Staff Favorites - Doug Burress

Doug Burress
After many years of shopping at K & L, I finally decided to spend even more time at my favorite store! I first came on board at "the shop" a little over a year ago working Friday nights and Saturdays. Now, as a full time member of the Redwood City staff, my wine education continues five days a week! My favorite wines in the world include the awesome grower-producer champagnes we carry, earthy pinot noir from the Burgundy region of France, as well as the excellent pinots from Oregon and California. I dream of one day having my own land on the Dundee Hills of Oregon and producing terrior driven pinot noirs! Most recently I have dedicated more time to tasting and studying wines from Italy. It is a complicated wine country with many grape varietals, regions, and laws, but one that produces some of the best wines in the world! This education is most certainly worth the effort! I have always been a big fan of beer and the large selection of beers we carry from all over the world is yet another reason I am excited to be working here and helping you choose from our super selection of brews! I look forward to tasting and learning more about our wonderful world of wines and helping you find the right wine, at the right price, for any occasion. From a Sunday barbeque with family and friends, to that special bottle for a birthday, anniversary, or other occasion, we can help you find it here at the shop!

Page:  prev  1  2 3  4  5  next  >>
2012 Neely "Holly's Cuvée-Spring Ridge Vineyard" Santa Cruz Mountains Chardonnay  
Review Date: 7-17-2014
I'm tempted to say, if you have to buy one California Chardonnay this year, this is the one. It is stunning. Well integrated oak that enriches every terroir used in this cuvee, great balance and an abundance of finesse.
Price: $47.99 Add To Cart AG 93 BC 0

2012 Varner "Bee Block" Santa Cruz Mountains Chardonnay  
Review Date: 7-17-2014
My favorite of the Varner offerings every year, there is so much to this wine! Elegant, expressive, and with a distinctive waxy texture. This will continue to age and evolve into an incredible wine. Very cellar worthy.
Price: $47.99 Add To Cart AG 95 BC 0

2011 Anima Libera Chianti  
Review Date: 7-17-2014
So much to like about this wine. The story, the quality, the great dark fruit, and soft tannins, the inflections of black licorice and pencil shavings, and then there's the price! There is not much this wine won't go with. Perfect for a party with other free spirits!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Tintero "Grangia" Bianco  
Review Date: 7-17-2014
Dry, rich, and a touch frizante. Perfect for light and bright dishes, a slice of watermelon topped with crumbled feta and torn mint would be an awesome pairing on a hot day.
Price: $8.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Domaine Anne & Arnaud Goisot Bourgogne Côtes d'Auxerre Pinot Noir  
Review Date: 7-17-2014
It's time to stock up on Burgundy! Bright and lively with great balance of ripe fruit and fresh acidity, and incredible nuance for such an affordable wine.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Il Palagio "When We Dance" Toscana  
Review Date: 7-17-2014
A gorgeous and fun weeknight wine that inspired a K&L blog post with a recipe for zucchini pasta with spicy Italian sausage and Parmesan.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Chardonnay Marlborough  
Review Date: 7-16-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Unmistakably Chardonnay, the wine has aromas of almond and wet gravel and a slight straw color. But Te Whare Ra's Chardonnay is more elegant than the nose would have you believe--a racy and bright wine filled with lemon flavors and a slight hint of oak that is sure to satisfy any fan of cool weather whites.
Top Value! Drink from 2014 to 2017
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough  
Review Date: 7-16-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Another triumph from one of our favorite producers in New Zealand. This Blanc is edgy and very sharp, with quintessential New Zealand bright citrus and slight grassy flavors, complemented by fig and lychee aromas. This biodynamic beauty has so much to offer fans of Sauvignon Blanc; one of TWR's best yet, and still at a great price!
Top Value! Drink from 2014 to 2018
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Pinot Noir Marlborough  
Review Date: 7-16-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
This is a Pinot with structure--a nervy and delicious cool weather red with lean red fruit flavors but plenty of mouth-coating tannins. The fruit notes here are slightly bitter, lean raspberry and plum resting behind cassis and lavender, leaving a wonderfully long impression on the palate. The winemakers at Te Whare Ra took full advantage of the excellent 2013 growing season to craft this mouthwatering Pinot.
Top Value! Drink from 2014 to 2019
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough  
Review Date: 7-16-2014
I am a big fan of the entire TWR portfolio but my favorite is always this vibrant Sauvignon Blanc because of its pure flavors and rich texture. Herb, melon, crushed citrus and just a hint of musk add complexity to this weighty but very refreshing value.
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2011 Ferrero Toscana Rosso  
Review Date: 7-16-2014
This has lovely, sweet fruit, and is a delicious blend of Cab, Merlot, Montepulciano and Alicante. This is a Super Tuscan to put those over-priced California Cult Cabernets to shame. Simply delightful.
Top Value!
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Corte Gardoni Bardolino Rosato Chiaretto  
Review Date: 7-16-2014
This delightful rosé has a lovely texture, nice spice and an interesting finish. Never heavy, but never wispy, this Chiaretto (from the Italian "clear") has a delightful transparency. Bravissimo!
Top Value!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Ferrero Rosso di Montalcino  
Review Date: 7-16-2014
This 100% Sangiovese wine is elegant, with a nice focus. Clean, sophisticated and very drinkable. What's not to like?
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2008 Sesta di Sopra Brunello di Montalcino  
Review Date: 7-16-2014
This is very, very good. It has lovely fruit, and is just opening and losing its angularity it showed a year ago. This is bottled unfined and unfiltered and is a terrific cellar candidate. Don't overlook the so-called lesser vintages from great wine-growers like this! It has found a place in my cellar.
Top Value!

2010 Seghesio Barolo  
Review Date: 7-16-2014
OK, I thought we were not going to see any more Barolos under $30, with the weakness in the dollar. But Greg St. Clair has pulled another rabbit out of his hat. This is solid, spicy, and very drinkable, with fine-grained tannins for such a young Nebbiolo.
Top Value!
Price: $26.95 Add To Cart BC 0

Page:  prev  1  2 3  4  5  next  >>