Staff Favorites - Christie Cartwright

Christie Cartwright
Christie Cartwright  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service
I was first introduced to the fabulous world of California wine in Napa where I spent weekends bike riding and wine tasting with my parents up and down the Silverado Trail. Growing up in the East Bay Area it was only a hop...skip...jump away from wine country where my family would venture to relax and play every possible moment. It wasn't until my senior year at Cal Poly San Luis Obispo that I realized I had a passion for the wine industry. My first encounter with the working world of wine was my volunteer internship at Edna Valley Winery where I traveled to a number of tasting events with the marketing manager for the winery and realized I needed to get in the business. I added a minor in wine and viticulture to my communications studies major and ended up writing my thesis on the differences in wine marketing throughout a choice number of Paso Robles wineries. My first "real job" in the wine industry was at the smallest tasting room with the biggest personality in Paso Robles named Four Vines Winery. I worked there for almost three years while going to school and fell in love with not only central coast wines, but also with the business of sales and all those who loved, appreciated, and enjoyed our fruitful product. After graduation in 2007 I loved the central coast so much I decided to make a go for it and stay in this blissful paradise of beach and vines. I became fond very fond of making trips to Los Olivos and Santa Ynez valley quite often and in the mean time also became employed at Tolosa Winery in San Luis Obispo and 15 degrees wine bar in Templeton. In the summer of 2009 I decided to take a chance and move to Hollywood for more opportunity. Being from northern California I wanted to expand my horizons and see what the LA lifestyle was all about. I knew this was where I belonged the moment I stepped into this oasis of wine and cuisine. Never had I been to a place where I could find so many restaurants, bistros, wine bars, and the like within a 4 mile radius, and I don't have to get on the freeway! I'm in heaven. When I walked into the infamous K&L Hollywood Store it was love at first sight! I'm thrilled to be working here doing what I love, and love the incredible people here who share this passion and commitment with me.


Reviews

Page: 1  2  3  4  5  next
2013 Valentin Bianchi "Elsa Bianchi" Malbec Mendoza
Review Date: 7-31-2014
For under $10 this is a solid everyday red that is perfect with just about everything. It's got a purple hue, and supple, blueberry and violet undertones that give lift to its inky, soft texture. Polished and clean with a velvety soft finish, this is a wine that can be drunk whatever the season. If its hot out, put a slight chill on it; pair it with everything from salmon to roast chicken or Argentine steak!
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Spellbound California Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 7-31-2014
I'm obsessed with Robert Mondavi Jr.'s latest addition to the Spellbound family! If you love California Cab, but don't want to spend Napa Valley prices, you've met your match! This fruit is sourced from some of the best vineyards in California but because of the family reputation, this Cab doesn't cost an arm and leg for high-quality juice. Great everyday red full of richness and depth, and still soft enough on the palate to drink on its own or with food. Supple tannins and acid make it a super juicy, food-friendly crowd pleaser! BBQ anyone?
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Domaine Begude Sauvignon Blanc Vin de Pays d'Oc
Review Date: 7-31-2014
Sancerre at half the price!!! Soft, subtle mineral notes are wrapped up in aromatics of melon and citrus. Clean, bright and refreshing, this is a perfect little Sauvignon Blanc. Tropical fruit, citrus and spice aromas and flavors, with vibrant acidity and minerality. Perfect for goat milk cheeses or seafood. This is the white wine that I always keep stocked in my fridge. Bright, fresh citrus peels (grapefruit & lime) lead into a bracing minerality that ends with a wonderfully dry, crushed wet rock finish. I love this wine (and it's an absolute steal).
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Jardesca California Aperitiva 750ml
Review Date: 7-29-2014
Looking for your summer aperitif wine that's local, light, aromatic, complex, and wont give you a hangover?! This small production aperitif is made in Northern California's Sonoma County and is loaded with natural aromatic botanicals like basil, Kaffir lime, fresh herbs, mint, flowers, and citrus. This is a drier style aperitif wine whose cocktail combinations are endless! Splash of soda, lime, fruit, or lavender, and you've got yourself one complex concoction! I've been enjoying it on my deck during sunset for an immediate summer refreshment! You must try! You will be hooked.
Price: $28.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Château de Ripaille Vin de Savoie-Ripaille
Review Date: 7-25-2014
If you want to be refreshed instantly, then drink this delightfully crisp and minerally white from the Savoie made from 100% Chasselas from a 1,000-year-old estate! This reminds me of skiing down the Swiss Alps getting fresh chucks of snow in my face! Yes, it's just like that!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Ridge "Three Valleys" Sonoma County Zinfandel Blend
Review Date: 7-9-2014
This is surprisingly a softer style of Ridge than I've seen in vintages past, which means it's super food-friendly and accessible for every occasion!
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2011 Daou Vineyards "Seventeen Forty" Paso Robles Bordeaux Blend
Review Date: 7-9-2014
I'm loving this Cabernet Franc based blend from Paso! The reason is that 2011 being a cooler vintage, the fruit is much prettier and showier without the over-ripe, reductive raisiny quality that so many big Paso reds struggle with vintage to vintage. Lots of gorgeous violet, blue fruit, spice, and soft velvety tannins that keep your palate balanced and loving every sip! Drinking great now no need to wait!

2013 Bodkin "The Victor's Spoils - Sandy Bend Vineyard" Lake County Sauvignon Blanc
Review Date: 7-9-2014
Fresh, lively, bright, subtle citrus-stone fruit, and low alcohol! What more could one ask for a perfect summer Sauv Blanc! I love that it isn't grassy or oaky, its very much in the Loire style, and the price is perfect!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart WE 91 BC 0

2009 Baricci Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 7-7-2014
Finally! The beloved Baricci Brunello and Rosso are back in stock! Fresh off the boat and tasting better than ever! I can't get enough of these wines. Classic structure with forward fruit, these are food-friendly, sultry, sexy wines that will win over your dinner date whether you're eating a pizza slice in front of your TV, or eating at a five star Italian restaurant!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart ST 91 BC 0

2012 Baricci Rosso di Montalcino
Review Date: 7-7-2014
Finally! The beloved Baricci Brunello and Rosso are back in stock! Fresh off the boat and tasting better than ever! I can't get enough of these wines. Classic structure with forward fruit, these are food-friendly, sultry, sexy wines that will win over your dinner date whether you're eating a pizza slice in front of your TV, or eating at a five star Italian restaurant!
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2011 Rosenblum Contra Costa County Zinfandel
Review Date: 7-3-2014
If you're looking for your summer BBQ red, look no further! The 2011 Rosenblum Zin is just what the doctor ordered. With plenty of juicy, lush, upfront fruit, and a velvety soft finish, this wine will keep you drinking from pre-dinner cocktail hour all the way through post-dinner chocolate and cigars! Super food-friendly with everything from ribs to pork to rib-eye!
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Beringer Knights Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 7-3-2014
I have to admit I was pretty impressed when I tasted the latest vintage of the Knights Valley Cabernet. It had more structure and depth than I anticipated. Loads of the gorgeous dense black fruit as always, but with the integrated tannins and grip of a Napa Cab twice its price. Pair this with something fatty like a New York or rib-eye steak!
Price: $22.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Domaine La Manarine Côtes du Rhône Blanc
Review Date: 7-3-2014
Best white Rhone I've had in a really long time! This is a Grenache Blanc-based white wine that has beautiful tree fruit, citrus, and white nectar fruit on the nose and palate. Gorgeous minerality and acidity keeping the fruit balanced and bright! Perfect for summer!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Underwood by Union Wine Co. Oregon Pinot Gris (375ml can)
Review Date: 7-3-2014
I'm extremely excited to announce the inaugural release of our favorite value Oregon Pinot Gris in the best possible package for easy and efficient summer sipping! Yes people, it's in a can! But don't let that fool you, it's the same juice that goes into the 2013 750ml bottle. Union Wine Co. orders labeled empty cans in quantity. This allows more flexibility with future cannings and makes sure they don't end up with unused vintage specific cans. The Pinot Gris is a crispy, dry, fresh, bright and slightly fruity style white wine and not at all sweet, thank goodness. It's absolutely perfect for summer sipping. Serve ice cold and be the star wherever this summer takes you, whether it be camping, boating, picnicking, beaching or the Hollywood Bowl this year!
Price: $5.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Underwood by Union Wine Co. Oregon Pinot Noir (375ml can)
Review Date: 7-3-2014
I'm extremely excited to announce the inaugural release of our favorite value Oregon Pinot Noir in the best possible package for easy and efficient summer sipping! Yes people, it's in a can! But don't let that fool you, it's the same juice that goes into the 2013 750ml bottle. Union Wine Co. orders labeled empty cans in quantity. This allows more flexibility with future cannings and makes sure they don't end up with unused vintage-specific cans. This is very similar to the beloved 2012 vintage that flew out of here before we could take a breath between sips! It has gorgeous aromatics of bright red and purple fruit--strawberry and pomegranate--with great texture and supple acid on the palate, pepper spice and a mineral finish. Serve with a slight chill and be the star wherever this summer takes you, whether it be camping, boating, picnicking, beaching or the Hollywood Bowl this year!
Price: $5.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Page: 1  2  3  4  5  next

More Favorites

Christie Cartwright is also a fan of the following items. To become a fan of Christie Cartwright, click here to join Christie Cartwright's Personal Sommelier Service.
Launois "Cuvée Reserve" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne ($34.99)