Staff Favorites - Doug Burress

Doug Burress
After many years of shopping at K & L, I finally decided to spend even more time at my favorite store! I first came on board at "the shop" a little over a year ago working Friday nights and Saturdays. Now, as a full time member of the Redwood City staff, my wine education continues five days a week! My favorite wines in the world include the awesome grower-producer champagnes we carry, earthy pinot noir from the Burgundy region of France, as well as the excellent pinots from Oregon and California. I dream of one day having my own land on the Dundee Hills of Oregon and producing terrior driven pinot noirs! Most recently I have dedicated more time to tasting and studying wines from Italy. It is a complicated wine country with many grape varietals, regions, and laws, but one that produces some of the best wines in the world! This education is most certainly worth the effort! I have always been a big fan of beer and the large selection of beers we carry from all over the world is yet another reason I am excited to be working here and helping you choose from our super selection of brews! I look forward to tasting and learning more about our wonderful world of wines and helping you find the right wine, at the right price, for any occasion. From a Sunday barbeque with family and friends, to that special bottle for a birthday, anniversary, or other occasion, we can help you find it here at the shop!

Page:  prev  1  2  3 4  5  next  >>
2011 Fromm "La Strada" Pinot Noir Marlborough   | Public Pending Approval
Review Date: 4-8-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
What a great follow up to the "breakout" 2010. This new incarnation is perhaps more precise and focused with less fleshy mid pallet but plenty of depth and intrigue. Dusty dark red berries, leaf litter, bark and river stone. A pretty Burgundian profile with some tell tale spiced citrus notes that give away it's Marlborough origins. I truly believe this wine still has more to give and think it will flesh out further with a few more months / years in the cellar. Bright, fresh, pure Pinot that is a real crowd pleasing style especially for those looking for a more traditional elegant expression of this fickle grape. Excellent value.
Top Value! Drink from 2013 to 2018
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2008 Bodegas Muriel Reserva Rioja   | Public Pending Approval
Review Date: 4-8-2014
This lively, affordable Rioja offers a nose of black cherry and dried florals along with notes of cedar, dill and vanilla from a combination of French and American oak barrel aging. Additionally a lush, medium-bodied palate of high-toned blackberry fruit finishes with bright acidity and tangy berry fruit notes. Enjoy this with roasted or grilled meats and firm cheeses!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart DC 95 BC 0

2008 Bodegas Muriel Reserva Rioja  
Review Date: 4-8-2014
This is a delightfully vibrant and bright Reserva, with high tone raspberry and cherry fruit. The spicebox aromas range from cardamom to cinnamon with the lovely scent of clove added for good measure. There is ample acidity here which makes this an ideal pairing with food. Perfect for paella, roasted fowl and all things pork.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart DC 95 BC 0

2012 Palazzone Terre Vinate Orvieto   | Public Pending Approval
Review Date: 4-8-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Interesting wine. Soft ripe stone fruits and fresh Hazelnuts on the nose with a toasted grain or even warm bread character that I often get from good Chenin Blanc. The wine has a lovely savory lees character that also gives great texture persistence on the palate. There is a nice balance of richness and tension which is something pretty remarkable for a bottle in this price point.
Top Value!
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Giuliano Pecorino Terre di Chieti   | Public Pending Approval
Review Date: 4-8-2014
Quite a ripe nose of tropical fruits, Mango and Lilikoi with a fresh floral note. The palate is soft and broad with nice concentration and texture. The wine has a stoney, even slight chalky mineral character towards the finish that helps give a little more length and balance to some of the exuberance of the fleshy fruit on the mid palate. Good value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart GR 2 BC 0

2010 Sons Of Eden "Romulus" Barossa Valley Shiraz   | Public Pending Approval
Review Date: 4-7-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Not sure how to really explain this wine's quality...perhaps I should just start off by saying that for me these two bottlings (Romulus and Remus) are two of the greatest young bottles I have tasted in many years. They are quintessential Barossa wines combining power, purity, balance and authenticity. The concept of doing these two bottlings shows exactly how well The Sons of Eden understand their craft, respect their history and are pushing on with pride into a new era of compelling Australian wines. The Romulus is a big concentrated wine brimming with ripe, dark red fruits, terrarossa warm earth, sweet spice, mocha and toasty oak. The wines breadth and power is kept in balance by a surprising brightness and acidity given the wines ripeness and concentration. It wears its oak very well and will certainly continue to integrate this even further as it reaches adolescence. This wine is so rich and decadent now it is hard to imagine restraining ones self from drinking it, yet I believe keeping this a few years, maybe even 10, will only reward the strong willed. Seriously impressive wine that I would pit against any other Shiraz at any other price point, this is the real deal.
Drink from 2014 to 2022

2010 Sons Of Eden "Remus" Eden Valley Shiraz   | Public Pending Approval
Review Date: 4-7-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Not sure how to really explain this wine's quality...perhaps I should just start off by saying that, for me, these two bottlings (Romulus and Remus) are two of the greatest young bottles I have tasted in many years. They are quintessential Barossa wines combining power, purity, balance and authenticity. The concept of doing these two bottlings shows exactly how well The Sons of Eden understand their craft, respect their history and are pushing on with pride into a new era of compelling Australian wines. The Remus is more high-toned than the Romulus on the blue and black fruit spectrum. Think Blackcurrant and cassis, add crushed mint, purple flowers and a lovely pencil shaving and cedar note from the French oak and you have a really lovely wine. The perfect contrast in expression to its more muscular, but equally impressive brother. There is no lack of concentration here, all the intensity is just more linear and focused. A really lovely wine that shows the special qualities of Eden Valley. I suspect this wine will outlive the Romulus and might well see its 20th birthday still in fine form.
Drink from 2014 to 2030

2012 Giuliano Pecorino Terre di Chieti  
Review Date: 4-7-2014
Oh Pecorino! It's a wonder I haven't tasted this varietal (knowingly) until this year. This wine has an explosive aroma. This wine smells like the trays of cut samples of peaches and nectarines, and at the farmer's market at the beginning of Summer, sprinkled with orange blossoms! This is one of those wines that you will want to nose over and over because it is pure bliss. On the palate it is richer and rounder than I would expect it to be. Greg hits the nail on the head in his description and comparing it to a French Viognier (which I also can't get my nose out of). I would serve this with something as simple and enjoyable as a squash blossom flatbread with fresh local ricotta, and a drizzle of walnut oil.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart GR 2 BC 0

2012 Blason Malvasia Friuli-Venezia-Giulia  
Review Date: 4-7-2014
This has a really intriguing nose, and is just as dynamic on the palate. Layers of river rock, white flowers, peach, and almost the suggestion of nuttiness.I would pair this with a caramelized spring onion and Parmesan quiche with a delicate side salad containing castelvetrano olives and avocados for richness. But don't over think the wine, just enjoy it.
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart GR 2 BC 0

2012 Palazzone Terre Vinate Orvieto  
Review Date: 4-7-2014
a lovely straw yellow, this blend of hand picked field blend is the perfect refreshing accompaniment to a Spring salad with grilled prawns and a citrus vinaigrette. Packed up in a picnic, or served on the deck to friends, this is a great wine to have on hand as the temperatures rise. (no corkscrew needed)
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Tio Pepe (Gonzalez Byass) Fino Sherry  
Review Date: 4-7-2014
A perfect entry level Fino Sherry. The lightest of the sherries, this can be highly enjoyable with an assortment of delicious, simple nibbles. Prosciutto, olives, fried smelt, marcona almonds, etc.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart BC 0

1989 D'Oliveira Malvasia Madeira  
Review Date: 4-7-2014
I originally tasted this in November 2011, and even then it came across as rich, and viscous, with aromas of kumquat marmalade, toasted walnuts, and Fall leaves. Delicious with hard cheeses and nut cakes. Founded in 1820, D’Oliveira one of the few to Madeira shippers to survive from the pre-phylloxera era. Still owned an operated by the same family, who were once also highly important growers on the island.
Price: $109.99 Add To Cart RP 91 BC 0

2012 Anselmo Mendes Alvarinho "Contacto" Minho  
Review Date: 4-7-2014
Crisp , bright and lively, a taste of the Anselmo Alvarinho is inviting and a perfect pairing with fish and seafood. This wine is clean with citrus, a hint of mineral and a wonderful acidity that will wake up any palate.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart RP 92 BC 0

Genius Navy Strength Texas Gin 750ml  
Review Date: 4-7-2014
There are juniper , floral and citrus aromatics. In the mouth, lively softness with a hint of sweetness makes the Genius Gin a flavorful and easy to enjoy gin. This a delicious old tom style gin.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Cypress Estate Syrah Hawke's Bay   | Public Pending Approval
Review Date: 4-6-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Ummmm such a great rendition of really juicy, spicy gravelly Hawke's Bay Syrah. For me this is one of the most distinctive varietal / region flavor profiles in the world. This wine has all that regional character and then some. The nose suggests cracked black pepper and spicy red berries. On the palate the flavors readily agree with a nice juicy mid-palate and mouthwatering acidity. There is a lovely gamey, pepper crusted steak quality here that complements the ripe berry fruits. Reminds me of the magic combination of Venison and Huckleberry sauce. What a steal for a wine of this quality. A must try for all lovers of Syrah.
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Page:  prev  1  2  3 4  5  next  >>