Staff Favorites - Doug Burress

Doug Burress
After many years of shopping at K & L, I finally decided to spend even more time at my favorite store! I first came on board at "the shop" a little over a year ago working Friday nights and Saturdays. Now, as a full time member of the Redwood City staff, my wine education continues five days a week! My favorite wines in the world include the awesome grower-producer champagnes we carry, earthy pinot noir from the Burgundy region of France, as well as the excellent pinots from Oregon and California. I dream of one day having my own land on the Dundee Hills of Oregon and producing terrior driven pinot noirs! Most recently I have dedicated more time to tasting and studying wines from Italy. It is a complicated wine country with many grape varietals, regions, and laws, but one that produces some of the best wines in the world! This education is most certainly worth the effort! I have always been a big fan of beer and the large selection of beers we carry from all over the world is yet another reason I am excited to be working here and helping you choose from our super selection of brews! I look forward to tasting and learning more about our wonderful world of wines and helping you find the right wine, at the right price, for any occasion. From a Sunday barbeque with family and friends, to that special bottle for a birthday, anniversary, or other occasion, we can help you find it here at the shop!

Page:  prev  1  2  3 4  5  next  >>
2012 Flowers Sonoma Coast Pinot Noir  
Review Date: 3-24-2015
A beautiful vintage for the Flowers Sonoma Coast. Light bodied with a candied red fruit, cola, forest floor and a hint of cinnamon. The wine has integrated acid and great length.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart WE 91 BC 0

2012 Butternut Chardonnay  
Review Date: 3-24-2015
The name says it all. For a great value California Chardonnay, this is your bottle.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Rochioli "Estate" Russian River Valley Chardonnay  
Review Date: 3-24-2015
Rochioli has been a Russian River Valley legend for many years. Originally bought in 1953 by Joe Rochioli Sr., the 135 acres ranch at that time was called Fenton Acres. Originally planted to many of the jug wine varietals like French Colombard and Napa Gamay. Joe Sr and Joe Jr planted Cabernet Sauvignon and Sauvignon Blanc in 1959. The Sauvignon Blanc was successful and the original plantings still produce grapes today. The Cabernet Sauvignon didn't work very well and Joe Jr decided to plant Pinot Noir in 1968. Shortly after, Chardonnay was planted and as they say, "The rest is history". The first Rochioli wine was released in 1987 and from day one has been known for great wines. Today, third generation Tom Rochioli is the winemaker and continues the work that his Grandfather and Father did before him.

2001 d'Escurac, Medoc  
Review Date: 3-24-2015
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Toasty aromas and a very fruity palate impression. Super value. Very elegant wine from one of my favorite ready to drink vintages. Enjoy with a rack of lamb.
Drink from 2015 to 2020
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2009 La Salle de Poujeaux, Moulis  
Review Date: 3-24-2015
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Toasting, oaky aromas. After decanting the wine opens up to a red fruit forward beauty.
Drink from 2015 to 2025
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2005 Latour-Martillac, Pessac-Léognan  
Review Date: 3-24-2015
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
This property has been neglected by us in the past-our mistake. The 2005 has great terroir on the nose and palate. Plenty of structure for the cellar and a sweet middle fruit.
Drink from 2015 to 2025
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2000 d'Issan, Margaux  
Review Date: 3-24-2015
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Elegant property and full bodied red with that Margaux underlying elegance. Red fruits here.
Drink from 2015 to 2020

2001 Latour, Pauillac  
Review Date: 3-24-2015
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
One of our favorite vintages and Latour made a great one. If you can’t afford the new releases, try this one. Elegance mixed with power.
Drink from 2016 to 2030

2000 Latour-Martillac, Pessac-Léognan (1.5L)  
Review Date: 3-24-2015
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
A sleeper wine that we neglected in its youth. I do not like the label, but inside the bottle it is exceptional.
Drink from 2015 to 2025

1996 Latour, Pauillac  
Review Date: 3-24-2015
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
A classic Latour from a classic Cabernet vintage. So sweet and yet so powerful. For that special event, I recommend this one.
Drink from 2015 to 2030

1990 Ducru-Beaucaillou, St-Julien  
Review Date: 3-24-2015
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Great vintage. Super wine that is mature and priced less than the current vintages.
Drink from 2015 to 2025
Price: $189.99 Add To Cart BC 0

1995 Latour, Pauillac  
Review Date: 3-24-2015
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
From the Merlot dominated vintage comes this Cabernet wine. Has elegance and more forward than 1995.
Drink from 2015 to 2025

2009 Brio de Cantenac Brown, Margaux  
Review Date: 3-24-2015
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Great second wine that sold out immediately when last brought in.
Drink from 2015 to 2020
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart JS 91 BC 0

2011 Léoville-Las Cases, St-Julien  
Review Date: 3-24-2015
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
One of the best wines from this controversial vintage. Big scores and lots of ripeness in a vintage not known for ripeness.
Drink from 2017 to 2030

2010 Antinori "Solaia" Toscana  
Review Date: 3-24-2015
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
One of the best ever from this super Tuscan red. Decant two hours before serving in near future.
Drink from 2020 to 2030

Page:  prev  1  2  3 4  5  next  >>