structure and sweet oak that will keep this wine aging for years to come! To me it's just perfect! Drink while your Eisele Vineyard ages!
Price: $129.99 Add To Cart RP 91-  93 BC 0

2013 Andrew Murray "Tous les Jours" Santa Ynez Valley Syrah
Review Date: 2-25-2015
Best Domestic Syrah in this price category by a long shot! Rich and supple, but with a touch of smoked meats and pepper that give it that classic Syrah style. Easy enough to drink on its own or pair with some short ribs!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart WE 93 BC 0

2007 Bodegas Puelles Rioja Reserva
Review Date: 2-25-2015
Drinking beautifully now and is extremely supple with polished tannins and a pure expression of fruit. Lots of violets, purple and blue fruit, with a touch of savory earth and tobacco on the finish. Absolutely perfect with tapas and easy enough to sip on its own. A great Rioja to introduce friends to as well.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Angeline California Pinot Noir
Review Date: 2-25-2015
Best Domestic Pinot Noir around for a ridiculously great price! I even served it at my wedding reception and people absolutely loved it! I didn't have any left, they guzzled it up! Classic Pinot Noir aromas of ripe strawberry and dried cherry lead you to a palate of juicy and bright fruit with quenching acidity, making it the perfect cocktail or food wine! Trust me:)
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Rickshaw California Pinot Noir
Review Date: 2-25-2015
To be Honest, I like this second label Pinot Noir from Banshee wines more than the first! For almost $10 cheaper, you get brilliant fruit from the same exact source! I love the richness on the palate, it's actually a bigger Pinot than the Banshee label, but still has that great acidity to polish it out. Lots of Black and red cherry, blueberry, and red fruits here. Absolutely delicious!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Mas de Daumas Gassac VDP de l'Herault Blanc
Review Date: 2-25-2015
One of the most unique and intriguing wines I've tasted lately. A unique blend of white varieties that goes farther than your typical southern French blend. All in perfect harmony, creating a complex, rich, and balanced wine with gorgeous texture and supple yet bright finish. White flowers, lavender, honeycomb, stone fruit, citrus, are just the beginning. You'll have to wait and see for yourself for the rest...
Price: $41.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2011 Mas de Daumas Gassac VDP de l'Herault Rouge
Review Date: 2-25-2015
I'm in love. This lovely Cabernet-based southern French blend has all the richness and weight of a Bordeaux, but without the harsh tannins! Hallelujah! But it's not just fruit, it has a gorgeous, gravely tobacco rusticness that makes its black and purple fruit marry very well together. I will be drinking a lot of this very soon! Think of Bandol without waiting all the time!
Price: $41.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2010 Château la Caminade "Fut de Chene" Cahors
Review Date: 2-25-2015
Malbec from Argentina = cocktail wine, Malbec from Cahors France = food wine! All the dark fruit but with so much more structure. Gorgeously rustic with high acid and integrated tannins that will go oh so well with any red meat you can get your hands on! Delicious.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Marietta "Old Vine Red-Lot #62" Red Blend
Review Date: 2-25-2015
Looking for a red to drink day or night? With or without food? Not too tannic and not too sweet? Then you've met your match! This is a terrific crowd-pleaser with its ripe, juicy upfront fruit, but balanced with a fair amount of acid and not too much oak! Pizza party, burgers, chicken, it's all good!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Page: 1  2  3  4  5  next  >>

More Favorites

Christie Brunick is also a fan of the following items. To become a fan of Christie Brunick, click here to join Christie Brunick's Personal Sommelier Service.
Launois "Cuvée Reserve" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne ($34.99)