Staff Favorites - Doug Burress

Doug Burress
After many years of shopping at K & L, I finally decided to spend even more time at my favorite store! I first came on board at "the shop" a little over a year ago working Friday nights and Saturdays. Now, as a full time member of the Redwood City staff, my wine education continues five days a week! My favorite wines in the world include the awesome grower-producer champagnes we carry, earthy pinot noir from the Burgundy region of France, as well as the excellent pinots from Oregon and California. I dream of one day having my own land on the Dundee Hills of Oregon and producing terrior driven pinot noirs! Most recently I have dedicated more time to tasting and studying wines from Italy. It is a complicated wine country with many grape varietals, regions, and laws, but one that produces some of the best wines in the world! This education is most certainly worth the effort! I have always been a big fan of beer and the large selection of beers we carry from all over the world is yet another reason I am excited to be working here and helping you choose from our super selection of brews! I look forward to tasting and learning more about our wonderful world of wines and helping you find the right wine, at the right price, for any occasion. From a Sunday barbeque with family and friends, to that special bottle for a birthday, anniversary, or other occasion, we can help you find it here at the shop!

Page:  <<  prev  6 7  8  9  10  next  >>
2012 Castillo de Monseran Garnacha Cariñena  
Review Date: 12-1-2014
This wine has been a top value for quite some time now and the 2012 vintage does not disappoint! Rich fruit with a little spice that goes down smooth! Stock up!
Top Value!
Price: $7.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Sesta di Sopra Sangiovese Toscana  
Review Date: 12-1-2014
Once again, incredible wine from one of our favorite Italian Direct Import producers. The combination of pure cherry fruit with great earth easily lives up to the Rosso/ Brunello di Montalcino standards without the price tag!
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2009 Malmaison, Moulis-en-Médoc  
Review Date: 12-1-2014
An amazing vintage from vineyards managed by the Rothschild family helps make the 2009 Malmaison Moulis a top Bordeaux deal! Pure, rich fruit, great spice, and a long finish. Beautiful wine that should not be missed!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Jean-Louis Denois Pinot Noir Brut Rosé   | Approved
Review Date: 12-1-2014
Stunning at this price! Thanks once again to our direct import, this little brut rose is a steal. Crisp, bright cherry, strawberry, and well balanced acidity. Perfect party pick!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Chartreuse "V.E.P." Green 1L   | Public Pending Approval
Review Date: 12-1-2014
The most extraordinary digestif ever made. The most extraordinary anything ever made. My desert island one-and-only.
Price: $139.99 Add To Cart WE 96-  100 BC 0

2013 Philippe Tessier "Le Point du Jour" Cheverny Rouge   | Public Pending Approval
Review Date: 11-30-2014
Rose petals for miles flanked by briar, bramble and wild spice. I long for this wine.
Price: $22.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2009 Joël Taluau "Vieilles Vignes" St-Nicolas-de-Bourgueil  
Review Date: 11-30-2014
This wine is big and structured and very good. It needs about one hour of decanting, and then opens up, providing soft big round flavors that will go well with hearty foods. I had it with chicken and it also went well with that.
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2011 Ferrero Toscana Rosso  
Review Date: 11-30-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
This is not your standard declassified Brunello (Rosso di Montalcino) from an exceptional Brunello producer, but a very special Montalcino bottling of Cabernet Sauvignon (33%), Merlot (33%), Montepulciano (17%), Alicante (17%), which I think Greg St.Clair had a hand in convincing the Ferreros to do. It is a wonderful wine with incredible richness, complexity, depth of character, and structure. Deep ruby in color, the high profiled nose offers up white pepper to anise characteristics with a blackberry to current fruit quality. Rich, broad, and viscous on the palate, this perfectly balanced and well-structured Tuscan Gem is nicely focused and long on the finish. This Gem has become one of our house reds for the month and more, according to Rusty......... 14.0% ABV
Drink from 2014 to 2020
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Bishop's Peak San Luis Obispo Pinot Noir  
Review Date: 11-30-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
This is one of my favorite Pinots in the store, and not just because of the price, although that is a factor. It is from a great vintage and a second label from one of best Pinot producers in the state, Talley Vineyards, and it is a wonderful glass of wine to drink. Medium to medium deep ruby in color, the nose is bright and highly perfumed showing rose petals, red cherries to raspberry fruit aromas, with undertones of mild meaty to filings to slate-like notes. This Gem is well-integrated and structured, with the aforementioned components carrying over to a full, lush, viscous mouthfeel and an excellent mid-palate, good complexity, and a long, warm finish. Rusty has informed me that we need cases of this Gem in our collection, immediately… and so do you. It drinks great right now, but will improve and get better with a few more years in the cellar. I’m doing both! .......... 14.0% ABV
Drink from 2014 to 2019
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart ST 90 BC 0

2010 Bodegas Puelles Crianza Rioja  
Review Date: 11-29-2014
Kudos to Joe Manekin, our Spanish buyer, for the work he has done to develop our Spanish direct import program. It has yielded astonishing results in just a few short years with some truly amazing wines available to our customers at incredible prices. Case in point? The 2010 Bodegas Puelles Crianza Rioja at a mere $12.99. 100% Tempranillo lightly accented with oak. (Bodegas Puelles neatly bridges the traditional vs modern divide in Rioja and uses a 50/50 mix of American and French oak.) This 2010 vintage is by far the best we have offered, and really over delivers at this price point. A great introduction to the wines of Spain or to the Rioja region, and a superb value.
Top Value!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart RP 90 BC 0

2013 Rickshaw California Pinot Noir  
Review Date: 11-29-2014
Good California Pinot Noir under $20 is increasingly rare. Finding good California Pinot Noir for under $15 is like winning the lottery. And this 2013 Rickshaw California Pinot Noir is just the ticket. Ripe, sweet, almost candied red fruits – bright cherry and raspberry with just a hint of spice. Unbeatable quality at this price.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Domaine Cherrier Père & Fils Sancerre  
Review Date: 11-29-2014
I will always have a soft spot for Sancerre. It was the first Loire Valley wine I discovered, leading me to eventually explore the entire region in all its vinous diversity. Unfortunately over the years prices on Sancerre have continued to rise. $20 to $30 per bottle is now typical. In order to keep prices low, we now have three different Sancerres that we import directly from France. The least expensive of these and the best value in my opinion is the 2013 Domaine Cherrier Père et Fils Sancerre at $16.99. This is classic Sancerre with ripe, tangy gooseberry and tart, fresh grapefruit notes. It is lively and fresh, and intensely mineral in expression with hints of fresh herbs like tarragon and savory. Try it with your favorite local goat cheese and a fresh sourdough baguette.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Michel Loriot "Authentic" Brut Champagne (previously Cuvee Reserve)  
Review Date: 11-29-2014
"You had me at Meunier..." So rare to have a chance to enjoy Champagne that is 100% Pinot Meunier. As if that weren't enough, this is one of the few non-vintage cuvees we sell that is more than 50% reserve wine. Oh, and at less than $30 one of the best deals among our directly imported grower producer Champagnes. Still not sold on this one? Each bottle is sealed with genuine 16k gold foil. OK. That's not actually true. But everything else, you bet. What are you waiting for?
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart ST 90 BC 0

Ariston Aspasie Brut Rosé Champagne  
Review Date: 11-29-2014
Always my favorite rosé champagne here at K&L. Drank it with Thanksgiving dinner this year. Quite dry with a pronounced red fruit character - crisp red apple and tart cherry. For die hard Pinot fans - 50/50 Pinot Noir and Pinot Meunier.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Kalinda "Cuvée Reserve" Willamette Valley Pinot Noir  
Review Date: 11-29-2014
The quality of the vintage really shines through on this 2012 Kalinda Cuvee Reserve Willamette Valley Pinot Noir, a stunning collaboration between our domestic wine buying staff and the very talented folks at Trisaetum Winery in Oregon. Intriguingly floral on the nose with hints of earth and spice. Tons of ripe red and black fruits. Impressive weight and a rich, silky texture that you want to linger over. A superb effort and a terrific value at private label pricing.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Page:  <<  prev  6 7  8  9  10  next  >>