Staff Favorites - Doug Burress

Doug Burress
After many years of shopping at K & L, I finally decided to spend even more time at my favorite store! I first came on board at "the shop" a little over a year ago working Friday nights and Saturdays. Now, as a full time member of the Redwood City staff, my wine education continues five days a week! My favorite wines in the world include the awesome grower-producer champagnes we carry, earthy pinot noir from the Burgundy region of France, as well as the excellent pinots from Oregon and California. I dream of one day having my own land on the Dundee Hills of Oregon and producing terrior driven pinot noirs! Most recently I have dedicated more time to tasting and studying wines from Italy. It is a complicated wine country with many grape varietals, regions, and laws, but one that produces some of the best wines in the world! This education is most certainly worth the effort! I have always been a big fan of beer and the large selection of beers we carry from all over the world is yet another reason I am excited to be working here and helping you choose from our super selection of brews! I look forward to tasting and learning more about our wonderful world of wines and helping you find the right wine, at the right price, for any occasion. From a Sunday barbeque with family and friends, to that special bottle for a birthday, anniversary, or other occasion, we can help you find it here at the shop!

Page:  prev  1  2  3  4 5  next  >>
2001 Latour, Pauillac  
Review Date: 3-24-2015
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
One of our favorite vintages and Latour made a great one. If you can’t afford the new releases, try this one. Elegance mixed with power.
Drink from 2016 to 2030

2000 Latour-Martillac, Pessac-Léognan (1.5L)  
Review Date: 3-24-2015
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
A sleeper wine that we neglected in its youth. I do not like the label, but inside the bottle it is exceptional.
Drink from 2015 to 2025

1996 Latour, Pauillac  
Review Date: 3-24-2015
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
A classic Latour from a classic Cabernet vintage. So sweet and yet so powerful. For that special event, I recommend this one.
Drink from 2015 to 2030

1990 Ducru-Beaucaillou, St-Julien  
Review Date: 3-24-2015
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Great vintage. Super wine that is mature and priced less than the current vintages.
Drink from 2015 to 2025
Price: $189.99 Add To Cart BC 0

1995 Latour, Pauillac  
Review Date: 3-24-2015
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
From the Merlot dominated vintage comes this Cabernet wine. Has elegance and more forward than 1995.
Drink from 2015 to 2025

2009 Brio de Cantenac Brown, Margaux  
Review Date: 3-24-2015
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Great second wine that sold out immediately when last brought in.
Drink from 2015 to 2020
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart JS 91 BC 0

2011 Léoville-Las Cases, St-Julien  
Review Date: 3-24-2015
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
One of the best wines from this controversial vintage. Big scores and lots of ripeness in a vintage not known for ripeness.
Drink from 2017 to 2030

2010 Antinori "Solaia" Toscana  
Review Date: 3-24-2015
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
One of the best ever from this super Tuscan red. Decant two hours before serving in near future.
Drink from 2020 to 2030

2009 du Tertre, Margaux  
Review Date: 3-24-2015
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Good upfront fruit. Mid-palate? At UGC: Lighter in style here. Sweet and racy. Quite forward. Drink the 1996 and save this value for a few more years. Beautiful Chateau and great tasting red.
Drink from 2015 to 2025

2009 Les Allées de Cantemerle, Haut-Médoc  
Review Date: 3-24-2015
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
This wine comes in and goes out-a delicious red wine which is the second wine of one of our biggest selling Bordeaux.
Drink from 2015 to 2020
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart JS 90 BC 0

2010 Peyrabon, Haut-Médoc  
Review Date: 3-24-2015
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Now you have the choice of 2009 or 2010 here. This wine is a bit more structured than the 2009, but with decanting is perfectly paired with a steak.
Drink from 2016 to 2025

2003 Lanessan, Haut-Médoc (375ml)  
Review Date: 3-24-2015
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Perfect size for one from a ripe and sexy vintage. Old school style meets hot vintage equals delicious.
Drink from 2015 to 2020
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2010 Pontet-Canet, Pauillac  
Review Date: 3-24-2015
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
A perfect wine just like the 2009. Classic 100 point wine for one fourth of the first growth prices.
Drink from 2020 to 2050

2010 Amici Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon  
Review Date: 3-24-2015
This is drinking beautifully now and will age gracefully over the next 5-10 years as well. No expense spared by the folks at Amici Wines to make the absolute best wines possible for the price! Dark, rich, supple, juicy, with integrated oak and polished tannins on the finish. This is always a staff favorite!

2012 Krutz Family Cellars "Magnolia Series" Napa Valley Zinfandel  
Review Date: 3-24-2015
A Napa Valley Zinfandel for $19.99 ? Very impressive indeed. This Zinfandel is not for the faint of heart. It's a big boy with a lot of big dark fruit, big spice and a multiple layers of flavor. The wine also has amazing backbone which balances out the lush fruit giving this wine great character. Krutz Family Cellars was started by Patrick Krutz back in 2003. A young man from Jackson, Mississippi who came West to find his dream. He found it in the wine business. I have been a fan of the winery and Patrick for several years. The first wine we brought in from them was a 2006 Cabernet Sauvignon. Over the years, we have brought in many different varietals from many different area of California. Patrick continues to find great fruit sources and the wines continue to get better and better. In 2011, two of Patrick's brothers joined the Company and now it truly is a family affair.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart WE 92 BC 0

Page:  prev  1  2  3  4 5  next  >>