Staff Favorites - Doug Burress

Doug Burress
After many years of shopping at K & L, I finally decided to spend even more time at my favorite store! I first came on board at "the shop" a little over a year ago working Friday nights and Saturdays. Now, as a full time member of the Redwood City staff, my wine education continues five days a week! My favorite wines in the world include the awesome grower-producer champagnes we carry, earthy pinot noir from the Burgundy region of France, as well as the excellent pinots from Oregon and California. I dream of one day having my own land on the Dundee Hills of Oregon and producing terrior driven pinot noirs! Most recently I have dedicated more time to tasting and studying wines from Italy. It is a complicated wine country with many grape varietals, regions, and laws, but one that produces some of the best wines in the world! This education is most certainly worth the effort! I have always been a big fan of beer and the large selection of beers we carry from all over the world is yet another reason I am excited to be working here and helping you choose from our super selection of brews! I look forward to tasting and learning more about our wonderful world of wines and helping you find the right wine, at the right price, for any occasion. From a Sunday barbeque with family and friends, to that special bottle for a birthday, anniversary, or other occasion, we can help you find it here at the shop!

Page:  <<  prev  6 7  8  9  10  next  >>
2008 Americo Nunes Seabra "Americo" Dão  
Review Date: 4-1-2014
This wine is really cool, with complex fruit, soft tannins, aromas of quince peels and laffy taffy, this wine at six years of age has mellowed and is drinking really well now, and is at an unbeatable price!
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart WS 90 BC 0

2012 Fournier Urban Uco Malbec  
Review Date: 4-1-2014
Always a charming wine, inexpensive, food friendly, well made, and a fantastic candidate for a delicious sangria!
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart RP 90 BC 0

2011 Bodega Mendel Malbec Mendoza  
Review Date: 4-1-2014
Explosive aromatics, rich, lush wine. Sandlewood and blackberry preserves.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart ST 90 BC 0

2012 Viña Cobos "Felino" Cabernet Sauvignon Mendoza  
Review Date: 4-1-2014
Rich, ripe, with well integrated fruit, blackberry and cocoa powder, nice balancing acid on the finish.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2011 Peñalolen Cabernet Sauvignon Maipo Valley  
Review Date: 4-1-2014
Very pretty nose, ruby red grapefruit and cranberries on the palate, and a very unique complexity.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart WS 91 BC 0

2013 Bodegas Colomé Torrontes Valle Calchaquí Salta  
Review Date: 4-1-2014
Steely, refreshing, concentrated, with an emphasis on sun ripened apricots.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart ST 91 BC 0

Amaury Coutelas "Cuvee 1809" Brut Champagne  
Review Date: 4-1-2014
Every time I taste this champagne I am blown away. This is so incredible and so unique. Aged in used Burgundy barrels, the makeup is similar to Krug and Tarlant at 80% Chardonnay and 20% Pinot Noir, but the results are purely Amaury Coutelas.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2011 Poppy Santa Lucia Highlands Chardonnay  
Review Date: 4-1-2014
A very well made California Chardonnay at an exceptional price. Butter and oak balanced with lively tropical fruits.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart BC 0

1995 d'Yquem, Sauternes (375ml)  
Review Date: 4-1-2014
Originally tasted July 2012, the 1995 d'Yquem is straight sex. Concentrated, honeyed, aromas of frangipane and poached quince. This will live on for decades if you can be prevented from drinking it now.
Price: $179.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Rieflé "Bonnheur Fertif" Cremant de Alsace  
Review Date: 4-1-2014
Balanced , with baking spices, and great texture. The Auxerrois grape of Alsace (also known as Luxembourg in Germany) is a close relative of Chardonnay and often blended with Pinot Blanc to make Cremants in Alsace.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Rusty Blade K&L Exclusive "Cask A" Single Barrel Cask Strength Barrel-Aged Gin 750ml  
Review Date: 4-1-2014
As far as I know, Blade was the first to start making barrel aged gin in the craft cocktail movement. Similar to previous iterations, this batch his exploding with Christmas spices. Really fantastic and dynamic. This should be a blast to play with in cocktails, perhaps paired with fresh apple cider?
Price: Hidden View Price BC 0

2010 Freemark Abbey Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon  
Review Date: 3-31-2014
Freemark Abbey hits its mark! Dusty cassis, graphite, balsam-cedar notes on the nose lead to a palate that shows moderately sweet, plummy fruit, before veering in a more dry, woodsy-spicy direction. The wine makes a solid impact in a more restrained California style. The tannins rally a bit on the finish, enough to give the wine shape, but without taking over the show.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart WE 92 BC 0

2012 MacRostie Sonoma Coast Chardonnay  
Review Date: 3-31-2014
The 2012 Macrostie Sonoma Coast Chardonnay marries vibrant citrus flavors of lime and tangerine to a thick, silky texture, understated butter-cream notes, and a honeyed dimension. This is an easy to like, up front, domestic Chardonnay, which, while not holding anything back, doesn’t slather itself on, either. Should win loads of friends, especially as it does all this, and yet still comes in under the twenty dollar mark.

2012 Charles Smith "Kung Fu Girl" Evergreen Columbia Valley Riesling  
Review Date: 3-31-2014
The best vintage I can remember of this wine. I bought 2 bottles for Thanksgiving because I KNEW it would go with everything on the table, and the leftovers, and the MIL. A great wine to buy by the case and have on hand.~I followed my own advice and bought a case. So far the most winningest pairing was thinly sliced roasted beets, with sliced avocados, cilantro, and spicy, tangy, salty, yuzukoshu. So incredibly good!

2004 Moet & Chandon "Dom Pérignon" Brut Champagne  
Review Date: 3-31-2014
Such a huge bounce back from the awkward 2003 vintage. Pear orchard, with white flowers, and hints of toasted almonds. We enjoyed this in the sun with a plate of salty prosciutto, sliced apples, and local cheese. My only complaint was that we didn't have another bottle!

Page:  <<  prev  6 7  8  9  10  next  >>