Staff Favorites - Doug Burress

Doug Burress
After many years of shopping at K & L, I finally decided to spend even more time at my favorite store! I first came on board at "the shop" a little over a year ago working Friday nights and Saturdays. Now, as a full time member of the Redwood City staff, my wine education continues five days a week! My favorite wines in the world include the awesome grower-producer champagnes we carry, earthy pinot noir from the Burgundy region of France, as well as the excellent pinots from Oregon and California. I dream of one day having my own land on the Dundee Hills of Oregon and producing terrior driven pinot noirs! Most recently I have dedicated more time to tasting and studying wines from Italy. It is a complicated wine country with many grape varietals, regions, and laws, but one that produces some of the best wines in the world! This education is most certainly worth the effort! I have always been a big fan of beer and the large selection of beers we carry from all over the world is yet another reason I am excited to be working here and helping you choose from our super selection of brews! I look forward to tasting and learning more about our wonderful world of wines and helping you find the right wine, at the right price, for any occasion. From a Sunday barbeque with family and friends, to that special bottle for a birthday, anniversary, or other occasion, we can help you find it here at the shop!

Page:  prev  1  2 3  4  5  next  >>
2010 Amisfield Pinot Noir Central Otago  
Review Date: 4-21-2014
I was very much taken in by this stunning Pinot. Our New Zealand buyer fortunately left this open in the bar for me to try. You get all of the density and power one would expect from Central Otago, wild cherry, cassis, and a rich texture. However it also shows a graceful balance with lifted notes of raspberry and a hint of earth. Great length on the back end, effortless even. I was so happy to find out it was only going to be less than $30!
Price: Hidden View Price BC 93 RP 90

2012 Back Nine Cellars Napa Valley Chardonnay  
Review Date: 4-21-2014
Rich apple and pear fruit surround the buttery rich texture and toasty oak notes. There is a solid core of acid in here to keep the wine focused and in balance. Definitely the best of its kind for this price.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Penfolds "Bin 138" Old Vine Grenache-Shiraz-Mataro Barossa Valley   | Public Pending Approval
Review Date: 4-21-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
This wine is just brimming full of briary bramble fruit, exotic spices, some meaty gamey notes and a sweet, supple, juicy element that is hard to capture in words. The wine has a fine balance of purity and density, the extract is perfect giving ample body and richness but never feeling heavy or losing freshness and drive. Bin 138 really shows why this blend has endured across the ages as it pulls elements from each of its individual components. Grenache provides the bright spicy fruit, Shiraz a darker edge, structure and meaty element the Mataro (Mourvedre) adding its unmistakable earthy undertones and savory dimension. A really great wine equally enjoyable for lovers of Aussie GSMs and Châteauneuf-du-Papes alike!
Drink from 2014 to 2024

2013 Amisfield Sauvignon Blanc Central Otago   | Public Pending Approval
Review Date: 4-21-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Rich, ripe and juicy. A fleshy, powerful wine with lots of ripe stone fruit and freshly squeezed citrus. The wine also gets some maturation in barrel and has great mid-palate texture and has a faint nutty, toasty persistence on the finish that really adds another level of complexity. Really tasty Savvy at a steal of a price.
Top Value!
Price: Hidden View Price BC 93

2010 Amisfield Pinot Noir Central Otago   | Public Pending Approval
Review Date: 4-21-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Big, brooding, concentrated Pinot with layers of smokey dark fruit, toasted spices, forest floor and truffle Porcini mushrooms. I love how this wine has tons of richness and fruit but still retains some savory elements to it that Pinot lovers (like myself) are captivated by. This wine is really showing well right now but I have no doubt it will continue to show well for a few years to come. A really great deal at this price, I think it could hold a $50 price tag and not disappoint!
Drink from 2014 to 2020
Price: Hidden View Price BC 93 RP 90

2011 Lynch-Bages, Pauillac (1.5L)  
Review Date: 4-21-2014
Nice nose, with hints of mocha and spice, sweet and fleshy in the mouth, with lots of mineral and graphite and very firm tannins on the finish. Successful for the vintage. 90-92 points.

2011 Lanessan, Haut-Médoc (1.5L)  
Review Date: 4-21-2014
Dark fruit and a touch of pepper. Attractive front to back, with good grip and tannin control.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2011 Lanessan, Haut-Médoc (1.5L)  
Review Date: 4-21-2014
*V Tons of ripe fruit. Super flavor. Great value! This is stunning wine for the vintage.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2011 Tormaresca "Neprica" Puglia  
Review Date: 4-18-2014
What? $7.99 for all this wine! On the nose, red fruit and spice lead to a touch of chocolate as this steal of a wine opens up. The palate displays a nice intensity of dark cherry with low tannins that lead to a smooth finish. Very well balanced and very food friendly, especially with red-sauced dishes. Works just as well with meat or veggies in the mix.
Price: $7.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2010 E. Guigal Côtes du Rhône  
Review Date: 4-18-2014
In 2010, a lingering cool spring in the Southern Rhône severely reduced crop yields and extended the harvest well into October, allowing the happy grapes to reach sublimely intense levels of both richness and structure -— the result one of the greatest vintages ever in the Rhône Valley. And who reaps the rewards? Enter E. Guigal, perhaps the Rhone's chief exponent of excellence, delivering an amazing spectrum of quality wines year after year. Their entry-level Côtes du Rhône, with redolent aromas and flavors of cherry, black plum, wood smoke and spice possesses astonishing degrees of balance, complexity and mouthwatering texture for a very modest price. Most definitely a "win-win(e)"...Enjoy!

2010 Amisfield Pinot Noir Central Otago  
Review Date: 4-18-2014
This is a powerhouse of a Pinot! Almost portraying the nose of a Syrah, there is black fruit, pepper, chocolate-dipped cherries, pencil lead and fresh tar. Substantial acid and tannin that will allow this to age for a few years. I would serve this with charcoal grilled ribs, with a coffee dry rub or a cherry reduction based barbecue sauce.
Price: Hidden View Price BC 93 RP 90

Bruno Michel "Rebelle" Extra Brut Champagne   | Public Pending Approval
Review Date: 4-18-2014
The Bruno Michel “Rebelle” offers much more richness than most Extra Brut Champagnes, and with the lovely acidity and minerality characteristics, this makes for a great sushi pairing! The Rebelle will delight your palate with the crisp acidity and luscious apple type fruits. If you like sushi, I highly recommend pairing the two! It goes great with yellow tail, salmon, spicy tuna and many other types of seafood, but it is the wasabi and soy sauce that really makes the pairing special. Don’t hesitate -- treat yourself to sushi and this Champagne tonight!
Price: Hidden View Price BC 0

2013 Cep (Peay Vineyards) "Hopkins Ranch" Russian River Valley Sauvignon Blanc   | Public Pending Approval
Review Date: 4-18-2014
I have been a fan of the Cep (Peay Vineyards) wines for a few years and this Sauvignon Blanc reaffirms my allegiance! There is so much to love about this wine as it is bursting with lots of acid, green apple, citrus, stone fruit and white flowers. There is a chalky mouthfeel that is a pleasant surprise coming from the Russian River Valley. This will be a good one to stock up on for summer!
Price: $22.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Amisfield Sauvignon Blanc Central Otago  
Review Date: 4-18-2014
This reminds me of the wines that originally turned us all onto New Zealand Sauvignon Blanc. Intensely aromatic, rich in texture, peach candy, and lemon rind, and a touch of mint. Certainly a crowd pleaser, and as it has a screwtop, no opener needed.
Price: Hidden View Price BC 93

2012 Bastide Miraflors "Vieilles Vignes" Côtes Catalanes  
Review Date: 4-17-2014
The Roussillon region in southwest France has been cultivating grapes for thousands of years, so it comes as little surprise that a wine of such intense, immense pleasure as the Bastide Miraflors finds its home there. Select organically-farmed Syrah and rustic old vine Grenache undergo a long maceration to generate a wine of beautiful texture, form and depth. Lively, lusty and inviting red and black fruits toned with lavender and wildflowers make for a delicious bottle of wine, one that will complement everything from Mediterranean fare to roasted poultry to grilled lamb chops. This amazingly priced wine will quickly sail from our shops, guaranteed.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart RP 91 BC 0

Page:  prev  1  2 3  4  5  next  >>